Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Observatory at Grouse Mountain

Housed in a mountaintop chalet with windows overlooking the city of Vancouver, the Observatory offers diner’s views that are as unique as the food prepared by our talented chefs.

Regional and seasonal West Coast dishes are freshly prepared daily in our mountain kitchen using Oceanwise and Green Table certified ingredients. The Observatory’s exquisite food, exceptional service and award-winning wine list turn every meal into a special occasion.

Feeling indulgent? Enjoy our five-course Chef’s Taster Menu which allows you to explore a range of wines or choose a bottle from one of over 500 selections from the multi-award winning wine list.

Dinner is served seven nights a week from 5pm and complimentary Skyride admission is always included with every advance reservation.

Please note that for parties of 7 or more a gratuity of 18% will be added to the bill.

6400 Nancy Greene Way
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4K9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 998-5045

Website:
http://www.grousemountain.com/the-observatory-restaurant

Public Transit:
Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.

Executive Chef:
Brendan Robson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

The manager is awesome by letting us in early. The food was great and our server was on point. A++ service from her. Thank you for this wonderful anniversary moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was very good (although I would have enjoyed more vegetables to accompany a delicious piece of fish). The service was also very good. However I was disappointed that the restaurant was unable to fulfill our request for a window seat. I understand that almost everyone would prefer a table with a view and perhaps our request was later than others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

1)Waiter seemed rush. Requested in writing and in person and Was told my date for birthday would receive a small candle with cookies This did not occur. Waiter was reminded of this and responded that this was not conveyed to him by co worker-- I even ordered and paid for dessert. No apologies or discounted check. 2) The Halibut was dry and overlooked. Overall the scenic view is the highlight of this place

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We enjoyed a special dinner with friends we hadn't seen in 20 years. Food was lovely and atmosphere suited us.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We enjoyed a beautiful meal with guests visiting from Australia. Every bite was so tasty and above the norm. Exceptional value with the complimentary gondola ride.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Views, service and kitchen. Must visit when in Vancouver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our server was great and the food was good but for the level of dining you'd expect there was room for more finesse. The wine list was excellent and the cocktail menu was the standard fare. There seemed to be an odd non-communicative, emotionless demeanour to most other employees apart from our server. It felt like people we just going through the motions and weren't very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The "TOP OF THE WORLD" in Vancouver. Amazing view of the city and beyond. Food was also lovely, and it was a romantic location for a wedding anniversary.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

We enjoy the atmosphere and it was very enjoyable with the bear watching and sun set scenery. Highly recommend for romantic dating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful place, great food and service.
Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Cost $25 for 5 low quality falafel. You'll find better food for less from food trucks.
Would not recommend to anyone, unless you were just paying for the subpar meal to get up to grouse for free, in which case - honestly, just walk up. The experience will not be tainted by the observatory's sorry and unpalatable excuse for fine dining.
Still felt the tingling sensation of over salted food after I brushed my teeth.

1) only 1 vegetarian entree option (fava bean falafel), only 2 or 3 other things vegetarian on the whole menu.
2) the falafel was dry, crumbly, and over salted, served with kale that was also way too salty.
3) we sent back the kale (literally too salty to eat) and did not send back the falafel because the server wasn't sure if they could make anymore falafel
4) kale came back undercooked and without modicum of seasoning.

We reserved a table 2 days prior to our 8pm dinner. We were stuck at a small table in the middle of the walkway away from the window. The restaurant smelled like 2 day old fish.

Do not go here unless you enjoy comically bad experiences. The only good thing that comes from this restaurant is a good laugh now and then from remembering how sad the food was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The service at The Observatory was excellent. We had a very enjoyable dinner. The only thing we would have liked was more food, as we found the portions very small.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had to send back our food as it was not cooked well. The portions on some of the items are too small.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service staff was great but the meal was underwhelming. Food was good but not great. The menu choices did not excite me but look online and judge for yourself. I felt they mistakenly tried (and failed) using exotic vegetables instead of fresh local vegetables. We were a party of 7 and entrees came out in 3 batches several minutes apart. The kids food was in the last batch which defies rule number one of serving a family/group.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I had the risotto with braised pork, and butter-poached BC prawns. The vegetables were perfect, risotto was delicious, pork was tender and prawns were done to perfection.
My two friends had the halibut which they thoroughly enjoyed. They also shared the pea soup which they said was lovely and the truffled gnocchi which they thought was especially wonderful.
Our waiter was professional and attentive.
The ride on the gondola is always a treat and the view is spectacular! Don’t wait until you have out-of-town visitors to go for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

A great view of greater Vancouver from The Observatory. That view alone made the dining experience worth the trip! I had a good meal while my wife and our friend's meals were okay. The service was a little slow. I suppose that there was a wedding function taking place while we were there, so that could be a contribution for a little slow service? There were things to do before we sat down for our dinner: visited Bear Habitat, watched Birds in Motion Demonstration in Flight and a stroll around the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I started with the Bison Tartar and Pork Ravioli. The tartar was delicious. The ravioli (3) were OK but were seriously overpriced. Our consesus was that we should have ordered 2 Tartars. The mains consisted of an excellent halibut dish and a tasty dish of pork medallions. The pork medallions rested on a flavourful oatmeal rissoto. The halibut came with a variety of vegetables. Both dishes were good but we preferred the fish.

Desert was a wonderful finish. We shared the Chocolate Pretzel. Note that this is not actually a pretzel but a tart-like concoction topped with coffee flavoured ice cream. Delightful.

Overall a bit pricy but a wonderful way to spend a 5th anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Loved it all. Would recommend a dress code. I found for fine dining there were lots of under dressed making the experience less than fancy. Excellent staff, great food, beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was okay, service was not bad. Considering the sky ride tickets were included, it's fair. However the portion of food was really TINY!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Took my girlfriend here who flew all the way from Chicago and this was definitely one of the most romantic dates we have ever had. Great scenery ofcourse. Good is great and service was decent. Took a lil too long to get our bill but it was not bad. Definitely a great place for a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excelente vista de Vancouver, solo un tema que cierran temprano

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent cuisine. Tasting menu was delicious and size of portions just right. Excellent fresh local ingredients.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Outstanding view. Tram cost included with reservations here. Main meals very tasty beautifully plated but not big portions. Appys are a bit quirky. Try something new, here's the place. We left very satisfied.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Was lied to by our waiter. I had requested better seating at 2 specific tables, when either one frees up I had wanted to be seated there. Waiter went and checked and said yes one of them is opening up and shouldn't be a problem. However, I was not given priority and table was given to someone right before me my eyes, completely unacceptable. Manager was very rude and not understanding. There were other tables free that other guests could have been seated and waited their turns for better seating just like we had. I was out celebrating something special and the staff ruined our moment. Would never dine there again, and will be sharing this negative ordeal with my colleagues and advising not to visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We came to this restaurant every year for special occasions. Last year we came for my birthday and this year we came for our first anniversary. The appetizer is warm kale salad which comes with some really delicious fish underneath. The favor of the kale is so yummy and the portion is totally not small. The halibut is so fresh and juicy. When we got the bill, the waitress came with a lovely macaroon dessert with Happy Anniversary on it. It is very sweet. We will highly recommend this restaurant for people around us and we will keep going there for special occasions. We usually came in the afternoon touring around and watch some bear movies in the theatre. It is very relaxing and the view is impressive. Thank you for the service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We spent the night on the mountain camping in the park and after spending $150 they made me pay to ride down the gondolla. I complained to customer service and was told too bad.

Also portion size is awful - after eating we went downstairs to cafeteria and bought 3 pieces of pizza to fill up on.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Muy buen lugar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Restaurant view is perfect. Interior simple. There was a funny unplessant smell and the airco was much to cold (wife and kids wanted to leave because of the smell and cold). Food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We are from the UK and had a wonderful meal with friends whilst holidaying in Vancouver. My brother who used to live in Vancouver recommended booking a table to obtain the complimentary Grouse Mountain pass. We were not disappointed and had a very enjoyable visit to the mountain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a lovely evening, the food was amazing. Although we had to wait for a table the staff more than made it up to us. They were friendly, knowledgeable and made our visit memorable. The view was amazing and well worth the drive. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very poor customer service skills displayed for my 2 visits to this restaurant - 1st time my friend food was burnt and he wasn't even offered to replace the food, 2nd time our server forgot to get a side dish which is ok but also charged us for it....food was ok, no choice for vegetarians..

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Spectacular views . Food was good. Service was very good. However, they don't enforce dress code - had a couple that were sweaty, disheveled and wearing tank top , hiking boots and shorts. We had to watch them the entire time since they were given the window table that we only wish we had , right in front of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Small, comfortable setting beautiful views and unusual menue. Friendly wait staff and well worth the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Vacation 22 years anivversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

In honor of our 1 year wedding anniversary, we decided to celebrate at Grouse Mountain at the Observatory for a romantic evening dinner. This seemed to be fitting since... we got married and held our wedding reception in The Timber room and on the deck at Grouse Mountain! It was good to be back and the complimentary skyride ticket that came with our dinner reservation made it that much more practical and appealing for the occassion. Our server happened to be the same banquet manager who coordinated our wedding reception 1 year ago and she even remembered our names. We got a chance to give her our personal thanks for the great service her and her team did for us for our special day last year. The cuisine at The Observatory was amazing, the table they reserved for our annivesary dinner was breath-taking and the service was top-notch as expected. We plan to celebrating our wedding anniversary with Grouse Mountain again for many years to come! Thank you Grouse Mountain for making us feel special all over again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My expectations were relatively high when I came here and they still exceeded those expectations. The food was great. I hear that the menu changes relatively frequently but if the bison tartar is available it's fantastic. Honestly though all of our meals were good and I think it's great value for the atmosphere, location, service, and ambiance. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was a very delightful surprise. Our group had several appetizers and main courses and none were bad. The staff including the manager were extremely courteous and attentive to our requests. The view from on top of Grouse mountain was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a very special place. Very unique. Outstanding food. Small portions that are satisfying and amazing flavor sensations. The prices are reasonable for the quality of food. The view is beyond compare. The service was friendly without being overbearing. This was our third visit. We will return many times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing views and ambiance. Mediocre food. Unusual ingredients used just for show, not for taste. Steak was undercooked and pork was dreadfully overcooked. Since tickets to get up the mountain were included, that balanced the scales for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I arrived with my party on time but was not seated. I was left waiting at an unattended front desk with no explanation. It was very frustrating when all it required was better trained staff with a better focus on customer satisfaction. We waited in the bar area for fully 30 minutes waiting for a table. It was as if we had turned up with no reservation - surprising since the restaurant had called me to confirm. Poor show. Me all was good, however, so not a total loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.