Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today

The Melting Pot

4.3
1598 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 725-4141
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Manager: (314) 725-4141
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kingsland Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30
Additional
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1598 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great experience for a first timer. The length of stay could be sped up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was great! Hubby and I loved it! We recommend this place to anyone for special occasions

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Had reservation at 4:15 and I showed up at 4:05. Had two parties show up at 4:15 and they both got sat with me and they did not have reservations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Would have rated higher but we had a reservation for a table - not a booth - and we still waited over 30 min. Once out name was called, we were seated at a booth! After explaining this was unacceptable the hostess still acted as if it were no big deal and nothing could be done even though the restaurant was more than half empty. After half of my party drove almost 4 hours to dine here and the long wait despite a reservation, we decided to stay. After sitting in the booth for about 20 min the owner came to our table and said he was able to provide us with a regular table if we still wanted to move as well as provide a round of drinks for us. We accepted, had our drinks and meal and was overall satisfied at this point. We got the bill and since we had been there so long we paid and left. Once I got home I realized that round of drinks which was supposed to be complimentary was on our bill and we did in fact pay for it! Too many mistakes Melting Pot! After paying for a $200 dinner plus pre dinner drinks I expect better service than this.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Our waiter was new there was a wait when we arrived already on his tables. Our reservation was at 7:15pm we were seated closer to 7:45. The whole dining experience lasted until almost 11pm so we had to cancel other plans my wife and I made with friends that we had tickets for that we couldn't refund at $45 each. We got Drinks but never offered a refill unless we asked for them. Luckily we had been to a Melting Pot before because we were never told the cooking times of our meat or seafood. I had to ask about vegetables because I couldn't remember. We had to ask bus boy for our skewers and silverware. When we finally received our desert finally dinners almost done.......wrong we got our chocolate however nothing to dip in it. Again we had to ask another member of the wait staff. This visit was so bad that you don't know rather to laugh or cry. We were quite upset when we left because this was supposed to be a special night to celebrate my wife getting her bachelors degree. That night was pretty much ruined, here is my one and only thought if you have a waiter or waitress struggling instead of making the consumer pay the price maybe partner them up with another member of the wait staff to get them the proper training needed. However the manager did give us $11.00 off our bill, almost a slap in the face. Needless to say we will not recommend or revisit this establishment on Delmar Loop considering we drove from Springfield Il for this wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Went for daughter's 13th birthday. Food was good as usual. Server was ok. Seemed new, Didn't really know the menu that well. Otherwise no complaints

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Service is usually excellent! We had a newer server and spoke with the manager who told us they were short 3 to 4 servers. As always though he came table to table to check on everyone and hopped in to bus tables bring drinks and serve food. Always an excellent experience at the Melting Pot on Delmar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This is our go to place when we do not have our kids. It’s such a great place for food and privacy for talking

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Poor service and the food was not as expected.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was awesome! I had been there a couple of times before, but it was my boyfriends first time, and he loved the food. Our service, however, wasnt the best. After we got sat at our table, no one came over to us for 30 minutes. We got our cheese fondue, salads, and entree pretty quick, but we sat for about another 15 minutes before our server even came to ask us about chocolate and then it took about 25 minutes to even get the chocolate. Other than that, our experience was good! We will most likely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food but really slow service! Made it hard to enjoy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was a $225 disappointment. I took my family to the Delmar location prior to a theater event, which we had been planning for six months. I made 5:15 reservations to give us plenty of time to eat and enjoy a fancy night out (which we rarely do). Upon arrival, the owner fumbled with the computer system, and people with 5:30 reservations were seated before us. We weren't seated until 5:35 and had to get a rain check for the dessert portion because we had to leave in time to make the play. The waitstaff did their best to keep things moving, but we simply didn't have enough time. I could see a seating delay at prime time, but there were only 3-4 other parties in the entire restaurant upon opening at 5:00. For the most part, the food was slightly below par as compared to other Melting Pots and the ambiance was incredibly casual with most guests wearing jeans and T-shirts or shorts. It's always been my experience that Melting Pots were a bit more upscale, so it was kind of a surprise to see such a more laid back atmosphere. Overall, we felt really rushed and I doubt I'll ever pick a fondue place again if we have to be somewhere at a specific time for an after-dinner commitment. We don't do fancy meals too often with our budget, and this one was a bust.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The food was so good!!! I loved the cheese fondue!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We did not go for a special occasion. We we just wanted to have a relaxing dinner with good food and a chance to talk in a quiet atmosphere. Our server was awesome! We always love starting with the Ying Yang drinks. After that, you cannot go wrong with whatever your choice is. We had the lobster, shrimp, beef, ... We love the plum sauce, green godess, and gargenzola sauces most. The chocolate turtle fondue sets off the ending of a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Girls trip

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My fiance and I had never been to a Melting Pot, mainly because we're not huge on chain restaurants but we had a gift card to use and it was our last weekend before getting married. We made a reservation and showed up a few minutes early. We were seated about 10 minutes later and the hostess brought us waters, but the actual server didn't show up for another 10-15 minutes. He was very nice and knowledgeable when he was actually at our table, but he didn't check-in on us often enough. Had we known this, we would have ordered everything the first time he stopped by our table, but since it was our first time there and we had no idea even how to order, we asked him to come back in a few minutes. We thought we would be there for 2 hours tops, but it took almost 3 to get out of there. By the time we were finished with the entree and were ready for dessert, we had to ask a busser if he could find our server. We were lucky that the server was passing by as we were talking to the busser, so he was able to see that we were completely finished. We had already stacked up all of our plates and moved them to the end of the table to signal that we were ready for dessert (which we had already ordered 30 minutes before).
The food itself was just okay. I think it's a fun concept, but the fact that the entire table has to agree on the same cheese and how you want your proteins cooked wasn't my favorite. My fiance and I have very different palates and we tried to choose the middle ground and we weren't too impressed because of it.
Unless we were given another gift card or had a group going for a special reason, I wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The cheese fondue was amazing! The chocolate fondue was delicious! Salad fresh. The meat course, I recommend the seafood as the meats are boiled.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

first, the receptionist was rude. Not personable at all. We arrived at 6:15 with reservations for 6:30. The place was empty. But she said we had to wait until 6:30 to be seated. Then we got sat next to a mom and a small baby and grandma. Grandma's phone kept going off. Baby was crying. Then one of our guests bit into a piece of plastic in her salad. She told the busboy. Then owner came over and we told him and he took off her dinner. He was super personable and nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great atmosphere. Food is always delicious w many options. We did the 4 course meal and it was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

First time for The Melting Pot. Food and service was excellent! A fun, quiet dining experience. Love the 4 course option, a delightful taste of all!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

It was awesome. Very romantic. Intimate. Great food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We arrived early for an 8:15 reservation and were told we’d be seated ‘in a few minutes’. There were people waiting there for 7pm reservations that HAD NOT BEEN SEATED still.
We waited an HOUR to be seated, and never were. Many families were upset. Will not recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

If you want the full Melting Pot experience, you need to order the four course experience and plan to spend at least 3 hours in the restaurant. It's usually worth every penny. We've been several times but this last time was a little lacking in the service department. Our server was less attentive than I've had before. The bartenders were very overwhelmed and had a difficult time keeping up with the orders and washing glasses. I think the manager even ended up stepping in to get things rolling again. It was a Saturday night and it was obvious they were short-staffed. We had a 7:15 reservation and ended up being seated closer to 7:45. The food was on point and I left completely stuffed. We'll be back and hope the staffing challenges are addressed by then.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Make sure you have time and good company! This is more for the experience than the food, but the food was good. Great date, if its a first or second date maybe try for dessert. Make a reservation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Server was great. Great cheese and chocolate. Fun. Only complaint: Had a noon reservation. We were first group at the restaurant. Arrived at noon exactly. Had to wait 7-8 minutes to be seated, for no apparent reason.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Service was extremely slow. They said they had a wait staff call in sick.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

nice dinner. food a bit sparse for the money. service was good but could have been a bit more attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Everything was perfect . I recommend this to everyone at least once a month.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We went there for my husbands birthday. The service started out strong but slowly started to slip. I don’t know if it was because they were completely booked or our server had other things going. Usually they bring something special out at the dessert for the birthday person but they didn’t. Plus our dessert plate was a little lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We brought a friend to the Melting Pot. He’s from Minnesota but goes to grad school in Chicago and has never had fondue dinner. It had been years since I had been there and I was able to use the online reservation to ensure we could make it. We made our reservation time but they were late seating us, I only mention this because at no time did we fell rushed to get out. We may have been the last to leave for the night but everyone was so friendly and professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Glad it wasn’t crowded and we took advantage of doing Happy Hour at the bar-great value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

great food and wonderful attention by the staff. Love going there. National fondue day is a yearly tradition with my daughter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Loved doing the 3 course meal. Everything was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

It was my birthday and we wanted to go somewhere different for a date, this place was the best because it was different and the people there were polite, the food was great and the environment was quite and cozy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our most recent dining experience at the Melting Pot was mediocre. The food was good but the service was poor. Even though my husband and I had a reservation, there was a half-hour wait for our table. We couldn't get any drinks at the bar during that time because there was only one bartender and he was unable to get to us in that time. There was excessive wait time between each course. We ended up being at the restaurant for 3.5 hours. When making the reservation, I told them that I had a voucher for free chocolate-covered strawberries, but we never received them. Do better, Melting Pot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The quality of a Melting Pot dinning experience has definitely declined over the years. It was a challenge to catch a server and you always had to ask for something, even to fill a water glass. Not once were we unsolicitedly asked how the meal was. The food historically has been well prepped while this time it was bland and plain. I am by no means a above anyone, but for the price one pays for four courses I expect more, way more!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The Melting Pot in the Loop never fails. Good cheese and chocolate dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We make the 2.5 hr drive every year for our anniversary. Always a fun experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Amazing experience!! My fiance proposed to me here is 2015. Went back the night after our wedding amazing server and great manager on duty! Heard it was our wedding night gave is complimentary champagne! Will be going back ever anniversary! The only rough thing that happened was we were seated by the bathroom and someone was in there i want to say probably getting sick at one point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Romantic dinner for two, celebrating Easter.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40

Tweets by The Melting Pot