About The Metropolitan Grill

The Metropolitan Grill. The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (101)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Good for a Date (75)
See All
Good for Birthdays (57)
Business Meals (57)
Notable Wine List (54)
Romantic (54)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for Groups (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Authentic (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Cozy (22)
Hot Spot (22)
People Watching (21)
Casual (19)
Fun (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

I went to the Met with my kids for a birthday celebration and the steaks were great. Cooked perfectly, and delicious! The sides were ok, not great. They seemed kind of tired - like they'd been sitting on the plate waiting for the steaks to show up.

Overall, my rating would be 4 stars, even though it was a bit pricey. But when the bill arrived, I noticed that they had added a 3% surcharge, and in bold letters, "THIS IS NOT A GRATUITY". Well, what is it then? Why don't they just make the menu items cost 3% more and be honest about the prices? I guess I should be grateful it wasn't a 50% surcharge?

So no, I won't be returning, because a surprise 3% surcharge (or any percentage) is an insult.

I wonder if they would have appreciated it if I simply deducted an automatic 10% patronage discount?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Expensive for what we got. Potatoes were cold and meat was tough.... not what I was expecting for that type of priced meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordering a steak here is a must. The choice of beef and different cuts is phenomenal!! The staff is very knowledgeable if you're not sure what to order. This was my first, but not last, time eating here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server forgot to bring a couple things, but overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Hands down the best place you can eat within walking distance from the Seattle ferry!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

All four of our steaks were not as ordered. One we asked for medium, it was rare. The other two were ordered medium rare, both were very well done. Disappointed in paying so much for not cooked as we ordered them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good steak. Nice staff location to everything

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best afternoon lunches with my wife ever! The food is phenomenal, especially the filet with mashed potatoes and asparagus ! Kudos to the chef! The wine, a bottle of private label cab was spot on! Washington wine too! The server was friendly, responsive and conversational, which made the lunch a good experience !
My wife and I have traveled the globe, have had many, many delicious dishes and dinning experiences... this meal, this day was one of the top 5 best!
Thanks Metropolitan Grill, and staff, for being on top of your game!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Totally exceptional. Splurge on the Wagyu. Worth it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Favorite place in Seattle, service is amazing, staff is awesome, the valet guys are the best

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best steak I've had in a long time, and the chef cooking apple pie for dessert table side? Delicious, definitely going back again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Second visit and tried hard to like it, but the food is OK at best and just because a customer is wearing a casual button down doesn’t mean service should change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Had the steak salad for lunch, while the steak was great, the salad was very meh... I found 2 specks of blue cheese, when it said 'blue cheese crumbles' and 2 cherry tomatoes cut in half, the lettuce was 25% brown (old) and the fried onions as well as raw red onions was overwhelming. Very disappointing for $18.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was great, our steaks just didn't meet the high expectations we had unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Great food, amazing service and as a plus Russell Wilson stopped in to dine after their win against the niners.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very disappointing. We have been to the Met on many occasions & always had good service & food. Today the service was slow and not attentive to us. The steak sandwich was fatty & not hot. The Joes special was also not hot.
I hope this is not indicative of the recent remodel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great brunch menu for the game. The new look for the entry is welcoming and roomy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great brunch for the Seahawks. What a wonderful time. You must go and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is a well organized steakhouse with excellent service. The menu is robust & there are plenty of options. They also allow for some changes or requests. The food was variable: excellent seafood, vegetables, above average steaks, sides were a mix of quality (as judged by the 4 of us who ate there). It seemed to take long to get our dinner once we ordered, but it was worth the wait. Overall, the experience was great & definitely recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The waiter and other staff were incredible. Dinner was delicious and as expected for a pricey steakhouse. None of the entrees were creative, basic high end steakhouse. I would say the quality of steak was better than Mortons or Ruth's Chris. The steak options seemed higher quality and the staff was very knowledgeable about the cuts of meet, sourcing and preparation. The ambiance lacked slightly. we were seated in the far corner of the restaurant which felt like a far walk from the entrance. The table had a significant draft although the server had management adjust the temperature to accommodate. If the service staff had not been as fantastic the rating would be lower but all in all a good dining experience for a high $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Probably the best steak house ever. Every time we go to Seattle we make an effort to eat here. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have always wanted to go to the Met for a special celebration. We knew it was going to expensive but we weren't worried about that because it was a significant birthday celebration. We were very disappointed in the meal. The steaks were so so… Nothing special and rather tough. The lobster and the starter salad were very good, though. Liked that corkage fee was only $25. Service was good and friendly. With so many fine restaurants in Seattle, we would not return to the Met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The bone in prime rib and bone in ribeye were great. They were on the secret menu so be sure to find out what is on this. Our waiter was great. He was helpful suggesting menu items and very customer oriented, outgoing and friendly

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food fell below expectations. The wine list was great. We had the calamari to start which was nothing special but it was decent. We also had the lobster bisque, boneless ribeye steaks, roasted root vegetables, and the poblano scalloped potatoes. For dessert, we had the crème brûlée and the chocolate lava cake. Both desserts were incredible! The steaks were a huge letdown. Everything else was just average. They were tough to cut at times even with the steak knives. The service was extremely friendly but never pushy. Our drink glasses were always full. This is the fourth steakhouse in the area I've visited and I'd rank them fourth by quite a ways. It's popular so I'm not going to completely write off the Met but it will be a while before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Disappointed in the food. Salads (spinach and house) were soggy and my steak was inedible. Steak was from Idaho and highly touted in their menu description. When I complained to the server she admonished me for ordering my New York Sirloin rare. Indicating that more done would have made my steak less tough. She said a manager would be over but that did not happen. They removed the steak from our bill but this did not make up for the poor service and tough steak. I had no problem with the price of the steak and only complained so they would be aware of the problem. Nice atmosphere but that was all our group of four found to praise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service were just outstanding. Wine selection was superb, waiters very much new his menu, and was very proud and informative. The hourdorves we we'll time with dinner, the steak was the best I've ever had.
It was just a 12 on a 10 scale. Would not change anything

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Overall a great experience. The Metropolitan Grill has great food and the service is outstanding. High quality steaks, attentive staff, and a great atmosphere. From the wood walls, to the pictures of celebrity visitors...you'll definitely see why it's one of the best steakhouses in the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This restaurant is a bit expensive but well worth the cost. The food is excellent and the staff is the best in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We just had the steak sandwich which was good, more than enough for two meals for me but very SALTY, they fries were good as well, but I would ask for light on the salt. Meat was prepared to order, perfect medium rare, which is RARE to find. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I think this restaurant was one of the best steak restaurant in USA. The food and ambiance was excellent. We could make a unforgettable memory in our journey to Portland and Seattle from Japan.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

outstanding food, excellent and friendly service. A truly wonderful experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! They have excellent drinks, the food is great! Steaks are their specialty, but the Salmon, Buffalo, Pork Chops and Lamb are all worth the visit! The service and Server are all friendly and professional! I love the service here! It is an extraordinary place to celebrate any special occasion!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

If you want to feel like a billion bucks and want to eat the best steak in Washington, go here!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Promptly seated for 6:30 Monday night anniversary dinner reservation, started great, then became a mess. Initial service was excellent, then dropped off quickly. Large party we were seated by included a young child that repeatedly shrieked for nearly a half-hour until we had enough. It seemed that the staff disappeared and didn't want to handle it. Waiter went AWOL for 10-15 minutes as we sat with empty glasses and growing frustration. I asked another waiter for the GM who heard us out and let us go before the entrée arrived. Been to the Met many times over the years, no motivation to return. Good Luck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Normally my favorite place to eat in Seattle for over 25 years, but this meal was a disappointment. I strayed from my old favorites and tried out the 4oz filet trio ( for $125!). The Japanese , high end cut was almost inedible. Just too many tendons ( and I know the difference between tendons and marbling) made it very difficult to even cut with their awesome knives. for $60 for a 4 oz cut, I don't expect to have to knaw away by hand, especially on a filet cut. Because we were having a celebration I chose not to complain, which in hindsight, was not my best choice. Should have sent it back. I will always love the Met and the outstanding service, but will not be so quick to go out of my lane where I know I will be happy. My son had the 36 oz Porterhouse and it was awesome, as was the Wedge salad and the scallop app and lobster bisque

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had reservations before the Sounders game. My wife and I, our daughter and her boyfriend wanted to try something out of the ordinary for a game day. My wife and daughter split two entrees and were delighted. I had the burger and it was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our dining experience was extremely disappointing and we won't be back. I had the crab and prawn fettuccini and it was terrible. The pasta was undercooked, the crab overcooked, and the sauce had no flavor. I ate two bites and pushed it to the side. The waiter never asked how our food was or why I barely touched it. We will not be back and heard from others to spend our money at The Brooklyn or Captal Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Met is known for the best steaks in town but my wife had the crab and prawn fettuccine and I had the king salmon and both dishes were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent all the way around. The chateaubriand was perfect. Fantastic service. You definitely pay for it, but it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful steak. Excellent service. We loved it. Pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.