About The Melting Pot - Richmond

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Swiss Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Creme Brulee - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fiesta Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Campfire Martini - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Yin & Yang Martini - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Cheddar Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
coq au vin - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Turtle Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Wisconsin Cheese - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Banana Fosters - The Melting Pot - Richmond, Richmond, VA

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Cozy (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have dined at the Richmond location of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I have dined at the Richmond location of the Melting Pot for years. While I am not totally turned off, I find that I like it a little less each time I go. On this particular experience I noticed several things that were big turn-offs for me.

  1. Cheese is no longer prepared table side. I knew that in advance but this time I made a request that it be prepared at the table and was given a perplexing look and told that while it could be done, it slowed things down quite a bit. I felt like I didn't need the excuse from the waiter, he should have just honored the request.
  1. There was a constant flow of staff peeking around the corner at my table. I am guessing it was to see how we were progressing because as soon as the last bite entered our mouths, they were collecting dishes and such. It was annoying and rude. I felt like they were hurrying us along.
  1. There were children near us who were loud. I understand children have to eat. I also understand why a parent would want their child to have a fun food experience. That being said, while I am without my children, on a date, hoping for a quiet evening, I would rather not have families sat in the area of multiple tables who were obviously enjoying adult only night.

Overall, the food was still good and the evening was pleasant but it is obvious that they are trying to make things more efficient and get more customers in per night. For $100+ dollars for two people to dine, they need to take a bit more care with their customers to ensure the experience is worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As usual, the experience was very fun an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As usual, the experience was very fun and delicious. My neighbors and I go here for our son's birthdays each year. This was their 16th birthdays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had very good food specially the dese ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It had very good food specially the deserts! great staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful, It was my dads first t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was wonderful, It was my dads first time and he really enjoyed it!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as was our server ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent as was our server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

For New Years Eve, at $75 per person, I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

For New Years Eve, at $75 per person, I expect perfection. This meal was intended to come with a champagne greeting upon entering the restaurant as well as a 5-course dinner, a photograph afterwards and a $25 gift certificate for a future visit. The staff upon entering was so confused it was laughable, thank goodness the waiter picked up the pieces for them and turned the experience around by delivering on what was to be offered. Our waiter delivered our champagne after we had to ask for it, seeing as the "welcoming" staff all looked to be the age of a new driver and couldn't fathom how to accurately seat anyone. Our waiter also took our coats and gave us a ticket for retrieval after seeing us trying to shove them in the corner of the booth. FYI, he's our waiter, he already has an experience to provide and it's not his job to have to be the host, coat check, photographer, server, busser, etc. ...and if the manager of the establishment came to our table one more time just to "look" to see how far into the meal were to keep an accuracy on how quickly she'd be able to turn her tables over, I was gonna have unprofessional words with her all the way back to the host stand and the photography area so maybe they could use our dissatisfaction as a coaching opportunity. ----proper training, they need it, and they need it bad. The photographer hurried us along after we finished our meal, wouldn't even wait for the third person in our party to be in the photograph so he's not pictured, didn't get to capture the memory thanks to The Melting Pot - Richmond. Overall the food was incredible, the waiter and only the waiter provided great service and was very polite, but every other detail of that special "New Years Celebration" was so poorly executed it makes me want to mail the gift certificate back to them. Will return to The Melting Pot, just not that one.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

wonderful overall experience as always.. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

wonderful overall experience as always...brought our 2 grandkids for their first time at Melting Pot...They had the absolute time of their lives....Everything was Perfect ...!!!...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was top notch and the food w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was top notch and the food was absolutely fantastic! It didn't seem like a lot at first but I was so full when I left! The chocolate fondue was the best part! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Melting Pot for the first ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went to the Melting Pot for the first time to celebrate a family birthday and had a Great and very unique experience ! Extremely creative and delicious food, with a very helpful and friendly wait staff ! Highly recommended !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go here often but have been missing o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We go here often but have been missing our waiter who graduated & left back in June. We went on Sat night for a date & fell in love with our new waiter. This is the 3rd time there since June & having been able to find a replacement of him till now. Wonderful food & staff is very friendly. Ask for Amelia....she is the bomb!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for being so kind with our five-y ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Thanks for being so kind with our five-year-old daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good prices were a little high ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was good prices were a little high for the amount of food you get but it was an experience that was enjoyable

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server Amelia was fantastic and made ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our server Amelia was fantastic and made great suggestions. My husband and I did the 4-course option for his birthday which really was the best value. The Nacho cheese was the bar of the show for us both & the Yin & Yang chocolate desert was out of this world delicious. My only critique would be that there was little table space for so many plates and the room was almost a little too dark - through I understand they were setting the ambiance.

The hostess was also walking back and forth to our area with a clipboard every 5 minute which was kind of curious. But all in all - a FUN dining experience and great for dates, birthdays or just drinks and an appetizer!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service and ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service and our server, Holly, was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, , Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love this place. Tina waited on us, she was great! She knew everything and was very efficient. If you want great, friendly service ask for her!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and even better food! Ev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Awesome service and even better food! Everything was served quickly with great insctruction and the food was honestly out of this world!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here with my husband and brother, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dined here with my husband and brother, it was a bit late so the restaurant was fairly empty and I can't critique the noise level. The food is delicious and it's so much fun to cook at the table! Our waiter (whose name I can't remember, sadly) was absolutely wonderful and one of the best servers I've had in years. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food is always good at the Melting Pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great servers make the experience that m ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great servers make the experience that much better. Great for special occasions or any time in cold weather.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. One entree enough for two pe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent. One entree enough for two people unless both are REALLY hungry.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

this was our 4th time at the Melting Pot and all 4 times has been a great night out, this was our anniversary so it was special, all the staff were complying and the food was fantastic as always, we have recommended this place to our friends and they all have said the same.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the melting pot for our first ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We went to the melting pot for our first wedding anniversary. It was amazing. They do all the little things to make your experience special. Great food. Great drinks. Great service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Aaron was wonderful, very att ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our server Aaron was wonderful, very attentive to our needs. He helped us pick out the perfect cheese based on our preferences and we were very pleased with the result. He also did a great job of going over the menu, as we hadn't dined there in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a joy to experience this kind of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a joy to experience this kind of atmosphere and food thats fit for a King.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the classic 4-course option. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had the classic 4-course option. The server we had had a great personality and was very helpful in explaining how to cook our food in the fondue. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent . Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and service were excellent . Our server Amelia was very knowledgeable with her recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

19th Anniversary, overall experience was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

19th Anniversary, overall experience was decent I was just a little dismayed by the portions verse price; I left hungry... the chocolate fondue at the end was the highlight for me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was very knowledgeable and di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and did amazing. The food was great, cheese and chocolate fondue was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful and unique experien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was a wonderful and unique experience. Can't wait to go back. All the food was wonderful and plenty.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our waiter was outstanding and manager w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

our waiter was outstanding and manager was extremely friendly! Would recommend to anyone to come to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing!!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, service & atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent meal, service & atmosphere. Our server, Amelia, was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service as alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service as always. Whenever we visit Richmond, we make it a point to have dinner at least one night at the Melting Pot.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our 10 year anniver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We went to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Neither of us had been before and wanted to try something new. It was a fun new adventure. Our server was wonderful and explained everything so well for us newbies. It seemed very expensive for the amount of food you were given but neither of us left hungry. The only drawback to this visit was we were seated near the bar and someone there was being very loud. We also appreciated that they acknowledged our anniversary even though we didn't do any of the special packages that are available. We have already suggested it to a couple of people for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

food was good not great especially quant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2016

food was good not great especially quantity server was nice knowledgable and friendly had to wait way too long to be seated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was looking for something different th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was looking for something different than what we have around our neighborhood so for honey's birthday we went here.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at the melting pot. It ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time dining at the melting pot. It was amazing. The experience was really cool. I enjoyed cooking my own food that was very interesting. Our waiter was perfect, the menu was kind of confusing for a first timer and he did such a good job explaining how it worked and even made some delicious suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Melting Pot in Richmond was absolute ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Melting Pot in Richmond was absolutely amazing. I unfortunately can't remember my servers name, but he was wonderful. Very knowledgeable of the menu and what went well with what. He was very helpful and friendly. Since it was my first time ever going to The Melting Pot, my server made it extremely easy and just and overall fantastic experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was pretty good despite the fact ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was pretty good despite the fact the waitress was new. Ambiance was just dated and gloomy. I ordered a bourbon from a list of about a dozen, but waitress returned and explained they didn't have it. Turns out, they actually had only 2 bourbons from their list on their bar. They didn't even have the bourbon for their Manhattan specialty cocktail highlighted on the menu. Unacceptable given there was an ABC store in the mall 100 yards away. The salads, cheese and chocolate fondues were OK, but the main courses fell well short by virtue of the cooking method. When you consider that you are simply boiling the beef, chicken, duck, shrimp and veggies you understand why it all tastes that way . It doesn't matter how it is prepared or what it is boiled in, it's still boiled and bland, and you can't justify the premium price despite the concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We have been to The Melting Pot for our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have been to The Melting Pot for our anniversary 13 years in a row now. Before the age of computer reservations they knew this information. The past four years or so the restaurant has made some changes, likely to cut costs, and lost some of it's charm. The fondue is no longer prepared at your table. The portions of refillable dippers are now so small you have to ask for extra to get through your cheese or chocolate. The cheese fondue that was once made at your table with Sam Adams is now made in the back with what the menu lists as Pilsner.

The flies at the urinal really put me over the edge. How hard is it to clean a restroom? Staff seemed to be going through the motions rather than creating a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.