Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About The Paris Cafe

The Paris Cafe - one of New York City's Oldest Pubs - has been around since 1873. Located in the Historic South Street Seaport, steps away from the Brooklyn Bridge and right across the street from the East River, The Paris Cafe is a perfect blend of history, good food and strong drinks.

We have a Full Bar, Winter Cocktail Specials, Happy Hour Specials, serve a wide range of Craft Beers that change seasonally as well as Wines by the Glass and Bottle. Enjoy views of the Brooklyn Bridge, watch the ships go by on the East River while overlooking the cobblestone streets, or take in one of the many sporting events on one of our 12 Big Screen TVs.

The Paris Cafe was closed for 51 weeks after the devastation of Hurricane Sandy but it has been renovated (the magnificent Victorian back-bar has been restored and is returned to its original layout) and returns with a fresh look while keeping the old feel and vibe. Come on in for a pint or two!

119 South St
New York, NY 10038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Irish

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am
Sunday: 11:00am -11:00pm

Cross Street:
Peck Slip

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 240-9797

Website:
http://www.thepariscafenyc.com/

Public Transit:
A, C, E • 4, 5 • J, M, Z
or 2, 3 trains to Fulton Street/Broadway-Nassau Station, then walk east toward the Seaport and make
a left on South Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hawley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Paris Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
See All
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
56 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nice restaurant in an often overlooked part of the city by tourists. If you find yourself near the Pier 16 area, check out the Paris Café. It's a warm, friendly, casual environment with some great seafood options and a nice bar area.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Paris Cafe.. The Tuna and Burgers that we had were perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good food, good service, great craft beers, perfect place for a small group to get together for reasonable price dinner with kids, before going on a walk at the South Street Seaport.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Here were the noteworthy negative experiences:
- We ordered calamari and two burgers. Calamari never came. Calamari was on the bill so it wasn't the waitresses fault
- The burgers didn't taste like anything. When you use poor produce, you cannot create something delicious. When you put quality ingredients in, you'll actually get a good burger
- The table to the right, one person out of a party of 4 didn't get their main, just a sad side salad
- The table to the left of us weren't able to flag anyone down to place an order for 30mins
- Other customers in general very drunk in the middle of the day

Positive aspects :
- Good fries

Do not bother. I was hoping for a great local pub, but will never spend money here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Historic bar/pub at the north end of Soth Street Seaport. Originally for ship'stores became a liquor warehouse and longshoreman bar over 100 years ago. Bar is still the same, undamaged by by Sandy. Was also the headquarters of Joseph"Socks" Lanza, who controlled NY docks in the 1930 through 1945. How is that for history? Food is good--basic pub grub. Service very good. Noise not too bad. A place worth seeking out if you are devoted to NYC history!

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a surprise party here on Saturday, 5/6/17. The staff was so accommodating; when I kept adding more people to the reservation, they didn't even blink. Even though we hadn't requested separate checks, the waitress was so helpful - she just went to each table and calculated their bill. Everyone commented on how good the food was, and how perfect the setting was. Thank you, Paris Cafe, for a memorable event.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Horrible experience. I thought this would be a nice place for a meal and a rangers game. I thought wrong. The service was absolutely horrible. They had a few games going and we kindly asked the bar tender if he could simply switch a Wisconsin - Canada game (that absolutely no one was watching) to a rangers game and they threw a fit. All they cared about was being able to watch themselves - as if they had never heard of customer service. Ordered a Moscow mule which was repulsively strong and left. I will never go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The mussels frites are outstanding! The place is 100+ years old and imbued with history and authenticity...Given proximity to Wall Street, prices reasonable...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and a make you feel at home attitude. Annette was wonderful with her historical anecdotes and cheery personality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

staff was extremely nice and accommodating... they were supposed to be closed for a private event but fit us in anyway - great food, great find, good go to spot in the seaport area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent family meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Incredible food. Lamb shank was perfectly done. Prices we wonderful. Ambience was nostalgic, with an with an air of holiday tranquility. Warm and inviting, it was the perfect setting to catch up with good friends for drinks and a satisfying dinner. The holiday walk to the cafe was romantic and felt like a coastal city hideaway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cousins get-together after a cruise. Good menu choices, we enjoyed the pasta dish and the shepherd's pie was excellent. Lovely ambiance, a wee bit too dark for some, but I liked the decor.
Prices were good. Wait staff was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was good. However service was very sub-par. The staff seemed very unorganized and confused about who was doing what, to the point where they bought the wrong food to me.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Average food at local pub full of locals. Outside on the street next to traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Nice bar / restaurant in South Seaport.Recommend fish and chips.Not very extensive menu,and maybe a bit noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Perfect after a day at Sandy Hook beach on the Seastreak. Everyone had a hankering for seafood and this place had it plus a great burger for one of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Every time we go is a nice experience, great location and the service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The Paris Café fits so well into the historic atmosphere of the South Street Seaport neighborhood. The bar room is beautiful, the staff is welcoming, and the beer menu is extensive. Diarmuid Hackett runs a great show, from the bar to the food to the décor.

There are so many faux historic bars and restaurants that pretend to have been in this neighborhood for years; The Paris Café is the real thing.

If only someone could bring back Sloppy Louie's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Outstanding place to spend St Patrick's Day. Fun bar, super staff, great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2016

We reserved a table at the Paris Cafe based on trip advisor reviews. Food was good and service excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Yes, it's the Paris Cafe, but actually a wonderful New York Irish restaurant/bar. So nice to see that it has made a come-back after "Sandy". We were there on a Saturday evening, and it was crowded and we had 2 five-year olds and were made to feel welcome and had great service and very good food. Would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2015

We eat here whenever stay in lowerManhattan. This restuarant has friendly staff, great food, nice ambiance, and is a good value for the money. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2015

Really nice vibe to this restaurant.Situated almost at the beginning of Brooklyn Bridge,the food and the service here are top notch.I had the fish - really fresh and tasty.My partner had the lamb- again sumptious.Also good value for Manhattan.It is a popular spot so book with Open Table to guarantee an amazing evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2015

I loved this restaurant. Even though it probably isn't a "typical" place to take kids the view and menu (even the adult one, since they don't have a kids one) made it a great choice for my family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2015

The drinks could have been better. Didnt know how to make a Moscow Mule. The head waitress
was quite snippy. I would go back only if i was passing by and needed a burger.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2015

The service was great and the food awesome. I wished the drink menu was more elaborate but there were no complaints with our orders

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2015

My boyfriend and I brought our newlywed friends here while they were in town for their honeymoon. I made the reservation only about six hours in advance with the additional request to "make it a special occasion", if possible. Since the reservation was made so close to the actual time, I was not at all expecting my request to be granted. However, just after our entrees arrived, one of the waitresses stopped by with glasses of complimentary champagne and best wishes for the newlywed couple!

The experience was fabulous overall and made it so easy to celebrate a special occasion. The food was also delicious and the service off the charts. Would recommend highly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Wonderful atmosphere! Excellent service. Food was good. Great place to eat when you're visiting South Street Seaport.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Found this at the edge of the seaport and it was a great find. Soup was top notch and had lamb stew which was notable for its smooth, Guinness-like flavor and veggies. Other plus was the great background music...pleasant Motown and soul for a pleasant Sunday lunch. More people should take the walk towards the water's edge and find this old time gem on South Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2015

We arrived in time for our reservation, but there was no table for us. The manager had been busy and had failed to check recent email reservations. She apologized and said she would find a way to seat us in about 25 minutes, but we were tired and decided not to stay. We found Balalu around the corner and had a delightful meal in a quiet beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2015

We love our lunch at The Paris Cafe! The food was phenomenal, and the history behind the restaurant makes the experience even better. We recommended the restaurant to others we met.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2015

We brought a group of 12 Middle School students to NYC for a conference. Some restaurants cringe at groups that large, especially with younger children. The Paris Cafe was very welcoming to all, and our server, Annette, was the best part of the meal. She was patient, kind, and super helpful. She took the time to speak with the kids, and took care of all our needs. The food was delicious, fresh, and prepared quickly. I will definitely be back on my next trip to New York and will recommend to anyone traveling. Thank you Paris Cafe for such a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Was looking for a place for brunch after the NYC HALF Marathon. Friend recommended The Paris Cafe. Had a group of 10 people with a reservation for 8. They were very accommodating. Food was delicious and plenty as were the bloody Mary's. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2015

Great place downtown for lunch! Hidden gem! Wonderful salmon dish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2015

A deux pas du pont de Brooklyn, The Paris Café est un magnifique Bar à l'ancienne et un restaurant de grande qualité. Coeur historique du sud de Manhattan, où les hommes célèbres qui ont fait l'Amérique ce sont retrouvé ou venu boire une bière ou diner d'autre dormir puisque pendant plusieurs décennies, l'establishment était aussi un Hotel.

Nous avons testé pour vous le boeuf bourguignon, la Shepherd's pie ainsi que le demi poulet aux herbes. les enfants sont les bienvenues et les burgers sont extra. tous les plats étaient délicieux avec une légère touche à l'américaine.

Vraiment le Bar - restaurant idéal avant ou après une balade sur le pont de Brooklyn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Typical New York pub near the South Street Seaport. We were with visitors from France who enjoyed the eggs benedict. Reasonable prices. The service was quite friendly but a bit slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and seated early at our request. Food and service were superb, and the manager was very accommodating and made us feel welcomed in what is obviously a gathering place for local professionals from the Wall Street area. We felt at home and the food was simply excellent.
We loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.