About The Palmetto Cafe

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
3 More
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

great for brunch (26)
special occasion (17)
great for lunch (12)
See All
great for outdoor dining (12)
fit for foodies (9)
scenic view (6)
good for groups (6)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (3)
neighborhood gem (1)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had both breakfast one day and lunch ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We had both breakfast one day and lunch another at the Palmetto café. Loved both of them. Buffet and a la carte options for whichever mood suits you for both. (I personally do not like buffets because I tend to overeat, but they looked really great!) The service was great. Very comfortable. Nice outdoor patio. Portions well sized, and everything prepared perfectly. They also offer some great breakfast and lunch options (especially the ranchero eggs!) No reservations about recommending this one, but a reservation for lunch is probably not a bad idea. Gets pretty crowded!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very pricy for what you get

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

You have a choice of eating inside or out on the covered patio which is nice. We chose to eat on the patio and they very nicely accomodated us in selelcting a table out of the sun. We had a choice of the Sunday Bruch Buffet or ordering off the menu. Both options were very expensive. More expensive than other equally high quality retaurants in the area. We chose the buffet and both had omelletttes made to order which were good. There were many choices of preprepared entrees and fruits. Unfortunately the breads and pastries were pedestrian at best and looked like they had come from the grocery store. The prepared eggs benedict had been in the steamer tray for some time and looked old and congealed. We also ordered a Bloody Mary which was well prepared and a good value. While it was not a terrible meal we did not feel we got good value for our money. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way. The food was rea ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent in every way. The food was really good and beautifully presented. The French coffee was wonderful and the staff were superb.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, the highest quality f ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service, the highest quality food, lovely outdoor courtyard garden patio.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great place for a brunch! We sat ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

What a great place for a brunch! We sat on the patio and had a great brunch and a great experience with the servers being there but never too present. Simply perfect to relax.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully delicious!

Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I were staying in the hotel for the final days of our honeymoon. We'd ended up at the restaurant on a whim and went back again the next day before leaving because we loved it that much. Delicious. Beautiful. Special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Average

Dined on April 10, 2016

It was average at best. Nothing special. I can think of many more places I'd go before I'd go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent but expensive

Dined on April 9, 2016

The four of us enjoyed ourselves and found the food to be outstanding. Definitely top notch but service was a little slow. The food was rather expensive but many items were so big they could be shared. We were not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch buffet was fantastic! We enjo ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The brunch buffet was fantastic! We enjoyed the atmosphere, the delicious coffee, and Chris, our server, was prompt and kept us happy. Will be back for sure!

food3
ambience5
service4

Great location and ambiance. I have had ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great location and ambiance. I have had many lunches there before- celebrating various milestones- but this meal felt way subpar to me. Following an unusually long wait and purported mix-up in the kitchen the awaited meal came. Alas the soup was bland, the fish greasy and just ordinary (had to return), the crab salad just a mix of mashed up crab (no lump meat there!) with way too much mayo, and the octopus salad had far too many olives rendering it somewhat salty ( the octopus itself was well prepared). The desert was nothing to boast about that you could not find at your neighborhood eatery or supermarket. In all the food was rather lackluster and did not match the expectation and price. I have had great meals there in the past but this last visit is leaving me wondering whether or not I will be back. Something is definitely "missing" and the kitchen may have lost its cachet. I was left sadly unimpressed and disappointed. The only redeeming part was our server Tony who was impeccable in his service and professionalism.

food5
ambience5
service5

The outdoor area is absolutely beautiful ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The outdoor area is absolutely beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious food and beautiful presentation. Service was excellent. Luxury dining in historic Charleston.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wedding Anniversary Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

I knew that we would enjoy the white tablecloth Sunday brunch at the Palmetto Cafe as we have in the past. Brandon was as efficient and helpful a server as anyone we have had; he even suggested that I try the caramel soaked brioche bread (I deferred). For "standards," brunch (with custom omelettes, eggs benedict and salmon) was fine. I would have liked to have seen some lunch fare, however, perhaps some oysters, roast beef and shrimp for the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent Valentines Day Surprise

Dined on February 14, 2016

I surprised my darling wife with a trip to Charleston and brunch at the Palmetto Cafe. I had dinner there years ago, but my wife had never been. She was completely surprised and delighted!! The food was most excellent and the service was equally superb. Our server, Liz, was very attentive, friendly, and extremely professional. Kudos to the Palmetto Cafe, and many thanks for making our Valentines Day most memorable!! We plan to return soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

It always is a special treat for my fami ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It always is a special treat for my family to go there for the Sunday brunch . It is $28 , but well worth it. Service is always excellent as well .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have had brunch and breakfast many times at P.C.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Every time I visit Charleston I try to book brunch or breakfast here at the Charleston Place. Service is always attentive and food excellent. The coffee is the best. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always eat here!

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is wonderful and the staff are fantastic.So nice.We have never had anything not good here.Love the shrimp tacos and Caesar salad with grilled shrimp.They also have a lovely buffet on Sunday's.Nevr a disappoint!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 7, 2016

Enjoyed brunch here on Sunday. Wonderful array of food including many different fruit selections as well as cheeses, yogurt, and all the usual breakfast items. Also a few not usually found on brunch tables. Delicious coffee, in either light, medium or dark roast. Impeccable service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I enjoyed the food and the setting but i ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

I enjoyed the food and the setting but it was very expensive.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the service i ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The food was delicious and the service impeccable. One of our favorite places in Charleston.

food4
ambience5
service5

Sure to Impress

Dined on November 12, 2015

Lovely spot for a special occasion. Interior is fresh and bright, but outdoor dinning is an option. If you choose to dine on the patio, you will find it an oasis of ferns, fountains and succulents that is light and breezy. Food is really good. We had several dishes with lobster and they did not disappoint. The lobster meat was fresh and succulent and the portions quite generous. The service was impeccable and detail oriented, reminiscent of old-school, five star attention. We were celebrating a birthday and were brought a beautiful dessert, on the house!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

Over rated yet beautiful

Dined on October 25, 2015

Had brunch here with some friends, sat in the beautiful atrium. Service was great, place is quaint and romantic. Brunch menu was pricey and only a couple options for a non-seafood fan. Entree presentation was spot on, however the food was disappointing. She crab soup was delicious, but was lukewarm when served. All at our table agreed how the flavors of the dishes clashed. Best part of the meal were the mimosas. Overpriced for such oddly paired culinary dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Brunch in Town

Dined on October 18, 2015

The buffet is outstanding, the service is fantastic and the Bloody Mary's are top shelf. The staff remembers your name and they make you feel welcome. No hassle to turn the table over, you can relax and enjoy your breakfast and chat with your guests. I'm a repeat customer because of it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a terrific breakfast!

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

We have been going to Palmetto Cafe for over three years now. It has worked out that we go on Sunday's after dropping our boys at Sunday school across the street on Hasell. Always outstanding service as you'd expect at Charleston Place hotel. Wonderful assortment on the buffet, with just about everything you could want from made to order omelets to caramel brioche. Wonderful pastries, and local favorite cheese grits. We have ordered pancakes off the menu for our picky 12 year old, they were light and fluffy! Reservations are almost a must to avoid waiting during tourist season, but because of the buffet tables turn pretty fast! Mimosas on Sunday after 10am!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Palmetto Cafe - Wonderful Peaceful Oasis

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

The Palmetto Café never disappoints. From great service and great food to a beautiful place to dine, there is only positives to report from our last dining experience. I personally love the octopus and have rarely found it prepared as well in the United States as at The Palmetto Café. The peach iced tea is a great starter with a variety of choices of entrees to please a crowd. Anything from seafood to steaks and excellent desserts - it is all excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As anticipated with new serving method..

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

The Palmetto Cafe is a required stop for us when in Charleston. Always consistant in quality, preparation and interesting combinations along with traditional cuisine. She crab soup and Gazpacho we presented expertly. Don't want to give the particulars away! You must go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

This is my very favorite place for a gir ...

vip
Dined on August 26, 2015

This is my very favorite place for a girls' lunch in Charleston. Love the ambiance and menu. I always choose it when a friend comes in town or there is anything to celebrate. It is expensive, but it is totally worth. I find that the servers hover a little more than I like, but they mean well.

food5
ambience5
service5

So good!

Dined on August 23, 2015

Torry was phenomenal! The Brioche my fav! I am a local who loves lunch at Palmetto Cafe and I'm so glad brunch is just a delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing

Dined on August 8, 2015

what an experience.great food.great service. Alice was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3

The coffee was tepid and had sludge in i ...

Dined on July 26, 2015

The coffee was tepid and had sludge in it. To the waiter's credit, he brought us a fresh pot that was double filtered and it was better. The food was only fair.

food5
ambience5
service3

I adore the Cafe', the service is laid b ...

Dined on July 18, 2015

I adore the Cafe', the service is laid back a tad too much sometimes but it's worth it because the food is great, as is the ambiance.

food3
ambience4
service4

Hostess A plus accommating to handcap Br ...

Dined on July 17, 2015

Hostess A plus accommating to handcap Breakfast outstanding steak perfect with poach egg chicken for lunch tough...disappointing

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!

Dined on July 10, 2015

One of the best lunch spots in all of Charleston. The food and the service are always top notch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great lunch at The Palmetto Caf ...

vip
Dined on July 9, 2015

We had a great lunch at The Palmetto Cafe! The menu options were excellent along with the wine list. The service was impeccable! The dessert offered many great options.

food4
ambience4
service5

Always a pleasure

Dined on June 14, 2015

I have eten in this restaurant many times as it is only about a ten minute walk from my home. They are very well versed in the etiquette of serving a single diner, their staff are extremely courteous and friendly in a warm and charming way. The ice tea is excellent. I have taken guests there as well, and they have enjoyed it as I have.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the service.

Dined on June 1, 2015

Server was Liz & we will request her next time. Sophisticated & friendly at the same time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Charleston Ambiance

Dined on May 26, 2015

We have dined at Palmetto Cafe many times for lunch and the Crab salad never disappoints!. Other items are delicious as well, but the crab salad is what brings me back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Brunch Buffet

Dined on May 24, 2015

Exceeded our expectations for a Sunday Brunch! Food was absolutely delicious ! Servers were very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful overall

Dined on May 23, 2015

Breakfast buffet was outstanding! The service was great. Best breakfast I had in a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.