About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Kristen Wallace at kwallace@hotelteatro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wanted to have a meal before seeing a th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Wanted to have a meal before seeing a theater show. We had our son with us (age 9) and were pleasantly surprised they had a great kids menu. We had a wonderful dinning experience and will be back again soon!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed by the new format, and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very disappointed by the new format, and truly shocked about how small the portions were and how expensive they were. We had brussels sprouts that were virtually raw and uneatable.

Service was below par. We have loved this restaurant in the past but we will not return. Such a loss for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

loud, not good value, did not think menu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

loud, not good value, did not think menu was interesting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing as always! Absolutely love going ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing as always! Absolutely love going to The Nickel for brunch and bringing out of town friends there. We celebrated a friend's bday and another friend's new job and they surprised us by giving us a yummy dessert. Made the brunch celebration so special. We'll definitely be going back many many more times (we love the pancakes).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always pleasant. Good good and interesti ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always pleasant. Good good and interesting menu. Excellent service. I was surprised at how quiet things were Fri night. Usually much busier V

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful space. Good drinks but no one ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Beautiful space. Good drinks but no one checked on us enough to keep refilling drinks. Issue with food item was dry and not good so ordered second quail dish. Glad we did because first quail dish was good but second was great, it had dressing first one should have had.

Had been here twice in past and amazing food and not sure if we will be back for more than drinks now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Our last night of a 10-day trip, tired o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our last night of a 10-day trip, tired of eating out, we found The Nickel and enjoyed a delicious meal in a relaxed setting. The historic building was a plus, and the evening was one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu rather limited. Chicken liver mouse ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu rather limited. Chicken liver mouse was outstanding. Pork schnitzel was very average and pricy. Trying by too hard to be pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Was taking my 14 year old granddaughter ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Was taking my 14 year old granddaughter to a play and planned for a special dinner. Despite having a reservation, was seated in the bar. Television was on throughout dinner (muted - but closed caption). Bad luck as it was night of Trump allegations being detailed by Anderson Cooper. We turn off the TV at home for dinner - so certainly didn't need it this night. Single waitperson was stressed - missed regular dining amenities like water refills, offer for dessert etc. Had to call for check. A colossal waste of an $85 meal (without alcohol). And - the couple without a reservation right before us was seated in the dining area. So much for the service advantage of Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The short ribs were tender-fork deliciou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The short ribs were tender-fork delicious. Would have been nice to be offered refills on the coffee and hot tea (which was very expensive).

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We came for lunch on Saturday before a m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We came for lunch on Saturday before a mantinee performance at the Buell. The menue was brunch that had not been our expectation. We let the waitress know that we had not cared for our entree choices. She told the manager who comped all three of our meals AND brought us dessert! That degree of caring about customer satisfaction was unparalleled. Therefore, I would definitely recommend them. Check their menu on-line and go if it suites your taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Very disappointing for the price. My ste ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very disappointing for the price. My steak was tough and flavorless. Atmosphere somewhat dismal and very empty. Now I know why. I think only the Hotel keeps it going. Do not waste your money. Too many other wonderful spots. Just another restaurant capitalizing on the hotel they are associated with. Really mediocre or below in every aspect.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Service was prompt and friendly. The fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly. The food was tasty. I would definitely return to try more items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

wonderful food with creative creations ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

wonderful food with creative creations for a discriminating palate

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting is comfortable with plenty o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The setting is comfortable with plenty of room between tables. Location near theaters is perfect. If only the food offerings were good enough to entice me to return. Our main dishes varied widely in the amount of food in each portion. My quail was not enough for a single serving while my wife's pork could have fed two. Entrees and sides were reasonably tasty although not memorable. The real disappointment was the apple pie dessert. It arrived dry and burned around the edges. We left most of it on the plate. Our waiter did not ask us how our meal was or I would have expressed our disappointment. An offer of another dessert or removal of the charge from our bill would have gone a long way to improving our opinion of the Nickel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I was really looking forward to the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I was really looking forward to the food here however it was disappointing. I ordered the Colorado Bass and it was bland and the kale was good but I did not care for the burnt kale on top. My husband ordered the quail and it was just ok and the grits and they were really bland. I felt it was overpriced for the quality.

The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The atmosphere of The Nickel is very nic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The atmosphere of The Nickel is very nice in appearance and the design is cohesive for dates or small groups. Prior to this experience, I have only ever been to The Nickel for cocktails, but this dinner will get me to come back. The food and flavors of the new fall are very imaginative! We had the short ribs, which were as tender as you could possibly ask for, and quail. The quail was acceptable, but I would not order it again. The stuffing had a weird pureed consistency, and the portion was a bit small, even for fine dining. The sides were the best part of the meal, by far. The brussel sprouts were sweet, salty, and vinegary, and came together so well. The sweet potato-stuffed pepper was also very, very good. The potato mixture was creamy and the flavor of the pepper, which had a sweet blackened crust, balanced out the richness well. I am looking forward to my next visit to The Nickel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant - enjoyed the new fall ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great restaurant - enjoyed the new fall menu and the service was very professional. Good location too, next to the Denver Center for the Performing Arts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

menu was kinda bizarre......not for the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

menu was kinda bizarre......not for the faint of heart!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great menu! Makes it easy to get easily ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great menu! Makes it easy to get easily to theater.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love the Nickel! Portio ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I love the Nickel! Portion sizes seem to be getting smaller but the food is delicious and always a great spot before or after theater!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have eaten here 3 times in 3 months. Men ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Have eaten here 3 times in 3 months. Menu is exactly the same. Needs more variation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had been excited to try the Nickel bas ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I had been excited to try the Nickel based on rave reviews and family and friend recommendations. I was unfortunately disappointed. Our waiter and the atmosphere (building architecture) and location were excellent. But the food, the reason we went, was only mediocre.

To begin, the menu is limited and heavy on very rich food. My friend, who is Parisienne, ordered the liver mousse and the jalapeno bread. The former she could not eat; she described it as "sickly." The latter (a huge portion) I tried: dry and flavorless. I had the shortrib, which was well cooked and flavorful, but much too fatty for my tastes.

We took our waiter's wine suggestion and were rewarded with a delightful red we both enjoyed. In retrospect, perhaps we should have ordered off the charcuterie menu and just indulged in more wine. Great place for drinks and nibbles; skip the dinner menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great modern atmosphere with unique deta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great modern atmosphere with unique details! The food is absolutely amazing and the chef is always putting new spins on classic dishes! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and setting were excellent. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The service and setting were excellent. Our waiter was outstanding. Unfortunately, the food was very disappointing. My date had the chicken and biscuits and left most of it on her plate. I had the halibut; the beans were filling but the fish and beans were so bland the only word I can use to describe it was boring. We had peach cobbler for dessert; it was flavorful but the popcorn put on top of the cookie crust added nothing. The two of us agreed that overall the experience was extremely disappointing and we would never return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We had a lovely evening with friends bef ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a lovely evening with friends before the play.

Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch food! Loved the Tomatillo B ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great brunch food! Loved the Tomatillo Bloody Mary! I always come back for the food here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My boyfriend really wanted to go to the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My boyfriend really wanted to go to the Nickel for his birthday. The food was just ok. I ordered the steak and it was overdone. The wedge salad, had a different twist and was pretty good. He had the ribs and they were good. For the price, it wasn't worth it. The wine list was good, but pricey as well. The chef came out with my steak when it was redone, but the flavor was still not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Nickel has a very limited menu, but ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Nickel has a very limited menu, but what they have is generally good. The quality of the food does not necessarily justify the prices, however, as the restaurant seems to consider itself very trendy and therefore pricey. But for before-theater dining, it is a great spot, as it is just a block up the street from the DCPA. Be prepared to spend close to a hundred dollars WITHOUT alcohol.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Beautiful space and wonderful service, h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful space and wonderful service, however the $20 chicken and waffles was very disappointing. Although the menu didn't specify, I expected a chicken breast but what I got was an undercooked KFC-type mystery cut piece, which I had to send back. They were very nice and removed it from our bill. Everyone else enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We like the ease of dining before the pl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We like the ease of dining before the play. They are always welcoming and get us out in time great service and food. Fresh and healthy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Before theater dinner...martinis, wine a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Before theater dinner...martinis, wine and schnitzel and a perfect corner table....excellent waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed this time. I has the s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Was disappointed this time. I has the starter Veal piccata but it was overlooked. My friends had the beef rib which was one huge rib/hatchet that was difficult to eat delicately. The chicken liver pate was good but don't know when we will return. Like the location because it is right next door to the Buelle Theatre.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter Anthony was great!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter Anthony was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I really like my halibut dish. It was a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I really like my halibut dish. It was a combination of fish, root vegetables and white beans Yum!my friend steak was very tasty but a little grizzly.overall we enjoyed our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a pre-theater dinner here and did ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a pre-theater dinner here and didn't have much time. It took so long to get service that I got up and poured us water because I was so thirsty. After that our server was very attentive and got our food out to us quickly! I had the wedge salad and tomato mozzarella tartlets, both of which were delicious. My husband had the chicken and biscuits, which had a great sauce but he didn't love the turnips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I didn't give it five stars because I re ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I didn't give it five stars because I read the menu on the Internet and had decided upon the halibut. A large private party that booked that afternoon reserved all the halibut. In my book it is poor restaurant management to allow a party to remove an item from the menu. This restaurant has a small menu and it was the only main fish dish. The four dinners at the next table also were upset when they couldn't order the halibut.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails and short rib tomahawk are ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The cocktails and short rib tomahawk are amazing!!! Not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gorgeous, unique , delicious food, upsca ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gorgeous, unique , delicious food, upscale ambiance and top notch service. Highly recommend for a special occasion. A bit pricey for everyday dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The room was absolutely charming, the se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The room was absolutely charming, the service impeccable, and the ingredients good, but somehow, the dishes did not work. The halibut, a dry fish, was served over fava beans with various fruits (peaches, plums). The apple strudel type dessert was also dry, and just barely had apples.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.