About The Original

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: 5035754044x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee French Toast
Chicken and Waffles
Croissant E Cristo
pancakes
Cornmeal Bacon Waffle
Scrambled Eggs
Donut Sliders
Mac and Cheese
Sundae
Eggs Benedict
Beef Jerky Bloody Mary
Créme Brulé French Toast
 Biscuit Breakfast Sandwich
Kid's Pancake
Manmosa
Grilled Cheese With Tomato Soup
Donut Slider
Pomegranate Cheesecake
Apple cider cake
Chicken And Waffles Brunch
Strawberry Creme Shots
Stumptown Coffee And Raw Sugar
Red Velvet Cupcakes And Chocolate Pudding
Pies
Kids Flapjack And Sausage!
Bloody Mary
Cakes!
Ginger-Lime Soda
Dinerant Menu
Jones Root Beer Soda
Nw Elixir Hott Sauce
Gin Mary
Ginger Lime Soda
B.L.T.E.
Deluxe Burger
Tomato Soup
Granola With Fruit And Yogurt
Chicken Wings
Poutine Hot Dog
Veggie Scramble W Sausage
Breakfast Burrito
Avocado hamburger
Green Goddess
Cuban and Poutine
Daily Punch
Biscuits and Gravy
Sticky bun
Bacon and eggs
Triple Brownie Milkshake
Ham And Chicken Fritters
Apple Brown Betty
Beef Stroganoff
Chorizo Corn Dogs
COBB OMELET
Green Goddess Salad
Chili Cheese Fries
Orange Cream Soda
Open Face Turkey Sandwich
Veggie Burger
Turkey Burger
Housemade Chickpea & Quinoa Veggie Burger
Buttermilk Fried Half Chicken
Grilled Ribeye
Poutine
Smoked BBQ Brisket
Polenta Cakes & Candied Bacon
Kids Grill
Camden's Catsup
veggie breakfast burrito
cobb omelette
Heartbreaker Cocktail
Chicken Fried Steak
Cocktail
Double Down Chicken Sandwich
Anita Cocktail
Artesian Roasted Duck
Mac & Goat Cheese With Brussels Prouts
Poached Eggs With Poutine
Braised Pork Shank
Eggs Benedict With A Fried Bird On It
Gingerbread French Toast
Logger's Breakfast
Polenta Cakes With Candied Bacon
Cheese Curd Pretzels
Kobe Beef Hot Dog With Mustard Cheese Fondue
Cheeseburger & Poutine
Chilaquiles
Mac n Cheese Hot Dog
Elvis Sighting
chicken fried steak and eggs
Oregon Salad With A Bird On It
Fruit Loop Pancakes
Veggie Burger & Fries
Poached Eggs And Poutine
Lemonade
Martini
Oregon Salad W/chicken

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Brunch (22)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my fourth visit to this really ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my fourth visit to this really great "dinaurant" and it won't be my last, for sure. From the friendly greeting by every one of the staff as you enter to the competent and comfortablly fine service and the really unique and fabulous menu, I'm surprised it isn't always crowded. I have recommended this place to more friends than any other restaurant I've enjoyed, save one. If they keep it up, I'm sure I'll continue to enjoy as well as recommend this truly wonderful place. Can't wait to get back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The happy hour menu was odd, not many en ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The happy hour menu was odd, not many enticing selections. Entree choices much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I can't really rate the food, because th ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I can't really rate the food, because the service was just that bad. We were seated and quite simply never got served. We sat there for over 10 minutes and never had a waitperson come back to help us. When we left, the hostess didn't even realize that we were the people who just came in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

My 3rd time eating at the Original . Foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My 3rd time eating at the Original . Food is great. The service is usually great but not today for some reason. I think they must have not had enough servers working.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We dined here on the recommendation of a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We dined here on the recommendation of a local. We were looking for something good but simple. We were in the main not disappointed . The grilled cauliflower with arugula pesto was simply stunning, but enormous for a starter. Easily enough as a vegetarian main and really really good.

My Cobb salad was disappointing, too big, enough for 4 and just not great. My husband's meat loaf was very good. We didn't try desserts as we had been recommended to try somewhere else just for their cakes. However what we saw looked very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to go,would definitely go ba ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place to go,would definitely go back.thnaks for the great service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown spot with fun food and dr ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great downtown spot with fun food and drink menu. Fresh ingredients and upscale diner food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We wanted a great breakfast early in the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We wanted a great breakfast early in the morning before a Portland tour we were joining several blocks away. We tend to like the "diner" experience a lot, and we really enjoyed the food at The Original. The pancakes were my favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had the tuna melt and the salad/sandw ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had the tuna melt and the salad/sandwich combo. Everything tasted great, particularly the Oregon salad! As always, it was the perfect lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved our brunch at The Original- we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved our brunch at The Original- we just wish we lived closer so we could visit more often! Service was great & food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They never fail to have a table ready wh ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

They never fail to have a table ready when you've reserved, even in busy times. The staff is always alert and on the ball, solicitous without being smarmy. The food can be irregular- a dish that is spectacular on one visit can be pretty ordinary the next. Generally, however, they deliver good food at a fair price. We usually go in for breakfast or lunch at least once a month.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, friendly staff, very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service, friendly staff, very good food and cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummm!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my daughters here before we went to a play at the Keller Auditorium on a Sunday. We made reservations but didn't need them as they had plenty of tables - HOWEVER - that was because it was 4:30 in the afternoon. (our play started at 6:30). We parked on the street and then just headed up to the Keller after.

We shared the classic poutine - good but heavy... and I think you could hear your arteries hardening. I only had 2 bites for this reason. The roasted cauliflower was very good. My youngest had the NW Logger - she LOVES breakfast so this was perfect for her. I had a bite of the pancakes and they were very tasty... a cross between a very well seasoned griddle and a new griddle gave it that old diner taste. I had the club sandwich and the bacon was crispy and VERY tasty... the entire sandwich was very good. I even saved the other half for later and it was delicious even 4 hours later - Ha! My other daughter had a burger and I had a small bite of the meat and it was also very flavorful.

I also had a Double Mountain Pilsner and it was awesome! a new favorite for sure. They only have a few beers on tap but it was a good selection of IPAs, stouts as well.

I'm anxious to come back and bring my husband - he would love it. Love the atmosphere as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Original was a great place for a holiday!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, The Original was a wonderful dining experience for my daughter and I to enjoy a holiday brunch. We had a great time, were seated promptly even though we were early. Breakfast was on point and it was a lovely time on Mother's Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Treat!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time at The Original. Had reservations and a table was set up and ready for us. Enjoyed a Bloody Mary and Eggs Benedict cooked just the way I like it. Great service, great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was average, but you can make a reservation!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of the few places in Portland where you can make a reservation for brunch. We have grown tired of waiting 2 or more hours to be seated on a weekend morning, so we gave the Original a shot. The poached eggs on my Eggs Benedict were hard-boiled. The ham was a bit dry. My husband felt the biscuits and gravy didn't have quite enough gravy considering the side of the biscuit. The poached egg he ordered on the side was also hard-boiled. Service was GREAT, though, and the place has a nice enough atmosphere. We might try it again because anyone can have an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

First time visiting...Very friendly serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

First time visiting...Very friendly service, food was delicious. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice diner style restaurant

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is like a cross between bar food, a diner, and an ice cream shop. They serve great milkshakes with or without alcohol and mostly comfort food. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. The food is not the healthiest, but it is tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Mystified

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I'm a bit mystified by the great reviews for this place. The atmosphere, which has some elements of an old fashioned diner, was appealing. The coffee was good and plentiful. I ordered a scramble and it arrived lukewarm such that the cheese on top was not melted. In addition what was described as vegetable sausage was essentially without form and hard to identify. The wait staff was friendly and prompt with coffee, but I don't understand serving food over the sidewall of the booth such that we each had to reach up and take our plates. It's not that far to walk around to the front of the booth. All in all, not worth a return with all the options available in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Unique PDX Diner

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Unique diner menu. Barrel aged cocktails(yes the whole cocktail is aged), boozy shakes, and over the top burgers!

A must try in downtown. Family friendly and unique. Great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We ordered the delectable donut sliders, a taco burger, a turkey club, drinks, and a salted caramel boozy milkshake and it was all top of the line delicious. The service is also top notch! Thanks Zoe!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Casual Brunch/Breakfast Spot

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Mid-Century Modern diner style atmosphere with some really good breakfast items. The Creme Brulee French toast was decadent and the Mimosas were inexpensive. Service was ok; it definitely felt like a diner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Easter Brunch was Fabulous!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My daughter picked this trendy restaurant for our Easter celebration. We had a great time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Waitress was very attentive without being overbearing. Food was so gorgeous we had to snap a pic and post it to Facebook. Everybody was so jealous and hungry after seeing the photos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We got the soup/salad combo and the burger with salad. The special chicken vegetable soup was rich and filling, plus the Oregon Salad is great. At $10, it's an extreme value. The burger was prepared exactly as expected and the side salad was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Breakfast Poutine - You know it!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We sat at the bar for Saturday brunch. I wondered if we could get poutine any time of the day.

"Of course,” exclaimed the feisty bartender.

Not only poutine, but how about we add eggs and bacon to make it a healthy, well-rounded breakfast? Who could beat that? Add a milkshake featuring a delightful blend of caloric gluttony and booze and your morning will never be the same.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

not THAT Original

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Underwhelming would be the adjective I'll use to describe the food and service. The decor is a bit over the top in counterpoint. Meh...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

REAL biscuits and gravy. Delicious house-made coconut soda. Everything was great. We will be coming back (soon, I hope).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful diner worth going to anytime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great tasting food for a reasonable price.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife loved it for our anniversary. It was a quiet atmosphere, and ideal for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktail ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good for brunch. Yummy morning cocktails. Mimosa and Bloody Mary were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved the fact you offered reservation for brunch. The food was good. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, interesting menu, but ambiance is noisy

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Party of 3 had lunch there in a booth, close to the front windows. Visibility is good, booth comfort is fine, but as soon as the place got busy it god so loud I could barely hear the others at the table. The food selections are nicely varied (e.g., a lamb French dip sandwich and a caprese sandwich on foccacia bread); service was good, but quite as attentive as it might have been. Note free valet parking at Courtyard at 550 SW Oak with $15 parking is a nice touch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Brunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Services was outstanding from the moment we walked in the door. Food, unfortunately, was nothing special. Only OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Perfect for quick brunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Classic brunch dishes - fried chicken & pancakes, bacon, etc... Good filter coffee. . All around good value. No complaints. Perfect for the morning after the night before.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This may become a regular brunch spot!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We all really enjoyed brunch. The staff was wonderful and attentive. Food is excellent. Great value also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is EPIC!!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Food and service were top-notch! They made it not just a find, but a place we went back to two days later for brunch. And my daughter and I will be going back next weekend for brunch again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Creme brulle French toast rocked. Will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

pleased & grateful!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

I was looking for somewhere we hadn't tried that was family friendly. I was thoroughly pleased with the food options, the downtown location, the friendly staff and the fact that it was incredibly family friendly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kept going back for more

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

This was the second time I went to the Original within the span of a week. and my friend wanted something tasty and near her school and I said I know a place. She had never been to the Original before and she had a wonderful evening. the drinks menu was just the beginning of a great time (named after pop culture characters) things just got better from there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First date

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Went on a first date and the staff quickly figured that we were having a fantastic evening and gave us our space but also kept checking on us if we indeed need something. He wasn't intrusive he was his job and that is the kind of work I truly appreciate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.