Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Painted Lady

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dining Room: seating for up to 35 guests, Upstairs Private Dining Room: seating for up to 20 guests

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: (866) 777-6649

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
Historic (6)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious in every way. We had the nine course meal paired with wine and it was fantastic. Our friends enjoyed it as well. They took extra care of us and noticed every detail. You must try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

The Painted Lady is amazing. We locals are lucky to have such wonderful dining right here in wine country. It is one of the best restaurants ever, and I highly recommend it. Please leave your perfume and cologne at home in the bottle.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second time visiting at Painted Lady, Their meal is outstanding and very creative.
The service is professional. They no longer serve seven course meal ( we very much enjoyed it with eight year old daughter last time.) The nine course meal was a bit of longer side because we all were quite tired after all day wine tasting but, food was excellent and wine pairing was very interesting ( wine from France, Germany and many were small production of local wines).
It was another memorable experience.
I am sure we will be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is delicious. I am a pretty picky eater but at the Painted lady I don't care what they put in front of me. I am going to to eat because I know its going to be great. Service is outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We decided on the tasting menu with wine pairings, and had an excellent experience. As each of the nine courses and seven wines were served, wait staff described the offerings. It was delightful. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful as always every bite Burst with flavor s and the presentations is absolutely gorgeous. Service is impeccable and also thoughtful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent service and enjoyed our servers. Wonderful 3 hour dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We thought we would have a choice of an $80 five course menu or the $105 nine course tasting menu but were told when we got there that the only option was the $105 menu. To cancel our reservation would have been $50 a person and there were three of us so we felt trapped. Some of the courses on the menu were quite good and some others were only ok. We felt we overall it was not a good value. Will not go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Thoughtful local food; even more thoughtful pairings. Come, relax, savor why you're in Oregon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply stellar. Second time going there, everything was just as lovely as the first time. This place is super hyped, well rated, critical darling, etc. ... it's not overrated; hype is accurate. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were spectacular! This is definitely a special occasion dining experience, and be sure to save your pennies! It's spendy, but for the quality of the food, service, and experience, it is worth it a 100 times over!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic meal - one I will remember for a long time. Each one of the nine tastings was a fascinating combination of tastes and textures. At the same time, the quality of the main ingredients was superb, particularly the duck, salmon, and steak.

The chef was very accomodating to my strange food intolerances, without any sacrifice in taste. The service was impeccable, to the point of refolding my napkin when I went to the restroom.

Its an expensive evening, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but quite overpriced. Wine list was good but also overpriced. All would have been fine even at the price point had the server (I forget her name) been pleasant and engaging. She was not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The Painted Lady continues to impress. The creativity, passion and commitment of the stellar culinary and hospitality team is apparent in every aspect of the dining experience. Each course of our much appreciated "within 100 mile" Experimental Wednesday experience engaged our curiosity, brought forth newfound pairings of tastes and textures for our enjoyment and future at home adaptations. Bernie, Mark, Eddie and the rest of the hospitality team are true professionals - warm, welcoming, knowledgeable and enthusiastic in their authentic interactions and sharing. We are extremely fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber right in our backyard and appreciate the opportunity and care that goes into each Experimental Wednesday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter was rude. Seemed like we were a bother to him. Unacceptable for such a nice resturant. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Each dish of the many course meal was an event unto itself. The presentation and flavor blends were outstanding. Having each dish explained as they were served made for delightful entertainment. Our dining experience there was the best ever and a great way to celebrate our fifteenth anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service staff was very professional and attentive. The wine list is fantastic with emphasis on the Willamette Valley as it should but also a nice selection from NAPA and Old World. The food was divine, we enjoyed all 9 courses of the local tasting menu. Each course was presented with detailed explanation of the chefs creation, the timing of the meal was also perfect! They have it down to a science. Was a memorable experience will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant was excellent in every way. It's pricey but the saying, "you get what you pay for," applies here. Very memorable and the service was over the top! We will be going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A real experience of fine dining with great service and matching atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I had an amazing evening tasting some of the most delicious food we have ever had. The atmosphere is great and the wait staff is extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Painted Lady just went straight to the top of our list for "special occasions." It was the perfect setting for Valentines. The food was outstanding, and I'm pleased to report they don't sacrifice flavor for presentation. Their service is also miles above most restaurants in the Portland area. They did a wonderful job of accommodating a "no beef" request for their prix fixe menu, and provided an excellent Ahi Tuna in lieu of steak (rather than defaulting on a vegetarian option). They even cared enough to alter their soup to substitute the beef broth for one serving. Substitutions aside, we really enjoyed the Valentine's menu and are now looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a great experience! The staff is friendly and outgoing, our server Matt was on the spot with service and taking care of all of our dinning needs. The food is crazy good, off the charts, and the wine pairings were so spot on. Biggest disappointment was having to leave. Word to the wise, enjoy every moment of the experience the Painted Lady has to offer.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were looking very forward to trying this restaurant as we had heard it was very good. However, that was not our experience. Even though we did not go on a holiday, we were forced into a 9 course menu without any options. The website did not provide this information nor did the server who called our house to confirm the reservation. The food was not anything we would have chosen and it also didn't taste very good. It was artfully displayed on the plates though and looked very pretty. The first course of an oyster with fish eggs was so fishy that nothing else could be tasted. The salmon course was also fishy and tasted off. The pasta course was good but only had 3 pieces of pasta. Our waitress while courteous was not overly friendly. I don't think anyone asked if we liked anything. I guess since there were no choices, it didn't really matter. Needless to say we were very disappointed and felt our $300 bill was not worth the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrific tasting meal and a good value for the ingredients/number of courses. Wine pairings were done very well, bringing out the main flavors and not overpowering anything. Well balanced. Fantastic service as well. Waiters are top class attentive and also well informed about the dishes and wines giving background about the sources as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The menu and wine pairings fabulous! The food was exquisitely prepared and delicious. Service was impeccable. Very nice to enjoy leisurely dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were there for the Experimental Wednesday Dinner which on that evening was northwest seafood dinner. Creative, delicious and beautifully presented. Our evenings at the Painted Lady are always special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best in Oergon. Ever dish fantastic flavors artfully presented.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Every mouthful is a delight - the wine pairings create a wonderful experience- the service is gently solicitous of your well being - and the softly glowing room is filled with smiling happy people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always an "experience" to dine here... from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave everything was so perfect.

Highly recommended to anyone who can afford to dine here.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Painted Lady is an epicurean delight! Plan to stay and relish in the experience...2.5 - 3 hours that delight the senses...we enjoy the wine pairings, too...Nirvana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 2, 2017

First time for The Painted Lady and we will definitely be back. Went for the Wednesday Experimental Dinner which I'm of the opinion is an outstanding value. Service was great from the host to the wait staff and everyone involved serving food and clearing dishes off the table. Wine pairing was worth the extra bucks. It was a memorable event and it was just my wife and myself. Guess I still like her. -Cheers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Experiential Wednesday menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Incredible dining experience, as always. The Experimental Dinners are wonderful and fun. Service was impeccable. The only downside had to do with other diners, no fault of the restaurant. Two women, who had apparently showered in perfume, sat near us. The odor was so strong and so bad that three members of our party starting having allergic reactions, not to mention simply not being able to taste or smell the amazing courses and wine. The staff was aware of the problem and promptly moved us to another room without fuss. A suggestion: when confirming reservations, please tell patrons NOT to wear perfume or cologne. I find it difficult to understand why patrons even need to be told this, but, hey, this is America.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The service is impeccable, they make the meal! The food is creative and delicious. It is expensive but worth the treat!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second visit. Not as good as in the summer. Also had the wine pairing this visit and they either need to speed up the service (not a good idea) or poor slightly larger glasses. Ran out of wine every time before next course was served. On last visit had a great Oregon Pinot bottle and that was a much better solution.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Absolutely fabulous dinner and delightful experience. This was our second year of doing the experimental dinner, and we can't wait to do it again next year.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Amazing culinary experience. Come and be amazed by the quality and the creativity, but, please, leave the perfume and cologne at home.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We happened to be celebrating a birthday on the date of a Wenesday experimental dinner - a recreation of a Charlie Trotter meal that was served to the chef and his new wife 20 years ago, Amazing, The Painted Lady complete 7 course dinner price was less than the original dinner. Every course and wine pairing once excellent. Once again The Painted Lady came through as one of the finest restaurants in the Northwest.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE for dinner. 9 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Not cheap but OMG good and worth it. Interesting courses and superb wines. Who knew...in Newberg?

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Magnificent, as always. Every visit maintains the excellence we have come to expect, but also manages to exceed it. The food is delightful with so many different tastes and combinations to excite and satisfy your palate. An excellent wine list and Matt always makes great recommendations. The service is flawless yet friendly. What more could you want? A great way to end the old year and ring in the new!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.