About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
Yin & Yang

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
3 More
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (87)
Good for Groups (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Late-night Find (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They always go above and beyond. I love ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

They always go above and beyond. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server, Ross was excellent is explai ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Ross was excellent is explaining the menu and assisting us. He was very friendly, professional and attentive to my wife and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister & I went for Restaurant Week. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

My sister & I went for Restaurant Week. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. He explained every cooking style to us in detail so that we could make the right decision as to what we wanted. The food was excellent. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful evening. Blanche Bongiorno

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue was lots of fun! The service was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fondue was lots of fun! The service was excellent. We walked in and waddled out. My husband said that he was "Thanksgiving full". The rocky road dessert fondue was incredible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had NO idea we were to prepare our ow ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had NO idea we were to prepare our own food in a pot! Disappointed!!!! And, then it seemed it took FOREVER!?!?! We landed up dumping everything in the pot at the end!?! Then, the best part of the dining experience was the desert and we hardly even got any chocolate in the fondue pot? Unlike the Cheese? We had so much leftover fruit, deserts, to still dip? But, then again, maybe that is done intentionally so that we would have to purchase "another"

chocolate fondue? " Sadly, never again ...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

I loved the melting pot both times me an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I loved the melting pot both times me and my fiancé have visited. The food was great! A little pricey but it's worth it! Split meals to make it more affordable, definitely would recommend it to all my family and friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waiter, Matthew did a great job! The ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Matthew did a great job! The food is always perfection and their new gluten free menu items made my dining experience exponentially better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at The Melting Pot ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dining experience at The Melting Pot was great. The service was wonderful and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been to the Melting Pot, so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have never been to the Melting Pot, so restaurant week was a perfect opportunity to try it for a reasonable price. Our server, Yesenia, was attentive and helpful. Overall the food was good. The ceviche salad was ok. The best part was definitely the cheese fondue! If was a fun experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at The Melting P ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time at The Melting Pot. It did not disappoint! From the time we walked in everyone was nice and friendly. Our table was ready when we arrived. Angel was our server. He was most gracious and knowledgeable. He explained everything in detail and answered all of our questions. He knew just how long to leave the table for us to enjoy and when to return with the next course. He was fantastic!! We thought it was quite a bit of food for the price. Plan on returning soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and fantastic food! J ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic service and fantastic food! John was great and helped make a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, relaxed environment. We stuck with ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fun, relaxed environment. We stuck with the 3 course meal, as the full 4 course meal is a lot of food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I liked the atmosphere of the Melting Po ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I liked the atmosphere of the Melting Pot. It was relaxed yet nice enough to find it romantic. It was a little pricey but very nice for a special occasion. I will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Although pricey and a bit time consuming ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although pricey and a bit time consuming (self cooking involved) the quality of ingredients is very good and the flavor profiles are great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall the food was great. We went wit ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Overall the food was great. We went with the 4 course meal and it was perfect. It was fun cooking our food and trying all the different sauces. You will not leave this place hungry! Service was great, the waiter went over everything and had a great upbeat personality.

Dinner last for a while so make sure you give yourself enough time here to enjoy everything. We were there for about 2 hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very special occasion. We wer ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a very special occasion. We were a table of 4. We each got the four course meal. Our server was amazingly helpful and kind. She even let us try 2 different dessert fondue styles since my brother and I couldn't decide. I really love this place, but since it's so pricey, its definitely a special place for special moments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy coming to the melting pot ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I always enjoy coming to the melting pot for a special occasion. San Antonio's venue has typically been pretty good, although this most recent experience was a bit less than spectacular. Our waiter just seemed awkward and timid, the cheese fondue was thin and we had to request more cheese to it, every time the waiter said "ok your ____ is ready to eat now" it wasn't, usually due to still being just Luke warm. Despite this, he was still friendly and fixed any concerns we had, which we appreciated

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to Melting Pot for special occasio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We go to Melting Pot for special occasions. It's a bit pricey, especially considering you're the one doing the cooking...at the table. But that's part of the fun. The cheese fondues are always interesting, salads are pretty tasty, but the main courses (meats and seafood with various spices are just so-so for me. Unless you get the hot oil option and fry, which I wouldn't recommend with kids(the food gets too hot), you're basically cooking in a broth. Whatever they spice the meat/seafood with tends to come off in the broth, so flavor is really dependent on the "sauces" you put on afterwards. Get plenty of green goddess for the potatoes and mushrooms. Cooking times they give you aren't long enough if everyone is putting three forks of food at the same time. Helps to have a phone stopwatch running to keep an eye on times. The desserts are great, but I'm always full by the time that comes around. I've never left the Melting Pot without feeling stuffed and have always had great service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to the melting pot fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I went to the melting pot for our 24th anniversary. I prearranged our dining and was informed they offered a couple's package that included a private table and a dozen roses and framed couple portrait for $179. The food was excellent and service was great. We sat at our table and took our time to enjoy the evening and the meal. If you don't mind spending the time and sharing the work in cooking your food at the table you can experience a nice evening with great company and food. Our only con was the lighting was actually a little too dark.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My fourth time here, it never lets me do ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My fourth time here, it never lets me down. I love the themed meals for couple's. From top to bottom all 4 courses were perfect. We did the San Antonio night out, our waiter was great and the ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing for dates and spec ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is amazing for dates and special occasions, food is great and dessert omg to die for i 100% recommend this place

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience am a big fan of the Mel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Experience am a big fan of the Melting Pot and will definitely keep coming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely ask for Kaleb! Best service e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Definitely ask for Kaleb! Best service ever! The hostess staff were rude but once past that stand everything was excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we walked in the staff was ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From the time we walked in the staff was present and very friendly. I loved the interaction and table side presentations. Everything felt very personal. As a couple with kids, my husband and I don't get many date nights, so when we do we want them to be interesting, delicious, and generally worth the effort. We were able to talk and it felt very intimate. The drinks were very good, including one of the signature Food Across America drinks, and the food was quite good as well. It seemed a bit on the high end, but we both walked away unable to complete dessert in our 4 course meal. Also, what we realized was that 3 alcoholic drinks and a coke came out to just over $40. Higher than usual, but we chocked it up to part of the overall experience. And we really did enjoy it, and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we were let into the establishment, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

When we were let into the establishment, we believe the Manager was not appropriately dressed as his shirt was not tucked in. In my opinion if the staff is not ready, take the added minute to make sure you are tidy beforehand, especially if you are the Manager and opening g the place for the evening. The food selection was well presented and tasted great on our Four Course Experiences but too expensive to choose as a regular place to have a quiet dinner without having a special occasion to do so. Overall, this establishment appears to be outdated and needs some attention. Additionally, we sat at a table next to the class wine cellar and could see dust and dirty glass on the other side in the bar area.

Our waitress on the other hand, really shined. She was super polite and made us feel comfortable while explaining everything. I really think she went out of her way to bring my partner a piece of rice crispy treat with a birthday candle in it on a plate with Happy Birthday written in Chocolate on it. A way more personal option than if I had ordered the Birthday ballon bouquet for him at an additional $20.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

As always, the food was fantastic and th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic and the service was great. Hope to continue going there for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice but pricey dining experience ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A very nice but pricey dining experience. Overall, good experience with good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited this Melting Pot while travel ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We visited this Melting Pot while traveling in San Antonio. We always enjoy the experience of the Melting Pot, but this one really great. Our waiter, Kaleb, was outstanding. He was very good at explaining new items on the menu and was very attentive. My wife and I had the four course meal and our daughter, a very picky eater, had the kid's menu. It takes upward of two hours to dine and nearly $120 for the three of us, but for a special occasion it is worth it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining experience was fun. I have en ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The dining experience was fun. I have enjoyed the Melting Pot experience with my children for many years. Now that they are adults, they still choose the Melting Pot for their special celebrations: birthdays, graduations, etc.

Honestly, the food is delicious -- but there is just too much of it! I was so stuffed and miserable when I left. I need to figure out a way we can enjoy the restaurant without eating WAY too much!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Tori was awesome!!! She did s ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server Tori was awesome!!! She did so great!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and entree food were HORRIBLE!!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service and entree food were HORRIBLE!!!! Our waitress was very unfriendly and uninviting, she wasn't helpful in any way. The food was not fresh my son had a bad allergic reaction and food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything went well. First time visitor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything went well. First time visitor. Angel was our waiter. Very attentive and did an excellent job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot provides a distinctive d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The Melting Pot provides a distinctive dining experience that may be best left for special occasions, so that one does not spoil oneself and can continue to fully appreciate it.

The interior design, quite surroundings, and the opportunity to cook your food at your own pace together contribute to creating a truly intimate atmosphere for a couple or small group. The sauces that complement the meat, chicken, and seafood are superb. The flavors and textures of the dessert course are all that one could want, or stand, given the mixture of chocolate dipping sauces, fruit, and cake.

The price is not what the average person would want to spend on a regular basis, but, as indicated, eating at this restaurant is to be savored slowly. If one could afford to go often, then I think that would make it seem less special that it is.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have many visited San Antonio restaura ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have many visited San Antonio restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service, sub par food. Took abo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Horrible service, sub par food. Took about three hours to get out of that place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was excellent. Our server wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable about the fondue cooking options and made sure to walk us through the menu to make our experience an easy one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Melting Pot has never disappointed me! I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Melting Pot has never disappointed me! It's such a unique experience and is definetly a place I recommend for all occassions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was right on point. Love ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The experience was right on point. Love love love this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our waiter was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter was very efficient and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff but the food was only ok

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff was super friendly but the food was only ok. The cheese lacked flavor and takes forever to heat so don't go hungry.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.