About The Melting Pot - Troy

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 2483622221x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit
1 More
Special Occasion
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Troy ›

special occasion (138)
romantic (122)
good for groups (60)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
notable wine list (29)
great for lunch (24)
late-night find (22)
hot spot (21)
neighborhood gem (17)
kid-friendly (16)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service & food were absolutely amazi ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service & food were absolutely amazing. This was my second or third time going to this location & I love it...I just wish it wasn't so expensive so that I could go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My fiance and I went to the Melting Pot ...

Dined 4 days ago

My fiance and I went to the Melting Pot to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. Our service was great, especially our waiter. He went out of his way to make sure our celebration was romantic and enjoyable. He even got us complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, which were great! The food was spectacular, especially the cheese fondue! We will definitely be back in the future!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved the food, and the service was grea ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved the food, and the service was great! The bill was too pricy for us though, it was my birthday and I felt bad that my sister and mom had such big bills for something I had suggested we do.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Food and server were outstanding. We wer ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and server were outstanding. We were there celebrating my husband finishing up school! We got a babysitter and we're happy for a nice night out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an amazing experience. We had a priv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Was an amazing experience. We had a private booth, atmosphere was great. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. It was our first time at Melting Pot and we enjoyed it a ton!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Still hungry

Dined on May 10, 2016

Not a good value for how much food we recieved. We did two courses after we saw the portion size!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Real good experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Real good experience

food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was friendly, informative, an ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was friendly, informative, and upbeat! The food was spectacular. I highly recommend this for your special events.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night of food and laughs!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous very knowledgable and on his game. Just an overall great night with friends and food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Birthday at the Melting Pot

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Melting Pot food, as always, was excellent. Everything was fresh, well presented, and they offered plenty of choices. Service on Sunday night was a problem for some reason. It took a while after we were seated for anyone to wait on us. Shortly after one server got us started, our server was changed. It took quite a while for him to get back to us and take our order. The meal took 3 hours for our party of 5. On the one hand, we enjoyed a quiet dining room. On the other hand, I suspect that since we were the only folks in the room, they may have forgotten that we were there. At the time of checkout, we presented a $50 master card gift card to include as a portion of payment of our bill. The server returned with an explanation that I have never heard before anywhere in the US: he claimed that it was customary to withhold $10 of the total value of the credit card. It wasn't that the amount was significant. It was just that when you have a $260+ bill, it's an example of less than quality customer service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Datenight

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a very good place for date night it's definitely a dining experience. Its ambiance is relaxing and modern. Our waiter was very helpful and gave us good suggestions, not mention he was very prompt with his service. I always find that I have the most interesting conversations whenever I dine there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration

Dined on April 22, 2016

We gathered for my best friends celebratory dinner before her wedding . We had a great time!!! Our server was Lexi. What a joy! Very patient, explained everything , answered all of our questions, made recommendations. Something for everyone! Will be going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Personal Service

Dined on April 21, 2016

We dined here on our 37th anniversary and were very happy with the food and service. Our waitress explained all the options and the food all came out at just the right times. We had a very private booth and enjoyed all the courses. At the end of dinner, we received free champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on a plate that said "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate! Went home stuffed and feeling like it was a very special dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A different experience of dinning than t ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

A different experience of dinning than traditional dinner. Atleast one time must visit place 😀

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Happy Anniversary

Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening for party of 8! It's a un ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great evening for party of 8! It's a unique dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is unique. It is so much fun ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This place is unique. It is so much fun and the food is amazing

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

Melting Pot is a very unique and enjoyable meal. Basically, you pick the type and ingredients, and then you dip/cook your own food. Good quality ingredients. Flavorful sauces... definitely fun for a special occasion!

food5
ambience4
service5

We usually go to The Melting pot on spec ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We usually go to The Melting pot on special occasions. They have good food and is fun for a group!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience - deliciou ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience - delicious, fresh food; attentive service; and great ambiance! Thanks!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good Food, Horrible Service

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a party of 3 forLadies night. Restaurant was under staffed, we waited 20 minutes in between courses. Server was horrible!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on March 22, 2016

Wonderful meal, truly SUPERIOR service. We had the 4 course meal along with a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience for a special occasion.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Only go about once every few years because it's very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Melting Pot

Dined on March 15, 2016

You can really customize the items to fit with whatever you want. you can just get cheese fondue of which there are 4 or more options on what kind of cheese to dip apples, bread, pretzels, broccoli, etc. in. they have main entree dishes with both meat and vegetarian options as well as 6 different sauces to dip the cooked meats/veggies in. You can also choose what kind of oil to cook your meat/veggies in. they have salads, and dessert fondue with different combinations of milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate, fruits/candies, etc. to pick from to dip into. You can choose how many of the courses you divulge in. It's a really nice environment too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The cheese and chocolate was amazing!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

I attended The Melting Pot for Resturant week and had the lunch special. I chose the cheddar fondue which was outstanding. They mix it in front of you and you dipped the apples, bread and veggies into it the cheese and are instantly filled with delight. They added a pretzel bread that was very tasty. They also had chip for dipping but I didn't try them. The second course was salad. I was not a big fan of the salad. I am not sure if it was the cheese or the dressing but I was not impressed. Then on to dessert!!! I tried their bananna's foster and was very impressed! It was made with white chocolate and left your taste buds dancing with delight!! I would recommend this Resturant for a fun night out, a romantic dinner for two or if you just want to try something different! And the service was extremely friendly! My waitress was very knowledgable about the fondue how it is prepared and made some great recommendations! I give this Resturant two thumbs up!! And I will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melting pot for birthday dinner

Dined on March 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our latest venture to the melting pot. we took my daughter and her 2 friends, 6 of us altogether. we were celebrating her 21st birthday. The service was great, the food was great, our drinks were great. we took 2 girls who had never been to a melting pot before and they loved it. My son ate all the steak he got. The cheese had great bacon in it and the dessert was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A mixed experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waiter was engaging, the food was good, the dining experience fun. The front desk was slow and the dining experience was slow, 2.5 hrs and what should have been 1.5 and no more than 2. The bathrooms are a mile away in the office building, not very convenient. The food is unique but quite pricey for the value delivered.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter Joe was extremely polite, fun ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waiter Joe was extremely polite, funny, and helpful. The food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Amazing

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was my first time here for a group birthday party and it was greater then I imagined. The wine was absolutely amazing and our waitress was outstanding. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, Good service, good atmosphere

Dined on March 6, 2016

Good food, Good service, good atmosphere

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Started off rocky but recovered

Dined on March 6, 2016

When I made my reservation at the Melting Pot on OpenTable I made sure to include some comments requesting a table with TWO burners. We had a very strict vegetarian in our party, who could not use the same cooking oil pot to cook her food in as the meat eaters in our group. We arrived on time for our reservation and the hostess informed me that they could not accommodate our request for a table with 2 burners without a 35-45 minute wait. They could seat us immediately at a table with ONE burner and that our vegetarian could cook her food while everyone else waited. I was DUMBFOUNDED!! What kind of response is this for people with special dietary requirements? That they could make the rest of their table wait while they prepared their food was unrealistic and insensitive for the restaurant to ask this of us. After consulting my party we decided to wait for a table, and luckily they were able to find us an accommodating table in only about 15 minutes. The food was great, and the server was fantastic. I doubt that we will have a lasting impression in our minds about the bad start. But restaurants need to be able to accommodate these requests or those with special requests should look elsewhere.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server was very polite and helpful a ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server was very polite and helpful although she seemed to be very busy as she didnt always check on us very often. For our first time there she explained the intricacies of the restaurant well. The food was very good and i liked that it was somewhat private. It was our first wedding anniversary and they made sure it was a memorable visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Dessert only please!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Front desk girls were friendly, manager was very accommodating and nice. Server was ok but not great! You're paying for the experience but it's over priced when you're cooking it yourself. Dessert is good but the chocolate isn't great chocolate. Also, the only oil they have for cooking your food in is Canola Oil (GMO) which is the worse kind of oil for your food. Should give other oil options for the pricing they charge. They use Canola cause it's cheaper I believe. This is a place you can go and take the kids for the experience and weight gain, but then never do again. Again, you're paying for the experience, so remember that when you get the bill.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

Dined on February 29, 2016

As always, we enjoyed our meal at the Melting Pot. The food was great, the service was great, and the ability to catch up with a friend was great. But, I'll never sit in the room behind the host desk again because they opened the door and peered in constantly and our table was just inside the door. This gave us the feeling like they were checking to see if we were done yet. It was very annoying and made it more difficult to enjoy our meal. Yes, it was very busy, but perhaps a more subtle check now and again would allow for not disturbing current customers.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time! The food is tasty a ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Always a great time! The food is tasty and the staff is so amazing! Be sure to check out happy hour at the bar during the week as well!

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointed this time

Dined on February 28, 2016

Having been to the Melting Pot in the past, we were looking forward to great service and great food. This trip was a great disappointment. It all started with the valet in the parking lot. As we were pulling in, the valet was bringing up a customers car and nearly hit us cutting across the parking lot at high speed. After seeing how another customer's car was treated, we will NOT use the valet service. Once inside, we had to wait 30-40 minutes past the time of our reservation. The host staff was disorganized and bickered with each other. The did not even apologize for our wait or seem to care that there were several people waiting in the entry way. Once we sat down there were long times between visits from our server. He continually kept giving excuses for poor service that were not him. First, it was that they were out of plates. Then it was that someone ran into him and damaged the food. Our water and iced tea were rarely filled. Once the main meal was done, our desert was delivered and consumed and the broths from the main meal were picked up. It took several requests to both our server and the bus staff before someone came to take them away. Finally, during dessert the server asked if we would like anything more (since it was my son's birthday). We asked for some extra marshmallows. They finally arrived at the same time that the bill was available.

food3
ambience3
service3

the bartender was over worked he was han ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

the bartender was over worked he was handling the bar which was small and processing drinks for tables. they should have had two bartenders minimum for a Saturday night.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A unique experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Making a reservation was extremely easy, as was the checking in right from my phone. We were seated in a cozy booth and explained to our waiter this was our first time eating at the Melting Pot. He quickly and efficiently went through the menu, answering all our questions. The food from appetizer to dessert was beautifully plated and high quality. The only downside for me concerning the food, was the entrees are very time consuming as the meat comes raw and u must cook it a little at a time. This is not for people in a lunch or dinner rush. We were there just shy of 2 hours for appetizer, dinner and dessert. I also can't judge all servers by the actions of one. Our waiter started out fantastic, but then became very distracted and we had to flag other servers to clear our dishes and request dessert. The same happened when we were ready to settle the bill. We had to flag another server to find our waiter. Overall we had a unique experience and will definitely go back for cheese appetizer and dessert.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, atmosphere, but bad reservation service

Dined on February 28, 2016

We love this place, we always like to make the excuse when we have a special occasion to come here. Never had a bad experience until last weekend. We had reservations for my boyfriends birthday which I made a week in advance for just us 2. The reservation was @ 7:00. We arrived at 6:50 expecting to go in and sit but they said we would be seated within the net couple of minutes which is fine. We then continue waiting after 15 minutes and my boyfriend went up to the desk and asked how much longer the hostess said within the next few minutes again and that they were waiting for an open table. Isn't the point of a reservation being able to "reserve" a table and keep it open for the people who are gonna be arriving for that table? Long story short we finally were seated at 7:45!!!! After waiting about 50 minutes for our table we were extremely annoyed but we didn't let it ruin our night! We had a great time and the food was great as usual and same with our waiter! All of that may have made up for the long wait but was still upsetting that we made a reservation so far in advance and still had to wait extremely long...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We had really excellent service this tim ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We had really excellent service this time. It was like night and day from our past visit. Our waiter was super attentive and gave us a better overview of the menu than I've ever heard before. The meal lasted the exact right amount of time it should have. The food was delicious. The waiter heard us discussing our engagement photos and brought us out chocolate covered strawberries at the end to say congrats. Can't say enough good things.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.