About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

KIDS EAT FREE EVERY SUNDAY!

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

KIDS EAT FREE EVERY SUNDAY!

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Bring the entire family for an experience you can really appreciate. Every Sunday, kids entree's are FREE!* with the purchase of each adult entree. Additional children's entrees are just $8.95, so bring their fondue buddies, too. Excludes Tax and Tip. *Valid only for kids 12 and under with purchase of an adult entree. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Jan 31, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Our Valentine's Day menu is a pre-fixe four-course experience with packages starting at $134.95 per couple. Reservations are being taken in house only.

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fun (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was absolutely incredible, our ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was absolutely incredible, our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful as he explained everything to us before we ordered, the drinks were so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the food and service and price ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I enjoyed the food and service and price. We were three people and the setting was was just fine.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my husband and I first experien ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my husband and I first experience at the Melting Pot. We went with friends who had been before. We were able to just sit and talk without rushing through dinner. We loved it and will do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Melting Pot never disappoints! The f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Melting Pot never disappoints! The food was delicious and our waiter Deron was very kind and attentive!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a first timer to fondue, this was a g ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As a first timer to fondue, this was a great experience. I had lots of questions and the server answered them pretty well. The server usally has to go far for a 20% tip however i gladly gave it to her. The food was of good quality and the flavors were amazing. Good variety with plenty of different choices. The low lighting and soft jazz music gave the restaurant a romantic feel. I will definitely be going back in the future. Price was very reasonable when comparaed to other fine dining restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good however the wait time betw ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good however the wait time between courses was quite long. We had a four course meal and twice we had to wait 20-30 minutes between courses.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely amazing meal. We were celebr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal. We were celebrating my daughter's last night visiting from out of state. The service was impeccable (thank you , Daniel), the food was incredible and the overall experience was just delightful. Such a unique way to share dinner and conversation. We'll sneak back just for the chocolate dessert fondue very soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and wonderful food! Pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful service and wonderful food! Pricey, but worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the event menu was too restrictive, the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the event menu was too restrictive, the green goddess was not the usual flavorful sauce, the pork was also not up to par, however worst of all was the strawberry shortcake desert fondue. tasted like nesquick

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Awesome New Year's Eve menu presented by ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome New Year's Eve menu presented by a server with a great attitude!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed eating dinner here on New Yea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed eating dinner here on New Year's Eve. It was louder and busier than usual because of the holiday. I didn't like the preset menu as much or the $70 pp

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

New Years Eve

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was very good. We will ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service was very good. We will be going back . The New Years Eve special menu was outstanding and well presented. Great flavors from the broth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE with the boyfriend. Very private tab ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

NYE with the boyfriend. Very private table, perfect amount of attention from server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place, the fondues are awesome ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place, the fondues are awesome. Maybe I'll like a little more options in the menu. Also, for the prices, I'll like an ambiance a little more up-scale.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Nicholas, our waiter, w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great. Nicholas, our waiter, was spot on. Not pushy, very enthusiastic and made our experience fabulous. Love the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and perfectly time ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was excellent and perfectly timed. Our server was so good! Prix fixe menu was just what we needed as first timers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating a 7

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrating a 7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday dinner

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place, service and food, never ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic place, service and food, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance is very romantic and quiet. Had ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Ambiance is very romantic and quiet. Had a great server and the food was worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the melting pot is quite expens ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Although the melting pot is quite expensive, it is worth the money for a special occasion or date. The food is very tasty and the waiter did a great job of explaining. This is a 4 course resturaunt. Its not fast, it is meant to be enjoyed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, very nice; great food and good ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall, very nice; great food and good service. Open Table corrected a problem claiming I had no showed for the reservation; I cleared this up through proof of a receipt showing I had spent about $120 including tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, I believe the service ca ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great, I believe the service can make or breaks a meal and our service wasn't that outstanding. She was very slow and didn't take care of us that well. We had to request for our drinks to be refilled and she didn't help others get to know how the menu worked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Annie was delightful! The cheese and des ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Annie was delightful! The cheese and dessert courses are always amazing but the entree meat fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My server was subpar. I've been to this ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My server was subpar. I've been to this Melting Pot quite a few times and every time I've had an awesome experience except for this time. I brought two friends who had never been there and expected our server to explain the process just as they had done every time I had attended before. She seemed unenthused. She wasn't friendly or inviting. She reccomended a cheese for us and it was terrible. I don't think it was made correctly as it tasted only of wine. I was embarrassed because I had talked it up so much to my friends and then we were all let down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and atmosphere were pe ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were perfect for a date night. The candles and roses really set did.make a difference. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been for a while and wanted so ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We hadn't been for a while and wanted something different for my daughter-in-law's BD. We had a group of 6 which gave us 2 pot options. We selected the 4 course which was too much food for us, but wanted the experience. Everyone had a great time. Food was quick to come and staff was friendly and attentive. Be prepared that this isn't a quick meal. We did find that you could have some of the options as stand alone which I wasn't aware. You can just come in for the cheese fondue and drinks or the dessert fondue as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very polite and professio ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The server was very polite and professional, however, there was over 30 minutes of wait time between each course. Even though the food was good the wait time would keep me from visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We are regulars at the Melting Pot and e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We are regulars at the Melting Pot and enjoyed the experience as usual. Our server Rio did an excellent job and his timing was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited the melting pot fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I visited the melting pot for our 10th anniversary. Everything was delicious and I would give 5 stars all around except that near the end of our meal our waiter started taking way too long to bring our dessert and forgot that we ordered coffee.

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food, as always, was fantastic, my husba ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food, as always, was fantastic, my husband and I ate so much, the servers tho leave some to be desired. This visit the male server would not listen or take any orders from my husband, last time with a female server, she refused to listen or take orders from me, so this seems to be an ongoing issue. Overall was fun and enjoyable

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Horrible waiter

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Horrible waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Potatoes, celery and carrot did not work ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Potatoes, celery and carrot did not work for fondue. Chicken was too dry. Shrimp and beef best choices. Loved smores for dessert.

Tags: Fireplace, Dancing, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A place suitable for a birthday celebra ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A place suitable for a birthday celebration or a quiet, intimate dinner. The food is cooked to satisfaction, because you are the cook. They have multiple fondue choices for all food courses. A great evening spent in a slowly paced meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time visiting the Melting Pot, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our first time visiting the Melting Pot, it was my birthday. Great service and good food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 22nd birthday on Halloween. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It was my 22nd birthday on Halloween. I had a reservation and everything went smoothly. After ordering our food, it took about 20-30 minutes in between each of the 4 courses to receive the next course. The reservation was at 6pm, we were seated at about 6:30pm (others arrived late, not the fault of the restaurant or hostess), and we left a little after 9:30pm. We were absolutely not planning nor expecting to get out so late with how few people were inside seated and coming in. We were never told why the waiter had been taking so long and forgetting things like drinks besides blaming it on the food not coming out on time. Other waiters were passing our table numerous times, so it makes me doubtful that the food was the real issue. My mom asked the waiter if there was anything special they did for birthdays, and the waiter said he would arrange it after dessert. Instead of doing that, he told a different waiter to give us our check and we never saw our original waiter. Our waiter told us he had been a waiter for quite some time in general at different places for years, but the service did not demonstrate the experience nor the consideration. Either have less important tasks assigned to him while he should be waiting his tables, or provide general new staff longer and personalized training. The food was delicious. Thank you for being open and slow on my birthday. I will come back, but it will take a few years for that location in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall experience was well however havi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Overall experience was well however having made a reservation through open table did not seem to matter, we still had to wait longer than expected. This was upsetting being it was a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We one chocolate covered strawberries at ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We one chocolate covered strawberries at the balloon pop but they were out of stock! !!! Overall we love this place but they should of offered something else. We left with nothing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was disappointed in the Halloween kid-fr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was disappointed in the Halloween kid-friendly lunch. Was seated in an isolated table...the servers (that we saw) did not have on costumes...thought it was going to be more of a Halloween party feel. Would have loved Halloween decorations and Halloween songs. They did give children a treat bag with some candy...but overall...very disappointing...not at all what it was advertised to be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.