Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Tasting Menu (26)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dancing (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

This is fine dining, a disappearing experience in our hyper-connected world. Why? Takes some time, yea—but that’s the point. Enjoy! Expensive, sure, but you get a memorable evening full of grace, fine food & wine, beautiful memories. Much better than some poorly done concert or beer-soaked live sports. And in tiny Newberg, who would have guessed. (But maybe the men all don’t have to wear jeans.)
The menu is usually done as a done deal, no myriad choices to stress about, just lie back and enjoy. We did! With the wine pairings, which were excellent. Fish (halibut), beef, cheese and most fantastic, the dessert: sorbet, a dollop of creme fraiche, strawberries poached in something yummy, a visual stunner. Best dessert ever!!
Our waiter was elegant, knowledgeable, sharp & attentive. The entire staff was gracious and helpful. I’ll be going again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dinner! The 5 course tasting menu was prefect. The portions were generous and the dish was creative and interesting. I wish I hadn't visited wineries that afternoon so I could have enjoyed the wine paring.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our meal at the Painted Lady was absolutely awesome. The ambiance was delightful. My partner and I loved every single thing that was brought out. Each course just kept getting better and better. My partner is a chef and even he was "wowed". Very nice! Well worth the cost and drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sorry to say...this was overpriced and overrated. The food was good, but not as good as they think it is. The major issue was the $75 per person wine pairings that were described as 2 oz pours...which we figured was a good value...not so much...I was lucky to get a full ounce per pour, definitely not what I was told. I am glad to have had the experience, but won't be doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow! It was an amazing experience, from the food to the wine the evening was unforgettable. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

what a find in the Oregon wine country. The service was superb. 9 course prix fixe but very accommodating of dietary restrictions. one of our most enjoyable meals anywhere in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delightful as always. An adventurous dinner. The food and the service is amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were treated very well. We called ahead of reservation three times and once after making reservation. They accommodated a Kosher meal request with only one day advance notice. The beauty of the restaurant, the excellent service, the heavenly food and the wonderful help we received over the phone made for a very special evening that will never be forgotten.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a delightful experience - college graduation experience.
Food & wine pairings were spot on. Well done !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is a fabulous foodie experience in rural Oregon with many well presented courses and wine pairings. It is expensive but worth it. Go with an appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding service.. memorable food..perfect wine pairings...

Matt..your wine pairings made the night.. the miso with German reisling pairing was epic. Thanks my friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I dined here for our 8th anniversary, and we were completely blown away. I highly recommend the full chef's tasting menu with wine pairings in order to have the full experience. Every plate looked like a gourmet magazine cover picture, almost too beautiful to eat. Their Miso Custard was a definite highlight. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We eat at Painted Lady every time we go wine Tasting/ buying in the Willamette valley. Food is consistently terrific and creative enough to be really unusual. We really like it. The thing that may scare some people away is the 7 course tasting menu for $105. It is so good that it actually approaches a good value. The server said that they had a less inclusive menu but i didn't ask to see it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, wine pairing, and service. Upstairs if very quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a five star restaurant. The staff was very attentive without hovering. The portions are small, but we were stuffed after finishing all the courses. The only drawback is price.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The best thing about Painted Lady is that for as many times as we have been there (at least 10) we have never been served the same thing from the course meal. It is such a treat to be surprised with each course that comes out perfectly cooked and perfectly described by our server. The food is impeccably presented and devoured...leaving us fully appreciative of our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The menu is pris fix. About 12 tasting courses w wines to complement food. Amazing French cuisine. If you are looking for the usual American dinner dish, this is not the place for you. We were served delicious food and wine for two hours. It was an amazing experience, similar to the French Laundry in California's wine country.

You must have a reservation. Seatings are spaced so the food comes to you directly from the kitchen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

2nd time here, phenomenal. It's an experience, each bite and sip tantalize your taste buds, while the staff introduce each course and wine pairing and take care of your every need with top notch service and professionalism. You pay for the best and you get the best. Can't wait to dine her again!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Incredible food and service. Required reading for foodies visiting the Willamette Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Most delicious and beautiful food! My wife and I came for our anniversary and it was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful creative food, excellent service, incredibly expensive. I have never in 50 years of dining had a prix fixe dinner that cost $430 (for two). I wouldn't go back, nor would I recommend it to a friend who hadn't just won the lottery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at The Painted Lady. It was beyond incredible. The food, the amazing service and having our occasion acknowledged by all the staff. It was truly the best meal we have ever had, and we dine out quite a bit. It was beyond a meal, it was an entire experience we will remember forever. We did the food and wine pairings and it could not have been more perfect. We cannot wait for the next special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The painted lady 9 course meal and wine pairing was an adventure to be repeated

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you are a foodie search no further the painted lady is the oregon destination for you. The dishes are executed emaculatly with innovative twist like misu castard . However if you need to accomodate less adventerous diners worry not, majority if dishes however inventive stay true to their original ingrediants so when having a steak it will taste and look like a steak. The venue is lovely in old restuarated house with beautiful garden . The staff is accomodating yet not imposing as expected in high end restuarant. Vine list is impressive. Overall charming romantic destination that leaves portland based alternayives behind.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fabulous service, multiple small plates fixed menu, fine wine list.
Right here in little ole' Newberg, a taste of the best European dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We came from Virginia to the WV Auction and had to dine here. The food was spectacular and the service was incredible.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

If you're looking for a wonderful, memorable meal with food that delights paired with superb wines, then get on the reservation book for The Painted Lady. The restaurant defines professionalism from a wait staff that gracefully presents each course to a kitchen staff that understands we eat first with our eyes. We are wowed by each plate and delighted by every bite. What a wonderful evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It is possible that I got jaded but amongst restaurants that offer tasting menu across US this one came toward lower end of the list as neither my wife or myself found about half or more of tasting dishes to be not especially exciting: apetisers were tasty but not too surprising, steak, duck and seasame crusted salmon were all expertly prepared but not above that, deserts were good, half of the wines paired were rather average or below average for my taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very inventive, and attentive staff. Great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A lovely place with great service and fabulous food! We couldn't have imagined a better dining experience and look forward to returning with friends!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I will explain my 4 star ratings: Service - Generally a 5 star but they did have a trainee person helping that had some miscues. Our regular server, J'Amie is terrific and she did apologize and we of course understood. We actually felt a bit rushed due to the immediate clearing of our used dishes and the next course showing up within a minute. Would have appreciated a few minutes between courses. This was our 2nd "Experimental Dinner" and we did enjoy it. We felt the portions were just right for a multi-course dinner. Value - I thought the price for a glass of Champagne prior to dinner was a bit steep at $28 but then again I didn't really pay attention to what it was I was drinking.Other than that I thought the price for the wine pairing dinner was a fair value for what we received. We are looking forward to showing up for their regular menu sometime in the near future. If you haven't dined at this restaurant before, you really should.

Cheers!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious in every way. We had the nine course meal paired with wine and it was fantastic. Our friends enjoyed it as well. They took extra care of us and noticed every detail. You must try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Having eaten all over the World, this dining experience was as good as it gets! Without question, the service, the food, the wine list, the setting would excel in New York, London, Paris, Hong Kong, Chicago or San Francisco. Well worth the drive from anywhere in Oregon, if you want to experience a $1000 meal for a fraction of the cost, please dine here! The service and personal attention are above the rest! Well done!! A must!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The Painted Lady is amazing. We locals are lucky to have such wonderful dining right here in wine country. It is one of the best restaurants ever, and I highly recommend it. Please leave your perfume and cologne at home in the bottle.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second time visiting at Painted Lady, Their meal is outstanding and very creative.
The service is professional. They no longer serve seven course meal ( we very much enjoyed it with eight year old daughter last time.) The nine course meal was a bit of longer side because we all were quite tired after all day wine tasting but, food was excellent and wine pairing was very interesting ( wine from France, Germany and many were small production of local wines).
It was another memorable experience.
I am sure we will be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is delicious. I am a pretty picky eater but at the Painted lady I don't care what they put in front of me. I am going to to eat because I know its going to be great. Service is outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We decided on the tasting menu with wine pairings, and had an excellent experience. As each of the nine courses and seven wines were served, wait staff described the offerings. It was delightful. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful as always every bite Burst with flavor s and the presentations is absolutely gorgeous. Service is impeccable and also thoughtful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent service and enjoyed our servers. Wonderful 3 hour dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We thought we would have a choice of an $80 five course menu or the $105 nine course tasting menu but were told when we got there that the only option was the $105 menu. To cancel our reservation would have been $50 a person and there were three of us so we felt trapped. Some of the courses on the menu were quite good and some others were only ok. We felt we overall it was not a good value. Will not go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.