Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (80)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Casual (57)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Worth the Drive (52)
Comfort Food (51)
Good for Groups (50)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Business Meals (43)
Historic (42)
Great for Lunch (37)
Authentic (37)
Kid-friendly (31)
Family Style (31)
Fun (27)
Private Room (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great Beer (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Live Sports (13)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Live Music (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our worst experiences at Montgomery Inn. We were placed in a back corner on the second floor where table clothes covered plastic fold out tables. I realized this as the support for the table was pleasantly rubbing my leg. Our waitress was unfriendly and inefficient. At one point she dropped a piece of bread and it remained on the floor as she and the water boy passed it by multiple times. Not too mention the other guests looked on and shared our same disbelief. Last but certainly not least, the party of 10 was obnoxiously loud with there screaming baby and toddler in a room with no sound deadening material so it was quite miserable. The only good part is the food was great. Not sure if my wife and I will return as this was a date and we do not get many of those.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very nice dining experience. The food was good, the service was very good, and the restaurant offered a great view of the Ohio river. We were treated to a very nice evening of family fun.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Montgomery and to celebrate an accomplishment for my daughter. The food is consistently good and I waitress was fantastic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Our twins 12th birthday. They love ribs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Best ribs in Ohio. Highly recommend. And great sport jerseys displayed throughout the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Our family near and far are particularly fond of Montgomery Inn. Our son and his grown children's families who live in Oregon must have at least one meal at M.I. when they come to Cincinnati for a visit. We also have to ship (by the case) M.I. BBQ sauce to them, because they can't get it in Oregon. This is not to say that our family "locals" are not just as fond of M. I. and we live within a five-minute drive of the original M.I. so that makes it even nicer.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our Mother's Day dinner at Montgomery Inn was wonderful.
Food was excellent as always. No rushing... just let us talk and enjoy our time.
Made reservations in advance on Open table which helped with the wait time on a busy day.
Will make many visits back to Montgomery Inn.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing as always. Though there was still a wait with a reservation, the wait was short. Food was amazing. Service fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first visit to the Montgomery Inn. it was Mother's Day and they were extremely busy. We were seated on time, the service was friendly and efficient. Our waitress did an excellent job. The food was very good, as advertised. Overall, a very satisfying experience. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful, are food was good as always! Our service was superior on the busiest day of the year, Mother's Day. We were sat, fed, and had wonderful service without a care in the world.
We have gone to this restaurant for 50 years and it is always great but the service was outstanding! You will love it, come join them for some Cincinnati Famous Ribs, and shrimp with plum sauce too!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. A nice place to celebrate mothers day. I do wish they offered bottled water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day dinner. We arrived a few minutes earlier than our reservation and were seated right away. The beer selection caught my husband's eye and he tried Ted's original. He really loved it. The two and three course menus were great. Three of us ordered from the two course menu and got great deals. We definitely got our money's worth, and some great comfort food. I would definitely go back for another occasion or holiday. The service was also very good. Our server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated Mother's Day and the food was wonderful as well as the service. We were seated quickly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed Mother's Day lunch very much..service was fast, food delicious. I must say the portions were overly generous, which gave us ample for a little to take home and enjoy later. Brussels sprouts were delicious but serving was small compared to the other items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding dinner....thank you! Food was wonderful and service was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ribs are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food and service were great. We had 6:00 p.m. reservations and were seated as soon as we arrived. The restaurant was crowded, but the waiters were attentive and the service was very good.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It was our first time there. Food was great! Service was exceptional! We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2017

were seated right away, kind of a slower evening. Had guest out of town and they loved the ribs.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was great
The service was great
We will return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cocktail glasses are tiny. Everything else was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We made a 7:15 reservation in open table we were not seated till 8:16 finished dinner at 10:00. Had plans for after but missed out due to be seated so late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The "famous" Saratoga chips were just plain, unseasoned, burnt potato chips. Not a fan and for $6.99 that makes it the most expensive bag on flavorless chips I've ever had. We also waited an unnecessarily long time at our table before the server returned to take our order. Overall, disappointed. Will not recommend. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best ribs anywhere. Great for large parties. We had 9 people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We go on a Sunday evening and all of us order ribs, no extra napkins or bips. Sauce was great, but ribs just slightly above average. Overall service was just basics and extra tea for mom was taken care of, but I was having to lift plates and menus. Hey! You were a great place before, get back into the service of serving. I think the family has gotten use to being the top dog in mid range expensive and is sitting back on those decades of success. I would have been happier at Long Horn to be very honest and the sauce can be picked up at Kroger. I will not be back for a long time and this was my 50th birthday with wife and parents. This was suppose to be special and instead it was nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed a family gathering for our son's UC graduation. Service was great! Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

great evening with friends from out of town. They loved the experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Between a seemingly sarcastic and uninterested waitress, and sub-par food, I was left unimpressed. We had the brisket with Brussels Sprouts and Cornbread. The cornbread was underdone and wet, the Brussels​ Sprouts were shredded and untouched amounting to a flavorless mound in the corner of the plate. The plate collectively was boring and all the food was shoved into their own corners and looked like something you'd give to a picky child who doesn't allow their food to touch. Our bread was forgotten among other requests. The band playing was exclusively playing 70s disco hits which wrapped up a sub-par meal. This is the third visit where the staff and food were bad. If it weren't for the gift card I was given, I would have, and will from now on, choose another restaurant. I honestly do not understand the buzz about Montgomery Inn. Additionally, the manager was staring lewdly at a group of UNDERAGE girls in prom dresses, had he not responded to my stares of disapproval, I would have said something.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 25, 2017

what can I say been dining there since 1974!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2017

They have some of the best sports memorabilia and the food is so much better than the average bar scene

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, People Watching, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, service, and ambiance. Best ribs I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent Service and terrific food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Totally disappointed in the quality of my ribs. I probably should have sent them back. I asked for them dry sauce on the side and came out luke warm. I love this place and have dined there frequently over the years for special occasions.

Perhaps a rare exception to what is usually a Cincinnati dining gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Consistent good food and service. Great for meetings,family get togethers or business dinners. Centrally located

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Heard they had famous ribs, but they were quite average, especially if you've had ribs in other cities like Memphis, KC or Austin. The atmosphere was nice though and the service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our server/waitress was superb!! Food timely and hot.
Even though it's a busy Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Never disappointed with Montgomery Inn. Ribs always taste amazing and never leave hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! The pulled pork nachos are exactly what the say wonderful!! Loved the part of town it was in and got right in with call ahead seating , highly recommended the original ribs!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have always enjoyed Montgomey Inn!! We look forward to our dinners and have never been disappointed 💕

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.