Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About The Melting Pot - Troy

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fun (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Groups (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (20)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I liked my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Our burner wasn't working properly. So the meal took a very long time. Our server was new, which is understandable, but I felt that because it took so long and things weren't cooking, nothing was done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service, great waitress, awesome food. The restaurant was pretty much empty (which they said was normal for lunch) but I really liked that, and with the nice calm background music too! It was my first time here with my friends and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Rawan and Trevor were great as usual. The food was delicious and so were the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Creative food ideas and a "self-service" cooking method provides a fun atmosphere pending you have the time. For a full 4 course dinner for 2 you're averaging about $80+ without drinks. While the food was cooked to order (IE: yourself cooking it basically), it's overpriced.

If you're looking to have a unique date night experience and money is no option, I would recommend this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Long time fan of the Melting Pot. Great service. Great food. My server was excellent. She taught me two new tricks that I can't believe I didn't know. Keep my apples from the salad course to dip in chocolate, and roast the marshmallows in the flambé! How did I not think of this over the past 20 years? Kudos to her. Wish I could remember her name. Also, the bartender seated us. Very friendly. Recommended great drinks. Yum!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great place!!! Highly recommend this place, as well as our waiter Julian. Great guy, and I would suggest him for any special occasion you may have for dining here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our waitress was exceptional and took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I didn't get the "happy birthday " sign that everyone posted on photo:( the chocolate dessert was the best part of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Lexi, our server, was very helpful. And the food was really good. Portions were just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very nice dinner and the waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My girlfriend and I celebrated our one year anniversary at a nice restaurant for dinner and came here for dessert, it was her first time but I've been here before. Food is always amazing but kinda pricey, we ordered just a pot of fondue and an order of extra dipping foods that totaled to over $30. It was well worth the cost tho, everything tasted delicious, service was decent and friendly and despite being packed we could still have a nice conversation without yelling. Overall a great place for a special date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Erick was an outstanding server. Attentive and detail oriented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We left full! Great service! We had the endless entree and even though it did not include dessert, it was still a good value

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Melting pot was awesome! The food was so good and the ambiance was perfect for a date night! Great for a slow pace take your time dinner, staff was great too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dirty environment, floors littered with debris, tables piled with plates long after guests departed. Poor quality of meats served, waited 30 minutes after being seated and still not acknowledged by a server, had to ask for assistance. Will not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I was very excited to spend my birthday with my husband and mother in law. We were sat quickly and the dining room was perfectly lit and each booth felt separate from each other. We had never been and our server was very patient with us when we asked numerous questions. A different server dropped off our drinks and was pushy about what we should get. We never saw that server again the rest of the dining experience. My glass I got was dirty and had a tomato skin stuck on the inside. When we let our server know he apologized and got me a fresh drink. Once we started to receive dishware at our table we noticed that nearly EVERY plate was chipped or cracked. At the end we counted about 4 little sauce bowls, 2 full size plates, and 4 of the side plates. For about $30+ a person I would expect them to be able to throw away chipped dishes. Although our server was great I would NOT recommend going to this Melting Pot because of the lack of standards that they clearly have. Usually I would ask for new plates/glasses like we did with the drink, but when nearly half of the plates/dishes arrive that way they must be mostly broken in the back anyways.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I was skeptical of the whole idea of a fondue restaurant when my wife suggested it, but I fell in love with it and it has quickly become my favorite place to eat. Everything from the appetizers to dessert is incredible!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were celebrating both Father's Day and our first wedding anniversary at the same time. It was my wife's first time eating there and she enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

For me the Melting Pot is over rated and over priced.. and portions are small. It was on our bucket list so now we can say we have been there but probably wont be back. Our waitess was very nice , nothing against her. I can do fondue at home for cheaper. ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Have known about the Melting Pot for years, but had never gone. My wife and I went to celebrate her birthday there and it went well beyond even my expectations. They called me the day of our reservation to ask who was celebrating their birthday. When I told them my wife, they arranged to have rose petals on our table, which were lovely. The restaurant is set up so that each table has dividers stretching above the seats, so that you wind up with basically a private dining experience and conversations from other tables were muted. The food was good and the experience was not just a typical dinner. All in all we spent almost three hours having our meal, and it was beautiful, tasty, relaxing, and romantic. I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I went for a end of the week Happy Hour and is was a delightful treat. The cheese and chocolate was the perfect start to my weekend! The food was amazing the atmosphere was friendly and was the perfect start to my weekend. The staff was friendly and were wonderful company. The bartender put a special and delicious twist to the cocktail that I ordered making it even better. I look forward to my next visit!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was very good. I would have to say even though you are full, the portion of meat for the price you pay is very small. The wait staff was decent but not as professional as I would have liked for a $120 + meal. Also service was quite slow very long wait for refills and requests. It was a decent overall experience, not your everyday dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The Melting Pot is my favorite. I try to go a couple times a year for special occasions. My 3 year old daughter loves to help us with our meals. The staff is always overly nice and very helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Seated 20 minutes after our reservation (which we were on time for). Server never came to our table after 15 minutes sitting. In the meantime, we witnessed intense staff fighting both in the kitchen and at the bar. We left after 40 minutes total and not receiving anything that resembled service. Luckily Bahama Breeze was right down the road. Seated immediately and wonderful service even though it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

No weak spots everything delicious had filet lobster tail shrimp chicken and ribs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We love The Melting Pot! It is is always the first choice of family members for celebratory meals. We only wish there was one closer to our home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, good experience. Service on the slower side, but overall a great dinner. Definitely have to go in to the meal for the experience, will take a few hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The chocolate fondue was above average. The dipping plate was just enough for two people and the dim lighting would be a great date night dessert place.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Went for Ladies Night, and it was really fun. Special drinks and menu which was really nice and fun for the night together. I recommend this for friends and for a fun night out.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was an absolutely unforgettable experience. I left a minor comment regarding what I would like placed on the table at my arrival and The Melting Pot went above and beyond for it. I just said to put a card on the table saying happy birthday to my girlfriend and that I love her. Instead, they placed us in the back area of the restaurant where we could be alone in each other's company, a special desert with the message that I wanted on a card, written in chocolate with a chocolate dipped strawberry on a plate and the server kept reminding her of her birthday. All of it was very nice for a first time ever visit and we will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

There was a gentleman busing tables that night, i never caught his name. But he was a real smart aleck and I definitely disliked him. He just came off rude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lexington and her trainee were wonderful. As always, we had a great time!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good food but it took FOREVER for us to get our food. It was probably just the process but I will have to see next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I was curious to try fondue, but will never go back to this place. It's grimy inside and really needs to be cleaned and updated. The booth we sat in was uncomfortable, cramped, dirty, and dark. And since the service was slow (we sat much too long between courses) our dinner took over TWO HOURS to complete. Our waiter was very nice, but he had a rushed and sloppy way of speaking, and I couldn't understand what he said. The directions for the fondue process weren't clear enough. I'm surprised this place isn't under watch for food-borne illnesses in that they bring raw meat to the table and everything seems old and dirty. They probably radiate the food beforehand. Basically, it's just gross. If you do go, sit in the bar area where the lighting is better and you can actually see (and reach) the fondue pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent place. Would recommend to everyone who wants a relaxing night out

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great experience here! Took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we had a great time! The waiters and waitresses were very polite and exceptional! Great place to go for a romantic date and experience something new!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mother here for Mother's day. The food was good but our server seemed distracted and as though he didn't want to be there at all. We got brought the wrong salad, then had to call another waiter to grab ours to get our entree. Then same with dessert. I don't often complain about service, anywhere, but it could've been better.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I made a reservation here two weeks before Mother's Day because my wife really likes it. I've never been a huge fan of the main course items, but the cheese fondue and desert are pretty good. We drove 30 minutes on Mother's Day to our closest Melting Pot and were seated for our reservation. We had the normal menu and a special Mother's Day menu. The Mother's Day options weren't very interesting so we made our picks from the standard.

The waitress later came over after we had decided and said that the regular menu was just to see their drink options and only the Mother's Day menu was available. We were not notified of this restriction at all prior to the visit. I double checked the reservation confirmation email, which had a section with a message from the restaurant, that said nothing of a restricted menu.

We didn't want what was offered. Couldn't even get a basic Caesar salad. The combo offerings seemed like their lowest tier stuff for a higher cost than the normal menu taking advantage of the special event.

So we left, upset at the wasted drive, my wife's special Mother's Day dinner that involved us having to get someone to watch the kids and all that, a waste because of a pointless restricted menu.

So we went to another local Italian restaurant that seated us within fifteen minutes, had a great meal, and even with alcohol spent half what we would have on just the forced 3-course Mother's Day option without alcohol.

While I don't really love going here to begin with, my wife who is a huge fan has said she won't ever return. Hope whatever the purpose was behind the restricted menu is worth hurting your customers on special events.

My recommendation is to go on a Amazon and buy a fondue set, then just heat stuff up at home. Or go spend 50% less at almost any other restaurant that will happily serve you what they offer on their menu any day they are open.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

the worst ever, Mothers Day ruined, took 3 hours to get thru a cheese fondue, small salad, entree and dessert. Hardly ever saw server, got one drink and she forgot the other drinks we requested, food was nothing to shake at. Our vegetarian was SOL as you got only one pot and with all the meat and fish no way was she going to put her fork in that dark brown oil. Ewwww for a vegetarian. When they called me to confirm my reservation they never told us it was a set menu for $45, when we showed up we had no other options. This place is the worst and a rip off

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.