Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

The Montgomery Inn - Original

4.4
1210 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Barbecue
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Barbecue, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(513) 791-3482
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cooper Road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

View Private Dining Details
What 1210 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Great service! Nice and clean. Relaxing atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always great, we drove 125 miles one way, does that tell you anything!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We were seated right by the kitchen so unfortunately for us there was a lot of traffic and noise. Our Gulf shrimp Cantonese appetizers came quickly but were greasier than we remembered. The Montgomery Inn Sauce was much sweeter, almost too sweet. The cheesecake was so-so, probably a lot denser than we prefer and although the profiterole looked great it was way too dry All in all it was a good meal and a bargain for GCRW, would we go again? Maybe but not our first choice for a date night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was good but service was lacking. Waitress was not unfriendly bordering on rude. Will be awhile before going back. Maybe Boathouse would be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service! Had a party of 8 so we were placed in a room which allowed easy conversation without yelling! As always Montgomery Inn was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Never thought of M Inn as a lunch venue for Restaurant Week. At my cousin's suggestion, we did just that; and, the $25 cost was a true bargain.
Choices were from usual menu and their standard of quality did not alter. Our server was totally customer focused and responded to our requests almost before we asked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great service. Food always great. Treated our grandson to lunch following his day at school.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The classic! I hadn't been in probably 20 years. I was in town for work and it was a must-stop the first night. Excellent food, friendly service. I hope it's not another 20 years before I get back! Great beer list, though the beer I ordered was under "on tap" and came in a can to the table. I had a chance to try the new(er?) smoked ribs as well as the classic. Everything was fantastic as it was the last time I visited. I will definitely continue to come back whenever I'm in town and have a chance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Fabulous food!! Service was great! Perfect evening with family)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our server was very courteous and very personable. The food was very good and I really enjoyed the experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We were celebrating our grandson's birthday. Our waiter made it special for him.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Classic Cincinnati establishment. Great ribs. Aside from the ribs the sides and other menu items are nothing to write home about. Overall too big portions and too pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Atmosphere and Service was wonderful. Ribs weren’t as good as usual, they were dry and not much meat on them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We took my mother-in-law for a late lunch/early dinner (3:00), on a Sunday, so it was not very crowded. We found they had a great special going on 3 / $33 that we could not pass up, that included an appetizer, ribs and/or ribs/chicken combo and dessert. YUMMM! We were very, very happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Reserved seating on open table app for 7pm. Showed up early 63-645ish expecting a wait. We were not seated until 8pm and didn’t have a server show up until 815. Were told around 730 we were going to be the next party sat, at least 4 groups were sat before us after we were told that. Extremely frustrating experience there’s no point of “ priority seating”.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We had a very nice dining experience and everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. We were seated in the bar area where a band was playing but we were able to converse without difficulty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good ribs , not fantastic like I was expecting them to be. There was a skin attached to the bottom that was not very appetizing. all the sides were very good and the Lava cake was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We ordered beef and chicken dishes and were all very pleased with both mains and sides.
While this restaurant is usually quiet enough for easy conversation, during the winter holidays it did get noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Last day visiting Cincinnati!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food took a long time to arrive. My dinner was lukewarm. Normally this is not the case. My plate must have sat waiting to be delivered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food and service! The staff was very friendly and very helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

As always, Montgomery Inn Original, makes you feel like family, with food that is always the best!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We made reservations on Open Table for 7pm at the Montgomery Inn. We showed up about 10 minutes prior, checked in, and was told it would be a few minutes since they "were behind". After 15 minutes and watching walk-in being seated, I asked the same hostess who checked us in how much longer past our reservation time. She very rudely told me that they didn't take reservations and if I could read, I would have read that on Open Table. I had a manager intervene and we were seated but abou 15 minutes past our reservation time. Good and service were okay, but there was a band playing so loudly in the bar area that we could hear it at our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The entertainment was too loud in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Ribs were tough for both my husband and i. Unusual because they are normally great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent, we had the ribs and they were plentiful and perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent Ribs!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food & service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Honestly for being world famous ribs, they didn't even come in my top 5. Rest of the food was okay but for 100$ I expected better. The bread is horrible

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food, the original baby back ribs are always great. The service was excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Manager is awesome and friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Unlike so many other places w/ good food but no privacy or low level of noise, Montgomery Inn of course is THE best place in the US for BBQ ribs (among other things) and, the seating is so thought of from the perspective of the customer and not the dollar. Obviously known all through the US by many, but worth saying again - always the best, always great food, service and not to be taken for granted, great seating, great ambiance. thank you MI.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Everything was excellent. Our server was very attentive and accommodated a change in our order. The food was very good - ribs. All in all well worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Four adults - 2 - 10 yr. olds Poor service and slow. Had to ask 4 times for appetizer, ordered for the 10 yr olds, took 25 min. They lost our order and had to retake it, entree's were late. Ordered (2) coffees, they must have been brewed in the am, could not drink. We have been there many times, I believe this could be our last. Good service is key for returning customers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very good service, good variety of food choices and very consistent over the years. Hired help at the original is experienced and very helpful in making decisions for those who have trouble deciding. I go a few times a year for many years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The evening was our 45th wedding anniversary. We had a great meal, an economical bottle of wine, and superior service. At the end of our dinner, to mark the occasion, we asked our waiter to take our picture. He asked if it was for a special occasion? We admitted "Yes, it's our wedding anniversary". He stated, "Please stay a bit, I'll be right back", returning with a unexpected delicious desert! Our thanks to Montgomery Inn and our server S-Michael for a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I grew up in Cincinnati, and wanted to introduce my son to Montgomery Inn. We should have gone to Skyline. I’ve had better ribs in many places.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Montgomery Inn is a great place to take visitors to Cincinnati.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31