About The Melting Pot - St Petersburg

2221 4th St N
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm; Saturday - 4:00pm - 11:30pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 895-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/st-petersburg/welcome

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the main lot and second parking lot behind the restaurant adjacent to the JMC Center Office building

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Miller

Private Party Contact:
Steve Nunemaker: (727) 895-6358

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Sauces - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
House Salad - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Dipper Plate Yin & Yang Chocolate May - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Lobster Quesedilla - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Irish Mule - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue + Wine Fest - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
House Salad - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fiery Pineapple Margarita - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin And Yang - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Classic - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Original Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
La Fin du Monde - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Big Night Out - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin & Yang Martini - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Four Course Classic Entree  - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Roses are red, violets are blue, make your reservation for a night of fondue! Valentine's Day reservations will be available starting January 15th. Our 9 days of romance takes place February 10th - February 18th and features a four-course menu that will melt your heart away.

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My daughter and I always enjoy this rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I always enjoy this restaurant. I particularly like the St. Petersburg one because it has the traditional/original design, inside and out. This creates a nice ambiance and experience overall compared to the newer ones found in strip malls.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at The Melting P ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first time at The Melting Pot and we were celebrating my Daughter's 19th Birthday. It was a Truly Wonderful and Amazing experience. The service was GREAT and the food was AWESOME. It was a little pricey, but it was worth every penny. I can't wait to do back for date night.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, , Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Darrell our server was great. Manager wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Darrell our server was great. Manager was nice and stopped by to see how the dinner was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have made at least half a dozen reserv ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have made at least half a dozen reservations for this melting pot in the past and I have never been seated on time. I show up on time and I always have to wait for at least 15 minutes for them to "clear a table," as if the reservation didn't indicate that I was coming (?). Once we were finally seated (this time it was a 25 minute wait), it took 20 more minutes just to get our drinks. I love the Melting Pot, but I have no reason to think that a reservation makes any difference, and service is just poorly managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great time great food great atmosphere g ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great time great food great atmosphere great waiter Eduardo!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Was very disappointed with this experien ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was very disappointed with this experience. It has been several years since we've been to a Melting Pot and were very much looking forward to it. The portions were crazy small and the wait between courses was extreme. We will never be back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great atmosphere and service. This is th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. This is the first time I've visited this location and I love it! Took our 3 children for the first time and they loved it as well. Very nice experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi! My comment is that it was to cold i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hi! My comment is that it was to cold in the restaurant. Its was surprising for us because it is completely different then in our country. The choice was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Took my two children for something diffe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Took my two children for something different. Chose to do the cheese and chocolate fondues as the meat was too expensive. The cheese was nothing special and the bread to dip was horrible. The other pieces of apple and veggies was a small portion. My children chose milk and white chocolate. The milk chocolate was great but the white was disgusting. Looked like thick breast milk, which was not appealing. Again the sides to dip were small portioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Mike was our server and he was on point. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Mike was our server and he was on point. He was knowledge of the menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Experience! Great food, ambiance ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome Experience! Great food, ambiance, hospitality and service!!! We will be back soon! Yes, Yes, Yes!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, , Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Cassie was AMAZING! She wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our waitress Cassie was AMAZING! She was friendly, quick, and knowledgeable. Food was delicious and the experience was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife loved it, very quiet, romantic a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My wife loved it, very quiet, romantic and service was great, our server made sure we were taken care of but not intrusive,a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never, ever, ever eat before you go here ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Never, ever, ever eat before you go here! This is the most wonderful food frenzy ever ~ course after course of wonderful delights, ending in chocolate! what's not to like. server was knowledgeable and fabulous. My husband was apprehensive, afraid I had roped him into "girly" food. He ate more than I have ever seen him eat. And loved every morsel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's took 3 hours to complete meal, that ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It's took 3 hours to complete meal, that's to long, waiter was very very slow.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Tim, our "server" was terrible! He came ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Tim, our "server" was terrible! He came across as arrogant, hurried, and uncaring. It was our first time there, which we told him, and we brought our two grandsons (9&11) who were very excited to try the dining experience. Tim spoke very quickly and did a poor job explaining the menu and how the pricing worked; he basically "talked down" to us and made us feel as though we were imposing on his time. We will never return to this restaurant and will tell everyone we know to avoid it at all cost. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Loved it! Everything was ready and wait ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Loved it! Everything was ready and waiting and the waitress was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the worst experience ever.. Will n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I had the worst experience ever.. Will not be going back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

A staple of St Petersburg dining, this M ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

A staple of St Petersburg dining, this Melting Pot location has been here for many many years.

The location is easy to get to, although parking is limited.

The food is always great (after all, you cook it yourself!) -- OK, it is always fresh and appropriately prepped for your fondue enjoyment.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There are just those special places that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

There are just those special places that leave a life long wonderful spot in your mind. The team at The Melting Pot are just those amazing staff. It was the perfect night out for us!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, , Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very... Bleh. The restaurant is very dat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very... Bleh. The restaurant is very dated (wood paneling EVERYWHERE) so there isn't exactly a great vibe happening. We also just we're not impressed with the food whatsoever. It's melted cheese and tiny bits of food. I could do this in my crockpot for a fraction of the cost. The main course left so much to be desired. Again, tiny bits of meat for outrageous prices. Dessert was fine, but again, not impressive. I can melt chocolate chips in a bowl too.

The worst part was the entire dinner took nearly 2.5 hours to complete. There was so much waiting, which was uncomfortable because the restaurant is silent, no music is playing whatsoever. There wasn't really any sense of urgency by the staff.

We're grateful we had a giftcard because we would not spend our own money there. Total waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is one of the best places to eat. I ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of the best places to eat. I took my wife here for our first date over 22 years ago, and we go many times a year and it is always great. The only thing I would bring back is the house dressing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I cant remember my servers ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Unfortunately I cant remember my servers name but it was our first time and he did a great job explaining how it all works to us. Service was great and the courses came out in perfect timing and our table was never without food! Everything was delicious and I plan to return for my birthday this month!

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. Went for happy hou ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fantastic experience. Went for happy hour stayed for dinner. New menu is great and I'm glad they are going back to the original offerings. Food was great. Have to get the duck of course but tried the pork and was completely surprised at how good it is. Great night and recommend MP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sam was our waitress and was very pleasa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Sam was our waitress and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Went here for our 1 year anniversary. Fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went here for our 1 year anniversary. Food and service were great! While each Melting Pot is a bit different, this one is not as romantic / secluded as others. However, love the new menu options and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way overpriced. Appetizer priced at full ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Way overpriced. Appetizer priced at full menu price. Avoid the Alpine Cheese Fondue. Has nothing to do with a Swiss Style Fondue. Every supermarket out of the box fondue is way better (and much cheaper). Most sauces to the beef fondue are horrible. Maybe one or two are acceptable - the rest is garbage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing way to celebrate the night. Roma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing way to celebrate the night. Romantic, quiet and private. Sunday is family day there. Can't wait to take the kids. We all love fondue. Anxiously waiting until I can return for another meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Tim was very knowledgeable re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our waiter Tim was very knowledgeable regarding the menu.

I suggest this organizatiom create a simplistic explanation on the ways to create your four course dinner.

For newbies it was confusing.

The coffee was too strong and bitter.

Tim took us on a tour and was very informative regarding the history associated with the restaurants house.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed our food and the laid bac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our food and the laid back atmosphere. Biggest problem was we ate too much! Lol

One suggestion, try to get a table with a newer cook top. Ours did not function as well as it should have so the manager had to constantly make adjustments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress seemed a bit distracted and flu ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waitress seemed a bit distracted and flustered. Service was slow. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

I brought my girlfriend here for our yea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here for our year anniversary. We were treated wonderfully.our server Nicole was by far the best server I've ever encountered. Everything was perfect and we had an amazing time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Very pleasant ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and service! Very pleasant evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was kind of hoping for a private booth ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was kind of hoping for a private booth since we have been there before for dessert and sat in a very private booth. We were seated in a booth in the corner but other tables close by. I told them when I made the reservation it was for an anniversary dinner. The server was very patient with us as we did not eat there for dinner before. He discussed numerous options what to order. Overall we had a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a wonderful fun server with great ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful fun server with great service. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This melting pot did most of the cooking ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This melting pot did most of the cooking and prep behind closed doors which ruined the best part of this restaurant. They brought out the cheese already blended and melted. We saw nothing go into it except the onion. Oil was also made in kitchen and dessert. So ruined the whole melting pot experience. I was on vacation and glad this is not how our local melting pot is. There, they bring out all the ingredients and make it and blend it all on your table. That is fun for us to watch it all come together. Will not be returning to that location again. But other than that, the service and food were perfection. Nice staff. Ah one more note! The suggested tip on the receipt was %2 off, which in my eyes is fraud and highly disturbing they do this. Basically the suggested %15, %18 and %20 tips were actually 17%, 20% and 22%. Mistake or not, this is very bad telling the guest they are tipping 20% when they would actually be tipping 22%. I brought this up with management and they are going to look into it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I've been to various Melting Pots and, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've been to various Melting Pots and, while it provided a tasty and satisfying meal, the St. Pete Melting Pot missed the mark. It took a very very long time to receive each of our courses even by Melting Pot standards, our waiter had not even tried the entree (and was unable to make knowledgeable recommendations), and the fondue was not prepared at the table, which has always happened at every other Melting Pot I've visited. Additionally, although Melting Pots are normally romantic settings for a nice meal, the lighting in the dining room was kept very bright and there were screaming children nearby. Needless to say, we were disappointed with our experience and will probably only eat in this Melting Pot's bar in the future.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Server was fantastic. Drinks and food we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Server was fantastic. Drinks and food were great. Expensive for a whole meal but individually some drinks and snacks or desert would be awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was fine. I took my niece out for a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was fine. I took my niece out for a happy 15th birthday dinner. She enjoyed it.....i didn't expect it to be that expensive (dinner for 2 = $103.00) but she enjoyed it so it what's a good Aunt to do? Would go back maybe but only for the desserts course.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Extremely disappointing. They were out o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Extremely disappointing. They were out of 2 of the 3 sauces we ordered and didn't let us know until out food was served. They then told us that the sauces were being made and would be out shortly. The sauces never came out. If I had known that the sauces were gone I would have selected another item from menu. Although I had been looking forward to this meal all day it was ruined. We weren't asked what we would like in lieu of what we ordered, we were brought replacement sauces that we didn't like and would have never ordered. The restaurant comped our entrees but when you don't get to go out very often and you're only out because it's a special occasion it ruins your entire night. We will never go to another melting pot again. I'll just buy my own fondue set and do it at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.