About The Melting Pot - San Antonio

14855 Blanco Rd, Suite 110
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, European, French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Blanco and Bitters

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 479-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-antonio/specials

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Sauces - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
House Salad - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Yin & Yang - The Melting Pot - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX

Specials

KIDS EAT FREE EVERY SUNDAY!

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $69.95

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

KIDS EAT FREE EVERY SUNDAY!

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Bring the entire family for an experience you can really appreciate. Every Sunday, kids entree's are FREE!* with the purchase of each adult entree. Additional children's entrees are just $8.95, so bring their fondue buddies, too. Excludes Tax and Tip. *Valid only for kids 12 and under with purchase of an adult entree. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Jan 31, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year fondue style! Indulge in an exclusive prix fixe four-course fondue experience specifically designed for the occasion. $69.95 per person. Regular menu will not be available.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $69.95

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $69.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

The Melting Pot - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
1 More
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (50)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Fun (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Private Room (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We hadn't been for a while and wanted so ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We hadn't been for a while and wanted something different for my daughter-in-law's BD. We had a group of 6 which gave us 2 pot options. We selected the 4 course which was too much food for us, but wanted the experience. Everyone had a great time. Food was quick to come and staff was friendly and attentive. Be prepared that this isn't a quick meal. We did find that you could have some of the options as stand alone which I wasn't aware. You can just come in for the cheese fondue and drinks or the dessert fondue as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very polite and professio ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The server was very polite and professional, however, there was over 30 minutes of wait time between each course. Even though the food was good the wait time would keep me from visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We are regulars at the Melting Pot and e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We are regulars at the Melting Pot and enjoyed the experience as usual. Our server Rio did an excellent job and his timing was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited the melting pot fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I visited the melting pot for our 10th anniversary. Everything was delicious and I would give 5 stars all around except that near the end of our meal our waiter started taking way too long to bring our dessert and forgot that we ordered coffee.

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food, as always, was fantastic, my husba ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food, as always, was fantastic, my husband and I ate so much, the servers tho leave some to be desired. This visit the male server would not listen or take any orders from my husband, last time with a female server, she refused to listen or take orders from me, so this seems to be an ongoing issue. Overall was fun and enjoyable

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Horrible waiter

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Horrible waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Potatoes, celery and carrot did not work ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Potatoes, celery and carrot did not work for fondue. Chicken was too dry. Shrimp and beef best choices. Loved smores for dessert.

Tags: Fireplace, Dancing, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A place suitable for a birthday celebra ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A place suitable for a birthday celebration or a quiet, intimate dinner. The food is cooked to satisfaction, because you are the cook. They have multiple fondue choices for all food courses. A great evening spent in a slowly paced meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time visiting the Melting Pot, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our first time visiting the Melting Pot, it was my birthday. Great service and good food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 22nd birthday on Halloween. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It was my 22nd birthday on Halloween. I had a reservation and everything went smoothly. After ordering our food, it took about 20-30 minutes in between each of the 4 courses to receive the next course. The reservation was at 6pm, we were seated at about 6:30pm (others arrived late, not the fault of the restaurant or hostess), and we left a little after 9:30pm. We were absolutely not planning nor expecting to get out so late with how few people were inside seated and coming in. We were never told why the waiter had been taking so long and forgetting things like drinks besides blaming it on the food not coming out on time. Other waiters were passing our table numerous times, so it makes me doubtful that the food was the real issue. My mom asked the waiter if there was anything special they did for birthdays, and the waiter said he would arrange it after dessert. Instead of doing that, he told a different waiter to give us our check and we never saw our original waiter. Our waiter told us he had been a waiter for quite some time in general at different places for years, but the service did not demonstrate the experience nor the consideration. Either have less important tasks assigned to him while he should be waiting his tables, or provide general new staff longer and personalized training. The food was delicious. Thank you for being open and slow on my birthday. I will come back, but it will take a few years for that location in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall experience was well however havi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Overall experience was well however having made a reservation through open table did not seem to matter, we still had to wait longer than expected. This was upsetting being it was a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We one chocolate covered strawberries at ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We one chocolate covered strawberries at the balloon pop but they were out of stock! !!! Overall we love this place but they should of offered something else. We left with nothing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was disappointed in the Halloween kid-fr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was disappointed in the Halloween kid-friendly lunch. Was seated in an isolated table...the servers (that we saw) did not have on costumes...thought it was going to be more of a Halloween party feel. Would have loved Halloween decorations and Halloween songs. They did give children a treat bag with some candy...but overall...very disappointing...not at all what it was advertised to be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not a big fan of going to place and pay ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Not a big fan of going to place and pay large amouts of money and have to cook my own food.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Great service and a fun concept. The 4-c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service and a fun concept. The 4-course meal was plenty of food and stretched over 2 hours...great for a date and good conversation, but not good if you are in a hurry.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was excellent, as was the wine. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our food was excellent, as was the wine. If our waiter had been only half as bad, I would have given a better rating. He was really really inept at his job.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was fabulous! Thanks Kenneth for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Service was fabulous! Thanks Kenneth for making it so enjoyable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I added the extra experience of rosebuds ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I added the extra experience of rosebuds and a photo which was just perfect for the occassion. Even though we were almost 1/2 hour late to our reservation due to traffic, I called and they eased my mind all was fine. and it was!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for my son's birthday as our ki ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We went for my son's birthday as our kids have a lot of fun with the whole cook your own food thing. Food was good but I feel is way overpriced for what you get and not many options to make it more affordable. Also would have expected much better service for what we paid. For these prices I would have expected our waiter to come by our table much more often to clear away plates, keep the table clean, and keep our drinks filled.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

My experience at this restaurant was gre ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My experience at this restaurant was great!

My date and I ordered the suggested menu - 4 course with wine pairings.

Every course was different and delicious.

One of our protein orders came out of the kitchen incorrect.

The waiter noticed immediately and replaced it.

Overall, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. The raw veggies were lig ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great. The raw veggies were light on count given that 2 of us were sharing. If that was my only gripe, then please consider this a great review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Priced too high for what you get, i.e. p ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Priced too high for what you get, i.e. poor service, ambiance, and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent food and location. Great for a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food and location. Great for any or special occasions. The variety of the food is excellent. Any choice course would really satisfy you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, "ok" food. Spent a couple ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service, "ok" food. Spent a couple hundred dollars for the private dining package. Nothing private about it. We shared a table with another couple, there was only a partition to separate us. Actually had to whisper (and so did the other couple) so that you wouldn't interrupt other diners experience. There would have been more exclusion on the main dining floor. The table was so small that we couldn't have a bouquet of flowers (that came with the package) on the table. Our server had to hold them in the back room because we had no place to set them down. Although the service was good, food was decent I won't be returning. They completely ripped us off with that package.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

We had a great time with the family at M ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a great time with the family at Melting Pot! The fondue is fun and a conversation starter. Of course, the cheese and chocolate can't compare to anything else! I could just go for the cheese! And the chocolate - lol!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my wife here for her birthday. We ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday. We enjoyed the non traditional meal style, the privacy our table gave us, the staff and of course the actual meal. Dinner was a great success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time to The Melting Po ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This was my first time to The Melting Pot. Everyone has always raved about it, so I had high expectations. Service was ok - the waiter seemed uncomfortable & tense with our group. The cheese was cold & we continued to request the heat be turned up. Overall - the ambiance was what we paid for.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We all left there very stuffed and very ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We all left there very stuffed and very satisfied!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A good place, but expensive. We visit fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A good place, but expensive. We visit for special occasions. Be careful about phones that can fall through in between the wall and the booth. However, the staff was great in helping us get a lost device back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

It was good place and food and service t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was good place and food and service thank you so much

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you are seated closest to the kitch ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

When you are seated closest to the kitchen doors, the setting of a nice & private Melting Pot experience goes out the window. Also, when the managers all hang out near said kitchen doors and your table, you feel as though you have eyes on you throughout your dinner. Not a great evening, but a nice one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I really like the melting pot but this l ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I really like the melting pot but this last visit you can definitely tell prices are racked up for smaller portions and low quality meat. Cheese was amazing but got very little vegetables (very small cuts of celery). The salad was underwhelming, it was on a bed of baby spinach instead of mixed greens as it used to be. The chicken was rubbery, the kind you would expect to buy from Perdue or Great Value at Walmart, shrimp and lobster were great. Chocolate was the best part of the experience. I'll still go back but know how to save a few bucks.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lacee was a wonderful, friendly server, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Lacee was a wonderful, friendly server, and we had a blast with her!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So So close to an outstanding dining exp ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

So So close to an outstanding dining experience. We requested a Gluten Free serving since my wife has Celiacs. We received a small portion of veggies in a 2x2 ramekin dish. We asked for some extra veggies and they never showed up. The cook surface were stained with old burned on foods/sauces. The aluminum pots were too hot to manipulate. That's the bad, the good is that the food is very good, not plentiful, but good. Personally suggest the Savory Thai for the entree.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I take my girlfriend here pretty often f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I take my girlfriend here pretty often for dates or just to getaway from work. Everytime we come we are always treated amazingly and the waiter/waitress are always so attentive. The food is delicious and leaves us full everytime. The Melting Pot is just a one of a kind place and my girlfriend and I will continue coming here.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but a bit pricey. I en ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was good but a bit pricey. I enjoyed the cheese fondue and chocolate fondue, but I really disliked having to cook my own main course. For $50 a plate, I don't want to have to do that. The waiter was also a bit clumsy, though nice. I will only return for the chocolate fondue in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Cheese and chocolate what's not to love! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Cheese and chocolate what's not to love! I'm ready to go back and try my second choice options! Also I would schedule through open table, when I called they had late reservations only, open table had a more up to date list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greatest thing is the atmosphere. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The greatest thing is the atmosphere. It is romantic and a great place to take that significant other. We went for our 34th anniversary and as always, very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Love the pace of the meal. At ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Delicious! Love the pace of the meal. At first, I thought it was going to be slow because I was so hungry, but it was the perfect pace to enjoy the food, feel full, and still have an enjoyable conversation. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the sacond Melting Pot we have d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is the sacond Melting Pot we have dined at on seperate holidays. They are First Class. If you get Ross as your table chef/server he is a really great guy.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.