About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Kristen Wallace at kwallace@hotelteatro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO
  • The Nickel - Hotel Teatro, Denver, CO

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Historic (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is definitely not for everyone ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is definitely not for everyone and we thought it was substandard. My husband has the octopus that went right through him and I had the Colorado bass that was unappetizing and gave me indigestion. The wedge salad was good and the only thing we both liked. The French onion dip was too salty and thus inedible. We sent it back and the waiter, who was excellent, took it off our bill. We would never go back, mostly because it made us both I'll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

We received a small table in the back an ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We received a small table in the back and the restaurant was never full. Very disappointed after eating at the Nickel 8 times in the last 18 months

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I love the Nickel; professional staff; f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the Nickel; professional staff; food is outstanding. We were never rushed. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let's start by saying this was my sevent ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Let's start by saying this was my seventh trip to Nickel. What happened? The steak presentation was literally something out of a horror movie. It looked like someone threw blood all over a plate and let it dry. Then serve a steak on top? Horrible. One of the servers actually pushed at speed a steak knife across the table. Off night? Possibly. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We loved the ambiance at this restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We loved the ambiance at this restaurant in an old historic hotel, but we were not impressed with the food. The portions were too small, and we're not even big eaters. The flavors didn't wow us either, overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The Nickel delivered us an outstanding C ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Nickel delivered us an outstanding Christmas dinner. The service and food selections were amazing. Rick our server was well versed with the menu and gave many great suggestions. Ruben was so accommodating at the bar with our drink orders and ensured everything was just right.

We especially enjoyed the black truffle potatoes, beet & goat cheese tart, and the tile fish. I cannot wait to go back to enjoy the beautiful plated presentations and delicious flavor combinations.

Thank you for making the Holiday so special for our family.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was not as good as I was hoping ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was not as good as I was hoping. Very greasy bar food. Was rather cold in the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Was really expecting more from this rest ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Was really expecting more from this restaurant as it was recommended highly. The service was lacking and the food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I have visited The Nickle and The Study ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have visited The Nickle and The Study a few times now and the service is always exceptional. The food is delicious and the drinks are fantastic, no matter what I order. My only concern is that the portion sizes of some meals do run very small considering the price. I will still continue to visit here frequently; I only hope that in the future their portion sizes line up more appropriately with what they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The sides were very creatve and deliciou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The sides were very creatve and delicious. But they are sized to split, so order sparingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had never been but was intrigued by the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had never been but was intrigued by the menu for a fun family holiday gathering. To say the least, it did not disappoint. I relied heavily upon our server, Joey, for recommendations being a virgin at the Nickel. He was right on target and from the get go the whole experience was exceptional... charcuterie selections to appease any meat and cheese lover complimented with a stellar Manhattan. Short ribs were exceptional, odd without a bone, but so savory and perfectly textured it soon went unnoticed. Their sides you ordered al a carte were all scrumptious... nicely done kale and mashed potatoes with shaved truffles!. Great wine selections to compliment a very memorable meal. Highly Recommend for any local or out of towner.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Nickel is handy for a pre-show dinne ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Nickel is handy for a pre-show dinner on the shortest day of the year. I had the braised short rib; tender, tasty, and a generous portion. My companion had the steak, which was well-flavored and served with an elegant sauce, but perhaps a bit dry. The surprise of the evening were a side of green beans, which are actually a roulade of beans and port mousse, wrapped in bacon. A carnivore's delight and we get to count it as a vegetable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak was tough, fish was overcooked and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steak was tough, fish was overcooked and tasteless. High cost for entree that only included a steak or fish; sides were extra. Au gratin was mostly onions with little sauce-way too much onion. Dinner cost with 3 glasses of wine and tip was $150 which was not a good value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food and staff and we would re ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food and staff and we would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

INCREDIBLE. Absolutely incredible from s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

INCREDIBLE. Absolutely incredible from start to finish. I eat out a lot and this was one of the best meals I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was over-priced and it wasn't g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was over-priced and it wasn't good. $13 for a small salad with a dusting of bacon and blue cheese. The menu for brunch was very limited too. Only 1 egg dish which didn't sound very good. We didn't even have a designated waiter. One time we had the bar attendant, next we had the hostess, etc. Very unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

One of the best meals I've had in Denver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in Denver.

Great Service and Great Food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly service but needs to be quicker ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Friendly service but needs to be quicker at getting food in front of hungry diners. 45 min is too long to wait with nothing but water & cocktails. Bread or olives should be offered gratis. Some excellent food, marred by excessive creativity. A thick layer of dehydrated salami does not improve the deliciously creamy grits. Simpler is better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Staff inattentive -we arrived at 4:55 fo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Staff inattentive -we arrived at 4:55 for a 5pm reservation and advised we had a 6:30pm theater. Despite our pleading we did not get seated or look at menus until 5:20 and did not take our order taken until 5:45pm. instead of the leisurely dinner we planned to enjoy, we had to hurry and eat to not miss our show. Too bad, the food is good, staff is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fantastic brunch. Bottomless mimosas or ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic brunch. Bottomless mimosas or bloody Mary's. Great service and very cute space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service, delicious food and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Exceptional service, delicious food and cocktails. Will certainly be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Nickel was unique and delicious. Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Nickel was unique and delicious. The modern decor, while stylish, was comfortable and inviting. The brunch bar car of mimosas, bloody Mary's and White Russians was an incredible deal and completely mouthwatering. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, , Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very excited for brunch prior to t ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was very excited for brunch prior to the Nutcracker as a special treat for my friend and I; however it turned out to be extremely disappointing so much so that we had to go to another place for a round 2 brunch as we did not want the experience to ruin our day. We order a starter which was forgotten. Then when our meal came the descriptions on the menu were so different than what the food actually is that I thought I had received the wrong meal. The couple next to us had the same issue and were surprised at what came to their table too. In addition the couple to the other side of us had sent their food back. So, all in all it wasn't looking good. The menu does not accurately describe what the dishes are and when asking the server for clarification he listed what would be in the dish- it was not what came out. When we did receive our starter it was delicious but my meal, I took two bites of and was completely over it.

We asked for the check and were done with it. The thing that surprised me was that the server clearly saw that I did not eat my meal and didn't ask if anything was wrong. Yes, the manager(I assume was the manager) brought the starter over and it was on the house. Nice gesture, but then never came back to see how it was or how our overall experience was. Not what I would expect from an establishment of this level. We left after 30 minutes, went down the street to the corner office and had a lovely delicious do-over brunch. The environment is gorgeous, and people friendly .. but definitely some things to work out .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The is always arrentive but not overly s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The is always arrentive but not overly so and the chef very creative. Loved the sweet potato!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wanted to have a meal before seeing a th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wanted to have a meal before seeing a theater show. We had our son with us (age 9) and were pleasantly surprised they had a great kids menu. We had a wonderful dinning experience and will be back again soon!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed by the new format, and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very disappointed by the new format, and truly shocked about how small the portions were and how expensive they were. We had brussels sprouts that were virtually raw and uneatable.

Service was below par. We have loved this restaurant in the past but we will not return. Such a loss for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

loud, not good value, did not think menu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

loud, not good value, did not think menu was interesting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing as always! Absolutely love going ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing as always! Absolutely love going to The Nickel for brunch and bringing out of town friends there. We celebrated a friend's bday and another friend's new job and they surprised us by giving us a yummy dessert. Made the brunch celebration so special. We'll definitely be going back many many more times (we love the pancakes).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always pleasant. Good good and interesti ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always pleasant. Good good and interesting menu. Excellent service. I was surprised at how quiet things were Fri night. Usually much busier V

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful space. Good drinks but no one ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Beautiful space. Good drinks but no one checked on us enough to keep refilling drinks. Issue with food item was dry and not good so ordered second quail dish. Glad we did because first quail dish was good but second was great, it had dressing first one should have had.

Had been here twice in past and amazing food and not sure if we will be back for more than drinks now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Our last night of a 10-day trip, tired o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our last night of a 10-day trip, tired of eating out, we found The Nickel and enjoyed a delicious meal in a relaxed setting. The historic building was a plus, and the evening was one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu rather limited. Chicken liver mouse ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu rather limited. Chicken liver mouse was outstanding. Pork schnitzel was very average and pricy. Trying by too hard to be pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Was taking my 14 year old granddaughter ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Was taking my 14 year old granddaughter to a play and planned for a special dinner. Despite having a reservation, was seated in the bar. Television was on throughout dinner (muted - but closed caption). Bad luck as it was night of Trump allegations being detailed by Anderson Cooper. We turn off the TV at home for dinner - so certainly didn't need it this night. Single waitperson was stressed - missed regular dining amenities like water refills, offer for dessert etc. Had to call for check. A colossal waste of an $85 meal (without alcohol). And - the couple without a reservation right before us was seated in the dining area. So much for the service advantage of Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The short ribs were tender-fork deliciou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The short ribs were tender-fork delicious. Would have been nice to be offered refills on the coffee and hot tea (which was very expensive).

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We came for lunch on Saturday before a m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We came for lunch on Saturday before a mantinee performance at the Buell. The menue was brunch that had not been our expectation. We let the waitress know that we had not cared for our entree choices. She told the manager who comped all three of our meals AND brought us dessert! That degree of caring about customer satisfaction was unparalleled. Therefore, I would definitely recommend them. Check their menu on-line and go if it suites your taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Very disappointing for the price. My ste ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very disappointing for the price. My steak was tough and flavorless. Atmosphere somewhat dismal and very empty. Now I know why. I think only the Hotel keeps it going. Do not waste your money. Too many other wonderful spots. Just another restaurant capitalizing on the hotel they are associated with. Really mediocre or below in every aspect.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Service was prompt and friendly. The fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly. The food was tasty. I would definitely return to try more items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

wonderful food with creative creations ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

wonderful food with creative creations for a discriminating palate

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting is comfortable with plenty o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The setting is comfortable with plenty of room between tables. Location near theaters is perfect. If only the food offerings were good enough to entice me to return. Our main dishes varied widely in the amount of food in each portion. My quail was not enough for a single serving while my wife's pork could have fed two. Entrees and sides were reasonably tasty although not memorable. The real disappointment was the apple pie dessert. It arrived dry and burned around the edges. We left most of it on the plate. Our waiter did not ask us how our meal was or I would have expressed our disappointment. An offer of another dessert or removal of the charge from our bill would have gone a long way to improving our opinion of the Nickel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I was really looking forward to the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I was really looking forward to the food here however it was disappointing. I ordered the Colorado Bass and it was bland and the kale was good but I did not care for the burnt kale on top. My husband ordered the quail and it was just ok and the grits and they were really bland. I felt it was overpriced for the quality.

The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.