Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Executive Chef:
Brendan Robson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort by
S
1506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

I went to the Observatory on Valentine’s Day with my girlfriend for the first time, as we regularly do the grouse grind, and love the place, but had never dined there. Sadly, we were both quite dissapointed.

First of all, we are both Vegan. I had been in contact by email and phone to assure if it was possible to be accomodated. Both representatives assured me it was no problem at all. However upon sitting down, our server had no idea and was confused on how to accommodate us. She had to go consult the chef, and came back telling us that they would be substituting 2 of the courses for a simple salad and a sorbet, on top of having to remove many components from the other courses. Paying the same price for sub-par quality dishes and an uninformed kitchen/server, considering how high the price is, is very dissapointing and unprofessional for any dining establishment, even more so “fine” dining.

The food itself was unoriginal as 3/5 dishes had the exact same components ( beets and daikon) and missed their sauces and such. We were also advised against doing the wine pairings as advertised one the set menu, “as the glasses would be too big of a size (even though pairings are on the menu for every dish)” and we’re informed that “we wouldn’t want a 8oz glass of wine with every plate.”

The view is fantastic, but the ambiance was ruined by tables being dismantled directly behind us for the closing while we had just been served our main course.

Lastly, our server was cold and impersonal, and she never even told us her name. The 18% gratuity being included in the bill shows, especially when she informed us that she “HAD to put more bread in the oven just for us”

All in all, sadly, we were expecting a fine dining restaurant, but we got the service of a 2 star tourist trap restaurant trying to pass as fine dining while charging 125$ a person for 10$ worth of root vegetables. Definitely not vegetarian/vegan friendly and ultimately will not be our future wedding venue.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Booked well in Advance for Valentines day. Let the kitchen know my date couldnt eat beef or seafood. When we arrived we were told she could have the vegeterian menu. I was not impressed. Luckily the chef went out of his way to accomadate us. Service was attentive, food was not bad. For the price I think I would of enjoyed Altitudes next door more. Easier on the wallet same view. Cost was $350 with 3 drinks total including gratuity for the set menu. If its a special occasion go for it! If not go next door. Much better value!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Second time at the location... service was excellent friendly staff and the food was very good! Food came out at a perfect time between each course, of course the view was superb highly recommend date night at the observatory! Will be making the drive to go again very soon!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Everybody knows it,s has very nice view in day and night. We reserved at 7pm. But it was very crowded, we had the table that we couldn't see the view. So they chenged the good table after not crowded.
We enjoyed the great night view.
And we ate a cod and a duck. It was so sophisticated taste. it,s better than the popular downtown restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and excellent service. Our server was there when needed and gave us space when not needed. Only thing was the wine list is over priced. Some wines you can't get in stores in BC, but they have some options such as the Wynns John Riddoch Cab sav which is one of my favorite wines, just over priced in my opinion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 6, 2018

Beautiful venue but the food was pretty bland. Nothing was bad, but it was far from great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2018

The food was amazing and the service outstanding. They were so accommodating about putting us at a window seat as soon as one was available. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2018

First time eating here, and it was a great experience. We went for our baby moon and got to participate in Dine Out Vancouver. They made me a special virgin margarita that was awesome and the food was very tasty! The only thing I didn’t enjoy was the “smoked” potato tasted burnt like it had been boiled in a pot with no water.

The service was really great, some of the best.

I would highly suggest going here!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We had a wonderful night... thanks for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

It was exceptional! Food, service, cocktails and the ride up!
They turned my husband into a fish lover and our server went above and beyond!
Great night, planning on doing it again:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Best value for Dine out
Beautiful views
Best wait staff anywhere!
Food was delicious

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2018

The braised beef cheeks entree on the Dineout menu was barely edible. Half of mine was thrown out because it had too much fat and the second one was too dry. The creme brulee wasn't traditionally served and plated without due care. Apart from the food, it's still a great place for special occasions. The service, view and ambiance is second only to none.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2018

The location of this restaurant is magical, the food was spectacular and the service once we were inside was great. The only negative comment was that our reservation was at 8 and we didn't get seated until 8:20. Very poor communication at the door left us in the dark and annoyed before we even got in. However all in all it was a fantastic experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2018

First time dining at The Observatory. Food was delicious, the clouds cleared for most of our meal revealing a night view of the city. We thought it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We loved the whole experience! Five stars all the way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2018

We went for an special ocassion (proposal) and the staff really helped me to prepare everything in the best way, the food was perfect, the service too and they were really kind, amazing view and also the price totally worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Very quiet and nice place with a delicious food and a good variety of dishes the ambiance is the perfect one for couples and special occasions. The staff is great and the service is more than excellent. Even it was snowing very hard the view was very nice the place near the chimney is the most romantic. Very recommendable to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Can do better on service. We waited more than 10 mins to get seated with our reservation, but I feel a bit rushed to make the order. I made a note that we are celebrating my husband’s birthday and requested a candle to be put on my husband’s dessert; I didn’t remind the server as my husband was with me the whole time and I thought it was quite a simple request. Quite disappointedly, nothing was done or mentioned when the cake came. Overall, food and ambience are good and we will go again anyways for the value of the skyride tickets and the view, except that next time I will make sure I talk to the server if I have a personal request.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Excellent views, venue and good service. All menu items we tried were great. Booking a meal also includes the gondola for one of Vancouver's finest views

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Light walk was nice, I like grouse mountain in general, sever was great and very understanding. Had to send back my girlfriens cod, it was mushy and bland. My duck skin was not crispy and fat not rendered down enough but I was hungry and ate it. Appetizers were the best part, felt like because of the late evening reservations the kitchen had already quit on the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was excellent server was very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

I want to go to observatory again~!!
Food was good.
Scene was nice.
The Step was nice to us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We had a reservation for 745 and so we arrived at 740 and when we got to the hostess table there was a sign that said they were setting up a table.
It was about 10-15 min before we were even greeted and then another 15 of waiting to be seated and no hostess in sight for people to grab their coats or take down people's names as they arrived and at least letting them know how long the wait would be. So the experience didn't start very good. The ambiance was great and was a very romantic setting. Our waitress was average but there were these other two who seemed so on top of everything and helped me find something I could eat with all my pregnancy restrictions (one male and an older blonde female). Even though we weren't their table they were so happy to help and answer questions since we didn't see our waitress very much at the beginning. The older blonde waitress came to our table many times to deliver food or check in even though we weren't her table. At the end they gave my husband macaroons for his birthday which was a very sweet touch! Sad we didn't get a window seat for his birthday but we understand it can't be requested. Loved the fresh bread and atmosphere! I don't think we would go again as it was a good one time experience but would maybe recommend to another couple for anniversary or special date! Loved how the lift tickets were included !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Service by our server Shaun was perfect. We have been up the mountain a few times before for special occasions and they've always been so perfect. This time we had a few issues: food being bland and coming out cold. We were a table of 8 which probably led to food sitting up in the pass for too long? In addition, the confirmation phone call was quite rude. I got a phone call and they said 'Hi we'd like to confirm your reservation for tomorrow. We have so many people on the waitlist that would like to dine with us too.' That was unnecessary and sounded as if you'd rather us not come at all. Anyway, the location and view was absolutely amazing. I hope to return again sometime soon for a better experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

This is the second year that I have spent a wonderful afternoon snowshoeing on the mountain and dinner at the Observatory. This is always a magical event and is becoming a tradition for my daughters and me. I look forward to next year.

The food is incredible and the service excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Food was great! It was a rainy night, so you could not see any view outside... that was the only disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Excellent location . Food is tasty with a good selection and presentation. Service is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Ambiance especially during Christmas season was lovely. Good value considering it includes the gondola ride. Food was mostly quite good with the exception of what seemed to be in the in-house baking. The table bread was excellent but the “pie crust” on the deconstructed goat’s cheese tart was like cardboard. The small homemade biscuit that came with the chicken dish was quite hard as well. Everything else was delicious though and the service was very good from the host to the server. Yes I would go again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2017

It was very dark even for ambience, very quiet as well. We were a large party with very young children celebrating some special occasions and our server had a very different approach to serving us, warning us from the beginning to be careful with the glasses because they are crystal. Our entrees all arrived at the same time, but it was very evident that some of our plates were sitting under warmers for some time waiting for the others to be ready- and that alters how the dish should have tasted.
The view was gorgeous, the bread and wine were excellent.
I would not take my family here again, only perhaps adults.
It just was not the most accommodating to our family, and while I understand large families with young children can be difficult, we've been to other fine dining restaurants who have done an outstanding job at serving us and giving us a positive experience, and I can't say the Observatory was one of them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2017

We enjoyed the gondola ride up and all the festivities going on when we got off. The staff could not have been friendlier. The food was carefully prepared and delicious. They even honored a dietary request. We will plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Food was incredible, worth the money! Service was not great, we didn’t really see our waiter all night but overall was worth the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Such a beautiful location, the view over Vancouver is amazing! Try to get a table like we had. The food was wonderful, my taste buds were dancing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The menu is terrible,very little food and over priced! The choices are not appealling at all!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The venue and the servers were fantastic. We had a wonderful view with the fog covering the city. The food was truly amazing apart from the side of fries we ordered but we ate it anyway. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2017

It is always amazing experience with Grouse Observatory.

Whenever the special occasion comes, the GM Observatory never fails to satisfy the customers!

Thank you =)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Service by Bonnie H was horrible. We shouldn’t have even tipped her but did to be nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Can't beat it for fine dining on a mountain top !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, service, and food. It was wonderful to end dinner with the Christmas Peak Experience. I would highly recommend the Observatory.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2017

The staff was cold and pretentious. We had our young daughter with us, and they seemed put out that we would bring a child to their fancy restaurant. We had a better meal, with a very nice server, earlier in the day at the restaurant down the hall. My wife was so offended by the service at the Observatory that she could barely eat two bites of her dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Excellent food and great view. THe best is the Bisont Tartar

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.