About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Fettuccini
Filet Mignon
Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin
Onion Rings
35 Day Dry Aged American Waygu
Broiled Salmon
820 Manhattan
New York Strip
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Clam Chowder
Peach Crisp
Skirt Steak With Mashed Potatoes
Oyster Shooters
Creamed Spinach
strawberry shortcake
Baby Kale Salad
Top Sirloin Cap With Brussel Sprouts
Rack Of Lamb With Mushrooms
Oysters on the Half Shell
Wine
Nine Layer Chocolate Cale
Creme Brulee
Petite Filet Mignon
Kobe Beef Steak Tartare
American-Waygu
Bone-in Filet Mignon
Bacon Wrapped Iberico Bone-In Loin Pork Chops With Pancetta And Apple Cream
Maine Lobster Bisque
Fettuccine Bolonese
Sidecar
French Onion Soup
The Long Bone Ribeye
Crab Cakes
Chateaubriand
Steaks
Grilled Portobello Mignon
Seafood Additions - Alaskan King Crab
Met Manhattan #5
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich
Crispy Calamari With Saffron Aioli
Baby Spinach Salad
Hot apple pie
Wagyu Beef Ribeye
Double New York steak For Two
The Works Burger
Coffee And Cream
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Crab Stuffed Halibut
Cheese cake

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steak
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (275)
notable wine list (147)
fit for foodies (134)
See All
romantic (131)
good for groups (102)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for lunch (55)
vibrant bar scene (45)
hot spot (37)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (13)
great for brunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My office is in the building next door t ...

Dined 4 days ago

My office is in the building next door to The Met. We eat there so often we joke it's our offices cafeteria. My team had a visiting Legacy banker in from Boston and we took him over for lunch. I ordered the steak frites, with a side of ranch for the fries, and asked for my steak to be cooked medium-well/well. When our meal came, my steak was more on the rare side then I prefer. I politely asked our waiter to cook the steak a little longer and encouraged my dining companions to start on their halibut. When my steak was returned, it was done so without any comment or apology and no sauce for the fries. Mildly frustrating but not a major concern. I figured I would ask our sever for some sauce when he returned to fill our drinks, but he never did. We didn't see another staff member until a runner came to pre-bus our table and boxed up the remainder of my steak. Our waiter did come back to present the check and that was the last we saw him. I dine there enough to expect the exemplary service I normally receive. Unfortunately for our guest from Boston, this wasn't a stellar first impression.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was nice going to an upscale restaura ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was nice going to an upscale restaurant, the food was not great, my daughter had a $70 + crab dish which was bland, I had shrimp with fettuccini which was dried and in need of seasoning, my other daughter had a great chicken and mashed potatoe dish and not to mention the strawberry shortcake which was not fully cooked left a sour taste in my mouth, the $258.00 was ridiculous for food that needed seasoning and who messes up a strawberry shortcake? I was told that it was amazing, not mine. This was my graduation dinner and I am sorry but I was not happy.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, my group agr ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service, my group agreed that it was one of the best steak dinner experience in our recollection.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous deconstructed apple pie. Our wh ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous deconstructed apple pie. Our whole meal revolved around that!

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I'm very forgiving with my review becaus ...

Dined 7 days ago

I'm very forgiving with my review because I've been to the Met before and had a better experience. They were very busy and 2 of the 3 meals were served cold and service was a little slow. Again, knowing this is not the norm, I will visit again and give another try. This is not an inexpensive restaurant so hopefully next time is a better experience overall.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a really great experience for m ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was a really great experience for my and my date. We really enjoyed the food and the service provided. We would definitely dine here again in the future.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding........ But ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service was outstanding........ But I thought the foodwas pretty ordinary.......still would go again

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I had heard great things about this rest ...

Dined 7 days ago

I had heard great things about this restaurant and was eager to try it. Having moved to Seattle from Chicago, my expectations were high, but reasonable. Unfortunately, my filet mignon was extremely salty. I notified the waiter, and he was extremely understanding and apologized - saying, it happens sometimes, especially when the kitchen is very busy (as it was that night). The service at this restaurant is great. Our waiter was great. I just was served a piece of meat that was over-salted, which, was disappointing since I expected something great from this Seattle "institution."

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak. Great service. Exactly what ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great steak. Great service. Exactly what u expect when u spend good money on a good meal. We really enjoyed our evening there. We all had Porterhouse steaks. Big and easy to share. French Onion soup is some of the best I've ever had. So were the shrimp and crab cocktails. They make great drinks too.

food3
ambience3
service3

Pros: Appetizers are tasty Easy to find ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros: Appetizers are tasty Easy to find parking around the area Excellent onion soup and lobster bisque Cons: Steak quality was a bit disappointed Prime rib was rare while we requested medium rare Porterhouse was a bit on the cold side Overall, The Metropolitan Grill was quite enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was amazing. He encouraged me ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. He encouraged me to try two new things (including the pear lemon drop) and his recommendations were spot-on! I must say I had been a little underwhelmed by my go-to meat of filet mignon (hadn't seemed as flavorful) on my last two visits. When I mentioned this to our waiter, he made some great suggestions and I ended up ordering blackened flank steak, which ended up being the table favorite. I'm hooked! Everything was cooked to perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great. However, they messe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great. However, they messed up my reservation and my guests were seated in another table to 15 minutes before we realized we had both arrived.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

If you're looking for a classy restauran ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

If you're looking for a classy restaurant with just the right atmosphere and delicious food, look no further. I would highly recommend the Metropolitan Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding. I cann ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant, you must try it when you visit Seattle, you won't be disappointed!

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food. They have a little trouble ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food. They have a little trouble getting the steaks cooked to their specifications. My medium well filet mignon was redder than my friends medium rare steak. Happens about half the time there. I tried to give a little feedback to the waiter (showed him a cut) he seemed upset with me.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Met since 1983 ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been going to the Met since 1983. Except for maybe some changes to the menu, they have been consistent throughout all those years. Service and food is the best around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I remember the food and service being be ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I remember the food and service being better. ... still good though, I'll go again!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The food is amazing. The crab cocktail ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food is amazing. The crab cocktail was the best one I have ever had EVER and the steak was better than Ruth's Chris and Mortan's in both quality and preparation. Just superb! At the same time--- some may find the ambiance and vintage atmosphere nice--- I found it dated and uncomfortable. You can update the booths and tables and still keep the feel of the place.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been going to the Met Grill for l ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

I have been going to the Met Grill for lunch for many years and my last two experiences, six months apart this year, have been disappointing. Extremely slow service, 20 -30 minute wait for food and cold when it arrives. Wait staff, while experienced, not interested in making sure we were enjoying our visit. Never asked if we liked our meal or checked on us until we were done and asked for our check. It pains me to leave this review and I am hopeful that service and food gets back to the high level that the Met Grill has been known for so many years. I won't be in a rush to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent evening at Met Grill...quality ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent evening at Met Grill...quality food, service and ambiance. I wouldn't expect anything less from one of Seattle's finest restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time. It was my grandda ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had a lovely time. It was my granddaughter's 24th birthday dinner and she was treated royally.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The food and service were amazing. The ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and service were amazing. The waiter was very knowledgeable of the food and menu and was very attentive. The steak was tender and flavorful and my husband said his Salmon was good. We also had a slice of their 9 layer chocolate cake for dessert, it was very good, and I highly recommend it!! However, the food and beverages are pretty pricey. Plan on spending over $125 for a dinner for 2 people, if you go. And that is just for the main courses, not for the drinks or tip, so just be prepared. Wonderful overall experience, though!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There is a nice atmosphere here and the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

There is a nice atmosphere here and the steaks were ok but not outstanding if being honest hence the low score on value for money. It is in a good location from a number of hotels in the area.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Five of us dined... It was a celebration ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Five of us dined... It was a celebration dinner so we didn't give real time feed back. Steaks for two of us were over cooked, and the desserts were luke warm instead of molten. Salads were very good. Service was attentive and chatty. Overall: not quite up to expectations

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, the Met has out performed it ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Once again, the Met has out performed its self. What a great night with wonderful food and the Best service - thank you Jim!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It serves beef I had not eaten before. I ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It serves beef I had not eaten before. I was going to order the filet minon & our waiter explained the crossover of a waghu filet with American beef. It was great. The creme brûlée best ever had

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Always love the food, drinks and service at the Met. It's always on point and they go above and beyond to be sure that you have what you need. We come here a few times a year for a date or special occasion and will be back for sure. Michael had been the best waiter by far we will request him everytime in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Mixed Feelings

Dined on June 11, 2016

It's a nice venue, good service and nice ambience. However, the calamari and wild mushrooms dishes we ordered were overcooked and cause them both to lack flavors. The steaks however were great and so was the service. We might go back but it won't be our immediate first choice.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose the Metropolitan Grill to celeb ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We chose the Metropolitan Grill to celebrate our five year anniversary because of its long-standing reputation as an excellent restaurant with superb service and amazing food. We were not disappointed. After a brief wait, we were ushered to a nice table and greeted very quickly with water and drink orders. Our server, Sean, was the height of courtesy and professionalism. We had a slight accident, spilling one of our drinks, and without hesitation he helped us procure another [in a less top-heavy highball glass ;-)] His recommendation of the ribeye was spot on, all the food just SO good; and our evening was crowned by his bringing a burnt cream with a lit candle to illuminate our celebration. Certainly we cannot afford a $300 evening very often, so we will not make decisions where to go lightly. For the best selection of the best steaks, for exemplary service and for a room in which to make more happy memories -- select The Met.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of Seattle

Dined on June 11, 2016

As usual we had a great meal. Thanks to Craig Summers it is always welcoming at the Metropolitan. Bruno our server was great so it lead to a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There just is no place better....

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had dinner for 7 to celebrate a UW graduation. Marla took extraordinary care of us as did the rest of the staff. As is always the case at Met Grill, the food was amazing. Even when we had one order of prime rib that was overcooked - it was quickly and gladly replaced with one cooked just right. There just is no place in Seattle that has a better ambiance coupled with amazing food. The steaks always melt in your mouth with perfection. The sides compliment the main courses perfectly in taste and appearance. The deserts are simply phenomenal. This is our favorite place to go to in Seattle whether for a romantic meal for 2, for special occasions, or to get ready for a Seahawks game!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Don't order the bacon wrapped filet with ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Don't order the bacon wrapped filet with Oscar topping. The bacon was all fat and the filets were not good quality. The sides were very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food and service were both five star experiences.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak in Seattle.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Best Steak in Seattle.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A memorable splurge

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I don't splurge for dinner often, and haven't been to the Met in quite some time because of their high prices. But if you are prepared to split their generous portions, you can mitigate much of the hefty prices. As a foodie experience, you can't do much better. We loved the wedge salad which is enormous, but a perfect split. We adored the house rib-eye steak, again split (for $6 extra but that includes two substantial sides per person), and we were treated to a special occasion dessert which was delightful (creme brulee). The drinks are expensive but again, the portions are generous. All told, including tax, tip, food, drinks and coffee (plus valet), even splitting all of the portions, it still ended up costing $100 per person. That's why you save it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for a special occasion

Dined on June 5, 2016

We found the Metropolitan Grill in a travel magazine and decided to try it while in Seattle. The food was quite good and while not inexpensive we thought it was reasonably priced for the quality and serving sizes. What we were most impressed with though was the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly, engaging and attentive. The service was impeccable! Our waiter, Chad answered our questions, offered suggestions and was otherwise quite entertaining. He made our dining experience enjoyable. His manager, Jason spent considerable time at our table talking about baseball stadiums (the reason for our visit to Seattle) and also provided us a list of his top 5 things to do while in town from a local's perspective with insider tips on when to make those visits. If appreciate good food and great service in a nice atmosphere without the stuffiness of some restaurants, you'll enjoy an evening at the Metropolitan Grill!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steal in Seattle

Dined on June 5, 2016

The Met has the best steak in town and their service is top notch. From the time we entered the restaurant we were taken care of with top notch service. Both my wife and I had the prime filet and it was cooked to perfection. Thank you to the staff of the Met for making our anniversary one to remember.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Great children's menu, good steak, medio ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great children's menu, good steak, mediocre dessert. Service was great at first and got worse as the night ended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff

Dined on June 3, 2016

Although the food was very good, the staff was attentive and very personable, which made the dinner complete. Jim/Terri

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional staff, very helpful and expe ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Exceptional staff, very helpful and experienced and amazing food made for a memorable evening! !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.