Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About The Oxford House Inn

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Scenic View (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Our party of three dined in the Pub to celebrate a birthday. From our cocktails, to appetizers, dinners and espresso martinis ... everything here is completely thought through, perfectly prepared and presented. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming ... can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant! The food is amazing although was not a fan of the lobster ravioli as it was accompanied by a smoky flavored cream sauce. The service was impeccable - Thank you Claire!! Cant wait to come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Another amazing meal at The Oxford House. We introduced some friends and they loved it too!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I consider myself a foodie. I hate to go to run of the mill places because I come home mad having paid for something I could have made better at home. THAT WAS NOT THE CASE HERE! My husband was a little skeptical going in, as he thought they had a limited menu. They have something for everyone, and if you are really good at the things you make, adding a ton might take away from that. We were impressed from the cocktails to dessert! Thank you Oxford House for a wonderful date night dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Anniversary - great food and great ambiance! Come here every year and never disappoints!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've traveled my entire career throughout the world and The Oxford House continues to be one of my favorite restaurants with food and service that is among the tops in my experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wow. We are disappointed in ourselves for not discovering this gem sooner! Fabulous meal. After some shopping in North Conway stopped here on the way home - had a drink at the cozy downstairs bar (I can imagine how cozy this place must be on a snowy winters night) then dinner with a spectacular view in the sun room. The grilled romaine was fantastic and the Mole Tenderloin as well as Hubby's Strip Loin were the best we have had - melt in your mouth. The sorbets and creme brulee for dessert were the perfect ending. We are both gluten free and loved how extensive your gluten free menu is. Claire was great looking after us. One small suggestion is to take the bar offerings up a level by using fresh ingredients as you do with your cuisine...the spirit selection was very good, but would really enhance things to use fresh fruits/juices (instead of canned - ie: pineapple) and higher end mixers like feverfew club soda/tonic, etc. Otherwise an unexpectedly impressive evening! One of our favorite dining experiences in a while! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing gourmet meals, great service, mountain views forever - classy,without being stuffy or pretentious.. Superb dining for special occasions, or just when you want to let someone know how special they are!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food! I got the tuna and my fiancée got the filet mignon. Both were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always an excellent meal and wonderful service. That is why we keep coming back For the last 9 years in a row. This place is a gem and I'm so happy it's near our vacation home. Will be back again very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

If you haven't been to the Oxford House Inn yet....you are messing up.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have loved the Oxford in for decades. It's a lovely setting, warm and friendly staff, and excellent food. We will return again and again. Highly suggested.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Love sitting out on the front porch with a nice breeze and a cocktail.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, creatively presented. Service was very good and the price was reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent place to get a good meal and relax. Plenty of options, eat on the screened in porch out front, eat inside or eat on the enclosed rear porch and catch a nice view of the mountains and sunset behind the mountains. You can even get drink and walk outside and sit in a yard seat and enjoy the great outdoors. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding in every way. What a find in such a small town. We stayed over and the rooms and included breakfast were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic meal as always. Could have eaten an entire plate of the caramelized ham and Gruyere bread pudding. We return for dinner every time we visit the White Mountains!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We went here for our Anniversary dinner. The view is spectacular! The food and wait staff are fabulous. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have been to the Oxford House numerous times for dinner and have always enjoyed our dinners. Both the back 'sun room' and the downstairs cozy bar are great locations. In warm weather, the porch is a great option.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding food quality, great service, cozy atmosphere - really very nice, and a good value. Will no doubt be our new go to spot for special occassions or a fine night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food in a great environment. Beautiful view of the mountains. Greatly appreciated how they accommodated my table location request prior to getting there. This place never disappoint!!! Been here several times and each dining experience were always great. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the Valley. The staff, the decor, and the food - all exceptional

Tags: Casual, Organic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy, Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every time we have gone here, the food and service have been outstanding! And the atmosphere is warm and cozy too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The menu is changed seasonally. The choices are great and the presentation is outstanding

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were given a gift certificate as a wedding present and had never been to the Oxford House Inn Restaurant. We sat in the back porch area and observed the birds flitting around the two strategically placed feeders on either corner of the structure. It was a fabulous setting! The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable, but not pushy. Our meal pleased us in almost every way. The swordfish was cooked to perfection, although the dill in the risotto that it rested upon was too highly seasoned for my taste. I would have preferred a more delicate touch. The tomato/caper/onion side dish was delightful. My groom LOVED the lamb and it was served rare, just as he requested. The spinach fritters did not please him, but the pearl couscous was gobbled up, and he hates rice!! Our salad was split and they served it on two plates, which was so much easier that having to paw off a shared plate. It was the delicate dirty martini salad and the deep fried olive stuffed with blue cheese were tremendous. I could have made a meal out of the olives! Our starter was the bacon wrapped dates, and we like them, but thought 3 was a small amount and it was a fight over who got the third one. We split the third, actually.
The waitress recommended the Black Pearl red wine because she personally knew the wine maker, now living and producing wine in South Africa. We ordered the bottle and enjoyed it immensely.

Although this was almost an hours drive from home, we would definitely consider dining here again. It was not inexpensive, but the atmosphere and the fine dining made it well worth the price. Brava!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love the Oxford House Inn. The menu has everything from casual burgers and steak frites to first class entrees like the Massman Lamb or Icelandic Cod. This last meal was from the new menu - We started with the deep fried shrimp maki roll, had the frisbee salad with fried egg and bacon lardon and then shared the scallops write special - pan seared scallops with truffle fries and crispy kale over toast points. Very flavorful. The restaurant uses a lot of local ingredients. The burgers can come with a house salad. The bibb salad is outstanding with it. The small bowls are wonderful and the desserts very yummy. The homemade ice cream is special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent, creative meal
Even the gluten free!
Staff warm, knowledgeable and very professional....every staff person
Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

service was very good, friendly, professional, helpful....food delicious, we thank you for our Easter dinner/luncheon

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoy the Oxford House Inn very much - upstairs is perfect for a special occasion while the downstairs is informal and cozy for a relaxing evening break! The food is excellent both upstairs
and down. Would highly recommend Oxford House Inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter Lunch. Food was great. Very nice views out the back to the mountains of Maine & New Hampshire. Comfortable seating and the tables are not crowded together as in many restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was terrific and the service was first class. The decor of the dining room was a little old fashioned. The Gluten Free menu was terrific and provided lots of choices. The Asian influence throughout the menu provided some memorable and delicious dishes. Really good food and well worth visiting if you're in the Conway / Fryeburg area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We go to Oxford House because it was where we went for dinner one our "Unplanned Wedding Day" 12 years ago and have been flying over from the UK to commemorate every year since. That's how good it is to dine there.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had dinner with friends on 3-17 at Oxford House. Celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. Had talked to Meagan and Bailey previously about stashing my wife's anniversary present dropped off the day before. They couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.
As it turned out, Meagan was our server. She was hands down the best server ever. Personality, demeanor, knowledge of the menu (food, wines and after diner drinks) she was awesome.
Then came our appetizers, salads
and meals. On a scale of 0-10, everything was a 20. Great job by the chef.
We have been here before on special occasions and they never disappoint. Last night was no exception. Thanks Meagan, Bailey and chef for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently excellent! Our 'go to' meal out. Best food within 35 miles in any direction from home...

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Oxford House is a very special place in the White Mountains. The food is exceptional, exactly what I would expect from some our favorite NYC farm to table restaurants. Grab a drink in a wonderful stone cellar bar area or in the Summer sit out back in adirondack chairs over-looking the White Mountains. Staff is fantastic. Also a wonderful GF menu. A hidden gem for sure and certainly worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always a pleasure, always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wonderful evening! We elected to eat in the bar which was in the basement, because it was after dark and you couldn't see anything in the most attractive dining rooms anyway. The bar was cozy, slightly noisy (but nothing unreasonable), wonderful service and great atmosphere.
Now we get to the food!It was imaginative and superb! We shared a "snack"and a "bistro dish".
The snack was sweet potato French fries-yum. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and served with a chipotle dipping sauce which was not too hot but very flavorable. The bistro dish was a scallion pancake with pulled duck. What flavors! Not a smiggen went back to the kitchen! We each chose scallops on grits with grilled asparagus. Beautifully cooked and plated.
We were really too full for dessert but we had it anyway. I had homemade Irish coffee sorbet and my husband had a cranberry upside down cake . Mine was light and tasty and served with a cookie and homemade toffee! His came with lemon mousse and a pistachio cookie. They were both fine! Oh yes,I also had a pear and fig martini-so good! We can recommend this restaurant highly!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite place to eat in the Valley. Quite expensive, but worth every penny. I am never in the least bit disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very warm and inviting atmosphere, we sat by the big picture window. Dinner was great from the perogies to the Caprese to our main entrees of scallops and duck bulgogi. Would definitely recommend to friends staying in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.