About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: 8773367409

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Brie Soup
  • Steak Diane
  • Escargot
  • Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail
Mushroom Brie Soup
Steak Diane
Escargot
Grill Prime Rib Eye & Lobster Tail

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Dallas - Fort Worth
Romantic
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (25)
romantic (24)
notable wine list (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (5)
fit for foodies (5)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both outstandi ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service and food were both outstanding as always. The new location has its own new ambiance which was quite pleasant. We were there on a Monday and pleasantly surprised to have live music (piano player).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I took my daughter to dinner but I didn't know what to expect because of the location change. Although the food was good and the piano was great, I'm not convinced it's any better than some of the other high end restaurants in the metroplex or in uptown for that matter. I will visit again for the small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very personalized service. Very attentiv ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Very personalized service. Very attentive.

food4
ambience4
service2

The food was as good as always the ambie ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was as good as always the ambience very pleasant the service very poor

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

Both my wife and I thought the food was excellent and the service was very attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebration of our 49th wedding annivers ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Celebration of our 49th wedding anniversary. First time in the new location, having dined at the old location several years ago. Everything was perfect beginning with being picked up at our hotel (Renaissance) by a driver from the restaurant. We discovered on the return trip that our "driver" was actually the restaurant owner. That bit of information put an exclamation mark on the evening. The flowers I had ordered were awaiting our arrival at our table just as I had hoped. The new location still has the same formal feeling without the darkness and stodginess we somewhat felt at the old location. It's a beautiful, intimate, and welcoming space. The food was excellent, eclipsed only by the personable and efficient service. The baked goat cheese was other worldly and the smoked salmon and red snapper superb. The meal was capped off by a slice of delicious, complimentary "anniversary" cake delivered to my wife. Although the piano music was at times a little frantic, overall it had the feel of being in a movie scene. A lot of older popular music, much of which were themes from movies, that generally played softly in the background so that you knew it was there but it was unobtrusive. The cost of the evening was significant, but by today's standards, for a special occasion and for the value received both in food and treatment, it was well worth it. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

Good overall but not outstanding like it ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Good overall but not outstanding like it was a few years ago for Mother's Day Also the new location is not nearly as nice as the previous location.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Two comments

Dined on May 7, 2016

One was the wait person did not bring a side dish ordered with the entree until the entree was nearly finished. He apologized. Two there was a loudmouth at a nearby table with 5 others that made it unpleasant for all those around him. Restaurants cannot control this I guess but it put a dent in a special occasion with my wife and me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

date night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Nice quiet place for a romantic dinner. Had a Greek salad, new York steak that just melted in your mouth. The best steak I have had in a long long time. The service was excellent. The only thing I would change is I would make a 7:00 pm reservation so I could the live music that start at 7:00 pm. I recommend that everyone sold try this place out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Restaurant with Live Music

Dined on April 16, 2016

I invited a guest speaker with his wife to honor his hard work done for Richland and Mountain View colleges with his scientific talk on the Theory of Relativity (as a continuation of the 28th Texas Symposium on Relativistic Astrophysics in Geneva, Switzerland, December of 2015) . There were also present my husband and a colleague from Mountain View College. We all admired the evening. Food was just excellent. They have a great violinist who comes to many tables, while playing charming melodies. All that was beyond our expectations. We enjoyed the evening indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Overall, somewhat a disappointment. Food ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall, somewhat a disappointment. Food did not meet expectations, service was slow and atmosphere is traditional, but tired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have celebrated many special occasions the Old Warsaw. The service, food and ambience are always the best. This is a must for any special occasion. The food is great and the menu selections are very good. The filet is out of this world, and the steak Diane is amazing. The staff is always professional and top notch. First class service all the way. The violin player is always accommodating to playing special requests. The best part are the deserts. The soufflé is the best desert I have ever had (the chocolate is my favorite but the raspberry is pretty tasty too). I am curious to see what the new location brings, but look forward to new beginnings at the Old Warsaw.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The last of the old warsaw

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our dinner was one of the last days before the relocation of the Old Warsaw to its new location. It was a great send-off; the meal was fabulous. I can't wait until we try the New Warsaw.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Food , service and ambience were all ver ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food , service and ambience were all very good. Loved the old style atmosphere however we found out they will be moving to new location where atmosphere will be more relaxed.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Good Experience, but lacking in a few areas...

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I went to the Old Warsaw to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary on a Saturday night. I had wanted to dine there after seeing their advertisements in the Dallas paper for years. We had a 7:30 PM reservation and arrived early at 7:15. We had to wait about 5 minutes before someone came to the reception area and seated us. At that time there were perhaps 5 other couples in the restaurant and one large group of about 8 people. We were seated in a corner table away from other diners. A waiter came almost immediately with water but then we had to wait several minutes before another waiter came to take our order. We started with a Greek Salad (I had wanted a Classic Caesar but the waiter implored me to take the Greek salad instead). It took a good 15 minutes or so before our salads were brought out to us. The entrees were delicious - I had the Filet Mignon with crabmeat and my wife had the ribeye. We were very disappointed that our selections for dessert - German Chocolate Cake and Key Lime Pie- were not available. I can understand if the restaurant was packed for dinner, but it was 3/4 empty. We enjoyed the ambiance - the restaurant is very romantic and we liked the piano and violin serenade. Also, the rose presented to the ladies in the restaurant is a nice touch. It was a pleasurable experience, but it could have been better had the desserts we wanted been available. We will consider going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Memorable date, unique ambiance. My da ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Memorable date, unique ambiance. My date said at one point "this feels like I'm in a movie." The live music in the background was amazing.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food just was not as good a places that cost less. I was expecting the food to be a little better and it ws crowded.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentines at the old Warsaw

Dined on February 15, 2016

The live music was awesome. The only mishap was that they messed up on how we wanted out steaks cooked. They fixed the order after all. Overall, pretty nice place

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very accommodating and responsive. Had a very nice romantic Valentine's Day dinner. Everything was great! Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great and the wine that was recommended to us by Al, was awesome! They had a lady playing the piano and a gentleman with a violin and they both played beautiful romantic songs and went to each table which was a very nice touch. We are sorry to hear they will be closing this one down but it was great to hear there would be another one opening soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to Old Warsaw again for Valentine's Dinner. As before the meal, service, and ambiance were excellent. Good "old school" service that you don't hardly find any more!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wondering and great foo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was wondering and great food. Very romantic wonderful experience thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Bad experience!!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I will not recommend this restaurant. Poor food quality. The place looks horrible. Service was bad, and there was no Bar!!!!!

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

J Langham

Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was slow. For $70 I expected my steak to be more than just a few inches wide. I also expected the lobster tails to be bigger than the shrimp cocktail. My friend ordered beef wellington - medium rare. The first one came out well done. The second one came out bleeding and the crust around the outside was doughy, not cooked all the way through. Then the maitre d' wanted to argue with her about the temperature. This night was a disaster.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed in an old favorite

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had not eaten at the Old Warsaw in many years but wanted to have the delicious lobsters and Grand Marnier souffles of years gone by. Both dishes were inedible. The lobster came outside of its shell leading me to believe that it had been frozen. Then it was overcooked. When I told the waiter that it was inedible he said he would alert the chef. The souffles were soupy and flavorless. I hate that this wonderful old standby has taken a turn.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been in a long time to this c ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

We had not been in a long time to this classic restaurant. We certainly were not disappointed in the Old world Charm that this restaurant exudes. We discovered that they will be moving to a new location March 2016. We will certainly be going to check out their new location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last visit to Old Warsaw before the move

Dined on February 3, 2016

With Old Warsaw moving in the next couple of months, we wanted to visit the original location one last time. They did not disappoint! Food was the usual high standard, service was supreme, ambience sincere. The piano player was a perfect background sound allowing conversation (when the standard today is music so loud you can't hear your dinner mates). Wine specials were a nice addition (likely on an effort to reduce stock before the move). Chocolate soufflé was the perfect ending as always to the amazing meal. Sayed has been serving there for years and his wit and smile only enhanced the evening. We can only pray the new location can bottle the ambience and charm of the current location and translate it well into the new walls. But Old Warsaw is a great example of a superb restaurant being a product of more than just the food. Dying to know if the eels and shark in the tank as well as the fabulous chandeliers will make the move!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of eight of us went here for a b ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

A group of eight of us went here for a birthday. Impeccable service, incredible ambience. Amazing location for special event or occasion. Fabulous food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

Dined on January 6, 2016

We were the only 5 people in the restaurant. We were treated royally. Will visit again soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

Dined on January 1, 2016

The Old Warsaw is our favorite restaurant and has been since we first tried it in 2012, we are very sad that it will soon be torn down and relocated and just hope that the new location has the same type of ambiance. It was nice to be remembered by the staff. New Years Eve dinner was very good as usual, was a little disappointed that the menu did not have the normal variety of selections, but they did offer the crab cake appetizer I love so much. The baked lobster was delicious as well. They were more crowded than we normally see it so that is the only reason I have the noise level at moderate, it is usually a nice quiet place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

New Years Eve dinner at Old Warsaw, disappointing

Dined on January 1, 2016

I spent New Years Eve looking for a web page for Old Warsaw and never found one. The only reference I ever found for the menu had the full menu. I had no idea when we showed up that the dinner was a fixed price menu. To add insult to injury, the old standbys of the spinning ceasar salad and chocolate soufflé were not available. I was forced to order items that I did not want. As I expressed my disappointment, the waiter became more aloof and perturbed. He evidently just wanted us out delivered food and never offered after dinner coffee or drinks. Old Warsaw has great ambience and music to have the dinner ruined by the wait staff.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great place for conversation

Dined on January 1, 2016

It was quiet enough for our group of six to carry on a conversation, even with the background music which is difficult to find. If you are looking for a fairly quiet atmosphere with good food and excellent service, I highly recommend the Old Warsaw for a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience3
service4

Food was not up to quality for the price ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was not up to quality for the price, nick and Sam's is 1000% better

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

good local steak restaurant

Dined on December 31, 2015

I don't eat a lot of steak but when I do I take my girlfriend as she likes it more so than I. I chose this steak place because we saw the billboards. We hadn't been before but we were pleased to find it in a nice part of uptown. The valet was easy and free. We were very early and no problem seating us. The establishment seems to be an old house converted into a dining room. Christmas color and cheer and ambiance in the room. I noticed an anteroom / bar but didnt go in. I could sense the age in the building but charming. The service was nearly all Hispanic which I thought was odd but they did a good job. The food was good as I ordered the filet and lobster. We were pleased the piano player arrived early and enjoyed his music with a glass of wine. We were pleased with our NY EVE dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on December 26, 2015

We LOVE coming to The Old Warsaw, and have been returning for years. Saeud, the manager, is ALWAYS on his game, as are the entire staff. You have to visit The Old Warsaw for yourself. It's an old world charm, and we understand they are expanding! THIS is awesome! We look forward to our next visit! Cheers!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service3

We usually love The Old Warsaw and have ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

We usually love The Old Warsaw and have had great meals there - but not this past Christmas Day night. I'm not sure if they've lost their touch because of the upcoming move or they just no longer care. Our cocktails were slow coming out, with a less than half full dining room. Old Fashions were tasty but glasses were messy. We ordered off the Christmas Day menu - Our starters were a salad and the salmon, both were tasty. The entrées were a tenderloin eggs Benedict, an my beef stroganoff with lobster. There was quite a delay between first and second course, so much so, the table next to us received their first course after us, and entrée before ours were presented. When the main courses finally did arrive the Benedict was fine but the stroganoff noodles were cold despite being on a very hot plate without the menu described green bean accompaniment. When I questioned about the absence of the beans, the waiter said "it didn't come with green beans." The waiter said he'd check, and then stated "they were out," but didn't offer a replacement vegetable. I then advised our waiter about the cold food and away the plate went. I'm not sure what the kitchen did to fix the stroganoff, but some of the noodle came back hard and the lobster was rubbery and dry. Somewhat of an apathetic response by the staff. I was offered to have something else made, but then l would be dining alone. I understand it's Christmas night, but we planned to tip well to thank the staff for being there. Dessert were chocolate cake and carrot cake, although, after not really have a dinner I didn't care to finish dessert. We do hope this was a one off incident - but what a disappointing way to end Christmas.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A timeless restaurant

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great food with excellent service; a nice setting with fine attention to detail

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Stuffy, over priced, poor service

Dined on December 25, 2015

We were looking for a nice place for our Christmas meal. The place feels stuffy and dated, like a throwback to a 1950s country club. Lots of blue hairs with poorly applied, overdone make up. The food was overpriced, as the shrimp was overlooked. You'd expect perfection for these prices. Service was poor, slow and inattentive. My wine gods say empty for 30 min before my husband finally refilled it. We will not be going back and we will not be recommending this place. Oh, and the music that was advertised...non-existent. Just a piano sitting tauntingly in the center of the room...sans player.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Something to Remember

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

From the valet parking to paying the check this joint is top shelf. Reasonable pricing on the wine and food. The food and presentation is art worthy. My wife and I were very pleased and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Separate checks would have been a consid ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Separate checks would have been a considerate option.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.