Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Historic (7)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was great! The food and cocktails were good but the overall service from the staff really helped elevate the experience. They were kind and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

My sister was in town and we went to the theater. I had not been to this restaurant before but wanted something close by. We had a great experience- excellent server who was knowledgeable and did not rush us at all. Food was very tasty. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a good choice for us. Great food. Thoughtful service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The staff, food, and restaurant were all incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved it! Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have dined at Nickel several times. The food is ALWAYS fresh and prepared beautifully and presented in a creative manner. The menu is not pages of options however very carefully selected seasonal dishes. The service is always top notch! Cocktails and wine selections are very good. I would recommend this place anytime. Casual or dress up, either is acceptable. Hat's off to the chef, their staff and whoever is running this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server Michaela was absolutely great! I expect your food offerings to be great, they always are. HAD to order the morels, I've been dreaming about morels, wish you had done something a bit more delicate with them, deep-frying kinda overwhelmed both the flavor and texture. That watermelon dessert, however... maybe the best dessert I've ever eaten, both in terms of flavor and beauty. And I'm really old and have eaten a lot of fine-dining desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My friend and I had tickets for the Opera and we wantes to try a new restaurant. Both very pleased with our experience while dining at The Nickel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love Nickel. The food is great and service too quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Small portions at a high price. My friends salad was not so good and had woody threads of something inedible-- herb stems? My salad was minimal. They his less than prime avacado at the bottom of the bowl. Overdressed salad. After seeing so many instagrams of the bloody Mary's I wanted to order the Bloody Mary bar but at $20 it seemed not that great of a deal. The topping were sparse. I expected so much more.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a great pre- theater meal for our grand-daughter's birthday. Good kids menu along with solid selection of appetizers and entrees. Server Anthony was perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was delicious! Our waiter went above and beyond for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Octopus too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful! We felt pampered by the staff. The food was excellent with a nice variety of items to choose from. We had a truly wonderful time and will be back again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Nickel is a great pre-Symphony - Theater location. Within walking distance to Performing Arts Center and the food is always fresh and unique. If you haven't been there you are missing out on a Denver special gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was just Ok..food good but not great..had Cuban sandwich husband had steak sandwich..both were just Ok..wouldnt go back as there are to many better places to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A great small plate dining experience. Be sure to try a Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great overall visit, service was spectacular Rick did a great job!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service - down to earth - attentive and expert in meals, wine, seevixe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Octopus badly overcooked. Sausage crunchy. Separate charges for entree, starch, vegetable? $14 martinis? Nice space, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went there because it's close to the DCPA. The food was excellent and very creative, particularly the stuffed poblano pepper. The staff was helpful and attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Been for brunch, now for lunch. I much prefer the Nickel to any of the touristy places on the Mall or the per diem chasers on 15th Street. Stay local and go to the Nickel.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very overpriced fir what you get. Nice location. Cocktails good but small and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Some of the food seemed overlooked and the service was extremely slow. We sat for over 10 minutes before anyone came to us. Everything was very slow after that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First everything we ordered was delicious and artfully presented. The service was even better - around if needed but without hovering. After our meal the manager even offered to move us to another table to enjoy our coffee when three families with younger children apparently on their way to the nearby DCPS, walked in and took over a large table near the bar. The décor was nice and they did some very clever things based on the nickel theme without getting carried away. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Perfect for the theater!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We ate at some of the best places is Denver during our visit, but I have to say this was our favorite. Attentive service, festive atmosphere, and excellent food.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came for Restaurant Week Menu - lots of options and although busy, very good service. Beef Short Rib is spectacular, Prawns were just right, but not a lot of quantity for the price. Nice varied menu so would be able to suit many tastes.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was amazing. The service was even better. We felt very welcomed. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We tried The Nickel during Denver Restaurant Week and were very pleased with our choice! The food was great, atmosphere was really nice, and everyone was super-friendly. We especially enjoyed the sweet potato-stuffed fried pepper. Not something I ever would have picked out, but decided to try something new and it was amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed the restaurant. The service was great. Everyone had good customer service skills. The food was delicious and the dishes were some we had never tried. They had a nice variety of vegetables, which we enjoyed very much. We will be returning with other family members accompanying us next time.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Anthony was a fantastic server. Very energetic and super knowledgeable. Our meal was also coursed just right. Not rushed and we never felt like we were waiting either. It was a perfect balance. As for the food, everything was amazing! Loved every dish! So glad we chose to spend our one and only 2017 restaurant week dinning experience at Nickel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ambience is great. Cocktails were excellent. Beers are local. Wine was good.

Too bad the food was so dissapointing. Presentation was pathetic. Both our entrees sat alone on a big white plate. My pork belly was fatty and tasteless. The Colorado bass (whatever that is) was served skin side up so all the flavor was lost.

Service was top notch.

Maybe the kitchen just had an off night...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful meal, good service, beautiful setting. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Nickel is historic, has very good food and is quiet. Those are good things.

Hosted a business lunch there during the middle of the week and had a fine time. A good lunch menu with very good service and a (semi-)newly done renovation in a convenient part of town made for a success. The environment allows you to conduct both business and pleasure and the folks are as nice as can be. Highly recommended that you add it to your "nice downtown lunch spots" list.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

While I had made a reservation and requested 2 specific seats at the bar to recreate the night I met my girlfriend the Maitre 'd had not looked at the notes in OpenTable and initially we had to sit elsewhere. The bar tender immediately began attending to us like we were the only ones there, offering a complimentary glass of sparkling wine to wet the palate congratulating us on our anniversary. A nice touch to break the ice and get my mind off 'our' seats that were occupied across from us.

My glaring stare at the folks sitting in our seats went unnoticed until one of the couple got up to use the ladies' room. I ventured over and asked the gentleman if they were getting ready to leave and after hearing our story he kindly moved over to allow us our desired perches at the bar.

From there the night was wonderful. Alex, the bartender, was extremely attentive, amusing, warm hearted and gracious. The cocktails were perfectly mixed and presented and the food was outstanding.

Thank you for making a special night that much more memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was a real find. Nothing we ordered was what we expected. If you want the food you normally order to be prepared and served in a new and exciting way you should try this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've eaten several times here, but will not anymore. The food is getting a bit too out there/weird. My entree was three prawns with full head and shell covered in lime sauce. Served in a bowl so you can't get the angle you need to take shell off. I looked foolish and messy. All for three bites of food. Veggie sides also weird. Tough beans wrapped in pork and stringy black carrots. Even the chocolate cake was burnt like a hockey puck. Just wanted a nice meal before the ballet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've never eaten at Nickel and met a friend there before the ballet out of convenience. I was pleasantly surprised how good it was. The wine list was solid and the food and service was absolutely delightful. So, much so, I shared my experience with my husband and suggested that go back together for a second try in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was delicious with creative pairings and twists. I plan on returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.