About The Old Inn On The Green

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston / New England
Romantic
Boston / New England
8 More
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Western MA
Best Food
Western MA
Best Service
Western MA
Best Ambiance
Western MA
Fit for Foodies
Western MA
Romantic
Western MA
Special Occasion
Western MA
Best Restaurants in New Marlborough ›

romantic (15)
special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant Dining in the Berkshires

Dined on May 8, 2016

A very nice French inspired menu and wine list and the best dining experience I have haf since my trip to Paris. Elegant candlelight dining in a colonial era romantic inn. Very highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 45th wedding ann ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and drove 20 miles from our BnB in Lennox to dine at the old Inn on the Green. Our friends recommended this restaurant to us and we were very happy that we went. The dining rooms are only lit by candles, providing a very romantic setting. We ordered the three-course menu and we're very pleased with the presentation, taste and quality of our dinners. Before our meal arrived, the chef sent out a small plate of pate and potato pancakes to whet our appetites. My wife ordered the short ribs preceded by potato and ramp soup which was delicious. I had the crispy skin salmon over noodles with bok choy in a wonderfully fragrant broth. An apple tart completed our meal. The extra touches, little bites, sent by the chef between courses and after dessert made this dining experience even more special. The service from our waiter and his assistant was terrific. We will share this wonderful find with our friends and look forward to returning again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful. Always a delightful experienc ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful. Always a delightful experience. Food, service and atmosphere wonderful.

food4
ambience1
service1

Lack of situational awareness! Failure o ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Lack of situational awareness! Failure on all levels other than food. No warm greeting; a disconnect from management and server to know what was happening in the room or at the tables. My first visit based on local recommendations for one of the gems of the area. I never want to complain; I dine out for enjoyment. Instead, as with this restaurant, I opt not to return. When the loud nearby table was using the "f" word and staggering around looking for the restroom; someone should have asked us if we wanted to move our table. Thank you for helping crystallize my choice of venues in the area for fine dining. This is not one of them. What lacked was a general caring.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Worth It

Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner for two, V-Day weekend...the entire experience was exceptional from the time we walked in the door to the time we walked about two hours later. The food was perfect and the service was well-timed and unobtrusive. The restaurant is only lit by candles and fireplaces and looked amazing. For a special occasion, a dinner here is worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Always a special evening when you dine here so romantic and cozy even on the coldest evenings. Service was attentive and made sure to check on an ingredient when asked what it was. Our group of 4 all enjoyed our starters as well as our entrees. Everything is beautifully plated and each sauce makes a difference . We had salmon, lamb shank , fillet and halibut and each of us loved our choice. Ended our meal by sharing biscotti which was super for sharing. Also they always bring out little treats to begin the meal , a soup tasting and a sweet to end. Love going on Friday when you have the choice of prix fixed or ala carte

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A rare gem in the Berkshires!

Dined on February 11, 2016

This was our third visit to the Inn. The food, wine and ambience were superb! The service was excellent as well! Whether you're looking for a romantic dinner for two or a place to bring friends, you won't be disappointed. We'll be back again and again to this real gem in the Betkshires!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been many times

Dined on February 10, 2016

I have also recommend the restaurant to others and no one was disappointed. Staff abs wait staff out standing. Also the food has never been a dispointment !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

As always, my husband and I had a lovely dinner at the Old Inn. Peter Platt and his team never fail to deliver on their promise to ensure an exquisite dining experience reminiscent of an era gone by. Glad to have the Old Inn in the neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glenn&Doreen Ganz

Dined on January 17, 2016

First time there and the food and service were excellent.We had a seat in front of the fire place and it was nice and toasty. We would come back and bring friends next time.Thank You for a wonderful night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Very romantic, rustic atmosphere. The re ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Very romantic, rustic atmosphere. The restaurant is lit only by candlelight & a fireplace. All courses were cooked to perfection!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Romantic and special

Dined on January 15, 2016

The food was outstanding and a dinner totally illuminated by candlelight is such a romantic treat. We would recommend this for any special occasion dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on January 1, 2016

Whether going for a romantic dinner, a fun night with other couples, or giving out of towners the Best of Berkshires experience, The Old Inn is always our first choice. Service is impeccable, food is outstanding and the atmosphere is uniquely charming and quaint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and wine and overall dini ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Excellent food and wine and overall dining experience. A great holiday tradition.

food5
ambience5
service3

Happy ending to our honeymoon

Dined on December 10, 2015

My wife and I took our honeymoon in the Berkshires, and we wanted to have an upscale dining experience to celebrate our final night. When we arrived at The Old Inn, the host greeted us quickly, and seated us promptly. We did not have to wait very long for any services throughout our dinner. The candlelit-only room had a very romantic ambiance, and though neither of us are very fancy people, we did not feel out of place. We felt like we were in our own little world. We both chose to eat from the Welcome Menu, and though we were not impressed with the introductory roasted beet salad, everything from then on was absolutely delicious. My wife, who does not typically like dried fruit, thought the dried fruit in the wedge salad added a great flavor! The chicken for the main course was perfectly moist, while also having perfectly crispy skin - we were both very impressed. The pumpkin cheesecake was the dessert, and it was a perfect way to end the meal. I don't usually like cheesecake, but this was incredible! MY wife, who doesn't prefer cranberries loved them with the cheesecake. Very creative, and delicious. If I had to give a critique, it would be that our waiter wasn't particularly warm towards us. He was chatty with other customers, but not really with us. Not a huge deal, no one is really there to make friends, but a little friendliness never hurts. Overall, we loved it and have already told people about it. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Charming for Thanksgiving

Dined on November 26, 2015

Old Inn on the Green was terrific for Thanksgiving. They offered a fixed price set menu that was full of tradition and a few twists with just the right amount of food. The servers are attentive and lively. The rooms are pure Americana with Windsor chairs, country landscape wall coverings, candles, and natural decorations. All around a nice experience for adults.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special

Dined on November 1, 2015

Save for special evenings such as birthdays and anniversaries. Well worth the trip on a dark road. We drove up from New York to meet friends for a shared special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Unforgettably Amazing!

Dined on October 18, 2015

The food and ambiance are incomparable, and even those on a budget can afford to dine on the evenings when they offer the Welcome Menu (four-course meal for $40). You really don't want to miss this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a wonderful dining experience. T ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a wonderful dining experience. The foie gras and duck were exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5

Magical

Dined on October 14, 2015

We were initially somewhat taken aback by the extreme oldness of the place and how it was in need of paint in a few areas. But when evening set in, in the dining room was lit by candles, we were transported back into another time. The service was welcoming and impeccable, the food was imaginative and exquisitely prepared. A magical dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

lovely and romantic

Dined on October 11, 2015

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary and it was perfect. The food was delicious . It was our second visit and the first time was just a night out with friends which was also great. Maybe even better the second time. Fabulous lamb shank, steak, desserts, everything. Even the wine by the glass was excellent. No complaints except that both times we went our GPS took us in the wrong direction. It happened to our friends as well, who were on their own GPS, different from ours. So leave extra time and perhaps check a map.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Charming Inn and Restaurant but .....

Dined on September 17, 2015

Lovely Inn, charming waiter, we waited a long time from arrival to having out order taken. My main course, Salmon, one of the $40 dinners, was good but an extremely small piece, perhaps 2 1/2 in square. I actually left the restaurant hungry! The free appetizers were excellent as were our 2 deserts and my friend's Lamb dish. It was also very hot and stuffy, several guests commented on it and cheered (quietly) when I opened a window.

food5
ambience5
service5

our neighborhood favorite.

Dined on September 3, 2015

this is a neighborhood gem. We love it, as well as the owners and staff. Not to be missed!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in the Berkshires

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Nice wines. Superb cuisine. Expert service. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4

This Inn is not to be missed!

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

This place is second to none. The building is pre-revolutionary, built in 1760. The interior decor is straight out of 18 century, with candles providing most light for dinner. The restaurant has a fine wine list, and a respectable gourmet offerings. The service is great, consisting of a bunch of young people who try really hard to be most accommodating. This is not a Michelin star restaurant in Paris or London, and it's not meant to be. The Inn is a must to visit, if you're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything excellent (too full and tire ...

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

Everything excellent (too full and tired to write more).

food5
ambience4
service5

Best in the Berkshires

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

We have been coming to Old Inn on the Green during each of our weekend visits to the Berkshires for many years, and have never been disappointed. As usual, the tasting dinner with wine pairings was outstanding and the service was friendly and accommodating. Kudos to chef/owner Peter Platt and his staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Max is INCREDIBLE!

vip
Dined on August 14, 2015

A very delightful evening in a classic setting. The food was good (not outstanding), but the service was SPECTACULAR! Max, our server, was engaging, knowledgeable, attentive... And a riot! The semaullier was so good that he discovered what wines we were interested in and even suggested a wine off the list... Which was phenomenal! We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

BACK IN THE DAY

Dined on August 13, 2015

WE WERE VERY SATISFIED. WHILE IN THE BERKSHIRES WE STAYED IN LENOX. HEARING THIS RESTURANT SERVES FINE FOOD IN CADLELITE ONLY ENVIRONMENT IN OLD INN WE DROVE THE 40 MINUTES IN DARK WINDING ROADS..T HE EXPIRENCE AND FOOD WAS WORTH THE TRIP.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly outstanding!

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

Truly outstanding food and great service in a beautiful historic inn!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, romantic evening

Dined on July 3, 2015

I found this restaurant online and, being unfamiliar with the area, wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. We chose to be seated outside in a charming outdoor area with a covered white tent and a pretty country view. The food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

after my husband wrote in the tip amoun ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2015

after my husband wrote in the tip amount ,the waiter came back to re write amount and initial it. We did not understand why. It seemed to be because part of it was using a gift card.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic beyond belief!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2015

Truly incredible food, service and setting. Easily one of the best restaurants in Northeast!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the Best

Dined on May 6, 2015

Simply the best restaurant in New England. Great atmosphere and spectacular farm to table offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect! Elegant yet comfortable

Dined on March 19, 2015

This is just one of those rare special finds. All candlelit, incredible food, warm and attentive service. Whenever I want to have a special treat, here's the place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic ambience!

Dined on February 7, 2015

Has a unique ambience that makes you feel like you are living in Revolutionary times. Was built in 1760, and with candle lit tables, and a warm fire place, it gives a romantic feel. Great service and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & wine, true historic ambiance.

Dined on November 29, 2014

Service was perfect, always available, never intruding, never a wait without an explanation! Food was delicious, innovative yet traditionally based. A definite favorite after one visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

First Visit.

Dined on November 21, 2014

We went to the Old Inn for the first time for my birthday dinner. Because of the route I opted to take, we arrived after dark and missed what looked to be quite a scenic location. The ambiance is wonderful. I love old buildings and the candlelight and fireplaces are so "me". The food is excellent as well. The whole experience was a delight. I would like to go back and stay sometime. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Destination Restaurant

vip
Dined on November 15, 2014

It is not uncommon, in France and Italy, to find a superb restaurant in the middle of nowhere. Much less so in our country. This is a rural gem-worth a long drive on precarious roads to reach a very satisfactory culinary oasis. The service has improved too, which was a minor criticism in my last review. The wine list is tilted towards the high end-somewhat out of character with the ambiance. Go anyway and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.