About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: 8773367409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Escargot - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Escargot - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Historic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Live Music (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Private Room (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I arrived a bit early for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I arrived a bit early for our 8:15 reservation. We walked up toward the hostess stand, where there was no hostess to be seen. There was a larger group in front of us waiting for the hostess to greet them as well. As we stood there, my husband and I couldn't ignore an extremely offensive smell. We decided to go over to the Kennedy Bar which is attached to the restaurant. We figure the smell would just pass and we would return to the restaurant at our reservation time. The Kennedy Bar had a nice ambiance and felt cozy. We had 2 drinks and then returned to the hostess stand at the Old Warsaw for our reservation. As we stood there, still no hostess around, I could still faintly smell the offensive smell from earlier. We had been standing there for about 5 minutes and then the bartender finally came over to help us. We told him we had a 8:15 reservation. He then walked off, I assume to find a table. My husband and I looked at each other and we both agreed that we just couldn't eat here. We left and went to a lovely restaurant across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

food was very good the $ were fine for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

food was very good the $ were fine for the quality of the dinning

the service had some short comings and the the room seems to have lost the charm of "old"

restruant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience and will defin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food for the Thanksgiving meal was subst ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food for the Thanksgiving meal was substandard.

My friend did enjoy his meal.

Tags: Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard about The Old Warsaw all my ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have heard about The Old Warsaw all my life and always wanted to go see what it was all about. We didn't feel life cooking for Thanksgiving so decided to give it a try. It's a lovely spot with nice ambiance, but the food was disappointing. Three of us ordered the turkey dinner and the turkey and green beans were hard. The mashed potatoes and gravy were the best part of the meal. All of us left food on our plates. One ordered the filet and really enjoyed her meal. Deserts were delicious, but nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We went here on Thanksgiving. We had a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here on Thanksgiving. We had a choice of 3 fixed price menus. I chose to order off the most expensive, ordering Chilean Sea Bass and Sea Scallops. When my plate was served, there was only the sea bass on it. I had to flag down another employee to get my waiter to ask where the sea scallops were. After about 5 minutes, another employee showed up with a lobster tail on a fork saying he did not like the look of the sea scallops - at which point he dumped the lobster tail on my plate. Look, I do understand that there are times when the menu changes. However, the waiter should have checked with me to see if I still wanted that meal when there would be no sea scallops. Additionally, I would have liked options other than lobster tail, which I did not want. The service did not live up to my expectations. At the end of the meal, there was no adjustment to the final bill either. We will not be going back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

To start off, our party of 4 was seated ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

To start off, our party of 4 was seated at a awkward table. Th service was indifferent and slow. Too few waiters for too many people. The food was very good. The vibe of elegance Found in the previous location is lacking in the new location. Wouldn't recommend it and won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

Got last minute reservations. Anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Got last minute reservations. Anniversary, had a nice quiet booth, seated immediately, attentive wait staff. Enjoyed a cocktail prior to ordering but was not pressured to order,

left to call attention when we were ready to order. Nothing was delivered until we both

completed our course. (This is becoming a trend at some Dallas restaurants. [Bring next

course while still enjoying the prior course]). Affects the gratuity. Don't mind saying.

Escargot was a little disappointing, in a creamy sauce rather the shell and garlic.

Our steaks were very good, juicy, tender and soo easy to chew and down.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the new decor. Your sta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really liked the new decor. Your staff took great care of us, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were remarkable. My ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service and food were remarkable. My only complaints are that I asked for a dirty vodka martini with 3 olives and got a not so dirty martini with 2 olives. Typically crumbs are wiped aside between entrees but that could just not be something they do not do anymore. The new location is nice but lacks the elegance of the old location with the really neat aquarium. Also, there wasn't a pianist on a Saturday night which seemed odd.

With all of this said, I would definitely go back. The food was delicious and it was really nice of them to bring out a slice of birthday cake for my girlfriend! She said that she felt like a princess on her birthday and that is exactly the response I was looking for.

Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Warsaw was a pleasant place for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Old Warsaw was a pleasant place for dinner before the opera. The service was excellent. They have two Prix Fix options and also allow ala carte ordering from the menu. The Prime Rib was quite good, though not as tender as one recently in St. Paul. The Bananas Foster was excellent. The wine menu was substantial with many different varietals to choose from. I enjoyed my evening and expect to enjoy future evenings there as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The prior location was a perennial speci ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The prior location was a perennial special go to spot. Excellent dining and ambiance. The new location felt like a step down in the overall experience. Caveat - this trip was on a Monday evening and only 4 tables were occupied. The bartender cheering on his sports team was the loudest noise, yet he was in the bar area not the dining room. Perhaps they just need more time to adjust to the new location.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First of all, there is a terrible stench ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

First of all, there is a terrible stench in the restaurant. There are clearly mold, mildew, and sewage issues. Very, very smelly. Second of all, the menu items were not adequately described. Several of us that are lactose intolerant ordered the escargot believing them to be in a butter sauce. Instead, they were served in a heavy cream sauce and were not very good. The waiters ordered us the wrong Dessert and instead of our soufflé and instead brought them out half cooked. It was a huge disappointment and we will not return. So very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food is still very good but the ambiance ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is still very good but the ambiance is very average and a couple steps down in decor from the previous location which is what set it apart. Cant see my self returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was poor. When i pay formfine di ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was poor. When i pay formfine dining, i expect fine dining service. Service took forever. The staff was cold and impersonal. If you don't order liquor, then all you apparrently get is water. Food was good except for a soupy, underdone soufflee. We got seated at what seemed to be a plastic picnic table even though nicer tables were plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Soup was cold and service was so so. Not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Soup was cold and service was so so. Not nearly as nice as it was years ago. I was disappointed. Ward B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

The food, service and ambience were all ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food, service and ambience were all first class. We had a wonderful evening as we always do when we go to Old Warsaw.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piano player really added a nice touch t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Piano player really added a nice touch to the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was not very busy for a Satur ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Restaurant was not very busy for a Saturday night, two adjacent rooms off the main dining area were completely empty. Pianist was a nice touch, but they sat us right in front of the piano which was a little off-putting since it was so empty. It still had nice ambiance, and we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Food was not great, but edible. We both ordered of the prix fixe menu; the lobster & crab app was not lump crab meat, husband loved his boston salad; entrees were filet for husband, who said it was pretty good, I ordered the ribeye which was drowned in sauce (says a lot about a steak when it's covered in sauce - a good steak needs none); lobster tails were halved, maybe 3 oz of lobster meat, and also covered in sauce; mine was a bit overcooked, nothing to write home about; the au gratin potatoes were several thin slices of potato stacked on top of each other, it looked like a potato core? and had very little cheese on the very top of the stack - very strange. The side of asparagus I ordered was bland, not even salted and overcooked to the point of mush. On to dessert: husband had creme brulee which was in a crust rather than a ramekin (so a tart, not genuine creme brulee), and tasted overwhelmingly of vanilla extract. It was not good at all. I had the chocolate souffle which was plain unflavored souffle with a spoon dug into the middle of it and chocolate sauce dripped into the hole by the waiter; it was decent for what it was I guess, but a little too undercooked/soft in the middle and scorchingly hot, I almost couldn't eat it. The bottom was basically still liquid.

Service was OK, nothing spectacular. After they cleared our entrees, no one crumbed our table; there were still bacon bits from them "loading" the baked potato at the table when they brought dessert. For the $ I expected higher level of service. Waters were refilled promptly

All in all, I'm glad we went for the ambiance and to say we've visited a Dallas establishment, but we won't be back.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

As always, outstanding!!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always, outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had exceptional service! The ambianc ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had exceptional service! The ambiance is very nice with the dim lighting and the pianist playing. The food was outstanding. Escargot was exceptional. We sat in a booth which is nice and cozy and you can expect no rush at the Old Warsaw. They let you enjoy your wine and dinner completely. It was truly romantic. There is no place in town like the Old Warsaw. Its true fine dining. Its unique and classy and the live music was so enjoyable. The new location was wonderful. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to enjoy our 31st wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Went to enjoy our 31st wedding anniversary. Called in advance and notified them of the occasion but no acknowledgement at any time during the dinner. Food was very good, prepared exactly as ordered. Service was lackluster - coldly efficient but not personable. Definitely was a disappointment from previous visits to old location. The bright spot of the night was the pianist who played great arrangements

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food and service and piano sty ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent food and service and piano stylist greatly added to experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the new loca ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our first visit to the new location. Looked forward to going back to an old favorite.

However, everything was a bit disappointing except the atmosphere. The lamb chops had no flavor, the steak was OK but not a great piece of meat; and the duck was tough.

When we were finished all but one dinner plate was cleared in a timely manor and it sat for another 10 min before being cleared.

The young bus person was trying extra hard.

The music was enjoyable.

Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food with generous portions an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food with generous portions and good service. We chose the Fixed Price Menu. The decor in the main room is very nice but the side room is more basic. Valet parking is great. I would have liked to see more choices in wines by the glass, but otherwise everything was great and we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent in every respect

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent in every respect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was just OK for the type of res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was just OK for the type of restaurant. Food was ok but when you spend a lot on dinner I would have expected more from the wait staff. Would not go back. Too many other choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

There was a large group in a separate di ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

There was a large group in a separate dining area which caused the noise level to be extremely high and wait staff made no effort to close off that portion of the dining area. Wait staff was slow. Piano player rushed through songs. The prime rib lacked flavor and was tough. It is old but nice facility which reflects deferred maintenance with wires hanging from the ceiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great food and great service. Tables to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food and great service. Tables too close to one another. Would be nice if all patrons displayed low keyed conversation and respect for others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had always heard about Old Warsaw, bu ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had always heard about Old Warsaw, but had never gone. This was our 49th anniversary, and we decided to finally mark it off our bucket list. Soon after arriving we realized that this old popular restaurant is now living off it's former glory. The steak and red snapper were very good. The only think in the excellent category was the bananas foster. It was really the only item good enough to make us return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was attentive and accommodating- ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was attentive and accommodating--just right. It was my husband's birthday, and he was presented with a slice of birthday cake with candle. The food was excellent, and we especially enjoyed the seafood dishes. The chocolate soufflé alone was worth the trip! The atmosphere was cozy and quiet enough for conversation. The Old Warsaw was a good choice for a romantic dinner for a special occasion. Valet parking was courteous and efficient. We recommend it for its food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, top notch! And i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was very good, top notch! And it is a quite place, one you could have a conversation with your date or table without ambient noise making it difficult to hear. However, the service seemed confused and slow. We waited over 10 minutes for our drinks to arrive and over 20 minutes, after they took the entree up, for our desert to arrive.

So, if you go, you will be very pleased with the food and be patient with the service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, this restaurant continues to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, this restaurant continues to wow. We did not realize it had moved till someone told us and my husband looked it up on line and it is still on Maple, but on the other side of the Hotel St. Germain. They moved their wonderful booths. They continue to have the piano player which is quite nice. Miss the violin player though. Always a good meal and excellent service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined based on a special that was adv ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We dined based on a special that was advertised $98 a couple. The food choices were outstanding. The meal was excellent as was the service. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here 7 years ago and very good then. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Ate here 7 years ago and very good then.

This time,We went on a mon night & only one customer when arrived .Server unaware of restaurant week special 3 course and just uninterested staff all around Spinach salad dressing so tasteless , lobster tough. Dover sole unlike I've had before&seemed like a different fish. Also, lacking much flavor from sauce. Grand marnier soufflé lacking orange flavor...very disappointed that this once spectacular restaurant has slipped so much!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server was sullen. My steak was med ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our server was sullen. My steak was medium and asked for medium rare and it was expensive for the quality. The soufflé was the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The filet melted in your mouth. Great wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The filet melted in your mouth.

Great wait staff. Fabulous piano player.

Old school service and food.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Head waiter curt and "surley ". 😕😕

vip
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Head waiter curt and "surley ". 😕😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Had a very good meal with very good serv ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a very good meal with very good service. The new location appeared to be smaller than last location but food and service were very good. Nice wine list and waiter was right on top of his game all night long.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed Old Warsaw. The servi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We really enjoyed Old Warsaw. The service was excellent, the food very good, and we enjoyed the live piano music. And the bartender makes an excellent vodka and tonic. We had one of the three course meal selections offered during Restaurant Week, but also looked at the regular menu and saw some selections we will come back to enjoy in the future. Good value as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.