Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 2.58mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 2.58mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 2.58mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 2.58mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.85mi

About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Entertainment:
We offer a unique, interactive dining experience like no other.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Fun (29)
Cozy (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Casual (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

My wife was super trilled and enjoyed every dip of the moment. Will definitely dip again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had a fantastic time and our waitress made our evening more enjoyable. Love coming to the Melting Pot.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

The manager was mean to my mom. Everyone else was nice. The waitress was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

New menu, we were able to move through the courses at a great pace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

all in all it was a new experience, great night out and can't wait to do it again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This place was definitely a let down. I went with three friends for my birthday and it was honestly a waste of money. For 50.00 I would expect our second course to arrive way sooner then it did. It took us 2.5 hours to go from the cheese to salad course only because we complained. Our server seemed to be drunk or high. Overall I will probably never go back. We got there at 8:30 and the whole meal to 4 hours

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat....don't be in a hurry you will be there for a while enjoying the cooking. Staff very knowledgeable on menu and made great suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Second time having Rio as our waiter and he’s the best you could ask for. Food was also great, as usual, and the setting was very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very disappointing experience. We will not go back. We were sat at a back section of the restaurant that wasn't even apart of the restaurant. It was a hallway they squeezed a couple of booths into just to have more tables. The booth had walls all the wall up to the ceiling and faced the wall, so you are squeezed into this small cube with no room. The booth was a small corner booth for 2 with one entrance where you had to slide around the seat. Under the table was this large metal bar (joining the booth to the table), so you couldn't put you legs under the table properly. My husband had to keep his legs in the isle just to sit.

If that wasn't bad enough, the meal took 3 hours...not because we took our time, but because the restaurant brought us the wrong meal so we had to wait for them to redo our order. We sat in-between our courses for a good 15 min before they brought the next course.

The bread was hard as a rock and old...but the best part was that because of the horrible booth that had no ventilation of open circulation...there was no place for air to go. This means as we cooked in our fondue pot, the steam had absolutely no place to go...so it went directly in our faces the entire time. I physically had to keep waving the steam out of our faces just to see. The waiter finally turned down the burner to help it a little but could only turn it down a little so that the food could still cook.

Absolutely would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was fun for something different, but the service took forever. Our reservation was at 6:15 and we didn't get to leave until 11pm! It took much to long between food settings. However the food was good, pricey but good, and our server was knowledgeable. It was definitely a unique experience and I really enjoyed my birthday dinner overall. The Melting Pot team even left me a nice birthday card at my table, signed by the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My 11 year old son wanted to have a family dinner at the melting pot for his birthday - it was just four of us and we were seated in a cozy booth. He loved everything and we had a great time interacting over dinner as we shared cheese, salads and delicious steak, chicken, and shrimp. Our server told us about a "secret menu" item for dessert: the Snickers chocolate fondue. Omg, amazing. She refilled all our dipping items several times and was super helpful and friendly throughout the entire meal. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was the second time eating here. This was the second time we just felt abandoned by the inexperienced, less than professional waitstaff. There is so much potential in this place, which makes it even more of a disappointment. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Taurie made our first experience very fun and memorable! Loved her and won’t mind having her again as our waitress ❤️

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was our 5th year wedding anniversary. Our waitress was clumsy and a bit odd. She spilled our hot broth onto the cook top and table. She just walked away. She also allowed the chocolate fondue to get too hot such that I had to turn off the cook top myself even though she said she would be back to do so. My wife is deathly allergic to bananas and we told our server. Not even 5 minutes go by and she brings the dessert dippers to include a large portion of sliced bananas. Aside from these issues, it was still a memorable celebration and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very Over priced for the food quality and service . Food was just okay and service wasn’t what I expected for an $85 dinner . Dessert was the best part . I would recommend eating dinner somewhere else and going to the melting pot for a cool dessert .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was good but in the past we have had waiters that had better personality, and made the experience even better. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

This was our first time at the Melting Pot and we were so disappointed. I had heard wonderful reviews so took my mother here for her birthday. We got the 4 course experience. First with the cheese, it was nothing out of this world. It was good but not something fantastic. The salad was decent but again, nothing spectacular. The main entree was terrible. We were so overwhelmed and lost as to how to prepare the food. The server explained it to us but it was so rushed. I ended up not even eating half of the meat. Also there was a lack of variety in the sides. We had a young child with us and he wasn’t a fan of the veggies or potatoes so didn’t really have much to eat aside from the chicken. The chocolate was the best part. All together, we feel that we wasted a lot of money and time for food that was subpar. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Overall, a great place to eat. Excellent food and service. We would return and order again. The $59 deal for two via the postcard mailing is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I made this reservation to celebrate our 7th anniversary and the experience was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Boiling main entrée. Was not expecting to personally boil said dinner if one is into that sort of thing. Great service though. Waitress was extremely patient with explaining the process. Manager checked up on us. Cleanliness wasn't too bad aside from the old lady acquiring some type of sticky substance on her hand from the booth at initial seating. Took about two hours from start to finish if you have the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fun spot that allows for longer dining experience and nice long conversations with friends and family

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very nice experience. The waiter was great. It was our anniversary and we both enjoyed it. It was unique.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The romantic atmosphere was amazing. They also went above and beyond to help us celebrate our anniversary. The cheese fondue was ok, but the salad and dessert were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good server. Great food and outstanding chocolate! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very intimate, great for a date or anniversary dinner. Definitely not a quick meal, you'll be there for at least 2 hours .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 5, 2017

As always, the food is wonderful and the service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant needs to be updated / remodeled. The experience did not warrant spending that much $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The girl with the curly hair in the pony tail was so nice and friendly also had me laughing all night made me feel welcomed

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was our anniversary and first time there. There was a card there waiting for us wishing us a happy anniversary, which was very nice. Our waiter explained everything to us and was very nice. The food was amazing. We will definitely be going back and the price was just right.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food quality was decent food but iy was very pricey...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The experience was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.........................................................................

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

System went down so we were there for a long time. Longer than we expected they told us just to leave and we gave them our phone number so we could pay.... I wish that we could have got a discount for the trouble that we had to go through

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was delicious and it was such a unique experience. Definitely a place I would go back to!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Restaurant Week menu was a great deal...friendly service and great food. Didn't have the same private/exclusive feel it has had in the past, so definitely request a more private table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent meal, flavorful sauces, nice romantic atmosphere...we have been there before and were not disappointed! It was a Saturday night and I definitely recommend making a reservation and plan on a 2-2 1/2 hour meal if you do all courses.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Beautiful wedding anniversary dinner date. Nice, quiet, great service, wonderful delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Melting Pot was lots of fun. All four of us enjoyed the slow dining experience as we talked and ate through our four course meal. Fondu is our favorite way to converse and eat. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. This is a great place not only for special occasions but for catching up while enjoying nice wine and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We love The Melting Pot and decided to try the special Restaurant Week menu. The cheese fondue dippers didn't make sense. It was called Chicago deep dish cheese fondue, but the dippers were celery, carrots, apples. It just didn't make sense. They could have changed the dippers to match. It could have included mushrooms, black olives, zucchini, and perhaps chunks of pepperoni or Italian sausage. They missed the boat with that one. Also, do not like that we have to request cocktail sauce now before we arrive. What kind of restaurant serves shrimp without that?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.