Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won’t find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all of the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot is certain to please. Make reservations today and come dip into something different.

1564 Laskin Road, Suite 182
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-3463

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/virginia-beach/specials

Parking Details:
Shopping Center Parking

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fun (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, the cheese appetizer we had the bourbon cheese. A bit strong, maybe less bourbon mixture. Server was attentive at first, but rarely seen as the meal progressed. She said she’d been there a year, couldn’t tell. Because of her mistake the main course had trouble when the burner turned off in the middle we noticed toward the end when the food was taking longer to cook. The waitress forgot items we requested throughout, but overall we will go again. This just happened to be a blip for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere and a family tradition we have dining with the Melting Pot. Our waitress was informative, attentive, and just absolutely amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Another great Anniversary Dinner at the Melting Pot. Sharon is the Manager who always make sure we are taken care of and our waiter who used to be a manager was awesome too! Thank you!!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our one year anniversary on Saturday and could not have been more thrilled with our experience. Samantha was our server and she was absolutely amazing. She explained everything to us and even brought a plate that said “happy anniversary” on it. We left with a full stomach and a huge smile on our faces. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The Melting Pot has a great ambiance. The food is mediocre, but the table side service makes up for it. Our cocktail drinks were not worth it at all as they were 99% soda. When we asked whether there was alcohol in the drink, our waiter said we could buy another shot if that was the case.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

It was our first time, and it was amazing. The wait staff were very friendly and explained everything. Definitely going back!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Our waiter Josh was very friendly and nice. He was very helpful helping us with the menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Brought my girlfriend here for her birthday dinner and it was phenomenal. We were greeted with smiles as soon as we got to the door. Our server was friendly and very patient with our group. Overall I we really enjoyed our time at the Melting Pot and plan on coming back again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I am 60 and was still proofed when I ordered a Drink.
Steaks could have been more tender.
No reponse to any comments on their web page.
Not completely worth the ~$250 I spent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Went earlier to celebrate our 17th Wedding Anniversary. Very disappointed � Started the moment we entered the establishment, nobody out front, people waiting to be seated. Someone did come out and when it was our turn this guy (not sure if manager or supervisor) asked our last name, we told him then few minutes later he looked at us and asked for our last name AGAIN. We were right in front of him the whole time! When we got seated, server seemed bored out his mind to be there. Super slow service. Menu is confusing and didn’t help that server didn’t bother making it easy for us. Overall will never be back and definitely will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I loved this restaurant for our 40th anniversary dinner. It was romantic and cozy. The dinner was excellent and fun! We loved cooking our own food. The dinner was delicious and fresh. The waiter was extremely attentive and the whole experience was wonderful. Would totally recommend to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

This is now my favorite resturant by far!!! The food was amazing and fun. I love the services our waitress played a great role in making us comfortable, it made us feel wanted. I will become a regular

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great dinning experience, leisurely meal great for a date or socializing with friends. Lots of fun!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great experience. Only one thing I wold change. My wife and I were seated directly behind the kitchen and there was a continual grinding noise we could hear through the walls. We were told by our amazing waitress the sound was from heating water in the kitchen. Our waitress was apologetic and offered to move us after our desert, which we declined. We were cozy and already half way through our meal. Overall great time but there shouldn’t have been noise of that magnitude distracting from the experience and the overall ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Food was great! We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and they brought out a cute plate at the end that said happy birthday in chocolate. We had a 4 course meal, fondue was very fun and different. I gave them 4 stars because I they had a flight of wine that was supposed to go with each course. The server forgot the glass that went with the salad, and when I mentioned it, he denied one went with the salad (I'm passive so I assumed I was wrong)...next thing you know I'm having a ton of wine at the end to make up for the fact that he did indeed forget a glass. Wasn't able to enjoy the flight like it was ment (a pairing with appetizer, salad, main course then desert), but other than that the experience was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

First time and had a ball.... so much fun!!! I would recommend this to anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

I have been going to the melting pot for 11 years, never have I walked out hungry, until October 13th. The portions are now so small and not worth the price that is charged. The quality of the food was also questionable and did not have good flavor. The whole experience was poor and I’m highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary. They went all out on the menu and the waitress was exceptional and attentive. SUPERB. You must be hungry though. It's a lot of food in the four course experience! WELL worth every dime.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

It was a nice dinner experience. Only gripe was our server did not refill drinks well and we felt rushed for certain courses. Was trying to take our plates before we were finished etc

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was good, but I think it is overpriced. The waitress added wine to the cheese and we did not like the strong taste of wine. The chocolate was outstanding, but it seemed there wasn't enough to share for our table. I do not have any plans on going back due to the price. The service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was just ok nothing really to write about. Good boiled in flavored water.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Although I was a bit disappointed with a 30 minute wait to be seated even though I had a reservation, the service and food were wonderful. Great atmosphere! Would do again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The entire meal, and experience, was fantastic. Our server, Josh, was friendly and attentive and provided superb service. The food was absolutely delicious!! This is always a favorite and this time did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love this location. Food and drinks is always good and the service is always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was our first time coming to Melting Pot and it was my boyfriend's birthday. Our waiter's name was Josh, and he was wonderful. Friendly, struck up conversation without being overbearing, and when there was a miscommunication about what I ordered, he went ahead and gave me what I thought I was missing, even though it was my mistake. The food was wonderful, atmosphere was romantic and quiet. Thank you for a great date :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waiter was extremely friendly and attentive. I have been here several times before and it has always been a great dining experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and the experience. The food was good, the waiter attentive and thorough, wonderful for our anniversary. The price is HIGH but for a special occasion, it was perfect. We would go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great place, great experience, will definitely do again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Our waitress made the evening extra special by bringing out a plate with a special anniversary message for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Slow! I'm not sure what the hold up was. We have been before and meal was about 2 hours. This was 3+.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

This place was very accomodating as we had a reservation for later in the evening and they were able to move us to earlier. Our server was amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Celebrating my birthday with friends was wonderful! A real experience as well as a great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The server was very friendly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Expected bit more for the celebration package. It was my wife's birthday and I had called the restaurant upfront, told them the occasion and took the celebration package. We got a wineglass with few chocolates when we reached there. And when a 4X6 photo when we left the restaurant. That's it; was expecting birthday cake, waiters singing happy birthday to cheer up the occasion etc.
Also, there were long wait times between keeping the ingredients on the table and waiter turning up to explain how things work and turning on the stove.

The person at the reception was courteous to find a quite table for us.

Overall experience was different but don't think we will visit there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

The staff was Great. I didn't like we cooked our own food in broth. That was not my ideal for dinner.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Staff, service and food were outstanding. Our waitress was very good to us and we felt as if we were her only patrons. Could not have had a better anniversary with my wife. It was a perfect evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have been coming to the Melting Pot for years, but this time our waitress seemed almost non-existent. Took quite awhile before she saw us the first time, and kept apologizing. Then after taking our drinks, she was missing again for awhile. This became a common occurrence on this latest venture to your establishment.

Once the cheese fondue was finished we sat around for an extremely long time before our entree broth was made. Way much longer than is normal.
The bottle of wine couldn't be opened at the table, which I can understand, but no cork or tasting it before simply pouring both our glasses. I asked for another bowl of veggies during our entree portion of the meal and it took 30 minutes before someone, who wasn't our waitress, came by and dropped them off. I love the veggies and tend to get multiple servings during the meal but I had to restrain myself because we didn't want to wait longer to get out. We were there almost 3 hours, which had never happened before. We had told our sitter we would be there roughly 2 hours or so, but all these delays just dragged out our dining experience.

Still enjoy the location, but the server was very substandard this time and made the experience lack luster. I would be turned off from coming back if I hadn't come here before.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The Service, Food and atmosphere was amazing. Took my wife for her Birthday and we had an awesome time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and all food ingredients fresh and tasty. A fun night with my daughter; her 1st fondue experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.