About The Metropolitan Grill

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (204)
Good for Anniversaries (154)
Good for a Date (146)
See All
Business Meals (135)
Notable Wine List (125)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Romantic (99)
Historic (92)
Pre/post Theatre (75)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for Groups (64)
Worth the Drive (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Bar Seating (60)
Great for Lunch (54)
Fun (54)
Authentic (47)
Private Room (45)
People Watching (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Happy Hour (43)
Cozy (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (36)
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Paleo Friendly (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Tasting Menu (14)
Seasonal (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Family Style (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
5008 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely fabulous. Best steak we have ever had. Done to perfection and the service was outstanding. Our new favorite place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Seldom eat red meat, but if you do, this is the place. I had a filet and it was great. Bread was great, as wells as the onion rings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

This was such a disappointment! We went here for my husband's birthday dinner. We had the absolute worst server - she didn't explain any of the menu to us and was extremely rude. Worst of all - I ordered a mixed green starter salad that had a sweet dressing and candied walnuts and I found a shrimp in it! When I asked the waitress about it she apologized, but didn't even take it off the bill! Our dinner was not even good - I've had much better! Overall, it was a terrible dining expierence - we were rushed through dinner and were very disappointed. Would not recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed the pomegranate martini. It was very delicious. The food was amazing. I had the steak salad. Our service was phenomenal. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent staff, food, and overall experience. Thank you MG - Keep up the great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Bruno and Dillon were fabulous, ask Bruno anything about steak and he will give you all the info you need

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Service is always impressive and wonderful at the Met! Meal was amazing and for a business lunch when you're watching the time . . . they'll get you back on the street timely if needed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful wine, delicious food, and a well informed and accommodating staff!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Atmosphere exactly as hoped for. Relaxed, elegant, attentive staff, thanks for a perfect celebration event. The food was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Stellar service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing service and food as always.... Will definantly be back there for dinner in a couple weeks..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful place for steaks

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always love coming to the MET. Only place I take my big golf clients. Top 2 of all time bone in ribeye. Syrah recommended was so so. Otherwise this my favorite steakhouse.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

These guys are absolutely amazing! Second time I've been there and the food is to die for. Best steak ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a fantastic meal!! When money is not a factor and you want a meal that is cooked to perfection and you feel like celebrating this is the place. Great prompt and friendly service wish I could eat like that everyday

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love it here but save your pennies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great for our anniversary! The almond scallops were excellent, and the American Wagyu top sirloin was amazing. Service was top notch, with quick valet service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food from first course through dessert. Decade coffee could have been better. Drink prices a bit steep. Service is excellent, attentive but non-intrusive. Great date night!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Outstanding quality steaks at this Seattle institution that takes obvious pride in professional service. We had a large round table for eight in a room that allowed everyone to participate in table talk. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic food, very nice service! The only downside was the noise, but apart from that it was hands down the best streak I have ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I wasn't as impressed this visit as I have been in the past. First, the reservation staff was sitting a group of six in a semi-circular booth. Perhaps this table would be more appropriate for a cozy family - NOT a business dinner as was indicated on thee reservation . My steak was luke-warm, the bread offered was some sweaty-sourdough ends, and the asparagus was stick-like, woody and barely drizzled with hollandaise. Also - I miss the martinis offered in years gone by. the pear lemon drop was awful. a hard slice of pear skewered in a lemon infused vodka is not up to par with the Met.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was delicious and generous portions.
Service was good but had to wait several times for service.
Would recommend it to all.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I was at The Met to meet with the Director of Wine to take care of items on my bucket list. Had lunch after meeting and it was great. Good service, excellent food choices and preparation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Historic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Dined here for my 35th birthday with friends. Service was excellent and our steaks were fantastic. Prices are what you expect from a high end steakhouse. If your in the mood to splurge it is well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Love The Met. The service is top flight. The style is traditional, classy and comfortable. Wine list is seperior to most. Steaks are the best quality, cooked to perfection. Lobster appetizer fantastic. Bananas Foster tableside an experience in itself and amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My 18oz Chicago style too sirlion steak was super. Been all over the country enjoying beef, both better and less expensive. It's very expensive and somewhat hard to justify. I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Sides were undercooked and steak was over cooked. With so many competing options in Seattle I don't see the need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Dinner was excellent and our waiter, Todd, was outstanding!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Overpriced and overrated - burger was soggy and bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Years ago, I had one of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant @ Metropolitan Grill. The meal the other night was one of the most forgettable meals, and at best, average. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were extremely happy with the whole experience. Food was great, had the best server, dessert was a show stopper, wasn't made to feel in a hurry to finish and leave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The dinner was great for me and my son. Our personal waiter was very knowledgeable in helping us through our evening meal and overall experience...Thank you

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great steak house!! Very busy steak house. Highly recommended!! Reservations recommended. Lots selection of variety steaks and wonderful table-side dessert:)

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Reputation is a hard thing to maintain but The Met exceeds it almost every time. The food, the staff, the atmosphere, the history all contribute to a wonderful dining and social experience. When confirming a location for lunch all you have to say is "The Met" and everyone knows.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Quick Bite, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was amazing! Our server Sean was very pleasant and attentive. Food was amazing! I will definitely come back to the metropolitan grill!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great crab legs, wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had a great waiter, my boyfriend said it was the best steak he had ever had. I did not like my blackened prime rib. Great service though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and great food. Staff didn't seem to mind that I was in jeans and a hoodie. You can also check your coats with them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

One of our favorite places in Seattle for a special occasion - steaks and cocktails/wine list never disappoints.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent steaks. You get what you pay for. 200 for 2 good steaks 4 good pints and some shared sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.