About The Original Cottage Inn

512 East Williams
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

The Original Cottage Inn restaurant opened its doors at 512 East William, Ann Arbor in 1948. This restaurant has had the distinction of being the first restaurant in Ann Arbor to serve pizza. The current ownership acquired the building at 512 E. William in 1961 and it remains the company's flagship today. The restaurant's first major expansion took place in 1975. The restaurant was remodeled again in 1980 and 1987. In 1993, a major renovation of the restaurant was done to include the second floor, which increased the seat capacity. This renovation also provided banquet room facilities. The restaurant offers a diverse menu of Italian and Greek dishes as well as pizzas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 10pm
Thursday-Saturday 11am-11am
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3379

Website:
http://www.originalcottageinn.com/

Catering:
The Original Cottage Inn offers a full-service catering department. Please contact Katee at katee@cicatering.com or 734-663-3379 to inquire about booking an event.

Parking Details:
Metered parking. Parking structure on Maynard.

Private Party Facilities:
The Original Cottage Inn has two private rooms perfect for any occasion, with seating for 20 to 80 guests. Our upstairs dining area can accommodate up to 130 guests. Let our professional banquet staff make your event a night to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Tim Parent: (888) 331-2365

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Eat Free every Monday night, 5-8pm! We have a create-your-own-cupcake station and crafts.

Deep Dish Tuesdays: Every Tuesday, enjoy half off of our deep dish two-topping pizzas, dine in or carry out!

Wednesdays: $6 for ANY of our burgers, with fries!

Every Thursday enjoy half off wine!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cottage Inn Cheese Bread - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Gorgonzola Salad - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Half Tray Of Sicillian Style Pizza With Spinach, Onions, And Sun-Dried Tomatoes - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Best Of Cottage Inn - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Sweet Potato Gnocci With Gorgonzola Cream Sauce - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Bonizio Sangiovese Wine - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Pizza Buffet - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Best Of Cottage Inn Pizza - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Pizza - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Deep Dish Pizza - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Chicken Wings - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI
Breadstick - The Original Cottage Inn, Ann Arbor, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Cottage Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
See All
Fun (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cottage Inn has good food at affordable ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Cottage Inn has good food at affordable prices. One of the better values in downtown Ann Arbor. It's a safe choice for all crowds, especially young families with kids because of the affordability factor. The eclectic Italian decor with painted walls and ceiling is an interesting and amusing touch.

As far as the menu, I've never had a bad meal there. And the pizzas are very good, with the BBQ chicken and cilantro being my favorite.

Tags: Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and our service was ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and our service was very good. The large Greek salad was really not large and needed more lettuce. The house Italian dressing was outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved it Anthony was a great waiter. ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved it Anthony was a great waiter. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, , People Watching, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked The Original Cottage Inn for a co ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Booked The Original Cottage Inn for a company dinner for 15 people. We had the entire upstairs by ourselves. Food was awesome, had the bow tie pasta with grilled chicken, bacon. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, I would highly r ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent, I would highly recommend this restaurant. Outstanding service with very friendly people. 10/10

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, , Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch buffet was not too impressive. ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

The lunch buffet was not too impressive. The green salads in the salad bar were not too fresh. pizza selections were limited, dessert choices were not good either. Overall, it would not be my choice for lunch buffet in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Went there with a family group of 10. Ha ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went there with a family group of 10. Had every appealing large table upstairs. Staff very accommodating to our needs. Also very satisfied with food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The Original Cottage Inn is always a goo ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Original Cottage Inn is always a good place for pizza or other Italian dishes. The pizza is a step above the food at the other Cottage Inn locations around the area. This is a nice casual place after a football game in Ann Arbor or at most any time. Very good place to take kids. We enjoyed our visit even though we had to eat upstairs because we had 14 people. The main restaurant downstairs is a little nicer but we had 8 kids in the party so upstairs was fine. The pizza is especially good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cottage Inn's weekday lunch buffet is su ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Cottage Inn's weekday lunch buffet is superb and the best bargain in downtown Ann Arbor. A great make-your-own salad, pizza galore, Mac 'n cheese, tasty dessert, and much more. Go anytime during the week or for Friday lunch before an exciting home football game.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were looking for something different ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

We were looking for something different and it was a good change of pace, along with some good pizza. It was a Wednesday and a little slow but service was good too.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food and great ambiance. A must-g ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and great ambiance. A must-go every time I am in Ann Arbor. It hasn't changed since my college days and that is perfect.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic. Such a popular spot ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was fantastic. Such a popular spot that even with a reservation, it was overbooked and our party could not sit together. Management was not cooperative. Service was marginal at best. Waiter was flustered and kept forgetting our drinks, etc. Not a great place for anyone disabled. Very crowded and noisy but the food was excellent. Probably would of had a better experience if it was at an off time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

It was a nice place to get pizza. I woul ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

It was a nice place to get pizza. I would return the next time I wanted to get pizza.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Reasonable prices on special items.

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Reasonable prices on special items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed the meal. Great servic ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the meal. Great service, too. I would say the Original Cottage Inn is a step up from places like Olive Garden.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza at the Cottage Inn was as good ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

The pizza at the Cottage Inn was as good as I remembered from decades ago. Very good atmosphere and great service from our waiter, Nate. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a football weekend get togethe ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great for a football weekend get together on Friday night . Good fun and good food along with lots of tradition !

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in with a party of 10 after a fo ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We came in with a party of 10 after a football game. Out waiter was a champ. The restaurant was loud, crowded, and crazy but he kept it all together and provided great service. As always, the pizza and salads were to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service was excellent

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Literally was the perfect backdrop and e ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Literally was the perfect backdrop and experience for a first date. It was such quality that once the entrees were delivered we couldn't eat it fast enough, which embarrassed us both a little. From our server, to the cocktail, to the dessert there wasn't a miss at all. I did my reservation online and walked right in on a busy Saturday. We both were so impressed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Ann Arbor for a college tour ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were in Ann Arbor for a college tour and wanted to have dinner near campus. Reservations were available for that night (a Friday night) just a couple hours in advance. There was a large group waiting to sit down for a private event when we walked in but it took only a few minutes for us to be seated. I wish I could give this restaurant a higher overall rating because the service and the restaurant itself were fine and the value was very good. However, I had to mark it down one star because of the unusual flavor of its pizza - the primary reason most would dine here. We ordered the pizza for four, which included a full tray of pizza and large Greek salad. It was reasonably priced ($26, I believe). The sauce was a little sweet as I read in another review but the cheese also had an unusual taste. We all thought it tasted like bleu cheese but the server said it might have been the feta cheese they use in their cheese topping mixture. As a result, we each only had one slice, leaving a lot of leftovers, and I couldn't finish my slice because I didn't like the flavor. We also had the clam chowder (highly recommend this) and the baked spaghettini (it was fine but with the same sweet sauce and cheese mixture). There was a good selection of beers on tap and in the bottle. The restaurant is popular and I would recommend it if you're open to interesting flavors on your pizza.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was so poor that we didn't have ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was so poor that we didn't have to pay at all. The side Cesar salad was way over dressed and the large margarita pizza was so bad it we couldn't eat it. The thin crust was so wet and soggy and not cooked.

But our waiter and manager was super nice and very apologetic.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great server… Very patient… Offered samp ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great server… Very patient… Offered samples of beer… Wanted to please… The chicken wings with barbecue sauce appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When we entered the restaurant, we were ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

When we entered the restaurant, we were directed towards a table hidden from view of the rest of the restaurant and away from the windows, one close to the kitchen. Is this because we are Muslim and my wife wears a headscarf? There were tons of empty tables around the rest of the restaurant, so we requested to move to a different one. Our waitress wasn't as pleasant to us as she was being to others; she seemed annoyed when we asked her if one of the dishes had wine or other alcohol ingredients in it. The food was great, but our overall experience was just uncomfortable and we would neither go back again or recommend to friends. At least not that location (Ann Arbor).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Consistent

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We made the mistake of heading here graduation weekend. Despite this, our server was very attentive. I think the only thing that suffered in our food was, surprisingly, our pizza (very average). The salad, bread, chicken and veggies and pasta were all consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Cottage Inn THE ORIGINAL still special

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for forty years. Several family functions and gathering with friends and it rarely disappoints. Plus, lately we've discovered the wonderful lunch buffet with a super fresh salad bar Monday thru Friday. Had a great time with close friends prior to a concert the other night and the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing experience

 
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I have been hearing for a long time that I needed to try out the "Original" Cottage Inn Pizza. It should have been a sign that no one around us was ordering the pizza! A 10" pizza ran about $13, and even though the menu offered deep or traditional crust, we were told that it actually just meant thick or thin -- so much for the deep dish experience. Between the 8 of us, 7 ordered pizza and maybe 1 person enjoyed their choice. My garden veggie pizza was bland and unoriginal. Nothing gourmet or inventive about any of our choices. I had to load mine up with red peppers and cover it in ranch just to taste SOME flavor. Our waiter was also extremely inattentive; we had to ask multiple times for water glasses or drinks or even sides of sauce. On a side note, the tables and chairs were rickety and uneven, and the decor was visibly dusty. Guess I missed visiting this restaurant in it's prime -- such a shame.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right ...

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor. This is a great option for families with young children -- we had a great table tucked away that allowed busy kids to play without being a bother to other guests. Wait staff was wonderful -- patient and accommodating from start to finish. We never felt rushed even though it was a busy Saturday evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for this Toledoan to the "Original"

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I wanted to go see a movie at the historic State Theater in Ann Arbor, and found this spot on Open Table during a busy night before Valentines Day. Being from Toledo, we didn't know the history of the Cottage Inn in Ann Arbor; we had only seen the 3 or 4 Cottage Inn pizza shops in Toledo. It was a good experience (we got there at 5 PM before the place really got crowded at 6 PM) and we enjoyed the salads, pasta, bread, wine selection, and local craft beers...... and we could walk to the State Theater ! Our only minor complaint was that we got put at a very small table with bench chairs that were also very tight to the table and very small..... VERY small. It was a bit inconvenient moving plates around a table the size of a chess board, but I was able to kiss her without either of us leaving our chairs (after all, it was Valentines Day!), and it forced the wait staff to hold off bringing our entrées until the salads were gone... because there wasn't any room !

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Live the pizza for four.

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Live the pizza for four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun at Cottage Inn

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great pizza, love the crust.

And a good GF menu - little pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is alright for a pizza house an ...

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food is alright for a pizza house and this is a place best visited as a family with children. I was disappointed that when I made a reservation for a casual date, I was sat in a 2 person booth IMMEDIATELY next to the kitchen door. The saloon style door would basically swing open and practically hit my elbow every time despite the fact that other tables were available, which I ended up requesting. Honesty, I don't intend to revisit any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food in beautiful restaurant

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Based on the great pizza, I am guessing that everything is good here. The wait staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night Restaurant

 
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We went here for restaurant week, and the deals were amazing! I got the manicotti and was very pleased with my food, though don't expect anything you eat here to be fancy! The restaurant was nice, but very casual. Good food overall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Cottage Inn

 
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Very fast service, lovely food, and a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Group dinner

 
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Friendly hostess who was able to accommodate our large party even though the Open Table reservation was not showing. Friendly waiter however did not know about the drink specials, when asked about house wine he said all the wines are house wines but was pleasant. The knowledge deficit aside, the food was tasty and came piping hot from the kitchen. The ambiance is relaxed and friendly. A great place for groups, families, couples and singles.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing, with Hit or Miss Food

 
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Our family went to the Original Cottage Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. We'd very much enjoyed the pasta & pizza when we ate here before. We were quickly seated, handed menus, & our drinks were brought out swiftly. We placed our orders, received a bread basket, then waited for our meal. The wait was short, but our food was brought out by 2 different servers. Not once did our original server approach us to ask how our food was, if we needed anything else, if we'd like more water or drinks. My 9 year old literally stood on the bench, waving his hands in the air, for 5 minutes before a server saw him & took his drink order. It was brought out by yet another server, who didn't stay long enough to ask if anyone else needed a refill. Our cheese-bread appetizer had only 6 small wedges; there were 5 of us. Our original server should have said it was tiny. My son's gourmet GF pizza was delicious, the best of all our meals. My oldest son ordered deep-dish pizza; it came out thin crust & looked like cardboard. The toppings, which he ate off that crust, were tasty, but no one ever came to ask how his meal was so we could fix the mistake. Good thing the bread basket was there to help fill him! My other son's pesto pasta was delicious. No complaints there! My husband's baked chicken spaghettini was overdone to the point of mushiness. He needed a spoon to eat it but, since no server came by, he got tired of waiting & used a piece of bread to scoop up the mush. I had the Apple Pear Entree Salad. This should have been Apple Pear Soup. Every piece of fruit, every leaf of salad green was so saturated with dressing that I actually gagged on my first bite. I had to press each mouthful against the side of the bowl with my fork to squeeze out the dressing. There was a good cup of dressing left in the bowl when I was done. Our original server did finally reappear to hand us the bill, which totaled almost $100. Definitely not worth our $$. We're not sure if we'll ever go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. Waiter had too many tables to wait on.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Great place for a big family dinner

 
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The Original Cottage Inn is a great, family-friendly restaurant with a great variety of food beyond pizza. There are gluten-free pizza options and the soup is outstanding. The atmosphere is wonderfully cozy and the service is outstanding. Well worth a visit when you are in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh

 
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Deep dish wasn't actual deep dish, more of a thick hand tossed. Our waiter obviously had better things to do then be our server but the bus boy was awesome in picking up the slack. I don't come here often since I'm not the biggest fan of the sauce but the salmon salad as amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.