About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: 3026526358x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE
Bbq Brisket Fondue
Old Bay Seafood Boil.
Bananas Foster
Dessert Fondue

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
6 More
Best Food
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Most Booked
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (100)
romantic (86)
good for groups (66)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (10)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Chose to go because 10% of what we spent is donated to AI duPont Children's Hospital, a worthy cause. Had a wonderful dinner with a friend. The only downside was that the bourguignonne (oil) cooking style wasn't as good as the usual broth that we get. The oil wasn't hot enough initially and the tempura batter stuck to the sides of the pot, making it difficult to remove the battered items. My favorite cheese appetizer is the spinach artichoke and this did not disappoint. The addition of pineapple to the chocolate fondue (I recommend the flaming turtle!) was great. We'll go again, and get the court bouillon cooking style.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

General manager was very good. Hostesses ...

Dined 6 days ago

General manager was very good. Hostesses did not manage well. We made a reservation and arrived early. We're told we would have to wait, but while waiting witnessed people without reservations being seated before us. Manager jumped in to fix, but didn't know until we complained. Cheese and dessert courses were good, but main course meats were tough.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After my 2 friends helped me through a m ...

Dined 6 days ago

After my 2 friends helped me through a major surgery, I took them out for a thank you dinner. They (and I) were just thrilled with the whole experience. Our waiter was fabulous, the food exquisite, and the ambiance perfect for the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was excellent Really enjoyed the ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Server was excellent Really enjoyed the new Chicago cheese fondue

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. O ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a fun time at The Melting Pot. Our server was fantastic! Food was yummy as always. Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Server was nice and efficient. However, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Server was nice and efficient. However, we requested a bit more dessert pieces since we had quite a bit of chocolate left in both of our pots (group of 5). She brought a scant amount... meaning 4 pieces of rice krispies! When paying almost $9 /person for dessert, really??

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Exceptional as usual! We can't wait for our next return visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed in Reservation service

Dined on June 9, 2016

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday and when we showed up the hostesses were clueless as to where to sit us even though there were plenty of open tables and they made us wait 10 minutes before seating us all the way in a corner secluded from everyone and everything else, very uncomfortable and small table. If it wasn't for our fantastic waiter I wouldn't go back. It was disappointing making a reservation in hopes they had a good table ready and instead they treated us as if we were just a walk in and it was a bother finding us a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining

Dined on June 4, 2016

Always an excellent experience, more than just a meal. Server was great. Atmosphere pleasant definitely worth the hour drive to celebrate a special event

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great dinner, weak service

Dined on June 1, 2016

Dinner was great as always. Server was attentive until the main course came and then basically never came back. Several sauces needed refilling etc. and we finally got the manager's attention. Very good, but service detracted from overall experience.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Bday at Melting Pot

Dined on May 27, 2016

If you don't mind cooking your own food, it's a nice change. Prices are a little steep for having to do so, but it was good quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

Dined on May 22, 2016

My girlfriend and I have become regulars to the melting pot it is always great. The staff is very good and do not keep you waiting for a thing, they are also very accommodating. I strongly recommend the brew and fondue. It is definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

our waiter was very unhelpful. she barely stopped over to our table to ask if we need anything. she seemed annoyed with all the questions we asked. very disappointed with the service, but other than that, the food was OK, I think not worth the money, but OK

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Melting pot for a vegetarian

Dined on May 19, 2016

The melting pot is an excellent spot for starter and dessert but if you are vegetarian the main course leaves you wanting. The set up leaves it impossible for a meat eater and non meat eater to have two separate entrees as you cook in the same pot. If this was changed i.e. two stove tops this would lead to an improved experience for the vegetarian. The Dessert is the clear winner here though, very enjoyable.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was almost completely emp ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The restaurant was almost completely empty and we were sat at a table across from the kitchen so we heard someone shouting "coming in" throughout our entire meal. Then, 2 other tables were sat on both sides of us (again, the rest of the restaurant was empty). 1 table ordered the vegetable cooking oil, it completely ruined the taste of our dessert for us. We don't eat fried foods an all you could smell was hot oil.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal w friends

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal w friends

food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delawa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We LOVE going to the Melting Pot! Delaware location is our FAVORITE one to go to!

food4
ambience3
service5

My wife & I had not been to this restaur ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife & I had not been to this restaurant for a number of years. We took our daughter and the three of us had a blast. Our server, Mark, was the best & really did a great job. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

I sent my parents and youngest brother f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I sent my parents and youngest brother for a nice Mothers Day Supper. They had never experienced anything like this in the past. They enjoyed the outing so much , they look forward to returning to The Melting Pot in Wilmington, DE for another wonderful night out. My mother shared her positive experience with her co-workers and they to want to visit The Melting Pot

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Evening would have been awesome if...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The evening would have been perfect if they had not sat a table of six next to us with 5 children under the age of 14! Ugh!!!! Ruined the atmosphere totally!!!!!Should not have children sat after 8pm in the evening! Just my opinion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love it there! Group or couples!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I also love to go with just my husband. I think it is both fun and romantic , good for any group!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excell ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice and quiet in a corner table. Excellent service and a delicious 4 course fondu meal! Went for my fiance's 30th and got the rest nance package.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another Memorable Birthday

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Melting Pot Wilmington once again did a very good job helping us celebrate a special occasion. The ambience and food selection was very good and it was quiet enough to enjoy some great conversation over a nice meal. The service was excellent with special touches due to the nature of the event. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to the Melting Pot!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Service has always been informative and friendly. We usually come with friends and get a couple of cheese fondues, a salad and a chocolate dessert...all we've tried have been excellent

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Freakin awesome food!!!! And romantic. Totally got laid

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Eh, nothing special

Dined on April 30, 2016

My fiancé and I chose melting pot for our anniversary. The ambiance was lovely, however the waitress clearly did not want to be there. She did not make the cheese fondue properly. And I felt she did not properly explain the charges, so we may have overpaid.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first experience was all I thought it would be

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server Julianne was awesome. She explained each step and made small talk that was fun and engaging. We were stuffed from the portions as well! Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A restaurant for special occasions

Dined on April 26, 2016

This restaurant is not only convenient to us, but has a varied menu with memorable selections. We got excellent service from waiter Robert, and having a reservation for opening at 5 pm helps as well, before the most popular dining time begins. Ample portions are served, so bring your appetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Won't leave hungry

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My fiancé and I went on a double date with some friends for my birthday and the experience was fantastic. Everyone was very sweet and we were taken to our seats as soon as we arrived. When we sat down I was given a birthday card that all of the staff had signed and it waS the nicest gesture I had ever received at any restaurant. The waiter, Sean, was very helpful and explained everything in great detail so there wouldn't be any confusion with the food or preparation. Our food arrived very quickly and everything tasted great. One thing is for sure you will not leave hungry. We all had the 4 course experience this time and always say we will only do the cheese and chocolate fondue because they are our favorite but end up doing it all. We had a great experience and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great

Dined on April 17, 2016

It took a while to be acknowledged, when we were seated, but once our waiter came, he did a great job with his service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Melting Pot, Great Experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to the Melting Pot to celebrate daughters new job. We had the 4 course menu and we had a wonderful time. The food, drinks and wait staff was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melted My Heart

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Melting Pot in Wilmington, DE is one of my new favorite restaurants! Went here with a friend to celebrate new beginnings – her job transfer and my job promotion. It was our first time attending this restaurant together. Service, food, and atmosphere earn an A+. Highly recommend the Yin & Yang Martini!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great

Dined on April 7, 2016

Robert was our server and his knowledge and his attentiveness were very much appreciated. He represents the restaurant very well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and very enjoyable

Dined on April 6, 2016

Second time I have been here and again, really enjoyed the experience. My coworker had never been there, so I suggested we go and take advantage of the restaurant week special. She loved the place and went back with family a couple of nights later.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish food with great options

Dined on April 6, 2016

Our server was very accommodating and we really appreciated how he catered to outlet tween . . Wonderful service

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our server seemed to have too many table ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Our server seemed to have too many tables, he would disappear for 10 to 15 min at a time before we even ordered or got our food. Drinks took over 30 minutes. We would run out of water or items to put in the fondue and had a hard time finding someone to give bring out more (like the vegetables). The manager came to help our server during the meal course, but it still took a considerable amount of time to bring out our dessert items. At one point we waited 10 minutes for water, we stopped the first person we saw who worked there asking if they could grab our server, and she responded in a bothered tone with 'im hostess', we saw another server passing by with a water pitcher and asked her for a refill. The food was good with the exception of the the chocolate being turned up too high and starting to burn, I assume this was because of how busy our server was. It was a busy evening, probably because of the promotions the restaurant was running, but considering all reservations were full, I would have expected them to staff appropriately.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd Date

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had a second date here and it was the perfect spot to get to know someone. The process of the Melting Pot is long, which is very nice because you are relaxed and have plenty of time to talk. Our waiter was so nice and he asked us the occasion. When we told him it was a second date, I feel that he tried very hard not to disturb us, but still offered us great service. Great for date night!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special events

Dined on March 24, 2016

Went out to dinner at the Melting Pot the other night and had a great experience. The food is top-notch, and it's a completely different experience from any other restaurants. The waiter was very attentive and helpful since it was our first time at the restaurant. Overall a very enjoyable dinner and would do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been at this restaurant on severa ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have been at this restaurant on several different occasions we had reservations at 7 and were seated promptly. However it took our server 15 minutes to greet us. We stayed because we love the food. Our sever had too many tables and couldn't handle the amount of tables. Guests who entered after us left before we did because it took her so long to get everything. Food was awesome but on this night the service was lackluster, especially for the amount of money paid.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

groups win

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were only a party of two and felt groups took precedence to us.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.