About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Fettuccini
Filet Mignon
Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin
Onion Rings
35 Day Dry Aged American Waygu
820 Manhattan
Broiled Salmon
New York Strip
Clam Chowder
Peach Crisp
strawberry shortcake
Creamed Spinach
Skirt Steak With Mashed Potatoes
Baby Kale Salad
Top Sirloin Cap With Brussel Sprouts
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Oyster Shooters
Rack Of Lamb With Mushrooms
Oysters on the Half Shell
Wine
Nine Layer Chocolate Cale
Creme Brulee
Petite Filet Mignon
Kobe Beef Steak Tartare
American-Waygu
Bone-in Filet Mignon
Bacon Wrapped Iberico Bone-In Loin Pork Chops With Pancetta And Apple Cream
Maine Lobster Bisque
Fettuccine Bolonese
The Long Bone Ribeye
Sidecar
French Onion Soup
Steaks
Crab Cakes
Chateaubriand
Grilled Portobello Mignon
Seafood Additions - Alaskan King Crab
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich
Met Manhattan #5
Baby Spinach Salad
Hot apple pie
Wagyu Beef Ribeye
Crispy Calamari With Saffron Aioli
Coffee And Cream
Double New York steak For Two
The Works Burger
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Cheese cake
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Crab Stuffed Halibut

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steak
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (257)
Notable Wine List (157)
Romantic (150)
See All
Fit for Foodies (132)
Good for Groups (99)
Great for Lunch (61)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Hot Spot (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (26)
Late-night Find (22)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Historic (16)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been before and was disappointed. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

I've been before and was disappointed. The food was average at best. Mac and cheese did not have enough cheese, dry. Crab cakes didn't have enough crab. Steak was ok but not premium. The server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I hadn't been there in 10 years, yet, it ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

I hadn't been there in 10 years, yet, it didn't disappoint. Everything about this place is class and deliciousness. One of my favorite restaurants anywhere in the world!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is like a New York Steakhouse. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance is like a New York Steakhouse. Food is high quality and priced accordingly. Great for a special occasion, but likely too extravagant for every day dining

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Love this restaurant. Our waiter, Jim, w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this restaurant. Our waiter, Jim, was fantastic. Food was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and wait staff service was good, bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and wait staff service was good, but the food took too long to come to the table. My business guest (a client) had to leave before me so he could make a meeting he was late for. I thought it took too much time to get seated (we arrived on time and had an OT reservation), and the food took too long (a salad and pasta dish) to get to the table.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The chateaubriand was excellent. Drinks ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

The chateaubriand was excellent. Drinks were great. It is known for steaks and we saw some huge ones go by, a bone in huge ribeye, also the filet looked really nice. I was happy with my choice but it's a lot of food! Their carrot cake is amazing! Not enough words to describe it. We had heard of it while visiting Seattle and had gotten just the carrot cake to go after a different dinner location that wasn't great. Gosh it is good! Service was also excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous! Our favorite place for specia ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous! Our favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate my husbands 5 ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were there to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. Everyone that we were in contact with were absolutely fantastic. I have some food allergies (dairy and citric acid) and was concerned I wouldn't be able to find much to eat but I had no problem. The only thing I didn't have was dessert but I was so full it was fine. Everyone's steaks were made to perfection. Absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a special treat to dine at the Met! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Such a special treat to dine at the Met! Amazing staff that always makes us feel at home. We missed Kimberly - but enjoyed meeting Vanessa. Thank you Craig, Romy, Kevin & Charlie for a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and superb service! Our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food and superb service! Our special occasion go to.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is awesome! We had the chatea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This place is awesome! We had the chateaubriand for two and it was delicious! The valet parking was definitely a plus as well. It is expensive, but so worth it. We will be coming back the next time we are in Seattle!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for our 25th Anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for our 25th Anniversary dinner and it was simply outstanding in every way. We have dined here a number of times and it has never been anything but superb. We recommend it without hesitation or reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Do not order the Prime Rib. Worst we eve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Do not order the Prime Rib. Worst we ever. I think the food is overrated and very overpriced. The ambience was great, beautiful old building with interesting architecture. Better just have a cocktail in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Outstanding steak. Extremely high qualit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding steak. Extremely high quality beef available is not offered at most restaurants. You will pay for it though. Worth it on rare occasion for steak snobs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We always make it a point to visit your ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always make it a point to visit your restaurant when we make it down from Alaska. We always walk away way to full and happy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in town, both for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My favorite restaurant in town, both for personal and business events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a reservation for three for l ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I had made a reservation for three for lunch but we ended-up having one more in our party. The hostess made the change without issue and we were seated within a few minutes. My wife had a burger, I had the steak sandwich, and our freinds had a steak and the steak salad. Everything came to the table hot and everyone really enjoyed the food. We also had some red wine and our waiter was on top of low glasses. All-in all a great lunch at a historic Seattle steak house.

Cheers,

JP

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I've gone to the Met on numerous occasio ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I've gone to the Met on numerous occasions, but on this visit to celebrate my birthday, everything felt mediocre from the food, the drinks, the service, the ambiance. Our server didn't even ask if we were celebrating a special occasion or what brought us to the restaurant in the first place. It was unimpressive, so I will likely not return for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mixed bag for the food. My son was very ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Mixed bag for the food. My son was very happy with the (Wow! Expensive) Ohmi beef. I was extremely disappointed in the halibut entree I ordered (I know - steakhouse!) and the garlic mashed potatoes (dry and basically inedible).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We have eaten at your restaurant on a fe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have eaten at your restaurant on a few occasion now and have always been very pleased with everything, food, wine, great staff. We would make it more often but money is a issue, but every chance we have a little extra in the piggy bank we like to make a night of it. Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Great for Seahawks pre-game brunch!! Service is always exquisite, food is perfect, atmosphere is wonderful. It is always an amazing experience. There just isn't a better place to dine in Seattle - there isn't!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came before a Seahawks game for brunc ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We came before a Seahawks game for brunch...Be careful the size of the meals are huge. But not bad prices and yummy bloody marys too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Three of us had Seahawks game day brunch ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Three of us had Seahawks game day brunch and it was really good. Sat in the bar, had fine cocktails and fab food

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly and attentive staff. Nice Seah ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Friendly and attentive staff. Nice Seahawks brunch menu. Food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was amazing. The seafood was fres ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Dinner was amazing. The seafood was fresh and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Our server was very helpful in answering our questions about the menu. Although a little pricey, it was worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great steak house! Will not disappoint!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great steak house! Will not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Classic steakhouse, dark wood trim, old ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Classic steakhouse, dark wood trim, old style booths and lighting, celebrity pics on the wall, etc.. Cool ambience. Service was very good, friendly and personable waiter and staff. My wife and I split a wedge salad and steak after long day of eating and snacking at Pike Place, and the waiter was very accommodating. And no "spilt plate" charge. Food was tasty but expensive, but no different than any other steakhouse (i.e. Mortons, Ruth Cris, etc). Our steak was a bit overcooked but I'm sure they would have taken back if we asked. Was still very good. Overall the experience met our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What can you say about the Metropolitan ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What can you say about the Metropolitan Grill. I travel over 600,000 miles per year on business, I eat in Steakhouses from New York to Chicago to Dallas to Las Vegas to Los Angeles to San Francisco and I put the Metropolitan Grill at the very TOP OF THE LIST. Everything is exceptional, but most of all, their steaks. Anytime I get to Seattle, it is to the MET I GO!

If you have never eaten at the Metropolitan Grill, I highly encourage you to give them a shot.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very well trained and we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server was very well trained and we learned a lot from him. They had our favorite bottle of wine, and the steak!!! Steak is by far my favorite meaty food and it was the best I've ever had!!! Definitely worth the price, the whole experience was wonderful. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool spot and great atmosphere but the c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Cool spot and great atmosphere but the cost was outrageous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Classic steakhouse but with a twist...so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Classic steakhouse but with a twist...some interesting appetizers. Try the beef tips, wow! Steak choices included three grades of beef, very nice. By the way, my steak was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. The prices ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Outstanding service and food. The prices are high, but its worth the pay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at The Met ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at The Metropolitan, and it was lovely! Food is excellent, as was the wine, and service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met, also good, a little quieter in the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Met, also good, a little quieter in the back area, lunch is popular, so is after work happy hours,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in Seattle. Traditional dark ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Best steak in Seattle. Traditional dark wood décor. Outstanding Steak and service. Expensive, but well worth the price. Great for that special occasion dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good, but not worth th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was very good, but not worth the price tag. The steaks are as good of quality at other fine establishments such as Daniel's Broiler, Palisades, or my favorite, Prime Steakhouse in Redmond. I would not say it was better. Very good, just not any better than other top steak houses. The service from our waiter was minimal to say the least, and my wife was super excited to see a desert menu...however they brought out a lemon tart or something..it was delicious but we never got to look at and order what we want. It was their way of surprising us (they knew it was our anniversary) but really was inconsiderate considering we would have liked to order our own deserts. People were dressed mostly casual, it was definitely a comfortable atmosphere. I'm glad we went, but its unlikely we'd return as we can get a similar experience for about 70% of the price at other fine steakhouses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was amazing! A little hard to hear ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was amazing! A little hard to hear at points but overall great place and highly recommend the filet!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in town for a major convention, me ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I was in town for a major convention, meeting friends I see maybe 2-3 times a year. The plan was to get superb steak and sides, great mixology before and after the meal, and a great bottle of wine during it. The Met hit on all fronts, with a great ambiance that feels both welcoming and affluent at the same time. My group were treated superbly despite not being in button-downs+ties, and the kitchen staff served me one of the best steak flights (same cut, different sourcing) of my life. My pre-dinner cocktail was a little on the sweet side, but that was at most a fleeting pothole in an otherwise great evening on the town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They welcomed us in at the front. Had a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

They welcomed us in at the front. Had a semi-private room set up for us in the Chairman's Room. Phenomenal steaks and the service was exactly what of expect from a place like that. Food took a long time to arrive but it was a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mckenzie was our waiter and he made the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Mckenzie was our waiter and he made the experience for myself and three friends the most amazing dinner experience we have ever had. I visit this restaurant every time I come to visit Seattle and the waitstaff and food have never disappointed me. This last trip however with Mckenzie, was the most memorable. The experience has always been high class and the food exceptional. I will continue to make this a must stop on my future visits.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.