Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Original

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: (503) 575-4044

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Casual (12)
See All
Great for Brunch (12)
Fun (9)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Cool weekend brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food is quite good but the menu is fairly meat-heavy. Boozy milkshakes and breakfast all day are the biggest draws.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Need to add Breakfast to the above list - this place is amazing. Never yet had something that wasn't total chow - and I am here regularly. Getting good wait-staff can be a challenge - some of them act more like they are doing you a favor than providing customer service - but the food makes it worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went there on a whim before a concert at the Moda center. Food was great, the waitress was super nice and friendly and the menu items were varied and unique. always a place to go when we go to the big city.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second experience dining at The Original, and we WILL be going back. Creative twists on diner classics with superb preparation.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The breakfast was, as has been our experience with a single exception in the past, quite good. We quit for a while due in large part to the volume and style of the music. It was OK if the place was jammin' but the fewer the guests the more intrusive the sound. This visit the clientele was sparse and the music just too much. We hurried through our meal and left. Too bad because, as I said, the food is generally above average and the menu is quite inventive.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Cool atmosphere & good good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I love this place! Downtown Portland foodie hangout without the ridiculous foodie prices. I had a lamb sandwich this week and it was awesome - I enjoy introducing friends and co-workers to this place - you can get in/out and stuffed with good food in less than hour -

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Donut burger sliders for the win!!

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great downtown location with a throwback menu.
Try the tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First visit was for Father's Day 2017. Looking for a great brunch, particularly pancakes. They handled our group of 6 no problem! All our food came out at the same time and piping hot. The Dad in our group who is picky about pancakes, likes them thinner and crisp around the edges, deemed them perfect! Their spin on the classics - chicken fried steak and biscuits and gravy - amazing. Easily handled the special requests of one of our kids and their special "Elvis Sighting" is amazingly tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our drinks were never empty, they anticipated our other needs (extra napkins, etc.), and our server was very friendly. Definitely going back to try other menu items. FYI, don't skip dessert, the banana cheesecake was totally worth it.

The only issue, and this is totally minor, is that it has very large west-facing windows and the sun was very bright that afternoon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Lox Frittata was awesome and very Portland with Feta cheese and asparagus.
Have not seen Drew serving in the window section for quite a long time and it was great to benefit from his level of service.
My favorite Bar young Lady served up a Bloody Maria that equaled her warning of intense spiciness.
If you have not enjoyed this go to restaurant you Are missing out!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day so we expected some hiccups, but everything was perfect! I found this place online and traveled from Texas to take my mom out and we couldn't have found a more perfect place!! Kudos!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not really impressed with the brunch food. It was overall meh. And the vegetarian option was crap.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were visiting Portland for just a day and a half and wanted a casual, low key (and quick) dinner. The reviews I'd read praised the "home style" cooking and service. Well, the Original didn't disappoint. The food was good; we ordered a Cobb Salad and the special "Mac n Cheese of the Day", which was a Dungeness crab Mac dish. Both were tasty, but honestly probably not the absolute best I've ever eaten. What was impressive was the friendly, attentive and generous service we received. Granted, they weren't real busy at the time, but our server(s) were great -- and I'd go again just because of the friendly service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food and service, but loud atmosphere. The restaurant had nice decorations and was kept clean. Had to pay for parking though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I love the large fresh Cobb salads that they serve here. The milk shakes are very tasty. They come in a large glass with the extra served in an additional metal container. Service is very good. The food is so good here that I make it a point to eat at least one meal here whenever I visit Portland.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and service were fantastic. The only problem we had was that I requested a quiet table on the reservation because my father-in-law was with us and background noise really irritates him. That request was not acknowledged and when we asked at the hostess stand there was clearly not a quiet table in the restaurant so she said she would turn down the music which did not happen. The music was good, but a little disruptive to a pleasant experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This place had amazing customer service and food. Would go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Large portions, food arrived super fast, staff was knowledgeable and polite, food was a little bland but had condiments at tables to kind of fix.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My first time there and was pleasantly surprised. My lunch companion showed up late, but I was not hassled by the wait staff. They were very patient. The Eggs Benedict was delicious -- the idea of an all day breakfast is always appealing. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the donut sliders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Based on other reviews, I think we must have been there on a bad day. Our server was great, and so was the coffee. That's about it. I had a mediocre veggie scramble that came with raw hash browns..my sister had a mushroom omelet that had lots of muchrooms but they were rubbery and it was cold. Even my Bloody Mary wasn't good. Parking is a nightmare, so between that and the numbers of excellent restaurants in Portland, I'm not inclined to try this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

As a tourist (lived here 35 years ago) and staying nearby, we were looking for good food within walking distance of our hotel. Found it on TripAdvisor and Open Table. When we walked up, it was first, oh oh...a hotel (Marriott) dining spot. However, unsure it really is associated with the hotel being able to access from the outside. The greeting was pleasant, the service (Kiefer) was excellent with a lot of team help. The food was outstanding. I tried the Northwest Clam Chowder as I love razor clams which they make theirs with. Obviously different with razors as the abundant pieces were tasty and somewhat more chewy (which I like). In fact we're thinking of returning today for breakfast vs eating the free one here at the hotel!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Unique and interesting menu. Chicken and Waffles were great. I also had a taste of my wife's Elvis Sighting French Toast which was also great. Service was friendly but a little inattentive at times. Not a big deal though. The place was uncrowned for a weekend breakfast, but we were there at 8:00 a.m. We plan to go back in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First two courses were delicious. For the 3rd course, I was disappointed at the cake which was very dense and not much flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for portland dining month. Food was really good. The whole place felt like a lunch place though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A bit diner-y, but w a funky vibe. Service was great. The balsamic pesto cauliflower was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent customer service, friendly staff. Food was mediocre. Location is ideal for meetings with personnel from the US Bank tower. Would try again to gauge the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food
Nice atmosphere. Tables are a little small....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great good, awesome service. We enjoyed the drinks, appetizers, and entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great restaurant ! I always enjoy going to The Original.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Chicken Fried Steak was great. The gravy was delicious. My wife had the Tiramisu French Toast, and that was phenomenal as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

great place but a bit too loud for business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beef stew was canned soup and was horribly salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My partner and two close friends at at the Original this past weekend for the first time. The place is fun in decor and ambiance. The waitperson was cheerful and very attentive. We had mixed opinions about the various meals we got. Big thumbs up for the eggs benedict with fish and for the breakfast burrito. Thumbs sideways for the burger on donut ("a unique taste") and the hash ("veggies not fully cooked through").

Despite the mixed reviews, we are planning to try it again in the not too distant future.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great and the staff was very friendly. We didn't have to wait for service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Original is a go-to place for our office since it's close, has decent food and not too expensive. On the downside, getting your food can sometimes take a while and prices aren't great, for what you get. It's basically American comfort/diner food with a few attempts at modern/updated dishes, i.e., banh mi burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.