About The Melting Pot - Larkspur

125 E. Sir Francis Drake Blvd
Larkspur, CA 94939
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is located in the historic Brick Kiln in Larkspur, CA. The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue. To highlight your meal we also offer a wide variety of wines to compliment your meal. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
FULL FOUR-COURSE
FONDUE DINNER HOURS
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 10 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: 4 p.m. - 10 p.m.

AFTER HOURS -
CHOCOLATE ONLY
Sunday - Thursday: 10 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday - Saturday: 10 p.m. - Midnight
(Bar Only)

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
(Bar Only for guest 21 and over)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 461-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/larkspur/specials

Entertainment:
CELEBRATE IN STYLE! We offer celebration packages that can be placed on your table prior to your arrival. Surprise your friends, family, or colleagues with balloons, flowers, or even champagne! Please make note of any special requests from the list below when making your reservation. Please give 10+ hours when making requests. • Balloon Arrangements with chocolate wafers $25 • Balloon arrangement, chocolate wafers and a plush bear $30 • 3 roses with vase $20/ 6 roses with vase $30/ 1 dozen roses with vase $50 • Seasonal flower arrangements small $20/ large $30 • Melting Pot logo-metal frame with digital photo taken of group $10 • Champagne toast for two $18 (must have ID present)

Parking Details:
100 spaces of complimentary self-parking are available 7 days a week.

Public Transit:
The Larkspur Ferry Terminal is located across the street, please click the following link for the schedule:

http://goldengateferry.org/schedules/Larkspur.php

Private Party Facilities:
The Larkspur Melting Pot offers a semi-private areas accommodating from 15 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Manager, manager@meltingpotca.com: (415) 461-6358

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every third Wednesday is Ladies Night Out.

The Melting Pot - Larkspur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Fun (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Cozy (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Groups (24)
Historic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Family Style (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Seasonal (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this restaurant !! amazing food and service !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Made a reservation for 9, was seated at 930. Our order wasn't taken until 10. We ended up being here for over 2 hrs. Food was good but the meat could use some work. Portion size is expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A wonderful finale to a fun day in San Francisco with friends. Very convenient with Larkspur Ferry and delicious. Go with an appetite!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service is always so great and if this is your first time dining with them, the waiter makes sure you understand the menu and the dining experience. A great place for an intimate dinner date, food is delicious and not too pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the. Alpine Cheese fondue. The prawns were very fresh.

Great friendly service!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS. NOT SO GOOD SERVICE AND OVERPRICED.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and costumer service. We love to come here and have fun with the whole experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Family Style, Historic, Fun, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Today was not only a Valentine's Day celebration but it was also a celebration for our new home we purchased. The Melting Pot is our favorite way to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and quality food! Wonderful place for special occasions or just because.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took My Fiance For Valentines Day . We Had A Very special Evening . Everything was Perfect and My Fiancé Really Enjoyed the Whole Expirience . Definitely a Very Cool Calm Romantic type Of Restraunt that'd I'd Recommend to anybody Looking to Try Something cool and fun with someone special .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The girlfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary but we didn't say anything when they asked. So that was fine. However our server would disappear without a trace for long periods of time. I timed it once and she was gone for over 15 minutes without so much as refilling water. The host noticed and tended to our table more than our server. We will be back next year, hoping for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thought it was a really amazing place. Planned out a meal ahead of time with my girlfriend online But when we got there they had changed the menu for Valentine's Day and it was four days before. They charged 75 a person for a meal that although was amazing yes was definately twice as much as going on s regular day. If we had known ahead of time we would have gone a different day but nothing online had told us about the change. The food was great, the four cheese fondue was killer and the dessert was to die for. But not worth what we had paid because of the limited meal for Valentine's Day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was great. Food was great also. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I usually enjoy coming here with my daughter--it's a fun family dining out experience. However, this time there was a fixed price meal that was $75 a person, which I knew in advance--it was the weekend before Valentine's Day and I know restaurants tend to do special things around that time. However, the meal was barely different than an ordinary night at the Melting Pot and I'm not sure why such a premium was placed on the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A unique experience, one that I will not forget. Our burner at the table stopped working which was a blessing, the manager moved us to a different area of the restaurant away from a table full of noisy children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place, great food and we had the best server Carol. She has a great memory. Love eating here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

So fun and our waiter John (I believe )was the very best

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday for a friend. Normally you get a chocolate birthday signature on plate. This time, bite size piece of plain pound cake with a candle... Other than that it was a great night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super slow service, tepid oil that didn't cook food well. We all felt sick afterward- blech.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love coming to this restaurant however the last two times we have been there we are told that our table has to wait for service of this or that because of another table. While I understand this can happen, its unfortunate that it has happen to us twice in a row. We are always a large party of 7 or more and would appreciate not having to be the table that has to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great for special occasions very accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best Alpine fondue. Should get a double order. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It's our kids' favorite place for a family birthday dinner out. Full bar is nice and wines are solid. Service is always wonderful. It's not cheap, but for a fun night out to celebrate it's well worth it. It's a novelty to come here. Love the cheese course and the chocolate at the ends. Next time we might just order those!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The cheese fondue was good but not as garlicky as I remembered (and loved). Next time I will request extra garlic and not some garlic mixture that was served. None-the-less this is still one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been to the Melting Pot many times and loved it. However, our service was terribly slow this night. The waiter was trying to be funny, but it didn't work. Salads are now a third the size of what they were last year and the cheddar cheese used in one of our fondues seemed of a lesser quality than before.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful service, my wife thoroughly enjoyed her birthday!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had a great experience at the melting pot. It was me and my girlfriends 4 year anniversary and it couldn't of been more perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We made a reservation for 5 a week ahead. They sat us right next to the main kitchen, where the double doors were constantly opening & closing with constant waiter activity. This was noisy and distracting. Not the best table to be placed at.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Truly a terrible experience from beginning to end. We were forgotten about not once but twice by staff and thus spent two and a half hours on two courses. No apology. Didn't have time for dessert after all that. Food was meh. One order arrived incorrect. Another was missing an ingredient. Poor food. Terrible service. Horrific management. Likely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and atmosphere were perfect !! Lovers lane us a hidden gem.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great atmosphere in a historical building. Catered to gluten free dietary needs. I've been there two times and will go back for a third!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

What a wonderful experience! This is not your typical restaurant dinner. We had so much fun. Great variety of food--and we had such a great time cooking it ourselves in our fondue pot.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We celebrated my Partner's 50th Birthday, everything that I asked to have prepared upon our arrival was ready and waiting. That particular evening we had quite the storm so we were well attended to by many of the staff. That being said, on the other occasions we have gone there for dinner, we always receive excellent service. I appreciate that they do not rush you to finish your meal and get out. We typically will spend upwards of three hours enjoying the full four course menu. Lastly, I truly appreciate how they allow you to make substitutions if you don't particularly care for an item. I would recommend this restaurant for a truly unique dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Super fun and unique experience. We went for my daughters's 12th Birthday and our whole family loved it. The food was sophisticated enough for adults but not overly exotic for kids. Save room for the chocolate dessert fondue. Yum! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food is marginal. The cheese and chocolate fondues are the best. If you don't need the whole meal, I would suggest skipping the meat portion. It always sounds better than it is. Service is super slow, starting with getting seated, ordering drinks and the meal. I had to hunt down someone to pay our bill. I don't recommend dinner if you have young children either. The average meal takes 2.5 hours. Not great for short attention spans. This place is only good for the novelty of it. Nothing really that special.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The restaurant was extremely accommodating to our gluten-free needs. All members of our group enjoyed the experience, everyone (even the teens) sat and talked, savoring the experience. We never felt rushed and the service and the food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I would def return, the only complaint was that the waiter had a very dry sense of humor. Made it kind of awkward. It was my firt time and the wife and i were on our 11year anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great date night. Loved our four course meal including fondue cheese, fondue meats and vegetables and fondue chocolate. So good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Skip the "meat" plate part of the four courses. You're better off with what they do well, cheese fondue starter, salad & chocolate fondue dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great and a favorite, The Melting Pot rises high above the bar of most dining experiences. We drive about an hour to enjoy this and never regret it. These statements are based primarily on two things: Great food and lots of time to enjoy it! Management does not focus on the number of turns but instead, they focus on an extraordinary dining experience. It's not "cheap" but it's definitely worth it; a good value! The food is very high quality. There are gluten free choices too. The Four Course experience is sensational and plentiful. The Bourguignonne cooking style is a sure winner but the Coq Au Vin is one to try too. The wine list is good and the corkage was $20.00 for that special wine we brought from the cellar.

A big thumbs up for The Melting Pot - Again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for the New Years Eve Special and it was fantastic! The food was really delicious, especially the coq au vin entree. We will definitely be returning, it was a very wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Menu is very confusing but they do a pretty job of explaining. Ordering too much is possible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

An EXCELLENT experience and delicious food! A huge shout-out to our waiter (whose name I don't remember) who took care of us efficiently AND warmly. We had a time constraint and the meal went smoothly without feeling rushed! Of course we always love the incredible fondues, especially the cheese and chocolate! We have had various different fondues and have always loved them!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love The Melting Pot! Our service was great, the food was absolutely delicious, and overall the prices are pretty decent for the experience. I would absolutely recommend this resteraunt to anyone wanting to enjoy a calm evening with good food and great friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a blast! How romantic and fun. The food was phenomenal and the experience was unique. The only critique I have is that, I think our waiter was slightly inexperienced or new. We were sat at the wrong table and had to get up and move, also we weren't given instructions on how to exactly do the "fondue" experience. He just put our food down and left. We heard other tables getting instructions from their waiters. So we were left to figure it out ourselves. I think having an instruction would have made our experience a little easier. We weren't quite sure how long to leave in the different meats, veggies and pasta, resulting in some overcooked and undercooked food. But we made a good time of it and will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The restaurant was overall very nice. It was my girlfriends birthday and the hostess had called prior to ask if I would like rose petals or some other things on the table once we had arrived. The wait was short and we were greeted kindly by a nice waiter. He was quick and attentive to our table and was nice enough to explain everything as we were first timers. The food was amazing and very fun to pick out and cook, my girlfriend and I had a blast. Would recommend! 🔥

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have been to the melting pot three times now, all for different occasions, and it never fails to please. While they maintain mostly the same menu, it's full of so many individual options you can't get bored. All the waiters are trained to do their job very well; do not fear if you're a first-timer. Love love love!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.