Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About The Palmetto Cafe

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Scenic View (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my birthday brunch. They had a buffet and no brunch menu which wasn't expected. Also our food arrived w a hair in it. The waitress quickly took it away and we didn't pay for the replacement meal. Great experience and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We lunch reservations for our anniversary. We had the best waiter, a wonderful lunch and we are so happy we chose this restaurant for our special occasion. The She Crab Soup is the best we've ever had. Thank you for treating us to this lovely lunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our lunch was perfect and it was a quiet place to conduct our business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my first time dining at the Palmetto Cafe. I enjoyed the experience. I ordered the seafood sandwich. It was fresh and full of flavor. The staff was very nice and the ambiance was very relaxing. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

John was our waiter today...loved him! All around great experience and delicious she crab soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely will return for another meal.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Overpriced and noisy! We went there for Father's Day brunch and it was a zoo. We ordered three a la carte breakfast items and it took over 30 minutes for them to be served. I think they assume that most people will go with the buffet so weren't staffed in the front or back of the house to deal with anything but buffet service. The noise level was so bad that we could barely hear each other talk. (Lots of out of control babies and kids which isn't the restaurant's fault.) The bill was $84 for three breakfasts (no alcohol or extras) which I felt was a bit much considering the slow service and the chaotic vibe. Our server was sweet but completely frazzled and overwhelmed. The management needs to have more staff on schedule especially on a busy holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Overall, the food was borderline awful to terrible (across 3 meals and appetizers). I am a local and can assure you that the seafood is NOT fresh. My meal was almost inedible (avocado crab salad). The presentation was lovely but the food was not. The service was the best part of the experience and it was quite good. The ceiling has noticeable water damage. The restaurant is in need of a deep cleaning overall and major cosmetic repair. The cost was exorbitant. Cost is a nonissue for an excellent (or even good) meal, but this meal was a waste of money. I'd avoid this restaurant. I would not go back and would not recommend. It was convenient to an event which is why we went -- big mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great service! Amazing lunch! Good way to wrap up a special girls weekend getaway! Try the club it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We love coming to the Palmetto Cafe. John always takes great care of us. We definitely wish they would bring back the lamb pita though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Overall perfect occasion complete with surprise complimentary dessert. Jeff had just the right touch as our waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food was great and lindsey was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch was amazing. Gorgeous buffet, fresh coffee and juice from a friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel and restaurant are the epitome of Southern Charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent service! Great food, beautiful environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Palmetto Cafe does not disappoint. I have visited for breakfast brunch anniversaries, family dinners and business dinners. Michelle was very efficient, timely and professional. She crab soup was phenomenal and Michelle graciously offered us additional sherry. The Caesar salad with local shrimp (with dressing on the side) was very attractive with the chef's special touch (you'll have to see it). And, of course, we were served a pineapple morsel dipped in chocolate as a thank you from the restaurant. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Great selection of traditional breakfast options as well as local favorites. Will be going here monthly for breakfast/Sunday brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of my most favorite restaurants for a weekend brunch or lunch any time. Spring and Fall are great times to enjoy a meal in the beautiful courtyard. Delicious food, try the crab salad, and always great service. I happily drive from Kiawah for a meal here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were there only for breakfast brunch. Its a buffet and you will find what you need. Design your own omelets, Blintzes, French Toast, amazing bacon (yes, its amazing!) plus fruit, great coffee, rolls, and muffins. The room is big and accommodates. The wait staff was great although it was sometimes hard to get their attention. They seemed a bit stretched. They never seemed to lose their cool and were hustling both mornings. Good news is that they didn't push you out, and let you dine at your leisure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyable all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I went for breakfast and preferred ala carte rather than the buffet. The french toast was delicious with more than enough bacon and warm fruit. The aztec coffee was good and strong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I chose this lovely restaurant for a business meal that would be attended by colleagues who had never been to Charleston. The location is excellent, being right in the heart of downtown Charleston. We had an enjoyable lunch with great service. I found the restaurant very overpriced, so I will not be recommending it to friends except for business or very special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fabulous menu. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went for lunch when my mother was visiting Charleston. We sat outdoors at a table with an umbrella providing a nice shade. Though the outdoor section of the Cafe is located in the center of the Charleston PLace Hotel, it captures the breeze surprisingly well, making the heat of a sunny afternoon seem light and pleasant. The dishes were delicious, well prepared, and our server was extremely polite, professional and attentive. It was a great experience, one we enjoyed very much and would visit the location again.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food, Service and ambiance all were outstanding for our brunch visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Nice environment -- bright and cheery but not noisy. Food was excellent, but quite expensive. So it's some place I'd go back for a special lunch occasion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Lovely girls lunch celebrating a birthday. Sat on the patio. John was our server. Food exceeded our expectations. Wonderful afternoon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

John was a great waiter as usual staff was incredible food was OK was kind of surprised there was not more variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Easter brunch. The food was delicious and the selection was wonderful! The shrimp and grit cakes were amazing

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Rather disappointing experience, given high expectations. Well prepared meals, though nothing special or exceptional (given the price). Service average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Continues to hit the mark. For an establishment like it is I found it odd my mom had to go to a public ladies room. Fix that! Get restrooms in the place of dinning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

At least at lunch, they will squeeze three adults and three toddlers in on an umbrella table for four right beside a couple at a table for two--even when no one else is on the patio. My experience was also influenced by a forgotten bar item and a wrong plate order which caused delays.

I admit these circumstances shouldn't but probably do influence my feeling the food sampled was no better than you can find in any of two dozen other restaurants in Charleston, maybe a half step below. Which leads me to ask why pay a large premium to eat it here?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

They seated us in a corner even though there were plenty of seats by the windows. Coffee is 6$ for one person. They do not have black iced tea. Seemed overdone for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Reservations were at 11:30am and as a hostess came out & moved one of the menu stands away from the door at 11:25am, we walked to the entrance and a black lady was on the phone at the hostess stand and told us they weren't open yet for lunch and we would need to come back in a few minutes. Not a good way to start a lunch at the Palmetto Cafe, which we always visit while in Charleston. Great waiter, thank goodness but the hostess needs to learn to be more tactful. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful she crab soup! I had a crab salad that I couldn't finish, there was so much crab in it! Fabulous bloody Mary's! My husband had the halibut and it was excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Palmetto Cafe is a lovely, delightful brunch spot in Charleston. The service is elegantly superb. Paul, our server, was the epitome of a gentleman! The extraordinary garden and fountains lend to a serene, sunny vibe. The breakfast buffet is the best, cleanest, most scrumptious that I have enjoyed in ANY price range. I am a frequent visitor to Charleston and always look forward to breakfast at the Palmetto Cafe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Usually stop in for lunch, find everything very satisfactory.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We always eat brunch here before we attend performances at 34 West. Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a wonderful brunch with many delicious items. Staff is so friendly and nice. We love Austin, ask for him but they all are top notch professionals.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at the Palmetto Cafe. Our server, Chris, was exceptional in meeting our needs. The Palmetto Cafe has a brunch buffet that offers most of the items on the ala carte menu so that you can sample many different foods: eggs Benedict, french toast, made to order omelets, bacon and sausage, fruit and more. They also serve very good coffee in your choice of roast. Too many times I have eaten a buffet meal that the food has been out for a while, but the food options at Palmetto Cafe were very fresh. We will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.