About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Fettuccini
Filet Mignon
Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin
Onion Rings
35 Day Dry Aged American Waygu
Broiled Salmon
820 Manhattan
New York Strip
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Clam Chowder
Peach Crisp
Skirt Steak With Mashed Potatoes
Oyster Shooters
Creamed Spinach
strawberry shortcake
Baby Kale Salad
Top Sirloin Cap With Brussel Sprouts
Rack Of Lamb With Mushrooms
Oysters on the Half Shell
Wine
Nine Layer Chocolate Cale
Creme Brulee
Petite Filet Mignon
Kobe Beef Steak Tartare
American-Waygu
Bone-in Filet Mignon
Bacon Wrapped Iberico Bone-In Loin Pork Chops With Pancetta And Apple Cream
Maine Lobster Bisque
Fettuccine Bolonese
Sidecar
French Onion Soup
The Long Bone Ribeye
Crab Cakes
Chateaubriand
Steaks
Grilled Portobello Mignon
Seafood Additions - Alaskan King Crab
Met Manhattan #5
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich
Crispy Calamari With Saffron Aioli
Baby Spinach Salad
Hot apple pie
Wagyu Beef Ribeye
Double New York steak For Two
The Works Burger
Coffee And Cream
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Crab Stuffed Halibut
Cheese cake

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steak
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (275)
notable wine list (149)
fit for foodies (147)
See All
romantic (145)
good for groups (105)
neighborhood gem (58)
great for lunch (50)
vibrant bar scene (42)
hot spot (41)
late-night find (19)
kid-friendly (13)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For a place with such a great reputation ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

For a place with such a great reputation and unsurpassed decor the food was surprisingly sub-par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Be sure to try their hot apple pie for d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Be sure to try their hot apple pie for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was exceptional, ambiance was ok ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was exceptional, ambiance was ok, food was satisfactory, portions adequate, prices were high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Met Grill is as fine dining as you w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Met Grill is as fine dining as you will experience on the west or east coast and anywhere in between. The waters are professionals, not the casual 'must have a job' so-called waiters at many restaurants. The furnishings and dining area is old world and classic. Even use the dark green drapes if in a booth for privacy. The food is expertly prepared. Wine list is extensive. The lobster mac is priceless. You will drop some change but well worth it! Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Michael was amazing. The food ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Michael was amazing. The food was amazing and the ambience was perfect. We sat in the chairmen's room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service level was superb, very thoug ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service level was superb, very thoughtful amd attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent - traditional America ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent - traditional American steakhouse fare plus a very good vegetarian entree for my wife. This is one restaurant where we can both get what we want. Service was top notch from the moment we walked in the door and we were well cared for throughout. Ambience was traditional high ceiling early 20th Century elegance. Not hushed, but able to carry on polite conversation.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing. All the recommendation ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was amazing. All the recommendation the waiter made were fantastic. We had Salmon, steak, crab cakes (this was a recommendation), and the wedge salad.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was about 15 years since my last visit t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Was about 15 years since my last visit to Metropolitian - it didn't disappoint. The food and service were excellent. I highly recommend this as a place to visit when in Seattle.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were extremely fatty and over ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The steaks were extremely fatty and overpriced for the quality of the beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

26th anniversary dinner - New Yorks carv ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

26th anniversary dinner - New Yorks carved at tableside. Excellent presentation - food was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch steak joint, with excellent se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Top notch steak joint, with excellent service, great food, & extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered prime rib and for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband ordered prime rib and for the second time was very disappointed. His cut had way too much fat and he could not eat most of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

love that place the wait staff is fanta ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

love that place the wait staff is fantastic !! Food is fantastic.... they made it very special and I loved the food ALL GOOD

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience, food was great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great overall experience, food was great (get the American Wagyu).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Been to many five-star restaurants. $23 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Been to many five-star restaurants. $23 for a glass of average wine is way out of the ball park. The rest of the menu prices fit the quality of dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. The food was outsta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a great time. The food was outstanding. The Lemon drop pear martini was tasty. Chef Couldn't of cooked a more perfect steak. Fun place to celebrate my birthday. We flew down from Ketchikan just to eat here and it was well worth it. Our server Jim Falls was also great. Very interactive, polite and on top of serving us. We Will defantley be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prime rib and great service. Grea ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great prime rib and great service.

Great prime rib and great service.

Great prime rib and great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Except for the large family with five ki ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Except for the large family with five kids, including a toddler and a baby at the table next to us, the atmosphere was fine and noise level tolerable. Todd, our server, and Donny, back waiter (?) were delightful with good recommendations and both were very personable. They made our dining experience most pleasurable. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The meals at the Met are always OUTSTAND ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The meals at the Met are always OUTSTANDING !'

The best wait staff on the west coast..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. We had reservations and were seated right away. The wedge salad was fantastic. We both had filet and they were cooked to perfection. The apple pie cooked table side was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place. We were seated half ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love this place. We were seated half hr before the reservation time. Service was great & the food was delicious. Portion sizes are big & shareable. We got what we paid for & it was worth every penny from drinks, appetizers, & entree. We had no room for dessert because we devoured the fresh bread & butter that came out before our drinks came out. Totally worth the fine dining experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restuarant in the state. Hands down ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Best Restuarant in the state. Hands down! Amazing steaks. Amazing sides. More amazing service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband ordered beef and he said it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband ordered beef and he said it was fantastic! The brussel sprouts side dish was fabulous! Sadly, I had a veggie dish and it was not that great. A bit bland and the side veggies were undercooked. The restaurant was beautiful, but the bathrooms were dated and not as clean as I would have imagined.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary there on 7/13/2016. I forgot our servers name, but he was awesome. Very knowledgeable about all on menu and wines.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE place to take an out-of-town colleag ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

THE place to take an out-of-town colleague for a business lunch - my colleague was duly impressed!

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great experience - our server, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a great experience - our server, McKenzie was excellent. He steered us in the right direction with our food choices - everything was delicious! Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is pretty old school and that ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This place is pretty old school and that's not a bad thing. Oak paneling everywhere and very busy. Waitstaff is dressy and so were we, but many patrons were dressed very casually. Service was helpful but somewhat abrupt. We were not allowed to order our appetizers while we were still thinking about dinner.

The waiter was funny, and very quick with the cocktails when we ordered, but brought the wrong garnish for me. I asked where the olives were and he was puzzled, so I pointed it out on the menu again and he quickly corrected it. No big deal. The martini was good, but unfortunately the olives were not firm like I hoped.

The steaks we ordered and our salads and everything else was quite good. The steaks were larger than other fancy steakhouses charging similar prices so you get a good deal. However given the ambiance (crowded, many casually dressed patrons, loud and busy), we found it to not be worth it in the end. We felt we could have gone to el Gaucho, spent about the same or less and been more blown away with the flavors (albeit with smaller steaks but still a large meal).

I think if they did something about the atmosphere or lowered prices I would be more interested in dining here again. For the money, you can get a better meal somewhere else.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I love the Metropolitan Grill and have b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I love the Metropolitan Grill and have been dining there for many years. The food is always great, the staff is awesome and I always enjoy every meal I have there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in Seattle. Professional wait ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best steak in Seattle. Professional wait staff providing top quality service. Be mindful that portions are big and often can be split. Quality every time. Hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our overall experience of th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We enjoyed our overall experience of this classy restaurant, but we were not happy that our food arrived at the table barely warm, not hot, and the over-priced brussell sprouts were dry and harldy had any bacon on them. Our steaks, while delicious, were not at all worth the price. We will not spend that much money on steak again. It's a nice place for people who can afford to throw their money away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Our server was awes ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server was awesome. Hands down the best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service level was excepti ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service level was exceptional as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu choices, service , wine list, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great menu choices, service , wine list, plus food was cooked perfectly. The caramel bacon was delish! . Thanks for the dessert, free of charge, to help celebrate our 24th anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Metropolitan Grill for our an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Metropolitan Grill for our anniversary. It was wonderful! Great service, amazing steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the most incredible dining experi ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had the most incredible dining experience at the Metropolitan Grill. The staff was over-the-top smart on the menu. The Sommelier found the perfect bottle of wine for our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We just wanted the best steak in town an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We just wanted the best steak in town and the Met delivers. I made the reservation on open table and when I walked in they had my name on the list and seated us right away. None of the old "wait in the bar while we find you a table. The water was very knowledgeable on the menu. The food, This is the place to come for a great steak. Prime boneless ribeye was just perfect and my wifes filet was so good she couldn't stop eating it. All in all a great dining experience but I expected that because I have been eating here for years.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was great, everything as represent ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Steak was great, everything as represented. Miss Marla an excellent server with great sense of humor!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. Enough said!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was perfect. Enough said!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.