About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Signature Carolina Shrimp & Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Grilled Salmon Salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Strawberry Dream Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Shrimp and Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
BLT - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crabmeat Wantons  - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Bread - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
French Martini - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Meatloaf Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crab Wontons - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Salmon salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Chicken Fajita Wrap With Homemade Chips - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Seafood Jambalaya - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Filling Station Salad W Sesame Ginger Dressing W Grilled Chicken - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Filet Nepoleon - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Meatloaf Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Pulled Pork Cuban Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Chocolate Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Key Lime Cake @ 5th Street Filling Station - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Build A Burger - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Bloody Mary - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
West End Club - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fireplace (9)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outside of the extended wait outside, it ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Outside of the extended wait outside, it was a very good 1st visit!!! Will definitely return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We showed up about 5 mins before our res ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

We showed up about 5 mins before our reservation and 30 mins later, we just left. There were other people that also had reservations that had been waiting more than 30 mins. We knew we were in for an even longer wait so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The meal we had a very good. We had the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal we had a very good. We had the special as well as the steak off the menu. All cooked well and the table service was good.

What we didn't like was the 45 minute wait when we had a reservation booked and we were there on time. Why have a reservation if you have to wait 45 mins? That will make me pause before going back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service and food were great. However ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

The service and food were great. However, we were a party of 4 and could barely hear eachother. Very loud. Not recommended for an intimate dinner

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was very delicious. Cajun Bloody Ma ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was very delicious. Cajun Bloody Mary was really good. Our server Lindsey was wonderful and knowledgeable! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really great. We started of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was really great. We started off with the calamari. It was the most tender calamari that I have ever had. I wasn't happy that they ran out of the specials so early in the evening, I was really looking forward to one of them.

Our server was super awesome. Carissa was pleasant, funny, and did a great job taking care of our needs. She is the main reason we would come back and that's saying something since we were first time diners at this restaurant. We normally focus on the food.

We sat on the patio. It was cold outside but the heaters do the job! The only real complaint I have about the actual restaurant is the table we sat at. It was rickety and we had to ask the server to help us even it out. Cracked along the edges. It snagged my sweater a couple of times.

It was loud. Very loud but this can't be put on the restaurant. The patrons were definitely enjoying themselves, maybe a little too much but again it was New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always good. Excellent service! Never di ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good. Excellent service! Never disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an early reservation for dinner on N ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an early reservation for dinner on New Year's Eve. Food was okay. Service was nice, but it was swamped and noisy! Made for a nice evening.....had the Jumbalya.......it was average, but came out of the kitchen hot and on time. Liked the spice level but maybe the rice could have cooked a little longer. Our waiter was good, but he was busy, busy! Overall a great experience. I prefer dining there in the summer, spring or fall and being seated outside.

The appetizers are an excellent value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Friendly staff, good menu. I was there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friendly staff, good menu. I was there on New Year's Eve and would have probably been more impressed if the restaurant had done something, anything, to indicate it was a special night. There was no mention of it, no special menu, nothing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service, food was delicious as alw ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, food was delicious as always. Shrimp and grits is the best in town, chocolate cake is to die for and you can't go wrong with the southwest wonton appetizer. Would love a year-round Saturday brunch as their Sunday brunch is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent filing food, and remarkably fa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent filing food, and remarkably fast service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visiting. Great experience. L ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2016

First time visiting. Great experience. Live the character of the place and the neighborhood. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were lucky to be able to make a reser ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were lucky to be able to make a reservation for a large group at this time of year. Had to go a little early but thankful to find a reservation. Food was awesome, atmosphere great, seated on time. Wonderful evening with friends for a double birthday!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was great. It was c ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food and service was great. It was cozy sitting by the fireplace enjoying the surroundings. And it was convenient to hear the Winston-Salem present the Messiah.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made our reservation on Open Table to ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We made our reservation on Open Table to cap off a fun night in Old Salem with a nice meal and were very disappointed to be led outside to the patio because it was so cold outside. The patio was wrapped in plastic and and contained some heaters so we decided to give it a chance when the hostess told us it would feel warmer when we sat down. It did not. The metal chairs were freezing and the wrap was not secure and the vertical strips that made the 'door' kept out no wind. The food was delicious and piping hot when served but cooled quickly once on the table. I think the restaurant should have contacted us when the reservation was made to let us know that the only seating available was on the patio. We would have gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

Have come here often, but this last time ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Have come here often, but this last time was disappointing. Had reservation for 7, was not seated until 7:30. Upon being seated waiter informed me food would take longer than usual due to a large loud party across the room. When the food came it was really good as usual though. When I got the bill I waited another 15 minutes for someone to come get my card for payment but no one came and so I walked it up to the front to pay.

I like this restaurant but this night my wife and I did not feel like a priority at any point in the night, it was especially frustrating to have to wait so long when I had a confirmed reservation. All the extra time forced us to have to cut our other plans short that evening due to later hour when we finally got out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Great shrimp and grits.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service, good location

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, good service, good location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner here the night after Thanksgi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had dinner here the night after Thanksgiving. Busy but not too crowded. I had the Blue Surf and Turf (small filet with blue cheese and 4 large shrimp), mashed potatoes and vegetables. Spouse had a small filet. Good size portions, hot and well prepared. Generous cocktails mixed perfectly. Only negative was they forgot to bring our calamari appetizer, but they brought it anyway and comped us. So we ordered dessert, which we almost never do. Chocolate lava cake was fabulous. Good attentive and quick service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We met our daughter's family halfway bet ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We met our daughter's family halfway between our towns for thanksgiving. The people were so nice, really made us feel at home. The atmosphere was great- we didn't eat on the patio but that seem to have an especially good atmosphere. Recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Perfect Thanksgiving lunch

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice Perfect Thanksgiving lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All around great dinning experience!! I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All around great dinning experience!! I had the Lobster Ravioli and it was delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great well prepared food. Good prices. G ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great well prepared food. Good prices. Great, speedy, polite service. My business associate gave me many compliments on my pick of restaurant because of 4th Street Filling Station.

Overall: Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Not worth the price

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very disappointed. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great food and service. Good variety of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great food and service. Good variety of dishes on menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new menu has great offerings. Our w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The new menu has great offerings. Our waiter made excellent recommendations on appetizers, entrees and wine. I throughly enjoyed the stuffed rainbow trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is convenient to our nee ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This restaurant is convenient to our needs in Winston Salem when we visit, and have been before. On the most recent visit, the interior smelled of cheap commercial cleaner in the same way that bathroom on the interstate does. I very nearly asked my dining partners if we could abort and go across the street, but elected not to make a scene.

I had forgotten how ho-hum the menu is, and at length opted for the burger.

The burger was a burger, no complaints but no kudos, either. The homemade potato chips were not done. The service was fine.

We will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Fantastic key lime cake!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fantastic key lime cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Foods is aways very good. Just didn't l ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Foods is aways very good. Just didn't like setting out side on cool night. Plus lighting was poor. Waitress said outside heaters wouldn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place to eat in Winston Salem. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place to eat in Winston Salem.

We eat there every time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant n ever fails to please. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

this restaurant n ever fails to please. brought a big group when our son moved back into WFU for his 2nd year and the manager was so accommodating and just wonderful!

brought an even bigger crowd back the other night and Nicole was fantastic - almost doubled the # of guests so we were outside under the tent which was perfect - we all had a great time

our # one favorite in Winston Salem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth Street Filling is always a fun ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fourth Street Filling is always a fun night out. Their food is consistently good and it's a great place to meet friends. Lots of outdoor seating!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a little slow, not due t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was a little slow, not due to the waitstaff. They were terrific. I think they may have been understaffed. There were also two parties going on.

Food was good, though the green beans were more crisp than I like, closer to raw. The wine list was pretty good with several personal favorites. The noise was a little high, we dined inside. And, again two parties going on. I have dined on the patio previously which is also nice.

Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food on this visit! The servers co ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food on this visit! The servers could use a little more formal training, like not passing the plates across the table, that sort of thing other than that they're friendly and knowledgeable and I'd recommend this restaurant to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service and food. We leis ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding service and food. We leisurely dined on a Sunday evening with family of multi-generations. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the prices we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the prices were great. I had the crab cake meal that included two large crab cakes and large portions of the two side dishes. Prompt and polite service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go. Excell ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling St ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling Station! It's a special place to us and our go-to downtown WS favorite!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress had great recommendations a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waitress had great recommendations and the drinks and food were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Two of my college friends went with me o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Two of my college friends went with me on a Tuesday night. We ate outside and the setting was beautiful. Two of us ordered Tuscan Chicken and it was the best I have ever eaten. Our waiter was on top of things and engaging. Only recommendation would be to sit under the fans if possible to avoid flies. Great evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.