About The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach

1564 Laskin Road, Suite 182
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won’t find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all of the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot is certain to please. Make reservations today and come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-3463

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/virginia-beach/specials

Parking Details:
Shopping Center Parking

Private Party Facilities:
They offer a private room that seats up to 36 persons. Credit card is required to hold reservations. Preset menu is required for parties of more than 13.

Private Party Contact:
Ariel Yandell: 7574253463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fondue Fusion - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Chocolate Marshmellow - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fiesta Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Stella Artois - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
authentic swiss fondue. a mix of four cheeses and other goodness.  #zurich #switzerland #travel #wanderlust #swiss #fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Ying & Yang - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Land And Sea Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Caesar Salad - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Fondue - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Mango Passion - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Espresso Martini - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Love Martini - The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA

The Melting Pot - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
2 More
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Romantic (42)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Family Style (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed my food and service was g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Really enjoyed my food and service was great! I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so soooo bad. I was very di ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was so soooo bad. I was very disappointed. Our waiter was great but nothing else was.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Their food was delicious. We were just t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Their food was delicious. We were just telling the host about how everywhere I go I tell people that it is my partner and my first date, and at the end of the night the host brought a plate out with "Happy 1st Date" written on it. Extra ordinary meal and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food n service well worth the c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love the food n service well worth the cost and fun to do with a group

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience as always.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our first we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary and we wanted to do something different. We a wonderful time! The service and food was excellent! Joshua our server was very attentive and patience with us since it was our first time there great place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with a group of three and we all ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went with a group of three and we all ordered something different. I don't think it's a good idea to cook different flavors of food in the same pot because it takes away from what you've ordered because of the other seasoning from different foods. The dessert was absolutely delicious. I would go back and try something different but the same as my date.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great experience, the food was deliciou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience, the food was delicious, however the portions were small. The ambience very relaxing and the service was 5star.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been hearing mixed but generally p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I had been hearing mixed but generally positive reviews of The Melting Pot for 11 years, but had never been.

My boyfriend took me there to celebrate my birthday. It was a bit pricey for the quantity of food, but the food quality was excellent, as well as the whole fondue experience and the ambiance provided by the decor; it was very fun, and would be great for groups of people. Also, our server was excellent and very attentive.

We were seated across from a family with small children and it seemed the restaurant accommodates children rather well.

One recommendation: some friends had said the cheese fondue was not very good, but I think it may be because they chose the basic option of cheddar. We had the spinach & artichoke with butterkase & fontina cheeses, and it was very flavorful without being too strong; in fact, I would go so far as to say it was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love, love, love the food. Can't pick ju ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love, love, love the food. Can't pick just one course as a favorite. They are all wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family enjoyed the experience and the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My family enjoyed the experience and the food quality. Great place to celebrate a special occasion and the Halloween special pricing made it more affordable. We will continue to check out the special deals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the melting pot! The experience ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We love the melting pot! The experience is always very nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great night out. We've been to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a great night out. We've been to a few melting pot locations and this one didn't disappoint!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was simply amazing... the ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was simply amazing... the service, the food, and ambiance was wonderful;)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent experience. Its ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and excellent experience. Its not too nosy and there's a good atmosphere. Perfect for a date night or anniversary dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for a night out, still a b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A great place for a night out, still a bit pricey; but probably just breaking even at those prices. Server was excellent and the food was great as always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience ! I haven't been in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful experience ! I haven't been in two years and it was nice to return to something I enjoy so much. It would be great if they open for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and tasty food! Best part ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great service and tasty food! Best part is the cheese and chocolate fondue. 100% worth going!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Ambience and service were excellent. The food was wonderful. We thoroughly evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. Stuffed ourselves sill ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had a great time. Stuffed ourselves silly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything well until the bill. I place ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Everything well until the bill. I placed more than enough to pay with the bill. I placed 20's on the other side for the tip.

I ASKED FOR CHANGE

I WAS INSULTED I had to ask for change AGAIN...AS IT WAS A SPECIAL EVENT!

I tip well for good service. ...WHICH WE GOT....I DO NOT APPRECIATE the server trying to get an extra large tip BY NOT BRINGING CHANGE. IT CHEAPENED THE EXPERIENCE... AND IT IS ESSENTIALLY STEALING.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Within half hour of being there, the wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Within half hour of being there, the waitress Florianna threw a check at us and candies down at our table and walked away. It was a wrong check. We felt as if we were being kicked out and felt very uncomfortable being there after that. We lost our appetite and no longer wanted to be there. The manager backed up the waitress and didn't offer us anything for our horrible experience. I was so afraid to ask for a glass of water in fear of what the waitress would do to my drink. She kept giving us evil looks. I would never recommend this location to anyone. Horrible and disgusting customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Nice time to have one on one time. The c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Nice time to have one on one time. The cheese and chocolate was great! but boiling wonderful meat in a pot is not worth the price and taste awful. I rated this place good because it was a fun experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

A great big thank you to our server Josh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

A great big thank you to our server Josh for making this a great dinner. My only complaint, make sure your burners all work properly. Last time my family and I we had the same problem, and the servers have difficult times turning them on or figuring out if they are on or off. The food however; more than make up for that. Thank you againJosh.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is amazing. Perfect for spe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The ambiance is amazing. Perfect for special occasions or if you're feeling adventurous with food. a bit pricey but the quality is worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's birthday. Alt ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. Although the pacing is designed to be relaxing, we would sit without seeing our server 30 minutes at a time. The bullion for the meat course sat bubbling long enough to almost entirely evaporate before the meats arrived. He said he would bring more bullion, but never did. We ended up having to take the chocolate course to-go and were even then given a portion for one. Very disappointing for a special occasion. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding food and service. Perfect fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Perfect for an interactive date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to be at. the food was serve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

great place to be at. the food was serve properly and the staff was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, portions a bit small, bu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was great, portions a bit small, but very tasty and served in a unique way. Very good waiter. Overall, pricey, but a great place for a special occasion. Only downer were the two couples seated next to us who were extremely loud and rude spoiling a quiet setting.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was just an all around great experi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was just an all around great experience. It was our first time to a Melting Pot. Our kids recommended it and truly understand why now.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I unfortunately have to say this was the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I unfortunately have to say this was the most unsatisfactory experience I have ever had at a melting pot. This was my first time coming to the Virginia Beach location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Sergei was great! He was very attentive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Sergei was great! He was very attentive and detail oriented, especially since am gluten free. He made sure everything was something could eat. He knew and let me know how to order my food. My boyfriend and I were especially pleased with how informative he was, describing each process as he did it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my family from out of town and we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I took my family from out of town and we had an awesome time. Our server, Syd was so nice and had lots of patience with us since we were new to the Melting Pot. Her service was outstanding!! She explained everything is detail and I appreciate great servers. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience at the Vir ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always a wonderful experience at the Virginia Beach Melting Pot. Love the staff. Floriana is an amazing waitress, ask for her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a been a few times and each time ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We have a been a few times and each time the service has been wonderful. It definitely takes about 2 hours to get through then entire 4 course selection so plan accordingly if you plan to go this route. The food is good. I definitely recommend The Melting Pot to pretty much anyone. My teenage son loves it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a really good time. The table could ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Had a really good time. The table could have been a little larger. Food was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was amazing. The staff wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was amazing. The staff was pleasant upon entry and our waiter was the sweetest and helped walked us through everything since it had been a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We greatly enjoyed our fondue experience ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our fondue experience. We especially loved the coq au Vin broth, which was delicious. We would have liked a few more veggies to cook in the broth, but the filet mignon was delicious. The peanut butter chocolate dessert fondue was to die for!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great selections of food for all the cou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great selections of food for all the courses. Staff was very courteous and congratulated us on our anniversary when we arrived to the restaurant, when the server arrived to the table and on our way out. Very highly recommended for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.