About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (42)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fun (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (13)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great service and food. Waitress was knowledgeable and quick to serve and keep drinks filled.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

From the Hostess to the Waitress and staff, all were prompt, friendly and helpful. The food and desert was delicious. I upgraded to the rose pedals and picture package. The rose pedals looked beautiful on the table, however, I did not get the photo but Denise did say the she'll credit my cc back the difference. Awesome experience all around!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful meal for a special occasion! The food was delicious and the service was great. Our meal had a great pace - everything was served in a timely manner but not rushed. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a pre-Valentine's Day dinner. Angel, our waiter, provided great service and the food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have gone to the melting pot every year for our anniversary, and this year we were SORELY disappointed.

Service was too long between courses (we did not see our server for 30-35 minutes at a time), it took way too long to get our courses served, and our concerns were waived off.

We had to keep reminding our server for things that we were supposed to receive, and we had to wait longer because he completely forgot about our picture.

If you drop $200 for a dinner for 2, you expect better...

So disappointing, and we didn't get a chance to complain because we were running late for our sitter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent experience at the restaurant. Everyone was very professional and friendly. The only exception was the bar tender. The bar was basically empty. He was too busy watching basketball to attend to us. When he finally decided to acknowledge we were there, je was flat and borderline rude. He has no customer service and I was very disappointed. Otherwise, cleanliness, food, and service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here last 02/11/17 and we like the ambience and our server (Nick) was outstanding, it was an excellent service. It was just overpriced but the food was great, we had a four course meal and ordered Quatro Farmigiano, Caesar Salad/House Salad, The Classic for our entree and Dark & Dulce.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 5, 2017

excellent service and food ! we always enjoy dining here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love fondues so were really excited to visit, but our first trip here was disappointing. Since you cook all of your food at your own table, the smells of each meal fills the entire area with no where to go (since there are no exhaust fans in sight), but on your clothes and in your hair and on everyone around you. The steam that blows in front of you while you wait is like a sauna steam bath and we spent half the night waving it away from our faces. Again, the exhaust fan concept would be helpful. The entire meal from start to finish takes a long time so if you're planning an hour meal, forget it. The taste of the fondue was ok, and so was most of the meats. I do think it was overpriced for what was served, considering I could get a nicer meal at Perry's for the same price, and without having to smell in the end or cook it myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my girlfriends favorite place. It has not failed us as a great place for great family time. The very idea of this place requires togetherness cooperation and communication! ! Great place for relationship bonding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall my experience at the Melting Pot was excellent. The food is delicious and it is a unique experience. The food is all basically prepared at the table which made for a lot of fun. The staff was very attentive and friendly from the hostess to the the wait staff and management. My girlfriend and I came to the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and the experience could not have been better.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Despite being a large (and probably too loud) group, we had excellent service from start to finish. The drinks were amazing & priced fairly. Our server (Alexis) was very kind & patient, as well as attentive. They even had another server or 2 help with the drinks & food through the night. They were probably glad they put us in a more private area, but everyone said how impressed they were from start to finish! Not our 1st time celebrating a special occasion at The Melting Pot, & it won't be our last!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My wife and I came in for our 2 year wedding anniversary dinner. The food, service, and entire experience was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a great experience and it was a great time by all. My kids especially loved the flaming turtle chocolate dessert.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great variety. Amazing culinary experience. You never leave hungry!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very Good Food! Steak, Pork, Shrimp and Chicken were all GREAT! We really enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had a great time. Food was gooood awesome service. 100% recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome service, will definitely come again and I will let everyone know that the Melting Pot in SA is the place to go!!

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just out for dessert with good friends. William was fun, pleasant and did not rush us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good as always. Service was a little slow between courses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was a great experience. The waiter was a little too pushy on the sale of the bottle of wine . It would have happened, had that not had happened.

He was very attentive. Great service. They let us stay past operating hours. That was great.

Sam

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was okay but overpriced - more gimmick than taste. One experience is enough

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible, our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful as he explained everything to us before we ordered, the drinks were so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

While we love Melting Pot unfortunately at this particular one after repeatedly reminding the waiter my wife had a major gluten allergy she was still exposed to gluten and ended up violently ill.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I enjoyed the food and service and price. We were three people and the setting was was just fine.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my husband and I first experience at the Melting Pot. We went with friends who had been before. We were able to just sit and talk without rushing through dinner. We loved it and will do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Melting Pot never disappoints! The food was delicious and our waiter Deron was very kind and attentive!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As a first timer to fondue, this was a great experience. I had lots of questions and the server answered them pretty well. The server usally has to go far for a 20% tip however i gladly gave it to her. The food was of good quality and the flavors were amazing. Good variety with plenty of different choices. The low lighting and soft jazz music gave the restaurant a romantic feel. I will definitely be going back in the future. Price was very reasonable when comparaed to other fine dining restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good however the wait time between courses was quite long. We had a four course meal and twice we had to wait 20-30 minutes between courses.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal. We were celebrating my daughter's last night visiting from out of state. The service was impeccable (thank you , Daniel), the food was incredible and the overall experience was just delightful. Such a unique way to share dinner and conversation. We'll sneak back just for the chocolate dessert fondue very soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful service and wonderful food! Pricey, but worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the event menu was too restrictive, the green goddess was not the usual flavorful sauce, the pork was also not up to par, however worst of all was the strawberry shortcake desert fondue. tasted like nesquick

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome New Year's Eve menu presented by a server with a great attitude!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed eating dinner here on New Year's Eve. It was louder and busier than usual because of the holiday. I didn't like the preset menu as much or the $70 pp

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service was very good. We will be going back . The New Years Eve special menu was outstanding and well presented. Great flavors from the broth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

NYE with the boyfriend. Very private table, perfect amount of attention from server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place, the fondues are awesome. Maybe I'll like a little more options in the menu. Also, for the prices, I'll like an ambiance a little more up-scale.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great. Nicholas, our waiter, was spot on. Not pushy, very enthusiastic and made our experience fabulous. Love the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was excellent and perfectly timed. Our server was so good! Prix fixe menu was just what we needed as first timers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrating a 7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic place, service and food, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Ambiance is very romantic and quiet. Had a great server and the food was worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Although the melting pot is quite expensive, it is worth the money for a special occasion or date. The food is very tasty and the waiter did a great job of explaining. This is a 4 course resturaunt. Its not fast, it is meant to be enjoyed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall, very nice; great food and good service. Open Table corrected a problem claiming I had no showed for the reservation; I cleared this up through proof of a receipt showing I had spent about $120 including tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great, I believe the service can make or breaks a meal and our service wasn't that outstanding. She was very slow and didn't take care of us that well. We had to request for our drinks to be refilled and she didn't help others get to know how the menu worked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Annie was delightful! The cheese and dessert courses are always amazing but the entree meat fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My server was subpar. I've been to this Melting Pot quite a few times and every time I've had an awesome experience except for this time. I brought two friends who had never been there and expected our server to explain the process just as they had done every time I had attended before. She seemed unenthused. She wasn't friendly or inviting. She reccomended a cheese for us and it was terrible. I don't think it was made correctly as it tasted only of wine. I was embarrassed because I had talked it up so much to my friends and then we were all let down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.