About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Fettuccini
Filet Mignon
Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin
Onion Rings
35 Day Dry Aged American Waygu
820 Manhattan
Broiled Salmon
New York Strip
Clam Chowder
Peach Crisp
strawberry shortcake
Creamed Spinach
Skirt Steak With Mashed Potatoes
Baby Kale Salad
Top Sirloin Cap With Brussel Sprouts
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Oyster Shooters
Rack Of Lamb With Mushrooms
Oysters on the Half Shell
Wine
Nine Layer Chocolate Cale
Creme Brulee
Petite Filet Mignon
Kobe Beef Steak Tartare
American-Waygu
Bone-in Filet Mignon
Bacon Wrapped Iberico Bone-In Loin Pork Chops With Pancetta And Apple Cream
Maine Lobster Bisque
Fettuccine Bolonese
The Long Bone Ribeye
Sidecar
French Onion Soup
Steaks
Crab Cakes
Chateaubriand
Grilled Portobello Mignon
Seafood Additions - Alaskan King Crab
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich
Met Manhattan #5
Baby Spinach Salad
Hot apple pie
Wagyu Beef Ribeye
Crispy Calamari With Saffron Aioli
Coffee And Cream
Double New York steak For Two
The Works Burger
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Cheese cake
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Crab Stuffed Halibut

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steak
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (266)
Notable Wine List (152)
Romantic (149)
See All
Fit for Foodies (143)
Good for Groups (103)
Great for Lunch (62)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Hot Spot (47)
Late-night Find (24)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always my first option when I want somet ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always my first option when I want something celebratory or special. They are always

warm and welcoming. Service is superb and friendly. I actually took my Vegan

sister-in-law there and they were able to make her happy.

Simply the best Seattle has to offer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic American steakhouse. Spinach sa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Classic American steakhouse. Spinach salad was good. My wife had the Ohmi filet, it was almost melt in your mouth tender and had a rich, buttery flavour. Excellent. The poblano scalloped potatoes were very good, they had a spicy bite.

I had the 4 oz. filet and 4 oz. Ohmi filet combo. Both were excellent. The Ohmi was more tender with a more subtle flavour. Had the brussel sprouts as a side and they were very good.

We shared the Cherries Jubilee for dessert. It was good but nothing like the Bananas Foster which was excellent.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal as always. Service was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding meal as always. Service was excellent, price not unreasonable for a downtown venue. Both of us were totally pleased.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a favorite restaurant of mine, b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a favorite restaurant of mine, but I felt ripped off after the lunch 2 days ago: The strawberry shortcake has always been with REAL strawberries plus included ICE CREAM. This time, the strawberry shortcake had minus zero ice cream and the strawberries were NOT fresh. In fact, the "strawberries" were more or less like some kind of jam or preserves. Just terrible. I almost asked for the manager. Not acceptable!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic dinner at the Metropolitan Gri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic dinner at the Metropolitan Grill (again). Still the best steak in town. I had the Kurobota bacon-wrapped filet medallions with bleu cheese, and my husband had the large Angus filet. Both were excellent. I tried a new seasonal salad that needed some work, though. The grilled peach salad was a great idea, but could have been better executed: the peaches were underripe and hard, and the tiny amount of grilling wasn't enough to soften them up or add much flavor. The burrata cheese was tasty, but just kind of lay there in a lump. Frisee greens were fresh and the dressing uninspired. With fabulous local peaches still in stores, there's no excuse for using hard, underripe fruit. Interesting idea, but needed better planning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent spot for a wonderful birthday ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent spot for a wonderful birthday dinner. Great ambiance, great service and excellent steaks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful as always! The foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was wonderful as always! The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! We try to go when we ar ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love this place! We try to go when we are in town!

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Metropolitan never disappoints! Not only ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Metropolitan never disappoints! Not only is the food excellent, but the service is attentive, personal, and makes one feel like a special guest. We frequent several of the Seattle steakhouses and each has its own food specialties. Metropolitan wins in service ! We love it !!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were lucky to be seated in a quiet ar ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were lucky to be seated in a quiet area. The main area in front would have been unbearable for us. It was my last dinner with my son before going to college. My only complaint really is that the waiter rushed us from the moment we sat down until we left. I asked for my second cocktail to be served before dinner, but they were brought at same time - rush rush. I wouldn't have ordered the cocktail. For those prices, being rushed just put a blemish on the evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Booked in for 8:15 and were seated on ti ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Booked in for 8:15 and were seated on time

Steaks were great & sides were generous portions

Shared 2 generous sized deserts between 3 and that was plenty.

Servers were very good and looked after us well

Would go back if in Seattle again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant is a nice upmarket Steakhouse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Restaurant is a nice upmarket Steakhouse. Nice selection of special Steaks . Unfortunately on our visit something went wrong in the kitchen and the food came out cold. Staff tried to fix and send food back but it came back out for the 2nd time also cold. Staff tried to make up for it by offering a glass of wine on the house but in a restaurant like this such a mistake should not happen, and surely not twice!!! Other than that, I am sure this is a great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I was disappointed that many of the diners wore shorts, sneakers and other inappropriate attire. A restaurant of this caliber should not allow such casual dressware for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I visit Metropolitan Grill at least once ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I visit Metropolitan Grill at least once a month and have always had great food. The staff are consistently friendly and attentive when you need them. if you want something prepared differently than the menu, always ask. Most times they can accommodate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had dinner here for a date night. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had dinner here for a date night. The waiter was super awesome and very attentive and entertaining. Then one of the non-waiter staff kept coming by and making us laugh. We weren't expecting the comedy part, but it was very welcome. We'll be back for sure. They also highly recommended coming in for happy hour and getting the skewers... said it was the best deal around for steak.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On the last night of any vacation we tak ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

On the last night of any vacation we take, my husband and I always choose a steakhouse for dinner. This year while vacationing in Seattle, we chose the Metropolitan Grill. We always like to compare other steakhouses to our favorite, Ruth's Chris. With that being said, we enjoyed the Met, but as far as the filet, Ruth's still remains on top for us.

For a Monday evening, the Met was a happening place. Wonderful decor and a great wine list greeted us. We certainly enjoyed the warm bread that was promptly served, but my field greens salad, although loaded with pears, Gorgonzola and candied walnuts, was overdressed in a not so tasty dressing. John's French onion soup was flavorful and beefy. When our entrees arrived, we couldn't wait to cut into our succulent fillets. I enjoyed mine, but didn't experience that "wow" factor. My husband's steak was served medium rare instead of the medium he was expecting. His slice was also a bit fatty, which was surprising for such a top notch cut of beef. Again, no "wow" factor.

A nice perk, however, was that each entree came with one side. Our choices, mashed potatoes and roasted veggies, were plentiful and delicious. An au jus gravy was also served by the waiter after our entrees were presented.

The highlight of our meal was one of our favorite desserts--cherries jubilee. Done table side, the scrumptious cherries were served over some of the best vanilla ice cream we have ever had. Wow!

Service here was great and the dinner moved along nicely. We were well taken care of.

Although we wouldn't rate the Met as high as Ruth's Chris, we did enjoy our meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely club-like feel, including romanti ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Lovely club-like feel, including romantic booths and enough room between tables so that we can engage in an intimate conversation. Service for our party of four was excellent. Steaks were perfectly prepared. My generous portion of halibut was cooked through, as requested, and perfectly moist with a lovely lemon butter sauce. That said, I thought that Daniel's preparation was more succulent. Our party of four shared two orders of Hot Apple Pie, prepared with Granny Smith apples sautéed with brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and cloves. Flambéed tableside and served with Madagascar vanilla ice cream and caramel. Eight thumbs up!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome steaks! Michael was an amazing s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome steaks! Michael was an amazing server, took great care of us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance, service, and food quality was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Ambiance, service, and food quality was exceptional. Most people in our party ordered the rib eye and it was done perfectly. I would highly recommend that anyone looking for a great steak and wonderful meal to try this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We use to go the Met once or twice a ye ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We use to go the Met once or twice a year between 1995 and 2005. It was always excellent. The steaks were ALWAYS from the very best cuts of meat and cooked to perfection. And the sides were so unique and delicious that every bite made me smile. And the salads and bread and wine again were perfect....every time. It was very expensive but always worth it...but not this time. This time everything was 100% mediocre. And it cost us $250.00. The New York Strip was completely unremarkable. The massive pile of roasted root vegetables was mushy and tasteless and the wedge salad had too much dressing. The bread was even boring. Our server was very nice. And the ambiance was great as always. But the food made me sad. Now we have to find a new fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The service was good but not sure if the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was good but not sure if the food really warranted the high price. Dinner was good but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Classic elegance, with great steaks and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Classic elegance, with great steaks and wonderful service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

steaks were very average, usually get be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

steaks were very average, usually get better results at home. Tough and not much flavor. I could be spoiled by the sous vide/sear approach at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at the MET and it couldn't have been any better. We made a request for a quiet/more private seat and the hostess insisted that we wait an additional 5 minutes for the "best seat in the house" which we later learned was the same seat Bill and Melinda Gates frequently request. We felt very special and taken care of the entire night and everything that we tried was truly the most delicious we've had and I must say that we consider ourselves "foodies". Absolutely amazing experience although a bit pricey but worth every penny!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and great service! Our se ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and great service! Our server was fantastic and knew the menu very well. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great steak restaurant. The price is a bit expensive but it was totally worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It had been sometime since we were last ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It had been sometime since we were last at The Metropolitan Grill and overall she has aged well, but things are starting to look a little worn and a facelift would not hurt. We were going out for a special occasion and had noted that on our reservation. Our server at the end of the meal did ask if we were celebrating something and then did bring us a complimentary dessert, but in the past notes like that had been passed along and somehow the servers made the whole dining experience that much more special. The atmosphere was also really loud, which could have been because there was a Guns N Roses concert and people were pre-partying before the show. The food was good, but for the price it just didn't wow us. The mac & cheese was dry and for Wagu beef I expected something more. Overall it was more of an average experience, not that special night out we were looking for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best steak I've ever had.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was not very good (raw ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and service was not very good (raw oysters, chicken wings).

Move on to another venue for dinner

Waitress did not come by except for bringing the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a solid choice for a business lun ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always a solid choice for a business lunch. Id recommend making reservations to avoid a wait.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The valet wrecked our car when he parked ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The valet wrecked our car when he parked it and we were notified after the dinner and had to figure out what to do late in the evening. Furthermore we have not been able to get in contact with the Valet Manager after the incident. Overall a dissatisfying experience despite great food and service by the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

If you are looking for a great Steak din ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If you are looking for a great Steak dinner, this is the place to go. However, it is REALLY expensive, more so than other good steak houses in Seattle. Save up!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my all-time favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One of my all-time favorite restaurants. I've been going here whenever I'm in Seattle over the past 12 years. A very comfortable and friendly and accommodating place. Great food, great wine list, and great service - every time. Plus, you never know who you might see here. Keep up the great work Met Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice evening. Thank you very muc ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Really nice evening. Thank you very much for the waiter recommend .

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Met has the best steak in town, hand ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Met has the best steak in town, hands down. We've dined at all the big steak houses, El Goucho, Daniels, Ruth Chris, John Howie. We have either had less flavorful steaks, poor service, less value or a combination of those. But through the years, whenever we go to the Met, it has been great across the board.

If somebody wants to know where to go for a steak, we will only recommend the The Met. Their happy is really good when on a budget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Great Food, Staff was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent Service, Great Food, Staff was cheerful and attentive. Yay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was incredible! Good was delicio ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was incredible! Good was delicious and the Met really made our anniversary celebration special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a butchers son, I love a good steak. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As a butchers son, I love a good steak. The Ohmi New York steak I ate there, was THE BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER TASTED! My neice, who had the same steak, echoed my sentiments! It was soooo tender, it melted in my mouth, was cooked to a rare perfection and tasted wonderful, served with a simple mashed potatoes.

This followed on from a seafood tasting platter, that was also superb! Over all a wonderful dining experience for us all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After all these years still vibrant and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

After all these years still vibrant and quality is the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great time at the Grill. The se ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another great time at the Grill. The servers were very knowledgable and the food was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.