Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Original

Inspired by diners the 1960s, The Original, Portland's downtown destination for all-day dining, serves up playful variations on classic menu standards.

Made from ingredients seasonal and local, and prepared with classic French techniques, our menu of eclectic American cuisine takes on regional favorites and modifies them with flavors and textures unique to the Pacific Northwest.

Traditional dishes like Chicken Fried Steak and Beef Stroganoff are reimagined, resulting in contemporary meals that are as enjoyable to contemplate as they are gratifying to taste.

In an atmosphere that's stylish, sophisticated, and cool, The Original honors the past as it listens in on the pulse of Portland's evolving tastes.

The Original: Eat. Drink. Gather.

300 SW 6th St
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Thursday: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM



Friday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM



Sunday: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-2666

Website:
http://www.originaldinerant.com/

Parking Details:
FREE VALET PARKING

Public Transit:
On the bus and light rail lines.

Executive Chef:
David Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a variety of private and semi-private options for your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Hagerman: (503) 575-4044

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Donut burger sliders for the win!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great downtown location with a throwback menu.
Try the tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First visit was for Father's Day 2017. Looking for a great brunch, particularly pancakes. They handled our group of 6 no problem! All our food came out at the same time and piping hot. The Dad in our group who is picky about pancakes, likes them thinner and crisp around the edges, deemed them perfect! Their spin on the classics - chicken fried steak and biscuits and gravy - amazing. Easily handled the special requests of one of our kids and their special "Elvis Sighting" is amazingly tasty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our drinks were never empty, they anticipated our other needs (extra napkins, etc.), and our server was very friendly. Definitely going back to try other menu items. FYI, don't skip dessert, the banana cheesecake was totally worth it.

The only issue, and this is totally minor, is that it has very large west-facing windows and the sun was very bright that afternoon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not really impressed with the brunch food. It was overall meh. And the vegetarian option was crap.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were visiting Portland for just a day and a half and wanted a casual, low key (and quick) dinner. The reviews I'd read praised the "home style" cooking and service. Well, the Original didn't disappoint. The food was good; we ordered a Cobb Salad and the special "Mac n Cheese of the Day", which was a Dungeness crab Mac dish. Both were tasty, but honestly probably not the absolute best I've ever eaten. What was impressive was the friendly, attentive and generous service we received. Granted, they weren't real busy at the time, but our server(s) were great -- and I'd go again just because of the friendly service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and service, but loud atmosphere. The restaurant had nice decorations and was kept clean. Had to pay for parking though.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I love the large fresh Cobb salads that they serve here. The milk shakes are very tasty. They come in a large glass with the extra served in an additional metal container. Service is very good. The food is so good here that I make it a point to eat at least one meal here whenever I visit Portland.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food and service were fantastic. The only problem we had was that I requested a quiet table on the reservation because my father-in-law was with us and background noise really irritates him. That request was not acknowledged and when we asked at the hostess stand there was clearly not a quiet table in the restaurant so she said she would turn down the music which did not happen. The music was good, but a little disruptive to a pleasant experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This place had amazing customer service and food. Would go there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Large portions, food arrived super fast, staff was knowledgeable and polite, food was a little bland but had condiments at tables to kind of fix.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My first time there and was pleasantly surprised. My lunch companion showed up late, but I was not hassled by the wait staff. They were very patient. The Eggs Benedict was delicious -- the idea of an all day breakfast is always appealing. I will definitely be going back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the donut sliders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great place!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Based on other reviews, I think we must have been there on a bad day. Our server was great, and so was the coffee. That's about it. I had a mediocre veggie scramble that came with raw hash browns..my sister had a mushroom omelet that had lots of muchrooms but they were rubbery and it was cold. Even my Bloody Mary wasn't good. Parking is a nightmare, so between that and the numbers of excellent restaurants in Portland, I'm not inclined to try this place again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

As a tourist (lived here 35 years ago) and staying nearby, we were looking for good food within walking distance of our hotel. Found it on TripAdvisor and Open Table. When we walked up, it was first, oh oh...a hotel (Marriott) dining spot. However, unsure it really is associated with the hotel being able to access from the outside. The greeting was pleasant, the service (Kiefer) was excellent with a lot of team help. The food was outstanding. I tried the Northwest Clam Chowder as I love razor clams which they make theirs with. Obviously different with razors as the abundant pieces were tasty and somewhat more chewy (which I like). In fact we're thinking of returning today for breakfast vs eating the free one here at the hotel!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Unique and interesting menu. Chicken and Waffles were great. I also had a taste of my wife's Elvis Sighting French Toast which was also great. Service was friendly but a little inattentive at times. Not a big deal though. The place was uncrowned for a weekend breakfast, but we were there at 8:00 a.m. We plan to go back in the near future.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First two courses were delicious. For the 3rd course, I was disappointed at the cake which was very dense and not much flavor.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for portland dining month. Food was really good. The whole place felt like a lunch place though.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A bit diner-y, but w a funky vibe. Service was great. The balsamic pesto cauliflower was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent customer service, friendly staff. Food was mediocre. Location is ideal for meetings with personnel from the US Bank tower. Would try again to gauge the food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food
Nice atmosphere. Tables are a little small....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great good, awesome service. We enjoyed the drinks, appetizers, and entrees.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great restaurant ! I always enjoy going to The Original.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Chicken Fried Steak was great. The gravy was delicious. My wife had the Tiramisu French Toast, and that was phenomenal as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

great place but a bit too loud for business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beef stew was canned soup and was horribly salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My partner and two close friends at at the Original this past weekend for the first time. The place is fun in decor and ambiance. The waitperson was cheerful and very attentive. We had mixed opinions about the various meals we got. Big thumbs up for the eggs benedict with fish and for the breakfast burrito. Thumbs sideways for the burger on donut ("a unique taste") and the hash ("veggies not fully cooked through").

Despite the mixed reviews, we are planning to try it again in the not too distant future.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great and the staff was very friendly. We didn't have to wait for service

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Original is a go-to place for our office since it's close, has decent food and not too expensive. On the downside, getting your food can sometimes take a while and prices aren't great, for what you get. It's basically American comfort/diner food with a few attempts at modern/updated dishes, i.e., banh mi burger.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a delightful time. Hard to find a good place open on Christmas. Our server, Laura, was a jewel. The smoked steelhead benedictory was tasty. Stumptown coffee is always a drawing point.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, friendly waitstaff , look forward to my next meal there!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful food and great service by our waiter Keifer (sp?) - he was just very attentive, funny, and we appreciated his humor and suggestions!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food choices were very good. Each of us had a very enjoyable meal

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great menu with amazing options. Serving staff was friendly and relaxed but always around for water and refills. Overall a great night out!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was good and the service was very good. A bit pricey, though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Chicken and Waffles are amazing! As seen on Diners Drive insurance and Dives

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not worth parking fees. Was very disappointed. Would not recommend in a great food town to waste a meal here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came to Portland for a date night and found this darling little diner enter right next to our hotel. Our breakfast was fabulous , the people watching fun and service was good. We will definitely be coming back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Something different but good as there is something for everyone. One of my new favorite spots!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.