About The Melting Pot

6683 Delmar Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fondue truly becomes a memorable four-course dining experience where patrons can dip into something different - and discover all the ingredients for a unique dining experience including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines and signature fondue dinners.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Dessert, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kingsland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 725-4141

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/university-city/specials

Entertainment:
We have live music every Saturday night. Starts at 6:30, goes to 10:30

Parking Details:
There is metered parking in front of the restaurant. Also, there is a large public lot behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private room that holds up to 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 3147254141x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
The Melting Pot
Femme Fatale Fondue Entree
Quattro Formaggio Fondue
Caesar Salad
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Dessert
Cheese Fondue
Lobster Entree
Love Martini

The Melting Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
8 More
Best Overall
Midtown
Best Food
Midtown
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Best Value
Midtown
Romantic
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in University City ›

Special Occasion (137)
Romantic (129)
Good for Groups (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Notable Wine List (31)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our table was in the backroom. Our dini ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our table was in the backroom. Our dining experience was over 3 and one-half hours. William, our wiater, blamed it on the kitchen. When we asked to speak to the owner, he blamed it on the hostesses giving William too many tables. We had to visit the bar to refill our own teas and Shirley Temples. We had to visit the bar to ask them to uncork the wine we brought, too. We were only brought one set of sauces with our main course. We asked another waiter who was serving the group of 20 nearby to bring it. William finally brought our extra sauces more than 30 minutes later; he did not notice we already had them. Our dessert fondue was brought more than 30 minutes after we finished dining. Our dinner dishes were still on the table. We were brought one of the wrong dessert fondues. Another waiter took over, cleared the table, got the right fondue, and flambed them. All in all, not a good experience with no one, even the owner, taking responsibility. The owner did offer to buy us cocktails at the end of our meal, though. Since we brought our own, we declined. What a shame he didn't notice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Me and my husband went there for our wed ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Me and my husband went there for our wedding anniversary. The food was great as well as the service. Very quite and romantic. The food was pricey for the amount you got. But it was very good. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious, can eat there everyday

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious, can eat there everyday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. I highly sugges ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love this restaurant. I highly suggest getting a 4 course meal. It is definitely worth the money. The service is excellent, and the food is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, excellent service gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding food, excellent service great atmosphere enjoyable and gray place be written friends loved ones and able to hold conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were recommended there by our son who ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were recommended there by our son who has been there often for our 42nd wedding anniversary we were looking for some place different to go to we had a great evening and look forward to returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Katie is AMAZING, we love her every time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Katie is AMAZING, we love her every time she waits on us!!! One suggestion, our 3 children were with us and both my husband and myself misinterpreted the children's pricing. We understood the entree to be 9.95 and "if" you make it a combo by adding cheese and dessert it is then 13.95, not that you add the two prices together. You can imagine the look on our faces when we got our bill. However Katie went above and beyond to apologize and aid in our misunderstanding!! I will be back and we will also bring our kids back... this place is 5 stars every visit!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived we were told it would be ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived we were told it would be about a 20 minute wait. We went straight to the bar to grab a drink. Christopher, the bartender, never greeted us or asked if we would like anything in the whole 20 minutes we sat at the bar waiting to order. He was more worried about chatting it up with his coworkers. This was irritating and didn't start our visit the way I had hoped. Once we were seated our experience changed for the better. It was our first time and we weren't quite sure how it worked. Candyce was extremely nice and went above and beyond to give us great service! She explained everything so well and was very nice!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent experience! The food was great ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent experience! The food was great and so was our server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, as always, was delicious at th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food, as always, was delicious at the Melting Pot. Unfortunately our server was too new for a busy night (80s night), so our 4-person, 4-course meal took 3 hours. Usually it takes about 2. He was very nice and accommodating; his manager should just not have had him handling that many tables yet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was good, but waiter was not that g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good, but waiter was not that great. He would disappear for long periods of time. We came for the eighty's night. My girlfriend asked for sweetener for her tea and he never brought it. She had to get up and go find some. He brought out our dessert and said he was bringing us another plate since there were three of us, but he never did. When we were ready for our check, it took forever to get it. Then the waiter never came back over to get it. Thankfully we were able to give it to a waitress up front since we paid with cash. We probably won't be back to this location.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was great, service exceptional. Pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was great, service exceptional. Pricey but provided a lot for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was by far the best dining experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was by far the best dining experience I've ever had. I can't say enough good things about this place. I have already recommended it to two different people that plan on going. Thank you for making my first wedding anniversary dinner perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even better than the last time I came. J ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Even better than the last time I came. Jordan is so awesome. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a one-time kind of place. Once y ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a one-time kind of place. Once you've seen the concept, nothing much else to keep you coming back as it is very expensive for so-so food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was exceptional. Thank you for a fun night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family went to the Melting Pot to ce ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our family went to the Melting Pot to celebrate my 60th birthday. It was the most peaceful dinner I remember every having. Many different choices to choose from. No rush to get through the meal. This was so enjoyable. I will keep the Melting Pot on our celebration list for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was GREAT as usual although service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was GREAT as usual although service was SLOW between courses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a great first experience at the m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great first experience at the melting pot. The service was efficient and friendly! Good explanation of the items offered. It was a little pricey but we weren't going out to save money that night and had it all:-). Great options to tailor the menu to meet your finances. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing. It's unique and d ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place is amazing. It's unique and different. The managers and staff are so kind and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time and the food was good t ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a great time and the food was good too. Had fun cooking our food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot is our family's favorite ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Melting Pot is our family's favorite special occasion restaurant. The atmosphere is wonderful, the food is delicious, and the service is outstanding. We look forward to eating there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 4th time visiting and always a great ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our 4th time visiting and always a great experience. Unfortunately I didn't get our servers name but he was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An awesome experience which I will defin ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

An awesome experience which I will definitely return to enjoy again. Though the prices may seem a bit high, they're well worth it. The fondue is amazing and the items to coat are just as wonderful. They're simple things like vegetables, meat, bread, and fruit, but that's all it needs to be. There is no need for overly complex items to coat, the fondue itself is the center piece. The rich cheeses and delicious ingredients mix so wonderfully that they themselves are the meal and the items are the extras. Honestly a truly unique dining experience and one that I will want to enjoy at least once more in my life time, if not many times more.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at the Melting Pot was am ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our experience at the Melting Pot was amazing. We made a reservation and were seated exactly on time. Our waiters (we had an extra who was training) were wonderful and the food was excellent. Great date night

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place for an Anniversary dinner! ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Awesome place for an Anniversary dinner! Great table service and slowly paced dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dim lights can be nice but here it contr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Dim lights can be nice but here it contributed to a feeling of not clean and fresh. Prices are high for what you get. Quality of food items for dipping was ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is really good not matter what ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is really good not matter what you get! It is also a great place to go just for dessert! They have a wide variety of chocolates to dip your goodies in. I would recommend here for a romantic date, friends night out and even just taking the kids for dessert. I love this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to the Melting Pot for the first ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I went to the Melting Pot for the first time expecting good food for a high price, but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was better than I ever could have imagined, and well worth the price. Justin was an amazing server and I hope to have him again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, excellent food, quiet a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing service, excellent food, quiet atmosphere...our new fav on Delmar Blvd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always have a good time at The Melting ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I always have a good time at The Melting Pot. The space is designed so that diners can have a private and intimate dining experience, and the food is presented in a way that allows diners to take their time and enjoy their meal. It is really nice to be in a restaurant where you don't feel like you are taking up space or like the serving staff is just waiting for you to leave so they can turn over the table. The food is unique and delicious, and the staff do a great job of making sure that each table gets the experience they are looking for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our waitress. She made a cute Happ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved our waitress. She made a cute Happy 15th Wedding Anniversary note, written in icing on a dinner plate. It was a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with a great ambiance. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice restaurant with a great ambiance. The staff were incredible and the service was amazing! The food was good, but not for the price! It is truly a restaurant that I would only go to for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

If we visit anywhere that has a Melting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

If we visit anywhere that has a Melting Pot nearby, we try to get there for a meal. Now we have gotten the kids hooked on it so my 11-year-old daughter put it on the to-do list for our recent St Louis trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved everything about this m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely loved everything about this my visit!!! My waiter was the best waiter I've came across in awhile( he got a great tip lol)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining at The Melting Po ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always enjoy dining at The Melting Pot. Our server, Austen made our experience a memorable one. She was personable, attentive and happy to fulfill our requests. We would definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We showed up 10 minutes before our reser ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We showed up 10 minutes before our reservation and checked in. There were several open tables and yet we were not called for nearly 20 minutes past our reservation time. We were then sat down and told our server we only wanted dessert. It was my wife's birthday and server made a cute design on her plate, which was a nice touch. Overall it was a good dessert but the wait time for a table that was reserved left a bad taste in our

mouths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great good & a fun time. Service wasn't ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great good & a fun time. Service wasn't great & it was not overly busy - many open tables. Reservations were for 6:30 - arrived at 6:20 & wasn't seated until close to 7 pm & still had no part of our four course meal at 7:25. Disappointing - server rarely checked on our table for refills etc. For the price you pay for the food/experience - service needs to be much improved.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Patrick was an awesome server, food was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Patrick was an awesome server, food was excellent and was pleasantly surprised to see the owner pitching in to help all the servers on this very busy day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious , service left a lot ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was delicious , service left a lot to be desired. At one point and time we had to get up from the table and go find our server , to find out where our dinner was. Her excuse was they were short staffed. I'm sorry but for the price short staffed is not my problem. We visit here every year for our anniversary. 6 years later we know what to expect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.