About The Palmetto Cafe

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
8 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Great for Brunch (11)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome brunch! Throughly enjoyed our m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome brunch! Throughly enjoyed our meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern cuisine at its best! It made my ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Southern cuisine at its best! It made my birthday surprise well worth it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best Sunday brunch t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was by far the best Sunday brunch that I've had...Ever! The omlette was superb, and our server, John was outstanding!! We were celebrating getting married the day before and our overall experience at Palmetto and the Belmond Hotel was simply marvelous. Definitely looking forward to our next stay!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service could not have been better, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service could not have been better, very friendly and helpful. Their split pea soup was wonderful, the scallops were perfect and the side of asparagus was terrific. My friend had the crab tacos and she recommended that I get them the next time we are there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with the whole experi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was very pleased with the whole experience. the food and service was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice and bright dining room and great co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice and bright dining room and great courtyard for those who want to dine outdoors. If you get the brunch buffet, get the caramel brioche. It's "to die for" (as my wife puts it).

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our birthday celebration luncheon ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Loved our birthday celebration luncheon and had a great table outside. The service was top notch, and everyone loved their entree. The staff brought out two Happy Birthday desserts! Great touch. I would definitely go back, on my next trip to Charleston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Our server John Scot ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server John Scott was knowledgeable and made some excellent suggestion on food selection! The atmosphere beautiful!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often have Sunday brunch at Palmetto ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We often have Sunday brunch at Palmetto Cafe. Wait staff is excellent. Dining room is sunny and bright adding a great deal to the experience. Great brunch buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the tandoori chicken salad!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the tandoori chicken salad!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very disappointed with the food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was very disappointed with the food. Very overpriced for the quality. The service was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic experience! Austin was our se ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fantastic experience! Austin was our server and he made us feel very welcomed and tweaked the scramble to meet our high hopes and vegetarian request. Coffee was very good and peach tea was tasty.

The ambiance is warm and open. Service is top notch yet not overly formal. We would gladly come back for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but was disappointed with the selection and value. I expected a little more variety besides the typical scrambled eggs and bacon for $27. There were no non-breakfast items and no biscuits and gravy. Service was mediocre.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I recommend without reservation and that ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I recommend without reservation and that is something coming from me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is light and inviting. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant is light and inviting. The hostess seemed very confused on Sunday morning, kept us waiting when we had a reservation with tables sitting empty, tried to call people who arrived after we did, and had our name wrong even after asking us and checking us in. Good, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and attentive!! Breakfast was great as well!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Excellent serv ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was outstanding. Excellent service! Anticipated our needs, made honest and helpful recommendations and delivered quality beyond our expectations. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch buffet selection was excellen ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The brunch buffet selection was excellent. The Bloody Mary and Mimosa were also excellent. Location provides easy access to The Market, 34 West and other interesting venues.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While on the pricey side, the quality an ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2016

While on the pricey side, the quality and variety of items on the Sunday brunch buffet is actually quite a value. Something for everyone and it is all delicious. Atmosphere and staff were outstanding as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trou ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trout at Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was our waitress and she was very pleasant and had great recommendations. The She Crab Soup and Crab salad are highly recommended. A wonderful go-to place in Charleston! Cute and relaxing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server! Dessert was good.

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great server! Dessert was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We we ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We were staying in the hotel for a business meeting and wanted to have lunch before leaving. The peach tea is just perfect and a wonderful treat on a hot, summer day and the octopus is the best anywhere I have been in the United States. Our server, Chris, was so nice, friendly and helpful! Just excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Our server John Scott was amazing. The food was amazing as well. Will definitely go back to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. The food was great along with the red wine! I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy our visit. We especially ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always enjoy our visit. We especially like the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very d ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very delicious. Our waiter was MIA pretty much the whole time and didn't treat us very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Bright and light..never disappoints

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bright and light..never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Manager is a great asset to your restaur ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Manager is a great asset to your restaurant. My parents are in the 90s and she makes sure to get them seated where they can be comfortable .

We had unexpected family come and everyone was super about accommodating them also

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome food and service

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoyed my Chilean sea bass and salad with oysters! Our server Brandon was excellent!! Great atmosphere with attention to every detail. A must visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch buffet with something for e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great brunch buffet with something for everyone in a nice bright atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Service

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Whether you're staying in the Charleston Place hotel or not, this is a great place to have a fine breakfast and/or lunch. Wonderful food, great selection and presentation of coffee and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Charleston, SC

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have lived in Charleston for 25 years. Over that time we have enjoyed Sunday brunches in many of our fine restaurants. Palmetto Cafe is definitely the best by every measure.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast Blessings

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had a Saturday business breakfast at a time of maximum tourist presence in Charleston. The Palmetto Grill took my reservation, honored it, offered attentive but not overbearing service and perfectly fine food. The restaurant was busy when I arrived and became crowded during my meeting, but we were never interrupted or inconvenienced. We thought that we were the only patrons there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had both breakfast one day and lunch ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had both breakfast one day and lunch another at the Palmetto café. Loved both of them. Buffet and a la carte options for whichever mood suits you for both. (I personally do not like buffets because I tend to overeat, but they looked really great!)

The service was great. Very comfortable. Nice outdoor patio. Portions well sized, and everything prepared perfectly. They also offer some great breakfast and lunch options (especially the ranchero eggs!)

No reservations about recommending this one, but a reservation for lunch is probably not a bad idea. Gets pretty crowded!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricy for what you get

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

You have a choice of eating inside or out on the covered patio which is nice. We chose to eat on the patio and they very nicely accomodated us in selelcting a table out of the sun. We had a choice of the Sunday Bruch Buffet or ordering off the menu. Both options were very expensive. More expensive than other equally high quality retaurants in the area. We chose the buffet and both had omelletttes made to order which were good. There were many choices of preprepared entrees and fruits. Unfortunately the breads and pastries were pedestrian at best and looked like they had come from the grocery store. The prepared eggs benedict had been in the steamer tray for some time and looked old and congealed. We also ordered a Bloody Mary which was well prepared and a good value. While it was not a terrible meal we did not feel we got good value for our money. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent in every way. The food was rea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent in every way. The food was really good and beautifully presented. The French coffee was wonderful and the staff were superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, the highest quality f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service, the highest quality food, lovely outdoor courtyard garden patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a great place for a brunch! We sat ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2016

What a great place for a brunch! We sat on the patio and had a great brunch and a great experience with the servers being there but never too present. Simply perfect to relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.