Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Melting Pot

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (314) 725-4141

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Romantic (76)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Fun (51)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Cozy (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Private Room (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was sub par. Definitely not worth the price. I don't recommend it, the couple we went with felt the same. Really we wouldn't eat it again for any price.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great overall experience with expectional food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a very romantic place to eat. The food was great and so was the customer service

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fanstatic food, great atmosphere/service and very relaxing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The bartender Chris is the best! His fantasy football advice helped lead me to a championship last year. What a good guy!

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

While we love going to The Melting Pot in Indianapolis, IN, the one we visited in University City, MO left a lot to be desired and I do NOT RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO NEW GUESTS. The food was great, host staff was great, waiter was ok, but the manager was very rude to my family and completely undermined the intelligence level of my mother in law. I understand that he has to warn people on the dangers of heat and putting silverware into the pots, but belittling people is not right. Yes we are very aware as to what "heat transfer" is and the dangers of burning your hand when sticking metallic objects into your pots of broth. When silverware accidentally touches raw meat, it needs sterilized. We wouldn't have had to stick it in the broth to kill bacteria if our waiter would check up on us to give us new ones.

We will not be going back to Melting Pot for a while, but especially not this one. If I am going to be paying $130 in food that is honestly mediocre at best, then the manager should be friendlier to the clientele.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a great first time experience for us. OUR SERVER made a few mistakes in regards to bringing out the wrong entree dish, and then when we received the bill she had charged us twice the amount. From start to finish it took 3 hrs.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was great, but the service was to slow. We were there for over 3 1/2 hours. To much time between courses. Our waiter never came to check on us very often, we had finished our drinks and he didnt even ask if we wanted another.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Perfect anniversary dinner. We love coming here to celebrate. Delicious food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The Melting Pot was a vibrant experience. The atmosphere was very romantic and quite. The food was excellent very different experience, with cooking your own food right in front of you. Loved it so much will go back eventually.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our first time there.... Our waitress was very nice but it took 3 hours for dinner which is excessive. It seemed to take a long time to get everything started and between courses. It didn't seem that busy on a Sunday evening. Not a big fan of the cheese sauce but did enjoy the meat and really liked dessert. $$$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

2nd year in a row with the same waiter and wouldn't have changed a thing! Waiter helped my fiancé propose! It was very fun! Owner is polite enough to come around, greet himself, offer his service, and also help out the busy waiters/waitresses. Waiters are all extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Prompt and well timing service from them all.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This food was seriously so good. Like, for real. It was also a lot of fun. 10 out of 10 would eat again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

While the owner did his best to mitigate the situation, this was a birthday dinner gone wrong: our server (Cam) was noticeably absent through most of the meal, including a twenty-plus-minute interval after the cooking liquid was placed on our table (approximately 1/2 boiled off). He never informed us of any specials or seasonal items; he only offered refills of unlimited items after we asked (and then, by the time he brought them, we'd finished the course); and he never offered any explanation for the lengthy wait times. We are frequent Melting Pot diners, so we'll be back, but this was ... disappointing, to say the least.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went here for our anniversary, we got the romantic package , it was great they gave us a picture frame with a picture that they took of us and a vase of roses

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was my first time coming to this restaurant & to help others, please make sure you have at least 3 hrs to spend on dinner. We arrived at 730 & 2 hours later we still were not done with the experience. We had a show to catch at 10 & had to leave before the dessert course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first visit and it was fabulous! The quiet ambiance, the delicious food, and exceptional service (thanx, Shannon!) will bring us back time and again. The owner coming over introducing himself and asking us about our experience was a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit!! We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time going to one and we absolutely loved it. The food was amazing the owner even came by our table and checked on us. The service was great up until we were finished with the main course we had to wait 28 minutes (with a meter running) to tell her our dessert. I think the reason it took so long is that she started to get busy but she was still really great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great time. thank you for making my anniversary special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My girlfriends and I went there for the #SistersBeforeMisters night and I was amazing! We had such a good time and it was delicious! Will be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for the Sisters Before Misters Event with my sister and Mom. You got a 4 courwe mini meal for $29 and all I can say is Wow. That was a lot of food! We left so full! Our server, Austen, was a highlight of the night. She was super outgoing and very personable! She took excellent care of us and made us laugh all night. Highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I was blown away by the quality of service. The food was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend and I already have plans to come back and I've already recommended The Melting Pot to friends!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

While we enjoyed the food and our waiter was fantastic, I feel like The Melting Pot is a little over priced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The Melting Pot is a great, cool and fun place. The food is delicious. And just the overall atmosphere makes it perfect for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating our Valentines Day here. It was my first time doing anything of the sort, and I thought it was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Server was not attentive. Main course/entree took forever to get to the table. Server recommend the mojo cooking style but brought coq au vin instead. At that point - we had waited so long that we didn't care and just wanted to start the main course.

Biggest complaint - our burner was turned OFF at some point as we began to cook the main course. We were unaware and possibly consumed meat that was not fully cooked. At that point - the night went downhill as we were both concerned about the uncooked meat - including shrimp, pork, and chicken.

Best part (which we took home because we were disgusted and ready to go home)....the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The atmosphere was terrific and the service and the food were great. The table was not big enough (corner booth) made it hard to reach the fondue pot. Parking was difficult but it was a Saturday night. Overall good experience we will eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful first experience! We appreciate the personal touches as we were celebrating our anniversary! The food and atmosphere was amazing! We will most certainly be back again in the near future!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Every last bit of our 4 course meal was delicious. , very interactive, wait staff was only there when needed-explained everything prompt and perfect.
More then enough time to enjoy each course and each others company.
Mainly gluten free menu which was perfect for my Gf who has Celiac.
Waiter was personable.
I would highly recommend-worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at The Melting Pot. We had to reschedule twice--once because of us and once because of them--and they were very accommodating. The food was delicious, and it was great to be able to take our time and really enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We didn't get to go because when we walked up at our reservation time, it was closed for kitchen reservation. Will try again but won't reserve this time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We choose Melting Pot for our most special outings and rightfully so, it's an event! And it's also delicious! 💖

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I ordered a 4 course meal and it was great. The dining experience was fun and by the time I was done I felt stuffed and like I entered Heaven the food was so tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Made my reservation for 9pm...didn't get seated till 9:52pm.. service was very slow... our fondue cheese was okay, the salad was good, the entree was horrible and the dessert was very good... Also when we finally received our entree there was a hair in the Boiling Pot... my girlfriend pulled it out of her pot when she had duck or lobster tail in there... We told our waitress...her name was Shay.. I guess she told the manager but the manager didn't even come to the table... Didn't leave the restaurant until 12:32 a.m.. That's how slow service was. The only thing I can say that was really nice was the setup for the Romance package other than that it sucked

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Our server Austen made the evening even better with the exceptional service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I thought when I did the reservation online that I was booking a valentines package with roses etc. I was disappointed that what I thought I had registered for was not what I got!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our second visit. First time was excellent great service every course went according. But the second visit seem like when it come to the entree there was like a 25-minute break between the salad and entree which seemed extremely long. I'm sure my next visit the dinner will flow a little more pleasantly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was beyond excellent, the service met every expectation, and the atmosphere couldn't have been better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great private romantic dining experience. Awesome food with the ability to try several different items for the main course.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cam our waiter was outstanding and I highly recommend him. Our service was fantastic. Our food was perfect. The owner came by our table twice to ensure our experience was excellent and it was! I will definitely go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.