About The Oxford House Inn

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Seared Tuna
  • Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes
  • Twin Tenderloin Filets
  • Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special
  • Mussels in garlic
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • "The Fancy" Breakfast
Seared Tuna
Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes
Twin Tenderloin Filets
Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special
Mussels in garlic
Sweet Potatoes
"The Fancy" Breakfast

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
8 More
Best Value
Boston / New England
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
Best Food
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Best Value
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Fryeburg ›

scenic view (26)
fit for foodies (25)
special occasion (25)
See All
romantic (22)
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (6)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal at Oxford House Inn! Not on ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing meal at Oxford House Inn! Not only was the food amazing, but some of the best service I've ever had. My boyfriend and I ordered a variety of dishes to share, and the kitchen carefully split each dish into two and served just one meal at a time to make our dining experience that much more enjoyable. Also worth to note that while some of the main courses are a bit pricier, you could easily order a few appetizers/bistro plates to share and still have a delicious meal without a huge price tag. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a delicious bachelorett ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect spot for a delicious bachelorette party dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always looking for an excuse!

Dined on June 4, 2016

My Husband and I were so happy when Jonathon and Natalie moved to Fryeburg. We frequent The Oxford House Inn every chance we can. It is a truly special place. We are always looking for an excuse to dine their. We stop in after Mass on Saturdays, Mother's Day, Birthday Celebrations, special anniversaries and especially when we want to show off to visiting friends and relatives.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Oxford House very much... ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed the Oxford House very much....again. WE're seasonal residents who only get there during summer months. Food and service are both always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!! A must go every time we're ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! A must go every time we're in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, creative seasonal menu ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good food, creative seasonal menus, lovely view, good, attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious and good value!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have eaten here many times and prefer dinner to breakfast or brunch. The food in both cases is delicious but the evening service is a bit better. Using Open Table for reservations was a breeze! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Oxford House Inn-now and always!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been here about a dozen times. It is by far the nicest restaurant in our rural area. The other night was as good as ever. I had lobster & corn fritters and risotto. My husband had duck. Absolutely delicious. But the service is really outstanding. Lastly, I love the cocktail (can't remember the name) with gin, marishino cherry liquer and crème de violet. Yum. Thanks for being such a great place for a date!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter brunch.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed. The place is lovely and the food delicious! I especially loved the sweet pea soup. Our guest had a great time. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

First time eating here. It was fantastic ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

First time eating here. It was fantastic - from cocktails & appetizers all the way through to dessert & coffee. Perfect service allowing us to catchup w/ friends we hadn't seen in awhile but still keeping food & drink coming. Somewhat different menu offering wonderfully flavored foods. We hope to return again when in the area. Good price performance as well. Bravo!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A new favorite

Dined on March 11, 2016

Wonderful food, ambience and service in a charming country inn - what more could you ask?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good!

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is a perfect restaurant for 2 people going out for dinner. The food is so good and the price is reasonable!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun night

Dined on February 25, 2016

Went on a Thursday for their pint and a pound and had a great time. Started with the calamari, which was really good and then on to the mussels. They were cooked perfectly and the broth was incredible. A great deal

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome dining experience . God and serv ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Awesome dining experience . God and service .

food5
ambience5
service4

I can describe the experience in one wor ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I can describe the experience in one word. "Incredible ".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere all exceeding my expectations. Everything was outstanding and I'm already looking forward to going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprising find in Fryeburg

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

All the reviews we saw on this restaurant were excellent so we decided to try it. The calamari appetizer is amazing. The trout dinner was also outstanding and the fingerling potatoes that accompanied it were just right. Swordfish dinner was also very good. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

White Mountain View Cocktail

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

The Oxford House is a great place for a summer/fall cocktail on the back lawn, looking across the meadows to the White Mountains. The food and service inside, either on the screened porch or in the fireplaced living room are great. Warm and inviting old new england charm. The downstairs bar is reminiscent of olde England with stone and brick walls and plenty of warm libations. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great country inn

Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food and drink, a crackling fire and a pleasant server - what more can you ask in a quaint New England town?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gluten free menu. Would definitely ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

Great gluten free menu. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great drinks and food

Dined on January 17, 2016

We went in the winter so it was cold, but the inn was cute and had a nice front porch that would be nice to sit and have a drink in warmer weather. It was a good thing we made reservations on a Sunday for the long weekend as they were completely booked up. We went downstairs to the small and cozy bar for a drink before dinner. Megan, the bartender was very nice and helpful and recommended a drink. I had a white cosmo and sangria martini which were great. The bar was small but could reserve seats down there for dinner. We got the filet which was amazing and the chicken which takes about 30-40 min to cook but surprisingly came out around 20 min. We asked for the front window seat which was nice and romantic. If you are in the area, check out the Oxford Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience. Love this pla ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Perfect dining experience. Love this place! Great environment, staff and food. A must go! :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Frite Groupie

Dined on January 7, 2016

Great diverse menu from small plates to bistro to full entrees. Love the Steak Frite bistro meal. Always done perfectly. Mussels as a appetizer to share were delicious. We had the spicy ones. Sat right in front of the fire-- fine dining on a quiet weeknight !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth a trip

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

The dining room at the Oxford House Inn is worth a trip. The dining rooms are cozy, service is thoughtful, the menu is local, fresh, and seasonal, and the chef is superb. There's a great wine list and plenty of local beer to choose from. Don't miss this gem in the western Maine foothills.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining

Dined on December 24, 2015

We found this restaurant on our way back from a trip to Bridgeton. We are SO lucky! The food is great the drinks are creative gems the service is always spot on...The worst comment I have about this place is that I prefer to sit anywhere but the far back room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When we go to North Conway every Christm ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

When we go to North Conway every Christmas, we always have dinner at the Oxford House Eatery. It is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Metro food served is out little corner of Maine

Dined on December 13, 2015

The Oxford House Inn is the best kept secret in Maine. New York and Boston quality fine dining being served by a husband and wife team of food artists. The dining experience is superb, the food is amazing and they serve the best cocktails around. The staff couldn't more pleasant and efficient. ***** Outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Dissappoints

Dined on November 15, 2015

We have eaten at the Oxford House Inn on several occasions and we have always been more than satisfied. We just ate there last Saturday and enjoyed their Fall menu. I had the Haddock...Yum, my daughters both had the Steak Frites - double yum, and my husband had the sesame encrusted chicken . The bread is great along with the flavored butter, delicious drinks, decadent desserts rounded out the night. I look forward to our next opportunity to eat at The Oxford House Inn!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday night out

Dined on November 1, 2015

Wonderful little restaurant right over the state line from NH - cozy with excellent food. The fireplace is a bonus. We appreciated the menu with some interesting features above and beyond the usual potato and vegetable choice but some very interesting variations. Definitely check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit and will definite ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

It was our first visit and will definitely return. Meals and service was outstanding. Great glutin free menu which made my son very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST resturant in the Mt Washington Valley

Dined on October 25, 2015

As part of my previous job, I used to travel and entertain customers all over the country. The Oxford House is easily in the upper echelon of restaurants in any foodie city. It is easily in the top 5 for Portland, Charleston, SC, top 10 in San Francisco, Dallas even in the top for NYC or Chicago. Wonderfully consistent and has very nice gluten free or vegetarian options. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Small town gem!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

I love this place. We go every 6 months or so and it's better each time. Our waitress, Megan was on point. The food was absolutely delicious-I ordered an entrée and my honey had three apps-we were both very pleased. The only gripe I might have is once a spotlight was removed from overhead of our table, I could barely see my food. But it didn't stop me from practically licking the plate. So lucky to have this within 10 miles of our little home!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a great experience at the Oxford House

Dined on October 17, 2015

The food is great. The service exceptional. The atmosphere in the dining room is elegant and romantic while the pub downstairs is casual and yet still the same amazing menu!! Never had an experience less than great at this spot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our 20th anniversary - best choice - outstanding!

Dined on October 17, 2015

Made a reservation thru Open Table with a specific wine request. We were warmly greeted as they knew about anniversary, wine, and we were seated almost immediately. Service was very good - very attentive and friendly. Good diversity in the menu. - Our first bite popped with flavor! Knew we were on to something. Both of us are in the food/restaurant business and, believe me, we know good food - this was the beginning of a very good night! The Chef/owner brings lots of flavor and a certain amount of complexity to his dishes. - Really good entertainment for the tastebuds from appetizer (Cracklin Calimari) to the dessert (homemade Sorbets)!!- Our entrees were Twin Filets and Bacon Crusted Scallops - again loaded with flavors that .... for lack of a better adjective right now..."Popped"! Very impressed - really well done. Highly recommended by a couple of "foodies".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Pasta Comfort Bowl Spectacular!

Dined on October 16, 2015

I am usually a steak frite groupie but vowed to try something else. And I'm glad I did. The pasta bowl with italian sausage ( crumbled), arugula, roasted tomatoes, boursin cheese, and parm. crust was superb. I have the 1/2 portion ($12) which was plenty and ordered a salad. Great meal. Wine choices are very reasonable and lots of different bottles.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Fabulous

Dined on October 1, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn, and during our visit we ate dinner in the downstairs restaurant. The food was delicious, the owners were kind, and they had such a nice selection of wines, beers, and cocktails; though admittedly my boyfriend was the only one to have any alcohol because I was too focused on them having delicious root soda! That being said, it saddened me that the waitress we had was less than friendly with our table. But oh well, we didn't see her enough for her attitude to ruin anything anyway! I would recommend this restaurant to just about anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All around excellent experience.

Dined on September 16, 2015

The Oxford House Inn is a delight from every perspective. It was easy to make reservations. I requested a table with a view and they complied in spectacular fashion. They were ready for us when we arrived. The service staff were excellent and helpful. The food was worth every penny. The drinks were unique and delicious. I'm looking forward to returning at the first excuse I have for making an evening an extraordinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed.

Dined on September 14, 2015

We are frequent patrons of the Oxford House. Dining experience always excellent as we usually are there for special occasions. Food choices are always varied and very well prepared. Favorite entree is the twin filet -so tender it cuts like butter. Great gluten free options as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Gluten-free menu, Grass-fed beef also

Dined on September 5, 2015

our food was delicious and healthy and the service was top notch. we sat outside on the enclosed porch. we would be regulars if we lived in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Oxford House Freyburg, Me

Dined on August 30, 2015

Natalie and Jon are such a great complement. The ambiance, Natalie. The superb food.... Jon. Yet they share everything. Perhaps the finest special dining out experience in Western Maine. Btw: I order their onion rings for my appetizer. Unbelievable. I'm a "foodie". With their best glass of Napa Cab!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.