About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: 6049985045x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Caught Scallops
Arnold Palmer
Chicken And Spinach Cream Soup
Roasted Organic Beef Striploin
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Bread
Sour Cherry Brulee
Red Velvet Cake
Blueberry Tart, Buttermilk Gelato,confit Lemon
Tomato Duo
Duck Croquette,blossom Blue,Okanagian Cherries, Cherry Gastrique

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Scenic View
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
5 More
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Scenic View
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Northwest
Vancouver Suburbs
Most Booked
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in North Vancouver ›

scenic view (104)
special occasion (89)
romantic (71)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
notable wine list (18)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service3

Spectacular views. Food was very good a ...

Dined 4 days ago

Spectacular views. Food was very good and presentation was excellent. Our server was good, but not engaging. Overall a very good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous and the service except ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was fabulous and the service exceptional. It has a lovely ambience and stunning view.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. The wait st ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. The wait staff are all very professional. We was there for our anniversary (our 1st time here was 5 years ago after we got married). The chef wrote Happy Anniversary on our dessert plate. Very thoughtful. The food is wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated with a corner view over V ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated with a corner view over Vancouver; we both ordered the chicken which was tender and succulent. The vegetables were good but not presented in such a way that one would remember them over any other good restaurant. Service was excellent. The ambiance was excellent. Romantic. Expensive, but included gondola ticket so worthwhile for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As visitors to Canada the fact that we c ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

As visitors to Canada the fact that we could enjoy many of the activities available on Grouse Mountain as complimentary with our dinner reservation made this special meal with outstanding views very affordable. In addition the service was superb, we were even offered the chance to move to one of the restaurant's premium tables when it became available. We were very happy to take advantage of this offer!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you eat dinner at the restaurant you ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

If you eat dinner at the restaurant you don't have to pay to take the tram, it is included with your meal! The entrées are gourmet and designed on the plate very beautiful! Everything was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were originally very hesitant to dine ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were originally very hesitant to dine here due to bad reviews on food and service, but we were pleasantly surprised with great service and food. We had a great dinner with a fantastic view. We would definitely come back to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This establishment must rate an 11-out-o ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This establishment must rate an 11-out-of-10 in my opinion. I booked some time ago in their restaurant for a special occasion for our 36th Anniversary. They contacted me to apologise that they had booked the venue for a wedding reception, but they would book me a table in a prime position in their Bistro next door. They also said they would put complimentary tickets at the base station for the gondola ride to the venue. I was mightily disappointed at first. HOWEVER, they not only put our table in a prime position overlooking Vancouver, but picked up the tab as hospitality to apologise! ALL RESTAURANTS TAKE NOTE: THIS is what is called "Exceeding the Customers expectations". The food was great, the ambience superb, the scenes outstanding and the Service, second-to-none. You simply MUST go there. I would have been very happy to have paid for this, but the Management's decision to make the visit complimentary, is what will make me implore anyone and everyone, to use this superb venue.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had Side Stripe Prawns for starter. I ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had Side Stripe Prawns for starter. It came with a butter oyster aioli sauce which was good for dipping with the complimentary warm bread they serve. The prawns were nice and tender and sweet. Please note it is a small appy. For entrees we had the Fraser Valley Chicken Breast and Yakima Valley Lamb Sirloin with Twice cooked hand cut fries and Truffled gnocchi for sides. The chicken and lamb was very good. The lamb came with blutnudeln (a thin flat noodle made with rye flour, wheat flour, eggs and pig's blood) which I wasn't a fan of. You can't taste the blood but I didn't like the texture. The cut fries were alright. We had expected something more based on the name. The gnocchi was soft and very buttery. They were shaped larger than you usually see them, think 1" square cushions. The entrees aren't big but the complimentary bread helped fill us up. The sides are fair sides though. We didn't finish the sides to make room for the Lemon Meringue which was surprisingly good. It is not your usually Lemon Meringue. It was semifreddo (i.e. ice cream like) with lemon curd and pieces of crispy meringue over the top. I am usually not a fan of lemon meringue but I would order this again. It was a fun experience overall with the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about this visit was very goo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything about this visit was very good except some aspects of the food preparation. I had lamb and the pieces of lamb were a little overcooked, very well done instead of medium-well. The pulled-lamb nest that went with the three pieces was very tough. And my wife's halibut meal featured kale which was too chewy to eat. Her halibut was excellent. Otherwise the food was very good with the desserts and coffee being superb. A little pricey for not superbly cooked and minimal portions.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1

Reserved a table to celebrate my anniver ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Reserved a table to celebrate my anniversary. Was expecting a more upscale dining experience. Unfortunately, the service we received during this particular experience was very poor. When we advised our server about food allergies, she recommended substituting it with other allergies we just notified her about. It took 25 minutes for them to bring out the bread and our server followed it up with our entrées not less than two minutes later. The theme of the night was constant waits and it wasn't even busy. It felt like we were a burden to our server. In regards to the food, we ordered the sturgeon and halibut and both come bland and lacking any real flavour. The manager, Laura, was able to make things right at the end of the night, however.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant, amazing view

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate special occasions, great ambient and excellent cousine.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is absolutely outstanding and t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The view is absolutely outstanding and the ambiance was very romantic. The food was just okay - I ordered the chicken and it was very dry. Service was very good - the waitress was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best tip offs we have been given!

Dined on June 4, 2016

A local suggested that we book an evening meal here in order to catch the sunset. Not only were the views stunning, the food was also fantastic. We really enjoyed the twice fried potato chips with truffle mayonnaise to share. This was such a memorable meal for all the right reasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very poor quality food and service

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was extremely bland. Our bill came to 300$ for 4 people...not what we expected for the ridiculously small portion size we got. Only good thing was it had a nice view. Please season your food. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food as always

Dined on June 1, 2016

I had the sturgeon and it was sheer bliss. The fish was cooked to perfection and so was the roasted fennel, not mushy and still had a crunch to it. The olive and squid ink puree sauce was just amazing. Such a perfect combination with the light farro and a hint of acidic sundried tomato. Great with a lovely gass of riesling.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Not Good For Punctuality & Value

Dined on May 31, 2016

Paid $20 for 4 prawns. Were not that good even. Appointment was at 8:15; showed up at 8, was not helped until 8:20 and not seated until 8:30. Servers seemed clueless. Did not receive one of my orders

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Came to the restaurant specifically for ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Came to the restaurant specifically for the food - wine pairing and it wasn't available because the menu had just changed (and i was 5-10 mins past 9 because the gondola took its time getting us to the top). Wasn't very impressed with the menu items outside of the pairing menu. Portions were small and filling, but nothing spectacular. The dessert was especially terrible - particularly the rhubarb dish. The cheese plate we got was very expensive for such small portions. Despite all of this at least the service was great and the view was nice. It's a shame the food was so disappointing because the last time I was there in the winter it was excellent. Hopefully it was just a fluke.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great view, ok food and service

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to the observatory as it was recommended to us for the view of the city and a great spot if you had limited time in Vancouver. While we enjoyed ourselves, we found that our server had limited menu knowledge and had to leave the table multiple times to get the information about the menu. I also had concerns about the octopus component of my dish as it was very dry and pasty. Our server tried to argue that this is how octopus is and the texture is quite different from other seafood. I had to correct her and insist that this was overdone as I have had octopus multiple times and quite enjoy it when done right. I was sent a new portion but it was the same so I didn't bother to say anything. Overall we had a great time but it was mostly due to the great company and spectacular views. Food was ok and so was the service but I dont feel like the price tag off $300 was worth it. P.S. The evening ended on a sour note when we asked for a cab to be called before we headed down the hill and no cab ever came. 30 minutes later we were lucky to have a staff member who was finishing his shift call us another one.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good value

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Great to come enjoy dinner and grouse mountain at the same time. Dinner reservations include the round trip lift tickets to the mountain which makes it worth it. The food was delicious and service was great. It is on the pricey side for the portions you get but at least it's tasty. You're paying for the entire experience of enjoying activities up at the mountain before dinner, so it's worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My mother was visiting from out of town, ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

My mother was visiting from out of town, and I wanted to bring her someplace special. Everything was perfect - the ambiance, service food and wine. The whole visit to grouse was the highlight of her trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful view, excellent service. Had a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

beautiful view, excellent service. Had a wonderful dinner with my fioncee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Steak dinner was horrible, all fat and g ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Steak dinner was horrible, all fat and gristle. Lamb was overdone and tough. Side dishes were not any better, truffle gnochi were over loaded in truffle oil, with no actual truffles, blood pasta was inedible. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone...you can go to Grouse for the amazing view without wasting your money on the food in the Observatory. $170.00 for dinner for 2 people, and none of it was even edible.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We visited the restaurant with friends v ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We visited the restaurant with friends visiting us from New Zealand. We were all in agreement that while the views were stunning, the ambiance great, the food was bizarre in respect of it's presentation, quantity and taste. The dessert was literally beyond description, as the carrot cake consisted of 3-blobs of orange substance, interspersed with creamo, for which you were charged $13. We would never visit this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This place tries too hard to be avant ga ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This place tries too hard to be avant garde and the result is not good. Meat was dry and overcooked, vegetables were tiny and practically raw. 'Deconstructed' desserts were unrecognizable - you get a few crumbs on your plate pretending to be a cake or cookie. It is shamefully over-priced and the quality and quantity of food is awful. Definitely not worth the trip up to Grouse Mountain or the cost. The only redeeming feature was our waiter who had a sense of humour.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good dining eperience with a fantastic view!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at the Observatory starting with that incredible cable car ride to the top. The atmosphere was very pleasant with a gorgeous view, soft music and great service. Our only knock would be that we found the menu to be very limited from the appetizers to entrees to desserts.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a nice experience, small portions ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a nice experience, small portions for my husband 6'3 and over 200 lbs, we had to stop And eat later on that night, the little food we received was good and it's a place we have been going to for the past 30 years, my sister visiting from England loved it up there, especially the Grizzlies....Would love to go again. Waitress was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was awesome, however with my group of 10 they only gave us 4 baskets of bread and than charged $5 a basket after. Will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner fit for an engagement

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated our engagement at The Observatory. Excellent food and view. Service was all we hoped it would be. Left full and Happy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great views, average food and service. T ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great views, average food and service. Tiny portions for large $.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Not a fine dining experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great views, great food, but ... service was more like a fast food restaurant - felt like they could not wait to get us out, which was surprising given it was not that busy.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stuck at the top

Dined on May 3, 2016

Very nice dinner and great service. Unfortunately there was lightning off in the distance so the gondola was stopped. This happened several times. Finally 90 minutes later we could leave. Should have served us some drinks or something during the wait.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The best part of the restaurant is the view!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Observatory Restaurant has a great view, especially for those with a window seat. Although we found the salad overpriced and tasteless, the entree itself was delicious, but you get very little food for the money, so be prepared to leave hungry. Service and ambiance was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, fabulous food and great vi ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good service, fabulous food and great view of Vancouver. But the portion of entree is a bit less.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great view great food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great view though you cannot choose your table...so you have to be lucky. Food is amazing!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Who brings a baby to this restaurant?

Dined on April 25, 2016

Couples out for a fine dining experience have their night shattered by the sound of a crying baby and a wiggly toddler. I fully support Earl's and their decision to dissuade parents from bringing little ones to their restaurants. The ambiance was shattered by this group of girlfriends and their little ones. The food was OK, but not spectacular. The service was friendly, prompt and courteous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Perfect for a special getaway

Dined on April 24, 2016

We use The Observatory as an annual opportunity to step away from distractions, unwind, and reflect on the year that's passed. Because it's at the top of the gondola, you don't just pay the bill and walk to your car - it really takes you out of the day-to-day life. If you head up early, you can even wander up to see the grizzlies before dinner! The tasting menu is well suited to a deliberately paced meal with plenty of time to talk, the food quality has always been top-notch and very creative, and the wine pairings are spot-on. Staff is very friendly with a professional level of service that is very attentive - my water glass didn't sit empty once all night. The Sommelier knows his craft and is happy to share that knowledge as he walks you through each course and wine pairing. Oh right... it almost goes without saying... the view!! We love catching the sunset over the city and all of the lights coming on. Make The Observatory a special occasion, take your time, hire a driver, and you'll be glad that you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful food at the peak

Dined on April 24, 2016

Service was excellent, the food looked and tasted perfect. The view was breathtaking when the clouds moved away. I will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

...It's the best picture perfect restaurant for fine dinning. The service is Top . Great ambiance for a relaxed and dinning experience. The food is incredibly amazing . The restaurant has a great view overlooking the city . This is a must do when in Vancouver BC Canada...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View

Dined on April 19, 2016

It was a fun trip up the gondola and a beautiful view for supper. Will recommend to any friends visiting Vancouver and area for holidays. Appreciated the free trip up gondola with our reservation. Wouldn't have justified the fancy supper otherwise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.