About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines carefully chosen by Sommelier Steven Conroy or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Private Party Facilities:
For more information please contact The Observatory directly.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Conroy: 6049985045x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Diver Caught Scallops
Roasted Organic Beef Striploin
Chicken And Spinach Cream Soup
Arnold Palmer
Sour Cherry Brulee
Red Velvet Cake
Blueberry Tart, Buttermilk Gelato,confit Lemon
Tomato Duo
Duck Croquette,blossom Blue,Okanagian Cherries, Cherry Gastrique

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
4 More
Scenic View
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Northwest
Vancouver Suburbs
Most Booked
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in North Vancouver ›

Scenic View (124)
Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (74)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view and ambiance were lovely. Unfor ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The view and ambiance were lovely.

Unfortunately, found the menu was very limiting; a suggestion would be to include more than one vegetarian offering.

Also, a pasta or risotto choice with the option of meat or meatless.

The young man who served us was very friendly and accommodating.

However the other male server in the room spoke far too loud, drowning out our conversation while he was serving the table behind us. Found his volume inappropriate for such an intimate dining room, amidst peaceful exterior surroundings.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

I took my boyfriend out for dinner for h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I took my boyfriend out for dinner for his birthday and we both had such an amazing time. The service was incredible, the view was romantic and the food was impeccable. He was also given a special Happy Birthday dessert compliments of the Chef, which was unexpected and very thoughtful. Our experience here made his birthday very special and we both would love to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Spicy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard wonderful things about the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had heard wonderful things about the service, food, and views. Fortunately, the views delivered. You will be hard pressed to find better views over dinner than these. Incredible doesn't really do them justice. The service was nothing to write home about, but wasn't bad either. When it came time to pay the tab the server was stuck at a table that wasn't his, chatting with the table guests and another server... The ambiance was lacking at best. There was a wedding in the event center for the restaurant and the bass was quite loud in the dining room. This was disappointing for such a nice restaurant. For this reason alone I wouldn't return, but the food sealed the deal. We both ordered starters and the beef tenderloin. My salad was amazing and my wife's soup was superb, but the steaks were cold, dry, and unappetizing. neither of us finished them. We also ordered truffle gnocchi which arrived after our cold dinners and was burned. The theme of the evening was stellar views with disappointment in the forecast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

It was my father's 92nd birthday and the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was my father's 92nd birthday and the entire experience was lovely. The wine list had many options in selection and price. The pace of the serving of different courses was leisurely. Would definitely return

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very special evening. We were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It was a very special evening. We were hosted by Laura and eventhough there was a mix up with the reservation, she was able to manage the situation in such a way that we ended up having an unforgettable evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very professional. She ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The waitress was very professional. She knew the ingredients of all the dishes in the menu. She explained to us what we had on our plate. Very good service. The chef made the beef tenderloin perfect to what we requested. It will be great if there are more choices in the entree menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five girlfriends celebrating a birthday ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Five girlfriends celebrating a birthday - View was amazing and service

Fantastic - Will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I knew instantly that we treated our gue ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I knew instantly that we treated our guests (family from Italy) to the perfect restaurant, with the first bight of my Chicken. Outstanding meal. Did I mention CLEAN? Very clean establishment. The gondola ride with view, beautiful entrance followed by wonderful warm west coast decor certainly didn't hurt either. Our server was very welcoming and professional, the kind of fellow you'd like to be friends with. Ten out of ten for sure. The exact experience and memory we wanted to leave our guests with before their return home to Italy the next morning. Looking forward to our return.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved this place. We booked ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutely loved this place. We booked it in advance so we received complimentary ride via the cable car. The restaurant was stunning. We didnt have to wait at all when we arrived at the restaurant.

We werent given a table by the windows but it was still a fantastic restaurant to dine at.

Food was simply great. The main is advertised as entrees though but its big enough for main. Being non-americans, it was still a huge service for both of us and couldnt finish it even though it tasted amazing. Cocktails were cheap and good.

Waiter was simply superb and absolutely loved him.

I would highly recommend this place :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place. Food was fantastic. The vie ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place. Food was fantastic. The view is the best you can buy, albeit we had a window seat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great experience, service was ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overall great experience, service was very professional, never had to wait for anything; server was very attentive and knew right when we wanted something. Food was exceptional, every ingredient was notable and they all worked very well together, cooked perfectly. Nothing else to add besides we would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was simply, a let down. It just ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was simply, a let down. It just wasn't what was expected and the choices so very limited.

The bang for your buck just wasn't there and I don't see a return visit in my future.

The staff was pleasant but it seems to be confused as to if the place is elegant or casual.

The staff while very professional, was not presented as a fine dining experience in correspondence with the prices.

The view is of course stunning

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our guest Robert M from Calgary wrote a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our guest Robert M from Calgary wrote a review yo TripAdvisor

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, the two hostesses up fron ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great service, the two hostesses up front actualy asked us if we wanted to wait a little longer for the best seat in the house right in the corner at the window amazing breath taking view. Very nice treat The food was scrumptious. Prawns and bread should be a must. The tenderloin was perfect. The garlic panese were however dry and bland. but the desert was amazing the deconstructed lemon meringue was tasty an the dark chocolate tart was devilish!

The music was s little loud through the night but overall it was a great experienc. We got engaged as it was our second visit To Grouse and we has come to visit family for the month and I needed a special venue to propose. It was a magical night

Thank you.

Will deffinitly come back again when in town

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised, food was delicious ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Pleasantly surprised, food was delicious. Would have been nice to have window seat. There was an empty table at window without anyone sitting at it. Waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Wine pairings were excellent and the foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wine pairings were excellent and the food was good not great. Lot of trouble to get there and not worth the trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

The view is amazing. But that's about it ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The view is amazing. But that's about it. We were SO disappointed by the food. It had no flavor and was so bland. My chicken was dry and the truffle gnocchi had no truffle flavour at all. The prawn appetizer wasn't prawns, it was shrimp. So disappointing! It was 5 tiny shrimps for $18...We will never go back. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I came as tourist from Germany with my 3 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I came as tourist from Germany with my 3 kids (12/12/14) and we were very happy taking dinner there. The table reservation and then changing for another date was very easy going.

KIDSFRIENDLY 😍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was a bit slow.....warm coff ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The service was a bit slow.....warm coffee was served and we had to ask for hot coffee...server offered to prepare a fresh pot (a fresh pot should have been served at the start). My soup was served warm but still good...server offered to replace with hot soup but the rest of the party was already eating their appetizers...

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was not good. We ordered fish a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was not good. We ordered fish and chicken dishes and were not impressed. The view was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

was in Vancouver for cruise ate dinner ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

was in Vancouver for cruise ate dinner at restaurant had window seat great views of thew city as the restaurant did 3 complete rotations food was delicious

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic views of Vancouver! Great dini ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fantastic views of Vancouver! Great dining experience, excellent service, quiet and romantic, yet kids friendly. Absolutely memorable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was great, w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great, window table was clean and the reservation was handled quickly.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We booked this restaurant while we were ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We booked this restaurant while we were on vacation. It has great views of Vancouver from 4,000 feet and at night. We loved the experience and would book it again if we are able to visit Vancouver again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Scenery was outstanding, service was fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Scenery was outstanding, service was friendly and the food fine. However, we had expected a fine dining experience for our wedding anniversary and were a bit disappointed by the casual attire of the other patrons. Not that that should be a big deal, but why drop hundreds of dollars for two when you are surrounded by people with young children, tank tops and sandals. May as well enjoy the view at the bistro next door for a third of the cost.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We took advantage of the reservation sys ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We took advantage of the reservation system that allowed us to ride the gondola for free in exchange for buying an entrée. The mountain scenery is spectacular both on the mountain and inside the restaurant. The food however is just okay and very overpriced. No green salad is worth $16 or lemon meringue dessert for $13.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was disappointing and I feel ha ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was disappointing and I feel has deteriorated since the last time I was here (about 2 yrs ago). The mixed green salad was nice in composition but had almost no dressing on it (leaves were almost dry!) The lamb sirloin was ok but the demi-glace was very skimpy and not all that flavourful. My companion had a vegetarian dish (chick pea panisse) and though it sounded good, the reality was quite dry.

Dessert was excellent (1 lemon meringue tart, 1 smoked vanilla something or other). The service was fair, not excellent.

I sincerely hope they are not trading on the amazing view and allowing the quality of the restaurant to slip (back to what it was in the 80s and 90s, i.e., no good).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The gondola ride on a beautiful day give ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The gondola ride on a beautiful day gives the viewer an idea of just how beautiful the Vancouver Lower Mainland truly is. The view from the restaurant is also spectacular. The food was good, not great. The service was excellent. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food and service . Very nice v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good food and service .

Very nice view if you sit by the Window.

You get a free ride to the mountain top if you reserve in advance, which is a very good value .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The staff were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The staff were very kind in finding us a window table with a view, which made the meal even better. The lamb was cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the soup and desserts, which were delightful. From what we could see of the dinners around us, everything looked good. We will come again, and will highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Observatory to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We chose the Observatory to celebrate our 27th anniversary and everything was great, from the awesome staff and service to the great view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and excellent service, al ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good food and excellent service, all with a stunning view over Vancouver (when the cloudbase is high enough). If you deduct the value of the complementary cable car ride to the top of Grouse Mountain from the meal price it becomes remarkably good value. Plan your meal to straddle sunset for the best of day and night views.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service with nothing too much ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service with nothing too much trouble and were willing to accomodate a vegetarian in our group. Great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal at the Observ ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at the Observatory. The strawberry smoked shortbread was delicious, and our waiter was able to give helpful menu suggestions.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great entrees. Not good desserts. The de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great entrees. Not good desserts. The deconstructed approach is a big misfire. Stick to the classics unless you have a proven track record .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Service was not that awesome. Food was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was not that awesome. Food was ok but not big enough portions to fill you up. We sat at a table that actually did not have a view at all. So for a restaurant that is supposed to have a view, we had none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best night me and the wife have had in a ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best night me and the wife have had in a long time. It was fun walking around grouse before dinner and then we got to sit right by the window. It was a beautiful clear night and it was an amazing view. The lamb was probably the best meal I have ever had. The dessert was the same. We got some fudge bar with honey comb or something like that. I could not believe how good the food was. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, and nice vi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food and service were great, and nice view. It has to be good luck to get window seat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing view of downtown Vancouver , goo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing view of downtown Vancouver , good food, slow service

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Overall experience was good. Staff was v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall experience was good. Staff was very courteous and server was knowledgeable. Shirts and denims doesn't seem to fit the ambiance, should be slacks and polo shirts at a minimum. (i was wearing a shirt and at least, black denim pants.) Our drive from California was well worth it. We're hoping to be back next year!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.