About The Metropolitan Grill

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (203)
Good for Anniversaries (155)
Good for a Date (153)
See All
Business Meals (146)
Notable Wine List (123)
Good for Birthdays (115)
Romantic (103)
Historic (97)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Worth the Drive (65)
Pre/post Theatre (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Bar Seating (61)
Good for Groups (59)
Great for Lunch (52)
Fun (52)
Authentic (51)
Private Room (51)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Happy Hour (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
People Watching (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Cozy (38)
Hot Spot (38)
Comfort Food (33)
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Paleo Friendly (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Seasonal (12)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Good place but we have been at much better. Not enough crab in crab cakes compared to what we normally have. Service was awesome until resturant fills up then they are understaffed. Steak was not cooked right

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Truly a great experience. The service is top-notch, wine steward was super knowledgeable. Best steak I've had in Seattle in 2 years. All parties agreed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

I have always enjoyed the Met as a place to have a great meal on special or not so special occasions. My wife and I had a "Date Night" and just really enjoyed the opportunity to sit and talk as adults. We have always enjoyed the staff at the Met and truly enjoyed the evening. What a great and iconic Seattle Restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wow We had a great meal and some fantastic pear bread pudding. Like Arnold We'll be Back

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awesome !!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Metropolitan Grill is a true dining experience. Each course was better than the last culminating with the vanilla ice cream which was the best that I have ever tasted. Nick our server was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

SERVICE was UPSETTING!!!!! We were in town for our Anniversary. I've been to the Metropolitan Grill before and I wanted to take my husband there for his first time. The food was great but our server on that particular date of Easter Sunday was very condescending. When our party of 4 wanted to share the bone in 40 oz steak, that's when we saw the change in his attitude. It was a giant steak and we wanted to be able to try many other delicious side orders . He no longer was engaging and when asked to get us a dipping sauce for our steak he replied, "Really?" I don't think customers should explain their meal preference. This was a special occasion and he made us feel unwelcome at this restaurant. I'm am truly disappointed in our experience there. A special occasion dinner has to have the ambiance, great food and service for make this restaurant worth going to. We have friends coming in this week to dine at this particular restaurant and I truly hope they will not get the treatment we had.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful, as always. A great celebration for my birthday. Service is exquisite

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The entire staff did a great job of making a lovely Easter dinner for my family..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was bonkers. The service was off the charts. Top 3 steaks I've ever had. I'll recommend this place to everyone I know who visits Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A Seattle classic! Always good. Skip the appetizers before your steak so you have room for the Banana' Foster. It's exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the MG. Meal was quite expensive (one of the most expensive I've ever had) but food quality and service were excellent. I had heard that it was the best steak in town and can't disagree. It's an old school steakhouse that is very popular and I can see why. Highly recommend reservations as it's a busy place. Maitre'd and wait staff are extremely professional and courteous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were treated with the utmost respect and were accommodated in every way. When we asked on a busy Saturday night they upgraded our party of 6 to a private room to get us more leg room. The food was delicious, and the waitstaff is very knowledgeable and attentive. I highly recommend the Met for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ribeye was chewy. Given it cost $64 that is not my idea of a good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Steaks were overdone and under done morels were Sandy and even the vegetables were undercooked. Did not complain just ate our food and left atmosphere was great and service just not great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We live on the Eastside so we don't make it in to Seattle for "cow" very often but Metropolitan Grill does not disappoint, despite the many alternative options. It's a classic place but quite comfortable and although they do feed a large number of people, the tables do feel personal. Our waiter really paid attention to our desires and the meal was top notch. In an age where various versions of cow are reproduced at many spots, this was really special including the lobster macaroni and cheese side and the crab beef medallion special. These were both above and beyond what we have experienced and many other fine restaurants.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Metropolitan Grill was an unforgettable experience for us. The food was outstanding, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere was perfect for splurging on a romantic celebration. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This my first time at the Met and we selected this location because our friends from Denmark were in town. The food was exceptional and the service was even better!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Met is always excellent. You are definitely paying for the experience, but it is worth the price. The staff is great, pay attention to the details, and are willing to go above and beyond to make your experience fabulous. The steaks are also awesome. I'd recommend the American Wagyu fillet. This continues to be my favorite Steak house experience in Seattle and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Good service. Good food. A little loud, but not obnoxious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was great. Kat in the bar was awesome, she helped make it a great experience. We will be back next time in Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was an important dinner meeting. My guest and my steak were so fatty that I could only eat half and my guest the same. For face reasons, I knew my guest would not say anything. I'm disappointed when your waiter recommends the steak and doesn't notice the conditions of the meat and why we left all of the fat on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

As usual,the food is good here,but overpriced.
In this instance,the service was not equal to a DENNYS and certainly not commensurate with prices that average around $100/person for just food and not including alcohol

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a great experience at the Metropolitan Grill! Great service from Dianne and amazing food. We definitely would recommend this restaurant!! We got the Rib eye and Delmonico with cream spinach, and we were not disappointed! The white chocolate coconut cake with raspberry was well worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Soups were very good.
Prime rib was bearly warm and dry, steak house fries bearly warm and mushi (old).
Was replaced by Top Sirloin (waited around 40 minutes) had grill marks, but again bearly warm and dry, steak house fries were hot (fresh) but very salty.
Had my wife birthday evening totally ruin for $214+tips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service is spot on. Best place in Seattle for work lunches.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The Metropolitan is a famous Seattle restaurant--with pictures of celebrities on the wall to prove it. They are known for their steaks. We had reservations but it did n't look strictly necessary. The wait staff were almost a little too solicitous--interrupting our conversation a little too much--but the service was prompt and excellent. It was more crowded and noisy than I had hoped for a business meeting. It would be a great place to come as a tourist although it is pretty pricey for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great meal at this fantastic steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Met is one of my all time favorites and they always take care of me and my guests. I would highly recommend to all, from business diners to those dining for a special occasion. Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always an excellent experience here. Food is amazing. Wine list is extensive but the sommelier is excellent. Service never forgets that you are there for the food AND the service. I cannot think of anything negative to say except that the tables in the middle of the room can be a loud space. Get a booth if you want to talk easily.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great, high quality steaks. The sides are pretty average.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went here for a nice Sunday dinner with the family. Everything was great from the service to our meals. My steak was perfect. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Pricey, so not something we'll do again very soon, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best steak in town! The Wagyu filet was incredible, flavorful and prepared perfectly. I LOVE the cheese sauce for the potato. Service was on-point, attentive and accurate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Loved the place! Our server Jim was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Started in the bar with great mixed drinks and very friendly bar tender. Dinner service and food was amazing. Sides were huge and more than enough to share between 4. Even had to bring some home. Tried the 3 filet tasting of Prime, Wagyu and Kobe. Very good and a great way to try the three different qualities side by side.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Awesome food, great service, and a fun bar. This is our 'go-to' place for special occasions. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service is always impeccable. The food is always up to the standard that the restaurant is known for.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best dining experience hands down! The food is excellent and the waitstaff is exceptional!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent beef. Service was outstanding. A treat to have such a knowledgeable server.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was the last restaurant on a great trip from Los Angeles all the way to Seattle on the West Coast. It was my children's spring break. It was also my birthday. I got the fillet and it was absolutely excellent! However, I think we could've gotten out of there in about 30 minutes based on how quickly it seemed that we were being rushed. The waitress barely showed up after the introduction. She did bring me a birthday creme brûlée, but really it was almost as if it was required. She had a very nice personality at first, but then really didn't care about us for the rest of the meal and I found it annoying. So I have to say that the service was absolutely lousy. Dressed up nice, but not very cordial and not very enjoyable. Fortunately, the food was excellent! If you're fortunate enough you know someone there who is already an excellent server with personality and care, then this is a golden place. If not, just understand what you're getting into. Absolutely great food, with service that's kind of cold.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.