About The Melting Pot - St Petersburg

2221 4th St N
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm; Saturday - 4:00pm - 11:30pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 895-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/st-petersburg/welcome

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the main lot and second parking lot behind the restaurant adjacent to the JMC Center Office building

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Miller

Private Party Contact:
Steve Nunemaker: 7278956358x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
The Melting Pot - St Petersburg
Big Night Out
House Salad
Fiery Pineapple Margarita
Yin And Yang
Classic
Original Chocolate Fondue
La Fin du Monde
Yin & Yang Martini
Four Course Classic Entree

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Most Booked
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Petersburg ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was fine. I took my niece out for a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was fine. I took my niece out for a happy 15th birthday dinner. She enjoyed it.....i didn't expect it to be that expensive (dinner for 2 = $103.00) but she enjoyed it so it what's a good Aunt to do? Would go back maybe but only for the desserts course.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Extremely disappointing. They were out o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Extremely disappointing. They were out of 2 of the 3 sauces we ordered and didn't let us know until out food was served. They then told us that the sauces were being made and would be out shortly. The sauces never came out. If I had known that the sauces were gone I would have selected another item from menu. Although I had been looking forward to this meal all day it was ruined. We weren't asked what we would like in lieu of what we ordered, we were brought replacement sauces that we didn't like and would have never ordered. The restaurant comped our entrees but when you don't get to go out very often and you're only out because it's a special occasion it ruins your entire night. We will never go to another melting pot again. I'll just buy my own fondue set and do it at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fun, delicious meal. Great service. Mana ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fun, delicious meal. Great service. Manager came and checked on us twice during meal. Abudance of food. Our server guided us on selections as this was our first visit. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great night. Wonderful server. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a great night. Wonderful server. And very attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was top notch! He was prompt ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was top notch! He was prompt with refills, he explained the menu and offered suggestions that would tailor the meal to our desired preferences. He was knowledgeable about the food choices and was funny without standing at our table just to chit chat.

I was extremely impressed with the food we ordered and the deserts were out of this world!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was excellent

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were running an awesome ladies nigh ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

They were running an awesome ladies night special! We had 6 girls, and we all had a blast!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, always have. True St Pe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love this place, always have. True St Petersburg staple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration for two was a bit n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Birthday celebration for two was a bit noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had a wonderful time and Edwardo our ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time and Edwardo our server was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun experience and generally go ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a fun experience and generally good service although the bar was a bit slow. All of the options we tried were delicious and a fun time was had by all. If you haven't been there before the regular seasoned court bouillon is a great option, tasty and doesn't overpower the meats or vegetables.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The cheese app was great and the dessert ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The cheese app was great and the dessert was amazing. the server recommended just a bit too much food for 2 people. the main course was a bit labor intensive. if I go again, i'll do the chef prepared option. overall, it was a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had for many years been reticent to v ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had for many years been reticent to visiting Melting Pot (MP) due to the fondue format, time commitments and price point. We were pleasantly surprised that we should have tried it years ago, the food, service and dining pace exceeded our expectations. MP appears to be very dynamic and can accommodate groups and couples easily under the same roof and with the ambiance you desire. MP will become a new go to spot for romantic/date night dinners, and I would not hesitate to take a group of friends. The Price point on an all-in basis was very comparable to similar upper end restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The managers and most staff are helpful ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The managers and most staff are helpful and attentive. Our server tonight was awful. She'd disappear for 20 minutes at a time. Our meal took 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Service the worse the hostess was terrib ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service the worse the hostess was terrible took 10 mins to seat us when we left just stayed without saying a word

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I definitely would return to try more di ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I definitely would return to try more dishes. The server was so outstanding. Destani Frye was great and brought food and drinks on time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server Destani did an amazing job of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our server Destani did an amazing job of making our two-year anniversary a beautiful experience. We had fun and she was very informative as to what we were eating. We were put in a romantic location which allowed us to enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks cost than advertised. Server didn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Drinks cost than advertised. Server didn'tdidn't know about special drawing or passed over us. Some parts were slow,while others felt rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a very nice evening with an excel ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very nice evening with an excellent server named Christine. When I return to The Melting Pot, I will definitely ask for her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite places to hav ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite places to have a fun and tasty meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I were seated in some sor ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I were seated in some sort of a closet in the back of the building even thought there were many "normal" tables available.

I had to look at this ugly bare wall 2 ft from my face. Started to get a little claustrophobic.

We brought up the issue but were never offered a different table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

great service good food, nice variety, g ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

great service good food, nice variety, good location, very nice event eating. A bit overpriced

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

1st off would like to state that i have ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

1st off would like to state that i have been a long time fan of melting pot st Pete and Tampa location but after this last experience i will nor be there any time soon! party was originally for 3 a 4th was added the hostess acted as if it was a hug inconvenience maybe i was disturbing her smoke break ? i our waitress ok she talked very fast i had 2 new people whom had never had the melting pot experience my daughter and granddaughter fondue was served along with appetizer the when we had salads my 9 year old grand daughter had not gotten her mac and cheese when waitress finally came back she was reminded and still no mac and cheese well almost 20 minutes to 1/2 hour later she came back and i told her no mac and cheese and my grand daughter was starving !!! she claimed she thought someone else brought it to table in the past i have never had more then on waiter unless it was a large group or someone in training this was none of the above so about 40 -45 minutes later she finally had her food !!! not good basically a nine year old was made to eat last we tried waiting but she was upset and felt her food was a major task as we told her it was not she was not happy she did enjoy the meal but was upset at the wait which was no reason you where not that busy !!! i spend and average of $150 to $500 per visit depending on company that evening i dont think that will be happening any more the money is not a problem it was the lack of training of the staff always considered melting pot upscale fun dining but seemed wait staff at least in my section was not trained our waitress did not even warn about hot forks out of fondue and as i watched other waitstaff around me i t was very lack luster ?!?!?! dont see any visits in future maybe ill try tampa again ... maybe

signed

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

I love The Melting Pot.. Great participa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love The Melting Pot.. Great participation food. Always yummy....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had dessert only and it was incredible. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had dessert only and it was incredible. Everything tasted fresh and looked appealing but the service was pretty terrible. A young manager introduced himself and mentioned it was his second night managing this location. Good luck, man.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our first time to the Melting Pot and th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our first time to the Melting Pot and this was for our first Anniversary. The service was good, the ambiance good, the food flavor good, however, we were extremely disappointed with the portion sizes relative to the cost. BEWARE if you order the sausage plate from the meat selections, it will cost you $7.95 for 4 (four) small pieces of sausage about a quarter of an inch thick and the size of a quarter. Yeah, this was the same stuff that Hillshire F@rms sells for $3.95 for a whole rope of sausage. Very disappointing! The cost for our meal, start to finish was $100. If you are okay with that, then you will enjoy the Melting Pot. It was a unique experience, but one that we only need to do once...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Our server, I think his name was Jared, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server, I think his name was Jared, was so great! He had perfect timing with everything. And of course the food was amazing - who doesn't love chocolate and cheese?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Julio for our server! He was FABU ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had Julio for our server! He was FABULOUS. Couldn't have asked for better. The food was good, the atmosphere was refreshing. The manager stopped by to talk about our experience, it was all around great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at The Melting Pot for spec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have dined at The Melting Pot for special occasions with my kids for years. This was my daughter's 13th birthday. The prices have increased and the portions have become jokingly small, forcing you to spend more. We waited an unreasonable amount of time for everything, drinks, food, missing place settings, refills of drinks and dippers...Everything! We didn't receive our drinks untill we were done with the cheese course, after asking repeatedly for drinks. It continued like this for every course. I helped myself to place settings from empty tables. We walked up to the front hostess and other waiters, and even the manager to ask for assistance. The service wasn't friendly either. They knew it was a dinner party for my daughter's birthday, but never once acknowledged it and wished her a happy birthday! Usually, they give a complimentary box of chocolate covered strawberries, or something else chocolate to the guest of honor, but we didn't even get mints with our check of over $400! We arrived at 6pm and didn't leave until 10:30pm! Even fondue shouldn't take that long!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Neither my wife or I liked the new ala-c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Neither my wife or I liked the new ala-cart menu. I understand the intention but I would rather order the "Land and Sea" and be done with it. It would be better to have both options.

We also did not like that each protein came on a separate dish with veggies. By the end, we had about a dozen plates/glasses/etc on a small two top table: 5 proteins, 2 "dinner" plates, 2 sauce plates, 2 drink glasses.

We also feel this is a way to charge more for the same amount of food we would previously get.

The house dressing, kind of like a tangy honey mustard, was completely different than before it was being made in-house. This dressing tasted more like mustard and had very little tang to it. For consistency and taste, I would go back to pre-bottled dressing.

The cocktail sauce was weak. I really liked the original "angry" cocktail sauce.

It was disappointing that the "show" of making the cheese fondue is gone as it was prepared in the kitchen and brought out.

With all the said, the server and food quality is still very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Julio was fantastic. Well versed in the ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Julio was fantastic. Well versed in the menu and knowledgable about the Melting Pot overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

melting pot burner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

During my dinner, our burner stopped working 3 times. Instead of moving us to a new table they kept messing with the burner. Also, 3 different people stuck their heads under the table without asking me or my wife to get out of the booth. It was very uncomfortable for my wife, who was wearing a dress.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent customer service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server was Myke at the 4th Street location in St. Petersburg, FL. Superb customer service. I highly recommend Myke. Food was great. Muy only complaint is that we were say in the room directly off of 4th street. The ambiance in this room is different than all other rooms, and not in a good way. There are large windows with no shades. We were all getting burned by the sun. We had to eat with sunglasses on because the sun was in our face. We tried covering ourselves with napkins, but they were too small. We ending up leaving completely drenched in sweat. The ambiance in that room should be the same as the others, it takes away from the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Great experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food is always fresh and I really enjoy the more secluded seating in the back for a more romantic dinner, and the experience is always a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too much noise from the party next to us ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Too much noise from the party next to us. They shoved everyone into one small room and failed to disburse us out around the restaurant. Not very pleasant dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Fantastic time! We had so many laughs wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic time! We had so many laughs with our family and it was because of the atmosphere and professionalism of our waitress Sam. The Food was excellent and we are so thankful we chose the St. Pete Melting Pot to celebrate our special occasion. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love the melting pot. Food i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolutely love the melting pot. Food is great. Service was a little slow however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was incredible and the atmosphere was terrific. Celebrated mother's day with my family and couldn't have been any happier. My only complaint and it is a small one, is that there were no blinds on the window in the room we were in and the sun was directly in my eyes for about 20 minutes. Couldn't see the person across the table from me, but after the sun was down, I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nort worth the money

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

First you start out ordering a cheese fondue but you only get to pick one flavor for the table so everyone must agree. Everyone is charged $10 each. You dip apples, celery and bread for an appetizer. Then your 3 inch piece of meat comes out on a tiny plate with a bitter side dish. You can order as many of these as you want for $10 each. The tablespoon of mashed potatoes they serve is mostly Horseradish. The side of corn is drenched in vinegar. The same goes for the red cabbage. The quinoa was soaked on lemon juice. None of us could eat any of the side dishes. But dessert was the most fun. Once again you can only choose 1 flavor per table yet you pay $10 per person again. You get half a banana sliced, 3 strawberries sliced, a few marshmallows and a couple pf pieces of brownies and rice krispies. Very expensive just to dip into some chocolate.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Mother's Day

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I picked this one myself for dinner with the my teenagers. I wanted them to experience something different and unique. While very entertaining, my daughter (15) was not a fan. My son (17) loved it. He especially liked the duck. I ordered lobster and I don't recommend that. It gets rubbery. Otherwise, the shrimp was delicious and the deserts are yummy. This might be good for a group night out with friends; I don't see this as a romantic restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.