About The Oxford House Inn

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seared Tuna - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • Mussels in garlic - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • Twin Tenderloin Filets - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • Sweet Potatoes - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • "The Fancy" Breakfast - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
  • Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Seared Tuna - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Mussels in garlic - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Pulled Hoisen Sauced Bbq Duck Served Their Version Of Chive Pancakes - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Twin Tenderloin Filets - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Sweet Potatoes - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
"The Fancy" Breakfast - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME
Fresh Grilled Swordfish Special - The Oxford House Inn, Fryeburg, ME

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
Best Food
Maine
5 More
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Best Value
Maine
Scenic View
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Fryeburg ›

Special Occasion (30)
Scenic View (26)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (14)
Historic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fireplace (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Oxford House Inn is always worth the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The Oxford House Inn is always worth the trip. It is consistently the best restaurant in the area. The cocktails are great. The food is inventive and delicious. The presentation is perfect. And the service - from the owner greeting you at the front door to the wait staff - is exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pint & a Pound, Thursday special was GRE ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Pint & a Pound, Thursday special was GREAT as usual. New preparations tried and were each

excellent. Red wine (Nine Stones) house wine very good with Mussels Bouginione (spelling?)

and wife love a beer with her choice.Dessert menu, apple crisp with ice cream added, a great compliment to special. Waitress excellent service.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All 3 meals we had where fantastic. Gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All 3 meals we had where fantastic. Great service and ambiance. What a treasure to have in such a small and remote town. A must do if in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not to be missed if you are in the area! ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not to be missed if you are in the area! The owners of this restaurant really love what they do and it shows in the creative preparations they serve.

Have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience made us wish that we had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our experience made us wish that we had time to go again on our vacation. Love that they use locally grown veggies. Food was greative and delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were two couples. The breads, salads, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were two couples. The breads, salads, meals and desserts were all excellent. A bit pricey but otherwise no complaints at all. A very good choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always! The food, atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing as always! The food, atmosphere and service are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good lamb entree, spinach salad ok ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good lamb entree, spinach salad ok but nothing special, plum tarte tatin very good,

good service, a little noisy as tables are very close together, Snoqualmie riesling was way too sweet. I am use to a drier Alsace reisling

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as usual from the service to t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent as usual from the service to the menue ,to the drinks ,and dessert was killer !! Great atmosphere and great waitstaff !! W

ill be back soon !! Thank you !!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have great meals there however ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We always have great meals there however this time was beyond exceptional!!! Best ever! We always choose them for a special occasion and always will. Even their simple menu is excellent for everyday dining!! Can't say enough positive about them!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love spending the day hiking and then ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love spending the day hiking and then coming here to finish off a great day. Awesome food, rivals many of the best restaurants in Boston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We're on vacation and Oxford House was r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We're on vacation and Oxford House was recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at. It was my wife's birthday and we were looking for something special. The restaurant was a perfect choice for that. We only did small plates as we wanted to save room for dessert. My wife had a salmon and kale salad that was delicious. Kale is not one of her favorites, but she ate every bite! I had a hoisin BBQ pulled duck with flatbread and roasted grapes. The duck was wonderful, and the roasted grapes delicious, but the freshly grilled flatbread was perhaps the best I've ever had. Dessert for my wife was an exquisite warm banana toffee creation with homemade maple-walnut ice cream. Perfect choice for her. Mine was a chocolate buttermilk cake with two kinds of cherries. The only slight quibble I have is the cake was a bit over-cooked, but otherwise the entire experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A repeat visit left my wife and me wonde ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A repeat visit left my wife and me wondering why it took us so long to return. Great food, service and ambience. Great go-to place if you enjoy a quiet evening of great dining and conversation with a friend or loved one.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there recently and totally enjoyed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Went there recently and totally enjoyed it. Had a drink at the bar and then dinner on the back porch. Will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing- each bite was bett ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was amazing- each bite was better than the last! The service was efficient and cheerful. Cozy, nice atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was a beautiful Inn and wonderful p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was a beautiful Inn and wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Our only disappointment was that the special entre was not available, even for a reservation at 7pm. But our second choice meal was delicious and we enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oxford House is a good value for cre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Oxford House is a good value for creative cuisine. We had seared scallops, perfectly prepared and accompanied by a savory sauce. We also tried a cooked vegetable 'bowl' with lots of local veggies, quinoa and wild rice; also very creatively done. Dessert was a maple variation of bananas Foster, tasty and well prepared. The rear room would have a great view in daylight. The room was a bit chilly for my dining partner. Decor was OK, but could use some theming - somehow didn't click with the high food quality. Overall a nice experience - there are very few places in the valley area with food as creatively done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Oxford House Inn with friends is such a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Oxford House Inn with friends is such a great place to dine! Food was exceptional and we will be back often

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful delicious and romantic dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful delicious and romantic dinner to celebrate the end of our honeymoon. I had heard so much about the back room with a view, but didn't make any special requests to be seated there. Lo and behold, we ended up being seated in the back room, and what an amazing view! I was glad I moved my reservation up to before sunset to enjoy the distant mountains and changing trees. The salmon was delicious, and the sea scallop entree was done perfectly. We topped it off with delicious homemade Apple Pie Ice Cream. Looking forward to going back if we find our way back to Fryeburg!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously the most delicious meal we hav ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Seriously the most delicious meal we have had in a while! Appis, salads, soup and entrees were all on point and beautifully presented.

Didn't stay for dessert, so I cannot comment on that.

Would go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New York quality of food in a beautiful ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

New York quality of food in a beautiful surrounding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a great dining experience. Br ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

As always a great dining experience. Brought my brother and his wife visiting from California and they loved it! Such quality craftsmanship!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here on a recompndation of a fr ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We dined here on a recompndation of a friend, and we're not disappointed. We got there as they opened for dinner and had very quiet seats looking out the back where there is a fantastic mountain view. Four different dishes were ordered and all were fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal & service. Just a tad lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent meal & service. Just a tad loud on the west facing porch. It was hard to hear ourselves with the 2 other loud parties in the room.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travelled from SC to enjoy the ambian ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We travelled from SC to enjoy the ambiance of this unique place. Definitely deserves the TOP 100 rating on Open Table. We feel Oxford House is deserving of the second 5.0 we have given in over 100 Open Table dinners we have eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Loved it ! Will most c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

First time visit. Loved it ! Will most certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here just for a night ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I went here just for a night out anathema to we had not been here before. The restaurant was a 45 minute drive for us but it was well worth it. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was great. Seating tended to be somewhat close but being an Inn it was understandable. We weren't aware there was a bar downstairs until we were leaving so we decided to take a look and thought it would be a great place to go just for a few drinks and appetizers. Overall, a great venue.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting old house. The sign coming f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Interesting old house. The sign coming from North Conway was hard to see. Cocktail of bourbon and maple was a good choice. A pasta special of lemon peas, and home made pasta was delicious . The duck and pancake was disappointing . Wasn't sure what I was ordering.my companion had scallops that were good. Based On the surroundings this is a good bet to eat in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, Hanna our server was outs ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, Hanna our server was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

apps and deserts were very good servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

apps and deserts were very good service very good main courses fell short of expectations

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Always enjoy the Oxford House Inn. It i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always enjoy the Oxford House Inn. It is our go to Special occasion spot. We just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal. Always enjoy the ambiance of the dining room as it reminds me of the Inns we stayed at on our honeymoon in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner there, the view ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had an amazing dinner there, the view from the back porch was beautiful, and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and decor and surroundings are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Ambiance and decor and surroundings are excellent. The food was good although the steak was slightly tough. A very enjoyable evening. Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd time dining here this week...and it ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

2nd time dining here this week...and it was just as amazing as the first time. We are camping in the area and decided "no cooking"'this week. It turned out to be a great decision. I have already made reservations to come back in October!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From appetizers to dessert every bite wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

From appetizers to dessert every bite was outstanding and the service was excellent! Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a very pleasant environment. There ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's a very pleasant environment. There is also a more casual bar downstairs. It serves the same food. It's hard to get the room with the best view of the mountains and sunset. You need to reserve early.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and ambiance. Everything ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Everything was delicious and just the right proportions. I will go back again when I'm in town.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as usual! The sta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was delicious as usual! The staff was amazing, and the ambiance downstairs is perfect for us. The Oxford House is by far our favorite place to go out to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience. Food, ambience ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A wonderful experience. Food, ambience and service were superb.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was above average for sure, not ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was above average for sure, not totally high end but better than most. The ambience in the downstairs bar was FANTASTIC! It's small and super cozy! Worth visiting just for that!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.