About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Signature Carolina Shrimp & Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Grilled Salmon Salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Strawberry Dream Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Shrimp and Grits - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
BLT - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Crabmeat Wantons  - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Bread - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
French Martini - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Meatloaf Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Crab Wontons - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Salmon salad - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Chicken Fajita Wrap With Homemade Chips - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Seafood Jambalaya - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Filling Station Salad W Sesame Ginger Dressing W Grilled Chicken - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Filet Nepoleon - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Meatloaf Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Pulled Pork Cuban Sandwich - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Chocolate Cake - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Key Lime Cake @ 5th Street Filling Station - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Build A Burger - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
Bloody Mary - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station
West End Club - The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was a little slow, not due t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was a little slow, not due to the waitstaff. They were terrific. I think they may have been understaffed. There were also two parties going on.

Food was good, though the green beans were more crisp than I like, closer to raw. The wine list was pretty good with several personal favorites. The noise was a little high, we dined inside. And, again two parties going on. I have dined on the patio previously which is also nice.

Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food on this visit! The servers co ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food on this visit! The servers could use a little more formal training, like not passing the plates across the table, that sort of thing other than that they're friendly and knowledgeable and I'd recommend this restaurant to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service and food. We leis ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding service and food. We leisurely dined on a Sunday evening with family of multi-generations. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the prices we ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the prices were great. I had the crab cake meal that included two large crab cakes and large portions of the two side dishes. Prompt and polite service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go. Excell ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling St ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We love The Old Fourth Street Filling Station! It's a special place to us and our go-to downtown WS favorite!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress had great recommendations a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waitress had great recommendations and the drinks and food were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Two of my college friends went with me o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Two of my college friends went with me on a Tuesday night. We ate outside and the setting was beautiful. Two of us ordered Tuscan Chicken and it was the best I have ever eaten. Our waiter was on top of things and engaging. Only recommendation would be to sit under the fans if possible to avoid flies. Great evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot with some unique and deliciou ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great spot with some unique and delicious offerings. Try the bacon wrapped banana peppers stuffed with cream cheese and Italian sausage! Lovely quaint setting with lots of outdoor dining in a charming brick enclosed and tree canopied patio. Our server was fantastic. He cheerfully consulted with the chef to modify my entree to make it gluten free.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is great. The temperature is to ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is great. The temperature is too warm. The a/c has been out for at least a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Excellent evening, we're disappointed th ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent evening, we're disappointed that it took us so long to try it. We'll be back SOON!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super impressed with the food, wonderful ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Super impressed with the food, wonderful flavors! Great service, our waiter Gerald, made sure we had everything we wanted and kept checking to be sure that no need went unanswered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm not sure if they don't have A/C or i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I'm not sure if they don't have A/C or if it was just not working, but the dining room was very hot. All of the ceiling fans were on and there were box fans scattered around the room. It would have been cooler to eat outside because at least there was a periodic breeze, and that's with the high temperatures. While the food was very good, I was a little disappointed in the service. I travel a lot for work, so I eat alone a lot. Unfortunately I found here what I do at a lot of restaurants, when you're a female eating alone, you don't tend to get the service that bigger parties do. As an example, a table of 3 was seated after me and they had their food way before I did and the waitress spent a lot of time with them. The other issue I had was that I could see the pick up area for the bar from my table. I watched as multiple servers were trying to figure out what was in one particular glass that was set at the pick up area. I saw at least 4 different people put their noses in the wine glass to smell it. That is absolutely disgusting. If you can't ask the bartender what is in the glass, then have them re-pour whatever your customer ordered. Because of this, I won't go back the next time I'm in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Truly enjoyed sitting outside on the pat ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Truly enjoyed sitting outside on the patio for the evening. Appreciated the citronella candles to repel the mosquitos!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place to enjoy lunch. Excell ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A wonderful place to enjoy lunch. Excellent food and service. Chicken salad is fabulous and all sandwiches are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to meet for a business lunch ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to meet for a business lunch. Also have a great Sunday brunch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice meal.Loved the out door settin ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice meal.Loved the out door setting.Seafood Pasta was delicious. Will being back very soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food in a great setting.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredible food in a great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we love the filling station. food, servi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

we love the filling station. food, service, atmosphere are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times, this visit ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I have eaten here many times, this visit really wasn't what it used to be. Food was lukewarm, favors not like they were. Server tried hard but just not sure he's cut out to be a server. Overall it was just a mediocre experience in a town with some amazing restaurants. If it weren't for the awesome patio, I'd have deducted another star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I dine here often and this was my first ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I dine here often and this was my first bad experience. We waited 15-20 minutes before the waitress took our order. When I mentioned this to her, she became very rude. Her bad attitude spoiled the occasion. My guest, a first-time visitor, was shocked by the waitresses' attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We have eaten there several times usuall ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We have eaten there several times usually on birthdays and the service and food is always excellent. The outdoor dining area is great when the weather is nice. Convenient to downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall taste of the food was okay, but ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Overall taste of the food was okay, but I was very disappointed in the presentation of the meal.

I ordered a 4oz filet. Being only 4 oz. I was expecting a small portion, but I was taken back when the meal arrived. The steak did not look anything like a filet I've ever seen; it was barely 1/2" thick, if it was even that. It was tender, but still not convinced that it was actually a filet. I ordered medium rare, but it came out on the "done side of medium". Being as thin as it was, I'm sure it was easy to overcook.

My husband had a ribeye, and he was more satisfied with his meal than I was. His steak was cooked properly.

We ordered crab dip for a starter. Dip tasted okay, but I didn't understand the bread that it came with. I would have much preferred chips; or if it had to be bread, it would have been much better if it was toasted. Very disappointing.

Service was not horrible, but can't commend it either; example, food arrived, but had no silverware.

Great atmosphere outside in the courtyard!

I had heard many things about this place, and wanted to try it. I wouldn't go out of my way to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was average. Nothing that happe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was average. Nothing that happened that evening said come back. $150 and it was nothing more than a Cheddar's or Ruby Tuesday.

The restaurant seemed to have no air conditioning. There was a floor unit blowing air, but it was warm. It made the meal uncomfortable.

The service was less than average. The server was dispassionate. We wrote it off to a bad server with bad attitude and bad service. Her service left a bad taste in our mouths besides the bland food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Fantastic waitress (Carissa). Sat outsi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Fantastic waitress (Carissa). Sat outside on a perfect evening and thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We didn't have a good experience. First ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We didn't have a good experience. First I called 3 days before our reservation and specially ask to sit under covered side of patio and they said no problem. We arrived and they had lost the reservation for the lady in front of me! When I approach the lady to check in she was extremely rude and acted annoyed. Then we were seating inside without explanation or apology where it was hot and smelt like they had a sewage. The food and server whet both decent. This was a birthday party so it was very disappointing. They also lost my reservation for my birthday several years ago! I will never go back to eat there!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great place

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was well prepared and presented. They have a nice wine and beer list. Our server was excellent and attentive. We sat in the patio whicwhich was nice and comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming once a year for the l ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been coming once a year for the last five years. Each year gets even better. Great for either lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grad Weekend Lunch

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent service and food for a large group of 13 for outdoor lunch on a very busy Wake Forest Graduation weekend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very long line, but staff coordinated well and we were seated for our reservation. Server was attentive and friendly, but we still had a very long wait for our food. Food was worth the ticket time (about 40 minutes). Great experience even with the wait for our food. Mom was pleased so was a good day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We made Mother's Day reservations and wh ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made Mother's Day reservations and when we arrived there was a crowd of people who had been waiting for quite some time beyond their reservation time- at least 30 minutes.

We also waited around 30-45 minutes. After being seated, we were given drinks quickly and served our food fairly promptly despite the crowd. The server was very good at keeping a check on our beverages. The food wasn't as good as I remembered it being in on previous visits, but it was still good. We had an overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This restaurant over books regularly so ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant over books regularly so plan on waiting a half hour to 45 minutes past your reservation before you get seated. My husband order a brunch entree and when they brought the food they stated that they were out of bacon? Each time I have dined here there has been something off. Not a fan anymore. Good food, but what's the point of planning with a reservation when it doesn't matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Didn't realize Sunday brunch went until ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Didn't realize Sunday brunch went until 3:00 PM! Were we in for a surprise. The mother of my children had salmon and homemade hash browns, our son and I each had burgers. It was a wonderful meal, a bit busy, but yeah it was Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Made a reservation for 8 people for Moth ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 people for Mother's Day for 2:15 pm. We arrived and checked in about 15 minutes early. We did this to try to have my 80 year old mother and father seated quickly. There was a long line, some with reservations and some without. We ended up waiting 30 minutes past our scheduled reservation time to be seated while many without reservations were seated ahead of us. I understand we had a large party, but the kicker was when a party of 10 without a reservation (my husband asked them) was seated before us. When questioned, the hostess indicated they were seated first in order to get them out before a later scheduled reservation for 10. After we questioned their mindset, we were seated promptly and lunch/brunch was served quickly considering the occasion and crowd and was quite good. Service was decent - again considering how busy the restaurant was. The only objection was the management of the reservation process, which did not seem to work well on a busy day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server Tim was friendly and attentiv ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server Tim was friendly and attentive. The food is always great and atmosphere is pleasant with the outside seating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traveling thru Winston Salem and found t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Traveling thru Winston Salem and found this on Open Table. Arrived an hour early and was promptly seated. Tables are a little close together. Service was excellent and the food was very good. We both had the potato soup and half a sandwich. The soup was hot and tasty and the sandwiches were large and very good. We travel thru Winston Salem a couple times a year and we would definitely stop here again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love the filling station! It's our g ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We love the filling station! It's our go to brunch every Sunday. We alternate with Village Tavern. It's just a matter of "Do we want apple nut muffins or do we want poppyseed muffins?". I specially love the eggs Benedict for only eight dollars with my favorite grits and cinnamon apples. Thank you so much for providing a great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food...once we were seated

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a 7:30pm reservation on a Friday night, which is obviously a popular time for a very popular restaurant. We arrived at 7:20pm but were not seated until 7:55pm. Maybe there was a glitch in the system, but it didn't seem like the restaurant had a system for tracking reservations and a waiting list. The hostess apologized when we were seated and said we would be "taken care of". Everything part of our experience after this was great, especially the food, but I thought we were going to be offered a drink, dessert, or discount for the wait. Maybe poor communication between the hostess and the server. After dinner, I went back and looked at the reviews and it seems like the experience we had is common. While a 35 minute wait would have been fine if we didn't have a reservation, I don't think a restaurant should take reservations if they can't honor them. I'll come back but doubt I'll waste my time making a reservation again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Food - excellent. Very loud and cramped seating for a party of 8. Outdoor dining might be better, but we had an elderly lady with us that does not do well outside. Food well worth any discomfort inside. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Great server! Jamie. Whe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food! Great server! Jamie. When we got there they had us outside but we wanted to eat inside. They were awesome meeting our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.