Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Casual (49)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Groups (47)
Comfort Food (42)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Worth the Drive (38)
Business Meals (34)
Authentic (33)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great Beer (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Historic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Live Sports (7)
Romantic (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (3)
Live Music (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

First time here. Outstanding food with top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and so was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Choose the Montgomery location to split the difference with another couple we were meeting. Forgot just how good the "original" location is. Food was great, service was just as good as the food. Even though we sat in the bar area - was easier to carry on a conversation that at the Boathouse location. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Good ribs, live music on the weekend, good service, and large food amounts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is well managed and the food is consistently good. The ribs are excellent, the sports theme is interesting and the location is convenient. Always enjoyable experience for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Staff was excellent - catered to our kids really well and was very accommodating. The food is very good and they have a nice selection. It is slightly over-priced, but we had been there before and knew that going in. There are not many BBQ places in Cincy, and this is a pretty good one.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My party was an hour late for our reservation time due to traffic, and the restaurant acommadated our time constraints very well so we could make it to our show on time. Our waitress, Joann, did a FANTASTIC job getting everything done for us. We even had time to spare because of her efforts. Thanks so much to Montgomery Inn and Joann for your hospitality!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

A must have when in the area! Absolutely fabulous ribs, tasty BBQ sauce and an atmosphere that make you feel special! A great experience when you are in the mood for special and delightful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We made reservations on line (5), had a drink at the bar until our whole party was present. Waitress was very attentive, we were a chatty group, lots of catching up to do, waitress checked in with us, food was as expected. EXCELLENT. Shared desserts, continued to visit long after table was cleared. Very accommodating staff. Wonderful experience

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Family member getting a new job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely love going here every time I am in Cincinnati!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our table was ready on time. The food was hot and very good. The server was very nice and funny. He answered all our questions and helped with food choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love Mongtomery Inn... If you like Ribs this is the place to go. Great service as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wasn't busy but service was slow and not very attentive. And the food was not as good as I remember. The ribs seemed a bit overdone and chewy . Not to mention a bit pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My first visit and it was my birthday. We were seated promptly, our waiter was excellent and the food was outstanding. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was my first time dining here. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. Upon being sat it took almost 7 minutes to be greeted. We ordered a few drinks from the bar and it took 23 minutes to receive them. After placing our order the soup and salad didn't arrive until 45 minutes later. I have never received slower service anywhere. Another 15 minutes and entrees were served. I ordered a half rack of ribs that were fatty and looked like a bottle of sauce was dumped on top. They were just ok. I expected exceptional since that's what the place is known for. I have had better ribs and way better service at Texas Roadhouse, O'Charley's and even Toot's. We will not come back again. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and the service was such a disappointment. Ordering a second bar drink was as painful as ordering the first, took another 15-20 minutes to receive it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great restaurant but let's not fool around, if you order anything other than ribs you are in the wrong place. It's not that the other food is not good; it's actually very good, it's just that the ribs are so, so, so outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at Montgomery Inn. It's usually the first choice of family birthday celebrations.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As always, excellent service and delicious food. I'm sorry I didn't catch our server's name. He was outstanding! I hope we can find out that information and make sure we see him next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2017

There was a mix up I thought I made reservations at the Boat house not the original Montgomery inn so that's where we went. It looked like me we missed our reservation at the original. Our apologies.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is the bomb! The service was great. I miss it being in the Columbus, Ohio market!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here. The food never disappoints, our waiter was outstanding and the atmosphere was lively but not intrusive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was outstanding,unfortunately the ribs were fatty and not very tasty.The chicken was good but the Montgomery Boathouse had better tasting food,don't know why.My sister was sick all night after dinner, not sure why either(upset stomach and nausea). I had my daughter's rehearsal dinner at the Boathouse and everything was superb so this may have been an off night for the restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food and service was just what I'd expect from Montgomery Inn. Excellent!
Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was really surprised that I didn't enjoy Montgomery Inn more than I did; it was good, not great. Maybe my expectations were too high, but the BBQ didn't live up to the hype.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Montgomery Inn is a classic Cincinnati choice and with a good selection of items at reasonable prices it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After watching an afternoon of Food network and their BBQ shows, we had a major craving. Hubby suggested Montgomery Inn! We couldn't decide on the original ribs, the new St. Louis style ribs or brisket, so, we just ordered all three! It was so good and we kept trying them all to decide which was our favorite but we couldn't choose. They all had their own flavor but ALL were moist and smokey. Our waiter was great too, very attentive, informative about the menu and he didn't judge our huge 3 dinners for 2 people. BTW, the left overs were great the next day for lunch !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Montgomery Inn is one of our favorite dining spots in Cincinnati. My favorite menu item is the Cantonese shrimp.
The servers are always friendly and provide great service except for the July 22 dinner we had at the Original location. The server, a gentleman, seemed quite irritated by our menu selections and the fact that we ordered only water and no other beverage. We are senior citizens and don't drink alcohol. I didn't ask for extra sauce because I felt uncomfortable which is not typical. I didn't like his reactions to us; yet we remained polite to him but almost requested a manager to change to our seating.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

With so many new restaurants to try in Cincinnati we haven't been here in years. Given by the empty tables on a Saturday night I think that others in the city must feel the same way. It used to be a 2 hour wait on a Saturday night, but tonight it was empty and mostly families with toddlers and preschoolers and all the noise that comes along with them. The service was good, the food was great, but the value is just not there. Paying to add a half cup of lettuce that is mostly unedible red cabbage left a bad taste in my mouth (It's been a while but at one time that was included in the meal). They used to have ribs on the kids menu and they used to offer a smaller portion than an order which they don't anymore. The bread is no longer sour dough which disappointed my husband. Hopefully they realize they aren't the only culinary game in town or sad to say this Cincinnati institution won't be around in ten years.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food is always great. We have been here many times and the servers could use some training. I feel they are just putting in the time and just doing a job....not very friendly. That plays into the fun of the evening.

This applies to the front desk folks too. The seem to be there to entertain each other.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Never a bad meal. The duck is outstanding and prepared plain and simple just like it should be.
There are no better ribs and you are justified in saying so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was very excited to take my parents here for dinner. They have never been. The service started off a little rocky. Our waitress seemed a little overwhelmed. She had a difficult time identify the specials of the day. We received our appetizer very fast, which we really enjoyed. My mom really enjoyed her shrimp. My dad, not so much on the platter of ribs, pulled pork, and brisket. The meat was very fatty. I had the ribs and pork chop, which I normally love. The pork chop was a little too pink for my liking as for the ribs, fatty and tasted funny. I would have said something to our wItress except she disappeared somewhere. I just cut around and ate the cooked parts. Another server took our plates. After waiting for at least 20 minutes after we finished our meals I asked another server for our check. Our waitress must have forgotten about us or just overwhelmed. She came over to us once after receiving our meals. The other server had to find her for us. We were all very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was very good food and service. The only problem we saw was we felt rushed they brought our meal out to us before we had time to finish soup and sald. Not complaining just food for thought

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We chose from their 2 for 22 and 3 for 33 menus. This is a nice value and saves in comparison to the regular a la carte menu. It was a Friday night and there was live music which really added to the ambiance. Portions are generous and the food delicious. Service was first rate. Relaxed atmosphere in upscale surroundings with lots of sports memorabilia.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Amazing food, great service with complementary dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent, as always. I have dined here most of my life and never had a bad experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The ribs were phenomenal! They were very tender and falling off the bone. Price was good as well...my husband and I did the double play and for $22 each we got an appetizer and an entree. My sister got the crab cakes and they were good as well! Service was great as well, she checked on us often to make sure we didn't need anything.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our server was kind, upbeat, attentive to our needs, good at answering our questions, patient, and jovial. The salad and coke slaw were excellent, the Saratoga chips outstanding. Ribs and shrimp were good, but the ribs had a bit too much fat on them. Other than that, it was a pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is one of my all time favorite spots. If I'm in Cincy I always stop by

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.