Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Kristen Wallace at kwallace@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Historic (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Octopus badly overcooked. Sausage crunchy. Separate charges for entree, starch, vegetable? $14 martinis? Nice space, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We went there because it's close to the DCPA. The food was excellent and very creative, particularly the stuffed poblano pepper. The staff was helpful and attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Been for brunch, now for lunch. I much prefer the Nickel to any of the touristy places on the Mall or the per diem chasers on 15th Street. Stay local and go to the Nickel.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very overpriced fir what you get. Nice location. Cocktails good but small and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Some of the food seemed overlooked and the service was extremely slow. We sat for over 10 minutes before anyone came to us. Everything was very slow after that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First everything we ordered was delicious and artfully presented. The service was even better - around if needed but without hovering. After our meal the manager even offered to move us to another table to enjoy our coffee when three families with younger children apparently on their way to the nearby DCPS, walked in and took over a large table near the bar. The décor was nice and they did some very clever things based on the nickel theme without getting carried away. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Perfect for the theater!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We ate at some of the best places is Denver during our visit, but I have to say this was our favorite. Attentive service, festive atmosphere, and excellent food.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came for Restaurant Week Menu - lots of options and although busy, very good service. Beef Short Rib is spectacular, Prawns were just right, but not a lot of quantity for the price. Nice varied menu so would be able to suit many tastes.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was amazing. The service was even better. We felt very welcomed. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We tried The Nickel during Denver Restaurant Week and were very pleased with our choice! The food was great, atmosphere was really nice, and everyone was super-friendly. We especially enjoyed the sweet potato-stuffed fried pepper. Not something I ever would have picked out, but decided to try something new and it was amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed the restaurant. The service was great. Everyone had good customer service skills. The food was delicious and the dishes were some we had never tried. They had a nice variety of vegetables, which we enjoyed very much. We will be returning with other family members accompanying us next time.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Anthony was a fantastic server. Very energetic and super knowledgeable. Our meal was also coursed just right. Not rushed and we never felt like we were waiting either. It was a perfect balance. As for the food, everything was amazing! Loved every dish! So glad we chose to spend our one and only 2017 restaurant week dinning experience at Nickel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ambience is great. Cocktails were excellent. Beers are local. Wine was good.

Too bad the food was so dissapointing. Presentation was pathetic. Both our entrees sat alone on a big white plate. My pork belly was fatty and tasteless. The Colorado bass (whatever that is) was served skin side up so all the flavor was lost.

Service was top notch.

Maybe the kitchen just had an off night...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful meal, good service, beautiful setting. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

While I had made a reservation and requested 2 specific seats at the bar to recreate the night I met my girlfriend the Maitre 'd had not looked at the notes in OpenTable and initially we had to sit elsewhere. The bar tender immediately began attending to us like we were the only ones there, offering a complimentary glass of sparkling wine to wet the palate congratulating us on our anniversary. A nice touch to break the ice and get my mind off 'our' seats that were occupied across from us.

My glaring stare at the folks sitting in our seats went unnoticed until one of the couple got up to use the ladies' room. I ventured over and asked the gentleman if they were getting ready to leave and after hearing our story he kindly moved over to allow us our desired perches at the bar.

From there the night was wonderful. Alex, the bartender, was extremely attentive, amusing, warm hearted and gracious. The cocktails were perfectly mixed and presented and the food was outstanding.

Thank you for making a special night that much more memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was a real find. Nothing we ordered was what we expected. If you want the food you normally order to be prepared and served in a new and exciting way you should try this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've eaten several times here, but will not anymore. The food is getting a bit too out there/weird. My entree was three prawns with full head and shell covered in lime sauce. Served in a bowl so you can't get the angle you need to take shell off. I looked foolish and messy. All for three bites of food. Veggie sides also weird. Tough beans wrapped in pork and stringy black carrots. Even the chocolate cake was burnt like a hockey puck. Just wanted a nice meal before the ballet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've never eaten at Nickel and met a friend there before the ballet out of convenience. I was pleasantly surprised how good it was. The wine list was solid and the food and service was absolutely delightful. So, much so, I shared my experience with my husband and suggested that go back together for a second try in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was delicious with creative pairings and twists. I plan on returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the presentation was most impressive. A classy casual restaurant with a great atmosphere. If privacy or an intimate date is what you are looking for you won't find it here, but the cozy accommodations were not the least bit intrusive. A great place for dinner with friends. The service was on point.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was sold as a romantic place to go. It was an average hotel restaurant. Nothing special, and not a place to have valentines dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent dinner, knowledgeable and friendly staff! I highly recommend the goat cheese and beet tart - amazing! The sweet potato side item was a delicious surprise too. Looking forward to returning before our next show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a very pleasant meal. The menu is limited but the dishes offered are creative and delicious. Atmosphere is fine. And the convenience of its location to the DCPA makes it a fine pre theater option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant provides innovative food choices for a broad array of pallettes. The ingredients are familiar but the preparation is truly inventive? The Nickel may well be the best in the Denver area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was great. However the bottle of red wine we ordered was wyntoo cold. Had to wait quite a while to drink it. They need to do better with their wine service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great neighborhood gem! Favorite place to grab a drink at the bar and a cheese and charcuterie board or another great appetizer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for brunch. They were out of several thing which was hard as their number of choices at brunch is already quite small. Service was very slow....has been every time I have been there. Ordered second choice as first choice was out. I had breakfast nachos.....truly gross. No real cheese, and the "poached" egg was completely clear so I didn't dare eat it. The hotel and restaurant decor is gorgeous though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Beyond our expectation. A truly joyous meal. And the Negroni--best we've ever had.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is definitely not for everyone and we thought it was substandard. My husband has the octopus that went right through him and I had the Colorado bass that was unappetizing and gave me indigestion. The wedge salad was good and the only thing we both liked. The French onion dip was too salty and thus inedible. We sent it back and the waiter, who was excellent, took it off our bill. We would never go back, mostly because it made us both I'll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We reserved a table for two after the Symphony. We (two) were seated A. near the drafty door, and B. near a rowdy group (five?) playing dice, treating the restaurant like a run-of-the-mill hotel bar. Staff readily accommodated our request to move.

The menu is a bit misleading. The ingredients are listed without descriptors. Our server was able to provide recommendations, but not many specific terms about the food. When the chef served our food, he was able to explain the preparation, the reasoning, and explained each of the dishes. The server wasn't able to do this, and it would have been helpful for making informed selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We received a small table in the back and the restaurant was never full. Very disappointed after eating at the Nickel 8 times in the last 18 months

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the Nickel; professional staff; food is outstanding. We were never rushed. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Let's start by saying this was my seventh trip to Nickel. What happened? The steak presentation was literally something out of a horror movie. It looked like someone threw blood all over a plate and let it dry. Then serve a steak on top? Horrible. One of the servers actually pushed at speed a steak knife across the table. Off night? Possibly. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We loved the ambiance at this restaurant in an old historic hotel, but we were not impressed with the food. The portions were too small, and we're not even big eaters. The flavors didn't wow us either, overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Nickel delivered us an outstanding Christmas dinner. The service and food selections were amazing. Rick our server was well versed with the menu and gave many great suggestions. Ruben was so accommodating at the bar with our drink orders and ensured everything was just right.
We especially enjoyed the black truffle potatoes, beet & goat cheese tart, and the tile fish. I cannot wait to go back to enjoy the beautiful plated presentations and delicious flavor combinations.
Thank you for making the Holiday so special for our family.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was not as good as I was hoping. Very greasy bar food. Was rather cold in the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Was really expecting more from this restaurant as it was recommended highly. The service was lacking and the food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have visited The Nickle and The Study a few times now and the service is always exceptional. The food is delicious and the drinks are fantastic, no matter what I order. My only concern is that the portion sizes of some meals do run very small considering the price. I will still continue to visit here frequently; I only hope that in the future their portion sizes line up more appropriately with what they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The sides were very creatve and delicious. But they are sized to split, so order sparingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.