Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About The Palmetto Cafe

The Palmetto Cafe offers a garden like setting featuring live green walls, rich mahogany furniture and adjoining courtyard. Located on the main floor of Belmond Charleston Placel, the restaurant features innovative American cuisine using only the freshest local ingredients. The Palmetto Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch.

205 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Saturday: 9:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 9:00am - 1:30pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hassel Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4900

Website:
http://www.charlestonplace.com/web/ocha/charleston_restaurants.jsp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or validation offered for adjacent parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Steven Manall

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Palmetto Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
See All
Sunday Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Business Meals (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Outstanding service, great food, high-end ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined a day ago

The finale to my birthday weekend in Charleston. Although the brunch offerings were reduced from our previous visit 5 years ago, everything was wonderful. Very relaxed, service attentive...will visit again!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

We were visiting Charleston from out-of-state and had heard the crab cakes were wonderful. HUGE disappointment! Maybe some of the worst we've ever had. Extremely small, overcooked, mostly batter, no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the food, great service (John) and friendly people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Had breakfast on a mini vacation to Charleston. Food was good, service was terrific. They accommodate our vegan diner easily.

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I met a friend here for lunch...amazing service, didn't feel rushed, excellent wine, and wonderful, very fresh food! It's pricey, but worth it. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The experience from last Saturday's brunch at Palmetto café was unsurpassed. Both the front and back of the house are 5*quality and consistently so. It is one of those places that you really look forward to going to for both service food value and genuine Southern hospitality. He wall should be proud of what you do because you are the best.

God Bless and Thank you,

Mark Galloway

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server was excellent, and the room is beautifully airy and bright. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and overpriced. I had a Caesar salad with shrimp and oysters; the presentation was better than the food. At the price we paid, I was expecting much better food and came away feeling disappointed with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great brunch food. Excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good took 45 minutes to arrive. Got beverage order wrong. Burger was raw in the middle, crab cake was dry and room temp, chicken salad tasted funky--soup was good. Talked to management-very kind and didn't charge us. Invited us back on them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Elegant place for a luxurious lunch, top notch food and wine, pricey but worth it for a special lunch.
Great dishes and super bread basket

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful in every way, the food was to die for, service impeccable and menu as well a Brunch buffet were equally outstanding. We will be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always top-notch; living in Charleston I can say Palmetto always, consistently ranks among the top of Charleston's superior restaurants for great food, service and decor.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I truly enjoyed my sunday brunch, good food, great atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our second visit to Palmetto Cafe was even better than the first. Delightful place for lunch in the heart of Charleston. The Lowcountry sampler is a great option to try many of the featured menu items and Shrimp tacos were outstanding. Great service from Ruthue made our return visit a memorable one. Definitely on the list for next visit to Charleston.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I chose this restaurant for brunch because it was recommended as a great brunch location. The restaurant offered only a brunch buffet, and then what appeared to be their regular menu. The buffet was nothing special: standard omelet station, eggs, sausage, and fruits. It was extremely overpriced for what they offer. The menu in general is overpriced as well. I should have done my due diligence before dining there and taken a better look at the menu. The ambiance and the service were great, beyond those two aspects, this is not a restaurant I would choose in the future...especially for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

WE had there brunch buffet on Sunday. It was amazing. They had a great variety of food to pick from. The buffet was well stocked at all times and all food hot. What a great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like this restaurant mostly because it has valet parking, quiet tables well spaced and food is good. I have always had amazing service but this visit the wait staff wanted to hurry us, we had to get her attention. So she may not have been well trained or the competition for wait staff in Charleston is at plat. We had a great glass of wine and each ordered the cesear salad with fried oysters. Salad was beautifully served and plenty of oysters, I thought good and plump but a bit over fried. I was there 2 sundays before with a great experience and their amazing crab salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was fabulous, service was excellent. Chris was the most charming person and delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

After a week of fine food and restaurant hopping, we were jaded... But the Palmetto cut right through. Strong, harmonious flavors, adorning classic Southern staples, beautiful on the plate. The chef's vision for each dish was unmistakable. And what service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic fresh and tasty food. Chris, our waitress, was wonderfully informative and attentive without being overboard. Pretty restaurant, perfect for lunch. The crab salad and prawn tacos were excellent. Very impressive, thank you! So far some of the best food we have eaten in Charleston.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing food and incredible service. Will most definitely return in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There were 5 of us for Sunday Brunch and it was just lovely. The service was exceptional as as the food. The eggs Benedict was the best I have ever had. Great choices on the buffet and everything was great. Be sure to try the peach tea and the Caramel Broiche.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and didn't realize that brunch was a buffet. The buffet was quite good, though.
A few notes:
Eggs Benedict were perfectly prepared
French toast nicely done, not soggy at all
Excellent quality of fresh fruit
Sliced smoked salmon was delicious
Great selection of assorted pastries.
Omelette station available
Service is incredible. Paul was our waiter and he was perhaps the finest server we had all weekend. He always wore a smile, very friendly, inviting and made us feel extremely welcome. He was very thorough and obviously well knowledged. You will surely have a better dining experience if Paul is your server.
I was the only person in my party eating the buffet. Looking over the menu, prices seem a bit more expensive than other places we are, and I can't say that it's justified. The portions were not small, but price points were higher than expected. For example the $26 burger was less enjoyable than the Husk burger or the burger at Cypress. Of all the places we ate for a long weekend in Charleston, it's top tier price but probably second to third tier value. The food was good, but considering the cost, there are several places I'd rather visit.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Most delicious tacos I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and brunch at The Palmetto cafe
Everything was perfect included service by John who recommended the best dishes.
We will be back!
Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an exquisite time celebrating our 10 year anniversary at the Palmetto Café! The ambiance, food, and waitstaff were the epitome of southern hospitality. We could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you, Palmetto Café !

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I go to Charleston every few years and always want to eat lunch here (not open for dinner!) and have the seafood club. Sadly it is no longer the lobster club, guessing due to cost, but there is a good deal of lobster and a few shrimp. It is just a great layered sandwich. Our guests had a burger and pea soup which they both liked. We took our time, and although they were very busy we were not rushed. It is in the lobby of the Charleston Place Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. Gray was an excellent waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sat outside in the lovely garden setting. Wait staff was attentive, accurate and friendly. Food was good. Burger was a little salty yet the crab cake was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time and will not be our last. Service, food and price was exceptional. Loved it, new Christmas tradition!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our first time at the Palmetto Cafe for brunch. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cynthia was great she greeted and seated us. Jeff waited on us and very helpful with suggestions! The food was fabulous! Great experience! We love The Palmetto Cafe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome brunch! Throughly enjoyed our meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Southern cuisine at its best! It made my birthday surprise well worth it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was by far the best Sunday brunch that I've had...Ever! The omlette was superb, and our server, John was outstanding!! We were celebrating getting married the day before and our overall experience at Palmetto and the Belmond Hotel was simply marvelous. Definitely looking forward to our next stay!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service could not have been better, very friendly and helpful. Their split pea soup was wonderful, the scallops were perfect and the side of asparagus was terrific. My friend had the crab tacos and she recommended that I get them the next time we are there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was very pleased with the whole experience. the food and service was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice and bright dining room and great courtyard for those who want to dine outdoors. If you get the brunch buffet, get the caramel brioche. It's "to die for" (as my wife puts it).

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.