About The Old Warsaw

2512 Maple Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

A landmark of elegant dining in Dallas since 1948, The Old Warsaw is conveniently located in the heart of Uptown.

The Old Warsaw is constantly recognized for its superior French Continental cuisine and it has been the recipient of many important accolades over the years such as the prestigious Four Diamond Award and it has also been rated "Excellent" by the Zagat Texas Restaurant Survey.

To go along with our exquisite dishes and succulent desserts, our wine cellar offers an extensive collection of the finest wines from Europe, South America and North America. We have over 460 stellar selections to choose from.

The rich, old world ambiance and decor found at The Old Warsaw has long made it a favorite for special celebrations. Our patrons can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner while our musicians set the mood with a variety of classical melodies. We also offer complimentary valet parking to enhance the dining experience even further.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Cedars Springs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 528-0032

Website:
http://www.oldwarsaw.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist and Violinist nightly (Starting at 7:30pm)

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Al Heidari

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Warsaw offers 4 private rooms for company parties, wedding rehearsals, pharmaceutical presentations, business meetings and other functions.

All of our rooms are equipped with projectors and internet access if needed.

Private Party Contact:
Erik: (877) 336-7409

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Warsaw Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Historic (13)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Live Music (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fireplace (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice experience and the food was wo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice experience and the food was wonderful. My wife had lobster bisque, filet mignon and lobster. I had creamed spinach, garlic whipped potatoes, Brussels sprouts and home fries. They made the cherries jubilee and served it over ice cream for my wife and over vegan friendly coconut ice cream for me. I enjoyed my meal as a lacto-vegetarian every bit as much as my wife did. Live piano music was a very elegant touch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid place with a slower crowd. Very mu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Solid place with a slower crowd. Very much old school. Delicious filet cooked perfectly. Interesting menu and priced very fairly and favorably. Worth the visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always liked the Old Warsaw. A c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We have always liked the Old Warsaw. A classy restaurant in uptown Dallas for many years. The new location is very nice; an elegant ambience improved over the the last. Recommend ordering menu #1 or #2, a good value. A Memorable evening.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed the experience at Old ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Very much enjoyed the experience at Old Warsaw. Food was very good, service was as well.

My only disappointment was that they had a Prix Fixe menu for Valentine's Day, which wasn't indicated when I made the reservation, but would recommend the venue overall.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pianist is amazing and the food is perfe ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Pianist is amazing and the food is perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Valentine's Day. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there for Valentine's Day. Enjoyed everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I recommend they stop serving food and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I recommend they stop serving food and make it a cigar lounge serving Cognac for drinks. It is definitely an old place.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Service still good, food is third rate, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service still good, food is third rate, not the same restaurant it was years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

When you spend that kind of money, you w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

When you spend that kind of money, you would think the staff would be super responsive and very polite...........they are very firm and matter of fact and let me turn in your order........I had to pick from one of two menus only for Valentine's Day, so I didn't want anything on my menu I wanted food from so the guy was like what do you want? Real rudely.........and they just were very courteous.............

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

College kids hang out at the bar so extr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

College kids hang out at the bar so extremely noisy. Otherwise always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We were out on a Valentine's Day date an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were out on a Valentine's Day date and the atmosphere was perfect. The food and service were exceptional. I would recommend Old Warsaw for special evenings with your significant other.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were just ok. I att ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service were just ok. I attended a wedding here years ago on the courtyard, which was beautiful. My fiancé and I went for Valentine's Day, and we won't go back. The food wasn't worth the money, the plates looked sloppy, the Brussels sprouts were just steamed. I can make better food at home, for much cheaper. We did very much enjoy the pianist. Young Uptown kids were having a party outside, and the noise flowed into the dining room, causing us to have to yell over the noise to talk to each other. The table next to us was too close, not allowing any private conversation. Also their order was messed up so many times it was actually funny. All in all, not worth the money, and we won't go back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Lobster thermidor THE BEST!!!!! The staf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lobster thermidor THE BEST!!!!! The staff is always awesome and service exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointing. The Old Warsaw used to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So disappointing. The Old Warsaw used to be known for it's impeccable service and attention to detail. My boyfriend and I came here for an early Valentine's dinner. Waited in the front for a hostess who never appeared. A waiter finally came and seated us in the very back dining room - along with a huge party of 15. The only other party in that room. When we didn't order a cocktail right away the waiter disappeared for quite a while then came back to take drink AND food order. My filet was an odd texture, my bf's steak was undercooked. Dessert - apple pie was less that Mrs. Smith quality and German Choc cake was not worth finishing. We were kept waiting over 10 minutes after the meal to get the check. With so many good restaurants in Dallas, I'd hoped the old ones might keep up, but not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I loved the service. Food was delish. I ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I loved the service. Food was delish. I ordered the filet mignon. It had mushroom sauce on it which made the meat taste more Devine. It was so tender. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic fancy restaurant, with good food ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Classic fancy restaurant, with good food, good selection of options, from meat Seafood, Chicken. Nice Wine list and impressive service from the wait staff. Great date or business meeting place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable evening with above averag ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very enjoyable evening with above average service. Friendly and talented pianist. Had not been to Old Warsaw for ages.

Tags: , Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a disappointment. Service and atm ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really a disappointment. Service and atmosphere was not up to the standard of their old place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This was my first visit: a bit of a risk ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This was my first visit: a bit of a risk because it was an anniversary celebration. From the arrival greeting by the valet to the end of the fine dinner, the experience was fantastic! Great people, great food, great venue. I'm coming back.

Tags: , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family has enjoyed the Old Warsaw for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My family has enjoyed the Old Warsaw for years for special occasions. This time we went for my parent's anniversary and my mom's birthday. There didn't seem to be as many waiters and the service was not what it was in the past. The food was delicious and everyone's was correct but it just seemed less than what it was in the past. It was very quiet in the room we were in which was appreciated -- we could enjoy each other's company which we did for about 3 hours.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went early do to broadway play time a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went early do to broadway play time at 7:30. Service was excellent and the steak was exceptional. I would say for the price by far one of my best food experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. The spec ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food and service was very good. The special menu and wine special was an excellent value. A great place to go for fine dining at a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As the Old Warsaw is a Dallas legend, ev ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As the Old Warsaw is a Dallas legend, even in the new location, dining at this restaurant is always exciting. The décor, food, wait staff are wonderful. Considering the majority of patrons were dressed very nice, it was disappointing to us that some patrons dressed in white t-shirts and ball caps. We couldn't understand why the staff would allow individuals to enter the place looking like they just came from a tractor-pull!

Besides the revised dress code, I would highly recommend the Old Warsaw, especially when celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm not sure if we were there on a bad n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I'm not sure if we were there on a bad night or if there was a service scheduling conflict, but the dining room had an unacceptable amount of service people. One person was on the floor and and second assisted now and then. There were at least eight tables and the server could not attend to all of them. It took us 5 minutes to be noticed before we were sat. Then another 10 minutes passed before we received our menus. We were not impressed with the cold bread or the delay on drinks. We do not blame the service personnel, though. That honor goes to the restaurant manager and/or owner whose task it is to ensure service efficiency. This was an extremely special occasion, and I'm disappointed to say it was a bust. My date and I decided to make our exit before ordering the appetizers and main course. We immediately went across the street to Capital Grille and enjoyed a fantastic make-up dinner with great service.

This is my first negative review. I would like interested parties to know that there is a risk in making a reservation at this restaurant. As I stated above, this night may have been a fluke, but considering the experience, I don't foresee a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We have enjoyed this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have enjoyed this restaurant many times before the recent relocation, but this will be our last time. Our party of 4 arrived on time for our reservation but there was no one visible to receive us inside the restaurant. After a few minutes, I entered the main dining room, found a waiter and and explained that we had been waiting to be seated for our reservation. I was told to continue waiting in the small reception area (without seating) and we would be summoned when our table was ready. We were seated 45 minutes after our arrival while the maitre d'/manager ignored our party and continued to entertain his apparent friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

There was a lady a the table next to us ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There was a lady a the table next to us that had a small dog in her lap. She was petting it and dog hair was surely in the air. OMG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant to celebrate spe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant to celebrate special occasions and just because sometimes :) We were early for our New Years Eve reservation but even so did not wait long to be seated, maybe 5 or 10 minutes and we were almost 30 minutes early. This was only the second time at the new location but we still love the ambiance that has not changed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The piano music was amazing. The steak m ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The piano music was amazing. The steak melted like butter in my mouth. The lobster was delicious. The service was attentive. The new location did not disappoint and maintained the old world atmosphere expected from a legendary Dallas restaurant in business since 1948.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife, some friends of ours, and I dec ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife, some friends of ours, and I decided to try The Old Warsaw on New Years Eve because I had heard it had a cool atmosphere (it did).

The overall experience was lackluster, and the service was poor to say the least.

Our waiter, which I would hesitate to say was our actual waiter, was not attentive at all. Halfway through the meal I was asking my wife who our waiter was so I could reitterate that I did in fact want a drink for the second time.

A few issues: Our friends had to ask multiple times for drink orders after waiting 10 or so minutes. My entree, part of a fixed menu, was missing a side which I had to ask for. My filet was over-cooked. I would have said something, but our waiter was M.I.A., and by that point I just wanted to plow through dessert (which was excellent) and leave ASAP.

We did finally get a suited manager, I would assume (he was never introduced), and was accommodating, gettinganother forgotten drink order, but was walking away while still be spoken to.

The food was ok, the service was horrible, and I'm still only 50 percent sure we actually ate at the place I made a reservation.

Not a good start to a New Years Eve, and at the high-end steakhouse pricing wouldn't chance going again or suggesting to others.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We have been there twice for our anniver ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been there twice for our anniversary and pleased each time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had lobster and steak. The stea ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife had lobster and steak. The steak had a lot of gristle in it and it was over cooked.

I had the beef filet which was slightly overcooked but excellent quality.

The bananas foster prepared table side was wonderful.

The pianist provided excellent background music of many well known popular songs and took requests. It was a very enjoyable 2 hour dinner and we will try it again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered a steak, It was cooked to our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We ordered a steak, It was cooked to our liking. Meat was tender & seasoned just right. Compliments to the chef. The staff was very friendly & attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing as always! Several times we've d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing as always! Several times we've dined here and we are always happy with this place. First time at the new location! Miss the old location. It very impressed with the new place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, I liked it. The serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was good, I liked it. The service was horrible. We had to ask for our check and we could've sat at the table for another 30 minutes before anyone would've bring us out check. Order the food to go.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Had a great time on Christmas Day. The v ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a great time on Christmas Day. The value was excellent. Food was very good. Family was happy. Waiter did a great job taking care of grandsons meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for Christmas Eve dinner. It was de ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve dinner. It was delicious. The menu had plenty of options, great portion sizes, and the ambiance was perfect - including the pianist. Would definitely go back. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Highly recommend the filet.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointment overall. Our waiter se ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A disappointment overall. Our waiter seemed to not speak English, therefore communication was quite difficult. One of the entrees was served without the accompanying side dish. When this was brought to the staff's attention, the response was indifference with no attempt to correct the situation. I expect significantly more at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Loved the old world charm and the ambian ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the old world charm and the ambiance. Food was very good and the entire experience was delightful. Thanks

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Horrible! Food & service was bad. Do not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Horrible! Food & service was bad. Do not go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were really excited about going to th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were really excited about going to the Old Warsaw. We planned it far in advance and by the time it arrived we couldn't hardly wait. Then we were let down. We went with another couple, and 3 of the 4 meals were decent but definitely not what we were expecting. My meal was not good. They brought my crab cake and my wife's salad out to us, but then realized the other couples appetizers weren't ready so they took ours back. I wondered what that crab cake would be like or if they would make another. When they everything back out my cake was cool and it was poor quality to start with. Then my bone-in ribeye steak was full of interior fat and was somewhat tough. It was also wedge cut. I know they probably don't have a saw to make a straight cut though the bone so most likely they knife cut it. It wasn't a very nice cut. The rest of the food didn't meet our expectations. Definitely not worth $155 for our 2-person bill which had no alcoholic beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.