About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro
The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (20)
good for groups (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (11)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun, delicious cocktails. Great food and ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Fun, delicious cocktails. Great food and amazing presentation. I highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place. The tomahawk steak was ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. The tomahawk steak was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Nickel is the perfect pre-theatre sp ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Nickel is the perfect pre-theatre spot. The bar is lively and service is faster than one might expect. The menu offers unusual items, such as the chicken liver mouse, which is far better than most. There are numerous wines by the glass covering all palettes. And, surprisingly, the kids menu has several selections with extremely generous portions. A simply wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious salads for lunch, plus a nice ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious salads for lunch, plus a nice wine list makes this a great, centrally located spot to drop in for a bite.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Denver Restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our third dinner at The Nickel (pre-theater) -- every meal more outstanding than the next and unique -- it's so fun to see what is on the evenings menu as it changes based on what is fresh and in season -- the Chef De Cuisine and the Sous Chefs are brilliant and skilled, and The Nickel is a true gem -- warm, organic and farm fresh food with dishes often prepared in a deconstructed style -- the potato leek soup with a deconstructed baked potato crisp was brilliant last weekend -- this is a wonderful change from the more traditional, heavy plated dishes common at The Edge and other great restaurants -- whether stove cooked or coming from the wood fire grill, the passion by the team of Chefs for great food and great presentation has come through on every meal we've enjoyed -- It's a 2 Michelin star experience for sure, based on quality and consistency -- just an excellent, excellent dining, food and drink experience and one where you want to thank the Chefs personally for their passion and for caring so much --

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect double date

Dined on May 26, 2016

Beautiful food and drinks, excellent service. Jameson was attentive and helpful, and Chef Russell made the experience memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at the Nickel especially when we ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We eat at the Nickel especially when we are going to the symphony. We secured our reservation there again as our friends had not eaten there and we wanted to have a great meal. The Nickel never has disappointed us. The food is wonderful and our server McCaela did a great job explaining all the items for us. She was very attentive. We will return again and again to the Nickel. A gem in the heart of downtown.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Okay food with marginal service

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was pretty lacking. Long wait times for drinks - even coffee. I hear they have a great burger, so maybe this would be a better for a burger night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, helpful and k ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was excellent, helpful and knowledgable but not belittling if you asked a question. The food artistic and delicious. Fun atmosphere and the drinks were well made.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a business dinner for 11 out of towners. The team raved about the food and agreed it was the best restaurant they'd been to in Denver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, atmosphere, the o ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food, the service, atmosphere, the overall experience was perfect! Loved this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food Fantastic service!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The Cubano was the best I've had in Colorado! It was extremely flavorful without being too salty. The flatbread with green chili was delicious and had the perfect amount of complimentary toppings. The fries were delicious and the side salad was crisp, fresh, and tasty! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

small portions

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

My party of 4 all ordered the same thing..the halibut. It was absolutely delicious but the portions were all different sizes and half of them were incredibly small. Other then that, delicious!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great pre or post theater dining experience.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a charming dining experience, but the added perk of the staff timing your meal to ensure you get to your show on-time reduces the stress of pre-theater dining. We have been here three times, and it has never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

An excellent dinner before the symphony ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

An excellent dinner before the symphony performance. Interesting menu and beautifully presented dishes. Considerate service with keen sense of our time concerns. It was quiet at 5:30 but moderately noisy at 7:00 when we left. All in all a lovely dinner.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Good ideas; execution ?

Dined on March 30, 2016

I and my friend have been here several times before going to the theater. It is so handy. The kitchen staff has good food ideas, but the execution is not always the best. Case in point the goat cheese and beet tart we both ordered as an appetizer on our latest visit. First it was cold which surprised both of us, then the goat cheese was spread so thick on the crust it was difficult to eat. A little goat cheese goes a long way. The beets were fine but could have used a little more seasoning. The pork ribs, while tasty, were barely there. Three (tiny and I do mean tiny) ribs. ( I believe McDonald's McRib sandwich has more meat on it.) And for a price close to $30, I felt underwhelmed.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

we went here for Easter brunch and had a very bad dining experience. The service was very good as the restaurant was nearly empty. However, the food was not very good. Pretty much just had their normal menu with a few specials. We ordered coffee and had to send it back because it was so bitter. Two people ordered the chicken and waffles, which came with two over done legs , on a bed of lettuce on top of a waffle. Lettuce with waffles and syrup? This entrée was $20.00. I don't mind spending a chunk of money on good food but this was really bad. Do not go there for brunch!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

lunch was really good with the Cuban san ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

lunch was really good with the Cuban sandwich being a great choice

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, many textures and beauti ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Wonderful food, many textures and beautiful presentation. Awesome attentive wait staff

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great restaurant for every generation !

Dined on March 6, 2016

A great restaurant for every generation! We saw businessmen, an elderly couple, a mother - daughter, and a big group of women, dining, drinking and enjoying themselves. My husband and I were very impressed with the food, wine and atmosphere. We had a great time talking and laughing. The valet parking was an extra bonus.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Went there for restaurant week and was d ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Went there for restaurant week and was disappointed. Felt like they did a bait and switch on the menu. Chicken pot pie ended up being chicken and a biscuit and the biscuit was hard and dry. Overall a disappointing dining experience for the price.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Burned 2016

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

My biscuit was burned, our giardinara was frozen with ice pieces and dessert was burned. We have bee to the Nickel before and liked it....this time we were not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Pre-Theatre Dinner Spot!

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at The Nickel before seeing a play at the Buell. We valeted our car and were able to walk to the play and back which is one block away from the restaurant. They were very accommodating to our time schedule and made the dinner flow nicely without feeling rushed. We absolutely loved the artichoke soup, it was amazing. Then we had pot roast and the chicken and biscuits. While you may think this is comfort food, it was elevated and delicious. The ambiance is very unique. The hotel has history and so does the restaurant. It is decorated very well and has a warm and upscale vibe. We have found our new spot for seeing plays and already made a reservation for next time! It was absolutely a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner, the white fish entree wa ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Amazing dinner, the white fish entree was by far my favorite fish I have ever have. The aged cocktails are the best

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food. Interesting menu. Excellent s ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Good food. Interesting menu. Excellent service. Hectic and noisy. Valet parking available. A good choice pre theater.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Expensive and Limited Selection

Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for lunch on a Sunday before a matinee play. The convenience to the DCPA is great. Both of us had open-faced tortas with egg, chorizo, refried beans and a spoon of guacamole. While it was tasty, at $16, it was very overpriced. The menu is limited and the choices all seem expensive. Service was quite good and arrangements for one of us to have gluten free was effortless.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pricey and worth it

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food. Interesting tastes well prepared

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

still good

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

When we arrived, our table in the main room was not ready so they seated us in the adjacent lounge area which was quieter, and in some ways nicer than the vibrant main room. the menu has been updated and the new offerings keep up the tradition of fine fare.

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The food just did not hit the spot at all.

Dined on February 18, 2016

The duck confit salad was a disappointment. The schnitzel was very dry and tough. The goose liver pate was non existent. The cocktails were good.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

fun atmosphere

Dined on February 17, 2016

We chose Nickle due to the proximity to DCPA. Loved the onion dip appetizer...yummy! Nice atmosphere. Busy but not too noisy. We had the lamb shank which while the flavor was really good..did not fall off the bone as a shank should. Needed to slow cook longer.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Unsatisfactory Pre-Theater Dinner Experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

We recently dined at The Nickel prior to a performance at the Denver Performing Arts Center. The restaurant is a great location for DPAC. And the service was wonderful, attentive, friendly. But the food -- we ordered chicken pot pie -- was bland and unattractive. Even the vegetables in the pie looked like they came out of a can (although I'm sure they did not). So obviously the meal was unsatisfactory and over-priced for what we got. Thankfully, however, the decent wine list and pleasant (but loud) ambiance saved the meal a bit for us. I understand the restaurant is fairly new, so hopefully it will make some necessary changes to its food menu, or we will find other restaurants in the neighborhood that are convenient to the theater.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for pre-theatre dining

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The restaurant is very convenient to the DCPA performing arts complex -- just across the street from the parking garage. For an efficient and tasty dinner before a play or concert, this is just the place. The wine list has a good selection of moderately priced wines and the staff is helpful in making an appropriate selection. The food is great for sharing -- our party of 4 orders a few dishes and shares them around.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find!

Dined on January 28, 2016

I was looking for a unique dining experience for a customer dinner, and we were all very pleased, customer was impressed!! I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

One of the best things about The Nickel ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

One of the best things about The Nickel is its close proximity to the performing arts complex. Our group of five went there prior to a concert for brunch. The service was very slow, both for the coffee we ordered initially and for the food which was a 45 minute wait with no communication from the staff as to why or when we could expect it. The restaurant was not crowded when we were there. Fortunately we had sufficient time before going to the concert. We were not disappointed with the food, but we were with the slow service. We were there mid day on a Sunday and perhaps the best servers work in the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The Nickel was great! I highly recommen ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

The Nickel was great! I highly recommend and plan to go back soon.

food2
ambience2
service1

The limited selection at really high pri ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

The limited selection at really high prices will keep me from ever going back. Service was slow. Food was mediocre. At the prices charged, below average food, and slow service this not someplace I would go back to, or recommend.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not worth the money.

Dined on December 27, 2015

Was expecting lunch and they were serving brunch. Not the typical food you would see on a brunch menu. The description was not accurate to what I received. The Huevos was mostly bread. I did not expect a mock sandwich. Portions on the meat and cheese board were very small based on price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Nickel is perfect pre theater dinning.

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

The Nickel offers great seasonal cuisine, so the menu is fresh and unique. It's perfect for a delicious dinner pre theater at the DCPA. Save room for the caramel monkey bread!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

We have been several times for bar apps ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We have been several times for bar apps before a show and always had a good experience and love the atmosphere at the bar. Quieter and high end. This was our first dinner and was disappointed. Very limited menu; entrees arrived cold and one was forgotten entirely. Slow service in general. Manager was accomodating and offered free dessert. This was Xmas weekend so perhaps was not the A team. If you go, stick to the nice cocktails and appetizers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming a Christmas Tradition

Dined on December 26, 2015

This is the second year in a row my wife and I had Christmas dinner at the Nickel. Everything from the crafted cocktails, the amazing food, beautiful atmosphere, and wonderful service made it a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.