About The Ogden Chicago

1659 W Ogden
Chicago, IL 60612
View Larger Map

A Chef driven sports bar just two blocks from the United Center. Our food is always fresh and never frozen, and we use only the best quality ingredients. From our bacon cheddar minis featured on Chicago's Best, to our famous Cowboy Burger, we're sure you'll find something you like. Our menu features gluten free options and our Chef is always willing to work with any food allergies you may have. The Ogden is the perfect spot to meet before or after any United Center event. We feature over 20 large HDTV's and carry all of the major sports packages.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11am-2am
Saturday: 10am-3am
Sunday: 10am-2am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 226-1888

Website:
http://www.theogdenchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Two blocks from The United Center The Ogden Chicago is your #1 destination before, during and after Blackhawks and Bulls games.

Catering:
We offer a variety of different catering options, please give us a call to set up an appointment to discuss your needs.

Parking Details:
We offer valet for all home Blackhawks and Bulls games as well as United Center CONCERTS. We also offer valet for special events at the restaurant. The Ogden is a short two block walk to the United Center (0.4 miles). Free street parking is readily available on non event nights and can be found on Ogden, Adams and Monroe

Public Transit:
Ashland #9 bus to Madison or Adams, Green/Pink line to Ashland/Lake, Blue line to Illinois Medical District.

Executive Chef:
Evan Sumrell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all United Center events we recommend making your reservation no later than 2 hours prior to the game/concert. Allow time to be seated, order and get to the game. (don't forget about a little traffic too)

Report a photo problem

The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Ogden Chicago, Chicago, IL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Treat your special someone to dinner at The Ogden! Enjoy 1/2 off appetizers from 11am-3pm and 7pm-11pm.

Private Dining

We can host parties from 25-200 people, in semi-private VIP areas, a simple gathering for friends, or an elegant dinner reception.Whatever type of party you’re looking to plan, The Ogden can make it happen.

The Ogden Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Live Sports (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Great Beer (16)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Food. Great Service. Great Valet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food. Great Service. Great Valet service. Reserve early if you want to eat before a Blackhawks game. Loved the TV in the booth!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are always good specials on drinks ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

There are always good specials on drinks and they have a great beer menu. Terrific place to meet friends to watch a game!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're going during the week when the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

If you're going during the week when there's not a Hawk's or Bull's game, it's a little slow, but they have great food deals during the week! Wine Down Wednesday's are my favorite with $5 salads and flatbreads and $5 house wines. It's a steal! And their Crispy Chicken salad and Chopped Southwest Salad are delicious! I'd also recommend the pepperoni and ricotta flatbread and the truffle fries. The service isn't anything outstanding, but they get the job done (eventually) and with such good food at a great price, I can be flexible on the quality of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

2nd time in a row we had to send our mes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

2nd time in a row we had to send our messed up orders back to the kitchen ..fruit was substituted for fries and received fries, Sausage Flatbread was COLD all other meals were also cold. We received our fruit at the end of the meal. We had the same issue when we went in December.....Brittney was our server both times & was awful. After our food was sent out she waited 15 minutes to ask if everything was OK which it was not. Drinks were ordered and again they came after the meal. We were going to the Hawks Game & obviously she knew we were on a schedule. So it was like....she knew we had to leave & couldn't be bothered. She was lucky both times we did tip her the minimum 20%. We will NOT return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had such a great time at the Ogden! O ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had such a great time at the Ogden! Our server was awesome the food was awesome! We highly recommend the Ogden !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our kids here before a bulls gam ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We took our kids here before a bulls game. Great food and service. The place was pretty loud but the energy was great! We had the cowboy burger, the grilled chicken sandwich and the buffalo wrap. Everything was delicious. The wrap is spicy FYI.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed I could not be seated ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I was disappointed I could not be seated until everyone in my party showed up.. I got there early so I could order appetizers and drinks before my guest from suburbs arrived.. they were running late, I knew they were in route but still could not be seated .. they would rather keep table empty as opposed to me ordering food and drinks until guested arrived

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

A must visit before Hawks game. Great fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A must visit before Hawks game. Great food and drinks, but a terrific energy. Rare to find such dining so close to game night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I ordered my food and 45 minutes later m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I ordered my food and 45 minutes later my food had not arrived yet, and I was not updated by the waiter. When I finally asked about my food he said he'd get a manager, who 10 minutes later still had not come over to talk to us. The waiter came back over and told us it would be 5 more minutes for our food. At that point we were cutting it too close to our event and needed to leave before our food even came out. No apologies from the waiter and we were told the manager was too busy to come talk to us (meanwhile the restaurant was almost empty by this point). I would not recommend going to this restaurant, especially if you have less than 1.5 hours to wait after you order your food. We also noticed that the table behind us sat down after we had ordered our food, and got their food before we asked the waiter about ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

I found this place on a whim as a place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I found this place on a whim as a place to gab a bite before the Bulls game, and it is a GEM! Great vibe, sports bar, fireplace, FUN!, great food! We loved it and ill be back for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bar with great beer with great TV' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great bar with great beer with great TV's everywhere but the food was awful. We were there before the Bulls game, nice and close to United Center. I had the southwest chicken salad that tasted like plain iceberg lettuce with about 4 or 5 small chunks of chicken. My son had the 3-4 cheese pizza that tasted like card board. And, my other son had a burger that he took three bites of. Not sure if this was because the place was packed but the items we ordered are pretty hard to mess up. Great atmosphere but the food was a real big time disappointment.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great location near UC. Parked at UC and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great location near UC. Parked at UC and was able to walk and grab a bite. Great upscale sports bar environment.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful as always. Love to go before B ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful as always. Love to go before Bulls or

Hawks games.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We got stuck in traffic and were running ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We got stuck in traffic and were running late and we called and they held our table for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

went before Bulls game -- service was gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

went before Bulls game -- service was great, food was excellent. Bought my sons (7, 10, and 12) and they seemed welcomed and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot to go before Bulls game. Nic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great spot to go before Bulls game. Nice sports bar ambiance..but not cramped. Food was good. They even let us keep our car parked in valet as we went to the Bulls game...United Center is walking distance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy prior the game as expected. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very busy prior the game as expected. They put a lot of effort to make sure all customer needs are met. A little slow as should be expected during peak hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service, valet parking pre-Bulls ga ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good service, valet parking pre-Bulls game, short walk to the United Center

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, service and close to United ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, service and close to United Center for the HAWKS!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and atmosphere before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere before the Blackhawks game was great. Go for the dry rubbed Cajun wings...they were excellent!!

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was slow. Getting drinks was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything was slow. Getting drinks was slow, getting food was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Loved this place! Would recommend for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Loved this place! Would recommend for a Bulls game. Great beer/booze list. Try the wings !

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! Everything was delic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was great! Everything was delicious. The only downside was our waitress seemed less than thrilled to be working that day. She wasn't overly rude or anything, just didn't seemed enthused to be serving us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food. Wings were av ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Disappointed in the food. Wings were average even though they claimed they were highly rated. Animal Fries were a huge disappointment. They should so good on paper but when we got them the fries were extremely mushy due to this weird tasting salsa that was put on top.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Was very quiet and intimate, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food! Was very quiet and intimate, although it may not always be that way - we were there for an early dinner. My friend and I both really enjoyed it and are hoping to go back soon to try more of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Awesome time before Blackhawks game - co ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Awesome time before Blackhawks game - convenient valet parking and then walk to game. Good food and kid friendly for a before game meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time and very accommodating to our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great time and very accommodating to our family before the Hawk's game. Appropriate for our daughter and great to meet with friends!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a hockey game, parking convenie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for a hockey game, parking convenient, food good,staff friendly,drinks fairly priced.

Easy walk to and from game. Place did get a little crowded closer to game time and things slowed down a little re: service, but nothing terrible. Next Hawk game I will be there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fair, for a "Chef-driven" me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was fair, for a "Chef-driven" menu... food was poorly seasoned (flat bread pizza), mediocre bar food at best. Waited 40 minutes for three sliders and a burger. Fries they brought were not was ordered, cold and mostly burnt little pieces. Only redeeming quality was the valet parking for $15 and a two block walk to the United Center for the Blackhawks game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Page our server did a great job dealing ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Page our server did a great job dealing with all people during the Cubs game

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This bar/restaurant is typical of those ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

This bar/restaurant is typical of those near the United Center - acceptable food, over-priced for what it is and not really very good. TERRIBLE SERVICE!! It would be great if someone opened a restaurant near the United Center that was actually REALLY GOOD! We attend several Bulls & Hawks games throughout the year and this place is typical of most in the area.....average (or below average) at best! We will not return!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We absolutely love this place - each exp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We absolutely love this place - each experience is better than the previous one. We also really appreciate that a reservation is a reservation and we do not have to wait to be seated upon arrival.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us traveled from Wisconsin for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Four of us traveled from Wisconsin for a Blackhawks game. The food was great. We always go here when in town for a Hawks game.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good location for United Center events, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good location for United Center events, great valet parking deal. However, it was so noisy you had to yell to be heard. With the music and all the TVs, it was way too loud. Food was good and service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

This is my 4th time at the Ogden. I hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is my 4th time at the Ogden. I have gone with friends and with clients prior to events at the United Center. I have had the same experience each time. The beer list is great, food always tastes good but the service is lacking. We always seem to have to wait long times for food and items ordered always seem to be forgotten. The place is a great location and staff is always friendly just be prepared to wait. The most recent trip we waited for 50 minutes for 1 order of sliders.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

You have got to be kidding me!!! Ordered ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

You have got to be kidding me!!! Ordered two burgers (with a side of bacon) and they brought out two regular cheese burgers.. I addressed the issue, of the no-bacon on the burgers, and they said ok. Would you like to order two new burgers?

Or would just like the side of Bacon.

We chose . To just order the side of bacon.

Sooooo after 10 minutes bacon was not sent to us. We addressed to them ( bartenders) that we wanted new burgers, they took the old ones back and get this.. they brought them back with bacon(still cold burgers) with in two minutes I might add , and replaced the fries with a few hot ones and kept the cold ones as if we didn't recognize that.. we all have had bad customer service in our life but DAAAAAMMMM!! THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC. We come here weekly. Sometimes 2 to 3 times a week. too often to receive this kind of treatment! Moreover, for the waitresses who took our order to act as if nothing happened is even more disrespectful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was my first time at the Ogden. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my first time at the Ogden. We had an absolute blast. Can't beat the valet parking. Ate, drank and then went to the game. Such an easy walk to the UC. Will be back again!!! :)

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Sports, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service were good. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service were good. It was a bit dark inside and loud. The garlic buffalo wings were awesome! We ate here before seeing a show at The United Center, valet parking is a bonus! FYI...if you are seeing a show and want a specific item, make sure to order before they give you a limited menu (an hour before show) is when we were told about this limited menu. We weren't too happy about the limited menu because we weren't told a head of time. We did get to meet and get a picture with Tom Skilling though! Another bonus! Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Great atmosphere. Music good for our United Center pre-concert stop (Barbra Streisand). Will definitely return next time in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. However, if you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good. However, if you only have two for dinner and don't want to eat at a small coffee table while sitting on a sofa, look elsewhere. Our reservations were at 6:30 but we weren't allowed to sit at a 4 top. When we left at 7:15 there were still many 4 tops unused. This was our second visit to the Ogden but unless I have a larger group I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.