Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Original

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: (503) 575-4044

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 18 hours ago

Had some issues with my order so they didn't charge me, but just not up to the standard used to but I still recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Highly suggest making reservations! Great Sunday Brunch for our first visit to Portland.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

The Original at 300 SW 6th Ave. in downtown Portland is rich in hometown diner nostalgia, with more modern takes on some old favorites combining with traditional diner fare to round out a great menu.
We were there for Sunday brunch, and sampled a variety of there menu. Overall it was great, with just one low point out of four meals.
I had the grilled polenta cakes with candied bacon. The preparation was great, with big thick slices of polenta that had obviously been cooked and formed in a loaf pan then sliced and grilled for service. The flavor was bold and wonderful, with lots of sharp cheddar cheese and milk giving it a smooth and rich texture. Served with 3 slices of candied bacon and then drizzled with real maple syrup it was a wonderful take on the old fashioned Johnny cakes my grandmother would make for Sunday breakfast when I was young. A definite hit.
My wife had the "Red Flannel Hash" and wasn't as impressed. The potatoes were undercooked and seasoning was non existent. For a dressed up corned beef hash with beets, red peppers, and potato it should have had flavor to spare but clearly something was missing. It was the one low point for the table.
Our niece Megan ordered their house chicken& waffles, taken up a notch with chicken confite instead of fried chicken, and the combination of a great malty waffle and the chicken was scrumptious.
Her husband Jeff had the bacon cornmeal waffle topped with a boneless fried chicken breast. I'll have to take his word for how amazing it was because he inhaled it, but it looked fabulous. He said the waffle was full of flavor and the chicken cooked perfectly.
If you are looking for a terrific brunch and great character, forget Mother's next weekend and give The Original a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Seated quickly in a lovely corner with floor to ceiling windows.

We didn't see our server for about 15 minutes after being seated, which was a bit disappointing. I don't think it was communicated to her that we were her table since she seemed to come from another area in the restaurant, so not necessarily her fault.

Great menu options for carnivores and herbivores alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2017

A group of us went to The Original for a celebratory work breakfast. The food was great and there was plenty of space for us. The restaurant was not overly crowded, and we got great service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Diner vibe, but upscale, with great food and service. One of my favorite places in Portland if dining alone or with others. Offers a full bar but is also family friendly. A great value too. Perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We often bring guests to The Original if they are looking for a "Portland breakfast experience" rather than waiting in long lines such as can be found at The Screen Door and other trendy establishments. Always good food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This spot is charming with good food and customer service.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Not the best. The food was not really good I mean I’ve had better food at Denny’s. I got a the beef chorizo omelet with a veggie sausage sub for the chorizo and it came with potatoes and I got a the house made biscuit. My date has the biscuits and gravy. First of all, my omelet was so over cooked it was hard. Like actually hard. I couldn’t chew it. I took two bites and didn’t even disney the second bite I had to spit it out. The potatos were very unseasoned. The only thing that was good was the biscuit. And my coffee. My dates gravy was basically nonexistent. It was a slight drizzle. It just wasn’t anything I’d go back for nor recommend to anyone. The food at Denny’s is similar and yet better. The service was slow but great. It was a Sunday and they seemed busy and as someone who’s worked in the service industry I know how it gets so wasn’t upset at all about that. The waitress was very friendly. The venue and environment is very nice but the food is not good.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was the perfect spot to take my in-laws for an anniversary brunch! The food was delicious and it was great being able to make a reservation for a Sunday morning. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My experience at The Original was fantastic. All of the servers were beyond helpful, attentive, and kind. The food was excellent and the portions were very large - so ultimately, a very good deal. It was very busy when we got there and regardless of the volume of customers, our food came out quickly. I've worked in a lot of restaurants in my time and I feel confident saying that the folks who work here are PROS. I have no idea how everyone there was so slammed yet cool headed, helpful, and quick. Damn. Y'all did a great job! I wish I could remember our waitress's name so I could demand a raise on her behalf. If any of the bosses are reading this - the tall woman with long, brown, curly hair deserves a raise! Please and Thank You!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Another great lunch at an excellent restaurant. Can't believe something this tasty is across the street from where I work.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Positively fabulous. Finished our event early and they were busy but able to seat us an hour + early!!! Wait staff was a kick! Fun time! Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, great service, and they take reservations, which is awesome! I got the eggs Benedict, and my friends got the biscuits and gravy and pancakes. All of it was fantastic. Hot coffee, good food, great company. Couldn't have asked for a better first experience there. Will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Disappointing...

My wife ordered the lemon poppy seed pancakes (menu listed as the special of the day) and she was served blueberry (supposedly what the kitchen thought was on special). Had to send her order back which took some time to correct....I was almost done with my meal before hers re-arrived. The waitress did "comp" the meal without us asking.

I ordered the "Red Flannel Hash." The dish was decent with the fresh ingredients but very bland. I usually don't salt things....this needed a lot. When the dish originally arrived I inquired if I had gotten the correct dish and was told I did; I thought that the menu said the hash had corned beef in it so assumed maybe I misread the menu. After eating the dish, I looked at a menu on our way out...it clearly stated ingredients are "...corned beef, beets, ...." There was not a single piece of corned beef in the entire dish. With the corned beef I think it would have been about right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I loved eating here. Some places can be intimidating to eat at (i know, sounds weird) buy my friend and I were very comfortable and were really able to enjoy our breakfast. We were not rushed at all and our waitress was nice in manners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Diner food should be tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food, went for brunch found the menu to be kind of limited, but what they had was good. The noise level was kind of high and not the type of place that I would normally choose. I might go back to try the more expansive dinner menu, but not my first choice for a relaxed ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a great meal with friends! Loved the ease of making a reservation, service was great. Food was really good. Highly recommend as an alternative to super busy Portland brunch spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Feels like a Diner, food prepared like a fine restaurant. The whisky, in 6 month aged oak barrels, is unbelievable.

We will be back to try breakfast... if it's half as good as Dinner it will be great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Cool weekend brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food is quite good but the menu is fairly meat-heavy. Boozy milkshakes and breakfast all day are the biggest draws.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Need to add Breakfast to the above list - this place is amazing. Never yet had something that wasn't total chow - and I am here regularly. Getting good wait-staff can be a challenge - some of them act more like they are doing you a favor than providing customer service - but the food makes it worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went there on a whim before a concert at the Moda center. Food was great, the waitress was super nice and friendly and the menu items were varied and unique. always a place to go when we go to the big city.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second experience dining at The Original, and we WILL be going back. Creative twists on diner classics with superb preparation.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The breakfast was, as has been our experience with a single exception in the past, quite good. We quit for a while due in large part to the volume and style of the music. It was OK if the place was jammin' but the fewer the guests the more intrusive the sound. This visit the clientele was sparse and the music just too much. We hurried through our meal and left. Too bad because, as I said, the food is generally above average and the menu is quite inventive.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Cool atmosphere & good good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I love this place! Downtown Portland foodie hangout without the ridiculous foodie prices. I had a lamb sandwich this week and it was awesome - I enjoy introducing friends and co-workers to this place - you can get in/out and stuffed with good food in less than hour -

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Donut burger sliders for the win!!

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great downtown location with a throwback menu.
Try the tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First visit was for Father's Day 2017. Looking for a great brunch, particularly pancakes. They handled our group of 6 no problem! All our food came out at the same time and piping hot. The Dad in our group who is picky about pancakes, likes them thinner and crisp around the edges, deemed them perfect! Their spin on the classics - chicken fried steak and biscuits and gravy - amazing. Easily handled the special requests of one of our kids and their special "Elvis Sighting" is amazingly tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our drinks were never empty, they anticipated our other needs (extra napkins, etc.), and our server was very friendly. Definitely going back to try other menu items. FYI, don't skip dessert, the banana cheesecake was totally worth it.

The only issue, and this is totally minor, is that it has very large west-facing windows and the sun was very bright that afternoon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Lox Frittata was awesome and very Portland with Feta cheese and asparagus.
Have not seen Drew serving in the window section for quite a long time and it was great to benefit from his level of service.
My favorite Bar young Lady served up a Bloody Maria that equaled her warning of intense spiciness.
If you have not enjoyed this go to restaurant you Are missing out!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day so we expected some hiccups, but everything was perfect! I found this place online and traveled from Texas to take my mom out and we couldn't have found a more perfect place!! Kudos!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not really impressed with the brunch food. It was overall meh. And the vegetarian option was crap.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were visiting Portland for just a day and a half and wanted a casual, low key (and quick) dinner. The reviews I'd read praised the "home style" cooking and service. Well, the Original didn't disappoint. The food was good; we ordered a Cobb Salad and the special "Mac n Cheese of the Day", which was a Dungeness crab Mac dish. Both were tasty, but honestly probably not the absolute best I've ever eaten. What was impressive was the friendly, attentive and generous service we received. Granted, they weren't real busy at the time, but our server(s) were great -- and I'd go again just because of the friendly service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food and service, but loud atmosphere. The restaurant had nice decorations and was kept clean. Had to pay for parking though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I love the large fresh Cobb salads that they serve here. The milk shakes are very tasty. They come in a large glass with the extra served in an additional metal container. Service is very good. The food is so good here that I make it a point to eat at least one meal here whenever I visit Portland.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and service were fantastic. The only problem we had was that I requested a quiet table on the reservation because my father-in-law was with us and background noise really irritates him. That request was not acknowledged and when we asked at the hostess stand there was clearly not a quiet table in the restaurant so she said she would turn down the music which did not happen. The music was good, but a little disruptive to a pleasant experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This place had amazing customer service and food. Would go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.