About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: 3026526358x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Bbq Brisket Fondue
Old Bay Seafood Boil.
Bananas Foster
Dessert Fondue

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
Best Food
Delaware
4 More
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Most Booked
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (71)
Good for Groups (56)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Kid-friendly (16)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience excellent food out ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful experience excellent food outstanding waitress.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, Laura our server w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful experience, Laura our server was phenomenal! Love the four courses and the food was amazing! Only down side is my dress was tighter after we left!! Never disappointing!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was nice enough but clearly g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The waiter was nice enough but clearly got frustrated when I asked if I was really going to be charged 40$ for one cheese fondue pot. This was a surprise to me as it had never been priced this way on any of our previous visits. This frustration most definitely carried through the meal. When I asked for extra dippers for the chocolate I was told " you will get a whole second plate with your second pot of chocolate." I was less than impressed with this answer. I understand the concept of how this dining experience works having done it many times in the past and I didn't ask if I would be getting another plate with my next pot I asked for a few more to finish the pot I already had. To add insult to injury by the time he actually got the idea that I needed more both pots of chocolate were essentially ruined and they weren't that great to begin with. The amount of dippers with my cheese was lacking also and while I didn't get an argument when I requested them by the time they came out my cheese was borderline burned and so hot I couldn't eat it without burning my mouth. The restaurant itself was fine the atmosphere was in line with my expectations. The staff could have been better. Not one time did a manager stop by to check. Every other time I have eaten at a melting pot they have. This is the worst melting pot I have been to. Worse than king of Prussia, which I have heard has improved. We will not visit this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

we love the melting pot and go at least ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

we love the melting pot and go at least once a month. we were very disappointed to find they have changed the house dressing which we loved (in fact we buy a bottle to take home) to a mustard based dressing that we did not care for at all. I guess we won't be getting salads there anymore. I wish they would bring back the original house dressing that has been around for 20 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

appetizer was by far the best part of th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

appetizer was by far the best part of the meal, the dessert came in a close second. the entree was sub par but may have been a bad choice on our part for the cooking style that we chose. overall great service and amazing food. will be returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to celebrate my mother in law's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to celebrate my mother in law's 80th birthday. I couldn't be happier with our visit. It was our first time there and our waiter was extremely patient and helpful with selections and recommendations based on other things we ordered. The table setup keeps it personal so noise is not a problem. The food was excellent and dessert alone was worth the trip.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the menu was complicated (ther ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I thought the menu was complicated (there were 3 of them), our server was funny but not very efficient or accurate (and he was clumsy) and the seafood items were bland. I was disappointed in the overall evening experience though we made the best of it since it was a never-to-be-repeated occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Fun place. Delicious Food. Unique dining ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fun place. Delicious Food. Unique dining experience. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! My wife and I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was wonderful! My wife and I live celebrating here and have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great to enjoy a nice meal and no ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was great to enjoy a nice meal and not be rushed. Our server was super friendly and answered any questions that we had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food our server was fantastic. Onl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food our server was fantastic. Only down side is the random noisy table

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot! It is something very differ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great spot! It is something very different from the everyday dating scene of Fridays and Applebees. This is for the grown and sexy type of people. My fiance and I went there lat week and we felt compelled to feed each other all night. Loved It!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappoint!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Never Disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, service was exceptio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was great, service was exceptional and the atmosphere was very romantic. Great place for a date or group outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was awesome, Our server was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

everything was awesome, Our server was very polite

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best for family or friends getogethers! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best for family or friends getogethers! Enjoyed yummy ying and yang chocolate fondue👌

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent dining experience at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience at the Melting Pot. As always, the food was delicious. The cheese and chocolate is a favorite with our group, having the special that included a salad made a nice break between courses.

I forgot our waiter's name. He worked the evening of July 13, 2016. He was a handsome young African American man who should be recognized as an asset to your organization! He was professional, engaging, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

We were there to celebrate my birthday, but I dislike fanfare and I didn't want anything extra done. The Melting Pot experience is treat enough for me. Lol. However, our waiter arranged a platter of desserts for dipping into an artistic configuration and discretely lit a candle so I could make a wish.

All in all, a wonderful experience that I recommend for a relaxing night out or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love that you can modify and share plate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love that you can modify and share plates and not be charged extra. Helpful and attentive staff. Soft lighting and quiet tables. A truly nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and a fun, family meal. Hi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and a fun, family meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. A little disappointed that even though we told the waiter that it was my birthday, there was nothing brought to the table to help us celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot has consistent food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Melting Pot has consistent food and doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, and interesting experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food, and interesting experience wher you cook all your meats. Delicious fondues! Great and knowledgable server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great! The food was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great! The food was very good. Everyone there went out of their way to make the experience great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time there. My wife ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first time there. My wife has been there before but, it has been a while. As you enter the place it was warm and confront atmosphere .

We had arrived early and asked if we could be taken in early. They accommodated us with no problem. The waiter was very friendly and helpful with explaining everything and making wonderful suggestions. He was always on point with being there , thru out the night asking if everything was ok and re- filling our drinks. If you have not been there , please allow 2 1/2 hours for everything. It is a process but , worth it. I recommend the steak lovers and the cheese cake dessert with dark chocolate. Enjoy..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visiting the state and the Me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time visiting the state and the Melting Pot. Was so full after eating, but we were able to take our dessert home, which was awesome! Server was wonderful, and our dinner superb!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent is donated to AI duPont Children's Hospital, a worthy cause.

Had a wonderful dinner with a friend. The only downside was that the bourguignonne (oil) cooking style wasn't as good as the usual broth that we get. The oil wasn't hot enough initially and the tempura batter stuck to the sides of the pot, making it difficult to remove the battered items.

My favorite cheese appetizer is the spinach artichoke and this did not disappoint. The addition of pineapple to the chocolate fondue (I recommend the flaming turtle!) was great.

We'll go again, and get the court bouillon cooking style.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food and overall experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food and overall experience however the service wasn't that great. They didn't check us in either so I didn't earn my open table points 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

General manager was very good. Hostesses ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

General manager was very good. Hostesses did not manage well. We made a reservation and arrived early. We're told we would have to wait, but while waiting witnessed people without reservations being seated before us. Manager jumped in to fix, but didn't know until we complained. Cheese and dessert courses were good, but main course meats were tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

After my 2 friends helped me through a m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

After my 2 friends helped me through a major surgery, I took them out for a thank you dinner. They (and I) were just thrilled with the whole experience. Our waiter was fabulous, the food exquisite, and the ambiance perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Server was excellent

Really enjoyed the new Chicago cheese fondue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. Our server was fantastic! Food was yummy as always. Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was nice and efficient. However, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Server was nice and efficient. However, we requested a bit more dessert pieces since we had quite a bit of chocolate left in both of our pots (group of 5). She brought a scant amount... meaning 4 pieces of rice krispies! When paying almost $9 /person for dessert, really??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for our next return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in Reservation service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday and when we showed up the hostesses were clueless as to where to sit us even though there were plenty of open tables and they made us wait 10 minutes before seating us all the way in a corner secluded from everyone and everything else, very uncomfortable and small table. If it wasn't for our fantastic waiter I wouldn't go back. It was disappointing making a reservation in hopes they had a good table ready and instead they treated us as if we were just a walk in and it was a bother finding us a table.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always an excellent experience, more than just a meal. Server was great. Atmosphere pleasant definitely worth the hour drive to celebrate a special event

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, weak service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Dinner was great as always. Server was attentive until the main course came and then basically never came back. Several sauces needed refilling etc. and we finally got the manager's attention. Very good, but service detracted from overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bday at Melting Pot

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you don't mind cooking your own food, it's a nice change. Prices are a little steep for having to do so, but it was good quality food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing as always

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My girlfriend and I have become regulars to the melting pot it is always great. The staff is very good and do not keep you waiting for a thing, they are also very accommodating. I strongly recommend the brew and fondue. It is definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barely stopped over to our table to ask if we need anything.

she seemed annoyed with all the questions we asked.

very disappointed with the service, but other than that, the food was OK, I think not worth the money, but OK

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Melting pot for a vegetarian

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The melting pot is an excellent spot for starter and dessert but if you are vegetarian the main course leaves you wanting. The set up leaves it impossible for a meat eater and non meat eater to have two separate entrees as you cook in the same pot. If this was changed i.e. two stove tops this would lead to an improved experience for the vegetarian. The Dessert is the clear winner here though, very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.