About The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach

1564 Laskin Road, Suite 182
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won’t find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all of the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot is certain to please. Make reservations today and come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-3463

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/virginia-beach/specials

Parking Details:
Shopping Center Parking

Private Party Facilities:
They offer a private room that seats up to 36 persons. Credit card is required to hold reservations. Preset menu is required for parties of more than 13.

Private Party Contact:
Ariel Yandell: (757) 425-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fun (29)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Favorite restaurant! I would definitely ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Favorite restaurant! I would definitely recommend. You won't get a awesome wait staff like at melting pot. The ambiance is great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for dinner date, bday.anni ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

A great place for dinner date, bday.anniversary. Quiet place It's a dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Girl's Night Out with my BFF! The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

I love Girl's Night Out with my BFF! The Melting Pot rocks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, , Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always wonderful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service is always wonderful. We've gotten the same server several times and she makes sure to take care of us. We order the Fondue for Two and there is alot of food. We don't always finish all of it. It is definitely delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet place but don't be afraid to have ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Quiet place but don't be afraid to have fun! There is a plethora of choices. Definitely a date night spot.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server J. Aaron, was such a delight, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our server J. Aaron, was such a delight, very knowledgeable and polite. We are hoping to have him serve us again the next time we dine at your establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly disappointed in my experience ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Incredibly disappointed in my experience at TMP-Virginia Beach last week. I used to be a 1-2x/wk customer and having not been there in a while it was very obvious the customer service and quality have changed. I tried to order a $120 bottle of wine that was on the menu, was told by the waiter they didn't have it, he proceeded to offer me a different bottle for a third of the cost. I declined and ordered a different bottle, same type and brand, a little less expensive but still a $100 bottle of wine. 10-15 minutes later he returns to ask "Are you sure that's the wine you'd like?" When I confirmed he stated the manager was still looking for it and asked if I wanted another drink from the bar. I declined since we'd been waiting for our entrée and wanted the wine to go w/ the food, thinking both would be delivered soon. 15 minutes later- still no bottle of wine and still no entrée. We finally get the entrée and still no bottle of wine. Finally after about 45 minutes from the time the wine was ordered the manager comes to the table with the bottle I had originally ordered and explained he would give it to us for the price of the cheaper one since they couldn't find the cheaper one.

I explained that was the bottle I wanted originally and was told by our waiter they didn't have it & that we were also almost halfway through our food at that point. We also had ordered a regular drink from the bar at this point to have something with our food, which I feel should have been offered to us due to the obsurd amount of time it took to find the bottle. At that point we were so frustrated we said thanks but no thanks. Even worse our waiter pretty much checked out at that point, barely checking on us once we received the food. No apology ever given by the manager or waiter. Very difficult to enjoy the night because we were so frustrated. Very disappointed as this has been my favorite restaurant for a few years now and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Wonderful ambiance, delicious food and d ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, delicious food and delightful staff. If you don't make room for dessert, you did yourself a disservice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal and great service. We ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great meal and great service. Went there to celebrate my birthday. Our server went beyond. She was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at the mel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first experience at the melting pot. The service and food were both great and I loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time and good food at the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Always a great time and good food at the Melting Pot. The filet was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my mother's 75th birthday ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We celebrated my mother's 75th birthday here with a party of 6. We were really enjoyed the extended time it takes to experience the 4-course menu because it provided plenty of opportunity for conversation. We also had fun cooking our entrees in the fondue pots and trying different sauces. It was a new experience for many of us and the whole family remarked how enjoyable it was!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was EXCELLENT, the food was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was EXCELLENT, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was festive! LOved, loved, loved it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful 4 course meal, the pace was pe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Wonderful 4 course meal, the pace was perfect. Not rushed the drinks and food were wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, but the food and servic ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A little pricey, but the food and service were exceptional. The meat was definitely top shelf, and the desert was delicious. I absolutely recommend this to anyone who hasn't tried it yet.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my daughters favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is my daughters favorite restaurant, we have been bringing her to the Melting Pot ever since she was small and she picked the Melting Pot to celebrate her sixteen birthday. It was a special night that she will never forget. My family was all smiles and my daughter is still talking about the wonderful time she had at the Melting Pot. I am sure we will celebrate many more at this fine restaurant .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the first time as a date night. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went for the first time as a date night. My husband and I both loved everything! I'm more adventurous with eating and he can be picky, so for both of us to love it is really something. Friendly staff and amazing drinks and food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed my food and service was g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Really enjoyed my food and service was great! I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so soooo bad. I was very di ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was so soooo bad. I was very disappointed. Our waiter was great but nothing else was.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Their food was delicious. We were just t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Their food was delicious. We were just telling the host about how everywhere I go I tell people that it is my partner and my first date, and at the end of the night the host brought a plate out with "Happy 1st Date" written on it. Extra ordinary meal and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Melting Pot.... Another wond ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We love the Melting Pot.... Another wonderful night. Ask for the table for two in the private corner table. A great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food n service well worth the c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love the food n service well worth the cost and fun to do with a group

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience as always.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our first we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary and we wanted to do something different. We a wonderful time! The service and food was excellent! Joshua our server was very attentive and patience with us since it was our first time there great place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with a group of three and we all ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went with a group of three and we all ordered something different. I don't think it's a good idea to cook different flavors of food in the same pot because it takes away from what you've ordered because of the other seasoning from different foods. The dessert was absolutely delicious. I would go back and try something different but the same as my date.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great experience, the food was deliciou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience, the food was delicious, however the portions were small. The ambience very relaxing and the service was 5star.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been hearing mixed but generally p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I had been hearing mixed but generally positive reviews of The Melting Pot for 11 years, but had never been.

My boyfriend took me there to celebrate my birthday. It was a bit pricey for the quantity of food, but the food quality was excellent, as well as the whole fondue experience and the ambiance provided by the decor; it was very fun, and would be great for groups of people. Also, our server was excellent and very attentive.

We were seated across from a family with small children and it seemed the restaurant accommodates children rather well.

One recommendation: some friends had said the cheese fondue was not very good, but I think it may be because they chose the basic option of cheddar. We had the spinach & artichoke with butterkase & fontina cheeses, and it was very flavorful without being too strong; in fact, I would go so far as to say it was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love, love, love the food. Can't pick ju ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love, love, love the food. Can't pick just one course as a favorite. They are all wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family enjoyed the experience and the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My family enjoyed the experience and the food quality. Great place to celebrate a special occasion and the Halloween special pricing made it more affordable. We will continue to check out the special deals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the melting pot! The experience ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We love the melting pot! The experience is always very nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great night out. We've been to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a great night out. We've been to a few melting pot locations and this one didn't disappoint!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, , Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was simply amazing... the ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was simply amazing... the service, the food, and ambiance was wonderful;)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent experience. Its ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and excellent experience. Its not too nosy and there's a good atmosphere. Perfect for a date night or anniversary dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for a night out, still a b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A great place for a night out, still a bit pricey; but probably just breaking even at those prices. Server was excellent and the food was great as always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience ! I haven't been in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful experience ! I haven't been in two years and it was nice to return to something I enjoy so much. It would be great if they open for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and tasty food! Best part ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great service and tasty food! Best part is the cheese and chocolate fondue. 100% worth going!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Ambience and service were excellent. The food was wonderful. We thoroughly evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. Stuffed ourselves sill ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had a great time. Stuffed ourselves silly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.