Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

OutdoorDining (19)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
GoodForDates (14)
See All
Casual (14)
SpecialOccasions (12)
Birthdays (11)
Lunch (10)
WorthTheDrive (8)
Cozy (8)
Groups (7)
LocalIngredients (7)
Fun (7)
Anniversaries (7)
Romance (6)
ComfortFood (6)
Brunch (6)
QuietConversation (5)
SundayLunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Historic (5)
PrePostTheatre (5)
CreativeCuisine (4)
ScenicView (4)
BusinessMeals (4)
PeopleWatching (3)
Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
HappyHour (2)
Healthy (2)
HandcraftedCocktails (2)
HotSpot (2)
Seasonal (2)
DisabledAccess (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
GreatBeer (1)
QuickBite (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
BarSeating (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

First time visit while coming into Winston-Salem to visit colleges. We came in on a Thursday night and we're happy to find it was half price wine night! Excellent! But, be prepared because this also means the place is packed with people; seemed like most of the diners were women! Due to wine night? Make sure you have reservations. Our server was sweet, the food was great. Can recommend the crabcake dinner, and the Southwestern Flank Steak. We will return next time we are in town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy Fourth Street Filling Station! Each person in our party ordered something different, and all was enjoyed!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day brunch and it exceeded our expectations. We were seated promptly and our service was excellent. They never rushed us and the food was absolutely delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a very pleasant early dinner. Lovely staff, nice outdoor atmosphere. Good meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant evening of outside dining on their patio. Food and service were great and priced reasonably. Highly recommend it for outside dining in W-S.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were hoping to eat outside on the patio. Not easy to accommodate a group of 11. Good food great service. Will book earlier next time to get outside table.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very enjoyable Graduation dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Early afternoon lunch with my wife and daughter. Lovely setting at our outside table, good food. My wife had the salmon, my daughter and I each nad the Asian salad. All met our expectations! Recommend for a nice lunch

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a large group and the service was very good. Food was good!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to the filling station for a Mother's day/Graduation lunch and it was a complete disaster. We had a 12:30 reservation and we were seated at 12:45- which was fine. Once seated our waitress immediately told us the wait for food was going to be long and that the kitchen was backed up. We actually appreciated her being up front... we had several friends in the restaurant that had been waiting for food for over an hour, but we were OK. We ordered a round of drinks... and then another round... and then we watched as almost every other table got their food, paid the bill, and left. We went to the manager and shared with her that tables that were seated AFTER we ordered had already eaten, paid the bill and left... this was a good 90 minutes after we were seated. Every single person in the dining room had come in AFTER we placed our order... and then the final blow- we were told that some food takes longer to cook than other food... we ordered poached eggs! Finally when another tray of food was delivered to another table- a table that was seated a good 30-40 minutes after we placed our order, we got up and walked out. It was 2:30- a mere two hours after our reservation... and still no food- we got up and walked out!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wake forest graduation for our daughter.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This restaurant always delivers: good food, good service, good value. I love the patio. The menu has lots of options that range in price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Sunday brunch and the food was pretty good. We had a 1:15 reservation via Open Table, but we didn't get sat until 2. The hostess admittedly forgot about us. Our waitress was nice and accommodating, but it was another hour from the time we sat down to when we got our food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was wonderful like always!! One of my favorite brunch places!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch.. and were very pleased. The menu on line needs to be updated (offerings and prices) and for being a very busy day the service was very good, food well prepared and we were very happy we went there instead of our old standby of the country club... much better value and a nice menu and good quality food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Attractively priced. Decent wine list at affordable prices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an overall nice experience. Our server (Mike I think) was exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful food and great dining environment!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love 4th Street. Always a reliable favorite for great food and drinks. Can be loud inside as the seating isn't well spaced out, but the patio is wonderful. Salmon salad is my favorite, but you really can't go wrong with anything!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first visit and we were very pleased. Food was excellent! We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had made reservation to celebrate an anniversary with our family who were visiting from our of town. Initial when we made our reservation we had mentioned having outdoor seating however the weather had turned cold and windy and when we arrived the restaurant was nearly empty and we requested to sit inside and were met with great animosity. The hostesses were incredibly rude and made us feel as if we were asking for too much. They eventually sat us at a booth which was perfect for all of us and our waiter was phenomenal and the food was great as well, but it definitely left a bad taste in our mouth. As it had been a while since I had dined at 4th Street I was very excited but can't say if it will be on the top of my list next time we have family in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and food is always fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brought a large group for brunch, had great service and the food was good too. Would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a private review:

Service great, fast enough, and my guests orders were ample and delicious. However, my salmon salad was a disappointment. The only green used was curly endive which is impossible to eat in public. It curls all over the place when you are trying to eat it--under your nose, down your chin, into your eye, etc. . A variety of lettuces would have been better. There is no fight with flatter leaves--I suggest two kinds of lettuce, one sprig of curly endive, no spinich, a few small tomatoes, maybe a black olive or two or two, sliced onion. I just couldn't eat the salad part and I was really hungry but the salmon was delicious. Thanks for the bread!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

There was some delay in seating our group at the time of our reservation, but it wasn't excessive

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Despite the reservation time we waited for 15 mins.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous! Our server Lindsey was so helpful and so kind to my boyfriend and me. We enjoyed our meal and also sat by a nice cozy fire. The reservation was very easy to get because of OpenTable:).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A little disappointed on the variety and range of the Sunday Brunch. Meal was o.k. .....had crab Benedict but the pouched eggs were a little too runny. Past meals have been very good however.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was looking for a quick bite to eat after a show. Made a reservation on short notice on Open Table. Service and the food was competent. Price charged for the value received was fine. If we're in Winston again, we'll consider giving it another visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a large group (14) at 7pm on a busy Saturday night. Our waitress was wonderful. She managed all of our orders (correctly!) and checked in with us several times. The food was great - I had the grilled salmon salad and asked if the chef could blacken the salmon, and it was wonderful! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

No problem getting in. Nice ambience with historic home-like feel. Then trouble...Our server (PJ) was forgetful about taking our drink orders, timely serving the drinks, and he actually served the bill before forgetting we ordered dessert. He did not write anything down, which might have helped him out a bit.
My food was just 'meh' (I got the tortellini as half of the $30 dinner for two) but my wife's filet of mignon was tasty. Oh, and we were overcharged (got billed for two specials-$60, instead of one). Won't be back. Sad!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my friend out for her birthday. Service is fabulous and the food is even better. I will go back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food but seating indoor is a little stuffy. More light indoor would be great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Waited over an hour for our entrees due a party of 20+ people which was seated after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Al fresco dining in February. A great treat since I'm from New York. Excellent food. Attentive service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was great. They let us bring our own wine for a $10 fee😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had eaten here a year ago during which the service was poor--long delays after ordering until the food was delivered to the table--but we decided to give it another chance. The food was good (jambalaya and trout as entrees, ahi tuna as an appetizer) but the service was substandard. When we entered the restaurant, the waitstaff seemed disorganized (we were being shown to a table before the hostess realized it had been cleared). Attention by the waiter was timely and the food came out quickly. But what we resented was the attitude of the waiter: he was distinctly unfriendly, and to call it hostile may not be going too far (we are both in our late 60s and one of us is Asian). We got the impression, which may not be true, that he'd rather we were not there. He frowned the whole time and his bodily motions, slapping things down on the table, quickly turning away, everything he did made us very uncomfortable (even though we barely said any words to him). We are in our late 60s (one of us is Asian) and we have never been treated this way, ever. Maybe he is not representative of the entire staff, but the manager needs to pay more attention to training. A small item: no coasters or napkins delivered with drinks. This left condensation covering the wooden table from every time we put down our drinks, which we had to wipe up with our cloth napkins so that it did not get on our clothes, at least until plates started coming out. What restaurant in the world pays so little attention to the basics? We are not looking for the fake cheery approach you see from too many waiters and waitresses. All we want is efficiency and to feel welcome, nothing more than that. Needless to say, we will not be going back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was a great value and prepared perfectly. The outdoor patio was very nice for lunch on a surprisingly warm day in February.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place is wonderful, went with my girlfriend for Valentines day and it was fabulous. A little bit crowded feeling indoors, but the food was awesome and the service was on fleak!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.