About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for Groups (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Casual (26)
Authentic (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Historic (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Fun (20)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (11)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Private Room (8)
Great Beer (7)
Live Sports (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always visit in December with good fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We always visit in December with good friends and always get the same thing. It's always the treat to look at the menu and discuss possibilities but always choose the same darn things. Thanks for the wonderful sameness!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice. You can't go wrong ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a good choice. You can't go wrong with the ribs. Ever.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Customer recommended Montgomery Inn, bei ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Customer recommended Montgomery Inn, being from out of town I selected the Original location. We all had a short drive to get there but everyone said it was worth the drive. Those that have been to the other locations felt this is the best one overall.

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed fantastic service. Our waitr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We enjoyed fantastic service. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and exceptionally attentive. Food was excellent as always. Portions are large.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great environment. Cincinna ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, great environment. Cincinnati classic, must-have any time you're in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hostess was preoccupied with the phone e ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Hostess was preoccupied with the phone etc. after we arrived, had a reservation but we were put in

bar area.

She did not express the kind of greeting I would want from someone representing my restaurant and from the initial person making an impression.

There are so many choices of where you can spend your money at this price level.

Servers were excellent and attentive and saved the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Went for a family birthday (all adults) ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went for a family birthday (all adults) & had a table for ten. It was ready when we got there. Service was great, food was wonderful, and it was an all together great time.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montgomery Inn is a favorite of locals a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Montgomery Inn is a favorite of locals and traveling celebrities for good reason. The food is outstanding. I went with the original ribs...you could no doubt eat these without silverware they were so tender. The sauce is perfect. My friend had the rib/crab cake combo. There was actually a ton of crab in them. The ambience is wonderful, and the service is always perfection. I recommend this to anyone who wants a night out or is celebrating something special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times but this evening was the best so far. Everything clicked....our server was EXCELLENT, food great, and we LOVED where we were seated. We prefer this location to the Boathouse - so glad we went with our instincts.

Thank you for a great way to celebrate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great atmosphere and out ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere and outstanding service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location and charming ambiance. Se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great location and charming ambiance. Service was quick and accommodating. Food was very good. My brisket was a little fattier than I wanted but the taste of the food overall and the sauce made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and unparalleled service

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and unparalleled service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large corporate group (15), and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a large corporate group (15), and they accommodated us very well. Service was great, and as always, the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was excellent, the service grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent, the service great, It was busy on a Saturday evening but we had reservations which we seated close to when the reservation was set for. No complaints what so-ever.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town just for the night and h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were in town just for the night and had to have dinner at our favorite rib place, The Montgomery Inn. We made a reservation on Open Table, which is smart for a Saturday night. We still waited about 15 minutes but that was fine. There is so much memorabilia around to look at. The place was packed at 7:30 on a Saturday night, but our waitress was very calm, friendly and got our drinks fast. We all ordered the ribs, of course, and they were the best I can remember having. We used to come to Cincinnati quite often in the late '80's and early '90's. Mongomery Inn ribs were one of our favorites, and after our dinner there last weekend, they still are!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an okay meal but priced way too h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was an okay meal but priced way too high for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good but considerably over ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good but considerably overpriced for what you received...not a great value. They pump out the food and do not pay attention to the specifics of your requests. Food came out barely warm at best.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding food; servers are pros. Mon ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food; servers are pros. Montgomery Inn has been a reliable choice for a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russ did a great job, very funny and fri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Russ did a great job, very funny and friendly! He let us ride the horse, gitty-up!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and so was the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was fantastic and so was the service, Birthday dinner table for 8 was ready when we got there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the king-slab of pork ribs an ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed the king-slab of pork ribs and loved them...as always.

I think these were more tender / fall of the bone, than I ever remember.

Note on gift cards, if you buy them the same day, be sure to bring the little redemption receipt with you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I always enjoy eating at Montgomery inn. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I always enjoy eating at Montgomery inn..the service is fantastic and all requests were handled greatly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So very very disappointing. I have been ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

So very very disappointing. I have been to this location on many many occasions. Have never been as disappointed as I was on Saturday night. The waiter was nothing short of rude (John) and the food was lukewarm, the salad was not freshly made. You could tell it had been sitting for hours pre-made. We were seated in an upstairs dining room and the service was terrible. The waiter got our order wrong and wanted to blame us. The manager was out in the hall on the phone cussing at the staff downstairs in clear earshot of our dining room. The prices have risen to almost outrageous for the amount of food you receive. It will be a long long time before I return to Montgomery Inn. Normally you are treated will and the food is always consistent. Not this time !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is incredibly overrated, I have had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is incredibly overrated, I have had better ribs at Smokey Bones for half the price. This is one of those places where the reputation far exceeds the reality. I paid $70 for two people for dinner (which Ill never hesitate to do if the food is good) but I got tough ribs where they just dumped the sauce over them. Must be a local thing, because I just don't get it. WAY OVERRATED.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was ok, the place is nice, but, ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was ok, the place is nice, but, overall, for a place with a great reputation it was a bit of a disappointment. Nothing real special in terms of the BBQ. Service was slow and the food was not hot when it was served. It was actually fairly mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Been eating at Montgomery Inn for 50+ y ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Been eating at Montgomery Inn for 50+ years. Obviously, I love it. The onion straws are the best I have ever had anywhere. The ribs are great, but I actually prefer the Shrimp Cantonese. And their blue cheese dressing is to die for. Overall, it's just a great place to eat.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! Unfortunately the ki ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was great! Unfortunately the kitchen charred the bottom side of my pork chop but the server and manager were both very apologetic and took my whole dinner off the bill. Everything else we ordered was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Just love the ribs here. The best there ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Just love the ribs here. The best there is. The entire meal was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We are from northern Indiana and heard a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We are from northern Indiana and heard about the ribs, yes they were awesome!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I am 86 years old and the Montgomery Rib ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I am 86 years old and the Montgomery Rib King is just as good today as it was on my first visit in 1951

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ribs and the 2 for $20 is a good v ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great ribs and the 2 for $20 is a good value.The service is also very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been in several years because ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We hadn't been in several years because it wasn't that good last time, but thought it would be fun after the Bengals game to do a Cincinnati tradition. The server told us about the new ribs they offer that are "smoky, more tender, more meat". My husband tried them and didn't like them. He didn't care for the smoky taste and they were not as tender as he hoped. The chicken was very delicious and tender. The Saratoga chips are the best chips ever and the BBQ sauce is always the best. We were in a small room where the tables are "C" shaped so it felt like we didn't have any privacy.

The food is overpriced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We took our son and girlfriend to Montgo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We took our son and girlfriend to Montgomery Inn while they were in town. It was Saturday night; so it was crowded. We had reservation, but still waited about 20 minutes. Once we sat down; the waiter came and took our drink and food order. The food is very good. I would say most excellent. We had one of the daily specials; the Big Ted Platter, Pork Chops, and Crab Cakes. Their homemade potato chips/w sauce are excellent also. Great night and our son and girlfriend were very happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service is always excellent! The food i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service is always excellent! The food is top notch! The atmosphere, and menu selection, is always accommodating, and classic! Not a better place , in the country to eat ribs , at!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was better at the origi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food and service was better at the original location than the Boathouse. Ribs were moist at the original location on a Sunday night compared to dry and overcooked at the Boathouse on a Friday night. No reason to take family to Boathouse - much better to take to original location and drive along the river for the view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has long been a family f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This restaurant has long been a family favorite! Never had a bad meal or experience there!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visitor from California....lo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

First time visitor from California....love pork so that was why we ate here. Waitress was attentive and informative about menu. The food was to die for...especially the pork ribs and pork chops....loved the Saratoga chips, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Request for table off busy path was not ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Request for table off busy path was not initially honored by hostess even though clearly available. Our Server did offer after we were seated and mentioned it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a nice sweetest day dinner f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for a nice sweetest day dinner for a party of two. They sat us upstairs in a tiny room full of children. Not what I had hoped for, so keep that in mind if you eat with someone you may want to talk to during dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The ribs are outstanding and the atmosp ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The ribs are outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.