Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Great brunch
Shame we couldn't be seated outside though

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed our afternoon lunch on the patio. The salmon was fantastic. We also enjoyed the homemade strawberry cake for dessert.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had brunch outside and it was delicious and service was super!❤️

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Enjoyed our meal at Fourth Street Filling Station. Service was great👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Another excellent evening at our local favorite. GREAT food, excellent service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Really good. Fun atmosphere. Nice service. Excellent variety of good food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was a great expirence. I was really surprised that they offered two sizes of wine by the glass. The crab stuffed Mahi Mahi was a really fine dish. my wife was a little disappointed with her Shrimp and Grits the shrimp was a bit rubbery . All and all we difinatlly will return .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great food and great menu for lunch! Menu has many choices that are healthy.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Love the shrimp and grits. Also love the chicken salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food, great location. It's a little loud indoors, but fun. Outdoor seating options are excellent.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

They have a great lunch menu. I love this restaurant because I don't have a big appetite and they will split meals for you and you don't have to worry about them rolling their eyes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal, good value and service with a smile! What more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great Place for great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We look forward to eating there again. Our waitress Jessica was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

First time visit while coming into Winston-Salem to visit colleges. We came in on a Thursday night and we're happy to find it was half price wine night! Excellent! But, be prepared because this also means the place is packed with people; seemed like most of the diners were women! Due to wine night? Make sure you have reservations. Our server was sweet, the food was great. Can recommend the crabcake dinner, and the Southwestern Flank Steak. We will return next time we are in town.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We always enjoy Fourth Street Filling Station! Each person in our party ordered something different, and all was enjoyed!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day brunch and it exceeded our expectations. We were seated promptly and our service was excellent. They never rushed us and the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a very pleasant early dinner. Lovely staff, nice outdoor atmosphere. Good meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant evening of outside dining on their patio. Food and service were great and priced reasonably. Highly recommend it for outside dining in W-S.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were hoping to eat outside on the patio. Not easy to accommodate a group of 11. Good food great service. Will book earlier next time to get outside table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very enjoyable Graduation dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Early afternoon lunch with my wife and daughter. Lovely setting at our outside table, good food. My wife had the salmon, my daughter and I each nad the Asian salad. All met our expectations! Recommend for a nice lunch

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went here after graduation for a mid day brunch, the atmosphere was fantastic and the food was great, no complaints! Wouldn't have minded slightly more professional servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a large group and the service was very good. Food was good!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to the filling station for a Mother's day/Graduation lunch and it was a complete disaster. We had a 12:30 reservation and we were seated at 12:45- which was fine. Once seated our waitress immediately told us the wait for food was going to be long and that the kitchen was backed up. We actually appreciated her being up front... we had several friends in the restaurant that had been waiting for food for over an hour, but we were OK. We ordered a round of drinks... and then another round... and then we watched as almost every other table got their food, paid the bill, and left. We went to the manager and shared with her that tables that were seated AFTER we ordered had already eaten, paid the bill and left... this was a good 90 minutes after we were seated. Every single person in the dining room had come in AFTER we placed our order... and then the final blow- we were told that some food takes longer to cook than other food... we ordered poached eggs! Finally when another tray of food was delivered to another table- a table that was seated a good 30-40 minutes after we placed our order, we got up and walked out. It was 2:30- a mere two hours after our reservation... and still no food- we got up and walked out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wake forest graduation for our daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This restaurant always delivers: good food, good service, good value. I love the patio. The menu has lots of options that range in price.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Sunday brunch and the food was pretty good. We had a 1:15 reservation via Open Table, but we didn't get sat until 2. The hostess admittedly forgot about us. Our waitress was nice and accommodating, but it was another hour from the time we sat down to when we got our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was wonderful like always!! One of my favorite brunch places!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch.. and were very pleased. The menu on line needs to be updated (offerings and prices) and for being a very busy day the service was very good, food well prepared and we were very happy we went there instead of our old standby of the country club... much better value and a nice menu and good quality food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Attractively priced. Decent wine list at affordable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an overall nice experience. Our server (Mike I think) was exceptional.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful food and great dining environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love 4th Street. Always a reliable favorite for great food and drinks. Can be loud inside as the seating isn't well spaced out, but the patio is wonderful. Salmon salad is my favorite, but you really can't go wrong with anything!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first visit and we were very pleased. Food was excellent! We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had made reservation to celebrate an anniversary with our family who were visiting from our of town. Initial when we made our reservation we had mentioned having outdoor seating however the weather had turned cold and windy and when we arrived the restaurant was nearly empty and we requested to sit inside and were met with great animosity. The hostesses were incredibly rude and made us feel as if we were asking for too much. They eventually sat us at a booth which was perfect for all of us and our waiter was phenomenal and the food was great as well, but it definitely left a bad taste in our mouth. As it had been a while since I had dined at 4th Street I was very excited but can't say if it will be on the top of my list next time we have family in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and food is always fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brought a large group for brunch, had great service and the food was good too. Would recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a private review:

Service great, fast enough, and my guests orders were ample and delicious. However, my salmon salad was a disappointment. The only green used was curly endive which is impossible to eat in public. It curls all over the place when you are trying to eat it--under your nose, down your chin, into your eye, etc. . A variety of lettuces would have been better. There is no fight with flatter leaves--I suggest two kinds of lettuce, one sprig of curly endive, no spinich, a few small tomatoes, maybe a black olive or two or two, sliced onion. I just couldn't eat the salad part and I was really hungry but the salmon was delicious. Thanks for the bread!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.