Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

About The Melting Pot - Richmond

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: (804) 741-3120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fun (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Private Room (10)
Authentic (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Family Style (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Servers are always welcoming and make you feel like they are there to help in anyway possible. Fun cooking experience for anyone who has never made fondue. Everything is delicious every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

I come here often. I usually never have issues with my reservations . But I did this time . I will never make a reservation online again . It will a special occasion and we wanted a table with two plates which is what we always do . But apparently since I did it online...they said it wouldn't showed what I requested ...
It was slightly annoying bc we like to do 2 different flavors ... yeah we spend more money that way but it's a fun night ...
Oh well . We had an awesome server and if it wasn't for him, we wouldn't be coming back .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Although the food was great the price is not! 187.00 for four people is a little expensive. Charging extra for the broth to cook meats in is rediculious. And trying to use the coupons you give is a joke. There's always an excuse why the coupons I paid for can't be used with the meal. Think about your prices and honor your coupons and I guarantee you'll have more customers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always enjoy Melting Pot. The service is great and the dining experience is always enjoyable . And endless fondue is such a great value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place! Service was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made a reservation for my birthday. It was for my immediate family- 2 adults and 2 kids. I repeatedly stated that we wanted the "kids eat free" option, as that is the way we can afford this kind of restaurant experience for the whole family. I mentioned the March "kids eat free" option when I made the reservation, and again when we arrived at the restaurant, and thrice upon ordering, and upon receiving the check/bill. My husband and I had ordered the 4-course mega-treat (I'm sure you have another name for it), and my two very young children got charged for a 4-course meal as well. I had wanted them to be able to taste the cheese and chocolate fondue just as an experience, but I had certainly not meant for them to pay $13 apiece for the experience, especially on a day we'd specifically chosen so as to be able to afford the family Melting Pot experience.
Incidentally, the birthday "free chocolate-covered strawberries" I received were so old that they had mildewed in the fridge by the very next morning. This was very disappointing, as they're one of my very favorite things. (3/11/17, Hulva 804-424-1096)
P.S. We still tipped 20%, since we realize that none of this was our kind server's fault. But if there's a way for you to make this right, please try, as we used to love the Melting pot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Waitress was terrible. Slow and forgot stuff repeatedly.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was very different than your normal restaurant of course. Once you understand how things work (which the waiter explained very well) you will enjoy they style of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

While we appreciated the quiet, there was no background music. We were in a smaller side room and when the servers were instructing the other tables their voices were loud because there was nothing to offset it. Music would have helped with this problem and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was terrible especially the chicken and shrimp several of then items including dips had an overwhelming taste of cumin. We didn't even get the chocolate my wife was to sick before it arrived as well as I! We don't get to go out that often because I have stage IV Melanoma cancer! This was an expensive waisted night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I've enjoyed many meals at The Melting Pot and have always had decent experiences. Tonight was a little more lively than others since a group of young teen girls were having a party. Other than that it was uneventful. The food was good, the server attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were unlucky to be dining at the same time as teenagers were celebrating two birthdays; otherwise it was quiet & we enjoyed our date night. The food was very expensive for what we got but worth trying at least once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We live Melting Pot! It's one of our favs! We had an Amazing time as always!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was very good and the experience is fantastic. It is cool one time experience, but not for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a lovely evening. The staff's attention was spot on. Food was amazing, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It had been about 10 yrs. Since our last visit and it was as I remembered -- Dark booths separated from most other booths. This is a fondue place so be prepared to cook your own food. We had the four course dinner: cheese, salad, entrée, and chocolate. All was excellent. The process is inherently slow. But we had longer waits than expected. We heard a server tell another table that the kitchen was shorthanded. We were ready to leaver when we finally got our check.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My boyfriend and I have dined there for two of our last celebrations and enjoyed it so I decided to send my parents there tonight for my dads birthday. I had called earlier today and asked for them to celebrate his birthday and was told he would receive a card and candles with his dessert, well when they got home, not only did nobody at the restaurant acknowledge his birthday, but they had HORRIBLE service. I'm very disappointed. This is not a cheap place and I was trying to do something special for my parents, and I will not be doing that again with this establishment. Not to mention it was their first time at The Melting Pot, and now probably their last.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed my dinning experience. The Service and the food was outstanding. Very Romantic setting!!!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We enjoyed our whole experience on Saturday. The food and our waiter were great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food as usual, good service. Strange mix of instrumental, oldies, and pop music playing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great, but cooking it myself and it's 50$ a plate is terrible pricing, especially when you have to "cook" the food yourself.

I expected better for how much I paid

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was shocked at the service and the food both were outstanding. Our server was pleasant and friendly and explained everything to us and keep our drinks filled. I definitely will be back the experience was one that you all at the Melting Pot should be proud of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been many times for dinner, first time going for lunch (tough to get a dinner reservation on Valentine's Day weekend). It was just as special going for lunch, and something we'll do again. Great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a Saturday night reservation made 6 weeks earlier for Valentine's Day. Front staff was very welcoming. Unfortunately, our waiter gave horrible and inattentive service. Our drinks weren't even refilled. The other tables had waiters who came more than 10x before our waiter came. The meal and ambiance was wonderful but the service was horrible. For $160 for two, you would think you would have excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an amazing time from the moment we sat at the bar to walking back out the door. Our server Ameila was fantastic! It was an incredible to reconnect and rekindle our relationship with terrific atmosphere, great food and top of the line service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very nice. Took my daughter and granddaughter for Cupids Day. I didn't know how kid friendly they would be but my granddaughter who is 8 had a fabulous time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My girlfriend and I have been going to this melting pot for four years now for our anniversary. We have seemed to get a Waiter named Phil every time - I have to say the service//food//price//choices everything down to the last bite. Then you want more! I would say its great for a first or 2nd date just because of the choices you make, It allows you to get a conversation going. so if you want to have a good night out I recommend this jewel to anyone! Also be ready to spend about $60-$100 dollars It is worth every penny!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The melting Pot is one of my absolute favorite places to eat. The food is so good and I love th atmosphere, so what I have to say next is really disappointing to me as well. This is the second time this has happened to me however... I ordered a bottle of wine and my waiter brought out two glasses and the bottle. He set the glasses down and poured the wine. He left the table and I picked up my glass to take a sip when I noticed there were STILL lipstick marks from another person!!!! I was disgusted. I told the waiter that my glass was dirty, and he just brought me a new one and acted like it happened all the time. He didn't apologize or offer any compensation now that I had wasted and entire glass of overpriced wine. The first time it happened to me it was with the dippers, there was still crusted cheese on our dippers. They really need to do a better job of cleaning their dishes. My best advice is CHECK TO MAKE SURE YOUR DISHWARE IS CLEAN!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time with excellent food and service. The restaurant provided an extra surprise for our birthday celebration; very unexpected, and a nice personal touch.
We highly recommend the Melting Pot, Richmond to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was great. The server was great. The value was extremely overpriced!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Owner and Manager that were working Sunday when we came I were an amazing team. Friendly and excellent service and good!! We will keep coming in!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cool experience again ! Haven't been in several years ,more food than we remembered didn't leave hungry as we thought we would .Would recommend and go back for special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great time for a birthday celebration, Dave the owner came to our table to make sure everything was great, our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Pricey but always a good time and great food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great dinner. Food was outstanding along with the service. Our server was Shane and it was his third shift as a new server and he did great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was grest

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great fun for a birthday. Long dinner, plan to be there 2 hrs. Kind of pricey, but its an experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was very nice. Service was slow and could have been better. Our waiter did not know if the bar made strawberry daiquiris.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I have dined at the Richmond location of the Melting Pot for years. While I am not totally turned off, I find that I like it a little less each time I go. On this particular experience I noticed several things that were big turn-offs for me.

1. Cheese is no longer prepared table side. I knew that in advance but this time I made a request that it be prepared at the table and was given a perplexing look and told that while it could be done, it slowed things down quite a bit. I felt like I didn't need the excuse from the waiter, he should have just honored the request.

2. There was a constant flow of staff peeking around the corner at my table. I am guessing it was to see how we were progressing because as soon as the last bite entered our mouths, they were collecting dishes and such. It was annoying and rude. I felt like they were hurrying us along.

3. There were children near us who were loud. I understand children have to eat. I also understand why a parent would want their child to have a fun food experience. That being said, while I am without my children, on a date, hoping for a quiet evening, I would rather not have families sat in the area of multiple tables who were obviously enjoying adult only night.

Overall, the food was still good and the evening was pleasant but it is obvious that they are trying to make things more efficient and get more customers in per night. For $100+ dollars for two people to dine, they need to take a bit more care with their customers to ensure the experience is worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As usual, the experience was very fun and delicious. My neighbors and I go here for our son's birthdays each year. This was their 16th birthdays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.