Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

I would definitely go back to this restaurant. We went for our date night before catching a show at the Performing Arts Center. It was great and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and service. Casual and comfortable. Alittle noisy but would recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I love this place. The drinks are always completely on point. The food is expensive, but high quality and delicious. Great for a splurge or a special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I like the Nickle when I can't get in anywhere else near the theatre's. Nickle suffers from over doing it, just add a good hamburger or pasta dish to go with all the other selections.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great setting in historic hotel two blocks from the Theatre, Convention Center and 16th St Mall. Barrel-aged cocktails drew us, worth the trip for that alone, and salmon main and chacouterie ala carte menu were wonderful. Save room for chef's special desert. Went back for brunch the next day with other friends. Those cocktails are good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The restaurant is really nicely decorated and on a business day at 12:30 was not noisy. The staff was great, sharing ingredients and recipe for some items. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We made a reservation, the kitchen was closed and we were not made aware until we got there. Disapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Although the food was tasty, there was so little of it that it was hard to tell. Thank goodness we ordered the jalapeno cheddar bread. We needed the filler. The piece of salmon was about 4" x 2" (probably 4oz) and the eggplant that was supposed to come with it was undetectable. I think we paid $24 for that tiny piece of salmon. The Caesar salad was supposed to be very large and shareable. We shared this item but I could have easily eaten the entire thing. It was not "very large", as was suggested. Unfortunately we left the restaurant hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great meal! The food was out of control good. Chef and his team are killing it. Order everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I selected this restaurant based on reviews for our (husband and teen daughter) pre-theatre dinner. The menu was quite unique, as was the venue! We dined here prior to seeing, "Frozen" at the DCPA.

Loved that they had a "Melted Snowman" (a.k.a. Olaf) cocktail, which I enjoyed. Great Jalapeno cheddar bread, Sweet Potato-stuffed chili, Lamb shoulder, and my husband and daughter loved the "Teres Major" steaks. Also had their Apple Pie, which was little more than a tart and somewhat disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everything about this place was fantastic. They time each entree perfectly and never rush you.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We stayed overnight in Denver on the way to Wyoming for the eclipse and saw great reviews for the Nickel. We had an absolutely delicious dinner with delightful twists on comfort foods and great cocktails. Prices were more on par with San Francisco (which we are used to) but we found it as good or better than most of the food we have in SF these days. Attentive, sweet service, warm atmosphere. We've discussed setting a fare alert for a trip back to Denver just so we can come back for dinner again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Very good service. Server Rick S. was professional friendly and attentive. We were having dinner prior to Frozen show and he kept us on schedule without rushing. We talked about how comfortable dinner was that night. Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We couldn't decide what to order and went with 4 of their shareable plates. All were seasonally inspired and perfect fun sampling for our first visit. The thoughtful kids menu and festive Frozen inspired cocktail and mocktail were the perfect pre-theatre treat! We'll be back for sure! Thanks to your team for making my 8 yr old daughter's first trip to the theatre unforgettable-from our Nickel dinner to start & Frozen's Opening Night...a perfect memory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A very poor brunch experience attributed to cold food & poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious food, unique takes, every dish had a little twist that was exciting and enjoyable! Service was friendly and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. Seasonal menu items are fantastic - get the watermelon salad if it's available and the sweet potato stuffed poblano is not to be missed. Well curated wine-list, the mixed drinks are superb. Attentive service, will be returning soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very nice meal and experience. Would come again without hesitation

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was outstanding, using fresh produce and products sourced locally.
Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is our second visit to the new Nickel. The main reason I came back was to share Morels with my friends. But I remembered how true it was that every dish we ordered was just great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing energy from the staff food is always well thought out and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I am sad to say it but we were really disappointed in The Nickel. Service was good, the ambiance was nice, but those were the only positives. While menu items *sound* good, everything we ordered was ho-hum. (We went there for brunch). The "gourmet" breakfast nachos were terrible. Broken store-bought chips, stingy queso, pickled jalapeños...they weren't even hot! My husband's steak breakfast sandwich was overlooked. $8 to valet. Sadly, this is a "standard" hotel restaurant that got a talented interior decorator. All facade. Should have known better. Bummer!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Lovely restaurant and good food but limited menu. Would recommend they add more fish (salmon) and chicken options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing, creative dishes and attentive service... we started with charcuterie and cheeses, finished with the lamb and octopus. Sweet potato stuffed poblano and morel mushrooms on the side were to die for! My husband and I rolled out of there stuffed to the gills on our way to the theater. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Took my niece out for lunch before a matinee at DCPA on a Saturday.She had not eaten breakfast and loved having the late breakfast menu. I found my salad to be perfect, creative ingredients, totally fresh, no wilting. added chicken was very tender. Really nice light lunch. Easy walk to the theater.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very good food, a little pricey for what you get. The waiter was very friendly and attentive and the noise level was really good for conversations, not too loud. Great location for going to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love the fact that there are wonderful vegetable selections. The pablano pepper sweet potato--yum. Jalapeno cheddar bread was also wonderful. And asparagus, and...you get the picture.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

One of the best dinners I ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was great! The food and cocktails were good but the overall service from the staff really helped elevate the experience. They were kind and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My sister was in town and we went to the theater. I had not been to this restaurant before but wanted something close by. We had a great experience- excellent server who was knowledgeable and did not rush us at all. Food was very tasty. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a good choice for us. Great food. Thoughtful service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The staff, food, and restaurant were all incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved it! Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have dined at Nickel several times. The food is ALWAYS fresh and prepared beautifully and presented in a creative manner. The menu is not pages of options however very carefully selected seasonal dishes. The service is always top notch! Cocktails and wine selections are very good. I would recommend this place anytime. Casual or dress up, either is acceptable. Hat's off to the chef, their staff and whoever is running this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server Michaela was absolutely great! I expect your food offerings to be great, they always are. HAD to order the morels, I've been dreaming about morels, wish you had done something a bit more delicate with them, deep-frying kinda overwhelmed both the flavor and texture. That watermelon dessert, however... maybe the best dessert I've ever eaten, both in terms of flavor and beauty. And I'm really old and have eaten a lot of fine-dining desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My friend and I had tickets for the Opera and we wantes to try a new restaurant. Both very pleased with our experience while dining at The Nickel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love Nickel. The food is great and service too quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Small portions at a high price. My friends salad was not so good and had woody threads of something inedible-- herb stems? My salad was minimal. They his less than prime avacado at the bottom of the bowl. Overdressed salad. After seeing so many instagrams of the bloody Mary's I wanted to order the Bloody Mary bar but at $20 it seemed not that great of a deal. The topping were sparse. I expected so much more.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.