Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Melting Pot

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (314) 725-4141

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Worth the Drive (41)
Cozy (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Fun (40)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was in and out and manager checked in. I've been at this location before and really the wait staff make the difference in a four course 2.5 hour meal. I extremely enjoyed the flavors of my food like always delicious and scrumptious. Not having my tea refilled wasn't great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great evening for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time at The Melting Pot and I loved it!
At first the service was slow, but they were busy, so I didn't mind too much.
The food was excellent!
I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was the worst experience I've had at the melting pot. The waiter didn't spend the time to explain anything to us and didn't even bring out all of the food we ordered. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Super cozy and staff paid a lot of attention to every customer. The owner of the restaurant even came up to our table to ask if everything was good

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was not too helpful or talkative, and it was our first time at this restaurant...The menu can overwhelm you if you do not know how it works. The food was okay/decent but very overpriced. Paid $10 for one small glass of margarita. Interesting restaurant, however we will not be back.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Visited the Melting Pot Friday evening with my wife; first time visit. Overall, a good experience but came with a number of detractors. The meat proportions were very light....actually left the restaurant wanting more. The ambiance was too dark which made it difficult to see the food we were eating. Finally, the price for this experience was very high....just did the standard 4-course meal with nothing additional and it cost me $93.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Go every year for our anniversary. This was just a date and only did cheese and dessert. However service was just as excellent as always. Our server was especially good and very thoughtful! We’ll be going back for more more often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Second experience with the Delmar location. Once again, a pleasure to dine and the service is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We love the Melting Pot! Every time we have been there has been a great experience. The service and food are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Michelle was such a well-trained, polite and enthusiastic waitress!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My waitress was slow in getting back to the table a couple of times. She seemed distracted. The food was good and the experience was neat. The dessert was the best part!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I come here every year on our anniversary, but this was the least pleasant experience. Our waiter took forever to get things out to us. We were in the restaurant for 3 hours and were so tired of sitting. Food was fantastic as always. And the manager was very polite as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow Took an hour to bring our first course). Our server never came by to check on us nor our water was never refilled.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My fiancé and I had a lovely time at the Melting Pot. The food was good, though the service was what really impressed us. The server that helped us was as friendly as could be, chatted, and overall made sure we were taken care of. The price was a bit more than what I would normal spend on a dinner date, but it was a special occasion. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for anything but a special occasion dinner. My fiancé and I both agree that, while the experience was fun and interesting, we both would prefer to go elsewhere that is less expensive and spend what we save on a night at the movies or another other activity.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Shay was our server and was great. We always enjoy a meal here. Will be back in October for he kids special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We made a reservation for 7:30 and were sat 20 minutes later. Very frustrated it took that long to get a table. The know we waited between 15 and 30 minutes to receive each food course. There was so much waiting it was frustrating. To give you an idea how much waiting we did; my husband and I shared the 4 course experience (since we weren't super hungry) and we were there for 2 1/2 hours. That is almost 40 minutes for each course and the waitress would not even check on us. Mind you I have ate at several melting pots in VA and NY and this was my worst experience I have had. Don't think I will be returning....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food. Great service. Wonderful atmosphere. Definitely going back and would recommend this to everybody.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Because of the price I was surprised to see so many kids and families. I thought all the food was excellent except for the entree. It was hard to get the meat cooked right, and too much work for the price you pay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We love it. Biannual tradition to come here for my sister and my birthday. No holds barred. Spend a couple hundred with tip. But when we asked for extra marshmallows we were told they'd have to charge extra. Normally no big deal. But wirh 150-200$ for the 3 of us, feels like I'm being nickel and dimed. How much do marshmallows cost?!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our food is always Great! Never disappointed! Michelle was the Best host EVER!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

My friend and I attend every year to celebrate our birthdays. This is the first year that our service was bad. They forgot to bring our salads and did not refil our water glasses until we were finished with our meal. We will try another location next year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

... I gave 2 stars, its not our first time dining here, it's my daughter's fave restaurant, and every time she likes to celebrate her birthday here , and they always feel her special as they serve her dessert with a touch of birthday greetings in chocolate scribble, which she didn't have it this time , but last Sunday was so flat , as our server seems rushing . They have a signed card on the table at least.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

All the staff where very friendly from the moment we walked in, threat location and the food was amazing. We will defenitly be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate my 21st birthday. It was my first time there. The waitress was super nice and always made sure we were taken care of. Our table was nicely decorated with rose petals, it was pretty quiet, and quite romantic. I loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Organic, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The melting pot was a great place for me and my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. The waitress Michelle was phenomenal and well versed with their menu and made some great recommendations. The food was great and the flaming turtle chocolate was amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Michelle was an outstanding waitress. Noise level perfect. Food was fun to cook and left feeling comfortably full. Don't forget to ask for a flower for your date! Very clean. Nice place for a date. Make sure you have the time to just sit and relax for a couple of hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food and presentation. Loved the cheese and chocolate fondues. Fun time cooking the meats and seafood on the skewers.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We went to The Melting Pot for a back-to-school dinner, and it was perfect. There are dining options for everyone, including vegetarians. Each course was exquisite, with great service and plenty of food for the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

My hubby and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary there, and everyone and everything was amazing! We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

It takes to long to go the 4 course experience. We got there at 8:45 and left st 11:30. To long between pots. And didn't like that we had to share the same pot to cook in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service and food as always! We will return for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service was better than our last visit, but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Such a great place to be one of my favorites. The food is really good timing and spacing of the courses are perfect it's a long experience but it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Delightful evening. It is an engaging dinner experience. Be sure to allow plenty of time to enjoy the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our server, Sean, was excellent! Very attentive and made sure our drinks were always full. Food was fantastic as always!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food and service were great. Be prepared for a leisurely dinner. Four courses took almost 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Best dining experience of my life. Service was amazing. Great overall.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very pricy menu. Be sure to check the menu before entering. Food is fine and service is good and environment is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great place. A St-Louis favorite of my wife already, went there on my last evening in St-Louis. Really not disappointed. Really friendly service. Great food. Who doesn't like fondue? Great course meal, and great flights of wine to accompany everything. A tiny bit pricey but worth it, definitely.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.