About The Painted Lady

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers two tasting menus nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be reserved for private events, seating up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: 5035383850x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Portland / Oregon
Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
5 More
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

special occasion (53)
romantic (51)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday and were very satisfied with everything. This was our third visit to The Painted Lady. Food and wine were top notch and excellently pared. Wine steward was knowledgeable and so were the servers. Great service. We never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in every regard. It was by-far t ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Superb in every regard. It was by-far the best dining experience we've ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every course was unique and flavors were incredible. The wine pairing brought out the flavors even more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonde ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonderful and comfortable. Food was nice, excellent ingredients but a bit busy and lacked the "I'm amazed" that I came for.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal, great service -- ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always an amazing meal, great service -- just perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food worth it. Not sure about the wine list

Dined on April 24, 2016

The $85/person 7-course meal was well worth it! Not sure I felt that I got the same value for the $75/person for the wine pairing. It certainly made the meal more enjoyable having the wine presented with each course so I enjoyed that aspect of it but it just felt like the $75 was a little on the high side. Amazing food and my wife and I were treated amazingly well for our 20th anniversary. The interiors could be updated a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5

Proceed with caution. Overpriced "weir ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Proceed with caution. Overpriced "weird" (different) food. Good for foodies (perhaps)? I wouldn't go back. Feel the same about mud baths. Do it once for the novelty. Perfect service and pacing of the 9 courses. But No view nor ambiance (it's in an old house). Went with my BFF. My husband would have hated it. It takes 2.5 hours so if you go, go early. I wish we would have gone to posh restaurant at Allison Inn instead. Awesome view, great service and same small "interesting" food. Heard the small taco places in Newberg are awesome..,and cheap.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Vacation/Anniversary Memory

Dined on April 18, 2016

The tasting menu was a real experience. Flavors and textures not typical of even high end restaurants. Great service, quiet comfortable atmosphere. Plan on spending 3 hours to sit back and enjoy all the courses. We left so full, even though the plates are small. Small but very delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost a perfect score

Dined on April 17, 2016

The only thing we would change is the dessert end of their fixed course menu. Once we had consumed multiple courses of excellent food they served us a very nice palate cleanser followed by wonderful cheese, then a choice of two excellent desserts. It should have ended there but then a plate with several chocolate candies were presented. In other words the meal was dessert heavy. Of course one can always decline to eat those extra-special candies but the idea behind going there is to purchase a fixed course that has been carefully balanced so we went with the flow and subsequently realized it was a mistake. Will we go there again? Of course. If the rating system were finer this place would have scored a 99%

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

The seven course tasting menu was outstanding! We will likely go back again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Will not return due to server

Dined on April 2, 2016

Arriving at the restaurant we were greeting warmly by the maitre d', who personalized our visit, the celebration of our anniversary. He spent some time interacting, making the evening start as a very special experience. Our server arrived and was also being friendly, helping us with the menu, telling us about the restaurant. That continued until we decided not to order wine. At that point he seemed to shut off, deciding we weren't worth his time or attention, no longer being a big ticket item. How do I know this? I have ten years as a fine dining server. But you decide: He returned to take our order and was pushy and rushed us. He stopped by one time during our seven course meal for a perfunctory check-in. Meanwhile, the couple next to us received lots of his attention - schmoozing, humor, making sure their dining experience was wonderful - and, of course, they ordered wine. I thought maybe it's just me, my high standards as a server, but my sweetheart remarked she felt the same way. And that's the sad part. She was really looking forward to a special night and his greedy mind and bad attitude left her feeling like she didn't matter. As we left the restaurant he said a fake and polite "Thank you" while the server assistant held the door for us, a young man who wished us a thoughtful "Happy anniversary". Dear Painted Lady management, you have great food and some wonderful staff, but it is not enough to make up for the disrespect we received throughout our meal from this server. I will not come back. David Jacob

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

creative food and fantastic service

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The Wednesday night experimental dinner is such a fun experience. The service is fantastic. The menu was creative and it was relaxing to not have to choose food to order, since the menu was set. The wine pairings were enjoyable and varied. The seven courses were small, but we left feeling full. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. We will come again.

Dined on March 31, 2016

The experience was 1 of a kind. Nearly the best we have had...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem in the Heart of Willamette Valley Wine Country

Dined on March 31, 2016

I lucked upon this delicious, amazing restaurant while on the second leg of my recent vacation that ended in Willamette Valley in Oregon's wine country. I happened upon the Painted Lady on its final "Experimental" dinner for the season. For anyone who has ever dined at the Inn at Little Washington - located in Washington, Virginia - one will feel this amazing, very humbly priced Painted Lady is very much on par in terms of food, presentation, and impeccable service. The food was amazing, the wine list was fantastic - although I went with the eight course meal's wine paring... What a fabulous find and a place I WILL return to on my next trip to Willamette Valley. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Painted Lady

Dined on March 25, 2016

The Painted Lady is frustrating, as is the upper division food scene. If you enjoy cooking, and wines, and have excellent skill at it, you'll be frustrated that to replace that experience out will be very, very expensive. Why? First, lots of staff. People are expensive. The host/hostess is professional and greets one by name. The maitre' d is accommodating, professional but not condescending. The Som is articulate, seems knowledgeable, and appropriately personable. The service and clearing is unobtrusive. It seems that regardless of the beauty and simplicity of the location, one must charge a lot for food and wine, to be desired. It is still just food. I think if you really love food and wine, and creating an experience, then make it somewhat accessible. That being said, we won't be back often, but the harmony and subtlety of Painted Lady will bring us back, again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experimental Dinner session!

Dined on March 24, 2016

On Wednesdays during the winter The Painted Lady had experimental dinners. We attended two of them. They were fantastic!!! Chef Allen really came through and gave us delectable bites at each course. It was very fun.... looking forward to nest year already!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Yes, over the top expensive, but gr ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Wow! Yes, over the top expensive, but great food, flavors, service and their description of each course was amazing. Fabulous wine list but that too was way overpriced. Recommended for intimate special-only occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative & Different

Dined on March 21, 2016

The Painted Lady in Newberg, Oregon is a five star, wonderful old home, in which the staff & chef are over the top in excellence ! It is not an inexpensive, quick dinner; but rather each course is wonderfully prepared & presented beautifully!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining at its best.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fine dining at its best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best

Dined on March 3, 2016

Painted Lady is a perfect ten in every category. Incredible food, beautiful ambiance, impeccable service, smart wine list. The best of Oregon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on February 29, 2016

This was our fourth time dining at The Painted Lady, and we've been astounded every time. We agree that it's the best restaurant we've ever eaten at - including several in France. Dinner is served in 4-6 courses, often with extra 'mini' courses between, so each person might be served 15+ individual items - and we've yet to find _even one_ that wasn't amazing. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly Excellent

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Every course was a wonderful set of tastes and textures that worked amazingly well together, and I came away surprisingly sated. In addition, I must compliment the chef. I have food allergies, so based on prior experiences, I approach fixed menu restaurants with trepidation. Painted Lady handled my last minute dietary news with expertise, making "off menu" substitutions that were as worthy as the ones my companion received "on menu."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great surprise!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Painted Lady was an unexpected great find in the wine country. Be sure to leave yourself time for a wonderful, leisurely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food, wine, and service anywhere.

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Special thanks to Allen, Jessica, and Matt for their graciousness, hospitality, and talent. Soon to be a 3 star Michelin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Oregon Wino

Dined on February 21, 2016

We have dined here 1/2 dozen times because our dining experience has always been 5 star. While the service and the ambiance were all great, the food was at best average. The dishes were relatively pedestrian and the staff was not prepared for 1 diner being gluten-free and another being a vegetarian, despite letting them know in the reservation and over the phone. As this was a a celebration of our twin daughters 21st birthday and their first trip to wine country, we had high expectations for the evening and based on past experiences. We will try again, but it will be a while. Hope it was just an off night, almost felt like the chef wasn't there?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding !

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been refferred here by some foodie friends and were not dissappointed at all. Everything was better than expected....serrvice fantastic, food creative and well prepared. They were VERY accomodating for both gulten free and lactose free diners at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

Awesome food/ great service- way over-priced

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I last dined at the Painted Lady about 5 years ago. As I recall, it was a bit pricey, but worth it. Our dinner on Valentines Day was a special treat. The food was spectacular, and the wait staff was very attentive. But, when I saw the bill, I felt like I had been conned. Sorry... you don't get to charge $18 for an ounce of whiskey that retails for about $2. Well, you *do*, you just don't get to charge *me* that price twice. I expected to splurge and pay on the order of $150 for a special treat... but the bill was $277 before the gratuity. Thanks. I enjoyed the evening. I won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in Newberg

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our first time dining at the Painted Lady. What a wonderful experience . We dined on Feb 11 and they were serving the 7 course Valentines Day Menu. Each course was delicious and served at a very nice pace. Each course was explained thoroughly when served. The maitre, and all the servers were very attentive and professional . You would not expect to find a fine dining restaurant such as this in Newberg. It is worth the high cost and perfect for a special occasion . We can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was just as I had hoped. It was a Rom ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was just as I had hoped. It was a Romantic evening for our Anniversary. The staff was knowledgeable and very attentive, friendly, with no pressure. My favorite was the oyster, and the different kinds of mushrooms with the dishes. We had the Chefs menu and it was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, creative, farm-to-table exper ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful, creative, farm-to-table experience in an elegant, gracious setting. Impeccable service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience at the Painted Lady!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Always a treat to revisit our favorite dinner house. Superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Better than the 4 star rating

Dined on January 30, 2016

even though I only gave 4 stars on all categories, this restaurant is far better than that. It truly is a one of a kind, food experience. If you are going to get filled up, stay at home. If you are looking for a culinary experience that would excite even the most finicky foodaphile, you have found your people. Very good service, although at times, a bit slow, but the courses are meant to be savored and not rushed. Ambiance is a small house, they do the best the can with what they have. Go and give this place a try, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb meal!

Dined on January 30, 2016

The chef's tasting menu was one of the best meals we have ever eaten as compared to many gourmet meals we have enjoyed around the world, including Paris. It was truly a one of a kind dining experience and we left enthralled and in bliss. Every course was delectable, creatively and beautifully presented and skillfully served. We enjoyed our meal so much that we are dining at The Painted Lady again this week to try out the experimental Wednesday chef's menu. We thought the meal was well worth the investment and we recommend it without reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience

Dined on January 24, 2016

Let the chef surprise you the food is wonderful the service is top notch. A lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food for the Senses

Dined on January 23, 2016

If you are looking for a unique dining experience this is your place! The Dining area is intimate. While I did not count there were not more than 8 tables. The small venue was delightful and quiet. The food was extravagant. The seven course meal was outstanding filled with unique dishes that were brought out to the table at a stately pace. Perfect for a long conversation over a cocktail and a bottle of wine. The food parings were inventive. I do enjoy a good meal and was a little concerned that with the size of the portions that I would not be satisfied...I was wrong. The wait staff was amazing: attentive without hovering and the timing was outstanding. I could not have wished for anything more. I would highly recommend this for romantic dinner. I was there with my Son and it felt that we had a place of our own. When I am out visiting with my wife next time it will certainly be revisited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

After a day of wine tasting this was the perfect place to end our day. The meal was relaxed with surprises in each course. The staff made you feel special. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Friendly Service and Great Food

Dined on January 16, 2016

Wow. In one word, wow! Lovely service by a staff who is on their game. They are there for any and everything. Nice. The Food is deconstructed and reassembled into works of Art. This is much about the experience as anything else. Truly unique and a nice treat for someone you care about. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

It has been several years since we have ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

It has been several years since we have eaten at The Painted Lady. I have very good memories of that experience, but I was very disappointed this time. Each course had many elements, but none of them were memorable. It was as if so much time was spent developing unusual sorbets, etc. but no one took time to sit down and eat the meal to ensure it was satisfying. The plating was beautiful and the service was good however there are a number of other places to go with beautiful plating and good service that also know how to develop flavors and create a very satisfying meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indulgent Experience

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Four of us experienced the tasting menu paired with wines at the Painted Lady on a quiet, rainy Friday evening. The food was outstanding with each of us remarking how one course was better than the last and the wine pairings were spot-on. The Sommelier (who's name I have regrettably forgotten) was amazing. He shared the story of each of the wines we sampled which only enhanced our appreciation of the wines and the deliberation of pairing that wine with this food. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive and we savored every moment of the evening. Thank you and bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experimental Dinner

Dined on January 7, 2016

We loved the adventure of The Painted Lady's Experimental Dinner series. The food was wonderful, and it was great to be part of something new and experimental. The service was knowledgeable and top notch, and the atmosphere is always lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.