About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (184)
Good for a Date (148)
Good for Anniversaries (147)
See All
Business Meals (123)
Notable Wine List (118)
Good for Birthdays (108)
Romantic (106)
Historic (86)
Pre/post Theatre (69)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Worth the Drive (62)
Good for Groups (59)
Fun (54)
Bar Seating (50)
Great for Lunch (48)
Happy Hour (45)
People Watching (44)
Private Room (44)
Authentic (43)
Cozy (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Hot Spot (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Paleo Friendly (19)
Local Ingredients (16)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Family Style (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
4929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were visiting from Hawaii and a frien ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We were visiting from Hawaii and a friend who lives in Seattle recommended this restaurant. The food was awesome, but more so than the food was the service from our server Cat who went above and beyond to help us find a pool hall and karaoke bar to go to after dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best classic steakhouse in Seattle. You ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Best classic steakhouse in Seattle. You get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my 5th anniversary. Waiter ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Came here for my 5th anniversary.

Waiter gave us creme brûlée after finding out it was our anniversary which was very thoughtful. My steak was mostly delicious and best steak I ever had. We like our steak well done. Our steak was kind of fatty and in the middle it was very red so I had to cut around it. The parts that were well done were a amazing but I was disappointed the middle wasn't well done. Other than that our service and experience was 10/10.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We chose Metropolitan Grill for its Fina ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

We chose Metropolitan Grill for its Financial District location, athletic appeal and traditional steak house charm hoping to see the local flavor and left feeling like we were part of that attraction. It was an amazing three hours.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to the Metropolitan Grill a few tim ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Been to the Metropolitan Grill a few times before. Several years ago I took a friend for his Birthday and bought him the Tomahawk steak for $100. It looked amazing and tasted great. We were all very pleased. We went back on Saturday (February 18, 2017) and I got the same Tomahawk steak (big long rib bone). It was less ounces than before and cost $120. I was ok with that since I was expecting it to be amazing. Boy! Was I disappointed... The taste was just not there as it looked like the steak lacked some of the marbling that I remembered from previous visit. There were four of us and each got a different steak. Just not impressed with the taste & portion size. Sadly, I would say their steaks are way over valued and there are many better steak houses in the Seattle area where you can get a better tasting steak for a better value. Sad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The service from arrival to departure is ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The service from arrival to departure is top notch. You feel important and cared for throughout the experience. The food is amazing and delicious. We go for the great red meat. So good, that you could cut some with just your fork.

The price is on the higher end but an excellent value for an occasional visit. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food but not as good as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place, good food but not as good as the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great dining experience. Service was out ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dining experience. Service was outstanding. Meal was terrific.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated here a few nights ago and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated here a few nights ago and weren't disappointed! We had oysters to start. I really liked the gremolata type mignonette. I had the smaller prime rib with a side of asparagus. I added a lobster tail since I'd never had one. Pricey for what it was, but again, lobster novice here, so I tried it! My husband has the Chicago cute wagyu. It was delicious! We didn't have room for dessert! The restaurant is quite noisy, so if you're looking for quiet romantic ambiance, maybe go private dining? Overall, we enjoyed our meals very much and will probably go again for our next celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, drink and service. Very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, drink and service. Very crowded and noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our dinner for a party of ten was a ret ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner for a party of ten was a retirement dinner for one of our managers. The service started out well but once we ordered entrees and dinner was served we were neglected. As the host, I dine out a lot and this was a big disappointment. I don't believe my/our steaks were prime meat. At least 1/4 of my "prime" rib steak was unchewable. The quality of the meat was a big disappointment for one of Seattle's "Prime" steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The Food was delicious the service was v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The Food was delicious the service was very good, and the knowledge of the staff was spot on. The price was over the top for the menu items 600.00 for 4 was much. I'm glad we went but its not really something you can do frequently for that price. A must if you haven't ever been and would like to enjoy the experience and not worry about the dollars.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best steak I've ever had!!! Incredible s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best steak I've ever had!!! Incredible service!! Highly recommend:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can honestly say this is the best rest ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I can honestly say this is the best restaurant I have ever been to, the food & service we're out of this world.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day. Tops the list on quality ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day. Tops the list on quality Steakhouses with friendly casual class. Will be a regular here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the service and the ambiance. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed the service and the ambiance. We had 2 young girls with us and we were all treated very well. Food was excellent

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service staff was VERY attentive yet not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service staff was VERY attentive yet not intrusive.

Chop Chop Southwestern Salad w/Calimari was filling and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We only come here on try special occasio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We only come here on try special occasions, but we love the place. Service, quality are always impeccable. We will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Private Room, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took 2 friends there for dinner 2/12 . ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I took 2 friends there for dinner 2/12 . They never been in Metro Grill but heard about the delicious steaks in town . Unfortunately, the long bone was over cooked. We ordered as medium . However, when we mentioned to the waiter, he responded: "so, what do you want me to do". We did not know how to respond to the waiter. Finally We said "oh, we just wanted to let you know" . The waiter walked away. Bad...Need to improve services!!!

We still left him 20% tips !ok 2 friends there for dinner 2/12 . They never been in Metro Grill but heard about the delicious steaks in town . Unfortunately, the long bone was over cooked. We ordered as medium . However, when we mentioned to the waiter, he responded: "so, what do you want me to do". We did not know how to respond to the waiter. Finally We said "oh, we just wanted to let you know" . The waiter just walked away 😚Bad...Need to improve services!!!

We still left him 20% tips !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Long time diners at the Met. Go every ye ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Long time diners at the Met. Go every year on the same Sunday night in February and sit at the same table with the same 3 couples. Every year. This year was a one off. Mediocre food. Poor service.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Valentine's Day

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best. It doesn't get any better than ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The best. It doesn't get any better than The Met any where in or around Seattle if you love great steaks.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it, the food, the Service, the expe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love it, the food, the Service, the experience. It's been a favorite of mine for more than 20 years. I had not been in the past five years or so and Ila's much as some things have changed like the quality food options the whole experience has remained top notch.

I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing & so was the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing & so was the service! Roger was our waiter and he was such a delight with a wonderful personality and knowledge of the menu. The manager, whom came out and cooked our dessert, was also a very kind man. From beginning to end, our experience was amazing. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to the every now and then to compa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We go to the every now and then to compare it against our local steakhouse (JaK's). The thing that stands out at the Met is the service. They are very professional, from the greeters, to the servers, to the wine personnel, etc...they truly know what they're doing and they don't rush you. We all had steaks (one Wagu filet, and 3 filet mignons) and thought they were about a 7 out of 10. Two of the filets were 8 oz, and were cut pretty thin which was disappointing (it appeared that they cut the larger 13 oz steak in half horizontally). The Wagu filet was really tender but also not quite as good as expected. The salads and various potatoes we got were very good, and the chocolate lava cake we had for dessert was very good, but didn't have a scoop of vanilla ice cream (thought that was a little odd).

All in all, the Met is a good spot for a business dinner or to take friends too if they want to eat downtown, and you have the budget for it. Next time we'll order something other than the filets and see if that makes a difference.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So disappointing. Terrible service. Wors ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So disappointing. Terrible service. Worst part was the terrible filet - literally one of the worst we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The entire experience was excellent. Th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The entire experience was excellent. The staff took great care of us. The food was awesome. My wire had the special with was 2 6oz filets done Oscar style with Lobster. Only problem was that my wife did not give me a bite.

Tags: Fun, , Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance, delicate flavors and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, delicate flavors and superb service. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, valet is nice since it's ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good, valet is nice since it's downtown. A little loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

From the moment we stepped in the door, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

From the moment we stepped in the door, it was evident we'd chosen the proper location for our reunion. The entire staff was superb. However, Todd, our waiter, took the experience a step further and made us feel like family, not just customers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic except the stea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was fantastic except the steaks were served luke warm not hot like Ruths Chris. Steak was very, very tastely mind you but they were not hot - too bad

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I can honestly say this was the best mea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I can honestly say this was the best meal I've ever had the meat melted in my mouth the flavors were perfect the service was outstanding

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at the Metropolitan Grill ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have eaten at the Metropolitan Grill a couple of times now and it has never disappointed. The food is excellent and the service is top notch. We love to take our time and enjoy a leisurely meal and the Metropolitan never rushes us. We appreciate their excellent wine list and how it complements their awesome steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have always enjoyed the meals I have h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have always enjoyed the meals I have had at the Met! The steaks are delicious! The service impeccable!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and steaks, sides were bel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service and steaks, sides were below average. The creamed spinach had a 1/2 inch of semi-warm coagulated cheese on top (should have sent it back) and the wild mushrooms just needed to be cooked and they would have been really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Metropolitan Grill was fine....but I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Metropolitan Grill was fine....but I had read that it was one of the top Steak Houses in the US. I am not sure about that. I recently ate at Gordon Ramsey's Steak and I believe the quality was better at Ramsey's. But, to be fair I ordered prime rib at Metropolitan and a filet at Ramsey's so it isn't comparing apples to apples. The prime rib was on the tough side. The prime rib cost $43 and the filet cost $65 so unfortunately that was the deciding factor for me. Our waiter was charming, efficient and pleasant. Ambience typical of traditional steak houses.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding... fabulous steaks, p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always outstanding... fabulous steaks, phenomenal service, great bar and happy hour. MG has it all.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going here at least once per ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I have been going here at least once per year for the last several years. It really seems to have gone downhill the last couple years. Good is still great and servers are usually on point. However the last time a hostess was extremely rude because we asked a couple times how's much longer or wait would be. We had a reservation and was waiting for over 45 minutes so yes we were hungry and getting antsy waiting. No reason to be rude to us for asking. Luckily another hostess seated is and apologized but the damage was already done. I do not think I'll be returning anymore since I can get the same quality food elsewhere for the same if not less in price. Plus I'll never have to see the rude hostess again cause I'll probably go off on her if I see her again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The steaks remain outstanding, but the s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The steaks remain outstanding, but the service seems to be slipping . At this restaurant we should not have to ask to have water glasses refilled. We were warned that the kitchen was behind and there would be a 40 minute delay - but is that our problem?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.