Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Casual (58)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Good for Birthdays (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Comfort Food (48)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Business Meals (41)
Great for Lunch (36)
Authentic (34)
Historic (30)
Kid-friendly (30)
Fun (26)
Family Style (25)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Private Room (17)
Great Beer (16)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Live Sports (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Live Music (8)
People Watching (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, not disappointed that my bragging about Montgomery Inn to an out-of-town visitor who had never been there before was, if anything, understated in her opinion. Great meal, service,... everything was 10 on a 5-point scale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

My family and I had a wonderful dinner for Father's Day. We had a variety from the menus. Original Ribs, St Louis Ribs, Half Chicken, Brisket and NY Strip. All was very satisfied!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience was good. Only two complaints is not having milk for kids and the fact that via open table we assumed we had a reservation but we actually just had priority seating and still have to wait. Thankfully we didn't have to wait too long but if we had I would have been a bit upset as I had a small child with us hence the choice to make a reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

First set of ribs came out very rubbery. My husband or I could pull it apart. The waiter bent over backward to fix the problem.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience at the original!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

the food here is always outstanding and the service this time was top notch--had a reservation and did have to wait for a short period but outside of that--top notch the entire night

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite place to celebrate my birthday. Food and service was excellent as usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated promptly but the area was very noisy for conversation. My husband lived his order of ribs but my sister did not care for the slathered sauce all over her brisket, pulled pork and chicken. My salad came with the dressing dunked throughout which made it unappetizing. Bathrooms need tending!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food with friendly, uneven service. Our dinner order came back incorrect and the server seemed distracted. I'll strike that down as the result being extremely busy on a Saturday night. Would definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The ribs were excellent as usual. My wife's shrimp were also very good. Since I like the original ribs and sauce so much, I have problems ordering the new St. Louis style.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating Father's Day. Great spot for a large group. Food was exactly as expected.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Montgomery Inn is always a great time. Delicious food. Quiet atmosphere. A Cincinnati gem with a few different locations. Iconic Montgomery location is my favorite. Love the decor from all of the celebrities and athletes.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was phenomenal - best ribs I've ever had, but portions were small considering the price. Still, this place is a must-go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We had out of town guests and wanted them to experience great ribs.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a Great Time..Great Food..Great Atmosphere👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Consistently great! The service is always professional and efficient. I've always enjoyed the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Best ribs you'll ever have, always a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were a group of 8. The service wasn't stellar; never even offered bibs, which turned out to be a bad thing.
It's sad that groups don't get the same service as 2-4 people.

The ribs were excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good ribs, the original ribs were better than the "smoked" ribs. Chilpolte Bar-b-que sauce is a welcome addition

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is the second time I have been here. Fantastic food and environment. Best ribs I have ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Extremely noisy. We were put in a room away from. Main bar with screaming children. Ribs were not nearly quality they used to be. Fatty and not as tasty. Baked potato was dry and not hot. Service was very slow. Restaurant was not crowded.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The service was good, and the food was excellent. There were three of us dining, each of us had a different dish and everybody was very pleased with their selections.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Entertaining foreign friends and had the worst service we have ever had! When you recommend a restaurant that you have been a lover of for over 60 years this was such a disappointment. Had hoped the manager would have stopped by, but that did not happen. Don't know if Nick was having a. bad night or just needs to be retrained!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food and service as usual. Try the pulled pork and saratoga chip appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always the best experience. I grew up on these ribs so it is a must whenever I'm in Cincinnati for any reason. The sauce is unparalleled and the ribs perfect. I picked up a few bottles or sauce to take with me back to California.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great experience. Our waitress Bethany did an outstanding job on a busy holiday weekend. Food came fast & hot Ribs were everything I remembered them to be on my last visit several years ago. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sons birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Just a great restaurant and will definitely return when in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The service was good and so was the food. However, the price is way to high. I can get just as good service and food for a fraction of the price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Ribs were prepared very well. The sauce had a flavor of ketchup and was too heavy. The rib meat would have carried the day. Recommend asking for dry ribs with sauce on the side.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Disappointing to wait 20 minutes when you have a reservation. That priority seating business is a turn off.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We made reservations for 6:30 Saturday, arrived a few minutes early and had to wait 15 minutes. There are very few places to sit while waiting and it's always busy, so keep in mind if anyone in your party has difficulty standing. We come here about once a year with family for the barbecued ribs and chicken, and our son likes the burger - all consistently good every time. Baked potatoes (Including baked sweet potatoes) good too. Entrees are fairly expensive but come with a side and they have added a more reasonably priced option of two or three courses with a more limited menu ($22 and $33, without drinks). The waiters are well trained - attentive without making you feel rushed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

From out of town and first time to the Inn. Very much enjoyed our meal. Ribs were great - get the Original - better than the other options and really that is why you are there! The were great - very tasty. Inn itself is fun to walk around to see all the jerseys and pictures on the wall. Lots of options on the menu if you don't want ribs - the fish entre one in our party ordered was very good as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our birthday dinner celebration - food & service was great. Always GOOD! Always a treat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We get back to Cincy once a year and always head for the RIBS! This place maintains the quality of the food and the taste is awesome! Service was a tad on the down side this visit but when you are eating these ribs, you can easily lose touch with the wait staff. Already looking forward to next year!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of our worst experiences at Montgomery Inn. We were placed in a back corner on the second floor where table clothes covered plastic fold out tables. I realized this as the support for the table was pleasantly rubbing my leg. Our waitress was unfriendly and inefficient. At one point she dropped a piece of bread and it remained on the floor as she and the water boy passed it by multiple times. Not too mention the other guests looked on and shared our same disbelief. Last but certainly not least, the party of 10 was obnoxiously loud with there screaming baby and toddler in a room with no sound deadening material so it was quite miserable. The only good part is the food was great. Not sure if my wife and I will return as this was a date and we do not get many of those.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a very nice dining experience. The food was good, the service was very good, and the restaurant offered a great view of the Ohio river. We were treated to a very nice evening of family fun.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to Montgomery and to celebrate an accomplishment for my daughter. The food is consistently good and I waitress was fantastic

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our twins 12th birthday. They love ribs!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best ribs in Ohio. Highly recommend. And great sport jerseys displayed throughout the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.