Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

THe most amazing dining experience ever!! Each course was not just food but a visual and palate experience.
Best meal we have ever ever eaten.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The 9 course tasting menu paired with wines was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Although expensive an outstanding and very interesting evening. Food carefully prepared and beautifully presented. The explanations by the wait staff were interesting and helpful. They were friendly and knowledgeable about the flow and the wine. Very relaxing and unhurried.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at the Painted Lady several times. As always, the setting was beautiful, and the service was excellent. Unfortunately, this time it seems that the chef was trying a bit too hard to push the edges. Some of the courses were excellent, but some like the steak and the dessert were actually bad. The steak was over salted, not tender, and the accompanying veggies were bitter. The main cheesecake dessert just totally missed the taste mark. We have had exceptional meals here, so I hope they make some changes, and quit trying so hard that they fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food, wonderful service and wine pairings. What a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This place has a wonderful tasting menu! Splurge and add the wine pairing and your experience will be exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

If you're looking for a very quiet place to enjoy unique food paired with excellent wines, this is it. Situated in an remodeled older home with unique Victorian style decor the setting is perfect for a quiet dinner on your anniversary or similar celebration. We had the 9 course meal paired with wines on 7 of the courses. Although the servings may appear small you're feeling pretty full before the final courses appear.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ando excellent experience! Will definetly visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The nine-course meal was delicious and we loved the wine pairings. My husband enjoyed things he would have never tried before as part of the courses and enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and service were wonderful!! Would highly recommend. We can not wait to return!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing experience in every way. The 9 courses flowed so well together, and each was a unique blending of flavors and textures. Absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Well worth waiting for the 9 pm seating. Given the time, we chose the five versus nine course. Each plate was beautifully presented and the flavores, on each, managed to range from subtle to distinctive. Given another visit to this area, we would come for the nine course. The wine pairings were well chosen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

If you are a foodie and open to a chef's choice menu (the only choice you have), then you are in for a treat. Service is very good. Nice people. A wine country treat!

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

So delicious Our second visit. We dine here whenever we're in town. Excellent, creative menu, good service, good wine list

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Over all foods are very good, some of the ingredients can use most fresh one can make the dish even better. The beans in the steak can be better. The soup with fried vegetables with oily taste destroy the perfect miso custard soup, can consider use bake to make those ingredients dry and crisp to avoid the oily taste. The chef presenting food with passion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful meal! The entire service team was awesome! MARC was very knowledgeable.
Wished I lived closer to come more often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a totally elegant meal with impeccable service. the presentation of the 9 courses was very artistic and the dishes were very unique and delicious. The flight of wines coordinated very well with the various courses. We had a bonus dessert surprise because it was our 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The four of us had the pleasure of dining at the Painted Lady last Saturday, August 12th. All of us enjoy fine dining and food & wine pairings. On of the four of us is a chef and owns retail cookware/cooking schools. While we have had incredible experiences in some of the best restaurants in the country, our experience at the Painted Lady was TOPS!

Each of the nine courses were creative, delicious and represented a wonderful local and seasonal variety. I particularly loved the second course, Miso custard with Dungeness Crab, pickled red inion, Nori, and Dashi. It was paired beautifully with a 2016 Keller Riesling. In fact all nine courses were paired exquisitely with incredible wines. Many of the wines I would never have liked on their own -- but paired with the food, wow!

While the food and wine were unbelievable, the element that lifted the experience above all others, was Jamie. Jamie orchestrated the service beautifully. The timing was perfect, the course by course introductions were informative and interesting and overall, she was a delight to interact with. She went above and beyond at the end of the evening when we discovered Uber was no longer available. She called someone to take us back to our hotel and we were on our way in 5 minutes.

It was an out of body experience! I can't wait to visit the area again and the first thing I will do is make our reservation at the Painted Lady

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As always an amazing meal only made better by the service. Thanks Matt for finding that 1920 gem. Until next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

My husband and I were visiting Oregon and had a great dinner at the painted lady. The dishes are small, but that's a good thing because there are 9 courses! Everything was delicious, and they were able to cater to me as a vegetarian. My husband does not like mushrooms, but he ate most of them. The service was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've had! I love particular wines but do yourself the favor and select the wine pairing option. It is well worth the 75 bucks. The food is so complex that not even the best sommelier could pick a single wine to go with everything. You will not regret this decision. Portions are small but by the time you're done with 9 courses you will be full. As we visited the local wineries we would chat and tell the locals that we were dining at The Painted Lady and every single person told us that we would not regret it and that it was an "experience". Everyone is right and there is a reason this place earns it's five star reviews. Everything seems average after this meal and I felt like one of the judges on Iron Chef. I have never treated myself to this level of cuisine and I loved it! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

A spectacular prix-fixe menu with paired wine dining experience. A top 10 for sure. Loved the dungeoness crab miso soup. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Go here if you are looking for a fine dining experience - Wonderful, creative menu with great wine pairings. Knowledgeable, caring staff. We all felt doted over while our taste buds were entertained by a seemingly non-stop supply of ingredients that seemed to come from some heavenly kitchen

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great find while visiting the area for wine tasting. Not expecting to find such high end dining in the area and blown away by the level of execution at this well run establishment. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our tasting menu! Great service Marc, you really added to our experience @TPL.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This elegant, creative and scrupulously prepared tasting menu using locally sourced seasonal ingredients was a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Wine pairings were on point and well considered. Service was warm yet unobtrusive. The chef easily made gorgeously plated substitutions for dietary needs without fuss or fanfare. The Painted Lady manages to deliver a world class dining experience without pretension. A highly recommended special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

World class cuisine. The chef is amazing. Food is beautiful and delicious. Tasting menu with wine pairings was on point.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. Romantic ambience, superb service and creative, fabulous food and drink.
Over a nearly 3-hour repast, we navigated through 11 courses, counting canapes and mignardises (which we later enjoyed at home). Each course was artfully and beautifully presented at a perfect pace -- no long pauses but never a feeling of being rushed. Portions were small enough that we did not feel overstuffed at the end, but still satisfyingly ample.
Every bite was a highlight, so it's difficult to pick favorites. But if I had to limit myself, I could not overlook the fried mushrooms with sea salt among the canapes, the miso custard with Dungeness crab, the golden halibut, the dry-aged New York steak and the blueberry ginger ice cream with the baba au rhum. The wine list is also exemplary. We started with a glass of Argyle brut, then moved on to half-bottles of a Prum Riesling and a St. Innocent pinot noir. (our son-in-law provided chauffeur service!)
An absolutely perfect evening. And can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal with such amazing combination of flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This place is simply outstanding. Its very expensive at 110/person without wine but the food is fantastic and artwork on the plate. Only the tasting menu is available so expect a long dining time and many courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The Painted Lady is incredible. From start to finish, the food, service and ambience were top notch. I wish I lived out there to go more often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

One of the finest meals I've ever had with a wine selection to match and a staff who could work in any restaurant in the world. Newburg should be careful, someone will buy The Painted Lady and move it lock, stock and barrel to a bigger city.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful from start to finish. The food was creative, delicious and beautiful all while accommodating our many dietary restrictions at table (vegan, gluten free, etc). The service was impeccable and the wine pairing was spot on. Bravo!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Exquisite, exceptional and expensive experience. The fine art of fine dining, fine wine and fine service. The Painted Lady is an evening and a meal you will never forget.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Painted Lady was about standing restaurant well prepared food served by a professional staff. The 9 courses were of good size and delivered at a relaxed pace wine pairings matched the dishes very well . We were celebrating an anniversary and they made it special. They also handled gluten free very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our second experience, and we were happy to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary at this restaurant. Highly recommend the wine-pairings - well-worth the variety and especially the well-matched flavors to the food. One of us is lacto-ovo-vegetarian. All but one vegetarian dishes were excellent. All non-veg plates were well-enjoyed. The servers were so knowledgeable and willing to make conversation. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and great service
Nice balance of dishes in the tasting menu with good cadence of dishes and presentations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We really enjoyed the innovative food, portions and wine pairings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Loved the food and wine pairings. The Oregon Pinot Noir and Chardonnay were disappointing as there are many better choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.