Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

About The Melting Pot - Richmond

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Melting Pot was excellent. It met all of my request and made the dining experience one to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Girls get together. Always a great experience. Everything was delicious and on point. Wonderful food, experience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent for special celebrations and for a unique experience. Chocolate is best!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We usually love the Melting Pot and endless fondue is a great value. While our food was enjoyable, the service really diminished what is usually a great night out. The service was disappointing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very nice restaurant Great food great atmosphere very nice restaurant

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Cheese fondue was much less tasty than expected. Chocolate fondue was good. Salad was very basic. Entrees and service were fine, nothing special. For the price, will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our server Devon was amazing and so friendly! The food was wonderful. It was really a one of a kind dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was good, as is usual. The service was not, which unfortunately seems to be becoming the standard. The last two times we have eaten at the Melting Pot the service has been sub par. On this visit, we had to ask several times for a booster seat, we finally had to hunt down a manager to take our dessert order, and my husband paid the bill at the front hostess stand because we couldn't find our server. For the price of a meal, service should be outstanding and it's just not even close.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My niece selected this as one of her choices to go to eat for her birthday. The food was good and the server, Devon, was great. The lighting was a bit too dark for me to comfortable read the menu, so I had to use my phone be light. We were both impressed that we could order a side of extra shrimp to go with the fondue. It was a very enjoyable night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had wonderful service from Amelia. The meal was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love coming to the restaurant for special occassions. We had the private dining table with a curtain.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service! Excellent food! All around great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing! Great staff, food, and drinks. Awesome experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband and I have frequented The Melting Pot- Richmond. Unfortunately, this was one of our least favorite visits. Our waitress seemed more concerned with serving everyone else and we had several different team members serve us during our visit. We felt that we had to wait unusually long times between courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful, server Shawn was great. The food was wonderful, lighting, drinks, and atmosphere was great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Quick Bite, Organic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our waiter Eli was very efficiant, attentive friendly, funny and sweet. He was very good about suggesting items and was informative about the menu. Our drinks were promptly filled every time someone walked by and we were also acknowledged by management. This was a special night I planned for my sister from out of state. I'm so glad it did not disappoint, she loved it and wishes there was a Melting Pot in her state too!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went here for the first time for my anniversary. Spent 3 hours here amd it did not feel like it. It was a great experience and something I look forward to doing again. Our waiter was very courteous and friendly and went out of his way to make us feel at home. Ask for Gavin.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went there to celebrate my daughter's 10th birthday. Our server was fantastic! He was very tolerant of serving two children (4 and 10) and make sure we had everything we needed. He made great suggestions. They staff was friendly and helpful. The food was amazing!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our first visit to the Melting Pot. It is a great experience for a meal that you have a couple of hours or more to experience. The atmosphere is great, service is great, and experience entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

You can never go wrong with the Melting Pot! Definitely a treat but for us it's like going to the spa - except with food. Great each step of the way: service, cheese fondue, main course and of course the chocolate fondue. Enjoy some wine and relax while you indulge in a fantastic meal. I suggest getting a wine flight and the Mojo for the main course.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I have been here 3 times this year. Each time the service has been great, everything is delicious but be prepared to spend a little money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The Melting Pot was great as always. They made our anniversary very memorable. We are going to make it our new tradition.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Little pricey but good dining experience for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I love the Melting Pot, but this was the first time I've gone on a date. It's always wonderful and especially fun watching someone experience it for the first time. It was very romantic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Authentic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Always great! My kids really enjoy it. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our server Ross was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our waitress Daniel was amazing, she made our visit very special. We were celebrating a special occasion and she made it memorable. Thank you for hiring such wonderful people. We will be back, great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent service by Shane and the staff at Melting Pot Richmond. We were greeted with "Happy Anniversary" several times and it was great that they went out of their way to ensure my wife and I had an excellent evening celebrating our 16th Wedding Anniversary. I will definitely continue to recommend Melting Pot Richmond to friends and family! Excellent Experience!!! Thank you

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We had a very good waiter. He had the answers to all the questions we had.
If I had to say anything negative..... it would be that we felt slightly rushed a little at the end. We came early, and it was getting quite busy by the time we left.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We had a lovely meal - not sure whether I enjoyed the cheese or chocolate fondue more :)
Just make sure you have lots of time - not because the service is slow (it's not), but because the entree items do take a while to cook, two by two...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The last time we went it was bad but my partner wanted to go for her birthday. The bathroom had one open stall with no toilet paper. The wall had blue tape over the outlet. The food was not made at the table but was brought out from the kitchen, cold. The mojito was Sprite with leaves in it. Terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was excellent and service was very good. Great for special occasions, although was a little pricy for quantity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is one of our favorites & we even have a special waiter. Our last one moved on after graduation but it didn't take us long to find the one we love now. We are treated like special people every time & we visit about every 2 months. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was ok, not a big fan of boiled meat. This was our first anniversary dinner and we were sat next to couple with a screaming baby so that dampened the atmosphere. The waiter was nice but not familiar with menu and kept forgetting to refill drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a wonderful date night with my wife. Management and staff where awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We're "regulars" - and nearly always have a fantastic evening for two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife and I have been there many times over the years, usually a special event. The reason we keep coming back is the obvious, we totally enjoy the experience. We have been to 2 other Melting Pot locations and they were very good, but we prefer this location over them all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Another great experience at the Melting Pot! I love how they always have different specials going on. It always encourages my group of friends a little outing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our server, Shane, was terrific. Very knowledgeable and provided great suggestions for us to try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.