About The Original Cottage Inn

512 East Williams
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

The Original Cottage Inn restaurant opened its doors at 512 East William, Ann Arbor in 1948. This restaurant has had the distinction of being the first restaurant in Ann Arbor to serve pizza. The current ownership acquired the building at 512 E. William in 1961 and it remains the company's flagship today. The restaurant's first major expansion took place in 1975. The restaurant was remodeled again in 1980 and 1987. In 1993, a major renovation of the restaurant was done to include the second floor, which increased the seat capacity. This renovation also provided banquet room facilities. The restaurant offers a diverse menu of Italian and Greek dishes as well as pizzas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 10pm
Thursday-Saturday 11am-11am
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3379

Website:
http://www.originalcottageinn.com/

Catering:
The Original Cottage Inn offers a full-service catering department. Please contact Katee at katee@cicatering.com or 734-663-3379 to inquire about booking an event.

Parking Details:
Metered parking. Parking structure on Maynard.

Private Party Facilities:
The Original Cottage Inn has two private rooms perfect for any occasion, with seating for 20 to 80 guests. Our upstairs dining area can accommodate up to 130 guests. Let our professional banquet staff make your event a night to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Tim Parent: 8883312365

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Eat Free every Monday night, 5-8pm! We have a create-your-own-cupcake station and crafts.

Deep Dish Tuesdays: Every Tuesday, enjoy half off of our deep dish two-topping pizzas, dine in or carry out!

Wednesdays: $6 for ANY of our burgers, with fries!

Every Thursday enjoy half off wine!

Restaurant Photos

Cottage Inn Cheese Bread
Gorgonzola Salad
Half Tray Of Sicillian Style Pizza With Spinach, Onions, And Sun-Dried Tomatoes
Best Of Cottage Inn
Sweet Potato Gnocci With Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Bonizio Sangiovese Wine
Pizza Buffet
Best Of Cottage Inn Pizza
Pizza
Deep Dish Pizza
Chicken Wings
Breadstick

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Cottage Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Literally was the perfect backdrop and e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Literally was the perfect backdrop and experience for a first date. It was such quality that once the entrees were delivered we couldn't eat it fast enough, which embarrassed us both a little. From our server, to the cocktail, to the dessert there wasn't a miss at all. I did my reservation online and walked right in on a busy Saturday. We both were so impressed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Ann Arbor for a college tour ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were in Ann Arbor for a college tour and wanted to have dinner near campus. Reservations were available for that night (a Friday night) just a couple hours in advance. There was a large group waiting to sit down for a private event when we walked in but it took only a few minutes for us to be seated. I wish I could give this restaurant a higher overall rating because the service and the restaurant itself were fine and the value was very good. However, I had to mark it down one star because of the unusual flavor of its pizza - the primary reason most would dine here. We ordered the pizza for four, which included a full tray of pizza and large Greek salad. It was reasonably priced ($26, I believe). The sauce was a little sweet as I read in another review but the cheese also had an unusual taste. We all thought it tasted like bleu cheese but the server said it might have been the feta cheese they use in their cheese topping mixture. As a result, we each only had one slice, leaving a lot of leftovers, and I couldn't finish my slice because I didn't like the flavor. We also had the clam chowder (highly recommend this) and the baked spaghettini (it was fine but with the same sweet sauce and cheese mixture). There was a good selection of beers on tap and in the bottle. The restaurant is popular and I would recommend it if you're open to interesting flavors on your pizza.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was so poor that we didn't have ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was so poor that we didn't have to pay at all. The side Cesar salad was way over dressed and the large margarita pizza was so bad it we couldn't eat it. The thin crust was so wet and soggy and not cooked.

But our waiter and manager was super nice and very apologetic.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great server… Very patient… Offered samp ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great server… Very patient… Offered samples of beer… Wanted to please… The chicken wings with barbecue sauce appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When we entered the restaurant, we were ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

When we entered the restaurant, we were directed towards a table hidden from view of the rest of the restaurant and away from the windows, one close to the kitchen. Is this because we are Muslim and my wife wears a headscarf? There were tons of empty tables around the rest of the restaurant, so we requested to move to a different one. Our waitress wasn't as pleasant to us as she was being to others; she seemed annoyed when we asked her if one of the dishes had wine or other alcohol ingredients in it. The food was great, but our overall experience was just uncomfortable and we would neither go back again or recommend to friends. At least not that location (Ann Arbor).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Consistent

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We made the mistake of heading here graduation weekend. Despite this, our server was very attentive. I think the only thing that suffered in our food was, surprisingly, our pizza (very average). The salad, bread, chicken and veggies and pasta were all consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Cottage Inn THE ORIGINAL still special

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for forty years. Several family functions and gathering with friends and it rarely disappoints. Plus, lately we've discovered the wonderful lunch buffet with a super fresh salad bar Monday thru Friday. Had a great time with close friends prior to a concert the other night and the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I have been hearing for a long time that I needed to try out the "Original" Cottage Inn Pizza. It should have been a sign that no one around us was ordering the pizza! A 10" pizza ran about $13, and even though the menu offered deep or traditional crust, we were told that it actually just meant thick or thin -- so much for the deep dish experience. Between the 8 of us, 7 ordered pizza and maybe 1 person enjoyed their choice. My garden veggie pizza was bland and unoriginal. Nothing gourmet or inventive about any of our choices. I had to load mine up with red peppers and cover it in ranch just to taste SOME flavor. Our waiter was also extremely inattentive; we had to ask multiple times for water glasses or drinks or even sides of sauce. On a side note, the tables and chairs were rickety and uneven, and the decor was visibly dusty. Guess I missed visiting this restaurant in it's prime -- such a shame.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Cottage Inn is a great restaurant right in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor. This is a great option for families with young children -- we had a great table tucked away that allowed busy kids to play without being a bother to other guests. Wait staff was wonderful -- patient and accommodating from start to finish. We never felt rushed even though it was a busy Saturday evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for this Toledoan to the "Original"

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I wanted to go see a movie at the historic State Theater in Ann Arbor, and found this spot on Open Table during a busy night before Valentines Day. Being from Toledo, we didn't know the history of the Cottage Inn in Ann Arbor; we had only seen the 3 or 4 Cottage Inn pizza shops in Toledo. It was a good experience (we got there at 5 PM before the place really got crowded at 6 PM) and we enjoyed the salads, pasta, bread, wine selection, and local craft beers...... and we could walk to the State Theater ! Our only minor complaint was that we got put at a very small table with bench chairs that were also very tight to the table and very small..... VERY small. It was a bit inconvenient moving plates around a table the size of a chess board, but I was able to kiss her without either of us leaving our chairs (after all, it was Valentines Day!), and it forced the wait staff to hold off bringing our entrées until the salads were gone... because there wasn't any room !

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Live the pizza for four.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Live the pizza for four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun at Cottage Inn

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great pizza, love the crust.

And a good GF menu - little pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is alright for a pizza house an ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food is alright for a pizza house and this is a place best visited as a family with children. I was disappointed that when I made a reservation for a casual date, I was sat in a 2 person booth IMMEDIATELY next to the kitchen door. The saloon style door would basically swing open and practically hit my elbow every time despite the fact that other tables were available, which I ended up requesting. Honesty, I don't intend to revisit any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food in beautiful restaurant

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Based on the great pizza, I am guessing that everything is good here. The wait staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We went here for restaurant week, and the deals were amazing! I got the manicotti and was very pleased with my food, though don't expect anything you eat here to be fancy! The restaurant was nice, but very casual. Good food overall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Cottage Inn

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Very fast service, lovely food, and a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Group dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Friendly hostess who was able to accommodate our large party even though the Open Table reservation was not showing. Friendly waiter however did not know about the drink specials, when asked about house wine he said all the wines are house wines but was pleasant. The knowledge deficit aside, the food was tasty and came piping hot from the kitchen. The ambiance is relaxed and friendly. A great place for groups, families, couples and singles.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing, with Hit or Miss Food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Our family went to the Original Cottage Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. We'd very much enjoyed the pasta & pizza when we ate here before. We were quickly seated, handed menus, & our drinks were brought out swiftly. We placed our orders, received a bread basket, then waited for our meal. The wait was short, but our food was brought out by 2 different servers. Not once did our original server approach us to ask how our food was, if we needed anything else, if we'd like more water or drinks. My 9 year old literally stood on the bench, waving his hands in the air, for 5 minutes before a server saw him & took his drink order. It was brought out by yet another server, who didn't stay long enough to ask if anyone else needed a refill. Our cheese-bread appetizer had only 6 small wedges; there were 5 of us. Our original server should have said it was tiny. My son's gourmet GF pizza was delicious, the best of all our meals. My oldest son ordered deep-dish pizza; it came out thin crust & looked like cardboard. The toppings, which he ate off that crust, were tasty, but no one ever came to ask how his meal was so we could fix the mistake. Good thing the bread basket was there to help fill him! My other son's pesto pasta was delicious. No complaints there! My husband's baked chicken spaghettini was overdone to the point of mushiness. He needed a spoon to eat it but, since no server came by, he got tired of waiting & used a piece of bread to scoop up the mush. I had the Apple Pear Entree Salad. This should have been Apple Pear Soup. Every piece of fruit, every leaf of salad green was so saturated with dressing that I actually gagged on my first bite. I had to press each mouthful against the side of the bowl with my fork to squeeze out the dressing. There was a good cup of dressing left in the bowl when I was done. Our original server did finally reappear to hand us the bill, which totaled almost $100. Definitely not worth our $$. We're not sure if we'll ever go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Too loud for a lunch meeting! Food ok. Waiter had too many tables to wait on.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Great place for a big family dinner

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The Original Cottage Inn is a great, family-friendly restaurant with a great variety of food beyond pizza. There are gluten-free pizza options and the soup is outstanding. The atmosphere is wonderfully cozy and the service is outstanding. Well worth a visit when you are in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Deep dish wasn't actual deep dish, more of a thick hand tossed. Our waiter obviously had better things to do then be our server but the bus boy was awesome in picking up the slack. I don't come here often since I'm not the biggest fan of the sauce but the salmon salad as amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great spot for casual get together

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

A classic old style red sauce Italian with Greek influence. Nice place to meet friends for casual dining. Hand thrown thin crust pizza with good flavor. Great burger and excellent fries. The entrees , salads and desserts were tasty and fresh. Nice wine and beer selection. Everyone of our table of 6 was happy with their choice. Waitstaff was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Perfect for before a show

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Seven of us were at table 55 which was perfect because we could talk while waiting for our food with our drinks and then enjoy the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice night out

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Waa looking for a nice night out to celebrate my dearest friends birthday. The food was excellent and the atmosphere of the restaurant was nice. We both enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I had reservations for 6pm, but my party ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

I had reservations for 6pm, but my party and I were running late due to traffic. I called and said we were running late and even though they were incredibly busy, they were able to hold our reservation until we got there. Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away, and the serve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

We were seated right away, and the server took our drink orders. More than 20 minutes later our drinks arrived. Our pizza was undercooked, and the toppings were minimal. One person from our party ordered the appetizer pizza and enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Pizza and pasta in a relaxed setting.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Great experience overall - good food and drinks. Service was a bit slow but it was a very busy night. Every order was correct and the waiter was quick to attend to our drink needs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sesame Crust to die for!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Went here with friends on Michigan Homecoming weekend - was still able to get a reservation, though the place was hopping. Good service, great food. You have to try the sesame crust pizza! They had a Party of Four package that included wine, salad and pizza - great deal with the amount of food we needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner Before Audra

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Perch was excellent though spelled wrong on menu. All in party liked food and service was good. Waiter in training was amiable . Didn't care much for the apple dessert but otherwise it was an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Pizza, Salads and Pasta

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

This is the first time we visited the Cottage Inn during the week. The food was great as always but the mood was much less rushed. The service was outstanding with a great waitress who was most attentive and friendly. We will visit again mid-week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Cottage

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

The food at the Cottage Inn is always excellent. Customize your pasta dinner is an excellent way to get exactly what you would like. The food and atmosphere in this restaurant is outstanding. It was a nice way to meet family and close out a day in Ann Arbor with an excellent dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Rediscovered an old friend. Will be in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Rediscovered an old friend. Will be in the rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service slow.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Server was struggling.... took long time to get our drinks. One drink served was flat, server was polite , drink was replaced but had to be asked for numerous times. Waited an unusally long time for food. Server struggled getting the checks correct. He was very friendly but overall struggled with taking care of our table. Realize there were nine at our table, we were not demanding. Obviously he needs help/further training. Would hesitate to return based on this experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Classic Italian American... and modern too!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

We have enjoyed the Cottage Inn for many years. On our most recent visit it was true to form.

The dinners -- we shared an individual flatbread pizza, and the classic Italian sampler (lasagna, stuffed manicotti, and ravioli). Both were tasty and well prepared. The Greek salad and minestrone were also up to their usual high standards.

A relatively recent addition has been a collection of Michigan microbrews, with a beer flight special.

Service was friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Decent Easter Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Our family came here for Easter brunch 2015. Great choice of food (excellent fresh pizza), lots of pasta, huge fresh salad and veggie sections, made to order egg dishes, salmon, ham. Good selection of desserts but the coffee was genuinely awful - really bad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Another Good Easter Buffet

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

My wife and I have made Easter Brunch at The Original Cottage Inn a tradition. The food selection and quality are good and have not faltered. There seems enough space that it never felt overcrowded. The setting was nice for a holiday meal: not too casual.

We've been pleased each year, and I expect to go back again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

They seated us promptly at our reservati ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

They seated us promptly at our reservation time. Service was a little slow but not bad as it looked liked our server had many tables. The pizza and bread sticks were excellent and did not take long to get after we ordered. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Poor service and food just ok

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

Atmospher was loud, service poor and food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We enjoyed the Valentine's Day special. Our food was great and our server provided excellent service. We were hesitant about spending Valentine's Dinner at a pizza place, but no regrets. The special menu was awesome and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't let the name hinder you

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great place. Great service. Menu variety. Good wine. Close parking. Will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.