About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: 6049985045x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Diver Caught Scallops
Roasted Organic Beef Striploin
Chicken And Spinach Cream Soup
Arnold Palmer
Sour Cherry Brulee
Red Velvet Cake
Blueberry Tart, Buttermilk Gelato,confit Lemon
Tomato Duo
Duck Croquette,blossom Blue,Okanagian Cherries, Cherry Gastrique

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Scenic View
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
5 More
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Scenic View
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Northwest
Vancouver Suburbs
Most Booked
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in North Vancouver ›

Scenic View (130)
Special Occasion (107)
Romantic (83)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view is amazing. But that's about it ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The view is amazing. But that's about it. We were SO disappointed by the food. It had no flavor and was so bland. My chicken was dry and the truffle gnocchi had no truffle flavour at all. The prawn appetizer wasn't prawns, it was shrimp. So disappointing! It was 5 tiny shrimps for $18...We will never go back. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I came as tourist from Germany with my 3 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

I came as tourist from Germany with my 3 kids (12/12/14) and we were very happy taking dinner there. The table reservation and then changing for another date was very easy going.

KIDSFRIENDLY 😍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was a bit slow.....warm coff ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was a bit slow.....warm coffee was served and we had to ask for hot coffee...server offered to prepare a fresh pot (a fresh pot should have been served at the start). My soup was served warm but still good...server offered to replace with hot soup but the rest of the party was already eating their appetizers...

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was not good. We ordered fish a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was not good. We ordered fish and chicken dishes and were not impressed. The view was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Fantastic views of Vancouver! Great dini ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fantastic views of Vancouver! Great dining experience, excellent service, quiet and romantic, yet kids friendly. Absolutely memorable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was great, w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great, window table was clean and the reservation was handled quickly.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Scenery was outstanding, service was fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Scenery was outstanding, service was friendly and the food fine. However, we had expected a fine dining experience for our wedding anniversary and were a bit disappointed by the casual attire of the other patrons. Not that that should be a big deal, but why drop hundreds of dollars for two when you are surrounded by people with young children, tank tops and sandals. May as well enjoy the view at the bistro next door for a third of the cost.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We took advantage of the reservation sys ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We took advantage of the reservation system that allowed us to ride the gondola for free in exchange for buying an entrée. The mountain scenery is spectacular both on the mountain and inside the restaurant. The food however is just okay and very overpriced. No green salad is worth $16 or lemon meringue dessert for $13.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was disappointing and I feel ha ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was disappointing and I feel has deteriorated since the last time I was here (about 2 yrs ago). The mixed green salad was nice in composition but had almost no dressing on it (leaves were almost dry!) The lamb sirloin was ok but the demi-glace was very skimpy and not all that flavourful. My companion had a vegetarian dish (chick pea panisse) and though it sounded good, the reality was quite dry.

Dessert was excellent (1 lemon meringue tart, 1 smoked vanilla something or other). The service was fair, not excellent.

I sincerely hope they are not trading on the amazing view and allowing the quality of the restaurant to slip (back to what it was in the 80s and 90s, i.e., no good).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The gondola ride on a beautiful day give ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The gondola ride on a beautiful day gives the viewer an idea of just how beautiful the Vancouver Lower Mainland truly is. The view from the restaurant is also spectacular. The food was good, not great. The service was excellent. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food and service . Very nice v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good food and service .

Very nice view if you sit by the Window.

You get a free ride to the mountain top if you reserve in advance, which is a very good value .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The staff were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The staff were very kind in finding us a window table with a view, which made the meal even better. The lamb was cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the soup and desserts, which were delightful. From what we could see of the dinners around us, everything looked good. We will come again, and will highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Observatory to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We chose the Observatory to celebrate our 27th anniversary and everything was great, from the awesome staff and service to the great view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and excellent service, al ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good food and excellent service, all with a stunning view over Vancouver (when the cloudbase is high enough). If you deduct the value of the complementary cable car ride to the top of Grouse Mountain from the meal price it becomes remarkably good value. Plan your meal to straddle sunset for the best of day and night views.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service with nothing too much ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service with nothing too much trouble and were willing to accomodate a vegetarian in our group. Great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal at the Observ ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at the Observatory. The strawberry smoked shortbread was delicious, and our waiter was able to give helpful menu suggestions.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great entrees. Not good desserts. The de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great entrees. Not good desserts. The deconstructed approach is a big misfire. Stick to the classics unless you have a proven track record .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Service was not that awesome. Food was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was not that awesome. Food was ok but not big enough portions to fill you up. We sat at a table that actually did not have a view at all. So for a restaurant that is supposed to have a view, we had none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best night me and the wife have had in a ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best night me and the wife have had in a long time. It was fun walking around grouse before dinner and then we got to sit right by the window. It was a beautiful clear night and it was an amazing view. The lamb was probably the best meal I have ever had. The dessert was the same. We got some fudge bar with honey comb or something like that. I could not believe how good the food was. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, and nice vi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food and service were great, and nice view. It has to be good luck to get window seat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing view of downtown Vancouver , goo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing view of downtown Vancouver , good food, slow service

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Overall experience was good. Staff was v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall experience was good. Staff was very courteous and server was knowledgeable. Shirts and denims doesn't seem to fit the ambiance, should be slacks and polo shirts at a minimum. (i was wearing a shirt and at least, black denim pants.) Our drive from California was well worth it. We're hoping to be back next year!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience!!! Bonnie's service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing experience!!! Bonnie's service was impeccable as well as Steve's wine pairing. The food was so flavourful and perfectly portioned. Cannot wait for my next visit!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 50th wedding ann ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our daughters and as we were seated, we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary". The food was all very beautifully presented and wonderfully tasty. Will be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and very good food. Go ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent service and very good food. Gorgeous views as we watched sunset and Vancouver city lights come on. Originally there was no window table available but after we ordered a window side table became vacant and the manager and staff accommodated our request to move. We spent a good part of the day ziplining and explored the area before dinner. Overall a highly recommended experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and environment. Food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great service and environment. Food was okay - not quite up to the usual standard.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed this experience. Terrific views ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Enjoyed this experience. Terrific views as the sun was setting over Vancouver. Food was great the waitress pleasant and friendly. Nice ambiance for such a small area as well - was expecting something a little larger, but felt very intimate.

The only disappointing things were that we were kept waiting at the the entrance with no one there to manage us and explain what was going on. It was just a queue of people and one host going back and forth and not talking to anyone. Also, i was under the impression there was a dress code yet people were up there in their shorts and hiking gear, which was extremely disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful atmosphere with all the city l ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere with all the city lights and nature views . Food was nicely presented. I found the chicken a tad dry but tasty. It was a bit slow getting our table despite reservations. Service overall was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed our meal, except for the dess ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, except for the dessert. It was not what we expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The views are great, but not when you ar ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The views are great, but not when you are seated on the one table that is so far from the windows that you have no view - and when there were free tables by the window. Service was patchy. The table waiter was gracious and professional; the front of house staff much less so.

Two other things: a restaurant like this should not permit screaming babies to be seated at tables late at night. I personally found it poor taste, but by that point in the evening I had given up on expecting decent service, but I really felt for the young couple celebrating their (hopefully) romantic anniversary who were subjected to 30 minutes of toddler screaming as part of their entree....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Smallish portions of excellent food. Ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Smallish portions of excellent food. Outstanding views. Iconic Vancouver experience. Well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good but the service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was very good but the service was very very slow.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We really really enjoyed! It was amazing ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We really really enjoyed! It was amazing and unforgettable experience we could make. Thank you very much! We will be again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. And you get a free pass u ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service. And you get a free pass up the mountain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We did wait an hour for our food however ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We did wait an hour for our food however with a fantastic view it didn't feel quite as long!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good combination of flavors and presenta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good combination of flavors and presentation. Waitress very friendly, attentive and professional. Manager brought us to the best seat in the house for dessert. They acknowledged our 40th anniversary and made it a memorable evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was my wife's birthday and we really ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and we really enjoyed the evening. Unfortunately the cloud cover was very low which took away some of the ambiance we were hoping for, although it did lift for a short time while we were still eating which was a nice surprise. If I could suggest anything it might be to have a few more BC wines on the list but the evening was a success and we were able to walk around a bit before our dinner which was nice too!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Having Dinner is the Observatory was abs ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Having Dinner is the Observatory was absolutely satisfactory! We loved the food, the view, the location & the wine list. We had the 5 course Tasting Menu, which was beautiful. On the other side looking at the value for the experience we missed a little bit of excellence when looking at the presentation of the cocktails, the interior of the restaurant and the uniforms of all wait staff.. Also important matters if you would ask me. This was a little point for improvement that has a negative impact on the ambiance and the value when rating the restaurant. Also the wait staff could interact a little more with the guests by sharing knowledge or experience for example or having a little chit chat. Overall we had a great time and we would mark our experience a good 8.5. We will definitely recommend the restaurant to others & are very thankful to the whole experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Long wait and rude service prior to bein ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Long wait and rude service prior to being seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The view is spectacular, but the food is ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is spectacular, but the food is barely average. The prawn appetizer is embarrassing, and the prices are over the top for the lack of quality. Limited choice menu. It rides the coattails of the location, but that's not enough to pay such high prices. Has the ear markings of a tourist trap.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.