About The Melting Pot - Troy

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (48)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fun (31)
Cozy (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Private Room (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (11)
Family Style (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was subpar, the server kept forg ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Service was subpar, the server kept forgetting things and we would have to ask multiple times for things. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our server was awesome. Amazing food! B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was awesome. Amazing food!

But the service was slow.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food. We always enjoy a night ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food. We always enjoy a night out at The Melting Pot. It takes awhile to get through if you do the 4 courses (appetizer, salad, entrée, dessert), so you get to enjoy the experience as well as the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We always enjoy coming to The Melting Po ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We always enjoy coming to The Melting Pot. The food and variety is to die for. And dessert is always a big hit.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evan was our waiter and he did an awesom ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Evan was our waiter and he did an awesome job of helping us understand the menu. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Memorable Service

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Memorable Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat. It's a lot of fun

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place to eat. It's a lot of fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brian our server was just wonderful! So ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brian our server was just wonderful! So awesome at his job! I can see why he is also a manager. Was so pleased with everything. He did a great job making recommendations, serving, preparing, keeping glasses full and great conversation. He knew it was a special occasion and made it that much more special by preparing a special dessert table for us. It was the fireworks of what was already a great dinner. We will definitely be back and requesting Brian. I don't think we tipped him well enough. I can't even put a price tag on how nice a job he did! We had delicious chocolate covered strawberries to take home and a picture to remember it all by.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal took exceptionally long. 3+ hours.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Meal took exceptionally long. 3+ hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I left a speacial note when making reser ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I left a speacial note when making reservations that it was for a birthday but nothing was mentioned..😣

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect experience

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was the perfect experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for 16th birthday dinner with 7. W ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for 16th birthday dinner with 7. Wish I could say ONE nice comment.... not possible. Spent $275 for a horrible dining experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I have loved the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I have loved the Melting Pot for years. Each anniversary for the last couple of years has been at the Melting Pot. We made reservations for Saturday January 7 at 7:30 at the Troy location. We waited a bit since we were early and sat down at our table. The table was dirty. It had a rough film on the table - like drippings of the sauce dried on the table. When we let the waiter know, he had little enthusiasm to fix it. He came back with a rag and a spray bottle. He sprayed the table with the chemicals which splashed all over my wife and a little on myself. He rubbed the table. We did not like it, but we let that go. After we ordered, we opened our napkins to get our long forks. Our four forks were dirty. They had actual "gunk" on the forks that we scraped off with our finger nails. The three issues: the table spray, the dirty forks, and the lackadaisical attitude of the staff turned us off on what was going to be a $100 meal. With that cost, the experience needs to be perfect, and the experience was not worth a happy meal. We left. While leaving, I wanted to tell the front desk of our troubles and let them know we were leaving. There was no one at the front desk to take our complaint or even a new customer. We went to the Kona Grill down the street and gave them our $100 for fine service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

There was a problem with "trade first". ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

There was a problem with "trade first". Is that resolved? They declined my card by mistake.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! Service was slightly s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great experience! Service was slightly slow. I'm not sure if that was intentional or not, but after over 2 hours I was starting to get restless. Pricing in my opinion was steep, but that was expected before we decided to dine there. Quality of protein was also very good. Great place to take a date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first time to the Melting Po ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was my first time to the Melting Pot. I didn't know what to expect. I will say that I was very impressed with the overall atmosphere of the place. The food was delicious and the service was good. A great place to go for a special occasion or a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, all you gotta do is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Outstanding service, all you gotta do is tell them that you're on a first date... especially if you got Bryan... this guy is the best

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate the New Year. Our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to celebrate the New Year. Our bill was over $145 for three people. For that we received dirty fondue skewers, dirty silverware, dirty bathrooms, not enough cheese fondue for 3 people, hot oil left on our table to start to burn and smoke which burned our eyes, chocolate fondue that was not heating up until we brought it to waiters attention, long waits for refills... Certainly not the kind of service expected for an expensive meal. If you want to spend your hard earned money on a meal, go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We went there for New Years Eve. They h ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Years Eve. They had a sent menu which was fine. The serve was not good for being a holiday dinner. It took 15 minutes to have someone to come to our table to take a drink order and order. We never saw our serve until he brought out our next course. I had to ask repeatedly for someone to refill our drinks. One time a manager of sorts stop and ask how things were going. I told him our problem and he seem bothered that I had a problem and dimissed himself from our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Have been to Melting Pot numerous times. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been to Melting Pot numerous times. Would not recommend on New Year's Eve. We felt extremely rushed as our waitress even brought the dessert menu in the middle of our entree. Additionally, she kept coming over trying to take our plates while we were still eating. Never wiped the table before we ate dessert and even when we asked her, she wiped half of the table. Very disappointing for customers who are paying significantly higher for the "privilege" of eating there on New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We went to The Melting Pot as part of an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to The Melting Pot as part of an NYE date that included tickets to John Oliver. I say this to point out, and this is not a criticism, that The Melting Pot will not be a quick dinner. You should plan 90-120 minutes to get the full experience.

The first course of bread, fruits and veggies to dip into melted cheese was good. The main course of several types of meat was even better. There was a great selection of sauces to dip the meat plus the veggies that were in the cooking oil made for a great meal.

The chocolate fondue to end the meal was fun and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very expensive for what you get! Waitres ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very expensive for what you get! Waitress was annoyed when didn't spend more money.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I felt the price was on the high end as ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I felt the price was on the high end as far as what you receive. 3 people - lunch special - salad, cheese, dessert - $72.00, no drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our fourth year celebrating our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our fourth year celebrating our anniversary (29) here. We love it. The meal comes to you at a leisurely pace. Come here knowing it will take time, but enjoy the time! Our only issue was that we got forgotten in a back nook, but another waiter stepped up and helped out. No one is perfect! But we love the food, the quiet seclusion of the tall boothset and the friendly wait staff. I would reccomend this for anyone who wants a more liesurely & intimate meal. Cooking your own food provides for a unique expeirence. Expect to pay for all of this though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of my favorite restaurants. My son ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. My son is now hooked also! The duck was amazing! He enjoyed the teriyaki Sirloin. Wonderful experience as always!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have gone to this location a few times b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Have gone to this location a few times before and have had awesome service and awesome food. This last time was a nightmare. Made a reservation but still had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Once we arrived to our table it took the server 10 minutes to come even ask us about our drinks. By the time the waiter arrived we were ready to order our dinner. I'm usually very understanding if a restaurant is super busy but it just did not seem that way. Once our waiter took our drink/food order, he was no where to be found. He arrived 15 minutes later with our first course of cheese fondue and NO drinks or skewers for dipping. 10 minutes later he arrives with our drinks but no skewers or silverware. We decided to just use our hands to dip the bread and vegetables into the cheese. 20 minutes later he arrives with our dinner salads and still no skewers or silverware. I ask him again for our silverware and he apologizes and says he'll be back with them. 10 minutes later(drinks are empty) he finally arrives back with our dinner cooking oil and skewers and silverware. Didn't receive a refill on drinks until the manager noticed and brought them to us it took 15-20 minutes to get anyone to notice. It was smooth sailing from then on out but a very rough start. They gave us a free piece of cheesecake to make up for the poor service. We arrived at 7:15 but didn't get out of there until 10:30. Three hours is way too long especially when you're not drinking alcohol. Safe to say we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Desert was awesome. Loved the chocolate ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Desert was awesome. Loved the chocolate fondue, might just come back just for that. Though, service was on the slower side. Unfortunately, no halal/kosher meat options, so may not want to visit this place too often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came to the melting pot for our 1 yea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We came to the melting pot for our 1 year anniversary our server was Rawan and she was phenonimal. She was vry knowledgeable of the drink list and menu and it was only her 4th day of work there.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recived food poisoning and would not r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I recived food poisoning and would not recommend to anyone. I went for my birthday on 12/23/2016 and have been ill since.ruin my birthday and Christmas .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a disappointing evening. The meal ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was a disappointing evening. The meal took three hours. Why such a wait when you are the one cooking your food at the table!!p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I went for my 19th birthday and my frien ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I went for my 19th birthday and my friend and I had an amazing time. We did the 4 course experience and everything was amazing. Our waitress checked on us a lot which was good and we had a blast. The menu is a little pricey for the amount of food you get but it's worth it and my friend and I were full rather quickly. With resevations, we sat down quickly and the atmosphere was great. I'll definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I usually love The Melting Pot. I've bee ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I usually love The Melting Pot. I've been to both the (now closed) Novi location and Troy. Novi was definitely better than Troy, which is a shame. On this visit, the waitress was just okay, and the conversation was uncomfortable at times. She waited way too long between courses, and I only got one drink refill (after I was done with the main course). When it came time for dessert, I ordered coffee. After a few minutes, the waitress came back to inform us that the coffee machine was down. Past reviews my wife and I read also said the coffee machine was down. Part of the dessert was stale. Finally, there was complimentary valet parking. I handed the guy my ticket, and he brought me the wrong car.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This is my favorite restaurant ever! I w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant ever! I want to work there one day since it is such an awesome place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was as good as always but the servi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was as good as always but the service was a little on the slow side. For only being two people in our party, we were there for 3 hours. We did the four course meal though. Overall the experience was good and I will still recommend and be back sometime.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a reservation at 7:00 PM and were ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a reservation at 7:00 PM and were not seated until 7:40 and no one apologized for the wait. Service was a little slow but the food was good. We're not in a hurry to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Loved this place, we will for sure be re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved this place, we will for sure be returning. The atmosphere was fun and romantic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try the melting pot again ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We decided to try the melting pot again after the one in Novi closed. We used to go to the ones in Gainesville and Ocala Florida and it was always a special treat for us. Since moving to Michigan, nearly all of our visits to melting pot have been disappointing. This one was no exception. The service was fine other than the server spilling cheese all over the burner, and she still got a $25 tip. It probably spilled because it was excessively watery, and it was hard to keep on the dipping items. The real problem started when the Coq a Vin came out. It smelled like dead and rotting animals, which was a big turn off. We were charged $40 each for some pasta, frozen vegetables, and tofu to dunk into the putrid smelling pot. The smores dessert was fine. All in all, the $140 tab before tip was altogether excessive and we will never go back. Too many lackluster experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Horrible. I was very disappointed. Do no ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Horrible. I was very disappointed. Do not come here if you are hungry because the portions are less than a kids size. My drink tasted like water and was very expensive. I left feeling irritated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

This is an amazing place for just about ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is an amazing place for just about any special event. They always acknowledge the event and have such friendly service. They're very accommodating and the fondue is delicious! It's sort of expensive but worth every penny! We go about 4-5 times a year.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Melting Pot! The food is deli ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love the Melting Pot! The food is delicious! Our waitress Arlyn was EXCELLENT! She is very friendly, easy to talk to and knowledgeable about the restaurant! She made our dining experience wonderful! We enjoyed the evening at The Melting Pot. My husband and I really needed that time!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.