About The Montgomery Inn - Original

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (132)
Special Occasion (131)
Neighborhood Gem (89)
See All
Fit for Foodies (63)
Great for Lunch (61)
Kid-friendly (57)
Romantic (31)
Hot Spot (27)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we are in Cincinnati we have ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Every time we are in Cincinnati we have to plan lunch or dinner at The Boathouse. The service is always the best and the food is without a doubt always awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband is from the South and alays w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband is from the South and alays wanted to try the restaurant. Veryinto BBQ. He loved it! Th portions were a tad smallsmall, but good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

No question Montgomery Inn has great foo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

No question Montgomery Inn has great food. The interesting part is how the priority seating works. It allows you to be seated quicker ahead of walk-ins. What seems to take place is the science of doing this has not been perfected or too many walk-ins are put in line ahead of a "reservations". If you make a 7:30 reservation you would think a slight wait would push pass an 8:00pm one but it does. We were seated next to a part of 12!as they waited for two more to arrive. We were seated a little after 8 and the 2 missing people in the 14 person party arrived at 8:15. My experience has been unless everyone is there your party will not be seated. Having said that, given how loud they were it made sense. Our waiter Brian (I'm 99% sure that was the name( was excellent and very timely. He did an excellent job while he had the large party of 14 also.

In the most bizarre thing I ever heard did take place while waiting next to the check-in. Had my wife not also been witness I would think I was hearing things but I was able to confirm it was said. Two women approached the hostess and was inquiring about their party of nine as there time had also passed and their full party was there. The hostess explained that there are only certain areas where the tables can be placed to seat that many (that is true) but took it further and mentioned there was a party that was there so long that they have "tried everything to get this group of people to finish, even superstitious stuff like sprinkler salt around them". I don't know what is more bizarre, the fact that was stated or the two ladies didn't comment how strange that comment was. In short, it's not something that should be said to someone dinning in your restaurant as it does show disrespect. Prepare to wait, the food is good, service is good, the statements by the hostess should be ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Very disappointed in our experience. Whe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed in our experience. When one "reserves" a table on Open Table with the Mongomery Inn all you're getting is a "priority position on the wait list." This is unacceptable. OT needs to get with Mongomery Inn and either get real reservations or drop them as a booking partner. The manager "Jim" was indifferent and the host staff didn't care about our being frustrated. We ended up leaving without eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Booked on Open Table however had to wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Booked on Open Table however had to wait an additional 45 minutes to be seated. Disappointed..

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We heard about the great ribs and were n ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We heard about the great ribs and were not disappointed. Reservations are imperative. The rib special was of great value.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait, was told 10-20 minutes not co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Long wait, was told 10-20 minutes not comfortable waiting 30 plus minutes in the hall - bar area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We chose Montgomery Inn -The Original fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

We chose Montgomery Inn -The Original for my future sister-in-law's bachelorette dinner because our next stop for the night was Go Bananas Comedy Club. I made a reservation online and the staff was great at following up on the reservation. I was more than impressed when the manager called day of to offer us a private room! Unfortunately we were coming from NKY and the traffic headed 75N was at a dead stop. I called the restaurant and let them know that the bride and a few others were stuck in traffic and would be late. The hostess assured me that everything was good and that they would get the guests that arrived on time to the room and have everything ready to go. 30 minutes late we finally get there. The hostess were rude. RUDE. The manager (not sure if it was the same one that offered the private room) was pushy/condescending and wouldn't let us enter the room until our entire party was there. Of course the other ladies had been stuck in the same traffic jam and we didn't get seated until after 6PM for our 5PM reservation. (This only upset me because I CALLED and was told differently, I understand that the restaurant has as much control over traffic as we do). The wait staff was great and the food was delicious. We only had an hour to order, eat and pay before the next party was arriving for the room and the waiter did an outstanding job! But the manager and the hostesses were HORRIBLE!!! They were especially awful to the first guest to arrive which happened to be my 19 year old daughter. They refused to sit her and embarrassed her to the point that she sat outside on a bench in the humidity until I arrived. I can not believe that a reputable business like Montgomery Inn would have such nasty personalities greeting guests!!!!!!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

We just moved back to Ohio and couldn't ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

We just moved back to Ohio and couldn't wait to eat here! It has been years since we have eaten here. So what better place to celebrate your anniversary! Outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very pleased with our meals and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were very pleased with our meals and the service we received at this location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were put into a room with 2 large tab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were put into a room with 2 large table settings which made it rather loud. We were also put at a small table for 2 and there was lots of traffic from the kitchen which was not pleasant. There should not be tables along at wall at all. The food and service were very good. All in all, it was not as enjoyable as I have had in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ribs as usual were falling off the b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ribs as usual were falling off the bone and the sauce is wonderful. The duck was very dry. Avoid the duck, get the ribs and chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Family owned established bar b que resta ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Family owned established bar b que restaurant in lovely old neighborhood. Its a tradition for area locals and treat for visitors to Cincy. Delicious food, great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by waitstaff was good. Hostesses ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service by waitstaff was good. Hostesses were snobbish. For the price the food was poor. It does cost so one would expect more quality. Butterwas in cheap packets. Bread basket used a paper liner. The salt wouldn't work because it had been wet and clogged it. I will never eat there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I have not been to the Original Montgome ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have not been to the Original Montgomery Inn for over 20 years. The last time I was in Cinci I ate at the one on the river and was very disappointed. We were in town with friends for the Western Southern Open and decided to head to the Original. What a great experience. Great service, food was delicious. We had the Saratoga chips with the new Chipotle sauce and the original, which were both good. The onion strings were also a great choice as an appetizer. We had ribs (what else!) and there were great. Two in our group also had the spare ribs which were more meaty and also delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service! We go ever ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional food and service! We go every time we are in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ribs are always very good and consis ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The ribs are always very good and consistent. Great service and love the 3 for 33 deal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had my daughters 17 birthday party at Mo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

had my daughters 17 birthday party at Montgomery Inn at her request. we all were delighted with the service and the food. would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay. The ribs and pork we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was okay. The ribs and pork were good. The sides however were not the best. The broccoli was not very ripe and there was not very much of it. The Mac n cheese was also sub par. It was very bland, and there was almost no cheesy flavor to it. The wine we ordered seemed to taste like a bottle that had been opened for many days. It just tasted flat out old. I did not bring it to the attention of the restaurant because I did not care to even try another one.

On the other hand, the service was great, and the place looked in tip top shape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Dinner was great. We had ribs as usual. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner was great. We had ribs as usual. Love the 3 courses for $33. We had great service as well. We love Montgomery inn and will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! Servers were ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Servers were very very and made us feel at home - would highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food quality was excellent. The serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food quality was excellent. The service was exceptional. The whole staff was friendly and accommadating. This was our first experience at the original and prefer the graciousness of their staff over the Boathouse!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Montgomery Inn has turned into one of ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Montgomery Inn has turned into one of our go to places for special occasions. This was my daughters 10th birthday and this is where she wanted to go. The ribs were amazing as always. My entire family loves the thick and creamy bleu cheese dressing. My kids were dipping their ribs into the dressing they like it so much.

The wait staff was great. We were originally given a table in the middle of the restaurant but we prefer booths. We asked the host if there was a boot available and he explained the timing of the booths that may open up shortly. We decided to wait it out and ended up getting what we wanted in sooner than we expected.

Our waitress was very courteous and respectful of our gathering and arranged our meals to save us money.

Definitely a great place and we will return many times!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a nice meal on a Satur ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I had a nice meal on a Saturday evening. We both had the $33.00 , three course meal. I ordered the ribs and she had salmon as the main course. We both were satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food. Our sides of sweet baked potato and slaw were very good. A pinch of horse radish was in the slaw. I ordered a Bloody Mary drink. It was the weak point of the dinner. Average taste and could stand improvement in the WOW factor. I had to request olives and the celery stalk was a throwaway. The level of service was exceptional as teamwork seemed to be how they worked.

We were seated close to the kitchen door which was a little busy for my comfort because of the staff traffic . The parking may be tricky to find if you want to park yourself. Street parking is all we could find without valet services. The valet lot was valet only so you are kinda forced to use the service if you can't find a street spot. Valet is only $3.00 and they are fast so it is not a big deal to have the service. Overall we enjoyed the dinner and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding as usual. Service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual. Service was unusual off. Usually never have a problem. The other issue was we were put in the sport box. Sounded good until we got there. This was an off the beaten path little cubby like area. Had screaming kids next to us and seem like itade us out of the way for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have always enjoyed coming to Montgom ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have always enjoyed coming to Montgomery Inn - mainly for my husband's birthday dinners over the years. He has always enjoyed their ribs. This year may actually be our last year going. Our server didn't put on his best show the night we went. He forgot to put in our appetizer order, we had to ask for refills on 3 occasions, he brought out the wrong dessert for my husband, and the whole time he had a bit of an attitude toward us. I always get the filet mignon when we go and it is quite pricey. In years past, it has always been one of my favorite steaks. This year, it was notably smaller than I recall and was well overcooked. I have always gotten the filet butterflied there - actually the first time I ever went it was actually recommended to me by the server to have it butterflied and it was a beautifully cooked steak and so delicious. This year, I had it butterflied and wanted it medium but it came out close to well done and when I said something to the server he said "yea well I wouldn't have had it butterflied if it were me." Right. He offered to have a new one made for me, and the manager even came over later and offered to have another one made for me as well, but I had my 17 month old son there with us and it just wasn't practical to wait for a new steak to be cooked - and our service was already very slow... in the end we were there for 2 hours from when we sat down to eat! So while I thought it was nice for the manager to come over and offer to make a new steak for me, they offered no other option to rectify the poor service received. So, in the past, we had loved Montgomery Inn... now, I'm thinking not. There are so many other amazing restaurants in the city that I'd like to try. Spending $130 on a dinner experience I don't really enjoy would just be painful. My husband does still like their ribs, though, so it's still possible that we may be back one day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Always a great place for special occasio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always a great place for special occasions, e.g., anniversary, birthday. and more. Good menu varieties, special flavor choices, not just a rib place, but that is why my wife likes to come here. We will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not worth the price, blue cheese dressin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Not worth the price, blue cheese dressing and Graeters ice cream were the highlights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Montgomery Inn is the go to BBQ place in ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Montgomery Inn is the go to BBQ place in the Cincinnati area. Those baby back ribs coated with a delicious sauce just fall off the bone. I recommend getting the full rack. Then finish dinner off with a large scoop of Graeter's ice cream for dessert. Perfection !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We decided to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We decided to celebrate a special occasion at The Original Montgomery Inn on a Sunday evening. Fair service rating due to it taking an extended time to place our order. Our server was kind, knowledgeable, and had good customer service. He just seemed to have a lot of tables at once. It could have had something to do with our reservation being at 6:15, middle of dinner on a Sunday night. The restaurant was fairly busy. Once the order was placed our appetizer and meals came out quickly. The entrees were excellent, the sides were less desirable. We ordered the traditional meats and would recommend someone order them as well. We could have done without the sides, baked potato and mac n cheese, that were ordered. The sides were not up to par for the price we paid. Overall, good rating; however, I would have much rather spent $60 towards eating at another upscale restaurant in the city.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

It took forever for us to get our water. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It took forever for us to get our water. I just kept being told he was coming with my water.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Goog food, great service. What else cou ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Goog food, great service. What else could you ask for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been at the Montgomery Inn for se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been at the Montgomery Inn for several occasions. The ribs are usually delicious even the simple plate of Saratoga chips is amazingly good. In my last visit, the ribs were not as soft as usual but they were good.

I enjoy the ambience as it feels like I am in museum with the amount of history and memorabilia that the original restaurant has.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place, great food, good time was h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place, great food, good time was had by all. Would recommend this restaurant highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We went here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday/last parents night out before our baby is born. I called ahead after making my reservation through open table to doubly check on my request for a private booth table and see if they did anything for birthdays. I was told on the phone we would get a private table and a free birthday dessert. When we got there we were seated next to the bar and the noise was so loud. Our waiter got our drink orders wrong and our waters were constantly empty. He never apologized for the mistakes. We also never got our birthday dessert, despite reminding them several times we were there for a special occasion. Save your money and go to City Barbecue. This was a waste of time and money and I wish I would have made reservations elsewhere. We definitely won't be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We were seated immediately ( actually go ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were seated immediately ( actually got there 10 minutes before our reservation time.) The server was very personable and checked back often. Our beverages were refilled without asking. The food was served quickly. We enjoyed the service, atmosphere, and the delicious food. It is always a pleasure to dine at the Original Montgomery Inn!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town to play golf at TPC with clients ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

In town to play golf at TPC with clients this was their first visit and everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Montgomery Inn is a local institutio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Montgomery Inn is a local institution that lives up to its fame -- plenty of barbecue meat with good service. Parking is a bit difficult to find. Two ways to improve the food: (1) offer two sides instead of one (2) offer a spicier sauce or dry rub option in addition to the famous sauce which I found too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Returned after 40-year absence and the r ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Returned after 40-year absence and the ribs were as great as I remembered. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and directed me to the special as the best deal for my choice. We went relatively early Wednesday evening and it was getting quite busy by the time we were leaving. I had the ribs and my wife had the slider trio of pulled pork, chicken, and brisket and we both enjoyed our meals very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.