Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: (604) 998-5045

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Was lied to by our waiter. I had requested better seating at 2 specific tables, when either one frees up I had wanted to be seated there. Waiter went and checked and said yes one of them is opening up and shouldn't be a problem. However, I was not given priority and table was given to someone right before me my eyes, completely unacceptable. Manager was very rude and not understanding. There were other tables free that other guests could have been seated and waited their turns for better seating just like we had. I was out celebrating something special and the staff ruined our moment. Would never dine there again, and will be sharing this negative ordeal with my colleagues and advising not to visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We came to this restaurant every year for special occasions. Last year we came for my birthday and this year we came for our first anniversary. The appetizer is warm kale salad which comes with some really delicious fish underneath. The favor of the kale is so yummy and the portion is totally not small. The halibut is so fresh and juicy. When we got the bill, the waitress came with a lovely macaroon dessert with Happy Anniversary on it. It is very sweet. We will highly recommend this restaurant for people around us and we will keep going there for special occasions. We usually came in the afternoon touring around and watch some bear movies in the theatre. It is very relaxing and the view is impressive. Thank you for the service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

We spent the night on the mountain camping in the park and after spending $150 they made me pay to ride down the gondolla. I complained to customer service and was told too bad.

Also portion size is awful - after eating we went downstairs to cafeteria and bought 3 pieces of pizza to fill up on.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Muy buen lugar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Restaurant view is perfect. Interior simple. There was a funny unplessant smell and the airco was much to cold (wife and kids wanted to leave because of the smell and cold). Food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We are from the UK and had a wonderful meal with friends whilst holidaying in Vancouver. My brother who used to live in Vancouver recommended booking a table to obtain the complimentary Grouse Mountain pass. We were not disappointed and had a very enjoyable visit to the mountain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a lovely evening, the food was amazing. Although we had to wait for a table the staff more than made it up to us. They were friendly, knowledgeable and made our visit memorable. The view was amazing and well worth the drive. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very poor customer service skills displayed for my 2 visits to this restaurant - 1st time my friend food was burnt and he wasn't even offered to replace the food, 2nd time our server forgot to get a side dish which is ok but also charged us for it....food was ok, no choice for vegetarians..

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Spectacular views . Food was good. Service was very good. However, they don't enforce dress code - had a couple that were sweaty, disheveled and wearing tank top , hiking boots and shorts. We had to watch them the entire time since they were given the window table that we only wish we had , right in front of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Small, comfortable setting beautiful views and unusual menue. Friendly wait staff and well worth the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Vacation 22 years anivversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

In honor of our 1 year wedding anniversary, we decided to celebrate at Grouse Mountain at the Observatory for a romantic evening dinner. This seemed to be fitting since... we got married and held our wedding reception in The Timber room and on the deck at Grouse Mountain! It was good to be back and the complimentary skyride ticket that came with our dinner reservation made it that much more practical and appealing for the occassion. Our server happened to be the same banquet manager who coordinated our wedding reception 1 year ago and she even remembered our names. We got a chance to give her our personal thanks for the great service her and her team did for us for our special day last year. The cuisine at The Observatory was amazing, the table they reserved for our annivesary dinner was breath-taking and the service was top-notch as expected. We plan to celebrating our wedding anniversary with Grouse Mountain again for many years to come! Thank you Grouse Mountain for making us feel special all over again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My expectations were relatively high when I came here and they still exceeded those expectations. The food was great. I hear that the menu changes relatively frequently but if the bison tartar is available it's fantastic. Honestly though all of our meals were good and I think it's great value for the atmosphere, location, service, and ambiance. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was a very delightful surprise. Our group had several appetizers and main courses and none were bad. The staff including the manager were extremely courteous and attentive to our requests. The view from on top of Grouse mountain was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a very special place. Very unique. Outstanding food. Small portions that are satisfying and amazing flavor sensations. The prices are reasonable for the quality of food. The view is beyond compare. The service was friendly without being overbearing. This was our third visit. We will return many times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing views and ambiance. Mediocre food. Unusual ingredients used just for show, not for taste. Steak was undercooked and pork was dreadfully overcooked. Since tickets to get up the mountain were included, that balanced the scales for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I arrived with my party on time but was not seated. I was left waiting at an unattended front desk with no explanation. It was very frustrating when all it required was better trained staff with a better focus on customer satisfaction. We waited in the bar area for fully 30 minutes waiting for a table. It was as if we had turned up with no reservation - surprising since the restaurant had called me to confirm. Poor show. Me all was good, however, so not a total loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was just ok overall nothing really special plus not much selection from the menu. Pea soup was only luke warm and lack of taste. Warm kale salad was very bad, huge plate but portion is very tiny, not tasty at all. Steak was ok. Surprisingly chicken was very tender which this was the only plate deserves the price I paid. The most disappointing part was dessert Pavlova, totally off of it. I could've spent less and get way better Pavlova in other famous restaurant on Thurlow Street Vancouver downtown. will not recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were a little worried when there wasn't the smoothest greeting, however the rest of the evening was spectacular.
Our server went beyond our expectations and the food was 1st class.
We had the salmon starter followed by the sturgeon and halibut dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautiful spot for my mom's birthday dinner! They even gave us a free dessert when I told them it was her birthday.
We came up 30 minutes before the dinner reservation so we could see the bears in the enclosure. Very cool. And the view on a clear day was breathtaking! We stayed until sunset and had an even better view. I would suggest getting to the bottom of grouse at least 20 minutes before your reservation so you have time to get your free passes and get up the gondola.
Would definitely recommend for a nice evening. It is expensive but worth it

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great dinner. We had reservation for 6:45 but didn't get seated until 7:45. That was the only negative part . The manager made sure we were well taken cared of with her service staff once we were seated and our drinks were complimentary. We relaxed and enjoyed a great meal watching the sunset for my mom's 70th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Lovely restaurant with super views. Food excellent as was the service. Thoroughly recommend

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Due to weather conditions we did not have the view we were hoping for. Appetizer portion was small but enjoyable. Dinner portion was the right size for us. We did not enjoy our dessert so they replaced it with a different dessert which was very good. Excellent service.
Getting to see the grizzly bears was a bonus.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service was outstanding and food excellent . We had halibut salmon and the pork dishes. I had never had black rice and it was delicious! Highly recommend The Observatory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great view of the city. Friendly service. Food was above average in general. The sturgeon was nice but the fennel in the broth was too tough. The halibut was way too over cooked and lacked flavor. The pea soup was the highlight for me. The chocolat tart was nice and the $25 cockage fee was reasonable even thought the wine list was not bad to begin with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant is much comparable to restaurants That we have visited in France. Our server (Renata ) was very professionnal and attentionate.
Il we visit Vancouver Again ,we will Go Back to th e Observatory.Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our experience at the Observatory was great. Amazing food and atmosphere and the view was the showstopper. Could not get over how amazing the view was.

Great Dining Experience

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was incredibly friendly, and had great recommendations. The free trip up Grouse Mountain was awesome as well! Would love to go back next time I'm in Vancouver.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The view from the restaurant is spectacular in case you get a window seat which we didn't. Food is average with very limited vegetarian options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We went to The Observatory for my hubby's birthday and we brought our two kids with us. I was worried if they do have any kid menu. (They are only 5 and 8 years old.) The restaurant doesn't have the kids menu, however, the waitress offered us some kids meal. My younger son has a spaghetti with meat sauce, and my older son has the main dish (Halibut) with half portion. Price is good, and the food are great! We would definitely bring our friends here as it is worth to have a complimentary ride with great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was an amazing experience at the Observatory! Very good food and wine selection. Incredible view!

Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great nugget is that if you order an entree your tram ride up is free. Almost crazy not to eat there with that deal. Our service was impressive. Waitress and hostess were so nice and friendly. Would go back for great service. Food was fair but presentation was artistic. Definitely worth a visit and the view can't be beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Good view! Nice food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

showed up 10 minutes early for reservations and was told no early seating. No big deal. So I waited 10 minutes and came back, to find out they didn't have a table for me. Waited another 20 minutes past my reservation. Watch another couple show up and was seated right away at a nicer table. Ended up being sat at a table that was ok. Serving staff really tried to push alcohol even after being told we do not consume it. After getting our meal and told one side was coming out and asked about a second time. They forgot it right till end of meal. The side came out barley warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Fantastic view, but the food was not great, but I've heard this before.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The music, setting and view were majestic. The service is excellent. The appetizers were very bland, (we tried prawns and squash soup) but the entree was very good. The plating is particularly notable. Salmon done nicely, but would have preferred less unusual vegetables. My husband enjoyed the tenderloin and all in all,it's a desirable and special place for a special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My fiancé and I were visiting Vancouver and someone recommended this restaurant. I was blown away by the views and the food and service were exceptional. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a nice dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

A must-do if you're visiting Grouse Mountain. The gondola ride is waived if you purchase an entree so it's actually a great value. The meal and view were both great. My only regret is that we didn't arrive earlier to have more time to see some of the shows at the top of the mountain.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Absolutely fabulous, the service , the food and the breathtaking view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

A very nice meal with an amazing view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.