About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: 3026526358x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
6 More
Best Food
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Most Booked
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (112)
romantic (93)
good for groups (75)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Melting pot for a vegetarian

Dined 5 days ago

The melting pot is an excellent spot for starter and dessert but if you are vegetarian the main course leaves you wanting. The set up leaves it impossible for a meat eater and non meat eater to have two separate entrees as you cook in the same pot. If this was changed i.e. two stove tops this would lead to an improved experience for the vegetarian. The Dessert is the clear winner here though, very enjoyable.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was almost completely emp ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The restaurant was almost completely empty and we were sat at a table across from the kitchen so we heard someone shouting "coming in" throughout our entire meal. Then, 2 other tables were sat on both sides of us (again, the rest of the restaurant was empty). 1 table ordered the vegetable cooking oil, it completely ruined the taste of our dessert for us. We don't eat fried foods an all you could smell was hot oil.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal w friends

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal w friends

food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delawa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delaware location is our FAVORITE one to go to!

food4
ambience3
service5

My wife & I had not been to this restaur ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife & I had not been to this restaurant for a number of years. We took our daughter and the three of us had a blast. Our server, Mark, was the best & really did a great job. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

I sent my parents and youngest brother f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I sent my parents and youngest brother for a nice Mothers Day Supper. They had never experienced anything like this in the past. They enjoyed the outing so much , they look forward to returning to The Melting Pot in Wilmington, DE for another wonderful night out. My mother shared her positive experience with her co-workers and they to want to visit The Melting Pot

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Evening would have been awesome if...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The evening would have been perfect if they had not sat a table of six next to us with 5 children under the age of 14! Ugh!!!! Ruined the atmosphere totally!!!!!Should not have children sat after 8pm in the evening! Just my opinion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love it there! Group or couples!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I also love to go with just my husband. I think it is both fun and romantic , good for any group!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excell ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excellent service and a delicious 4 course fondu meal! Went for my fiance's 30th and got the rest nance package.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another Memorable Birthday

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Melting Pot Wilmington once again did a very good job helping us celebrate a special occasion. The ambience and food selection was very good and it was quiet enough to enjoy some great conversation over a nice meal. The service was excellent with special touches due to the nature of the event. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to the Melting Pot!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Service has always been informative and friendly. We usually come with friends and get a couple of cheese fondues, a salad and a chocolate dessert...all we've tried have been excellent

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Freakin awesome food!!!! And romantic. Totally got laid

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Eh, nothing special

Dined on April 30, 2016

My fiancé and I chose melting pot for our anniversary. The ambiance was lovely, however the waitress clearly did not want to be there. She did not make the cheese fondue properly. And I felt she did not properly explain the charges, so we may have overpaid.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first experience was all I thought it would be

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server Julianne was awesome. She explained each step and made small talk that was fun and engaging. We were stuffed from the portions as well! Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A restaurant for special occasions

Dined on April 26, 2016

This restaurant is not only convenient to us, but has a varied menu with memorable selections. We got excellent service from waiter Robert, and having a reservation for opening at 5 pm helps as well, before the most popular dining time begins. Ample portions are served, so bring your appetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Won't leave hungry

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My fiancé and I went on a double date with some friends for my birthday and the experience was fantastic. Everyone was very sweet and we were taken to our seats as soon as we arrived. When we sat down I was given a birthday card that all of the staff had signed and it waS the nicest gesture I had ever received at any restaurant. The waiter, Sean, was very helpful and explained everything in great detail so there wouldn't be any confusion with the food or preparation. Our food arrived very quickly and everything tasted great. One thing is for sure you will not leave hungry. We all had the 4 course experience this time and always say we will only do the cheese and chocolate fondue because they are our favorite but end up doing it all. We had a great experience and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great

Dined on April 17, 2016

It took a while to be acknowledged, when we were seated, but once our waiter came, he did a great job with his service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Melting Pot, Great Experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to the Melting Pot to celebrate daughters new job. We had the 4 course menu and we had a wonderful time. The food, drinks and wait staff was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melted My Heart

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Melting Pot in Wilmington, DE is one of my new favorite restaurants! Went here with a friend to celebrate new beginnings – her job transfer and my job promotion. It was our first time attending this restaurant together. Service, food, and atmosphere earn an A+. Highly recommend the Yin & Yang Martini!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great

Dined on April 7, 2016

Robert was our server and his knowledge and his attentiveness were very much appreciated. He represents the restaurant very well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and very enjoyable

Dined on April 6, 2016

Second time I have been here and again, really enjoyed the experience. My coworker had never been there, so I suggested we go and take advantage of the restaurant week special. She loved the place and went back with family a couple of nights later.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish food with great options

Dined on April 6, 2016

Our server was very accommodating and we really appreciated how he catered to outlet tween . . Wonderful service

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our server seemed to have too many table ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Our server seemed to have too many tables, he would disappear for 10 to 15 min at a time before we even ordered or got our food. Drinks took over 30 minutes. We would run out of water or items to put in the fondue and had a hard time finding someone to give bring out more (like the vegetables). The manager came to help our server during the meal course, but it still took a considerable amount of time to bring out our dessert items. At one point we waited 10 minutes for water, we stopped the first person we saw who worked there asking if they could grab our server, and she responded in a bothered tone with 'im hostess', we saw another server passing by with a water pitcher and asked her for a refill. The food was good with the exception of the the chocolate being turned up too high and starting to burn, I assume this was because of how busy our server was. It was a busy evening, probably because of the promotions the restaurant was running, but considering all reservations were full, I would have expected them to staff appropriately.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd Date

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had a second date here and it was the perfect spot to get to know someone. The process of the Melting Pot is long, which is very nice because you are relaxed and have plenty of time to talk. Our waiter was so nice and he asked us the occasion. When we told him it was a second date, I feel that he tried very hard not to disturb us, but still offered us great service. Great for date night!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special events

Dined on March 24, 2016

Went out to dinner at the Melting Pot the other night and had a great experience. The food is top-notch, and it's a completely different experience from any other restaurants. The waiter was very attentive and helpful since it was our first time at the restaurant. Overall a very enjoyable dinner and would do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been at this restaurant on severa ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have been at this restaurant on several different occasions we had reservations at 7 and were seated promptly. However it took our server 15 minutes to greet us. We stayed because we love the food. Our sever had too many tables and couldn't handle the amount of tables. Guests who entered after us left before we did because it took her so long to get everything. Food was awesome but on this night the service was lackluster, especially for the amount of money paid.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

groups win

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were only a party of two and felt groups took precedence to us.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice night out

Dined on March 19, 2016

Jordan was our waiter and he was one of best waiters we have had in a while. You could see that he enjoyed his job.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for special occassions

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was excellent and very fresh. We each had the four course meal that included chocolate fondue. It was more than enough food but delicious! The service was outstanding and they explained everything they were doing and how long things would take to cook as well as the ingredients that were used. We were so full we could hardly move. I couldn't eat like that all the time so I would just go as a treat or special occasion!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

KIDS AND LARGE GROUPS (AWAY FROM OTHERS)

Dined on March 5, 2016

I completed enjoyed my recent visit to The Melting Pot, however, LARGE groups and groups with children should be separate from small tables. Kids enjoyed themselves, but they were VERY LOUD and made it difficult from my small party of 2 to talk over the noise level. Also, hot plates on table are set odd for small table. Very hard to reach.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food Great Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

It was our first time dining at The Melting Pot. It was a wonderful experience. The food and service was exceptional. We will go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 2, 2016

Went for my birthday. Was absolutely wonderful. Service was great. They even gave me a signed birthday card and candle on my dessert. Made the whole evening special. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Fondue!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Awesome experience as always! Winston and his staff do a really great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night

Dined on February 28, 2016

I go to The Melting Pot for special occasions with my wife. We both love the atmosphere and the service is fantastic. Our server was always attentive and so nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Melting pot on a Saturday night feels rushed

Dined on February 27, 2016

Dining on a Saturday night at the Melting Pot may not be the best dining night. We are seated quickly and whisked through the courses. As soon as the entree was served the dessert menu is presented. I felt rushed as though the table needed to be turned over.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 23, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner with family, first visit and our server was excellent and explained everything in detail. Great experience cooking our own meal, would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely evening

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was excellent, service was superb, and fondue is fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Favorite splurge

Dined on February 21, 2016

It was a bit loud tonight yet our waitress was spot on for timing, friendly and the food was great

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Over priced waiter not good

Dined on February 21, 2016

The waiter had to be reminded of our order & we had to keep asking for things that he forgot to bring. He took the water glass during dessert & never brought it back, so we had to share very little water to finish. Sauces weren't filled to the top, sweet & sour was almost empty. Felt rushed the whole time. Way over priced!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best way to spoil a loved one

Dined on February 19, 2016

I took my boyfriend as a late Valentine's Day treat. Dropped a pretty penny, but four courses, three drinks, and a smiling special someone was all worth every cent. The server was very knowledgable and his tip to stuff the fresh mushrooms with one of the sauces before dipping it in the tempura batter and frying it in the fondue pot was AMAZING! This was my third time and every time has been awesome. My boyfriend had never been and it was definitely an amazing night for him as well. Thanks!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.