About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

good for groups (116)
special occasion (104)
neighborhood gem (77)
See All
fit for foodies (62)
great for lunch (56)
kid-friendly (55)
hot spot (30)
romantic (23)
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2

Poor service. Nasty front desk girl.

Dined 4 days ago

Poor service. Nasty front desk girl.

food5
ambience5
service5

We have a great dinner! Our appetizer wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have a great dinner! Our appetizer was delicious (pulled pork nachos) and our dinner came out quickly! Great service from our waitress as well! We'll definitely be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The folks at The Montgomery Inn. They ac ...

Dined 4 days ago

The folks at The Montgomery Inn. They accommodated a huge party on short notice (15 of which were hungry teenage baseball players). Everyone loved the food and atmosphere. Next time we are in the area whether it bit with the family or another large group, The Montgomery Inn will be a mandatory stop.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Our server did a t ...

Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service! Our server did a terrific job and we shared our compliments with the manager. She had tons of personality and added such a fun touch to our evening. They had a special which I chose: entree, salad and dessert for $33.00. My husband had the ribs and shrimp combo. He loved it! We had a great night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent just enough presen ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent just enough presence of server. Quick delivery of food but no rush overall a great experience. Always great to return there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Was very disappointed with overall food. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was very disappointed with overall food. All sides were cold. My potatoe wouldn't even melt the butter . my husband wouldn't complain he just wanted to leave. The service was extrememly great do not think will ever come back

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our only complaint was that we Looked on ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our only complaint was that we Looked online at 9 am and we had the option to make a reservation. We made one for 6:45 pm. When we arrived we were told that there would be a 30 minute wait and that they didn't take reservations. But, they did have my name on this list when I checked in at the hostess desk. We went to the bar and waited to be buzzed for our reservation. We had a great waitress and the food was delicious.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Got seated immediately upon arriving. Wa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Got seated immediately upon arriving. Waiter was outstanding--quick but you didn't feel rushed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montgomery Inn is like an "Old Classic C ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Montgomery Inn is like an "Old Classic Car"....never disappoints!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

THE FOOD WAS AVERAGE THE SERVICE WAS AVE ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

THE FOOD WAS AVERAGE THE SERVICE WAS AVERAGE. I HAVE HAD WAY BETTER RIBS AND SERVICE FOR 30 DOLLARS. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN LUNCH.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and of ample quan ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was delicious and of ample quantity and the service was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better server than David who met our every need with great care, precision, and congeniality. The margarita I was served was excellent. (So many places can't seem to get their margaritas right.) This set the tone for a wonderful meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always exceptions! Best ribs ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is always exceptions! Best ribs around.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Brought out of state visitor for a great ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Brought out of state visitor for a great food on 6/12. Food was excellent as usual. Server was good but there was a plastic piece in our daughter's food. She found it at last bite and server brought it up to her manager. Manager came and all she said was "We took it off from your bill, Do you want anything else?" and that's all she said. No apology, no courtesy concerns, or asking how everything else was and wish us to come back again. Very disappointed with manager's manner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but loud

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our waiter, Mat, was very good at his job but his voice carried throughout the entire room. A conversation with the other table was quite embarrassing for the patrons. A gift card was being used and an issue about activation was being addressed. This should have been a private conversation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

A little disappointed with our table. It was in the bar area near the entrance, so a very high traffic volume . Would have preferred a quieter booth in the restaurant area. Other than that, the food was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best ribs anywhere!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Love these ribs! It's been a few years since we've eaten there but they never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ribs are out of this world!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We were out there with our family celebrating a special occasion. The food was excellent (ribs...and more ribs)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the boathouse the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We have been going to the boathouse the last three years. But one should only have to put up with cold food and very bad service for so long. Our unlike ken, loves Montgomery inn so we bit the bullet. We thought we would give the original one a shot, we're all glad we did. The food was hot, service was great yea he's we will be back. Thank you for making a special time very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was simply superb!!!! Coul ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our waitress was simply superb!!!! Couldn't ask for anymore.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and ribs were great as ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful service and ribs were great as always! So thankful to have done the open table as it gave me piece of mind to have spot in line ahead of the walk in crowd!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best ribs around

Dined on May 25, 2016

I have been to The Montgomery Inn at least 50 times. Never had anything to complain about and I am a known complainer.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had went to the Montgomery Inn years ago and the food was outstanding! Not so much this time. The food was good but we were expecting great to outstanding for the price. The restaurant is upscale and real nice - loved the sports items from jerseys to helmets to baseballs - but the food was just good.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Poor service, overpriced

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food quality is very average. Overpriced for the amount of food you receive. The wine list is poor. Nothing you can' t buy at Kroger. Our salad came out quickly with the bread. We then waited 40 minutes for our dinner. We had a gift card. I would not spend my hard earned money to eat there in the future.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a large group (16) on a Friday ni ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a large group (16) on a Friday night. I was very worried that we would be crammed into the general restaurant area and not comfortable. We were thrilled to find they had put us in a small banquet room upstairs. We had a dedicated server, were able to talk to each other and just had an awesome time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was just so-so, a water refill a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was just so-so, a water refill and hand wipes would have been nice. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, great food, service and atmosp ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As usual, great food, service and atmosphere. Perfect for our group of business colleagues.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent as always

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Made a reservation for 6:15 and had to w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:15 and had to wait until 7 before we were seated while I watched as other people were seated before me. And as I was being seated after waiting 45 minutes with a reservation, I saw 8 open tables.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nancy's review

Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband and I took our grand in there after picking him up from Moeller as a treat. Great ribs. Never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

As usual the food at Montgomery Inn was ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

As usual the food at Montgomery Inn was fantastic, We brought an out of town guest there to share a taste of Cincinnati. Our only complaint was that it took a really long time to get our entrees. Our server informed us 3 times that it would be out "shortly". A group that was seated after us received their food at least 10 minutes before we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice Mother's Day dinner. Open Tabl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice Mother's Day dinner. Open Table worked great, seated right on time. Good good and a good time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Family Mother's Day dinner. We were seat ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Family Mother's Day dinner. We were seated at the time of our reservation. Great BBQ!! And plenty of it. Had to take some home. Good for lunch the next day. Service was perfect. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

I always love the food! The service was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I always love the food! The service was excellent also. We went on Mother's Day around 12:30 and 8 of us were seated in a banquet area alone. It was super nice and quiet. Even as other parties started filling the room, it wasn't too loud and we enjoyed our time together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent great food & service! Giant T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistent great food & service! Giant TV screen kept the boys happily entertained. Tables nicely spaced to give you room to move and hear your table's conversation. Beautiful surroundings, clean & well maintained.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montgomery Inn akways good

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Went for a combined Mothers Day and Birthday. Food was great and plenty to eat. Our server, Mindy, did an excellent job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was slower than usual maybe due ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was slower than usual maybe due to it being Mother's Day weekend. I ordered the 3 for $33 special. The ribs did not fall off the bone at all. Very dry and lacked the seasoning or rub I have enjoyed on previous occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

BEST Ribs in AMERICA!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Have been in and out of Cincinnati for the past twenty years and get back once a year for a family visit and have only one destination in mind on my arrival, full meal of course, otherwise there is Greater's or Skyline for a quick bite. The RIBS are the only item I eat and can say they taste the same each and every year I go back! Consistency is unbelievable and can taste the barbeque sauce even as I right this review! No better place for ribs in America!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely paced meal, great food and servi ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Nicely paced meal, great food and service, kid friendly

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent pulled pork and chicken

Dined on April 30, 2016

In addition to always great ribs the pulled pork and pulled chicken were fantastic

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

Returning to Cincinnati after being gone for 18 years, it was great to visit Montgomery Inn again for some great ribs with excellent service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.