About The Painted Lady

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers two tasting menus nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be reserved for private events, seating up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: 5035383850x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Painted Lady
  • Chocolate Trio
  • Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
  • Parsnip Bisque
The Painted Lady
Chocolate Trio
Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
Parsnip Bisque

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
2 More
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

special occasion (55)
romantic (53)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We come every year and always have a won ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We come every year and always have a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, but the food is the real star. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very elegant, creative and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was very elegant, creative and well-prepared. But pretentious and too complicated for my taste. A little less embellishment and more opportunity for good ingredients to shine through would have been preferable. The dessert was very complex and, involved many flavors (it seems a bit much to slice the blueberries). A three tier tray of candies at the end of a big meal was also too much. One or two home-made candies would be lovely..

Service was professional but rather perfunctory. The waiter was very knowledgeable, he would put the dish down and explain it, and then say enjoy as her turned his back without making eye contact. A little less fussiness on the food and more staff engagement with diners would have made it a better experience. I appreciate the artistry of the chef, but won't be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The servers are very knowledgable, yet m ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The servers are very knowledgable, yet maintain excellent composure. The food was outstanding!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Painted Lady in Newberg and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went to the Painted Lady in Newberg and was greeted by two of the staff and seated in a nice location for my wife and I. It was a surprise for my wife because she had wanted to go for some time and an Anniversary was a great excuse. The service was great from everyone there and the food was exceptional. Highly recommend The Painted Lady for a special romantic dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was as excellent as we have come ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was as excellent as we have come to expect, including substituting an all Oregon wines for the less than local original pairings. The execution of the kitchen was not as superb as in the past - even the gratefully ubiquitous gnocchi. Perhaps, just an off evening. Our server, however, saved the evening. A comment after asking if there was a problem with a barely touched less than quality piece of undercooked NY strip that 'I guess you do not come to Oregon for steak,' resulted in a frown, a response that they take these things very seriously and a marvelous smoked duck breast with wine reduction sauce from the Chef's menu that truly was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A staff member called a few days before ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A staff member called a few days before to confirm reservation and ask if there were any food allergies. Multiple wait staff served our table for two, based on our progress through 7 courses and the next available waiter. Everyone was very knowledgeable about the wine, food and restaurant history. They were also very sensitive to our dining progress and didn't whisk our plates from us after the last bite - we had just the right amount of time between finishing and savoring a course, clearing the plates, and the next course. The wine pairing was very complimentary for each serving and the cost was very competitive to bottle prices and of course complimented each serving rather than just one. We'll be back for the next birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the 11 course Chef's Tasting di ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the 11 course Chef's Tasting dinner! Superb! Mark was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience reminded us very much of ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This experience reminded us very much of the Herbfarm in Woodinville, Washington, only better! We did the nine course menu with wine pairing and it was a five star experience. Not cheap, but it may have been the best meal we have ever had anywhere. Each course was carefully and artfully prepared and arranged, and each bite was fresh and interesting, from the first course (an egg souvide) to the salad course to the steak to the desserts. Lovely, understated elegance, fantastic wine pairings, and impeccable service. They were very gracious in accommodating our table change request when we initially were seated in a side by side arrangement which we were not very comfortable with (recognizing that many people love that type of seating). Anyway, wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE HAVE DINED HERE ON A COUPLE OCCASIONS ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

WE HAVE DINED HERE ON A COUPLE OCCASIONS, EACH TIME IT WAS EXCELLENT SERVICE AND WONDERFUL FOOD TREATS.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always the food was outstanding and t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always the food was outstanding and the service very good. Only disappointment, was the limited enter menu - only two items available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Experienced the chef's serving and wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Experienced the chef's serving and wine pairing for the night. Each pairing was thoughtful and well matched. The dishes were all well presented and delicious. The wait staff is the best I have ever experienced. They were very engaged and knew the dishes well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience with the restaurant was a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our experience with the restaurant was amazing. We ordered the chef's selection and everything was paired to perfection. We appreciate Matthew's wine selections and will recommend in the future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to this special date and The Painted Lady delivered far beyond our expectations. Such a wonderful relaxing restaurant in the heart of wine country. Amazing food and wine pairings, friendly and knowledgeable service & connected to the local community. Our palates were delighted, and the anticipation for each course was well timed, thoughtful, and a special treat for our evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady was a very special and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Painted Lady was a very special and enticing place to dine. The food and wine pairings were outstanding and we really enjoyed the extra special service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really impressed that the restau ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were really impressed that the restaurant called the day before to ask if there were any food sensitivities, to see if it was a special occasion, and to verify the number in the party. Since they asked whether it was a special occasion, I expected perhaps a personalization on the dessert plate, as I thought I'd seen delivered to another table. It was fine that they did not do this, but it seemed odd because they had asked. The food and service were impeccable. Nearly every course was a work of art, and the wine pairings were spot on. Despite the small portions, we were quite satisfied at the end of the seven courses.

It was a memorable experience, and I'd recommend it for proposals and anniversaries, or any very special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food and stellar service. From Be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely food and stellar service. From Bernie's confirmation phone call inquiring about food allergies, to the special cake Chef had delivered to our table to take home, to the Sommelier giving us a tour of the kitchen when it was late and we were the last guests of the evening...truly a special place, worth the money and the travel. The food was delicious, creative and highlighted the local bounty. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly an extravagant dining experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Clearly an extravagant dining experience for a special occassion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Painted Lady was absolutely exquisit ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Painted Lady was absolutely exquisite! I would definitely recommend sharing a wine pairing as well with the tasting menu, as it really improves the overall experience. The food was incredibly creative and all beyond delicious. We went here to celebrate our engagement and believe it might be one of the best meals we have ever had. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As it was the best restaurant in the Wil ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As it was the best restaurant in the Willamette valley Newberg area I had very high expectations. It was overrated. It is a tasting menu. The food was good, but not great. It was just not worth the money.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

First time there, and we enjoyed very mu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

First time there, and we enjoyed very much Service was fantistic

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The variety in the courses was wonderful ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The variety in the courses was wonderful. I enjoyed the server's knowledge of each plate. Neither myself or my companion are wine/beer drinkers so I choose a martini. It was very good and I was not offered another, which I would have liked. The fish is served at 160*, so if you prefer flaky, you should ask. The Filet Mignon is served rare, so again, if you prefer it different you'll have to ask. (They don't ask you.) After the desert plate they served a 3-tiered candy tray. It was very beautiful, but too much for our tummies. They offered to split it and packed it up for us to take home, so we were able to enjoy breakfast too!

Around plate 5 the woman serving us had an attitude change and she became cold and unfriendly. The other 2 gentlemen serving/clearing were charming.

I plan to go again and hope to enjoy the meal with a group of out-of-town family members this fall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Superb, as always. Every course was a de ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb, as always. Every course was a delight to look at and to taste. Wine pairing (for him) and suggestions (for her) enhanced it even more. The service was flawless, yet warm and friendly. We love The Painted Lady!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. However, the smoked ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was very good. However, the smoked filet was too smokey (hard to get the flavor of the meat). Little loud for a high priced restaurant but that is a trade-off for the old house décor. Their asset is the service which is very professional and well planned. Very good for the location (smaller town).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

"Exceptional presentation & first-class ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

"Exceptional presentation & first-class service transports your dining experience to the timeless elegance of yesteryear."

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are 3 foodies. Found the food preten ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We are 3 foodies. Found the food pretentious and not very good. Very disappointing for the price. Emphasize inventiveness, but need to work on basics.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

One of the best ever.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This small older house off the beaten track in Newberg, Oregon severed the best meal with wonderful service we have ever had on the 4 continents we visit. It is expensive by Oregon standards (plan on $200 per person) but is worth every cent. A difficult reservation but worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday and were very satisfied with everything. This was our third visit to The Painted Lady. Food and wine were top notch and excellently pared. Wine steward was knowledgeable and so were the servers. Great service. We never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in every regard. It was by-far t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Superb in every regard. It was by-far the best dining experience we've ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Every course was unique and flavors were incredible. The wine pairing brought out the flavors even more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and superior service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We ate here because we had heard the food was incredible. I must say it did not disappoint and I really loved that it was primarily vegetable and protein based. The sommelier, host and waitstaff are beyond accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonde ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonderful and comfortable. Food was nice, excellent ingredients but a bit busy and lacked the "I'm amazed" that I came for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Always an amazing meal, great service -- ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Always an amazing meal, great service -- just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food worth it. Not sure about the wine list

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The $85/person 7-course meal was well worth it! Not sure I felt that I got the same value for the $75/person for the wine pairing. It certainly made the meal more enjoyable having the wine presented with each course so I enjoyed that aspect of it but it just felt like the $75 was a little on the high side. Amazing food and my wife and I were treated amazingly well for our 20th anniversary. The interiors could be updated a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Proceed with caution. Overpriced "weir ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Proceed with caution.

Overpriced "weird" (different) food. Good for foodies (perhaps)? I wouldn't go back. Feel the same about mud baths. Do it once for the novelty.

Perfect service and pacing of the 9 courses.

But No view nor ambiance (it's in an old house).

Went with my BFF. My husband would have hated it. It takes 2.5 hours so if you go, go early.

I wish we would have gone to posh restaurant at Allison Inn instead. Awesome view, great service and same small "interesting" food. Heard the small taco places in Newberg are awesome..,and cheap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Great Vacation/Anniversary Memory

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The tasting menu was a real experience. Flavors and textures not typical of even high end restaurants. Great service, quiet comfortable atmosphere. Plan on spending 3 hours to sit back and enjoy all the courses. We left so full, even though the plates are small. Small but very delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost a perfect score

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The only thing we would change is the dessert end of their fixed course menu. Once we had consumed multiple courses of excellent food they served us a very nice palate cleanser followed by wonderful cheese, then a choice of two excellent desserts. It should have ended there but then a plate with several chocolate candies were presented. In other words the meal was dessert heavy. Of course one can always decline to eat those extra-special candies but the idea behind going there is to purchase a fixed course that has been carefully balanced so we went with the flow and subsequently realized it was a mistake. Will we go there again? Of course. If the rating system were finer this place would have scored a 99%

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The seven course tasting menu was outstanding! We will likely go back again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not return due to server

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Arriving at the restaurant we were greeting warmly by the maitre d', who personalized our visit, the celebration of our anniversary. He spent some time interacting, making the evening start as a very special experience. Our server arrived and was also being friendly, helping us with the menu, telling us about the restaurant. That continued until we decided not to order wine. At that point he seemed to shut off, deciding we weren't worth his time or attention, no longer being a big ticket item. How do I know this? I have ten years as a fine dining server. But you decide: He returned to take our order and was pushy and rushed us. He stopped by one time during our seven course meal for a perfunctory check-in. Meanwhile, the couple next to us received lots of his attention - schmoozing, humor, making sure their dining experience was wonderful - and, of course, they ordered wine. I thought maybe it's just me, my high standards as a server, but my sweetheart remarked she felt the same way. And that's the sad part. She was really looking forward to a special night and his greedy mind and bad attitude left her feeling like she didn't matter. As we left the restaurant he said a fake and polite "Thank you" while the server assistant held the door for us, a young man who wished us a thoughtful "Happy anniversary". Dear Painted Lady management, you have great food and some wonderful staff, but it is not enough to make up for the disrespect we received throughout our meal from this server. I will not come back.

David Jacob

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

creative food and fantastic service

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The Wednesday night experimental dinner is such a fun experience. The service is fantastic. The menu was creative and it was relaxing to not have to choose food to order, since the menu was set. The wine pairings were enjoyable and varied. The seven courses were small, but we left feeling full. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. We will come again.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The experience was 1 of a kind. Nearly the best we have had...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.