Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.91mi

About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Cozy (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fireplace (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (8)
Historic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Sunday brunch and the food was pretty good. We had a 1:15 reservation via Open Table, but we didn't get sat until 2. The hostess admittedly forgot about us. Our waitress was nice and accommodating, but it was another hour from the time we sat down to when we got our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was wonderful like always!! One of my favorite brunch places!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch.. and were very pleased. The menu on line needs to be updated (offerings and prices) and for being a very busy day the service was very good, food well prepared and we were very happy we went there instead of our old standby of the country club... much better value and a nice menu and good quality food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Attractively priced. Decent wine list at affordable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an overall nice experience. Our server (Mike I think) was exceptional.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful food and great dining environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love 4th Street. Always a reliable favorite for great food and drinks. Can be loud inside as the seating isn't well spaced out, but the patio is wonderful. Salmon salad is my favorite, but you really can't go wrong with anything!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first visit and we were very pleased. Food was excellent! We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had made reservation to celebrate an anniversary with our family who were visiting from our of town. Initial when we made our reservation we had mentioned having outdoor seating however the weather had turned cold and windy and when we arrived the restaurant was nearly empty and we requested to sit inside and were met with great animosity. The hostesses were incredibly rude and made us feel as if we were asking for too much. They eventually sat us at a booth which was perfect for all of us and our waiter was phenomenal and the food was great as well, but it definitely left a bad taste in our mouth. As it had been a while since I had dined at 4th Street I was very excited but can't say if it will be on the top of my list next time we have family in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and food is always fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brought a large group for brunch, had great service and the food was good too. Would recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a private review:

Service great, fast enough, and my guests orders were ample and delicious. However, my salmon salad was a disappointment. The only green used was curly endive which is impossible to eat in public. It curls all over the place when you are trying to eat it--under your nose, down your chin, into your eye, etc. . A variety of lettuces would have been better. There is no fight with flatter leaves--I suggest two kinds of lettuce, one sprig of curly endive, no spinich, a few small tomatoes, maybe a black olive or two or two, sliced onion. I just couldn't eat the salad part and I was really hungry but the salmon was delicious. Thanks for the bread!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

There was some delay in seating our group at the time of our reservation, but it wasn't excessive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Despite the reservation time we waited for 15 mins.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous! Our server Lindsey was so helpful and so kind to my boyfriend and me. We enjoyed our meal and also sat by a nice cozy fire. The reservation was very easy to get because of OpenTable:).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A little disappointed on the variety and range of the Sunday Brunch. Meal was o.k. .....had crab Benedict but the pouched eggs were a little too runny. Past meals have been very good however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was looking for a quick bite to eat after a show. Made a reservation on short notice on Open Table. Service and the food was competent. Price charged for the value received was fine. If we're in Winston again, we'll consider giving it another visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a large group (14) at 7pm on a busy Saturday night. Our waitress was wonderful. She managed all of our orders (correctly!) and checked in with us several times. The food was great - I had the grilled salmon salad and asked if the chef could blacken the salmon, and it was wonderful! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

No problem getting in. Nice ambience with historic home-like feel. Then trouble...Our server (PJ) was forgetful about taking our drink orders, timely serving the drinks, and he actually served the bill before forgetting we ordered dessert. He did not write anything down, which might have helped him out a bit.
My food was just 'meh' (I got the tortellini as half of the $30 dinner for two) but my wife's filet of mignon was tasty. Oh, and we were overcharged (got billed for two specials-$60, instead of one). Won't be back. Sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my friend out for her birthday. Service is fabulous and the food is even better. I will go back again.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food but seating indoor is a little stuffy. More light indoor would be great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Waited over an hour for our entrees due a party of 20+ people which was seated after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Al fresco dining in February. A great treat since I'm from New York. Excellent food. Attentive service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was great. They let us bring our own wine for a $10 fee😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had eaten here a year ago during which the service was poor--long delays after ordering until the food was delivered to the table--but we decided to give it another chance. The food was good (jambalaya and trout as entrees, ahi tuna as an appetizer) but the service was substandard. When we entered the restaurant, the waitstaff seemed disorganized (we were being shown to a table before the hostess realized it had been cleared). Attention by the waiter was timely and the food came out quickly. But what we resented was the attitude of the waiter: he was distinctly unfriendly, and to call it hostile may not be going too far (we are both in our late 60s and one of us is Asian). We got the impression, which may not be true, that he'd rather we were not there. He frowned the whole time and his bodily motions, slapping things down on the table, quickly turning away, everything he did made us very uncomfortable (even though we barely said any words to him). We are in our late 60s (one of us is Asian) and we have never been treated this way, ever. Maybe he is not representative of the entire staff, but the manager needs to pay more attention to training. A small item: no coasters or napkins delivered with drinks. This left condensation covering the wooden table from every time we put down our drinks, which we had to wipe up with our cloth napkins so that it did not get on our clothes, at least until plates started coming out. What restaurant in the world pays so little attention to the basics? We are not looking for the fake cheery approach you see from too many waiters and waitresses. All we want is efficiency and to feel welcome, nothing more than that. Needless to say, we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was a great value and prepared perfectly. The outdoor patio was very nice for lunch on a surprisingly warm day in February.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place is wonderful, went with my girlfriend for Valentines day and it was fabulous. A little bit crowded feeling indoors, but the food was awesome and the service was on fleak!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wines are very reasonably priced. Some of the best food for the money.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been here many times before but it was my first experience with the brunch menu. I was not disappointed. This is one of my favorite go-to restaurants in Winston Salem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went on The Big Eat night so it was really busy. They were a little slow with our order but generally they are very quick and have great food and service. Definitely worth going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had 7PM reservation. They had overbooked and were running 1.5hrs late. There was no place to wait inside so you had to stand outside in the cold and they refused to light their gas heater lamps. After nearly 2 hrs waiting - the table we were sat at was dirty, service was non-existent and the food was almost inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely a Charming place with great service little wait and delicious food. Reservations highly recommended for Friday and Saturday nights

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Moved my reservation up from 6:30 to 6pm. Restaurant was very accommodating. However, when we got there, we were seated outside on the enclosed patio, with space heaters. It was cold and noisy, as there was a large party seated next to us. It would have been nicer if they had asked us if we minded being seated outside. If it had not been for the very friendly waiter, we would have left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's a reflection to Sam's excellent service and the wonderful food that I write so glowing a review, because first impressions were dismal, from an almost lethargic young lady who seated us, to a surly server who practically scolded us for shifting a table that was balanced precariously, causing it nearly to tumble. But Sam's was a gem, the wraps were excellent, and the price was very reasonable. But for goodness' sake figure out how to manage the heat in the outside room, and get some new furniture so your servers have no reason to be so untoward. Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We ended up leaving without eating there. We had a reservation, but the restaurant clearly was not prepared. They did not have a table ready, nor did they know when a table would be available. They thought that they might be able to seat us one hour after our reservation time.

It's my suspicion that they include their outdoor, unheated, patio in their total seating, and don't adjust that for cold weather.

We would like to go back, as we've had good meals there before, but they need to get their reservation system working.

What was the Yogi Berra statement? "Nobody goes there anymore. It's too crowded."

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food and service at Fourth Street Filling Station are always good. We made a reservation for 6:30 Tuesday on Open Table but when we got the restaurant we had to wait about 30 minutes to get seated. They were having a special for The Big Eat city wide food promotion and the place was packed. Although everyone was very nice, the service was excellent and the dinner special delicious, I do wish they had offered a free appetizer or drink for our 30 minute delay. Knowing that they had customers with reservations at certain times, they should have declined walk-ins at certain times that evening. We will definitely be going back to Fourth Street Filling Station because this is the first time we have experienced a long delay in our reservation time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The hostess wasn't on top of things. People were seated ahead of us and they had later reservations. The table that we were finally seated at had been empty the entire time of our wait. Reservations were at 6pm and we were finally seated closer to 6:30. The spot for the hostess is not in a good location. There is a bottle neck and once you've given her your name, there is no where to stand, especially on the nights of the Big Eat.
With that said, the meal and waiter were great. Love eating outside in the warmer weather.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was absolutely great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Old Fourth Street Filling Station. It was not quite as crowded as usual when we first arrived, so that made conversation easier than past experiences there. The food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.