About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: (604) 998-5045

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (61)
Romantic (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Seasonal (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fireplace (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This time I recommended my close friends ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

This time I recommended my close friends to dine at this restaurant, after my great dining experience there early this month. I got very positive feedback from my friends on this, and they thanked me for recommending them to such a nice restaurant, though the price is a bit on the high side.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was so-so. We waited several time ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was so-so. We waited several times for our server and wine. Our server was great though. For the money spent food and service should be memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The view was spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The view was spectacular and the service was great! Sadly, the food was mediocre. We enjoyed the experience but felt the portions were quite small and I was disappointed by the vegetarian option. It sounded promising but was quite bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate our anniversary!!! Would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time...the location is ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our 2nd time...the location is 5/5...the service was very good...the overall food was delish with one exception. It was a day they cooked Pork so I ordered at that recommendation. The pork was much tougher than should have been.

Besides that, everything else was excellent

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambient setting great view. Food wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice ambient setting great view. Food was okay. Nice place to visit for the afternoon. Staff was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting excellent service for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We were expecting excellent service for this level of restaurant. What we got was the worst level of service I have ever encountered in a fine dining restaurant! I ordered a glass of wine before my dinner and never received it. My meal came and was completed and still no glass of wine. I had been looking forward to enjoying a glass of wine WITH my meal. No one came to see how our meal was. My fish tasted fishy and my husbands steak was rare. We could not get anyone's attention and were hungry so ate it anyways. Our empty plates were left on the table for a very long time. There was just no service! It is a small restaurant. There were only 5 tables seated and 3 servers, so there was no excuse for the mistreatment we received! We were ignored completed! I will NEVER go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Went to the observatory after a day of r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went to the observatory after a day of relaxed snow shoeing on Grouse Mountain. Considering that the lift ticket is included in the price when you make a reservation here it was a great deal! Remember to bring a change of clothes though as the restaurant does not allow hiking/snow gear.

Overall we had a great experience at the Observatory. The staff was very friendly and attentive to my allergies. Superb food, well worth the price.

Will come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious. The service left ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Dinner was delicious. The service left plenty to be desired. The lady that served us wasn't all that prompt or pleasant. There was a gentleman serving other tables that I would likely ask for if I was to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

It was my dream come true dining at the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was my dream come true dining at the Restaurant, as I have been trying to do it for quite a while. My first experience dining there and I am very happy with my decision. Good food, nice environment, good service, though the price is considered a bit high as compared to other similar class of restaurant in Vancouver downtown. Highly recommended for special occasions e.g. birthday, new year, anniversary, business meeting, etc.

Thank you Open Table for recommending this restaurant, and thank you the Restaurant's as well as the Grouse Mountain staff who have made our dinner memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great restaurant with the best views of ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great restaurant with the best views of Vancouver. We went here to celebrate a birthday and first hiked around Grouse Mountain in the snow before sitting down for dinner. Good value for money, especially if you consider that they gondola ride up to the restaurant is free for restaurant guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambiance is good, the view is best. But ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ambiance is good, the view is best. But only thing is the food too less, I can eat 10 main course in one time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice view, only issue was the refle ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice view, only issue was the reflection of the lights made it a bit hard to see. Menu options were a bit limited, but the food itself was quite good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiance and I had a full course meal f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My fiance and I had a full course meal from appetizer drinks to deserts. I would say that it was a delightful experience overall. The food was well-made, the atmosphere was comfortable, and the reception was exceptional.

I could notice that the servers seemed tired & exhausted, but were still giving their best to provide the best service. Plates being considerably being heavy, it seemed wrist injuries were not too uncommon among servers.

The only advice I would leave for future guests is that you have no need to purchase the gondola fee for the restaurant - in which I wasn't able to find the information anywhere - is included, and you have no need to purchase the tickets on your way up there.

We've bought our gondola tickets on our way up the mountain -and mind you it is not the cheapest fee- but, what surprised me was that the receptionist brought us to the ticket desk upon our leave, to give us a full return and a private gondola for the way down- in which I greatly appreciated the value added service.

Unfortunately, I've found that the refund for the gondola was not successfully made.

I hope other visitors won't have to go through the slightly less enjoyable experience of paying the additional, unnecessary $100 for nothing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing view...food and desserts need wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing view...food and desserts need work though...the current quality doesn't reflect the price they charge.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service and very accommod ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and service and very accommodating to all dietary needs. I am a vegan and they had delicious meal choices for me. Wine selection was great and as mentioned before service was awesome.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved that the ride up was covered with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved that the ride up was covered with the meal! The fish and meat was seasoned and cooked perfectly, the quality of the sides left me disappointed for the price. Friendly wait staff, but still had to wait about 20 mins to be seated despite having a reservation.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a very pleasant experience. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was a very pleasant experience. The Hostesses were genuinely considerate of our needs.

The servers were very responsive to our requests. The meal was excellent. Although the view was compromised by low hanging clouds and blowing snow, the interior ambience was comfortable and made for an enjoyable dining experience.

--- Thank you ---

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Obse ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Observatory and will definitely be back! Great service, lovely setting, and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and romantic dinning restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and romantic dinning restaurant.

Great views of the city of Vancouver.

Went up for the Peak of Christmas and was simply fantastic !!

A must do is the Light walk at this time of year with all the snow.

If you are dining in the Observatory restaurant includes the price of the return skyride up Grouse mountain as long as you purchase 2 entrees.

Did I mention awesome views of the city :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was stunning...the advent ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The atmosphere was stunning...the adventure of the gondola worth every moment...but the menu was bland, the meal less than mediocre...and until such time the menu changes ...I will spare myself the effort of attending. Incidentally, this is the same menu which was available several months ago. And albeit I'm not fussy in the least...the menu was immensely disappointing. So if you have a fine palate...you may wish to head elsewhere

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location on Grouse Mountain. Unfor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great location on Grouse Mountain. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the view due to snowy weather. Planning to go again on a clear sunny day to enjoy the view. Very good value for the 3 course Christmas lunch because the price of our meals included the gondola lift up to Grouse .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

What a special place for a dinner with f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

What a special place for a dinner with family and friends during the Christmas season! Absolutely magical. We have visited 2 years in a row. Special memories made. Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I often bring out of town guests here fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I often bring out of town guests here for this unique Vancouver experience - in the past it has been fantastic. This date, it was HIGHLY DISAPPOINTING. The food was terrible for all 8 of us. soup was cold, turkey dry and cold, desserts that should have been hot were cold. It was very embarrassing as I was bringing a guest from France. had it not been late in the afternoon and a busy Christmas day, I would have RETURNED every dish we had. I organized this for my friends and it was a very UNFORTUNATE experience. I'm willing to elaborate more if you wish.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My husband and I had booked the Christm ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My husband and I had booked the Christmas lunch at the restaurant but almost didn't make it due to the less than ideal road conditions on highway one. However, despite arriving stressed we quickly relaxed and enjoyed the wonderful snow covered view over Vancouver, the attentive but never intrusive service and the interestingly presented food. We also appreciated the fact that our ride up to the restaurant was included in the booking; the helpful staff member at the ticket booth had our name on a list and quickly handed over two Sky Ride tickets. One small comment - 18% gratuity had already been added to the bill. I was happy to tip that amount but I prefer to add the amount myself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We visited The Observatory for my boyfri ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We visited The Observatory for my boyfriend's birthday and we tried their 5-course tasting menu. It was a wonderful dining experience, we were lucky because it was a very clear night so the view was also amazing. Great service, and each course had its own wine pairing that suited the dish very well. Each course was beautifully laid out with unique touches, like an olive puree that matched a sablefish dish (if I remember correctly), the lamb tartare melted in your mouth, and the dessert was also very unique- fennel ice-cream with a chocolate beet cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I always enjoy The Observatory. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I always enjoy The Observatory. The food was good, not great and the restaurant seemed super busy and therefore service was mixed. Having said that, after our meal they moved us to a window seat which was really nice of them and unexpected. The view from this restaurant is spectacular and the top of Grouse Mountain has so much to offer... on this particular evening our group wandered through "Light Walk" which was truly magical.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

As always a great experience, really goo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As always a great experience, really good when you have our of town visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated but the staff was very helpful. We were able to relocate to a table with a better view after we were seated and another table became available.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

An enchanting night with lots of fresh s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

An enchanting night with lots of fresh snow, great friendly staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunately for the price I wasn't blo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Unfortunately for the price I wasn't blown away by the menu choices offered and found it difficult to choose something to eat. The main entree was good however and cooked well. The soup was returned twice for being served cold but the server and manager went above and beyond rectifying the error. For my tastes I would rather more for my money than this style of dinning but if like this style than you will enjoy the food.

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

It was great, delicious food and the sta ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was great, delicious food and the staff was very helpful and courteous.

Tags: , Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was lovely. Had a great seat but real ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was lovely. Had a great seat but really missed out on the view as the day we went unfortunately it was a blizzard and couldn't see anything. Would absolutely love to visit again on a day where we could see the spectacular view. The food was also amazing, along with wonderful staff and a beautiful cozy atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoy this Resturant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Vancouver on holiday fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were visiting Vancouver on holiday from Australia and so pleased we booked The Observatory. We had the tasting menu with wines and were pleased our 2 boys aged 13 & 11 were able to have the same minus wines! The food was delicious and it was great to taste local produce and wines. We were lucky enough to have a window table and the view over snow capped trees was amazing - particularly as our boys had not experienced snow before! The service was wonderful. One of the most beautiful locations for a restaurant and the food was absolutely divine! Will definitely return next time we visit Vanvouver!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful space for a special occasion ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

A beautiful space for a special occasion! We had the blessing of having a clear and calm evening, leaving Vancouver to create the best show she could. Very memorable, and will happily be returning when the occasion calls for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good but limited, the price ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food is good but limited, the price is acceptable.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Magnificent! My 3rd time here. Reasonabl ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Magnificent! My 3rd time here. Reasonable price with fantastic views!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu doesn't have a lot of variety o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The menu doesn't have a lot of variety of food, the food tasty good and the quality of the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved our dinner at The Observatory! ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We loved our dinner at The Observatory! The food was consistently amazing and the service was 10/10. Will definitely tell everyone who comes to Vancouver to visit The Observatory :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience, definitely wor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great overall experience, definitely worth the visit! Appreciate the complimentary Gondola ride!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.