About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: 3026526358x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Bbq Brisket Fondue - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Old Bay Seafood Boil. - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Bananas Foster - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Dessert Fondue - The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
6 More
Best Food
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Most Booked
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (61)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (11)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time at the Melting P ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time at the Melting Pot, and I have only good things to say about every aspect of the experience. We were seated immediately, our server (Anthony) was attentive, knowledgeable, and personable, our food was delicious, and the atmosphere was very relaxing. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!!! The only thing that ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place!!!! The only thing that wasn't great was that it was super hot when we went, I think there was a fan that wasn't working. That in combination with the steam from the fondue pots was not a good thing!!! But the food and service always were great. Will be back but might ask about the fan situation first!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a fabulous time for our anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had a fabulous time for our anniversary dinner. My cocktail was fantastic, the waiter Sean was attentive, knowledgeable and lovely, and the manager who checked in also seemed very nice. Fondue is a fun experience and it was well done here. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall we had a fun time. Thought it wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall we had a fun time. Thought it was a bit pricey. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable but very scripted - forced jokes and laugh that became annoying.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I went to the Melting Pot with my husban ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went to the Melting Pot with my husband for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was a pleasant experience. When we were seated, we were given an anniversary card from the staff. I definitely recommend ordering from the 4 course menu if it is your first time visiting. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only issue was a small one.... I was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My only issue was a small one.... I was really cold in there

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always enjoy it ,and it's a consistent w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always enjoy it ,and it's a consistent winner.make a reservation .

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress was well versed in the food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The waitress was well versed in the food options and sauce variations. She presented herself well and represented what excellent customer service looks and sounds like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was an enjoyable evening with family. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was an enjoyable evening with family. Food and ambiance was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun dining experience with my k ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always a fun dining experience with my kids. They love Melting Pot. The food doesn't do much for me personally but I love the overall fun experience and see my kids enjoying it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was very knowledgeable and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgeable and friendly. She made our dining experience very pleasant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

When 1st seated music loud and my husban ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

When 1st seated music loud and my husband disliked , later in meal music changed and likable he not complaining anymore :) Having a good time !

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food , great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food , great for date night and special occasions!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience excellent food out ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful experience excellent food outstanding waitress.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, Laura our server w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful experience, Laura our server was phenomenal! Love the four courses and the food was amazing! Only down side is my dress was tighter after we left!! Never disappointing!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was nice enough but clearly g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The waiter was nice enough but clearly got frustrated when I asked if I was really going to be charged 40$ for one cheese fondue pot. This was a surprise to me as it had never been priced this way on any of our previous visits. This frustration most definitely carried through the meal. When I asked for extra dippers for the chocolate I was told " you will get a whole second plate with your second pot of chocolate." I was less than impressed with this answer. I understand the concept of how this dining experience works having done it many times in the past and I didn't ask if I would be getting another plate with my next pot I asked for a few more to finish the pot I already had. To add insult to injury by the time he actually got the idea that I needed more both pots of chocolate were essentially ruined and they weren't that great to begin with. The amount of dippers with my cheese was lacking also and while I didn't get an argument when I requested them by the time they came out my cheese was borderline burned and so hot I couldn't eat it without burning my mouth. The restaurant itself was fine the atmosphere was in line with my expectations. The staff could have been better. Not one time did a manager stop by to check. Every other time I have eaten at a melting pot they have. This is the worst melting pot I have been to. Worse than king of Prussia, which I have heard has improved. We will not visit this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

we love the melting pot and go at least ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

we love the melting pot and go at least once a month. we were very disappointed to find they have changed the house dressing which we loved (in fact we buy a bottle to take home) to a mustard based dressing that we did not care for at all. I guess we won't be getting salads there anymore. I wish they would bring back the original house dressing that has been around for 20 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

appetizer was by far the best part of th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

appetizer was by far the best part of the meal, the dessert came in a close second. the entree was sub par but may have been a bad choice on our part for the cooking style that we chose. overall great service and amazing food. will be returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to celebrate my mother in law's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to celebrate my mother in law's 80th birthday. I couldn't be happier with our visit. It was our first time there and our waiter was extremely patient and helpful with selections and recommendations based on other things we ordered. The table setup keeps it personal so noise is not a problem. The food was excellent and dessert alone was worth the trip.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the menu was complicated (ther ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I thought the menu was complicated (there were 3 of them), our server was funny but not very efficient or accurate (and he was clumsy) and the seafood items were bland. I was disappointed in the overall evening experience though we made the best of it since it was a never-to-be-repeated occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Fun place. Delicious Food. Unique dining ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fun place. Delicious Food. Unique dining experience. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! My wife and I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was wonderful! My wife and I live celebrating here and have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great to enjoy a nice meal and no ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was great to enjoy a nice meal and not be rushed. Our server was super friendly and answered any questions that we had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food our server was fantastic. Onl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food our server was fantastic. Only down side is the random noisy table

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot! It is something very differ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great spot! It is something very different from the everyday dating scene of Fridays and Applebees. This is for the grown and sexy type of people. My fiance and I went there lat week and we felt compelled to feed each other all night. Loved It!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappoint!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Never Disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is a family style salad that is se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

There is a family style salad that is served to the table. They offer to toss the salad with the dressing or keep it on the side. We got ours on the side - looked like you would have way too much dressing on the salad if they tossed it - we had half of the dressing left after we ate all of the salad. It was very good though.

I got the seafood platter thing which came with shrimp three ways (broiled, scampi, and stuffed), deviled crab and tilapia with mushroom, crab and some sauce. The tilapia and deviled crab were the best. The broiled shrimp was a little dry. You receive one of the stuffed shrimp was very good.

Someone at another table got the fettuccini which looked fantastic. If we were to go back, I'd probably try that. My husband got the blackened mahi-mahi and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was great, service was exceptio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was great, service was exceptional and the atmosphere was very romantic. Great place for a date or group outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was awesome, Our server was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

everything was awesome, Our server was very polite

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best for family or friends getogethers! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best for family or friends getogethers! Enjoyed yummy ying and yang chocolate fondue👌

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent dining experience at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience at the Melting Pot. As always, the food was delicious. The cheese and chocolate is a favorite with our group, having the special that included a salad made a nice break between courses.

I forgot our waiter's name. He worked the evening of July 13, 2016. He was a handsome young African American man who should be recognized as an asset to your organization! He was professional, engaging, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

We were there to celebrate my birthday, but I dislike fanfare and I didn't want anything extra done. The Melting Pot experience is treat enough for me. Lol. However, our waiter arranged a platter of desserts for dipping into an artistic configuration and discretely lit a candle so I could make a wish.

All in all, a wonderful experience that I recommend for a relaxing night out or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love that you can modify and share plate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love that you can modify and share plates and not be charged extra. Helpful and attentive staff. Soft lighting and quiet tables. A truly nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and a fun, family meal. Hi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and a fun, family meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. A little disappointed that even though we told the waiter that it was my birthday, there was nothing brought to the table to help us celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot has consistent food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Melting Pot has consistent food and doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, and interesting experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food, and interesting experience wher you cook all your meats. Delicious fondues! Great and knowledgable server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great! The food was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great! The food was very good. Everyone there went out of their way to make the experience great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time there. My wife ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first time there. My wife has been there before but, it has been a while. As you enter the place it was warm and confront atmosphere .

We had arrived early and asked if we could be taken in early. They accommodated us with no problem. The waiter was very friendly and helpful with explaining everything and making wonderful suggestions. He was always on point with being there , thru out the night asking if everything was ok and re- filling our drinks. If you have not been there , please allow 2 1/2 hours for everything. It is a process but , worth it. I recommend the steak lovers and the cheese cake dessert with dark chocolate. Enjoy..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visiting the state and the Me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time visiting the state and the Melting Pot. Was so full after eating, but we were able to take our dessert home, which was awesome! Server was wonderful, and our dinner superb!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent is donated to AI duPont Children's Hospital, a worthy cause.

Had a wonderful dinner with a friend. The only downside was that the bourguignonne (oil) cooking style wasn't as good as the usual broth that we get. The oil wasn't hot enough initially and the tempura batter stuck to the sides of the pot, making it difficult to remove the battered items.

My favorite cheese appetizer is the spinach artichoke and this did not disappoint. The addition of pineapple to the chocolate fondue (I recommend the flaming turtle!) was great.

We'll go again, and get the court bouillon cooking style.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.