About The Melting Pot - Troy

888 West Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Beaver and Crooks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 362-2221

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/troy/welcome

Parking Details:
We are in a public parking lot offering Valet Services on Friday and Saturday evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 2483622221x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Melting Pot of Troy is the perfect destination for a unique interactive dining experience!

The Rutherford Room accommodates up to 32 people, and the Sonoma room accommodates up to 28 people. Combined, we offer private dining for 60 people.

Stir things up! Perfect for: Birthdays or Anniversaries, Bridal or Baby Showers, Rehearsal dinners or Bachelorette parties, and Group meetings.

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
The Melting Pot - Troy
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Coq Au Vin Broth
Dark And Dulce
Quattro Formaggio
French Quarter
The Melting Pot House Salad
Broccoli
Flaming Turtle
Strawberry
Dipping Sauces
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Fondue Fusion
Steak Lovers Fondue
Caesar Salad
Dessert
Margarita
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
main course
Banana Foster Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Wedge Salad
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue with Bread
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Dip
Iced tea
Four Course Classic Entree
Strawberry Basil Lemonade
Cookies & Cream Chocolatr Fondue

The Melting Pot - Troy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Troy ›

special occasion (107)
romantic (100)
good for groups (48)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
notable wine list (25)
late-night find (19)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The lobby/waiting area can be cleaner an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

The lobby/waiting area can be cleaner and nicer for a restaurant like the melting pot.

Skip the fondue meat meal. You might want to try it once for experience of cooking it, but taste wise it is mediocre at best. Order the cheese fondue and the dessert (never tried their non fondue main course)

As far as ambience, I was there for my boyfriend's bday (table for two). We were given a booth in a corner that was too dark. You feel like you are trapped between 3 walls. AWFUL AND UNINVITING!

Overall, the cheese and dessert are good (not excellent) enough to go back. I would skip the main course. And certainly ask for open seating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

OMG The Melting Pot was magnificent it s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

OMG The Melting Pot was magnificent it surpassed all our expectations. It made our Anniversary very special. It was a great choice, we loved it. We have told a dozen of friends and family a must go to dine soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service,great food and enjoyed it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service,great food and enjoyed it all will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice concept a little pricy for the whol ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice concept a little pricy for the whole family. First time for a fondu experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I pick this as my birthday meal every ye ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I pick this as my birthday meal every year and it never disappoints! I love the cheese and desserts here, but the salads are also super good! The drinks are wonderful and it just puts me in a cheery mood to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten here before and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here before and wanted to come back for our anniversary. The food is very tasty and our waitress was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still unsure who our server was!! We ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Still unsure who our server was!!

We had a number of people "take over" our table. First it was one server. Then another server came over with a trainee. Then a 3rd server. Then a 4th (who may have been the first person). It was crazy and we were pretty well ignored for most of the night. Very strange. I imagine they are having growing pains of sorts. Food did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

For a romantic night out, The Melting Po ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

For a romantic night out, The Melting Pot honestly cannot be beat! The atmosphere, the friendly waitstaff, THE FOOD!! It just all comes together so nicely.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed it . We read some ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed it . We read some poor reviews and were worried, but pleasant pleased. We went during the week on a slow day. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They were very accommodating

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

They were very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time trying, wanted to explore som ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

First time trying, wanted to explore something different from the norm of full service. Struggle with 40-50++per person and I'm cooking my own food. Fun to do as a novelty. Food was ok. Enjoyed the flavors of the French quarter. Dessert (smores) was tasty but a little underwhelming. It comes with marshmallows intended to toast, however if you don't rush to do this before the alcohol burns off, you're left with raw mallow. Probably not a place I'll frequent often. Though it has a feel of upscale, it's a place that I'd take the kids for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not as good usual. Service was spotty. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Not as good usual. Service was spotty. Too a time get things. Had to ask for things were supposed to part the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I was surprised by the wonderful wine li ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I was surprised by the wonderful wine list. Unfortunately, they could not find my first 6 or 7 selections.

We arrived on time for our reservation but had to wait 30 minutes for a table. Service was very slow and they weren't very busy.

I found it odd that the waiter, while trying to make small talk, asked my wife and I what we do for a living. Really?

Our daughter loves the restaurant so we take her periodically. It's a good place for families with little kids, lots of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was outstanding. We ordered th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was outstanding. We ordered the four-course meal, which was expensive. It was our first time there so we weren't familiar with the menu. Next time, we will order a la cart.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It took three hours from the time we sat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It took three hours from the time we sat down until we finished with dessert; that's way too long for lunch. The cheese fondue, small salad and dessert were decent, but eating boiled meat (filet and teriyaki steak) does not have much flavor and isn't very appealing, especially when you're paying $41.95 per person not including a beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Had a wonderful meal there, with our gra ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had a wonderful meal there, with our grandchildren. Melting Pot is a great place for a family get-together. Everybody talks and laughs and makes dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat preparing our fondue. Qu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always a treat preparing our fondue. Quality is excellent but I am noticing quantity is being reduced, prices increasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our server was polite and very personabl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was polite and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Experience was great..just wish waitstaf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Experience was great..just wish waitstaff was more sensitive to dietary needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food as always and our server (I t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food as always and our server (I think his name was Erik but I might be wrong) was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fun experience. Our waiter ( ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, fun experience. Our waiter (Brian) was awesome, very friendly and having fun explaining and preparing the dishes. Overall just s great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!! Wasn't my first time, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Love this place!! Wasn't my first time, but had reservations for 8:00 and left the restaurant at 11:00 at night. Service was horrible but food and all was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Phenominal

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The best service my girlfriend and I have EVER received together. Our waitress was so personable, attentive and caring. The food was amazing as always and we'll definitely be back. This is my first restaurant survey I've ever filled, (that's a compliment). Anyway, thank you so much. Keep up the great work!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I went to the melting pot once before in San Francisco and it was beautiful. I wanted my fiancé to enjoy our anniversary here but the closest one to us was the one in Troy, MI. The experience was not the same. The place wasn't as nice as the one in San fransisco and the staff were so unprofessional. They treated us like we were dining at apple bees or something. I didn't feel like I got my money worth. They were so slow and kept forgetting everything. It was horrible. I will never recommend any melting pot to anyone unless it's on the west coast where you it's nice and you're treated respectfully. It was so ghetto.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We love this place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Never disappoints! The bartender even learned a recipe for a drink made at the Ann Arbor location for us!!! Good was delicious, never felt rushed. Just wish there was locations still in Ann Arbor and Novi!! We live 1.5 hours away!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first experience we had at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was the first experience we had at The Melting Pot. We didn't know what to expect, but our server walked us through everything and made sure that we felt comfortable throughout our dining experience. It is a great restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great time with the grandkids. Princesses were just like Disney. This is my 11yr. grandsons favorite restaurant. Although our grand daughter liked the princesses much more. LOL

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

ok time

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came in for the princess brunch. The Princesses were absolutely wonderful, our server had a great personality but was very slow. We were there for 3 and a half hours. Prices are a little much for the amount of food you get. Overall though, I do like the place.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The service & food were absolutely amazi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service & food were absolutely amazing. This was my second or third time going to this location & I love it...I just wish it wasn't so expensive so that I could go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I went to the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My fiance and I went to the Melting Pot to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. Our service was great, especially our waiter. He went out of his way to make sure our celebration was romantic and enjoyable. He even got us complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, which were great! The food was spectacular, especially the cheese fondue! We will definitely be back in the future!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved the food, and the service was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved the food, and the service was great! The bill was too pricy for us though, it was my birthday and I felt bad that my sister and mom had such big bills for something I had suggested we do.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Rachel is the best waitress. Great place ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Rachel is the best waitress. Great place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and server were outstanding. We wer ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and server were outstanding. We were there celebrating my husband finishing up school! We got a babysitter and we're happy for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Was an amazing experience. We had a priv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Was an amazing experience. We had a private booth, atmosphere was great. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. It was our first time at Melting Pot and we enjoyed it a ton!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still hungry

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Not a good value for how much food we recieved. We did two courses after we saw the portion size!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Real good experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Real good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server was friendly, informative, an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was friendly, informative, and upbeat! The food was spectacular. I highly recommend this for your special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Perfect night of food and laughs!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous very knowledgable and on his game. Just an overall great night with friends and food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday at the Melting Pot

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The Melting Pot food, as always, was excellent. Everything was fresh, well presented, and they offered plenty of choices. Service on Sunday night was a problem for some reason. It took a while after we were seated for anyone to wait on us. Shortly after one server got us started, our server was changed. It took quite a while for him to get back to us and take our order. The meal took 3 hours for our party of 5. On the one hand, we enjoyed a quiet dining room. On the other hand, I suspect that since we were the only folks in the room, they may have forgotten that we were there. At the time of checkout, we presented a $50 master card gift card to include as a portion of payment of our bill. The server returned with an explanation that I have never heard before anywhere in the US: he claimed that it was customary to withhold $10 of the total value of the credit card. It wasn't that the amount was significant. It was just that when you have a $260+ bill, it's an example of less than quality customer service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Datenight

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a very good place for date night it's definitely a dining experience. Its ambiance is relaxing and modern. Our waiter was very helpful and gave us good suggestions, not mention he was very prompt with his service. I always find that I have the most interesting conversations whenever I dine there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.