Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Melting Pot

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (314) 725-4141

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (87)
Romantic (87)
Special Occasion (76)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Fun (60)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Cozy (49)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Worth the Drive (42)
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Tasting Menu (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Private Room (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Family Style (9)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 8 hours ago

The food is delicious and it's funny to do the entree cooking in my opinion. The fondue options all sound so good it was hard on choose but we were thrilled with our choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was on a date with my gf at the melting pot to celebrate me getting a new job. We came here just for dessert and ordered three different servings of fondue and a champagne. The service was amazing and the food was delicious. The server also brought an extra glass of champagne on the house to celebrate my achievement. Very pleased with this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to eat here and arrived early, Had a seat at the bar to get a couple of drinks. Bartender was on the spot and great. Got seated, waiter came and took order. Very conversational and professional. Food was amazing. Great place for a date. Will come back!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyed the visit. Great food and great service as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was a anniversary dinner res. Was 630 we didn't get out of there until 9. Way to long between courses. It was ridiculous. We have been there a few times before. We w ont be going back at that particular one.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have regularly visited Melting Pot restaurants for years in various cities. We just happened to be in St Louis the night of Easter and decided to take advantage of the city having a restaurant (where we live the closest one is 2 hours away). I made a reservation and went to check their Facebook page to see if they had anything going on for Easter, only to find VERY mixed reviews. I decided that I will make my own judgments. Upon arriving at our reservation time, we were seated very quickly. It took the waiter more than 5 minutes to come even take our drink order. Since she had already taken so long, we went ahead and ordered everything right then. She was pretty slow bringing the drinks back, but the cheese came at a decent pace. She checked in on us when we were almost done with the cheese (like 2 bites left). There was also soooo much garlic put in the cheese, it was outrageous and we did not even eat the last little bit because it was all garlic. She then did not come back for another 15 minutes (while the remaining cheese was becoming weird in the pot). She finally took it away and replaced it with the broth for the main course. She did not check on us until half way through this course. My husband asked for more sauces and she never brought them. We actually did not see her again until we were done eating for about 10 minutes and she dropped off the check and left again. No table clearing, no making sure the meal was good, nothing (even though we stacked the plates for her at the end of the table). We originally said we didn't want chocolate, but it still would have been nice for her to ask again, in case I decided to impulsively say yes. We were kind of over her slowness anyway, so it was probably for the best not to stick around. Someone else actually came by and offered to clean the table while we were waiting for her to return with our card, but we signed and left before he was able to grab his pan.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was good except for our server which was disappointing. I have been here multiple times and have always had amazing service. Not sure if this lady was ticked off or what.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was Amazing! Nothing but perfect all the way around. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter lunch. Great special - 3 courses plus a mimosa for $30 each.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Children were running around while we waited to be seated. After being seated prices were really expensive. We ordered a couples dinner thinking it was double the food we received 6 shrimp, whole lobster tail cut into for both of us, 6 cub steak , 6 chicken 4 hot cub steak and 4 pasta rolls. We never knew we couldn't take our left overs home with us. It was a nice experience but this wasn't work $150.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was all amazing and a very unique idea. The dessert was delicious. The price was fair for the experience and everything as a whole. The drink menu was also very good. Our waiter was amazing and connected with us. We enjoyed him and had a great conversation going with him. He also made sure we were comfortable with the menu and what was going on,it being our first time here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Melting Pot satisfies all my basic needs in life: Great cheese, quality meat, crave-able sauces (garlic herb, curry, port and blue, teriyaki) and chocolate fondue galore!!! Feeling extra decadent? Get the Ying -Yang martini.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The staff was very helpful and answered any questions I had. The food was incredibly tasty and the restaurant itself had great ambiance. My only complaint was slow service from my waiter.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

we were greeted by 2 extremely gracious hostesses, went to the bar since we 30 minutes early for our reservation, and the bartender, Shay (so?), was so warm and welcoming that before we knew it we were called for our table. An all around wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Service was fantastic! Not just from our server but everyone who came by our table was very helpful if we had questions. I am vegetarian and I do not recommend this place if you want a full meal. The salads are very small but tasty, and the vegetarian selections need improvement. The tofu was delicious! Everything else was average at best. The half moon filled cheese pasta didn't have the depth of flavor, and they had an odd name for what is really a vegetarian meatball that looks/taste pretty much the same as a frozen food meat substitute you can get at most grocery stores. My friend does eat meat and found a bug on the duck meat she ordered. If you sit near a hallway, it is noisy and somewhat distracting. The food is not worth the high price. The cheese was good. If you wanted cheese and only cheese I would suggest this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Went here for my wedding anniversary celebration very recently. Service was fantastic. We each ordered the 4-Course Experience with the Classic Flight of wines (four different wines "samples"), which was paired perfectly with each course (merlot with the chocolate course is a divine must). While we were not particularly prepared for the several hours we would be there, apparently that is to be expected, and it didn't really feel like that much time went by. Our favorite courses were the Cheese (spinach artichoke was amazing!) and the Chocolate (went with pure milk chocolate to end our meal) courses. My Spinach Strawberry salad tasted clean, light, and fresh, and my husband could find no complaints about his House Salad (with peppercorn ranch). If you order the meat entree, the pacific white shrimp, the honey orange duck, and the sesame-crusted ahi tuna is a must eat.
Overall we had a great anniversary dinner celebration!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The staff was amazing! And we had a great time with them! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had the most amazing experience this time at the melting pot. Our server Patrick was phenomenal and provided the best service possible to make our trip there a remarkable rememberable one. Thank you Patrick you provided the best service anyone could ever ask for!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was great but the service was incredibly slow. Sat down 10 mins to see a waitress. Another 10 mins to get our water. Another 10 or more to get our drinks. Too much time in between courses. Then I asked for a few small pieces. of the butter cake to dip into the fondue because it was my daughters bday. They charged me extra for that. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great service and food. I will be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love the Meltig Pot, go there for special occasions mostly. This time we took 2 friends who had never been. This was the first time we didn't have good service. Food was still very good. Many times our drinks weren't refilled for long periods of time. We barely saw our waitress she didn't seem to care about serving us at all. Normally the melting pot is about a 2 hour experience which we expect. This visit though was 3 hours! Mostly waiting on our food to arrive at our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Melting Pot is a great dining experience!! The food and the atmosphere was wonderful. The only problem was our waitress. She was not clear about one of our selections when we were ordering and brought the wrong selection. Instead of just correcting the misunderstanding, she went on to argue and then come back later with a menu to "prove" that she was right. Other than her behavior, the meal was perfect, as usual.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Omg, I absolutely loved this last visit. The server was awesome. He was very knowledgeable of the wine and talked to me like I was his friend. I already love this restaurant and go often. After this last visit that will continue.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Unfortunately on our anniversary we experienced an unacceptable dining experience. We sat in the lobby for 10 minutes when the restaurant was mostly empty (4/6/17). After being seated we had to go and find a server after waiting another 15 minutes. I found my server (Cameron-male) at the front desk, he was unaware I was his guest and he was disheveled. Once at our table and placing our order his unprofessional service was so bad we went to find another server to have a manager come to our table. David (manager) was very responsive to our request for a new server. Brian (veteran server) did a great job of saving face for Melting Pot for the remaining dining experience. We should never I repeat never have been there for 4 hours for this dining experience, not to mention we had our 4 month old daughter with us. The only reason we stayed was because she was content. We strongly recommend that the newer server Cameron is fired immediately as your business is most likely losing business due to him! I have had several great dining experiences at the Melting Pot, however this one was so bad I don't feel at this point I would chance going back which is a shame as it has been a favorite for years.
Regards,
Justin

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food is good and the novelty of the fondue is fun for special occasions, but it is very expensive. In addition, our reservation was at 5:30 pm and we although we were seated right away, the entire four course meal took over 4 1/2 hours. And we had kids at the table. There was over 20 minutes between courses and too many times had to go find our wait staff, even to get our ticket at the end. Not sure we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had an amazing time here celebrating my girlfriend's birthday. They called to confirm the reservation and asked if we were celebrating anything special. I told them and they made sure to have a rose available on our table and the staff told her happy birthday. They pay especially good attention to detail and the food is surprisingly good and filling. We had the 4 course meal. Definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It was amazing!! Our waiter really catered to us since it was our first time there. The whole experience is one We soon will not forget. We will be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our second time being here and it was incredible. We got the 4 course dinner and it includes as salad fondue cheese, cooking broth, and chocolate fondue. We had Miss Shay as our sever and she was outstanding. She had alot of recommendations and we tried alot of new flavors because of her. She ran very good conversation and there was never a dull moment when she would bring us our food or refills. We will happily be back and request her again!!! She even surprised my boyfriend and I with a little cake with candles and toast to celebrate our very late Valentines date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It's a big time commitment but it's well worth the wait. The food is delicious even if you have to work for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I understand that restaurants make money by getting more tables in, and that given a fixed number of actual tables, you have to seat them multiple times to make money. So maybe a 3-hour restaurant concept is destined to have these problems, but I felt very rushed.
The food was fine, on average - some of it pretty good, some of it very mediocre. Be prepared to make a lot of decisions and do a lot of work for your meal; it's unique, but it's not a relaxing restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Melting Pot is always fun with a group of girls. Menu has freshened up a bit & that was nice with some new choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The ambience and the food were really great. However it took us 3 hours to finish and that was was with us quickly paying and leaving. Our waiter was nice and funny but not very quick. We would sit for at least 20-30 minutes in between each course.. with nothing on the table. It took a good 45 minutes with our salads completely done and us waiting for our entrees so we could cook them. When something would be a little off he would blame it on other staff. For example it took a bit to get my Bloody Mary. Instead of just apologizing he said one of the other staff members slapped it out of his hand. My husband ordered extra chicken no shrimp and the order was wrong when it came out. He said oh the kitchen doesn't like to read my orders. Why not save the excuses and just apologize.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food. Love the melting pot for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful time at the melting pot! We had the teacher spring break special so we had a variety of meats. Love the four course meal! The dessert was by far the best part! I only can afford to eat here once a year because of the cost.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was sub par. Definitely not worth the price. I don't recommend it, the couple we went with felt the same. Really we wouldn't eat it again for any price.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great overall experience with expectional food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was a very romantic place to eat. The food was great and so was the customer service

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fanstatic food, great atmosphere/service and very relaxing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The bartender Chris is the best! His fantasy football advice helped lead me to a championship last year. What a good guy!

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.