Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About The Oxford House Inn

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (20)
Scenic View (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Outstanding service, beautiful evening view from the porch,
all four courses were delicious, waitress exceptionally
punctual and attentive...

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a wonderful time, great food and drink. Bistro meals are well priced!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We've been here numerous times, both for special occasions and for upscale, fine dining. We've never been disappointed. My entree, lobster & seafood "fruit de mare" was delicious (They call it something else). Service is friendly & professional. The Oxford House Inn remains among the top fine dining restaurants in the Valley. The Bar/restaurant downstairs is a lively alternative to the dining rooms upstairs. The back room provides a scenic view of the White Mountains & Meadows. The front porch enables comfortable out-door, screened-in, dining with a round-top or two, during good weather, while the several in-door, dining rooms provide a fine-dining atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have eaten at the Oxford House several times over the last few years. It is always flawless and exquisite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always outstanding. We have been dining theRe since 2011!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My wife & I enjoyed our meals, service and setting. There are not to many fine dining experiences in this area anymore. Glad to see Oxford house doing well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent crab cakes and scallops, service was outstanding, the view from the back porch made the dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food, views, service and drinks! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

What an incredible experience we had at Oxford Inn....great food, service, and amazing views of Maine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It's been 3 years since our last visit to Fryeburg (and our last meal at The Oxford House). It's worth the wait...and worth the effort!
Family gathering in a relaxing location with great service, great choices, and great conversation.
From the appetizers (tuna tartare and crab cakes) to soups/salads (cauliflower soup/grilled romaine) to the entrees (including fish, chicken, scallops, shrimp), it was a feast of flavors!
It's been a regular stop for us for nearly 20 years.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great service, wonderful food and comfortable atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful old Manor house. We dined on the porch this time. Food was delicious and Claire provided great service...very friendly. Well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

So lucky to have Oxford House Inn in our area! We come here once every few months, and we are NEVER disappointed. This time we had our world traveling cousins with us and they were floored. It's so cozy and unassuming, the level of food doesn't even need to be as good as it is. Loved everything from the burger to the mussels to the lobster ravioli. Service excellent. First time on the screened porch but hopefully it won't be the last.

P.S. I'd crawl across broken glass for the toffee that comes on the ice cream sampler.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Oxford Inn offers scrumptious and creative appetizers, salads and entrees. My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful summer evening dining on the porch. The food is delicious and the portions are good. Breakfast at the inn is wonderful too! And the service is always attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall as had always been the case, the meal was excellent as was the service which was very very poor the last time we dined here for our anniversary a couple years ago. I wrote in about it but never heard a peep from ownership. This was number 45. The egg snack was different but great, as was the grilled kielbasa and fix- ins for our appetizer. My wife had the filet which she said was excellent with the rub and spices not excessive and cooked as ordered. I had the stuffed chicken breast which was also an excellent combination overall with the exception of one end of the breast being over cooked and therefore dried out.The chocolate coconut cream pie had us both anticipating and ordering it. While it was very good for what it was it was really a mousse on a thick crumb crust not a proper looser cream pie filling in a pie crust like a coconut cream pie would be. Again very good for what it actually was but not what we expected. The server was attentive and friendly. We would not hesitate to come again for an occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

4th visit in 6 weeks since moving to Bridgton ME
Love it, our go to spot for great food, service, value.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Oxford House Inn for my husband's birthday. We ordered a number of appetizers and small plates to share and each dish was fresh and delicious. Our server Jalen was attentive and friendly. He never rushed us as we moved from course to course. Every time I go there I order a maple manhatten--they make the best one around. I love that they use locally sourced foods whenever possible. It is one of my favorite places in Fryeburg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our party of three dined in the Pub to celebrate a birthday. From our cocktails, to appetizers, dinners and espresso martinis ... everything here is completely thought through, perfectly prepared and presented. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming ... can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great restaurant! The food is amazing although was not a fan of the lobster ravioli as it was accompanied by a smoky flavored cream sauce. The service was impeccable - Thank you Claire!! Cant wait to come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Another amazing meal at The Oxford House. We introduced some friends and they loved it too!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I consider myself a foodie. I hate to go to run of the mill places because I come home mad having paid for something I could have made better at home. THAT WAS NOT THE CASE HERE! My husband was a little skeptical going in, as he thought they had a limited menu. They have something for everyone, and if you are really good at the things you make, adding a ton might take away from that. We were impressed from the cocktails to dessert! Thank you Oxford House for a wonderful date night dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Anniversary - great food and great ambiance! Come here every year and never disappoints!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've traveled my entire career throughout the world and The Oxford House continues to be one of my favorite restaurants with food and service that is among the tops in my experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wow. We are disappointed in ourselves for not discovering this gem sooner! Fabulous meal. After some shopping in North Conway stopped here on the way home - had a drink at the cozy downstairs bar (I can imagine how cozy this place must be on a snowy winters night) then dinner with a spectacular view in the sun room. The grilled romaine was fantastic and the Mole Tenderloin as well as Hubby's Strip Loin were the best we have had - melt in your mouth. The sorbets and creme brulee for dessert were the perfect ending. We are both gluten free and loved how extensive your gluten free menu is. Claire was great looking after us. One small suggestion is to take the bar offerings up a level by using fresh ingredients as you do with your cuisine...the spirit selection was very good, but would really enhance things to use fresh fruits/juices (instead of canned - ie: pineapple) and higher end mixers like feverfew club soda/tonic, etc. Otherwise an unexpectedly impressive evening! One of our favorite dining experiences in a while! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing gourmet meals, great service, mountain views forever - classy,without being stuffy or pretentious.. Superb dining for special occasions, or just when you want to let someone know how special they are!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food! I got the tuna and my fiancée got the filet mignon. Both were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always an excellent meal and wonderful service. That is why we keep coming back For the last 9 years in a row. This place is a gem and I'm so happy it's near our vacation home. Will be back again very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

If you haven't been to the Oxford House Inn yet....you are messing up.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have loved the Oxford in for decades. It's a lovely setting, warm and friendly staff, and excellent food. We will return again and again. Highly suggested.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Love sitting out on the front porch with a nice breeze and a cocktail.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, creatively presented. Service was very good and the price was reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent place to get a good meal and relax. Plenty of options, eat on the screened in porch out front, eat inside or eat on the enclosed rear porch and catch a nice view of the mountains and sunset behind the mountains. You can even get drink and walk outside and sit in a yard seat and enjoy the great outdoors. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding in every way. What a find in such a small town. We stayed over and the rooms and included breakfast were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic meal as always. Could have eaten an entire plate of the caramelized ham and Gruyere bread pudding. We return for dinner every time we visit the White Mountains!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We went here for our Anniversary dinner. The view is spectacular! The food and wait staff are fabulous. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have been to the Oxford House numerous times for dinner and have always enjoyed our dinners. Both the back 'sun room' and the downstairs cozy bar are great locations. In warm weather, the porch is a great option.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding food quality, great service, cozy atmosphere - really very nice, and a good value. Will no doubt be our new go to spot for special occassions or a fine night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food in a great environment. Beautiful view of the mountains. Greatly appreciated how they accommodated my table location request prior to getting there. This place never disappoint!!! Been here several times and each dining experience were always great. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the Valley. The staff, the decor, and the food - all exceptional

Tags: Casual, Organic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy, Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.