About The Painted Lady

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers two tasting menus nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be reserved for private events, seating up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: 5035383850x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Painted Lady
  • Chocolate Trio
  • Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
  • Parsnip Bisque
The Painted Lady
Chocolate Trio
Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
Parsnip Bisque

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
7 More
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Fit for Foodies
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Romantic (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (38)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food and wine pairings. As goo ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food and wine pairings. As good as any 1/2 * UK Michelin restaurant. Service was also excellent - highly professional but discreet and friendly. My personal preference would be for less of the 1980's decor and better, more atmospheric lighting but it's a small space in a house and that didn't detract from a superb meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Painted Lady has to be the premier f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Painted Lady has to be the premier fine dining restaurant in Newberg. Both food and service are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was fabulous! We went for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was fabulous! We went for a friend's 70th birthday and were not disappointed! Plan 3.5 to 4 hours. The win pairings we excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in town for a girls weekend getawa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was in town for a girls weekend getaway for a 60th birthday! The four ladies in our group thought the food and service was exceptional! We brought a bottle of wine we had bought during the day at one of our wine tours but was surprised to be charged $35 for a corking fee. We expected a corking fee, but thought $35 was rather high. Everything besides that was amazing!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I went here for our annive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My fiancé and I went here for our anniversary. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the Chef's menu- we tried foods we never thought we would like and they were fabulous! The wine pairings that I tried were fabulously paired and we will be back! Would recommend highly to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, fabulous dining experience! If ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing, fabulous dining experience! If you enjoy beautiful food that tastes even better than it looks paired with exquisite wine this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wow experience, we enjoyed ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a wow experience, we enjoyed every bite. Chef accommodated my dietary restrictions with no problem. Spectacular wine list with focus on Oregon wines. Host, Bernie was our favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Still good, no longer great. Too expens ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Still good, no longer great. Too expensive for everyday dining, no longer special enough for a special occasion. Time to find a new favorite place, sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The courses were amazing. The main cour ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The courses were amazing. The main course was good but all the preceding and following courses were simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The most spectacular meal that I've had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The most spectacular meal that I've had in Oregon -- better than anywhere I've been in Portland, the coast, or the Valley after years of trying great places. A really special experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big hype - and even better than advertis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Big hype - and even better than advertised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful fine dining experience in ev ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delightful fine dining experience in every way! Lovely , quiet elegance , attentive but not intrusive waitstaff , and an exceptionally delicious 9 course tasting menu with with perfect wine pairings. The best surprise was a miso custard and crab soup -absolutely scrumptious...embarrassed ,but not enough- my finger swiped the last drop! Don't pass up the chance to dine here- you won't be disappointed! *****

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was beautifully prepared and time ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was beautifully prepared and timed. Menu changes for dietary restrictions were easily accommodated. All staff members were knowledgeable and professional. Chef came to each table for a brief thank you and conversation. A real treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply one of the best restaurants we ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Simply one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Five star service,food, and

ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed every detail of the menu and the wine pairings were

outstanding. Thank you for a memorable evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten twice at TPL, two years apa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I have eaten twice at TPL, two years apart in 2014 and 2016, and my reaction to both sittings is that I cannot think of a restaurant in the United States where I have had a better meal and dining experience. The food quality, innovation, presentation, and taste are superb. It's a place where you want to lick the plates. Bravo, keep it up, we look forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great intimate place to celebrate our 25 ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great intimate place to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food! Definitely will revisit ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food! Definitely will revisit in my next trip to The Oregon wine region

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and presentation were wonderful. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and presentation were wonderful. I have a dietary restriction and they were incredibly accommodating to it. Wine pairing with the tasting menu was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten all over the world. The Pai ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have eaten all over the world. The Painted Lady food was as good as,if not better than the Michelin 3 star at which I just dined in June. Superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Artistic, creative, beautiful food and p ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Artistic, creative, beautiful food and presentation. Set menu with many courses. A LOT of food. Come hungry and ready to appreciate it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant--it compares favo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding restaurant--it compares favorably to any great place in the US.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience knowledgable staff and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great experience knowledgable staff and great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Shortly after we were seated, a group th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Shortly after we were seated, a group thatmust have bathed in perfume arrived. When we asked to be moved the staff was really great and moved us to the upstairs area. With the terrific food and presentation, it was really nice to be able to taste it as well. GREAT JOB

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come every year and always have a won ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We come every year and always have a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, but the food is the real star. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Is this the best restaurant in Oregon? ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Is this the best restaurant in Oregon? Maybe so. Great tasting menu. Professional service throughout. Fantastic wine list. A lot of home runs here. Only quibble would be to open the blinds on the first floor to see the beautiful gardens surrounding this Victorian gem. Quite the gastronomic experience. Hint: ask for a table on the first floor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very elegant, creative and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was very elegant, creative and well-prepared. But pretentious and too complicated for my taste. A little less embellishment and more opportunity for good ingredients to shine through would have been preferable. The dessert was very complex and, involved many flavors (it seems a bit much to slice the blueberries). A three tier tray of candies at the end of a big meal was also too much. One or two home-made candies would be lovely..

Service was professional but rather perfunctory. The waiter was very knowledgeable, he would put the dish down and explain it, and then say enjoy as her turned his back without making eye contact. A little less fussiness on the food and more staff engagement with diners would have made it a better experience. I appreciate the artistry of the chef, but won't be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The servers are very knowledgable, yet m ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The servers are very knowledgable, yet maintain excellent composure. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Painted Lady in Newberg and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went to the Painted Lady in Newberg and was greeted by two of the staff and seated in a nice location for my wife and I. It was a surprise for my wife because she had wanted to go for some time and an Anniversary was a great excuse. The service was great from everyone there and the food was exceptional. Highly recommend The Painted Lady for a special romantic dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was as excellent as we have come ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was as excellent as we have come to expect, including substituting an all Oregon wines for the less than local original pairings. The execution of the kitchen was not as superb as in the past - even the gratefully ubiquitous gnocchi. Perhaps, just an off evening. Our server, however, saved the evening. A comment after asking if there was a problem with a barely touched less than quality piece of undercooked NY strip that 'I guess you do not come to Oregon for steak,' resulted in a frown, a response that they take these things very seriously and a marvelous smoked duck breast with wine reduction sauce from the Chef's menu that truly was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A staff member called a few days before ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A staff member called a few days before to confirm reservation and ask if there were any food allergies. Multiple wait staff served our table for two, based on our progress through 7 courses and the next available waiter. Everyone was very knowledgeable about the wine, food and restaurant history. They were also very sensitive to our dining progress and didn't whisk our plates from us after the last bite - we had just the right amount of time between finishing and savoring a course, clearing the plates, and the next course. The wine pairing was very complimentary for each serving and the cost was very competitive to bottle prices and of course complimented each serving rather than just one. We'll be back for the next birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the 11 course Chef's Tasting di ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the 11 course Chef's Tasting dinner! Superb! Mark was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience reminded us very much of ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This experience reminded us very much of the Herbfarm in Woodinville, Washington, only better! We did the nine course menu with wine pairing and it was a five star experience. Not cheap, but it may have been the best meal we have ever had anywhere. Each course was carefully and artfully prepared and arranged, and each bite was fresh and interesting, from the first course (an egg souvide) to the salad course to the steak to the desserts. Lovely, understated elegance, fantastic wine pairings, and impeccable service. They were very gracious in accommodating our table change request when we initially were seated in a side by side arrangement which we were not very comfortable with (recognizing that many people love that type of seating). Anyway, wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE HAVE DINED HERE ON A COUPLE OCCASIONS ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

WE HAVE DINED HERE ON A COUPLE OCCASIONS, EACH TIME IT WAS EXCELLENT SERVICE AND WONDERFUL FOOD TREATS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always the food was outstanding and t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always the food was outstanding and the service very good. Only disappointment, was the limited enter menu - only two items available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Experienced the chef's serving and wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Experienced the chef's serving and wine pairing for the night. Each pairing was thoughtful and well matched. The dishes were all well presented and delicious. The wait staff is the best I have ever experienced. They were very engaged and knew the dishes well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience with the restaurant was a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our experience with the restaurant was amazing. We ordered the chef's selection and everything was paired to perfection. We appreciate Matthew's wine selections and will recommend in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to this special date and The Painted Lady delivered far beyond our expectations. Such a wonderful relaxing restaurant in the heart of wine country. Amazing food and wine pairings, friendly and knowledgeable service & connected to the local community. Our palates were delighted, and the anticipation for each course was well timed, thoughtful, and a special treat for our evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady was a very special and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Painted Lady was a very special and enticing place to dine. The food and wine pairings were outstanding and we really enjoyed the extra special service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really impressed that the restau ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were really impressed that the restaurant called the day before to ask if there were any food sensitivities, to see if it was a special occasion, and to verify the number in the party. Since they asked whether it was a special occasion, I expected perhaps a personalization on the dessert plate, as I thought I'd seen delivered to another table. It was fine that they did not do this, but it seemed odd because they had asked. The food and service were impeccable. Nearly every course was a work of art, and the wine pairings were spot on. Despite the small portions, we were quite satisfied at the end of the seven courses.

It was a memorable experience, and I'd recommend it for proposals and anniversaries, or any very special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food and stellar service. From Be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely food and stellar service. From Bernie's confirmation phone call inquiring about food allergies, to the special cake Chef had delivered to our table to take home, to the Sommelier giving us a tour of the kitchen when it was late and we were the last guests of the evening...truly a special place, worth the money and the travel. The food was delicious, creative and highlighted the local bounty. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.