About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: 3026526358x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Bbq Brisket Fondue
Old Bay Seafood Boil.
Bananas Foster
Dessert Fondue

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
7 More
Best Food
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Best Value
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Most Booked
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (85)
romantic (73)
good for groups (56)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (12)
notable wine list (9)
great for lunch (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an excellent dining experience at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience at the Melting Pot. As always, the food was delicious. The cheese and chocolate is a favorite with our group, having the special that included a salad made a nice break between courses.

I forgot our waiter's name. He worked the evening of July 13, 2016. He was a handsome young African American man who should be recognized as an asset to your organization! He was professional, engaging, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

We were there to celebrate my birthday, but I dislike fanfare and I didn't want anything extra done. The Melting Pot experience is treat enough for me. Lol. However, our waiter arranged a platter of desserts for dipping into an artistic configuration and discretely lit a candle so I could make a wish.

All in all, a wonderful experience that I recommend for a relaxing night out or a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love that you can modify and share plate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love that you can modify and share plates and not be charged extra. Helpful and attentive staff. Soft lighting and quiet tables. A truly nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and a fun, family meal. Hi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and a fun, family meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was there celebrating my 61 birthday. A little disappointed that even though we told the waiter that it was my birthday, there was nothing brought to the table to help us celebrate.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot has consistent food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Melting Pot has consistent food and doesn't disappoint.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, and interesting experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food, and interesting experience wher you cook all your meats. Delicious fondues! Great and knowledgable server!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great! The food was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great! The food was very good. Everyone there went out of their way to make the experience great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time there. My wife ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first time there. My wife has been there before but, it has been a while. As you enter the place it was warm and confront atmosphere .

We had arrived early and asked if we could be taken in early. They accommodated us with no problem. The waiter was very friendly and helpful with explaining everything and making wonderful suggestions. He was always on point with being there , thru out the night asking if everything was ok and re- filling our drinks. If you have not been there , please allow 2 1/2 hours for everything. It is a process but , worth it. I recommend the steak lovers and the cheese cake dessert with dark chocolate. Enjoy..

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visiting the state and the Me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time visiting the state and the Melting Pot. Was so full after eating, but we were able to take our dessert home, which was awesome! Server was wonderful, and our dinner superb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent is donated to AI duPont Children's Hospital, a worthy cause.

Had a wonderful dinner with a friend. The only downside was that the bourguignonne (oil) cooking style wasn't as good as the usual broth that we get. The oil wasn't hot enough initially and the tempura batter stuck to the sides of the pot, making it difficult to remove the battered items.

My favorite cheese appetizer is the spinach artichoke and this did not disappoint. The addition of pineapple to the chocolate fondue (I recommend the flaming turtle!) was great.

We'll go again, and get the court bouillon cooking style.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

General manager was very good. Hostesses ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

General manager was very good. Hostesses did not manage well. We made a reservation and arrived early. We're told we would have to wait, but while waiting witnessed people without reservations being seated before us. Manager jumped in to fix, but didn't know until we complained. Cheese and dessert courses were good, but main course meats were tough.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

After my 2 friends helped me through a m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

After my 2 friends helped me through a major surgery, I took them out for a thank you dinner. They (and I) were just thrilled with the whole experience. Our waiter was fabulous, the food exquisite, and the ambiance perfect for the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Server was excellent

Really enjoyed the new Chicago cheese fondue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. Our server was fantastic! Food was yummy as always. Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was nice and efficient. However, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Server was nice and efficient. However, we requested a bit more dessert pieces since we had quite a bit of chocolate left in both of our pots (group of 5). She brought a scant amount... meaning 4 pieces of rice krispies! When paying almost $9 /person for dessert, really??

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for our next return visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in Reservation service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday and when we showed up the hostesses were clueless as to where to sit us even though there were plenty of open tables and they made us wait 10 minutes before seating us all the way in a corner secluded from everyone and everything else, very uncomfortable and small table. If it wasn't for our fantastic waiter I wouldn't go back. It was disappointing making a reservation in hopes they had a good table ready and instead they treated us as if we were just a walk in and it was a bother finding us a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always an excellent experience, more than just a meal. Server was great. Atmosphere pleasant definitely worth the hour drive to celebrate a special event

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, weak service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Dinner was great as always. Server was attentive until the main course came and then basically never came back. Several sauces needed refilling etc. and we finally got the manager's attention. Very good, but service detracted from overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bday at Melting Pot

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you don't mind cooking your own food, it's a nice change. Prices are a little steep for having to do so, but it was good quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing as always

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My girlfriend and I have become regulars to the melting pot it is always great. The staff is very good and do not keep you waiting for a thing, they are also very accommodating. I strongly recommend the brew and fondue. It is definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barely stopped over to our table to ask if we need anything.

she seemed annoyed with all the questions we asked.

very disappointed with the service, but other than that, the food was OK, I think not worth the money, but OK

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Melting pot for a vegetarian

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The melting pot is an excellent spot for starter and dessert but if you are vegetarian the main course leaves you wanting. The set up leaves it impossible for a meat eater and non meat eater to have two separate entrees as you cook in the same pot. If this was changed i.e. two stove tops this would lead to an improved experience for the vegetarian. The Dessert is the clear winner here though, very enjoyable.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was almost completely emp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The restaurant was almost completely empty and we were sat at a table across from the kitchen so we heard someone shouting "coming in" throughout our entire meal. Then, 2 other tables were sat on both sides of us (again, the rest of the restaurant was empty). 1 table ordered the vegetable cooking oil, it completely ruined the taste of our dessert for us. We don't eat fried foods an all you could smell was hot oil.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious meal w friends

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal w friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delawa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delaware location is our FAVORITE one to go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife & I had not been to this restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife & I had not been to this restaurant for a number of years. We took our daughter and the three of us had a blast. Our server, Mark, was the best & really did a great job. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I sent my parents and youngest brother f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I sent my parents and youngest brother for a nice Mothers Day Supper. They had never experienced anything like this in the past. They enjoyed the outing so much , they look forward to returning to The Melting Pot in Wilmington, DE for another wonderful night out.

My mother shared her positive experience with her co-workers and they to want to visit The Melting Pot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Evening would have been awesome if...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The evening would have been perfect if they had not sat a table of six next to us with 5 children under the age of 14! Ugh!!!! Ruined the atmosphere totally!!!!!Should not have children sat after 8pm in the evening! Just my opinion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We love it there! Group or couples!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I also love to go with just my husband. I think it is both fun and romantic , good for any group!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excell ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excellent service and a delicious 4 course fondu meal! Went for my fiance's 30th and got the rest nance package.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Memorable Birthday

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The Melting Pot Wilmington once again did a very good job helping us celebrate a special occasion. The ambience and food selection was very good and it was quiet enough to enjoy some great conversation over a nice meal. The service was excellent with special touches due to the nature of the event. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love coming to the Melting Pot!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Service has always been informative and friendly. We usually come with friends and get a couple of cheese fondues, a salad and a chocolate dessert...all we've tried have been excellent

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Freakin awesome food!!!! And romantic. Totally got laid

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eh, nothing special

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My fiancé and I chose melting pot for our anniversary. The ambiance was lovely, however the waitress clearly did not want to be there. She did not make the cheese fondue properly. And I felt she did not properly explain the charges, so we may have overpaid.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

My first experience was all I thought it would be

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server Julianne was awesome. She explained each step and made small talk that was fun and engaging. We were stuffed from the portions as well! Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant for special occasions

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

This restaurant is not only convenient to us, but has a varied menu with memorable selections. We got excellent service from waiter Robert, and having a reservation for opening at 5 pm helps as well, before the most popular dining time begins. Ample portions are served, so bring your appetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Won't leave hungry

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My fiancé and I went on a double date with some friends for my birthday and the experience was fantastic. Everyone was very sweet and we were taken to our seats as soon as we arrived. When we sat down I was given a birthday card that all of the staff had signed and it waS the nicest gesture I had ever received at any restaurant.

The waiter, Sean, was very helpful and explained everything in great detail so there wouldn't be any confusion with the food or preparation. Our food arrived very quickly and everything tasted great. One thing is for sure you will not leave hungry. We all had the 4 course experience this time and always say we will only do the cheese and chocolate fondue because they are our favorite but end up doing it all. We had a great experience and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It took a while to be acknowledged, when we were seated, but once our waiter came, he did a great job with his service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Melting Pot, Great Experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to the Melting Pot to celebrate daughters new job. We had the 4 course menu and we had a wonderful time. The food, drinks and wait staff was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.