Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. Seasonal menu items are fantastic - get the watermelon salad if it's available and the sweet potato stuffed poblano is not to be missed. Well curated wine-list, the mixed drinks are superb. Attentive service, will be returning soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very nice meal and experience. Would come again without hesitation

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was outstanding, using fresh produce and products sourced locally.
Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is our second visit to the new Nickel. The main reason I came back was to share Morels with my friends. But I remembered how true it was that every dish we ordered was just great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing energy from the staff food is always well thought out and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I am sad to say it but we were really disappointed in The Nickel. Service was good, the ambiance was nice, but those were the only positives. While menu items *sound* good, everything we ordered was ho-hum. (We went there for brunch). The "gourmet" breakfast nachos were terrible. Broken store-bought chips, stingy queso, pickled jalapeños...they weren't even hot! My husband's steak breakfast sandwich was overlooked. $8 to valet. Sadly, this is a "standard" hotel restaurant that got a talented interior decorator. All facade. Should have known better. Bummer!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Lovely restaurant and good food but limited menu. Would recommend they add more fish (salmon) and chicken options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing, creative dishes and attentive service... we started with charcuterie and cheeses, finished with the lamb and octopus. Sweet potato stuffed poblano and morel mushrooms on the side were to die for! My husband and I rolled out of there stuffed to the gills on our way to the theater. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Took my niece out for lunch before a matinee at DCPA on a Saturday.She had not eaten breakfast and loved having the late breakfast menu. I found my salad to be perfect, creative ingredients, totally fresh, no wilting. added chicken was very tender. Really nice light lunch. Easy walk to the theater.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very good food, a little pricey for what you get. The waiter was very friendly and attentive and the noise level was really good for conversations, not too loud. Great location for going to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love the fact that there are wonderful vegetable selections. The pablano pepper sweet potato--yum. Jalapeno cheddar bread was also wonderful. And asparagus, and...you get the picture.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

One of the best dinners I ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was great! The food and cocktails were good but the overall service from the staff really helped elevate the experience. They were kind and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My sister was in town and we went to the theater. I had not been to this restaurant before but wanted something close by. We had a great experience- excellent server who was knowledgeable and did not rush us at all. Food was very tasty. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a good choice for us. Great food. Thoughtful service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The staff, food, and restaurant were all incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved it! Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have dined at Nickel several times. The food is ALWAYS fresh and prepared beautifully and presented in a creative manner. The menu is not pages of options however very carefully selected seasonal dishes. The service is always top notch! Cocktails and wine selections are very good. I would recommend this place anytime. Casual or dress up, either is acceptable. Hat's off to the chef, their staff and whoever is running this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server Michaela was absolutely great! I expect your food offerings to be great, they always are. HAD to order the morels, I've been dreaming about morels, wish you had done something a bit more delicate with them, deep-frying kinda overwhelmed both the flavor and texture. That watermelon dessert, however... maybe the best dessert I've ever eaten, both in terms of flavor and beauty. And I'm really old and have eaten a lot of fine-dining desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My friend and I had tickets for the Opera and we wantes to try a new restaurant. Both very pleased with our experience while dining at The Nickel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love Nickel. The food is great and service too quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Small portions at a high price. My friends salad was not so good and had woody threads of something inedible-- herb stems? My salad was minimal. They his less than prime avacado at the bottom of the bowl. Overdressed salad. After seeing so many instagrams of the bloody Mary's I wanted to order the Bloody Mary bar but at $20 it seemed not that great of a deal. The topping were sparse. I expected so much more.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a great pre- theater meal for our grand-daughter's birthday. Good kids menu along with solid selection of appetizers and entrees. Server Anthony was perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was delicious! Our waiter went above and beyond for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Octopus too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful! We felt pampered by the staff. The food was excellent with a nice variety of items to choose from. We had a truly wonderful time and will be back again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Nickel is a great pre-Symphony - Theater location. Within walking distance to Performing Arts Center and the food is always fresh and unique. If you haven't been there you are missing out on a Denver special gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was just Ok..food good but not great..had Cuban sandwich husband had steak sandwich..both were just Ok..wouldnt go back as there are to many better places to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

A great small plate dining experience. Be sure to try a Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great overall visit, service was spectacular Rick did a great job!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent service - down to earth - attentive and expert in meals, wine, seevixe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Octopus badly overcooked. Sausage crunchy. Separate charges for entree, starch, vegetable? $14 martinis? Nice space, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went there because it's close to the DCPA. The food was excellent and very creative, particularly the stuffed poblano pepper. The staff was helpful and attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Been for brunch, now for lunch. I much prefer the Nickel to any of the touristy places on the Mall or the per diem chasers on 15th Street. Stay local and go to the Nickel.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very overpriced fir what you get. Nice location. Cocktails good but small and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Some of the food seemed overlooked and the service was extremely slow. We sat for over 10 minutes before anyone came to us. Everything was very slow after that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Perfect for the theater!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

First everything we ordered was delicious and artfully presented. The service was even better - around if needed but without hovering. After our meal the manager even offered to move us to another table to enjoy our coffee when three families with younger children apparently on their way to the nearby DCPS, walked in and took over a large table near the bar. The décor was nice and they did some very clever things based on the nickel theme without getting carried away. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We ate at some of the best places is Denver during our visit, but I have to say this was our favorite. Attentive service, festive atmosphere, and excellent food.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.