Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.27mi

About The Melting Pot - Richmond

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: (804) 741-3120

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Cozy (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Family Style (10)
Casual (10)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Came here for ladies night. It was awesome. Our server, Rawis, was super friendly, professional, and a pleasure to help us decide on the 4 course entree. Great suggestion on wine and made ladies night a true ladies night. I will def be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Such a fun time. Gavin was awesome and made such a stogy experience seem like an adventure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was quick and efficient during the first half of our lunch but their was a 20 minute delay in our servers return during the second half. I had to ask another server to summon ours.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Can't go wrong with the 4- course "Big Night Out".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Took my wife here for our 10th anniversary! Had a great time, the food was awesome! Wouldn't change a thing. Will definitely be back soon! Our server Shawn was the best you could have!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dinner there was just OK. Given the prices, OK is not enough. All of the fondue courses arrived at the wrong temperature and required a substantial wait before we could actual begin eating. Waiter tried to play it off, but really, chocolate fondue should not be lumpy, cheese fondue should be smooth and creamy not grainy, and the main course should also be hot enough to actually cook food. Our salads were totally forgotten. Hadn't eaten there in over a decade and it will be another decade before I forget the mediocre experience and decide to try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been going to this location for the past 15 years & this was the worst experience ever, and of course, it was Mother's Day!! Our server was terrible, which was quite the opposite to how it's always been. He was very inattentive, bring our meal fondue before even bringing salads, which I had to point out!! I will also say, the portions have decreased, we even order another cheese fondue because there was hardly enough cheese in the first pot for the 4 of us! They are also mixing the cheese in the back now, so what was brought to the table was a glob of cheese, which took awhile to melt because he had not even turned on the burner. I will not being returning for now, and it really put a damper on my Mother's Day!!! Extremely disappointed! There are many other options in Richmond where I can get good service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife is sometimes a bit picky, so when she says she LOVES something, it's really gotta be good. She LOVED it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really had a rough time this time. We decided to order off of the Mother's Day menu and the food was not nearly as good as it usually is. The service was OK until we got to the end and it started to go downhill when things started getting busy in the restaurant. We were nearing the end of our meal and we didn't see our waiter for 15 to 20 minutes and we just wanted to get the check and get out of there because there were screaming kids in there with their mothers for Mother's Day . I had to get up and go find a manager When the manager Devin brought me a check he brought me somebody else's check also which told me that he wasn't paying attention to what he was giving me. We are not demanding people… Normally very understanding… Hopefully when we come back next time we will have somebody with a little bit more experience than can handle the additional business that he gets in section and still check back with us every now and then

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It has been 2 years since we have been to the melting pot, and we noticed that you don't get as much for your money as we did in the past. Salads were half the size they once were. Meat portions have decreased. Also, you don't get cheesecake with the dessert anymore. The price hasn't gone down, but the value has. It is still delicious, just disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was great and we love the atmosphere. This was a surprise for someone. The prices are a little high so we can't do this often but it is nice once in a while

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ok food with Good friendly service. VERY overpriced

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place! The staff is great! The ambiance is very comfy and cozy! We enjoy ourselves every time we come! Cant wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Absolutely lovely! Proper amount of attention from our wonderful server Alyssa, who was very knowledgeable . Will definitely return and spread the word that The Melting Pot is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter was Shane and he was amazing at explaining everything. This was our first time and we will be going back for other celebrations. The added extras are worth the price! The filet mignon was our favorite with the mojo broth.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I would like to commend our server, Devin, he was wonderful, pleasant, polite and interacted with my 6 year told grandson. We were all very impressed with his service!! We have always loved the Melting Pot, especially for special occasions. Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The cheese, salad and dessert are more than enough for two people I wouldn't even bother getting the entree but if you are incredibly hungry then it's well worth it. My wife and I went for 3rd anniversary and they treated us like royalty! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was amazing...Food was so so. Only had cheese and chocolate. Ask for table side prep for cheese. They should tell people the option

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food, wonderful waiter, was a little disappointed with where we were seated as we were next to the kitchen and most of our conversation was hard to have due to staff chatting and talking of schedules etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Generally, this my favorite restaurant and I am known to be a frequent flyer here. I have noticed high turn over and replacement of staff which may account for some of what I am going to write. Overall, the restaurant could use a face lift and has become dated. Defiantly not on the same scale as it's Northern Va counterparts. I noticed brown and wilted lettuce leaves in my salad. The granny smith's apples were rather mushy instead of crisp. The entree was acceptable. The noise volume was rather high. I am really hoping that the management reads this review and considers the quality of food before it is presented. The Melting Pot is a great resultant and I hate to see it decay. Sadly, I will not be back anytime soon.

Tags: Vegan, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was my/our first time first experience at MELTING POT and it was super awesome. Great service, the waitress had so much patience with us and helped us out tremendously with ordering and everything. The booth was very intimate and kind of secluded and that was a plus. The noise level was minimal so you can have a conversation without yelling. Just an awesome restaurant!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Server was excellent. We got a very slow burner which she kept apologizing for and it took a very long time to cook our food. They knew it was a bad burner and should have moved us or not put someone at that table. We were there early when there were plenty of tables. Otherwise, food was delicious as always and fun experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Dinner was great. Our waiter was a bit clueless, but we figured it out. Will definitely come again!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful experience at Melting Pot. Nice pace for dinner and food was outstanding. If you go make sure and ask for "Richard" to take care of you. He did a great job and was very attentive to us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Came to the melting pot to celebrate my 5 year anniversary with my wife. Server was rude asking for our I.D. And then didn't believe I was over 21 because my drivers license wasn't horizontal it was vertical. Manager came over and asked how the evening was going and we explained. He said he would talk to him later about it. We asked the server to turn down the cheese fondue multiple times because all the cheese was burning to the bottom of the pot. He never did. So we had a lot of burnt cheese that was inedible. We come to melting pot over ten times a year and have never had an experience like this. When paying top dollar, we expect top dollar service. For our experience we expected some part of our meal free. Probably not going to return to this location of the melting pot in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our first time and we really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great service, food is delicious. Atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Servers are always welcoming and make you feel like they are there to help in anyway possible. Fun cooking experience for anyone who has never made fondue. Everything is delicious every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I come here often. I usually never have issues with my reservations . But I did this time . I will never make a reservation online again . It will a special occasion and we wanted a table with two plates which is what we always do . But apparently since I did it online...they said it wouldn't showed what I requested ...
It was slightly annoying bc we like to do 2 different flavors ... yeah we spend more money that way but it's a fun night ...
Oh well . We had an awesome server and if it wasn't for him, we wouldn't be coming back .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Although the food was great the price is not! 187.00 for four people is a little expensive. Charging extra for the broth to cook meats in is rediculious. And trying to use the coupons you give is a joke. There's always an excuse why the coupons I paid for can't be used with the meal. Think about your prices and honor your coupons and I guarantee you'll have more customers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always enjoy Melting Pot. The service is great and the dining experience is always enjoyable . And endless fondue is such a great value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place! Service was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made a reservation for my birthday. It was for my immediate family- 2 adults and 2 kids. I repeatedly stated that we wanted the "kids eat free" option, as that is the way we can afford this kind of restaurant experience for the whole family. I mentioned the March "kids eat free" option when I made the reservation, and again when we arrived at the restaurant, and thrice upon ordering, and upon receiving the check/bill. My husband and I had ordered the 4-course mega-treat (I'm sure you have another name for it), and my two very young children got charged for a 4-course meal as well. I had wanted them to be able to taste the cheese and chocolate fondue just as an experience, but I had certainly not meant for them to pay $13 apiece for the experience, especially on a day we'd specifically chosen so as to be able to afford the family Melting Pot experience.
Incidentally, the birthday "free chocolate-covered strawberries" I received were so old that they had mildewed in the fridge by the very next morning. This was very disappointing, as they're one of my very favorite things. (3/11/17, Hulva 804-424-1096)
P.S. We still tipped 20%, since we realize that none of this was our kind server's fault. But if there's a way for you to make this right, please try, as we used to love the Melting pot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Waitress was terrible. Slow and forgot stuff repeatedly.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was very different than your normal restaurant of course. Once you understand how things work (which the waiter explained very well) you will enjoy they style of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

While we appreciated the quiet, there was no background music. We were in a smaller side room and when the servers were instructing the other tables their voices were loud because there was nothing to offset it. Music would have helped with this problem and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was terrible especially the chicken and shrimp several of then items including dips had an overwhelming taste of cumin. We didn't even get the chocolate my wife was to sick before it arrived as well as I! We don't get to go out that often because I have stage IV Melanoma cancer! This was an expensive waisted night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I've enjoyed many meals at The Melting Pot and have always had decent experiences. Tonight was a little more lively than others since a group of young teen girls were having a party. Other than that it was uneventful. The food was good, the server attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were unlucky to be dining at the same time as teenagers were celebrating two birthdays; otherwise it was quiet & we enjoyed our date night. The food was very expensive for what we got but worth trying at least once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We live Melting Pot! It's one of our favs! We had an Amazing time as always!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.