About The Painted Lady

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers two tasting menus nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be reserved for private events, seating up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: 5035383850x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Painted Lady
  • Chocolate Trio
  • Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
  • Parsnip Bisque
The Painted Lady
Chocolate Trio
Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes
Parsnip Bisque

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland / Oregon
3 More
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

special occasion (55)
fit for foodies (51)
romantic (51)
See All
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Painted Lady was a very special and ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Painted Lady was a very special and enticing place to dine. The food and wine pairings were outstanding and we really enjoyed the extra special service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were really impressed that the restau ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were really impressed that the restaurant called the day before to ask if there were any food sensitivities, to see if it was a special occasion, and to verify the number in the party. Since they asked whether it was a special occasion, I expected perhaps a personalization on the dessert plate, as I thought I'd seen delivered to another table. It was fine that they did not do this, but it seemed odd because they had asked. The food and service were impeccable. Nearly every course was a work of art, and the wine pairings were spot on. Despite the small portions, we were quite satisfied at the end of the seven courses. It was a memorable experience, and I'd recommend it for proposals and anniversaries, or any very special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely food and stellar service. From Be ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely food and stellar service. From Bernie's confirmation phone call inquiring about food allergies, to the special cake Chef had delivered to our table to take home, to the Sommelier giving us a tour of the kitchen when it was late and we were the last guests of the evening...truly a special place, worth the money and the travel. The food was delicious, creative and highlighted the local bounty. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Clearly an extravagant dining experience ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Clearly an extravagant dining experience for a special occassion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady was absolutely exquisit ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Painted Lady was absolutely exquisite! I would definitely recommend sharing a wine pairing as well with the tasting menu, as it really improves the overall experience. The food was incredibly creative and all beyond delicious. We went here to celebrate our engagement and believe it might be one of the best meals we have ever had. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

As it was the best restaurant in the Wil ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

As it was the best restaurant in the Willamette valley Newberg area I had very high expectations. It was overrated. It is a tasting menu. The food was good, but not great. It was just not worth the money.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there, and we enjoyed very mu ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

First time there, and we enjoyed very much Service was fantistic

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The variety in the courses was wonderful ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The variety in the courses was wonderful. I enjoyed the server's knowledge of each plate. Neither myself or my companion are wine/beer drinkers so I choose a martini. It was very good and I was not offered another, which I would have liked. The fish is served at 160*, so if you prefer flaky, you should ask. The Filet Mignon is served rare, so again, if you prefer it different you'll have to ask. (They don't ask you.) After the desert plate they served a 3-tiered candy tray. It was very beautiful, but too much for our tummies. They offered to split it and packed it up for us to take home, so we were able to enjoy breakfast too! Around plate 5 the woman serving us had an attitude change and she became cold and unfriendly. The other 2 gentlemen serving/clearing were charming. I plan to go again and hope to enjoy the meal with a group of out-of-town family members this fall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb, as always. Every course was a de ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb, as always. Every course was a delight to look at and to taste. Wine pairing (for him) and suggestions (for her) enhanced it even more. The service was flawless, yet warm and friendly. We love The Painted Lady!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. However, the smoked ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was very good. However, the smoked filet was too smokey (hard to get the flavor of the meat). Little loud for a high priced restaurant but that is a trade-off for the old house décor. Their asset is the service which is very professional and well planned. Very good for the location (smaller town).

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Exceptional presentation & first-class ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

"Exceptional presentation & first-class service transports your dining experience to the timeless elegance of yesteryear."

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We are 3 foodies. Found the food preten ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We are 3 foodies. Found the food pretentious and not very good. Very disappointing for the price. Emphasize inventiveness, but need to work on basics.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best ever.

Dined on May 28, 2016

This small older house off the beaten track in Newberg, Oregon severed the best meal with wonderful service we have ever had on the 4 continents we visit. It is expensive by Oregon standards (plan on $200 per person) but is worth every cent. A difficult reservation but worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday and were very satisfied with everything. This was our third visit to The Painted Lady. Food and wine were top notch and excellently pared. Wine steward was knowledgeable and so were the servers. Great service. We never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in every regard. It was by-far t ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Superb in every regard. It was by-far the best dining experience we've ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every course was unique and flavors were incredible. The wine pairing brought out the flavors even more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Fabulous food and superior service

Dined on May 6, 2016

We ate here because we had heard the food was incredible. I must say it did not disappoint and I really loved that it was primarily vegetable and protein based. The sommelier, host and waitstaff are beyond accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonde ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Desserts were awesome. Service was wonderful and comfortable. Food was nice, excellent ingredients but a bit busy and lacked the "I'm amazed" that I came for.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal, great service -- ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always an amazing meal, great service -- just perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food worth it. Not sure about the wine list

Dined on April 24, 2016

The $85/person 7-course meal was well worth it! Not sure I felt that I got the same value for the $75/person for the wine pairing. It certainly made the meal more enjoyable having the wine presented with each course so I enjoyed that aspect of it but it just felt like the $75 was a little on the high side. Amazing food and my wife and I were treated amazingly well for our 20th anniversary. The interiors could be updated a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5

Proceed with caution. Overpriced "weir ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Proceed with caution. Overpriced "weird" (different) food. Good for foodies (perhaps)? I wouldn't go back. Feel the same about mud baths. Do it once for the novelty. Perfect service and pacing of the 9 courses. But No view nor ambiance (it's in an old house). Went with my BFF. My husband would have hated it. It takes 2.5 hours so if you go, go early. I wish we would have gone to posh restaurant at Allison Inn instead. Awesome view, great service and same small "interesting" food. Heard the small taco places in Newberg are awesome..,and cheap.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Vacation/Anniversary Memory

Dined on April 18, 2016

The tasting menu was a real experience. Flavors and textures not typical of even high end restaurants. Great service, quiet comfortable atmosphere. Plan on spending 3 hours to sit back and enjoy all the courses. We left so full, even though the plates are small. Small but very delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost a perfect score

Dined on April 17, 2016

The only thing we would change is the dessert end of their fixed course menu. Once we had consumed multiple courses of excellent food they served us a very nice palate cleanser followed by wonderful cheese, then a choice of two excellent desserts. It should have ended there but then a plate with several chocolate candies were presented. In other words the meal was dessert heavy. Of course one can always decline to eat those extra-special candies but the idea behind going there is to purchase a fixed course that has been carefully balanced so we went with the flow and subsequently realized it was a mistake. Will we go there again? Of course. If the rating system were finer this place would have scored a 99%

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

The seven course tasting menu was outstanding! We will likely go back again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Will not return due to server

Dined on April 2, 2016

Arriving at the restaurant we were greeting warmly by the maitre d', who personalized our visit, the celebration of our anniversary. He spent some time interacting, making the evening start as a very special experience. Our server arrived and was also being friendly, helping us with the menu, telling us about the restaurant. That continued until we decided not to order wine. At that point he seemed to shut off, deciding we weren't worth his time or attention, no longer being a big ticket item. How do I know this? I have ten years as a fine dining server. But you decide: He returned to take our order and was pushy and rushed us. He stopped by one time during our seven course meal for a perfunctory check-in. Meanwhile, the couple next to us received lots of his attention - schmoozing, humor, making sure their dining experience was wonderful - and, of course, they ordered wine. I thought maybe it's just me, my high standards as a server, but my sweetheart remarked she felt the same way. And that's the sad part. She was really looking forward to a special night and his greedy mind and bad attitude left her feeling like she didn't matter. As we left the restaurant he said a fake and polite "Thank you" while the server assistant held the door for us, a young man who wished us a thoughtful "Happy anniversary". Dear Painted Lady management, you have great food and some wonderful staff, but it is not enough to make up for the disrespect we received throughout our meal from this server. I will not come back. David Jacob

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

creative food and fantastic service

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The Wednesday night experimental dinner is such a fun experience. The service is fantastic. The menu was creative and it was relaxing to not have to choose food to order, since the menu was set. The wine pairings were enjoyable and varied. The seven courses were small, but we left feeling full. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. We will come again.

Dined on March 31, 2016

The experience was 1 of a kind. Nearly the best we have had...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem in the Heart of Willamette Valley Wine Country

Dined on March 31, 2016

I lucked upon this delicious, amazing restaurant while on the second leg of my recent vacation that ended in Willamette Valley in Oregon's wine country. I happened upon the Painted Lady on its final "Experimental" dinner for the season. For anyone who has ever dined at the Inn at Little Washington - located in Washington, Virginia - one will feel this amazing, very humbly priced Painted Lady is very much on par in terms of food, presentation, and impeccable service. The food was amazing, the wine list was fantastic - although I went with the eight course meal's wine paring... What a fabulous find and a place I WILL return to on my next trip to Willamette Valley. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Painted Lady

Dined on March 25, 2016

The Painted Lady is frustrating, as is the upper division food scene. If you enjoy cooking, and wines, and have excellent skill at it, you'll be frustrated that to replace that experience out will be very, very expensive. Why? First, lots of staff. People are expensive. The host/hostess is professional and greets one by name. The maitre' d is accommodating, professional but not condescending. The Som is articulate, seems knowledgeable, and appropriately personable. The service and clearing is unobtrusive. It seems that regardless of the beauty and simplicity of the location, one must charge a lot for food and wine, to be desired. It is still just food. I think if you really love food and wine, and creating an experience, then make it somewhat accessible. That being said, we won't be back often, but the harmony and subtlety of Painted Lady will bring us back, again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experimental Dinner session!

Dined on March 24, 2016

On Wednesdays during the winter The Painted Lady had experimental dinners. We attended two of them. They were fantastic!!! Chef Allen really came through and gave us delectable bites at each course. It was very fun.... looking forward to nest year already!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Yes, over the top expensive, but gr ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Wow! Yes, over the top expensive, but great food, flavors, service and their description of each course was amazing. Fabulous wine list but that too was way overpriced. Recommended for intimate special-only occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative & Different

Dined on March 21, 2016

The Painted Lady in Newberg, Oregon is a five star, wonderful old home, in which the staff & chef are over the top in excellence ! It is not an inexpensive, quick dinner; but rather each course is wonderfully prepared & presented beautifully!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining at its best.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fine dining at its best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best

Dined on March 3, 2016

Painted Lady is a perfect ten in every category. Incredible food, beautiful ambiance, impeccable service, smart wine list. The best of Oregon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on February 29, 2016

This was our fourth time dining at The Painted Lady, and we've been astounded every time. We agree that it's the best restaurant we've ever eaten at - including several in France. Dinner is served in 4-6 courses, often with extra 'mini' courses between, so each person might be served 15+ individual items - and we've yet to find _even one_ that wasn't amazing. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly Excellent

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Every course was a wonderful set of tastes and textures that worked amazingly well together, and I came away surprisingly sated. In addition, I must compliment the chef. I have food allergies, so based on prior experiences, I approach fixed menu restaurants with trepidation. Painted Lady handled my last minute dietary news with expertise, making "off menu" substitutions that were as worthy as the ones my companion received "on menu."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great surprise!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Painted Lady was an unexpected great find in the wine country. Be sure to leave yourself time for a wonderful, leisurely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food, wine, and service anywhere.

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Special thanks to Allen, Jessica, and Matt for their graciousness, hospitality, and talent. Soon to be a 3 star Michelin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Oregon Wino

Dined on February 21, 2016

We have dined here 1/2 dozen times because our dining experience has always been 5 star. While the service and the ambiance were all great, the food was at best average. The dishes were relatively pedestrian and the staff was not prepared for 1 diner being gluten-free and another being a vegetarian, despite letting them know in the reservation and over the phone. As this was a a celebration of our twin daughters 21st birthday and their first trip to wine country, we had high expectations for the evening and based on past experiences. We will try again, but it will be a while. Hope it was just an off night, almost felt like the chef wasn't there?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding !

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been refferred here by some foodie friends and were not dissappointed at all. Everything was better than expected....serrvice fantastic, food creative and well prepared. They were VERY accomodating for both gulten free and lactose free diners at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.