About The Melting Pot - Richmond

9704 Gayton Road
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, an award winning wine list & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue desserts. To highlight your meal we also offer over 600 wines with a Wine Manager on premise. Make reservations today & come dip into something different. NOTE: OpenTable reservations are for full meal service only. Please contact The Melting Pot directly for cheese & dessert or dessert only service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday 5pm-11:00pm Saturday - 4:00 to 11:00pm
Lunch available for parties for 10 or more. Please call for details.

Cross Street:
Gaskins Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 741-3120

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Catering:
Inquire with management about catered cheese and chocolate parties as well as cocktail receptions at 804-741-3120

Parking Details:
We have ample parking. Most guests will drop off at our front door and then drivers will go park.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot offers the most interactive dining experience for business or social events. We have three unique spaces that offer private, semi-private and happy-hour style events. We have a dedicated Events Manager to help customize your menu and details to create exactly what you have in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Poole: 8047413120

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay current on all of our events at http://www.meltingpot.com/richmond/specials

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
The Melting Pot - Richmond
Cookies 'n Cream Marshmallow Dream
Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Campfire Martini
Yin & Yang Martini
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
coq au vin
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Wisconsin Cheese
Banana Fosters

The Melting Pot - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Best Service
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
1 More
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (85)
romantic (70)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
good for groups (27)
notable wine list (24)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New waiter needs to better manage course ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

New waiter needs to better manage course timing. Normal meal is 1.5 to 2 hours, this was 2.75 hours.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was exceptional so was the service. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was exceptional so was the service. Great overall experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful dining exper ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and wonderful dining experience overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience. This is n ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 7 days ago

A wonderful dining experience. This is not your a-typical dinner service and requires an open mind to a new experience. If you are only willing to think about wait staff as food deliverers and not as guides through a new experience this might not be for you. If you like unique food experiences and are willing to allow them to guide you along then this will be a night you will not soon forget, and food you will never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter was very nice, checked up on us and we never had to ask for anything he was already on whatever we needed. It was very quiet which is a rare find in Richmond, noise can become overwhelming when your trying to have a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Rich ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Richmond! The food, service, and experience is fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extraordinary. Great ex ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was extraordinary. Great experience if you are looking for different dining experience, very unique concept.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonder ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our experience at Melting Pot was wonderful! This was our first time dining in your restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing special evening. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a different type of experience th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a different type of experience that i did enjoy. The service was good. The only knock would be the price. For the portions of entre' the price should be cheaper.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remembe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waiter was AMAZING!! I can't remember his name but it started with an S. He deserves a HUGE RAISE!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

PURE ROMANCE. I planned this date as a surprise for my boyfriend and I's three year anniversary. While this is not a cheap date (Expect 3 figures and a hefty tip at 20% of that), the Melting Pot helped me arrange a perfect experience--some without me knowing! While I ordered rose petals, candles, a photo, and three roses for each of us, they surprised ME by giving us a private booth with a privacy curtain!!! My wonderful boyfriend has traveled most of Europe and eaten at some of the best places--but when I found out he'd never had fondue or been to the Melting Pot, I was over the moon to take him. He said it was of the best places, hands down, he's EVER dined at! He described it as "incomparable" and said I went well above and beyond and he was shocked at all I had arranged, the food, the decor, the music. . .we'll surely come back and this is THE place to make a date; Where you're romancing your boyfriend, girlfriend, to purpose, or your wife, husband--this place impresses EVERYONE. It truly made a memory we'll never forget--and to help, we even have a picture 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were surprised that iced tea was not ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were surprised that iced tea was not available as a beverage option. We enjoyed the interactive dining experience. The menu was diverse and had something for everyone. Service was competent and efficient.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is only for special occasions ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This place is only for special occasions to have the unique experience of fondue. To me it is overpriced. The waiter brought the check while we were in the middle of the entrée, didn't remove the dishes in the end, so I pushed everything to the side to sign the receipt.

Batter for the oil fondue is no fun do not choose the oil for cooking your entrée.

Best...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I frequently go to the Melting Pot (favorite restaurant!) , but am disappointed with recent changes to their menu and service. You now have to request that the cheese be made table side - we missed that the first time and just having the cheese brought out like a normal restaurant was disappointing. I also didn't like the change in the china and I am certain the portion sizes have been reduced. Having visited many different Melting Pot's in different states, I am not sure we will visit as frequently. As my husband stated, the price to value ratio has shifted and now the price really isn't worth what you receive. Also, our service was EXTREMELY slow and she kept forgetting things. I had to remind her for a couple of "regular" items - i.e. graham crackers for the s'mores chocolate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful Dining Experience.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server (Justin) was AMAZING! Food was spectacular. Atmosphere was lovely. We were celebrating my son's Academic Achievements for the school year. It was the perfect place to celebrate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as always! It's a total experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect as always! It's a total experience with the the food, the wonderful cooking smells, and slower pace providing time and place for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my ann ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Melting Pot is my wife's and my anniversary spot. We go to enjoy time together . Foo was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was go great!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server Phil was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Whenever we needed him he would magically appear.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Melting Pot never disappoi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the Melting Pot never disappoints. Great place, amazing staff and the fondue is always killer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at this Melting Pot! The special touches from the restaurant to acknowledge our daughter's birthday were especially appreciated.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, service, and ambiance!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I truly enjoyed my dining experience at the Melting Pot . The staff truly cared whether their guests were satisfied with all aspects of their experiences. What I appreciate most about the my dining experience is that the managerial staff are very interested in building on the customer service and hospitality skills of their staff. Their interests will ultimately help their young staff members develop professionally. These skills are transferable to other dimensions of the staff members' lives. For these reasons, the morale of the staff appeared to be very high. Their positive attitudes certainly carried over and was demonstrated through their ability to present items listed on their menus and their abilities to answer the guest questions thoroughly. I was pleased that the main goal of all staff members was to ensure that their customers were enjoying their experiences. The Melting Pot is more than a restaurant; it's an exquisite dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and staff. Incredible for a birthday, anniversary, or any other special occasion. And our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Evening out

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Chris our server was awesome he explained everything perfectly and was really helpful in assisting with the "Flow" of the meal. Chris made our experience at the Melting Pot very enjoyable. Thanks Chris!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a favorite

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

This is for special occasion dining but always a favorite

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the front door the restaurant amaze ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

From the front door the restaurant amazed us. The decor and feel was very nice. The fashion the seats were setup gave it a very personal feel for a romantic dinner for 2. Though the pricing was a "not every week" range, it was very well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great experience!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my mother there for Mother's day. She has always wanted to go but never had the chance. Our server, Phil, was really great. I have a quite loud and silly family and he was able to handle us just fine. It was definitely a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amelia

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Amelia was our server, so nice, incredible service, great suggestions, very attentive and very knowledgeable, she made the meal and experience awesome. We will be back to see her!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice night out

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Been here several times, always get great service and the staff seems knowledgeable. Long, varied wine list. Howver the cheese and the Chocolate always stand out. Certainly on the pricier side but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and they had a ball w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great and they had a ball with my daughter (7 years old) and her first time going. She can't wait to get all A's on her report card so she can go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful experience! Their chocolate dipped strawberries are to die for!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The Melting Pot is by far my husband and I's favorite place to eat out at. It never dissapoints and we always have wonderful service, delicious food, and great memories made. This time was no exception, with Raymond as our server, he helped make our Melting Pot "experience" absolutely perfect. The you so much, Melting Pit of Richmond- we hope to see you again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress, hostess and the manager wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The waitress, hostess and the manager who checked on us were all great..attentive. That said, the atmosphere here is soooo depressing. Dark and humid with the stink of boiling bourgignon pervading through the restaurant. Tinny, awful jazz and muzak coming through cheap ceiling speakers. Then the food. Boiling meat = Ruining meat! And no matter how many little dishes of sauce you provide to cover that up, it is still awful. Made even worse by the ridiculously high price. I must admit the place was pretty full so they must be doing something right:) but seriously, this was one of the worst dining experiences of my life. I wish them well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Food and service was great. I didn't lik ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and service was great. I didn't like the constant flickering of the light. Got pretty annoying. Otherwise, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

amazing!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We dine here often because of the food and the staff. Both are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No. You're not the boss of me.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

It was great. The food was delicious and staff was very accommodating regarding any preferences (e.g. getting more vegetables if we wanted). The bill was understandably high. The atmosphere could hardly be beat - at least with a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The meal was filling and taste very good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The meal was filling and taste very good. Sha who waited on us was very knowledgeable. Everything was just like he said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alex

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Been there twice. First was a romantic evening with my wife, the second with my wife and our 18 year old daughter was a really nice family affair. Think it fits my idea of a really good place for small cozy groups of no more than 4.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had received a gift card to go to the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had received a gift card to go to the Baker's Crust. My wife had been before for a dinner meeting with her job but it was my first time. We attended Sunday Brunch and were very satisfied with the food, service and overall experience. We will definitely go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The melting pot staff was wonderful. They were on top of our every need. We really felt like we were being pampered and taken care of. We appreciated it! The food was delicious, although I felt that our main course felt smaller than usual. Other than that, there are no complaints. Thanks for being awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Great great great great great great great great great

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.