About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream
Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Campfire Martini
Yin & Yang Martini
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
coq au vin
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Wisconsin Cheese
Banana Fosters

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
4 More
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (66)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (7)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favorite restaurant!) , but am disappointed with recent changes to their menu and service. You now have to request that the cheese be made table side - we missed that the first time and just having the cheese brought out like a normal restaurant was disappointing. I also didn't like the change in the china and I am certain the portion sizes have been reduced. Having visited many different Melting Pot's in different states, I am not sure we will visit as frequently. As my husband stated, the price to value ratio has shifted and now the price really isn't worth what you receive. Also, our service was EXTREMELY slow and she kept forgetting things. I had to remind her for a couple of "regular" items - i.e. graham crackers for the s'mores chocolate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server (Justin) was AMAZING! Food was spectacular. Atmosphere was lovely. We were celebrating my son's Academic Achievements for the school year. It was the perfect place to celebrate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always! It's a total experie ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect as always! It's a total experience with the the food, the wonderful cooking smells, and slower pace providing time and place for sharing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my ann ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my anniversary spot. We go to enjoy time together . Foo was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was go great!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server Phil was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Whenever we needed him he would magically appear.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Melting Pot never disappoi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the Melting Pot never disappoints. Great place, amazing staff and the fondue is always killer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting Pot! The special touches from the restaurant to acknowledge our daughter's birthday were especially appreciated.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance!

Dined on May 12, 2016

I truly enjoyed my dining experience at the Melting Pot . The staff truly cared whether their guests were satisfied with all aspects of their experiences. What I appreciate most about the my dining experience is that the managerial staff are very interested in building on the customer service and hospitality skills of their staff. Their interests will ultimately help their young staff members develop professionally. These skills are transferable to other dimensions of the staff members' lives. For these reasons, the morale of the staff appeared to be very high. Their positive attitudes certainly carried over and was demonstrated through their ability to present items listed on their menus and their abilities to answer the guest questions thoroughly. I was pleased that the main goal of all staff members was to ensure that their customers were enjoying their experiences. The Melting Pot is more than a restaurant; it's an exquisite dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for a birthday, anniversary, or any other special occasion. And our waitress was wonderful!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Evening out

Dined on May 4, 2016

Chris our server was awesome he explained everything perfectly and was really helpful in assisting with the "Flow" of the meal. Chris made our experience at the Melting Pot very enjoyable. Thanks Chris!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite

Dined on May 2, 2016

This is for special occasion dining but always a favorite

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

From the front door the restaurant amaze ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

From the front door the restaurant amazed us. The decor and feel was very nice. The fashion the seats were setup gave it a very personal feel for a romantic dinner for 2. Though the pricing was a "not every week" range, it was very well worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my mother there for Mother's day. She has always wanted to go but never had the chance. Our server, Phil, was really great. I have a quite loud and silly family and he was able to handle us just fine. It was definitely a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amelia

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amelia was our server, so nice, incredible service, great suggestions, very attentive and very knowledgeable, she made the meal and experience awesome. We will be back to see her!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice night out

Dined on April 23, 2016

Been here several times, always get great service and the staff seems knowledgeable. Long, varied wine list. Howver the cheese and the Chocolate always stand out. Certainly on the pricier side but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and they had a ball w ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great and they had a ball with my daughter (7 years old) and her first time going. She can't wait to get all A's on her report card so she can go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful experience! Their chocolate dipped strawberries are to die for!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined on April 20, 2016

The Melting Pot is by far my husband and I's favorite place to eat out at. It never dissapoints and we always have wonderful service, delicious food, and great memories made. This time was no exception, with Raymond as our server, he helped make our Melting Pot "experience" absolutely perfect. The you so much, Melting Pit of Richmond- we hope to see you again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service4

The waitress, hostess and the manager wh ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The waitress, hostess and the manager who checked on us were all great..attentive. That said, the atmosphere here is soooo depressing. Dark and humid with the stink of boiling bourgignon pervading through the restaurant. Tinny, awful jazz and muzak coming through cheap ceiling speakers. Then the food. Boiling meat = Ruining meat! And no matter how many little dishes of sauce you provide to cover that up, it is still awful. Made even worse by the ridiculously high price. I must admit the place was pretty full so they must be doing something right:) but seriously, this was one of the worst dining experiences of my life. I wish them well.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food and service was great. I didn't lik ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and service was great. I didn't like the constant flickering of the light. Got pretty annoying. Otherwise, great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We dine here often because of the food and the staff. Both are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

No. You're not the boss of me.

Dined on April 3, 2016

It was great. The food was delicious and staff was very accommodating regarding any preferences (e.g. getting more vegetables if we wanted). The bill was understandably high. The atmosphere could hardly be beat - at least with a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was filling and taste very good ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The meal was filling and taste very good. Sha who waited on us was very knowledgeable. Everything was just like he said.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alex

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been there twice. First was a romantic evening with my wife, the second with my wife and our 18 year old daughter was a really nice family affair. Think it fits my idea of a really good place for small cozy groups of no more than 4.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had received a gift card to go to the ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had received a gift card to go to the Baker's Crust. My wife had been before for a dinner meeting with her job but it was my first time. We attended Sunday Brunch and were very satisfied with the food, service and overall experience. We will definitely go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

The melting pot staff was wonderful. They were on top of our every need. We really felt like we were being pampered and taken care of. We appreciated it! The food was delicious, although I felt that our main course felt smaller than usual. Other than that, there are no complaints. Thanks for being awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on March 8, 2016

Great great great great great great great great great

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

I love the fondue experience; is such a ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I love the fondue experience; is such a relaxing way to dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on March 2, 2016

It was our third or fourth time eating here and as usual the experience was great. We came for previous anniversaries, and our daughter's graduation, then this time because same daughter gave wife a gift certificate for her birthday because she enjoyed it so much. Great service and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So much fun!

Dined on March 1, 2016

This was our 10 yr old's first visit. They made it so special. All staff was extremely friendly and professional. Can't wait to do again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

I was initially worried about going to the melting pot because of the prices, but once I got there and saw the the great customer service and the vibe I felt more at ease, and before we realized it we had spent almost 3 hrs there the food was amazing the drinks are good and our waiter Rohit was amazing, definitely worth the price for what you get which is a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great romantic joint

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great romantic joint

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Special dining experience with minor issues

Dined on February 27, 2016

A wonderful place to dine with others that you wish to get to know better...first date-type situations. The meal is more interactive and involved than a typical dinner, so it presents a'cooperative experience' that lends itself to breaking the ice with new friends. Also each table has an intimate, private feel as they are situated in partitioned 'cubbies' separate from each other. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable...and patient with the many questions since the fondue routine was a unique dining experience for our guest couple. The menu offerings were varied and of a high quality. However, the portion size versus the cost of each course made it seem a bit pricey. 4-course packages, rather than choosing a la carte courses definitely is the best value. We did find that while our table/cubicle had a private feel, it was more decidedly cramped than cozy for the four of us...in addition, it made for occasionally cumbersome manipulations of skewers of food with a very hot fondue pot. Nevertheless, my wife & I have been to this particular Melting Pot many times since it first opened over 20 years ago...always an enjoyable experience. In the past it was just the two of us...perfect for a romantic/intimate dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Food...but... The food and ser ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful Food...but... The food and service was exceptional, but the restaurant was overly warm, not sure why. The room temperature was uncomfortable which made it difficult to enjoy the meal. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and offered suggestions. Definitely worth a repeat visit for our next special occasion, but not during the summer months.

food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I love dining at the Melt ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I love dining at the Melting Pot-the food is always great and the service is outstanding. I do wish the cheese fondue would be prepared at the table like it was in the past. It took about 5-10 minutes to warm up after being brought to the table already prepared; however, it was still delicious! We will continue to dine here in the future! Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great eats

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I went Saturday night. We arrived early but we're sat promptly. Wine and drinks were less than 5 minutes from sitting down. Food was excellent as always, and we left feeling very happy! Great service and a great night overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on February 20, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderfully, romantic meal at the Melting Pot. The waiter had a great personality. The food was delicious. The atmosphere, while a bit noisy at times, was very nice. The seating is designed so everyone has their own little booth/cubicle area. I will recommend to all my friends looking for a special occasion meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Phil was great!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

The experience was great. Phil was very nice. We really enjoyed every aspect of our evening as we were celebrating a late Valentines day and engagement. Thank you

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks were great, our reservat ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Food and drinks were great, our reservation was at 5:30 and we were sat right away.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.