Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

About The Melting Pot - Richmond

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 11:00am - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 11:00am to 11:00pm
Lunch also available weekdays for parties of any size with at least one day advance notice.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Together is our secret ingredient. Make memories and start traditions with a unique fondue dining experience. We will be open from 11am - 9pm. Make your reservation today.

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Romantic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (19)
Fun (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
1592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was fantastic! It was a very memorable experience and great for a Date night or Anniversary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

It’s always special to be able to visit. Our grandson had been with us several years ago and remembered how much he liked it. Fun time with a ten year old

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Went to ladies night and it was a great time! Food is delicious! Don't forget to save room for desert!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We came to the restaurant for a special occasion, a birthday. This was specifically marked in the Opentable reservation when booking. There was no mention of the special occasion the entire visit, although the two tables across from us were brought birthday treats. Not sure how they got recognition but our table didn’t.

The server brought out some of the dippers but forgot half of them. We compared our dippers to the table across from us and asked why they had so many more. The server said she had forgot.. oops.. and that she would bring some. She kept saying she would bring refills of drinks and dippers but we had to repeatedly ask for them before they would actually show up to the table.

Not a fantastic experience. Bread for the cheese fondue was stale, and the tortilla chips were all smashed little pieces. How do you dip little chip pieces in cheese fondue? You can’t.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We have been to the Melting Pot before and have been very happy. This past visit was a big disappointment. We arrived on time and were seated. It was a bit noisy and the music was turned up. No one waited on us for over 20 minutes. We had to go up to the hostess desk to find someone to wait on us. Once our order was taken dinner progressed quickly. We noticed that the portions we received were not as much as they have been in the past. Same price, smaller portions. The food was delicious as always, but I do not think we will be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had a great night, everyone was really nice and our meal was amazing. We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We have visited this restaurant multiple times. Although it has always been a good experience, we all agreed this visit was the BEST ever! Shawn was fantastic and the meal was better than ever before. We will definitely request Shawn as our server going forward. We have never received bad service but Shawn certainly knows how to take care of his customers and make them feel special. Thank you for making Ashley’s birthday one to remember.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Waitress was really sweet however , seemed like she was nervous though?! Maybe new?! Overall good experience- my husband enjoyed it himself as it was his first time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Everything was wonderful from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Rawls was the best server ever! Went out of his way to help us and make my picky daughter happy on her 17 birthday even MADE her a cake so lovely!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

First time and it was amazing. Did the 4 course and Devin offered it great recommendations. Table behind us was very loud but other then that it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Since Melting Pot is one of our “go to’s “for special occasions, we decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary there. The food, as always, was wonderful but we were surprised at the managements decision to place a family with a toddler and a preschooler right next to us. Wouldn’t have given it a second thought if the place had been crowded, but it was a Tuesday night and we were the only patrons on that side of the restaurant! It would have been thoughtful of the hostess to have a table or two between us as a noise buffer (and they WERE noisy.) It wasn’t the quiet romantic dinner we were hoping for. It certainly won’t keep us from returning, but I think the people in charge of seating us should be made aware of this.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary. The ambience was perfect and we had a private table that even had a curtain. Our waiter Rawls was awesome and very knowledgeable. The cheese fondue, the entrée and the chocolate fondue were all wonderful. The only thing I would add to this is that the prices were kind of high for the amount of food that we got.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My husband & I were celebrating our 7th anniversary..... wanted to surprise him with a Nice Dinner .... something we haven’t done together... fondue.... our 12 yr old daughter wanted to celebrate with us..... SHE LOVED IT, AS DID WE!!! GAVIN, our server was AMAZING!!!!! He made sure to include our child in all, & we appreciated him speaking to her as a young adult, not at her....... GAVIN DID A SUPERB JOB.... THANKS for all & to all !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Fondue is not done Table side anymore. Comes from Kitchen already melted. Wine list minimal and were out of a lot of high end ones we wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Thank you Jordan for your great service. Maitre D (sorry I did not get his name) was very professional and patron friendly. Another great dining experience at The Melting Pot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Love the melting pot! They always remember my favorite table and the experience is amazing

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Waitress was fantastic! Loved the specials on wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful evening experience and David the owner was very personable and Shane our waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dining here is an experience.. well worth the time, and money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our first time and we were very disappointed. The food lacked flavor and was bland. Serving sizes were small but the prices were high. We tried it for Henrico Restaurant week and will not return. The only enjoyable part was the chocolate fondue and trimmings for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is my goto place to meet friend and family. I come here at least 2-3 times a year.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner here -- they had a card at our table and we had a Prosecco toast given to us. Loved our night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Our waiter was fantastic and the owner came by and talked with us with was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Melting Pot was excellent. It met all of my request and made the dining experience one to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Girls get together. Always a great experience. Everything was delicious and on point. Wonderful food, experience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent for special celebrations and for a unique experience. Chocolate is best!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We usually love the Melting Pot and endless fondue is a great value. While our food was enjoyable, the service really diminished what is usually a great night out. The service was disappointing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very nice restaurant Great food great atmosphere very nice restaurant

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Cheese fondue was much less tasty than expected. Chocolate fondue was good. Salad was very basic. Entrees and service were fine, nothing special. For the price, will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our server Devon was amazing and so friendly! The food was wonderful. It was really a one of a kind dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was good, as is usual. The service was not, which unfortunately seems to be becoming the standard. The last two times we have eaten at the Melting Pot the service has been sub par. On this visit, we had to ask several times for a booster seat, we finally had to hunt down a manager to take our dessert order, and my husband paid the bill at the front hostess stand because we couldn't find our server. For the price of a meal, service should be outstanding and it's just not even close.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My niece selected this as one of her choices to go to eat for her birthday. The food was good and the server, Devon, was great. The lighting was a bit too dark for me to comfortable read the menu, so I had to use my phone be light. We were both impressed that we could order a side of extra shrimp to go with the fondue. It was a very enjoyable night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had wonderful service from Amelia. The meal was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love coming to the restaurant for special occassions. We had the private dining table with a curtain.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service! Excellent food! All around great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing! Great staff, food, and drinks. Awesome experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband and I have frequented The Melting Pot- Richmond. Unfortunately, this was one of our least favorite visits. Our waitress seemed more concerned with serving everyone else and we had several different team members serve us during our visit. We felt that we had to wait unusually long times between courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.