About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Casual (34)
Historic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Authentic (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (24)
Family Style (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Private Room (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Live Sports (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Dancing (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hadn't been to Montgomery Inn in years a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Hadn't been to Montgomery Inn in years and was pleased to find that they had added smoked ribs to the menu. They were perfect!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Live music by Anna and the Deeper Well i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Live music by Anna and the Deeper Well in the lounge was outstanding. Dinner afterwards of ribs and pork chops was excellent. The entire evening was very enjoyable.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great last minute reservation and when w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great last minute reservation and when we arrived it was only a 15 minute wait . We walked around looking at the memorabilia stuff on the walls until we were beeped. The service was perfect and we couldn't have been more pleased expecially for it being a Friday evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally the ribs are terrific. On this ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Normally the ribs are terrific. On this occasion, they were very tough and dry. The server took them back. The second set were better but still not up to normal standards. The server did give us a free desert to share. This visit was disappointing but not the norm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress, Wendy, was very friendly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress, Wendy, was very friendly and personable. We had a great time. There was a party of about 12 people that were laughing at the top of their lungs, and while it's nice to see people having fun it was a little loud. I ordered the original ribs and while they were good, they weren't great. They were a little well done to the point of the meat was starting to harden a little and there were hard bits.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been dining at Montgomery Inn for y ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been dining at Montgomery Inn for years. It is never disappointing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a family birthday and had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated a family birthday and had a great evening. Food was great and everyone was happy. There was a rib special of all you can eat so the restaurant was pretty busy and servers seemed to be a bit stressed but they were all still very attentive and polite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

WONDERFUL!!!! The service and food was g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

WONDERFUL!!!! The service and food was great. We never had to wait long for our food. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not their best showing...8:15 reservatio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Not their best showing...8:15 reservations - seated at 8:45. When asked they said the reservations don't mean anything. We were at a table right on the main walkway- and constantly had a chill. Not enough room for our food on the table- and the food was overdone (ribs) or underdone (straws). Not a good value for over $120 for a family of four. Will think twice before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

On a date for my anniversary. Had a rese ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

On a date for my anniversary. Had a reservation for 6:15p.m. we had to wait a few minutes past but nothing excessive. We were seated and greeted almost immediately. Our waiter, I forget his name, had great service skills and gave recommendations for the menu. We placed our order and the food came very quick and was hot and delicious. Spent arpund 90 minutes in the restaurant. The valet for my car was speedy. Overall, great experience and 10/10 will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was near outside entrance, so ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our table was near outside entrance, so every time the door was opened, we got a cold draft. Food was ok for the price

Paid $2.99 to add a salad to the meal, it was not worth the additional price

Tags: Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Date night with the husband and it was n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Date night with the husband and it was nice. We enjoyed the food and the beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They were running a rib special and thei ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They were running a rib special and their ribs were extremely tough and not the usual fall of the bone. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Probably the most famous of all the Cinc ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Probably the most famous of all the Cincinnati eateries, Montgomery Inn is a solid bet for some tasty food.

If you like your ribs to show up covered in sauce, order the original - everyone else at my table did and they loved it. The sauce is good, but I'm especially glad you can get the ribs smoked; the sauce comes on the side and there's plenty if you want to slather them up. They were fall off the bone tender, very tasty, and not a million dollars like they are at some other rib joints.

If you're in Cincinnati for the first time, this is must-do. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, fabulous service, food w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great location, fabulous service, food was just OK... but all in all a great place for meetings and gatherings!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to celebrate a birthday and it w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday and it was a chaotic experience. We made reservations for 7:00 and had to wait an hour to be seated. Then, our table service was just as bad. The Cantonese shrimp appetizer came quickly but they were served in a puddle of grease. This may not sound like a big deal because they are fried, but the lettuce was literally floating on the plate and the batter was soggy. Then we waited over another hour for our food. The waitress did not refill drinks or come back to check on us during that time. When our food arrived it was all room temperature/cold. Even the hot fudge on our desert was still cold and thick. Overall, it was a lackluster experience and didn't feel like the staff was taking care of the customers and the kitchen was serving subpar cold food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

We have dined at this location many time ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have dined at this location many times, twice in the last 6 weeks. Once for lunch and the other for a business dinner. Our service was terrible to say the least, our server was a young man who was working at least 6 other 4-6 person parties and he just could not keep up. He took the order of the 1st person of our 8 person party and left the table. He was literally gone for 10 minutes, came back and just started with the second person as if nothing had happened. Fifty percent of the time our drink glasses were empty, and our food was warm at best. I'm sure the food would have been great as usual if it had been delivered when it was ready. One of the gentlemen in our party ordered the special of the night and as they were serving us our dinners the young man came up and said that the salmon had been 86ed. All but one of us had our food and the one without watched us eat until his second order arrived. Very disappointed! This is not the Montgomery Inn we are use too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a preferred seating reservation, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a preferred seating reservation, but it still took more than 45 minutes to be seated after we arrived. Then there was another very lengthy wait for our food to arrive. This is not what I'm used to at Montgomery Inn.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Historic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We used open table for reservations but ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We used open table for reservations but were told it was only for priority seating. It was 1/2 hr before we were seated. We were then seated in the bar area which was very loud and very very slow service for us and the surrounding tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It's been a while since we've dined at M ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's been a while since we've dined at Montgomery Inn but everything is still as I remember. An enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We love to take our kids to Montgomery I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love to take our kids to Montgomery Inn and planned to take them there for New Years Eve. We found out when we got there that the "reservation" we made on Open Table was not a reservation but a way for us to get on the Preferred Seating List once we got there at 8:00. This meant that we would wait half of the time of whatever the normal wait time was when we came in. We were told that it would be an hour wait. This was very disappointed for our very hungry crew as it was not the expectation for any of us and was not spelled out in the Open Table listing for Montgomery Inn. I would suggest that either Montgomery Inn needs to make this very clear on Open Table or they need to stop listing it as a reservation when it is in fact not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, awesome atmosphere, good peo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, awesome atmosphere, good people and exceptional service...Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food and a nice bar area, but res ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Decent food and a nice bar area, but reservation policy (your reservation simply gets you on a list before walk ins) does not meet expectation. Even with a reservation we waited for minutes for a table.

Good ribs, but not the best in Cincinnati.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I was not happy considering I had made a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was not happy considering I had made a "reservation" online for NYE and then was advised upon arrival that the restaurant doesn't take reservations but instead places your name on a list for "priority seating" in case there is a wait. We ended up waiting 30 minutes. I don't go to restaurants that don't take reservations on holidays or weekends because I don't have the patience to wait 30-45 minutes to be seated for a meal. The only reason we didn't leave after 15 minutes is because it was NYE and I knew every restaurant would be packed at 7:30pm. I was annoyed and probably will not return to dine at Montgomery Inn. My advise is to either accept valid reservations where guests are seated upon arrival...or don't. Don't confuse diners by having the option to "Make a Reservation" online but it's not really a reservation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Kinda disappointed, drinks were too expe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Kinda disappointed, drinks were too expensive. They put us in a cozy nook/booth for 2 but it quickly became too small when entree arrived before salad/appetizers were done. Waitress even apologized that the food came out too early (ummm isn't that something she should watch for?) Food was Excellent but when you drop $150 on dinner/drinks for 2 you want to "feel a little more love" from the establishment. I've been at Skyline Chili's that have better service....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

FYI - according to the manager when we a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

FYI - according to the manager when we arrived, Montgomery Inn "does not honor reservations". Please remove from Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Montgomery Inn is a good place for r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Montgomery Inn is a good place for ribs in Cincinnati. However, having a 6:30 reservation, we had to wait over 30 minutes for a table. Other diners told us they were told they had a 90 minute wait even with a reservation. I understand being busy on New Year's Eve, but you shouldn't take reservations if you are not actually going to reserve tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We usually love Montgomery Inn and have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We usually love Montgomery Inn and have a fine experience. However, this time, we did not stay for our reservation. There was an hour and a half hour wait, and we were informed our reservation was more of a 'priority seating' than actually reserving a table. We dined at a different restaurant across the street. It should have been incredible clear that we were not in fact actually making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Montgomery Inn should be removed from op ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Montgomery Inn should be removed from open table as they do not take reservations! We arrived for our 6:15 reservation on NYE to be told we'd have to wait an additional hour an a half. They said their were 12 twosomes ahead of us! It was not at all what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Had an reservation at 6:00pm and did not ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an reservation at 6:00pm and did not get a table until like 7:50 almost 8:00 pm but everything else was great. The server was nice and polite. The food was extraordinary. The scenery in the restaurants was all nice and clean

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 5:30 pm and had a 5:45 pm ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 pm and had a 5:45 pm appointment for New Year's Eve dinner; we did not get seated until 6:35 pm. I thought Open Table standards included being seated in a timely manner. This was disappointing since our previous experience with Open Table has been reliable with on time seating.

Also the young woman at the door was snobby to those checking in, and Sophie, the girl who brought us to our table did not know where our table was located and seemed inattentive - no personality.

The kitchen did not prepare my salad as requested (dressing on the side) - I could not eat much of it since it was doused in dressing.

Our waitress, Joey, was wonderful and the exact opposite of those young women who appeared to be uncaring.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Made reservations for NYE because all of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Made reservations for NYE because all of the other restaurants were already booked. When we got there, the hostess wrote our name down on a sheet that said "walk-in" and we had to wait 45 minutes for a table. The waiter was very good, but the kitchen did lose our food ticket, so we had to wait another 45 minutes for our meals. We were comped desserts, and the food was as good as usual, but this was a frustrating experience. I will likely not go to Montgomery Inn again for a special event.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

New Years Eve date with my husband. Full ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve date with my husband. Fully expected it to be busy, but I also completely forgot when making reservations that you're making reservations to reserve a spot in line. We waited an hour before being sat in a tiny room with no ambient noise. Could hear every conversation had between each couple in the room. Sports were on and it lacked the romantic getaway feel my husband and I were looking for. We don't go out much due to having a young child, to me this was a let-down. Food was great, service was excellent. Hindsight being 20/20 we should have gone somewhere else for our NYE date night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Outstanding as always. Great service and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding as always. Great service and the best ribs around.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though I had call ahead seating for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Even though I had call ahead seating for NYE we still only had a short wait.

Big crowd great food never disappointed and was accommodated by a 1st floor table as requested.

Love it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If you haven't tried Montgomery Inn, you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you haven't tried Montgomery Inn, you need to add it to the bucket list!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal here! Love the ribs an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Never a bad meal here! Love the ribs and all else.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drive from Dayton to eat here because ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We drive from Dayton to eat here because the food and service is outstanding. We also appreciate being able to call ahead for reservations.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation time was 4:30 pm, got seated ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Reservation time was 4:30 pm, got seated at 4:25 pm. Good food, good service, good atmosphere, on New Years Eve 2016.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.