About The Old Inn On The Green

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Old Inn On The Green
The Old Inn On The Green

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston / New England
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Western MA
7 More
Best Food
Western MA
Best Service
Western MA
Best Ambiance
Western MA
Best Value
Western MA
Fit for Foodies
Western MA
Romantic
Western MA
Special Occasion
Western MA
Best Restaurants in New Marlborough ›

Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is overall a world level ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

This restaurant is overall a world level gem. It is hard to find words to describe how excellent it is in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delicious meal and top-notch se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a delicious meal and top-notch service. James has an amazing memory and understands hospitality. This was only our second time but we plan on making it a monthly treat. Excellent menu--fresh, local and not ridiculously trendy like so many menus have become.

The ambiance is so different--quiet and candlelit. Not library quiet--we had a lot of laughs and lively conversation--but perfect for conversation with dinner companions. We were here in the winter last year and the roaring fire was divine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go there 1-2x each year. Always a joy. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Go there 1-2x each year. Always a joy. Their mid-week special is an excellent value.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We go here a few times a year. Two prix ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We go here a few times a year. Two prix fixe menus to choose from. Extensive wine list, also beer and cocktails. The food is wonderful; expect to drop at least $200 for two people but well worth the $$. 1/2 price during the week. Historic, romantic, candlelight only. I highly recommend. Portions for the prix fixe chef's tasting menu are perfect, you will leave well satiated but not stuffed.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit this summer fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our second visit this summer for the Tasting menu which is absolutely wonderful! The outdoor porch is a lovely place for this delicious dinner. We highly recommend it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply divine. The tasting menu with win ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Simply divine. The tasting menu with wine is a gem. The rooms are candle- lit and roamtic. The service is first-rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Inn provides some of the best food w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Inn provides some of the best food we have ever had. It is a fine dining experience without being pretentious. We have been six years in a row now while in the Berkshires for a summer weekend getaway, and will be back next summer if not before then!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu with the wine ac ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had the tasting menu with the wine accompaniment. It was an outstanding dining and tasting experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Inn on the Green never disappoints b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Old Inn on the Green never disappoints but was particularly great August 24th. It is a very special place to dine. The food is so flavorful and fresh, the service is wonderful and they care and it shows. Perfect dining experience in a sweet Berkshire town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent in every way. extremely atten ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

excellent in every way. extremely attentive and knowledgeable service. food couldn't be better.

would held to tell us to bring a flashlight to find our way safely back to our car.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without any doubt, this is the best rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best restaurant in the Berkshires. The full tasting menu is awesome The weather was lousy but this was the highlight of the weekend and worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was truly delicious, perfectly prep ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was truly delicious, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Wait staff was professional and cordial. The seating, however, left something to be desired. Despite making the reservation nearly two months in advance, stopping at the restaurant the afternoon of the preceding day to affirm that the dining room was air conditioned, and phoning on the afternoon of our reservation, we were seated in the bar and not in the dining room. The hostess said because it was extremely hot that evening (and it was), the number of diners they would have expected to be seated on the outdoor dining terrace asked to be seated inside. Fair enough, but given the checking and rechecking we did about our reservation, it would seem fitting that another party was put in the bar instead.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The outside of the building could use a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The outside of the building could use a little refurbishment.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

What a special place! It was not my fir ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

What a special place! It was not my first and will not be my last visit. Amazing food and service.

Worth the drive!

Top 5 Berkshires places to dine for me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and delicious

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Charming and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has to be the most beautiful restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This has to be the most beautiful restaurant in the Berkshires, perhaps in Mass. The main dining room is decorated with delightfully old fashioned (original? Perhaps) wall paintings and lit solely by candlelight. But they do not get by on good looks alone, as the food is very delicious. A treat, and well worth the long drive from Lenox or Lee. And the set price dinner during the week is a bargain.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove from the Northampton area to ce ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We drove from the Northampton area to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There are many good restaurants in the Great Barrington/Lee area but most are closed on Mondays. Thankfully, The Old Inn is open. We dined on the enclosed al fresco back porch, watched the birds dine just outside along with us, and were thrilled with the quality of the food and service. Everything was perfect. Everything was available. The flowers arrived before us (they were discreet enough to subtly ask if me if we wanted to dine inside or out, then brought the prepaid flowers over). Again, food: perfect and unique and as good as the restaurants we were used to in Los Angeles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful meal and the ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had such a wonderful meal and the service was absolutely perfect. We sat in the screened in porch which was lovely. We loved our dining experience and will definitely go back to this lovely inn.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Best dining in the Berkshires.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best dining in the Berkshires.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Second visit to the Old Inn didn't wow us as much as the first. Certainly is a romantic and special setting. Entrees were quite good as were appetizers. Maybe I'm a jaded New Yorker, a perhaps the uniqueness of the candlelit rooms wore off, but just didn't hit the mark. If you're looking for a gourmet meal in a romantic setting, go for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were warmly greeted as we opened the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were warmly greeted as we opened the door to the Inn. The atmosphere was pure elegance dating back to the early 1800's. We were seated in a beautiful candlelit dining area with eight tables amply set apart from one another. The food was extraordinary from our starter soup, to scallops and lobster appetizers, our main course and a flourless chocolate tort and crème brulee. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I have heard that The Old In ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I have heard that The Old Inn on the Green was a special place for special occasions. Our friends could not have been more right. We chose it for our 55th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. A 90 degree summer day might not have been the best time to enjoy a candlelight only (no electricity) venue. We look forward to returning for a Winter special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding meal in every way. Food and little extras were perfect. Service warm and expert. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to The Old Inn on the Green with visitors from out of town and were seated in our own room which was appreciated. We ordered the tasting menu and spent almost three hours there. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a gift certificate lapsed several ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a gift certificate lapsed several years ago that the management graciously honored. The restaurant was full on a Wed. evening. From cucumber soup through strawberries and cake our meal was delicious. Our waiter was excellent, efficient and cordial. We will be back on our own dime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the place, excellent food, professi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love the place, excellent food, professional service and lovely ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the scr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very quiet country inn. Dined on the screened in porch near bird feeder. Lots of varieties of birds. Relaxed dining with lovely food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food used to be spectacular but didn't f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food used to be spectacular but didn't feel right this time. Hope they were having an odd night. The wine value was lacking. Used to be our favourite inn when visiting the Berkshires.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The dining experience here reeks of high ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The dining experience here reeks of high quality --- food, decor, service and the small touches that separate fine dining from from eating out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Amazing food. Int ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding service.

Amazing food.

Intimate ambiance--colonial/-candlelight

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to The Old Inn ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit to The Old Inn on the Green. It was a pleasant summer evening and we sat outside on the screened-in patio, watching birds, chipmunks, and squirrels enjoying their own dinner on the other side of the screen. We ordered from the $46 prix fixe menu, and all three courses were delicious. Our cocktails were refreshingly delightful, and the service was impeccable. The little extras from the chef were a crowning touch. All in all, a wonderful dining experience. The Old Inn on the Green may be a little out of the way, but it's well worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Patron for 20 years . Always excellent w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Patron for 20 years . Always excellent with the type of ambiance rare for the Berkshires.

Hopefully, some day the walkway will be properly lighted

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We celebrated my 70th birthday at The Old Inn on the Green. In the past, we had celebrated other occasions as well as dining there on more ordinary occasions. It is a beautiful venue, lit by candle light, with delicious food and an elegant waitstaff. It is a perfect country dining experience. The tasting menu is highly recommended. Go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

E & E

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful meal and service in a traditional setting that is expensive. We thought it was worth the price. Therefore, it is both excellent and expensive with the each customer determining if they think its worth the cost. We do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining in the Berkshires

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A very nice French inspired menu and wine list and the best dining experience I have haf since my trip to Paris. Elegant candlelight dining in a colonial era romantic inn. Very highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 45th wedding ann ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and drove 20 miles from our BnB in Lennox to dine at the old Inn on the Green. Our friends recommended this restaurant to us and we were very happy that we went. The dining rooms are only lit by candles, providing a very romantic setting. We ordered the three-course menu and we're very pleased with the presentation, taste and quality of our dinners. Before our meal arrived, the chef sent out a small plate of pate and potato pancakes to whet our appetites. My wife ordered the short ribs preceded by potato and ramp soup which was delicious. I had the crispy skin salmon over noodles with bok choy in a wonderfully fragrant broth. An apple tart completed our meal. The extra touches, little bites, sent by the chef between courses and after dessert made this dining experience even more special. The service from our waiter and his assistant was terrific. We will share this wonderful find with our friends and look forward to returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful. Always a delightful experienc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful. Always a delightful experience. Food, service and atmosphere wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lack of situational awareness! Failure o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Lack of situational awareness! Failure on all levels other than food. No warm greeting; a disconnect from management and server to know what was happening in the room or at the tables. My first visit based on local recommendations for one of the gems of the area. I never want to complain; I dine out for enjoyment. Instead, as with this restaurant, I opt not to return.

When the loud nearby table was using the "f" word and staggering around looking for the restroom; someone should have asked us if we wanted to move our table.

Thank you for helping crystallize my choice of venues in the area for fine dining. This is not one of them.

What lacked was a general caring.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Absolutely Worth It

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner for two, V-Day weekend...the entire experience was exceptional from the time we walked in the door to the time we walked about two hours later. The food was perfect and the service was well-timed and unobtrusive. The restaurant is only lit by candles and fireplaces and looked amazing. For a special occasion, a dinner here is worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Always a special evening when you dine here so romantic and cozy even on the coldest evenings. Service was attentive and made sure to check on an ingredient when asked what it was. Our group of 4 all enjoyed our starters as well as our entrees. Everything is beautifully plated and each sauce makes a difference . We had salmon, lamb shank , fillet and halibut and each of us loved our choice. Ended our meal by sharing biscotti which was super for sharing.

Also they always bring out little treats to begin the meal , a soup tasting and a sweet to end. Love going on Friday when you have the choice of prix fixed or ala carte

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.