About The Melting Pot - Troy

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 2483622221x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Coq Au Vin Broth
Dark And Dulce
Quattro Formaggio
French Quarter
The Melting Pot House Salad
Broccoli
Flaming Turtle
Strawberry
Dipping Sauces
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Steak Lovers Fondue
Fondue Fusion
Caesar Salad
Dessert
Margarita
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
main course
Banana Foster Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Wedge Salad
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue with Bread
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Dip
Iced tea
Four Course Classic Entree
Cookies & Cream Chocolatr Fondue
Strawberry Basil Lemonade

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Troy ›

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (77)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (16)
Cozy (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Family Style (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was amazing, the ambiance was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was amazing, the ambiance was great for a romantic birthday dinner. Best Melting Pot we've been to in MI.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great but the price is a lit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is great but the price is a little high in my opinion. Eating here takes a long time but is fun with the right people. Also it was very cold where we sat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We were very impressed with our waiters ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were very impressed with our waiters knowledge of the wine's food combination recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant had a funny smell - maybe it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Restaurant had a funny smell - maybe it was the food of the tables on either side of us but we came for dessert so the savory smells didn't smell very good to us.

The dipping scewers were dirty and had to be sent back for clean ones.

The table we were taken to was super crammed and tiny and uncomfortable for myself and my 8 month pregnant tummy. Overall just felt a bit dark and dingy.

The server was super nice we enjoyed him a lot and the dessert was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Disappointed in the wait time when I had ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointed in the wait time when I had a reservation. Showed up 10 minutes early but had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation time for a table. The staff at the front desk were not all that friendly or helpful. Our waiter, Marcus, on the other hand was outstanding. He was friendly and efficient and kept our dinner moving along. He was also helpful in choosing menu options.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy, fun experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Yummy, fun experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

amazing service! our waiter was so polit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

amazing service! our waiter was so polite and helpful and one of your managers made sure my girl friend and i felt special on our bday! great first experience!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Melting Pot for our daughters ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went to Melting Pot for our daughters 18th Birthday. She wanted to go there for dessert. We, as a family, have been there before-spending around 2-3hours there enjoying a 4-course meal. Our server-Evan was awesome. We had mentioned to him that it was our daughters 18th birthday and he immediately asked her how she spelled her name. He was prompt with his service and very considerate. He even brought our daughter her very own-strawberries dipped in chocolate, with Happy Birthday Dana written in chocolate and a cute candle. She had the best birthday ever-as she took many pictures of her dessert and sent it to her friends. Evan also offered to take a family picture of all of us-before we dove into our dessert. We all had a wonderful evening-THANK YOU EVAN!! for making our daughters birthday celebration one to remember!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go 1-2 times per quarter we love it, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We go 1-2 times per quarter we love it, we do cheese, salad, dessert, sit at bar for a drunk and just cheese or dessert.....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely stellar food. The entrée was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutely stellar food. The entrée was awesome having to cook it yourself in broth. Fondue was excellent. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the worst experiences of my life. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the worst experiences of my life. The only part worth our $92 bill was the chocolate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun for the entire family! The food was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fun for the entire family! The food was delicious and was a great time out!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 25th anniversary and h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary and had a enjoyable evening. The one area that I felt was not to high standards were the facilities and community bathroom. The restaurant seating did not feel fresh but rather worn out. The Women's Restroom was not clean. There was water on the sink counters, toilet paper on the floor and unflushed toilets. Overall, we had a good time and believe in the near future the above concerns will be addressed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Enjoyed celebrating grandson's 13th birt ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating grandson's 13th birthday over fondue.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were fruit flies in the food, hair ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

There were fruit flies in the food, hair in the sauce, and even a bug in the container of seasoning. Our server was great--he was helpful and fast but the food was nothing special. The part that was our favorite was dessert the rest left something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Old decor, waiter forgot food and droppe ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Old decor, waiter forgot food and dropped items, and the food didn't taste very good. I would say that overall dessert is all I would go there for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It was a fun and different experience, b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was a fun and different experience, but WAY WAY WAY over priced considering a chef doesn't actually prepare anything. A high school student can chop up meat and veggies and set them on a plate and pour cheese/broth/chocolate in a pot for minimum wage. How do you think $17 is a fair price for Gordon Food Service brand raw ravioli's on a plate?!?!? I can get the whole bag (10 servings) for $20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

The server was amazing. She was absolute ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The server was amazing. She was absolutely worth the trip and I'm glad you take pride in your people, makes me want to get a job there, because of how happy they seem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service are great! It is a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and service are great! It is a bit expensive, so it is not a restaurant for a casual lunch, but definitely perfect for an special occasion or a romantic date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dessert and salad were very good. Not so ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dessert and salad were very good. Not so impressed with the cheese and meat experience o drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was a great value...service w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Restaurant was a great value...service was rushed and not our usual experience

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

Great food! Unique experience! Excellent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food! Unique experience! Excellent value during restaurant week!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

While it was fun and enjoyable I don't t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

While it was fun and enjoyable I don't think the quality / quantity of the food was worth it for the price paid per person. And we got it on sale. Might go again but just for an appetizer or dessert.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always love coming to the Melting Pot. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always love coming to the Melting Pot. Food is delicious and fun to eat. Our server was Arlen, and she was fabulous. She took great care of us. Anticipating our needs. Manager stopped by to check on us. This is why I love to bring people here. They are always blown away.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last time I dined at Melting Pot back in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Last time I dined at Melting Pot back in was in early May. To my surprise when they brought the bread out to be served with the cheese fondue they had pretzel bites in their too! I love the pretzel bites they were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had the surf and turf menu as part of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had the surf and turf menu as part of Troy restaurant week. The spinach artichoke cheese fondue, especially with the amazing pretzel bread, was the highlight of the meal and finished very quickly - a slightly larger quantity would work better. The entree was a bit tiring overall, as the chicken required 2 mins for each piece (and then still needed to go back in), the beef and shrimp 1 minute - the beef wasn't well seasoned so we ended up leaving most of it. The chicken tasted great and was very well seasoned, and we finished it all. The shrimp was good as well. The sauces were generally good. The potatoes were quite hard despite multiple dips into the oil, and maybe could have been partially boiled to make them edible. The vegetables could have benefited from light salting at least. The dessert was the dark and dulce fondue and was very good - would have done well with more fruit, less super sweet baked items. The heavy focus on sugary dipping items just seemed a bit juvenile and Applebee's-ish. Overall, the price was great because of restaurant week, but otherwise I would stick with the cheese and chocolate fondues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible food and gross erreything. Smel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Terrible food and gross erreything. Smelled funky and is a huge waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very polite servers. Did see a lot of di ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very polite servers. Did see a lot of different staff which I needed to repeat my gluten allergy to several times. Manager did comp our chocolate for the inconvenience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always ask for Arlen. She does a very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We always ask for Arlen. She does a very good job and remembers that I only want cauliflower, only want green goddess and I take my iced tea without lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

the food was great as usual, our waiter ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

the food was great as usual, our waiter was nice but we only saw him two times. the manager did take good care of us though

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great way to celebrate a 16th birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great way to celebrate a 16th birthday. Great service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only disappointing part of our visit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The only disappointing part of our visit was our reservation time was not honored. We had to wait for 30 minutes for a table after our reservation time. Why make a reservation if they treat you as a walk in customer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Relaxed feel, food was very good an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very Relaxed feel, food was very good and the servers are very nice and helpful

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I wasn't too thrilled about how long eve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I wasn't too thrilled about how long everything took. We got to the restaurant around 7 PM and did not leave until 10 PM. It was a lot of waiting. Also I am not a fan of boiled food so it wasn't very good. The best part of the dinner was the dessert. If I came back, I would only get dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great time. Food was excellent. Our server was very pleasant and very social able

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to eat, eat at your own pace, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun place to eat, eat at your own pace, great food, and good cocktails

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When I arrived prior to my guest, I had ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

When I arrived prior to my guest, I had a last minute special request I asked of the hostess. I wanted the Ultimate romance package which takes time to set up. The hostess was OUTSTANDING. She seemed concerned about time to set up but I assured her it would be fine. She did get the job done and it was perfect. The waiter was knowledgeable, personable and effective. The food and staff was all around top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was nice, place was super expensi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Server was nice, place was super expensive for what you get. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The amount of fondu you serve for 2 is n ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The amount of fondu you serve for 2 is not worth 16$,and your main courses are not worth 44$

The flavor of the cheese was bland,there was barley ANY cheese! and by the time our food came the waiter did not even hand us silver wear,and he did not give me a refill on my water the whole entire time i was dining there,it was a big disappointment for me and my significant others anaversery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.