Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

The Palmetto Cafe

4.5
286 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Quiet Conversation
The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 722-4900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Manall
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hassel Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.
Additional
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 286 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Lilly was great and Mrs Scott was fabulous!
Austin did an excellent job! Mike stop by and we appreciate his attention!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant, as always, was delightful! It was the perfect place for celebrating a friend's birthday! For some reason, the service was slow that day and that has never happened on previous occasions. There were not that many people in the restaurant so I couldn't figure the reason. As always, though, the Palmetto Cafe was awesome and we will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Lilly greeted us by name and with a smile as usual. She is such a great ambassador for the Palmetto Cafe. We had a new server (Kevin) who was very attentive and accommodating. He knew when and when not to interrupt our business lunch and that skill is rare in this day and age when restaurants shuffle patrons in and out in an attempt to turn tables as much as possible. Bravo Palmetto!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We enjoyed our lunch; food was very good. Wait staff responsive
Without being intrusive. Steppped up pace when we explained time
Limit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Excellent. The garden is lovely to enjoy lunch
Special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Austin was fabulous!
Mike stopped by several times to check on us! We love Palmetto Cafe and the staff! First Class!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Never disappointed when dining at the Palmetto Cafe. Great food with attentive service in a delightful environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great service. The hostess was very gracious and acknowledged that we had dined there before and welcomed us back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent lunch - all except for the service that was inordinately delayed. However, to their credit, the management very generously complimented for the inconvenience. We would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Ariana our server was gracious and hospitable. Everything was prepared perfectly and Delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Service was very slow and food wasn’t as good as previous times. Waitress didn’t offer the buffet and was unsure when it was available. Not a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Ate breakfast buffet at the Palmetto Cafe but this wasn’t your ordinary ho-hum buffet. Let me first start by saying our server, Paul, was so congenial and tended to us with great care. Back to the food, from start to finish the food & coffee was wonderful. The buffet was nicely done with omelet station, eggs, bkfst meats, eggs benedict, French toast, caramel brioche, pastries, assorted dry cereals, warm oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt & more! The restaurant is beautiful and on a nice day the seating in the courtyard would be most enjoyable. If you come to Charleston, breakfast at Palmetto Cafe is highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Food was excellent, as was the presentation. Service was excellent. But very expensive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The Palmetto Cafe is VERY pricey and the food is merely okay but it's a lovely setting with gracious service and sometimes, that's exactly what you want. Average entree at lunch runs north of $27 -- be forewarned!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent Sunday brunch. Wonderful buffet spread. Great menu options as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Can't say enough about this place. Always excellent service and food. One of our favorites for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

This restaurant is part of the Belmond Charleston Place hotel, which was charming and beautiful. I highly recommend staying there if you are visiting Charleston! I met a friend at The Palmetto Cafe for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. We ate in the outdoor enclosed courtyard. It was a pleasant day in Charleston and perfect for outdoor dining. The service was great. I ordered the Crab salad and it had lumps of pure crabmeat and no filler. It was on a tasty bed of avocado. Wonderful!! If I visit Charleston again, I'll be back at the Palmetto Cafe and ordering the Crab salad!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Had a great breakfast with good service. The pancakes were excellent. Enjoyable atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Impeccable service with exceptionally well prepared food. Lily graciously seated us at a nice table overlooking the garden and all went well. Bravo!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food is decent best part is beautiful atmosphere next to terrace.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great seafood club sandwich and service very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Service was excellent and Sunday brunch was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Poor service and breakfast buffet was cold and overpriced. Waiter acted like he would be anywhere but at resatariant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Fabulous!! John was our waiter and truly made a birthday to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Amazing service. Fast and kind. The palmetto omelette was absolutely delicious and FULL of crab and lobster. Even the side of berries were delectable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great service, excellent food, loved the fresh iced tea with peach leaves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Great food and atmosphere. Expensive, but appropriately priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Very nice brunch buffet. Caramel brioche was a treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

THE best brunch buffet EVER! Make sure to make a reservation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Palmetto Cafe never disappoints! Lilly (whom I did not know) welcomed and greeted me by name assuming, I suppose, that I was on time for my business reservation (my business guest was impressed). Lilly then seated us at a spot that was consistent with my request (near a window overlooking the garden) when Ruthie (whom I recall from 4-5 years ago) did her magic. She not only welcomed us but was very responsive in all respects. The scallops and shrimp were wonderfully seasoned and perfectly prepared. The ambiance was first class, of course. You might be surprised to hear that my guest and I are both local. The fact that we chose a "hotel" signals that this one is where one finds not only a white tablecloth kind of experience with excellent chefs with consistently great food but also a place that treats you like you are a regular at "Cheers" even though you are only a twice a month person and the hostess has not ever met you. You really need to try this place. You won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Delightful experience with Family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Late Valentines Day lunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful celebration for two valentines birthdays! Food and venue were perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We love the Palmetto Cafe.Their food is delicious and the presentation is amazing.I have never had a dish there that I did not like.They have a beautiful terrace where you can eat outside when it is warm enough.Everyone who works there is so kind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Great service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The food was horrible...canned peaches yucky!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Best Sunday brunch in Charleston!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Very nice place for Brunch. Beautiful room and excellent brunch buffet with made to order omelets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food, beautiful location, and great service. Ariana took care of us and she was very nice and helpful. Very pleased with this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Great birthday brunch Celebration !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by The Palmetto Cafe