About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
3 More
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (100)
good for groups (37)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
notable wine list (29)
late-night find (18)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and excellent service but ...

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food and excellent service but be prepared for the table of people who think they're the only ones celebrating an occasion and the restaurant won't tell them to stop shouting (literally) over each other. It's been 20 years since my last visit and will probably be a long time before I return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter wanted to check this place o ...

Dined 6 days ago

My daughter wanted to check this place out for her 15th birthday. We had a GREAT time, and Nikki, our watresss, was phenomenal! We will definitely come back for another fun date/occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot was great, our server was polite and professional, we were celebrating my wife's birthday. We ordered the 3 course meal which was great, the only issue i have are the portions of food, I appreciate the quality of the food, but I feel the quantities of portions of food on the main entrees could be better, other than that our experience dining was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance was Perfect . We enjoyed the food and had fun at the Same time. Can't wait to Go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night dream

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server, Tyler was phenomenal. The ambiance was perfect for an overdue date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and very informati ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was great and very informative, the server was very polite and made great recommendations. The General Manager went above and beyond and made the evening better with a special wine selection for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The select Holiday menus are great bc yo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The select Holiday menus are great bc you get a variety of different food to try.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and food. Service is al ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience and food. Service is always top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Something everyone need to experience at ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Something everyone need to experience at least once.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner for two!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and the kind of experience I hoped for! We celebrated my moms birthday and mothers day with great food and lots of laughter!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be Wit ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be With You" night...very cool idea. "Normal" nights are just as impressive across the board: service, food, ambiance...ask for Matthews section...he takes care of his people!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Its all about the experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was our Silver Anniversary, so we wanted something special. The price may seem scary for the budget conscious, but you're buying more than a meal, you're experiencing an event. From cocktail and appetizer selection, through the meal, and into dessert, it is the literal sharing of the meal that makes this a worthy evening. Our server, Annie, was a confident tour guide, helping us navigate our way through the evening. What could have been more daunting, she made seamless. We'll likely go again for our next celebratory event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic/Fondue and dessert is amazing!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The fondue was great but boiling meat not my thing! They started with the cheese fondue which was delicious and then moved to a salad. When the meat was brought out it was raw on a plate. You have to boil it and cook it for 2 minutes. I have to say I like my meat grilled or seared but not boiled unless it is a soup. We liked that we experienced it but if you like meat (not boiled) it won't be for you unless you go for cocktails, fondue and dessert! The service was awesome and they even seated us earlier than the reservation.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Prom date spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here as a pre prom date and was not disappointed. The waitress was extremely friendly and helpful. She steered us along the best path making plenty of suggestions and giving helpful information. On the expensive side though so its not the type of place you would just go for any occasion. Definitely recommend it as something new and fun to do.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for Dates

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have been here twice and always get great service. It is a place to get to know someone and you can make the fondue very fun my dipping and dropping it lol. It's a joyful place with a great vibe. If you've never been to the 2 for $80 because you get a variety of meats. I'm definitely going again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!! Even with dietary restrictions!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I ate here for the first time and LOVED it!! I have celiac disease so am gluten free, and he is not. We had reviewed the menu beforehand to ensure I could eat, and were happily surprised. The waiter and staff were very accommodating and knowledgable about my special needs and took extra special precautions to prevent any cross contamination with gluten. Had a great experience, enjoyed the food (more than the alcoholic beverages) and will certainly go again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 13th anniversary

Dined on April 29, 2016

HonestlY I had my doubts, but as the evening progressed I was amazed! The restaurant was clean and quiet, probably not the place for babies, or small children. But perfect for a quiet date night. The food was spectacular, the waitress did a wonderful job explaining how things worked. She was the perfect waitress. Some waiters tend to hover, or ignore you. She was the perfect between. Not to intrusive, but she kept our glasses full! Would definitely recommend to anyone, and will certainly be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Place to Dine

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy coming to The Melting Pot on special occasions. The food is always fantastic and the service has always been top notch. This is my favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Need better choices of dipping sauces fo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Need better choices of dipping sauces for meat. But it was a fun experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Waitress very personable

Dined on April 23, 2016

Waitress very personable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-concert cheese & chocolate

Dined on April 22, 2016

We always love MP. Our waiter was excellent, recognized that we had been there before, and helped us get creative. Great night!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 22, 2016

Its a unique dining experience Good for special occasions. Food was also good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was fantastic, but pricey. Kinda noisy with a lot of little kids. Maybe it would be quieter after 7. Would have preferred more intimate seating, but then again I didn't ask.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service5

Had to cook my own food. Why?? All that ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Had to cook my own food. Why?? All that good meat ruined in a fondue dish.

food5
ambience5
service5

We always get the 4 course menu. Seems t ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We always get the 4 course menu. Seems to be the best for your buck. Fiesta cheese is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for to tje wonderful staff!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Thank you to the staff at the melting pot for such a memorable anniversary ,we would definitely recommen the melting pot to everyone .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant. One of our favorites ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Awesome restaurant. One of our favorites perfect to escape from the kids and get some alone time or bring the kids to have a fun dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eating at the melting pot is always lots ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Eating at the melting pot is always lots of fun it's a romantic experience and the leisurely courses just add to it!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was iur first time. I took my husba ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

This was iur first time. I took my husband for his birthday and they had a birthday card, signed by all the staff, waiting. It was a nice surprise. Our server was very knowledgeable, experienced, helpful & friendly. We didn't know what to expect but the food was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go for a different dining ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place to go for a different dining experience. The waitstaff was very helpful and professional. It was my teenage son's first time to the restaurant and he really enjoyed himself. I definitely will come back again for a meal or to enjoy the chocolate fondue

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Dessert and Drinks

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food isn't really worth going for, but it is a fun experience to try once. The chocolate fondue and drinks are well worth it though. I highly recommend this place for drinks and desserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melting Pot Our Family Special Occasion favorite

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our grown kids feel like family meals are special when we go to the Melting Pot. Gathering around the fondue pot is fun and my husband likes the time we spend negotiating a dessert or a cooking style. If you get confused by many choices its a good idea to look up the menu and study it a little before you go. The cocktails are quite good. The price can be more than the usual family meal out....I joined the club fondue so I get notices on special events and menus. Groupons can also help out. Its worth it because the atmosphere and the food and service are superior. I do not particularly recommend the meting pot for folks in a hurry or with young children.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot was an awesome experienc ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Melting Pot was an awesome experience for me. It was my birthday and I wanted to celebrate somewhere that I had never dined! The food was fabulous, the wait staff was amazing and catered to my gluten issues. The overall experience was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have always found the Melting Pot more than satisfying.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Special package

Dined on March 17, 2016

My husband and I took my grand daughter and a friend for her 16th birthday. I purchased the birthday package which included a professional photo at the table delivered with a Melting Pot frame. I especially wanted this for the memory of her 16th birthday. I relayed this to our waiter and reminded him later. We never got the picture. It is a fun experience and we enjoy going on special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious & decadent evening out!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food & service! We will definitely come again soon :)

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good

Dined on March 7, 2016

This was my first time to this specific Melting Pot, but it never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

meat

Dined on March 3, 2016

Meat was not great quality based on passed experiences

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Not our best visit here

Dined on March 2, 2016

My boyfriend and I received an email for a $29.16 per person 4-course special for the leap year and decided to make a date night out of it. Upon arriving at the restaurant and being seated, we were told the deal was only good for a defined main course which we didn't want. Ultimately we decided to stay as we were looking forward to tonight, so we ended up paying full price. The food was good (as we remember it from previous visits) but the service was lacking enthusiasm and the hostesses were rude and inattentive. This was probably our worst experience at the Melting Pot, which is a shame since it is usually enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful time

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our 2nd time here.. i don't remember how the 1st time was.. this time we bought 2 couples with us.. experience and service was excellent our server Lacee was awesome.. she answer any questions we had, with drinks and food.. had a fun experience cant wait to come back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.