About The Palmetto Cafe

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic fresh and tasty food. Chris, o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic fresh and tasty food. Chris, our waitress, was wonderfully informative and attentive without being overboard. Pretty restaurant, perfect for lunch. The crab salad and prawn tacos were excellent. Very impressive, thank you! So far some of the best food we have eaten in Charleston.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and incredible service. Wi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and incredible service. Will most definitely return in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 5 of us for Sunday Brunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There were 5 of us for Sunday Brunch and it was just lovely. The service was exceptional as as the food. The eggs Benedict was the best I have ever had. Great choices on the buffet and everything was great. Be sure to try the peach tea and the Caramel Broiche.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch and didn't rea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and didn't realize that brunch was a buffet. The buffet was quite good, though.

A few notes:

Eggs Benedict were perfectly prepared

French toast nicely done, not soggy at all

Excellent quality of fresh fruit

Sliced smoked salmon was delicious

Great selection of assorted pastries.

Omelette station available

Service is incredible. Paul was our waiter and he was perhaps the finest server we had all weekend. He always wore a smile, very friendly, inviting and made us feel extremely welcome. He was very thorough and obviously well knowledged. You will surely have a better dining experience if Paul is your server.

I was the only person in my party eating the buffet. Looking over the menu, prices seem a bit more expensive than other places we are, and I can't say that it's justified. The portions were not small, but price points were higher than expected. For example the $26 burger was less enjoyable than the Husk burger or the burger at Cypress. Of all the places we ate for a long weekend in Charleston, it's top tier price but probably second to third tier value. The food was good, but considering the cost, there are several places I'd rather visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time and brunch at Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and brunch at The Palmetto cafe

Everything was perfect included service by John who recommended the best dishes.

We will be back!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exquisite time celebrating our ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an exquisite time celebrating our 10 year anniversary at the Palmetto Café! The ambiance, food, and waitstaff were the epitome of southern hospitality. We could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you, Palmetto Café !

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to Charleston every few years and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I go to Charleston every few years and always want to eat lunch here (not open for dinner!) and have the seafood club. Sadly it is no longer the lobster club, guessing due to cost, but there is a good deal of lobster and a few shrimp. It is just a great layered sandwich. Our guests had a burger and pea soup which they both liked. We took our time, and although they were very busy we were not rushed. It is in the lobby of the Charleston Place Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and wonderful food. Gray w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. Gray was an excellent waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside in the lovely garden setting ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sat outside in the lovely garden setting. Wait staff was attentive, accurate and friendly. Food was good. Burger was a little salty yet the crab cake was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time and will not be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time and will not be our last. Service, food and price was exceptional. Loved it, new Christmas tradition!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at the Palmetto Cafe for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our first time at the Palmetto Cafe for brunch. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cynthia was great she greeted and seated ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cynthia was great she greeted and seated us. Jeff waited on us and very helpful with suggestions! The food was fabulous! Great experience! We love The Palmetto Cafe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome brunch! Throughly enjoyed our m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome brunch! Throughly enjoyed our meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern cuisine at its best! It made my ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Southern cuisine at its best! It made my birthday surprise well worth it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best Sunday brunch t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was by far the best Sunday brunch that I've had...Ever! The omlette was superb, and our server, John was outstanding!! We were celebrating getting married the day before and our overall experience at Palmetto and the Belmond Hotel was simply marvelous. Definitely looking forward to our next stay!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service could not have been better, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service could not have been better, very friendly and helpful. Their split pea soup was wonderful, the scallops were perfect and the side of asparagus was terrific. My friend had the crab tacos and she recommended that I get them the next time we are there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with the whole experi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was very pleased with the whole experience. the food and service was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice and bright dining room and great co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice and bright dining room and great courtyard for those who want to dine outdoors. If you get the brunch buffet, get the caramel brioche. It's "to die for" (as my wife puts it).

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our birthday celebration luncheon ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Loved our birthday celebration luncheon and had a great table outside. The service was top notch, and everyone loved their entree. The staff brought out two Happy Birthday desserts! Great touch. I would definitely go back, on my next trip to Charleston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Our server John Scot ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server John Scott was knowledgeable and made some excellent suggestion on food selection! The atmosphere beautiful!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often have Sunday brunch at Palmetto ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We often have Sunday brunch at Palmetto Cafe. Wait staff is excellent. Dining room is sunny and bright adding a great deal to the experience. Great brunch buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the tandoori chicken salad!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the tandoori chicken salad!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very disappointed with the food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was very disappointed with the food. Very overpriced for the quality. The service was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic experience! Austin was our se ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fantastic experience! Austin was our server and he made us feel very welcomed and tweaked the scramble to meet our high hopes and vegetarian request. Coffee was very good and peach tea was tasty.

The ambiance is warm and open. Service is top notch yet not overly formal. We would gladly come back for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but was disappointed with the selection and value. I expected a little more variety besides the typical scrambled eggs and bacon for $27. There were no non-breakfast items and no biscuits and gravy. Service was mediocre.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I recommend without reservation and that ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I recommend without reservation and that is something coming from me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is light and inviting. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant is light and inviting. The hostess seemed very confused on Sunday morning, kept us waiting when we had a reservation with tables sitting empty, tried to call people who arrived after we did, and had our name wrong even after asking us and checking us in. Good, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and attentive!! Breakfast was great as well!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Excellent serv ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was outstanding. Excellent service! Anticipated our needs, made honest and helpful recommendations and delivered quality beyond our expectations. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch buffet selection was excellen ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The brunch buffet selection was excellent. The Bloody Mary and Mimosa were also excellent. Location provides easy access to The Market, 34 West and other interesting venues.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While on the pricey side, the quality an ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2016

While on the pricey side, the quality and variety of items on the Sunday brunch buffet is actually quite a value. Something for everyone and it is all delicious. Atmosphere and staff were outstanding as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trou ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trout at Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was our waitress and she was very pleasant and had great recommendations. The She Crab Soup and Crab salad are highly recommended. A wonderful go-to place in Charleston! Cute and relaxing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server! Dessert was good.

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great server! Dessert was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We we ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We were staying in the hotel for a business meeting and wanted to have lunch before leaving. The peach tea is just perfect and a wonderful treat on a hot, summer day and the octopus is the best anywhere I have been in the United States. Our server, Chris, was so nice, friendly and helpful! Just excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Our server John Scott was amazing. The food was amazing as well. Will definitely go back to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. T ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. The food was great along with the red wine! I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy our visit. We especially ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always enjoy our visit. We especially like the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very d ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very delicious. Our waiter was MIA pretty much the whole time and didn't treat us very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.