Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About The Oxford House Inn

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Scenic View (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fireplace (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Historic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been to the Oxford House numerous times for dinner and have always enjoyed our dinners. Both the back 'sun room' and the downstairs cozy bar are great locations. In warm weather, the porch is a great option.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

It was fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food quality, great service, cozy atmosphere - really very nice, and a good value. Will no doubt be our new go to spot for special occassions or a fine night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food in a great environment. Beautiful view of the mountains. Greatly appreciated how they accommodated my table location request prior to getting there. This place never disappoint!!! Been here several times and each dining experience were always great. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the Valley. The staff, the decor, and the food - all exceptional

Tags: Casual, Organic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy, Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every time we have gone here, the food and service have been outstanding! And the atmosphere is warm and cozy too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The menu is changed seasonally. The choices are great and the presentation is outstanding

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were given a gift certificate as a wedding present and had never been to the Oxford House Inn Restaurant. We sat in the back porch area and observed the birds flitting around the two strategically placed feeders on either corner of the structure. It was a fabulous setting! The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable, but not pushy. Our meal pleased us in almost every way. The swordfish was cooked to perfection, although the dill in the risotto that it rested upon was too highly seasoned for my taste. I would have preferred a more delicate touch. The tomato/caper/onion side dish was delightful. My groom LOVED the lamb and it was served rare, just as he requested. The spinach fritters did not please him, but the pearl couscous was gobbled up, and he hates rice!! Our salad was split and they served it on two plates, which was so much easier that having to paw off a shared plate. It was the delicate dirty martini salad and the deep fried olive stuffed with blue cheese were tremendous. I could have made a meal out of the olives! Our starter was the bacon wrapped dates, and we like them, but thought 3 was a small amount and it was a fight over who got the third one. We split the third, actually.
The waitress recommended the Black Pearl red wine because she personally knew the wine maker, now living and producing wine in South Africa. We ordered the bottle and enjoyed it immensely.

Although this was almost an hours drive from home, we would definitely consider dining here again. It was not inexpensive, but the atmosphere and the fine dining made it well worth the price. Brava!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love the Oxford House Inn. The menu has everything from casual burgers and steak frites to first class entrees like the Massman Lamb or Icelandic Cod. This last meal was from the new menu - We started with the deep fried shrimp maki roll, had the frisbee salad with fried egg and bacon lardon and then shared the scallops write special - pan seared scallops with truffle fries and crispy kale over toast points. Very flavorful. The restaurant uses a lot of local ingredients. The burgers can come with a house salad. The bibb salad is outstanding with it. The small bowls are wonderful and the desserts very yummy. The homemade ice cream is special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent, creative meal
Even the gluten free!
Staff warm, knowledgeable and very professional....every staff person
Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

service was very good, friendly, professional, helpful....food delicious, we thank you for our Easter dinner/luncheon

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoy the Oxford House Inn very much - upstairs is perfect for a special occasion while the downstairs is informal and cozy for a relaxing evening break! The food is excellent both upstairs
and down. Would highly recommend Oxford House Inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter Lunch. Food was great. Very nice views out the back to the mountains of Maine & New Hampshire. Comfortable seating and the tables are not crowded together as in many restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was terrific and the service was first class. The decor of the dining room was a little old fashioned. The Gluten Free menu was terrific and provided lots of choices. The Asian influence throughout the menu provided some memorable and delicious dishes. Really good food and well worth visiting if you're in the Conway / Fryeburg area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We go to Oxford House because it was where we went for dinner one our "Unplanned Wedding Day" 12 years ago and have been flying over from the UK to commemorate every year since. That's how good it is to dine there.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had dinner with friends on 3-17 at Oxford House. Celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. Had talked to Meagan and Bailey previously about stashing my wife's anniversary present dropped off the day before. They couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.
As it turned out, Meagan was our server. She was hands down the best server ever. Personality, demeanor, knowledge of the menu (food, wines and after diner drinks) she was awesome.
Then came our appetizers, salads
and meals. On a scale of 0-10, everything was a 20. Great job by the chef.
We have been here before on special occasions and they never disappoint. Last night was no exception. Thanks Meagan, Bailey and chef for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently excellent! Our 'go to' meal out. Best food within 35 miles in any direction from home...

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Oxford House is a very special place in the White Mountains. The food is exceptional, exactly what I would expect from some our favorite NYC farm to table restaurants. Grab a drink in a wonderful stone cellar bar area or in the Summer sit out back in adirondack chairs over-looking the White Mountains. Staff is fantastic. Also a wonderful GF menu. A hidden gem for sure and certainly worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wonderful evening! We elected to eat in the bar which was in the basement, because it was after dark and you couldn't see anything in the most attractive dining rooms anyway. The bar was cozy, slightly noisy (but nothing unreasonable), wonderful service and great atmosphere.
Now we get to the food!It was imaginative and superb! We shared a "snack"and a "bistro dish".
The snack was sweet potato French fries-yum. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and served with a chipotle dipping sauce which was not too hot but very flavorable. The bistro dish was a scallion pancake with pulled duck. What flavors! Not a smiggen went back to the kitchen! We each chose scallops on grits with grilled asparagus. Beautifully cooked and plated.
We were really too full for dessert but we had it anyway. I had homemade Irish coffee sorbet and my husband had a cranberry upside down cake . Mine was light and tasty and served with a cookie and homemade toffee! His came with lemon mousse and a pistachio cookie. They were both fine! Oh yes,I also had a pear and fig martini-so good! We can recommend this restaurant highly!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite place to eat in the Valley. Quite expensive, but worth every penny. I am never in the least bit disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very warm and inviting atmosphere, we sat by the big picture window. Dinner was great from the perogies to the Caprese to our main entrees of scallops and duck bulgogi. Would definitely recommend to friends staying in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have eaten here a number of times and given 5 star reviews. Tonight we must have hit an off night in the kitchen. We started with frites which were oily and limp not the usual tiny crisp morsels we love. The flatbread for $12 was something we'd never tried. It was smaller than a teacup saucer and definitely overcooked. Interesting combination but we couldn't really taste it much. Our main was a small bowl - pasta with grilled steak and small pieces of lobster in a red sauce with parm cheese- this was good and will inspire us to try our own version at home. The wine list is very good with many wines ranging from $26-$100 but a good selection in the lower range. Again - we must have hit an off night -- we had one 5 years ago and we will still be dining here often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I are always looking for a new date night place. It was beautiful, the service was amazing and the food was mouth watering.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The menu had lots of choice and it was nice to have options that didn't include French fries. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a great experience! I recommend the table in front of the picture window if you're with someone special. If she gets cold easily, the table in front of the fireplace is also a good spot. If you're going to the Oxford House with a group of friends, the cellar bar has more of a casual feel to it. Both places are excellent to sample the menu, which is seasonal and changes regularly. Start with a custom cocktail then work into the appetizers. Wine list is very reasonable as well. If you are still hungry, proceed to an entree but make sure to leave room for dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food!! Great service and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Oxford House ALWAYS does a great job. The menu is interesting and the food well presented and finished. I like the bistro plate as they allow me to do three courses.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been to the Oxford House many times and always enjoy it. Natalie is terrific, the wait staff is exceptional, the chef is very talented, the place is clean, inviting. I would and do recommend the Oxford House to everyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good ambience and food but it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It is by far the best food and service in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the food, service and atmosphere. Great find.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was 1st rate. Ambiance wonderful. Tables set far apart.

Perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first visit to the Oxford House Inn was inspiring! We were looking for a romantic place to spend a rare "date night" away from our son, while we were on a weekend trip. Found reviews of the Oxford House and decided to give it a try... What a fantastic experience! From the moment we walked into the cozy front living room, we were made to feel welcome. Our waitress was fantastic. Friendly, professional - the perfect host. The food was incredible - perhaps the most perfect filet of beef I have ever eaten. The wine list was great with solid pricing. Not a bad thing to report. For our next visit, we may avail ourselves of the accommodations of the Inn... Seems so romantic throughout... Cannot recommend this spot highly enough!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My fiance and I wanted to celebrate a special occasion, and The Oxford House was perfect! We had a wonderful time at a quiet, romantic table. Our meal, coupled with the great service made our night extra special. Thank you Oxford House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I come to The Oxford House on special occasions and we absolutely love it!! Amazing, well thought out dishes crafted with intense thought and attention to detail, and the atmosphere is untouchable. Feels like home with five star dining.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal. We shared appetizers and had amazing fried oysters and buffalo shrimp. I had the 1/2 portion of Surf and Turf Fra Diavolo for me meal. It was good but could have been spicier. They had a special Indian pudding for dessert which was delicious! Always one of my favorite spots!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A very nice meal with visiting west coast parents. I would recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I always come here for special occasions. It is the one 'NY' level restaurant in the area. Food is consistently fabulous and always has a well-done vegetarian option, waitstaff wonderful and ambience conducive to conversations. Really appreciate this restaurant is in the area

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding menu with meals cooked to perfection. Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went New Years Eve and it was a lively and energetic environment. Five course fixed price (reasonable) menu with with options for appetizer, main meal and dessert. All our choices were excellent and well presented. Interesting options for mixed drinks and a varied wine list with reasonable prices. Attentive and helpful, not overbearing waitstaff.
A wonderful way to spend the special evening and will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.