About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: (877) 336-7409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Escargot - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
  • Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX

Report a photo problem

Mushroom Brie Soup - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Steak Diane  - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Escargot - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX
Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail - The Old Warsaw, Dallas, TX

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
Historic (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Live Music (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went early do to broadway play time a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We went early do to broadway play time at 7:30. Service was excellent and the steak was exceptional. I would say for the price by far one of my best food experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. The spec ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food and service was very good. The special menu and wine special was an excellent value. A great place to go for fine dining at a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As the Old Warsaw is a Dallas legend, ev ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As the Old Warsaw is a Dallas legend, even in the new location, dining at this restaurant is always exciting. The décor, food, wait staff are wonderful. Considering the majority of patrons were dressed very nice, it was disappointing to us that some patrons dressed in white t-shirts and ball caps. We couldn't understand why the staff would allow individuals to enter the place looking like they just came from a tractor-pull!

Besides the revised dress code, I would highly recommend the Old Warsaw, especially when celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm not sure if we were there on a bad n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I'm not sure if we were there on a bad night or if there was a service scheduling conflict, but the dining room had an unacceptable amount of service people. One person was on the floor and and second assisted now and then. There were at least eight tables and the server could not attend to all of them. It took us 5 minutes to be noticed before we were sat. Then another 10 minutes passed before we received our menus. We were not impressed with the cold bread or the delay on drinks. We do not blame the service personnel, though. That honor goes to the restaurant manager and/or owner whose task it is to ensure service efficiency. This was an extremely special occasion, and I'm disappointed to say it was a bust. My date and I decided to make our exit before ordering the appetizers and main course. We immediately went across the street to Capital Grille and enjoyed a fantastic make-up dinner with great service.

This is my first negative review. I would like interested parties to know that there is a risk in making a reservation at this restaurant. As I stated above, this night may have been a fluke, but considering the experience, I don't foresee a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We have enjoyed this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have enjoyed this restaurant many times before the recent relocation, but this will be our last time. Our party of 4 arrived on time for our reservation but there was no one visible to receive us inside the restaurant. After a few minutes, I entered the main dining room, found a waiter and and explained that we had been waiting to be seated for our reservation. I was told to continue waiting in the small reception area (without seating) and we would be summoned when our table was ready. We were seated 45 minutes after our arrival while the maitre d'/manager ignored our party and continued to entertain his apparent friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

There was a lady a the table next to us ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There was a lady a the table next to us that had a small dog in her lap. She was petting it and dog hair was surely in the air. OMG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant to celebrate spe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant to celebrate special occasions and just because sometimes :) We were early for our New Years Eve reservation but even so did not wait long to be seated, maybe 5 or 10 minutes and we were almost 30 minutes early. This was only the second time at the new location but we still love the ambiance that has not changed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The piano music was amazing. The steak m ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The piano music was amazing. The steak melted like butter in my mouth. The lobster was delicious. The service was attentive. The new location did not disappoint and maintained the old world atmosphere expected from a legendary Dallas restaurant in business since 1948.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife, some friends of ours, and I dec ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife, some friends of ours, and I decided to try The Old Warsaw on New Years Eve because I had heard it had a cool atmosphere (it did).

The overall experience was lackluster, and the service was poor to say the least.

Our waiter, which I would hesitate to say was our actual waiter, was not attentive at all. Halfway through the meal I was asking my wife who our waiter was so I could reitterate that I did in fact want a drink for the second time.

A few issues: Our friends had to ask multiple times for drink orders after waiting 10 or so minutes. My entree, part of a fixed menu, was missing a side which I had to ask for. My filet was over-cooked. I would have said something, but our waiter was M.I.A., and by that point I just wanted to plow through dessert (which was excellent) and leave ASAP.

We did finally get a suited manager, I would assume (he was never introduced), and was accommodating, gettinganother forgotten drink order, but was walking away while still be spoken to.

The food was ok, the service was horrible, and I'm still only 50 percent sure we actually ate at the place I made a reservation.

Not a good start to a New Years Eve, and at the high-end steakhouse pricing wouldn't chance going again or suggesting to others.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We have been there twice for our anniver ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been there twice for our anniversary and pleased each time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a steak, It was cooked to our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We ordered a steak, It was cooked to our liking. Meat was tender & seasoned just right. Compliments to the chef. The staff was very friendly & attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing as always! Several times we've d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing as always! Several times we've dined here and we are always happy with this place. First time at the new location! Miss the old location. It very impressed with the new place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, I liked it. The serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was good, I liked it. The service was horrible. We had to ask for our check and we could've sat at the table for another 30 minutes before anyone would've bring us out check. Order the food to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Had a great time on Christmas Day. The v ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a great time on Christmas Day. The value was excellent. Food was very good. Family was happy. Waiter did a great job taking care of grandsons meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for Christmas Eve dinner. It was de ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve dinner. It was delicious. The menu had plenty of options, great portion sizes, and the ambiance was perfect - including the pianist. Would definitely go back. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Highly recommend the filet.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointment overall. Our waiter se ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A disappointment overall. Our waiter seemed to not speak English, therefore communication was quite difficult. One of the entrees was served without the accompanying side dish. When this was brought to the staff's attention, the response was indifference with no attempt to correct the situation. I expect significantly more at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Loved the old world charm and the ambian ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the old world charm and the ambiance. Food was very good and the entire experience was delightful. Thanks

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Horrible! Food & service was bad. Do not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Horrible! Food & service was bad. Do not go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

All in all, the food was fine. The servi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

All in all, the food was fine. The service was very poor. Would I go there again? Probably not.

The parking situation was terrible for starters, couldn't make my reservation on time because I was stuck in the driveway due to their parking garage being full/blocked. They didn't have an answer as to where their complimentary valet was, which was posted on their website that they had it but, no one could speak to it.

Upon entry, getting seated, and being asked what we wanted to drink...it took us close to 45 minutes to get our first drink. The length of time it took us to just order drinks, order food, and actually receive our food was way too long for the amount of people that were there. This led me to believe that they were understaffed because they had a big party in a room nearby that required multiple people attention.

The staff were 'nice' but, in my opinion that doesn't make up for the time wasted waiting on things to get to the table. If you knew you were going to have a party then you should be adequately staffed. Not only that but, on the open table seating area..there were only 4 tables and all other tables aside from my own had 2 people and mine had 4. They weren't exceptionally busy.

Again, the food was good it was hot, served as asked etc. But, the service also plays an important role in how things are carried out. If the service was better, I'd think about going again but, the food alone isn't that good that I'd want to go back. It was a one time try for me & my party.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Hidden jewel in Dallas. Great location, ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Hidden jewel in Dallas. Great location, excellent food and service. This restaurant is quiet enough for everyone at a table to enjoy conversation without raised voices. Ordered from the prix fixed menu including a starter, entrée, and dessert. One can order á la carte, however, the prix fixed menu is a great value and way to try several yummy dishes.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a smell of sewer gas that was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

There was a smell of sewer gas that was pretty unappetizing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prompt service, good food and wine. A l ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Prompt service, good food and wine. A little expensive but we will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I arrived a bit early for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I arrived a bit early for our 8:15 reservation. We walked up toward the hostess stand, where there was no hostess to be seen. There was a larger group in front of us waiting for the hostess to greet them as well. As we stood there, my husband and I couldn't ignore an extremely offensive smell. We decided to go over to the Kennedy Bar which is attached to the restaurant. We figure the smell would just pass and we would return to the restaurant at our reservation time. The Kennedy Bar had a nice ambiance and felt cozy. We had 2 drinks and then returned to the hostess stand at the Old Warsaw for our reservation. As we stood there, still no hostess around, I could still faintly smell the offensive smell from earlier. We had been standing there for about 5 minutes and then the bartender finally came over to help us. We told him we had a 8:15 reservation. He then walked off, I assume to find a table. My husband and I looked at each other and we both agreed that we just couldn't eat here. We left and went to a lovely restaurant across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

food was very good the $ were fine for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

food was very good the $ were fine for the quality of the dinning

the service had some short comings and the the room seems to have lost the charm of "old"

restruant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience and will defin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food for the Thanksgiving meal was subst ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food for the Thanksgiving meal was substandard.

My friend did enjoy his meal.

Tags: Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard about The Old Warsaw all my ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have heard about The Old Warsaw all my life and always wanted to go see what it was all about. We didn't feel life cooking for Thanksgiving so decided to give it a try. It's a lovely spot with nice ambiance, but the food was disappointing. Three of us ordered the turkey dinner and the turkey and green beans were hard. The mashed potatoes and gravy were the best part of the meal. All of us left food on our plates. One ordered the filet and really enjoyed her meal. Deserts were delicious, but nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We went here on Thanksgiving. We had a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here on Thanksgiving. We had a choice of 3 fixed price menus. I chose to order off the most expensive, ordering Chilean Sea Bass and Sea Scallops. When my plate was served, there was only the sea bass on it. I had to flag down another employee to get my waiter to ask where the sea scallops were. After about 5 minutes, another employee showed up with a lobster tail on a fork saying he did not like the look of the sea scallops - at which point he dumped the lobster tail on my plate. Look, I do understand that there are times when the menu changes. However, the waiter should have checked with me to see if I still wanted that meal when there would be no sea scallops. Additionally, I would have liked options other than lobster tail, which I did not want. The service did not live up to my expectations. At the end of the meal, there was no adjustment to the final bill either. We will not be going back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

To start off, our party of 4 was seated ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

To start off, our party of 4 was seated at a awkward table. Th service was indifferent and slow. Too few waiters for too many people. The food was very good. The vibe of elegance Found in the previous location is lacking in the new location. Wouldn't recommend it and won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

Got last minute reservations. Anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Got last minute reservations. Anniversary, had a nice quiet booth, seated immediately, attentive wait staff. Enjoyed a cocktail prior to ordering but was not pressured to order,

left to call attention when we were ready to order. Nothing was delivered until we both

completed our course. (This is becoming a trend at some Dallas restaurants. [Bring next

course while still enjoying the prior course]). Affects the gratuity. Don't mind saying.

Escargot was a little disappointing, in a creamy sauce rather the shell and garlic.

Our steaks were very good, juicy, tender and soo easy to chew and down.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the new decor. Your sta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really liked the new decor. Your staff took great care of us, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were remarkable. My ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service and food were remarkable. My only complaints are that I asked for a dirty vodka martini with 3 olives and got a not so dirty martini with 2 olives. Typically crumbs are wiped aside between entrees but that could just not be something they do not do anymore. The new location is nice but lacks the elegance of the old location with the really neat aquarium. Also, there wasn't a pianist on a Saturday night which seemed odd.

With all of this said, I would definitely go back. The food was delicious and it was really nice of them to bring out a slice of birthday cake for my girlfriend! She said that she felt like a princess on her birthday and that is exactly the response I was looking for.

Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Warsaw was a pleasant place for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Old Warsaw was a pleasant place for dinner before the opera. The service was excellent. They have two Prix Fix options and also allow ala carte ordering from the menu. The Prime Rib was quite good, though not as tender as one recently in St. Paul. The Bananas Foster was excellent. The wine menu was substantial with many different varietals to choose from. I enjoyed my evening and expect to enjoy future evenings there as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The prior location was a perennial speci ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The prior location was a perennial special go to spot. Excellent dining and ambiance. The new location felt like a step down in the overall experience. Caveat - this trip was on a Monday evening and only 4 tables were occupied. The bartender cheering on his sports team was the loudest noise, yet he was in the bar area not the dining room. Perhaps they just need more time to adjust to the new location.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First of all, there is a terrible stench ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

First of all, there is a terrible stench in the restaurant. There are clearly mold, mildew, and sewage issues. Very, very smelly. Second of all, the menu items were not adequately described. Several of us that are lactose intolerant ordered the escargot believing them to be in a butter sauce. Instead, they were served in a heavy cream sauce and were not very good. The waiters ordered us the wrong Dessert and instead of our soufflé and instead brought them out half cooked. It was a huge disappointment and we will not return. So very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food is still very good but the ambiance ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is still very good but the ambiance is very average and a couple steps down in decor from the previous location which is what set it apart. Cant see my self returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was poor. When i pay formfine di ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was poor. When i pay formfine dining, i expect fine dining service. Service took forever. The staff was cold and impersonal. If you don't order liquor, then all you apparrently get is water. Food was good except for a soupy, underdone soufflee. We got seated at what seemed to be a plastic picnic table even though nicer tables were plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Soup was cold and service was so so. Not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Soup was cold and service was so so. Not nearly as nice as it was years ago. I was disappointed. Ward B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

The food, service and ambience were all ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food, service and ambience were all first class. We had a wonderful evening as we always do when we go to Old Warsaw.

Tags: , Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piano player really added a nice touch t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Piano player really added a nice touch to the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.