Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Casual (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fun (24)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (22)
Great for Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great Beer (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Live Sports (6)
Waterfront (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was excellent! We drive 2 hours to eat at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We don't get to Montgomery Inn very often but when we do go, it has always been a great experience. The service can't be beat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great and service ambiance quite neat. the server was helpful to get me to select the right food and accompanying beer

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It is a great dinner with lots of options! The bar area is more vibrant for dinner.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The server and manager would not accept the use of a $50 gift card for Montgomery Inn, purchased earlier in the day at Kroger. We had bought a gift card for my son to use on his date out of convenience. It was far from that as we had to pay, awkwardly, over the phone using a different credit card.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Server Wendi was excellent and made it an extra fun night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I hate giving a bad review, but I don't want someone else to have the same bad experience. The ribs was tough and the brisket was mostly fat, I have never been more disappointed! We was celebrating our 27th anniversary, had it not been for our own company the night would have been a total disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sat in the bar. Enjoyed a Sunday dinner of steaks. Excellent service, great food and great surrounding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food and friendly service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

its tine to reupholster booths in the bar area. They and look like worn out cheap seats.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love the Montgomery location, the Boathouse isn't worth it. You have to be famous to sit by the window, it's super-loud and not in a good way, and the food frankly isn't that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food and good atmosphere. Staff was attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I enjoyed Montgomery Inn boathouse very much. Great food, fair prices, excellent view and INCREDIBLE service! Server's name is Steve - and he was tremendous. Efficient, and fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Seems to be surviving on reputation. Nice atmosphere. Efficient but not very friendly server. The ribs and brisket were tasty. Margaritas were icy and weak. Mac and cheese tasted like it was straight out of the can. Cornbread was cold. Montgomery inn will need to do better to survive long-term as many great restaurants as there are in Cincinnati. In my opinion, really overpriced for the quality of the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was great and food was great. Celebrated sons birthday early because of being out of town on his birthday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always consistent choice for a great meal in a great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Celebrated a 50th wedding anniversary. The staff was attentive and the food was excellent. We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We ordered the "3 for $33". This was a Cesar salad, a full rack of ribs with a side item (I had a baked sweet potato and my husband had the Saratoga chips) and a dessert. Excellent value!! Excellent meal!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Montgomery Inn doesn't disappoint longtime fans. We did have one newbie with us - she thought there was too much sauce on her ribs. Overall we were pleased and will be back again I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Six of us, including two preschoolers, had dinner on a Thursday at 5:30. We started with the warm potato chips dipped in BBQ sauce. They were great. One order would have been enough for all of us... very generous portion!

Roasted BBQ chicken was delicious, crab cakes were okay (no lump crab there), ribs were okay (meat was falling off bone but dry), and pork chop was good. Kids' chicken tenders were huge and delicious. Baked potato seemed to have been sitting for a while prior to serving (not a fluffy russet), MAC and cheese was okay, green beans were fresh and delicious.

Overall, this is a local favorite and a destination spot with ample portions of comfort food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Always a good meal at Montgomery Inn. Great service

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service a little slow, but overall a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food with friends One of my favorite places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I go to Montgomery Inn about once a year. The ribs are great. This time the other 2 people that got ribs at our table were great as usual. Mine were a little overdone, noticeable but not terrible. I would have rated the food a 3 based on my meal alone, but for the table, I gave it a 4.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had heard so many great things about the restaurant and we were very disappointed. We went for BBQ. It was very ordinary, nothing special. The service wasn't much better.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our service was not great - had to flag our waiter down several times to remind him of ordered drinks, and refills on water and soft drinks.

The ribs were ok - a bit dry, the pork chop very good. the chicken was a bit rubbery in the middle - not cooked quite through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was delicious but the waitress hurried us along. She was on top of us constantly and I felt rushed through my meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a great time. Good food, good service and great conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Birthday
Waiter wasn't the greatest but good was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was great and the service was fun, friendly, and helpful. I have been here several times and I have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The first time I've ever been and not had the best ribs in the world. Unfortunately about half our tables orders were tough - not falling off the bone as they normally do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

As always, we had a great time and a good value. Will be back again with family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were there for lunch and my husband I agreed the food quality was poor. Husband's baked potato was old and warmed up, (believe it or not, the customer can tell when you do this) bread was very stale and salad was not fresh. I ordered a fish dish and it was covered up with sauce but only saw a tiny piece of fish (like maybe 3 bites?) underneath. Red potatoes were hard and warmed up.
I used to visit the Montgomery location quite often when I worked in the area and never remember having a bad experience. Not sure what has happened in the last couple of yrs but it was quite different. One thing that was good was our server.....she was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Once seated everything went well but I am pretty sure our reserved table went to the party of 8 that walked in immediately before us and we got stuck waiting another 15 to 20 minutes before a table became available for us. Server was very nice and attentive and food was typical Montgomery Inn fare. Had a 2 year old with us so keeping him under control was no small feat and there is no milk on children's menu. Thought that was very odd.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was excellent. The ribs were what I anticipated, great. The crab cakes should have been left to Baltimore. The baked potato was squashed and came without anything on it. I had to sit and open all the little butters. Our total tab with tip was $80.00 and I'm not sure I would do it again. I live in Louisville and my family and I have been known to drive up just to eat here. My husband got the brisket and we've had better from a little hole in the wall joint in Fairdale called Shack in the Back. All in all I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food! Beautiful location! We will be returning in the future!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was the 4th time in a few months I have dined there with business guests and the food was under par for what I expected. I am local to Cinti and it seems the food/meat quality has declined over the past couple of years. Everyone wants to try Montgomery Inn because of the past reputation but then are disappointed after the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2017

First time here. Outstanding food with top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was great and so was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Choose the Montgomery location to split the difference with another couple we were meeting. Forgot just how good the "original" location is. Food was great, service was just as good as the food. Even though we sat in the bar area - was easier to carry on a conversation that at the Boathouse location. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.