About The Old Inn On The Green

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Interior - The Old Inn On The Green, New Marlboro, MA
Interior - The Old Inn On The Green, New Marlboro, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, “The Old Inn On The Green” can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Romantic
Boston / New England
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
6 More
Best Overall
Western MA
Best Food
Western MA
Best Service
Western MA
Best Ambiance
Western MA
Best Value
Western MA
Special Occasion
Western MA
Best Restaurants in New Marlborough ›

Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Fireplace (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been to SF Bay area spots like Gar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to SF Bay area spots like Gary Danko, Chez Panise, and The F.L. This was as good as those and more romantic. While our server could use a bit more personality or humor, the wine service was spot on. We had the tasting menu and enjoyed every bite, even me who doesn't like beets. Dinner by the fireplace with only real candles lighting the dining rooms adds to the romantic spirit. The drive home this time of year is dark and unnerving, but the food makes that drive worth the risk.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely marvelous!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Absolutely marvelous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited for my Birthday with my wife. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visited for my Birthday with my wife. It was love at first sight. The ambiance dining under candlelight was so relaxing and romantic. The salmon and chicken were presented in a way which you would expect to find in most exclusive restaurants. The history of this restaurant was very interesting. It was an hour and a half drive from our home but was well worth the trip. The restaurant was very quiet and was very nice not to have to raise your voice to have a quiet conversation.

Highly recommended from the ride into the rural setting and a place to go for a special occasion or for a nice night out.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We dined on a Saturday night for my birt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined on a Saturday night for my birthday. We had the tasting and everything was delicious! The service was not bad, but not great either, and certainly not as good as would be expected at a restaurant with such high quality food. My biggest complaint about the service was that before ordering the tasting we told our server we weren't crazy about the dessert that was on the menu. He didn't hesitate to say we could order something else. We proceeded to order the tasting and I asked if he would like to know what we would like for dessert instead of what was listed. He said no, and that we had a few hours before we get to that point. Several hours later, he never came to ask what we would like for dessert and we were served what was listed on the menu. Overall it was a great meal, but I'm not sure it was worth the price. We've had many meals in New York for the same price or less where both the food AND the service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our second time to enjoy the sp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our second time to enjoy the splendor of such an exquisite meal. The waiter initially seemed a little hurried but as the night wore on, he was a pleasure. Will definitely dine here again at our first opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The Old Inn On The Green is a marvelous ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Old Inn On The Green is a marvelous restaurant with beautiful ambiance and superb cuisine. Our server was professional, informative and extremely pleasant.We highly recommend this establishment for a total dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really beautiful place with lovely ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

A really beautiful place with lovely service and very good food. Definitely worth a visit while you're in the Berkshires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Old Inn on the Green was a very plea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Old Inn on the Green was a very pleasant surprise. Revolutionary War era building lit entirely by candlelight. Atmosphere was perfect for get together with friends. The food was creative and excellent. Surprising find a little off the beaten path in the Berkshires.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambiance was delightful. Party of six... ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Ambiance was delightful.

Party of six...One ordered a filet, was given salmon, then had to sit without food, waiting,l for a very long time while rest of party ate since the other dinners were served. Water glass was empty for most of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

This restaurant is overall a world level ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This restaurant is overall a world level gem. It is hard to find words to describe how excellent it is in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, ambience and service were all ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food, ambience and service were all first rate. This was our first time at The Old Inn On The Green but we'll definitely be back. It was a first class experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a delicious meal and top-notch se ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a delicious meal and top-notch service. James has an amazing memory and understands hospitality. This was only our second time but we plan on making it a monthly treat. Excellent menu--fresh, local and not ridiculously trendy like so many menus have become.

The ambiance is so different--quiet and candlelit. Not library quiet--we had a lot of laughs and lively conversation--but perfect for conversation with dinner companions. We were here in the winter last year and the roaring fire was divine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go there 1-2x each year. Always a joy. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Go there 1-2x each year. Always a joy. Their mid-week special is an excellent value.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We go here a few times a year. Two prix ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We go here a few times a year. Two prix fixe menus to choose from. Extensive wine list, also beer and cocktails. The food is wonderful; expect to drop at least $200 for two people but well worth the $$. 1/2 price during the week. Historic, romantic, candlelight only. I highly recommend. Portions for the prix fixe chef's tasting menu are perfect, you will leave well satiated but not stuffed.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit this summer fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our second visit this summer for the Tasting menu which is absolutely wonderful! The outdoor porch is a lovely place for this delicious dinner. We highly recommend it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply divine. The tasting menu with win ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Simply divine. The tasting menu with wine is a gem. The rooms are candle- lit and roamtic. The service is first-rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Inn provides some of the best food w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Inn provides some of the best food we have ever had. It is a fine dining experience without being pretentious. We have been six years in a row now while in the Berkshires for a summer weekend getaway, and will be back next summer if not before then!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu with the wine ac ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had the tasting menu with the wine accompaniment. It was an outstanding dining and tasting experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Inn on the Green never disappoints b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Old Inn on the Green never disappoints but was particularly great August 24th. It is a very special place to dine. The food is so flavorful and fresh, the service is wonderful and they care and it shows. Perfect dining experience in a sweet Berkshire town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent in every way. extremely atten ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 19, 2016

excellent in every way. extremely attentive and knowledgeable service. food couldn't be better.

would held to tell us to bring a flashlight to find our way safely back to our car.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without any doubt, this is the best rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best restaurant in the Berkshires. The full tasting menu is awesome The weather was lousy but this was the highlight of the weekend and worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was truly delicious, perfectly prep ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was truly delicious, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Wait staff was professional and cordial. The seating, however, left something to be desired. Despite making the reservation nearly two months in advance, stopping at the restaurant the afternoon of the preceding day to affirm that the dining room was air conditioned, and phoning on the afternoon of our reservation, we were seated in the bar and not in the dining room. The hostess said because it was extremely hot that evening (and it was), the number of diners they would have expected to be seated on the outdoor dining terrace asked to be seated inside. Fair enough, but given the checking and rechecking we did about our reservation, it would seem fitting that another party was put in the bar instead.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The outside of the building could use a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The outside of the building could use a little refurbishment.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

What a special place! It was not my fir ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

What a special place! It was not my first and will not be my last visit. Amazing food and service.

Worth the drive!

Top 5 Berkshires places to dine for me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and delicious

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Charming and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has to be the most beautiful restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This has to be the most beautiful restaurant in the Berkshires, perhaps in Mass. The main dining room is decorated with delightfully old fashioned (original? Perhaps) wall paintings and lit solely by candlelight. But they do not get by on good looks alone, as the food is very delicious. A treat, and well worth the long drive from Lenox or Lee. And the set price dinner during the week is a bargain.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove from the Northampton area to ce ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We drove from the Northampton area to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There are many good restaurants in the Great Barrington/Lee area but most are closed on Mondays. Thankfully, The Old Inn is open. We dined on the enclosed al fresco back porch, watched the birds dine just outside along with us, and were thrilled with the quality of the food and service. Everything was perfect. Everything was available. The flowers arrived before us (they were discreet enough to subtly ask if me if we wanted to dine inside or out, then brought the prepaid flowers over). Again, food: perfect and unique and as good as the restaurants we were used to in Los Angeles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful meal and the ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had such a wonderful meal and the service was absolutely perfect. We sat in the screened in porch which was lovely. We loved our dining experience and will definitely go back to this lovely inn.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Best dining in the Berkshires.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best dining in the Berkshires.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow us as much as the first. Certainly is a romantic and special setting. Entrees were quite good as were appetizers. Maybe I'm a jaded New Yorker, a perhaps the uniqueness of the candlelit rooms wore off, but just didn't hit the mark. If you're looking for a gourmet meal in a romantic setting, go for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were warmly greeted as we opened the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were warmly greeted as we opened the door to the Inn. The atmosphere was pure elegance dating back to the early 1800's. We were seated in a beautiful candlelit dining area with eight tables amply set apart from one another. The food was extraordinary from our starter soup, to scallops and lobster appetizers, our main course and a flourless chocolate tort and crème brulee. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I have heard that The Old In ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I have heard that The Old Inn on the Green was a special place for special occasions. Our friends could not have been more right. We chose it for our 55th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. A 90 degree summer day might not have been the best time to enjoy a candlelight only (no electricity) venue. We look forward to returning for a Winter special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and little extras were perfect. Service warm and expert. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with visitors from out of town and were seated in our own room which was appreciated. We ordered the tasting menu and spent almost three hours there. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a gift certificate lapsed several ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a gift certificate lapsed several years ago that the management graciously honored. The restaurant was full on a Wed. evening. From cucumber soup through strawberries and cake our meal was delicious. Our waiter was excellent, efficient and cordial. We will be back on our own dime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the place, excellent food, professi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love the place, excellent food, professional service and lovely ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the scr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the screened in porch near bird feeder. Lots of varieties of birds. Relaxed dining with lovely food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food used to be spectacular but didn't f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food used to be spectacular but didn't feel right this time. Hope they were having an odd night. The wine value was lacking. Used to be our favourite inn when visiting the Berkshires.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The dining experience here reeks of high ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The dining experience here reeks of high quality --- food, decor, service and the small touches that separate fine dining from from eating out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Amazing food. Int ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding service.

Amazing food.

Intimate ambiance--colonial/-candlelight

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.