About The Palmetto Cafe

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Scenic View (6)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic experience! Austin was our se ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience! Austin was our server and he made us feel very welcomed and tweaked the scramble to meet our high hopes and vegetarian request. Coffee was very good and peach tea was tasty.

The ambiance is warm and open. Service is top notch yet not overly formal. We would gladly come back for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went specifically for Sunday brunch but was disappointed with the selection and value. I expected a little more variety besides the typical scrambled eggs and bacon for $27. There were no non-breakfast items and no biscuits and gravy. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I recommend without reservation and that ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I recommend without reservation and that is something coming from me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is light and inviting. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant is light and inviting. The hostess seemed very confused on Sunday morning, kept us waiting when we had a reservation with tables sitting empty, tried to call people who arrived after we did, and had our name wrong even after asking us and checking us in. Good, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and at ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great Service!! Jeff was friendly and attentive!! Breakfast was great as well!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch buffet selection was excellen ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The brunch buffet selection was excellent. The Bloody Mary and Mimosa were also excellent. Location provides easy access to The Market, 34 West and other interesting venues.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While on the pricey side, the quality an ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

While on the pricey side, the quality and variety of items on the Sunday brunch buffet is actually quite a value. Something for everyone and it is all delicious. Atmosphere and staff were outstanding as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trou ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Trout at Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Such an enjoyable experience! Chris was our waitress and she was very pleasant and had great recommendations. The She Crab Soup and Crab salad are highly recommended. A wonderful go-to place in Charleston! Cute and relaxing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server! Dessert was good.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great server! Dessert was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We we ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Palmetto Café is always excellent! We were staying in the hotel for a business meeting and wanted to have lunch before leaving. The peach tea is just perfect and a wonderful treat on a hot, summer day and the octopus is the best anywhere I have been in the United States. Our server, Chris, was so nice, friendly and helpful! Just excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We took our 2 grandsons there for brunch and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Our server John Scott was amazing. The food was amazing as well. Will definitely go back to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great lunch at Palmetto Cafe. The food was great along with the red wine! I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy our visit. We especially ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always enjoy our visit. We especially like the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very d ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The breakfast / brunch buffet was very delicious. Our waiter was MIA pretty much the whole time and didn't treat us very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Bright and light..never disappoints

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bright and light..never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Manager is a great asset to your restaur ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Manager is a great asset to your restaurant. My parents are in the 90s and she makes sure to get them seated where they can be comfortable .

We had unexpected family come and everyone was super about accommodating them also

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome food and service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoyed my Chilean sea bass and salad with oysters! Our server Brandon was excellent!! Great atmosphere with attention to every detail. A must visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch buffet with something for e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great brunch buffet with something for everyone in a nice bright atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Service

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Whether you're staying in the Charleston Place hotel or not, this is a great place to have a fine breakfast and/or lunch. Wonderful food, great selection and presentation of coffee and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Charleston, SC

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have lived in Charleston for 25 years. Over that time we have enjoyed Sunday brunches in many of our fine restaurants. Palmetto Cafe is definitely the best by every measure.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast Blessings

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had a Saturday business breakfast at a time of maximum tourist presence in Charleston. The Palmetto Grill took my reservation, honored it, offered attentive but not overbearing service and perfectly fine food. The restaurant was busy when I arrived and became crowded during my meeting, but we were never interrupted or inconvenienced. We thought that we were the only patrons there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had both breakfast one day and lunch ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had both breakfast one day and lunch another at the Palmetto café. Loved both of them. Buffet and a la carte options for whichever mood suits you for both. (I personally do not like buffets because I tend to overeat, but they looked really great!)

The service was great. Very comfortable. Nice outdoor patio. Portions well sized, and everything prepared perfectly. They also offer some great breakfast and lunch options (especially the ranchero eggs!)

No reservations about recommending this one, but a reservation for lunch is probably not a bad idea. Gets pretty crowded!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricy for what you get

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

You have a choice of eating inside or out on the covered patio which is nice. We chose to eat on the patio and they very nicely accomodated us in selelcting a table out of the sun. We had a choice of the Sunday Bruch Buffet or ordering off the menu. Both options were very expensive. More expensive than other equally high quality retaurants in the area. We chose the buffet and both had omelletttes made to order which were good. There were many choices of preprepared entrees and fruits. Unfortunately the breads and pastries were pedestrian at best and looked like they had come from the grocery store. The prepared eggs benedict had been in the steamer tray for some time and looked old and congealed. We also ordered a Bloody Mary which was well prepared and a good value. While it was not a terrible meal we did not feel we got good value for our money. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent in every way. The food was rea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent in every way. The food was really good and beautifully presented. The French coffee was wonderful and the staff were superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, the highest quality f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service, the highest quality food, lovely outdoor courtyard garden patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a great place for a brunch! We sat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

What a great place for a brunch! We sat on the patio and had a great brunch and a great experience with the servers being there but never too present. Simply perfect to relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully delicious!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I were staying in the hotel for the final days of our honeymoon. We'd ended up at the restaurant on a whim and went back again the next day before leaving because we loved it that much. Delicious. Beautiful. Special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

It was average at best. Nothing special. I can think of many more places I'd go before I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent but expensive

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The four of us enjoyed ourselves and found the food to be outstanding. Definitely top notch but service was a little slow. The food was rather expensive but many items were so big they could be shared. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The brunch buffet was fantastic! We enjo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The brunch buffet was fantastic! We enjoyed the atmosphere, the delicious coffee, and Chris, our server, was prompt and kept us happy. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and ambiance. I have had ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great location and ambiance. I have had many lunches there before- celebrating various milestones- but this meal felt way subpar to me. Following an unusually long wait and purported mix-up in the kitchen the awaited meal came. Alas the soup was bland, the fish greasy and just ordinary (had to return), the crab salad just a mix of mashed up crab (no lump meat there!) with way too much mayo, and the octopus salad had far too many olives rendering it somewhat salty ( the octopus itself was well prepared). The desert was nothing to boast about that you could not find at your neighborhood eatery or supermarket. In all the food was rather lackluster and did not match the expectation and price. I have had great meals there in the past but this last visit is leaving me wondering whether or not I will be back. Something is definitely "missing" and the kitchen may have lost its cachet. I was left sadly unimpressed and disappointed. The only redeeming part was our server Tony who was impeccable in his service and professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The outdoor area is absolutely beautiful ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The outdoor area is absolutely beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious food and beautiful presentation. Service was excellent. Luxury dining in historic Charleston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wedding Anniversary Sunday Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I knew that we would enjoy the white tablecloth Sunday brunch at the Palmetto Cafe as we have in the past. Brandon was as efficient and helpful a server as anyone we have had; he even suggested that I try the caramel soaked brioche bread (I deferred).

For "standards," brunch (with custom omelettes, eggs benedict and salmon) was fine. I would have liked to have seen some lunch fare, however, perhaps some oysters, roast beef and shrimp for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent Valentines Day Surprise

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I surprised my darling wife with a trip to Charleston and brunch at the Palmetto Cafe. I had dinner there years ago, but my wife had never been. She was completely surprised and delighted!!

The food was most excellent and the service was equally superb. Our server, Liz, was very attentive, friendly, and extremely professional.

Kudos to the Palmetto Cafe, and many thanks for making our Valentines Day most memorable!!

We plan to return soon!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It always is a special treat for my fami ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It always is a special treat for my family to go there for the Sunday brunch . It is $28 , but well worth it. Service is always excellent as well .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have had brunch and breakfast many times at P.C.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Every time I visit Charleston I try to book brunch or breakfast here at the Charleston Place. Service is always attentive and food excellent. The coffee is the best. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always eat here!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is wonderful and the staff are fantastic.So nice.We have never had anything not good here.Love the shrimp tacos and Caesar salad with grilled shrimp.They also have a lovely buffet on Sunday's.Nevr a disappoint!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.