Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About The Old Warsaw

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: (877) 336-7409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

66% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Live Music (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort by
S
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Still one of the very best restaurants in Dallas. Remains a classic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We ate with two other couples for New Years Eve dinner. It was the first time since they moved to new location. The new digs are an impressive upgrade. Old Warsaw has been around for years and I forgot to think about it for a long time. The food is very good and the prices are wonderful. I had the avocado and lump crab appetizer and the sea bass entree. Both were wonderful. I love german chocolate cake and their's met my approval as one of the best I've had in a while. Service was attentive, but left us alone enough to enjoy our friends. New Year's menu was a shortened version of the regular menu, so I can't wait to go back to enjoy more of what they have to offer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2018

I have been there before on multiple occasion and it had always been a superb experience. I went in Sunday night thinking it would be just as the previews times, to my surprise it was the complete opposite. Beginning with the "special chefs" menu. The selection was not adequate for a NYE feast let alone the desserts. All of them looked like cake sheets bought from Albertson's or Walmart. I ordered a drink, an old fashioned, and it was never brought to me. The table next to me which sat afterwards all received their drinks. After I inquired about my drink, it was then brought to my table promptly. As for the dinner, my wife ordered the filet steak and I the 18 oz. bone in rack of lamb. Both were cooked well done and scorched on the outside. We asked for medium well. We did not complain because we wanted to leave as soon as possible from this establishment. When we were initially given the menu, we were disappointed at the dinner selection. We would have walked out but per the employee that called to confirm our reservation, we felt obligated to stay against our will because we would have been charged $100. I will also mention, the lobster macaroni was awful. I have had the lobster macaroni from this establishment in the past and was not disappointed. But on this occasion, it was not creamy but runny, and the elbow that used macaroni felt like it was undercooked.
I would not recommend this restaurant when the menu is limited and on special occasions or when it is a special holiday. If someone wants to truly enjoy this establishment, they should go when it is not a busy time of the year.
Lastly, the overall price was definitely not worth it. At most it should have been $50 a person, such as the price that was given this week.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year’s Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Amazing service and quality food. Would highly recommend this restaurant. We went for our 10 Year Anniversary and our 1st 9 years ago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Our first visit to the Old Warsaw was a half way point meeting with friends. We have seen yall's advertisement on Billboards around the Dallas area. We enjoyed the 3 course meal along with the rolls prior before our meal. The main course was the 22 oz Rib Eye myself and guess both committed that our steaks were cooked to our liking but it was tough. Our knifes had trouble cutting threw them. The girls enjoyed there meals 1 had Sea Bass and the other had the 8 oz filet both committed that there meals were great. Thanks you for review request. Happy New ......

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Did not live up to its reputation. The veggies were bland. The quality of my steak was something I would expect from cuts sold in supermarkets, also it had no seasoning.
The one exception---the escargot with brie was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of the steaks and food in general. There are much better options for fine dining in the Dallas area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We have gone to Old Warsaw for years! We have never been disappointed! The food is always delicious and well presented on your plate. Unlike some restaurants in the Dallas area, you
are given generous portions. The service is attentive without being overly attentive.
The new location is beautiful. They have private dining spaces, which are suitable for
family or business meals. Always valet parking...and no waiting for an extended time to
get your car.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2017

The Old Warsaw is now living on its name.

Our reservation was for 9 and was first placed in a large unadorned hall. We protested and were then moved to small table.Service staff poorly trained. escargot and mushroom soup served cool. Pumpkin cheesecake half frozen.

At $800.00 plus no way

George R Jones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Fixed price menus offered great choices at reasonable prices. Appetizers and entrees were excellent quality and good portions. Service was very friendly and attentive. The desserts were disappointing though. Several diners says their soufflés were “eggy” and my key lime pie was mild and not tangy as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great ambience. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2017

My steak was terrible. Both my wife and I were sick the next day.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Service was terrible - they brought our cocktails out one at a time - the Wine had turned and had to be sent back - The staff was very disjointed...............we were very surprised...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2017

A very nice location and setting, but the food did not deliver the value I expected. Old Warsaw has a good reputation, but we experienced several mis-steps.
Our order was incorrect. My filet was to be medium rare, and my wife's medium. They were switched. I had lobster mac and cheese, which I did not order. My wife did not receive her mashed potatoes. We received them after about 10 minutes. The mushrooms on one steak were cold. My brie soup and key lime pie were exceptional. Despite the issues with our order, the service was excellent, attentive, and friendly.
I just don't know why I would go back when there are so many steak house choices in Dallas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2017

I’ve been to the Old Warsaw several times over the past several years. It has an old style traditional atmosphere and service, and has some menu items you rarely see anymore (like lobster thermidor). It has always been an enjoyable experience but this last visit, they seemed to have lost their sense of timing.

Except for the rolls, EVERY dish was brought out, well, lukewarm at best, and sometimes downright cold. As one might imagine, this really detracted from the overall experience. There were only 12 customers in the place, so it hardly could be attributed to the workload, and in a place that’s been around this long, could only be attributed to a serious lack of attention. I sincerely hope this was a singular event and is corrected immediately.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

We had a great time. Their interesting preparation for Escargot with a sauce was excellent and a nice surprise. The dinner rolls were fabulous. The lobster and crab appetizer was loaded with lobster. A bargain. The asparagus was badly prepared but overall it did not detract from a fine dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2017

At check in for appointment was greeted rudely and sit for a good amount of time before service was rendered

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2017

This was our first time visiting and it was our Anniversary and we wanted something nice, romantic and cozy. I would have enjoyed a better table away from others but it was find.
I really enjoy the gentalman that played the piano. He arrived shortly after our dinner was over, but we still got to enjoy the music. Everything was good. Next time we will make a later reservation. I think we were to early.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great for a date night! Very romantic.
We loved seeing the owner Al after so many years.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Lobster Bisque was watered down,no sign of cream, steak was great , lobster was tough and hard to find on our plate.
Waiter not very attentive, and we didn't seem to be welcomed
Was not a good experience at all
Have attended your restaurant a number of times since the 80's Then it was great,we probably will not return

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Our dinners were exquisite. The room was beautiful. Service was attentive and polite (not too familiar or chummy). We enjoyed the piano music, but unfortunately we were immediately beside the piano, which made conversation at our table a little difficult. If we had been seated a bit farther from it I would rate our dining experience five stars across the board. Very reasonable prices, too, for such a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Lovely dinner. Interesting, unique environment. Nice and quiet. Fixed price menu is a great value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

If you want to enjoy classic menu items that you haven't seen since the 60's, this is the place. Live piano, rich wood paneled walls, old world wait staff and service. The Old Warsaw is a gem. Give the beef Wellington a try... or the lobster thermidor. Great cocktails... excellent desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Service is extrodinary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was great. The ambiance was wonderful. The piano player did a great job and the service was second to none.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have dined here before and it was a great experience but this time it was horrible. The food was totally unacceptable and the service was just a little above that. The only thing that saved the evening was the piano player, he was great. Before this experience I would highly recommended this restaurant but after Saturday’s experience I won’t go back myself let alone recommend to someone else. I understand it could have been an off night but it was so bad I would prefer to spend my time and money at one of the many good restaurants in the Dallas area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Overall the food was good but not for the money, the atmosphere was very nice with a gentleman playing piano. When we first arrived we waited 5 minutes for someone to even greet us at the front. When we were sat a patron at another table said out loud we have been waiting for someone to take our drink orders for 10 minutes.

Obviously having service issues. I could find better restaurants in Dallas with the same quality food and better quality service to spend my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2017

After years of wanting to go to Old Warsaw, made reservations for 715p Sunday. Arrived a bit early, then with a totally empty main dining room, was seated at the corner table at the entrance to the kitchen, a terrible table with lots of waitstaff traffic every minute passing directly in front of our table. Our waitress spoke with a heavy accent, had to have her repeat nearly everything. Only other patrons in the place was a private party of 25 in the second dining room.

Ordered wine, waited ten minutes for that. Had to order appetizer, entree, and desert all up front, for some reason. Then waited 20 minutes for the appetizer to arrive. Then ANOTHER 30 minutes for the sirloin & lobster...all while we watched the staff parade back and forth in front of our table. Our waitress? No idea where she was... All this time I'm calculating a tip for a $150 meal: $30? Hell no. $25? No way. $20? Hasn't come close to earning that. $15? Begrudgingly paid...(but she earned less than half of that). I get better service at Waffle House.

Ordered our steaks medium well and medium, but came just medium and rare, cold center. Lobster tails were small and tough, and pretty much mutilated, but had a nice sauce. Busboy staff did keep water glasses full and wine poured.

My tepidly warm apple pie desert was no better than grocery store freezer, but the small scoop of ice cream was very good. After we had finished both deserts, THEN they brought out a slice of birthday cake...had to take that home, since we had already finished the other deserts. Never offered coffee.

Old Warsaw? Completely disappointing experience. Maybe worth $60 if we had a decent table and service. Go again? Nope...never. Recommend it? Not even to folks I don't like....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

So easy to make dinner reservations through Open Table! Pick your restaurant choice, date, time and number of guests. They do the rest!

Food however, lacked spark. Prime rib my husband received was overcooked, but he didn't want to send it back since it took so long to come out. Advertised "lobster tail" was technically correct, but tiny. All of it would fit on one spoon.

We were the only patrons in the restaurant at the time, so we didn't understand why it took almost 20 minutes to get our appetizers! We like to dine early before the crowds come in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Excellent steak and lobster, no waiting for our reservation, parking is the least worry over all restaurants. Easy access in and out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We must have been there on an off night. The food was good, but not special. Bread was terrible. The chef must be a tarragon fan, because there was way too much in the escargot. Lobster thermidor was good enough, brussel sprouts were plain, and the chocolate soufflet sauce tasted like it was Hershey's syrup. The coffee was so bad, I sent it back. It was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2017

If you miss quiet restaurants where you can actually have a conversation while you enjoy great food and wine, Old Warsaw is the place to go. Yes, they encourage dressing well and it's nice to see diners who treat going to this restaurant as if it's a special occasion - even when it isn't. The seafood and steaks are top quality and the desserts, many of which are cooked table side, are delicious. All of this while enjoying live background piano.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2017

A Dallas landmark. It is fabulous! Everything about it is wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This was NOT a good experience, especially considering that I thought this was a fine dining establishment. The food was not that good for an expensive meal and the service was attentive but not friendly, in fact almost rude. We won't be doing this again for sure. My fish was cooked perfectly, but not seasoned well; nor was the accompanying rice and spinach. My wife got the lobster thermidor which was just OK.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays and anniversary here and the food was delicious. The service was excellent and we enjoyed listening to the piano player.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was good but not great. I'd been to Old Warsaw several years ago and the service and ambiance are not nearly as nice now.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Some of the best prepared "common specialties" in the world!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The piano player was too loud, making it difficult to have quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was horrible. The hostess who doubles as a waitress and quite possibly a bartender, didn't acknowledge our existence for 15 minutes and then sat a party of ten ahead of us. Mind you we got there first and had a reservation.

The magic of the old Warsaw is gone. All that is left is horrendous service and an evening of abuse and a total waste of your dollars.

Heed my warning, stay away from this place. The valet opening the door for you will be the best service you get all night. It goes south as soon as you enter the door.

I will not recommend this restaurant for my worst enemy. It was an hour and a half of torture.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.