Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About The Old Warsaw

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: (877) 336-7409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Live Music (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This is an old "has been" restaurant. Do not go. It needs to be completely renovated, needs a new menu, and a new chef installed. Service was poor, value was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific ambiance. Perfectly prepared food. Great wine selection. Fun dessert show with the Bananas Foster. Will return when back in Dallas. Awesome find suggested by the Sheraton concierge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We celebrated an anniversary here and the food was really good, the service impeccable. The piano playing was wonderful, taking request after request. Things to be aware of - I had the filet and it was coated in a brown sauce that I would have preferred being told about (I like my steak to deliver taste just from the steak)... My wife's jumbo scallop on top of the cooked bass really wasn't very jumbo. But overall we had a wonderful meal. The other thing (good for us!) was that the restaurant had just a few diners on a Saturday evening so I was surprised at that - it did allow for wonderful conversation and piano. Overall, we'll be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The place has changed, gotten smaller and was so noisy (between the bar, the kitchen & wait staff and the too loud piano music) I was barely able to carry on a conversation with my table guests, which was one of the smaller tables too. It was the most disappointing evening I have had at, what I thought was, still a high-end restaurant. Not sure that I will ever go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everything about this place is wonderful. Fantastic service. Amazing food. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Not as in their former glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent BD dinner here. Atmosphere is old fashioned formal dining. Expect a quiet, unhurried experience and European-style service in an ambiance of dark wood, white table cloths, and a live piano player. Nice wine list. We chose a Chateau Talbot 1999 which has held up very well. The server did a professional job with a reticent cork. My Caesar was good albeit a bit on the creamy side. Her baked goat cheese was a nice surprise. Unfortunately the kitchen was down to only one Beef Wellington which she got for her BD; I sufficed with a Petite Filet Mignon. Both cooked exactly to order. Side of au gratin potatoes was good although a bit bland. Chocolate and raspberry soufflés were very nice and fluffy. Service is European, which can confuse Americans. They do not hover and incessantly walk by your table and ask is "Everything OK?" Instead, they stand at the edges of the room attentively. If you need service, look up, catch their eye, and they will be there promptly. Neither our wine nor water glasses ever got near empty. Valet was prompt and friendly. Yes, he was in a tshirt and jeans, but with it 100F outside I don't blame him. He also got her car door and escorted us into the restaurant. Two improvements - the steak knives need to be sharp (even if the meat is tender), and the bathrooms needs some repair. Recommended for a special dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

the atmosphere was not quite the same as the old location. the big empty room adjacent to the main dining room was odd. the bar being in the dining room was not ideal. the service was just OK, not great for that type of fine dining. seemed to be minimally staffed. even though they were told in advance, there was no acknowledgement of it being our anniversary. the food was very good as usual.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Service and food were exceptional. I would highly recommend for special occasions. Check their fixed menu it has a great selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (East Texas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I was expecting the charm, food quality, & service that I had at the old location, but was very disappointed. The temperature in the restaurant was also very warm & uncomfortable. Sorry to say that we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very good. However, warm - needed better air conditioning. Men's room should have been cleaner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had the three course special meal. The crab cocktail was amazing. Asked for and got the free champagne. Both our entrees were wonderful and done perfectly- sea bass and veal chop. Crepes suzette were good but not as over the top as the rest of the meal. Wonderful quiet way to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. We will go back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We do not live in Dallas and had been to Old Warsaw in the old location for our 10th wedding anniversary. We returned for our 50th. The new location was, of course, much smaller which led to a much noisier dining experience, especially since we were seated across from 2 couples where one woman was attempting to out talk the entire restaurant. We would have asked to move but because of the size there was nowhere to move. It made it difficult to have a conv ersation with each other. The wait staff, the food, the presentation,etc.,were all as we expected, exceptional. Dinner was complete with anniversary cake,cherries jubilee, and a red rose. We are in Dallas more often now and have learned that you are open on Sun evenings so will probably try again but other patrons are the luck of the draw and the dining room will still be crowded.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Steak was flavorful, crab cake was excellent, and service was attentive but not annoying.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I has been looking forward to trying The Old Warsaw for quite some time. We had reservations, but had to wait for our table to be ready. We were fine sitting at the bar. The hostess took us to our table which was in the back by the kitchen. It was difficult to relax and enjoy our dinner while listening to dishes clanging nonstop. Sadly it was hot and noisy. Additionally, the waiters were constantly behind us preparing food for other tables. The food was decent, but not for the price. However, the pianist was excellent! We will most likely not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

After more than 20 years in Dallas my wife and I went to Old Warsaw for a special evening. Overall I would say it was a disappointment. By that I mean for the price point it was disappointing. The atmosphere was an A+. Very romantic with live piano music. Exactly what I was looking for. However, with a reservation we had to wait over half an hour for our table, with no explanation. We had to seek out a hostess upon arrival, as there wasn't anyone at the hostess stand. The staff was not well versed on their wine menu and had to go through no less than 3 people before anyone could discuss the wine we wanted to order ... and that discussion was minimal. If you are going to offer 1st growth French Bordeaux, be educated about your wine. Otherwise, the food was adequate and we enjoyed the menu and the evening. I'd recommend this to a friend for a romantic evening, but only if the service isn't important to them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wife's birthday. Great experience from entry to exit. Food and service was superb. We had a great time. First time visitor but we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The "special menu" included Sirloin and Lobster Tail. The "lobster tail" was about the size of a small scallop and the steak was well below average for a steak house.
One of the appetizers was "Salad with shrimp". There was no shrimp. In reply they brought us a small cup with a few morsels of shrimp.
The dinner was supposed to include a baked potato. It never showed up.
The only thing that went right was we were given a gift certificate so that we might try it again. We plan to return once more and report back here with a follow up review.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I can't believe the level this once great restaurant has stooped to. I've had better steaks at a Sizzler or all you can eat places like a golden corral. Not sure what the lobster really was but it was not edible. The shrimp appetizer was the typical frozen and thawed out but most every restaurant does that now for their shrimp cocktail. My wife's Sea Bass was average at best. Given the price ($$$$) I would never go back or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wonderful meal but very pricey.
Very attentive waitstaff.
Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Probably the best fine dining value in Dallas.
Moet & Chandon Imperial Rose Champagne for $59.00!!!
Less than retail.
Wonderful food, great freshly prepared soufflés and on the ball service.
Have dined here many times and will continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our steaks were so thin, no way not to over cook it. Flavor ok but not worthy of such a nice restaurant. It was hot, understaffed and really kind of depressing. Not the Old Warsaw of the past. We were looking so forward to this dinner and it was so disappointing. No one in our group would return. I hope they can get it back to the Old Warsaw we so enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We went to the Old Warsaw to celebrate our anniversary, and they did not disappoint. It's wonderful as a special occasion restaurent, although a bit pricy for everyday or weekly visits. Overall, we enjoyed the experience and will return.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant.
Entrees we're good desserts f-
Enjoyed the piano music
Service was efficient but not very friendly
Bathrooms need attention

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A delicious meal and a very pleasant evening. Surprised that the Zuccoto cake was not made with ice cream - a bit of a disappointment. It was nonetheless delicious.

A special shout-out to Edward/Eduardo - a young man from Chicago learning the trade. Way to go!!

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food and service was excellent. It was our 35th anniversary and we wanted something special. We got that at the Old Warsaw.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great menu and great wine selection. It is expensive but worth it! My wife and I went here for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Our libations were brought out quickly and than I had caviar for my first course which was served properly (my only complaint was that the vodka was not cold enough). I then ordered the lobster which was a little overcooked for my taste. Our dessert was the best part. My wife ordered the best raspberry sou flee I have ever tried in my life and my crepe Suzette was excellent also. Sometimes they have live music here but we missed it this time. The atmosphere was sparse. There were only about 4-5 tables for the whole evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went for a family birthday dinner. The food was perfect, the staff attentive and the ambiance was very special. Great place to celebrate any specific occasion.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The old warsaw created the food for our wedding 10 years ago and it's amazing every time we go back there. The service is always excellent and so is the food and ambiance. This is one our favorite places in the metroplex to dine! I HIGHLY recommend The Old Warsaw!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Best wait staff, talented piano player and delicious food! The chef's 3-course special is what brought us in and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A very quiet, old style place. Was almost empty on Sunday eve. Need to try it again for a Saturday dinner. The food was average+, the Moet & Chandon special offer was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything was excellent and exceeded expectations

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent dining experience-good menu- beef wellington and duck entrees were very good-service was friendly and courteous

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A Dallas tradition. Not outstanding, but good consistent food. Glad it's still part of the Dallas dining scene.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My mom and I took my dad to The Old Warsaw for Father's Day. It was perfect! There was a fixed menu for lunch, but luckily it included everything we would've ordered off the regular menu. Tomato/mozzarella salad, regular house salad with blue cheese dressing, salmon and snapper entrees, 8 oz filet entree, and an eggs Benedict entree. Anywho- the food was amazing, service was spectacular. It was quiet, but the music was at the perfect volume, it was a little darker ambience so it felt exclusive. We also had mimosas, which were divine. I will definitely be returning soon for dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Pre-Father's Day celebration. Everything from the service to the food was great. I would recommend it to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion or romantic date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I haven't been here in forever. My wife and I went for our anniversary. We like to eat early, beat the crowds, had reservations and where the first ones there. Thy seated us next to the piano at the first table, when every other table in the restaurant was open? I shrugged it off. We ordered the "Large" shrimp cocktail to share as an appetizer, which consisted of two large shrimp. Really?
The service was excellent, the rest of the food was excellent and we were satisfied. Brie soup, crab cakes, excellent steak, one stuffed with crab.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Every time we go to the Warsaw, they never disappoint. The food, atmosphere, service and just the overall experience exceeds our expectations with each visit. Thanks to all the wonderful and courteous staff for making this last visit one that my grandmother will never forget!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service at The Old Warsaw doomed our experience. The food tasted great, the ambience pleased our group, and the experience carried a reasonable price tag. But, the service was beyond excuse. To give a general understanding of the level of service you can expect: if the manager of the restaurant dresses down a waiter less than three feet away from your table and it halts your table’s conversation as a result, the service will likely leave something to be desired.

First, the wait staff and the chef could not prepare one of our party’s steak according to her specification. She meekly asked to have her filet prepared medium rare. The filet was instead prepared well done. She politely sent the steak. About twenty minutes later, her steak came out and it was prepared blue. It is not an exaggerating to say the steak was still mooing when it came out. I can understand one mistake in preparing a steak, even at a purportedly quality steakhouse like The Old Warsaw. But, the second result seemed intentional. I eventually traded my steak with her. None of us wanted to wait around for another incorrect preparation.

Second, communicating with the wait staff proved extremely difficult. We repeatedly asked that the staff turn up the air conditioning in the restaurant because multiple members of our party were sweating and this request went unheeded. We cut our dinner short so we could step out into a Texas summer night for relief. If you plan to visit The Old Warsaw, I would recommend wearing breathable and light attire

Finally, the restaurant erred terribly when they made three separate charges for a single bottle of champagne. Thankfully, our credit card company realized this mistake but this cemented our opinion of The Old Warsaw.

In short, this restaurant puts on the heirs of an elite steakhouse but cannot deliver the service necessary to rise to that level. We hope other patrons have much more pleasant experiences but we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent. We enjoyed the experience very much and even though we live over 60 miles away we will be back in the future and we will highly recommend it to our friends in the Corsicana area !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.