About The Oakroom

500 4th Avenue
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Chef Nick Sullivan creates an unforgettable, world class dining experience. As the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant with the largest wine selection in the region, our award-winning staff infuse naturally grown or raised ingredients with Southern tradition and flavors. Chef Sullivan showcases his style in a tasting menu where you will experience new textures with his worldly pantry, as well as an a la carte menu to create your own culinary journey.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 6:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Muhammad Ali Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 807-3463

Website:
http://www.theoakroomlouisville.com/

Entertainment:
The restaurant seats 125 guests and offers a private dining room that can accommodate up to 10 people. The Oakroom also offers specialized catering options for parties and events creating enduring memories of your personalized event.

Catering:
The Oakroom's rich history, elegance and tradition, along with state-of-the-art modern conveniences, make it one of the country's most desirable and unique venues for meetings, weddings and other events. Guests and local visitors love exploring The Oakroom itself. A history of celebrities and ghosts, early 1900s décor and original murals depicting Kentucky's pioneer days draw visitors from around the country. The Oakroom where Al Capone once played blackjack, now Kentucky's only AAA Five Diamond restaurant

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking at the front of the hotel, located on the corner of 4th Street & Muhammad Ali Blvd. There is also a parking garage behind the hotel. (We are NOT able to validate garage parking.)

Executive Chef:
Chef Nick Sullivan

Private Party Facilities:
The Oakroom has what your party needs, whether it is a private room for two, buying out the entire dining room for 125 people or anything in between, the Oakroom will work with & for you to make your event unforgettable, no matter what your budget!

Private Party Contact:
Liz Carson: 5025853200x498

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Liz Carson at 502-585-9262 or elizabeth.carson@interstatehotels.com to plan your next Private Dinner, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception and Rehearsal Dinner. She can assist you with any event from an intimate dinner for two to a celebration for 125.

Restaurant Photos

  • s'mores
  • Cheese With Butterscotch
  • Pork
  • Couscous With Veggies And Blueberries
  • Pecan Pie Salad With Blue Cheese Ice Cream
s'mores
Cheese With Butterscotch
Pork
Couscous With Veggies And Blueberries
Pecan Pie Salad With Blue Cheese Ice Cream

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Oakroom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (27)
great for brunch (21)
romantic (20)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
notable wine list (11)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unbelievable flavor combinations. Truly ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Unbelievable flavor combinations. Truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed. Father's Day brunch. The sta ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed. Father's Day brunch. The staff was quite welcoming and very helpful. The pianist was a nice touch. The food - both the choices and the quality- was as nice as could be. Thanks, Oakroom, for a great Father's Day

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative menu, quiet, good for romanti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Innovative menu, quiet, good for romantic dinner and business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and beautiful brunch. T ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and beautiful brunch. The beef tenderloin was very good and the seafood bar was too. Interesting cheese selection and lots of entrees on the buffet.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine Dining in Louisville, KY

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were in Louisville for Muhammad Ali's memorial service, and figured we would take the opportunity to try KY's only 5 Diamond restaurant. We both had the 7 course tasting menu, without the wine pairings. We decided to choose wines on our own. I can say that this meal was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was beautifully prepared, unique in it's use of local ingredients, and had fantastic flavor profiles. The staff is knowledgeable about every dish, prompt, attentive, but not invasive. Their wine list is extensive and well planned. Recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I very much like the relaxed feel of th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I very much like the relaxed feel of the restaurant. Our party was made to feel at home immediately. This was not a stuffy restaurant where everyone was over dressed. It was informal

and we were all appreciated from the beginning. The food was so very good, even the ordinary dishes(such as scrambled eggs) was so very good. My group was very happy with the food and the hotel. This was the first time to visit the Oak Room for four of my group and they were impressed. We shall be returning again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special treat

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First time at the Oakroom, to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. Impeccable service, delicious food, all capped off by dessert with a congratulatory message written in chocolate on the plate. Had a memorable evening. Yes, it's pricey, but you get what you pay for. Just wish the hipsters at the next table had been able to put away the tablets and phones for a couple of hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Diner Sat

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent diner, it lives up to it's AAA 5 star rating! Very creative appetizers and entrées. My wife and I enjoyed everything including the beautiful dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know who gave this restaurant a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I don't know who gave this restaurant a 5 Star Rating. There is no way this is a 5 Star Restaurant. The service was terrible! The waiter had no personality at all and no sense of humor. Although the food was good, the menu was something less that memorable. The food was in no way the same as it was described on the menu. To top it all off the cream curdled in the coffee! Overall this was not a good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Fantastic food. We had the seven course ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food. We had the seven course tasting menu. A little loud but it was really one loud table near us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great, historic restaurant in a beautifu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great, historic restaurant in a beautiful wood paneled room. Excellent service, great wine, and very romantic atmosphere. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My son took me to the Mother's Day Brunch which was also my birthday. The food and variety available was outstanding. My compliments to the chef and all the workers who made it a special day of remembrance for me.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I usually really enjoy my experience but ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually really enjoy my experience but this is the 3rd time I have came and there was no crab salad. I was promised each time prior that you all would have it next time. Also there were some rude guest that kept asking the party in the private dining room to leave. I was shocked but I guess there was little the staff could do to prevent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great as always.. thank you

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great as always.. thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the worse service I ever had, a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the worse service I ever had, and since The Oak Room automatically added $24 for table service there was no reason for our serve to do his job. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service. Small portions. Decent fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Poor service. Small portions. Decent food but not at all worth what you will pay. We love a high quality, upscale meal, but this was a disappointment. The building and setting is beautiful, but the service was sub-par and food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food was excellent, shrimp, crab claws, smoked salmon, oysters, and prime rib. Plus all the usual breakfast items and great derby specialities. The service was fantastic and people watching at its best. Will definitely do this every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Oakroom

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the Oakroom and I was in town for a pre Ky Derby dinner. The meal did not start out well in that we waited 20 minutes just to get our drink order taken. In the end a three course fixed meal took 3.5 hours to serve. The staff explained that they were short handed I and our party observed that the restaurant was never full and the staff struggled to manage a load that should have been manageable. The food was quite overpriced and lacked taste and presentation consistent with the price attached. The wine additionally overpriced in comparison to other area restaurants. Perhaps better on a standard night but definitely not recommendable for special or high traffic occasions. Not sure I would "role the dice" again here

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the $.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Enjoyed Brendan's Catch-23 the next evening for less than 1/2 the price of the Oakroom and MUCH better meal. I have no problem dropping $1,000 on a meal if it is stellar. Unfortunately, this was not even mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Exquisite

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The best in fine dining bar none. Ther service was flawless. The food simple, fresh, innovative, and heavenly! The chef took the time to come speak with us and talk with us about the food. The food again, was the best I have had the pleasure on which to dine. His choices for the five course meal were superb. The sommelier knew what he was doing. Each course was perfectly paired. The matre'd, the chef, the hostess, the waiter, everyone was respectful, welcoming, and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last time

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Have frequented Oakroom Sunday brunch quite a few times. Had not been there in about a year. Had heard they had new chef, didn't know what to expect. Well, believe I liked the former chef food selection, preparation, etc. better. Service was lacking, which we didn't understand because just few tables occupied. Dishes were moderately cleared, but since water was my drink of choice, would have been nice to have a refill. My goblet was empty about three-quarters into the brunch. I am not the type to have to flag-down a server. Actually, on a previous visit in 2015, table of 7, we were all but ignored by the same server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Brunch at the Oakroom

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

To put together an outstanding gathering for family and/or friends, I choose brunch at the Oakroom. It has never failed to please everyone in our party. Thanks for the wonderful Sundays. Our recent server was so gracious. A gentleman and very attentive!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch in town

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We returned to the Oakroom Sunday Brunch because it is just wonderful. It is a five star experience. The food is excellent, the ambiance is wonderful, and it is a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Treat

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful food. Dining experience was great. Beautiful ambiance. Definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fancy food. Some entrees are small ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Great fancy food. Some entrees are small but the flavors are amazing. The portions are perfect if you're going through 3 courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our Easter Brunch very much.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food choices were outstanding and everything was very well prepared. The service was also outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oakroom brunch never disappoints... ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Oakroom brunch never disappoints... The set up was beautifully done..the food was superb ...the preparation was perfect. As usual the service was excellent.. Troy has been out Waiter on several occasions & is very attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service provided by Troy was first c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The service provided by Troy was first class all the way. We had the Okinawa Potato Ravioli and it was fantastic. Great place for an anniversary dinner. All the little things added up to a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic Hit

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

This restaurant located in the historic Seelbach Hotel served up a stellar meal.

The food was cooked and flavored perfectly and the plating was artistic.

Service was attentive without hovering. Here you definitely get what you

are paying for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried both the dinner and the Sunday ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We tried both the dinner and the Sunday Brunch. The dinner was merely adequate, but the Sunday Brunch...? DIVINE!

The presentation alone was gorgeous and made you want to devour everything put in front of you. From fresh oysters to fat shrimp to fanciful desserts to a house-invented morning drink to the savory dishes laid out like they were plated rather than catered and lumped together.

The price is right in line, about $36. Children are welcome and they all seemed delighted by the men behind the omelet take less who flip and cook and dice right in front of them.

Lovely breakfast, absolutely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

My husband and I dined here for his 38th birthday dinner. The table was decorated with rose petals when we arrived. They have an excellent selections of wines and bourbons.

We had the langoustine for our first dish, amazing. I had steak and my husband had pork and both were perfect. For dessert we had the milk chocolate and it was awesome! They even decorated the plate for his birthday. Wonderful place to eat. Great service and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We stayed at the Seelbach and had dinner at Oakroom. Very disappointing. Portions were very small and food texture and flavor not very good. Service was good but wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent brunch. May be the best in Lou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent brunch. May be the best in Louisville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day Brunch

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was much more romantic, and less hectic, that a Valentine's dinner out. We wish Valentine's Day always fell on Sunday now. However, we will be going back to the Oakroom for Sunday brunch whenever we feel like treating ourselves!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy Sunday brunch. Great food. We en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Classy Sunday brunch. Great food. We enjoyed our meal and the restaurant. Wonderful service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Spent a Saturday evening in the Seelbach and visiting downtown Louisville. Great place to experience the city . Decided to set reservations for the Sunday Brunch and what a treat! Great service and the food was spectacular. It isn't often that the diners are pulling out their phones to take pictures of the wonderful displays. Service was on top of things , but not intrusive.Great entrees and cold selections, but the deserts are worth the price of admission! My wife and I enjoyed the entire experience and hope to return and check out dinner in the Oakroom,

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat of an Excellent Experience!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The Oakroom brunch is not something you would do often but it is a great culinary experience. The price is high but the layout of food will leave you wanting for nothing. I've been twice and will definitely go again. It's a great "special occasion" experience. If you're planning on Mother's Day - book very early!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oakroom is Awesome

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The Oakroom, located in the Seelbach hotel, is a great place to have a quite Sunday Brunch. The food is outstanding and you get a LOT of choices....therefore, you need to come HUNGRY. Our server, Troy, is absolutely the best. He is kind, very pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. I would recommend making reservations for any Sunday, regardless if you are celebrating a special occasion. It will be worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From 5 Diamond to 2 Clubs

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Breaking in a new chef is always difficult.

Attempting to bring in a new chef on a major holiday dining occasion was not only risky, but in this case, a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Poor and slow service. It took forever t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Poor and slow service. It took forever to get seated as the hostess was in the dining room dealing with table setup or clearing. It took her four to five minutes to come to the hostess station, then she left again to finish her duty in the dining room. Once seated, nobody came to get our drink order . We had to grab someone and request some water and drinks. Then a waiter finally came and took our order. We were almost finished eating before our drinks arrived. We ordered water, coke and iced tea. Totally unacceptable! This place was totally under-staffed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.