About The Optimist

914 Howell Mill Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

The Optimist and Oyster Bar at The Optimist is simply "The Hamptons meets The South." We are passionate about sourcing sustainable seafood and preparing it in classic ways. We're not reinventing the wheel -- just perfectly roasting "farm," fish and shellfish over Georgia hickory. Menu items range from the most authentic seafood gumbo with "pot luck" garlic bread to Maine lobster rolls, Gulf grouper with smoky spring Vidalias, and an ever changing selection of super fresh East and West coast oysters. The cool irony is that we have adapted a historic country ham aging "house" into an amazing space of comfort and escape through inspirations of coastal surf culture.

Oh... and if you are not a seafood person, we LOVE meat too! No worries, be optimistic! :) ...Ford Fry

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
The Oyster Bar opens at 3pm Saturday & Sundays

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 477-6260

Website:
http://www.theoptimistrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
$3 Valet service is offered through the Brady parking garage, located on property . Additional surface street parking is available through the neighborhood, as well as additional lots in the area.

Private Party Facilities:
The Optimist has a variety of event spaces that include bar events, restaurant buy outs, private dining up to 20 guests, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 404-355-5311x212

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
lobster roll - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
She Crab Soup  - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Mussels - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Chocolate Bread Pudding - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Georgia Bank Scallops - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Mahi Mahi - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Oysters on the Half Shell - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Sweet Potato - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Apple Cider Donuts - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Rockey Road Bread Pudding - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Cold Snap - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Peel and Eat Shrimp - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Octopus With Crispy Potatoes, Chorizo, And Herbs - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
basmati “fried rice,” smoked fish, curry, crushed peanuts, egg - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Red Snapper - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Apple Cheesecake W/ Caramel And Bourbon Whipped Cream - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp A La Plancha In Arbol Chili Lime Broth - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fried Oyster Salad - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Gulf Grouper - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Mussels in Green Curry. - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fried Clam Roll - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Carrots - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Black Grouper - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Roll With Seafood Gumbo - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Deep Fried Oysters - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fried Long Beans - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Donuts, Corn Ice Cream, Red Pepper Jam - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Old Salty Dog - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Gulf Grouper, Roasted Beets - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
White Train - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fish and Chips - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Salt Crusted Caramel Icecream - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Basmati Fried Rice - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Hushpuppies - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Corn Milk Hushpuppies, Beignet Style - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Oyster Sampler - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Halibut Fried In Duck Fat - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Scallops - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Angels on Horseback - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
The Cutty Shark - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Pound Cake Sundae - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Dark Chocolate Mousse - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Swordfish Braised In Duckfat - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Apple Buckle - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fried Soft Shell Crab - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Charred Octopus - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Flounder - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
East Coast Oysters - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
GA Shrimp a la plancha - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Whole Flounder - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Whole Ga White Shrimp A La Plancha - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Warm Chocolate Cassoulet  - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Savannah Style Beignets - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Seared Tuna With Grilled Octopus - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fried Blueberry Pie With Buttermilk Sherbet - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Fish House Punch - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Onset  - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Seared Octopus - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Oyster Sampler Accompaniments. - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Basmati “Fried Rice” - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Butter Burger - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
fried oysters - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Flounder with butternut squash puree - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
salmon, wood-roasted beets, smoked egg, horseradish, apple - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Oysters - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Little Gem salad - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Cobb Salad - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp A La Plancha - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp a Plancha - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Key Lime Pie - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Raats Chenin Blanc Wine - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
corn milk hushpuppies, “beignet style,” with cane syrup butter - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
whole white shrimp a la plancha, “sopping” toast, arbol chile, lime - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
raw oysters - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Frothy She-Crab Soup - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Shoestring Fries - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Brussel sprouts - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Wood Roasted Beets - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Argula Salad - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Cobia - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Grilled Octopus - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Yeast Rolls - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Blackened  Mahi Mahi Sandwich - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Garlicky Tiny Clams & Pork Belly - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Festive Fall Punch - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Peach Cobbler - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Brussle Sprouts - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Charred Spanish Octopus - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Birthday Drink - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Blackened Grouper Sandwich - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Sundae With Coconut Ice Cream  - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Champagne Punch - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Salad Nicoise - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
frothy she-crab soup with shrimp toast - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA
Crab Cake Sandwich - The Optimist, Atlanta, GA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

The Optimist will be open for Christmas Eve Dinner, with special holiday hours from 5pm-10pm. We look forward to serving you!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join The Optimist for New Year's Eve! Chef Craig Richards is preparing a special $85 per person menu for the evening, plus our oyster bar offerings. This menu will also be available a la carte for more casual dining in our oyster bar and main bar.

The Optimist Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Atlanta / Georgia
Seafood
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (116)
Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (87)
See All
Hot Spot (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Good for Groups (55)
Modern Decor (55)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Worth the Drive (54)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Fun (41)
Bar Seating (40)
Business Meals (38)
Open Kitchen (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Authentic (31)
People Watching (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Casual (28)
Happy Hour (24)
Healthy (22)
Cozy (17)
Seasonal (16)
Wood Oven (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tapas (7)
Great Beer (7)
Organic (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous! Our waiter, Doug was professi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous! Our waiter, Doug was professional and helpful. We started with oysters and they were all absolutely the best oysters we have ever tasted. Our choice included offerings from across Canada and the US. Simply the best taste and texture across the board. We both ate one of Doug's recommendations, flounder almondine. The fish was beautifully prepared and delicious. We shared a sweet potato side that was also delicious. Oh, did I mention the cocktails? Perfect combinations of ingredients, not too boozy, but just right. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for fine cuisine with excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical Ford Fry restaurant. Great space ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Typical Ford Fry restaurant. Great space. Great energy. Food utterly and completely forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

a very fun evening, oysters were excelle ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

a very fun evening, oysters were excellent and fairly priced. a bit nosiy for my taste but everyone was well behaved--just kinda frenetic.

Food was very goo as was service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was amazing. Server was attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was amazing. Server was attentive but not annoying. Will recommend to others. Great atmosphere. Certainly will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All food was excellent - some favorites ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All food was excellent - some favorites were the shrimp appetizer and the fried rice side. Also enjoyed the mussels. We each had different entrees and all plates were cleaned. Will definitely return. Be prepared for a loud environment. Tables are very close together (French bistro style) - when we arrived there were tables on both sides of us and it was hard to converse. Those tables departed and we were able to enjoy some quieter moments.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated my 16th wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Celebrated my 16th wedding anniversary. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our night out. We're looking forward to going back to try more menu items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

oysters yes --- regular menu isnt someth ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

oysters yes --- regular menu isnt something that made me want to get excited about. just my opinion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely delicious! The charred octopu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Absolutely delicious! The charred octopus appetizer was great, and our favorite part of the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops (lightly pan fried) were t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The scallops (lightly pan fried) were the best I've had. I went on my birthday and our waitress was superb! She went out of her way to make sure everything we ordered met our expectations. The food and especially the service exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My dining experience at The Optimist was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My dining experience at The Optimist was Ok..

The wait staff was very attentive, and professional

The ambiance was vibrant and full of energy but the food was just...

I had been told by several friends, and business associates that the food was over the top.

I am a foodie and love experiencing various restaurants. But more importantly, I like having a select few as my place for special occasions or key business dinner meetings.

I was told The Optimist would be on my short list but my experience was just Ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Never disappoints. Food is fresh and won ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Never disappoints. Food is fresh and wonderfully prepared and the server was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Great food & wine. It was a bit loud so conversation was louder than usual.

Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The venue was very sophisticated nice am ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The venue was very sophisticated nice ambiance, and the staff was wonderful butt our waiter was AMAZING, friendly and very attentive, I would recommend this restaurant to everyone

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a hit with my closest friends and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a hit with my closest friends and colleagues. This was a dinner with a regular business partner and close friend. Then we ended up running into more colleagues while eating there. The food was fantastic, the service is always excellent and they have a beautify room as well. A top spot IMHO.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE - FOOD IS FABULOUS - UNF ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE - FOOD IS FABULOUS - UNFORTUNATELY, WE GOT SEATED NEXT TO AND RIGHT AFTER A GROUP OF ABOUT 25 CELEBRATING A BIRTHDAY - FOOD SERVICE WAS SLOW AND A BIT UNEVEN - MANAGER NOTICED AND CAME OVER, OFFERED DRINKS BUT IT STILL WAS 1.5 HOURS TIL ENTREES CAME - AND THEN WE GOT 3, NOT 4 - ALSO, SO NOISY COULDN'T HERE REST OF TABLE - WILL NOT KEEP US FROM GOING BACK BUT WILL NOT TRY TO DO A BUSINESS DINNER - AND WILL BE MORE CAREFUL ABOUT WHERE WE ARE SEATED -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The meal was exceptional and the service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The meal was exceptional and the service great. The noise level in the restaurant on a busy night is somewhat challenging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for a much needed date night. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Went there for a much needed date night. We ate our weight in oysters. My man is a tequila aficionado, for that he was a tad bit displeased with the selection. But that was the only complaint. I was a Extremely Content with everything that we ordered and the service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, amiable to requests and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Friendly staff, amiable to requests and good food. Everyone enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I liked it very much, but the level of n ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I liked it very much, but the level of noise was too high

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dinner! Vibrant space big bar grea ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great dinner! Vibrant space big bar great seafood towers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was superb. food, drinks, win ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 14, 2016

everything was superb. food, drinks, wine, service, atmosphere. can't go wrong with this one.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing. Forgive me for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our server was amazing. Forgive me for not recalling her name but she was Australian and very knowledgeable as well as on point with her service. We ate with an extremely tired ten year old and never felt judged or inconvenienced for it. The food was fantastic from the bread to the peanut butter and jelly cheesecake. We especially loved the okra and hush puppies.

Thanks for a great experience, we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great, food, service, amb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was great, food, service, ambiance, value, everything was on point. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because we were initially seated in front of a door and it was cold that evening. We asked if we could be moved and they quickly accommodated us. The only thing is that we were seated right in front of the serving window. Not bad, but I had to watch and hear a lot of the kitchen activity. Other than our seating arrangement, we had a truly pleasurable dining experience and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very hip, very fun, food was delicious, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very hip, very fun, food was delicious, and our server was very attentive. What's not to like? They've created something special, for sure. Loved the band in the bar area. Only suggestion is that it's perhaps too loud for some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I dined at The Optimist f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I dined at The Optimist for the first time on our first wedding anniversary. It was nothing short of fantastic! They went the extra mile by writing Happy Anniversary on our menus, as well as treating us to complimentary champagne. The atmosphere was energetic and the service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for a date, girls night out, or any special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazeballs. My only wish is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was amazeballs. My only wish is that there be more gluten free options. Additionally, if legal seafood can do gluten free bread and be cheaper, anyone can.

The service was great.

The tables were a little close together, though, so cleaning a nearby table was sure to make you wear a few crumbs.

The bathrooms are easily the nicest in the city.

The only thing I would say I did not like is the agresiveness of the valet in reference to tips.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Optimist is a real treat -- starting ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Optimist is a real treat -- starting with the wonderful bar and talented mixologists, the fun vibe and ambience right down to the appetizers and entrees. It is the full experience of epicurean experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent, different and uni ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is excellent, different and unique. My scallops were a bit too salty, but still excellent. Loved she crab soup. Great service. Atmosphere is louder than I would like, and that was a Wednesday evening. FANTASTIC variety of port wines for after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time here at The Optimi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was our first time here at The Optimist, and we had a fabulous time. I read that the service has had some problems for other reviewers, but we had nothing but a stellar time. Food was excellent and surprisingly tasty. It was our anniversary, and it seemed the whole staff knew it and was congratulatory and kind. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent lunch. Mussels were fantastic. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent lunch. Mussels were fantastic. Blackened fish sandwich also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Celebrated my birthday here on 11/6. I l ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrated my birthday here on 11/6. I loved the environment. Good place for date night or celebrating birthdays. My server was amazing, he was very attentive and recommended great wine and food options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I discovered the Optimist approximately ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I discovered the Optimist approximately two years ago when it first opened. The food then was tasty, if a bit inconsistent. The restaurant hasn't managed its growth well. The din of noise, abetted unecessarily by both an outdoor band and an indoor music track, just wasn't that conducive to conversation. Tables are very close together, presumably to accommodate the restaurant's increased popularity. The waitress we had simply could not keep up with the number of tables she had to attend. As a consequence, we waited unduly long periods for food and drinks. The management has some tweaking to do before success begets failure. Also, to be frank, the lack of upscale options with tasty food in Atlanta tends to lead to over-subscription of places like the Optimist, which in turns makes the latter less, not more, of a desired destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Very fun but LOUD! Great food though. I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very fun but LOUD! Great food though. I am used to living in Florida and having moderately priced seafood. I did feel food was pricey!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food! The atmosphere was nice. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food! The atmosphere was nice. The cost is Very pricey...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We to try a new dining experience for bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We to try a new dining experience for birthday. Ambiance and food selections were . Thank you.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the Optimist doesn't disappoi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As always, the Optimist doesn't disappoint. My friend and I split a few small plates; roasted oysters, fried rice, salmon toast and Georgia apple salad. Each had a very distinctive flavor; each excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great ambiance. The wait tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food, great ambiance. The wait time was unusually long though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Food was uniquely inspired but excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was uniquely inspired but excellent. I might use the word "progressive" tastes. The service was excellent. My only comment was that is seemed a bit noisy for one on one conversation across a table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything I have had here is wonderful. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Everything I have had here is wonderful. I stop in almost every time I come to Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great scallops. Exceptional service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great scallops. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Oyster bar and cold seafood platters wer ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Oyster bar and cold seafood platters were outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.