About The Metropolitan Grill

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (197)
Good for Anniversaries (152)
Business Meals (146)
See All
Good for a Date (142)
Notable Wine List (113)
Good for Birthdays (102)
Romantic (93)
Historic (81)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Worth the Drive (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Bar Seating (59)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Good for Groups (49)
Authentic (49)
Fun (46)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Private Room (41)
Happy Hour (40)
Comfort Food (37)
Cozy (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
People Watching (29)
Casual (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Paleo Friendly (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great Beer (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

A great evening out with friends celebrating my birthday eating excellent food, beverages served by very competant friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to celebrate our anniversary!!! Steak was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely stunning, great and amazing food, FABULOUS STAFF, the deserts are awesome, especially the bananas foster...delicious

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing steaks, bananas foster and service! One of the top in seattle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

What can I say about the Met Grill that hasn't already been said many times before. A first class dining experience. Impeccable service and spot on food recommendations from waiter Todd to friendly and knowledgeable conversation from Sommelier Aaron.
Bone in rib eye was spectacular. A wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The Superior Farms Lamb Rack was absolutely delicious! Thank you chef Eric for making this a great place to eat!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great service. Called saying traffic delayed us. Told they'd hold our resrvation. Promptly seated when arrived. Great food. Remarkable value, overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Classic steakhouse with awesome service from Sean!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I met a friend for lunch and was really unimpressed with the food. Service was excellent, as always, but the grissly steak sandwich and cold french fries were not up to the Metropolitan Grill high standards. Dinner at the Met has always exceeded my expectations but lunch, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food and the service were phenomenal. Not cheap, but definitely not one of the more expensive steakhouses I've been to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

An amazing place to share a meal with special friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The steaks were far below the standards I am used to receiving form the Met. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service. The chateaubriand for two was fantastic - so much food we had to take home leftovers. Dessert was fantastic as well - but come hungry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was great as expected and the waitstaff really make this place outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We wanted to celebrate our anniversary with a special dinner. Metropolitan Grill delivered. They are known for their steaks and they did not disappoint. Our waiter let us know that the kitchen prepares their steaks on the rare side so I ordered accordingly, my wife ordered the pork chops which were equally outstanding. I have had food at other quality restaurants that was as good but the service at Metropolitan Grill is OUTSTANDING to sum it up in a word, pampered would be it, Our server was very frank with our menu choices and how we would best enjoy our evening, bussers, wine steward everyone was above our expectations. Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time in 10years waiter was slow and forgot stuff over and over

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We brought a Client here and had an amazing experience. The service and food weren't just like any other restaurant, it was a true experience from start to finish. The special bone-in ribeye was the best steak I've ever had. Nothing but good things to say about our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a great experience at the Met. I have been going for business and family events for 20 years.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Met Grill is always a nice place to go with good food and atmosphere. Prices are a little higher for value of the dinner. The Waygu prices are outrageous but consistent with its competitors. The quality of the Waygu is not any better than its competitors. Still.... it's not a bad place for business or to impress someone.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

started with the bacon. This is not your typical strip bacon. This is thick chunks of pork belly that are so delicious and probably the best bacon ever!

Whisky list is the best I have come across in my travels. They had Yamazaki Sherry Cask for $85. That is a steal since a bottle not goes for $3,500!

Hokkaido beef is the best beef hands down! I have not experienced anything like it. It is so delicious. So tender. So moist and flavorful. Nothing can compare and I have had a fare share of quality beef including: Akaushi and Kuroge-Bohanan's, San Antonio TX; Salt River Farms-Chandler's, Boise ID; SRF, Tajima, Omaha, and Kuroge-John Howie, Bellvue WA. Nothing is like the Snow Beef "Hokkaido" and is not likely to be exceeded!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The Met is great all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a very nice business lunch for 6 at the Metropolitan. Service seemed a little slow since it was mostly salads and burgers, but everything else and everything else about the service was just great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always timeless elegance. It's right across from the office and I take every opportunity I can to take clients or team members there.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I come here 2-3 times a year and am always impressed, great food excellent service a bit pricy but worth it. A place to eat if visiting Seattle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

As always, the meat was great! The prawn was overlooked in prawn cocktail. I'm glad they're renovating soon since this place does smell from being old.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Friends and I have celebrated at the Met for 20+ years. When my cousin comes to town, she insists we go to the Met. Always great food, great service, a special event. Wait staff is stellar!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Hands down some of the best food I've ever tasted. The employees are wonderful and extremely knowledgeable, the service was superb from start to finish. It's like the waiter knows what you want as soon as you sit down. The Chicago Cut 35 day aged steak was so incredibly tender i could eat it all day. The price may intimidate, but your not paying for the food, your paying for an experience you cant find anywhere else.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The focus of our evening was steaks with some seafood. We enjoyed the meal, but one of our steaks were undercooked compared to requested. Also the butter served with the King Crab legs cooled quickly and made the crab less enjoyable. Service was professional and efficient. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Still my all-time fav whenever I am in Seattle! Everything was top notch! Food was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service. Ny steak is great as are the onion rings. A must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Outstanding experience. A group of business associates who meet in several cities always try to find the best steakhouse in each city we visit. This was an outstanding choice and everyone in our group of eight was very pleased with the experience. We would choose this restaurant on our next visit to Seattle.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As always, treated with utmost respect, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great steaks! A little noisy, as other reviewers had mentioned, but not enough to truly bother me. The service was awesome and the food was great. It is definitely expensive, but I think it's worth a special occasion trip if you enjoy steak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic! Our server, Scott, was awesome! He was very professional, yet personal, in his style and demeanor. Too bad he loved his Seattle Seahawks so much - he'd be a FANTASTIC Carolina Panthers fan! ;)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

excellent service. excellent ambiance. excellent meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

great food. friendly service. continues the noted "awesome spot" to eat in Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Seattle is known for some of the finest restaurants in the world. Still, the Met cannot be beat for superb steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great place to celebrate any special occasion. One of the best steaks houses. Killer scallop appetizer. Awesome chocolate lava cake. We will be back for the Snow beef and ribeye.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

As expected. Met is always top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.