Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Local Ingredients (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

So delicious Our second visit. We dine here whenever we're in town. Excellent, creative menu, good service, good wine list

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Over all foods are very good, some of the ingredients can use most fresh one can make the dish even better. The beans in the steak can be better. The soup with fried vegetables with oily taste destroy the perfect miso custard soup, can consider use bake to make those ingredients dry and crisp to avoid the oily taste. The chef presenting food with passion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful meal! The entire service team was awesome! MARC was very knowledgeable.
Wished I lived closer to come more often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a totally elegant meal with impeccable service. the presentation of the 9 courses was very artistic and the dishes were very unique and delicious. The flight of wines coordinated very well with the various courses. We had a bonus dessert surprise because it was our 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The four of us had the pleasure of dining at the Painted Lady last Saturday, August 12th. All of us enjoy fine dining and food & wine pairings. On of the four of us is a chef and owns retail cookware/cooking schools. While we have had incredible experiences in some of the best restaurants in the country, our experience at the Painted Lady was TOPS!

Each of the nine courses were creative, delicious and represented a wonderful local and seasonal variety. I particularly loved the second course, Miso custard with Dungeness Crab, pickled red inion, Nori, and Dashi. It was paired beautifully with a 2016 Keller Riesling. In fact all nine courses were paired exquisitely with incredible wines. Many of the wines I would never have liked on their own -- but paired with the food, wow!

While the food and wine were unbelievable, the element that lifted the experience above all others, was Jamie. Jamie orchestrated the service beautifully. The timing was perfect, the course by course introductions were informative and interesting and overall, she was a delight to interact with. She went above and beyond at the end of the evening when we discovered Uber was no longer available. She called someone to take us back to our hotel and we were on our way in 5 minutes.

It was an out of body experience! I can't wait to visit the area again and the first thing I will do is make our reservation at the Painted Lady

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As always an amazing meal only made better by the service. Thanks Matt for finding that 1920 gem. Until next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've had! I love particular wines but do yourself the favor and select the wine pairing option. It is well worth the 75 bucks. The food is so complex that not even the best sommelier could pick a single wine to go with everything. You will not regret this decision. Portions are small but by the time you're done with 9 courses you will be full. As we visited the local wineries we would chat and tell the locals that we were dining at The Painted Lady and every single person told us that we would not regret it and that it was an "experience". Everyone is right and there is a reason this place earns it's five star reviews. Everything seems average after this meal and I felt like one of the judges on Iron Chef. I have never treated myself to this level of cuisine and I loved it! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

A spectacular prix-fixe menu with paired wine dining experience. A top 10 for sure. Loved the dungeoness crab miso soup. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Go here if you are looking for a fine dining experience - Wonderful, creative menu with great wine pairings. Knowledgeable, caring staff. We all felt doted over while our taste buds were entertained by a seemingly non-stop supply of ingredients that seemed to come from some heavenly kitchen

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great find while visiting the area for wine tasting. Not expecting to find such high end dining in the area and blown away by the level of execution at this well run establishment. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our tasting menu! Great service Marc, you really added to our experience @TPL.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This elegant, creative and scrupulously prepared tasting menu using locally sourced seasonal ingredients was a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Wine pairings were on point and well considered. Service was warm yet unobtrusive. The chef easily made gorgeously plated substitutions for dietary needs without fuss or fanfare. The Painted Lady manages to deliver a world class dining experience without pretension. A highly recommended special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

World class cuisine. The chef is amazing. Food is beautiful and delicious. Tasting menu with wine pairings was on point.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. Romantic ambience, superb service and creative, fabulous food and drink.
Over a nearly 3-hour repast, we navigated through 11 courses, counting canapes and mignardises (which we later enjoyed at home). Each course was artfully and beautifully presented at a perfect pace -- no long pauses but never a feeling of being rushed. Portions were small enough that we did not feel overstuffed at the end, but still satisfyingly ample.
Every bite was a highlight, so it's difficult to pick favorites. But if I had to limit myself, I could not overlook the fried mushrooms with sea salt among the canapes, the miso custard with Dungeness crab, the golden halibut, the dry-aged New York steak and the blueberry ginger ice cream with the baba au rhum. The wine list is also exemplary. We started with a glass of Argyle brut, then moved on to half-bottles of a Prum Riesling and a St. Innocent pinot noir. (our son-in-law provided chauffeur service!)
An absolutely perfect evening. And can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal with such amazing combination of flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This place is simply outstanding. Its very expensive at 110/person without wine but the food is fantastic and artwork on the plate. Only the tasting menu is available so expect a long dining time and many courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The Painted Lady is incredible. From start to finish, the food, service and ambience were top notch. I wish I lived out there to go more often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

One of the finest meals I've ever had with a wine selection to match and a staff who could work in any restaurant in the world. Newburg should be careful, someone will buy The Painted Lady and move it lock, stock and barrel to a bigger city.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful from start to finish. The food was creative, delicious and beautiful all while accommodating our many dietary restrictions at table (vegan, gluten free, etc). The service was impeccable and the wine pairing was spot on. Bravo!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Exquisite, exceptional and expensive experience. The fine art of fine dining, fine wine and fine service. The Painted Lady is an evening and a meal you will never forget.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Painted Lady was about standing restaurant well prepared food served by a professional staff. The 9 courses were of good size and delivered at a relaxed pace wine pairings matched the dishes very well . We were celebrating an anniversary and they made it special. They also handled gluten free very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our second experience, and we were happy to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary at this restaurant. Highly recommend the wine-pairings - well-worth the variety and especially the well-matched flavors to the food. One of us is lacto-ovo-vegetarian. All but one vegetarian dishes were excellent. All non-veg plates were well-enjoyed. The servers were so knowledgeable and willing to make conversation. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and great service
Nice balance of dishes in the tasting menu with good cadence of dishes and presentations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We really enjoyed the innovative food, portions and wine pairings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Loved the food and wine pairings. The Oregon Pinot Noir and Chardonnay were disappointing as there are many better choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Interesting and creative foods in a tasting menu with excellent wine pairings. Very nice, but not stuffy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nationally a TOP 10 tucked away in the center of Oregon wine country.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Really unique restaurant. It's a little formal for my taste, but the food was very good and presented in a beautiful way. Servers were very attentive. The host/manager was extremely friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the overall experience. Would definitely recommend it to those visiting Willamette Valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I are spoiled foodies and The Painted Lady blew us away. The food was delicious, the portions small but the courses plentiful and the service was amazing. The server welcomed us by name.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Elegant but unfussy. Ambitious tasting menu--and they delivered on every course. The wine pairings were creative--both European and local wines, including an amazing 2011 pinot and a Hungarian Tokaji with dessert. Host and servers were very professional, warm and welcoming. We went for a special birthday and will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food unbelievably good. Imaginative but tasty. Fresh and well seasoned

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 22, 2017

One of most 100 romantic restaurants and it lived up to its reputation. An abundance of staff that all were knowledgeable and did a nice job. We would definitely recommend the restaurant to others and would definitely go back if we were in the area

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Hands down one of the best meals of my life. The service was impeccable, the wines remarkable and the miso custard to die for. Every single dish was better than the next. Such a gem in this neighborhood and totally unexpected. I had some pretty amazing mess in Portland but nothing compared to this. It is worth the drive for sure!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I felt I needed to treat my wife to a nice dinner since she had a busy week and wanted to show my appreciation . I made the reservation not knowing what to really expect other than it being a 4 diamond rating restaurant which is given out very rarely. I was met with courteous and professional greeting. Too much isn't good. Feels fake. This is perfect. Everyone there is a professional. Don't expect a slip up here. Wife and I ordered the 9 course meal paired with different wine. I brought my son because I felt he needed to experience this at a young age. He was given a 4 course meal. He is well mannered so I knew he wouldn't be a distraction. He was welcomed and he even enjoyed the meal. My wife and I were stunned and enjoyed the different adventures are taste buds went through that evening. The portions were not too small where you couldn't enjoy the meal and mix with the pairing. It was perfect. Too perfect where we can't get back to eating regular food now! I recommend with going with a 9 course meal. Why? It was like opening a gift each time. You never knew what was coming which was exciting. The owner deserve their high rating. You will not be disappointed. There is a difference between getting paid to cook food and cooking food out of passion. This place is the later and they do it exceptionally well. I will be back when they change their course again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The perfect place for a special celebration!
We did the food & wine pairing, which I highly recommend.
The food, wine & wait-staff were superb!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous service, amazing dishes each being unique and delicious. Definitely a must do at least once in a life time. All I can say is "wow"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is a very special dining experience. The service, ambiance, creative dishes all combine to make the evening most enjoyable. We opted for the full seven course with wine pairings. The pairings are spectacular and should be experienced at least once. The seven course meal was full of delicious and unique tastings. The portions are perfect but the full seven courses should only be attempted if you are hungry. Be prepared for a 2 to 3 hour experience that will be hard to forget. I suspect that the price is much higher than most restaurants unless New York or Paris are frequent stops for you. However, If quality, creativity and attention matter to you, the price is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Incredible place! Loved it! The service was exceptional. The wine list was impeccable and we had a great time there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.