About The Oxford House Inn

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience! I recommend the table in front of the picture window if you're with someone special. If she gets cold easily, the table in front of the fireplace is also a good spot. If you're going to the Oxford House with a group of friends, the cellar bar has more of a casual feel to it. Both places are excellent to sample the menu, which is seasonal and changes regularly. Start with a custom cocktail then work into the appetizers. Wine list is very reasonable as well. If you are still hungry, proceed to an entree but make sure to leave room for dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food!! Great service and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Oxford House ALWAYS does a great job. The menu is interesting and the food well presented and finished. I like the bistro plate as they allow me to do three courses.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been to the Oxford House many times and always enjoy it. Natalie is terrific, the wait staff is exceptional, the chef is very talented, the place is clean, inviting. I would and do recommend the Oxford House to everyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good ambience and food but it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

It is by far the best food and service in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the food, service and atmosphere. Great find.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was 1st rate. Ambiance wonderful. Tables set far apart.

Perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first visit to the Oxford House Inn was inspiring! We were looking for a romantic place to spend a rare "date night" away from our son, while we were on a weekend trip. Found reviews of the Oxford House and decided to give it a try... What a fantastic experience! From the moment we walked into the cozy front living room, we were made to feel welcome. Our waitress was fantastic. Friendly, professional - the perfect host. The food was incredible - perhaps the most perfect filet of beef I have ever eaten. The wine list was great with solid pricing. Not a bad thing to report. For our next visit, we may avail ourselves of the accommodations of the Inn... Seems so romantic throughout... Cannot recommend this spot highly enough!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

My fiance and I wanted to celebrate a special occasion, and The Oxford House was perfect! We had a wonderful time at a quiet, romantic table. Our meal, coupled with the great service made our night extra special. Thank you Oxford House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I come to The Oxford House on special occasions and we absolutely love it!! Amazing, well thought out dishes crafted with intense thought and attention to detail, and the atmosphere is untouchable. Feels like home with five star dining.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal. We shared appetizers and had amazing fried oysters and buffalo shrimp. I had the 1/2 portion of Surf and Turf Fra Diavolo for me meal. It was good but could have been spicier. They had a special Indian pudding for dessert which was delicious! Always one of my favorite spots!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

A very nice meal with visiting west coast parents. I would recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

I always come here for special occasions. It is the one 'NY' level restaurant in the area. Food is consistently fabulous and always has a well-done vegetarian option, waitstaff wonderful and ambience conducive to conversations. Really appreciate this restaurant is in the area

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding menu with meals cooked to perfection. Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went New Years Eve and it was a lively and energetic environment. Five course fixed price (reasonable) menu with with options for appetizer, main meal and dessert. All our choices were excellent and well presented. Interesting options for mixed drinks and a varied wine list with reasonable prices. Attentive and helpful, not overbearing waitstaff.

A wonderful way to spend the special evening and will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Oxford House Inn lived up to our expectations after reading about the Inn in a local newspaper. We enjoyed a quiet, relaxing meal during the holiday week when things can be a bit crazy when dining out. We arrived and were immediately made welcome, our coats taken care of and were then seated (we had a reservation). The service was attentive but relaxed and were we well taken care of by our waitress (I wish I remember her name). The pace was perfect, we had just enough time to rest between courses without waiting. THe only problem was so many things on the menu were enticing. There are standards but also some very creative dishes, including some great vegetarian options. An excellent evening, we can't wait to go back and try more things on the menu. We may try the bar next time (downstairs) which looked very cozy on a winter night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Oxford House Inn is always worth the trip. It is consistently the best restaurant in the area. The cocktails are great. The food is inventive and delicious. The presentation is perfect. And the service - from the owner greeting you at the front door to the wait staff - is exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Pint & a Pound, Thursday special was GREAT as usual. New preparations tried and were each

excellent. Red wine (Nine Stones) house wine very good with Mussels Bouginione (spelling?)

and wife love a beer with her choice.Dessert menu, apple crisp with ice cream added, a great compliment to special. Waitress excellent service.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

All 3 meals we had where fantastic. Great service and ambiance. What a treasure to have in such a small and remote town. A must do if in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not to be missed if you are in the area! The owners of this restaurant really love what they do and it shows in the creative preparations they serve.

Have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our experience made us wish that we had time to go again on our vacation. Love that they use locally grown veggies. Food was greative and delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were two couples. The breads, salads, meals and desserts were all excellent. A bit pricey but otherwise no complaints at all. A very good choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing as always! The food, atmosphere and service are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good lamb entree, spinach salad ok but nothing special, plum tarte tatin very good,

good service, a little noisy as tables are very close together, Snoqualmie riesling was way too sweet. I am use to a drier Alsace reisling

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent as usual from the service to the menue ,to the drinks ,and dessert was killer !! Great atmosphere and great waitstaff !! W

ill be back soon !! Thank you !!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

We always have great meals there however this time was beyond exceptional!!! Best ever! We always choose them for a special occasion and always will. Even their simple menu is excellent for everyday dining!! Can't say enough positive about them!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love spending the day hiking and then coming here to finish off a great day. Awesome food, rivals many of the best restaurants in Boston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

We're on vacation and Oxford House was recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at. It was my wife's birthday and we were looking for something special. The restaurant was a perfect choice for that. We only did small plates as we wanted to save room for dessert. My wife had a salmon and kale salad that was delicious. Kale is not one of her favorites, but she ate every bite! I had a hoisin BBQ pulled duck with flatbread and roasted grapes. The duck was wonderful, and the roasted grapes delicious, but the freshly grilled flatbread was perhaps the best I've ever had. Dessert for my wife was an exquisite warm banana toffee creation with homemade maple-walnut ice cream. Perfect choice for her. Mine was a chocolate buttermilk cake with two kinds of cherries. The only slight quibble I have is the cake was a bit over-cooked, but otherwise the entire experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

A repeat visit left my wife and me wondering why it took us so long to return. Great food, service and ambience. Great go-to place if you enjoy a quiet evening of great dining and conversation with a friend or loved one.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

Went there recently and totally enjoyed it. Had a drink at the bar and then dinner on the back porch. Will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was amazing- each bite was better than the last! The service was efficient and cheerful. Cozy, nice atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was a beautiful Inn and wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Our only disappointment was that the special entre was not available, even for a reservation at 7pm. But our second choice meal was delicious and we enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Oxford House is a good value for creative cuisine. We had seared scallops, perfectly prepared and accompanied by a savory sauce. We also tried a cooked vegetable 'bowl' with lots of local veggies, quinoa and wild rice; also very creatively done. Dessert was a maple variation of bananas Foster, tasty and well prepared. The rear room would have a great view in daylight. The room was a bit chilly for my dining partner. Decor was OK, but could use some theming - somehow didn't click with the high food quality. Overall a nice experience - there are very few places in the valley area with food as creatively done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Oxford House Inn with friends is such a great place to dine! Food was exceptional and we will be back often

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful delicious and romantic dinner to celebrate the end of our honeymoon. I had heard so much about the back room with a view, but didn't make any special requests to be seated there. Lo and behold, we ended up being seated in the back room, and what an amazing view! I was glad I moved my reservation up to before sunset to enjoy the distant mountains and changing trees. The salmon was delicious, and the sea scallop entree was done perfectly. We topped it off with delicious homemade Apple Pie Ice Cream. Looking forward to going back if we find our way back to Fryeburg!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2016

Seriously the most delicious meal we have had in a while! Appis, salads, soup and entrees were all on point and beautifully presented.

Didn't stay for dessert, so I cannot comment on that.

Would go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

New York quality of food in a beautiful surrounding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

As always a great dining experience. Brought my brother and his wife visiting from California and they loved it! Such quality craftsmanship!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

We dined here on a recompndation of a friend, and we're not disappointed. We got there as they opened for dinner and had very quiet seats looking out the back where there is a fantastic mountain view. Four different dishes were ordered and all were fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent meal & service. Just a tad loud on the west facing porch. It was hard to hear ourselves with the 2 other loud parties in the room.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We travelled from SC to enjoy the ambiance of this unique place. Definitely deserves the TOP 100 rating on Open Table. We feel Oxford House is deserving of the second 5.0 we have given in over 100 Open Table dinners we have eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

First time visit. Loved it ! Will most certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I went here just for a night out anathema to we had not been here before. The restaurant was a 45 minute drive for us but it was well worth it. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was great. Seating tended to be somewhat close but being an Inn it was understandable. We weren't aware there was a bar downstairs until we were leaving so we decided to take a look and thought it would be a great place to go just for a few drinks and appetizers. Overall, a great venue.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Interesting old house. The sign coming from North Conway was hard to see. Cocktail of bourbon and maple was a good choice. A pasta special of lemon peas, and home made pasta was delicious . The duck and pancake was disappointing . Wasn't sure what I was ordering.my companion had scallops that were good. Based On the surroundings this is a good bet to eat in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, Hanna our server was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

apps and deserts were very good service very good main courses fell short of expectations

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always enjoy the Oxford House Inn. It is our go to Special occasion spot. We just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal. Always enjoy the ambiance of the dining room as it reminds me of the Inns we stayed at on our honeymoon in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had an amazing dinner there, the view from the back porch was beautiful, and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Ambiance and decor and surroundings are excellent. The food was good although the steak was slightly tough. A very enjoyable evening. Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.