Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Tasting Menu (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Seasonal (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Historic (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The best thing about Painted Lady is that for as many times as we have been there (at least 10) we have never been served the same thing from the course meal. It is such a treat to be surprised with each course that comes out perfectly cooked and perfectly described by our server. The food is impeccably presented and devoured...leaving us fully appreciative of our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The menu is pris fix. About 12 tasting courses w wines to complement food. Amazing French cuisine. If you are looking for the usual American dinner dish, this is not the place for you. We were served delicious food and wine for two hours. It was an amazing experience, similar to the French Laundry in California's wine country.

You must have a reservation. Seatings are spaced so the food comes to you directly from the kitchen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

2nd time here, phenomenal. It's an experience, each bite and sip tantalize your taste buds, while the staff introduce each course and wine pairing and take care of your every need with top notch service and professionalism. You pay for the best and you get the best. Can't wait to dine her again!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Incredible food and service. Required reading for foodies visiting the Willamette Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Most delicious and beautiful food! My wife and I came for our anniversary and it was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful creative food, excellent service, incredibly expensive. I have never in 50 years of dining had a prix fixe dinner that cost $430 (for two). I wouldn't go back, nor would I recommend it to a friend who hadn't just won the lottery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at The Painted Lady. It was beyond incredible. The food, the amazing service and having our occasion acknowledged by all the staff. It was truly the best meal we have ever had, and we dine out quite a bit. It was beyond a meal, it was an entire experience we will remember forever. We did the food and wine pairings and it could not have been more perfect. We cannot wait for the next special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The painted lady 9 course meal and wine pairing was an adventure to be repeated

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you are a foodie search no further the painted lady is the oregon destination for you. The dishes are executed emaculatly with innovative twist like misu castard . However if you need to accomodate less adventerous diners worry not, majority if dishes however inventive stay true to their original ingrediants so when having a steak it will taste and look like a steak. The venue is lovely in old restuarated house with beautiful garden . The staff is accomodating yet not imposing as expected in high end restuarant. Vine list is impressive. Overall charming romantic destination that leaves portland based alternayives behind.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fabulous service, multiple small plates fixed menu, fine wine list.
Right here in little ole' Newberg, a taste of the best European dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We came from Virginia to the WV Auction and had to dine here. The food was spectacular and the service was incredible.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

If you're looking for a wonderful, memorable meal with food that delights paired with superb wines, then get on the reservation book for The Painted Lady. The restaurant defines professionalism from a wait staff that gracefully presents each course to a kitchen staff that understands we eat first with our eyes. We are wowed by each plate and delighted by every bite. What a wonderful evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It is possible that I got jaded but amongst restaurants that offer tasting menu across US this one came toward lower end of the list as neither my wife or myself found about half or more of tasting dishes to be not especially exciting: apetisers were tasty but not too surprising, steak, duck and seasame crusted salmon were all expertly prepared but not above that, deserts were good, half of the wines paired were rather average or below average for my taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very inventive, and attentive staff. Great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A lovely place with great service and fabulous food! We couldn't have imagined a better dining experience and look forward to returning with friends!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I will explain my 4 star ratings: Service - Generally a 5 star but they did have a trainee person helping that had some miscues. Our regular server, J'Amie is terrific and she did apologize and we of course understood. We actually felt a bit rushed due to the immediate clearing of our used dishes and the next course showing up within a minute. Would have appreciated a few minutes between courses. This was our 2nd "Experimental Dinner" and we did enjoy it. We felt the portions were just right for a multi-course dinner. Value - I thought the price for a glass of Champagne prior to dinner was a bit steep at $28 but then again I didn't really pay attention to what it was I was drinking.Other than that I thought the price for the wine pairing dinner was a fair value for what we received. We are looking forward to showing up for their regular menu sometime in the near future. If you haven't dined at this restaurant before, you really should.

Cheers!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious in every way. We had the nine course meal paired with wine and it was fantastic. Our friends enjoyed it as well. They took extra care of us and noticed every detail. You must try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Having eaten all over the World, this dining experience was as good as it gets! Without question, the service, the food, the wine list, the setting would excel in New York, London, Paris, Hong Kong, Chicago or San Francisco. Well worth the drive from anywhere in Oregon, if you want to experience a $1000 meal for a fraction of the cost, please dine here! The service and personal attention are above the rest! Well done!! A must!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The Painted Lady is amazing. We locals are lucky to have such wonderful dining right here in wine country. It is one of the best restaurants ever, and I highly recommend it. Please leave your perfume and cologne at home in the bottle.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second time visiting at Painted Lady, Their meal is outstanding and very creative.
The service is professional. They no longer serve seven course meal ( we very much enjoyed it with eight year old daughter last time.) The nine course meal was a bit of longer side because we all were quite tired after all day wine tasting but, food was excellent and wine pairing was very interesting ( wine from France, Germany and many were small production of local wines).
It was another memorable experience.
I am sure we will be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is delicious. I am a pretty picky eater but at the Painted lady I don't care what they put in front of me. I am going to to eat because I know its going to be great. Service is outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We decided on the tasting menu with wine pairings, and had an excellent experience. As each of the nine courses and seven wines were served, wait staff described the offerings. It was delightful. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful as always every bite Burst with flavor s and the presentations is absolutely gorgeous. Service is impeccable and also thoughtful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent service and enjoyed our servers. Wonderful 3 hour dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We thought we would have a choice of an $80 five course menu or the $105 nine course tasting menu but were told when we got there that the only option was the $105 menu. To cancel our reservation would have been $50 a person and there were three of us so we felt trapped. Some of the courses on the menu were quite good and some others were only ok. We felt we overall it was not a good value. Will not go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Thoughtful local food; even more thoughtful pairings. Come, relax, savor why you're in Oregon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply stellar. Second time going there, everything was just as lovely as the first time. This place is super hyped, well rated, critical darling, etc. ... it's not overrated; hype is accurate. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were spectacular! This is definitely a special occasion dining experience, and be sure to save your pennies! It's spendy, but for the quality of the food, service, and experience, it is worth it a 100 times over!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Come prepared for an upscale, indulgent meal. By about the 5th course I was waving the white flag, especially considering I also had the wine pairing. It was a decadent, special experience, and they were attentive to every minute detail. If you're looking for an extraordinary experience, and you don't mind the 300 bill, this is your spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic meal - one I will remember for a long time. Each one of the nine tastings was a fascinating combination of tastes and textures. At the same time, the quality of the main ingredients was superb, particularly the duck, salmon, and steak.

The chef was very accomodating to my strange food intolerances, without any sacrifice in taste. The service was impeccable, to the point of refolding my napkin when I went to the restroom.

Its an expensive evening, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but quite overpriced. Wine list was good but also overpriced. All would have been fine even at the price point had the server (I forget her name) been pleasant and engaging. She was not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The Painted Lady continues to impress. The creativity, passion and commitment of the stellar culinary and hospitality team is apparent in every aspect of the dining experience. Each course of our much appreciated "within 100 mile" Experimental Wednesday experience engaged our curiosity, brought forth newfound pairings of tastes and textures for our enjoyment and future at home adaptations. Bernie, Mark, Eddie and the rest of the hospitality team are true professionals - warm, welcoming, knowledgeable and enthusiastic in their authentic interactions and sharing. We are extremely fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber right in our backyard and appreciate the opportunity and care that goes into each Experimental Wednesday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter was rude. Seemed like we were a bother to him. Unacceptable for such a nice resturant. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Each dish of the many course meal was an event unto itself. The presentation and flavor blends were outstanding. Having each dish explained as they were served made for delightful entertainment. Our dining experience there was the best ever and a great way to celebrate our fifteenth anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service staff was very professional and attentive. The wine list is fantastic with emphasis on the Willamette Valley as it should but also a nice selection from NAPA and Old World. The food was divine, we enjoyed all 9 courses of the local tasting menu. Each course was presented with detailed explanation of the chefs creation, the timing of the meal was also perfect! They have it down to a science. Was a memorable experience will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant was excellent in every way. It's pricey but the saying, "you get what you pay for," applies here. Very memorable and the service was over the top! We will be going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A real experience of fine dining with great service and matching atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I had an amazing evening tasting some of the most delicious food we have ever had. The atmosphere is great and the wait staff is extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Painted Lady just went straight to the top of our list for "special occasions." It was the perfect setting for Valentines. The food was outstanding, and I'm pleased to report they don't sacrifice flavor for presentation. Their service is also miles above most restaurants in the Portland area. They did a wonderful job of accommodating a "no beef" request for their prix fixe menu, and provided an excellent Ahi Tuna in lieu of steak (rather than defaulting on a vegetarian option). They even cared enough to alter their soup to substitute the beef broth for one serving. Substitutions aside, we really enjoyed the Valentine's menu and are now looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a great experience! The staff is friendly and outgoing, our server Matt was on the spot with service and taking care of all of our dinning needs. The food is crazy good, off the charts, and the wine pairings were so spot on. Biggest disappointment was having to leave. Word to the wise, enjoy every moment of the experience the Painted Lady has to offer.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.