Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 5/20
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

4.2
448 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Creative Cuisine
Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Chef Russel Stippich leads a distinguished culinary team with a menu that incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors. From our friendly and knowledgeable service team, to our sommelier curated wine program, to the centerpiece of our restaurant- The Barrel Bar - which offers house barrel-aged cocktails on tap.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(720) 889-2128
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Russel Stippich
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

View Private Dining Details
What 448 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The Short Ribs are out of this world! I can't help it, I get them every time! Plating and presentation rocks. Service by Jameson was wonderful. Leave enough time pre-show to really relax and enjoy your dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely love Anthony, as well as the food and all else at the Nickel but Anthony makes it a very special experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always love The Nickel! Fabulous food and knowledgeable staff

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Nickel is a OK place to have brunch. The food is OK, not terrible, not great. I would likely eat here again, but it certainly wouldn't be my first choice. The eggs benedict was a huge disappointment. We were really ready for a fantastic eggs benedict, and this definitely wasn't it! Spinach was bland tasteless, the hollandaise was ... meh. The bacon was good, the coffee was pretty bitter, the fruit roll was not good at all, and the waiter wasn't very knowledgeable about the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We enjoyed the setting and atmosphere but feel that the food is overpriced. The food was good - not great; the portions were small and expensive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Dinner before a show

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Very disappointed in the meal. The red snapper was terrible. We will not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Price too high for food. No vegetables , salad--just a chunk of beef. Few options n the menu. Much too high a price for the dinner served.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We loved the drinks and ambiance. Went for dessert a few weeks back and had to try the food. It was delicious. The waitstaff helped us with an overcooked dish and repaired the problem with kindness and generosity.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This restaurant is what you get when neither the kitchen nor the bar have technical chops or pedigree - cia formal or from grandma (despite the claim as re the rhubarb pie) yet charge a lot to pay for the zinc bar and can do so because the average diner of millennial age is too ignorant to know what they’re not getting.

What diners don’t get is a balanced concept on he plate, trendy terms and ingredients instead of an approach, or value.

The wait staff is nice and informed but can’t compensate for an arrogant kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great place to have dinner. The food is wonderful and the service is great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great time, great staff, yummy food but kind of expensive... had to pay $2.00 extra for maple syrup to go with my french toast. I think $16 french toast, no matter how fancy, should come with syrup. The kid's brunch platter looked great (came with syrup for their pancakes). Cocktails and mimosas also good. I would go back again and order a different dish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Our server, Jameson, was attentive and helpful. We had a wonderful time and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We came here prior to seeing Aladdin at the DCPA while staying at the hotel. We had Steven as our server for the second time and he made my daughter’s experience at her favorite restaurant the best. We will definitely be back. Thanks for the great service and attention to detail!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great menu with great kids menus. was perfect family dining before seeing a show at the performing arts center!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

A classy environment with good sipping and appealing dining fare.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was underwhelming. My husband had the short ribs, which tasted like something I make in the crockpot. I had the red snapper, which was also largely flavorless and was topped with chewy skin. The best part was the smashed potatoes, but one doesn’t go out and spend $70 on a meal to enjoy some potatoes. They forgot our appetizer and brought it out after the mains were served. We won’t be eating here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We have dined at The Nickel twice before going to musicals at the DCPA. The location is excellent to park at the DCPA, then walk to and from the restaurant. The staff there has bee exceptional in both how they have taken care of us and meeting our needs for timing both of the meal and of being timely to the theater.
The menu is small and ala carte, but the food has been excellent. The cavatelli with lamb is an excellent starter or Primi. The scallops are beautifully prepared and delicious. My wife is particularly picky about her scallops in terms of freshness and taste and always has been very pleased with the presentation and the flavors. I had the red snapper on our most recent visit which was well prepared and was served with an excellent dashi (sp?) sauce. The Brussels sprout dishes we have enjoyed were some of the best preparations of the vegetable we have ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great cocktail list. The Persian Pisco Sour was fantastic. Small portions that are expensive, but definitely worth it for dinner before a DPAC show.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The Nickel is conveniently located next to
The DCPA and therefore a good choice for pre performance dinner. The ambiance and service are always great and the atmosphere calm and conducive to conversation. As much as I like these features I must say that the menu is downright strange. Not only is it very limited, but the dishes on offer are simply much too precious. The firsts are quirky and the mains served naked seem to have been curated for a contest not a real world restaurant. The teres major (Steak) was ok. The Buckley lamb was also OK. The potato side was dry and flavorless. The beet salad we shared was small and just OK. The best dish of the evening was the bread pudding dessert. I doubt we will go there again unless the menu changes radically. Too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Good food, drinks and service in a very comfortable environment- what more could you ask? But believe me, it will cost MUCH more than a nickel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Our first time dining here....it won't be the last. We were surprised and delighted at the level of service and quality of food. The salads were terrific and generous...enough for a meal and maybe some to take home. Entrees were equally generous. The customized charcuterie concept for an appetizer was a real treat. We also used the valet service prior to seeing "Hamilton" and they had our car out in front, all ready to go, when we returned from the theater. These guys were the best!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent, caring waitor. Good cocktails, small plates. Great brussel sprouts. Main courses were a mixed bag. Two people enjoyed a vegan loaf & the lamb. The other two found their mains disappointing. Beef short rib was served as a hunk of chewy, undercooked meat on a bare plate—no carrots, mushrooms or other vegetables—which were sorely missed. Lamb was also devoid of vegetable accompaniments and much too raw. Dessert—a deconstructed key lime pie sort of thing only with grapefruit—was okay in an overly precious way. Coffee drinks were great. Tab was very pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Unusual food, prepared well and savory. Service pretty good, but not perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Fabulous! We had dinner before seeing Hamilton...our waiter was extremely knowledgeable on the menu, cocktails and wine list. Everything was SO good, that we are going back a month from now when we are seeing Aladdin. Can't wait to see the new Spring menu!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Service was a bit slow even though we had told them we had tickets for a show starting at 7:30. It took us 4 attempts to get our check and get out. The busboy finally took care of it. This was after talking to the server and the manager.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The service from the staff was wonderful. We went before theater and it was very busy and very loud but we still got our drinks and food quickly in time to get to the show. The food was a little expensive for the portions and the menu wasn't very large. Would like to see more appetizers.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We’ve previously had good meals at Nickel but on this occasion the lamb shoulder was so dry that it required a sip of water or wine with every bite.

We did not request a replacement because we had theater tickets and there was not enough time to wait for the entree to be replaced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We enjoyed a pre-theater brunch, and definitely will return soon to try the dinner menu. Brunch items were limited but varied, and all four of us enjoyed very different options. Three cheers for the French toast and the Nickel Sandwich. Excellent service, fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great Manhattan drinks! Excellent waiter. Red wine by the glass was quite warm, surprised for price level of place. Waiter did replace shortly thereafter with glass that was proper temp from a new bottle. Salad was covered in grated cheese, Short rib was excellent. Sweet potato side dish was cool and disappointing. Waiter made it fun but food was lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We booked a 6:30 dinner before an 8:00pm show at the Bellco Theatre on Friday, March 9th. "Hamilton" was showing at the 7:30 at the Buell Theatre on the same night - so the restaurant was very busy with pre-theatre patrons for both shows. Our 6:30 table was not available at 6:30 because the prior patrons lingered over their desert - through no fault of the restaurant. The staff fully understood our time constraints and were completely accommodating to us. They found us a comfortable table in their bar area while we waited for our table, comped us a bottle of wine for our inconvenience and had our orders taken and our meal prepared in record time. This allowed us to make our show on time (just barely!). Without the understanding of the Nickel staff, we would most certainly have been late or had to leave without finishing our meal. A huge thank you for the wine and for taking such great care of us. A 10/10 experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I always ask to sit in the study, it's much more quite and better ambiance.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Almost missed our show thanks to over 80 minutes to get our food served. And we had to watch while people who came in after us, and had the same food, were served before us

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Beautiful space. Not such great food, except the Brussels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Great downtown spot for lunch or dinner. I love the burger and Pablo’s coffee.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Lunch meal very basic not much to pick from. My catfish sandwich was very bland no flavor at all, but it was durable since it was my first time there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Went here for Restaurant Week and all the waiters/waitresses were so friendly and very helpful. The ambiance was wonderful and the food was exceeded my expectations. I did not expect to be tasting such delicious food AND to be full. I love that they're menu is always changing and there is always a vegetarian open (or it can be made vegan). Definitely coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We decided to take advantage of the Denver Restaurant week special menu, and were pleasantly surprised with the added value of that deal. I enjoyed the beet salad with hazelnuts tremendously, as well as the shared squash gnocchi side dish and seared scallops entree. By the time we got to dessert--German chocolate cake, in my case--I was feeling quite stuffed and was only able to enjoy a few bites. My husband loved the short ribs and grapefruit tart. This was the perfect pre-theater meal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It was restaurant week so selection was limited. The food was not good. My wife had the scallops. While they were not bad, they lacked real flavor but were edible. I had the lamb. It was over-cooked and flavorless. I only ate half of it, it was so bad. The service and drinks were wonderful but the food was awful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Waitress a little smug. Didn't like the way she pulled napkins off our laps when we were done. She seemed a bit over her job.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by The Nickel - Hotel Teatro