About The Melting Pot - Lyndhurst

The Melting Pot Lyndhurst is a modern, romantic, interactive, upscale, casual & fun fondue restaurant. From an intimate dinner for 2, to a girl’s night out, to a banquet of 100, The Melting Pot Lyndhurst is a place to escape the day to day & relax! Our beautifully appointed dining rooms, superior service, Wine Spectator award winning wine list, luscious and creamy cheese fondues, crisp seasonal salads, succulent entrees including steak, lobster, chicken, shrimp, vegan & vegetarian meals plus our decadent chocolate fondue desserts make for a perfect dinning experience in casual elegance! Winner of Smart Business Magazine's 2007 World Class Service Award for the Great Escape, the 2005 Silver Spoon award for best new restaurant & winner of Wine Spectator's 2005, 2006, 2007 & 2008 Best wine list!

24741 Cedar Road
Legacy Village
Lyndhurst, OH 44124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 12:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Richmond

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 381-2700

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/lyndhurst/specials

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Provided by Legacy Village for $5.00
Plenty of parking in Legacy Village parking lots.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Club Fondue to learn more about special promotional nights such as spa night, beer and wine dinners and 80's night. Sign up for Club Fondue and receive special discounts and first shot opportunity for holiday reservations. http://www.meltingpot.com/our-menu.aspx

Private Dining

The Melting Pot - Lyndhurst's private dining rooms are a superior venue for that special dinner or cocktail reception & provides an executive retreat for your next business meeting or family celebration.

The Melting Pot - Lyndhurst Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Cozy (22)
Private Room (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Family Style (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is beautiful and the food was really good. Our waitress (I believe her name was sierra but I could be totally wrong) was very good. It was our first time at the melting pot and she was very knowledgeable. The only thing that was slightly irritating was the table sitting near us that was yelling the entire time, as well as talking about gross things that no one wants to hear while trying to eat dinner. This wasn't the restaurants fault but when you're paying 100+ dollars on a nice dinner for two people that's not the kind of atmosphere you look for.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The bathrooms were dirty and stayed that way even after I told them about it. The waiter took too long to return to table and kept forgetting things that i asked for. Hostess in front was talking about how to seat people who had more "money" than others that did not. I don't know how she would know that about people, I do not know but I thought it was inappropriate to talk about in front of guests. I had to wait to cash out for a long time. I wanted to surprise my son on this special occasion and the waiter told him about it when arriving at the table and did not offer a special dessert or anything, he just wanted to tell us about himself. I will not return to this location.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

A lot of work and too pricey for the few morsels my entree consisted of. Plus I was confused, was I at a rock concert or a restaurant? The "background" music was so loud I left hungry as well as with a headache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Way overpriced for the food you get. The food was good but if I ever go back it's only to get cheese and chocolate fondue, skip the entree.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time, food was super, service was excellent! Thanks

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

This is always a great spot for a casual dinner with your spouse, friends, or with a group. Service has always been top-notch and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I usually do not leave reviews unless it is a positive review but we HAVE to express out utter disappointment at our experience. We went for a birthday celebration. There were 5 of us and we were put in a booth for 4. Very tight squeeze for 5 adults. Our server was very slow in getting to us and appeared very put out that we were not sure what we wanted when he arrived. He brought us our drinks and then again was put out by our asking questions regarding the process. This was out first experience at the melting pot (and definitely our last).

The busboy was the only bright spot - HE should be promoted to server and our server Mike should be relegated to dishwasher. His instructions were very short and poorly relayed (he advised us our broth was ready to cook and that it would take 3 min) the broth was barely warm at that point and we had to cook our initial chicken for at least 7 min and even THEN it was still pink in the middle. Raw chicken at the onset does not make for very appetizing remainder of dinner. our dinnerware and table were dirty, the skewers were very tacky plastic in a variety of rainbow colors. We were given one tiny dish for each of the dipping sauces - to be used by all 5 of us and we have to ask repeatedly for more.

When my mother-in-law asked if they had a birthday cake or the like our server could not answer her the question even after she offered to pay extra for one - we decided against desert of ANY kind since the whole process to ask about it was such a hassle - like pulling teeth. In the end he brought out a couple of rice krispy treat squares with a lit sparkler in it.

The lettuce in the salad was wilted, the cheese in the cheese fondue that we got was not nearly enough to dip all the stale bread and vegetables in either.

For the cost I would have expected a far better experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Was a great night with good food and good wine. Nice and romantic. Our waiter was a little off this time, but usually has great service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. We attended this restaurant for Valentine's Day and could not have been happier. The ambiance was perfect, the food was delicious and the staff was top notch. We can't wait to go back! If you've never been here, do your self a favor and go. You will NOT be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall a wonderful experience. The food was great and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's day dinner of $150 is way over priced. You cook you bites (very small) individually. Ill come back tho for that cheese..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We go every year for Valenties. Our waiter was very nice but we were rushed through the entire meal. He brought our salad and cheese fondue at the same time. After years and years of going this has never happened. Other tables did not have this happening. As we are still eating he kept asking if we were ready for him to clear the table. It was kinda upsetting that we could not sit and enjoy our meal and each other's company, instead we just had to hury up and eat. Again he was nice but the service was not the same as it usually is.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff was amazing, well worth the price! Fun experience and a nice place to spend a couple hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great early Valentine's date night with my husband. We had not been to The Melting Pot in years so our waiter was kind enough to explain everything again and he gave wonderful recommendations. Great value for the amount and quality of food you receive. We will definitely be back :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Must say for my first time, I had a wonderful experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we had a 730 reservation but ended up getting seated after 8pm. We got the valentines day special but no one came by to take a picture of us that was promised. The lobster was fishy.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was so impressed with this place! Romantic, great customer service, food was amazing and ambiance was amazing! This is my new favorite resturant!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Felt rushed. Our waiter told us it was their busiest night of the year, for Valentine's Day. We've been here many times and we're prepared for the length of time it takes to eat here. Our courses were served over the top of each other...our salad came with our cheese fondue, before we finished either of those the cooking broth arrived. We've never had two potss on the table at the same time. The staff was amazing and attentive, very on their A game. We felt a bit rushed though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and great food, making a reservation was easy and we were a little late but they didn't care and we were seated almost immediately

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had the 4 course dinner ... starting with the 4 cheese appetizer and salads. The coque 'van was delicious with the meats and vegetables. We found we had to have 3 skewers in at all times otherwise it would take forever to get through the meal. Classic chocolate and peanut butter for dessert made the dinner exquisite. Our server was phenomenal and made the dinner much more fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner experience. The food and service were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was truly amazing. Not only great service but the atmosphere and the food were phenomenal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Private Room, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good dinner. They say be in a corner booth which was perfect. Great service

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated granddaughters 18th birthday and it was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was awesome!! Thr staff was helpful and patient since it was my first time there but they were so nice!! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another great experience thanks to Alicia! Just love her. Jim the magician was great too. It was my daughter's 9th birthday and she didn't hesitate when we asked where she wanted to celebrate. Thanks Melting Pot for a fabulous finish to a special day!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Celebrated our 9 year old granddaughters birthday. Angel was great waitress and the magician made the evening extra special! Thanks!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The fondue was very good. The service was slow. I think our waiter was new and needed assistance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was wonderful. Part of our dinner party showed up late and the staff was very accommodating. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unique dining, friendly, efficient service. Private booth style seating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had the four course dinner. The cheese fondue was excellent. The dippers, especially the pretzel bread and apples were very good. The salad was ok, nothing special. The entrée consisting of filet mignon, salmon and tuna was very good. The tuna was outstanding. We finished it off with the flaming turtle chocolate which was very good. It was a good experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were there for my wife's birthday. Our nephews were here from Brasil so that made it much more fun for her. I had Emailed earlier and let them know it was my wife's b day and they set us up with a private room, balloons and flowers. She was surprised and happy. Food as always was great. People friendly always. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This occasion was to celebrate an anniversary. The meal and service was fine but we were seated in close proximity to a large party (bridal or baby shower) that was extremely noisy. It really hampered our enjoyment of our special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The only problem we had was the server didn't fully explain how long to cook the meat and veggies so the main dish wasn't that great. At least the cheese and chocolate were good!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server was outstanding and the kids had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The service and food was excellent!👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time at the melting pot and I would return in a heart beat. Great food and whoever our server was, unfortunately I forget her name, was great! Super friendly and helpful/patient since it was my first time and I wasn't sure how the menu worked!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I'd never been to a fondue restaurant before. It's fun to do with friends. The traditional Swiss melted cheese fondue was very good. The meats and vegetables you cook in a flavored broth. Desert is dipped in one of a variety of chocolate-based fondues. We chose just plain dark chocolate which was a perfect choice. It is a little pricey if you choose the 4-course meal, but you can cut down the price by choosing only the courses you want.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We've been dining at this restaurant as part of our New Years tradition for many years and it's been steadily declining. Arrived to a half full facility, had to wait despite our reservation and then our party of 6 was crammed into a booth more suited for 4. Music was blaring and unnecessary. The topper to the evening was overhearing our server, Des, making fun of my husband to a neighboring table. We all heard and my teenage sons saw him motioning toward my husband so it was quite obvious to us all to whom he was referring. Had the manager not come to inquire about our meals before this happened, I can assure you he would've had an earful. Truly a disappointing experience and we will be looking elsewhere to spend our traditional dinner (and money). And Des, should you happen to see this, we wish you luck in law school - you'll likely need it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was just okay, I was served water in a dirty glass

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Each course had such great flavors and the service throughout the whole meal was perfect! The gift bags included for the NYE event were such a nice touch to end the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not a fan of the "couples" booths. Too noisy and takes away from the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great atmosphere! Fun dining experience! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had a reservation to eat. Finished what we were doing early and stooped to see If could eat earlier. Waited 5 minutes for guy standing at front counter to get off phone and then he said he would prepare our table. Waited 20 more minutes to be seated. In the process of waiting I walked thru the restaurant to check it out as I had never been there. 4 tables were being used and the other 30-40 all open. So why a wait...?? Wait staff was good....drinks never empty and they all helped each other by clearing our empty plates and filling glasses. We were assisted by all 4 wait staff working. Our table was area was extremely cold. Food....beef tenderloin was great. The rest was ok. Cooking time given to us was no where near enough to cook the food. Had to cook everything several minutes longer each piece than suggested and that was just to have it minimal cooked. Odd selection of items for the cheese fondue....apples and carrots along with chips, broccoli and cauliflower. Dessert was great! Not a big chocolate fan so being able to put as much/little on dessert options was nice. $126+ tip for 3 people seemed a bit much for the 3-5 pieces of each main course meat selected.

All in all.....not impressed except for wait staff and dessert options. The rest would have made me leave most other restaurants but was there for my son by his request for his birthday dinner so I stuck it out.(they did put a candle in the dessert tray when brought out). Thank you and good luck but I probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Melting Pot is a little on the expensive side but was a fun treat. I took my dad for Christmas Eve dinner since neither of us had ever been there. The food was great, our waitress was great and, although slightly noisy, the atmosphere was pretty nice. I wouldn't be able to afford to go there often but it was a fun night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We definitely enjoyed the meal & had excellent service. However, the restaurant was hosting a holiday party in the room next to our table and it definitely got out of hand. It was so loud we could not hear each other talk. The party guests were jumping off tables, screaming & singing extremely loud. This definitely affected our visit & we were extremely disappointed that management did not try to settle the party guests.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was not good. We brought our 12 year old daughter and a friend (party of 4) for her birthday. Made reservations 15 days ahead of time. The place wasn't crowded and they wouldn't let us sit at a table with two burners. So we all had to have the same thing which is not what we wanted. The meal took three hours with kids - we weren't out for a romantic afternoon. The waitress only came around one time during each course.

Awesome food - lousy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Server was helpful and patient. As it had been a few years since we dined there. It was a good evening for a birthday dinner. Need to get back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our first time there ! We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

wonderful experience the wait staff was excellent and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.