About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (99)
Special Occasion (96)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Great for Lunch (40)
Kid-friendly (37)
Romantic (25)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (8)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Live Sports (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Montgomery Inn Has very good food .I ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Montgomery Inn Has very good food .I had their Ribs and my wife had salmon and said it was very good .No problem getting seated in fact I had reservation through Open Table and was 30 min. early .We were seated right away and service was good ,food arrived quickly and we had a good time .We Enjoyed the dinner very much .

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived with a dinner reservation at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived with a dinner reservation at 5:45 under the name of Donnie Wilson for a party of four. Our food was not brought to us until 7:30. We watched several tables being seated, receive their dinner and leave before we were brought our food. We addressed the issue with the manager but he only apologized with no explanation or a solution. We had a high school class reunion to get to so we had to rush through eating our dinner. We were very disappointed in the service we received.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall, Montgomery Inn is one of our fa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall, Montgomery Inn is one of our favorite places to dine. For some reason the food seem to take quite a while to come out. It was a Friday night, 7:30 PM but the place was not crowded at all. Plenty of tables and seats available. That's the only issue we encountered. When the food did arrive, it was delicious! Excellent food always. We definitely will be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was excellent, and the food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent, and the food was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Montgomery Inn- Original is a great plac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Montgomery Inn- Original is a great place to dine for a date night! My husband and I went for our second anniversary and it was quiet and easy to hear each other over the people around us. The food was phenomenal and the portions were good sized. My husband got three courses for $33 which seemed relatively affordable. He got a side salad to start, a full rack of original ribs, chips, and cheesecake. The waiter seemed busy but still made time to check on us often and overall it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Can't beat ribs and Saratoga chips. Also ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Can't beat ribs and Saratoga chips. Also had the shrimp with plum sauce. Good, but the shrimp weren't as good as I remember. Someone else had pork chops and said they were quite tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been there for awhile but we'r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We hadn't been there for awhile but we're disappointed with the food. They drown the smoked meats in their sauce so the barbaque flavor was lost. The service was good but it couldn't save the meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We made a 6pm reservation and showed up ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We made a 6pm reservation and showed up on time. Was told we had a 25 min wait. When I questioned this, they all of a sudden had a table. I ordered the smoked ribs which were overcooked and dry. The baked potato was the smallest I have ever had. However the chicken was good and had a nice flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Group of 14 with reservations. Were se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Group of 14 with reservations. Were seated on time, server was nice and took orders. Took 45 minutes for food to arrive, and the place was not busy at all.

My wife's salad had the lettuce cores in it, plus pieces of lettuce that were spoiled.

Overall, the experience was not good.

Our group eats here at least twice a year, and it seems like the food and delivery time for food has gotten worse over the past few years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We met some old friends there that we ha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We met some old friends there that we hadn't seen in a while. Our server was so gracious to give us plenty of time to enjoy our 3 hour dinner. She was prompt when we needed her but never rushed us. She offered some food suggestions which were all wonderful! We all had the ribs...what they're noted for.... and we weren't disappointed. It was a great night! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as usual. The se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. The service was very good. The server was friendly, made suggestions, and let us take our time with ordering and finishing our food. For the first time I didn't feel rushed in the restaurant which is usually the case due to large crowds. We had a large party but were treated extremely well like there were only 4 people at our table. The team enjoyed the time to relax over a good meal. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Server didn't explain the best way to or ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Server didn't explain the best way to order for a large group. Didn't provide drink menus but asked for drinks. Then gave a group of 8 one drink menu - seemed to be too much in a hurry. Food was great -price is tough for a family. Not kid friendly at all. .

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

We were very pleased with the amount of ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were very pleased with the amount of wait time that we had. We were seated before our OpenTable reservation time. That is almost unheard of on a Saturday evening. Everyone was very pleased with their meal as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Feel prices are a bit high for what you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Feel prices are a bit high for what you get- found pulled pork to be very tough and husband was disappointed in tenderness of ribs

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times, but never had the beef brisket dinner before. Apparently, I was mistaken before ... it was delicious !! My new favorite dinner at Montgomery Inn ... beef brisket with their BBQ sauce, mashed sweet potato, shredded brussel sprout slaw and corn bread. Very generous portion too ... but I still managed to devour it all !!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They seem to have given up. I've lived i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

They seem to have given up. I've lived in Cincinnati for over 30 years and have always viewed the Montgomery Inn as a destination restaurant that anyone would recommend to someone just stopping through. Our visit tonight was underwhelming - the ribs really aren't that great, the service was lacking, and the building hasn't been updated in at least 10 years.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Such a great restaurant. All the sports ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Such a great restaurant. All the sports memorabilia is fun to check out and the food was served quickly and tasted amazing. I love the spring chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent food, service and ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Consistently excellent food, service and bar. Well trained staff is always attentive. Fun atmosphere. Easy and safe to park.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not feel like the product is as goo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I do not feel like the product is as good as it was in the past few years. The ribs seem 'tougher' and many times are not served 'hot'. I am a born and bred Cincinnatian and love this restaurant, but I feel the more I visit the more I see the quality slipping.

I will still visit the restaurant, love their chips and bbq sauce. Hoping for a return to the 'old way' of rib preparation!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we are in Cincinnati we have ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every time we are in Cincinnati we have to plan lunch or dinner at The Boathouse. The service is always the best and the food is without a doubt always awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband is from the South and alays w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband is from the South and alays wanted to try the restaurant. Veryinto BBQ. He loved it! Th portions were a tad smallsmall, but good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

No question Montgomery Inn has great foo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

No question Montgomery Inn has great food. The interesting part is how the priority seating works. It allows you to be seated quicker ahead of walk-ins. What seems to take place is the science of doing this has not been perfected or too many walk-ins are put in line ahead of a "reservations". If you make a 7:30 reservation you would think a slight wait would push pass an 8:00pm one but it does. We were seated next to a part of 12!as they waited for two more to arrive. We were seated a little after 8 and the 2 missing people in the 14 person party arrived at 8:15. My experience has been unless everyone is there your party will not be seated. Having said that, given how loud they were it made sense. Our waiter Brian (I'm 99% sure that was the name( was excellent and very timely. He did an excellent job while he had the large party of 14 also.

In the most bizarre thing I ever heard did take place while waiting next to the check-in. Had my wife not also been witness I would think I was hearing things but I was able to confirm it was said. Two women approached the hostess and was inquiring about their party of nine as there time had also passed and their full party was there. The hostess explained that there are only certain areas where the tables can be placed to seat that many (that is true) but took it further and mentioned there was a party that was there so long that they have "tried everything to get this group of people to finish, even superstitious stuff like sprinkler salt around them". I don't know what is more bizarre, the fact that was stated or the two ladies didn't comment how strange that comment was. In short, it's not something that should be said to someone dinning in your restaurant as it does show disrespect. Prepare to wait, the food is good, service is good, the statements by the hostess should be ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Very disappointed in our experience. Whe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed in our experience. When one "reserves" a table on Open Table with the Mongomery Inn all you're getting is a "priority position on the wait list." This is unacceptable. OT needs to get with Mongomery Inn and either get real reservations or drop them as a booking partner. The manager "Jim" was indifferent and the host staff didn't care about our being frustrated. We ended up leaving without eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Booked on Open Table however had to wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Booked on Open Table however had to wait an additional 45 minutes to be seated. Disappointed..

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We heard about the great ribs and were n ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We heard about the great ribs and were not disappointed. Reservations are imperative. The rib special was of great value.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait, was told 10-20 minutes not co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Long wait, was told 10-20 minutes not comfortable waiting 30 plus minutes in the hall - bar area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We chose Montgomery Inn -The Original fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We chose Montgomery Inn -The Original for my future sister-in-law's bachelorette dinner because our next stop for the night was Go Bananas Comedy Club. I made a reservation online and the staff was great at following up on the reservation. I was more than impressed when the manager called day of to offer us a private room! Unfortunately we were coming from NKY and the traffic headed 75N was at a dead stop. I called the restaurant and let them know that the bride and a few others were stuck in traffic and would be late. The hostess assured me that everything was good and that they would get the guests that arrived on time to the room and have everything ready to go. 30 minutes late we finally get there. The hostess were rude. RUDE. The manager (not sure if it was the same one that offered the private room) was pushy/condescending and wouldn't let us enter the room until our entire party was there. Of course the other ladies had been stuck in the same traffic jam and we didn't get seated until after 6PM for our 5PM reservation. (This only upset me because I CALLED and was told differently, I understand that the restaurant has as much control over traffic as we do). The wait staff was great and the food was delicious. We only had an hour to order, eat and pay before the next party was arriving for the room and the waiter did an outstanding job! But the manager and the hostesses were HORRIBLE!!! They were especially awful to the first guest to arrive which happened to be my 19 year old daughter. They refused to sit her and embarrassed her to the point that she sat outside on a bench in the humidity until I arrived. I can not believe that a reputable business like Montgomery Inn would have such nasty personalities greeting guests!!!!!!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

We just moved back to Ohio and couldn't ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We just moved back to Ohio and couldn't wait to eat here! It has been years since we have eaten here. So what better place to celebrate your anniversary! Outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very pleased with our meals and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were very pleased with our meals and the service we received at this location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were put into a room with 2 large tab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were put into a room with 2 large table settings which made it rather loud. We were also put at a small table for 2 and there was lots of traffic from the kitchen which was not pleasant. There should not be tables along at wall at all. The food and service were very good. All in all, it was not as enjoyable as I have had in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ribs as usual were falling off the b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ribs as usual were falling off the bone and the sauce is wonderful. The duck was very dry. Avoid the duck, get the ribs and chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Family owned established bar b que resta ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Family owned established bar b que restaurant in lovely old neighborhood. Its a tradition for area locals and treat for visitors to Cincy. Delicious food, great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by waitstaff was good. Hostesses ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service by waitstaff was good. Hostesses were snobbish. For the price the food was poor. It does cost so one would expect more quality. Butterwas in cheap packets. Bread basket used a paper liner. The salt wouldn't work because it had been wet and clogged it. I will never eat there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I have not been to the Original Montgome ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have not been to the Original Montgomery Inn for over 20 years. The last time I was in Cinci I ate at the one on the river and was very disappointed. We were in town with friends for the Western Southern Open and decided to head to the Original. What a great experience. Great service, food was delicious. We had the Saratoga chips with the new Chipotle sauce and the original, which were both good. The onion strings were also a great choice as an appetizer. We had ribs (what else!) and there were great. Two in our group also had the spare ribs which were more meaty and also delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service! We go ever ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional food and service! We go every time we are in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ribs are always very good and consis ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The ribs are always very good and consistent. Great service and love the 3 for 33 deal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had my daughters 17 birthday party at Mo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

had my daughters 17 birthday party at Montgomery Inn at her request. we all were delighted with the service and the food. would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay. The ribs and pork we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was okay. The ribs and pork were good. The sides however were not the best. The broccoli was not very ripe and there was not very much of it. The Mac n cheese was also sub par. It was very bland, and there was almost no cheesy flavor to it. The wine we ordered seemed to taste like a bottle that had been opened for many days. It just tasted flat out old. I did not bring it to the attention of the restaurant because I did not care to even try another one.

On the other hand, the service was great, and the place looked in tip top shape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Dinner was great. We had ribs as usual. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner was great. We had ribs as usual. Love the 3 courses for $33. We had great service as well. We love Montgomery inn and will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.