About The Original

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: 5035754044x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Great for Lunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for brunch (24)
great for lunch (24)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
kid-friendly (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
special occasion (3)
Sort By:
Newest
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Original was a great place for a holiday!

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, The Original was a wonderful dining experience for my daughter and I to enjoy a holiday brunch. We had a great time, were seated promptly even though we were early. Breakfast was on point and it was a lovely time on Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day Treat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time at The Original. Had reservations and a table was set up and ready for us. Enjoyed a Bloody Mary and Eggs Benedict cooked just the way I like it. Great service, great food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was average, but you can make a reservation!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of the few places in Portland where you can make a reservation for brunch. We have grown tired of waiting 2 or more hours to be seated on a weekend morning, so we gave the Original a shot. The poached eggs on my Eggs Benedict were hard-boiled. The ham was a bit dry. My husband felt the biscuits and gravy didn't have quite enough gravy considering the side of the biscuit. The poached egg he ordered on the side was also hard-boiled. Service was GREAT, though, and the place has a nice enough atmosphere. We might try it again because anyone can have an off day.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time visiting...Very friendly serv ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

First time visiting...Very friendly service, food was delicious. We will be back.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A nice diner style restaurant

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is like a cross between bar food, a diner, and an ice cream shop. They serve great milkshakes with or without alcohol and mostly comfort food. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. The food is not the healthiest, but it is tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Mystified

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I'm a bit mystified by the great reviews for this place. The atmosphere, which has some elements of an old fashioned diner, was appealing. The coffee was good and plentiful. I ordered a scramble and it arrived lukewarm such that the cheese on top was not melted. In addition what was described as vegetable sausage was essentially without form and hard to identify. The wait staff was friendly and prompt with coffee, but I don't understand serving food over the sidewall of the booth such that we each had to reach up and take our plates. It's not that far to walk around to the front of the booth. All in all, not worth a return with all the options available in Portland.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unique PDX Diner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Unique diner menu. Barrel aged cocktails(yes the whole cocktail is aged), boozy shakes, and over the top burgers! A must try in downtown. Family friendly and unique. Great service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, a taco burger, a turkey club, drinks, and a salted caramel boozy milkshake and it was all top of the line delicious. The service is also top notch! Thanks Zoe!!

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Casual Brunch/Breakfast Spot

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Mid-Century Modern diner style atmosphere with some really good breakfast items. The Creme Brulee French toast was decadent and the Mimosas were inexpensive. Service was ok; it definitely felt like a diner.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch was Fabulous!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My daughter picked this trendy restaurant for our Easter celebration. We had a great time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Waitress was very attentive without being overbearing. Food was so gorgeous we had to snap a pic and post it to Facebook. Everybody was so jealous and hungry after seeing the photos.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We got the soup/salad combo and the burger with salad. The special chicken vegetable soup was rich and filling, plus the Oregon Salad is great. At $10, it's an extreme value. The burger was prepared exactly as expected and the side salad was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Breakfast Poutine - You know it!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We sat at the bar for Saturday brunch. I wondered if we could get poutine any time of the day. "Of course,” exclaimed the feisty bartender. Not only poutine, but how about we add eggs and bacon to make it a healthy, well-rounded breakfast? Who could beat that? Add a milkshake featuring a delightful blend of caloric gluttony and booze and your morning will never be the same.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

not THAT Original

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Underwhelming would be the adjective I'll use to describe the food and service. The decor is a bit over the top in counterpoint. Meh...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Dined on February 26, 2016

REAL biscuits and gravy. Delicious house-made coconut soda. Everything was great. We will be coming back (soon, I hope).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great tasting food for a reasonable price.

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife loved it for our anniversary. It was a quiet atmosphere, and ideal for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktail ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktails. Mimosa and Bloody Mary were on point.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food

Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved the fact you offered reservation for brunch. The food was good. I will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, interesting menu, but ambiance is noisy

Dined on February 3, 2016

Party of 3 had lunch there in a booth, close to the front windows. Visibility is good, booth comfort is fine, but as soon as the place got busy it god so loud I could barely hear the others at the table. The food selections are nicely varied (e.g., a lamb French dip sandwich and a caprese sandwich on foccacia bread); service was good, but quite as attentive as it might have been. Note free valet parking at Courtyard at 550 SW Oak with $15 parking is a nice touch.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

Services was outstanding from the moment we walked in the door. Food, unfortunately, was nothing special. Only OK.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfect for quick brunch

Dined on January 22, 2016

Classic brunch dishes - fried chicken & pancakes, bacon, etc... Good filter coffee. . All around good value. No complaints. Perfect for the morning after the night before.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This may become a regular brunch spot!

Dined on January 10, 2016

We all really enjoyed brunch. The staff was wonderful and attentive. Food is excellent. Great value also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is EPIC!!!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food and service were top-notch! They made it not just a find, but a place we went back to two days later for brunch. And my daughter and I will be going back next weekend for brunch again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will be going back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

pleased & grateful!

Dined on December 28, 2015

I was looking for somewhere we hadn't tried that was family friendly. I was thoroughly pleased with the food options, the downtown location, the friendly staff and the fact that it was incredibly family friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Kept going back for more

Dined on December 3, 2015

This was the second time I went to the Original within the span of a week. and my friend wanted something tasty and near her school and I said I know a place. She had never been to the Original before and she had a wonderful evening. the drinks menu was just the beginning of a great time (named after pop culture characters) things just got better from there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

First date

Dined on November 28, 2015

Went on a first date and the staff quickly figured that we were having a fantastic evening and gave us our space but also kept checking on us if we indeed need something. He wasn't intrusive he was his job and that is the kind of work I truly appreciate!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food For Thought

Dined on November 22, 2015

Very enjoyable. Good food. Good service. Great place for Brunch

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal for a great price

Dined on November 22, 2015

Was in town with some friends for a concert and found The Original on Yelp and it was close to our hotel. We went for brunch on Sunday. We arrived early and they went ahead and sat us. Food was great and thought the prices were VERY reasonable. My friend and I split a ham & cheese omelet and the creme bruelle french toast. Both were wonderful. Service was good and food arrived quickly. Would highly recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The Original Delivers

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Check out the Original for Breakfast & Brunch! The restaurant has a cool vibe- sort of 50's/MidCentury meets 2015 contemporary diner. The service was first rate: we had an open table reservation that we were late to: when we called to let them know they said they would hold our table for us. And they did- sat us right away when we came 15 minutes late. Breakfast choices are excellent: Omelettes, Hash, eggs & stuff all had flexible choices- especially for those who need/like to deconstruct everything on a menu. I had a chorizo, avocado, & cheddar omelette- which is not on the menu. The highlights for our group were the pancakes. One of us had regular & another had bacon.... they were light, fluffy and not stuffy at all! They serve Stump Town coffee as well which added to the flavorfest. Service was friendly, cooperative and attentive. This is a great place and we'll go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Extremely nice staff--waitstaff and mana ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Extremely nice staff--waitstaff and manager. Steak came out rare--very rare--we ordered Well Done. We discreetly asked waitress to take it back. The manager came over and was extremely apologetic. We advised it was quite alright--these things happen. They insisted on comping that meal and brought out a new steak--we told them it wasn't necessary. They comped that meal and gave us a certificate for a free breakfast for two at a future date. Really went way out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. They take service to a great level and made sure we will come back. The food was excellent anyways!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute spot! Loved the cornmeal bacon waff ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Cute spot! Loved the cornmeal bacon waffles. Our server was attentive and helpful with suggestions. Definitely recommend for a weekend brunch place.

food4
ambience4
service5

Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch

Dined on October 31, 2015

Great basics made better by modern twists. Great drinks. Something for everyone. Great, fun and experienced staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The omelettes are delicious!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

The omelettes are delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

The original is the best

Dined on October 19, 2015

In my short 26 years of life I had never experienced such an amazing, excellent service with an exquisite menu of wonderful items. I went here for my birthday and they made this one truly to remember even after all the tasty drinks and food was done away with you'll wonder if life is worth living without The Original in your life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The asparagus frittata was fabulous. Th ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

The asparagus frittata was fabulous. The bloody Maria is one of my must-have's with Brunch. My server picked a dessert for me that was outstanding and an item I would never pick but totally enjoyed for 2 dinners.

food2
ambience4
service3

Great scene and exceptional drinks

Dined on October 17, 2015

I love The Original and I've been multiple times with many different people and I love the variety of food and the location and the great service but unfortunately the last entree I purchased wasn't great? My friend that I went with agreed and we both got the same thing but it really just wasn't as great as it was the other times I've had it. I will say my honey rosemary soda was the BEST drink I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4

Diner Kitch and Creative Comfort Food

Dined on October 17, 2015

The atmosphere is pure diner, and the food is mostly familiar comfort-food standards but everything has that creative Portland twist, and was very well prepared. I had the Chicken Waffle Slider, and the chicken was very moist and flavorful, the waffle "bun" was tasty, and the house-made pickle chips were amazing. I could have done with less of the syrup drizzle on the waffle, but I'm not a huge sweet fan - there wasn't actually a lot of it in the first place. The collards with ham were also very, very good. Tender and flavorful but not cooked to death, and with just the right amount of vinegar and heat to give that wonderful sour zing of great greens. The service during my visit was very friendly and helpful, and we all enjoyed our meals. It was a post-event dinner with colleagues, and we sat and talked after eating for a good hour without anyone seeming to mind or want to move us along. (The place was only about 1/2 full, but it was a Friday night so I appreciated their willingness to let us hang out a bit.) I took home a milkshake to the husband, and he seemed to love that as well. Overall - a good find, and a place I'll happily go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great stop for breakfast/lunch ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

This is a great stop for breakfast/lunch or a late night stop. I have not been there for dinner. All of the ingredients are local, which makes everything taste spectacular. The menu is very simple, comfort food like steak and eggs or biscuit and gravy. Their milk shakes and the boozy versions of them are great! It feels like the best version of a dinner taken up a few notches. The go to spot and a no brainier recommendation for people from out of town staying in the downtown pdx.

food5
ambience5
service5

The polenta cakes with candied bacon and ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

The polenta cakes with candied bacon and buttered honey was amazing. The fried chicken and waffle was delicious and not over-breaded. The waitress recommended honey mustard with it and the flavor was incredible. I'm amazed we could get in so quickly on a Sunday for brunch but so glad!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.