About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (132)
special occasion (122)
neighborhood gem (89)
See All
fit for foodies (82)
kid-friendly (63)
great for lunch (62)
hot spot (40)
romantic (38)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best ribs around

Dined 4 days ago

I have been to The Montgomery Inn at least 50 times. Never had anything to complain about and I am a known complainer.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had went to the Montgomery Inn years ago and the food was outstanding! Not so much this time. The food was good but we were expecting great to outstanding for the price. The restaurant is upscale and real nice - loved the sports items from jerseys to helmets to baseballs - but the food was just good.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Poor service, overpriced

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food quality is very average. Overpriced for the amount of food you receive. The wine list is poor. Nothing you can' t buy at Kroger. Our salad came out quickly with the bread. We then waited 40 minutes for our dinner. We had a gift card. I would not spend my hard earned money to eat there in the future.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a large group (16) on a Friday ni ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a large group (16) on a Friday night. I was very worried that we would be crammed into the general restaurant area and not comfortable. We were thrilled to find they had put us in a small banquet room upstairs. We had a dedicated server, were able to talk to each other and just had an awesome time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was just so-so, a water refill a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was just so-so, a water refill and hand wipes would have been nice. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, great food, service and atmosp ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As usual, great food, service and atmosphere. Perfect for our group of business colleagues.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent as always

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Made a reservation for 6:15 and had to w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:15 and had to wait until 7 before we were seated while I watched as other people were seated before me. And as I was being seated after waiting 45 minutes with a reservation, I saw 8 open tables.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nancy's review

Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband and I took our grand in there after picking him up from Moeller as a treat. Great ribs. Never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

As usual the food at Montgomery Inn was ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

As usual the food at Montgomery Inn was fantastic, We brought an out of town guest there to share a taste of Cincinnati. Our only complaint was that it took a really long time to get our entrees. Our server informed us 3 times that it would be out "shortly". A group that was seated after us received their food at least 10 minutes before we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice Mother's Day dinner. Open Tabl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice Mother's Day dinner. Open Table worked great, seated right on time. Good good and a good time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Family Mother's Day dinner. We were seat ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Family Mother's Day dinner. We were seated at the time of our reservation. Great BBQ!! And plenty of it. Had to take some home. Good for lunch the next day. Service was perfect. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

I always love the food! The service was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I always love the food! The service was excellent also. We went on Mother's Day around 12:30 and 8 of us were seated in a banquet area alone. It was super nice and quiet. Even as other parties started filling the room, it wasn't too loud and we enjoyed our time together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent great food & service! Giant T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistent great food & service! Giant TV screen kept the boys happily entertained. Tables nicely spaced to give you room to move and hear your table's conversation. Beautiful surroundings, clean & well maintained.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montgomery Inn akways good

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Went for a combined Mothers Day and Birthday. Food was great and plenty to eat. Our server, Mindy, did an excellent job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was slower than usual maybe due ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was slower than usual maybe due to it being Mother's Day weekend. I ordered the 3 for $33 special. The ribs did not fall off the bone at all. Very dry and lacked the seasoning or rub I have enjoyed on previous occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely paced meal, great food and servi ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Nicely paced meal, great food and service, kid friendly

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent pulled pork and chicken

Dined on April 30, 2016

In addition to always great ribs the pulled pork and pulled chicken were fantastic

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

Returning to Cincinnati after being gone for 18 years, it was great to visit Montgomery Inn again for some great ribs with excellent service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy dining at Montgomery Inn

Dined on April 23, 2016

Montgomery Inn is the perfect place to take out of town visitors for a unique to Cincinnati meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ribs, Saratoga Chips and onion str ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great ribs, Saratoga Chips and onion straws.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our meal was excellent, as always. I want to give kudos to our excellent server, Janet. She took great care of us and was very entertaining without disturbing us. When we go again, we will ask for her!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Montgomery Inn - Never Disappoints

Dined on April 16, 2016

We took a day trip from Indy to Cincinnati. (A great city.) Had coney's at Price Hill Chili, our first visit there, we like to try a different chili spot each time, and we were very pleased. Can't wait to go back there. Then, on to the Flower show, which was in a nice spot, but for $20, kind of a let down. Then a visit to Jungle Jim's. LOTS of choices, maybe too many, and kind of pricey, but interesting. Finally, dinner at the original Montgomery Inn. Wow, can they cook up some ribs and chicken. Along with their signature sauce, hard to beat. Love the place. Service, atmosphere, food, pricing, all good. Only thing I would ask them to work on would be the wine list. They need more red wine options.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Ribs were amazing as usual !

Dined on April 15, 2016

Ribs were amazing as usual !

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great staff, short wait to b ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food, great staff, short wait to be seated. Great experience overall.

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Wait

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had to wait 40 minutes to be seated with a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Montgomery Inn

Dined on April 8, 2016

I always love going to Montgomery Inn. It was a great place to celebrate my birthday. Good food and the price was right. Great service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Very disappointed!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was mediocre and expensive. Ordered shrimp and crabcake combo- the shrimp was cold and there was one less than medium sized crabcake for almost $30. Brisket was dry and possible reheated from the day before. Very diappointing!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful food! My husband ate here on a previous Cincinnati visit and wanted to go again, I'm so glad we did! Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. The place was packed. Serv ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food. The place was packed. Service was also very good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ribs- excellent service

Dined on March 26, 2016

We hadn't been back to Montgomery Inn for a couple of years due to the poor service we had gotten at our last visit there. Decided to "try again" this past weekend. The ribs are still Cincinnati's best as well as the classic tomatoey BBQ sauce and the Saratoga chips. We had an amazing server Steve J. who knew when to bring everything and drinks very quickly. He is a gem ! Think we will come back more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Ribs

Dined on March 26, 2016

If you love bbq ribs this is the place to go. I had not been there in years and everything tasted just as good as I remembered it being.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 23, 2016

I have eaten at Montgomery Inn numerous times. The food is always good and the service is great. Good place for family or group of friends or just 2.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, formal, and delicious

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have enjoyed this place for years. More of a formal dining experience for romantic dinners, celebration of birthdays or promotions etc. Quiet atmosphere and delicious chicken, steak, and porkchops- of course their notable bbq sauce is out of this world. Our waiter overheard one of us saying "Choose your glass of wine; it is your birthday" and brought a lit chocolate eclaire for dessert with a personal Happy Birthday from him. Classy touch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The best ribs. All that matters.

Dined on March 19, 2016

The best ribs. All that matters.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wrap with rib meat - very good at reasonable price

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was classic Montgomery Inn - had wrap stuffed with rib meat and chip - food was very good at a lesser price than rack of ribs

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on March 16, 2016

The ribs were not as tender as usual. Service was good. Disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Killer Ribs...Need I say more?

Dined on March 15, 2016

I hadn't been there in a very long time. BUt I've always told my friends and acquaintances alike about this place. And it did not disappoint. It was so very yummolicious. I cleaned my plate. And the services was warm and friendly just as I had remembered.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While entertaining

Dined on March 13, 2016

Well entertaining a friend who is here from New York… The restaurant, food, service and decorations surroundings were all impeccable

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Classic

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Continues to provide the classic Montgomery Inn food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.