About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for Groups (51)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Worth the Drive (45)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Comfort Food (37)
Authentic (37)
Casual (36)
Business Meals (33)
Historic (32)
Fun (28)
Family Style (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Romantic (19)
Private Room (19)
Cozy (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great Beer (10)
Live Sports (10)
People Watching (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Live Music (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated Valentine's Day late witho ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

We celebrated Valentine's Day late without the kids. We went early at 4:15. Wait staff was excellent, meal was wonderful. Only odd thing is we weren't asked nor received bread. We usually always get that before the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs use to be meatier and more tend ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

The ribs use to be meatier and more tender than they are now. Still good...but not as good as I had remembered

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We came for the music

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

We came for the music

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the live music--Anna and the De ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved the live music--Anna and the Deeper Well.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We used to love The Montgomery Inn but i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We used to love The Montgomery Inn but it seems they've decided to drown all of their entrees in their overpowering barbeque sauce. We had a party of 13 and I think 11 of us were disappointed. Honestly, you'd be better off saving your money and going to City Barbeque.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food and good service on Valentine ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and good service on Valentines Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I have always enjoyed Montgomery Inn. ( ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I have always enjoyed Montgomery Inn. ( all locations ) But this time I was VERY ! disappointment. The food was cold and the ribs were dry and wouldn't even fall off the bone. Service was not that great. She came to the table once. We were there for about an hour and half. I think it will be a long time before my family and I return to the Montgomery Inn.

Richard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

food was very good service and staff wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

food was very good service and staff were great and just a nice place to relax and enjoy great food

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place old School as a boy I re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place old School as a boy I remember going all the time meeting all the cool people some big names as a child I ran into and had fun speaking with them

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, but food did not live up ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, but food did not live up to the famous Ribs King standard. Overpriced for just "ok" ribs and chops.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the new sauce. Ben, our server, was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the new sauce. Ben, our server, was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, nice ambiance. We had ri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, nice ambiance. We had ribs, chicken, and the salmon. They were all exceptional, not sure which one was the star, loved everything.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food!! I always forget how good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome food!! I always forget how good everything is. Wish i lived closer keep up the good work

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Introduced an out-of-town guest to The O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Introduced an out-of-town guest to The Original Montgomery Inn. He loved it! His comment was, "the best ribs I've ever eaten!"

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our meals was excellent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about our meals was excellent. The ribs and sauce were outstanding. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was birthday had a great with my so ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

it was birthday had a great with my son and his wife and my wife thank you will be AAA

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables are too close together and too sm ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tables are too close together and too small. Food was great. Be sure to make reservations

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My opinion is that the Original Montgome ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My opinion is that the Original Montgomery Inn is way overhyped. The ribs were dry from being over cooked, and the sides left a lot to be desired. There are better rib restaurant options in the Cincinnati area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good experience. Food was great as ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good experience. Food was great as usual. Seated us early which was convenient.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Montgomery Inn is always a good meal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Montgomery Inn is always a good meal. We know that whatever we order it will be great. Each of the seating rooms had its own ambience. Just try not to be seated near the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there to celebrate our granddaug ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were there to celebrate our granddaughter's 17th birthday. Her dinner request for past 12 yrs!! The Original Ribs was each of our choices and they were delicious, so tender. Service was great! Since we live about 75 miles away we spend the night in Blue Ash and usually there is leftover ribs that makes for a wonderful snack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a business meal in the evening a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We held a business meal in the evening and were serviced by exceptional staff which kept the food coming. Portion sizes are too large. Flavoring is good, but nothing spectacular. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress seemed to be a little over- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our waitress seemed to be a little over-whelmed, even though she only had two tables at the time. I had to ask for a re-fill on my iced tea two separate times. We were in a small quaint area (race horses) with only about six tables or so and two servers. We are use to having much better servers when we have been there in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food and ambiance. Loved the 2 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Loved the 2 for $22 and 3 for $33 specials!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience! The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience! The food was fantastic and the main course came out promptly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated prior to our reserved tim ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were seated prior to our reserved time which was great because we had a scheduled event following the meal. We had a party of 8. The server was friendly and efficient. We didn't wait long for the food and it was delicious. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was very good. Food arriv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The experience was very good. Food arrived in a timely manner, except for one person who had ordered pork chops. His meal arrived about 10 minutes after everyone else. Not much of an apology from the waiter or manager.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to Montgomery Inn a few time ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been to Montgomery Inn a few times before, but it was a first for my wife. We both loved it. Ribs were as good as I remembered. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dependable quality, service, and accessi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

dependable quality, service, and accessibility. good place to meet friends, have drinks in the large bar area, then be seated for dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I found it ridiculous that we reserved o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I found it ridiculous that we reserved on Open Table for 6pm and we weren't say till 7pm. So there was no point to make a reservation since we had to wait for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was a bit slow but the food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was a bit slow but the food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We love Montgomery Inn for our Birthday ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love Montgomery Inn for our Birthday celebrations, great food and wonderful service. So many interesting memorabilia items to look at during your visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Montgomery Inn, food is always good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love Montgomery Inn, food is always good and they have a variety. Service is good, kid

friendly, casual dress. Good Time!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great quiet evening.

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great quiet evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and friendly helpful atmos ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food, service and friendly helpful atmosphere. I will refer this restaurant to others.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating a birthday on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We were there celebrating a birthday on a Wednesday night. There were 6 adults and one child in a high chair. They placed us at a table that was away from other people and we were able to talk and have some fun. The waitress was very good-natured. We really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took 3 times to get one of the 4 orders ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Took 3 times to get one of the 4 orders right. Although we were seated promptly, we had "reservations" at 6:00 on a Tuesday night. My complaint based on other times eating there is that they don't recognize a reservations, and call it preferred seating. Not sure the difference in the two but request that Open Table clearly state that on the website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Any time I'm in the Cincinnati area, I s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Any time I'm in the Cincinnati area, I stop at Montgomery Inn for the ribs and bring sauce home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Watress was not very friendly and we wai ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Watress was not very friendly and we waited at least 30 min for food and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

We went with our kids on a Saturday nigh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went with our kids on a Saturday night against our better judgment but to our surprise, it was a perfect family outing. It is casual but has the feel of something more special than your regular restaurant. We shared the signature ribs, which were delicious and tender. We each tried a different salad and they were all very good. The portions are generous and we were all full. Our littlest one had a hot dog which made her happy, too;)

The service was efficient and friendly and the was little to no waiting.

It was a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.