Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About The Melting Pot - Troy

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for a Date (82)
Romantic (76)
See All
Fun (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Cozy (35)
Good for Groups (25)
Family Style (23)
Casual (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Private Room (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was decent. Our server was helpful and nice but kind of messed up our cheese fondue and seemed a little flustered. We really enjoyed the lighting at our table and liked the ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed the dessert and would highly recommend others to try it. Spectacular fondue and dipping choices!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

If you like cooking your own food, you will like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've loved the Melting Pot for a long time, and I want to see them do well. The concept of fondue is fun, and the food always tastes delicious. The issue I have with this particular restaurant is that they are either way too hot (summer) or way too cold (winter). The tables are quite a mess, as well. Once diners leave, they don't wipe the table down until preparing for the next customer. It's gross to walk through a nearly empty restaurant to see all the grime on every table. The waitstaff seems confused quite often, as well. This time around we had two different waiters and one wasn't sure if the other one had already taken our order. It took over 2 hours just for cheese and our entree, so we had to skip dessert because it was getting quite late.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! I love both the cheese and chocolate course. The wait staff is normally very friendly and the food is delicious. You dip the pre-cut food into the cheese, broth or chocolate and enjoy. There are several different options on the main course for both meat eaters and veterinarians. I love all the vegetables not to mention the sauces once the item is cooked that amplifies the experience.
There is a lot of food so be prepared to either take some home or come hungry!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had a great time. We have never been to Melting Pot before, but we really wanted to try fondue. We didn't know that we would be cooking our own food, but it was a nice experience. We opted for the frying option when we made our entrees. It came with 2 batters and 8 sauces. We weren't sure if we were supposed to fry our veggies or not. We did anyway. The chocolate fondue was the best part.The couple at the table next to ours brought over 2 managers to complain about our server, but we didn't have any problems with her. It didn't stop her from keeping a smile on her face and providing excellent service. Over all, our experience was great. The food was delicious and we left our server a nice big tip :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant smelled bad and the kitchen appeared super dirty. The service was good but hard to tell if the food was clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Didn't follow instructions or see through promises made by Matt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Quite pricey for the food. For $46 a person, I expected more food. The experience was great and quite special for my first time there. Our waiter was amazing as he helped us with what to order. Some might say that you pay for the experience, and I can see that, but I didn't find the value in going again for the price/quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service from manager to waiter to bus boy. Outstanding facility and really enjoyed the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall our dinner was simply awful. It took too long to get seated, even with a reservation, the server took forever to get to our table and the food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Limited menu - expensive for what the quality has become. The menu is smaller and the quality just isn't what it used to be.

I had to make a reservation for a different night than the original day I intended to go to the Melting Pot. When I went into the restaurant the first day it was over half empty but I was told there would be an hour and half wait because they don't have the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My colleague and I visited the Melting Pot to sample their food as well as gather information on their private dining events for potential future usage for our company events. We ordered the lunch special: cheese, salad, and chocolate. You get quite a bit of food for the price, so we were rather impressed by that. The cheese and chocolate selections are varied but not overwhelming. We both thought that we received way more chocolate than we did cheese, and there was too much chocolate left over at the end. I'd prefer more cheese in the beginning and end on /slightly/ less chocolate, or at least just enough to dip all the desserts in. Service was a bit slow, not to the fault of the restaurant - there were more reservations than they had scheduled people for - as the service was very excellent and our waitress was attentive, polite, and a joy to talk to. As a first time visit, I was really quite impressed with the Melting Pot, and I will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We came for a birthday dinner as a couple. It was a little on the loud side with lots of kids, but I think there is a kids eat free promotion going on and it wasn't that big of a deal. The food was very good and, once we had the menu figured out, it was fun to make picks. Our server was really wonderful - made the experience for us! Very professional yet also conversational and funny. He really made it a special occasion and looked out for us. Honestly we would have considered it an average experience had he not been such a professional. We are fairly sure his name was Jake, but could be wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our server was great. Food was good. My only complaint is it is very very slow. Over two hours for lunch.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was good waiter was nice but we did not see him for long stretches of time.. ie: needed salt, etc. long waits. did not know were he was as we were in a room by ourselves. Also we were celebrating 2 birthdays... no special treat for birthday girls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I took my fiancé there for her Birthday. The staff made us feel like we were the most important people in the restaurant. They gave us a private room, the table was covered in rose petals and they brought out a special Birthday desert personalized to my fiancé. By far the best restaurant experience we've had!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was not great. Faulty burners on the tables. After we were moved we saw them sit another couple at the same table with a Faulty burner. Food is said to be cooked after a couple of minutes, assuming the temperature is high enough. Someone will be getting sick if they are using that table, knowing it's broken. They did their best to rectify the situation with us by discounting our meal. Which was appreciated, but I doubt we will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves. However would have preferred the male waiter that got us started. After he left and our waitress took over we didn't see her for 20 mins at a time. Waited for our beers for awhile too. For being that expensive I would expect top notch service. They did comp us two beers so that was nice but we had to leave in the middle of dinner due to an emergency so it sucked not getting to finish our food and paying that much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome food great atmosphere service was great also the waiter we had always had the drinks full friendly and thee overall experience was fantastic

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Ladies night was great with my friends! We enjoyed the three course meal and discounted drinks. Great food and laughter.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I was a Little disappointed with the service, people all around us were getting served, after 10 minutes of not being greeted as we watched other tables getting service, we finally said something then finally someone waited on us!

Felt the Ladies night was disorganized.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had great service and food was awesome. Only issue is the building has construction going on a parking was not convenient.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I went to the restaurant at 9:30 PM. I was seated at 10:00 PM. I waited for the server for 30 minutes. After that a called someone who was working thier and complained. I was planning to set thier with my wife from 9:30 to 11:00. The date was only was for 30 minutes. I really did not like that. The servier was nice with us, but the wait time and the no one came to take out order was not acceptable at all.
Mohammed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service. Any server is happy to be of service even though their not yours! Best night out!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall, I love going to The Melting Pot; it's a great place with great food for special occasions. Our server, although disappearing for periods of time, was very knowledgeable and friendly. However, this visit we had a couple of hiccups that were a bit annoying.

First: We initially did not have reservations when we came; however, once we heard the next available table wouldn't be for a few hours, I quickly went on Open Table and found one within 15 minutes of our arrival. When we did reserve, I got a little snarky look from the hostess.

Second: As we were in the midst of enjoying our main course, another server came by and asked if she could "borrow" the Garlic & Wine seasoning from our table. As. We. Were. Clearly. Using it. She said she would bring one back "right away." Clearly she brought it to her table (as we heard them say "Thank You") and then she proceeded to go to the bar and talk with the bartender. Giving her the benefit of the doubt, we gave her a couple minutes. But as she hadn't moved from the bar, we flagged down another server (ours was nowhere to be found) and asked for a replacement.

Otherwise, our meal was lovely and -- yes, we will be returning. If only for their delicious fondue; as there are no other locations or decent fondue places in our area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Me and my boyfriend have been going to the Melting Pot at least every other month for the last few years. It does get a little pricey (roughly $100 for two +some if you get drinks) but it's definitely worth it! I love to sit there for about 1 1/2 - 2 hours just talking with my boyfriend and spending great time together. Plus all the food is amazing, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Cozy, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had to keep begging people to send server to us. We had to wait 20 mins for drinks and she didn't make sure she knew what we wanted. Poor experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Julian totally made our experience a fabulous event!
He made the Birthday Girl feel special (just turned 13)
& talked & joked with the 10yr old twins (girls) as well.
He also made sure we made it out on time to see Beauty & the Beast.
Excellent server!
We had a blast!
Thank you for a memorable celebration!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Erick was our server and he did a fantastic job and made our dinner very enjoyable. We had previously had a negative experience, but this visit really made up for that. Our food was really good, the service was excellent and we left having truly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Are experience was ama,zing are water was great overall awesome

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my second time at The Melting Pot overall, but only my first time at this location. I thought the service was very friendly and my waitress (d not recall her name however) was very active. She kept our drinks filled and went over each step of the menu to know exactly what we were getting. Our food came out in a very timely manner and it was really good. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful experience, great food, great waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food here is always good and it's always a fun time. I haven't been to this location before, but I was expecting the same experience overall.
The negatives were a lot of our silverware was dirty. The windowsill next to us was also very dirty. The food was good but the barback seemed antsy to move us to the next course when we were only halfway done.
Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with menu options. very attentive and had many good suggestions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The appetizer and dessert were very good but the entree was disappointing.
Food was good but the process was cumbersome and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Melting Pot. Our kids really enjoy the experience. The service was great and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I thought the food was good but definitely overpriced, not worth the price. I thought the décor was interesting but needed an update, walls were scraped up and peeling. The restaurant was very dirty. That was the first thing I noticed when I walked in. If I didn't have a gift card I would have probably walked out. I will say the service was very good and the wait staff and manager were very friendly. I also thought the fondue part was fun and unusual when dining. However, it's highly unlikely that I will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everyone was welcoming and friendly! The bar staff was amazing

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting Pot is a great special occasion date experience. When you go there, do not be in a rush. It is not that service is slow, but a four course meal takes time and it is much easier to enjoy it if you are not in a rush. The service is very good and attentive. They do not push to get you up and out of there as they know this is an experience. I highly recommend The Melting Pot.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Usually a staple for our regular date nights, I'm not sure I'll be going back. It could have just been a one-time occurrence but the restaurant was not clean at all. Tables were dirty. Crumbs we're all over the floor. And the first serving bowl we received for our cheese fondue was dirty too. I also got a dirty fork with my dessert and did not receive a spoon with my coffee. Very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food waiter was not on point with refills or checking on us at all

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.