About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Signature Carolina Shrimp & Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Grilled Salmon Salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Strawberry Dream Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Shrimp and Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
BLT - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crabmeat Wantons  - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Bread - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
French Martini - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Meatloaf Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Crab Wontons - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Salmon salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Chicken Fajita Wrap With Homemade Chips - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Seafood Jambalaya - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Filling Station Salad W Sesame Ginger Dressing W Grilled Chicken - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Filet Nepoleon - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Meatloaf Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Pulled Pork Cuban Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Chocolate Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Key Lime Cake @ 5th Street Filling Station - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Build A Burger - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
Bloody Mary - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC
West End Club - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station, Winston-Salem, NC

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great shrimp and grits.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Great shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service, good location

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, good service, good location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner here the night after Thanksgi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had dinner here the night after Thanksgiving. Busy but not too crowded. I had the Blue Surf and Turf (small filet with blue cheese and 4 large shrimp), mashed potatoes and vegetables. Spouse had a small filet. Good size portions, hot and well prepared. Generous cocktails mixed perfectly. Only negative was they forgot to bring our calamari appetizer, but they brought it anyway and comped us. So we ordered dessert, which we almost never do. Chocolate lava cake was fabulous. Good attentive and quick service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We met our daughter's family halfway bet ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We met our daughter's family halfway between our towns for thanksgiving. The people were so nice, really made us feel at home. The atmosphere was great- we didn't eat on the patio but that seem to have an especially good atmosphere. Recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Perfect Thanksgiving lunch

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice Perfect Thanksgiving lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All around great dinning experience!! I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All around great dinning experience!! I had the Lobster Ravioli and it was delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great well prepared food. Good prices. G ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great well prepared food. Good prices. Great, speedy, polite service. My business associate gave me many compliments on my pick of restaurant because of 4th Street Filling Station.

Overall: Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Not worth the price

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very disappointed. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great food and service. Good variety of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great food and service. Good variety of dishes on menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new menu has great offerings. Our w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The new menu has great offerings. Our waiter made excellent recommendations on appetizers, entrees and wine. I throughly enjoyed the stuffed rainbow trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is convenient to our nee ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This restaurant is convenient to our needs in Winston Salem when we visit, and have been before. On the most recent visit, the interior smelled of cheap commercial cleaner in the same way that bathroom on the interstate does. I very nearly asked my dining partners if we could abort and go across the street, but elected not to make a scene.

I had forgotten how ho-hum the menu is, and at length opted for the burger.

The burger was a burger, no complaints but no kudos, either. The homemade potato chips were not done. The service was fine.

We will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Fantastic key lime cake!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fantastic key lime cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Foods is aways very good. Just didn't l ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Foods is aways very good. Just didn't like setting out side on cool night. Plus lighting was poor. Waitress said outside heaters wouldn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place to eat in Winston Salem. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place to eat in Winston Salem.

We eat there every time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant n ever fails to please. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

this restaurant n ever fails to please. brought a big group when our son moved back into WFU for his 2nd year and the manager was so accommodating and just wonderful!

brought an even bigger crowd back the other night and Nicole was fantastic - almost doubled the # of guests so we were outside under the tent which was perfect - we all had a great time

our # one favorite in Winston Salem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth Street Filling is always a fun ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fourth Street Filling is always a fun night out. Their food is consistently good and it's a great place to meet friends. Lots of outdoor seating!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a little slow, not due t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was a little slow, not due to the waitstaff. They were terrific. I think they may have been understaffed. There were also two parties going on.

Food was good, though the green beans were more crisp than I like, closer to raw. The wine list was pretty good with several personal favorites. The noise was a little high, we dined inside. And, again two parties going on. I have dined on the patio previously which is also nice.

Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food on this visit! The servers co ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food on this visit! The servers could use a little more formal training, like not passing the plates across the table, that sort of thing other than that they're friendly and knowledgeable and I'd recommend this restaurant to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service and food. We leis ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding service and food. We leisurely dined on a Sunday evening with family of multi-generations. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the prices we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the prices were great. I had the crab cake meal that included two large crab cakes and large portions of the two side dishes. Prompt and polite service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go. Excell ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling St ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling Station! It's a special place to us and our go-to downtown WS favorite!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress had great recommendations a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waitress had great recommendations and the drinks and food were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Two of my college friends went with me o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Two of my college friends went with me on a Tuesday night. We ate outside and the setting was beautiful. Two of us ordered Tuscan Chicken and it was the best I have ever eaten. Our waiter was on top of things and engaging. Only recommendation would be to sit under the fans if possible to avoid flies. Great evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot with some unique and deliciou ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great spot with some unique and delicious offerings. Try the bacon wrapped banana peppers stuffed with cream cheese and Italian sausage! Lovely quaint setting with lots of outdoor dining in a charming brick enclosed and tree canopied patio. Our server was fantastic. He cheerfully consulted with the chef to modify my entree to make it gluten free.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is great. The temperature is to ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is great. The temperature is too warm. The a/c has been out for at least a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Excellent evening, we're disappointed th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent evening, we're disappointed that it took us so long to try it. We'll be back SOON!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super impressed with the food, wonderful ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Super impressed with the food, wonderful flavors! Great service, our waiter Gerald, made sure we had everything we wanted and kept checking to be sure that no need went unanswered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm not sure if they don't have A/C or i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 25, 2016

I'm not sure if they don't have A/C or if it was just not working, but the dining room was very hot. All of the ceiling fans were on and there were box fans scattered around the room. It would have been cooler to eat outside because at least there was a periodic breeze, and that's with the high temperatures. While the food was very good, I was a little disappointed in the service. I travel a lot for work, so I eat alone a lot. Unfortunately I found here what I do at a lot of restaurants, when you're a female eating alone, you don't tend to get the service that bigger parties do. As an example, a table of 3 was seated after me and they had their food way before I did and the waitress spent a lot of time with them. The other issue I had was that I could see the pick up area for the bar from my table. I watched as multiple servers were trying to figure out what was in one particular glass that was set at the pick up area. I saw at least 4 different people put their noses in the wine glass to smell it. That is absolutely disgusting. If you can't ask the bartender what is in the glass, then have them re-pour whatever your customer ordered. Because of this, I won't go back the next time I'm in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Truly enjoyed sitting outside on the pat ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Truly enjoyed sitting outside on the patio for the evening. Appreciated the citronella candles to repel the mosquitos!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place to enjoy lunch. Excell ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2016

A wonderful place to enjoy lunch. Excellent food and service. Chicken salad is fabulous and all sandwiches are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to meet for a business lunch ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to meet for a business lunch. Also have a great Sunday brunch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice meal.Loved the out door settin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice meal.Loved the out door setting.Seafood Pasta was delicious. Will being back very soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food in a great setting.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredible food in a great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we love the filling station. food, servi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2016

we love the filling station. food, service, atmosphere are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times, this visit ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2016

I have eaten here many times, this visit really wasn't what it used to be. Food was lukewarm, favors not like they were. Server tried hard but just not sure he's cut out to be a server. Overall it was just a mediocre experience in a town with some amazing restaurants. If it weren't for the awesome patio, I'd have deducted another star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I dine here often and this was my first ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2016

I dine here often and this was my first bad experience. We waited 15-20 minutes before the waitress took our order. When I mentioned this to her, she became very rude. Her bad attitude spoiled the occasion. My guest, a first-time visitor, was shocked by the waitresses' attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We have eaten there several times usuall ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 13, 2016

We have eaten there several times usually on birthdays and the service and food is always excellent. The outdoor dining area is great when the weather is nice. Convenient to downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall taste of the food was okay, but ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Overall taste of the food was okay, but I was very disappointed in the presentation of the meal.

I ordered a 4oz filet. Being only 4 oz. I was expecting a small portion, but I was taken back when the meal arrived. The steak did not look anything like a filet I've ever seen; it was barely 1/2" thick, if it was even that. It was tender, but still not convinced that it was actually a filet. I ordered medium rare, but it came out on the "done side of medium". Being as thin as it was, I'm sure it was easy to overcook.

My husband had a ribeye, and he was more satisfied with his meal than I was. His steak was cooked properly.

We ordered crab dip for a starter. Dip tasted okay, but I didn't understand the bread that it came with. I would have much preferred chips; or if it had to be bread, it would have been much better if it was toasted. Very disappointing.

Service was not horrible, but can't commend it either; example, food arrived, but had no silverware.

Great atmosphere outside in the courtyard!

I had heard many things about this place, and wanted to try it. I wouldn't go out of my way to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was average. Nothing that happe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was average. Nothing that happened that evening said come back. $150 and it was nothing more than a Cheddar's or Ruby Tuesday.

The restaurant seemed to have no air conditioning. There was a floor unit blowing air, but it was warm. It made the meal uncomfortable.

The service was less than average. The server was dispassionate. We wrote it off to a bad server with bad attitude and bad service. Her service left a bad taste in our mouths besides the bland food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.