About The Painted Lady

201 S College St
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Oregon's only AAA four diamond and Forbes four star restaurant, The Painted Lady in Newberg offers a seasonal tasting menu nightly celebrating the products of their local neighbors- Oregon's world class ranchers, farmers and vintners. Inspired by the grand tradition of restoring Victorian homes across America, the restaurant uses classic culinary techniques to create a stunning modern menu. With timeless grace and a contemporary palate, The Painted Lady is more than a restaurant, it is an experience to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 538-3850

Website:
http://www.thepaintedladyrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Offering our fine dining experience by Chef Routt at a multitude of venues.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot is also available less than 1/2 block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Allen Routt

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be reserved for private events, seating up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Bagley: 5035383850x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Painted Lady
  • Chocolate Trio - The Painted Lady
  • Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes - The Painted Lady
  • Parsnip Bisque - The Painted Lady
The Painted Lady
Chocolate Trio - The Painted Lady
Cardamom Vegetarian Crepes - The Painted Lady
Parsnip Bisque - The Painted Lady

The Painted Lady Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
8 More
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Fit for Foodies
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Romantic (56)
See All
Notable Wine List (53)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
830 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the only 4 star in Oregon. It' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the only 4 star in Oregon. It'samazing!! Loved it!!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady is on par with The Fren ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Painted Lady is on par with The French Laundry (the ultimate in Foodie destinations) but at one quarter the price and far more accessible, especially for Oregonians. Every one of our nine courses was an exquisite composition of creative ingredients which not only complemented each other, but elevated each flavor to unexpected heights: quite an accomplishment since most courses had at least seven elements. There was not a single misfire.

The service was outstanding and our server, Jamie, was professional as well as personable. She was always ready to explain very politely, no matter how many times we overheard her. I found it mildly amusing that, even though there were only three tables in our section, the four person waitstaff created their own small traffic jam getting to and from our cluster of tables at precisely the time they were each needed.

The $105 tasting menu is an absolute bargain: it is worth many times the price for extreme creativity, over-the-top master execution, and thoroughly enjoyable food. Each course contrasted with its predecessor magnifying the tasting experience. The $75 wine pairing is also an outstanding value. I don't eat beef, but the staff gave the distinct impression that they enjoy such challenges: they served an fantastically tasty sea scallop instead (which was not on any menu) and enhanced the King Salmon course to parallel my wife's sequence (which included steak).

The Newberg location is surprising, but at least that will discourage us from dining too much there. :-)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our meal at Painted Lady was superb! Fr ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our meal at Painted Lady was superb! From the congenial host to the knowledgeable and personable server and attentive staff, our dining experience was top notch! The cuisine was creative with continual flavor surprises and unique and delicious combinations of herbs, vegetables and sauces. Portions were exactly the right size to provide a taste explosion but not so overwhelming that you couldn't finish the meal. Especially loved the Miso Custard, the Warm Tomato Tart but the hit of the evening was the Potato Gnocchi...the table favorite. This is my second visit to The Painted Lady and I enjoyed it even more than the first. Be prepared for an enchanting 3 hour dining experience...it will not disappoint!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice wine pairing with courses ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

It's a nice wine pairing with courses experience. Great service. Some courses were better than others, but overall it was nice and enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoyed the creativity from the chef, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We enjoyed the creativity from the chef, and the food was fantastic. Our meal was truly an experience. However, the service was very slow, and after 3.5 hours, we still had several courses left to go. There was a lot of wait time between courses, that left us bored, and a bit forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Excellent service and food was very deli ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent service and food was very delicious. The restaurant is situated in a quaint town in Oregon and my wife and I had a wonderful time. We believe that this restaurant is top notch and we would highly recommend it to foodies and those who enjoy wine pairs and beautiful and delicious culinary experiences.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the service was great, the sing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Although the service was great, the single option seven course tasting menu provided too many small, fussy plates. Course after course of the minute dishes proved enervating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was one of the best meals we ever e ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was one of the best meals we ever experienced. Very creative and wonderful flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible dining experience. 7 course t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Incredible dining experience. 7 course tasting was off the charts. Service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is top notch and the tasting men ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service is top notch and the tasting menu was spectacular. Beautiful presentation of all the dishes. I would highly recommend for a special occasion. Very pricey, but worth every cent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal we've ever had! Fabulous wine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best meal we've ever had! Fabulous wine pairings!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily in my top 3 for outstanding, impe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Easily in my top 3 for outstanding, impeccable service combined with an amazing multi-course tasting menu. I enjoyed every dish and every wine pairing, and would definitely return again.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, there are no words to describe how ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wow, there are no words to describe how wonderful our food was, and the pairing wines were exceptional! 100% recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!! Easily in the top 1% nat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding!!! Easily in the top 1% nationwide.

.............................................................................

............................................................................

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had 7 course with wine pairings. Delig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had 7 course with wine pairings. Delightful In every way !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had many visits to the Painted L ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have had many visits to the Painted Lady and continue to return. We think it is still the best food in the Pacific Northwest. We were not totally excited about the new longer and more expensive menu. Currently there are 8 to 10 items with no choices on items or on how food is prepared (how well meat is cooked, etc.). It was great, but we like the old menu better which was shorter with some choice. Also everything took too long - almost three hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We have dined at the Painted Lady many t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have dined at the Painted Lady many times during 2016 and every meal has been an outstanding and wonderful experience. The food is divine. The service impeccable. The atmosphere calm and embracing. Dining at The Painted Lady has been consistently one of best dining experiences we have had all over the world.

Congratulations to the Chef and the entire team and we can't wait to cone back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way! This place des ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outstanding in every way! This place deserves 10 stars!

The food is out of this world. The wait staff so attentive and abundant.

The atmosphere- polished and elegant. Well worth the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fabulous restaurant and well w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant and well worth the trip. The food, wine and service is as good, or better than, anything in Napa Valley. A must do for any Foodie.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started with couple cocktails, vodka mar ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Started with couple cocktails, vodka martini and a well mixed Old Fashion. Then came the menu. We were offered the seven course nightly menu only and the Chef's choice tasting menu was not offered or mentioned. Found out about the Chef's menu later from the couple who ordered it sitting next to our table. The maitre d' told me later maybe I should order the menu when I make the reservation next time. Maybe we were lucky enough to have a reservation that evening albeit in the first sitting at 5:00 PM. Anyway, our waiter was attentive and each course was well presented. We enjoyed our evening and my belated birthday celebration.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding! No surprise. Wonderful cui ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding! No surprise. Wonderful cuisine. Great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal. Our server was an a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Our server was an arrogant know-it-all. He was rude and condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

The food and the service are outstanding ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and the service are outstanding. The room was quiet and inviting. This is a great place for a special occasion with someone special. Would highly recommend if you are looking for something special. Not inexpensive but worth the price for that special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to The Painted ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was our second visit to The Painted Lady, the first being probably 10 years ago, not long after they opened. It was exquisite then but it is, hands down, the MOST amazing and exquisite restaurant we have ever experienced. From the phone call to confirm the reservation along with inquiring about food allergies, the personal greeting at the door, the very personal service, to extraordinary explanations of each tasting menu item, to pouring our wine for us, and on and on and on......The Painted Lady SHOULD be a Michelin Star restaurant. You will not be disappointed. But also understand that you are paying for amazing quality and service. This was a delightful experience and we loved celebrating our anniversary there!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and fantastic wine pairings ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic wine pairings. We have traveled quite a bit and the 9 course meal and wine pairings was one of the best culinary experiences my husband and I have had to date. Utterly delicious.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food and wine pairings. As goo ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fantastic food and wine pairings. As good as any 1/2 * UK Michelin restaurant. Service was also excellent - highly professional but discreet and friendly. My personal preference would be for less of the 1980's decor and better, more atmospheric lighting but it's a small space in a house and that didn't detract from a superb meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations . Excellent s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Exceeded our expectations . Excellent service. At first we thought the portions were very small but by time we finished our nine course meal we were so full. Obviously you know what works,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Painted Lady has to be the premier f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Painted Lady has to be the premier fine dining restaurant in Newberg. Both food and service are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was fabulous! We went for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was fabulous! We went for a friend's 70th birthday and were not disappointed! Plan 3.5 to 4 hours. The win pairings we excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in town for a girls weekend getawa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was in town for a girls weekend getaway for a 60th birthday! The four ladies in our group thought the food and service was exceptional! We brought a bottle of wine we had bought during the day at one of our wine tours but was surprised to be charged $35 for a corking fee. We expected a corking fee, but thought $35 was rather high. Everything besides that was amazing!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I went here for our annive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My fiancé and I went here for our anniversary. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the Chef's menu- we tried foods we never thought we would like and they were fabulous! The wine pairings that I tried were fabulously paired and we will be back! Would recommend highly to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, fabulous dining experience! If ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing, fabulous dining experience! If you enjoy beautiful food that tastes even better than it looks paired with exquisite wine this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wow experience, we enjoyed ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a wow experience, we enjoyed every bite. Chef accommodated my dietary restrictions with no problem. Spectacular wine list with focus on Oregon wines. Host, Bernie was our favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Still good, no longer great. Too expens ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Still good, no longer great. Too expensive for everyday dining, no longer special enough for a special occasion. Time to find a new favorite place, sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The courses were amazing. The main cour ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The courses were amazing. The main course was good but all the preceding and following courses were simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The most spectacular meal that I've had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The most spectacular meal that I've had in Oregon -- better than anywhere I've been in Portland, the coast, or the Valley after years of trying great places. A really special experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big hype - and even better than advertis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Big hype - and even better than advertised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful fine dining experience in ev ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delightful fine dining experience in every way! Lovely , quiet elegance , attentive but not intrusive waitstaff , and an exceptionally delicious 9 course tasting menu with with perfect wine pairings. The best surprise was a miso custard and crab soup -absolutely scrumptious...embarrassed ,but not enough- my finger swiped the last drop! Don't pass up the chance to dine here- you won't be disappointed! *****

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was beautifully prepared and time ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was beautifully prepared and timed. Menu changes for dietary restrictions were easily accommodated. All staff members were knowledgeable and professional. Chef came to each table for a brief thank you and conversation. A real treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply one of the best restaurants we ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Simply one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Five star service,food, and

ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed every detail of the menu and the wine pairings were

outstanding. Thank you for a memorable evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.