About The Oxford House Inn

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seared Tuna
  • Mussels in garlic
  • Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes
  • Twin Tenderloin Filets
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • "The Fancy" Breakfast
  • Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special
Seared Tuna
Mussels in garlic
Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes
Twin Tenderloin Filets
Sweet Potatoes
"The Fancy" Breakfast
Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
12 More
Best Value
Boston / New England
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
Best Food
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Best Value
Maine
Fit for Foodies
Maine
Romantic
Maine
Scenic View
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Fryeburg ›

Special Occasion (35)
Scenic View (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Romantic (31)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Historic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal & service. Just a tad lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal & service. Just a tad loud on the west facing porch. It was hard to hear ourselves with the 2 other loud parties in the room.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travelled from SC to enjoy the ambian ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We travelled from SC to enjoy the ambiance of this unique place. Definitely deserves the TOP 100 rating on Open Table. We feel Oxford House is deserving of the second 5.0 we have given in over 100 Open Table dinners we have eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Loved it ! Will most c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

First time visit. Loved it ! Will most certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting old house. The sign coming f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Interesting old house. The sign coming from North Conway was hard to see. Cocktail of bourbon and maple was a good choice. A pasta special of lemon peas, and home made pasta was delicious . The duck and pancake was disappointing . Wasn't sure what I was ordering.my companion had scallops that were good. Based On the surroundings this is a good bet to eat in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, Hanna our server was outs ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, Hanna our server was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

apps and deserts were very good servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

apps and deserts were very good service very good main courses fell short of expectations

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Always enjoy the Oxford House Inn. It i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always enjoy the Oxford House Inn. It is our go to Special occasion spot. We just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal. Always enjoy the ambiance of the dining room as it reminds me of the Inns we stayed at on our honeymoon in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner there, the view ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had an amazing dinner there, the view from the back porch was beautiful, and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and decor and surroundings are ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Ambiance and decor and surroundings are excellent. The food was good although the steak was slightly tough. A very enjoyable evening. Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd time dining here this week...and it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

2nd time dining here this week...and it was just as amazing as the first time. We are camping in the area and decided "no cooking"'this week. It turned out to be a great decision. I have already made reservations to come back in October!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From appetizers to dessert every bite wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

From appetizers to dessert every bite was outstanding and the service was excellent! Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a very pleasant environment. There ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's a very pleasant environment. There is also a more casual bar downstairs. It serves the same food. It's hard to get the room with the best view of the mountains and sunset. You need to reserve early.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and ambiance. Everything ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Everything was delicious and just the right proportions. I will go back again when I'm in town.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as usual! The sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was delicious as usual! The staff was amazing, and the ambiance downstairs is perfect for us. The Oxford House is by far our favorite place to go out to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience. Food, ambience ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A wonderful experience. Food, ambience and service were superb.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was above average for sure, not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was above average for sure, not totally high end but better than most. The ambience in the downstairs bar was FANTASTIC! It's small and super cozy! Worth visiting just for that!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great tasty food and beautiful décor. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great tasty food and beautiful décor. The tuna appetizer was fantastic.

For dessert, the crème brulee was too liquid and with too much sugar crust however the chocolate boudino was amazing

I would go again to try the other interesting offering on the menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous service paired with amazing foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fabulous service paired with amazing food, made for a truly memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Summer Menu items were all very good. We ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Summer Menu items were all very good. We always enjoy Oxford House Summer, Fall, Winter & Spring. Very good Menu choices for each season and some very good moderately priced wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vegan, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was beautifully prepared and cr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was beautifully prepared and creative. Seating was a little tight which increased the noise from nearby tables. Service was very prompt and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have dined at the Oxford House during ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have dined at the Oxford House during our NH lake vacation for several years now. The Oxford House never disappoints! The food is always fresh and expertly prepared. The service is always attentive and timely. We were celebrating our sons engagement this year so I requested to be seated in an area with a mountain view. They were very accommodating and gave us a wonderful table in a quiet room overlooking the New England landscape.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oxford Inn restaurant is our favorite sp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Oxford Inn restaurant is our favorite spot for a special dinner every time we're in the area (I've been known to make up reasons to go). Don't expect a quick meal - the kitchen is small and everything is made from scratch. Sit back, enjoy the basket of bread (yes, it will ruin your appetite but you'll be so happy), a glass of wine and prepare to have a truly amazing meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hannah was our wonderful waitress/server ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Hannah was our wonderful waitress/server. she more than made up for the not-so-wonderful service from our last 2 visits. we were almost not coming back but decided to give you another chance. Food and wine was great and I would recommend Hannah as a server to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place and fantastic locally so ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful place and fantastic locally sourced food.

Do go put back and enjoy the spectacular view while you visit this special place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. The service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was fantastic. The service was a little off. We were not offered bread when tables around us were and it took along time for the entrees to arrive. We had to ask for the check as we were attending an event but had allotted an hour and 1/2 for dinner. I would definitely go back but either go earlier if I had a time constraint or when timing doesn't matter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were staying at the inn for the night ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were staying at the inn for the night to attend a concert at Stone Mountain Arts Center that evening. Pre dinner cocktail was a Vermont maple old fashion, delicious, for appetizers we shared the chefs pickle plate and a half portion of the lemon pappardelle. The main courses were the seared yellow fin tuna and jerk rubbed pan roasted chicken breast followed by vanilla bean creme brûlée and lemon blueberry dacquoise for dessert, all were exceptional. The hosts and wait staff were spot on assuring us enough time to make it to the concert on time. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic and very relaxing as we watched the birds at the feeders outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Inn is located on 302 and is easy to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The Inn is located on 302 and is easy to get to and there is adequate parking available. The food is very good and not over priced. The rooms offer a nice comfortable place to enjoy diner. The room at the back of the Inn has a lovely view of the Saco river and the mountains behind it. Downstairs is a "pub" room which can be a bit loud depending on the crowd. All and all a nice place to meet friends and enjoy a nice evening together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. First time visit and ate in the pub. Plan to visit again soon .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the back porch was beautif ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The view from the back porch was beautiful. Locally sourced food was delicious, and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal at Oxford House Inn! Not on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing meal at Oxford House Inn! Not only was the food amazing, but some of the best service I've ever had. My boyfriend and I ordered a variety of dishes to share, and the kitchen carefully split each dish into two and served just one meal at a time to make our dining experience that much more enjoyable. Also worth to note that while some of the main courses are a bit pricier, you could easily order a few appetizers/bistro plates to share and still have a delicious meal without a huge price tag. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a delicious bachelorett ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect spot for a delicious bachelorette party dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always looking for an excuse!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My Husband and I were so happy when Jonathon and Natalie moved to Fryeburg. We frequent The Oxford House Inn every chance we can. It is a truly special place. We are always looking for an excuse to dine their. We stop in after Mass on Saturdays, Mother's Day, Birthday Celebrations, special anniversaries and especially when we want to show off to visiting friends and relatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Oxford House very much... ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed the Oxford House very much....again. WE're seasonal residents who only get there during summer months. Food and service are both always outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!! A must go every time we're ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! A must go every time we're in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, creative seasonal menu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good food, creative seasonal menus, lovely view, good, attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and good value!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have eaten here many times and prefer dinner to breakfast or brunch. The food in both cases is delicious but the evening service is a bit better. Using Open Table for reservations was a breeze! :)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love the Oxford House Inn-now and always!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been here about a dozen times. It is by far the nicest restaurant in our rural area. The other night was as good as ever. I had lobster & corn fritters and risotto. My husband had duck. Absolutely delicious. But the service is really outstanding. Lastly, I love the cocktail (can't remember the name) with gin, marishino cherry liquer and crème de violet. Yum. Thanks for being such a great place for a date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed. The place is lovely and the food delicious! I especially loved the sweet pea soup. Our guest had a great time. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time eating here. It was fantastic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

First time eating here. It was fantastic - from cocktails & appetizers all the way through to dessert & coffee.

Perfect service allowing us to catchup w/ friends we hadn't seen in awhile but still keeping food & drink coming.

Somewhat different menu offering wonderfully flavored foods.

We hope to return again when in the area. Good price performance as well. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A new favorite

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Wonderful food, ambience and service in a charming country inn - what more could you ask?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.