About The Melting Pot - Troy

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 2483622221x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Coq Au Vin Broth
Dark And Dulce
Quattro Formaggio
French Quarter
The Melting Pot House Salad
Broccoli
Flaming Turtle
Strawberry
Dipping Sauces
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Steak Lovers Fondue
Fondue Fusion
Caesar Salad
Dessert
Margarita
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
main course
Banana Foster Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Wedge Salad
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue with Bread
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Dip
Iced tea
Four Course Classic Entree
Cookies & Cream Chocolatr Fondue
Strawberry Basil Lemonade

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Troy ›

Special Occasion (93)
Romantic (87)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the surf and turf menu as part of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had the surf and turf menu as part of Troy restaurant week. The spinach artichoke cheese fondue, especially with the amazing pretzel bread, was the highlight of the meal and finished very quickly - a slightly larger quantity would work better. The entree was a bit tiring overall, as the chicken required 2 mins for each piece (and then still needed to go back in), the beef and shrimp 1 minute - the beef wasn't well seasoned so we ended up leaving most of it. The chicken tasted great and was very well seasoned, and we finished it all. The shrimp was good as well. The sauces were generally good. The potatoes were quite hard despite multiple dips into the oil, and maybe could have been partially boiled to make them edible. The vegetables could have benefited from light salting at least. The dessert was the dark and dulce fondue and was very good - would have done well with more fruit, less super sweet baked items. The heavy focus on sugary dipping items just seemed a bit juvenile and Applebee's-ish. Overall, the price was great because of restaurant week, but otherwise I would stick with the cheese and chocolate fondues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible food and gross erreything. Smel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible food and gross erreything. Smelled funky and is a huge waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very polite servers. Did see a lot of di ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very polite servers. Did see a lot of different staff which I needed to repeat my gluten allergy to several times. Manager did comp our chocolate for the inconvenience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always ask for Arlen. She does a very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always ask for Arlen. She does a very good job and remembers that I only want cauliflower, only want green goddess and I take my iced tea without lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

the food was great as usual, our waiter ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

the food was great as usual, our waiter was nice but we only saw him two times. the manager did take good care of us though

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great way to celebrate a 16th birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great way to celebrate a 16th birthday. Great service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only disappointing part of our visit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

The only disappointing part of our visit was our reservation time was not honored. We had to wait for 30 minutes for a table after our reservation time. Why make a reservation if they treat you as a walk in customer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Relaxed feel, food was very good an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very Relaxed feel, food was very good and the servers are very nice and helpful

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I wasn't too thrilled about how long eve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

I wasn't too thrilled about how long everything took. We got to the restaurant around 7 PM and did not leave until 10 PM. It was a lot of waiting. Also I am not a fan of boiled food so it wasn't very good. The best part of the dinner was the dessert. If I came back, I would only get dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time. Food was excellent. Our server was very pleasant and very social able

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to eat, eat at your own pace, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fun place to eat, eat at your own pace, great food, and good cocktails

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When I arrived prior to my guest, I had ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

When I arrived prior to my guest, I had a last minute special request I asked of the hostess. I wanted the Ultimate romance package which takes time to set up. The hostess was OUTSTANDING. She seemed concerned about time to set up but I assured her it would be fine. She did get the job done and it was perfect. The waiter was knowledgeable, personable and effective. The food and staff was all around top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was nice, place was super expensi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Server was nice, place was super expensive for what you get. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The amount of fondu you serve for 2 is n ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The amount of fondu you serve for 2 is not worth 16$,and your main courses are not worth 44$

The flavor of the cheese was bland,there was barley ANY cheese! and by the time our food came the waiter did not even hand us silver wear,and he did not give me a refill on my water the whole entire time i was dining there,it was a big disappointment for me and my significant others anaversery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I enjoyed myself and will definitely pla ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoyed myself and will definitely plan to return again. Wish you had one closer to the Lansing area. Its a trek for us to come up here. But for that special occasion, it was worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The appetizer and dessert were absolutel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The appetizer and dessert were absolutely delicious, but the entrée has a lot to be desired. I have never in my life gone to a restaurant and had boiled meat in a high end restaurant. If I ever eat there again I will never eat an entrée.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The melting pot is always our daughters ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The melting pot is always our daughters pick for a birthday dinner. Erick was our waiter, and he is absolutely amazing!! We came for our daughters 12th birthday last year and he remembered her and treated her so special ( and not to mention that the food was amazing as usual). Thank you Erick and melting pot for a wonderful evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been here before place is great l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I have been here before place is great little expensive but worth it, first timers must do 4 course experience..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always have great outstanding service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We always have great outstanding service at the melting pot..

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was too pricy for amount of food you get ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was too pricy for amount of food you get and the fact that you have to cook it yourself and service was TERRIBLE. We spilled sauces all over our booth and on my dress and when we asked our server for a wet cloth to clean up she handed us one towel and left and I had to go ask a busboy for several more. Server was rude and very unhelpful. When I asked which cooking style to choose she said "they are all fancy words for oil so it doesn't matter which you choose" if we come back it will be for dessert only and hopefully won't have the same server again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Came here tonight with my fiancé and had ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Came here tonight with my fiancé and had one of the worst experiences. We made a reservation for 9pm and arrived 10 minutes early. Valet (Benjamin) was nice and greeted us and said thanks for coming in. We were greeted by the hostess told it would be a few minutes, restaurant looked half empty, which is surprising I thought for a Friday night, but no big deal. We were sat at 9pm and then waited for over 15 minutes and watched multiple servers walk by us as well as one even deliver food to the table next to us and were never acknowledged or even brought waters. We finally just stood up and started walking out and one of the servers asked "Are you leaving" and we said "Yes" and then he walked away without even asking why. We got back to the hostess station where there were a few people employees hanging out talking and we told them that we were taking off and going across the street to Ruth Chris and that we had not been greeted or acknowledged and everyone kind of just stood there. The only one that actually cared was Benjamin, who walked us out and was apologetic and said it's not the norm. We went across the street and had a great meal and excellent service. I would say with the average ticket price per person being somewhat on the higher end, being known as a destination spot, and also having a lot of competition in the area that service was definitely lacking and needs some help. Hopefully management will work on this and get it on point.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is extremely nice. It ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant is extremely nice. It has nice waiters and the manager walking around was also very nice. The food was amazing and eating here really is a cool experience. But the price is extremely high expect to pay around $40 per person.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A very unique dining experience. Food i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

A very unique dining experience. Food is a little pricey for what you get

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For never having been to the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

For never having been to the Melting Pot it would've been helpful to have some suggestions from our server. We asked and he pretty much just told us to order what looked good. We asked for recommendations and he had none. The menu is a bit confusing because it's a different concept from your regular restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Everything was ok it was extremely busy ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was ok it was extremely busy that night. And we didn't see our waiter for 45 mins. Then the price I was quoted was wrong also. I go to the Melting Pot in several different states and this one was by far the worse. But still better then the average restaurant if you can understand what I'm saying. I miss the Novi, MI one. Always was top notch service and timely.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Although our server was very friendly an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Although our server was very friendly and personable he was not good as a server. We waited long periods of time between courses and at one point had to ask the hostess where our meal was. When the meal was delivered they were wrong. After paying the bill I asked to talk to a manager to address the issues and he never once apologized for our experience. Two days later when reviewing my bank account I noticed that my card was charged twice at the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

First time to this place. Really liked t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time to this place. Really liked the advice on how we go about eating at this place, the sever was fantastic. Food was great. Had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Really difficult to find the entrance - ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Really difficult to find the entrance - no sign.

The bathroom is outside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my 20th wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was my 20th wedding anniversary.

Our waiter was so nice!!

We will definitely be going back!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening with our daughter celebrati ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice evening with our daughter celebrating her birthday. She had never been there so it was very special to her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a pretty good evening. Kids en ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was a pretty good evening. Kids enjoyed it.. they were out of two things, things i ordered. Other than that, i will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobby/waiting area can be cleaner an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The lobby/waiting area can be cleaner and nicer for a restaurant like the melting pot.

Skip the fondue meat meal. You might want to try it once for experience of cooking it, but taste wise it is mediocre at best. Order the cheese fondue and the dessert (never tried their non fondue main course)

As far as ambience, I was there for my boyfriend's bday (table for two). We were given a booth in a corner that was too dark. You feel like you are trapped between 3 walls. AWFUL AND UNINVITING!

Overall, the cheese and dessert are good (not excellent) enough to go back. I would skip the main course. And certainly ask for open seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Our server Lexie was excellent and so he ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server Lexie was excellent and so helpful. It was our first time there and she made sure we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG The Melting Pot was magnificent it s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

OMG The Melting Pot was magnificent it surpassed all our expectations. It made our Anniversary very special. It was a great choice, we loved it. We have told a dozen of friends and family a must go to dine soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service,great food and enjoyed it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service,great food and enjoyed it all will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice concept a little pricy for the whol ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice concept a little pricy for the whole family. First time for a fondu experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I pick this as my birthday meal every ye ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I pick this as my birthday meal every year and it never disappoints! I love the cheese and desserts here, but the salads are also super good! The drinks are wonderful and it just puts me in a cheery mood to eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten here before and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here before and wanted to come back for our anniversary. The food is very tasty and our waitress was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still unsure who our server was!! We ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Still unsure who our server was!!

We had a number of people "take over" our table. First it was one server. Then another server came over with a trainee. Then a 3rd server. Then a 4th (who may have been the first person). It was crazy and we were pretty well ignored for most of the night. Very strange. I imagine they are having growing pains of sorts. Food did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

For a romantic night out, The Melting Po ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

For a romantic night out, The Melting Pot honestly cannot be beat! The atmosphere, the friendly waitstaff, THE FOOD!! It just all comes together so nicely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.