About The Melting Pot - St Petersburg

2221 4th St N
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
View Larger Map

We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Friday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm; Saturday - 4:00pm - 11:30pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 895-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/st-petersburg/welcome

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the main lot and second parking lot behind the restaurant adjacent to the JMC Center Office building

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Miller

Private Party Contact:
Steve Nunemaker: 7278956358x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come in this Father's Day for Endless Fondue. All you can eat, all 4-courses for only $42.95!

The Melting Pot - St Petersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
St. Petersburg
5 More
Best Food
St. Petersburg
Best Service
St. Petersburg
Best Ambiance
St. Petersburg
Romantic
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Petersburg ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (53)
good for groups (36)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (14)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time! We had so many laughs wi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic time! We had so many laughs with our family and it was because of the atmosphere and professionalism of our waitress Sam. The Food was excellent and we are so thankful we chose the St. Pete Melting Pot to celebrate our special occasion. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely love the melting pot. Food i ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely love the melting pot. Food is great. Service was a little slow however.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was incredible and the atmosphere was terrific. Celebrated mother's day with my family and couldn't have been any happier. My only complaint and it is a small one, is that there were no blinds on the window in the room we were in and the sun was directly in my eyes for about 20 minutes. Couldn't see the person across the table from me, but after the sun was down, I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Nort worth the money

Dined on May 8, 2016

First you start out ordering a cheese fondue but you only get to pick one flavor for the table so everyone must agree. Everyone is charged $10 each. You dip apples, celery and bread for an appetizer. Then your 3 inch piece of meat comes out on a tiny plate with a bitter side dish. You can order as many of these as you want for $10 each. The tablespoon of mashed potatoes they serve is mostly Horseradish. The side of corn is drenched in vinegar. The same goes for the red cabbage. The quinoa was soaked on lemon juice. None of us could eat any of the side dishes. But dessert was the most fun. Once again you can only choose 1 flavor per table yet you pay $10 per person again. You get half a banana sliced, 3 strawberries sliced, a few marshmallows and a couple pf pieces of brownies and rice krispies. Very expensive just to dip into some chocolate.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service2

Did not like the revised menu, new price ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Did not like the revised menu, new prices are high and not likely to ever return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a quick dessert for our anniver ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Went for a quick dessert for our anniversary and were just as pleased as always, excellent staff and fun meals always make this a pleasant trip.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great food

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Erin ou ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Erin our waiter made our visit even more enjoyable . He was kind and very helpful explaining the menu. Will definetly be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great waiter

Dined on April 29, 2016

Staff was great, waiter was great as well (Eduardo: ask for him and you will enjoy your experience even more).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Aaron E was the best server in any restaurant we have encountered! He truly made our anniversary dinner superb!! He should be promoted!! The Melting Pot St. Pete is such a great dining experience! Happy Hour is the best in Tampa Bay!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always magnificent

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is at a minimum, an annual event: anniversary dining at the Melting Pot. Has been for over 16 now. The restaurant had gone through some changes this past year, so there was some trepidation, but the evening may have been the best yet! Food was perfect service was exceptional. Truly a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice quiet booth in back. Private feeling/romantic

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice quiet booth in back. Private feeling/romantic. Always an enjoyable experience! The menu has changed and I don't like not having the choice of past menu items like "The big night out" or having to choose each item individually but none the less it was still delicious. It would be great if they had BOTH options available. Also wish they prepared the cheese at your table like before, but all that said it was still very enjoyable and will return again an again lol

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Out dated

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Melting Pot not only needs a facelift inside & out, but a better menu. Portions were small and overpriced. The seafood did not seem fresh and was sent back due to taste & smell. It was once a hot spot for special events, but I will chose more wisely next time.

food5
ambience3
service3

The service was slower than usual. We wa ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The service was slower than usual. We waited quite a while for our entree and then dessert. Our server was very nice, however, and the food was excellent, as always. Also, and this is picky, but I'd like better music. Maybe some jazz instead of top 40? On date night, I'd really like to stay away from Taylor Swift and Coldplay. Love both, but not really romantic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Date Gem

Dined on March 21, 2016

It had been a long time since I've fondued and it was great to once again linger over an aromatics pot of steaming liquid cooking fluid. My date date, Bridgette, had never done fondue and it was a real treat for both of us. This is a "must visit".

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dessert place

Dined on March 21, 2016

I loved the cheese and chocolate fondues but I would skip the meat. The prices for the individual meat plates were not worth the price. Great waiters though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Bridal shower location

Dined on March 15, 2016

I hosted a bridal shower for 12, and it was fantastic! We did 3 cheese pots and 3 chocolate pots. The food was delicious!!! And the service was outstanding > I highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Changed menu equals WAY overpriced.

Dined on February 29, 2016

The melting pot changed its menu to ala carte, and it is overpriced, to say the least, for what you get. It will be our last time going there. So disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went during the leap year special where it was $29 a person. I love the melting pot but tend to not go as often because it's pricey but this deal made it reasonable for what you get. I tried the fondone for the first time which was different but good. I don't like that you don't get vegetables with it when it's cooked in the kitchen but I managed to live without them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wait staff.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Ryan was amazing. He was funny, patient, and personable. The food took a while to come from the kitchen but he checked on us often and kept us updated. This was the last night of the $29.29 special so it was a little busy. We will go back and hopefully get Ryan again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not what it used to be

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had been going to the Melting Pot at least once a every year for the last 25 years. This year, we made the decision after going there that unless we see a REALLY GOOD deal, we probably won't go back. Manager argued with us about an email for free 4 course for my husband's Feb 29 bday, the choices were not what they used to be and the portions are about 1/2 what they used to be. Very disappointed as we used to look to the Melting Pot as our "special place".

food5
ambience5
service5

The wild mushroom risotto was amazing!

Dined on February 20, 2016

The wild mushroom risotto was amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food with an interesting experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

A great variety of options to have for a fondue experience. Everything from the cheese fondue to start to the entree to fondue and the delicious chocolate fondue to top off a fun evening. Cocktails were fantastic also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Not a great value

Dined on February 20, 2016

I understand that expensive food is tiny food but it's not like the melting pot has any Michelin stars. Also the waiter kept forgetting to turn on the burner, but I didn't realize it until I bit into a piece of very, very rare orange duck.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Dinner review

Dined on February 18, 2016

This was our first experience at a fondue restaurant and we were excited about this. Unfortunately the outcome was not as positive as hoped. The menu and pricing options are confusing and needed to be explained twice by the server. The portion sizes were extremely small and we were advised that often people would order 2-3 entrees each. That would mean 30-35$ for each guest. For Two adults and two kids are bill ended op being $110 with only one entree each, one appetiser each and chocolate fondue for dessert. Overpriced, under sized, not something I will partake in again.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

WAY overpriced, bland food that you have to cook

Dined on February 16, 2016

My first visit was my last. The first course was basically apples and Velveeta cheese. I declined the salad course. The next course was food and the beef was tough and all meats were bland. We were given three forks to use to put three bites at a time into boiling vegetable broth. We had to time each batch or guess if it was done or not. The dipping sauces weren't very good, either. The chocolate course was last, but we were already so full (after only 2 plates of entrees, instead of the three they recommended), that we could only try a few bites of the chocolate. It was good, but nothing spectacular. The table was far too small, even for just two people, so it was uncomfortably crowded and we had to constantly rearrange plates and glasses so that we could each get to the dipping sauces. Once they put down the boiling veggie broth, they made us wait about 20-25 minutes before they brought out any food. It isn't like they had to cook it, so I don't know why there was a delay. It was the day after Valentine's day, but it wasn't busy. Also, I ordered the $20 balloon/picture package and I was expecting a Mylar Valentine's day balloon, but got a few little Melting Pot branded latex balloons that sank within hours. At least the picture came with a frame. I wouldn't recommend going there for a date or romance, either, because I ended up dripping cheese onto my husband's drink glass once (almost into it) and there's nothing romantic about dripping chocolate all over the table or stretching cheese from the pot to your mouth. All in all, we paid $130 for mediocre/bland food and no leftovers (because of the fondu, you can't really do leftovers there). I've paid $50 for two at a regular restaurant and gotten delicious steaks that someone else actually *cooked* for us, drinks and a full meal of leftovers. The Melting Pot was a huge disappointment and was about quadruple the price it should have been.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyable

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been dining at The Melting Pot for years. I have always enjoyed it and continue to enjoy it, even as the menu has updated and progressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not a good experience for us

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Went there with friends for our anniversary. Waiter was not helpful explaining menu, and wanted us to order much more than we needed. Disappointed when we didn't order dessert. 20% tip added automatically to our bill, not good. Food was mediocre and portions expensive . Do not like their presentation. Waiter and trainee? were not very good at their jobs. Will not be back.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Dessert only!

Dined on February 7, 2016

I would be go back for dessert and skip the dinner. Service was fair we didn't receive all items we ordered.

food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Unfriendly server

Dined on January 30, 2016

I took my 8 year old daughter for the first time to the Melting Pot to celebrate her report card. I tried to involve the waiter in the conversation so he could help "hype" it up and involve her in the process. He wasn't interactive at all. He seemed preoccupied. On a more positive note, love the fun done option!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we had an amazing dinner as al ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

As always we had an amazing dinner as always at the melting pot. Looking forward to having our wedding reception there in march.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must!

Dined on January 25, 2016

I came here with friends for my birthday and it was a great experience. The chocolate was delicious and the staff very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night that didn't hurt my waistline!!

Dined on January 16, 2016

It was a great, quiet, romantic dinner with my husband. I absolutely LOVED the Skinny Dipping Menu which let us enjoy an entire Melting Pot meal for only 700 calories!! It was only $19 each for all three courses (salad, entree, and even CHOCOLATE!!). Normally it's hard to eat out at restaurant without it being crazy high on my calories, but this was a delicious and refreshing change. It was plenty of food, absolutely delicious and at a great price! PLEASE keep the Skinny Dipping Menu!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Too much for too little

Dined on January 9, 2016

First time back in 10 years. Always enjoy the fun of cooking with a fondue pot at the table. I find Melting Pot to be too pricey for what you receive. Food is flavorful but expensive when you add on entrees to the 20 dollar cheese, salad and chocolate fondue. 2 people meals, drinks plus tip $120.00. We will probably not return for another few years. Service was slow...probably because server was training a new employee.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

skinny dip

Dined on January 8, 2016

What a great dinner with low calories and fun. I hope there are more offers like this.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Review on St Pete Melting Pot

Dined on January 4, 2016

I have enjoyed the place in the past but not recently. Seems prices went up and quantity of meat went down. We were never asked if we wanted drink refills and had to wait a long time on the refills after asking for them. A glass (flute) of champagne was $9.00. Totally insane prices. Waiter took a long time to bring our check. Aprox 15 minutes.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first Melting Pot experienc ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

This was our first Melting Pot experience and we will definitely go back. Well worth it ď

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Big Hit

Dined on December 30, 2015

Went for our 20th anniversary and it was a big hit...again. The food was great, the server was great, and the little booth we got was nice and private. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The new menu is more ala carte, with sli ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

The new menu is more ala carte, with slightly larger portions per entree order. We each ordered 2 and split a third, but as one course in a four-course, it was too much food and the bill was a fair bit higher than usual. We'll go back, we'll just order less off the new menu. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.