About The Old Inn On The Green

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Old Inn On The Green
The Old Inn On The Green

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston / New England
Fit for Foodies
Boston / New England
12 More
Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
Romantic
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Western MA
Best Food
Western MA
Best Service
Western MA
Best Ambiance
Western MA
Fit for Foodies
Western MA
Romantic
Western MA
Special Occasion
Western MA
Most Booked
Western MA
Best Restaurants in New Marlborough ›

romantic (27)
special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
notable wine list (16)
great for outdoor dining (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
scenic view (3)
good for groups (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow us as much as the first. Certainly is a romantic and special setting. Entrees were quite good as were appetizers. Maybe I'm a jaded New Yorker, a perhaps the uniqueness of the candlelit rooms wore off, but just didn't hit the mark. If you're looking for a gourmet meal in a romantic setting, go for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were warmly greeted as we opened the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were warmly greeted as we opened the door to the Inn. The atmosphere was pure elegance dating back to the early 1800's. We were seated in a beautiful candlelit dining area with eight tables amply set apart from one another. The food was extraordinary from our starter soup, to scallops and lobster appetizers, our main course and a flourless chocolate tort and crème brulee. Wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I have heard that The Old In ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I have heard that The Old Inn on the Green was a special place for special occasions. Our friends could not have been more right. We chose it for our 55th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. A 90 degree summer day might not have been the best time to enjoy a candlelight only (no electricity) venue. We look forward to returning for a Winter special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and little extras were perfect. Service warm and expert. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with visitors from out of town and were seated in our own room which was appreciated. We ordered the tasting menu and spent almost three hours there. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a gift certificate lapsed several ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a gift certificate lapsed several years ago that the management graciously honored. The restaurant was full on a Wed. evening. From cucumber soup through strawberries and cake our meal was delicious. Our waiter was excellent, efficient and cordial. We will be back on our own dime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the place, excellent food, professi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love the place, excellent food, professional service and lovely ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the scr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the screened in porch near bird feeder. Lots of varieties of birds. Relaxed dining with lovely food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food used to be spectacular but didn't f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food used to be spectacular but didn't feel right this time. Hope they were having an odd night. The wine value was lacking. Used to be our favourite inn when visiting the Berkshires.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The dining experience here reeks of high ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The dining experience here reeks of high quality --- food, decor, service and the small touches that separate fine dining from from eating out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Amazing food. Int ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding service.

Amazing food.

Intimate ambiance--colonial/-candlelight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to The Old Inn ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit to The Old Inn on the Green. It was a pleasant summer evening and we sat outside on the screened-in patio, watching birds, chipmunks, and squirrels enjoying their own dinner on the other side of the screen. We ordered from the $46 prix fixe menu, and all three courses were delicious. Our cocktails were refreshingly delightful, and the service was impeccable. The little extras from the chef were a crowning touch. All in all, a wonderful dining experience. The Old Inn on the Green may be a little out of the way, but it's well worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Patron for 20 years . Always excellent w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Patron for 20 years . Always excellent with the type of ambiance rare for the Berkshires.

Hopefully, some day the walkway will be properly lighted

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We celebrated my 70th birthday at The Old Inn on the Green. In the past, we had celebrated other occasions as well as dining there on more ordinary occasions. It is a beautiful venue, lit by candle light, with delicious food and an elegant waitstaff. It is a perfect country dining experience. The tasting menu is highly recommended. Go!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

E & E

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful meal and service in a traditional setting that is expensive. We thought it was worth the price. Therefore, it is both excellent and expensive with the each customer determining if they think its worth the cost. We do.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining in the Berkshires

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A very nice French inspired menu and wine list and the best dining experience I have haf since my trip to Paris. Elegant candlelight dining in a colonial era romantic inn. Very highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 45th wedding ann ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and drove 20 miles from our BnB in Lennox to dine at the old Inn on the Green. Our friends recommended this restaurant to us and we were very happy that we went. The dining rooms are only lit by candles, providing a very romantic setting. We ordered the three-course menu and we're very pleased with the presentation, taste and quality of our dinners. Before our meal arrived, the chef sent out a small plate of pate and potato pancakes to whet our appetites. My wife ordered the short ribs preceded by potato and ramp soup which was delicious. I had the crispy skin salmon over noodles with bok choy in a wonderfully fragrant broth. An apple tart completed our meal. The extra touches, little bites, sent by the chef between courses and after dessert made this dining experience even more special. The service from our waiter and his assistant was terrific. We will share this wonderful find with our friends and look forward to returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful. Always a delightful experienc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful. Always a delightful experience. Food, service and atmosphere wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lack of situational awareness! Failure o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Lack of situational awareness! Failure on all levels other than food. No warm greeting; a disconnect from management and server to know what was happening in the room or at the tables. My first visit based on local recommendations for one of the gems of the area. I never want to complain; I dine out for enjoyment. Instead, as with this restaurant, I opt not to return.

When the loud nearby table was using the "f" word and staggering around looking for the restroom; someone should have asked us if we wanted to move our table.

Thank you for helping crystallize my choice of venues in the area for fine dining. This is not one of them.

What lacked was a general caring.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Absolutely Worth It

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner for two, V-Day weekend...the entire experience was exceptional from the time we walked in the door to the time we walked about two hours later. The food was perfect and the service was well-timed and unobtrusive. The restaurant is only lit by candles and fireplaces and looked amazing. For a special occasion, a dinner here is worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Always a special evening when you dine here so romantic and cozy even on the coldest evenings. Service was attentive and made sure to check on an ingredient when asked what it was. Our group of 4 all enjoyed our starters as well as our entrees. Everything is beautifully plated and each sauce makes a difference . We had salmon, lamb shank , fillet and halibut and each of us loved our choice. Ended our meal by sharing biscotti which was super for sharing.

Also they always bring out little treats to begin the meal , a soup tasting and a sweet to end. Love going on Friday when you have the choice of prix fixed or ala carte

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A rare gem in the Berkshires!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

This was our third visit to the Inn. The food, wine and ambience were superb! The service was excellent as well! Whether you're looking for a romantic dinner for two or a place to bring friends, you won't be disappointed. We'll be back again and again to this real gem in the Betkshires!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been many times

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

I have also recommend the restaurant to others and no one was disappointed.

Staff abs wait staff out standing. Also the food has never been a dispointment !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

As always, my husband and I had a lovely dinner at the Old Inn. Peter Platt and his team never fail to deliver on their promise to ensure an exquisite dining experience reminiscent of an era gone by. Glad to have the Old Inn in the neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glenn&Doreen Ganz

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

First time there and the food and service were excellent.We had a seat in front of the fire place and it was nice and toasty. We would come back and bring friends next time.Thank You for a wonderful night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic, rustic atmosphere. The re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Very romantic, rustic atmosphere. The restaurant is lit only by candlelight & a fireplace. All courses were cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Romantic and special

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The food was outstanding and a dinner totally illuminated by candlelight is such a romantic treat. We would recommend this for any special occasion dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Whether going for a romantic dinner, a fun night with other couples, or giving out of towners the Best of Berkshires experience, The Old Inn is always our first choice. Service is impeccable, food is outstanding and the atmosphere is uniquely charming and quaint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine and overall dini ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Excellent food and wine and overall dining experience. A great holiday tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy ending to our honeymoon

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

My wife and I took our honeymoon in the Berkshires, and we wanted to have an upscale dining experience to celebrate our final night. When we arrived at The Old Inn, the host greeted us quickly, and seated us promptly. We did not have to wait very long for any services throughout our dinner. The candlelit-only room had a very romantic ambiance, and though neither of us are very fancy people, we did not feel out of place. We felt like we were in our own little world.

We both chose to eat from the Welcome Menu, and though we were not impressed with the introductory roasted beet salad, everything from then on was absolutely delicious. My wife, who does not typically like dried fruit, thought the dried fruit in the wedge salad added a great flavor! The chicken for the main course was perfectly moist, while also having perfectly crispy skin - we were both very impressed. The pumpkin cheesecake was the dessert, and it was a perfect way to end the meal. I don't usually like cheesecake, but this was incredible! MY wife, who doesn't prefer cranberries loved them with the cheesecake. Very creative, and delicious.

If I had to give a critique, it would be that our waiter wasn't particularly warm towards us. He was chatty with other customers, but not really with us. Not a huge deal, no one is really there to make friends, but a little friendliness never hurts.

Overall, we loved it and have already told people about it. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Charming for Thanksgiving

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Old Inn on the Green was terrific for Thanksgiving. They offered a fixed price set menu that was full of tradition and a few twists with just the right amount of food. The servers are attentive and lively. The rooms are pure Americana with Windsor chairs, country landscape wall coverings, candles, and natural decorations. All around a nice experience for adults.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Save for special evenings such as birthdays and anniversaries. Well worth the trip on a dark road. We drove up from New York to meet friends for a shared special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unforgettably Amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The food and ambiance are incomparable, and even those on a budget can afford to dine on the evenings when they offer the Welcome Menu (four-course meal for $40). You really don't want to miss this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful dining experience. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a wonderful dining experience. The foie gras and duck were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Magical

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

We were initially somewhat taken aback by the extreme oldness of the place and how it was in need of paint in a few areas. But when evening set in, in the dining room was lit by candles, we were transported back into another time. The service was welcoming and impeccable, the food was imaginative and exquisitely prepared. A magical dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

lovely and romantic

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary and it was perfect. The food was delicious . It was our second visit and the first time was just a night out with friends which was also great. Maybe even better the second time. Fabulous lamb shank, steak, desserts, everything. Even the wine by the glass was excellent.

No complaints except that both times we went our GPS took us in the wrong direction. It happened to our friends as well, who were on their own GPS, different from ours. So leave extra time and perhaps check a map.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Charming Inn and Restaurant but .....

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Lovely Inn, charming waiter, we waited a long time from arrival to having out order taken. My main course, Salmon, one of the $40 dinners, was good but an extremely small piece, perhaps 2 1/2 in square. I actually left the restaurant hungry! The free appetizers were excellent as were our 2 deserts and my friend's Lamb dish. It was also very hot and stuffy, several guests commented on it and cheered (quietly) when I opened a window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

our neighborhood favorite.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

this is a neighborhood gem. We love it, as well as the owners and staff. Not to be missed!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in the Berkshires

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Nice wines. Superb cuisine. Expert service. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.