Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Worth the Drive (56)
Casual (54)
Good for Groups (52)
Comfort Food (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Historic (40)
Business Meals (38)
Authentic (37)
Family Style (32)
Fun (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Romantic (24)
Cozy (23)
Private Room (23)
Kid-friendly (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Live Sports (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
People Watching (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great Beer (8)
Live Music (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fireplace (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Dancing (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was great! I would recommend your restaurant to all my friends and family!!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Live Sports, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service (very fast) excellent as always! Great place for business meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious as always. Highly recommend for a fun night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic as always. Food was prepared well. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were seated about 40 minutes after our reservation time. Our waiter wasn't the best, he didn't tell us about the specials of the day but another waiter heard us asking each other questions and came over to help. It took awhile to get refills. The food was good, not outstanding, but we will probably try it again in a few months

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I never get out so we decided to go on a date. We made the reservation and they sat us in the bar area. Which would have been ok had the service been good. We had to ask someone after 20 minutes to take our order. My brother in law finished an entire drink before we had to ask for service as we realized a lot of time had passed and we couldn't be patient any longer. I ran out of water and had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come by to even ask for a refill. We had to have another waitress take our order finally. Our food came out all seperate. I received my salad and then everyone else a few minutes later. When our dinner came we received all our meat and had to wait on our vegetables (sides). Dinner itself tasted great! No problem with the food qualities. Everything we needed we had to flag someone down as our waitress was "too busy". The manager had taken our desert order. The cheese cake was good. My coffee would had been delicious with it had the creamer not curded when I added it to my coffee. No one had come even within view really to flag down to get a fresh cup. I had to ask my waitress to take the coffee off our bill she didn't even offer after I stated the creamer was bad and I didn't get to enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best ribs of anywhere that we have been. Location is good in downtown of a small suburban community. Sports minded atmosphere. Great service with reasonable prices for the quality of the food and drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Small wedding party in a private room, excellent service and great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great place to dine family friendly. nice large bar area with band. Love the ribs and chips. service was great. clean place. would recommend place to couples families and business.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Private Room, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Dancing, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a very enjoyable night out with our grandson. He especially likes the duck. He got the combo with the smoked ribs. Waitress was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I went to Montgomery Inn , on a date. It was pretty crowded that evening. The food is was wonderful. I loved my New York Strip. The best part of as our waitress. Her name was Roxanne. We will be back many times. We will always ask for the amazing waitress, Roxanne. Happy eating!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Family visiting from Pittsburg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food can't be beat. It was great. The front desk was horrible. We told then at check in we had a wheelchair. They tried to seat at booth. The gave us pager. It never went off. I happened to hear them say my name is the only way we got seated. Food & service great. Front desk the worst.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a wonderful experience! Amazing service and great atmosphere! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our family went for my birthday dinner. We choose Montgomery Inn for the great food and quiet environment. However, this evening you had a live band playing (a first for us while dining there) and it was AWFUL! We were seating right next to them and it was so loud my husband and I were practically screaming at each other and my 4 year old complained the ENTIRE time that the music was so loud it hurt her ears. Most definitely NOT how we wanted to spend our dinner out. It was hard to even enjoy the wonderful food. Very very disappointing!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Ordered the ribs again, left disappointed. overcooked and dry.
Not worth the money.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were having a business meeting 6:00pm on a Thursday. We told the hostess and host we were having a meeting and they put us in the bar area. We also told Tom our server. The band started that we didn't know about at seven. We were still enjoying our dinner. And had not started on business yet. It was very hard to conduct business. The charge card was under Karen Pfeiffer. HBA

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Dinner was wonderful! food very good and the waitress, Nessa was outstanding

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The ribs are the best in the world.
Love the atmosphere and appreciate the excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was great as usual. However they sat us in a small room with a noisy family

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. However, I believe our waiter though we didn't have money, as he didn't spend time reviewing specials/offerings for the evening. We definitely felt like he spent more time/effort on other tables.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

family in from out of town.... this is our go-to place for ribs. can't beat the original.
the valet took great care of my car, we were seated right on time. service was great, food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I felt like we were cattle. The place is older and service was mediocre. Sauce is to sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

They have some good fish options for lent right now. I had the fish tacos and they were very good

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Best ribs in the city! It's not a place to go if you want to sit and have a quite conversation and the sports theme dominates the restaurant but the food is good and that's what I like

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our dining area was great for our occasion and the service was really great! Our server was pleasant and attentive, as well as seasoned and professional. It was a very seamless, smooth experience and we appreciate the ease of making online reservations. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and selection. Service was outstanding. Use reservations on weekend eve to avoid long wait

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was good, but they don't take reservations, so we made a reservation for 7:15 on Open Table and didn't get seated until 7:50. Why does open table allow me to make a reservation if Montgomery Inn doesn't take them? I was on the list with all the other walk ins

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our Rib Road Trip for 3 family birthdays - we drove 4 hours for it! Food was worth it, incredibly good. Service was attentive. Tables are packed in a little tight.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, service. Nice ambiance at he Old Montgomery.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Anessa was our waitress when we were there a couple months ago and she spotted us while we were waiting for call ahead seating and we asked if she could wait on us again. She is great. Hope to have her wait On us again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Never a disappointment, we drive about 45 minutes just to eat there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Reliable service and menu. Enjoyed the grilled corned beef sandwich, which was good. Woudl prefer that they "over-stuff" the corned beef like they do at a place my Izzy's, but it was still solid.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was amazing. The ribs which are always good and the Mahi Mahi special excellent!! Loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food is always good. Service was typical of Montgomery Inn. Not bad but not great. However, we had a nice dinner meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My admin leadership team and I enjoyed a great dinner at Montgomery Inn! The out of towners loved the Saratoga chips and BBQ sauce.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was good as always. The Montgomery Inn doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nostalgic place. Menu has been updated and improved somewhat. Still good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I came up for a date last weekend. Everyone (valet, hostesses, waiters) were wonderful! We didn't wait long and the food was incredible, as usual. The only VERY MINOR thing that I wish had been different, was that my husband and I had quite a bit of food boxed up to take home. We walked away and forgot it, got half way to the door, went back to get it and they had already thrown it in the garbage! :( The waiter apologized greatly and took full responsibility, I just wish they would have given us a chance to return or even brought it to us as we had JUST left the table. Anyway, all and all a great experience. Thanks Montgomery Inn!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This whole "reservations" but not really a "reservation" isn't appropriate. This whole thing caused a lot of frustration in our party. I've made actual reservations at plenty of restaurants and I have no clue why you all do it the way you do. Completely unnecessary.

Salads were a joke.

Service was sub-par.

I wouldn't recommend.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.