Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About The Melting Pot - Troy

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Romantic (38)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was really bad we ordered spinach artichoke chesse and it was really bad and we couldn't order anything else, we paid and left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Usually have excellent customer service and experience here. I think we just got a bad server. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our server Brandon was absolutely amazing! He made our date night extra special!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service! Good food and an enjoyable time! Nicely done, would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The only thing negative I can say about them is they don't come through on promising something special on anniversaries for joining...which I did, Our visit Sunday was for our anniversary and they gave us nothing. They asked if we were celebrating anything and we told them it was our 34th anniversary...but still nothing. They did congratulate us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a reservation for 730. Didn't get seated in an empty restaurant for 20 min. And onece at table with one burner for 4 people. Was told it was our fault we should have called ahead. But we made reservations on line and it wasn't an option. The drinks arrived at the same time we were served our cheese meal. The waitress never came around again till after the apps were done. So we could t get a second drink till the entree arrived after the salads were eaten. The one burner worked occasionally, but didn't get hot enough to heat the food to temp, so we all used the oil, which only two of us wanted to use. No offer of coffee, felt rushed out as bills were handed at the beginning of dessert. The bills were wrong and not divided as we asked. The other couple ended up seating themselves at another table alone so they could get their chocolate hot enough to eat and enjoy. So we cleared our own dishes from the original table, so we didn't have to be surrounded by
dirty glasses and plates, to the dirty table beside us. Again. Restaurant was almost empty. We could hear staff laughing and talking but nobody around to help us. I paid 140 dollars US. I have a pregnant wife and a two year old. We paid a babysitter 100 dollars to watch her so we could have one last date night while my wife was semi comfortable. It was unquestionably the worst feeataurant experience I can remember. I was given two 25 dollar gift certificates which I gave away, cause we don't want to waste an entire rare evening on a place that just doesn't care about customer service. The managaer said the burner worked, and walked away. It shut itself off as it did for us too. He was wrong. Didn't offer to take a drink off my bill even cause the girl came to get our money so er before the meal wS even done. I had already paid. And paid for extra drinks the the other couple had. I wonder if anyone from the company even reads these emails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was kind of a sad experience. The restaurant was in the middle of a construction site and clearly needed a renovation of its own. Even though we had a reservation and there was ample room in the main dining room, we were seated in the bar area and had to be moved twice because the booths were all broken. The hostess said all the tables were "busted" and any of the booths we would get were in disrepair so it wasn't worth trying to find a non-broken one. Everything was fine then on until the busboy took away half of our entree in the middle of eating before we even had a chance to eat it. We had to ask him to leave our food and were not sure why everything was being removed while we were clearly still eating. The waitress said he was brand new and had been making a lot of mistakes. Understand he's not an all star but that's not really my problem. For a meal that ended up being $60 a person, it was not up to par. Would avoid going back to this location. The staff seem sad and clearly dislike their job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and great service from Monica. Prefect location for date night

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The theme is good but the place is a little grungy. Expensive for what you get... overall 2/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Not worth the money. We spent $107 and our kids are free for kids week. Waited quite a while for our waiter to show up. Dirty dishes piled on our table. Waited for beer from the bar. Overall not great. Not a fan. Smelled like fried food after we left. No exhaust to remove the grease smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love this place. But we can only afford to go maybe once a year. We went two nights ago for our 1st wedding anniversary. We got sat in a far corner with little rraffic. Pretty sure our server forgot about us multiple times. Took ten minutes to get our drinks. When ge finally brought the cheese course he started it then left to go bring food to another table saying he would be right back. Took him 10 minutes to come back. He finished making our fondue and left. We finished the food and sat with empty plates in front of us for 15minutes. Then he brought the base for the main course. It sat in front of us boiling for another 25 minutes, until half of it was gone from boiling. Food finally came. It was missing a couple items because they were out. My husband asked for butter for his lobster, which should have came with it. Took another 15 minutes to get that. Which by that time it he was almost done anyway. All the empty plates were taken away and we sat for OVER THIRTY MINUTES waiting for our chocolate fondue course. I finally went and found a manager and told him. We got it in 5 minutes. We are not ones to complain, but we are not people who can normally afford to eat there. For how much we are spending we were expecting much better service. We told our server at the start that it was our wedding anniversary, and we did not get anything, usually there is complimentary strawberries. Worst service I have ever had even though I paid more for a meal than I ever have before. Really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went on a Saturday night and noticed a big difference in service from a Sunday night. It's a lot busier, that's understandable. But to not have silverware when the salad is served and having to ask for it (after bringing the incorrect dressing) is a bit upsetting. Soft drinks were not refilled and overall attention wasn't there. Don't get me wrong, the food was great. Perhaps it was just an off night for the staff, but I expect more for the price. Usually don't have any problems when we visit, but have never dined there on a Saturday night either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a lovely meal in a secluded Booth and all of the staff were very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It took us 20 minutes to order our drinks. There was maybe 4 other couples so it wasn't busy. We had to wait a lot for drinks, our meat, etc. at one point someone put our cooking style on the burner and we had to wait 30 minutes to even get our meat. A bit ridiculous on a slow day. If it was busy we would've been more understanding. We contemplated on how much to tip but went with 20% because we weren't sure if there was more to the story. This is our second time with issues on promptness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service and food was great per usual but I'm gonna be honest and say we felt rushed! My husband and I have been to this location numerous times and have never before now had anything negative to say about your company. The manager came to our table 3 times and I'm sorry that's a bit ridiculous. Our reservation was for 8 o'clock and we finished around 9:30 so it's not like we were "milking the clock" so to speak. The waiter was great and very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Restaurant week was a nice surprise. The waiter rushed us.. we still were eating our cheese appetizer and had him bring our broth pot out and start that.., seemed like a race all night. We hadn't even started our chocolate fondue when he set the bill down. Good food but the waiter seemed to want us in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Never again will we go back!! Ended up going next door to Morton's Steakhouse and made up for the horrible experience we received at the melting pot.
If you make a 5:15 reservation and sit down in the far corner of the restaurant in a cramped booth that was filthy and not to mention we weren't greeted for over 20 minutes.
Walked out after they tried to seat us at another table and my wife looks on the ledge where they put our utensils and saw a dead bug right next to our napkins.
Almost ruined our evening and 10 year Anniversary. Luckily we were very well taken care of at Morton's.
0 stars for Melting Pot!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went during restaurant week. Food was enjoyable. We especially like the cheese and chocolate fondues. We had the four cheese and cheddar one. Both were delicious. The stars of the meal were the chocolate fondues. We had the bananas foster and the original, which was chocolate and peanut butter. I would recommend going just for dessert!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We always have such great service with Erick! He is our favorite and will always ask to be seated in his section. Give this guy a raise! Always exceptional. 10 Stars. Great job Erick!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at the Melting Pot. We were there to have a "final" meal together as a family because we were taking our daughter to college the next day. We have always enjoyed the Melting Pot. This time, however, the dining experience was a bit distracting as we had a young child next to us that screamed thru meal time. I get that that is a bit out of the restaurants control, but still. In addition, our server was a little inattentive at times, gone for long periods of time, and our drinks were delayed. She did say that the bartender was behind, but that was after the fact. She should have told us when we ordered. We asked her multiple questions about food allergies for our life-threatening tree nut allergic son. Either she did not understand his allergy, the products, the severity of it, etc., but our answers were not clear or quick enough for our son to be comfortable. My suggestion, is staff training on that issue, so the wait staff can answer those questions with confidence. Fortunately the Manager came over a bit later to answer all our questions, and we could enjoy the meal. Other than that, it was a great meal that we enjoyed as a family.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Upon arriving at our reservation at 6:30 PM we were quickly seated and approached by the waiter at 6:50 PM drinks were brought back at 7:18 pm. We had asked for no potatoes with the meal potatoes were Brought we asked for extra sides none were brought. We had to inform another server three times during the meal for refills and drinks. We finished eating at 7:55 PM awaiting dessert. At 8:25pm The waiter had not returned yet. I spotted the manager and informed him to come to our table. The server and then returned with the desert only because we asked. We ended up leaving Desert on the table because the manager had to comp the meal. This is the only time of ever had this horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

I have always wanted to try and was amazed at how friendly the staff was and how absolutely amazing the food was. Have already recommended The Melting Pot to many friends and family. I see The Melting Pot on my Favorite Dining List

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was outstanding as usual, quite and calm atmosphere. The service was a little below usual this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always wanted to try the Melting Pot, as the experience is unique. Overall the food was good, but I would not go again, nor recommend it.

Upon arrival we had a bit of a wait despite a reservation and many open tables. On our way to the table, it seemed many tables were not cleaned, and overall there was a lack of attention. We arrived at 4:45, and there were few patrons, so it seemed the tables were dirty from lunch at least a couple hours prior.

It wasn't horrible, but for a meal that cost $250 for a family of four with one alcoholic drink, I expected much much more. Capital Grill, or Mortons would be much better for similar money.

$80-$100 it would be more in line with our experience. We definitely won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a great evening out. Service and food was excellent. Great cocktail menu. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was good and our server was great. The bill turned out to a little higher than I was anticipating, so I was not thrilled about that. We live quite far away (and REALLY miss the one in Novi!), but we will still come back when in the area again...I will just keep a closer eye on the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very poor service... very disappointed .... don't think we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server was super nice!! The entire experience was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and ambiance was wonderful but the service was lacking. Our waitress rarely checked on us and we had empty water glasses for a while. Another waitress servicing a nearby table checked on us more than our assigned waitress did. I also thought something special would be done for our Anniversary, but there was nothing. I would go back but hope for better service next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This location is an interesting one... In what appears to be an older office building, the restaurant appears to have had better days. From the road, you are not exactly sure that it is still open. Even walking up to the building, the awning has seen better days and is faded and old. That weathered theme seems to carry over into the restaurant. There are booths missing end caps, leaving bare wood structure exposed, which sticks out like a sore thumb when compared to the dark stain and dark seat cushions. Also the first booth we were sat in was extremely tight for 2 people. And the control knob system for the pot was not bolted onto the table, but rather hanging off the end and secured with zip-ties. For the service, the hostess and the waiter were very nice, however the hostess was slow to seat us, especially considering it was only 4pm and there was only one other table in the restaurant.. The waiter was extremely slow and not very educated in the menu or drink offerings. It took well over 10 minutes for my wife to get her wine. This was not the only time that he was slow to serve the table. Between each course we had a 10-20 minute gap with no contact from our server and no food or drinks on our table. The main course to desert gap was the worst one, after he removed the pot and all utensils he went to get the desert and a refill on our soda. We then waited for 20 minutes for him to show back up, at which point he had the soda and desert. But we had been sitting there with no food or drinks for that long. Overall the restaurant could use a refresh and some retraining of staff to really improve. The menu could also use a refresh, there are a lot of items that are dated and not really relevant to modern restaurant offerings. For the price of this restaurant I expect a better facility and incredible service. Instead we had good food in a dated and weathered atmosphere with sub-par service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was great. Seating was fast. Place was clean decorated well. Lighting at the table was horribly dark. I'm not opposed to spending money on a good meal. But $50 for tiny pieces that added up was probably the equivalent of two chicken tenders was a bit rediculous. We left and stopped somewhere for food. Very disappointed.

Loved the place for the idea and experience however will never return

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had a great first experience at The Melting Pot. Food and atmosphere were excellent. If you do the full course option be prepared to spend at least 2 hours in the restaurant. Good place to come for a dessert option too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The melting pot went way beyond my expectations, as we went to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was beyond helpful. When they found out we were celebrating our anniversary they brought us a special plate of desert on them. Very friendly staff, and would highly recommend their touch of romance rose petals and candles package. It makes the table look great, esp. for a date night or anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dipper portions for a table of 4 were so very small. For the cheese, the veggies were in a serving dish that held approx 1/3 cup. For the chocolate dippers, there wasn't even a small piece of each thing for each person to try.
The main course seemed fine to me size wise, and was quite good. We each had different entrees, all to our liking. The salads were also very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I made the reservation for my sister-in-law's bachelorette party and we had a great time. We have been there before and have had great service. This time was just as great. The food tasted great and our server Jabbar was extremely polite and helpful. I would recommend this place for many special occasions; date night with the hubby, bachelorette party, birthday dinner, etc

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was amazing, good friendly service. My only complaint would be that the two person booths are a bit small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went there to celebrate a birthday and they pulled out all the stops! From staff wishing a happy birthday at check in, to free chocolate covered strawberries at dessert, to a free champagne toast at the end... it made for a super special night. Thanks Melting Pot!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food is amazing and is such a great experience. It is so much different from a regular restaurant and I love it!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice experience. Restaurant floor could of been a little cleaner and the people across from us were pretty loud but overall it was a good experience. We had a very nice waiter and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.