About The Paris Cafe

119 South St
New York, NY 10038
View Larger Map

The Paris Cafe - one of New York City's Oldest Pubs - has been around since 1873. Located in the Historic South Street Seaport, steps away from the Brooklyn Bridge and right across the street from the East River, The Paris Cafe is a perfect blend of history, good food and strong drinks.

We have a Full Bar, Winter Cocktail Specials, Happy Hour Specials, serve a wide range of Craft Beers that change seasonally as well as Wines by the Glass and Bottle. Enjoy views of the Brooklyn Bridge, watch the ships go by on the East River while overlooking the cobblestone streets, or take in one of the many sporting events on one of our 12 Big Screen TVs.

The Paris Cafe was closed for 51 weeks after the devastation of Hurricane Sandy but it has been renovated (the magnificent Victorian back-bar has been restored and is returned to its original layout) and returns with a fresh look while keeping the old feel and vibe. Come on in for a pint or two!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Irish

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am
Sunday: 11:00am -11:00pm

Cross Street:
Peck Slip

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 240-9797

Website:
http://www.thepariscafenyc.com/

Public Transit:
A, C, E • 4, 5 • J, M, Z
or 2, 3 trains to Fulton Street/Broadway-Nassau Station, then walk east toward the Seaport and make
a left on South Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hawley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Shepard's Pie
  • Grilled Cheese
  • Bacon Egg And Cheese, Sausage Egg And Cheese
  • Burger
  • Baked Salmon
  • Kopparberg Pear Cider
Shepard's Pie
Grilled Cheese
Bacon Egg And Cheese, Sausage Egg And Cheese
Burger
Baked Salmon
Kopparberg Pear Cider

The Paris Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
See All
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was beautiful and the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was good. However service was very sub-par. The staff seemed very unorganized and confused about who was doing what, to the point where they bought the wrong food to me.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice bar / restaurant in South Seaport.R ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nice bar / restaurant in South Seaport.Recommend fish and chips.Not very extensive menu,and maybe a bit noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect after a day at Sandy Hook beach ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Perfect after a day at Sandy Hook beach on the Seastreak. Everyone had a hankering for seafood and this place had it plus a great burger for one of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time we go is a nice experience, g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Every time we go is a nice experience, great location and the service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

South Street Gem

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The Paris Café fits so well into the historic atmosphere of the South Street Seaport neighborhood. The bar room is beautiful, the staff is welcoming, and the beer menu is extensive. Diarmuid Hackett runs a great show, from the bar to the food to the décor.

There are so many faux historic bars and restaurants that pretend to have been in this neighborhood for years; The Paris Café is the real thing.

If only someone could bring back Sloppy Louie's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great find

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Outstanding place to spend St Patrick's Day. Fun bar, super staff, great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Paris Cafe

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We reserved a table at the Paris Cafe based on trip advisor reviews. Food was good and service excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mis-named !

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Yes, it's the Paris Cafe, but actually a wonderful New York Irish restaurant/bar. So nice to see that it has made a come-back after "Sandy". We were there on a Saturday evening, and it was crowded and we had 2 five-year olds and were made to feel welcome and had great service and very good food. Would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

consistently great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We eat here whenever stay in lowerManhattan. This restuarant has friendly staff, great food, nice ambiance, and is a good value for the money. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot in South Seaport

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Really nice vibe to this restaurant.Situated almost at the beginning of Brooklyn Bridge,the food and the service here are top notch.I had the fish - really fresh and tasty.My partner had the lamb- again sumptious.Also good value for Manhattan.It is a popular spot so book with Open Table to guarantee an amazing evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and view

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

I loved this restaurant. Even though it probably isn't a "typical" place to take kids the view and menu (even the adult one, since they don't have a kids one) made it a great choice for my family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks could have been better. Didnt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The drinks could have been better. Didnt know how to make a Moscow Mule. The head waitress

was quite snippy. I would go back only if i was passing by and needed a burger.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

great place-the service the atmosphere the food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

The service was great and the food awesome. I wished the drink menu was more elaborate but there were no complaints with our orders

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

My boyfriend and I brought our newlywed friends here while they were in town for their honeymoon. I made the reservation only about six hours in advance with the additional request to "make it a special occasion", if possible. Since the reservation was made so close to the actual time, I was not at all expecting my request to be granted. However, just after our entrees arrived, one of the waitresses stopped by with glasses of complimentary champagne and best wishes for the newlywed couple!

The experience was fabulous overall and made it so easy to celebrate a special occasion. The food was also delicious and the service off the charts. Would recommend highly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Irish pub at South Street Seaport

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Wonderful atmosphere! Excellent service. Food was good. Great place to eat when you're visiting South Street Seaport.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good food, good ambiance

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Found this at the edge of the seaport and it was a great find. Soup was top notch and had lamb stew which was notable for its smooth, Guinness-like flavor and veggies. Other plus was the great background music...pleasant Motown and soul for a pleasant Sunday lunch. More people should take the walk towards the water's edge and find this old time gem on South Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Reservation error -- first time for us on Opentabl

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2015

We arrived in time for our reservation, but there was no table for us. The manager had been busy and had failed to check recent email reservations. She apologized and said she would find a way to seat us in about 25 minutes, but we were tired and decided not to stay. We found Balalu around the corner and had a delightful meal in a quiet beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Fabulous!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2015

We love our lunch at The Paris Cafe! The food was phenomenal, and the history behind the restaurant makes the experience even better. We recommended the restaurant to others we met.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service, fabulous food, great location!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

We brought a group of 12 Middle School students to NYC for a conference. Some restaurants cringe at groups that large, especially with younger children. The Paris Cafe was very welcoming to all, and our server, Annette, was the best part of the meal. She was patient, kind, and super helpful. She took the time to speak with the kids, and took care of all our needs. The food was delicious, fresh, and prepared quickly. I will definitely be back on my next trip to New York and will recommend to anyone traveling. Thank you Paris Cafe for such a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Was looking for a place for brunch after the NYC HALF Marathon. Friend recommended The Paris Cafe. Had a group of 10 people with a reservation for 8. They were very accommodating. Food was delicious and plenty as were the bloody Mary's. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place downtown for lunch! Hidden ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Great place downtown for lunch! Hidden gem! Wonderful salmon dish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance Vieux Bar Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2015

A deux pas du pont de Brooklyn, The Paris Café est un magnifique Bar à l'ancienne et un restaurant de grande qualité. Coeur historique du sud de Manhattan, où les hommes célèbres qui ont fait l'Amérique ce sont retrouvé ou venu boire une bière ou diner d'autre dormir puisque pendant plusieurs décennies, l'establishment était aussi un Hotel.

Nous avons testé pour vous le boeuf bourguignon, la Shepherd's pie ainsi que le demi poulet aux herbes. les enfants sont les bienvenues et les burgers sont extra. tous les plats étaient délicieux avec une légère touche à l'américaine.

Vraiment le Bar - restaurant idéal avant ou après une balade sur le pont de Brooklyn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Typical New York pub near the South Stre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Typical New York pub near the South Street Seaport. We were with visitors from France who enjoyed the eggs benedict. Reasonable prices. The service was quite friendly but a bit slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Davesdining

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 23, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and seated early at our request. Food and service were superb, and the manager was very accommodating and made us feel welcomed in what is obviously a gathering place for local professionals from the Wall Street area. We felt at home and the food was simply excellent.

We loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice neighborhood spot. Servers friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

Nice neighborhood spot. Servers friendly and responsive. Food was on the high end of what you would expect from your typical neighborhood burger joint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice Find

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2014

Right under the Brooklyn bridge--great energy, good food, friendly service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Find

 
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Ate at Paris Cafe for our first dinner in New York while visiting with my daughter and not disappointed. What impressed us most was the the staff who were polite and professional but also took time to talk to us about our trip. The food was good too and we both chose a healthy salad to start followed by fish but there were steaks and burgers on offer for those looking for more traditional American fare..

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Fish and Chips

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Went here with my mom on a Saturday night, it was busy but not overly crowded. Greeted by friendly waiters/waitresses/hosts and felt right at home.

The food was great! Got mixed green salad which was huge and delicious, and fish and chips which was beautiful whitefish with a light breading and the homemade tarter was DELISH!

Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here with my boyfriend on a Thurs ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

I came here with my boyfriend on a Thursday night so that we could listen to the Dandy Wellington Band that was playing. The bar area where the band plays was very loud with groups of people. There is a side dining room that is quieter and nicer if you are having dinner, but you can't hear the music in there, so we chose the loud bar area. We shared the beet salad which was very good. He had the lamb stew which was excellent. I definitely recommend getting that. Very hearty with great flavors. I ordered the crab cakes (one of the specials). They were good but I felt they had a bit too much fish mixed in and not much crab. He ordered 2 different cocktails, an old fashioned and something else. Both were a bit unbalanced and not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The service was terrible.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

We have been going to the Paris Café for years. This is a neighborhood restaurant. The service was deplorable. I was eyeing the waiter and he still never came over to our table, which we had guests with us whom we were treating for dinner. Also, I had to signal the maitre'd for him to get our server. The food was good. When we got our bill, it took sometime for them to process it and the restaurant was not crowded.

The women's room was very dirty with paper towels all over the floor that when I left the ladies room one was attached to my shoes.

We will never to back to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

father's day brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

went with family for fathers day brunch--interesting part of old new york, wonderful to walk around--restaurant was lively with lots of people however one of my sons commented that we weren't crowded, tables were well distanced from each other, food (omelets were delicious, well seasoned and served hot. coffee was hot, tasty and continually refilled, also, bloody marys were tall, cold and full of alcohol.

definitely a gem, looking forward to returning

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great brunch at a great price. strong bl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

great brunch at a great price.

strong bloody mary.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not the place to go for a

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2014

Not the place to go for a quiet conversation. Great place to go if you want good home-cooked food & friendly servers. If they're overly busy they may take a few extra minutes to find & seat you, but once they see you you will not be ignored.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We will definitely go back

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

We will definitely go back to this neighborhood restaurant. Very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappoints

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

Best corned beef ever (can't wait til St. Patrick's Day again:) Food is always good, but can't compare to the friendly staff. If things seem a little slow at times, it's just because they're giving everyone personalized attention.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Paris - up and down

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2014

The Paris Café reopened after recovery from Sandy - in our neighborhood. Been there 3X since reopen - food is up and down. Friends dish was very salty and my hamburger was nothing special - the semi-dry bun overpowered the thin burger. Last time y wife's dish was spicy (not noted as such in the menu). Décor is nice but it was cold that night and the room was cool. There are better restaurants in the Seaport and Downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Phenomenal experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2014

We had a great time at the Paris Cafe. Great food, service, wine, beer, and dessert. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly staff. Treated us as if we were regulars from the first visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy to see this reopen after

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Happy to see this reopen after a long hiatus due to Hurricane Sandy. Place looks great and menu and food quality have gone up several notches. Friday night bar scene very busy and loud; inner dining area quieter and amenable to conversation. Service congenial and earnest. Food actually quite good, with standards prepared well, and some pleasant surprises (great crab cakes!). As a local resident, this will remain a solid go-to, for years hopefully.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Timeless Gem!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 19, 2014

Great atmosphere in this South Street classic. We had soup and salads and each item was very fresh and extremely well prepared. Added bonus was our waitress - very sweet and very efficient! Definitely headed back soon...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Warm & good.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

Was looking forward to an upbeat experience considering it is one of the oldest pubs in NYC. Walked in to find one other table and minimal guests at the bar, hmm. Not sure if it was dire to the time of day, 6 pm, or because it was a holiday. After getting thru the awkward first impression, our experience skyrocketed thru the roof. Our server/host was excellent along with the food we ordered. Lobster Mac n Cheese, yum! My cheeseburger was cooked perfect along with our Mussels.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.