Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About The Melting Pot - Troy

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (70)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Fun (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Cozy (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Casual (18)
Family Style (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Healthy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Private Room (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Julian totally made our experience a fabulous event!
He made the Birthday Girl feel special (just turned 13)
& talked & joked with the 10yr old twins (girls) as well.
He also made sure we made it out on time to see Beauty & the Beast.
Excellent server!
We had a blast!
Thank you for a memorable celebration!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Erick was our server and he did a fantastic job and made our dinner very enjoyable. We had previously had a negative experience, but this visit really made up for that. Our food was really good, the service was excellent and we left having truly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Are experience was ama,zing are water was great overall awesome

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my second time at The Melting Pot overall, but only my first time at this location. I thought the service was very friendly and my waitress (d not recall her name however) was very active. She kept our drinks filled and went over each step of the menu to know exactly what we were getting. Our food came out in a very timely manner and it was really good. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful experience, great food, great waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food here is always good and it's always a fun time. I haven't been to this location before, but I was expecting the same experience overall.
The negatives were a lot of our silverware was dirty. The windowsill next to us was also very dirty. The food was good but the barback seemed antsy to move us to the next course when we were only halfway done.
Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with menu options. very attentive and had many good suggestions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The appetizer and dessert were very good but the entree was disappointing.
Food was good but the process was cumbersome and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Melting Pot. Our kids really enjoy the experience. The service was great and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I thought the food was good but definitely overpriced, not worth the price. I thought the décor was interesting but needed an update, walls were scraped up and peeling. The restaurant was very dirty. That was the first thing I noticed when I walked in. If I didn't have a gift card I would have probably walked out. I will say the service was very good and the wait staff and manager were very friendly. I also thought the fondue part was fun and unusual when dining. However, it's highly unlikely that I will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everyone was welcoming and friendly! The bar staff was amazing

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting Pot is a great special occasion date experience. When you go there, do not be in a rush. It is not that service is slow, but a four course meal takes time and it is much easier to enjoy it if you are not in a rush. The service is very good and attentive. They do not push to get you up and out of there as they know this is an experience. I highly recommend The Melting Pot.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Usually a staple for our regular date nights, I'm not sure I'll be going back. It could have just been a one-time occurrence but the restaurant was not clean at all. Tables were dirty. Crumbs we're all over the floor. And the first serving bowl we received for our cheese fondue was dirty too. I also got a dirty fork with my dessert and did not receive a spoon with my coffee. Very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food waiter was not on point with refills or checking on us at all

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Awesome birthday experience for my wife . Great food and ambience

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My son was leaving for Navy boot camp the day after we had dinner at the Melting Pot. Our server was wonderful and had the chef write a good luck wish to him in chocolate on a plate with chocolate covered strawberries. Was the perfect evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had another great experience. Weren't able to make it for Valentine's Day but the manager Brian made it Valentine's Day for me and my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Melting Pot is one of our most favorite special restaurants; we try to go a couple times a year if possible. The menu has changed dramatically since our last trip, however, and that was a huge disappointment. One of the things we liked best was the many varieties of wines that allowed us to try something new each trip; but the wine menu has been reduced to that of an Olive Garden. Even the menu has been reduced significantly. Gone were the "Big Night Out" 4 course specials and ideal pairings. The food was good, as always, but not as great as we have grown to expect. The apple slices weren't cut small enough to dip, so I had to cut them all down further, using the table top, because "all the plates are in the dishwasher". My husband ordered an entree that was supposed to contain both lobster and duck, instead the duck was substituted with shrimp with no explanation. Service was okay, but it would have been nice to have had someone refill water glasses between the salad and dessert. Even the dessert dipping items were disappointing: 4 slices of banana, 8 slices of strawberry, 4 slices of pineapple and marshmallows, brownies and cookie bites. It used to be that the marshmallows and baked goods were up-charges, and since we didn't like them, we never ordered them. The reduction of the fruit was a huge disappointment; after a heavy meal, few people want to eat brownies and cookies.

There was no directions or signage for the parking lot, either, which really started us off wrong. The lot is being ripped up and it is difficult to reach; we had to call to get information on get around the building. The bathrooms are also closed, so you have to go to the second floor of the building. Not exactly convenient for an upscale restaurant. We will go back to the Troy location, because it's the only location option left for us, but I'm not exactly looking forward to it being anytime soon after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The place is starting to look a little bit beat up. The building itself is under major construction which is a true hassle. The food is OK and the service is pretty good. Be prepared to take an hour and a half to have your meal. Also quite expensive for what you get. But it is a unique way to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant, even though it is a bit pricy. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was supposed to be a special evening with my wife celebrating our anniversary. The first thing we noticed once seated is dirty napkins on the floor as well as it appeared to of not been vacuumed in quite a while. Our dinner reservation was for 5:45pm and the place was less than busy. One would think and expect that a Resturant of this price tag would be clean. If the dinning area was that dirty I could only imagine what the kitchen looks like. Our bill with tip was $140 dollars. This was our fourth and final time dinning at the Melting Pot in Troy. We were very disappointed with how dirty it was. Management needs to work on keeping the resturant cleaner if they don't want to continue to loose future customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We came for our late 9 year anniversary dinner. He had been there before and I hadn't. I loved it. Was a bit expensive for us so it would definitely be just for a special event type of thing but I wouldn't mind coming back for another special event like an anniersary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I will return again soon. My friend enjoyed her birthday gift and dinner.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Each table is very private and it's a great place for a date. Quiet and romantic, and the food is always fantastic. Small portions, so be ready for that. Typically the service is flawless but our waiter really left us hanging last time. Over 15 mins between courses, never refilled drinks, took forever to get the check, then took forever for him to return with our card.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my first time experience dining at establishment. I went to enjoy the Mardi Gras themed menu which was delicious. I highly recommend utilizing The Melting Pot as a first date choice due to the relaxed but cozy feel. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the different styles of cooking and great suggestions on the menu items. I will surely be back, but next time I will make an earlier reservation not so close to closing hours so I van actually relax while enjoying the experience. I didn't want to keep the wait staff from going home on time but they assured me that it was okay.....thank you and I will be back 👍👍👍👍👍👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great Food and Service! But may be time to up date the Décor...getting warn out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wasn't special. Pan started burning during first course. Everything was blah. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My friends and my husband and I had a tradition to go to the Melting Pot in Novi for our birthday celebration every year, until they closed :( We missed it so we decided to venture out to Troy to continue the tradition. Melting Pot Troy did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and fun, the food was excellent as always, and the experience was great. If you haven't been, the full experience takes a few hours as you start with cheese fondue, then salad, then your main course and finally a chocolate fondue dessert. The main course you cook yourself in the fondue pot so you cook to your liking. A few of us did create your own entree to get salmon, tuna and pasta while the other did one of the pre-designed main courses. All food was delicious :) You definitely need to make reservations, the place was packed and a large party was told they would have to wait 4 hrs if they wanted to get in. Ideal for a party of 2-4 as most tables are booths. They have some 6 tops as well. I would not bring kids under 10 as it's expensive first of all, and the fondue is hot hot hot. Overall we may not be able to go as often because of the distance but we will make it a point to drive out here again! It's fun to go with our friends and gives you a lot of time to catch up while going through all the 4 courses.

PS if you sign up for the email list, you will get a coupon for free chocolate covered strawberries around your birthday that doesn't expire for a few months. You have to call and make sure they have the strawberries on your reservation, but otherwise they are free after that - and delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My sister-in-law and I celebrated our birthdays at The Melting Pot, and had a delicious, conversation filled, casual meal with a nice glass of wine. For dessert, our waiter brought each of us a plate with Happy Birthday written on it in dark chocolate, a lit candle that had been melted onto the plate with hot wax, and a special chocolate dipped and decorated strawberry. We each felt very special and had a great time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

3 hour overpriced meal cheese had to be made twice. Waited super long for everything ... with three kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Should be a romantic ambiance but it was not. The service was poor and the wine way overpriced. The food was good but the overall experience was way less than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband & I had an amazing time at The Melting Pot Troy! We were given a gift certificate there for Christmas... now I want that gift every Christmas!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Server got our order wrong, told her before she set it on the table. She still gave us the wrong food and we were never brought what we ordered and were still charged. Food was not very good, dessert was the only good part. And there was construction going on and we had to go through it and up some elevators to use the bathrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Melting Pot is always a fun time. Lots of different foods to try, and you get to cook part of the meal yourself. It's certainly interesting. It's on the pricey side, but it's definitely worth it. Good quality food, good service, and a to die for desert menu (even if you skip the chocolate fondue). Definitely take a date :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It has always been our special occasion restaurant. It is a fantastic venue for thos special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

While our server was very nice, he was not responsive or attentive. We had to ask multiple times for our drinks, and didn't get them until two courses in. Our cheese was left on the burner so long that it started to burn and smell awful! To the point that other servers were checking THEIR customers tables to ensure it wasn't theirs!
after the cheese portion we received our salad (and eventually our drinks), and during this time he put the broth on to warm up, but when he brought out the meat, he took the hot, boiling broth and left new broth which then took FOREVER to heat up. Which, unfortunately, at this point it had already been well over an hour since sitting down and we were hungry, so having to wait even longer to cook our meat when we had broth already ready and then removed, was quite frustrating.

Also, we had let the restaurant know that I had a coupon for 6 free chocolate covered strawberries, and we definitely never received them. It was a disappointing birthday dinner to say the least.

I'm not sure I'd want to come back after that experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Came her for my birthday. I've never been here before and I wanted to try something new. There was 5 of us , and we did 2 of the 4 course meal. I really enjoyed the Quattro formaggio. Great taste. Salad was next and that was good. We ordered the land and sea for the entrée. The steak and shrimp was really good, didn't really care for the chicken. The flaming turtle was our dessert, it was awesome. Our server was great, explained everything really well, checked on us often. Will definitely go back

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was fun, trying different flavors and combinations in a large group (at least 4 people, for 2 different pots at a time) is both delicious and amusing. We keep coming back year after year for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall, the experience was very good, as usual. However, our wait person, Lexi, was a little slow on bringing, beverages, we had to ask for water, while we overheard her all the table behind us if they would like water.
We inadvertently requested the cooking worth the oil. We realized our mistakeand requested the complimentary broth.
Lexi was going to carry the vessel of oil back to the kitchen, without securing it with the housing you normally carry it in. The handle was hot, so I told her the handle was hot and she might not want to carry it. She agreed, left, and a male staff person returned with the broth and removed the oil properly. Lexi was not not very attentive at all, we actually had to look for her to request more coffee, water,....
We actually saw and spoke with one of your more attentive, personable, all around great employees, Arlan. Arlan is such a great person and gives the red carpet treatment to all (we heard her with other patrons, before we spoke with her). She really adds that extra finishing touch to the whole dining experience.
Bon Appétit til next time.

Rosalind and Jerome Chaney

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Took my best-friend for her birthday; first time she's ever been here. We had a great time. Didn't have to worry about the noise level - everything is just nice & casual. Food was really good, but honestly - you're paying for the experience, otherwise I'd say it's way over priced.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.