About The Original

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: 5035754044x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chicken and Waffles
Croissant E Cristo
pancakes
Cornmeal Bacon Waffle
Scrambled Eggs
Creme Brulee French Toast
Donut Sliders
Eggs Benedict
Sundae
Mac and Cheese
Beef Jerky Bloody Mary
Créme Brulé French Toast
Kid's Pancake
Manmosa
 Biscuit Breakfast Sandwich
Grilled Cheese With Tomato Soup
Donut Slider
Pomegranate Cheesecake
Chicken And Waffles Brunch
Apple cider cake
Strawberry Creme Shots
Stumptown Coffee And Raw Sugar
Red Velvet Cupcakes And Chocolate Pudding
Pies
Kids Flapjack And Sausage!
Bloody Mary
Cakes!
Ginger-Lime Soda
Dinerant Menu
Jones Root Beer Soda
Nw Elixir Hott Sauce
Ginger Lime Soda
Gin Mary
B.L.T.E.
Deluxe Burger
Tomato Soup
Granola With Fruit And Yogurt
Chicken Wings
Poutine Hot Dog
Veggie Scramble W Sausage
Breakfast Burrito
Avocado hamburger
Green Goddess
Cuban and Poutine
Daily Punch
Biscuits and Gravy
Sticky bun
Bacon and eggs
Ham And Chicken Fritters
Triple Brownie Milkshake
Apple Brown Betty
Beef Stroganoff
Chorizo Corn Dogs
COBB OMELET
Green Goddess Salad
Orange Cream Soda
Veggie Burger
Chili Cheese Fries
Open Face Turkey Sandwich
Turkey Burger
Housemade Chickpea & Quinoa Veggie Burger
Buttermilk Fried Half Chicken
Poutine
Smoked BBQ Brisket
Grilled Ribeye
Polenta Cakes & Candied Bacon
Camden's Catsup
Kids Grill
veggie breakfast burrito
cobb omelette
Heartbreaker Cocktail
Chicken Fried Steak
Double Down Chicken Sandwich
Cocktail
Artesian Roasted Duck
Anita Cocktail
Mac & Goat Cheese With Brussels Prouts
Braised Pork Shank
Poached Eggs With Poutine
Eggs Benedict With A Fried Bird On It
Gingerbread French Toast
Logger's Breakfast
Polenta Cakes With Candied Bacon
Cheese Curd Pretzels
Kobe Beef Hot Dog With Mustard Cheese Fondue
Chilaquiles
Cheeseburger & Poutine
Mac n Cheese Hot Dog
Elvis Sighting
chicken fried steak and eggs
Oregon Salad With A Bird On It
Fruit Loop Pancakes
Veggie Burger & Fries
Poached Eggs And Poutine
Martini
Oregon Salad W/chicken
Lemonade

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
1 More
Great for Lunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for brunch (26)
great for lunch (21)
kid-friendly (21)
See All
good for groups (17)
fit for foodies (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
special occasion (3)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Great downtown spot with fun food and dr ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great downtown spot with fun food and drink menu. Fresh ingredients and upscale diner food. Good service.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had the tuna melt and the salad/sandw ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We had the tuna melt and the salad/sandwich combo. Everything tasted great, particularly the Oregon salad! As always, it was the perfect lunch experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our brunch at The Original- we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved our brunch at The Original- we just wish we lived closer so we could visit more often! Service was great & food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They never fail to have a table ready wh ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

They never fail to have a table ready when you've reserved, even in busy times. The staff is always alert and on the ball, solicitous without being smarmy. The food can be irregular- a dish that is spectacular on one visit can be pretty ordinary the next. Generally, however, they deliver good food at a fair price. We usually go in for breakfast or lunch at least once a month.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly staff, very ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service, friendly staff, very good food and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummm!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my daughters here before we went to a play at the Keller Auditorium on a Sunday. We made reservations but didn't need them as they had plenty of tables - HOWEVER - that was because it was 4:30 in the afternoon. (our play started at 6:30). We parked on the street and then just headed up to the Keller after. We shared the classic poutine - good but heavy... and I think you could hear your arteries hardening. I only had 2 bites for this reason. The roasted cauliflower was very good. My youngest had the NW Logger - she LOVES breakfast so this was perfect for her. I had a bite of the pancakes and they were very tasty... a cross between a very well seasoned griddle and a new griddle gave it that old diner taste. I had the club sandwich and the bacon was crispy and VERY tasty... the entire sandwich was very good. I even saved the other half for later and it was delicious even 4 hours later - Ha! My other daughter had a burger and I had a small bite of the meat and it was also very flavorful. I also had a Double Mountain Pilsner and it was awesome! a new favorite for sure. They only have a few beers on tap but it was a good selection of IPAs, stouts as well. I'm anxious to come back and bring my husband - he would love it. Love the atmosphere as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Original was a great place for a holiday!

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, The Original was a wonderful dining experience for my daughter and I to enjoy a holiday brunch. We had a great time, were seated promptly even though we were early. Breakfast was on point and it was a lovely time on Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day Treat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time at The Original. Had reservations and a table was set up and ready for us. Enjoyed a Bloody Mary and Eggs Benedict cooked just the way I like it. Great service, great food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was average, but you can make a reservation!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of the few places in Portland where you can make a reservation for brunch. We have grown tired of waiting 2 or more hours to be seated on a weekend morning, so we gave the Original a shot. The poached eggs on my Eggs Benedict were hard-boiled. The ham was a bit dry. My husband felt the biscuits and gravy didn't have quite enough gravy considering the side of the biscuit. The poached egg he ordered on the side was also hard-boiled. Service was GREAT, though, and the place has a nice enough atmosphere. We might try it again because anyone can have an off day.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time visiting...Very friendly serv ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

First time visiting...Very friendly service, food was delicious. We will be back.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A nice diner style restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is like a cross between bar food, a diner, and an ice cream shop. They serve great milkshakes with or without alcohol and mostly comfort food. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. The food is not the healthiest, but it is tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Mystified

Dined on April 24, 2016

I'm a bit mystified by the great reviews for this place. The atmosphere, which has some elements of an old fashioned diner, was appealing. The coffee was good and plentiful. I ordered a scramble and it arrived lukewarm such that the cheese on top was not melted. In addition what was described as vegetable sausage was essentially without form and hard to identify. The wait staff was friendly and prompt with coffee, but I don't understand serving food over the sidewall of the booth such that we each had to reach up and take our plates. It's not that far to walk around to the front of the booth. All in all, not worth a return with all the options available in Portland.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unique PDX Diner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Unique diner menu. Barrel aged cocktails(yes the whole cocktail is aged), boozy shakes, and over the top burgers! A must try in downtown. Family friendly and unique. Great service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, a taco burger, a turkey club, drinks, and a salted caramel boozy milkshake and it was all top of the line delicious. The service is also top notch! Thanks Zoe!!

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Casual Brunch/Breakfast Spot

Dined on March 27, 2016

Mid-Century Modern diner style atmosphere with some really good breakfast items. The Creme Brulee French toast was decadent and the Mimosas were inexpensive. Service was ok; it definitely felt like a diner.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch was Fabulous!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My daughter picked this trendy restaurant for our Easter celebration. We had a great time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Waitress was very attentive without being overbearing. Food was so gorgeous we had to snap a pic and post it to Facebook. Everybody was so jealous and hungry after seeing the photos.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistently Great

Dined on March 11, 2016

We got the soup/salad combo and the burger with salad. The special chicken vegetable soup was rich and filling, plus the Oregon Salad is great. At $10, it's an extreme value. The burger was prepared exactly as expected and the side salad was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Breakfast Poutine - You know it!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We sat at the bar for Saturday brunch. I wondered if we could get poutine any time of the day. "Of course,” exclaimed the feisty bartender. Not only poutine, but how about we add eggs and bacon to make it a healthy, well-rounded breakfast? Who could beat that? Add a milkshake featuring a delightful blend of caloric gluttony and booze and your morning will never be the same.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

not THAT Original

Dined on March 2, 2016

Underwhelming would be the adjective I'll use to describe the food and service. The decor is a bit over the top in counterpoint. Meh...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Dined on February 26, 2016

REAL biscuits and gravy. Delicious house-made coconut soda. Everything was great. We will be coming back (soon, I hope).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great tasting food for a reasonable price.

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife loved it for our anniversary. It was a quiet atmosphere, and ideal for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktail ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktails. Mimosa and Bloody Mary were on point.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food

Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved the fact you offered reservation for brunch. The food was good. I will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, interesting menu, but ambiance is noisy

Dined on February 3, 2016

Party of 3 had lunch there in a booth, close to the front windows. Visibility is good, booth comfort is fine, but as soon as the place got busy it god so loud I could barely hear the others at the table. The food selections are nicely varied (e.g., a lamb French dip sandwich and a caprese sandwich on foccacia bread); service was good, but quite as attentive as it might have been. Note free valet parking at Courtyard at 550 SW Oak with $15 parking is a nice touch.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

Services was outstanding from the moment we walked in the door. Food, unfortunately, was nothing special. Only OK.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfect for quick brunch

Dined on January 22, 2016

Classic brunch dishes - fried chicken & pancakes, bacon, etc... Good filter coffee. . All around good value. No complaints. Perfect for the morning after the night before.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This may become a regular brunch spot!

Dined on January 10, 2016

We all really enjoyed brunch. The staff was wonderful and attentive. Food is excellent. Great value also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is EPIC!!!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food and service were top-notch! They made it not just a find, but a place we went back to two days later for brunch. And my daughter and I will be going back next weekend for brunch again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will be going back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

pleased & grateful!

Dined on December 28, 2015

I was looking for somewhere we hadn't tried that was family friendly. I was thoroughly pleased with the food options, the downtown location, the friendly staff and the fact that it was incredibly family friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Kept going back for more

Dined on December 3, 2015

This was the second time I went to the Original within the span of a week. and my friend wanted something tasty and near her school and I said I know a place. She had never been to the Original before and she had a wonderful evening. the drinks menu was just the beginning of a great time (named after pop culture characters) things just got better from there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

First date

Dined on November 28, 2015

Went on a first date and the staff quickly figured that we were having a fantastic evening and gave us our space but also kept checking on us if we indeed need something. He wasn't intrusive he was his job and that is the kind of work I truly appreciate!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food For Thought

Dined on November 22, 2015

Very enjoyable. Good food. Good service. Great place for Brunch

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal for a great price

Dined on November 22, 2015

Was in town with some friends for a concert and found The Original on Yelp and it was close to our hotel. We went for brunch on Sunday. We arrived early and they went ahead and sat us. Food was great and thought the prices were VERY reasonable. My friend and I split a ham & cheese omelet and the creme bruelle french toast. Both were wonderful. Service was good and food arrived quickly. Would highly recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The Original Delivers

Dined on November 15, 2015

Check out the Original for Breakfast & Brunch! The restaurant has a cool vibe- sort of 50's/MidCentury meets 2015 contemporary diner. The service was first rate: we had an open table reservation that we were late to: when we called to let them know they said they would hold our table for us. And they did- sat us right away when we came 15 minutes late. Breakfast choices are excellent: Omelettes, Hash, eggs & stuff all had flexible choices- especially for those who need/like to deconstruct everything on a menu. I had a chorizo, avocado, & cheddar omelette- which is not on the menu. The highlights for our group were the pancakes. One of us had regular & another had bacon.... they were light, fluffy and not stuffy at all! They serve Stump Town coffee as well which added to the flavorfest. Service was friendly, cooperative and attentive. This is a great place and we'll go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Extremely nice staff--waitstaff and mana ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Extremely nice staff--waitstaff and manager. Steak came out rare--very rare--we ordered Well Done. We discreetly asked waitress to take it back. The manager came over and was extremely apologetic. We advised it was quite alright--these things happen. They insisted on comping that meal and brought out a new steak--we told them it wasn't necessary. They comped that meal and gave us a certificate for a free breakfast for two at a future date. Really went way out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. They take service to a great level and made sure we will come back. The food was excellent anyways!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute spot! Loved the cornmeal bacon waff ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Cute spot! Loved the cornmeal bacon waffles. Our server was attentive and helpful with suggestions. Definitely recommend for a weekend brunch place.

food4
ambience4
service5

Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch

Dined on October 31, 2015

Great basics made better by modern twists. Great drinks. Something for everyone. Great, fun and experienced staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The omelettes are delicious!

Dined on October 24, 2015

The omelettes are delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.