About The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach

1564 Laskin Road, Suite 182
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won’t find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all of the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot is certain to please. Make reservations today and come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-3463

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/virginia-beach/specials

Parking Details:
Shopping Center Parking

Private Party Facilities:
They offer a private room that seats up to 36 persons. Credit card is required to hold reservations. Preset menu is required for parties of more than 13.

Private Party Contact:
Ariel Yandell: 7574253463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
4 More
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (94)
romantic (93)
good for groups (45)
See All
notable wine list (40)
fit for foodies (32)
late-night find (16)
hot spot (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed it. Staff was great and the f ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed it. Staff was great and the food .. Nice wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was all wonderful and our server was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

It was all wonderful and our server was incredible. My only wish is that you could try more than one chocolate when is two couples. We will definitely be back

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary and made reservations, we were promptly seated and our waitress was also very prompt. The food as always was excellent and the dessert was to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Reserved the table online for a group birthday celebration. It was so convenient and easy and we were able to plan the perfect night! Will definitely use this again!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just "OK"

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a 745 reservation, didn't get seated until 820. Waiter was wonderful. Group of women behind us were loud and obnoxious. Food was on point as usual. Wine had sediment in last half of bottle so we couldn't finish it. Been here 7 or 8 times, this as by far my WORST experience.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for anniverisary

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I had to celebrate our anniversary early and they let us. Even though it was our first time, our server, Tyler was very nice and helpful. He made our experience very excellent. The food was very tasty and the whole experience was amazing. Ambience was romantic, excellent romantic music, except the only thing was a little dark, was a bit harder to eat in the dark. Everything was amazing and the hype and experience made it fun and very rememorable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated Like Family

Dined on April 30, 2016

I dine at the Virginia Beach Melting Pot often, and am never disappointed. I usually go with my best friend but I always find "excuses" to go with others as well. I even go alone, as it's a semi-quiet atmosphere and perfect for working on my book. The last few times I've went, I've gotten VERY lucky to have the same waiter. Troy is amazing and makes me and anyone I dine with, feel like we're part of the family. Never disappointed. I've put myself on a time out because I go SO often, and cut into my budget to do so, but we'll see how long it lasts. :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dining experience. We went for ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. We went for a birthday celebration. It's just tough because some guests speak so loudly everyone hears their conversations and in such a small location it echoes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

love this place

Dined on April 29, 2016

the atmosphere is great for a date night and the tables aren't crowded so you can have a conversation with worrying about being over heard. the wait staff was amazing and made the atmosphere even better.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place

Dined on April 29, 2016

Love it ! We usually go for special occasions only, but had a taste for the lobster. (Which melts like butter in your mouth)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fun food experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

My family always enjoys coming to the Melting Pot for special occasions. We appreciate the great service and attention to our needs and the food is SO good! My four year old grandson enjoyed dipping his desserts into the chocolate!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is very romantic and the food is good

Dined on April 24, 2016

The ambiance is very romantic and the food is good. The servers are very nice and even though you cook your own food it is very tasty. The California salad and flaming turtle fondue are amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Obsessed!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

If I had a credit card, and unlimited spending...I would be in trouble. I love this place. I'm there often...so much so at least ONE of the waiters recognizes me and can tell me my own order before I give it. <3 I'm always treated well and am always looking for "excuses" to go. I never leave hungry....and am totally satisfied.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Melting Pot April 2016 Dinner for two

Dined on April 12, 2016

I would have changed my four course meal selection to the 'Classic' instead of the dinner for two. The chicken had no seasoning and the lobster was a tad salty. Since there was no detail of this special on the menu, we did not know how the meats would be prepared. Cheese and chocolate fondues were very appetizing as anticipated. We appreciated the private dining booths; the meal focused on us and our fun for dipping.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place

Dined on March 26, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Melting Pot and it was a great experience. Loved every minute of our time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Definitely a great atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was perfect... Everyone was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. The dessert was amazing... Not sure i would go back for the full 4 course meal but definitely for dessert

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Great service but only decent food. Sal ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great service but only decent food. Salad way overdressed, chocolate was terrific. Really hit or miss.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great times at Melting Pot

Dined on March 18, 2016

This restaurant was great. Everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Our server was great. We had two tables reserved and she was very attentive the whole night to both tables.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service1

Had to wait 60 minutes for our table des ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had to wait 60 minutes for our table despite reservations and 35 minutes for our desert. From the time of ordering desert until we finally were served the waiter not once checked on us. Will definitely not come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the food.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We always order the Fondue for 2 - 4 course meal. The food is fabulous and the server is very attentive. Very nice spot for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Girl's Night Out!!

Dined on March 6, 2016

My sisters and our daughters enjoyed an early birthday celebration for me! I love this place but my DH does not! Girl's night is the answer! Great service, food, and fun! We will def do this again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on February 28, 2016

Superb service and delicious food! I'm never disappointed when I eat at The Melting Pot. My friends were definitely wow'd as it was their first time dining here. If only we could have VB Restaurant Week more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Our dinner at The Melting Pot was incredible. From the cheese to the entree to the dessert, everything was great. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely loved it

Dined on February 25, 2016

This is definitely one of my favorite restaurants. Love every single course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Not to be rushed, this is a great social ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Not to be rushed, this is a great social night out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great time during restaurant week!

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great time during restaurant week!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Very nice evening celebrating our son's 17th Birthday! Server was friendly and efficient, and the food was excellent as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was great, service was good. In the past when we have dined our 4 courses flowed together (desert order taken before we finish the meal). This time we finished our meal and were left sitting for a while before our desert order was taken, it was then a while before the desert arrived. Kind of awkward just hanging out with no food. Other than that the experience was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Evening With The Woman I Love

Dined on February 12, 2016

Had a wonderful evening at The Melting Pot in Virginia Beach. The whole atmosphere was very romantic, especially since it was a Valentine's Day celebration. We were ushered to a private booth which was set up by the restaurant for the occasion. Flowers and a balloon was already there and the look of surprise and joy on my girlfriend's face was worth every penny. But the good part was, of course, the food. We got the Couple's Special which gave us the full Four Course experience. So much food that we were not able to finish it and ALL of it was great. The service was on point, our glasses were never empty and the attention paid to us was much appreciated. The experience ended with a picture taken of me and my love. She commented that, in our time together she has rarely seen me smile in a picture. After the wonderful time we had at the Melting Pot in Virginia Beach, I had good reason to smile. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable night for me and my girlfriend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little noise from the table behind us.

Dined on February 11, 2016

Good service. Restaurant was a little chilly. A little noise from the table behind us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Waitress

Dined on February 9, 2016

The waitress was not very attentive. The meal took twice as long as it should have, and it was my one night out without a child. She said she had only been working there since Christmas and it showed. I go to the Melting pot two or three times a year, and this was the worst experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Something you should try at least once

Dined on February 6, 2016

This is the type of restaurant you should go to with your partner at least once in your relationship, just for the experience. It's not a place that should become your "to go to" place to eat, as it is extremely expensive for the little amount of food you receive. Nor is it a place for children (and maybe even young teens). The place is very, very dim lit and quiet. A little too dim lit if you ask me, but overall, they are going for the super romantic feel, so I understand; but if you have bad eye sight, you might want to bring a flashlight... Not even kidding. The beer/mixed drinks list is amazing and the wine list is even better. They have pages upon pages of wine to chose from. The bad side though, is I went with my pregnant wife, and a lot of the food is cooked in wine or another sort of alcohol. You'd be best off to review the menu before you come out, that way you can see what other choices there are if you don't/can't drink.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was great. Service could've been better.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We arrived at 7:20. Our reservation was for 7:30. We had to wait in the bar for 30 minutes. We didn't get our food until 9:00. They were quite busy so we kind of expected. The food was great. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend, just not if you're in a rush.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Restaurant.

Dined on January 29, 2016

Our server Kim was absolutely amazing. Food was good, ambiance amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Cheesy pot

Dined on January 28, 2016

Although the service was great and the appeal of fondu to be an enjoyable night the balance of cost almost outshines the evening. I felt as if the table was at shoulder level as I sat in the worn bench cushion. I got the four course meal and the only complaint I would have is that the salad was way over dressed and at the end of the evening we were bothered by the sales pitch gimmicks they had to offer... Excuse the pun, but very cheesy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on January 27, 2016

We come here often and have always had an excellent meal! The food is delicious and we've never had anything but excellent service. This visit Tyler was our server and he is fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite for special occasions! ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Always a favorite for special occasions! We enjoy the food, service and ambiance all equally!

food4
ambience5
service4

A fun delicious experience. My husband a ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

A fun delicious experience. My husband and I enjoyed the fantastic steaks and the chicken pot stickers. The Alpine cheese was delicious and the service was a little slow, but overall very good. We enjoyed our dessert of turtle shell chocolate fondue. I would recommend this place for a fun dinner for two or a group. It's a little expensive, but great for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dining experience at The M ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

Another great dining experience at The Melting Pot. Two thumbs up!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.