The Painted Lady

4.8
1133 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 538-3850
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Allen Routt
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
2nd Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.
Additional
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Quite expensive but very enjoyable. Amazing food and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Very pompous

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Food and ambience superb. Service excellent, particularly for those who like formal, highly attentive wait staff. A memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The service is top-notch and the food is amazing. The fried oyster mushrooms, bison and halibut stole the show when we were there but I am guessing they change their menu often. The wine pairings are great (only 1 we didn't care for, the other 6 were really good). It is quite the dining experience but something most people can't afford to do very often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I have dined in a lot of fine establishments and this was one special meal. Why they do not have a Michelin star is beyond me. Everything was extraordinary!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Visited with my husband for a special Anniversary dinner.The house that restaurant is in is beautiful and quaint. We were seated upstairs. A server took care of all your needs through the tasting menu describing food and wines that were paired . The wines were unique and really fun to try; paired perfectly with the dish. We loved all the courses especially the Dungeness crab, bison and halibut.
This was a WoW and would love to go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

As always, this restaurant continues to delight and satisfy us! From the moment you walk in the door until the moment you leave, everything moves flawlessly and provides a really special dining experience. The food is delicious, the winds are wonderful, and the service is superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The experience was amazing. The food and wine pairing was spot on and I really enjoyed the journey that the chef and sommelier took me on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Extremely satisfying

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The 9 course meal on Sunday, June 3 for $110 was completely underwhelming and disappointing. Some of the courses were tasteless or room temperature (vs warm/hot) but the overall impression was of great pretension and throwing a kaleidescope of ingredients together with no overall theme or design. Three of the nine courses were desserts! Save you money and pass on this one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

This was a fantastic dining experience similar to The French Laundry!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Best meal we've had. Ever. Impeccable quality, attentive and knowledgeable staff and warm atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

What a fabulous place! Food, wine and service were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The tasting menu, the only option, is a steal for $110 per person add $90 for the wine pairing. Plan on three hours. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We took our friends from Chicago. They are foodies like us. We had not been to the Painted Lady in a few years. Wow was it over the top. When we went last time we ordered from the menu. This visit was a set meal. We chose the wine match. I am a winery and vineyard owner in the area. The wine food match was incredible. We are still talking about the meal 3 days later. The service was outstanding. Marc explained all of the items very well. We are scheduled for another meal in a few weeks. It certainly will be one of the top restaurants on our referral list for our friends. Thanks for being so close to our home. Cheers Allen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Fantastic from start to finish. The tasting menu was amazing and covered several types of food. The miso soup was very unique and amazing. Service was 5 star, we will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

One of the best meals we have ever had. Had the chefs tasting menu. They called us two weeks before our reservation to ask if there were any request. We asked for vegan options if possible. Chef prepared all dishes vegan whenever possible and still created fabulous dishes that were tasty and appealing. Example: one dish looked like salmon but turned out to be butternut squash! 10 courses. The regular non vegan menu was absolutely stunning both in taste and presentation. Be prepared for presentations that are totally creative. Each looks like a bit small and you wonder why there’s not more food but at the end of the meal you’re absolutely full and satiated. Service was exquisite a d informative. Wine pairings available for $110. The full tasting menu is also $110. In my opinion this restaurant would earn Michelin star(s).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Wonderful dining experience with my bride. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Absolutely wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Fantastic food, ambience, wait staff. We couldn’t decide what was the best as everything was THAT good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Celebrations and special times with loved ones have more meaning at The Painted Lady.
Try it and you will know what we have known for years - an unforgettable "experience" from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Fantastic dinning experience....good service, food, and ambience. Fenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

great service, very nice place for special occasion. it is on higher cost side but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Chef made my gluten free courses amazing. We had been warned to go hungry and we did. The pairings were perfect. So good to enjoy a few local wines, @Britton Vineyards, that you don't usually have the opportunity to have access. I highly recommend for any special event. Absolutely worth the drive from PDX. We came all the way from Bend. Newberg is a fortunate community to have such a gem to look to for special events.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Dreadfully expensive for mediocre food served lukewarm. Service pretentious and accommodating only with obvious reluctance. A very poor experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Amazing setting, presentation, service and inventive wine list. Food is beyond compare. I’ll be back monthly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was exquisite. Service was impeccable. Wine was superb. This was absolutely the most sensational dining experience I've ever had. Worth. Every. Penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

A truly exceptional dining experience from beginning to end.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent service. Wine pairing made the experience more enjoyable. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Exquisite dining, immaculate service, beautiful experience. Can not recommend it enough. Three hours, nine courses, seven incredible wine pairings. Small, intimate, and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

If you are anywhere near the Portland area, do not miss dinner at the Painted Lady. We had a 9 course tasting menu with wine pairing that was somewhere in the top 5 meals I have ever eaten. Service was evenly paced; the wine for the course poured first with an explanation from the Somm about where the wine was from and its qualities and how it should complement the course. No pretense; just information to help one appreciate what the chef was attempting to do and how the wine might complement it. And every course was delicious and just the right size to assure that one had room for the following course. The meal was far better than many of the "tasting menu" restaurants here in the LA/Beverly Hills area. Be advised that the prices are about what one would pay in LA or Beverly Hills, but the food is so much better that it seems like a bargain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Awesome experience. The food was amazing and the wine pairing was great too. Staff was attentive and fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Fantastic array of foods

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great service, good food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We've journeyed before to Newberg. OR. to enjoy their wines! Phenomenal! The past 10 years of these memories were surpasses by the food, the service and wines served during our dining experience at the Painted Lady We were provided a small room like area for our part of seven. Each serving was complimented by a great tasting of wine. I was taken back by the dungeness crab soup (I could have stopped there) - but glad I didn't The remaining courses were each delicious by themselves. The final serving - desert - set the bar on both variety and tastes! didn't know chocolate sorbet could taste so good! A "10" all around from our six other guests too. This was a dining experience and memory we will savor for some time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Simply divine from start to finish. There's absolutely nothing to say other than you will have a fantastic dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

The Painted Lady is where we go for special occasions. We always experience excellent food, wonderful wine pairings, and superior service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We have been to the painted lady about 6 times now. The food is unbelievably good. The device is excellent. I love the experience I look forward to our next time every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentine’s Day- great experience, the service is always top notch, she remembered us from two New Year’s Eve dinners back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29