About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: 8773367409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw
  • Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw
  • Escargot - The Old Warsaw
  • Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw
Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw
Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw
Escargot - The Old Warsaw
Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Dallas - Fort Worth
Romantic
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Music (4)
Private Room (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service. Tables to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service. Tables too close to one another. Would be nice if all patrons displayed low keyed conversation and respect for others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had always heard about Old Warsaw, bu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had always heard about Old Warsaw, but had never gone. This was our 49th anniversary, and we decided to finally mark it off our bucket list. Soon after arriving we realized that this old popular restaurant is now living off it's former glory. The steak and red snapper were very good. The only think in the excellent category was the bananas foster. It was really the only item good enough to make us return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was attentive and accommodating- ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was attentive and accommodating--just right. It was my husband's birthday, and he was presented with a slice of birthday cake with candle. The food was excellent, and we especially enjoyed the seafood dishes. The chocolate soufflé alone was worth the trip! The atmosphere was cozy and quiet enough for conversation. The Old Warsaw was a good choice for a romantic dinner for a special occasion. Valet parking was courteous and efficient. We recommend it for its food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, top notch! And i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was very good, top notch! And it is a quite place, one you could have a conversation with your date or table without ambient noise making it difficult to hear. However, the service seemed confused and slow. We waited over 10 minutes for our drinks to arrive and over 20 minutes, after they took the entree up, for our desert to arrive.

So, if you go, you will be very pleased with the food and be patient with the service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, this restaurant continues to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, this restaurant continues to wow. We did not realize it had moved till someone told us and my husband looked it up on line and it is still on Maple, but on the other side of the Hotel St. Germain. They moved their wonderful booths. They continue to have the piano player which is quite nice. Miss the violin player though. Always a good meal and excellent service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined based on a special that was adv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We dined based on a special that was advertised $98 a couple. The food choices were outstanding. The meal was excellent as was the service. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here 7 years ago and very good then. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Ate here 7 years ago and very good then.

This time,We went on a mon night & only one customer when arrived .Server unaware of restaurant week special 3 course and just uninterested staff all around Spinach salad dressing so tasteless , lobster tough. Dover sole unlike I've had before&seemed like a different fish. Also, lacking much flavor from sauce. Grand marnier soufflé lacking orange flavor...very disappointed that this once spectacular restaurant has slipped so much!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server was sullen. My steak was med ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our server was sullen. My steak was medium and asked for medium rare and it was expensive for the quality. The soufflé was the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The filet melted in your mouth. Great wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The filet melted in your mouth.

Great wait staff. Fabulous piano player.

Old school service and food.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Head waiter curt and "surley ". 😕😕

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Head waiter curt and "surley ". 😕😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Had a very good meal with very good serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a very good meal with very good service. The new location appeared to be smaller than last location but food and service were very good. Nice wine list and waiter was right on top of his game all night long.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed Old Warsaw. The servi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We really enjoyed Old Warsaw. The service was excellent, the food very good, and we enjoyed the live piano music. And the bartender makes an excellent vodka and tonic. We had one of the three course meal selections offered during Restaurant Week, but also looked at the regular menu and saw some selections we will come back to enjoy in the future. Good value as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at the Old Warsaw for year ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have dined at the Old Warsaw for years. I have over the years watched the service and now the food continue to decline. What a shame. We had to request bread and butter. they never removed the wine glasses. We were having mixed drinks. The time between the soup, french onion, which was the worst I have ever had, and the appetizer. Time was way to long before the main course was served. How sad, How sad. I have so many found memories of this restaurant . I hope that they get there priorities in order and get the wait staff up to grade. The piano player was fine but the piano was hidden, and much to loud as to where our table was situated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were celebrating my husband's 73rd bi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's 73rd birthday and could not have been more pleased with our entire evening! Great restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR 47TH WEDDNG DINNER COULDNT HAVE BEEN ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

OUR 47TH WEDDNG DINNER COULDNT HAVE BEEN BETTER.

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even in its new location, The Old Warsaw ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Even in its new location, The Old Warsaw continues to be one of the nicest places in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lacking even though restaura ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service was lacking even though restaurant was not very busy. Ritz crackers were used on a $10 appetizer. The meat left a lot to be desired. The Mac and cheese was barely worth the one bite I took. The chocolate mousse was a cake rather than a mousse, no explanation was given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We have dined at Old Warsaw many times. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have dined at Old Warsaw many times. We took my parents to celebrate their 55th wedding anniversary. Since it was Restaurant Week, we took advantage of the $99 per couple for 3 courses special. The 3 servers we had (water girl, 2 servers) were delightful, quiet, attentive. However, we were very disappointed in the food. The lobster with crab appetizer was very tough. My dad couldn't even eat his and ended up spitting it back in his plate. Two of us ordered the 8 oz. filet...and there was no way we were served 8 oz...and the meat came to a point at the top like a roast would...and even tasted roast-like. I love filet, but this was not good at all. The red, mushroom sauce on top was fabulous. And beside the filet was a re-heated baked potato. Just plain. Sitting there. We were offered toppings for the potato, but we were very disappointed in the potato. The sea bass was fair...with grainy scallops on top. The cream spinach sauce somewhat overpowered the sea bass. This is my favorite fish, but I didn't even eat half of it. The dessert options were cheesecake (my husband got that it was very plain, but fine), pecan pie with ice cream (my mom got that and it was very hard on the top and dried out...which the ice cream did not help), and my dad and I got the chocolate mousse cake (which was very dry and I ate one bite and stopped). To top things off, when we left, the "valet" ended up being the owner. We had commented to him on arriving about moving to the new location and chatted about that a bit. So as we were leaving, he didn't notice us but was in a conversation with someone on the patio. When he finally noticed us, he said, "Oh, you were too quiet." Then he asked us how our food was. I told him we had dined there many times and loved it, but this night were very disappointed. He asked what we ordered...I told him. And his only comment was, "well, everyone loves our filets." Went and got our car. End of story. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was delicious, a little bit expensi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was delicious, a little bit expensive though. When i made my reservation I called them to see if they could bring a small piece of cake at the end of dinner for Birthday ocasion, they told me they would and took note of it but they never did it...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Piano music was a treat. Not too noisy, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Piano music was a treat. Not too noisy, easy to talk at table. Food very good. Could have used a little more attention from the waiter.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Expected better! Slow service and food w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Expected better! Slow service and food was average. Dessert tasted like cheap store bought. Vegetables were cold and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was painfully slow. Food was go ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was painfully slow. Food was good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Maitre D' / host doubles as bar tender. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Maitre D' / host doubles as bar tender. Wait staff attentive yet disinterested in their tables. Music was good but often too loud for table conversation. Dress code not enforced... This restaurant is way too pricey to find the couple seated next to you is in shorts. Quite a change from the elegant restaurant I remember. Will not return.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was very good and service was profe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was very good and service was professional. Great music and atmosphere. Desserts were not up to the standard of the rest of the meal, but they were still good. We would return if the opportunity came up again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband, our three grown children and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband, our three grown children and son-in-law celebrated my Birthday at The Old Warsaw. The food was incredible...I think even better than at their former location. We were not rushed, and the server even came back and suggested that my husband select a different entree as the server did not feel that what my husband had selected was up to Old Warsaw standards. It is such a treat to have a great fine dining experience that isn't a "chain".

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star restaurant with 5 star food and s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

5 star restaurant with 5 star food and service. Enough said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a while since I had been to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It has been a while since I had been to The Old Warsaw. Thought we would try since they had moved to the new location. We started in the Kennedy Room with cocktails, a definite find for an uptown bar. I will definitely go back. On to the dining room for dinner. I personally had the Lobster Thermadore, that I have not had in years, because it is hard to find. It was fantastic. The rest of the group loved their food as well. I also wanted to mention how delicious the steak tartar was!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter and his assistant were excell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter and his assistant were excellent and made us feel right at home.. Thank you!! Love the piano music!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only complaint was that my French on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The only complaint was that my French onion soup was tasteless. I should have sent it back. That was the only glitch in a wonderful and delicious evening. We especially enjoyed the piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Before this weekend's visit we hadn't be ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Before this weekend's visit we hadn't been to the Old Warsaw in many years. In both ambiance and food quality, this venerable old-line Dallas restaurant has declined, which is unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I was really disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was really disappointed in the food. The main course was done well but the salad was bland and the dessert was awful. We also ordered port with dessert and there was cork floating in both glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had filet and lobster. It was great. S ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had filet and lobster. It was great. Service was also outstanding. Just a little pricey for what you get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and food were both outstandi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service and food were both outstanding as always. The new location has its own new ambiance which was quite pleasant. We were there on a Monday and pleasantly surprised to have live music (piano player).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn't know what to expect because of the location change. Although the food was good and the piano was great, I'm not convinced it's any better than some of the other high end restaurants in the metroplex or in uptown for that matter. I will visit again for the small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Best of everything for a really nice eve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best of everything for a really nice evening dinner. The price is right. Since moving to the Dallas area in 1997, this is the first place I have found is exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here on our annive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went here on our anniversary and we were sooo disappointed! I wanted to try the beef wellington. I don't know what THAT was!! The meat was raw the dough was not done, and they had this little square supposedly goose liver and mushroom pate sitting on the top of the meat under the raw dough, and it was sour!!! This was served with what looked to be rewarmed mash potatoes. My husband had the salmon which was less average. I ended up with the same thing, salmon. We only wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been before and eat a gourmet dinner......never again will we ever go here!!

p.s. The place needs an updated. The décor is a bit outdated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Very personalized service. Very attentiv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very personalized service. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was as good as always the ambie ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was as good as always the ambience very pleasant the service very poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Both my wife and I thought the food was excellent and the service was very attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebration of our 49th wedding annivers ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Celebration of our 49th wedding anniversary. First time in the new location, having dined at the old location several years ago. Everything was perfect beginning with being picked up at our hotel (Renaissance) by a driver from the restaurant. We discovered on the return trip that our "driver" was actually the restaurant owner. That bit of information put an exclamation mark on the evening. The flowers I had ordered were awaiting our arrival at our table just as I had hoped. The new location still has the same formal feeling without the darkness and stodginess we somewhat felt at the old location. It's a beautiful, intimate, and welcoming space. The food was excellent, eclipsed only by the personable and efficient service. The baked goat cheese was other worldly and the smoked salmon and red snapper superb. The meal was capped off by a slice of delicious, complimentary "anniversary" cake delivered to my wife. Although the piano music was at times a little frantic, overall it had the feel of being in a movie scene. A lot of older popular music, much of which were themes from movies, that generally played softly in the background so that you knew it was there but it was unobtrusive. The cost of the evening was significant, but by today's standards, for a special occasion and for the value received both in food and treatment, it was well worth it. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.