About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream
Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Campfire Martini
Yin & Yang Martini
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
coq au vin
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Wisconsin Cheese
Banana Fosters

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
1 More
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (63)
Good for Groups (24)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love the melting pot! The food is goo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love the melting pot! The food is good, the staff is awesome! The overall experience cant be beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was awesome. She was very ple ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server was awesome. She was very pleasant and accommodating. The food was excellent! Great ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager and staff went out of their ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The manager and staff went out of their way to make sure our anniversary was a wonderful success. From the candles and roses to the champagne, everything was exceptional. Our waitress was awesomely friendly and made perfect recommendations. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I have been to The Melting Pot bef ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

While I have been to The Melting Pot before, it has been quite a while since we have gone. But we decided it would be a fun date night for birthday, though we only did two courses, cheese and chocolate. The birthday card on the table was a very sweet gesture and they did a great job of wishing me a happy birthday. The food itself was good enough, though I wouldn't necessarily use "fresh" to describe it. Our waitress was very nice, but she did not visit our table very often and everything I asked for was forgotten and never made it to our table (Both drinks and extra food).

The atmosphere is nice, quiet, and romantic, and it really is a fun and unique dining experience, but I am not sure when or if we will be going back, especially to this location.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Took the girlfriend for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Took the girlfriend for our anniversary. She has a gluten allergy, and the waiting staff made sure to double check everything. They also seemed very happy to accommodate her condition! Thanks!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great place to go for a quite special ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great place to go for a quite special meal with a special person. Food and service are great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the melting pot on mult ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have dined at the melting pot on multiple occasions. We decided to take my mom for a special treat. The table next to us was two couples. They were OBNOXIOUSLY loud. From what we gathered, they knew the management so I assume that is why the noise level did not matter to the rest of the guests in that section. Nothing was said to the couples the WHOLE time we were there. It was an unpleasant experience for us. All three of us left with headaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Food was great but we were a couple stor ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was great but we were a couple storing in the back room and it's definitely a ruin for the larger groups not a couple. Bathrooms need updating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food, never disappoints! Wish I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Awesome food, never disappoints! Wish I could eat here more often!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for the first time to celebrate ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Visited for the first time to celebrate a birthday. And we were very pleasantly surprised. The entire setup and experience was very different and unique. The ambiance was excellent. Although we were alone for about half the meal, a group of six women came into the area and were a bit talkative, but that were enjoying themselves as well. But the overall experience was superb! I highly recommend it for special occasions and an enjoyable night out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's been a few years since I went to th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It's been a few years since I went to the Melting Pot and decided it would be a fun birthday destination for my fiancé's birthday. Sadly, I was mistaken. First, nothing is prepared at the table anymore, cheese and chocolate are brought pre-made and a topping is tossed in by your server. That is, if you ever see your server. We sat for 20 minutes after our salads with empty drinks and no idea when the food would arrive. Mind you, this is RAW meat, so there is not a lot of prep to hinder serving. My fiancé went to ask for a manager after seeing how upset I was with his birthday dinner ruined and only then did we get drink refills and our food brought out. After that, our server seemed high or just off, and the entire experience was awkward from then on. For nearly $200, it was NOT worth it. Go to Tobacco Company.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Over all the experience was goodthe food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Over all the experience was goodthe food was good. The only problem was that my server dropped a sauce container sending it flying all over the table, and my nice dress shirt that girlfriend had just purchased making her upset that we wouldn't be able to get the stains out. I was expecting to him to be courteous, and at least discount our meal for the inconvenience but he didn't. I feel like I could have spent my $160 somewhere else, and had more of a better time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a good experience . Staff is alwa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always a good experience . Staff is always personable . Classy establishment good for dates or friends getting together

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the concept of the melting pot I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I like the concept of the melting pot I also like the intimate booths and the the table cooking. What I don't like is the difficulty of understanding the menu or how the entrees are served. Food is good, but for the price there is not much of it. Overall, I was satisfied with our experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing! We enjoyed the am ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was amazing! We enjoyed the ambience and location of the restaurant. Our waiter was extremely friendly as well knowledgeable of the menu. The wait to be seated was not long at all. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yogurt Curry Sause

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Yogurt Curry Sause

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Phil very nice server. We also appreciat ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Phil very nice server. We also appreciated that Corinne, who took our reservation, had a bday card for my daughter, also named Corinne, on the table. Noise level very high, not due to the melting pot, but due to an obnoxious table near is speaking very loudly about (barfing, hangovers) was very tacky.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love the Melting Pot and the food is ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We love the Melting Pot and the food is always good. Our waiter talked way too much and came across as trying to be cute and funny (which he was neither). We were there for the food and quality time without kids, not to be entertained. This "show" led to errors in ordering, slow service, and too much time spent at our table. The other thing that almost made me walk out was that he was sweating a great deal and would wipe his sweat with is serving hand or tuck his sweaty hair back and then get close to our food or touch our utensils. Not the greatest experience for our anniversary dinner. Very disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious anniversary meal. Gavi on the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Delicious anniversary meal. Gavi on the wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Allie was awesome. I will ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waitress Allie was awesome. I will request her the next time I dine with The Melting Pot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a wonderful place.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It's a wonderful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing time! Great food! Supe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had an amazing time! Great food! Super time! Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with outstanding servic ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Had a great time with outstanding service! Plan to spend at least 2 hours and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice experience. Didn't feel rushed. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice experience. Didn't feel rushed. Everything was explained well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New waiter needs to better manage course ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

New waiter needs to better manage course timing. Normal meal is 1.5 to 2 hours, this was 2.75 hours.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was exceptional so was the service. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was exceptional so was the service. Great overall experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful dining exper ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service and wonderful dining experience overall!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience. This is n ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. This is not your a-typical dinner service and requires an open mind to a new experience. If you are only willing to think about wait staff as food deliverers and not as guides through a new experience this might not be for you. If you like unique food experiences and are willing to allow them to guide you along then this will be a night you will not soon forget, and food you will never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on us and we never had to ask for anything he was already on whatever we needed. It was very quiet which is a rare find in Richmond, noise can become overwhelming when your trying to have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Rich ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Richmond! The food, service, and experience is fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extraordinary. Great ex ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was extraordinary. Great experience if you are looking for different dining experience, very unique concept.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonder ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonderful! This was our first time dining in your restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing special evening. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a different type of experience th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a different type of experience that i did enjoy. The service was good. The only knock would be the price. For the portions of entre' the price should be cheaper.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remembe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remember his name but it started with an S. He deserves a HUGE RAISE!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a surprise for my boyfriend and I's three year anniversary. While this is not a cheap date (Expect 3 figures and a hefty tip at 20% of that), the Melting Pot helped me arrange a perfect experience--some without me knowing! While I ordered rose petals, candles, a photo, and three roses for each of us, they surprised ME by giving us a private booth with a privacy curtain!!! My wonderful boyfriend has traveled most of Europe and eaten at some of the best places--but when I found out he'd never had fondue or been to the Melting Pot, I was over the moon to take him. He said it was of the best places, hands down, he's EVER dined at! He described it as "incomparable" and said I went well above and beyond and he was shocked at all I had arranged, the food, the decor, the music. . .we'll surely come back and this is THE place to make a date; Where you're romancing your boyfriend, girlfriend, to purpose, or your wife, husband--this place impresses EVERYONE. It truly made a memory we'll never forget--and to help, we even have a picture 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were surprised that iced tea was not ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were surprised that iced tea was not available as a beverage option. We enjoyed the interactive dining experience. The menu was diverse and had something for everyone. Service was competent and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is only for special occasions ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This place is only for special occasions to have the unique experience of fondue. To me it is overpriced. The waiter brought the check while we were in the middle of the entrée, didn't remove the dishes in the end, so I pushed everything to the side to sign the receipt.

Batter for the oil fondue is no fun do not choose the oil for cooking your entrée.

Best...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favorite restaurant!) , but am disappointed with recent changes to their menu and service. You now have to request that the cheese be made table side - we missed that the first time and just having the cheese brought out like a normal restaurant was disappointing. I also didn't like the change in the china and I am certain the portion sizes have been reduced. Having visited many different Melting Pot's in different states, I am not sure we will visit as frequently. As my husband stated, the price to value ratio has shifted and now the price really isn't worth what you receive. Also, our service was EXTREMELY slow and she kept forgetting things. I had to remind her for a couple of "regular" items - i.e. graham crackers for the s'mores chocolate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful Dining Experience.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server (Justin) was AMAZING! Food was spectacular. Atmosphere was lovely. We were celebrating my son's Academic Achievements for the school year. It was the perfect place to celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as always! It's a total experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect as always! It's a total experience with the the food, the wonderful cooking smells, and slower pace providing time and place for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.