Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About The Palmetto Cafe

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (28)
Great for Lunch (23)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Sunday Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service! Great food, beautiful environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent as was the service. Great selection of traditional breakfast options as well as local favorites. Will be going here monthly for breakfast/Sunday brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of my most favorite restaurants for a weekend brunch or lunch any time. Spring and Fall are great times to enjoy a meal in the beautiful courtyard. Delicious food, try the crab salad, and always great service. I happily drive from Kiawah for a meal here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were there only for breakfast brunch. Its a buffet and you will find what you need. Design your own omelets, Blintzes, French Toast, amazing bacon (yes, its amazing!) plus fruit, great coffee, rolls, and muffins. The room is big and accommodates. The wait staff was great although it was sometimes hard to get their attention. They seemed a bit stretched. They never seemed to lose their cool and were hustling both mornings. Good news is that they didn't push you out, and let you dine at your leisure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyable all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I went for breakfast and preferred ala carte rather than the buffet. The french toast was delicious with more than enough bacon and warm fruit. The aztec coffee was good and strong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I chose this lovely restaurant for a business meal that would be attended by colleagues who had never been to Charleston. The location is excellent, being right in the heart of downtown Charleston. We had an enjoyable lunch with great service. I found the restaurant very overpriced, so I will not be recommending it to friends except for business or very special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fabulous menu. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went for lunch when my mother was visiting Charleston. We sat outdoors at a table with an umbrella providing a nice shade. Though the outdoor section of the Cafe is located in the center of the Charleston PLace Hotel, it captures the breeze surprisingly well, making the heat of a sunny afternoon seem light and pleasant. The dishes were delicious, well prepared, and our server was extremely polite, professional and attentive. It was a great experience, one we enjoyed very much and would visit the location again.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food, Service and ambiance all were outstanding for our brunch visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Nice environment -- bright and cheery but not noisy. Food was excellent, but quite expensive. So it's some place I'd go back for a special lunch occasion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Lovely girls lunch celebrating a birthday. Sat on the patio. John was our server. Food exceeded our expectations. Wonderful afternoon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

John was a great waiter as usual staff was incredible food was OK was kind of surprised there was not more variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Easter brunch. The food was delicious and the selection was wonderful! The shrimp and grit cakes were amazing

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Rather disappointing experience, given high expectations. Well prepared meals, though nothing special or exceptional (given the price). Service average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Continues to hit the mark. For an establishment like it is I found it odd my mom had to go to a public ladies room. Fix that! Get restrooms in the place of dinning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

At least at lunch, they will squeeze three adults and three toddlers in on an umbrella table for four right beside a couple at a table for two--even when no one else is on the patio. My experience was also influenced by a forgotten bar item and a wrong plate order which caused delays.

I admit these circumstances shouldn't but probably do influence my feeling the food sampled was no better than you can find in any of two dozen other restaurants in Charleston, maybe a half step below. Which leads me to ask why pay a large premium to eat it here?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

They seated us in a corner even though there were plenty of seats by the windows. Coffee is 6$ for one person. They do not have black iced tea. Seemed overdone for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Reservations were at 11:30am and as a hostess came out & moved one of the menu stands away from the door at 11:25am, we walked to the entrance and a black lady was on the phone at the hostess stand and told us they weren't open yet for lunch and we would need to come back in a few minutes. Not a good way to start a lunch at the Palmetto Cafe, which we always visit while in Charleston. Great waiter, thank goodness but the hostess needs to learn to be more tactful. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful she crab soup! I had a crab salad that I couldn't finish, there was so much crab in it! Fabulous bloody Mary's! My husband had the halibut and it was excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Palmetto Cafe is a lovely, delightful brunch spot in Charleston. The service is elegantly superb. Paul, our server, was the epitome of a gentleman! The extraordinary garden and fountains lend to a serene, sunny vibe. The breakfast buffet is the best, cleanest, most scrumptious that I have enjoyed in ANY price range. I am a frequent visitor to Charleston and always look forward to breakfast at the Palmetto Cafe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Usually stop in for lunch, find everything very satisfactory.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We always eat brunch here before we attend performances at 34 West. Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a wonderful brunch with many delicious items. Staff is so friendly and nice. We love Austin, ask for him but they all are top notch professionals.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at the Palmetto Cafe. Our server, Chris, was exceptional in meeting our needs. The Palmetto Cafe has a brunch buffet that offers most of the items on the ala carte menu so that you can sample many different foods: eggs Benedict, french toast, made to order omelets, bacon and sausage, fruit and more. They also serve very good coffee in your choice of roast. Too many times I have eaten a buffet meal that the food has been out for a while, but the food options at Palmetto Cafe were very fresh. We will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Outstanding service, great food, high-end ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The finale to my birthday weekend in Charleston. Although the brunch offerings were reduced from our previous visit 5 years ago, everything was wonderful. Very relaxed, service attentive...will visit again!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were visiting Charleston from out-of-state and had heard the crab cakes were wonderful. HUGE disappointment! Maybe some of the worst we've ever had. Extremely small, overcooked, mostly batter, no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We enjoyed the food, great service (John) and friendly people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Had breakfast on a mini vacation to Charleston. Food was good, service was terrific. They accommodate our vegan diner easily.

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I met a friend here for lunch...amazing service, didn't feel rushed, excellent wine, and wonderful, very fresh food! It's pricey, but worth it. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The experience from last Saturday's brunch at Palmetto café was unsurpassed. Both the front and back of the house are 5*quality and consistently so. It is one of those places that you really look forward to going to for both service food value and genuine Southern hospitality. He wall should be proud of what you do because you are the best.

God Bless and Thank you,

Mark Galloway

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server was excellent, and the room is beautifully airy and bright. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and overpriced. I had a Caesar salad with shrimp and oysters; the presentation was better than the food. At the price we paid, I was expecting much better food and came away feeling disappointed with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great brunch food. Excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good took 45 minutes to arrive. Got beverage order wrong. Burger was raw in the middle, crab cake was dry and room temp, chicken salad tasted funky--soup was good. Talked to management-very kind and didn't charge us. Invited us back on them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had the breakfast/brunch buffet here it is marvelous with great options and choices for anyone.
The cheese blintzes with berry sauce are the best that I have ever had. Such a pleasurable place to enjoy breakfast.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Elegant place for a luxurious lunch, top notch food and wine, pricey but worth it for a special lunch.
Great dishes and super bread basket

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful in every way, the food was to die for, service impeccable and menu as well a Brunch buffet were equally outstanding. We will be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always top-notch; living in Charleston I can say Palmetto always, consistently ranks among the top of Charleston's superior restaurants for great food, service and decor.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.