About The Oakroom

500 4th Avenue
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Chef Nick Sullivan creates an unforgettable, world class dining experience. As the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant with the largest wine selection in the region, our award-winning staff infuse naturally grown or raised ingredients with Southern tradition and flavors. Chef Sullivan showcases his style in a tasting menu where you will experience new textures with his worldly pantry, as well as an a la carte menu to create your own culinary journey.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 6:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Muhammad Ali Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 807-3463

Website:
http://www.theoakroomlouisville.com/

Entertainment:
The restaurant seats 125 guests and offers a private dining room that can accommodate up to 10 people. The Oakroom also offers specialized catering options for parties and events creating enduring memories of your personalized event.

Catering:
The Oakroom's rich history, elegance and tradition, along with state-of-the-art modern conveniences, make it one of the country's most desirable and unique venues for meetings, weddings and other events. Guests and local visitors love exploring The Oakroom itself. A history of celebrities and ghosts, early 1900s décor and original murals depicting Kentucky's pioneer days draw visitors from around the country. The Oakroom where Al Capone once played blackjack, now Kentucky's only AAA Five Diamond restaurant

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking at the front of the hotel, located on the corner of 4th Street & Muhammad Ali Blvd. There is also a parking garage behind the hotel. (We are NOT able to validate garage parking.)

Executive Chef:
Chef Nick Sullivan

Private Party Facilities:
The Oakroom has what your party needs, whether it is a private room for two, buying out the entire dining room for 125 people or anything in between, the Oakroom will work with & for you to make your event unforgettable, no matter what your budget!

Private Party Contact:
Liz Carson: 5025853200x498

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Liz Carson at 502-585-9262 or elizabeth.carson@interstatehotels.com to plan your next Private Dinner, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception and Rehearsal Dinner. She can assist you with any event from an intimate dinner for two to a celebration for 125.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Oakroom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Louisville
3 More
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
great for brunch (21)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diner Sat

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Excellent diner, it lives up to it's AAA 5 star rating! Very creative appetizers and entrées. My wife and I enjoyed everything including the beautiful dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food. We had the seven course ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food. We had the seven course tasting menu. A little loud but it was really one loud table near us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, historic restaurant in a beautifu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great, historic restaurant in a beautiful wood paneled room. Excellent service, great wine, and very romantic atmosphere. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Special Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son took me to the Mother's Day Brunch which was also my birthday. The food and variety available was outstanding. My compliments to the chef and all the workers who made it a special day of remembrance for me.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

I usually really enjoy my experience but ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually really enjoy my experience but this is the 3rd time I have came and there was no crab salad. I was promised each time prior that you all would have it next time. Also there were some rude guest that kept asking the party in the private dining room to leave. I was shocked but I guess there was little the staff could do to prevent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.. thank you

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great as always.. thank you

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Probably the worse service I ever had, a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the worse service I ever had, and since The Oak Room automatically added $24 for table service there was no reason for our serve to do his job. Will never go back.

food2
ambience3
service1

Poor service. Small portions. Decent fo ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Poor service. Small portions. Decent food but not at all worth what you will pay. We love a high quality, upscale meal, but this was a disappointment. The building and setting is beautiful, but the service was sub-par and food was just OK.

food5
ambience5
service5

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food was excellent, shrimp, crab claws, smoked salmon, oysters, and prime rib. Plus all the usual breakfast items and great derby specialities. The service was fantastic and people watching at its best. Will definitely do this every year.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

First time at the Oakroom

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the Oakroom and I was in town for a pre Ky Derby dinner. The meal did not start out well in that we waited 20 minutes just to get our drink order taken. In the end a three course fixed meal took 3.5 hours to serve. The staff explained that they were short handed I and our party observed that the restaurant was never full and the staff struggled to manage a load that should have been manageable. The food was quite overpriced and lacked taste and presentation consistent with the price attached. The wine additionally overpriced in comparison to other area restaurants. Perhaps better on a standard night but definitely not recommendable for special or high traffic occasions. Not sure I would "role the dice" again here

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not worth the $.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Enjoyed Brendan's Catch-23 the next evening for less than 1/2 the price of the Oakroom and MUCH better meal. I have no problem dropping $1,000 on a meal if it is stellar. Unfortunately, this was not even mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on April 22, 2016

The best in fine dining bar none. Ther service was flawless. The food simple, fresh, innovative, and heavenly! The chef took the time to come speak with us and talk with us about the food. The food again, was the best I have had the pleasure on which to dine. His choices for the five course meal were superb. The sommelier knew what he was doing. Each course was perfectly paired. The matre'd, the chef, the hostess, the waiter, everyone was respectful, welcoming, and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

This was our last time

Dined on April 17, 2016

Have frequented Oakroom Sunday brunch quite a few times. Had not been there in about a year. Had heard they had new chef, didn't know what to expect. Well, believe I liked the former chef food selection, preparation, etc. better. Service was lacking, which we didn't understand because just few tables occupied. Dishes were moderately cleared, but since water was my drink of choice, would have been nice to have a refill. My goblet was empty about three-quarters into the brunch. I am not the type to have to flag-down a server. Actually, on a previous visit in 2015, table of 7, we were all but ignored by the same server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Oakroom

Dined on April 10, 2016

To put together an outstanding gathering for family and/or friends, I choose brunch at the Oakroom. It has never failed to please everyone in our party. Thanks for the wonderful Sundays. Our recent server was so gracious. A gentleman and very attentive!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The best brunch in town

Dined on April 10, 2016

We returned to the Oakroom Sunday Brunch because it is just wonderful. It is a five star experience. The food is excellent, the ambiance is wonderful, and it is a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Treat

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful food. Dining experience was great. Beautiful ambiance. Definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fancy food. Some entrees are small ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great fancy food. Some entrees are small but the flavors are amazing. The portions are perfect if you're going through 3 courses.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Easter Brunch very much.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food choices were outstanding and everything was very well prepared. The service was also outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Oakroom brunch never disappoints... ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Oakroom brunch never disappoints... The set up was beautifully done..the food was superb ...the preparation was perfect. As usual the service was excellent.. Troy has been out Waiter on several occasions & is very attentive and kind.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service provided by Troy was first c ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service provided by Troy was first class all the way. We had the Okinawa Potato Ravioli and it was fantastic. Great place for an anniversary dinner. All the little things added up to a memorable dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Historic Hit

Dined on March 10, 2016

This restaurant located in the historic Seelbach Hotel served up a stellar meal. The food was cooked and flavored perfectly and the plating was artistic. Service was attentive without hovering. Here you definitely get what you are paying for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on February 26, 2016

My husband and I dined here for his 38th birthday dinner. The table was decorated with rose petals when we arrived. They have an excellent selections of wines and bourbons. We had the langoustine for our first dish, amazing. I had steak and my husband had pork and both were perfect. For dessert we had the milk chocolate and it was awesome! They even decorated the plate for his birthday. Wonderful place to eat. Great service and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 26, 2016

We stayed at the Seelbach and had dinner at Oakroom. Very disappointing. Portions were very small and food texture and flavor not very good. Service was good but wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch. May be the best in Lou ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent brunch. May be the best in Louisville

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was much more romantic, and less hectic, that a Valentine's dinner out. We wish Valentine's Day always fell on Sunday now. However, we will be going back to the Oakroom for Sunday brunch whenever we feel like treating ourselves!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Classy Sunday brunch. Great food. We en ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Classy Sunday brunch. Great food. We enjoyed our meal and the restaurant. Wonderful service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Spent a Saturday evening in the Seelbach and visiting downtown Louisville. Great place to experience the city . Decided to set reservations for the Sunday Brunch and what a treat! Great service and the food was spectacular. It isn't often that the diners are pulling out their phones to take pictures of the wonderful displays. Service was on top of things , but not intrusive.Great entrees and cold selections, but the deserts are worth the price of admission! My wife and I enjoyed the entire experience and hope to return and check out dinner in the Oakroom,

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Repeat of an Excellent Experience!

Dined on January 24, 2016

The Oakroom brunch is not something you would do often but it is a great culinary experience. The price is high but the layout of food will leave you wanting for nothing. I've been twice and will definitely go again. It's a great "special occasion" experience. If you're planning on Mother's Day - book very early!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oakroom is Awesome

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Oakroom, located in the Seelbach hotel, is a great place to have a quite Sunday Brunch. The food is outstanding and you get a LOT of choices....therefore, you need to come HUNGRY. Our server, Troy, is absolutely the best. He is kind, very pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. I would recommend making reservations for any Sunday, regardless if you are celebrating a special occasion. It will be worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

From 5 Diamond to 2 Clubs

Dined on January 1, 2016

Breaking in a new chef is always difficult. Attempting to bring in a new chef on a major holiday dining occasion was not only risky, but in this case, a disaster.

food5
ambience4
service1

Poor and slow service. It took forever t ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Poor and slow service. It took forever to get seated as the hostess was in the dining room dealing with table setup or clearing. It took her four to five minutes to come to the hostess station, then she left again to finish her duty in the dining room. Once seated, nobody came to get our drink order . We had to grab someone and request some water and drinks. Then a waiter finally came and took our order. We were almost finished eating before our drinks arrived. We ordered water, coke and iced tea. Totally unacceptable! This place was totally under-staffed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Another excellent brunch. The buffet is ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Another excellent brunch. The buffet is great with all the traditional stuff and a few nice surprises. Love their candy desserts.

food4
ambience4
service3

Great place for Thanksgiving

Dined on November 26, 2015

We have been to many restaurants for Thanksgiving. The Oakroom is the hands down favorite for all the adults in our party. Buffet style meal so plenty of options for everyone. Traditional favorites are all available as well as breakfast choices. Food is very good for a buffet. Cheese and dessert selections are wonderful. Definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. What more can I add but Wow. Stella ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Wow. What more can I add but Wow. Stellar experience and fabulous food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect choice for honeymoon dinner

Dined on November 13, 2015

My husband and I planned to have one nice dinner on our honeymoon (the rest of the meals were spontaneous stop-ins along the Kentucky Bourbon Trail). I am so glad we made reservations at The Oakroom! While it was a quiet Thursday night, so maybe we didn't need reservations, we couldn't be more pleased by the service and the food. It was amazing! We both had the seasonal multi-course tasting menu with wine pairings. The wines were spot on and each course was so well balanced. It was truly a luxurious experience. Additionally, the wait staff and sommelier were responsive, knowledgeable, and polished. My husband and I may have to plan a return trip for a future anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was all about making our exper ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

The staff was all about making our experience positive. We felt very taken care of. This restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner or is great for a place when you need to have a business meeting and hear without fighting noise in the room.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dining. One of my best!! Staff, ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

Superb dining. One of my best!! Staff, wine, drinks, food were top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Quiet evening at the Oakroom

Dined on October 24, 2015

We were visiting Louisville and wanted an elegant evening. The Oakroom fits the bill for that. The food and wine are over the top here. It was very quiet though, so probably not for everyone. The service is very attentive, food wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Brunch!

Dined on October 18, 2015

I took my mother to the Oakroom on 10/18/15. We had a wonderful experience and the food was outstanding. Definitely worth the money.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Still a quintessential Louisville experience

Dined on October 18, 2015

It has been almost 10 years since my last visit to the Oak Room, and I was pleased that my recent visit didn't disappoint. The service and atmosphere are great reflections on the history of the Oak Room and the people of Louisville. My family and I visited for Sunday brunch and found everything we sampled (which I think was everything offered?) to be outstanding. It won't be 10 years before we get back to the Oak Room. Life's too short not to get out and enjoy that experience!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.