Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About The Oxford House Inn

Culinary Institute of America graduate Chef/Co-Owner Jonathan Spak crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer. While overall his style is considered contemporary American cuisine, influences and techniques from Asia, Southwestern United States and France are often incorporated. Hand cut steaks, fresh Maine seafood, homemade pastas, fresh salads and decadent desserts are creatively presented. Choose to dine fireside, on our popular screened in front porch, or on our glassed in back porch that offers spectacular sunset mountain views. You may also dine at JONATHAN'S, our lively pub. We have been given Four Stars by The Maine Sunday Telegram and named "Best In-Town Maine Inn" by Yankee Magazine. Please note that specific table or dining room requests made through OpenTable may not be available. Please call us directly if you have a dining preference.

548 Main St
Fryeburg, ME 04037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Seven nights a week, 5:30pm - 9:00pm (Bar opens at 5:00pm)

Hours may change seasonally. Please reserve ahead.

Cross Street:
Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 935-3442

Website:
http://www.oxfordhouseinn.com/index.php/restaurant-dining

Parking Details:
Private lot off RTE 302 in front of Inn, street parking both sides of Rte 302 as well as Norway Bank across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Spak

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Oxford House Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (9)
Fireplace (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We go to Oxford House because it was where we went for dinner one our "Unplanned Wedding Day" 12 years ago and have been flying over from the UK to commemorate every year since. That's how good it is to dine there.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had dinner with friends on 3-17 at Oxford House. Celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. Had talked to Meagan and Bailey previously about stashing my wife's anniversary present dropped off the day before. They couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.
As it turned out, Meagan was our server. She was hands down the best server ever. Personality, demeanor, knowledge of the menu (food, wines and after diner drinks) she was awesome.
Then came our appetizers, salads
and meals. On a scale of 0-10, everything was a 20. Great job by the chef.
We have been here before on special occasions and they never disappoint. Last night was no exception. Thanks Meagan, Bailey and chef for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently excellent! Our 'go to' meal out. Best food within 35 miles in any direction from home...

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Oxford House is a very special place in the White Mountains. The food is exceptional, exactly what I would expect from some our favorite NYC farm to table restaurants. Grab a drink in a wonderful stone cellar bar area or in the Summer sit out back in adirondack chairs over-looking the White Mountains. Staff is fantastic. Also a wonderful GF menu. A hidden gem for sure and certainly worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wonderful evening! We elected to eat in the bar which was in the basement, because it was after dark and you couldn't see anything in the most attractive dining rooms anyway. The bar was cozy, slightly noisy (but nothing unreasonable), wonderful service and great atmosphere.
Now we get to the food!It was imaginative and superb! We shared a "snack"and a "bistro dish".
The snack was sweet potato French fries-yum. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and served with a chipotle dipping sauce which was not too hot but very flavorable. The bistro dish was a scallion pancake with pulled duck. What flavors! Not a smiggen went back to the kitchen! We each chose scallops on grits with grilled asparagus. Beautifully cooked and plated.
We were really too full for dessert but we had it anyway. I had homemade Irish coffee sorbet and my husband had a cranberry upside down cake . Mine was light and tasty and served with a cookie and homemade toffee! His came with lemon mousse and a pistachio cookie. They were both fine! Oh yes,I also had a pear and fig martini-so good! We can recommend this restaurant highly!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite place to eat in the Valley. Quite expensive, but worth every penny. I am never in the least bit disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very warm and inviting atmosphere, we sat by the big picture window. Dinner was great from the perogies to the Caprese to our main entrees of scallops and duck bulgogi. Would definitely recommend to friends staying in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have eaten here a number of times and given 5 star reviews. Tonight we must have hit an off night in the kitchen. We started with frites which were oily and limp not the usual tiny crisp morsels we love. The flatbread for $12 was something we'd never tried. It was smaller than a teacup saucer and definitely overcooked. Interesting combination but we couldn't really taste it much. Our main was a small bowl - pasta with grilled steak and small pieces of lobster in a red sauce with parm cheese- this was good and will inspire us to try our own version at home. The wine list is very good with many wines ranging from $26-$100 but a good selection in the lower range. Again - we must have hit an off night -- we had one 5 years ago and we will still be dining here often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I are always looking for a new date night place. It was beautiful, the service was amazing and the food was mouth watering.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The menu had lots of choice and it was nice to have options that didn't include French fries. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a great experience! I recommend the table in front of the picture window if you're with someone special. If she gets cold easily, the table in front of the fireplace is also a good spot. If you're going to the Oxford House with a group of friends, the cellar bar has more of a casual feel to it. Both places are excellent to sample the menu, which is seasonal and changes regularly. Start with a custom cocktail then work into the appetizers. Wine list is very reasonable as well. If you are still hungry, proceed to an entree but make sure to leave room for dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food!! Great service and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Oxford House ALWAYS does a great job. The menu is interesting and the food well presented and finished. I like the bistro plate as they allow me to do three courses.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been to the Oxford House many times and always enjoy it. Natalie is terrific, the wait staff is exceptional, the chef is very talented, the place is clean, inviting. I would and do recommend the Oxford House to everyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good ambience and food but it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It is by far the best food and service in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the food, service and atmosphere. Great find.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was 1st rate. Ambiance wonderful. Tables set far apart.

Perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first visit to the Oxford House Inn was inspiring! We were looking for a romantic place to spend a rare "date night" away from our son, while we were on a weekend trip. Found reviews of the Oxford House and decided to give it a try... What a fantastic experience! From the moment we walked into the cozy front living room, we were made to feel welcome. Our waitress was fantastic. Friendly, professional - the perfect host. The food was incredible - perhaps the most perfect filet of beef I have ever eaten. The wine list was great with solid pricing. Not a bad thing to report. For our next visit, we may avail ourselves of the accommodations of the Inn... Seems so romantic throughout... Cannot recommend this spot highly enough!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My fiance and I wanted to celebrate a special occasion, and The Oxford House was perfect! We had a wonderful time at a quiet, romantic table. Our meal, coupled with the great service made our night extra special. Thank you Oxford House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I come to The Oxford House on special occasions and we absolutely love it!! Amazing, well thought out dishes crafted with intense thought and attention to detail, and the atmosphere is untouchable. Feels like home with five star dining.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal. We shared appetizers and had amazing fried oysters and buffalo shrimp. I had the 1/2 portion of Surf and Turf Fra Diavolo for me meal. It was good but could have been spicier. They had a special Indian pudding for dessert which was delicious! Always one of my favorite spots!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A very nice meal with visiting west coast parents. I would recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I always come here for special occasions. It is the one 'NY' level restaurant in the area. Food is consistently fabulous and always has a well-done vegetarian option, waitstaff wonderful and ambience conducive to conversations. Really appreciate this restaurant is in the area

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding menu with meals cooked to perfection. Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went New Years Eve and it was a lively and energetic environment. Five course fixed price (reasonable) menu with with options for appetizer, main meal and dessert. All our choices were excellent and well presented. Interesting options for mixed drinks and a varied wine list with reasonable prices. Attentive and helpful, not overbearing waitstaff.
A wonderful way to spend the special evening and will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Oxford House Inn lived up to our expectations after reading about the Inn in a local newspaper. We enjoyed a quiet, relaxing meal during the holiday week when things can be a bit crazy when dining out. We arrived and were immediately made welcome, our coats taken care of and were then seated (we had a reservation). The service was attentive but relaxed and were we well taken care of by our waitress (I wish I remember her name). The pace was perfect, we had just enough time to rest between courses without waiting. THe only problem was so many things on the menu were enticing. There are standards but also some very creative dishes, including some great vegetarian options. An excellent evening, we can't wait to go back and try more things on the menu. We may try the bar next time (downstairs) which looked very cozy on a winter night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Oxford House Inn is always worth the trip. It is consistently the best restaurant in the area. The cocktails are great. The food is inventive and delicious. The presentation is perfect. And the service - from the owner greeting you at the front door to the wait staff - is exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Pint & a Pound, Thursday special was GREAT as usual. New preparations tried and were each
excellent. Red wine (Nine Stones) house wine very good with Mussels Bouginione (spelling?)
and wife love a beer with her choice.Dessert menu, apple crisp with ice cream added, a great compliment to special. Waitress excellent service.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All 3 meals we had where fantastic. Great service and ambiance. What a treasure to have in such a small and remote town. A must do if in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not to be missed if you are in the area! The owners of this restaurant really love what they do and it shows in the creative preparations they serve.
Have been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our experience made us wish that we had time to go again on our vacation. Love that they use locally grown veggies. Food was greative and delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were two couples. The breads, salads, meals and desserts were all excellent. A bit pricey but otherwise no complaints at all. A very good choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing as always! The food, atmosphere and service are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good lamb entree, spinach salad ok but nothing special, plum tarte tatin very good,
good service, a little noisy as tables are very close together, Snoqualmie riesling was way too sweet. I am use to a drier Alsace reisling

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent as usual from the service to the menue ,to the drinks ,and dessert was killer !! Great atmosphere and great waitstaff !! W
ill be back soon !! Thank you !!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We always have great meals there however this time was beyond exceptional!!! Best ever! We always choose them for a special occasion and always will. Even their simple menu is excellent for everyday dining!! Can't say enough positive about them!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love spending the day hiking and then coming here to finish off a great day. Awesome food, rivals many of the best restaurants in Boston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We're on vacation and Oxford House was recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at. It was my wife's birthday and we were looking for something special. The restaurant was a perfect choice for that. We only did small plates as we wanted to save room for dessert. My wife had a salmon and kale salad that was delicious. Kale is not one of her favorites, but she ate every bite! I had a hoisin BBQ pulled duck with flatbread and roasted grapes. The duck was wonderful, and the roasted grapes delicious, but the freshly grilled flatbread was perhaps the best I've ever had. Dessert for my wife was an exquisite warm banana toffee creation with homemade maple-walnut ice cream. Perfect choice for her. Mine was a chocolate buttermilk cake with two kinds of cherries. The only slight quibble I have is the cake was a bit over-cooked, but otherwise the entire experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A repeat visit left my wife and me wondering why it took us so long to return. Great food, service and ambience. Great go-to place if you enjoy a quiet evening of great dining and conversation with a friend or loved one.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.