About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

great for outdoor dining (46)
neighborhood gem (34)
special occasion (27)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (18)
romantic (16)
great for brunch (13)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2

We didn't have a good experience. First ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We didn't have a good experience. First I called 3 days before our reservation and specially ask to sit under covered side of patio and they said no problem. We arrived and they had lost the reservation for the lady in front of me! When I approach the lady to check in she was extremely rude and acted annoyed. Then we were seating inside without explanation or apology where it was hot and smelt like they had a sewage. The food and server whet both decent. This was a birthday party so it was very disappointing. They also lost my reservation for my birthday several years ago! I will never go back to eat there!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was well prepared and presented. They have a nice wine and beer list. Our server was excellent and attentive. We sat in the patio whicwhich was nice and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming once a year for the l ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been coming once a year for the last five years. Each year gets even better. Great for either lunch or dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grad Weekend Lunch

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent service and food for a large group of 13 for outdoor lunch on a very busy Wake Forest Graduation weekend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very long line, but staff coordinated well and we were seated for our reservation. Server was attentive and friendly, but we still had a very long wait for our food. Food was worth the ticket time (about 40 minutes). Great experience even with the wait for our food. Mom was pleased so was a good day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

We made Mother's Day reservations and wh ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made Mother's Day reservations and when we arrived there was a crowd of people who had been waiting for quite some time beyond their reservation time- at least 30 minutes. We also waited around 30-45 minutes. After being seated, we were given drinks quickly and served our food fairly promptly despite the crowd. The server was very good at keeping a check on our beverages. The food wasn't as good as I remembered it being in on previous visits, but it was still good. We had an overall good experience.

food2
ambience3
service3

This restaurant over books regularly so ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant over books regularly so plan on waiting a half hour to 45 minutes past your reservation before you get seated. My husband order a brunch entree and when they brought the food they stated that they were out of bacon? Each time I have dined here there has been something off. Not a fan anymore. Good food, but what's the point of planning with a reservation when it doesn't matter.

food3
ambience4
service4

Didn't realize Sunday brunch went until ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Didn't realize Sunday brunch went until 3:00 PM! Were we in for a surprise. The mother of my children had salmon and homemade hash browns, our son and I each had burgers. It was a wonderful meal, a bit busy, but yeah it was Mother's Day.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Made a reservation for 8 people for Moth ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 people for Mother's Day for 2:15 pm. We arrived and checked in about 15 minutes early. We did this to try to have my 80 year old mother and father seated quickly. There was a long line, some with reservations and some without. We ended up waiting 30 minutes past our scheduled reservation time to be seated while many without reservations were seated ahead of us. I understand we had a large party, but the kicker was when a party of 10 without a reservation (my husband asked them) was seated before us. When questioned, the hostess indicated they were seated first in order to get them out before a later scheduled reservation for 10. After we questioned their mindset, we were seated promptly and lunch/brunch was served quickly considering the occasion and crowd and was quite good. Service was decent - again considering how busy the restaurant was. The only objection was the management of the reservation process, which did not seem to work well on a busy day.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Tim was friendly and attentiv ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server Tim was friendly and attentive. The food is always great and atmosphere is pleasant with the outside seating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Traveling thru Winston Salem and found t ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Traveling thru Winston Salem and found this on Open Table. Arrived an hour early and was promptly seated. Tables are a little close together. Service was excellent and the food was very good. We both had the potato soup and half a sandwich. The soup was hot and tasty and the sandwiches were large and very good. We travel thru Winston Salem a couple times a year and we would definitely stop here again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the filling station! It's our g ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We love the filling station! It's our go to brunch every Sunday. We alternate with Village Tavern. It's just a matter of "Do we want apple nut muffins or do we want poppyseed muffins?". I specially love the eggs Benedict for only eight dollars with my favorite grits and cinnamon apples. Thank you so much for providing a great place to eat!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food...once we were seated

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a 7:30pm reservation on a Friday night, which is obviously a popular time for a very popular restaurant. We arrived at 7:20pm but were not seated until 7:55pm. Maybe there was a glitch in the system, but it didn't seem like the restaurant had a system for tracking reservations and a waiting list. The hostess apologized when we were seated and said we would be "taken care of". Everything part of our experience after this was great, especially the food, but I thought we were going to be offered a drink, dessert, or discount for the wait. Maybe poor communication between the hostess and the server. After dinner, I went back and looked at the reviews and it seems like the experience we had is common. While a 35 minute wait would have been fine if we didn't have a reservation, I don't think a restaurant should take reservations if they can't honor them. I'll come back but doubt I'll waste my time making a reservation again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food - excellent. Very loud and cramped seating for a party of 8. Outdoor dining might be better, but we had an elderly lady with us that does not do well outside. Food well worth any discomfort inside. Will definitely go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great server! Jamie. Whe ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food! Great server! Jamie. When we got there they had us outside but we wanted to eat inside. They were awesome meeting our needs.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second visit

Dined on March 27, 2016

We recently had our second visit to The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, and it was again a great experience. It's a new favorite in Winston-Salem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

In love

Dined on March 13, 2016

I was in this restaurant for Sunday Bunch. I didn't think I could fall in love with food but I have ...I in love shrimp and grits..... I be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were very disappointed during this visit. All of our meat (all got something different) was dry. Mixed drink did not taste right, waitress was not "with it" and was very forgetful. She wasn't just forgetful with our table; we heard her telling the party next to us she couldn't remember who did/didn't get a salad or which salads they got. All around us we heard her messing up and laughing it off...write it down! The ambiance outside is wonderful, just wish the food reflected that.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food.

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice dinner!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our party of 8 had a great meal after a show at my son's school. We were seated on the patio, which was enclosed and heated so very comfortable on a chilly day. The chairs on the patio could be a little more comfortable though. Food was very good, everyone was pleased with their meal. It was Restaurant Week, and two members of our party took advantage of the fixed price meals. Appetizer, main and dessert for $30, which was a pretty good deal depending on which main course they chose. The menu isn't huge, but the choices were varied, with vegetarian options (pasta, and eggplant dish and a portobello wrap), fish/seafood and meat dishes available. Overall quite good, I would go there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service4

We waited 30 minutes to be seated after ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We waited 30 minutes to be seated after we checked in a few minutes before our Open Table reservation. Very crowded but it was Food Week. Food was just ok. Will go again when it's not so busy.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and friendly service.

Dined on February 28, 2016

I was disappointed that even after making a reservation, we waited twenty plus minutes for a table. The food and waitstaff was excellent and once we were seating we were cozy and able to speak, but the place was packed. It was hard to navigate around the room if you needed to leave the table and there was almost no space to wait while they were preparing our table. Great place overall, though, and we'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

We did not realize it was restaurant wee ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We did not realize it was restaurant week in town so it was very busy and noisy. But we were seated on time and the food was very good. We had to ask for bread and drink refills so the service could have been better. We will definitely go back though!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

okay

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a reservation and when we got there we were told it was going to be 15 minutes late, it was actually more like 35-40 minutes. Service was slow. Fish dish very good but Bbq chicken dish overbooked and too much Bbq sauce. Overpowered dish. A good location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4

It was a nice place with decent food. Th ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

It was a nice place with decent food. The service was good. My wife is gluten sensitive and really enjoyed the crab cakes. I had the salmon salad which was good. It was like an upscale diner. They definitely use a lot of salt as a flavor enhancer. We will consider going back and it is worth try for a good meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Shrimp and Grits!

Dined on February 17, 2016

You can never go wrong with the shrimp and grits here. The food was served promptly and the serving was big enough for me to take home half. The grit cakes are made just right, crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. There are lots of big juicy shrimp and a good amount of sausage. The sauce is wonderful with just the right amount of spice. My husband had Salmon which was also very tasty. The service is always good here, this one of our "go to" restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful experience for Valentines Day ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful experience for Valentines Day Brunch. The food was amazing!

food4
ambience2
service3

We visited for a Sunday morning brunch a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited for a Sunday morning brunch at 12:30. We were glad we made a last minute reservation through Open Table because the wait time was 30 minutes. We both ordered the seafood omelette which was excellent. The omelette was cooked perfectly with nice clumps of seafood and fresh spinach. Service was attentive. This is a busy eatery and seating is very close. We will surely return.

food3
ambience3
service3

Too cold in tent.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Too cold in tent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Dined on February 8, 2016

Visited while working in Winston Salem on the recommendation of a co-worker. The food was excellent, good wine list and service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

It was crowded for sure; had reservation ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was crowded for sure; had reservations, seated about 20 minutes afterward. Food was excellent, restaurant is great for smaller parties or warmer temperatures, but my wife and I enjoyed it. We liked the atmosphere, as it reminded us of when used to live in Hollywood.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good drink, and good service ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Good food, good drink, and good service - what more can you ask for?

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on February 5, 2016

We were there Feb. 5, 2016 to celebrate 30 years together. My husband and I met 30 years ago that night, and figured we should go out somewhere special to us. We started with the southwestern wontons, which were good but not quite as good as I remembered them. Hubby had a salad which was good. Our entrees were Jambalaya and Filet Mignon. They were very good. The Jambalaya was a large portion and very hot (heat not spice, although it was somewhat spicy). I ordered my filet medium and it arrived somewhat less than medium and closer to medium rare. Fortunately, I am okay with that, but would have preferred it had been cooked as I specified. My food was not as hot has my husband's and I wish mine had been a bit hotter. All in all, I give them credit because the place was packed and everyone seemed to be working full out to keep patrons seated, served and happy. We will go back. I marked the noise level as energetic and 3 stars on ambiance. This was because they were slammed about the time we got there, and we had reservations. We still had to wait about 10 minutes, but the wait would have much longer without reservations. Reservations are definitely recommended.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not going back there ever

Dined on January 1, 2016

Most of our party were happy with their food. I ordered the Southwestern Salad, which I gave up on after a few bites. I'd rather go hungry that eat Mall Food Court grade food. It was missing several ingredients that were listed on the menu. The chicken was a breaded (probably frozen) breast slathered in generic buffalo wing sauce. No complaints on the service, pleasant attentive and helpful. The space is attractive and has a good outdoor area. But the food, nah.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Amazing

Dined on December 31, 2015

Simply amazing as always, never a disappointment. Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fun atmosphere with yummy food

Dined on December 27, 2015

The menu is full of old southern faves and lots of creative dishes. I've never ordered something that I didn't love!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

Dined on December 15, 2015

Had an early dinner before a show. Seating was quick, table was ready. Server was efficient, knowledgeable, and helpful with recommendations. Food was delicious, quantity was perfect. Old Fourth Street Filling Station never disappoints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great outdoor seating on the patio. Insi ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

Great outdoor seating on the patio. Inside is a bit noisy. Menu is correct about "Winston's best calamari". Highly recommended for casual dining.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Thanksgiving meal

Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving meal, and it was OUTSIDE! Who would have thought we could do that in Nov. , but the restaurant had a great enclosed patio, and the day was bright and sunny, and not chilly at all. This made our Thanksgiving extra special :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

Never ate.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Made reservation days in advance, called to confirm a day and a half before. We were reassured that all was in order. Arrived with group of 12 on time at 8 pm and waited 50 minutes in the cold on the side walk before canceling and leaving as there was no relief in sight. This is the second time this has happened at Fourth St. Filling Station - perhaps they take more reservations than they can handle in an evening - or they have not figured out timing of departures and schedule reservations that do not allow enough time for folks to linger and enjoy dessert and coffee. Either way, poor handling of reservations. Gave 3 stars for food and ambiance as we have eaten there before and did not have issues with either one. However, this evening we did not experience the food or the ambiance because we left.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.