About The Metropolitan Grill – Temporary Renovation Closure June 19–Mid-August

The Metropolitan Grill – Temporary Renovation Closure June 19–Mid-August - The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill – Temporary Renovation Closure June 19–Mid-August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (123)
Good for Anniversaries (100)
Good for a Date (88)
See All
Business Meals (81)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Notable Wine List (67)
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Worth the Drive (42)
Bar Seating (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Historic (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Authentic (30)
Comfort Food (26)
Cozy (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Fun (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
People Watching (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Private Room (16)
Casual (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Healthy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
5199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service was slow, but food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The MET is the BEST! Thank you! I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I object to their surcharge on the bill that is obtensivly way to cover minimum-wage. A place with prices at this level should not be paying minimum wage. And they should not be making a political statement on the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food and outstanding service. Try the Wagyu steaks, worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our mainstay for the past 17 years. We have always been accommodated when special requests have been made. Our only regret is that they are closing for 6 weeks to remodel. We can't wait to see the new Metropolitan Grill!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Though known for the steaks (which I'm told are great), I love the appetizer crab cakes, which make a substantial dinner. The wait staff is friendly and professional. This is one of my family's favorite places to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful as usual! I wish I lived closer to this place! I can't wait to see remodel. 😊

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A 50th anniversary/75 year Birthday celebration was ruined as a result of the experience that my wife & I endured at this restaurant. Traveling from NJ to Seattle as part of a celebration gift trip from our children we chose the highly recommended Metropolitan Grill. Unfortunately we were served two horrible steaks - both under cooked and one (mine) was more gristle than steak . When returned and re-served mine was still hard to chew.

The manager attempted to apologize, but wasn't really listening to our concerns- even as I explained that this was a really special occasion.

What really took the cake, however, was his ending when he asked, in an apparently sincere effort to make amends: "Do you have room for desert?" We took this to mean that the desert would be "on the house." No such luck! We were presented with the check and it included $26 charge for ...... (wait for it) ........desert. Again we were mislead.

The bottom line we paid $93 for: drinks- one cocktail /one ginger ale; two salads; desert-cheesecake / layer cake and coffee/tea.

M.R.Baron

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Big fan of met but this trip a bit disappointing. Waited in bar for table as they forgot about us had to ask again for table which was then found as they gave ours away. Ended up right by door. Steak had no pink even on though asked for medium which I should have sent back but short on time. Mix up in wine too but was minor. No offers of extras. Will be back but guess need to ask for extras.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It was a very awesome evening. Michael our server which I requested to be seated in his area awesome as always. I had friends coming in from out of town and they were very impressed with the sites, sound and energy of the restaurant. we will be returning again. and not that I would not want to be served by any other server, but Michael just makes our night wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing food - friendly, knowledgeable and attentive staff - love the wine list - and the Long Bone Rib Eye could feed a family! We had the pleasure of being served by 2 of the most gracious servers (Todd & Craig). My wife and I felt like king and queen. The Met Grill is one of those restaurants of days past. Every time we visit Seattle, we enjoy at least one evening at the Metropolitan Grill and highly recommend it to anyone living in or visiting Seattle!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fabulous service and even better food. This place is a must-visit in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I have enjoyed the consistent quality of the Metropolitan grill for many years.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service was excellent. I had the double steak (4oz. @) Prime and American Wagyu, and was surprised to find I preferred the Prime. I had the side of onion rings and they were good with the meal but would be a bit much as a separate side. So, all in all for a (what should have been a three hour meal but we had things to do so rushed it a bit (the Met was very accommodating on this) $400 meal for four (non of us drink alcohol) I'd say it was on par with other similarly priced venues. If you love steaks it's a must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Absolutely a perfect dinner, as always.
Love this place.
Don't be afraid to make a meal off the appetizer menu.
Such a treat and variety of foods and flavors.
Yumm!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and plenty of it. Romantic atmosphere but able to accommodate a large group as well. The staff could not be any better. Extremely attentive and curious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was very tasty. Service was excellent. Always a wonderful experience to had st The Metropolitan. Sorry to see it closing for 2-3 months for renovation. We look forward to coming back in September.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Greta meal, great service. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food, good service, good atmosphere. It all works.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The service was excellent, the new outstanding, as always! It is my fav place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Met is a Seattle tradition, The great service, great food make it a must go for a special occasion or business power lunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here last week and OMGEEEE the food was amazing! I usually eat seafood vs poultry or livestock, so I ordered the crab pasta and it was delicious! I am pasta picky and prefer "grown up" very flavorful and savory pasta dishes, vs the usual bland and overly cheesy kiddie pasta most chains offer. For a steak house, the pasta was very impressive! It had several huge chunks of fresh crab meat too! My hubby ordered steak and I had a few bites and it was soooooooo good! The best steak I have had out before hands down! We also ordered the almond scallop appetizer, and it was ok but not worth the price. They cut the scallops in half and fry them in butter. We would have preferred a few full size scallops just seared instead. The heavily buttered crust and economy size cheapens the taste and appearance of the scallops IMO. I also had the pear lemon drop and it was stiff and tasty! We finished off with dessert, I got cheesecake and he ordered the ice cream, both were great! Our server was charming, friendly, and very attentive. The decor was very dated for some reason...all forest green and brown inside and felt very 80's fine dining. However that didn't' really matter to us, but if you are wanting an aesthetically pleasing "wow e'm" modern setting then this isn't the place. If you're a foodie like us and mainly care about flavor and service, this is one of the best restaurants in WA, let alone Seattle! If its in your budget/want to have a special meal out, the Met is absolutely worth every penny. We left full and very happy :)

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Such great service as well there is a lot of creativity with how they prepare their food. Get something made table side for entertainment and freshly made food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

アペタイザーは、値段の割に少ないし高いです。味も特に代わり映えの無いフツーのメニューです。
お肉は、シャトーブリアンや、近江牛肉もろってます。
美味しく調理されてます。
わさびがあれば、もっとよかったかな。
付け合わせの野菜も、特に特徴がなく、面白みに欠けます。
デザートホットアップルパイがオススメです。パフォーマンスも味も最高

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very noisy and had we known this we would not have made reservations their but somewhere less noisy. Food was okay.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service staff was amazing and made some good recommendations for wine and entrees which we took and had a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We came to celebrate our son's graduation and it was excellent - great steakhouse and service was also great.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were looking for a steak house and the Metropolitan did not disappoint. A classic steak house that has not lost its ability to turn out incredible food, expert service and classic ambiance. Ranks as one of our best restaurant experiences.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Just plain and simple. Fantastic!
Todd provided excellent service for the entire evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Best restaurant we've ever been to so far! The waiters are super friendly, and even gave us free dessert on them (:

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful night! We reserved for grad celebration. Received sweet cards and wishes from them! So sweet thank you guys!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

4 year Anniversary lunch for a work colleague

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

One of the best steakhouses I have been to. Quality all throughout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Todd Spadafore (Server) was wonderful and provided great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great service. We had reservations for 7:30, but when our party arrived @ 7, they took us straight to a table no problem. Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Really had a wonderful time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent food! I brought my son to dinner for his 21st birthday and it could not have been more perfect. Metro Grill was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Metropolitan had excellent steak and salad...so tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I love the restaurant and have been there many times. The food was good and atmosphere was typical for a stake house.
My disappointment came when reviewing the bill. I was charged a 2% surcharge for additional markup from the restaurant. The waiter explained it that it isn't a tip but was charged by management to cover extra costs. I had just spent almost $600 for dinner for 4 people and I left feeling like I was nickel dimed. Super disappointed in this great restaurant and I will not be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.