About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
Yin & Yang

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
2 More
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

special occasion (90)
romantic (83)
good for groups (32)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
notable wine list (22)
late-night find (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My fourth time here, it never lets me do ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

My fourth time here, it never lets me down. I love the themed meals for couple's. From top to bottom all 4 courses were perfect. We did the San Antonio night out, our waiter was great and the ambiance was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience am a big fan of the Mel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Experience am a big fan of the Melting Pot and will definitely keep coming.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely ask for Kaleb! Best service e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Definitely ask for Kaleb! Best service ever! The hostess staff were rude but once past that stand everything was excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we walked in the staff was ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From the time we walked in the staff was present and very friendly. I loved the interaction and table side presentations. Everything felt very personal. As a couple with kids, my husband and I don't get many date nights, so when we do we want them to be interesting, delicious, and generally worth the effort. We were able to talk and it felt very intimate. The drinks were very good, including one of the signature Food Across America drinks, and the food was quite good as well. It seemed a bit on the high end, but we both walked away unable to complete dessert in our 4 course meal. Also, what we realized was that 3 alcoholic drinks and a coke came out to just over $40. Higher than usual, but we chocked it up to part of the overall experience. And we really did enjoy it, and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we were let into the establishment, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

When we were let into the establishment, we believe the Manager was not appropriately dressed as his shirt was not tucked in. In my opinion if the staff is not ready, take the added minute to make sure you are tidy beforehand, especially if you are the Manager and opening g the place for the evening. The food selection was well presented and tasted great on our Four Course Experiences but too expensive to choose as a regular place to have a quiet dinner without having a special occasion to do so. Overall, this establishment appears to be outdated and needs some attention. Additionally, we sat at a table next to the class wine cellar and could see dust and dirty glass on the other side in the bar area.

Our waitress on the other hand, really shined. She was super polite and made us feel comfortable while explaining everything. I really think she went out of her way to bring my partner a piece of rice crispy treat with a birthday candle in it on a plate with Happy Birthday written in Chocolate on it. A way more personal option than if I had ordered the Birthday ballon bouquet for him at an additional $20.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

As always, the food was fantastic and th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic and the service was great. Hope to continue going there for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice but pricey dining experience ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A very nice but pricey dining experience. Overall, good experience with good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited this Melting Pot while travel ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We visited this Melting Pot while traveling in San Antonio. We always enjoy the experience of the Melting Pot, but this one really great. Our waiter, Kaleb, was outstanding. He was very good at explaining new items on the menu and was very attentive. My wife and I had the four course meal and our daughter, a very picky eater, had the kid's menu. It takes upward of two hours to dine and nearly $120 for the three of us, but for a special occasion it is worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining experience was fun. I have en ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The dining experience was fun. I have enjoyed the Melting Pot experience with my children for many years. Now that they are adults, they still choose the Melting Pot for their special celebrations: birthdays, graduations, etc.

Honestly, the food is delicious -- but there is just too much of it! I was so stuffed and miserable when I left. I need to figure out a way we can enjoy the restaurant without eating WAY too much!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Tori was awesome!!! She did s ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server Tori was awesome!!! She did so great!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and entree food were HORRIBLE!!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service and entree food were HORRIBLE!!!! Our waitress was very unfriendly and uninviting, she wasn't helpful in any way. The food was not fresh my son had a bad allergic reaction and food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything went well. First time visitor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything went well. First time visitor. Angel was our waiter. Very attentive and did an excellent job.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot provides a distinctive d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The Melting Pot provides a distinctive dining experience that may be best left for special occasions, so that one does not spoil oneself and can continue to fully appreciate it.

The interior design, quite surroundings, and the opportunity to cook your food at your own pace together contribute to creating a truly intimate atmosphere for a couple or small group. The sauces that complement the meat, chicken, and seafood are superb. The flavors and textures of the dessert course are all that one could want, or stand, given the mixture of chocolate dipping sauces, fruit, and cake.

The price is not what the average person would want to spend on a regular basis, but, as indicated, eating at this restaurant is to be savored slowly. If one could afford to go often, then I think that would make it seem less special that it is.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have many visited San Antonio restaura ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have many visited San Antonio restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service, sub par food. Took abo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Horrible service, sub par food. Took about three hours to get out of that place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was excellent. Our server wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable about the fondue cooking options and made sure to walk us through the menu to make our experience an easy one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Melting Pot has never disappointed me! I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Melting Pot has never disappointed me! It's such a unique experience and is definetly a place I recommend for all occassions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was right on point. Love ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The experience was right on point. Love love love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our waiter was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter was very efficient and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff but the food was only ok

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff was super friendly but the food was only ok. The cheese lacked flavor and takes forever to heat so don't go hungry.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and experience. I had the fou ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food and experience. I had the four course meal, with the French quarter as the main entrée. It was a bit over-seasoned, but still delicious. Dessert is always the best part of the mean, even when it's gluten-free (especially the brownies).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

birthday girl

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked my reservations a week in advance by phone. Girl told me all the cost and I was told by a friend about a Bachelorette party she threw and how there was a discount. It's called petite one. I was going to have at least 12 people in my party. The person over the phone failed to mention we would not be seated until everyone arrived or at least 5. Reservation was for 8 didn't get seats until almost 9. We had plans to go out afterwards. Plans ruined because someone couldn't informed me of this. Overall service was good and food. I'll be coming back for girls night out but now I know what to expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and excellent service but ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service but be prepared for the table of people who think they're the only ones celebrating an occasion and the restaurant won't tell them to stop shouting (literally) over each other. It's been 20 years since my last visit and will probably be a long time before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My daughter wanted to check this place o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My daughter wanted to check this place out for her 15th birthday. We had a GREAT time, and Nikki, our watresss, was phenomenal! We will definitely come back for another fun date/occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot was great, our server was polite and professional, we were celebrating my wife's birthday. We ordered the 3 course meal which was great, the only issue i have are the portions of food, I appreciate the quality of the food, but I feel the quantities of portions of food on the main entrees could be better, other than that our experience dining was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance was Perfect . We enjoyed the food and had fun at the Same time. Can't wait to Go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night dream

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server, Tyler was phenomenal. The ambiance was perfect for an overdue date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and very informati ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was great and very informative, the server was very polite and made great recommendations. The General Manager went above and beyond and made the evening better with a special wine selection for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The select Holiday menus are great bc yo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The select Holiday menus are great bc you get a variety of different food to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and food. Service is al ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience and food. Service is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Something everyone need to experience at ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Something everyone need to experience at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday dinner for two!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and the kind of experience I hoped for! We celebrated my moms birthday and mothers day with great food and lots of laughter!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be Wit ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be With You" night...very cool idea. "Normal" nights are just as impressive across the board: service, food, ambiance...ask for Matthews section...he takes care of his people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Its all about the experience

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

This was our Silver Anniversary, so we wanted something special. The price may seem scary for the budget conscious, but you're buying more than a meal, you're experiencing an event. From cocktail and appetizer selection, through the meal, and into dessert, it is the literal sharing of the meal that makes this a worthy evening. Our server, Annie, was a confident tour guide, helping us navigate our way through the evening. What could have been more daunting, she made seamless.

We'll likely go again for our next celebratory event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Romantic/Fondue and dessert is amazing!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The fondue was great but boiling meat not my thing! They started with the cheese fondue which was delicious and then moved to a salad. When the meat was brought out it was raw on a plate. You have to boil it and cook it for 2 minutes. I have to say I like my meat grilled or seared but not boiled unless it is a soup. We liked that we experienced it but if you like meat (not boiled) it won't be for you unless you go for cocktails, fondue and dessert! The service was awesome and they even seated us earlier than the reservation.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Prom date spot

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here as a pre prom date and was not disappointed. The waitress was extremely friendly and helpful. She steered us along the best path making plenty of suggestions and giving helpful information. On the expensive side though so its not the type of place you would just go for any occasion. Definitely recommend it as something new and fun to do.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Place for Dates

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I have been here twice and always get great service. It is a place to get to know someone and you can make the fondue very fun my dipping and dropping it lol. It's a joyful place with a great vibe. If you've never been to the 2 for $80 because you get a variety of meats. I'm definitely going again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!! Even with dietary restrictions!!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I ate here for the first time and LOVED it!! I have celiac disease so am gluten free, and he is not. We had reviewed the menu beforehand to ensure I could eat, and were happily surprised. The waiter and staff were very accommodating and knowledgable about my special needs and took extra special precautions to prevent any cross contamination with gluten. Had a great experience, enjoyed the food (more than the alcoholic beverages) and will certainly go again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 13th anniversary

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

HonestlY I had my doubts, but as the evening progressed I was amazed! The restaurant was clean and quiet, probably not the place for babies, or small children. But perfect for a quiet date night. The food was spectacular, the waitress did a wonderful job explaining how things worked. She was the perfect waitress. Some waiters tend to hover, or ignore you. She was the perfect between. Not to intrusive, but she kept our glasses full! Would definitely recommend to anyone, and will certainly be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Place to Dine

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy coming to The Melting Pot on special occasions. The food is always fantastic and the service has always been top notch. This is my favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.