About The Melting Pot - Larkspur

The Melting Pot is located in the historic Brick Kiln in Larkspur, CA. The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue. To highlight your meal we also offer a wide variety of wines to compliment your meal. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

125 E. Sir Francis Drake Blvd
Larkspur, CA 94939
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
FULL FOUR-COURSE
FONDUE DINNER HOURS
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 10 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: 4 p.m. - 10 p.m.

AFTER HOURS -
CHOCOLATE ONLY
Sunday - Thursday: 10 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday - Saturday: 10 p.m. - Midnight
(Bar Only)

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
(Bar Only for guest 21 and over)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 461-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/larkspur/specials

Entertainment:
CELEBRATE IN STYLE! We offer celebration packages that can be placed on your table prior to your arrival. Surprise your friends, family, or colleagues with balloons, flowers, or even champagne! Please make note of any special requests from the list below when making your reservation. Please give 10+ hours when making requests. • Balloon Arrangements with chocolate wafers $25 • Balloon arrangement, chocolate wafers and a plush bear $30 • 3 roses with vase $20/ 6 roses with vase $30/ 1 dozen roses with vase $50 • Seasonal flower arrangements small $20/ large $30 • Melting Pot logo-metal frame with digital photo taken of group $10 • Champagne toast for two $18 (must have ID present)

Parking Details:
100 spaces of complimentary self-parking are available 7 days a week.

Public Transit:
The Larkspur Ferry Terminal is located across the street, please click the following link for the schedule:

http://goldengateferry.org/schedules/Larkspur.php

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every third Wednesday is Ladies Night Out.

The Melting Pot - Larkspur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (59)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Fun (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Worth the Drive (32)
Cozy (30)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Casual (16)
Authentic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Always a let down and still the place where our kids want to go on their birthdays. Three hour meals because servers ALWAYS disappear for 20 minutes at a time. A 6pm reservation, 20 minutes for drink order to be taken, another 25 minutes until they were at our table. Had to get up and walk to the bar mid meal for round two because our otherwise bubbly and enthusiastic server was MIA. Fondue is fun, I get it. But this is the last time we waste $300 on a birthday dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant has a very odd smell. The menu is very confusing. We would recommend having the cheese course, salad and the dessert. The main course is very messy to cook and causes lots of confusion and clutter. Very over priced, especially vegetarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Somewhat noisy for "quiet conversation" type setting. It was uncomfortably HOT and according to the staff the air was on, nothing else could be done.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were promptly seated but ifgnored
By our our server for nearly 30 minutes. It took over 90 minutes to even get our salad. And when we asked for a manager she did absolutely nothing to alleviate our issues. However our food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The cheese fondue is quite tasty, and the leisurely pace allows for relaxed conversation. I would go back for that course only, with a glass of wine, especially on a cold day. However, the seasonings and dipping sauces for the entrees tasted packaged, as did the caesar salad. The service was super, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

What a wonderful experience! Our server Michael was awesome. Romantic ambiance. Food was delicious. Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place in unique historic building, great food and good wines selection. Good place for special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

attentive staff, a yes answer to everything requested, delicious food. it was fine dining.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I come here for my birthday almost every year, and even though its a tad pricy, its absolutely worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

First time here, loved the experience. My boyfriend and I finally got a date night, as the kids were all gone. We took advantage and came here, which we've been wanting to do. Made reservations and got seated quickly. The waiter was great. He explained the menu and everything as it came. Meal was great and very filling (we chose the 4 course plan, which is the way to go...if you want to experience everything). Will come back, but will keep it as a couple. Kinda pricey to bring picky kids.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

2 1/2 hours for dishes that didn't even require cooking. Misplaced entree at first and then didn't see our server at all after the food did come.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went there for a birthday celebration. It was a blast. We had had past experiences at MP in other states, but this was our first attempt in northern CA. Beautiful and quite place, with a cozy setting and friendly staff. Great food choices as always. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It's always great but taj

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Very pleasant ambience in old brick kiln with attentive staff and excellent fondue.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing night! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We visited for my daughter 's birthday. She had been to the restaurant once before but my son and I had not. What a fun experience! We all ordered various things but it was delicious! The waitresses brought my daughter a gluten free chocolate fondue with pieces of rice krispy bars, and fruit. I would love ❤️ to visit again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I celebrated my birthday with 15 of my close friends. We had a wonderful evening sharing stories and learning how to Fondue. The food was delicious, but the mainly the servers made the night. Our server was patiently explained each step and waited on such a large group with a smile on his face. I recommend everyone to try it at least once, because once you do you will be hooked. I can't wait to go back. Thank you for making my special day even better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was a fun thing to do
Cheese is very fattening but the vegetables made you feel better about eating them
The drinks were good
Cooking a meal was different but fun
Staff was incredible
They were the best part

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Delicious dinner. Always a treat. Went with the family for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were seated after our reservation time and then forgotten about. It took over 30 minutes to get water for the table. This was not a good dining experience. Once the dessert arrived about 50 minutes after we were seated it was good. The kids enjoyed it but the service was awful especially for such an expensive dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We went for our final Girl Scout social dinner and it was perfect! There was plenty of time for visiting and lots of food! I don't know where they find their wait staff but our waitress was so social and endearing, she made it so much fun! I look forward to exploring many more of the options here in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was delicious. Our waiter was informative funny and checked on us often. The inside of the building is beautiful we had a amazing time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Nice location, interesting cave atmosphere , booths with a lot of privacy available. We decided to go with a 4-course menu and the matching wine flight. The food was great, the service very friendly and the wine was good. They also have a very notable wine-by-the-bottle menu We had a great night out and will definitely come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent experience. There was a high pitched whine when the burner was on, which was annoying. And we were there for the 4:30 time, which got us noisy kids. But our fault, not the venue's.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server was amazing!! My only complaint would be, who we assumed was a manager, walked up to our table, grabbed our check, without announcing who she was. VERY RUDE and took over 15 mins to return our card. I was about to go hunt her down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sick bruh. I got smashed afterwards. So good so good so good yeah

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was amazing! Service was great! Our first time there, so a bit confusing but server walked us through everything.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

They were so helpful and answered all of our nagging questions when we went this time. We love sitting in the more private booths they refer to as Lovers Lane and they were so awesome about doing their best to reseat us this time. Then on top of that, we had some funky questions about the menu and they made it so easy to feel comfortable about what we were thinking of ordering for the night. This is a great place for our special occasion date nights.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent - the only thing that was a negative was the heat in the room. We sat at the end by the kitchen. It got a little warm. The food and service were excellent. We did not feel rushed at all. Great place!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the experience, atmosphere and abeyance of this historical building. We are looking forward to revisiting this quaint and cozy establishment with our friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very disappointed. Menu confusing, waitress was not very informative. We were put in a booth, there was 8 of us, very uncomfortable. The main meal lacked flavor, the salads were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a really fun time with our various fondues.

Fit for Anniversary with our teenage daughters.

Extensive wine list. Server very friendly with good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our server Juan was phenomenal. He made our night even more memorable.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

While the idea of fondue with kids is great, the considerable cost for the meal should be considered. With two kids and two adults, the final total before tip was $225. The portions on the main entree seem small, but ultimately with the cheese 1st course and the salad, the entire meal was extremely filling, but you could probably split a main entree plate between two adults and be satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I went last year and had a great first time experience. I went again this year and had the same experience. I love this place and our waiter told us at the end of the dinner that it was his first full week working there and it was shocking because he did extremely well like he's done it for a long time. Very satisfied.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Javier is the BEST WAITER I have ever had in my life. And I have been dining out for over 25 years. The experience was a winner. Made our date extremely special.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This is a fun experience. We took our 11 year old granddaughters and they loved it. The food is very good ,particularly the cheese and chocolate fondues. The waiter was very pleasant but the service was slow. Three courses took 21/2 hours! The prices are very steep. The cheese fondue was $44 for 4!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Fabulous place to have fun do beautiful venue lots of History service was good wine list was spectacular seeding was too close people around we're too loud besides that I recommend the place for just about any occasion just request a table away from others if you're looking for a quiet ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The restaurant is advertised and priced as an expensive, quality experience. It's definitely expensive, but the food was mediocre. The cheese, which is supposedly the main attraction for a melting pot, was terrible. Although the chocolate at the end was good, it wasn't worth the $100 we spent for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This place has excellent service and food with a quiet atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. I try to come here every few months and it's also my go-to for special occasions. I haven't been disappointed so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.