About The Melting Pot

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 3147254141x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Sauces - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Shrimp - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
House Salad - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Femme Fatale Fondue Entree - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Quattro Formaggio Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Caesar Salad - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Dessert - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Lobster Entree - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO
Love Martini - The Melting Pot, St. Louis, MO

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
4 More
Best Food
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in University City ›

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (58)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Cozy (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (21)
Private Room (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome restaurant with great service. N ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome restaurant with great service. No rush to be in and out and the atmosphere is top notch.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, $108 for 2 people. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

A little pricey, $108 for 2 people. The food was good but very small portions. The service was poor, waitress was friendly but SLOW... took 2 1/2 hours to finish dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great food, horrendous service. We gene ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, horrendous service. We generally have a great time here, but this time, the server made it clear by his attitude that he didn't want to be there. It's a small thing, but I ordered a ginger ale with no ice and it came out with ice. I asked for a replacement and was told, "We already poured the whole can in here so we can't get a new one." He then proceeded to dump the vegetables into the pot and splash me with the boiling water. He was careless and rude. Because I know this is not typical, we purchased a gift card to give to friends. The gift card did not come out with the check and we had to chase down a manager to get it. Great food, but the service was the worst I've ever experienced at The Melting Pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We ate here for our sixth anniversary di ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We ate here for our sixth anniversary dinner. It was wonderful! The food is delicious, they have great drinks and the ambience is relaxed and friendly. The 4 course experience seems expensive at first glance, but you really get a lot of food for the price. We left feeling very full. We will definitely eat here again and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great flavors...very cus ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food with great flavors...very customizable menu with many different options...love the ability to cook my own meal in a restaurant while sitting at a table. Love the 4 course meal idea with cheese fondue, salad, entrée, and chocolate fondue for dessert. Excellent choice for anniversaries...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I are from Chicago and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My boyfriend and I are from Chicago and went to St. Louis to celebrate his birthday. Our visit to the St. Louis Melting Pot was nothing short of superb! Our waiter Michael was great and very helpful in explaining how everything worked since we hadn't been to the restaurant in years. The food was excellent and the atmosphere in this particular location was very intimate and cozy. We went at around 8pm so it was already rather quiet and added to the ambiance. We were also incredibly surprised and impressed with their gluten-free choices. If you are planning on getting the gluten free option for the cheese fondue, my advice would be to skip the bread and get a double portion of tortilla chips. The bread was very dry, but that's not a surprise when ordering gluten-free and nothing I would blame the restaurant for. Our entrees were incredible and we were given plenty of time and didn't feel rushed at all. Dessert was also offered with gluten-free cake and brownies in addition to the fruit which was all great. Michael even brought out complimentary champagne for us to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday at the end. Overall the experience was spectacular and we will definitely return to any Melting Pot locations in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and so much fun to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was amazing and so much fun to do! The food came out at a good pace so I never got hungry or full. The restaurant is beautiful and great for romantic meals and special ocassions. Everyone who works here is so friendly and attentive to our needs!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had no experience with fondue before thi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Had no experience with fondue before this dinner. The waiter explained everything to us and we had a good time. The food was good, the chocolate at the end of the meal was wonderful. A little pricey for everyday dining, but a nice birthday treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Was fine, too costly for amount of food. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was fine, too costly for amount of food. Service slooooww

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was exceptional as always. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was exceptional as always. The treatment by management and wait staff was also exceptional. For some reason this time our entree took an exceptionally long time to arrive. It was brought to our table with an apology by the manager. Our desert took an exceptional amount of time as well and then the plate of deserts was forgotten by the waitress. Our complimentary strawberries were forgotten as well. I guess I will just chalk this one up as everyone that was responsible for our table was having a bad night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Took a friend for her first experience a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Took a friend for her first experience at a Melting Pot and we both had a fabulous time! The server was amazing and the manager/owner(?) checked on us several times...even offered to carry the baby car seat for me!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On a Wednesday night dinner took 3 hours ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

On a Wednesday night dinner took 3 hours. Food good- service at the mercy of one cook. Management needs to get it together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

First time being there, booked a table t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time being there, booked a table that day for me and my wifes anniversary. Was blown away by the service and the experience that er had. Fantastic food, and the watriess did an outstanding job explaining every detail of the meals, also what each course involves.

Definitely will be back

Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had wanted to go there for years. Fina ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had wanted to go there for years. Finally did for my birthday. Although it was very good, it was not as good as I imagined it to be. I would of preferred to of kept my cheese and dipped my meat into it. Boiled meat was not quite what I was expecting or hoping for. Everything else was very good and tasty. The chocolate 4 th course was my favorite.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal, fantastic food and a wonderf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great meal, fantastic food and a wonderful server!! Thank you!!

Tags: Spicy, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great experience, great food and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a great experience, great food and service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The hostess was very accommodating as th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The hostess was very accommodating as the reservation changed right up to the last second. Everything was set up and ready for us at the table. Patrick explained things very well for us and was very helpful for the questions we did have. The food was delicious and the cozy atmosphere made it great for good conversation with old friends getting together. It was too easy to lose a few hours in the process. Thank you for helping make the night memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I haven't been in years. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My husband and I haven't been in years. We now agree that this will always be at the top of our list next to sushi for special occasions!

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had the pleasure of introducing two fr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had the pleasure of introducing two friends to the Melting Pot. They loved the food and the atmosphere, as well as the fun of cooking their own food. The cheese fondue was a knock-out, and the variety of the meats on the entree provided everyone with their preferences. And for dessert, the S'Mores fondue did us all in. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We always enjoy the friendliness and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always enjoy the friendliness and the quality of food

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was nice, but for the price an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The place was nice, but for the price and amount of food you get it's overrated, also do not get the Wisconsin cheddar is hard to chew once it's starts to get cold.. Lol

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We've been to this location many times a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've been to this location many times and have always had a nice experience. We were a little disappointed this last time but it wasn't the norm. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It is always fun and I enjoy going to th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It is always fun and I enjoy going to the melting pot in St Louis, but the prices are very expensive and seem to raise each year that I go.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was fun, however, STARTING the proces ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was fun, however, STARTING the process takes a while. Took a minute before out waitress showed up to start our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our food was good and our server did a g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our food was good and our server did a great job. I have kids and do not dislike children but was disappointed that there were so many young children around us. We were looking forward to a quiet relaxed dinner but the noise level was higher than expected. The hostess initially tried to seat us next to a booth with a crying baby and when we declined that table the head hostess huffed like we were being unreasonable. I understand you cannot control guests bringing in young children in but if another guest coming in to this type of restaurant would prefer not to sit next to small children it should not be an issue. In the future we will make reservations for later in the evening hoping the children will be at home fast asleep, not in the booth behind us playing noisy video games and bouncing the booth.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent Service and amazing food! We ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent Service and amazing food! We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our service was fantasic! Patrick, our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our service was fantasic! Patrick, our server, was very knowledgeable and provided excellent recommendations. The food was excellent, especially the array of sauces that are provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The reservation went flawlessly and it w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The reservation went flawlessly and it was an amazing time. Will definitely use this service again

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Our party of 4 each or ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Terrible service. Our party of 4 each ordered the 4-course meal with an appetizer. The waiter forgot our appetizer and then forgot our salads. After waiting 15 minutes for drink refills, I had to go to the bar myself to get a drink.

The assistant manager looked shocked when we complained to him. He offered to take 20% off our bill. Will not go back and do not recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We were very fortunate our server, Canda ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were very fortunate our server, Candace, was pleasant, patient, and assisted us with our selections. The experience definitely reinforced our thoughts for a return visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was awesome and the bus boy e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our waiter was awesome and the bus boy even better! :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic in all aspects. Great service, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Fantastic in all aspects. Great service, atmosphere, food, etc.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure dining at the Me ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

It is always a pleasure dining at the Melting Pot

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and absolutely amazing servic ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and absolutely amazing service from Jordan for my nieces birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great Service! Owner is wonderful ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always Great Service! Owner is wonderful. My favorite Birthday, Anniversary, and Valentine's day spot. We had a wonderful meal, server was friendly and proactive, we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I wanted a fun and memorab ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My sister and I wanted a fun and memorable dining experience, and we got it. Our server, Justin, took excellent care of us and made us laugh a lot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy going here. The food is del ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always enjoy going here. The food is delicious. How can you go long with cheese, chocolate, and delicious meats and veggies?

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disappointed that I had made a res ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I was disappointed that I had made a reservation almost a week ahead of time and was made to wait almost 20 minutes when I arrived on time. It then took almost 30 minutes to simply get the first course- we were VERY HUNGRY since we'd saved our appetite for one of our favorite meals! The food, however, never disappoints and overshadows the slow service. It took us 3 hours to get out of the place once we got there but we enjoyed every bite we took!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Justin was a great waiter...I'd recommen ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Justin was a great waiter...I'd recommend him to anyone that visits the melting pot...food was outstanding...he broke down everything to a T...my favorite romantic restaurant I've visited thus far...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We very much enjoying this place for cas ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We very much enjoying this place for casual dates as well as formal dining experiences.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.