Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Montgomery Inn - Original

When we say our ribs are famous, we mean it. Enjoyed by actors, athletes, and every U.S. President since Gerald Ford, they’re hand-spiced and slow-roasted daily, then finished off on our custom broiler. But Matula’s secret recipe sauce is the real star, made with only the finest California tomatoes and a super-secret blend of all-natural spices. And don’t worry about wearing a bib. It’s a good look.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Whether it’s lunch, dinner, or carryout, there’s always something delicious you’ll want to try. But if you always decide to go with the ribs, we’re fine with that too.

9440 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cooper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 791-3482

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled serve time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up.

Catering service is only available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mom with her favorite meal at Montgomery Inn! Dine here or carry out.
Special hours: Noon until 8 pm.

Private Dining

Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn.

The Montgomery Inn - Original Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Casual (58)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Groups (53)
Comfort Food (51)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Historic (40)
Authentic (40)
Business Meals (38)
Family Style (33)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Private Room (24)
Romantic (24)
Cozy (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Live Sports (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great Beer (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
People Watching (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Live Music (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Healthy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent Service and terrific food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Totally disappointed in the quality of my ribs. I probably should have sent them back. I asked for them dry sauce on the side and came out luke warm. I love this place and have dined there frequently over the years for special occasions.

Perhaps a rare exception to what is usually a Cincinnati dining gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Consistent good food and service. Great for meetings,family get togethers or business dinners. Centrally located

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Heard they had famous ribs, but they were quite average, especially if you've had ribs in other cities like Memphis, KC or Austin. The atmosphere was nice though and the service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server/waitress was superb!! Food timely and hot.
Even though it's a busy Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Pleasantly surprised! The pulled pork nachos are exactly what the say wonderful!! Loved the part of town it was in and got right in with call ahead seating , highly recommended the original ribs!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have always enjoyed Montgomey Inn!! We look forward to our dinners and have never been disappointed 💕

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The best ribs anywhere and my favorite place to eat in the Cincinnati area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

ribs were dry and did not fall off the bone, not impressed, felt like production process

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and service were good. My only complaint was the food came out a little to fast. Didn't even have enough time to eat our salads.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love Montgomery Inn. Ribs are the best I've ever had. Great food and good atmosphere. Service Was fantastic. We definitely Give It 2 Thumbs Up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our server, Nessa, did an exceptional job explaining our questions. We were in town from Dallas. First time customer.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We celebrated my birthday. We loved the filet mignon and barbeque ribs as well as the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and great service. Happened to be seated near the kitchen door so it was a little loud with people coming in and out but the rest of the experience made up for it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a delicious dinner served by a friendly, efficient waiter. Enjoyed beer and wine with our dinner. Look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated immediately into a quiet, intimate booth. The service was perfect on timing between taking drink orders, serving salads, and the entrees ( always delicious). We never felt rushed or that we waited long between courses. Very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a spectacular meal at Montgomery Inn. Ribs are the best in Ohio and top 10 in the country.
We had a great waiter (Steve J), knowledgeable, quick on refills, good personality.
We ALWAYS go to Montgomery Inn when in Cincinnati. A real treat !

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food! Service was super. They take reservations on the weekend which is convenient

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service needs improved waited forever for refills , wasn't offered bibs, waiter seemed to value larger group than us. I've been going to Montgomery Inn since I was 16 this was worst service I've had. The ribs were fatty and grissley too. One of my worst nights there!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Suzanne was fantastic - great service & great food!! Conversation was easy to hear even when became more crowded. Our 15 yr old birthday guy loved it - THANKS!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Exceptional ribs!!
When we travel from Cleveland to Kentucky, we always have to stop for our favorite ribs!!

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Overpriced. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Best ribs around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I warn welcome the table small for 4 peoples, the fry potatoes chips not that good burn flavor, the ribs flavor excellent but the food was warm no hot by the end the food on the plate was cold, the loaded potatoes lack the guau factor, simple plain, service really good, but what really need to improve is the silverware it is really cheap quality, something that you not expect of a Restaurant of this category

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 29, 2017

a special mention for our server. We were there on Wednesday 7/29, I think her name was Nala (?). Extremely friendly, couldnt do enough for us and very knowledgeable about the menu

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was not impressed. Server didn't seem to be happy to be there. The food did arrive to the table promptly and the server was attentive just not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Definitely lives up to its reputation. Great food and great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love the call ahead reservation even though it isn't an exact time, we had to wait little time to be seated! Excellent service and enabled us to talk and still enjoy our meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a party of 7. With reservation we were seated immediately--in fact a few minutes early.
Waitress was very courteous and efficient.
Food was great---even better then past and I've been in a lot over the years
Valet service very handy and quick.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Perfect for casual dining or daye night. Very kid friendly too

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The Original ribs were DELICIOUS!!! However, the new dry rub ribs just don't compare to good ole Memphis barbecue (Im from TN). Great waitress and service and great food otherwise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Did not enjoy the St Louis rib rub at all. It was dry and tasted burnt. The macaroni and cheese was made with powdered cheese. Need a new recipe or should be removed from the menu.
The service was outstanding from beginning to end.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food and service was great! I would recommend your restaurant to all my friends and family!!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Live Sports, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food and service (very fast) excellent as always! Great place for business meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious as always. Highly recommend for a fun night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic as always. Food was prepared well. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were seated about 40 minutes after our reservation time. Our waiter wasn't the best, he didn't tell us about the specials of the day but another waiter heard us asking each other questions and came over to help. It took awhile to get refills. The food was good, not outstanding, but we will probably try it again in a few months

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I never get out so we decided to go on a date. We made the reservation and they sat us in the bar area. Which would have been ok had the service been good. We had to ask someone after 20 minutes to take our order. My brother in law finished an entire drink before we had to ask for service as we realized a lot of time had passed and we couldn't be patient any longer. I ran out of water and had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come by to even ask for a refill. We had to have another waitress take our order finally. Our food came out all seperate. I received my salad and then everyone else a few minutes later. When our dinner came we received all our meat and had to wait on our vegetables (sides). Dinner itself tasted great! No problem with the food qualities. Everything we needed we had to flag someone down as our waitress was "too busy". The manager had taken our desert order. The cheese cake was good. My coffee would had been delicious with it had the creamer not curded when I added it to my coffee. No one had come even within view really to flag down to get a fresh cup. I had to ask my waitress to take the coffee off our bill she didn't even offer after I stated the creamer was bad and I didn't get to enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best ribs of anywhere that we have been. Location is good in downtown of a small suburban community. Sports minded atmosphere. Great service with reasonable prices for the quality of the food and drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.