About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: 8773367409

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Brie Soup
  • Steak Diane
  • Escargot
  • Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail
Mushroom Brie Soup
Steak Diane
Escargot
Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Dallas - Fort Worth
Romantic
Dallas
Special Occasion
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

romantic (24)
special occasion (24)
notable wine list (10)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter and his assistant were excell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter and his assistant were excellent and made us feel right at home.. Thank you!! Love the piano music!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only complaint was that my French on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The only complaint was that my French onion soup was tasteless. I should have sent it back. That was the only glitch in a wonderful and delicious evening. We especially enjoyed the piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Before this weekend's visit we hadn't be ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Before this weekend's visit we hadn't been to the Old Warsaw in many years. In both ambiance and food quality, this venerable old-line Dallas restaurant has declined, which is unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I was really disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was really disappointed in the food. The main course was done well but the salad was bland and the dessert was awful. We also ordered port with dessert and there was cork floating in both glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had filet and lobster. It was great. S ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had filet and lobster. It was great. Service was also outstanding. Just a little pricey for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and food were both outstandi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service and food were both outstanding as always. The new location has its own new ambiance which was quite pleasant. We were there on a Monday and pleasantly surprised to have live music (piano player).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn't know what to expect because of the location change. Although the food was good and the piano was great, I'm not convinced it's any better than some of the other high end restaurants in the metroplex or in uptown for that matter. I will visit again for the small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Best of everything for a really nice eve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best of everything for a really nice evening dinner. The price is right. Since moving to the Dallas area in 1997, this is the first place I have found is exquisite.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here on our annive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went here on our anniversary and we were sooo disappointed! I wanted to try the beef wellington. I don't know what THAT was!! The meat was raw the dough was not done, and they had this little square supposedly goose liver and mushroom pate sitting on the top of the meat under the raw dough, and it was sour!!! This was served with what looked to be rewarmed mash potatoes. My husband had the salmon which was less average. I ended up with the same thing, salmon. We only wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been before and eat a gourmet dinner......never again will we ever go here!!

p.s. The place needs an updated. The décor is a bit outdated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Very personalized service. Very attentiv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very personalized service. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was as good as always the ambie ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was as good as always the ambience very pleasant the service very poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Both my wife and I thought the food was excellent and the service was very attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebration of our 49th wedding annivers ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Celebration of our 49th wedding anniversary. First time in the new location, having dined at the old location several years ago. Everything was perfect beginning with being picked up at our hotel (Renaissance) by a driver from the restaurant. We discovered on the return trip that our "driver" was actually the restaurant owner. That bit of information put an exclamation mark on the evening. The flowers I had ordered were awaiting our arrival at our table just as I had hoped. The new location still has the same formal feeling without the darkness and stodginess we somewhat felt at the old location. It's a beautiful, intimate, and welcoming space. The food was excellent, eclipsed only by the personable and efficient service. The baked goat cheese was other worldly and the smoked salmon and red snapper superb. The meal was capped off by a slice of delicious, complimentary "anniversary" cake delivered to my wife. Although the piano music was at times a little frantic, overall it had the feel of being in a movie scene. A lot of older popular music, much of which were themes from movies, that generally played softly in the background so that you knew it was there but it was unobtrusive. The cost of the evening was significant, but by today's standards, for a special occasion and for the value received both in food and treatment, it was well worth it. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good overall but not outstanding like it ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good overall but not outstanding like it was a few years ago for Mother's Day Also the new location is not nearly as nice as the previous location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Two comments

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

One was the wait person did not bring a side dish ordered with the entree until the entree was nearly finished. He apologized.

Two there was a loudmouth at a nearby table with 5 others that made it unpleasant for all those around him. Restaurants cannot control this I guess but it put a dent in a special occasion with my wife and me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

date night

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Nice quiet place for a romantic dinner. Had a Greek salad, new York steak that just melted in your mouth. The best steak I have had in a long long time. The service was excellent. The only thing I would change is I would make a 7:00 pm reservation so I could the live music that start at 7:00 pm.

I recommend that everyone sold try this place out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding Restaurant with Live Music

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I invited a guest speaker with his wife to honor his hard work done for Richland and Mountain View colleges with his scientific talk on the Theory of Relativity (as a continuation of the 28th Texas Symposium on Relativistic Astrophysics in Geneva, Switzerland, December of 2015) . There were also present my husband and a colleague from Mountain View College. We all admired the evening. Food was just excellent. They have a great violinist who comes to many tables, while playing charming melodies. All that was beyond our expectations. We enjoyed the evening indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, somewhat a disappointment. Food ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall, somewhat a disappointment. Food did not meet expectations, service was slow and atmosphere is traditional, but tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always impressed

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We have celebrated many special occasions the Old Warsaw. The service, food and ambience are always the best. This is a must for any special occasion. The food is great and the menu selections are very good. The filet is out of this world, and the steak Diane is amazing. The staff is always professional and top notch. First class service all the way. The violin player is always accommodating to playing special requests. The best part are the deserts. The soufflé is the best desert I have ever had (the chocolate is my favorite but the raspberry is pretty tasty too). I am curious to see what the new location brings, but look forward to new beginnings at the Old Warsaw.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last of the old warsaw

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our dinner was one of the last days before the relocation of the Old Warsaw to its new location. It was a great send-off; the meal was fabulous. I can't wait until we try the New Warsaw.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Food , service and ambience were all ver ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Food , service and ambience were all very good. Loved the old style atmosphere however we found out they will be moving to new location where atmosphere will be more relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Experience, but lacking in a few areas...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I went to the Old Warsaw to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary on a Saturday night. I had wanted to dine there after seeing their advertisements in the Dallas paper for years. We had a 7:30 PM reservation and arrived early at 7:15. We had to wait about 5 minutes before someone came to the reception area and seated us. At that time there were perhaps 5 other couples in the restaurant and one large group of about 8 people. We were seated in a corner table away from other diners. A waiter came almost immediately with water but then we had to wait several minutes before another waiter came to take our order. We started with a Greek Salad (I had wanted a Classic Caesar but the waiter implored me to take the Greek salad instead). It took a good 15 minutes or so before our salads were brought out to us. The entrees were delicious - I had the Filet Mignon with crabmeat and my wife had the ribeye. We were very disappointed that our selections for dessert - German Chocolate Cake and Key Lime Pie- were not available. I can understand if the restaurant was packed for dinner, but it was 3/4 empty. We enjoyed the ambiance - the restaurant is very romantic and we liked the piano and violin serenade. Also, the rose presented to the ladies in the restaurant is a nice touch. It was a pleasurable experience, but it could have been better had the desserts we wanted been available. We will consider going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Memorable date, unique ambiance. My da ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Memorable date, unique ambiance. My date said at one point "this feels like I'm in a movie." The live music in the background was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food just was not as good a places that cost less. I was expecting the food to be a little better and it ws crowded.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Valentines at the old Warsaw

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The live music was awesome. The only mishap was that they messed up on how we wanted out steaks cooked. They fixed the order after all. Overall, pretty nice place

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very accommodating and responsive. Had a very nice romantic Valentine's Day dinner. Everything was great! Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great and the wine that was recommended to us by Al, was awesome!

They had a lady playing the piano and a gentleman with a violin and they both played beautiful romantic songs and went to each table which was a very nice touch.

We are sorry to hear they will be closing this one down but it was great to hear there would be another one opening soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to Old Warsaw again for Valentine's Dinner. As before the meal, service, and ambiance were excellent. Good "old school" service that you don't hardly find any more!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wondering and great foo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was wondering and great food. Very romantic wonderful experience thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad experience!!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I will not recommend this restaurant. Poor food quality. The place looks horrible.

Service was bad, and there was no Bar!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

J Langham

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was slow. For $70 I expected my steak to be more than just a few inches wide. I also expected the lobster tails to be bigger than the shrimp cocktail. My friend ordered beef wellington - medium rare. The first one came out well done. The second one came out bleeding and the crust around the outside was doughy, not cooked all the way through. Then the maitre d' wanted to argue with her about the temperature. This night was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed in an old favorite

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had not eaten at the Old Warsaw in many years but wanted to have the delicious lobsters and Grand Marnier souffles of years gone by. Both dishes were inedible. The lobster came outside of its shell leading me to believe that it had been frozen. Then it was overcooked. When I told the waiter that it was inedible he said he would alert the chef. The souffles were soupy and flavorless. I hate that this wonderful old standby has taken a turn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We had not been in a long time to this c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

We had not been in a long time to this classic restaurant. We certainly were not disappointed in the Old world Charm that this restaurant exudes. We discovered that they will be moving to a new location March 2016. We will certainly be going to check out their new location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last visit to Old Warsaw before the move

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

With Old Warsaw moving in the next couple of months, we wanted to visit the original location one last time. They did not disappoint! Food was the usual high standard, service was supreme, ambience sincere. The piano player was a perfect background sound allowing conversation (when the standard today is music so loud you can't hear your dinner mates). Wine specials were a nice addition (likely on an effort to reduce stock before the move). Chocolate soufflé was the perfect ending as always to the amazing meal. Sayed has been serving there for years and his wit and smile only enhanced the evening.

We can only pray the new location can bottle the ambience and charm of the current location and translate it well into the new walls. But Old Warsaw is a great example of a superb restaurant being a product of more than just the food. Dying to know if the eels and shark in the tank as well as the fabulous chandeliers will make the move!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of eight of us went here for a b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

A group of eight of us went here for a birthday. Impeccable service, incredible ambience. Amazing location for special event or occasion. Fabulous food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We were the only 5 people in the restaurant. We were treated royally. Will visit again soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The Old Warsaw is our favorite restaurant and has been since we first tried it in 2012, we are very sad that it will soon be torn down and relocated and just hope that the new location has the same type of ambiance. It was nice to be remembered by the staff. New Years Eve dinner was very good as usual, was a little disappointed that the menu did not have the normal variety of selections, but they did offer the crab cake appetizer I love so much. The baked lobster was delicious as well. They were more crowded than we normally see it so that is the only reason I have the noise level at moderate, it is usually a nice quiet place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve dinner at Old Warsaw, disappointing

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I spent New Years Eve looking for a web page for Old Warsaw and never found one. The only reference I ever found for the menu had the full menu. I had no idea when we showed up that the dinner was a fixed price menu. To add insult to injury, the old standbys of the spinning ceasar salad and chocolate soufflé were not available. I was forced to order items that I did not want. As I expressed my disappointment, the waiter became more aloof and perturbed. He evidently just wanted us out delivered food and never offered after dinner coffee or drinks. Old Warsaw has great ambience and music to have the dinner ruined by the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

great place for conversation

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

It was quiet enough for our group of six to carry on a conversation, even with the background music which is difficult to find. If you are looking for a fairly quiet atmosphere with good food and excellent service, I highly recommend the Old Warsaw for a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was not up to quality for the price ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was not up to quality for the price, nick and Sam's is 1000% better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.