Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About The Melting Pot - Troy

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (248) 362-2221

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for a Date (76)
Romantic (67)
See All
Fun (65)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Worth the Drive (35)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Cozy (28)
Family Style (24)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Tasting Menu (12)
Private Room (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place. Would recommend to everyone who wants a relaxing night out

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience here! Took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we had a great time! The waiters and waitresses were very polite and exceptional! Great place to go for a romantic date and experience something new!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I made a reservation here two weeks before Mother's Day because my wife really likes it. I've never been a huge fan of the main course items, but the cheese fondue and desert are pretty good. We drove 30 minutes on Mother's Day to our closest Melting Pot and were seated for our reservation. We had the normal menu and a special Mother's Day menu. The Mother's Day options weren't very interesting so we made our picks from the standard.

The waitress later came over after we had decided and said that the regular menu was just to see their drink options and only the Mother's Day menu was available. We were not notified of this restriction at all prior to the visit. I double checked the reservation confirmation email, which had a section with a message from the restaurant, that said nothing of a restricted menu.

We didn't want what was offered. Couldn't even get a basic Caesar salad. The combo offerings seemed like their lowest tier stuff for a higher cost than the normal menu taking advantage of the special event.

So we left, upset at the wasted drive, my wife's special Mother's Day dinner that involved us having to get someone to watch the kids and all that, a waste because of a pointless restricted menu.

So we went to another local Italian restaurant that seated us within fifteen minutes, had a great meal, and even with alcohol spent half what we would have on just the forced 3-course Mother's Day option without alcohol.

While I don't really love going here to begin with, my wife who is a huge fan has said she won't ever return. Hope whatever the purpose was behind the restricted menu is worth hurting your customers on special events.

My recommendation is to go on a Amazon and buy a fondue set, then just heat stuff up at home. Or go spend 50% less at almost any other restaurant that will happily serve you what they offer on their menu any day they are open.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came on Mothers Day with a reservation just as they opened, but it seemed like the servers were taxed even though it appeared to be quite empty. Server was nice and apologized for being so busy, but for that kind of money and a special occasion I expect a flawless experience. Our waters never got refilled despite being empty for a while.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We love to go to the Melting Pot for our Girls' Day Get togethers. The Melting Pot feels private, with lovely background music. We put Eric our server through a lot, catering to our little whims, but he always delivers & is super friendly and easygoing. They don't rush you at the Melting Pot & they let you have a leisurely meal. I love the Melting Pot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Kaylee our server was the best we've ever had, hopefully she is working everytime we visit in the future so i can request her.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We went in a group of five for my boyfriends birthday. AMAZING FOOD. unique experience. Our server was great, and I loved how everything was made in front of you. All foods paired great with wine. Would go again but as a date instead of a large group. Very expensive menu. We each did the four course meal and were impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We visited this location for the hubby's 40th Birthday service was awesome however the food was bland and the portions were small. We were still hungry when we left. Needless to say we won't go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had been trying to get in for quite some time but needed a reservation. Finally went, service was slow. Seemed understaffed. Cheese fondue was good but not great. Main course was completely lack luster. No flavor. Very expensive and not worth the time (3 hours with two kids in tow) or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Unique menu options--fondue style. Presentation was interesting, lots of choices. Not cheap.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I wasn't aware of the concept of cooking ur own food! Not for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Went to Melting Pot to celebrate my daughter passing her CNA classes. Brought her boyfriend too. It was amazing as usual. Quiet, private and very accommodating since we have to have two pots due to my shrimp allergy. For special occasions we never choose anywhere else. Thanks again Melting Pot for making this visit amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2017

While at the Melting Pot I have always experienced a fun engaging meal with waitstaff that is knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I always go to the Melting Pot for special occasions, but I like it so much that I go just for a fun dinner every once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great! And the service was amazing! It was a little pricey, but a great overall experience. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a group of 5 people and were celebrating my daughter's gradustion from Oakland University. Our waiter was Erick. He was spectacular! He was friendly, efficient,accommodating and ready with the advice we needed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First time there. Was so fun!! Loved the cheese round as well as the desert round. The salad was amazing. The main course was interesting but would skip it next time as there was SO much food!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The server was especially heipful and attended to all our request promptly. He provided great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is the first time we have dined at the Melting Pot and was really looking forward to it. The food was ok, the experience was fun and the service was exceptional. However, the lack luster decor, hostesses were unfriendly, the parking lot was under construction and the valet driver was missing in action so we had to park very far (car keys were literally out in the open for anyone to take-we waited for our table for about 20 minutes and he was never spotted) compared to what we paid, we most likely will not go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was disappointed because the construction that was happening made it feel like a hum drum restaurant - we could not use the bathrooms, we had to leave the restaurant and go up to the second floor to go to the bathroom. We were seated right next to the bar where no one else was seated. We felt isolated. We felt we did not get the whole experience of the ambience of the restaurant. If I wanted to go to a bar and pay $50.00 a plate I would have. Very disappointing. I spent over $200 and although the food was good the other items over shadowed what could have made it a great experience and recommendations. I think even with the construction the patrons should be allotted a 10% off or something to acknowledge the inconvenience of just using the bathroom. I traveled over an hour to get to your restaurant. I have been asked by others who have not gone to Melting Pot and I said it's not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was our first time at the melting pot and it was a fantastic experience. Waitress and staff were excellent and made this experience a memorable one for me and my wife. We will definitely return again. A little bit pricey for an everyday experience, but enjoyed it all the same. Would definitely recommend this to any couple that wants to have some quiet time together.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service was decent. Our server was helpful and nice but kind of messed up our cheese fondue and seemed a little flustered. We really enjoyed the lighting at our table and liked the ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed the dessert and would highly recommend others to try it. Spectacular fondue and dipping choices!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

If you like cooking your own food, you will like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've loved the Melting Pot for a long time, and I want to see them do well. The concept of fondue is fun, and the food always tastes delicious. The issue I have with this particular restaurant is that they are either way too hot (summer) or way too cold (winter). The tables are quite a mess, as well. Once diners leave, they don't wipe the table down until preparing for the next customer. It's gross to walk through a nearly empty restaurant to see all the grime on every table. The waitstaff seems confused quite often, as well. This time around we had two different waiters and one wasn't sure if the other one had already taken our order. It took over 2 hours just for cheese and our entree, so we had to skip dessert because it was getting quite late.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! I love both the cheese and chocolate course. The wait staff is normally very friendly and the food is delicious. You dip the pre-cut food into the cheese, broth or chocolate and enjoy. There are several different options on the main course for both meat eaters and veterinarians. I love all the vegetables not to mention the sauces once the item is cooked that amplifies the experience.
There is a lot of food so be prepared to either take some home or come hungry!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had a great time. We have never been to Melting Pot before, but we really wanted to try fondue. We didn't know that we would be cooking our own food, but it was a nice experience. We opted for the frying option when we made our entrees. It came with 2 batters and 8 sauces. We weren't sure if we were supposed to fry our veggies or not. We did anyway. The chocolate fondue was the best part.The couple at the table next to ours brought over 2 managers to complain about our server, but we didn't have any problems with her. It didn't stop her from keeping a smile on her face and providing excellent service. Over all, our experience was great. The food was delicious and we left our server a nice big tip :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant smelled bad and the kitchen appeared super dirty. The service was good but hard to tell if the food was clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Didn't follow instructions or see through promises made by Matt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Quite pricey for the food. For $46 a person, I expected more food. The experience was great and quite special for my first time there. Our waiter was amazing as he helped us with what to order. Some might say that you pay for the experience, and I can see that, but I didn't find the value in going again for the price/quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service from manager to waiter to bus boy. Outstanding facility and really enjoyed the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall our dinner was simply awful. It took too long to get seated, even with a reservation, the server took forever to get to our table and the food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Limited menu - expensive for what the quality has become. The menu is smaller and the quality just isn't what it used to be.

I had to make a reservation for a different night than the original day I intended to go to the Melting Pot. When I went into the restaurant the first day it was over half empty but I was told there would be an hour and half wait because they don't have the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My colleague and I visited the Melting Pot to sample their food as well as gather information on their private dining events for potential future usage for our company events. We ordered the lunch special: cheese, salad, and chocolate. You get quite a bit of food for the price, so we were rather impressed by that. The cheese and chocolate selections are varied but not overwhelming. We both thought that we received way more chocolate than we did cheese, and there was too much chocolate left over at the end. I'd prefer more cheese in the beginning and end on /slightly/ less chocolate, or at least just enough to dip all the desserts in. Service was a bit slow, not to the fault of the restaurant - there were more reservations than they had scheduled people for - as the service was very excellent and our waitress was attentive, polite, and a joy to talk to. As a first time visit, I was really quite impressed with the Melting Pot, and I will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We came for a birthday dinner as a couple. It was a little on the loud side with lots of kids, but I think there is a kids eat free promotion going on and it wasn't that big of a deal. The food was very good and, once we had the menu figured out, it was fun to make picks. Our server was really wonderful - made the experience for us! Very professional yet also conversational and funny. He really made it a special occasion and looked out for us. Honestly we would have considered it an average experience had he not been such a professional. We are fairly sure his name was Jake, but could be wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our server was great. Food was good. My only complaint is it is very very slow. Over two hours for lunch.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was good waiter was nice but we did not see him for long stretches of time.. ie: needed salt, etc. long waits. did not know were he was as we were in a room by ourselves. Also we were celebrating 2 birthdays... no special treat for birthday girls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I took my fiancé there for her Birthday. The staff made us feel like we were the most important people in the restaurant. They gave us a private room, the table was covered in rose petals and they brought out a special Birthday desert personalized to my fiancé. By far the best restaurant experience we've had!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was not great. Faulty burners on the tables. After we were moved we saw them sit another couple at the same table with a Faulty burner. Food is said to be cooked after a couple of minutes, assuming the temperature is high enough. Someone will be getting sick if they are using that table, knowing it's broken. They did their best to rectify the situation with us by discounting our meal. Which was appreciated, but I doubt we will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves. However would have preferred the male waiter that got us started. After he left and our waitress took over we didn't see her for 20 mins at a time. Waited for our beers for awhile too. For being that expensive I would expect top notch service. They did comp us two beers so that was nice but we had to leave in the middle of dinner due to an emergency so it sucked not getting to finish our food and paying that much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome food great atmosphere service was great also the waiter we had always had the drinks full friendly and thee overall experience was fantastic

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Ladies night was great with my friends! We enjoyed the three course meal and discounted drinks. Great food and laughter.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.