Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Organic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

We have always loved this restaurant and we visit every time we are in Newberg area but this time, things were just a little off. Nothing terribly bad, just minor mis-steps like some courses being a little cold or poorly plated, which make the difference between stellar (our prior experiences) and this visit. Wine matches were wonderful as usual and we still love this place but expect attention to detail at such lofty prices. Hope it was just a slightly off night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

Exceptional food, wine, and desserts. Staff was amazing. Only objection: over-priced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2018

We attended a Wednesday experimental dinner. The food was fabulous, our waiter was great, and the attention to detail was amazing. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Amazing experience and amazing food, especially for a birthday. They say they don't count 2 of the courses they provide which would actually make it an 11 course meal! Make sure you go hungry. Desserts are truly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Outstanding menu, service and wine. Will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2018

The Painted Lady continues to exceed our expectations each and every visit. Bernie was there to greet us upon arrival as if we were old friends. Our server Diana was professional, warm, friendly and authentic - a winning combination that is rare in its completeness. The whimsical and creative homage to Dr. Seuss as played out on the winter Wednesday, Experimental Dinner opportunity was nothing short of five stars, from the amuse bouche to the petite sweets. It was hard to pick our favorite three courses. Should it be the purple potato crusted oyster, set back in its shell resting atop a puddle of chowder or the smoked duck breast sandwiched between a blueberry splashed biscuit flat with aioli and micro greens? The passion fruit sorbet with minute meringue sticks randomly leaning on each other in light green and pink to summon the Lorax did indeed burst with favor embracing the ying and yang of tart/sweet and smooth/crunch. My husband and I are educators of children and engagers of family and community. The theme and the evening could not have been a more appropriate surprise on this special Painted Lady occasion. Love the new tweed fabric and wood table contrast. There was one small negative that resulted in a less than perfect 5-star ambiance and that was created by one member of a large wine industry table, who had no indication of how progressively loud and intoxicated her behavior was to the surrounding guests in the room. The epitome of distraction to guests and staff resulted in her rising from her chair and momentarily having to pick herself off the floor. If I knew which winery she was associated with I would refrain from a future visit. Otherwise a near perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Awesome food, tailored to whatever your needs are, even though you do not get a menu to choose from. Portions are small because there are 9 courses (+ 3 small ones). Staff is very friendly yet discrete, professional and well-prepared to e.g. potential intolerances. The place feels very fancy but also manages to stay somewhat informal, which increases the comfort. Definitely recommendable for a special occasion. It is pricey, but also totally worth the experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Wonderful service, amazing knowledge of food and wine. Really did not expect this caliber or restuarant. Pricey but very well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2018

The Painted Lady never ceases to amaze me! Delicious food & wine pairings, impeccable service and a cozy, yet chic atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Fabulous prix-fixe meal. One of the best in our lives. Priced accordingly. I do recommend choosing the wine pairing too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend on NY Eve and the service and food was outstanding. They set me up with a perfect table and brought out a special bottle of wine just moments before the proposal. The wine has special meaning, and it came as a complete surprise to her!

The food and wine pairings were incredible with the chef and waitstaff delivering the courses with impeccable timing and attention to detail, including adjusting the menu to my girlfriend’s gluten-free diet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic and inventive food presented by an outstanding service team. Enjoyed every moment of our three hour dinner for a combined New Years Eve and birthday celebration.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Went for NYE. Great meal and service. It’s now our NYE tradition.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2017

the painted lady is a gem...there were no choices to be made...all was taken care of ...wonderful food and wonderful wine pairings....very attentive wait staff....just a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We love the Painted Lady, however this was not such a great night. It is there Wed. night experimental menu and it was an experience we wish to not repeat. We will go back for there regular menu but not the special Wed. night menu.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Very disappointing meal. After the first two beautifully executed and seasoned courses, the next seven were an enormous letdown. The savory courses were dreadfully over salted - not only were they over reduced and concentrated with salt, but then mindlessly topped with finishing salt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The food is excellent but not really worth the price tag in my opinion. The wine is also extremely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Love The Painted Lady. Food, service, wine list or pairings: all excellent. Guests are treated with respect here. Please respect others by leaving your perfume or cologne at home in the bottle. As far as other guests are concerned, this restaurant is about the food, not about you.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The food and service were excellent as usual, and the setting very comfortable. Great place for a special dinner with friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Organic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Special occasion place. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The Painted Lady never disappoints. The food is always plenty, even though the portions seem tiny. I left quite full but not uncomfortable. Each course is tasty, creative, and different from the others. I think we finished in about 2 1/2 hours, but they did not push us out while we sat and chatted for another hour or so. Wonderful ambiance in the 19th century house.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2017

A unique dining experience not experienced since France. Impeccable service, with artistic courses that are as beautiful as they taste. Bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2017

The Painted Lady is one-of-a-kind and a beautiful asset to the Willamette Valley and beyond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Prepare to spend two months worth of groceries for one meal for two people. A seventy-dollar tip didn't reach 20 percent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This is a very special place with outstanding food and service. People should know that there is no menu just a fixed price for the meal and a separate price for the wine pairings. The price is high so do not be surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2017

I have dined at the Painted Lady twice in my life. I hope I can dine there again. The 9 course meal was superb, local ingredients mixed with fresh ingredients literally flown in from elsewhere, each course was an adventure unto themselves. The wine list was extensive and I was happy to see they had local wines by the glass. A word to the wise, this meal is not inexpensive, but as the adage goes, you get what you pay for. The food, service and atmosphere is well worth the drive from Portland and well worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Came here for our wedding anniversary on the recommendation of a friend and was not disappointed. 9+ courses with wine pairings, excellent service. Flavors we've never experienced before. Could be a Michelin star restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Spectacular experience. The service was attentive, informative, well-orchestrated. Every bite of the chef's tasting menu was exquisite. Such variety of gastronomic delights! The wine pairings made the food taste even better, if that's possible. It's a special occasion place, and costly, but well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2017

A very quaint and quiet venue, yet elegant and fabulous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

The staff was lovely and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. The wine menu, extensive and approachable from all levels. My only complaint would be that the servings were too large. The chef should know how much - in total - most people are comfortable eating. We were so full after course four or five that it diminished our pleasure overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2017

We went with family for our Anniversary, service was impeccable. A truly magical experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Every plate was a work on culinary art. The service was impeccable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Awesome and delicious meal - great service and inviting atmosphere !!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Wonderful . Birthday nov 18

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Delicious 9 course meals and highly recommend wine pairing option. Service is flawless. Foodie heaven.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Simply put - Outstanding! While priced on the higher side, it's absolutely worth the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My husband and I had the most amazing meal last Friday night. We enjoyed the 9 course tasting menu. EVERYTHING was out of this world. Incredible food, great staff, fabulous wine. A splurge-but worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2017

It was a fantastic experience! The food was delicious and the service exceptional! We will go back for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Incredible food; combinations perfectly well thought out; chef outdid himself; even made special food for my food allergy without compromising a thing. Delicious. Wine pairing was perfect, service was beyond great, attentive, friendly, informative. Anniversary for us made perfect. We were thrilled. Our experience was impressive. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.