Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Dancing (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful from start to finish. The food was creative, delicious and beautiful all while accommodating our many dietary restrictions at table (vegan, gluten free, etc). The service was impeccable and the wine pairing was spot on. Bravo!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Exquisite, exceptional and expensive experience. The fine art of fine dining, fine wine and fine service. The Painted Lady is an evening and a meal you will never forget.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Painted Lady was about standing restaurant well prepared food served by a professional staff. The 9 courses were of good size and delivered at a relaxed pace wine pairings matched the dishes very well . We were celebrating an anniversary and they made it special. They also handled gluten free very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our second experience, and we were happy to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary at this restaurant. Highly recommend the wine-pairings - well-worth the variety and especially the well-matched flavors to the food. One of us is lacto-ovo-vegetarian. All but one vegetarian dishes were excellent. All non-veg plates were well-enjoyed. The servers were so knowledgeable and willing to make conversation. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and great service
Nice balance of dishes in the tasting menu with good cadence of dishes and presentations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We really enjoyed the innovative food, portions and wine pairings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Loved the food and wine pairings. The Oregon Pinot Noir and Chardonnay were disappointing as there are many better choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Interesting and creative foods in a tasting menu with excellent wine pairings. Very nice, but not stuffy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nationally a TOP 10 tucked away in the center of Oregon wine country.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Really unique restaurant. It's a little formal for my taste, but the food was very good and presented in a beautiful way. Servers were very attentive. The host/manager was extremely friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the overall experience. Would definitely recommend it to those visiting Willamette Valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I are spoiled foodies and The Painted Lady blew us away. The food was delicious, the portions small but the courses plentiful and the service was amazing. The server welcomed us by name.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Elegant but unfussy. Ambitious tasting menu--and they delivered on every course. The wine pairings were creative--both European and local wines, including an amazing 2011 pinot and a Hungarian Tokaji with dessert. Host and servers were very professional, warm and welcoming. We went for a special birthday and will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food unbelievably good. Imaginative but tasty. Fresh and well seasoned

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 22, 2017

One of most 100 romantic restaurants and it lived up to its reputation. An abundance of staff that all were knowledgeable and did a nice job. We would definitely recommend the restaurant to others and would definitely go back if we were in the area

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Hands down one of the best meals of my life. The service was impeccable, the wines remarkable and the miso custard to die for. Every single dish was better than the next. Such a gem in this neighborhood and totally unexpected. I had some pretty amazing mess in Portland but nothing compared to this. It is worth the drive for sure!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I felt I needed to treat my wife to a nice dinner since she had a busy week and wanted to show my appreciation . I made the reservation not knowing what to really expect other than it being a 4 diamond rating restaurant which is given out very rarely. I was met with courteous and professional greeting. Too much isn't good. Feels fake. This is perfect. Everyone there is a professional. Don't expect a slip up here. Wife and I ordered the 9 course meal paired with different wine. I brought my son because I felt he needed to experience this at a young age. He was given a 4 course meal. He is well mannered so I knew he wouldn't be a distraction. He was welcomed and he even enjoyed the meal. My wife and I were stunned and enjoyed the different adventures are taste buds went through that evening. The portions were not too small where you couldn't enjoy the meal and mix with the pairing. It was perfect. Too perfect where we can't get back to eating regular food now! I recommend with going with a 9 course meal. Why? It was like opening a gift each time. You never knew what was coming which was exciting. The owner deserve their high rating. You will not be disappointed. There is a difference between getting paid to cook food and cooking food out of passion. This place is the later and they do it exceptionally well. I will be back when they change their course again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The perfect place for a special celebration!
We did the food & wine pairing, which I highly recommend.
The food, wine & wait-staff were superb!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous service, amazing dishes each being unique and delicious. Definitely a must do at least once in a life time. All I can say is "wow"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is a very special dining experience. The service, ambiance, creative dishes all combine to make the evening most enjoyable. We opted for the full seven course with wine pairings. The pairings are spectacular and should be experienced at least once. The seven course meal was full of delicious and unique tastings. The portions are perfect but the full seven courses should only be attempted if you are hungry. Be prepared for a 2 to 3 hour experience that will be hard to forget. I suspect that the price is much higher than most restaurants unless New York or Paris are frequent stops for you. However, If quality, creativity and attention matter to you, the price is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Incredible place! Loved it! The service was exceptional. The wine list was impeccable and we had a great time there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing night all around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really great ambiance. Very attentive service-almost too much. Food and wine outstanding -served in small portions but the 5 course was sufficient. Outdoor seating in the summer would be great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food, atmosphere, and service were exceptional. We were embarrassed by our dress, as we didn't realize it was such a formal dining room. We were not in jeans and tee-shirts but my blouse and my husband and friends' plaid shirts was still a bit too underdressed. However, the host and servers were incredibly gracious, we didn't feel any disdain from the restaurant despite our casual attire. They were in fact incredibly informative of the dishes, proud of the farmed sources, locally sourced wines, and answered all of our questions. Our reservation was for 8:30, we did not leave after all of the courses and wine pairings until 11:30 and they were not ushering us out the door. We will be coming back, just an exceptional, upscale dining experience with incredible food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A very disappointing example of it being much harder to maintain excellence than achieve it. Not only was the execution in the kitchen flawed, but the concepts were even more so. Set menus at those prices only work when the quality of the product is worthy and justified. Neither is true. The house staff tried hard - actually much too hard - to compensate for what they knew by the portions of each course remaining on plates from most tables we saw was much less than average, much less stellar in past years. The overall result was overpriced and under-performing. It is sad to see the state to which the former Grand Dame has fallen. There are much better options down the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It has been nine days since we last ate there. I'm still thinking about the meal.
It was our first time there since they changed to the all 9 course chef's choice. It was exquiste. All the dishes were a sensory delight. Their signature soup! I can't stop thinking about the soup.
Go there. You won't regret it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were here once before about 4 years ago and had an amazing dinner, but this meal was truly outstanding. Wish I could give it 6 stars. The chef is so creative and is clearly still curious, learning and interested in upping his game. This meal had a bit of a Japanese influence with the best course being a savory custard with miso broth and crab. So much umami in one little bowl! Some of the later courses had a bit too much bitter for me such as the steak with puréed nettles and fennel and the first dessert (there were two) of bitter chocolate and lime. However, they were still fascinating and overall just a fantastic and thought-provoking experience. The wine pairings were good and I would recommend as it would be impossible to find a wine that would go with all courses. One pairing was enough to split if you don't mind sharing a glass and need to drive home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I have heard about the painted lady for many years but haven't got the chance to go. Last Sunday, husband and I went there for a special date. We were very disappointed with our 5 courses dinner we had that day. Almost every dishes were overly salted. My husband usually like his meal a little more salt and he agreed that the dishes were salty. The gnocchi dish that day was so salty that I couldn't eat it. The coffee that my husband ordered tasted burnt which meant it has been on the coffee pot for awhile now. None of the dishes were memorable for us. I'm so surprised about this restaurant in which I've heard so many good things before coming here. The service there was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is fine dining, a disappearing experience in our hyper-connected world. Why? Takes some time, yea—but that’s the point. Enjoy! Expensive, sure, but you get a memorable evening full of grace, fine food & wine, beautiful memories. Much better than some poorly done concert or beer-soaked live sports. And in tiny Newberg, who would have guessed. (But maybe the men all don’t have to wear jeans.)
The menu is usually done as a done deal, no myriad choices to stress about, just lie back and enjoy. We did! With the wine pairings, which were excellent. Fish (halibut), beef, cheese and most fantastic, the dessert: sorbet, a dollop of creme fraiche, strawberries poached in something yummy, a visual stunner. Best dessert ever!!
Our waiter was elegant, knowledgeable, sharp & attentive. The entire staff was gracious and helpful. I’ll be going again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Wonderful dinner! The 5 course tasting menu was prefect. The portions were generous and the dish was creative and interesting. I wish I hadn't visited wineries that afternoon so I could have enjoyed the wine paring.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Spectacular, quant, delicious variety and superb service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our meal at the Painted Lady was absolutely awesome. The ambiance was delightful. My partner and I loved every single thing that was brought out. Each course just kept getting better and better. My partner is a chef and even he was "wowed". Very nice! Well worth the cost and drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Sorry to say...this was overpriced and overrated. The food was good, but not as good as they think it is. The major issue was the $75 per person wine pairings that were described as 2 oz pours...which we figured was a good value...not so much...I was lucky to get a full ounce per pour, definitely not what I was told. I am glad to have had the experience, but won't be doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wow! It was an amazing experience, from the food to the wine the evening was unforgettable. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

what a find in the Oregon wine country. The service was superb. 9 course prix fixe but very accommodating of dietary restrictions. one of our most enjoyable meals anywhere in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delightful as always. An adventurous dinner. The food and the service is amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were treated very well. We called ahead of reservation three times and once after making reservation. They accommodated a Kosher meal request with only one day advance notice. The beauty of the restaurant, the excellent service, the heavenly food and the wonderful help we received over the phone made for a very special evening that will never be forgotten.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was a delightful experience - college graduation experience.
Food & wine pairings were spot on. Well done !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is a fabulous foodie experience in rural Oregon with many well presented courses and wine pairings. It is expensive but worth it. Go with an appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.