Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Nickel - Hotel Teatro

Located within Denver’s historic Tramway Building, originally opened in 1911, The Nickel pays homage to the space that was once used to collect fare from customers riding its resident streetcars: a nickel. Just as the building in which The Nickel is housed has a storied past, the dishes found on the menu at The Nickel all have a story. Led by a distinguished four-person chef team, the menu incorporates the highest quality ingredients from farmers, ranchers, distillers and craft producers, and is comprised of dishes that are easily recognizable and feel simple, but eat complex. The restaurant aims to make all guests feel the warmth of familiarity within its doors, from friendly and knowledgeable service, to the glow of a wood-fire stove, to the comforting aromas of home coming out of the kitchen. The centerpiece of the restaurant, The Barrel Bar, offers house barrel-aged cocktails, on tap.

1100 Fourteenth Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 6:30 AM-10:00 AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am- 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Lawrence and Arapahoe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 889-2128

Website:
http://thenickeldenver.com/

Parking Details:
We validate parking through the Hotel Teatro for $8 per vehicle.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For more information on hosting a special event, please contact Erica Whyman ewhyman@hotelteatro.com

Private Dining

This Denver Restaurant’s name pays homage to Hotel Teatro's storied past. With an original vault dating back to the property’s origins as Denver’s Tramway Building in 1911, the space was once used to collect nickels from customers riding streetcars.

The Nickel - Hotel Teatro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We had a great time. LOVED the Autumn Squash Soup, Stuffed pepper, Brussels & cauliflower!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Overall good food. Only dish that I did not like was the shared dish of lentils with a soft cooked egg. The egg was barely poached and gave the dish a very slimy taste. Spice cake for dessert was great. Good spot for dinner before going to the theater.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

It turned out we went on a slow evening, so we had the run of the place, but the food and the service were amazing! Best night out we've had in years. Instant favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2017

First dinner at Nickel in a couple of years. Pre-symphony concert. Very pleasant meal--seared scallops. Excellent wine--the Cloudline Pinot Noir. Only complaint was that the main course dishes arrived fairly soon after the starter course. Also order the cauliflower "dish to share" as a side dish with scallops. Way to much for one person. It would be nice if they offered these in a side dish size as well as a dish to share.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Very lovely dinner before the theater. Plenty of vegetarian items as small plates. One vegetarian entree that was very creative. Our server was attentive at the right times, and left us to enjoy our meal. New favorite place for dinner before Denver Performing Arts Center events.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

A fantastic meal out before hitting a show at the DCPA. The staff is amazing friendly and helpful, the cocktails were on point and the food was mind-blowing. Definitely recommend trying their Brussels Sprouts! And don't forget dessert ;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I would say “fine” pretty much describes it. I had brunch there before the theatre, location was ideal but only for that. The food was fine, but not great, pretty basic. Cappuccino was great. It was beautiful but hard to enjoy with half sloshed girl groups at full volume and kids climbing around the table next to us. Waitress was terrible, but it appeared the other staff was far better.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I think The Nickel is a great place to grab a glass of wine and appetizer. They have some opportunities with their brunch. Our sticky bun was mediocre. Nothing we ordered was particularly delicoius/craveable. Our server was new, and not terribly enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Chef Russell took amazing care of the two of us. He's so committed to and passionate about his trade, and you can taste it in the creative and delicious dishes he prepares.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Spicy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2017

What a delight. Every bite was inspired. Staff was attentive and able to help in all items selected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Restaurant is centrally located and effective if you have a time crunch for a show but food was fair and service was unremarkable. The wait staff was not excessively busy but failed to provide us with a description of our meal when served. Rather, they simply put the dishes in front of us and walked away. Expected more.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Surprisingly good occasion, after a so-so visit a year of so ago. Attentive service, appetizing brunch, lovely setting, and oh so close to the Plex for a dance event. Will definitely give it another try, especially before a play, concert or dance recital.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Cranberry Momosa was delicious. Salad and sandwich was so so. Quaint atmosphere. Waiter must have been new and learning. Never saw him again until the bill came. Enjoyed all of the children having brunch with their mothers.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Lovely historical hotel and the Sunday Brunch was prepared well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

This was a wonderful first-time experience. We had come to Denver for Macbeth at the Denver Center for Performing Arts, but just about everyone else in the restaurant was either a parent or a princess who was seeing Frozen, also at the Denver Center. Instead of being annoying, the presence of so many happy, excited children added to the experience. And it isn't as though the Nickel had a choice. But it looked like the staff and other customers were quite happy to be part of the excitement. Oh, and our food was marvelous. Excellent, imaginative menu.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service provided by the the server was poor. Managers picked up a lot her slack. It was lunch/brunch before a show. Food was just ok, fries arrived cold. Had been before with a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I would definitely go back to this restaurant. We went for our date night before catching a show at the Performing Arts Center. It was great and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and service. Casual and comfortable. Alittle noisy but would recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I love this place. The drinks are always completely on point. The food is expensive, but high quality and delicious. Great for a splurge or a special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I like the Nickle when I can't get in anywhere else near the theatre's. Nickle suffers from over doing it, just add a good hamburger or pasta dish to go with all the other selections.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great setting in historic hotel two blocks from the Theatre, Convention Center and 16th St Mall. Barrel-aged cocktails drew us, worth the trip for that alone, and salmon main and chacouterie ala carte menu were wonderful. Save room for chef's special desert. Went back for brunch the next day with other friends. Those cocktails are good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The restaurant is really nicely decorated and on a business day at 12:30 was not noisy. The staff was great, sharing ingredients and recipe for some items. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We made a reservation, the kitchen was closed and we were not made aware until we got there. Disapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Although the food was tasty, there was so little of it that it was hard to tell. Thank goodness we ordered the jalapeno cheddar bread. We needed the filler. The piece of salmon was about 4" x 2" (probably 4oz) and the eggplant that was supposed to come with it was undetectable. I think we paid $24 for that tiny piece of salmon. The Caesar salad was supposed to be very large and shareable. We shared this item but I could have easily eaten the entire thing. It was not "very large", as was suggested. Unfortunately we left the restaurant hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great meal! The food was out of control good. Chef and his team are killing it. Order everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I selected this restaurant based on reviews for our (husband and teen daughter) pre-theatre dinner. The menu was quite unique, as was the venue! We dined here prior to seeing, "Frozen" at the DCPA.

Loved that they had a "Melted Snowman" (a.k.a. Olaf) cocktail, which I enjoyed. Great Jalapeno cheddar bread, Sweet Potato-stuffed chili, Lamb shoulder, and my husband and daughter loved the "Teres Major" steaks. Also had their Apple Pie, which was little more than a tart and somewhat disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everything about this place was fantastic. They time each entree perfectly and never rush you.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We stayed overnight in Denver on the way to Wyoming for the eclipse and saw great reviews for the Nickel. We had an absolutely delicious dinner with delightful twists on comfort foods and great cocktails. Prices were more on par with San Francisco (which we are used to) but we found it as good or better than most of the food we have in SF these days. Attentive, sweet service, warm atmosphere. We've discussed setting a fare alert for a trip back to Denver just so we can come back for dinner again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Very good service. Server Rick S. was professional friendly and attentive. We were having dinner prior to Frozen show and he kept us on schedule without rushing. We talked about how comfortable dinner was that night. Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We couldn't decide what to order and went with 4 of their shareable plates. All were seasonally inspired and perfect fun sampling for our first visit. The thoughtful kids menu and festive Frozen inspired cocktail and mocktail were the perfect pre-theatre treat! We'll be back for sure! Thanks to your team for making my 8 yr old daughter's first trip to the theatre unforgettable-from our Nickel dinner to start & Frozen's Opening Night...a perfect memory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A very poor brunch experience attributed to cold food & poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious food, unique takes, every dish had a little twist that was exciting and enjoyable! Service was friendly and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. Seasonal menu items are fantastic - get the watermelon salad if it's available and the sweet potato stuffed poblano is not to be missed. Well curated wine-list, the mixed drinks are superb. Attentive service, will be returning soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very nice meal and experience. Would come again without hesitation

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was outstanding, using fresh produce and products sourced locally.
Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is our second visit to the new Nickel. The main reason I came back was to share Morels with my friends. But I remembered how true it was that every dish we ordered was just great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing energy from the staff food is always well thought out and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.