About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (121)
special occasion (107)
neighborhood gem (77)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
great for lunch (57)
kid-friendly (54)
hot spot (24)
romantic (22)
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed in the food. I w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed in the food. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and I live here. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great service - they weren't very crowde ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service - they weren't very crowded for a Friday night. That was somewhat surprising. Drinks came out quickly with bread. Salads shortly behind that. There was a wait for our entrees and given the small crowd, we don't know why. But the waiter was attentive and even brought us an appetizer of the new St. Louis-rubbed rib. Nice gesture to keep this five person party happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally we love the ribs but they were ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Normally we love the ribs but they were a bit fatty this time. Not as good as past experiences.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waitress Wendy was fantastic. She m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress Wendy was fantastic. She made sure my friend's birthday was a very special event.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is wonderful! We both enjoyed our d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is wonderful! We both enjoyed our dinners (ribs and salmon). Salad was outstanding, especially with fresh rye bread. The Saratoga chips are a treat. Fresh strawberries for dessert were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was my first time visiting any of t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my first time visiting any of the Montgomery-Inn locations. Overall, the food was good. The wedge salad was delicious. I highly recommend getting that to start. I tried the trio sandwich entree with coleslaw, and it was all tasty, but the brisket was not my favorite. It was pretty dry. The beer list was rather small. The room we sat in was separated from most of the restaurant possibly to seat us (two adults) away from family seating, but the vibe of that room was a little strange. It felt very disconnected.

In all, I'd recommend the restaurant. My uncle had the rack of ribs and was very pleased. Finished the entire plate. We both agreed the wedge salad was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Montgomery Inn has the best fall off the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Montgomery Inn has the best fall off the bone BBQ ribs in SW Ohio. My wife had their brisket and was very pleased with the quality and tenderness of the meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food. Pleasant staff. Fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food. Pleasant staff. Fun atmosphere. Valetservice so convenient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad to finally get to the original Mont ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Glad to finally get to the original Montgomry Inn!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome CincInnati tradition and well wo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome CincInnati tradition and well worth the trip! If you are new to town or just visiting this is one of the top dining places that are a MUST!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a favorite spot. I especially l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a favorite spot. I especially like the pork chops--all the goodness with the BBQ sauce without the messy fingers when you have the ribs. And the desserts are terrific.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

College reunion we all turned 60 and we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

College reunion we all turned 60 and we had a very enjoyable evening our waiter was a doll he made sue we had a beautiful memorable evening

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good relaxing dinner. Moving back ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very good relaxing dinner.

Moving back to area and celebrating getting a house.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family dinner out! Very attentiv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great family dinner out! Very attentive staff and prompt service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good as this was and always has ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was good as this was and always has been a neighborhood classic and landmark. The kids menu is really limited and doesn't even have ribs as a selection -- go figure! My kids wanted to eat ribs so we ordered off the adult menu. I think the portions have gotten smaller over the years, not the huge portions typical of many Midwest restaurants. Parking has become difficult to the point they now have valet parking for $6. This place has been around since when I was in high school some 30+ years ago. I come back to eat here every few years. It's a must-visit place along with Skyline Chili and Graeters Ice Cream.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As good as it gets! Delicious ribs and c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As good as it gets! Delicious ribs and chicken. Be sure to get the chicken on the bone. So flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was luke warm. This was our fir ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was luke warm. This was our first visit. We didn't like the sauce

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was excellent as usual. Service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Service was outstanding (David). Special was very good & prepared to order (bone in rib steak).

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great chicken and ribs - not cheap, but ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great chicken and ribs - not cheap, but worth it. I can see the quality of the service suffering when the restaurant gets extremely busy. I will definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Just wish it was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and service. Just wish it was more affordable to go more often. Like when salads were included with you're meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Established resturant Good food @ slig ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Established resturant Good food @ slightly higher prices I have been going here for years Some of the best chicken around

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been going to Montgomery Inn for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I have been going to Montgomery Inn for over 40 years and have never been disappointed. The best ribs ever! And love, love the Saratoga chips.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. Consistently gr ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We love this restaurant. Consistently great. Love the Saratoga chips! The patents eat every bite.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We moved from Cincinnati in 2011. We mak ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We moved from Cincinnati in 2011. We make a point to return to the Montgomery Inn when visiting family. My husband and kids love the ribs. I always order the Gulf Shrimp Cantonese. We all get the Saratoga chips. My dinner Sunday night was exceptionally delicious. At one point I announced to the table, "This dinner is amazing!" The Inn never disappoints, which is why we return each time we come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor service. Nasty front desk girl.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Poor service. Nasty front desk girl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We have a great dinner! Our appetizer wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have a great dinner! Our appetizer was delicious (pulled pork nachos) and our dinner came out quickly! Great service from our waitress as well! We'll definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The folks at The Montgomery Inn. They ac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The folks at The Montgomery Inn. They accommodated a huge party on short notice (15 of which were hungry teenage baseball players). Everyone loved the food and atmosphere. Next time we are in the area whether it bit with the family or another large group, The Montgomery Inn will be a mandatory stop.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Our server did a t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding service! Our server did a terrific job and we shared our compliments with the manager. She had tons of personality and added such a fun touch to our evening. They had a special which I chose: entree, salad and dessert for $33.00. My husband had the ribs and shrimp combo. He loved it! We had a great night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we are in Cincinnati we always have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

When we are in Cincinnati we always have the Montgomery Inn on our list of places eat. We are from Tampa, Florida.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent just enough presen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent just enough presence of server. Quick delivery of food but no rush overall a great experience. Always great to return there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed with overall food. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was very disappointed with overall food. All sides were cold. My potatoe wouldn't even melt the butter . my husband wouldn't complain he just wanted to leave. The service was extrememly great do not think will ever come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Our only complaint was that we Looked on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our only complaint was that we Looked online at 9 am and we had the option to make a reservation. We made one for 6:45 pm. When we arrived we were told that there would be a 30 minute wait and that they didn't take reservations. But, they did have my name on this list when I checked in at the hostess desk. We went to the bar and waited to be buzzed for our reservation. We had a great waitress and the food was delicious.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Got seated immediately upon arriving. Wa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Got seated immediately upon arriving. Waiter was outstanding--quick but you didn't feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Montgomery Inn is like an "Old Classic C ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Montgomery Inn is like an "Old Classic Car"....never disappoints!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE FOOD WAS AVERAGE THE SERVICE WAS AVE ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

THE FOOD WAS AVERAGE THE SERVICE WAS AVERAGE. I HAVE HAD WAY BETTER RIBS AND SERVICE FOR 30 DOLLARS. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN LUNCH.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was delicious and of ample quan ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was delicious and of ample quantity and the service was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better server than David who met our every need with great care, precision, and congeniality. The margarita I was served was excellent. (So many places can't seem to get their margaritas right.) This set the tone for a wonderful meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always exceptions! Best ribs ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is always exceptions! Best ribs around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought out of state visitor for a great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brought out of state visitor for a great food on 6/12. Food was excellent as usual. Server was good but there was a plastic piece in our daughter's food. She found it at last bite and server brought it up to her manager. Manager came and all she said was "We took it off from your bill, Do you want anything else?" and that's all she said. No apology, no courtesy concerns, or asking how everything else was and wish us to come back again. Very disappointed with manager's manner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Good but loud

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our waiter, Mat, was very good at his job but his voice carried throughout the entire room. A conversation with the other table was quite embarrassing for the patrons. A gift card was being used and an issue about activation was being addressed. This should have been a private conversation.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

A little disappointed with our table. It was in the bar area near the entrance, so a very high traffic volume . Would have preferred a quieter booth in the restaurant area. Other than that, the food was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.