About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
Yin & Yang

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

special occasion (87)
romantic (86)
good for groups (32)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (18)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything went well. First time visitor ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything went well. First time visitor. Angel was our waiter. Very attentive and did an excellent job.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I have many visited San Antonio restaura ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have many visited San Antonio restaurants.

food1
ambience1
service1

Horrible service, sub par food. Took abo ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Horrible service, sub par food. Took about three hours to get out of that place!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. Our server wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable about the fondue cooking options and made sure to walk us through the menu to make our experience an easy one.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was right on point. Love ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The experience was right on point. Love love love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our waiter was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter was very efficient and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Friendly staff but the food was only ok

Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff was super friendly but the food was only ok. The cheese lacked flavor and takes forever to heat so don't go hungry.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and experience. I had the fou ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food and experience. I had the four course meal, with the French quarter as the main entrée. It was a bit over-seasoned, but still delicious. Dessert is always the best part of the mean, even when it's gluten-free (especially the brownies).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

birthday girl

Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked my reservations a week in advance by phone. Girl told me all the cost and I was told by a friend about a Bachelorette party she threw and how there was a discount. It's called petite one. I was going to have at least 12 people in my party. The person over the phone failed to mention we would not be seated until everyone arrived or at least 5. Reservation was for 8 didn't get seats until almost 9. We had plans to go out afterwards. Plans ruined because someone couldn't informed me of this. Overall service was good and food. I'll be coming back for girls night out but now I know what to expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and excellent service but ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service but be prepared for the table of people who think they're the only ones celebrating an occasion and the restaurant won't tell them to stop shouting (literally) over each other. It's been 20 years since my last visit and will probably be a long time before I return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter wanted to check this place o ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My daughter wanted to check this place out for her 15th birthday. We had a GREAT time, and Nikki, our watresss, was phenomenal! We will definitely come back for another fun date/occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our experience dining at the Melting Pot was great, our server was polite and professional, we were celebrating my wife's birthday. We ordered the 3 course meal which was great, the only issue i have are the portions of food, I appreciate the quality of the food, but I feel the quantities of portions of food on the main entrees could be better, other than that our experience dining was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

How Romatic Our area was . The ambiance was Perfect . We enjoyed the food and had fun at the Same time. Can't wait to Go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night dream

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server, Tyler was phenomenal. The ambiance was perfect for an overdue date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and very informati ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was great and very informative, the server was very polite and made great recommendations. The General Manager went above and beyond and made the evening better with a special wine selection for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The select Holiday menus are great bc yo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The select Holiday menus are great bc you get a variety of different food to try.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and food. Service is al ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience and food. Service is always top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Something everyone need to experience at ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Something everyone need to experience at least once.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner for two!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and the kind of experience I hoped for! We celebrated my moms birthday and mothers day with great food and lots of laughter!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be Wit ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Went on May 4th on "May the Forks Be With You" night...very cool idea. "Normal" nights are just as impressive across the board: service, food, ambiance...ask for Matthews section...he takes care of his people!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Its all about the experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was our Silver Anniversary, so we wanted something special. The price may seem scary for the budget conscious, but you're buying more than a meal, you're experiencing an event. From cocktail and appetizer selection, through the meal, and into dessert, it is the literal sharing of the meal that makes this a worthy evening. Our server, Annie, was a confident tour guide, helping us navigate our way through the evening. What could have been more daunting, she made seamless. We'll likely go again for our next celebratory event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic/Fondue and dessert is amazing!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The fondue was great but boiling meat not my thing! They started with the cheese fondue which was delicious and then moved to a salad. When the meat was brought out it was raw on a plate. You have to boil it and cook it for 2 minutes. I have to say I like my meat grilled or seared but not boiled unless it is a soup. We liked that we experienced it but if you like meat (not boiled) it won't be for you unless you go for cocktails, fondue and dessert! The service was awesome and they even seated us earlier than the reservation.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Prom date spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here as a pre prom date and was not disappointed. The waitress was extremely friendly and helpful. She steered us along the best path making plenty of suggestions and giving helpful information. On the expensive side though so its not the type of place you would just go for any occasion. Definitely recommend it as something new and fun to do.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for Dates

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have been here twice and always get great service. It is a place to get to know someone and you can make the fondue very fun my dipping and dropping it lol. It's a joyful place with a great vibe. If you've never been to the 2 for $80 because you get a variety of meats. I'm definitely going again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!! Even with dietary restrictions!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I ate here for the first time and LOVED it!! I have celiac disease so am gluten free, and he is not. We had reviewed the menu beforehand to ensure I could eat, and were happily surprised. The waiter and staff were very accommodating and knowledgable about my special needs and took extra special precautions to prevent any cross contamination with gluten. Had a great experience, enjoyed the food (more than the alcoholic beverages) and will certainly go again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 13th anniversary

Dined on April 29, 2016

HonestlY I had my doubts, but as the evening progressed I was amazed! The restaurant was clean and quiet, probably not the place for babies, or small children. But perfect for a quiet date night. The food was spectacular, the waitress did a wonderful job explaining how things worked. She was the perfect waitress. Some waiters tend to hover, or ignore you. She was the perfect between. Not to intrusive, but she kept our glasses full! Would definitely recommend to anyone, and will certainly be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Place to Dine

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy coming to The Melting Pot on special occasions. The food is always fantastic and the service has always been top notch. This is my favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Need better choices of dipping sauces fo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Need better choices of dipping sauces for meat. But it was a fun experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Waitress very personable

Dined on April 23, 2016

Waitress very personable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-concert cheese & chocolate

Dined on April 22, 2016

We always love MP. Our waiter was excellent, recognized that we had been there before, and helped us get creative. Great night!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 22, 2016

Its a unique dining experience Good for special occasions. Food was also good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was fantastic, but pricey. Kinda noisy with a lot of little kids. Maybe it would be quieter after 7. Would have preferred more intimate seating, but then again I didn't ask.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service5

Had to cook my own food. Why?? All that ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Had to cook my own food. Why?? All that good meat ruined in a fondue dish.

food5
ambience5
service5

We always get the 4 course menu. Seems t ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We always get the 4 course menu. Seems to be the best for your buck. Fiesta cheese is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for to tje wonderful staff!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Thank you to the staff at the melting pot for such a memorable anniversary ,we would definitely recommen the melting pot to everyone .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant. One of our favorites ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Awesome restaurant. One of our favorites perfect to escape from the kids and get some alone time or bring the kids to have a fun dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eating at the melting pot is always lots ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Eating at the melting pot is always lots of fun it's a romantic experience and the leisurely courses just add to it!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was iur first time. I took my husba ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

This was iur first time. I took my husband for his birthday and they had a birthday card, signed by all the staff, waiting. It was a nice surprise. Our server was very knowledgeable, experienced, helpful & friendly. We didn't know what to expect but the food was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go for a different dining ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place to go for a different dining experience. The waitstaff was very helpful and professional. It was my teenage son's first time to the restaurant and he really enjoyed himself. I definitely will come back again for a meal or to enjoy the chocolate fondue

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Dessert and Drinks

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food isn't really worth going for, but it is a fun experience to try once. The chocolate fondue and drinks are well worth it though. I highly recommend this place for drinks and desserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.