Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won’t find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all of the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot is certain to please. Make reservations today and come dip into something different.

1564 Laskin Road, Suite 182
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-3463

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/virginia-beach/specials

Parking Details:
Shopping Center Parking

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been coming to the Melting Pot for years, but this time our waitress seemed almost non-existent. Took quite awhile before she saw us the first time, and kept apologizing. Then after taking our drinks, she was missing again for awhile. This became a common occurrence on this latest venture to your establishment.

Once the cheese fondue was finished we sat around for an extremely long time before our entree broth was made. Way much longer than is normal.
The bottle of wine couldn't be opened at the table, which I can understand, but no cork or tasting it before simply pouring both our glasses. I asked for another bowl of veggies during our entree portion of the meal and it took 30 minutes before someone, who wasn't our waitress, came by and dropped them off. I love the veggies and tend to get multiple servings during the meal but I had to restrain myself because we didn't want to wait longer to get out. We were there almost 3 hours, which had never happened before. We had told our sitter we would be there roughly 2 hours or so, but all these delays just dragged out our dining experience.

Still enjoy the location, but the server was very substandard this time and made the experience lack luster. I would be turned off from coming back if I hadn't come here before.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The Service, Food and atmosphere was amazing. Took my wife for her Birthday and we had an awesome time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and all food ingredients fresh and tasty. A fun night with my daughter; her 1st fondue experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we still had to wait an additional 30 mins before we were seated. Once we were seated everything else was good..

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The Melting Pot was a great dining experience foe my wife and I for our anniversary. I loved the hospitality of the host that seated us and Nathan our waiter. With it being my wifes first time and mine in a long time. The recommendations Nathan suggested were spot on for us. The food tasted very deliscious. Great service and great food!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great place for a special day, ie birthday celebration or anniversary. Definately would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fabulous food and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Melting Pot was a dining experience that is really nice for special occasions. The service from Josh was impeccable and the food was all quite good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We ordered the fondue for 2. As always it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Melting Pot is a great restaurant for a romantic night, with conversation while cooking with hot liquids. The experience was very fun and adventurous. It was our first time at a fondue restaurant and our server, Candace, made the process very simple. Her recommendations could not have been any better for our choice of cheese, broth, and meats. The dessert was very simple to choose from, who could say no to the Flaming Turtle fondue.

Overall, this is a great place for a date night or an outing with friends and family. Conversation comes easy when you are all eating out of the same pot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and what pairs well together. We enjoyed out night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. Our server was training someone who ended up dumping a drink all over our main course tray and table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

It's fun but super pricey
This location charges extra for everything too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great experience and great food! Our service and server, Josh, was great! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

What a magical experience. Food, ambiance and staff were all perfect. Our guide Sergei was the cherry on top. Knowledgeable, friendly and professional, he made the evening as special as possible. Highly recommend The Melting Pot. For an even more special experience, ask to have Sergei as your guide/waiter!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent meal to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Melting Pot is a tradition for us for my daughter's birthday. She loves it there. We chose a Sunday evening as opposed to a busier weekend night. It was quiet and elegant and we enjoyed the meal very much. Artem was an attentive and personable server. We will always come back to MP, it's one of our favorites!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Outstanding Service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Dinner at the melting pot is an experience. I'm so glad I went. It was my family's first time and we really enjoyed it. Nathan was our server and he was so friendly and charismatic. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our service was terrific! Our Californ8a salad was perfect! In my opinion the spinach artichoke dip was a little thin. The chocolate was not melted at the table and it had gotten cool. I turned the pot up and after about 5 mins, it hot warm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was delicious and atmosphere comfortable. Host was professional and educated us through the process. Never did fondue before. Just EXCELLENT

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

This year was the best we go for my wife bday ever year my server this year made a happy birthday plate for my beautiful wife. Ty for making her special day even more special.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Was an amazing First time experience! Would recommend to anyone! Everyone who works here was very nice!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great experience so much food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was amazing. Food was better than expected servers were very nice. Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had great time with family. Waitress was outstanding and very attentive. This is a fondue restaurant so if you are not into a little do it yourself it's not for you. It is great as a conversations starter for first dates etc. Plenty to eat and a very fine wine menu. Not as good of a beer menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My wife and I really love comming here, the food is absolutely amazing. We like that we cook our own food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

An experience, not just a meal! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love going to the Melting Pot, but this wasn't one of the best experiences. There seemed to be a language barrier when trying to communicate with the server. He also didn't talk much when attending to our table. I am used to servers striking up a conversation while they prepare your cheese, but this gentleman covered the process and that was it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time at any Melting Pot restaurant. Went for an early Father's day dinner and it was well beyond what we expected. Quite, romantic corner booth where we could have conversations that weren't over heard by other people. Loved the food, all four course and the cocktails.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Everything about The Melting Pot is Great would highly recommend it to everyone!!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our Server was great. She was very patient with her Trainee. I would recommend this place to everyone

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fantastic as always! Thank you for such a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

All the cheese and all the chocolate. This place is sooooo good!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was friendly and perfect timing for when we were ready for our next course. The food was so amazing. I absolutely love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service and food was great as usual great experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great service as always. The staff assists you in good choices and answers your questions. If you don't like the food, it's really your fault as you are the cook! 😀

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first time going to The Melting Pot. The food was great and the service was the next we've had in awhile. We spent over $100 for two, but the experience is worth the money!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Celebrating a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Impeccable and professional as always! Could eat here all day, every day!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.