About The Orangery

5412 Kingston Pike
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Orangery!! Since 1971, we have been offering our guests a truly unique dining experience featuring classic French and International Cuisine presented with elegance and flair reminiscent of the Old World. Whether seated in our main dining room or one of the other 7 private dining rooms, our guests experience an ambience and dining experience like no other. We encourage you to use our online OpenTable reservation system to reserve your table at The Orangery.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Homberg Dr

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 588-2964

Website:
http://www.orangeryknoxville.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music every Friday and Saturday and Jazz/Blues bands every Thursday night.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Private Party Facilities:
With Several Private dining rooms to choose from, we can accomodate private dining parties of 2 to 500 in the best possible accomodations.

Private Party Contact:
Kathleen Anderson: 8655882964

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Five differernt private rooms to choose from that will seat parties of 2 to 300. The Phoenix ballroom is well known for wedding receptions and private events.

Restaurant Photos

The Orangery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Romantic
Knoxville
1 More
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

special occasion (28)
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is quiet, elegant and rom ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere is quiet, elegant and romantic. Prime rib was huge and cooked perfectly, though slightly tough (may have been the dull knife) the meat was flavorful. Bananas foster were great for dessert.

food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Average FOOD and Service for Above Average Pricing

Dined on May 13, 2016

While the Orangery provided an extremely nice atmosphere, it was very apparent that they had changed Chefs. The Staff was not familiar with the specials and referenced the Chef's dislike for the current menu. In addition, the food was of good quality, but nothing provided a WOW factor except the check. The cost is definitely dis-proportioned to quality of the food. I quite frankly was disappointed compared to our previous visits, definitely heading in the wrong direction. This used to be a restaurant I would recommend to my friends and out-of-town guest but not now.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and friendly staff. G ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service and friendly staff. Good food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The great and not so great.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The great: The piano player, the service, the atmosphere and most of the entrees. The not so great: The "signature dish" Lobster Crepes. Not quite fresh and a little over cooked. The cauliflower curry soup was over spiced and I really like curry. The rest of the food was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Major decline

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall the food was sub-par, both in taste and in preparation, and they were out of multiple menu items. We were very disappointed with our cocktails. We have truly enjoyed The Orangery in the past so were incredibly disappointed to find that it has taken such a decline.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

A bad experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have eaten at The Orangery several time, always rating it in a range from good to exceptional. The last meal was a disaster--prom night had apparently distracted everyone's attention to detail. The waiter brought the wrong meal and said he would leave part of it and bring the steak quickly. About a half hour later it came--a piece of steak on a plate and nothing else. The desert we have ordered never arrived. In short, I have had good experiences a The Orangery--but an incompetent waiter can turn that perception around in a hurry.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our department head bought lunch for the 3 secretaries in our office in honor of Secretary's Day. It was so nice to get together in a quiet, elegant place to have a delicious lunch. Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, just wonderful!

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our second time to dine here. I had remembered the meal ever since and it actually lived up to the last time. It was my wife's birthday and we found ourselves in Knoxville so, we had to go back. Her filet with the cognac sauce was amazing. I had the filet and lobster roll. This is an incredible combination. Two different sauces; two different meats and yet they are magic together.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Birthday to me!

Dined on April 8, 2016

I decided I wanted to go to The Orangery for birthday day dinner with my husband. We've been several times over the 33 years we've been married. I chose it partially because of an email I received from The Orangery highlighting their bison burger. Neither of us got that burger, though. I got the 6 oz filet, medium rare. My husband got Pork Normandy. They were wonderful. The rolls and butter were delectable. We decided to split Bananas Foster. Our server had discovered we were there for my birthday, and wouldn't charge us for the BF. Our server was just attentive enough, without smothering us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food & service were quite good. Good win ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Food & service were quite good. Good wine list, too. The place is older and a bit worn. We had an early meal (6:30) and there was one other couple in the place at the time...I expected to see a bit more traffic. Will likely go again at another time to see if there's a more lively feel to the place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Bad, Bad, Bad

Dined on March 27, 2016

Unfortunately the Orangery has finally dropped to a point where it's old fashioned and elegant decor no longer outweighs the food and service. The restaurant is obviously outdated and in need of a major facelift but in the past it was something that allowed you to relish the turn of the century decor and artistic ambiance. Unfortunately, the restaurants quality of food and service have dropped to a level so low that it's no longer worth the expense. Our food was terrible, they were out of their specialty crapes, and they decided to substitute it with single pieces of shrimp and a filet that left much to be desired. My wife's pasta entree was watery and lacked much taste whatsoever. I doubt we will ever be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

disappointing

Dined on February 23, 2016

I was with 3 other women. We were told by the waitress that there was a new soup on the menu. It was curry cauliflower. Two of us ordered it. We were served potato cauliflower soup. Apparently the curry cauliflower was not available on that day. We should have been told before we were served the substitute. I had to remind the waitress that I had ordered the quiche , when she brought me a salad. In such a restaurant, these are not the issues that one would expect.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Overrated

Dined on February 19, 2016

The food was far from being good: the scallops were swimming in a lemon based vinaigrette which annihilated any other potential flavors. The lobster crepe were covered in a thick cream which was nauseating. There could have been crab in the crepe instead of lobster and nobody would know as any type of subtle taste was destroyed. They are trying to compensate for the quality with the quantity which makes you be even more nauseated. The filet was just OK, definitely not a $50 piece of meat. The alcohol: simple, they were out of almost everything on the menu. And their knowledge of wine is interesting: sauterne=muscat ??? The service: well, the waitress was pleasant but definitely not to the standard you would expect for a place like that. Summary: It is the first time ever that after eating the starter I try to get the entrees cancelled. Big big disappointment.

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Server was good, food was not up to par

Dined on February 13, 2016

There were high expectations for a Valentine's visit, but was not impressed with the food, we had the prime rib, and it wasn't done all the way, we even sent it back, and it still wasn't good the second time.. The server was good, but for the price we paid for a party of 4, I expected phenomenal food...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on February 13, 2016

As always, an excellent experience at the Orangery. The food, service, and atmosphere are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Very disappointed....

Dined on February 13, 2016

I've been to the Orangery many times, as it has been one of my favorites, but not in the last 5 years. In the past it was always a grand experience. This time was different. The ambiance was still the same, but our server, Corinna, made us feel rushed and uncomfortable from the moment we sat down. She was at our table every few minutes until we felt we HAD to order something, so we ordered soup and salad. She never offered us a cocktail. We had to flag her down to order one. We were not offered bread. We had to request it. We had only started sipping the cocktails when she brought out our soup. We were barely finished with the soup when she brought out the salad (we hadn't even had time to look at the menu because we were eating) and asked yet again if we were ready to order. I had to tell her I was busy eating my soup and hadn't had time to look at the menu. We were finally able to peruse the menu and order our entrees. We had to wait for drink refills. It was overall a bad experience and I was somewhat embarrassed, as I took a friend of mine there for his first visit. I will probably opt for Flemings or Ruth's Chris on our next elegant night out, as the Orangery is no longer a favorite of mine.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third time to the Orangery. ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our third time to the Orangery. As was the times before, The service, ambience and especially the food was excellent Best restaurant in Knoxville.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It has been better.

Dined on February 11, 2016

In spite of the fact that we were among the first early diners, they were out of the lamb entree and my choice of filet mignon with lobster tail was sans lobster. In addition, the menu as represented online did not represent the reality at the restaurant. My filet mignon was generous in size but a bit chewy. The Orangery is our favorite Knoxville restaurant but we will choose elsewhere for a while before returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible experience from front end to leaving.

Dined on February 11, 2016

Hostesses when we arrived looked annoyed. Did not have wines we wanted. The appetizers were fine.However, they did not have3 entrees available even though on menu. Believe it or not these are the ones that were wanted as well. Entrees were cooked and prepared poorly. The sauce on the snapper was like a day old glazed donut - hard and tasteless. The duck was overcooked and tough. The service was fair but inconsistent through the night even though there were only two tables eating in the dining room. This is a restaurant that we used to frequent a lot years ago but we had heard they had been slipping so we took it off of our list. We decided to revisit on the off-chance it had improved. No luck on that hope.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very disappointed. The food was too salty.

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was not to the quality of a nice restaurant - especially for the price. The food was salty, the lobster was not prepared like it has been before and the five scallops were lonely beside a bland pastry. The dessert menu was just typical cafe' without the French flare that was expected in a nice restaurant. I will likely not be back until I hear some outstanding reviews.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Exqusite

Dined on February 6, 2016

The following was written by my fiance: The Orangery still evokes a highly impressed reaction from locals when one mentions having dined there, and with just cause. The setting has always been tres elegant. Sean says it is a wonderful place to escape from the mundane and we both greatly enjoyed the architecture, wandering leisurely about the building, exploring like a couple of kids. I admit to having unusual sensitivity to light so this is why I felt the need to discount a star for ambiance since seating in the main dining area is a bit bright for my taste. Another star was removed for lack of privacy in the seating.prefer additional room dividers be implemented, personally, but I am also unusually private. The Chateaubriand was quite good, but just not as tender as even the filet we had recently at Puleo's, although the veggies (asparagus, mushrooms, and excellent toasted kale were perfect. so we received a delightful 'amuse' pre-dinner in lieu of bread since we requested gluten/egg/sugar free. By the way, the special requests were handled quite graciously. We did have to wait for coffee refills for quite a while at one point, but otherwise service was stellar. I must confess that I made a number of special requests even in addition to those already mentioned and found the staff extremely accommodating. That made this a dining experience rather than simply a meal out! We will definitely return to try the lamb, Yah Willing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2

what used to be a great restaurant was d ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

what used to be a great restaurant was disappointing on this night. several menu items unavailable. service was undestaffed. food was mediocre

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Orangery scores again

Dined on January 15, 2016

My wife and I dined at the Orangery for our wedding anniversary and it was memorable. The service, food, and ambiance were all great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Sadly the food has really gone downhill here.

Dined on January 15, 2016

The lobster crepes, one of the Orangery's specialties for years, were crunchy and not good at all. The cheese appeared and tasted like Velveeta. The management said a new chef had been in place for two months. They were out of the liquor we ordered, the wine lists (typed) all had the Sparkling sections removed. They were out of several items on the menu. Makes you wonder are vendors cutting them off? And for a Friday night business was sparse. We have enjoyed the Orangery for 25 years under the Kendricks. The new ownership needs to look back if they want to keep the place open. We are so disappointed.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We Deserve Better

Dined on December 26, 2015

I have gone to the Orangery, many times. I have always had a great time, except for this time. The front of the house person show in every way, that she did not want to be there. Their was only one server working with no help. The menu was cut in half. The food presentation was not good.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It isn't what it used to be

Dined on December 19, 2015

My wife & I have eaten at the Orangery since it opened in the early 7o's. Until it changed ownership a few years ago it was by far our favorite restaurant in Knoxville. It still has well trained servers & the best quiet atmosphere in town. Sadly the food is mediocre & VERY over priced. A $9.50 Tanqueray on the rocks was very skimpy. A $9.00 caesar salad had three leaves of romaine. The signature lobster crepes ($39) were very fishy & loaded with stuffing with small bits of lobster. My wife had trout (~$21) & she felt it was well prepared & fairly priced. The chocolate desert & espresso were perfect & fairly priced. This experience has been the same over the last three tries at the Orangery. For us it's time to part company.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious eggplant asagio, also beautifu ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Delicious eggplant asagio, also beautifully presented.

food3
ambience4
service3

Anniversary

Dined on December 5, 2015

Brand new chief and menu. Menu seemed a little limited. Not overly crowded so lack of attention by service staff seemed strange.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent French Cuisine

Dined on November 29, 2015

We had two delicious fish dishes, as well as the fois gras appetizer. Other than the sauce of one of the fish dishes being a bit too salty for my taste, the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1

Dissapointing

Dined on November 23, 2015

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews. I ordered the Filet Medallions Au Poivre with fries and creamed spinach. I received a regular filet. No Poivre and no spinach, fires and mashed potatoes. When I inquired about the filet, the waiter informed us that it was the executive chefs' day off- that was it. No, we'll fix it or anything. Had to wait some time to get the creamed spinach. At least the got me the creamed spinach!

food5
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating a birthday and were ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

We were celebrating a birthday and were given complimentary glass of wine and a dessert. Very nice gesture.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3

Whats the attraction?

Dined on October 17, 2015

Big 25th anniversary wanted a table at 615 told by open table nothing at that time had to be 530 or much later so took the 530. No humans around other than two tables when we arrived and only two more tables were filled when we left place was vacant. Wanted an expensive botitle of wine for the big 25 but wine expert not there yet so we selected a 75.00 bottle and thank goodness it was good. Ordered theSigniture dish lobster crepes they were so bad had to complain. I have to say they did take them off the bill to our surprise however we would have loved the memories of having a fine dinning experience instead it was one we wish to forget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service

Dined on October 1, 2015

The food and ambiance were nice but the service was the star.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5

pretty good date

Dined on September 21, 2015

Waitress was excelent. Food was tasty. Decor is slightly outdated, not my preference. Arrived at 5:40 and we were the first people there. Pianist had not yet arrived. It was very quiet to the point that it was akward to talk to my wife because it seemed that the employees would hear us. about 30min later more people arrived and the pianist began to play. at that point it was supprizingly loud but he played well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great time with friends and wife

Dined on September 11, 2015

Great time with friends and wife

food5
ambience5
service5

Easy to like

Dined on September 5, 2015

I have only had scallops prepared properly a couple of times. The Orangery's was, of course, perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3

disappointing dinner

Dined on August 24, 2015

overly salted and buttered food. scallops had strong fish odor. lamb very good. radio and voice overflow from kitchen to dining area. no manager on duty. cook unfamiliar with menu and prep. no server name (only banquet ID number) on receipt. tax not itemized on bill. piano player was excellent. server was good. the visit was filled highs, lows and inconsistencies at a premium price. I would not recommend to others or return until issues fixed and fixes sustained. My advice: if you can't, don't do it. save us all the disappointment.

food2
ambience4
service5

Great Service/Ambiance - Not great food

Dined on August 15, 2015

Our server was personable and accommodating. Very attentive to our needs and knowledgeable about the menu. Food was so-so for the price. The duck confit on crustini was dry. Steak medallions looked chewed up. Scallops on Risotto were great though. I don't think I would pay to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Tradition

Dined on August 14, 2015

We go to The Orangery every year for our anniversary and it never disappoints. The food is always exceptional, the service is fantastic (without being overbearing), and the setting is beautiful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Romantic/Date Night Restaurant

Dined on July 31, 2015

The service and food was excellent. There was a nice band in the bar (Bourbon Street Bar) area. The overall volume of the place was very very quiet though.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.