Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. The steak was excellent as was the pasta dish. My only complaint was the only available table with a reservation was near two large parties, which can happen anywhere. Waiter was excellent, we will definitely go back. I loved the option of a four ounce filet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We were in Winston-Salem for a business meeting but also wanted to have a nice dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary on this same day. We had a wonderful experience that evening... excellent food, great service, and a perfect evening on the patio. This is our second time for coming to this restaurant and will certainly remain at the top of our list when in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. The food was great and Jesse was an exceptional server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Suggest 6:00 pm or earlier arrival on weekends. Great outdoor seating.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We dined at The Old Fourth Street FIlling Station as part of a trip to Winston-Salem to see an exhibit at the Reynolda House from our home about 1 1/2 hours away. Our party of 3 chose it after looking at online reviews and weren't disappointed. It has wonderful outdoor dining and a unique twist on classic brunch dishes. The coffee was flavorful and strong, the Mimosa perfectly mixed and the food divine. Our server was pleasant but not too friendly and we weren't rushed to leave. I would highly recommend The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for a relaxing brunch or a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful experience from the hostess to the wait staff. Wide Food selection and all tasted great

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Been coming here for years and always on my list of places to go when people ask for a good place near downtown.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Super good meal. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Sat outside and it was comfortable. Service was good. Steak was medium rare instead of well done. Had to send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great outside seating area, wonderful food, and very friendly & attentive staff. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excelllent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent meal and Michael is an excellent server. 1st time dining here and it won't be my last. So many things on the menu and I would like to try them all. Serving size is just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Have always enjoyed our meals here The service is always, stellar.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very nice restaurant in a beautiful setting with great outdoor dining. Food was great and the staff was friendly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food and service were good, but we ate outside and the flies were terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was good . I has crab stuffed fish. Fish was a little dry but very good. We ordered calamari to share. It was ok. We enjoyed the evening . Service was good , and we liked the atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Nice food, good service. Could be a little bit more attentive to minor diner needs like extra silverware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Another delicious dinner. Such a pleasant relaxing atmosphere. A great place to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great brunch
Shame we couldn't be seated outside though

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed our afternoon lunch on the patio. The salmon was fantastic. We also enjoyed the homemade strawberry cake for dessert.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had brunch outside and it was delicious and service was super!❤️

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Enjoyed our meal at Fourth Street Filling Station. Service was great👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Another excellent evening at our local favorite. GREAT food, excellent service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Really good. Fun atmosphere. Nice service. Excellent variety of good food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was a great expirence. I was really surprised that they offered two sizes of wine by the glass. The crab stuffed Mahi Mahi was a really fine dish. my wife was a little disappointed with her Shrimp and Grits the shrimp was a bit rubbery . All and all we difinatlly will return .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great food and great menu for lunch! Menu has many choices that are healthy.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Love the shrimp and grits. Also love the chicken salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food, great location. It's a little loud indoors, but fun. Outdoor seating options are excellent.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

They have a great lunch menu. I love this restaurant because I don't have a big appetite and they will split meals for you and you don't have to worry about them rolling their eyes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal, good value and service with a smile! What more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great Place for great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We look forward to eating there again. Our waitress Jessica was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

First time visit while coming into Winston-Salem to visit colleges. We came in on a Thursday night and we're happy to find it was half price wine night! Excellent! But, be prepared because this also means the place is packed with people; seemed like most of the diners were women! Due to wine night? Make sure you have reservations. Our server was sweet, the food was great. Can recommend the crabcake dinner, and the Southwestern Flank Steak. We will return next time we are in town.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We always enjoy Fourth Street Filling Station! Each person in our party ordered something different, and all was enjoyed!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day brunch and it exceeded our expectations. We were seated promptly and our service was excellent. They never rushed us and the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a very pleasant early dinner. Lovely staff, nice outdoor atmosphere. Good meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant evening of outside dining on their patio. Food and service were great and priced reasonably. Highly recommend it for outside dining in W-S.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were hoping to eat outside on the patio. Not easy to accommodate a group of 11. Good food great service. Will book earlier next time to get outside table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.