About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR
  • Chocolate Trio - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR
  • Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR
  • Parsnip Bisque - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Trio - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR
Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR
Parsnip Bisque - The Painted Lady, Newberg, OR

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (9)
Historic (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second visit. Not as good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second visit. Not as good as in the summer. Also had the wine pairing this visit and they either need to speed up the service (not a good idea) or poor slightly larger glasses. Ran out of wine every time before next course was served. On last visit had a great Oregon Pinot bottle and that was a much better solution.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely fabulous dinner and delightfu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Absolutely fabulous dinner and delightful experience. This was our second year of doing the experimental dinner, and we can't wait to do it again next year.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, , Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing culinary experience. Come and be ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Amazing culinary experience. Come and be amazed by the quality and the creativigy, but, please, leave the perfume and cologne at home.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We happened to be celebrating a birthday ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We happened to be celebrating a birthday on the date of a Wenesday experimental dinner - a recreation of a Charlie Trotter meal that was served to the chef and his new wife 20 years ago, Amazing, The Painted Lady complete 7 course dinner price was less than the original dinner. Every course and wine pairing once excellent. Once again The Painted Lady came through as one of the finest restaurants in the Northwest.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE for dinner. 9 course tasting menu w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE for dinner. 9 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Not cheap but OMG good and worth it. Interesting courses and superb wines. Who knew...in Newberg?

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent, as always. Every visit main ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Magnificent, as always. Every visit maintains the excellence we have come to expect, but also manages to exceed it. The food is delightful with so many different tastes and combinations to excite and satisfy your palate. An excellent wine list and Matt always makes great recommendations. The service is flawless yet friendly. What more could you want? A great way to end the old year and ring in the new!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience! This was o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An amazing dining experience! This was our third time and it always far exceeds our expectations!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady has experimental dinner ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Painted Lady has experimental dinners on Wednesday nights through March?. We chose to celebrate a birthday last Wednesday. Was officially a five course pasta delite. Took about two hours to get through whole meal. Experimental meals are half the normal price. Ambiance is great, inside an old house with chandeliers and old charm.

We have been here several times for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Staff was friendly. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful evening. Staff was friendly. Food was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation to the area from Mic ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were on vacation to the area from Michigan. Staff was nice. Portion sizes were very small for the price. We ate at several other restaurants in the Portland area that were high end with much better food. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

In addition to the quiet, quaint and ele ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

In addition to the quiet, quaint and elegant ambiance, and of course the exquisitely presented and divine chef selections of the holiday pairing menu, I was surprised and pleased by the knowledgeable and attentive staff. It was an orchestra like presentation with staff gliding in and out of the dining room to bring yet another heavenly dish. Even the bus boy stopped, looked me in the eye and conversed about his favorite course - not just to recite verbiage the chef had him memorize, but his own thoughtful whims of the food and it's quality. I've not had an experience like this since Aubierge in Napa. Well done!!! I will definitely return and recommend to all...

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady must be on your list of ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The Painted Lady must be on your list of top restaurants. Please, no perfume or cologne.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was well above our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The whole experience was well above our expectations. The staff treated us like royalty, not to mention how delicious the whole meal was. The wine paring made each course come alive.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The service was grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was great. The service was great. Overall no complaints at all

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the food. We lov ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were disappointed in the food. We love French food, but the food was a little out of the ordinary French. We had driven from Seattle to buy wine and this restaurant was recommended by a winery. We choose French restaurants in Seattle for some special occasions and love them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The pure focus on tasting menus really s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The pure focus on tasting menus really shows, exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here many times and the food is get ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Been here many times and the food is getting better over time. The most recent change was the new pastry chef and the desserts are now truly matching the delightful tasting menu. In addition, the price is so reasonable that compare with tasting menus in larger cities, it is a steal. In my opinion it is the best restaurant in Oregon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful tasting menu and great service ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful tasting menu and great service in an interesting historic home. We enjoyed a well-paced meal with wine pairings and spot-on service. Considering the thought put into the menu and wines, the price did not seem excessive and I have spent more at generic chains like Ruth's Chris but was a much better experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The best part of the experience was the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The best part of the experience was the wine pairing. Congrats to the Somm !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Due to some friends recommendation of th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Due to some friends recommendation of their very satisfying experience, we drove from Eugene, to the Painted Lady in Newberg, Oregon. It did not disappoint. Our dining experience here was a delightful, memory-making one! We were lead to a perfect table.

The chefs had been given a "heads-up" about all my food allergies and adjusted and substituted menu items for me. The servers were all very attentive. Just the fact that I could happily eat all the food that was brought felt comforting, safe, and utterly delicious! The many courses were offered in a relaxed, pleasing manner. The food was both eye pleasing and palate pleasing. The flavors blended beautifully together. The portions were "just right" so we never felt bloated or gorged. We left feeling extremely satisfied and grateful for the delicious dinner and the detail and expertise that went into it. It was a very pleasant, exceptional evening. The small downside of our evening there was how loud a table for four by us became as they seemed to be enjoying their wine more and more.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience. The wine p ...

vip
·Dined on November 5, 2016

An amazing dining experience. The wine pairing was among the best we have had anywhere and worked so well with the flavors of each course. Matthew was exceptional- ask to have him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal probably one of the best ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent meal probably one of the best we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have come to the Painted Lady several ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We have come to the Painted Lady several times. It continues to be one of the Portland area's best fine dining experiences. Allen Routt is an extraordinary chef, who always surprises us with exceptional, seasonal dishes. The wine list is superb. And, Jessica Bagley oversees a well-trained staff---always attentive without hovering.

We had a fabulous evening at the Painted Lady. The food was superb and this was the best wine pairing I have ever had.

We often recommend the Painted Lady to our friends. In fact, we once brought a dozen foodie friends from the San Francisco Bay area. They were stunned and you will be too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit to the Painted La ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to the Painted Lady. It definitely did not disappoint. The service was outstanding and the servers were very knowledgeable and explained each dish thoroughly. Each dish was served at a nice pace so we didn't feel rushed between each course. Food was delicious. Took our son and daughter-in-law for their anniversary and they thoroughly enjoyed the evening. They even prepared a special dessert with happy anniversary written on the plate. We will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 9 celebrating a birthd ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a group of 9 celebrating a birthday party. The staff was awesome. Chef was phenomenal. Wine was perfect! Totally recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants! Have gon ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Have gone here for years for a truly unique dining experience! Outstanding food of local cuisine, beautiful presentation, wonderfully unique combinations, hugely knowledgeable service all set in a wonderfully romantic setting - a Victorian home with a small number of tables. We went here one year for New Years with a large number of family members to celebrate, and they did such an outstanding job! We just ate there again last week, and absolutely LOVED it! I do miss a bit the old menu with some room for choice and fewer courses with a little larger portions, so you could really savor each dish a little more, but the tasting menu variety is fun as well. Regardless, the dining is unparalleled in this area - be prepared for an out-of-this world palate experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was over my expectations. Fro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was over my expectations. From the service to the food I will recommend your restaurant to my friends and we look forward to go back at our next visit in Oregon.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and the service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was really good and the service was amazing. We did the wine pairing and I thought that was a little lacking. I didn't think all the wines paired very well with the dishes and I thought it should have been more local centric. The wine is what brought us to the area and was not showcased enough through the pairing. They had an excellent wine list. Next time I would just choose a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I know I am supposed to be impressed wit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I know I am supposed to be impressed with the artistic presentation of the plates, and I was. Nevertheless, my impression of the food was that it was more art inspired and less taste inspired. If you drink tea with your pinky extended and you say things like "quite right, old fellow" and so on, you will probably be in 7th Heaven. But, as for me, leaving after a $600 meal for two, I just would expect some jaw dropping cuisine. I would expect something more, something extra special. I appologize for offending the foodie snobs and the chef. But, if you are a guy who enjoys a nice hearty meal, mouth watering melt in your mouth steaks, smooth and savory soups, warm and juicy ckicken, then dont go to the Painted Lady. Its not a steak house and its not a high end seafood place either. Expect nothing bigger than a 1'1/2 inch piece of protein with a whole bunch of different drops of different colored sauces that you really arent sure what you are supposed to do with. Do I mix them? Do I eat them separately? Hey, make no mistake, they arent lying when they say its a 9 course "tasting menu." Thats what it is. Just know what you are going for. I wasn't sure. Also, it is 9 courses people. So, expect to be there for over 2 hours. Its basically a food marathon that launches so many different tastes in your mouth that you dont know what the heck is going on. You leave with your palate "confused." But, hey, thats just me. I am not a big fan of foo foo cuisine. If you are, then this is the place for you, my friend. If you want to drop a few hondos and leave hungry, then you will love it. What I will also say though is that the service is top notch. I was in the indusrty for many years, and these servers are among the best. They are "professionals" who take the job seriously. They deserved every penny of my 20% tip on the overpriced menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing dining experience. Plan on spen ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Amazing dining experience. Plan on spending a lot of money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My partner and I were visiting from Euro ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My partner and I were visiting from Europe and Painted Lady had a very familiar feel. The cuisine was gourmet standard and very inventive if a little fussy for some courses. A lighter touch needed with the service of food and wine - assume most of your diners will be food and wine savvy!! Excellent wine list fairly priced. Overall a lovely experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We greatly enjoyed the food, by the time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We greatly enjoyed the food, by the time we got to course number seven I thought I was going to explode, even though portions were small and manageable. Perhaps it was psychological, but I wasn't sure I could make through nine courses. However, it was worth it when we got to the desserts!!

The food was creative and the presentation was exceptional. Our son, a culinary student, got to visit the kitchen and meet the chef which made it extra special.

Thanks for a lovely evening

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server "Jamie" was exceptional. Grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our server "Jamie" was exceptional. Great French style service without hovering. The food was also incredible as were the wine pairings. It was all just a bit much though (9 food and 7 wine offerings in total) , so probably best not to attempt it after a day of tasting in the valley.

We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Divine in wine country. Truly phenomenal ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Divine in wine country. Truly phenomenal meal that could rival any in the world, let alone the U.S. ineventive, meticulously prepared. Prepare to be wowed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular multi-course tasting menu pa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Spectacular multi-course tasting menu paired with excellent wines and impeccable service.

Nine course tasting experience with creative and perfectly executed food. The seven course wine pairing just topped off the experience. The service was perfect. Not cheap, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining at the Painted Lady was more of a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dining at the Painted Lady was more of an experience than a dinner. It was a 9 course tasting session with wine pairings. Every course was delicious. There were many flavors that excited my palate. The chef really did a great job in bringing out all the foods flavors! You are not rushed. It is expensive but it was worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit and our experi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This was our second visit and our experience was the opposite of our first. Nine courses was a bit much and there were no choices. The first visit there were seven courses and several of the courses offered an alternative. The quality of the food had declined. Courses were big on presentation but flat on flavor. One course was sent back and the New York steak was very tough. Several different sauces/purees were served with each course and many of the flavor combinations were not complimentary. In addition, several of the wine pairings seemed to be in conflict with the food. It is extremely expensive to dine there. The first visit was worth every penny. Having spent well over $300.00, it was a huge disappointment and not the kind of dining experience we would be willing to give another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was attentive but seemed a b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service was attentive but seemed a bit pretentious and aloof and not very personal. The food was delicious but a bit too fussy and also pretentious, and frankly it was just too much food for me. I had asked about the smaller 5-course menu, but my husband convinced me to get the full 9-course prefix meal...I should've stuck to my guns and gotten fewer courses. We also got the wine pairing, which seemed outrageously expensive...it was all good, but not sure it was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Due to the prix fixe 9 course meal, ther ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Due to the prix fixe 9 course meal, there was a lot of fussing with silver and plates, so not ideal for romance. But super wow for presentation, staff knowledge of food and surprise tastes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous tasting menu with exquisite pre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous tasting menu with exquisite preparation. Great value for the ten+ course menu. Dining room is on the main floor of a beautifully restored home. The Painted Lady is a gem destination in the Willamette Valley. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.