Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Original

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: (503) 575-4044

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
See All
Kid-friendly (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First two courses were delicious. For the 3rd course, I was disappointed at the cake which was very dense and not much flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for portland dining month. Food was really good. The whole place felt like a lunch place though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A bit diner-y, but w a funky vibe. Service was great. The balsamic pesto cauliflower was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent customer service, friendly staff. Food was mediocre. Location is ideal for meetings with personnel from the US Bank tower. Would try again to gauge the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food
Nice atmosphere. Tables are a little small....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great good, awesome service. We enjoyed the drinks, appetizers, and entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great restaurant ! I always enjoy going to The Original.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Chicken Fried Steak was great. The gravy was delicious. My wife had the Tiramisu French Toast, and that was phenomenal as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

great place but a bit too loud for business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beef stew was canned soup and was horribly salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My partner and two close friends at at the Original this past weekend for the first time. The place is fun in decor and ambiance. The waitperson was cheerful and very attentive. We had mixed opinions about the various meals we got. Big thumbs up for the eggs benedict with fish and for the breakfast burrito. Thumbs sideways for the burger on donut ("a unique taste") and the hash ("veggies not fully cooked through").

Despite the mixed reviews, we are planning to try it again in the not too distant future.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great and the staff was very friendly. We didn't have to wait for service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Original is a go-to place for our office since it's close, has decent food and not too expensive. On the downside, getting your food can sometimes take a while and prices aren't great, for what you get. It's basically American comfort/diner food with a few attempts at modern/updated dishes, i.e., banh mi burger.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a delightful time. Hard to find a good place open on Christmas. Our server, Laura, was a jewel. The smoked steelhead benedictory was tasty. Stumptown coffee is always a drawing point.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, friendly waitstaff , look forward to my next meal there!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful food and great service by our waiter Keifer (sp?) - he was just very attentive, funny, and we appreciated his humor and suggestions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food choices were very good. Each of us had a very enjoyable meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great menu with amazing options. Serving staff was friendly and relaxed but always around for water and refills. Overall a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was good and the service was very good. A bit pricey, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Chicken and Waffles are amazing! As seen on Diners Drive insurance and Dives

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not worth parking fees. Was very disappointed. Would not recommend in a great food town to waste a meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came to Portland for a date night and found this darling little diner enter right next to our hotel. Our breakfast was fabulous , the people watching fun and service was good. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Something different but good as there is something for everyone. One of my new favorite spots!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Menu didn't seem as unique as I had heard it was. It felt very cold inside. There was hardly anyone in there and we left feeling as though it probably wouldn't stay in business :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food - had brunch - -amazing Belgian waffles

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The burger and the 'adulted' shake was an excellent combo. Apparently the chicken pot pie was also pretty good.
The wings are actual chicken wings with a very good sauce, *not* a drumstick or teeny-tiny wing.
All in all, I'm looking forward to heading back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great concept - a dineraunt. Had the regular poutine which is OUTSTANDING- but it is huge. Definitely suggest upgrading a side to poutine so you can still enjoy it along with the other amazing food. Wish I lived in Portland - if I'm ever in town I will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Geeze Louise the plate I ordered was huge! My only criticism is how much food I had to leave on my plate but it was a healthy portion I was served. I ordered the pancakes, hash browns, sausage, eggs and bacon. Where I come from I could finish it that order. At the Original, it's enough for two..or three.

I went with a friend for a belated birthday breakfast and our server Kyle was great! He was attentive, made suggestions and was very professional. Because of him I ordered some Guac to go...and yes, Kyle, it was awesome!

My friend and I plan on going back for coffee and dessert if not for a nosh at noontime or another Sunday breakfast. Everyone was friendly and we were greeting on the way in as well as out. Wonderful service all the way around.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have lunch here quite often: I like the all-day breakfasts (mmm, bacon) and the Reuben sandwich. It's a happy and comfortable spot; good for group meals. On my most recent visit, it seemed like the service was even better than usual---we got special attention from both the manager and server. I really love this place.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our two egg dishes weren't as requested (soft/runny eggs). One was returned to the kitchen to be redone which came back fine but took more time than optimum. Music wasn't conducive to calm conversation. Overall, just not a place we will return to for another meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time here and I feel like I found a gem in The Pearl! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place for decor and huge, creative menu!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my fourth visit to this really great "dinaurant" and it won't be my last, for sure. From the friendly greeting by every one of the staff as you enter to the competent and comfortablly fine service and the really unique and fabulous menu, I'm surprised it isn't always crowded. I have recommended this place to more friends than any other restaurant I've enjoyed, save one. If they keep it up, I'm sure I'll continue to enjoy as well as recommend this truly wonderful place. Can't wait to get back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The happy hour menu was odd, not many enticing selections. Entree choices much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I can't really rate the food, because the service was just that bad. We were seated and quite simply never got served. We sat there for over 10 minutes and never had a waitperson come back to help us. When we left, the hostess didn't even realize that we were the people who just came in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

My 3rd time eating at the Original . Food is great. The service is usually great but not today for some reason. I think they must have not had enough servers working.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We dined here on the recommendation of a local. We were looking for something good but simple. We were in the main not disappointed . The grilled cauliflower with arugula pesto was simply stunning, but enormous for a starter. Easily enough as a vegetarian main and really really good.
My Cobb salad was disappointing, too big, enough for 4 and just not great. My husband's meat loaf was very good. We didn't try desserts as we had been recommended to try somewhere else just for their cakes. However what we saw looked very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place to go,would definitely go back.thnaks for the great service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great downtown spot with fun food and drink menu. Fresh ingredients and upscale diner food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We wanted a great breakfast early in the morning before a Portland tour we were joining several blocks away. We tend to like the "diner" experience a lot, and we really enjoyed the food at The Original. The pancakes were my favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.