About The Melting Pot - St Petersburg

2221 4th St N
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm; Saturday - 4:00pm - 11:30pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 895-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/st-petersburg/welcome

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the main lot and second parking lot behind the restaurant adjacent to the JMC Center Office building

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Miller

Private Party Contact:
Steve Nunemaker: (727) 895-6358

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Cozy (16)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (9)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for valentines just the 2 of us got a very intimate table which was great our waitress was very informative and attentive . We went for cheese chocolate and wine and bill was $80 kind of pricey but was worth it for the occasion just not a everyday kind of place to pricey for that

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was very good as we expected from the melting pot. Our server was good, but they needed more waitresses to handle the volume of customers that night. We did not get new drinks until the end of the meal, and someone kept coming by to see what stage we were at in the meal, which made me feel they were rushing us to get the table for the next reservation. We also still had to wait w reservations as did many other people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The quality and portion has gone down hill a little in the past few years

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was great. We had fantastic service. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice long dinner with opportunity for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

This location was great for our company Christmas party. I came back last week for a post Valentine's dinner. It was awesome. Food was great. The new grilling style was great! Colin was great setting up both reservations. Tim I believe that was his name who served us was totally awesome and a joy! Left very happy and very full!

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

My first time there it was great. I went there went a close female friend of mine it was great experience and I will be going back in future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was a nice change to the everyday restaurant. I would definitely come back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our first time and we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. The experience and the food was awesome would highly recommend to all our friends & family. Would do this again in a heartbeat cause it was a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Every time we go there is eat tooooooo much

Mushroom with green goddess dipped in tempura are my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server, Rob, was amazing! He was patient, knowledgeable, and had a good sense of humor.

Our dinner was fairly priced for the 4 course dinner we enjoyed. With the private booths we were able to enjoy one another's company and conversation.

Lovely evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

The portions were tiny for the amount of money they are charging. We ordered st.Pete night out for 2 and thought it would give us a good amount of food for the price we paid and we left starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

The Melting Pot is a good bang for your buck. For $25, you can get cheese fondue, chocolate fondue, and a salad! Add ons are super inexpensive as well. Totally worth what you pay for it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not up to the standard set by other Melting Pot locations.

The biggest issue is they were understaffed. There was an incredibly long wait, even with reservations, but multiple tables open and empty. Arrived over an hour early for my reservation and STILL was seated after the reservation time. Just poorly run.

Our server was excellent.He was knowledgable and as attentive as possible but was running the whole time.

The food was just ok, again not up to par. The cheese never got warm enough, despite server adjustments, yet it was very thin- barely attaching to the food. Almost watery. But it was tasty and plentiful.

The main course was tasty and similar to other locations. Actually, I ordered the French Quarter and I felt it was seasoned better than other locations. The Cajun seasonings stuck to the meat and added great flavor.

The pot was crowded with four of us cooking at once. It was so late by the time we received our entrees we all just wanted it cooked and done so we could get dessert and leave. It made it hard to retrieve the food and took longer to cook as the pot again wasn't terribly hot.

Chocolate was delicious and presented well by the server - using flambé to toast the marshmallow included. But again, it wasn't warm enough - even trying to use the sides and bottom.

Portion size on cheese and chocolate was just right and considered generous compared to other locations. But this just didn't make up for the way the restaurant was run. We didn't leave until almost 11pm after arriving at 7pm - just too long even though I typically enjoy the leisurely pace of The Melting Pot.

Oh and parking? Nightmare. Lot is too small and overflow lot isn't well marked (ok to park in spaces marked reserved? No clue. But if not very little parking in that lot too).

Don't think I'd return to this location. Spent $250 for 4 of us on a very mediocre experience at best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing fondue restaurant, great for birthdays or anniversaries.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

Delicious and fun, as always. Does not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

My daughter and I always enjoy this restaurant. I particularly like the St. Petersburg one because it has the traditional/original design, inside and out. This creates a nice ambiance and experience overall compared to the newer ones found in strip malls.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first time at The Melting Pot and we were celebrating my Daughter's 19th Birthday. It was a Truly Wonderful and Amazing experience. The service was GREAT and the food was AWESOME. It was a little pricey, but it was worth every penny. I can't wait to do back for date night.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Darrell our server was great. Manager was nice and stopped by to see how the dinner was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have made at least half a dozen reservations for this melting pot in the past and I have never been seated on time. I show up on time and I always have to wait for at least 15 minutes for them to "clear a table," as if the reservation didn't indicate that I was coming (?). Once we were finally seated (this time it was a 25 minute wait), it took 20 more minutes just to get our drinks. I love the Melting Pot, but I have no reason to think that a reservation makes any difference, and service is just poorly managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great time great food great atmosphere great waiter Eduardo!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was very disappointed with this experience. It has been several years since we've been to a Melting Pot and were very much looking forward to it. The portions were crazy small and the wait between courses was extreme. We will never be back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. This is the first time I've visited this location and I love it! Took our 3 children for the first time and they loved it as well. Very nice experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hi! My comment is that it was to cold in the restaurant. Its was surprising for us because it is completely different then in our country. The choice was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Took my two children for something different. Chose to do the cheese and chocolate fondues as the meat was too expensive. The cheese was nothing special and the bread to dip was horrible. The other pieces of apple and veggies was a small portion. My children chose milk and white chocolate. The milk chocolate was great but the white was disgusting. Looked like thick breast milk, which was not appealing. Again the sides to dip were small portioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Mike was our server and he was on point. He was knowledge of the menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome Experience! Great food, ambiance, hospitality and service!!! We will be back soon! Yes, Yes, Yes!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our waitress Cassie was AMAZING! She was friendly, quick, and knowledgeable. Food was delicious and the experience was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

My wife loved it, very quiet, romantic and service was great, our server made sure we were taken care of but not intrusive,a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Never, ever, ever eat before you go here! This is the most wonderful food frenzy ever ~ course after course of wonderful delights, ending in chocolate! what's not to like. server was knowledgeable and fabulous. My husband was apprehensive, afraid I had roped him into "girly" food. He ate more than I have ever seen him eat. And loved every morsel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

It's took 3 hours to complete meal, that's to long, waiter was very very slow.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Tim, our "server" was terrible! He came across as arrogant, hurried, and uncaring. It was our first time there, which we told him, and we brought our two grandsons (9&11) who were very excited to try the dining experience. Tim spoke very quickly and did a poor job explaining the menu and how the pricing worked; he basically "talked down" to us and made us feel as though we were imposing on his time. We will never return to this restaurant and will tell everyone we know to avoid it at all cost. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Loved it! Everything was ready and waiting and the waitress was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

I had the worst experience ever.. Will not be going back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

A staple of St Petersburg dining, this Melting Pot location has been here for many many years.

The location is easy to get to, although parking is limited.

The food is always great (after all, you cook it yourself!) -- OK, it is always fresh and appropriately prepped for your fondue enjoyment.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

There are just those special places that leave a life long wonderful spot in your mind. The team at The Melting Pot are just those amazing staff. It was the perfect night out for us!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very... Bleh. The restaurant is very dated (wood paneling EVERYWHERE) so there isn't exactly a great vibe happening. We also just we're not impressed with the food whatsoever. It's melted cheese and tiny bits of food. I could do this in my crockpot for a fraction of the cost. The main course left so much to be desired. Again, tiny bits of meat for outrageous prices. Dessert was fine, but again, not impressive. I can melt chocolate chips in a bowl too.

The worst part was the entire dinner took nearly 2.5 hours to complete. There was so much waiting, which was uncomfortable because the restaurant is silent, no music is playing whatsoever. There wasn't really any sense of urgency by the staff.

We're grateful we had a giftcard because we would not spend our own money there. Total waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of the best places to eat. I took my wife here for our first date over 22 years ago, and we go many times a year and it is always great. The only thing I would bring back is the house dressing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Unfortunately I cant remember my servers name but it was our first time and he did a great job explaining how it all works to us. Service was great and the courses came out in perfect timing and our table was never without food! Everything was delicious and I plan to return for my birthday this month!

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fantastic experience. Went for happy hour stayed for dinner. New menu is great and I'm glad they are going back to the original offerings. Food was great. Have to get the duck of course but tried the pork and was completely surprised at how good it is. Great night and recommend MP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Sam was our waitress and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went here for our 1 year anniversary. Food and service were great! While each Melting Pot is a bit different, this one is not as romantic / secluded as others. However, love the new menu options and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Way overpriced. Appetizer priced at full menu price. Avoid the Alpine Cheese Fondue. Has nothing to do with a Swiss Style Fondue. Every supermarket out of the box fondue is way better (and much cheaper). Most sauces to the beef fondue are horrible. Maybe one or two are acceptable - the rest is garbage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing way to celebrate the night. Romantic, quiet and private. Sunday is family day there. Can't wait to take the kids. We all love fondue. Anxiously waiting until I can return for another meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our waiter Tim was very knowledgeable regarding the menu.

I suggest this organizatiom create a simplistic explanation on the ways to create your four course dinner.

For newbies it was confusing.

The coffee was too strong and bitter.

Tim took us on a tour and was very informative regarding the history associated with the restaurants house.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our food and the laid back atmosphere. Biggest problem was we ate too much! Lol

One suggestion, try to get a table with a newer cook top. Ours did not function as well as it should have so the manager had to constantly make adjustments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waitress seemed a bit distracted and flustered. Service was slow. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here for our year anniversary. We were treated wonderfully.our server Nicole was by far the best server I've ever encountered. Everything was perfect and we had an amazing time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and service! Very pleasant evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was kind of hoping for a private booth since we have been there before for dessert and sat in a very private booth. We were seated in a booth in the corner but other tables close by. I told them when I made the reservation it was for an anniversary dinner. The server was very patient with us as we did not eat there for dinner before. He discussed numerous options what to order. Overall we had a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful fun server with great service. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.