Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Executive Chef:
Russel Stippich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (31)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit here and it was enjoyable. We will come again, especially since it is so close to DCPA. I won't sit near the entrance again though, when people went in and out of the front door to the Hotel Teatro, we got quite a cold draft, and it happened a lot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Both Jameson and Duncan are wonderful and knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Menu was limited. Ordered scallops- got a plate with 3 scallops. Paid $10 per scallop
Was pre-theater would have preferred a menu item that was light but had an accompaniment . Cost was $130 (including tip). Too much for a 30 minute meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Jameson is always great and we love the food!!! They always provide a wonderful experience every time we dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Nickel is a delicious and perfect spot for an early dinner before a performance at the DCPA. With restaurant validation, valet parking is only $8.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Food was excellent and good service. The portions were just right- not too much, not too small.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Truly enjoyed the decor, charming and knowledgeable wait staff. Loved the lamb shank, disappointed in side of weird flavorless mash potatoes. The sweet potato encased in the pepper was also not good. However, the Brussel sprouts were divine. Also loved the charcuterie board.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Tapas, Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2017

This is our go-to place for pre-theater dining and it never fails to please. The menu is varied and the preparations uniquely delish! And the service is mindful of theater start times. But don't wait for theater tickets to try it!

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The food really wasn't very good. I loved beets and goat cheese, but this was horrible. The chef put "coco nibs" on it and it tasted like gravel. The beets were too pickled and it wasn't subtle at all. I liked the short ribs, but was disappointed in the short menu and in the potatoes. Won't be going back. Was easy to go to the play after dinner, but the food wasn't tasty.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2017

I was visiting Denver and had to find somewhere for Christmas dinner to take my wife. The nickle had a Christmas night set course and solid reviews on open table so we booked immediately.

Come the day of Christmas and we arrived promptly on time, but was told the table was still being set up, no problem. A short 15min wait later we were seated. Unfortunately that's kind of where everything turns south. The food it self is really nothing to write home at all about. The piece of prime rib they gave me was so tiny I was surprised. It tasted okay, not bad but not great either. all in all, the damage was 75 bux per person and we tipped pretty generously given that it's Christmas. It ended up being by far the most expensive meal we had in Denver and the worst as well! totally not worth it. Denver has lots of great food to offer, unfortunately I don't think the Nickle ranks up with the rest of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

We went for Christmas dinner. The food was ok- over salted definitely. The one thing that bothers me is that they ran out of Prime rib before our very early seating (5:25pm). They replaced it with a steak which was very tough. Weʻve decided next year we will cook our own at home. It does have really nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Service and ambiance were outstanding. Nice restaurant for before theatre conversation. Service was attentive without being rushed. Scallops and lamb shoulder were the two main dishes we had and they were quite ordinary. The objection was mainly to the sauce on the lamb which was just too bland. Scallops were underdone to my wife's taste, though the sauce was good. The gratin (potato) side and the dessert spice cake were both delicious, but couldn't make up for the main courses.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Nice decor and atmosphere. Service is average, not bad, but nothing to rave about. Limited brunch menu, but excellent food. Several younger parties were there specifically for the $20 all you can drink special.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Brunch menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Delicious food with great service and a pleasant atmosphere. Would recommend for a date night or for dinner before a show at the DPAC.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch at The Nickel. Good selections, excellent food, very reasonable prices, friendly and helpful staff. Nice place to enjoy brunch/lunch before a matinee play or orchestra. And easy to use the parking at a reasonable cost and discount if eating at the Hotel.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Very nice, our server was excellent. Nickel Benedict was great.
Hostess could be a bit friendlier.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Overpriced for value. Cheese and meat tray was a lot of money for very little food. Lamb shank was delicious but 50% fat that couldn't be eaten. Best thing was the service which was outstanding. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The food was extraordinary especially the Chef's attention to texture and flavor. Service started out stellar and then with the pre theater rush timing got dropped a bit. I would go again when looking for unique preparation and attention to flavor detail ~ YUM!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The food is absolutely outstanding. Allow a little extra time, as this is a slow-paced enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Great butternut squash soup. Duncan was very attentive. Bread pudding was to die for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The Nickel is always fun and the food always very good. The Chef changes up the menu based on the seasons and it is unique to see what he will come up with for each.

We love going here before a show at the Performing Arts Center as it is close and the waitstaff will accommodate your time constraints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Too expensive. Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Was nice, relaxed, friendly and excellent food. Not rushed, but timed nicely for the theatre. Hadn't been in a while, was lovely and will frequent more often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Great Thanksgiving dinner !!

Service was excellent😀

we’ll do it again next year

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 21, 2017

The cocktails, salad, and early service were great. Nice ambience also. But the service of entrees and wine took a long time. The pork was tough. The cauliflower's flavors were okay, not sure whether they were trying for a curry or something else. The scallops were good. Overall, fairly average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2017

It was a great start to a fabulous evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The Nickel offers a unique seasonal menu. I dined there about 1 month ago and had an amazing meal/experience, in fact, I couldnt wait to go back. Unfortunately, the return visit was not nearly as wonderful. We started with a Charcuterie plate which was very nice. The menu was good, however, it did not seem to offer the same unique flavors and excitement as the previous menu.
The most disappointing part of the meal was the service. The waiter was rude, short with us and did not attempt to make the meal pleasurable. It was difficult to even get a water refill. maybe he was having a bad night, but it really soured me on The Nickel. It will be a long time before I return, if ever.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We had a great time. LOVED the Autumn Squash Soup, Stuffed pepper, Brussels & cauliflower!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Overall good food. Only dish that I did not like was the shared dish of lentils with a soft cooked egg. The egg was barely poached and gave the dish a very slimy taste. Spice cake for dessert was great. Good spot for dinner before going to the theater.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

It turned out we went on a slow evening, so we had the run of the place, but the food and the service were amazing! Best night out we've had in years. Instant favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2017

First dinner at Nickel in a couple of years. Pre-symphony concert. Very pleasant meal--seared scallops. Excellent wine--the Cloudline Pinot Noir. Only complaint was that the main course dishes arrived fairly soon after the starter course. Also order the cauliflower "dish to share" as a side dish with scallops. Way to much for one person. It would be nice if they offered these in a side dish size as well as a dish to share.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Very lovely dinner before the theater. Plenty of vegetarian items as small plates. One vegetarian entree that was very creative. Our server was attentive at the right times, and left us to enjoy our meal. New favorite place for dinner before Denver Performing Arts Center events.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

A fantastic meal out before hitting a show at the DCPA. The staff is amazing friendly and helpful, the cocktails were on point and the food was mind-blowing. Definitely recommend trying their Brussels Sprouts! And don't forget dessert ;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I would say “fine” pretty much describes it. I had brunch there before the theatre, location was ideal but only for that. The food was fine, but not great, pretty basic. Cappuccino was great. It was beautiful but hard to enjoy with half sloshed girl groups at full volume and kids climbing around the table next to us. Waitress was terrible, but it appeared the other staff was far better.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I think The Nickel is a great place to grab a glass of wine and appetizer. They have some opportunities with their brunch. Our sticky bun was mediocre. Nothing we ordered was particularly delicoius/craveable. Our server was new, and not terribly enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Chef Russell took amazing care of the two of us. He's so committed to and passionate about his trade, and you can taste it in the creative and delicious dishes he prepares.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Spicy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2017

What a delight. Every bite was inspired. Staff was attentive and able to help in all items selected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.