About The Metropolitan Grill

820 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

The moment you step into the Metropolitan Grill, you know you have entered a classic steakhouse. Guests enter through tall mahogany doors to be greeted by tuxedo clad Maitre D’s. Cuts of beef are showcased in a glass display in the front entryway. Framed photographs of celebrities, sports heroes and local politicians, all frequent visitors to The Met, line the walls.


At the Metropolitan Grill, the focus is on the Prime beef, American and Japanese Wagyu. Steaks are seared over the high heat of the “Iron Wood of the World,” imported mesquite charcoal, ensuring the most tender, juicy steaks available. Metropolitan Grill Chefs personally select each cut that is served to guests.


The Metropolitan Grill’s award-winning wine list showcases the definitive steakhouse selection of premium West Coast red wines, with special emphasis on Cabernets, Merlots and Meritage.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Marion

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-3287

Website:
http://www.themetropolitangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available every evening beginning at 5pm.

Public Transit:
Second Ave & Marion: MT 131-O, MT 132-O, MT 134-O, MT 143-I, MT 152-O, MT 157-I, MT 158-I, MT 158-O, MT 159-I, MT 159-O MT 161-I, MT 162-I, MT 162-O, MT 170-O, MT 174-O, MT 175-I, MT 175-O, MT 177-O, MT 179-I, MT 179-O MT 19-I, MT 190-O, MT 191-O, MT 192-I, MT 192-O, MT 194-O, MT 196-O, MT 21-I,

Executive Chef:
Stan Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Filet Mignon - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Crab Fettuccini - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Onion Rings - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
35 Day Dry Aged American Waygu - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
820 Manhattan - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Broiled Salmon - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
New York Strip - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Clam Chowder - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Peach Crisp - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
strawberry shortcake - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Creamed Spinach - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Skirt Steak With Mashed Potatoes  - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Baby Kale Salad - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Top Sirloin Cap With Brussel Sprouts  - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Alaskan King Crab Legs - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Oyster Shooters - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Rack Of Lamb With Mushrooms - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Oysters on the Half Shell - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Wine - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Nine Layer Chocolate Cale - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Creme Brulee - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Petite Filet Mignon - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Kobe Beef Steak Tartare - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
American-Waygu - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Bone-in Filet Mignon - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Bacon Wrapped Iberico Bone-In Loin Pork Chops With Pancetta And Apple Cream - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Maine Lobster Bisque - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Fettuccine Bolonese - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
The Long Bone Ribeye - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Sidecar - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
French Onion Soup - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Steaks - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Crab Cakes - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Chateaubriand - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Grilled Portobello Mignon - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Seafood Additions - Alaskan King Crab - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Met Manhattan #5 - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Baby Spinach Salad - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Hot apple pie - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Wagyu Beef Ribeye - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Crispy Calamari With Saffron Aioli - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Coffee And Cream - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Double New York steak For Two - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
The Works Burger - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Prime Top Sirloin Steak - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Cheese cake - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Teriyaki Steak Bites - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA
Crab Stuffed Halibut - The Metropolitan Grill, Seattle, WA

Private Dining

Each of our three private dining rooms provides a lovely setting for any occasion, personal or professional. Our meticulous attention to detail is reflected in the antique furnishings, tables graced with fresh flowers,white linen tables and warm, professional service.

The Metropolitan Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steak
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (196)
Notable Wine List (132)
Good for Anniversaries (129)
See All
Romantic (127)
Good for a Date (115)
Business Meals (104)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Worth the Drive (61)
Good for Groups (57)
Historic (56)
Cozy (50)
Great for Lunch (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Bar Seating (44)
Authentic (42)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Hot Spot (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Fun (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Happy Hour (32)
People Watching (28)
Private Room (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Casual (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Family Style (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great Beer (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Live Sports (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fireplace (3)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Business dinner for seven. Asked for qu ...

 
 (Singapore)·Dined 2 days ago

Business dinner for seven. Asked for quiet room and got Chairman's Room which we shared with another table of twelve or so. Perfect ambiance. Quiet enough for conversation but lively enough not to feel like a library. Service was excellent. Menu and food quality are fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Had the cedar plank ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Had the cedar plank salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in all of Seattle ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite restaurant in all of Seattle! The best food, the best service, and perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and steaks! The only ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and steaks! The only minor disappointment was the brussell sprouts as the were pretty plain. Otherwise great place with a nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great service! The only d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service! The only downside is that our bread plate kept disappearing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service from Victor. He was ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service from Victor. He was charming and really enriched our experience!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From Chicago visiting our daughter. Fan ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

From Chicago visiting our daughter. Fantastic steaks and prime rib. Great service. Wine, cocktails, and scotch. The desserts were incredible. Memorable occasion with our daughter. She bought! (We raised her well:) We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated like royalty as soon as we showe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Treated like royalty as soon as we showed up, and the 3 hrs flew by, with no one rushing to clear the table. The waiter was well-informed, extremely happy, and was attentive without being intrusive. I've had better steaks, but not many and -- coming from Texas -- you can't hold that against the Metropolitan! I will definitely go back there and recommend it to my friends (who aren't on a tight budget).

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably the best steak I've ever had an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Probably the best steak I've ever had and the bill was less than I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The meal was very good but my wife and I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The meal was very good but my wife and I thought I was a bit pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food and impeccable service, th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fabulous food and impeccable service, the perfect place to celebrate anniversary with family over the holiday weekend. All of our food was cooked to perfection. My French brother in-law who has worked in many renowned restaurants both in Europe and California enjoyed the meal there immensely. Hats off to the staff in the kitchen and out front. You all represent yourselves well. Merci

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The absolute best steakhouse in Seattle. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The absolute best steakhouse in Seattle. My go too everyone I come to town. Staff is fantastic and always accommodating. Wine list is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All four drinks ordered were received in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

All four drinks ordered were received incorrect. Bread was not brought to the table until after dinner was over because of a "shortage".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Sommelier was not knowledgeable. Ordere ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Sommelier was not knowledgeable. Ordered one wine but a different year was brought to the tabe without informing us. When noticed the sommelier was rude and tried to force the unordered wine on us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

It was amazing food. We had our dinner c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was amazing food. We had our dinner carved table side and then also had bananas foster fired up right in front of us. Every last bite was scrumptious and the servings were generous enough for us to have plenty to take home for leftovers.

The one complaint I might have is that the bathrooms are in desperate need of an update. Kind of a weird pet peeve of mine, I feel like a restaurant of this quality should have classy commodes. I've literally been in teriyaki places with fancier bathrooms.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Its the met. A Seattle institution. Al ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Its the met. A Seattle institution. Always good food and white coat service. Quiet comfy seating and a touch of elegance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time! Wonderful food! Our hig ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful time! Wonderful food! Our highlight was the American wagyu fillet. Would highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was excellent and definitely worth ev ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It was excellent and definitely worth every penny. The staff was amazing we had a reservation but we where running late due to traffic they where very accommodating the waiter was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening at the Met th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at the Met this week. Service was terrific and the food was fantastic. Steaks, seafood, kids food, and dessert were all memorable. We know we are always going to enjoy our experience at the Met and will be back soon. Thank you again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my steak in the steak salad was cold.... ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

my steak in the steak salad was cold....as in room temperature, food service was very slow but the servers were very accommodating

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A little loud in the main dining area bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A little loud in the main dining area but the Monday Lunch London Broil special was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing amazing amazing food. Loved our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing amazing amazing food. Loved our waiter McKenzie! His service was top notch! Sweet, funny, professional and represented your establishment well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Steakhouse!!!! I try to get to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Classic Steakhouse!!!!

I try to get to the Metro Grill every time I get to Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is very helpful and caters to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The staff is very helpful and caters to all your needs! Food was sensational and it did not take a long time to receive it.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as we've come to expect from the Met, ev ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

as we've come to expect from the Met, everything was perfect. our entire family request your establishment as their birthday dinner place. Love the service, food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Historic, Fun, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Metropolitan Grill is my absolute fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The Metropolitan Grill is my absolute favorite steak restaurant. If you are willing to spend the money the value is actually great compared to other high end steak restaurants. The atmosphere is great and the staff is always top notch. Our server Michael was awesome as was everyone we interacted with.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Seeley was outstanding. Wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Waiter Seeley was outstanding. Wonderful exciting crowd in restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been going to the Met for pre game Seaha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Been going to the Met for pre game Seahawks brunch for years. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Met one of my all time Seattle favor ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Met one of my all time Seattle favorites. Excellent as always!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding, as usual! The best s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Simply outstanding, as usual! The best steak house in the Pacific Northwest. Great value and the staff, and I mean everyone of them, are terrific. And, the quality of the food is unmatched.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak & entrees!!! (Bananas foster ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great steak & entrees!!! (Bananas foster is delicious)!!! Excellent, fun , & personable service!!! Thanks for making my daughters's 15th birthday dinner so memorable!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have the Waygu Skirt Steak. Absolutely d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Have the Waygu Skirt Steak. Absolutely delicious. You could split this particular meal with two people, order a side of Brussell Sprouts and you won't go home hungry at all. So good and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding service!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, I knocked the rating ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great, I knocked the rating down for the annoying table of people beside us. Also for the Hostess that seated us, whom gave us a dirty look like we would not be able to pay our bill, so why are you here look. The wait to order drinks and food was twice as long as it should of been for this level of establishment. So it doesn't matter how good the food was, the dinning experience did not meet expectations. Kinda made a birthday dinner less special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Misunderstood the very clearly stated re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Misunderstood the very clearly stated requirements (no pepper of any kind) and unfortunately for everyone involved one of our party was unable to speak within 40 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I've been to the Metropolitan Grill for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've been to the Metropolitan Grill for many occasions. Business lunches, dinners, birthdays and no occasion at all. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a fabulous place to eat. The service is also excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband got the blackened prime rib a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My husband got the blackened prime rib and I got the steak salad. Both of our meals were extremely salty. If I go back I would request no salt and add my own. Service was awesome!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I planned on taking my new girlfriend ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I planned on taking my new girlfriend out for a romantic birthday dinner while we visited Seattle. The Metropolitan Grill far exceeded our expectations! The food and service was impeccable!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Met is a classic Seattle establishme ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The Met is a classic Seattle establishment. We had dinner there to celebrate a birthday. The wait staff is excellent and knowledgeable about the menu. They have a great wine list and the sommelier is always willing to help. The food quality is consistent and what you'd expect from a steakhouse. Overall the experience met expectations and consistent with previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Super amazing last time I was here (2005 ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Super amazing last time I was here (2005) it was just as amazing. Dinner was fabulous the malbec was incredible. We were in a back room that seated two tables and we took up one and the other was being used by another party and it was a lovely intimate setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.