About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great menu! Makes it easy to get easily ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great menu! Makes it easy to get easily to theater.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love the Nickel! Portio ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I love the Nickel! Portion sizes seem to be getting smaller but the food is delicious and always a great spot before or after theater!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have eaten here 3 times in 3 months. Men ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Have eaten here 3 times in 3 months. Menu is exactly the same. Needs more variation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had been excited to try the Nickel bas ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I had been excited to try the Nickel based on rave reviews and family and friend recommendations. I was unfortunately disappointed. Our waiter and the atmosphere (building architecture) and location were excellent. But the food, the reason we went, was only mediocre.

To begin, the menu is limited and heavy on very rich food. My friend, who is Parisienne, ordered the liver mousse and the jalapeno bread. The former she could not eat; she described it as "sickly." The latter (a huge portion) I tried: dry and flavorless. I had the shortrib, which was well cooked and flavorful, but much too fatty for my tastes.

We took our waiter's wine suggestion and were rewarded with a delightful red we both enjoyed. In retrospect, perhaps we should have ordered off the charcuterie menu and just indulged in more wine. Great place for drinks and nibbles; skip the dinner menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great modern atmosphere with unique deta ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great modern atmosphere with unique details! The food is absolutely amazing and the chef is always putting new spins on classic dishes! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and setting were excellent. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The service and setting were excellent. Our waiter was outstanding. Unfortunately, the food was very disappointing. My date had the chicken and biscuits and left most of it on her plate. I had the halibut; the beans were filling but the fish and beans were so bland the only word I can use to describe it was boring. We had peach cobbler for dessert; it was flavorful but the popcorn put on top of the cookie crust added nothing. The two of us agreed that overall the experience was extremely disappointing and we would never return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We had a lovely evening with friends bef ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a lovely evening with friends before the play.

Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch food! Loved the Tomatillo B ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great brunch food! Loved the Tomatillo Bloody Mary! I always come back for the food here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My boyfriend really wanted to go to the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My boyfriend really wanted to go to the Nickel for his birthday. The food was just ok. I ordered the steak and it was overdone. The wedge salad, had a different twist and was pretty good. He had the ribs and they were good. For the price, it wasn't worth it. The wine list was good, but pricey as well. The chef came out with my steak when it was redone, but the flavor was still not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Nickel has a very limited menu, but ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Nickel has a very limited menu, but what they have is generally good. The quality of the food does not necessarily justify the prices, however, as the restaurant seems to consider itself very trendy and therefore pricey. But for before-theater dining, it is a great spot, as it is just a block up the street from the DCPA. Be prepared to spend close to a hundred dollars WITHOUT alcohol.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Beautiful space and wonderful service, h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful space and wonderful service, however the $20 chicken and waffles was very disappointing. Although the menu didn't specify, I expected a chicken breast but what I got was an undercooked KFC-type mystery cut piece, which I had to send back. They were very nice and removed it from our bill. Everyone else enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We like the ease of dining before the pl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We like the ease of dining before the play. They are always welcoming and get us out in time great service and food. Fresh and healthy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Before theater dinner...martinis, wine a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Before theater dinner...martinis, wine and schnitzel and a perfect corner table....excellent waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed this time. I has the s ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Was disappointed this time. I has the starter Veal piccata but it was overlooked. My friends had the beef rib which was one huge rib/hatchet that was difficult to eat delicately. The chicken liver pate was good but don't know when we will return. Like the location because it is right next door to the Buelle Theatre.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter Anthony was great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter Anthony was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I really like my halibut dish. It was a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I really like my halibut dish. It was a combination of fish, root vegetables and white beans Yum!my friend steak was very tasty but a little grizzly.overall we enjoyed our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a pre-theater dinner here and did ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a pre-theater dinner here and didn't have much time. It took so long to get service that I got up and poured us water because I was so thirsty. After that our server was very attentive and got our food out to us quickly! I had the wedge salad and tomato mozzarella tartlets, both of which were delicious. My husband had the chicken and biscuits, which had a great sauce but he didn't love the turnips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I didn't give it five stars because I re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I didn't give it five stars because I read the menu on the Internet and had decided upon the halibut. A large private party that booked that afternoon reserved all the halibut. In my book it is poor restaurant management to allow a party to remove an item from the menu. This restaurant has a small menu and it was the only main fish dish. The four dinners at the next table also were upset when they couldn't order the halibut.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails and short rib tomahawk are ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The cocktails and short rib tomahawk are amazing!!! Not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gorgeous, unique , delicious food, upsca ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gorgeous, unique , delicious food, upscale ambiance and top notch service. Highly recommend for a special occasion. A bit pricey for everyday dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The room was absolutely charming, the se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The room was absolutely charming, the service impeccable, and the ingredients good, but somehow, the dishes did not work. The halibut, a dry fish, was served over fava beans with various fruits (peaches, plums). The apple strudel type dessert was also dry, and just barely had apples.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and courteous staff. The en ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food and courteous staff. The entrees were works of art. People at home were drooling over the pic I took of my amazing pork ribs. Thanks Yelp peeps for the great reviews that lead me here. Everyone in my party loved their meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, delicious cocktails. Great food and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fun, delicious cocktails. Great food and amazing presentation. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place. The tomahawk steak was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Love this place. The tomahawk steak was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Nickel is the perfect pre-theatre sp ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Nickel is the perfect pre-theatre spot. The bar is lively and service is faster than one might expect. The menu offers unusual items, such as the chicken liver mouse, which is far better than most. There are numerous wines by the glass covering all palettes. And, surprisingly, the kids menu has several selections with extremely generous portions. A simply wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious salads for lunch, plus a nice ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious salads for lunch, plus a nice wine list makes this a great, centrally located spot to drop in for a bite.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding Denver Restaurant

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our third dinner at The Nickel (pre-theater) -- every meal more outstanding than the next and unique -- it's so fun to see what is on the evenings menu as it changes based on what is fresh and in season -- the Chef De Cuisine and the Sous Chefs are brilliant and skilled, and The Nickel is a true gem -- warm, organic and farm fresh food with dishes often prepared in a deconstructed style -- the potato leek soup with a deconstructed baked potato crisp was brilliant last weekend -- this is a wonderful change from the more traditional, heavy plated dishes common at The Edge and other great restaurants -- whether stove cooked or coming from the wood fire grill, the passion by the team of Chefs for great food and great presentation has come through on every meal we've enjoyed -- It's a 2 Michelin star experience for sure, based on quality and consistency -- just an excellent, excellent dining, food and drink experience and one where you want to thank the Chefs personally for their passion and for caring so much --

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect double date

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Beautiful food and drinks, excellent service. Jameson was attentive and helpful, and Chef Russell made the experience memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at the Nickel especially when we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We eat at the Nickel especially when we are going to the symphony. We secured our reservation there again as our friends had not eaten there and we wanted to have a great meal. The Nickel never has disappointed us. The food is wonderful and our server McCaela did a great job explaining all the items for us. She was very attentive.

We will return again and again to the Nickel. A gem in the heart of downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food with marginal service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was pretty lacking. Long wait times for drinks - even coffee. I hear they have a great burger, so maybe this would be a better for a burger night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was excellent, helpful and k ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was excellent, helpful and knowledgable but not belittling if you asked a question. The food artistic and delicious. Fun atmosphere and the drinks were well made.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a business dinner for 11 out of towners. The team raved about the food and agreed it was the best restaurant they'd been to in Denver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the service, atmosphere, the o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food, the service, atmosphere, the overall experience was perfect! Loved this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food Fantastic service!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The Cubano was the best I've had in Colorado! It was extremely flavorful without being too salty. The flatbread with green chili was delicious and had the perfect amount of complimentary toppings. The fries were delicious and the side salad was crisp, fresh, and tasty! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

small portions

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My party of 4 all ordered the same thing..the halibut. It was absolutely delicious but the portions were all different sizes and half of them were incredibly small. Other then that, delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great pre or post theater dining experience.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a charming dining experience, but the added perk of the staff timing your meal to ensure you get to your show on-time reduces the stress of pre-theater dining.

We have been here three times, and it has never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

An excellent dinner before the symphony ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

An excellent dinner before the symphony performance. Interesting menu and beautifully presented dishes. Considerate service with keen sense of our time concerns. It was quiet at 5:30 but moderately noisy at 7:00 when we left. All in all a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good ideas; execution ?

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I and my friend have been here several times before going to the theater. It is so handy. The kitchen staff has good food ideas, but the execution is not always the best. Case in point the goat cheese and beet tart we both ordered as an appetizer on our latest visit. First it was cold which surprised both of us, then the goat cheese was spread so thick on the crust it was difficult to eat. A little goat cheese goes a long way. The beets were fine but could have used a little more seasoning. The pork ribs, while tasty, were barely there. Three (tiny and I do mean tiny) ribs. ( I believe McDonald's McRib sandwich has more meat on it.) And for a price close to $30, I felt underwhelmed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Easter Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

we went here for Easter brunch and had a very bad dining experience. The service was very good as the restaurant was nearly empty. However, the food was not very good. Pretty much just had their normal menu with a few specials. We ordered coffee and had to send it back because it was so bitter. Two people ordered the chicken and waffles, which came with two over done legs , on a bed of lettuce on top of a waffle. Lettuce with waffles and syrup? This entrée was $20.00. I don't mind spending a chunk of money on good food but this was really bad. Do not go there for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

lunch was really good with the Cuban san ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

lunch was really good with the Cuban sandwich being a great choice

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.