About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: (804) 741-3120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Fun (23)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My boyfriend and I have dined there for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 hours ago

My boyfriend and I have dined there for two of our last celebrations and enjoyed it so I decided to send my parents there tonight for my dads birthday. I had called earlier today and asked for them to celebrate his birthday and was told he would receive a card and candles with his dessert, well when they got home, not only did nobody at the restaurant acknowledge his birthday, but they had HORRIBLE service. I'm very disappointed. This is not a cheap place and I was trying to do something special for my parents, and I will not be doing that again with this establishment. Not to mention it was their first time at The Melting Pot, and now probably their last.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

I was shocked at the service and the foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

I was shocked at the service and the food both were outstanding. Our server was pleasant and friendly and explained everything to us and keep our drinks filled. I definitely will be back the experience was one that you all at the Melting Pot should be proud of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been many times for dinner, first time g ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been many times for dinner, first time going for lunch (tough to get a dinner reservation on Valentine's Day weekend). It was just as special going for lunch, and something we'll do again. Great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a Saturday night reservation made ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a Saturday night reservation made 6 weeks earlier for Valentine's Day. Front staff was very welcoming. Unfortunately, our waiter gave horrible and inattentive service. Our drinks weren't even refilled. The other tables had waiters who came more than 10x before our waiter came. The meal and ambiance was wonderful but the service was horrible. For $160 for two, you would think you would have excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We had an amazing time from the moment w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an amazing time from the moment we sat at the bar to walking back out the door. Our server Ameila was fantastic! It was an incredible to reconnect and rekindle our relationship with terrific atmosphere, great food and top of the line service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Took my daughter and granddau ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very nice. Took my daughter and granddaughter for Cupids Day. I didn't know how kid friendly they would be but my granddaughter who is 8 had a fabulous time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I have been going to t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My girlfriend and I have been going to this melting pot for four years now for our anniversary. We have seemed to get a Waiter named Phil every time - I have to say the service//food//price//choices everything down to the last bite. Then you want more! I would say its great for a first or 2nd date just because of the choices you make, It allows you to get a conversation going. so if you want to have a good night out I recommend this jewel to anyone! Also be ready to spend about $60-$100 dollars It is worth every penny!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The melting Pot is one of my absolute fa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The melting Pot is one of my absolute favorite places to eat. The food is so good and I love th atmosphere, so what I have to say next is really disappointing to me as well. This is the second time this has happened to me however... I ordered a bottle of wine and my waiter brought out two glasses and the bottle. He set the glasses down and poured the wine. He left the table and I picked up my glass to take a sip when I noticed there were STILL lipstick marks from another person!!!! I was disgusted. I told the waiter that my glass was dirty, and he just brought me a new one and acted like it happened all the time. He didn't apologize or offer any compensation now that I had wasted and entire glass of overpriced wine. The first time it happened to me it was with the dippers, there was still crusted cheese on our dippers. They really need to do a better job of cleaning their dishes. My best advice is CHECK TO MAKE SURE YOUR DISHWARE IS CLEAN!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time with excellent f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time with excellent food and service. The restaurant provided an extra surprise for our birthday celebration; very unexpected, and a nice personal touch.

We highly recommend the Melting Pot, Richmond to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. The server was grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was great. The server was great. The value was extremely overpriced!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

The Owner and Manager that were working ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Owner and Manager that were working Sunday when we came I were an amazing team. Friendly and excellent service and good!! We will keep coming in!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool experience again ! Haven't been in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cool experience again ! Haven't been in several years ,more food than we remembered didn't leave hungry as we thought we would .Would recommend and go back for special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very romantic

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time for a birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great time for a birthday celebration, Dave the owner came to our table to make sure everything was great, our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Pricey but always a good time and great food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great dinner. Food was outstand ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great dinner. Food was outstanding along with the service. Our server was Shane and it was his third shift as a new server and he did great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was grest

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was grest

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fun for a birthday. Long dinner, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great fun for a birthday. Long dinner, plan to be there 2 hrs. Kind of pricey, but its an experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was very nice. Service was slow and c ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was very nice. Service was slow and could have been better. Our waiter did not know if the bar made strawberry daiquiris.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have dined at the Richmond location of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I have dined at the Richmond location of the Melting Pot for years. While I am not totally turned off, I find that I like it a little less each time I go. On this particular experience I noticed several things that were big turn-offs for me.

  1. Cheese is no longer prepared table side. I knew that in advance but this time I made a request that it be prepared at the table and was given a perplexing look and told that while it could be done, it slowed things down quite a bit. I felt like I didn't need the excuse from the waiter, he should have just honored the request.
  1. There was a constant flow of staff peeking around the corner at my table. I am guessing it was to see how we were progressing because as soon as the last bite entered our mouths, they were collecting dishes and such. It was annoying and rude. I felt like they were hurrying us along.
  1. There were children near us who were loud. I understand children have to eat. I also understand why a parent would want their child to have a fun food experience. That being said, while I am without my children, on a date, hoping for a quiet evening, I would rather not have families sat in the area of multiple tables who were obviously enjoying adult only night.

Overall, the food was still good and the evening was pleasant but it is obvious that they are trying to make things more efficient and get more customers in per night. For $100+ dollars for two people to dine, they need to take a bit more care with their customers to ensure the experience is worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As usual, the experience was very fun an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As usual, the experience was very fun and delicious. My neighbors and I go here for our son's birthdays each year. This was their 16th birthdays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had very good food specially the dese ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It had very good food specially the deserts! great staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful, It was my dads first t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was wonderful, It was my dads first time and he really enjoyed it!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as was our server ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent as was our server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

For New Years Eve, at $75 per person, I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

For New Years Eve, at $75 per person, I expect perfection. This meal was intended to come with a champagne greeting upon entering the restaurant as well as a 5-course dinner, a photograph afterwards and a $25 gift certificate for a future visit. The staff upon entering was so confused it was laughable, thank goodness the waiter picked up the pieces for them and turned the experience around by delivering on what was to be offered. Our waiter delivered our champagne after we had to ask for it, seeing as the "welcoming" staff all looked to be the age of a new driver and couldn't fathom how to accurately seat anyone. Our waiter also took our coats and gave us a ticket for retrieval after seeing us trying to shove them in the corner of the booth. FYI, he's our waiter, he already has an experience to provide and it's not his job to have to be the host, coat check, photographer, server, busser, etc. ...and if the manager of the establishment came to our table one more time just to "look" to see how far into the meal were to keep an accuracy on how quickly she'd be able to turn her tables over, I was gonna have unprofessional words with her all the way back to the host stand and the photography area so maybe they could use our dissatisfaction as a coaching opportunity. ----proper training, they need it, and they need it bad. The photographer hurried us along after we finished our meal, wouldn't even wait for the third person in our party to be in the photograph so he's not pictured, didn't get to capture the memory thanks to The Melting Pot - Richmond. Overall the food was incredible, the waiter and only the waiter provided great service and was very polite, but every other detail of that special "New Years Celebration" was so poorly executed it makes me want to mail the gift certificate back to them. Will return to The Melting Pot, just not that one.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

wonderful overall experience as always.. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

wonderful overall experience as always...brought our 2 grandkids for their first time at Melting Pot...They had the absolute time of their lives....Everything was Perfect ...!!!...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was top notch and the food w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was top notch and the food was absolutely fantastic! It didn't seem like a lot at first but I was so full when I left! The chocolate fondue was the best part! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Melting Pot for the first ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went to the Melting Pot for the first time to celebrate a family birthday and had a Great and very unique experience ! Extremely creative and delicious food, with a very helpful and friendly wait staff ! Highly recommended !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love coming to the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I always love coming to the Melting Pot for special occasions and dates. Had such a great time celebrating a college acceptance and an anniversary the other night. The ambiance, food, and service are all amazing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here often but have been missing o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We go here often but have been missing our waiter who graduated & left back in June. We went on Sat night for a date & fell in love with our new waiter. This is the 3rd time there since June & having been able to find a replacement of him till now. Wonderful food & staff is very friendly. Ask for Amelia....she is the bomb!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for being so kind with our five-y ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Thanks for being so kind with our five-year-old daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good prices were a little high ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was good prices were a little high for the amount of food you get but it was an experience that was enjoyable

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server Amelia was fantastic and made ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our server Amelia was fantastic and made great suggestions. My husband and I did the 4-course option for his birthday which really was the best value. The Nacho cheese was the bar of the show for us both & the Yin & Yang chocolate desert was out of this world delicious. My only critique would be that there was little table space for so many plates and the room was almost a little too dark - through I understand they were setting the ambiance.

The hostess was also walking back and forth to our area with a clipboard every 5 minute which was kind of curious. But all in all - a FUN dining experience and great for dates, birthdays or just drinks and an appetizer!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service and ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service and our server, Holly, was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, , Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she was great! She knew everything and was very efficient. If you want great, friendly service ask for her!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and even better food! Ev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Awesome service and even better food! Everything was served quickly with great insctruction and the food was honestly out of this world!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here with my husband and brother, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dined here with my husband and brother, it was a bit late so the restaurant was fairly empty and I can't critique the noise level. The food is delicious and it's so much fun to cook at the table! Our waiter (whose name I can't remember, sadly) was absolutely wonderful and one of the best servers I've had in years. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great servers make the experience that m ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great servers make the experience that much better. Great for special occasions or any time in cold weather.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. One entree enough for two pe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent. One entree enough for two people unless both are REALLY hungry.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot and all 4 times has been a great night out, this was our anniversary so it was special, all the staff were complying and the food was fantastic as always, we have recommended this place to our friends and they all have said the same.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.