About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
The Melting Pot - San Antonio
Yin & Yang

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
1 More
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (74)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was for my birthday and the experie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was for my birthday and the experience was great. Everyone in the party enjoyed the great food, the fun of fondue and the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience...great food, outs ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal experience...great food, outstanding service. My only 2 complaints: lighting was extremely poor (like sitting in the dark), and smoke/steam from the boiling pots (actually had us both coughing) because there weren't any vents.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My first time at the Melting Pot. I wil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

My first time at the Melting Pot. I will definitely go back. It is a unique and fun experience. The constant changes to your pallet are great conversation topics. I enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my 2nd time at this restaurant ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my 2nd time at this restaurant but this time I Made a reservation for my fiancé who had been wanted to try it. When I arrived the table was not ready and they made us wait 20 mins. Sat at the bar and got 2 drinks and when we went to pay them the machine did not work, causing to swipe card several times and we had to check with the bank to not get charged for every swipe. Finally sat down at a cozy table. The waiter was nice and made suggestions. the appetizer was great but the meat in the main course was tasteless! Meat cooked in water with a touch of flavor just isn't good. The dessert was great so props for that, but who doesn't like melted chocolate and fruit. The restaurant smelled TERRIBLE! Like old carpet and dirty feet. Overall not a pleasant experience and I will not return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Unfortunately, old style sauces and too ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Unfortunately, old style sauces and too little cheese in that course with sadly small bread cubes. DITTO, the desert cakelettes.

This was not the exciting, culinary treat that I'd so looked forward to having on my birthday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had a fun experience here at the melti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had a fun experience here at the melting pot. I wish the portion size was a lot bigger for the price. The menu is a bit confusing but our server explained each option adequately. I wasn't fond of the smell of the place and how dark it was. Overall its more of the experience is worth bragging about.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

A different experience. But very good! I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A different experience. But very good! I definitely recommend for an anniversary. You can even order special rose petals and a picture.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for dessert sendand it was amazing! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for dessert sendand it was amazing!!! delicious, great staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pricey, but good food. I would use ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very pricey, but good food. I would use this for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

pricey, but fun overall . Would go back ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

pricey, but fun overall . Would go back for special occasion, but too expensive for more than a couple of times a year, if that. 2 - 4course, 1-3course, 1 kids meal. 2 iced teas and water, tip = 160+

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated my daughter's birthday the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday there and had a fabulous time! Selection of food is great and their variety of dipping sauces are delicious. We had cheese fondue, salads, lobster, scallops, wine and cocktails. Very elegant yet cozy and fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was there to celebrate my 40th birthda ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was there to celebrate my 40th birthday and all of the employees came out to wish me a happy birthday, which was so kind! I loved the card as well! We always have a great time at the Melting Pot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am sure our waiter remembers our surpr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I am sure our waiter remembers our surprise when we learned that we would be cooking our meal at our table. I wasn't sure about boiling meat vs grilled. We had no idea how a meal was prepared, although we have been to the restaurant for dessert dipping. It was our 55th anniversary so getting geared up for a meal that would be brought out already prepared and presented was what we had in mind. I must say our waiter was great, he made sure we understood the menu, etc.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience. Food was outstanding. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great experience. Food was outstanding. Service was great and knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I did not like my meat there. I think ne ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I did not like my meat there. I think next time I'll just get the seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was excellent, patient, and a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server was excellent, patient, and attentive! We were seated right away with iur reservation. Fun for adults and children!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Melting Pot is always a good time, t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Melting Pot is always a good time, the menu is flexible which is great for picky eaters. I took my kids for the first time and they loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Melting Pot is a fantastic place to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Melting Pot is a fantastic place to go for special occasions. My wife and I just went there for our 13th year anniversary, the waitress asked us our occasion for coming out and later on the manager came out and wished us a happy anniversary. It's a very nice change from the normal restaurant because it's an interactive experience that takes longer than just sitting down, ordering and eating. This gives you time to enjoy the company you're with and get into a deep conversation. The quality of the food is amazing looking, it has to be because it's served raw so you'd be able to tell if it wasn't of best quality or old. The waitress we had was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They always go above and beyond. I love ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

They always go above and beyond. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server, Ross was excellent is explai ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our server, Ross was excellent is explaining the menu and assisting us. He was very friendly, professional and attentive to my wife and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister & I went for Restaurant Week. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My sister & I went for Restaurant Week. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. He explained every cooking style to us in detail so that we could make the right decision as to what we wanted. The food was excellent. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful evening. Blanche Bongiorno

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue was lots of fun! The service was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fondue was lots of fun! The service was excellent. We walked in and waddled out. My husband said that he was "Thanksgiving full". The rocky road dessert fondue was incredible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had NO idea we were to prepare our ow ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had NO idea we were to prepare our own food in a pot! Disappointed!!!! And, then it seemed it took FOREVER!?!?! We landed up dumping everything in the pot at the end!?! Then, the best part of the dining experience was the desert and we hardly even got any chocolate in the fondue pot? Unlike the Cheese? We had so much leftover fruit, deserts, to still dip? But, then again, maybe that is done intentionally so that we would have to purchase "another"

chocolate fondue? " Sadly, never again ...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Good & fun. Great value for Restaurant W ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good & fun. Great value for Restaurant Week. The brie and pear cheese fondue was awesome - wish it was a regular menu item. Disappointed in the entree tuna which was smothered in an overly salty Cajun seasoning. No one at our table ate it and there was no offer to remedy it. I also think the new potatoes need to be parboiled a little more. They take way too long to cook. On the plus side - staff knows what are in different items, if they don't, they ask. Tried to work with me on food allergies . Salted caramel dark chocolate fondue great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the melting pot both times me an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I loved the melting pot both times me and my fiancé have visited. The food was great! A little pricey but it's worth it! Split meals to make it more affordable, definitely would recommend it to all my family and friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waiter, Matthew did a great job! The ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Matthew did a great job! The food is always perfection and their new gluten free menu items made my dining experience exponentially better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at The Melting Pot ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dining experience at The Melting Pot was great. The service was wonderful and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been to the Melting Pot, so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have never been to the Melting Pot, so restaurant week was a perfect opportunity to try it for a reasonable price. Our server, Yesenia, was attentive and helpful. Overall the food was good. The ceviche salad was ok. The best part was definitely the cheese fondue! If was a fun experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at The Melting P ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time at The Melting Pot. It did not disappoint! From the time we walked in everyone was nice and friendly. Our table was ready when we arrived. Angel was our server. He was most gracious and knowledgeable. He explained everything in detail and answered all of our questions. He knew just how long to leave the table for us to enjoy and when to return with the next course. He was fantastic!! We thought it was quite a bit of food for the price. Plan on returning soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and fantastic food! J ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic service and fantastic food! John was great and helped make a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, relaxed environment. We stuck with ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fun, relaxed environment. We stuck with the 3 course meal, as the full 4 course meal is a lot of food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I liked the atmosphere of the Melting Po ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I liked the atmosphere of the Melting Pot. It was relaxed yet nice enough to find it romantic. It was a little pricey but very nice for a special occasion. I will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Although pricey and a bit time consuming ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although pricey and a bit time consuming (self cooking involved) the quality of ingredients is very good and the flavor profiles are great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall the food was great. We went wit ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Overall the food was great. We went with the 4 course meal and it was perfect. It was fun cooking our food and trying all the different sauces. You will not leave this place hungry! Service was great, the waiter went over everything and had a great upbeat personality.

Dinner last for a while so make sure you give yourself enough time here to enjoy everything. We were there for about 2 hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very special occasion. We wer ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a very special occasion. We were a table of 4. We each got the four course meal. Our server was amazingly helpful and kind. She even let us try 2 different dessert fondue styles since my brother and I couldn't decide. I really love this place, but since it's so pricey, its definitely a special place for special moments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy coming to the melting pot ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I always enjoy coming to the melting pot for a special occasion. San Antonio's venue has typically been pretty good, although this most recent experience was a bit less than spectacular. Our waiter just seemed awkward and timid, the cheese fondue was thin and we had to request more cheese to it, every time the waiter said "ok your ____ is ready to eat now" it wasn't, usually due to still being just Luke warm. Despite this, he was still friendly and fixed any concerns we had, which we appreciated

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to Melting Pot for special occasio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We go to Melting Pot for special occasions. It's a bit pricey, especially considering you're the one doing the cooking...at the table. But that's part of the fun. The cheese fondues are always interesting, salads are pretty tasty, but the main courses (meats and seafood with various spices are just so-so for me. Unless you get the hot oil option and fry, which I wouldn't recommend with kids(the food gets too hot), you're basically cooking in a broth. Whatever they spice the meat/seafood with tends to come off in the broth, so flavor is really dependent on the "sauces" you put on afterwards. Get plenty of green goddess for the potatoes and mushrooms. Cooking times they give you aren't long enough if everyone is putting three forks of food at the same time. Helps to have a phone stopwatch running to keep an eye on times. The desserts are great, but I'm always full by the time that comes around. I've never left the Melting Pot without feeling stuffed and have always had great service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to the melting pot fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I went to the melting pot for our 24th anniversary. I prearranged our dining and was informed they offered a couple's package that included a private table and a dozen roses and framed couple portrait for $179. The food was excellent and service was great. We sat at our table and took our time to enjoy the evening and the meal. If you don't mind spending the time and sharing the work in cooking your food at the table you can experience a nice evening with great company and food. Our only con was the lighting was actually a little too dark.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My fourth time here, it never lets me do ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My fourth time here, it never lets me down. I love the themed meals for couple's. From top to bottom all 4 courses were perfect. We did the San Antonio night out, our waiter was great and the ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing for dates and spec ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is amazing for dates and special occasions, food is great and dessert omg to die for i 100% recommend this place

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.