About The Melting Pot

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (314) 725-4141

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Sauces - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Shrimp - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
House Salad - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Femme Fatale Fondue Entree - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Quattro Formaggio Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Caesar Salad - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Dessert - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Lobster Entree - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Love Martini - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Cozy (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fun (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Private Room (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Business Meals (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Dancing (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Robert was an excellent waiter and was m ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Robert was an excellent waiter and was mindful of our time since we had a "date" at the Fox.

We will definitely be back soon rather than later!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, excellent service. We l ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, excellent service. We loved it and will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a terrific double date with our b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a terrific double date with our best friends. Very fun atmosphere and experience with the four course meal. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a nice evening for meeting up w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was a nice evening for meeting up with an old friend. I love the Melting Pot, but I have a hard time paying for all the upcharges. For example, I HATE how it's $8.95 A PERSON to get a chocolate dessert that isn't just plain dark chocolate. The business is making a killing!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great experience here! It was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a great experience here! It was my son's 16th birthday, and everything was perfect! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy, but by far the best part was our server, Jasmine. She went above and beyond to make sure my son had a great birthday, and she was very personable and attentive. My son is still talking about our visit days later and I hope it will remain a fond memory for years to come.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good and our table was r ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was good and our table was ready upon arrival. The food was good quality. Great date night spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Cam was very attentive and ex ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server Cam was very attentive and explained the menu allowing us the opportunity to select the best options for us. We just got together as friends to catch up on all the latest news.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With the amount of money you pay you sho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

With the amount of money you pay you shouldn't have to prepare your own food that should be optional and the serving is just a taste not a meal

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We have been wanting to try this place f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been wanting to try this place for months, we finally got our chance and we were not disappointed!!! The food was amazing and the experience was excellent!! Great place to celebrate anniversaries or birthdays, but also perfect for a date night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Set up a reservation online and ordered ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Set up a reservation online and ordered a vase of roses for the table. Arrived and everything was like I planned and my wife was very surprised. We loved the meal and service was awesome. Love the Melting Pot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, , Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! I always ov ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! I always overeat here because the food is good! Especially the dessert menu!! Always plan for at least 1h 1/2 - 2h for a meal here.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Will not be back or reco ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Disappointing. Will not be back or recommending to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

It was the perfect choice for us I would ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was the perfect choice for us I would just recommend allowing at least two hours we did not realize how long it would take to get through the four courses - it was an amazing experience !

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun, took a long time to get food going ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fun, took a long time to get food going

, too expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This was a special occasion. Our server ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a special occasion. Our server - Shaunsae, went above and beyond to give us an excellent experience. The desert ending was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and experience!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we have been to t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is the first time we have been to the University City Melting Pot as we normally go to the Town and Country one. My two adult daughters and I took my wife for her birthday. Overall we had a great time and the food was fantastic. We just did cheese, salad and chocolate as our dinner for the night. Brian, our server, was very attentive at the beginning, moving things along nicely. We were a bit disappointed at first that we had a four top with only one burner as we had hoped to share different cheese and chocolate. As it worked out it was not a big issue as we all wanted the same cheese and Brian suggested doing two chocolates for two, one after the other. That worked out great as we sat a bit longer and talked and enjoyed the evening. We did seem to lose Brian some later in the evening as the restaurant filled up. Several times we had to wait to get drink refills and extra dippers. This was not a major issue, since we had no time constraints. All and all it was a lovely evening and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her birthday dinner. I would highly recommend the Melting Pot for any one celebrating a special occasion or just for a date night.

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very busy and service took a lot longer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very busy and service took a lot longer than previous visits. Had to ask for our sever several times. Food was awesome as always, otherwise a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was good. Service was way too slow ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good. Service was way too slow...2.5 hrs + for us to get served a four course meal with way to much time between courses. For the price, service was below par.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our second Christmas Eve at the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our second Christmas Eve at the Melting Pot and for the second time, it did not disappoint. We enjoyed our meal, the service and the time together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 5th time at the melting pot ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was my 5th time at the melting pot but my friends first. We made a 7:15 reservation but did not get seated until close to 8. What was the point of making a reservation? This has never happened to me- anytime I make a reservation I only wait 10 mins. We observed the hostesses get into a tiff because one of them wanted help running th tables and the other woman didn't want to help (but she wasn't doing anything else). We later witnessed the woman who didn't want to help "gossip" and talk about the other hostess who had asked her for help. Not cool. Our sever was great, when she was at the table. There were several empty tables around the area we were sitting and other sections I observed when heading to the bathroom but we still felt like we waited way too long in between courses (compared to previous times I've been there). We didn't leave the melting pot until close to 11pm which was very disappointing since we had 45 minutes to drive home. I love this place but will definitely rethink coming in during the week from now on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food Friendly, receptive, and acco ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food

Friendly, receptive, and accommodating staff

Food took longer than expected to arrive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the Melting Pot and go every tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love the Melting Pot and go every time we are in St. Louis!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was good. My col ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall the experience was good. My college son and I had dinner upon my request. The food was good. The server was ok. The restaurant itself appeared clean. We had a few drinks before dinner and the bartender was attentive.

At the time of securing our reservation weeks prior, I communicated that I would like to purchase the $100 gift card and get the $100 free coupons for future use which was the December offering. I was told that it would not be a problem to purchase that the day of my dining experience and use the $100 toward my dinner on my reserved night. Upon arrival to the restaurant at our reservation time, I confirmed with the hostess the same deal. She assured me as the gentleman who took my reservation did that this was not a problem but just wanted to note that the $100 coupons were to be used in $25 per quarter. I acknowledged that I was aware of this. Then asked should I purchase them before dinner or when I get the check. I was told it did not matter and that I could do it either way.

After dinner and great conversation with my son, I explained to the server that I wanted to purchase and use the gift certificate. That was the end of our pleasant evening as he interrogated me as to who gave me the incorrect information. Then the manager came to the table and did the same. I felt like a second class citizen. Obviously it was poor communication with staff when more that one person told me the same information. Honestly, you can keep the $25 quartlery coupons, I dont see the need to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I unfortunately do not remember the name ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I unfortunately do not remember the name of our server (Ashley maybe) but she was phenomenal and super sweet. She took great care of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a lot of fun. it was amazing how q ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Just a lot of fun. it was amazing how quickly two and a half hours went. This was definitely an experience everyone should try (who can afford it). It might be worth just doing the dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it!!!This will be our new birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Loved it!!!This will be our new birthday tradition!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend took me here and it was my ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My boyfriend took me here and it was my first time, his second. It was so much fun and different! I love trying new things. We were just there for a date night and were seated in "lovers lane" booths which were cozy but still enough space for two. It was great and I cannot wait to go back! Our waitress was great also, there is no rush, you can relax, take your time between courses. It took us about 3 hours but soooo worth it!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend treated me for my birthday ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My boyfriend treated me for my birthday and it was both of ours first time dinning here. I can honestly say that I was very impressed. The food was so delicious and our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and she answered all of our questions. We actually came on a Monday and apparently Monday's are 1/2 priced wine bottles and my boyfriend got me a bottle of Mascoto and it was so good. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only good part was the chocolate an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The only good part was the chocolate and the service. That's about it. Cheese was disappointing. Meat was bland. Wont come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Always enjoy this place, highly recommen ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always enjoy this place, highly recommended. It is not just a meal, it is an experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were great as usual ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food and service were great as usual. We went this last time so the kids could see Santa and they have been asking to go back. Very kid friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walked out of there so full and uncomfor ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Walked out of there so full and uncomfortable, wife and I didn't want to be intimate. Thanks melting pot!

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was so nice and helpful. Sh ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our waitress was so nice and helpful. She made jokes with us and made it a great experience!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very friendly... when we ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our server was very friendly... when we saw him. But, It was obvious he was new. Very forgetful and not very attentive. The manager ,or whoever she was, filled our drinks quite a few times because he hadn't.... it was our first time there so it was kind of a let down. :( not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A little pricey, $108 for 2 people. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A little pricey, $108 for 2 people. The food was good but very small portions. The service was poor, waitress was friendly but SLOW... took 2 1/2 hours to finish dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Awesome restaurant with great service. N ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome restaurant with great service. No rush to be in and out and the atmosphere is top notch.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, horrendous service. We gene ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, horrendous service. We generally have a great time here, but this time, the server made it clear by his attitude that he didn't want to be there. It's a small thing, but I ordered a ginger ale with no ice and it came out with ice. I asked for a replacement and was told, "We already poured the whole can in here so we can't get a new one." He then proceeded to dump the vegetables into the pot and splash me with the boiling water. He was careless and rude. Because I know this is not typical, we purchased a gift card to give to friends. The gift card did not come out with the check and we had to chase down a manager to get it. Great food, but the service was the worst I've ever experienced at The Melting Pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We ate here for our sixth anniversary di ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We ate here for our sixth anniversary dinner. It was wonderful! The food is delicious, they have great drinks and the ambience is relaxed and friendly. The 4 course experience seems expensive at first glance, but you really get a lot of food for the price. We left feeling very full. We will definitely eat here again and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great flavors...very cus ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food with great flavors...very customizable menu with many different options...love the ability to cook my own meal in a restaurant while sitting at a table. Love the 4 course meal idea with cheese fondue, salad, entrée, and chocolate fondue for dessert. Excellent choice for anniversaries...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.