About The Melting Pot - St Petersburg

2221 4th St N
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm; Saturday - 4:00pm - 11:30pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 895-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/st-petersburg/welcome

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the main lot and second parking lot behind the restaurant adjacent to the JMC Center Office building

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Miller

Private Party Contact:
Steve Nunemaker: 7278956358x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Sauces - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
House Salad - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Dipper Plate Yin & Yang Chocolate May - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Lobster Quesedilla - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Irish Mule - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fondue + Wine Fest - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
House Salad - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Fiery Pineapple Margarita - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin And Yang - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Classic - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Original Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
La Fin du Monde - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Big Night Out - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Yin & Yang Martini - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL
Four Course Classic Entree  - The Melting Pot - St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year at The Melting Pot! Indulge in our exclusive four-course menu for $59.95. Our regular children's menu will also be available for guests 12 and under.

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved it! Everything was ready and wait ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Loved it! Everything was ready and waiting and the waitress was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the worst experience ever.. Will n ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

I had the worst experience ever.. Will not be going back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

A staple of St Petersburg dining, this M ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

A staple of St Petersburg dining, this Melting Pot location has been here for many many years.

The location is easy to get to, although parking is limited.

The food is always great (after all, you cook it yourself!) -- OK, it is always fresh and appropriately prepped for your fondue enjoyment.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There are just those special places that ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

There are just those special places that leave a life long wonderful spot in your mind. The team at The Melting Pot are just those amazing staff. It was the perfect night out for us!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very... Bleh. The restaurant is very dat ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very... Bleh. The restaurant is very dated (wood paneling EVERYWHERE) so there isn't exactly a great vibe happening. We also just we're not impressed with the food whatsoever. It's melted cheese and tiny bits of food. I could do this in my crockpot for a fraction of the cost. The main course left so much to be desired. Again, tiny bits of meat for outrageous prices. Dessert was fine, but again, not impressive. I can melt chocolate chips in a bowl too.

The worst part was the entire dinner took nearly 2.5 hours to complete. There was so much waiting, which was uncomfortable because the restaurant is silent, no music is playing whatsoever. There wasn't really any sense of urgency by the staff.

We're grateful we had a giftcard because we would not spend our own money there. Total waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is one of the best places to eat. I ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of the best places to eat. I took my wife here for our first date over 22 years ago, and we go many times a year and it is always great. The only thing I would bring back is the house dressing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I cant remember my servers ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Unfortunately I cant remember my servers name but it was our first time and he did a great job explaining how it all works to us. Service was great and the courses came out in perfect timing and our table was never without food! Everything was delicious and I plan to return for my birthday this month!

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. Went for happy hou ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fantastic experience. Went for happy hour stayed for dinner. New menu is great and I'm glad they are going back to the original offerings. Food was great. Have to get the duck of course but tried the pork and was completely surprised at how good it is. Great night and recommend MP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sam was our waitress and was very pleasa ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Sam was our waitress and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Went here for our 1 year anniversary. Fo ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went here for our 1 year anniversary. Food and service were great! While each Melting Pot is a bit different, this one is not as romantic / secluded as others. However, love the new menu options and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way overpriced. Appetizer priced at full ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Way overpriced. Appetizer priced at full menu price. Avoid the Alpine Cheese Fondue. Has nothing to do with a Swiss Style Fondue. Every supermarket out of the box fondue is way better (and much cheaper). Most sauces to the beef fondue are horrible. Maybe one or two are acceptable - the rest is garbage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing way to celebrate the night. Roma ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing way to celebrate the night. Romantic, quiet and private. Sunday is family day there. Can't wait to take the kids. We all love fondue. Anxiously waiting until I can return for another meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Tim was very knowledgeable re ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our waiter Tim was very knowledgeable regarding the menu.

I suggest this organizatiom create a simplistic explanation on the ways to create your four course dinner.

For newbies it was confusing.

The coffee was too strong and bitter.

Tim took us on a tour and was very informative regarding the history associated with the restaurants house.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed our food and the laid bac ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our food and the laid back atmosphere. Biggest problem was we ate too much! Lol

One suggestion, try to get a table with a newer cook top. Ours did not function as well as it should have so the manager had to constantly make adjustments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress seemed a bit distracted and flu ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waitress seemed a bit distracted and flustered. Service was slow. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

I brought my girlfriend here for our yea ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here for our year anniversary. We were treated wonderfully.our server Nicole was by far the best server I've ever encountered. Everything was perfect and we had an amazing time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Very pleasant ev ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and service! Very pleasant evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was kind of hoping for a private booth ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was kind of hoping for a private booth since we have been there before for dessert and sat in a very private booth. We were seated in a booth in the corner but other tables close by. I told them when I made the reservation it was for an anniversary dinner. The server was very patient with us as we did not eat there for dinner before. He discussed numerous options what to order. Overall we had a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a wonderful fun server with great ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful fun server with great service. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This melting pot did most of the cooking ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

This melting pot did most of the cooking and prep behind closed doors which ruined the best part of this restaurant. They brought out the cheese already blended and melted. We saw nothing go into it except the onion. Oil was also made in kitchen and dessert. So ruined the whole melting pot experience. I was on vacation and glad this is not how our local melting pot is. There, they bring out all the ingredients and make it and blend it all on your table. That is fun for us to watch it all come together. Will not be returning to that location again. But other than that, the service and food were perfection. Nice staff. Ah one more note! The suggested tip on the receipt was %2 off, which in my eyes is fraud and highly disturbing they do this. Basically the suggested %15, %18 and %20 tips were actually 17%, 20% and 22%. Mistake or not, this is very bad telling the guest they are tipping 20% when they would actually be tipping 22%. I brought this up with management and they are going to look into it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I've been to various Melting Pots and, w ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've been to various Melting Pots and, while it provided a tasty and satisfying meal, the St. Pete Melting Pot missed the mark. It took a very very long time to receive each of our courses even by Melting Pot standards, our waiter had not even tried the entree (and was unable to make knowledgeable recommendations), and the fondue was not prepared at the table, which has always happened at every other Melting Pot I've visited. Additionally, although Melting Pots are normally romantic settings for a nice meal, the lighting in the dining room was kept very bright and there were screaming children nearby. Needless to say, we were disappointed with our experience and will probably only eat in this Melting Pot's bar in the future.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Server was fantastic. Drinks and food we ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Server was fantastic. Drinks and food were great. Expensive for a whole meal but individually some drinks and snacks or desert would be awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was fine. I took my niece out for a ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was fine. I took my niece out for a happy 15th birthday dinner. She enjoyed it.....i didn't expect it to be that expensive (dinner for 2 = $103.00) but she enjoyed it so it what's a good Aunt to do? Would go back maybe but only for the desserts course.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Extremely disappointing. They were out o ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Extremely disappointing. They were out of 2 of the 3 sauces we ordered and didn't let us know until out food was served. They then told us that the sauces were being made and would be out shortly. The sauces never came out. If I had known that the sauces were gone I would have selected another item from menu. Although I had been looking forward to this meal all day it was ruined. We weren't asked what we would like in lieu of what we ordered, we were brought replacement sauces that we didn't like and would have never ordered. The restaurant comped our entrees but when you don't get to go out very often and you're only out because it's a special occasion it ruins your entire night. We will never go to another melting pot again. I'll just buy my own fondue set and do it at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fun, delicious meal. Great service. Mana ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fun, delicious meal. Great service. Manager came and checked on us twice during meal. Abudance of food. Our server guided us on selections as this was our first visit. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great night. Wonderful server. ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a great night. Wonderful server. And very attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was top notch! He was prompt ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was top notch! He was prompt with refills, he explained the menu and offered suggestions that would tailor the meal to our desired preferences. He was knowledgeable about the food choices and was funny without standing at our table just to chit chat.

I was extremely impressed with the food we ordered and the deserts were out of this world!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was excellent

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were running an awesome ladies nigh ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

They were running an awesome ladies night special! We had 6 girls, and we all had a blast!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, always have. True St Pe ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love this place, always have. True St Petersburg staple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration for two was a bit n ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Birthday celebration for two was a bit noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had a wonderful time and Edwardo our ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time and Edwardo our server was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun experience and generally go ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a fun experience and generally good service although the bar was a bit slow. All of the options we tried were delicious and a fun time was had by all. If you haven't been there before the regular seasoned court bouillon is a great option, tasty and doesn't overpower the meats or vegetables.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The cheese app was great and the dessert ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The cheese app was great and the dessert was amazing. the server recommended just a bit too much food for 2 people. the main course was a bit labor intensive. if I go again, i'll do the chef prepared option. overall, it was a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had for many years been reticent to v ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had for many years been reticent to visiting Melting Pot (MP) due to the fondue format, time commitments and price point. We were pleasantly surprised that we should have tried it years ago, the food, service and dining pace exceeded our expectations. MP appears to be very dynamic and can accommodate groups and couples easily under the same roof and with the ambiance you desire. MP will become a new go to spot for romantic/date night dinners, and I would not hesitate to take a group of friends. The Price point on an all-in basis was very comparable to similar upper end restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The managers and most staff are helpful ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The managers and most staff are helpful and attentive. Our server tonight was awful. She'd disappear for 20 minutes at a time. Our meal took 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Service the worse the hostess was terrib ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service the worse the hostess was terrible took 10 mins to seat us when we left just stayed without saying a word

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I definitely would return to try more di ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I definitely would return to try more dishes. The server was so outstanding. Destani Frye was great and brought food and drinks on time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server Destani did an amazing job of ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our server Destani did an amazing job of making our two-year anniversary a beautiful experience. We had fun and she was very informative as to what we were eating. We were put in a romantic location which allowed us to enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks cost than advertised. Server didn ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Drinks cost than advertised. Server didn'tdidn't know about special drawing or passed over us. Some parts were slow,while others felt rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.