About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
2 More
Steak
Seattle
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (307)
notable wine list (174)
romantic (167)
See All
fit for foodies (156)
good for groups (115)
great for lunch (66)
neighborhood gem (58)
hot spot (47)
vibrant bar scene (47)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (18)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3992 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

40th anniversary

Dined 4 days ago

We chose this restaurant by looking online. It was booked as Seattle's best steakhouse. We found it to have the kind of service you expect in an expensive restaurant I found the wine prices to be "way" over the top but the selection was truly amazing. The wine book must have had 50 - 100 pages!! We had a great evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was amazing! Would ...

Dined 4 days ago

The entire experience was amazing! Would absolutely do it again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The beef is absolutely amazing! Worth th ...

Dined 5 days ago

The beef is absolutely amazing! Worth the expense to splurge for a very special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

McKenzie our waiter was outstanding. He ...

Dined 5 days ago

McKenzie our waiter was outstanding. He took care of us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food & service without the hassle

Dined 6 days ago

This place was amazing. We arrived more than an hour early coming from far away and decided to ask just in case they could squeeze us in. if not we'd have walked around or sat at the bar. within 5 minutes we were seated at a table designed for 4 people and it was just 2 of us. I saw people dressed in everything from shorts and a T-shirt to a suit and tie which made it a very comfortable environment. extremely friendly staff everywhere and people not assigned to our area clearing plates/glasses just because they walked by. Our server was hilarious and made an off-menu recommendation that shocked me but was so thankful he did. steak and seafood were perfect. scallops amazing. Oscar style and bacon wrapped filets truly unbelievable. mashed potatoes were edible but if you're going there for anything other than fine steak you're already wrong to begin with. valet was nice and efficient. a little loud of an environment for a $400 dinner but still worth every penny. i'll never forget it and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very expensive but very good! Had to wai ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very expensive but very good! Had to wait 20 minutes even with reservation!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It was a very busy night but our waiter ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was a very busy night but our waiter could have been a little more friendly. Our friend ordered her steak medium and it was almost raw in the center. The waiter claimed that their medium is warm red center. He should have told her that when she ordered and again, the inside was all red, almost raw. We didn't have time to sent it back. I liked my appetizers (the scallops and crab cakes but was underwhelmed by the Steak Salad which I usually love. I think I was just in too much of a rush to enjoy it and was not happy with the service and my friend's steak. Usually I like the Met but this time it was an epic fail. Lesson learned - don't go on a busy night when you have a time limit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with friends before the Billy Joe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Dinner with friends before the Billy Joel concert. Everyone was great in making sure we had a great meal, a great experience and made it to the concert on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely THE BEST evening ever! The s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Absolutely THE BEST evening ever! The steaks were out out of this world delicious. I never knew one could take a steak to this level. Wine selection was outstanding and service was impressive. We travel the world and we will definitely be back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was quite expensive for being j ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was quite expensive for being just "okay." The steak was NOT the best or most flavorful in town, which was their claim, and was medium rare when I ordered rare.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is fabulous

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for my boyfriends birthday. They pulled out all the stops. The service was spectacular and the food was the best I have ever had. Perfect steak, lobster mac was off the charts. It was all perfection. Nothing less.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything from the valet service to the atmosphere is outstanding not to mention the quality and freshness of the food. It is the staff and service is what brings the whole experience together. My wife and I dine there at least twice a month and bring all friends and family there when they visit. To all the staff at the Metroploitan Grill "Thank you for all you do!"

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We really enjoyed our experience at this ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience at this old-school steakhouse. If you're looking for trendy, this is not your place, but if you appreciate a fine steak and outstanding service, you won't be disappointed. The ambiance reminded me of a Mad Men episode, it's the kind of place Don Draper and Roger Sterling would have taken a valued client. The only thing missing were the postprandial cigars. We tried the Hokkaido filet and it was superb, well worth the extra $$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will not reply

Dined on May 14, 2016

I do not write reviews ...I do not write reviews...I do not write reviews....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my 5th time to Seattle and eatin ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is my 5th time to Seattle and eating at the Metropolitan Grill. This is one of the best steak houses in the U.S. and it never disappoints. I took a friend who has lived in Seattle for 6 years and has never eaten at the restaurant. She was blown away by the service and quality of the steaks. I will be back again. Thanks Matt

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience treating our b ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a great experience treating our boss to lunch at this dining venue.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Occasion Metropolitan Grill

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went to the Met Grill as it is always good, wonderful steaks, strong service, and a fine atmosphere. On the high side, the steaks were cooked as requested and were extremely good. The side dishes of potatoes, asparagus, and Brussel sprouts were very good. The desserts of Bananas Foster, carrot cake, and crème brule were not only entertaining but tasty. The service was good but a bit inconsistent. Upon arrival, our table was not ready. We were told in a few minutes, and a few became almost 20. They put us in a private room which was nice. Our waiter was helpful, and pleasant but at times he disappeared and no other help was visible. It would have been nice to have him or someone else check on the room more often. Overall, a very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3

The only dish we all enjoyed was, surpri ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The only dish we all enjoyed was, surprisingly, the creamed corn on special. Other than that, most of our entrees and apps were cold, lacking flavor and/or undercooked. We won't be coming back. There are so many delicious dining options in Seattle at the same price point as The Met. This restaurant is not worth the money.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I have been going to the Met for many years and decided to go there for Mother's Day. This time we were both a little disappointed. The food was good as usual but was served warm, not hot, as if it had been sitting around for awhile. The restaurant wasn't full, so I don't know why the food wasn't hot.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing

Dined on May 9, 2016

Metropolitan "ole time" ambiance with the old time elegant service. We had an amazing dinner of shared crab/lobster cakes and the fantastic lamb chops carved table side....the bread pudding was so huge...we had a difficult time finishing it! We loved dinner so much we went back for lunch the next day! The size of the carrot cake/ice cream was such that we weren't able to finish it! There are many fantastic restaurants in Seattle, but don't miss Metropolitan._

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Steak was perfect

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated Mom's Day here. Service was exceptional, and the food was outstanding. We had the New York, which was perfect, along with Caesar salad and bread. I highly recommend this restaurant. And yes, we will go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

I've been to the Met for lunch and dinne ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to the Met for lunch and dinner numerous time and always had a great experience. Unfortunately, today's lunch did not meet the basic expectations one would receive from a basic sit down diner. For an iconic Seattle steak restaurant how can you not have a basic baked potato with a steak if a customer requests it for lunch or dinner? We were told by the manager that it takes 1.5 hrs to bake a potato and that was not part of the menu. I've had lunch at the Met and have had a bake potato in the past. Why was this not on the menu for Mothers Day? The manager today was really disappointing. Took him over 20 minutes to come to our table when we requested to speak with him when so many things were going wrong with the experience. We asked the waiter and other staff where he was and they all rolled their eyes and said he was in his "office". When he came out instead of taking responsibility all he had were excuses after excuses. That to me is unacceptable and not good customer service. Now I understand why the restaurant was half empty when most 4 to 5 star restaurants are booked solid on Mothers Day. I don't think I will ever recommend or dine at the Met ever again. Instead of having a great Mothers Day lunch we left with our heads shaking and wondering what happened to this once great Seattle steak house.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Great for dudes on expense accounts

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a sad dining experience for me. We were seated in an uncomfortable booth in a back corner. The last time I came (1999) we had linen service and a window view. I had a view of 3 Italian businessmen gorging themselves on meat. My husband recounted many similar work experiences. My fish was way too salty. My salad was heavy on cheese. My husband's meat and potatoes were fine. The best thing was my side of asparagus. The wine was fine. Nothing special. Just quaffable--and we tried 4 different options there. The house rolls were uninspired. I never want to come back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Service I have had in a long time

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My girlfriend and I went while visiting Seattle for the weekend. Our apps and salads were fantastic and the sides were great. We weren't wowed by the steak, mostly because it was barely warm when we got it. We sent it back to be reheated, but generally it didn't turn out well. We didn't complain, but Craig, the maitre d', completely resolved this for us without us even asking. Clearly this was uncommon for them. Rare to find this level of service and we were extremely grateful. They go above and beyond to make sure you leave happy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

She said yes

Dined on May 7, 2016

Your restaurant was recommended by a good friend who did not know it would be a night for a proposal. Service was amazing. One of the servers captured our special moment with pictures and shortly after we were served champagne. Outstanding!!! If you are asking about value, I asked my new fiance about the value and she said "well, I got a husband out of the deal"

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak in Town

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent quality in food and service. Pricey, but worth the extra cost for special occasion. I'm a meat and potatoes gal and have to say this is by far my favorite place to go for a cut of beef. High quality cuts flavored and cooked to perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never dissappoints

Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was wonderful and the steaks are some of the best in town. Skip the brussel sprouts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Extraordinarily friendly and jovial serv ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Extraordinarily friendly and jovial server.

food4
ambience4
service5

A typical steakhouse, dark with large ve ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

A typical steakhouse, dark with large velveteen seats and heavy wood tables. Curtains keep your table intimate. Big steaks,for the hearty eater. Attentive wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still awesome, after all these years!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We last had dinner at the grill 13 years ago. Wonderful time! My only complaint was they no longer offered 1900 Madiera that the used to offer by the glass (yes, 116 year old). Everything else was spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST STEAK EVER !!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We found both the food and the service to be impeccable. I love a good steak and I would have to say this steak ranks as one of the best I have ever tasted! We are definitely going back next time we visit Seattle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Classic Seattle dining place. Generous s ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Classic Seattle dining place. Generous serving sizes-- the pork chops can feed two! The Valet parking for $10 made our drive into the city stress-free. They even put our to-go bags in the car while we walked around town after dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Steak Steak

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Met is always a great place for a great steak, I had the smaller New York steak which was PLENTY since it came with a huge baked potato, I also has a delicious lobster bisque and a side of wild mushrooms, which meant I was stuffed and there was no room for desert. Valet parking was easy, the servers were always professional and courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was out of this world!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was amazing, but the service was better. My husband and I went for a date night while in Seattle we could not have been happier. We had oysters for an appetizer, great wine, and shared the long bone BEST STEAK EVER! Presentation was great. Such a fun night!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch in every way!

Dined on April 29, 2016

From the moment you walk in, to the moment you leave - the service here was amazing! We went here for my husbands birthday celebration. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was perfect! They even brought out a birthday dessert. The lighting and ambiance is romantic and sweet. I would highly recommend this place. It's pricey but very much worth it for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must-Visit

Dined on April 29, 2016

If you like a great steakhouse, this is a bucket list kind of place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Met for 10th Anniversary--best steak in town!

Dined on April 29, 2016

I'll make this short and sweet--if you can swing the exorbitant prices for a special occasion (or if you're just rich), this will be among the best steak you will probably ever find, Seattle or elsewhere. The service was great and the food was exquisite (except for my fiance's broccoli--that was a little under-cooked). No complaints other than that. Definitely put this place on your bucket list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Spendy. But the steak was one of the bes ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Spendy. But the steak was one of the best I've ever had (13oz filet). Great service too. The free desert for our 25th anniversary was a nice touch too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little tight

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great restaurant; service was perfect; food was delicious. The only issue was the booth we were in was a little tight - I like a bit more room between me and the table. Overall, very satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food

Dined on April 26, 2016

Love theMetropolitan for a great steak, good wine list and excellent service. But a little too pricey to go to more than once every couple years. $70 for a steak is not really affordable for most people, including us. If you can swing it, splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.