About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Swiss Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Creme Brulee - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fiesta Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Campfire Martini - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Yin & Yang Martini - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cheddar Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
coq au vin - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Turtle Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Wisconsin Cheese - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Banana Fosters - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Romantic
Richmond
1 More
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (43)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Private Room (11)
Family Style (9)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she was great! She knew everything and was very efficient. If you want great, friendly service ask for her!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and even better food! Ev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome service and even better food! Everything was served quickly with great insctruction and the food was honestly out of this world!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here with my husband and brother, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dined here with my husband and brother, it was a bit late so the restaurant was fairly empty and I can't critique the noise level. The food is delicious and it's so much fun to cook at the table! Our waiter (whose name I can't remember, sadly) was absolutely wonderful and one of the best servers I've had in years. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great servers make the experience that m ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great servers make the experience that much better. Great for special occasions or any time in cold weather.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. One entree enough for two pe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent. One entree enough for two people unless both are REALLY hungry.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot and all 4 times has been a great night out, this was our anniversary so it was special, all the staff were complying and the food was fantastic as always, we have recommended this place to our friends and they all have said the same.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the melting pot for our first ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We went to the melting pot for our first wedding anniversary. It was amazing. They do all the little things to make your experience special. Great food. Great drinks. Great service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Aaron was wonderful, very att ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our server Aaron was wonderful, very attentive to our needs. He helped us pick out the perfect cheese based on our preferences and we were very pleased with the result. He also did a great job of going over the menu, as we hadn't dined there in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a joy to experience this kind of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a joy to experience this kind of atmosphere and food thats fit for a King.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the classic 4-course option. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had the classic 4-course option. The server we had had a great personality and was very helpful in explaining how to cook our food in the fondue. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent . Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and service were excellent . Our server Amelia was very knowledgeable with her recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

19th Anniversary, overall experience was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

19th Anniversary, overall experience was decent I was just a little dismayed by the portions verse price; I left hungry... the chocolate fondue at the end was the highlight for me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was very knowledgeable and di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and did amazing. The food was great, cheese and chocolate fondue was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful and unique experien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was a wonderful and unique experience. Can't wait to go back. All the food was wonderful and plenty.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our waiter was outstanding and manager w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

our waiter was outstanding and manager was extremely friendly! Would recommend to anyone to come to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing!!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, service & atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent meal, service & atmosphere. Our server, Amelia, was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate our 10 year anniver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We went to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Neither of us had been before and wanted to try something new. It was a fun new adventure. Our server was wonderful and explained everything so well for us newbies. It seemed very expensive for the amount of food you were given but neither of us left hungry. The only drawback to this visit was we were seated near the bar and someone there was being very loud. We also appreciated that they acknowledged our anniversary even though we didn't do any of the special packages that are available. We have already suggested it to a couple of people for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service as alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service as always. Whenever we visit Richmond, we make it a point to have dinner at least one night at the Melting Pot.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was good not great especially quant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2016

food was good not great especially quantity server was nice knowledgable and friendly had to wait way too long to be seated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was looking for something different th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was looking for something different than what we have around our neighborhood so for honey's birthday we went here.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at the melting pot. It ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time dining at the melting pot. It was amazing. The experience was really cool. I enjoyed cooking my own food that was very interesting. Our waiter was perfect, the menu was kind of confusing for a first timer and he did such a good job explaining how it worked and even made some delicious suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Melting Pot in Richmond was absolute ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Melting Pot in Richmond was absolutely amazing. I unfortunately can't remember my servers name, but he was wonderful. Very knowledgeable of the menu and what went well with what. He was very helpful and friendly. Since it was my first time ever going to The Melting Pot, my server made it extremely easy and just and overall fantastic experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was pretty good despite the fact ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was pretty good despite the fact the waitress was new. Ambiance was just dated and gloomy. I ordered a bourbon from a list of about a dozen, but waitress returned and explained they didn't have it. Turns out, they actually had only 2 bourbons from their list on their bar. They didn't even have the bourbon for their Manhattan specialty cocktail highlighted on the menu. Unacceptable given there was an ABC store in the mall 100 yards away. The salads, cheese and chocolate fondues were OK, but the main courses fell well short by virtue of the cooking method. When you consider that you are simply boiling the beef, chicken, duck, shrimp and veggies you understand why it all tastes that way . It doesn't matter how it is prepared or what it is boiled in, it's still boiled and bland, and you can't justify the premium price despite the concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We have been to The Melting Pot for our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have been to The Melting Pot for our anniversary 13 years in a row now. Before the age of computer reservations they knew this information. The past four years or so the restaurant has made some changes, likely to cut costs, and lost some of it's charm. The fondue is no longer prepared at your table. The portions of refillable dippers are now so small you have to ask for extra to get through your cheese or chocolate. The cheese fondue that was once made at your table with Sam Adams is now made in the back with what the menu lists as Pilsner.

The flies at the urinal really put me over the edge. How hard is it to clean a restroom? Staff seemed to be going through the motions rather than creating a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We love the melting pot! The food is goo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We love the melting pot! The food is good, the staff is awesome! The overall experience cant be beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was awesome. She was very ple ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server was awesome. She was very pleasant and accommodating. The food was excellent! Great ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager and staff went out of their ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The manager and staff went out of their way to make sure our anniversary was a wonderful success. From the candles and roses to the champagne, everything was exceptional. Our waitress was awesomely friendly and made perfect recommendations. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I have been to The Melting Pot bef ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

While I have been to The Melting Pot before, it has been quite a while since we have gone. But we decided it would be a fun date night for birthday, though we only did two courses, cheese and chocolate. The birthday card on the table was a very sweet gesture and they did a great job of wishing me a happy birthday. The food itself was good enough, though I wouldn't necessarily use "fresh" to describe it. Our waitress was very nice, but she did not visit our table very often and everything I asked for was forgotten and never made it to our table (Both drinks and extra food).

The atmosphere is nice, quiet, and romantic, and it really is a fun and unique dining experience, but I am not sure when or if we will be going back, especially to this location.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Took the girlfriend for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Took the girlfriend for our anniversary. She has a gluten allergy, and the waiting staff made sure to double check everything. They also seemed very happy to accommodate her condition! Thanks!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great place to go for a quite special ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great place to go for a quite special meal with a special person. Food and service are great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the melting pot on mult ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have dined at the melting pot on multiple occasions. We decided to take my mom for a special treat. The table next to us was two couples. They were OBNOXIOUSLY loud. From what we gathered, they knew the management so I assume that is why the noise level did not matter to the rest of the guests in that section. Nothing was said to the couples the WHOLE time we were there. It was an unpleasant experience for us. All three of us left with headaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Food was great but we were a couple stor ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was great but we were a couple storing in the back room and it's definitely a ruin for the larger groups not a couple. Bathrooms need updating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food, never disappoints! Wish I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Awesome food, never disappoints! Wish I could eat here more often!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for the first time to celebrate ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Visited for the first time to celebrate a birthday. And we were very pleasantly surprised. The entire setup and experience was very different and unique. The ambiance was excellent. Although we were alone for about half the meal, a group of six women came into the area and were a bit talkative, but that were enjoying themselves as well. But the overall experience was superb! I highly recommend it for special occasions and an enjoyable night out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's been a few years since I went to th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

It's been a few years since I went to the Melting Pot and decided it would be a fun birthday destination for my fiancé's birthday. Sadly, I was mistaken. First, nothing is prepared at the table anymore, cheese and chocolate are brought pre-made and a topping is tossed in by your server. That is, if you ever see your server. We sat for 20 minutes after our salads with empty drinks and no idea when the food would arrive. Mind you, this is RAW meat, so there is not a lot of prep to hinder serving. My fiancé went to ask for a manager after seeing how upset I was with his birthday dinner ruined and only then did we get drink refills and our food brought out. After that, our server seemed high or just off, and the entire experience was awkward from then on. For nearly $200, it was NOT worth it. Go to Tobacco Company.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Over all the experience was goodthe food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Over all the experience was goodthe food was good. The only problem was that my server dropped a sauce container sending it flying all over the table, and my nice dress shirt that girlfriend had just purchased making her upset that we wouldn't be able to get the stains out. I was expecting to him to be courteous, and at least discount our meal for the inconvenience but he didn't. I feel like I could have spent my $160 somewhere else, and had more of a better time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a good experience . Staff is alwa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always a good experience . Staff is always personable . Classy establishment good for dates or friends getting together

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the concept of the melting pot I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I like the concept of the melting pot I also like the intimate booths and the the table cooking. What I don't like is the difficulty of understanding the menu or how the entrees are served. Food is good, but for the price there is not much of it. Overall, I was satisfied with our experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.