Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (25)
Tasting Menu (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous service, amazing dishes each being unique and delicious. Definitely a must do at least once in a life time. All I can say is "wow"

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is a very special dining experience. The service, ambiance, creative dishes all combine to make the evening most enjoyable. We opted for the full seven course with wine pairings. The pairings are spectacular and should be experienced at least once. The seven course meal was full of delicious and unique tastings. The portions are perfect but the full seven courses should only be attempted if you are hungry. Be prepared for a 2 to 3 hour experience that will be hard to forget. I suspect that the price is much higher than most restaurants unless New York or Paris are frequent stops for you. However, If quality, creativity and attention matter to you, the price is reasonable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Incredible place! Loved it! The service was exceptional. The wine list was impeccable and we had a great time there.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing night all around

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Really great ambiance. Very attentive service-almost too much. Food and wine outstanding -served in small portions but the 5 course was sufficient. Outdoor seating in the summer would be great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food, atmosphere, and service were exceptional. We were embarrassed by our dress, as we didn't realize it was such a formal dining room. We were not in jeans and tee-shirts but my blouse and my husband and friends' plaid shirts was still a bit too underdressed. However, the host and servers were incredibly gracious, we didn't feel any disdain from the restaurant despite our casual attire. They were in fact incredibly informative of the dishes, proud of the farmed sources, locally sourced wines, and answered all of our questions. Our reservation was for 8:30, we did not leave after all of the courses and wine pairings until 11:30 and they were not ushering us out the door. We will be coming back, just an exceptional, upscale dining experience with incredible food and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A very disappointing example of it being much harder to maintain excellence than achieve it. Not only was the execution in the kitchen flawed, but the concepts were even more so. Set menus at those prices only work when the quality of the product is worthy and justified. Neither is true. The house staff tried hard - actually much too hard - to compensate for what they knew by the portions of each course remaining on plates from most tables we saw was much less than average, much less stellar in past years. The overall result was overpriced and under-performing. It is sad to see the state to which the former Grand Dame has fallen. There are much better options down the road.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

It has been nine days since we last ate there. I'm still thinking about the meal.
It was our first time there since they changed to the all 9 course chef's choice. It was exquiste. All the dishes were a sensory delight. Their signature soup! I can't stop thinking about the soup.
Go there. You won't regret it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were here once before about 4 years ago and had an amazing dinner, but this meal was truly outstanding. Wish I could give it 6 stars. The chef is so creative and is clearly still curious, learning and interested in upping his game. This meal had a bit of a Japanese influence with the best course being a savory custard with miso broth and crab. So much umami in one little bowl! Some of the later courses had a bit too much bitter for me such as the steak with puréed nettles and fennel and the first dessert (there were two) of bitter chocolate and lime. However, they were still fascinating and overall just a fantastic and thought-provoking experience. The wine pairings were good and I would recommend as it would be impossible to find a wine that would go with all courses. One pairing was enough to split if you don't mind sharing a glass and need to drive home.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I have heard about the painted lady for many years but haven't got the chance to go. Last Sunday, husband and I went there for a special date. We were very disappointed with our 5 courses dinner we had that day. Almost every dishes were overly salted. My husband usually like his meal a little more salt and he agreed that the dishes were salty. The gnocchi dish that day was so salty that I couldn't eat it. The coffee that my husband ordered tasted burnt which meant it has been on the coffee pot for awhile now. None of the dishes were memorable for us. I'm so surprised about this restaurant in which I've heard so many good things before coming here. The service there was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is fine dining, a disappearing experience in our hyper-connected world. Why? Takes some time, yea—but that’s the point. Enjoy! Expensive, sure, but you get a memorable evening full of grace, fine food & wine, beautiful memories. Much better than some poorly done concert or beer-soaked live sports. And in tiny Newberg, who would have guessed. (But maybe the men all don’t have to wear jeans.)
The menu is usually done as a done deal, no myriad choices to stress about, just lie back and enjoy. We did! With the wine pairings, which were excellent. Fish (halibut), beef, cheese and most fantastic, the dessert: sorbet, a dollop of creme fraiche, strawberries poached in something yummy, a visual stunner. Best dessert ever!!
Our waiter was elegant, knowledgeable, sharp & attentive. The entire staff was gracious and helpful. I’ll be going again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner! The 5 course tasting menu was prefect. The portions were generous and the dish was creative and interesting. I wish I hadn't visited wineries that afternoon so I could have enjoyed the wine paring.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Spectacular, quant, delicious variety and superb service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our meal at the Painted Lady was absolutely awesome. The ambiance was delightful. My partner and I loved every single thing that was brought out. Each course just kept getting better and better. My partner is a chef and even he was "wowed". Very nice! Well worth the cost and drive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sorry to say...this was overpriced and overrated. The food was good, but not as good as they think it is. The major issue was the $75 per person wine pairings that were described as 2 oz pours...which we figured was a good value...not so much...I was lucky to get a full ounce per pour, definitely not what I was told. I am glad to have had the experience, but won't be doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow! It was an amazing experience, from the food to the wine the evening was unforgettable. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

what a find in the Oregon wine country. The service was superb. 9 course prix fixe but very accommodating of dietary restrictions. one of our most enjoyable meals anywhere in the world.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delightful as always. An adventurous dinner. The food and the service is amazing!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were treated very well. We called ahead of reservation three times and once after making reservation. They accommodated a Kosher meal request with only one day advance notice. The beauty of the restaurant, the excellent service, the heavenly food and the wonderful help we received over the phone made for a very special evening that will never be forgotten.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a delightful experience - college graduation experience.
Food & wine pairings were spot on. Well done !!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is a fabulous foodie experience in rural Oregon with many well presented courses and wine pairings. It is expensive but worth it. Go with an appetite!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding service.. memorable food..perfect wine pairings...

Matt..your wine pairings made the night.. the miso with German reisling pairing was epic. Thanks my friend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I dined here for our 8th anniversary, and we were completely blown away. I highly recommend the full chef's tasting menu with wine pairings in order to have the full experience. Every plate looked like a gourmet magazine cover picture, almost too beautiful to eat. Their Miso Custard was a definite highlight. We'll definitely come back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We eat at Painted Lady every time we go wine Tasting/ buying in the Willamette valley. Food is consistently terrific and creative enough to be really unusual. We really like it. The thing that may scare some people away is the 7 course tasting menu for $105. It is so good that it actually approaches a good value. The server said that they had a less inclusive menu but i didn't ask to see it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, wine pairing, and service. Upstairs if very quiet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a five star restaurant. The staff was very attentive without hovering. The portions are small, but we were stuffed after finishing all the courses. The only drawback is price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The best thing about Painted Lady is that for as many times as we have been there (at least 10) we have never been served the same thing from the course meal. It is such a treat to be surprised with each course that comes out perfectly cooked and perfectly described by our server. The food is impeccably presented and devoured...leaving us fully appreciative of our experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The menu is pris fix. About 12 tasting courses w wines to complement food. Amazing French cuisine. If you are looking for the usual American dinner dish, this is not the place for you. We were served delicious food and wine for two hours. It was an amazing experience, similar to the French Laundry in California's wine country.

You must have a reservation. Seatings are spaced so the food comes to you directly from the kitchen.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

2nd time here, phenomenal. It's an experience, each bite and sip tantalize your taste buds, while the staff introduce each course and wine pairing and take care of your every need with top notch service and professionalism. You pay for the best and you get the best. Can't wait to dine her again!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Incredible food and service. Required reading for foodies visiting the Willamette Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Most delicious and beautiful food! My wife and I came for our anniversary and it was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful creative food, excellent service, incredibly expensive. I have never in 50 years of dining had a prix fixe dinner that cost $430 (for two). I wouldn't go back, nor would I recommend it to a friend who hadn't just won the lottery.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at The Painted Lady. It was beyond incredible. The food, the amazing service and having our occasion acknowledged by all the staff. It was truly the best meal we have ever had, and we dine out quite a bit. It was beyond a meal, it was an entire experience we will remember forever. We did the food and wine pairings and it could not have been more perfect. We cannot wait for the next special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The painted lady 9 course meal and wine pairing was an adventure to be repeated

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you are a foodie search no further the painted lady is the oregon destination for you. The dishes are executed emaculatly with innovative twist like misu castard . However if you need to accomodate less adventerous diners worry not, majority if dishes however inventive stay true to their original ingrediants so when having a steak it will taste and look like a steak. The venue is lovely in old restuarated house with beautiful garden . The staff is accomodating yet not imposing as expected in high end restuarant. Vine list is impressive. Overall charming romantic destination that leaves portland based alternayives behind.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fabulous service, multiple small plates fixed menu, fine wine list.
Right here in little ole' Newberg, a taste of the best European dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We came from Virginia to the WV Auction and had to dine here. The food was spectacular and the service was incredible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

If you're looking for a wonderful, memorable meal with food that delights paired with superb wines, then get on the reservation book for The Painted Lady. The restaurant defines professionalism from a wait staff that gracefully presents each course to a kitchen staff that understands we eat first with our eyes. We are wowed by each plate and delighted by every bite. What a wonderful evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It is possible that I got jaded but amongst restaurants that offer tasting menu across US this one came toward lower end of the list as neither my wife or myself found about half or more of tasting dishes to be not especially exciting: apetisers were tasty but not too surprising, steak, duck and seasame crusted salmon were all expertly prepared but not above that, deserts were good, half of the wines paired were rather average or below average for my taste.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very inventive, and attentive staff. Great experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.