About The Ogden Chicago

1659 W Ogden
Chicago, IL 60612
View Larger Map

A Chef driven sports bar just two blocks from the United Center. Our food is always fresh and never frozen, and we use only the best quality ingredients. From our bacon cheddar minis featured on Chicago's Best, to our famous Cowboy Burger, we're sure you'll find something you like. Our menu features gluten free options and our Chef is always willing to work with any food allergies you may have. The Ogden is the perfect spot to meet before or after any United Center event. We feature over 20 large HDTV's and carry all of the major sports packages.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11am-2am
Saturday: 10am-3am
Sunday: 10am-2am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 226-1888

Website:
http://www.theogdenchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Just two blocks from The United Center The Ogden Chicago is your #1 destination before, during and after Blackhawks and Bulls games.

Catering:
We offer a variety of different catering options, please give us a call to set up an appointment to discuss your needs.

Parking Details:
We offer valet for $10-$15 for all home Blackhawks and Bulls games as well as United Center CONCERTS. We also offer valet for special events at the restaurant. The Ogden is a short two block walk to the United Center (0.4 miles). Free street parking is readily available on non event nights and can be found on Ogden, Adams and Monroe

Public Transit:
Ashland #9 bus to Madison or Adams, Green/Pink line to Ashland/Lake, Blue line to Illinois Medical District.

Executive Chef:
Chris De la Cueva

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all United Center events we recommend making your reservation no later than 2 hours prior to the game/concert. Allow time to be seated, order and get to the game. (don't forget about a little traffic too)

Private Dining

We can host parties from 25-200 people, in semi-private VIP areas, a simple gathering for friends, or an elegant dinner reception.Whatever type of party you’re looking to plan, The Ogden can make it happen.

The Ogden Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in West Loop ›

Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were good. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service were good. It was a bit dark inside and loud. The garlic buffalo wings were awesome! We ate here before seeing a show at The United Center, valet parking is a bonus! FYI...if you are seeing a show and want a specific item, make sure to order before they give you a limited menu (an hour before show) is when we were told about this limited menu. We weren't too happy about the limited menu because we weren't told a head of time. We did get to meet and get a picture with Tom Skilling though! Another bonus! Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Great atmosphere. Music good for our United Center pre-concert stop (Barbra Streisand). Will definitely return next time in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. However, if you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good. However, if you only have two for dinner and don't want to eat at a small coffee table while sitting on a sofa, look elsewhere. Our reservations were at 6:30 but we weren't allowed to sit at a 4 top. When we left at 7:15 there were still many 4 tops unused. This was our second visit to the Ogden but unless I have a larger group I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Very bad customer service and the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very bad customer service and the food was good. The restaurant was nice and very close to the United Center.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is pretty good at The Ogden. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is pretty good at The Ogden. This was a return visit for us and another couple. Our "waiter" took the other couples appetizer order and promptly walked away. When the kitchen employee brought their order, we asked to see our waiter. He returned and took our appetizer order then our friends entree order and promptly walked away. My girlfriend tracked him down to place our order. That was the last we saw of him. The kitchen employee served us and freshened our drinks. We had to find the manager to get our bill afterwards. Worst service I have ever seen at any restaurant. We have had better service there in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good selection of drinks, many not your ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good selection of drinks, many not your usual selections. Food is not average bar food, and was surprised by the $5 special on the flat bread and wines this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not a big menu at all. Smallest Ive seen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not a big menu at all. Smallest Ive seen at any bar and grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was delicious . Waiter was friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was delicious . Waiter was friendly but not attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service prior to the concert. I und ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Poor service prior to the concert. I understand that there are a lot of people that come through but the bar does not have enough service staff behind the bar. Two extra people would probably alleviate the long backups. Also, two days in a row our server, different people, were somewhat rude in the manner they took the order. I like this place because it is so close to the United Center but one more bad experience and I'm going to The West End where I have had great experiences every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great service, great food, comfortable a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service, great food, comfortable atmosphere. Nice place to go before a concert or sporting event (United Center).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped in with friends before a concert ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Stopped in with friends before a concert at the United Center. Perfect location to walk over to the concert. The Ogden kept our car in valet for the duration of the concert. We just came back and retrieved it after. Avoided the United Center parking and traffic altogether. Food was great. Cocktails even better. Upscale sports bar with energetic, urban feel. Great place for dinner, drinks, and before & after United Center events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed drinks and food before a concert ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Enjoyed drinks and food before a concert at United Center.

Good selection of drink brands, and the guacamole with pork belly was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When I made reservation with Open Table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

When I made reservation with Open Table was given the option of 5 pm or before, or 7 pm or after. My preference was 6 pm because we were going to a 730 pm concert. I took 5 pm reservation. There was NO ONE even there eating when we arrived and when we left at 630 very few guests arrived. Wish could have made the reservation time wanted. I already knew the food was great because have been there before. Our server was not very attentive which was somewhat frustrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

if you are a boxing fan this is a good p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

if you are a boxing fan this is a good place to watch the game, prices are a bit steep but it is what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this bar, best you can find near the UC.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food, even better beer. Definitely my top spot before a game/concert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a Hawk's game!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We were recommended to come here before a Hawk's game. It was a short walk to the United Center, and the place itself was nice, clean, and great for Hawk's fans. The food was excellent, and the drink options are numerous. I would recommend this to anyone for before during or after a Hawk's game.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location to meet friends before a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great location to meet friends before a Blackhawks game.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food and atmosphere.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last few times service wasn't the gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The last few times service wasn't the greatest but this time it was quick and on par! Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

St Patty's Day- too loud and too many p ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

St Patty's Day- too loud and too many people at a table next to us,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Location and sports bar

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

if you want a place to go before an event at the United Center or to watch a game - this is it!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great place before the United center eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great place before the United center events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Forced to watch a WWE fight on every tv. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Forced to watch a WWE fight on every tv. Tough to enjoy food while watching a bloody fight on every tv. The crowd was a little too into watching someone get pounded for my taste. Odgen is a fun place but may need to find and pre-game spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Great place to dine, watch sports & sit at the bar

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

A boyfriend and a group of friends decided to watch the Superbowl at The Ogden. The food and drinks are delicious. The décor is beautiful and the booths are even fancy with a TV. Would definitely come back for dinner or just for drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was nice but not very attentive w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Server was nice but not very attentive when it wasn't busy. We got animal fries because those are our favorite at stout and they just weren't very good. The meat didn't taste flavorful but great location before Bulls game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We we're going to the Springsteen concer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

We we're going to the Springsteen concert and I wanted a restaurant that was close

to the United Center and walkable. Couple of blocks away. Had reservations and

we were seated promptly. The food was great. Upscale bar food and delicious especially

the truffle Mac 'n Cheese. Our waitress was crazy busy but very attentive. The whole bar

was crazy busy with Springstten fans. Definitely would return for a concert or sports

venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Location for pre United Center Events

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Fantastic place for meeting up pre or post United Center Events. The staff has always tried their best -- and been reasonably good at -- getting people in, getting food and drink, and then getting us out before an event at the United Center.

Did I mention, they have valet parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service is slow- could be just bc it was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Service is slow- could be just bc it was before a bulls game. But the food is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Gem near United Center

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Walking distance to United Center with $15 all - evening parking makes this cool spot our first choice for a pre-game drink and bite to eat. Upbeat and fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for United Center pregame

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Great location for Pregame party for United Center events.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

This was our first time here. We went before a Blackhawks game and it was perfect. Great atmosphere, nice decor, good food and walking distance to United Center. I would go back even if I weren't going to a game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

The Ogden is our go to before the Blackhawks, Bulls or any occasion at the United Center. A limited but delicious menu, great beer list and scrumptious cookie skillet. Excellent service and valet too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Nice sports bar

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We've been to The Ogden before and had good experiences. We go before Bulls games. This time we ran into a problem. Everyone's food was served nice and hot except mine. I ordered the chili. Also the chili comes with corn bread but they informed me they didnt have any but would sub crackers. Not quite the same. The waitress said the chili was so good I should get anyway. So the chili came room temp. I sent back. Everyone had finished their dinner and I still had no chili. I was told they dont have a microwave and were cooking again. No charge. But when w did get my chili it was the same temperature as previously served. Disappointing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Slow service and mediocre food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were seated for at least 10 minutes before being approached for drink orders, and it took almost that long to get them once they were placed. Server was polite, but random. We ordered three completely different meals and none of them was better than average. Also asked if the guacamole could be made without one of the ingredients and was never told if it couldn't be. It was just brought to the table as described on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

could be better

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great location for United Center events. Burgers were requested to be done med rare. They came rare and cold , which matched the fries.

Mules were presented very well, but very weak

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Prime rib sliders and grilled cheese g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Prime rib sliders and grilled cheese great! Server Atquila excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place. Cool atmosphere Very busy o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Nice place. Cool atmosphere

Very busy on Hawks game night

No parking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Disappointed b/c they usually do better

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

We love coming to The Ogden before/after Blackhawks' games. This particular night following the game, the service was really bad. It took an extended period of time to get waited on, and that was only because we finally flagged someone down. Even after that, service remained poor. I'll chalk it up to a bad night because we've generally been pleased. I hope that our next visit resembles our usual experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.