About The Ogden Chicago

1659 W Ogden
Chicago, IL 60612
View Larger Map

A Chef driven sports bar just two blocks from the United Center. Our food is always fresh and never frozen, and we use only the best quality ingredients. From our bacon cheddar minis featured on Chicago's Best, to our famous Cowboy Burger, we're sure you'll find something you like. Our menu features gluten free options and our Chef is always willing to work with any food allergies you may have. The Ogden is the perfect spot to meet before or after any United Center event. We feature over 20 large HDTV's and carry all of the major sports packages.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11am-2am
Saturday: 10am-3am
Sunday: 10am-2am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 226-1888

Website:
http://www.theogdenchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Just two blocks from The United Center The Ogden Chicago is your #1 destination before, during and after Blackhawks and Bulls games.

Catering:
We offer a variety of different catering options, please give us a call to set up an appointment to discuss your needs.

Parking Details:
We offer valet for $10-$15 for all home Blackhawks and Bulls games as well as United Center CONCERTS. We also offer valet for special events at the restaurant. The Ogden is a short two block walk to the United Center (0.4 miles). Free street parking is readily available on non event nights and can be found on Ogden, Adams and Monroe

Public Transit:
Ashland #9 bus to Madison or Adams, Green/Pink line to Ashland/Lake, Blue line to Illinois Medical District.

Executive Chef:
Chris De la Cueva

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all United Center events we recommend making your reservation no later than 2 hours prior to the game/concert. Allow time to be seated, order and get to the game. (don't forget about a little traffic too)

Private Dining

We can host parties from 25-200 people, in semi-private VIP areas, a simple gathering for friends, or an elegant dinner reception.Whatever type of party you’re looking to plan, The Ogden can make it happen.

The Ogden Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Great Beer (7)
Live Sports (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great! Everything was delic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great! Everything was delicious. The only downside was our waitress seemed less than thrilled to be working that day. She wasn't overly rude or anything, just didn't seemed enthused to be serving us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food. Wings were av ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed in the food. Wings were average even though they claimed they were highly rated. Animal Fries were a huge disappointment. They should so good on paper but when we got them the fries were extremely mushy due to this weird tasting salsa that was put on top.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Was very quiet and intimate, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food! Was very quiet and intimate, although it may not always be that way - we were there for an early dinner. My friend and I both really enjoyed it and are hoping to go back soon to try more of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Awesome time before Blackhawks game - co ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Awesome time before Blackhawks game - convenient valet parking and then walk to game. Good food and kid friendly for a before game meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time and very accommodating to our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great time and very accommodating to our family before the Hawk's game. Appropriate for our daughter and great to meet with friends!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a hockey game, parking convenie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for a hockey game, parking convenient, food good,staff friendly,drinks fairly priced.

Easy walk to and from game. Place did get a little crowded closer to game time and things slowed down a little re: service, but nothing terrible. Next Hawk game I will be there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fair, for a "Chef-driven" me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was fair, for a "Chef-driven" menu... food was poorly seasoned (flat bread pizza), mediocre bar food at best. Waited 40 minutes for three sliders and a burger. Fries they brought were not was ordered, cold and mostly burnt little pieces. Only redeeming quality was the valet parking for $15 and a two block walk to the United Center for the Blackhawks game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Page our server did a great job dealing ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Page our server did a great job dealing with all people during the Cubs game

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This bar/restaurant is typical of those ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

This bar/restaurant is typical of those near the United Center - acceptable food, over-priced for what it is and not really very good. TERRIBLE SERVICE!! It would be great if someone opened a restaurant near the United Center that was actually REALLY GOOD! We attend several Bulls & Hawks games throughout the year and this place is typical of most in the area.....average (or below average) at best! We will not return!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We absolutely love this place - each exp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We absolutely love this place - each experience is better than the previous one. We also really appreciate that a reservation is a reservation and we do not have to wait to be seated upon arrival.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us traveled from Wisconsin for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Four of us traveled from Wisconsin for a Blackhawks game. The food was great. We always go here when in town for a Hawks game.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good location for United Center events, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good location for United Center events, great valet parking deal. However, it was so noisy you had to yell to be heard. With the music and all the TVs, it was way too loud. Food was good and service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

This is my 4th time at the Ogden. I hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is my 4th time at the Ogden. I have gone with friends and with clients prior to events at the United Center. I have had the same experience each time. The beer list is great, food always tastes good but the service is lacking. We always seem to have to wait long times for food and items ordered always seem to be forgotten. The place is a great location and staff is always friendly just be prepared to wait. The most recent trip we waited for 50 minutes for 1 order of sliders.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

You have got to be kidding me!!! Ordered ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

You have got to be kidding me!!! Ordered two burgers (with a side of bacon) and they brought out two regular cheese burgers.. I addressed the issue, of the no-bacon on the burgers, and they said ok. Would you like to order two new burgers?

Or would just like the side of Bacon.

We chose . To just order the side of bacon.

Sooooo after 10 minutes bacon was not sent to us. We addressed to them ( bartenders) that we wanted new burgers, they took the old ones back and get this.. they brought them back with bacon(still cold burgers) with in two minutes I might add , and replaced the fries with a few hot ones and kept the cold ones as if we didn't recognize that.. we all have had bad customer service in our life but DAAAAAMMMM!! THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC. We come here weekly. Sometimes 2 to 3 times a week. too often to receive this kind of treatment! Moreover, for the waitresses who took our order to act as if nothing happened is even more disrespectful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was my first time at the Ogden. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my first time at the Ogden. We had an absolute blast. Can't beat the valet parking. Ate, drank and then went to the game. Such an easy walk to the UC. Will be back again!!! :)

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Sports, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service were good. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service were good. It was a bit dark inside and loud. The garlic buffalo wings were awesome! We ate here before seeing a show at The United Center, valet parking is a bonus! FYI...if you are seeing a show and want a specific item, make sure to order before they give you a limited menu (an hour before show) is when we were told about this limited menu. We weren't too happy about the limited menu because we weren't told a head of time. We did get to meet and get a picture with Tom Skilling though! Another bonus! Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I didn't pay bill, but it approx $60. Great atmosphere. Music good for our United Center pre-concert stop (Barbra Streisand). Will definitely return next time in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. However, if you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good. However, if you only have two for dinner and don't want to eat at a small coffee table while sitting on a sofa, look elsewhere. Our reservations were at 6:30 but we weren't allowed to sit at a 4 top. When we left at 7:15 there were still many 4 tops unused. This was our second visit to the Ogden but unless I have a larger group I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Very bad customer service and the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very bad customer service and the food was good. The restaurant was nice and very close to the United Center.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is pretty good at The Ogden. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is pretty good at The Ogden. This was a return visit for us and another couple. Our "waiter" took the other couples appetizer order and promptly walked away. When the kitchen employee brought their order, we asked to see our waiter. He returned and took our appetizer order then our friends entree order and promptly walked away. My girlfriend tracked him down to place our order. That was the last we saw of him. The kitchen employee served us and freshened our drinks. We had to find the manager to get our bill afterwards. Worst service I have ever seen at any restaurant. We have had better service there in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good selection of drinks, many not your ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good selection of drinks, many not your usual selections. Food is not average bar food, and was surprised by the $5 special on the flat bread and wines this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not a big menu at all. Smallest Ive seen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not a big menu at all. Smallest Ive seen at any bar and grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was delicious . Waiter was friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was delicious . Waiter was friendly but not attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was in town with my fiance' for a concer ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Was in town with my fiance' for a concert at the United Center and met with a cousin and his fiance'. This was a great place to grab a beer and eat some great bar food. Great for sports and is full of young, energetic people. Would come again if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service prior to the concert. I und ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Poor service prior to the concert. I understand that there are a lot of people that come through but the bar does not have enough service staff behind the bar. Two extra people would probably alleviate the long backups. Also, two days in a row our server, different people, were somewhat rude in the manner they took the order. I like this place because it is so close to the United Center but one more bad experience and I'm going to The West End where I have had great experiences every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great service, great food, comfortable a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service, great food, comfortable atmosphere. Nice place to go before a concert or sporting event (United Center).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped in with friends before a concert ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Stopped in with friends before a concert at the United Center. Perfect location to walk over to the concert. The Ogden kept our car in valet for the duration of the concert. We just came back and retrieved it after. Avoided the United Center parking and traffic altogether. Food was great. Cocktails even better. Upscale sports bar with energetic, urban feel. Great place for dinner, drinks, and before & after United Center events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed drinks and food before a concert ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Enjoyed drinks and food before a concert at United Center.

Good selection of drink brands, and the guacamole with pork belly was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When I made reservation with Open Table ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

When I made reservation with Open Table was given the option of 5 pm or before, or 7 pm or after. My preference was 6 pm because we were going to a 730 pm concert. I took 5 pm reservation. There was NO ONE even there eating when we arrived and when we left at 630 very few guests arrived. Wish could have made the reservation time wanted. I already knew the food was great because have been there before. Our server was not very attentive which was somewhat frustrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

if you are a boxing fan this is a good p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

if you are a boxing fan this is a good place to watch the game, prices are a bit steep but it is what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this bar, best you can find near the UC.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food, even better beer. Definitely my top spot before a game/concert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a Hawk's game!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2016

We were recommended to come here before a Hawk's game. It was a short walk to the United Center, and the place itself was nice, clean, and great for Hawk's fans. The food was excellent, and the drink options are numerous. I would recommend this to anyone for before during or after a Hawk's game.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location to meet friends before a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great location to meet friends before a Blackhawks game.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food and atmosphere.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last few times service wasn't the gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The last few times service wasn't the greatest but this time it was quick and on par! Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

St Patty's Day- too loud and too many p ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2016

St Patty's Day- too loud and too many people at a table next to us,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Location and sports bar

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2016

if you want a place to go before an event at the United Center or to watch a game - this is it!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great place before the United center eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great place before the United center events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.