About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream
Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Campfire Martini
Yin & Yang Martini
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
coq au vin
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Wisconsin Cheese
Banana Fosters

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Best Service
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
1 More
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (68)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I like the concept of the melting pot I ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

I like the concept of the melting pot I also like the intimate booths and the the table cooking. What I don't like is the difficulty of understanding the menu or how the entrees are served. Food is good, but for the price there is not much of it. Overall, I was satisfied with our experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing! We enjoyed the am ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was amazing! We enjoyed the ambience and location of the restaurant. Our waiter was extremely friendly as well knowledgeable of the menu. The wait to be seated was not long at all. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yogurt Curry Sause

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Yogurt Curry Sause

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Phil very nice server. We also appreciat ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Phil very nice server. We also appreciated that Corinne, who took our reservation, had a bday card for my daughter, also named Corinne, on the table. Noise level very high, not due to the melting pot, but due to an obnoxious table near is speaking very loudly about (barfing, hangovers) was very tacky.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love the Melting Pot and the food is ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We love the Melting Pot and the food is always good. Our waiter talked way too much and came across as trying to be cute and funny (which he was neither). We were there for the food and quality time without kids, not to be entertained. This "show" led to errors in ordering, slow service, and too much time spent at our table. The other thing that almost made me walk out was that he was sweating a great deal and would wipe his sweat with is serving hand or tuck his sweaty hair back and then get close to our food or touch our utensils. Not the greatest experience for our anniversary dinner. Very disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious anniversary meal. Gavi on the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Delicious anniversary meal. Gavi on the wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Allie was awesome. I will ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waitress Allie was awesome. I will request her the next time I dine with The Melting Pot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a wonderful place.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It's a wonderful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing time! Great food! Supe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had an amazing time! Great food! Super time! Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with outstanding servic ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Had a great time with outstanding service! Plan to spend at least 2 hours and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice experience. Didn't feel rushed. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice experience. Didn't feel rushed. Everything was explained well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New waiter needs to better manage course ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

New waiter needs to better manage course timing. Normal meal is 1.5 to 2 hours, this was 2.75 hours.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was exceptional so was the service. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was exceptional so was the service. Great overall experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful dining exper ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service and wonderful dining experience overall!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience. This is n ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. This is not your a-typical dinner service and requires an open mind to a new experience. If you are only willing to think about wait staff as food deliverers and not as guides through a new experience this might not be for you. If you like unique food experiences and are willing to allow them to guide you along then this will be a night you will not soon forget, and food you will never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on us and we never had to ask for anything he was already on whatever we needed. It was very quiet which is a rare find in Richmond, noise can become overwhelming when your trying to have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Rich ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Richmond! The food, service, and experience is fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extraordinary. Great ex ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was extraordinary. Great experience if you are looking for different dining experience, very unique concept.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonder ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonderful! This was our first time dining in your restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing special evening. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a different type of experience th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a different type of experience that i did enjoy. The service was good. The only knock would be the price. For the portions of entre' the price should be cheaper.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remembe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remember his name but it started with an S. He deserves a HUGE RAISE!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a surprise for my boyfriend and I's three year anniversary. While this is not a cheap date (Expect 3 figures and a hefty tip at 20% of that), the Melting Pot helped me arrange a perfect experience--some without me knowing! While I ordered rose petals, candles, a photo, and three roses for each of us, they surprised ME by giving us a private booth with a privacy curtain!!! My wonderful boyfriend has traveled most of Europe and eaten at some of the best places--but when I found out he'd never had fondue or been to the Melting Pot, I was over the moon to take him. He said it was of the best places, hands down, he's EVER dined at! He described it as "incomparable" and said I went well above and beyond and he was shocked at all I had arranged, the food, the decor, the music. . .we'll surely come back and this is THE place to make a date; Where you're romancing your boyfriend, girlfriend, to purpose, or your wife, husband--this place impresses EVERYONE. It truly made a memory we'll never forget--and to help, we even have a picture 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were surprised that iced tea was not ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were surprised that iced tea was not available as a beverage option. We enjoyed the interactive dining experience. The menu was diverse and had something for everyone. Service was competent and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is only for special occasions ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This place is only for special occasions to have the unique experience of fondue. To me it is overpriced. The waiter brought the check while we were in the middle of the entrée, didn't remove the dishes in the end, so I pushed everything to the side to sign the receipt.

Batter for the oil fondue is no fun do not choose the oil for cooking your entrée.

Best...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favorite restaurant!) , but am disappointed with recent changes to their menu and service. You now have to request that the cheese be made table side - we missed that the first time and just having the cheese brought out like a normal restaurant was disappointing. I also didn't like the change in the china and I am certain the portion sizes have been reduced. Having visited many different Melting Pot's in different states, I am not sure we will visit as frequently. As my husband stated, the price to value ratio has shifted and now the price really isn't worth what you receive. Also, our service was EXTREMELY slow and she kept forgetting things. I had to remind her for a couple of "regular" items - i.e. graham crackers for the s'mores chocolate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful Dining Experience.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server (Justin) was AMAZING! Food was spectacular. Atmosphere was lovely. We were celebrating my son's Academic Achievements for the school year. It was the perfect place to celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as always! It's a total experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect as always! It's a total experience with the the food, the wonderful cooking smells, and slower pace providing time and place for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my ann ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my anniversary spot. We go to enjoy time together . Foo was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was go great!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server Phil was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Whenever we needed him he would magically appear.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Melting Pot never disappoi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the Melting Pot never disappoints. Great place, amazing staff and the fondue is always killer!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter liked the experience, but th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My daughter liked the experience, but the quality of the food and the seasonings used were not up to par for the price. Japanese is cheaper and much better quality food. I was really hoping for a good quality meal for the price. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting Pot! The special touches from the restaurant to acknowledge our daughter's birthday were especially appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, service, and ambiance!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I truly enjoyed my dining experience at the Melting Pot . The staff truly cared whether their guests were satisfied with all aspects of their experiences. What I appreciate most about the my dining experience is that the managerial staff are very interested in building on the customer service and hospitality skills of their staff. Their interests will ultimately help their young staff members develop professionally. These skills are transferable to other dimensions of the staff members' lives. For these reasons, the morale of the staff appeared to be very high. Their positive attitudes certainly carried over and was demonstrated through their ability to present items listed on their menus and their abilities to answer the guest questions thoroughly. I was pleased that the main goal of all staff members was to ensure that their customers were enjoying their experiences. The Melting Pot is more than a restaurant; it's an exquisite dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for a birthday, anniversary, or any other special occasion. And our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Evening out

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Chris our server was awesome he explained everything perfectly and was really helpful in assisting with the "Flow" of the meal. Chris made our experience at the Melting Pot very enjoyable. Thanks Chris!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a favorite

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

This is for special occasion dining but always a favorite

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the front door the restaurant amaze ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

From the front door the restaurant amazed us. The decor and feel was very nice. The fashion the seats were setup gave it a very personal feel for a romantic dinner for 2. Though the pricing was a "not every week" range, it was very well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great experience!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my mother there for Mother's day. She has always wanted to go but never had the chance. Our server, Phil, was really great. I have a quite loud and silly family and he was able to handle us just fine. It was definitely a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amelia

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Amelia was our server, so nice, incredible service, great suggestions, very attentive and very knowledgeable, she made the meal and experience awesome. We will be back to see her!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice night out

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Been here several times, always get great service and the staff seems knowledgeable. Long, varied wine list. Howver the cheese and the Chocolate always stand out. Certainly on the pricier side but fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.