About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: 6049985045x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Caught Scallops
Arnold Palmer
Chicken And Spinach Cream Soup
Roasted Organic Beef Striploin
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Bread
Sour Cherry Brulee
Red Velvet Cake
Blueberry Tart, Buttermilk Gelato,confit Lemon
Tomato Duo
Duck Croquette,blossom Blue,Okanagian Cherries, Cherry Gastrique

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Scenic View
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
5 More
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Scenic View
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Northwest
Vancouver Suburbs
Most Booked
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in North Vancouver ›

scenic view (130)
special occasion (104)
romantic (83)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. And you get a free pass u ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. And you get a free pass up the mountain.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We did wait an hour for our food however ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We did wait an hour for our food however with a fantastic view it didn't feel quite as long!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was my wife's birthday and we really ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was my wife's birthday and we really enjoyed the evening. Unfortunately the cloud cover was very low which took away some of the ambiance we were hoping for, although it did lift for a short time while we were still eating which was a nice surprise. If I could suggest anything it might be to have a few more BC wines on the list but the evening was a success and we were able to walk around a bit before our dinner which was nice too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Having Dinner is the Observatory was abs ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Having Dinner is the Observatory was absolutely satisfactory! We loved the food, the view, the location & the wine list. We had the 5 course Tasting Menu, which was beautiful. On the other side looking at the value for the experience we missed a little bit of excellence when looking at the presentation of the cocktails, the interior of the restaurant and the uniforms of all wait staff.. Also important matters if you would ask me. This was a little point for improvement that has a negative impact on the ambiance and the value when rating the restaurant. Also the wait staff could interact a little more with the guests by sharing knowledge or experience for example or having a little chit chat. Overall we had a great time and we would mark our experience a good 8.5. We will definitely recommend the restaurant to others & are very thankful to the whole experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Long wait and rude service prior to bein ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Long wait and rude service prior to being seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The view is spectacular, but the food is ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is spectacular, but the food is barely average. The prawn appetizer is embarrassing, and the prices are over the top for the lack of quality. Limited choice menu. It rides the coattails of the location, but that's not enough to pay such high prices. Has the ear markings of a tourist trap.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

It was the perfect place to bring out of ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was the perfect place to bring out of town guests as we had an amazing view from a window table. Both the food and the service were excellent. We came for dinner, and we all enjoyed the meal which was exquisitely presented. I would certainly recommend this restaurant, and my husband and I plan to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well presented and tasty. T ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was well presented and tasty. The staff was attentive and polite. It was a very pleasant dining experience except for the guests sitting beside us. They were conversing in a loud foreign language and were laughing out loud quite frequently. They were only quiet when the food was being devoured and as soon as that was done, they were talking in a loud volume quite unacceptable in an intimate environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous. Very fresh, grea ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was fabulous. Very fresh, great taste. Service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gondola up and down and lack of directio ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Gondola up and down and lack of direction to access same seriously detract from the experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food, server and ambience were excellent ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food, server and ambience were excellent - took friends from the UK for both the food, mountain activities but mainly view. Unfortunately clouds never cleared all day or evening so no view was seen so this was a great disappointment. If it had cleared would give it a 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My best experience during my vacation in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My best experience during my vacation in Vancouver. I got the table I asked for, our server and the manager were very very polite, the food was definitely outstanding. This place exceeded my expectations and made my purpose of proposing to my girlfriend an unforgetable moment in our lives. I cannot be happier with my choice of a "special and romantic" place to pop the question.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not bad but the service & v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was not bad but the service & view were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

View was decent, food is your average to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

View was decent, food is your average touristy fair, not romantic like its mentioned in some blogs, more like a business setting type venue

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service was complimented by ac ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent service was complimented by accommodation of special dietary needs. Staff was personable, efficient and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Breathtaking view, excellent food, great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Breathtaking view, excellent food, great service. Only drawback was that we arrived a few minutes earlier than our reservation time, but they made us wait to be seated, even though there were empty tables. Still give it a 10/10.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Spectacular views. Food was very good a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Spectacular views. Food was very good and presentation was excellent. Our server was good, but not engaging. Overall a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was fabulous and the service except ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was fabulous and the service exceptional. It has a lovely ambience and stunning view.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. The wait st ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. The wait staff are all very professional. We was there for our anniversary (our 1st time here was 5 years ago after we got married). The chef wrote Happy Anniversary on our dessert plate. Very thoughtful. The food is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated with a corner view over V ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated with a corner view over Vancouver; we both ordered the chicken which was tender and succulent. The vegetables were good but not presented in such a way that one would remember them over any other good restaurant. Service was excellent. The ambiance was excellent. Romantic. Expensive, but included gondola ticket so worthwhile for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As visitors to Canada the fact that we c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

As visitors to Canada the fact that we could enjoy many of the activities available on Grouse Mountain as complimentary with our dinner reservation made this special meal with outstanding views very affordable. In addition the service was superb, we were even offered the chance to move to one of the restaurant's premium tables when it became available. We were very happy to take advantage of this offer!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you eat dinner at the restaurant you ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

If you eat dinner at the restaurant you don't have to pay to take the tram, it is included with your meal! The entrées are gourmet and designed on the plate very beautiful! Everything was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were originally very hesitant to dine ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were originally very hesitant to dine here due to bad reviews on food and service, but we were pleasantly surprised with great service and food. We had a great dinner with a fantastic view. We would definitely come back to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This establishment must rate an 11-out-o ...

 
 (Gloucestershire)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This establishment must rate an 11-out-of-10 in my opinion. I booked some time ago in their restaurant for a special occasion for our 36th Anniversary. They contacted me to apologise that they had booked the venue for a wedding reception, but they would book me a table in a prime position in their Bistro next door. They also said they would put complimentary tickets at the base station for the gondola ride to the venue. I was mightily disappointed at first. HOWEVER, they not only put our table in a prime position overlooking Vancouver, but picked up the tab as hospitality to apologise! ALL RESTAURANTS TAKE NOTE: THIS is what is called "Exceeding the Customers expectations". The food was great, the ambience superb, the scenes outstanding and the Service, second-to-none. You simply MUST go there. I would have been very happy to have paid for this, but the Management's decision to make the visit complimentary, is what will make me implore anyone and everyone, to use this superb venue.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Side Stripe Prawns for starter. I ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had Side Stripe Prawns for starter. It came with a butter oyster aioli sauce which was good for dipping with the complimentary warm bread they serve. The prawns were nice and tender and sweet. Please note it is a small appy.

For entrees we had the Fraser Valley Chicken Breast and Yakima Valley Lamb Sirloin with Twice cooked hand cut fries and Truffled gnocchi for sides. The chicken and lamb was very good. The lamb came with blutnudeln (a thin flat noodle made with rye flour, wheat flour, eggs and pig's blood) which I wasn't a fan of. You can't taste the blood but I didn't like the texture. The cut fries were alright. We had expected something more based on the name. The gnocchi was soft and very buttery. They were shaped larger than you usually see them, think 1" square cushions.

The entrees aren't big but the complimentary bread helped fill us up. The sides are fair sides though. We didn't finish the sides to make room for the Lemon Meringue which was surprisingly good. It is not your usually Lemon Meringue. It was semifreddo (i.e. ice cream like) with lemon curd and pieces of crispy meringue over the top. I am usually not a fan of lemon meringue but I would order this again.

It was a fun experience overall with the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything about this visit was very goo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything about this visit was very good except some aspects of the food preparation. I had lamb and the pieces of lamb were a little overcooked, very well done instead of medium-well. The pulled-lamb nest that went with the three pieces was very tough. And my wife's halibut meal featured kale which was too chewy to eat. Her halibut was excellent. Otherwise the food was very good with the desserts and coffee being superb. A little pricey for not superbly cooked and minimal portions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Reserved a table to celebrate my anniver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Reserved a table to celebrate my anniversary. Was expecting a more upscale dining experience. Unfortunately, the service we received during this particular experience was very poor. When we advised our server about food allergies, she recommended substituting it with other allergies we just notified her about. It took 25 minutes for them to bring out the bread and our server followed it up with our entrées not less than two minutes later. The theme of the night was constant waits and it wasn't even busy. It felt like we were a burden to our server. In regards to the food, we ordered the sturgeon and halibut and both come bland and lacking any real flavour. The manager, Laura, was able to make things right at the end of the night, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent restaurant, amazing view

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate special occasions, great ambient and excellent cousine.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The view is absolutely outstanding and t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The view is absolutely outstanding and the ambiance was very romantic. The food was just okay - I ordered the chicken and it was very dry. Service was very good - the waitress was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the best tip offs we have been given!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

A local suggested that we book an evening meal here in order to catch the sunset. Not only were the views stunning, the food was also fantastic. We really enjoyed the twice fried potato chips with truffle mayonnaise to share. This was such a memorable meal for all the right reasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very poor quality food and service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was extremely bland. Our bill came to 300$ for 4 people...not what we expected for the ridiculously small portion size we got. Only good thing was it had a nice view. Please season your food. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fantastic food as always

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I had the sturgeon and it was sheer bliss. The fish was cooked to perfection and so was the roasted fennel, not mushy and still had a crunch to it. The olive and squid ink puree sauce was just amazing. Such a perfect combination with the light farro and a hint of acidic sundried tomato. Great with a lovely gass of riesling.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Good For Punctuality & Value

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Paid $20 for 4 prawns. Were not that good even. Appointment was at 8:15; showed up at 8, was not helped until 8:20 and not seated until 8:30. Servers seemed clueless. Did not receive one of my orders

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Came to the restaurant specifically for ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Came to the restaurant specifically for the food - wine pairing and it wasn't available because the menu had just changed (and i was 5-10 mins past 9 because the gondola took its time getting us to the top).

Wasn't very impressed with the menu items outside of the pairing menu. Portions were small and filling, but nothing spectacular.

The dessert was especially terrible - particularly the rhubarb dish. The cheese plate we got was very expensive for such small portions.

Despite all of this at least the service was great and the view was nice. It's a shame the food was so disappointing because the last time I was there in the winter it was excellent. Hopefully it was just a fluke.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great view, ok food and service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to the observatory as it was recommended to us for the view of the city and a great spot if you had limited time in Vancouver.

While we enjoyed ourselves, we found that our server had limited menu knowledge and had to leave the table multiple times to get the information about the menu. I also had concerns about the octopus component of my dish as it was very dry and pasty. Our server tried to argue that this is how octopus is and the texture is quite different from other seafood. I had to correct her and insist that this was overdone as I have had octopus multiple times and quite enjoy it when done right. I was sent a new portion but it was the same so I didn't bother to say anything.

Overall we had a great time but it was mostly due to the great company and spectacular views. Food was ok and so was the service but I dont feel like the price tag off $300 was worth it.

P.S.

The evening ended on a sour note when we asked for a cab to be called before we headed down the hill and no cab ever came. 30 minutes later we were lucky to have a staff member who was finishing his shift call us another one.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good value

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great to come enjoy dinner and grouse mountain at the same time. Dinner reservations include the round trip lift tickets to the mountain which makes it worth it. The food was delicious and service was great. It is on the pricey side for the portions you get but at least it's tasty. You're paying for the entire experience of enjoying activities up at the mountain before dinner, so it's worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My mother was visiting from out of town, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My mother was visiting from out of town, and I wanted to bring her someplace special. Everything was perfect - the ambiance, service food and wine. The whole visit to grouse was the highlight of her trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

beautiful view, excellent service. Had a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

beautiful view, excellent service. Had a wonderful dinner with my fioncee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak dinner was horrible, all fat and g ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Steak dinner was horrible, all fat and gristle. Lamb was overdone and tough. Side dishes were not any better, truffle gnochi were over loaded in truffle oil, with no actual truffles, blood pasta was inedible.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone...you can go to Grouse for the amazing view without wasting your money on the food in the Observatory. $170.00 for dinner for 2 people, and none of it was even edible.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We visited the restaurant with friends v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We visited the restaurant with friends visiting us from New Zealand. We were all in agreement that while the views were stunning, the ambiance great, the food was bizarre in respect of it's presentation, quantity and taste. The dessert was literally beyond description, as the carrot cake consisted of 3-blobs of orange substance, interspersed with creamo, for which you were charged $13. We would never visit this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.