About The Old Fourth Street Filling Station

871 West 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Drop into The Old Fourth Street Filling Station for good times and great food. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite, and offers a casual, friendly dining atmosphere that you and your friends are sure to enjoy. The Old Fourth Street Filling Station also offers a friendly, professional staff of great people, who will make sure your visit is memorable and that it lives up to its reputation for pleasant dining and superb cuisine. The menu offers an inspired array of selections that is sure to satisfy everyone in your group, every time. Be sure to ask your server about new selections, daily specials, and chef's creations. Whether you're in the mood for casual dining or a special occasion, The Old Fourth Street Filling Station is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-7600

Website:
http://www.theoldfourthstreetfillingstation.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Old Fourth Street Filling Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (13)
Casual (13)
Fireplace (12)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Our dinner was fabulous! Our server Lindsey was so helpful and so kind to my boyfriend and me. We enjoyed our meal and also sat by a nice cozy fire. The reservation was very easy to get because of OpenTable:).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Was looking for a quick bite to eat after a show. Made a reservation on short notice on Open Table. Service and the food was competent. Price charged for the value received was fine. If we're in Winston again, we'll consider giving it another visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

No problem getting in. Nice ambience with historic home-like feel. Then trouble...Our server (PJ) was forgetful about taking our drink orders, timely serving the drinks, and he actually served the bill before forgetting we ordered dessert. He did not write anything down, which might have helped him out a bit.

My food was just 'meh' (I got the tortellini as half of the $30 dinner for two) but my wife's filet of mignon was tasty. Oh, and we were overcharged (got billed for two specials-$60, instead of one). Won't be back. Sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Took my friend out for her birthday. Service is fabulous and the food is even better. I will go back again.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Waited over an hour for our entrees due a party of 20+ people which was seated after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Al fresco dining in February. A great treat since I'm from New York. Excellent food. Attentive service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was great. They let us bring our own wine for a $10 fee😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had eaten here a year ago during which the service was poor--long delays after ordering until the food was delivered to the table--but we decided to give it another chance. The food was good (jambalaya and trout as entrees, ahi tuna as an appetizer) but the service was substandard. When we entered the restaurant, the waitstaff seemed disorganized (we were being shown to a table before the hostess realized it had been cleared). Attention by the waiter was timely and the food came out quickly. But what we resented was the attitude of the waiter: he was distinctly unfriendly, and to call it hostile may not be going too far (we are both in our late 60s and one of us is Asian). We got the impression, which may not be true, that he'd rather we were not there. He frowned the whole time and his bodily motions, slapping things down on the table, quickly turning away, everything he did made us very uncomfortable (even though we barely said any words to him). We are in our late 60s (one of us is Asian) and we have never been treated this way, ever. Maybe he is not representative of the entire staff, but the manager needs to pay more attention to training. A small item: no coasters or napkins delivered with drinks. This left condensation covering the wooden table from every time we put down our drinks, which we had to wipe up with our cloth napkins so that it did not get on our clothes, at least until plates started coming out. What restaurant in the world pays so little attention to the basics? We are not looking for the fake cheery approach you see from too many waiters and waitresses. All we want is efficiency and to feel welcome, nothing more than that. Needless to say, we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was a great value and prepared perfectly. The outdoor patio was very nice for lunch on a surprisingly warm day in February.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place is wonderful, went with my girlfriend for Valentines day and it was fabulous. A little bit crowded feeling indoors, but the food was awesome and the service was on fleak!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wines are very reasonably priced. Some of the best food for the money.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been here many times before but it was my first experience with the brunch menu. I was not disappointed. This is one of my favorite go-to restaurants in Winston Salem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went on The Big Eat night so it was really busy. They were a little slow with our order but generally they are very quick and have great food and service. Definitely worth going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had 7PM reservation. They had overbooked and were running 1.5hrs late. There was no place to wait inside so you had to stand outside in the cold and they refused to light their gas heater lamps. After nearly 2 hrs waiting - the table we were sat at was dirty, service was non-existent and the food was almost inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely a Charming place with great service little wait and delicious food. Reservations highly recommended for Friday and Saturday nights

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Moved my reservation up from 6:30 to 6pm. Restaurant was very accommodating. However, when we got there, we were seated outside on the enclosed patio, with space heaters. It was cold and noisy, as there was a large party seated next to us. It would have been nicer if they had asked us if we minded being seated outside. If it had not been for the very friendly waiter, we would have left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's a reflection to Sam's excellent service and the wonderful food that I write so glowing a review, because first impressions were dismal, from an almost lethargic young lady who seated us, to a surly server who practically scolded us for shifting a table that was balanced precariously, causing it nearly to tumble. But Sam's was a gem, the wraps were excellent, and the price was very reasonable. But for goodness' sake figure out how to manage the heat in the outside room, and get some new furniture so your servers have no reason to be so untoward. Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We ended up leaving without eating there. We had a reservation, but the restaurant clearly was not prepared. They did not have a table ready, nor did they know when a table would be available. They thought that they might be able to seat us one hour after our reservation time.

It's my suspicion that they include their outdoor, unheated, patio in their total seating, and don't adjust that for cold weather.

We would like to go back, as we've had good meals there before, but they need to get their reservation system working.

What was the Yogi Berra statement? "Nobody goes there anymore. It's too crowded."

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food and service at Fourth Street Filling Station are always good. We made a reservation for 6:30 Tuesday on Open Table but when we got the restaurant we had to wait about 30 minutes to get seated. They were having a special for The Big Eat city wide food promotion and the place was packed. Although everyone was very nice, the service was excellent and the dinner special delicious, I do wish they had offered a free appetizer or drink for our 30 minute delay. Knowing that they had customers with reservations at certain times, they should have declined walk-ins at certain times that evening. We will definitely be going back to Fourth Street Filling Station because this is the first time we have experienced a long delay in our reservation time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The hostess wasn't on top of things. People were seated ahead of us and they had later reservations. The table that we were finally seated at had been empty the entire time of our wait. Reservations were at 6pm and we were finally seated closer to 6:30. The spot for the hostess is not in a good location. There is a bottle neck and once you've given her your name, there is no where to stand, especially on the nights of the Big Eat.

With that said, the meal and waiter were great. Love eating outside in the warmer weather.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was absolutely great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Old Fourth Street Filling Station. It was not quite as crowded as usual when we first arrived, so that made conversation easier than past experiences there. The food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A great, reliable dining environment with a good menu and high quality service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had to wait 30 mins for a table even though we arrived several minutes before our reservation. Big Eat for $10 crab cakes was not worth the deal. Food was a disappointment. The $10 salad was delicious though. They also seem to have ran out of cloth napkins, so we had paper napkins. Waiter was great.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Outside of the extended wait outside, it was a very good 1st visit!!! Will definitely return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We showed up about 5 mins before our reservation and 30 mins later, we just left. There were other people that also had reservations that had been waiting more than 30 mins. We knew we were in for an even longer wait so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The meal we had a very good. We had the special as well as the steak off the menu. All cooked well and the table service was good.

What we didn't like was the 45 minute wait when we had a reservation booked and we were there on time. Why have a reservation if you have to wait 45 mins? That will make me pause before going back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service and food were great. However, we were a party of 4 and could barely hear eachother. Very loud. Not recommended for an intimate dinner

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was very delicious. Cajun Bloody Mary was really good. Our server Lindsey was wonderful and knowledgeable! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was really great. We started off with the calamari. It was the most tender calamari that I have ever had. I wasn't happy that they ran out of the specials so early in the evening, I was really looking forward to one of them.

Our server was super awesome. Carissa was pleasant, funny, and did a great job taking care of our needs. She is the main reason we would come back and that's saying something since we were first time diners at this restaurant. We normally focus on the food.

We sat on the patio. It was cold outside but the heaters do the job! The only real complaint I have about the actual restaurant is the table we sat at. It was rickety and we had to ask the server to help us even it out. Cracked along the edges. It snagged my sweater a couple of times.

It was loud. Very loud but this can't be put on the restaurant. The patrons were definitely enjoying themselves, maybe a little too much but again it was New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good. Excellent service! Never disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an early reservation for dinner on New Year's Eve. Food was okay. Service was nice, but it was swamped and noisy! Made for a nice evening.....had the Jumbalya.......it was average, but came out of the kitchen hot and on time. Liked the spice level but maybe the rice could have cooked a little longer. Our waiter was good, but he was busy, busy! Overall a great experience. I prefer dining there in the summer, spring or fall and being seated outside.

The appetizers are an excellent value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friendly staff, good menu. I was there on New Year's Eve and would have probably been more impressed if the restaurant had done something, anything, to indicate it was a special night. There was no mention of it, no special menu, nothing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, food was delicious as always. Shrimp and grits is the best in town, chocolate cake is to die for and you can't go wrong with the southwest wonton appetizer. Would love a year-round Saturday brunch as their Sunday brunch is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent filing food, and remarkably fast service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2016

First time visiting. Great experience. Live the character of the place and the neighborhood. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were lucky to be able to make a reservation for a large group at this time of year. Had to go a little early but thankful to find a reservation. Food was awesome, atmosphere great, seated on time. Wonderful evening with friends for a double birthday!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food and service was great. It was cozy sitting by the fireplace enjoying the surroundings. And it was convenient to hear the Winston-Salem present the Messiah.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We made our reservation on Open Table to cap off a fun night in Old Salem with a nice meal and were very disappointed to be led outside to the patio because it was so cold outside. The patio was wrapped in plastic and and contained some heaters so we decided to give it a chance when the hostess told us it would feel warmer when we sat down. It did not. The metal chairs were freezing and the wrap was not secure and the vertical strips that made the 'door' kept out no wind. The food was delicious and piping hot when served but cooled quickly once on the table. I think the restaurant should have contacted us when the reservation was made to let us know that the only seating available was on the patio. We would have gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Have come here often, but this last time was disappointing. Had reservation for 7, was not seated until 7:30. Upon being seated waiter informed me food would take longer than usual due to a large loud party across the room. When the food came it was really good as usual though. When I got the bill I waited another 15 minutes for someone to come get my card for payment but no one came and so I walked it up to the front to pay.

I like this restaurant but this night my wife and I did not feel like a priority at any point in the night, it was especially frustrating to have to wait so long when I had a confirmed reservation. All the extra time forced us to have to cut our other plans short that evening due to later hour when we finally got out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, good service, good location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had dinner here the night after Thanksgiving. Busy but not too crowded. I had the Blue Surf and Turf (small filet with blue cheese and 4 large shrimp), mashed potatoes and vegetables. Spouse had a small filet. Good size portions, hot and well prepared. Generous cocktails mixed perfectly. Only negative was they forgot to bring our calamari appetizer, but they brought it anyway and comped us. So we ordered dessert, which we almost never do. Chocolate lava cake was fabulous. Good attentive and quick service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We met our daughter's family halfway between our towns for thanksgiving. The people were so nice, really made us feel at home. The atmosphere was great- we didn't eat on the patio but that seem to have an especially good atmosphere. Recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice Perfect Thanksgiving lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All around great dinning experience!! I had the Lobster Ravioli and it was delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great well prepared food. Good prices. Great, speedy, polite service. My business associate gave me many compliments on my pick of restaurant because of 4th Street Filling Station.

Overall: Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very disappointed. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great food and service. Good variety of dishes on menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.