About The Original Cottage Inn

512 East Williams
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

The Original Cottage Inn restaurant opened its doors at 512 East William, Ann Arbor in 1948. This restaurant has had the distinction of being the first restaurant in Ann Arbor to serve pizza. The current ownership acquired the building at 512 E. William in 1961 and it remains the company's flagship today. The restaurant's first major expansion took place in 1975. The restaurant was remodeled again in 1980 and 1987. In 1993, a major renovation of the restaurant was done to include the second floor, which increased the seat capacity. This renovation also provided banquet room facilities. The restaurant offers a diverse menu of Italian and Greek dishes as well as pizzas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 10pm
Thursday-Saturday 11am-11am
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3379

Website:
http://www.originalcottageinn.com/

Catering:
The Original Cottage Inn offers a full-service catering department. Please contact Katee at katee@cicatering.com or 734-663-3379 to inquire about booking an event.

Parking Details:
Metered parking. Parking structure on Maynard.

Private Party Facilities:
The Original Cottage Inn has two private rooms perfect for any occasion, with seating for 20 to 80 guests. Our upstairs dining area can accommodate up to 130 guests. Let our professional banquet staff make your event a night to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Tim Parent: 8883312365

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Eat Free every Monday night, 5-8pm! We have a create-your-own-cupcake station and crafts.

Deep Dish Tuesdays: Every Tuesday, enjoy half off of our deep dish two-topping pizzas, dine in or carry out!

Wednesdays: $6 for ANY of our burgers, with fries!

Every Thursday enjoy half off wine!

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Cottage Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

good for groups (19)
kid-friendly (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
See All
great for lunch (7)
special occasion (5)
fit for foodies (3)
romantic (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistent

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We made the mistake of heading here graduation weekend. Despite this, our server was very attentive. I think the only thing that suffered in our food was, surprisingly, our pizza (very average). The salad, bread, chicken and veggies and pasta were all consistently good.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cottage Inn THE ORIGINAL still special

Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for forty years. Several family functions and gathering with friends and it rarely disappoints. Plus, lately we've discovered the wonderful lunch buffet with a super fresh salad bar Monday thru Friday. Had a great time with close friends prior to a concert the other night and the service and food were excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

I have been hearing for a long time that I needed to try out the "Original" Cottage Inn Pizza. It should have been a sign that no one around us was ordering the pizza! A 10" pizza ran about $13, and even though the menu offered deep or traditional crust, we were told that it actually just meant thick or thin -- so much for the deep dish experience. Between the 8 of us, 7 ordered pizza and maybe 1 person enjoyed their choice. My garden veggie pizza was bland and unoriginal. Nothing gourmet or inventive about any of our choices. I had to load mine up with red peppers and cover it in ranch just to taste SOME flavor. Our waiter was also extremely inattentive; we had to ask multiple times for water glasses or drinks or even sides of sauce. On a side note, the tables and chairs were rickety and uneven, and the decor was visibly dusty. Guess I missed visiting this restaurant in it's prime -- such a shame.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor. This is a great option for families with young children -- we had a great table tucked away that allowed busy kids to play without being a bother to other guests. Wait staff was wonderful -- patient and accommodating from start to finish. We never felt rushed even though it was a busy Saturday evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time for this Toledoan to the "Original"

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I wanted to go see a movie at the historic State Theater in Ann Arbor, and found this spot on Open Table during a busy night before Valentines Day. Being from Toledo, we didn't know the history of the Cottage Inn in Ann Arbor; we had only seen the 3 or 4 Cottage Inn pizza shops in Toledo. It was a good experience (we got there at 5 PM before the place really got crowded at 6 PM) and we enjoyed the salads, pasta, bread, wine selection, and local craft beers...... and we could walk to the State Theater ! Our only minor complaint was that we got put at a very small table with bench chairs that were also very tight to the table and very small..... VERY small. It was a bit inconvenient moving plates around a table the size of a chess board, but I was able to kiss her without either of us leaving our chairs (after all, it was Valentines Day!), and it forced the wait staff to hold off bringing our entrées until the salads were gone... because there wasn't any room !

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Live the pizza for four.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Live the pizza for four.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun at Cottage Inn

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great pizza, love the crust. And a good GF menu - little pricey.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

The food is alright for a pizza house an ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The food is alright for a pizza house and this is a place best visited as a family with children. I was disappointed that when I made a reservation for a casual date, I was sat in a 2 person booth IMMEDIATELY next to the kitchen door. The saloon style door would basically swing open and practically hit my elbow every time despite the fact that other tables were available, which I ended up requesting. Honesty, I don't intend to revisit any time soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in beautiful restaurant

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Based on the great pizza, I am guessing that everything is good here. The wait staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Date Night Restaurant

Dined on January 22, 2016

We went here for restaurant week, and the deals were amazing! I got the manicotti and was very pleased with my food, though don't expect anything you eat here to be fancy! The restaurant was nice, but very casual. Good food overall!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cottage Inn

Dined on January 22, 2016

Very fast service, lovely food, and a great night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Group dinner

Dined on January 20, 2016

Friendly hostess who was able to accommodate our large party even though the Open Table reservation was not showing. Friendly waiter however did not know about the drink specials, when asked about house wine he said all the wines are house wines but was pleasant. The knowledge deficit aside, the food was tasty and came piping hot from the kitchen. The ambiance is relaxed and friendly. A great place for groups, families, couples and singles.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing, with Hit or Miss Food

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our family went to the Original Cottage Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. We'd very much enjoyed the pasta & pizza when we ate here before. We were quickly seated, handed menus, & our drinks were brought out swiftly. We placed our orders, received a bread basket, then waited for our meal. The wait was short, but our food was brought out by 2 different servers. Not once did our original server approach us to ask how our food was, if we needed anything else, if we'd like more water or drinks. My 9 year old literally stood on the bench, waving his hands in the air, for 5 minutes before a server saw him & took his drink order. It was brought out by yet another server, who didn't stay long enough to ask if anyone else needed a refill. Our cheese-bread appetizer had only 6 small wedges; there were 5 of us. Our original server should have said it was tiny. My son's gourmet GF pizza was delicious, the best of all our meals. My oldest son ordered deep-dish pizza; it came out thin crust & looked like cardboard. The toppings, which he ate off that crust, were tasty, but no one ever came to ask how his meal was so we could fix the mistake. Good thing the bread basket was there to help fill him! My other son's pesto pasta was delicious. No complaints there! My husband's baked chicken spaghettini was overdone to the point of mushiness. He needed a spoon to eat it but, since no server came by, he got tired of waiting & used a piece of bread to scoop up the mush. I had the Apple Pear Entree Salad. This should have been Apple Pear Soup. Every piece of fruit, every leaf of salad green was so saturated with dressing that I actually gagged on my first bite. I had to press each mouthful against the side of the bowl with my fork to squeeze out the dressing. There was a good cup of dressing left in the bowl when I was done. Our original server did finally reappear to hand us the bill, which totaled almost $100. Definitely not worth our $$. We're not sure if we'll ever go back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. Waiter had too many tables to wait on.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a big family dinner

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

The Original Cottage Inn is a great, family-friendly restaurant with a great variety of food beyond pizza. There are gluten-free pizza options and the soup is outstanding. The atmosphere is wonderfully cozy and the service is outstanding. Well worth a visit when you are in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Meh

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Deep dish wasn't actual deep dish, more of a thick hand tossed. Our waiter obviously had better things to do then be our server but the bus boy was awesome in picking up the slack. I don't come here often since I'm not the biggest fan of the sauce but the salmon salad as amazing!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great spot for casual get together

Dined on December 19, 2015

A classic old style red sauce Italian with Greek influence. Nice place to meet friends for casual dining. Hand thrown thin crust pizza with good flavor. Great burger and excellent fries. The entrees , salads and desserts were tasty and fresh. Nice wine and beer selection. Everyone of our table of 6 was happy with their choice. Waitstaff was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect for before a show

Dined on December 11, 2015

Seven of us were at table 55 which was perfect because we could talk while waiting for our food with our drinks and then enjoy the food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice night out

Dined on November 21, 2015

Waa looking for a nice night out to celebrate my dearest friends birthday. The food was excellent and the atmosphere of the restaurant was nice. We both enjoyed it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had reservations for 6pm, but my party ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

I had reservations for 6pm, but my party and I were running late due to traffic. I called and said we were running late and even though they were incredibly busy, they were able to hold our reservation until we got there. Great service, great food.

food1
ambience3
service1

We were seated right away, and the serve ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

We were seated right away, and the server took our drink orders. More than 20 minutes later our drinks arrived. Our pizza was undercooked, and the toppings were minimal. One person from our party ordered the appetizer pizza and enjoyed it very much.

food5
ambience4
service4

Pizza and pasta in a relaxed setting.

Dined on October 17, 2015

Great experience overall - good food and drinks. Service was a bit slow but it was a very busy night. Every order was correct and the waiter was quick to attend to our drink needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Sesame Crust to die for!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Went here with friends on Michigan Homecoming weekend - was still able to get a reservation, though the place was hopping. Good service, great food. You have to try the sesame crust pizza! They had a Party of Four package that included wine, salad and pizza - great deal with the amount of food we needed.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner Before Audra

Dined on September 17, 2015

Perch was excellent though spelled wrong on menu. All in party liked food and service was good. Waiter in training was amiable . Didn't care much for the apple dessert but otherwise it was an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Pizza, Salads and Pasta

vip
Dined on June 30, 2015

This is the first time we visited the Cottage Inn during the week. The food was great as always but the mood was much less rushed. The service was outstanding with a great waitress who was most attentive and friendly. We will visit again mid-week.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

The Cottage

Dined on June 27, 2015

The food at the Cottage Inn is always excellent. Customize your pasta dinner is an excellent way to get exactly what you would like. The food and atmosphere in this restaurant is outstanding. It was a nice way to meet family and close out a day in Ann Arbor with an excellent dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Rediscovered an old friend. Will be in ...

Dined on May 29, 2015

Rediscovered an old friend. Will be in the rotation.

food4
ambience4
service1

Service slow.

Dined on May 16, 2015

Server was struggling.... took long time to get our drinks. One drink served was flat, server was polite , drink was replaced but had to be asked for numerous times. Waited an unusally long time for food. Server struggled getting the checks correct. He was very friendly but overall struggled with taking care of our table. Realize there were nine at our table, we were not demanding. Obviously he needs help/further training. Would hesitate to return based on this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Classic Italian American... and modern too!

Dined on May 15, 2015

We have enjoyed the Cottage Inn for many years. On our most recent visit it was true to form. The dinners -- we shared an individual flatbread pizza, and the classic Italian sampler (lasagna, stuffed manicotti, and ravioli). Both were tasty and well prepared. The Greek salad and minestrone were also up to their usual high standards. A relatively recent addition has been a collection of Michigan microbrews, with a beer flight special. Service was friendly and prompt.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Decent Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

Our family came here for Easter brunch 2015. Great choice of food (excellent fresh pizza), lots of pasta, huge fresh salad and veggie sections, made to order egg dishes, salmon, ham. Good selection of desserts but the coffee was genuinely awful - really bad.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Another Good Easter Buffet

Dined on April 5, 2015

My wife and I have made Easter Brunch at The Original Cottage Inn a tradition. The food selection and quality are good and have not faltered. There seems enough space that it never felt overcrowded. The setting was nice for a holiday meal: not too casual. We've been pleased each year, and I expect to go back again next year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2

They seated us promptly at our reservati ...

Dined on March 7, 2015

They seated us promptly at our reservation time. Service was a little slow but not bad as it looked liked our server had many tables. The pizza and bread sticks were excellent and did not take long to get after we ordered. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Poor service and food just ok

Dined on February 27, 2015

Atmospher was loud, service poor and food just ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on February 14, 2015

We enjoyed the Valentine's Day special. Our food was great and our server provided excellent service. We were hesitant about spending Valentine's Dinner at a pizza place, but no regrets. The special menu was awesome and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Don't let the name hinder you

Dined on February 14, 2015

Great place. Great service. Menu variety. Good wine. Close parking. Will be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Beer.

Dined on February 6, 2015

Wanted a bottle or Coors Light they of course didn't have it, but they had a great selection of Michigan brewed beer. Waitress suggestion was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

Good place for friends and family

Dined on January 30, 2015

The Original Cottage Inn is dependable for pizza and other Italian dishes. We went as part of a group of eight. The food was tasty, but several of the dishes had cooled off by the time they reached our table. One friend sent her potatoes back because they had cooled off so much. With such a large group, our waiter made some minor errors with our bills, but these were quickly corrected. Otherwise, he was efficient and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Pizza and Salads!

Dined on January 24, 2015

The Original Cottage Inn is an Ann Arbor institution. Best known for its deep dish pizza and great salads. The atmosphere is fun and lively. Great

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Not during Restaurant Week

vip
Dined on January 24, 2015

My office is nearby and I eat at the Cottage Inn often. It is solid lunch place and my wife and I have dinner there two or three times a month. Our last visit was for dinner and it happened to be Ann Arbor Restaurant Week. It was over-booked and under-staffed and both the quality of service and the quality of the food was unacceptable. It will continue to be a favorite for lunch and occasional dinner, but AVOID restaurant week!

food4
ambience4
service3

Return trip issues

Dined on November 16, 2014

We arrived after a michigan sporting event and we're seated ahead of our reservation which was great,but unfortunately our server was over booked with tables so service was slow. He did his best and the pizza was awesome. Spaghetti and veggie lasagna were good,but nothing over the top. Will still go again as it is a great Ann Arbor gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.