About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: 6049985045x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
4 More
Scenic View
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Northwest
Vancouver Suburbs
Most Booked
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in North Vancouver ›

scenic view (108)
special occasion (90)
romantic (84)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My mother was visiting from out of town, ...

Dined 3 days ago

My mother was visiting from out of town, and I wanted to bring her someplace special. Everything was perfect - the ambiance, service food and wine. The whole visit to grouse was the highlight of her trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We visited the restaurant with friends v ...

Dined 6 days ago

We visited the restaurant with friends visiting us from New Zealand. We were all in agreement that while the views were stunning, the ambiance great, the food was bizarre in respect of it's presentation, quantity and taste. The dessert was literally beyond description, as the carrot cake consisted of 3-blobs of orange substance, interspersed with creamo, for which you were charged $13. We would never visit this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good dining eperience with a fantastic view!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at the Observatory starting with that incredible cable car ride to the top. The atmosphere was very pleasant with a gorgeous view, soft music and great service. Our only knock would be that we found the menu to be very limited from the appetizers to entrees to desserts.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a nice experience, small portions ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a nice experience, small portions for my husband 6'3 and over 200 lbs, we had to stop And eat later on that night, the little food we received was good and it's a place we have been going to for the past 30 years, my sister visiting from England loved it up there, especially the Grizzlies....Would love to go again. Waitress was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was awesome, however with my group of 10 they only gave us 4 baskets of bread and than charged $5 a basket after. Will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner fit for an engagement

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated our engagement at The Observatory. Excellent food and view. Service was all we hoped it would be. Left full and Happy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great views, average food and service. T ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great views, average food and service. Tiny portions for large $.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Not a fine dining experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great views, great food, but ... service was more like a fast food restaurant - felt like they could not wait to get us out, which was surprising given it was not that busy.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stuck at the top

Dined on May 3, 2016

Very nice dinner and great service. Unfortunately there was lightning off in the distance so the gondola was stopped. This happened several times. Finally 90 minutes later we could leave. Should have served us some drinks or something during the wait.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The best part of the restaurant is the view!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Observatory Restaurant has a great view, especially for those with a window seat. Although we found the salad overpriced and tasteless, the entree itself was delicious, but you get very little food for the money, so be prepared to leave hungry. Service and ambiance was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, fabulous food and great vi ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good service, fabulous food and great view of Vancouver. But the portion of entree is a bit less.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great view great food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great view though you cannot choose your table...so you have to be lucky. Food is amazing!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Who brings a baby to this restaurant?

Dined on April 25, 2016

Couples out for a fine dining experience have their night shattered by the sound of a crying baby and a wiggly toddler. I fully support Earl's and their decision to dissuade parents from bringing little ones to their restaurants. The ambiance was shattered by this group of girlfriends and their little ones. The food was OK, but not spectacular. The service was friendly, prompt and courteous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Perfect for a special getaway

Dined on April 24, 2016

We use The Observatory as an annual opportunity to step away from distractions, unwind, and reflect on the year that's passed. Because it's at the top of the gondola, you don't just pay the bill and walk to your car - it really takes you out of the day-to-day life. If you head up early, you can even wander up to see the grizzlies before dinner! The tasting menu is well suited to a deliberately paced meal with plenty of time to talk, the food quality has always been top-notch and very creative, and the wine pairings are spot-on. Staff is very friendly with a professional level of service that is very attentive - my water glass didn't sit empty once all night. The Sommelier knows his craft and is happy to share that knowledge as he walks you through each course and wine pairing. Oh right... it almost goes without saying... the view!! We love catching the sunset over the city and all of the lights coming on. Make The Observatory a special occasion, take your time, hire a driver, and you'll be glad that you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful food at the peak

Dined on April 24, 2016

Service was excellent, the food looked and tasted perfect. The view was breathtaking when the clouds moved away. I will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

...It's the best picture perfect restaurant for fine dinning. The service is Top . Great ambiance for a relaxed and dinning experience. The food is incredibly amazing . The restaurant has a great view overlooking the city . This is a must do when in Vancouver BC Canada...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View

Dined on April 19, 2016

It was a fun trip up the gondola and a beautiful view for supper. Will recommend to any friends visiting Vancouver and area for holidays. Appreciated the free trip up gondola with our reservation. Wouldn't have justified the fancy supper otherwise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Family supper

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great time out with family beautiful spot. Enjoyed the ride up the mountain. Service was good and view was awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable experience.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our family group of six celebrated a birthday in style. The gondola rides, the beautiful décor and views, and the delicious food and wine were all first class. We appreciated the menu options for children. We saw both daylight and sparkling night time views during our dinner. The macarons after dessert were a classy finish. Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had a beautiful time at this restaurant. It was for a special birthday and I put in a very strong request for near the window (although I know they can not guarantee this) they did their very best to accommodate this and got us a great spot close to the window. Amazing value for money as you also get the free sky ride which is normally $50 alone - I was unhappy with my martini as I had never tried it before and it was too strong - the waiter had no issues in making this more tasteful for me. Food was amazing, so was the service. The view was spectacular. Definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, tremendous. Great food, great view.

Dined on April 3, 2016

In addition to that, the atmosphere and decor are perfect to let you converse and focus on each other while occasionally looking at the spectacular scenery.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Inspiring Views

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were amazed at the beautiful view overlooking the city and the harbour, then the sunset and then all the twinkling lights, never been to a restaurant with a view like that! Food was great too, but was not a fan of the octupus, but glad I tried it, everything else was lovely and service was great, even got a lovely birthday surprise and hostess charged my phone for me. Perfect evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dinner, great service. Our server ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great dinner, great service. Our server was very knowledgeable about wines and offered good advice about food when we asked.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Place

Dined on March 29, 2016

My wife and I had our 1st anniversary here. They even gave us a nice "Happy Anniversary" surprise desert which was nice of them. It was a great night and everything went fine. The SkyRide was a bit packed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2

Tiny portions for the money I paid I lef ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Tiny portions for the money I paid I left hungry

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Value

Dined on March 20, 2016

To be perfectly honest I wasn't blown away. I was expecting a little more. I have recently eaten at a restaurant in Pitt Meadows called The Fire Hall. Although it doesn't sound like much it is actually a quaint little restaurant with a very good head chef / owner who ensures every meal is perfect. Perhaps it was the dish I chose at grouse but I just wasn't as amazed as my meal at fire hall. The prices had a better value for dollar than grouse mountain although I understand that everything must be brought in from the bottom of the hill. Although they did recognize that we were there celebrating a special occasion I was disappointed that we couldn't enjoy the view as well, as we were seated away from the window. The appetizer was good, desert as well just the main course I was a bit disappointed. Just an honest opinion. Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but not great value

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were celebrating a 40th anniversary with our sons and their spouses and were looking for a special restaurant. Everything was good but not celebratory. It's a pricey place, $20.00 drinks, $18 - 22 appetizers and $30.00 - $45.00 entrees. For those prices I expect the service to be excellent and be able to find the portions on the plate. Everything looked beautiful but there wasn't enough of it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

On a clear day, you can see forever!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were fortunate enough to have clear skies and a gorgeous view of the city as the sun went down and the lights came up. The food was delightful and our server was attentive and thoughtful. We will definitely do this again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent service and ambient. Delicious menu

Dined on March 12, 2016

It was a great place to celebrate my wife's birthday. Everything was outstanding, service, food, wine, including a beatiful scenary and snowing during our celebration. My daugther enjoyed an ice cream dessert that she compare with one of the best in Europe that she tried in Brussels last year. I have to say thank you for a memorable time during our visit to Vancouver.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Great setting and view. Gnocchi melted i ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great setting and view. Gnocchi melted in my mouth. They excel with elevating local ingredients of make delectable meals.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was ok. The dessert was the highlight (chocolate pudding).

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great View!!!

Dined on February 25, 2016

My family were there for dinner, and the time we got there were just right for the sunset. Worth to try, and you have to make sure that your reservation is settled.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food, wished I could have seen the view.

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was quite tasty and the presentation was great but it was unfortunate to not be able to see the view on such a beautiful night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gluten Free Options!

Dined on February 21, 2016

I had no problem eating gluten free (including appetizer and dessert)! The view is lovely. There are a lot of wine choices. It's a great choice for my birthday dinner (we came all the way from Olympia, Washington).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A MUST

Dined on February 17, 2016

This is the second visit to the restaurant in four years,I live in Sydney Australia and visit Vancouver at least once a year. The food along with the service is superb,on my first visit 2013 I think I found the wine list lacking,not so the case this time round the wine list is world class. As for the view what can I say,words do not do it justice. This time round I even did some ice skating after dinner. Dinner at this restaurant is a must on a visit to Vancouver,on this trip I had my father with me and I know it's a night he'll remember for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

would not recommend!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Overpriced,and small portions and very small menu!! Only a scenic view if you have a window table.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great night. Super accommodating and f ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

A great night. Super accommodating and friendly. Thanks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Wonderful

Dined on February 7, 2016

Went after a day of snowboarding. Made a reservation, they let us know we could wait for a window seat if we wanted (would recommend, the view is amazing). Had the duck and the gnocchi and they were honestly the best I've ever had. I've never seen my boyfriend enjoy a meal more. The drinks are lovely as well. Service was great, everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romance

Dined on February 4, 2016

Excellent location for romantic dinner. Lovely to see the night skiers . The snow gave our dinner a more romantic setting.Very attentive staff. Thankyou.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service, great view

Dined on February 3, 2016

Breathtaking view. Our service was very good and very attentive. The food presentation was very good. The meals were good to very good but not memorable. The value was OK, about $55 Canadian per person, which included the gondola ticket. The noise level was very low which was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.