About The Melting Pot - Larkspur

125 E. Sir Francis Drake Blvd
Larkspur, CA 94939
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is located in the historic Brick Kiln in Larkspur, CA. The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course fondue dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to a get-together with friends, meetings or large groups, The Melting Pot always hits the spot. The Melting Pot offers the highest quality fresh ingredients, a variety of cooking styles, unique sauces & your favorite chocolate fondue. To highlight your meal we also offer a wide variety of wines to compliment your meal. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Swiss

Hours of Operation:
FULL FOUR-COURSE
FONDUE DINNER HOURS
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 10 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: 4 p.m. - 10 p.m.

AFTER HOURS -
CHOCOLATE ONLY
Sunday - Thursday: 10 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday - Saturday: 10 p.m. - Midnight
(Bar Only)

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
(Bar Only for guest 21 and over)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 461-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/larkspur/specials

Entertainment:
CELEBRATE IN STYLE! We offer celebration packages that can be placed on your table prior to your arrival. Surprise your friends, family, or colleagues with balloons, flowers, or even champagne! Please make note of any special requests from the list below when making your reservation. Please give 10+ hours when making requests. • Balloon Arrangements with chocolate wafers $25 • Balloon arrangement, chocolate wafers and a plush bear $30 • 3 roses with vase $20/ 6 roses with vase $30/ 1 dozen roses with vase $50 • Seasonal flower arrangements small $20/ large $30 • Melting Pot logo-metal frame with digital photo taken of group $10 • Champagne toast for two $18 (must have ID present)

Parking Details:
100 spaces of complimentary self-parking are available 7 days a week.

Public Transit:
The Larkspur Ferry Terminal is located across the street, please click the following link for the schedule:

http://goldengateferry.org/schedules/Larkspur.php

Private Party Facilities:
The Larkspur Melting Pot offers a semi-private areas accommodating from 15 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Manager, manager@meltingpotca.com: 4154616358x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every third Wednesday is Ladies Night Out.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
$67pp Lagunitas Beer Pairing & 4-course dinner.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM

The Melting Pot - Larkspur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Marin
Best Ambiance
Marin
Romantic
Marin
1 More
Special Occasion
Marin
Best Restaurants in Larkspur ›

special occasion (92)
romantic (86)
good for groups (56)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
kid-friendly (31)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (21)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
scenic view (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Underhanded waiter?

Dined on May 22, 2016

Booked two tables close together, one for my daughter and her friends (5) and another for my wife and I, to celebrate my daughter's 12th birthday. The waiter “recommended” we order for both tables a set number of cheese appetizers, entrees and desserts. There would be enough food to go round without having to get too many portions. At best the waiter was confusing, in what we would or would not be getting, we never had a clear picture and that was in spite of us asking him to explain multiple times. In the end our sides for dipping were flimsy. On each course we had to ask “is this it?” are we missing something. The bill was not so flimsy, it ran over $300, originally it was over $400 but after some corrections – waiter said he had accidently left some items from the prior diners ticket on our tab (how do you do that? Don’t you closeout each sitting, an even if it did occur by accident wouldn’t you as a waiter notice and correct??). Again, even when we were questioning the bill the waiter came across as pretty slippery, we felt the bill error was not an accident and he was deliberately trying to get away with something as he had in the ordering. On a night of fun for our daughter, who obviously did not know what we were going through, we left with a bad taste in our mouth and in no rush to return to the Melting Pot.

food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great food but stuffy environment

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my second and last time I will likely visit The Melting Pot in Larkspur. I love the old brick building the restaurant is located in but towards the end of the meal I had to go outside several times to get fresh air. There seems to be very little ventilation and I could see a thermostat and it was 77 degrees in the restaurant with steam emanating from every table! The food was great with very reasonable prices and our waiter was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Kylie was wonderful! We vis ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress Kylie was wonderful! We visited for our wedding anniversary and we've been coming here to celebrate our anniversaries a few times now. Food is good, waitress is great, and fun atmosphere! Another reason we visited this restaurant is because they send me a emails about complimentary chocolate covered strawberries!! It's really free and delicious!! I really recommend this place :)

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They make special occasions amazing. The ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

They make special occasions amazing. The staff congratulates you several times and their desert plate comes out with a special message congratulating you on the occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a good time!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This isn't haute cuisine, but that shouldn't stop you from coming here. It's much better than the the fondue I had as a kid and it's the perfect place for families whose kids can sit still for 1.5 hours. We will keep coming back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

the service was very slow, hopefully thi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

the service was very slow, hopefully this will improve

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Reliably Great Spot for a Romantic Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

Melting Pot is our go-to spot for a romantic special occasion dinner. On our last visit, our food was better than in the past, but the service was slightly less attentive than it was in previous visits. The menu structure and the quality of the fondue meats was excellent. Minor service oversights - not cleaning/wiping down the table in between the entree and dessert, for example - surprised us but did not ruin the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not too fussy, yet a foodies pleasure

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've been to a few fondue places... There aren't that many. The Melting Pot knows what to emphasize and what to leave alone. The base is good protein in decent portions. There are plenty of sauces to please many at the table. And, although there are 4 choices for cooking medium... Stick with the broth. It cooks everything beautifully and gives you the flexibility to cook & eat more than one protein or veg. Ambiance is the signature of this location. Situated in a renovated brick company, the interior is softened by exposed brick, floor to ceiling.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2

Would never go back. Lonnng waits for ev ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Would never go back. Lonnng waits for everything and couldn't have been less weak of a performance.

food5
ambience3
service5

I would tone down the piercing lights th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I would tone down the piercing lights that shine on the tables. They actually should be adjusted so they don't spotlight the people; rather they should spotlight the food. Otherwise, great and delicious.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I feel the price is way too high. I pa ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

I feel the price is way too high. I paid over $170 for three people and this was with no alcohol. The signature cheese dish had a very strong beer flavor and the chocolate dulce leche was oversalted to where I couldn't eat it. Our salads had very little salad dressing and still had water on the lettuce. For the price I paid I could of taken 5 people to a high end steak house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

A friend and I decided to have a girls night here last weekend, and we loved it. I had an 8:30pm reservation for two, we got there closer to 8pm so we sat in the bar and had a drink while we waited for our table. The staff was very friendly and courteous. They got us to our table at about 8:50 (it was a Saturday night and crazy busy so we understood). The food was amazing, everything was delicious. Personally I feel it's a little pricey but worth it. Next time though I think I'll just do cheese and dessert fondues because the entrees while very good weren't my thing. The decor and ambiance is very calm and rustic- a very comfortable place to relax and have a glass of wine. The whole dining experience took an ample amount of time but that's expected anywhere worth going on a weekend night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Birthday Surprise

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Melting Pot dinner was a surprise treat for my husband. We have always wanted to try it. The wait staff was wonderful, the host staff was not so much. Our only complaints were that we wanted two different cheese fondues and two different cooking pots, but for a party of three with one of them being a teenager, we had to compromise on only one. I would have liked to have tried the other options as well. The meat was tender, the pumpkin seed spinach salad FANTASTIC, and dessert plate incredible. I would go there just for the dessert fondue options again. It is pricey as expected, and the interesting make up and curvature of the ceilings had me hearing a woman's voice right next to us where she was actually many tables away. Haunting. Don't share secrets or publically unacceptable talk there. FYI, The birthday "Plate" they offered to bring out, was a plate with the words HAPPY BIRTHDAY on it in chocolate sauce and a candle, nothing else. With the full four course for each of us three, two sodas (refillable), and tip, the bill came to $160. Not bad for a birthday present, but not something I can afford but once a year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Don't go if you're in a rush!

Dined on April 17, 2016

You should be "allowed" to get more than one cheese fondue instead of having to order the dinners. Service was super slow. Dessert was the best.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Overrated !!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Didn't think it was worth the money. Just not my bag. Food mediocre, too long a wait in between courses. I would not recommend to friends or relatives.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a wonderful time there. Gre ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always have a wonderful time there. Great food, strong drinks. Love it

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Annual Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 11, 2016

My husband and I just celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary. We got married at the Point Reyes Lighthouse. Every year we spend the day at Point Reyes and then celebrate with dinner at The Melting Pot. This time, the manager asked what we were celebrating, we told her the story. So when they brought our dessert fondue, they also brought a plate with a lighthouse drawn with chocolate and a"Happy 6th Anniversary" also written in chocolate. Awesome!! Our waiter, Shaq, was friendly and attentive. Always a great evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food always great.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Food always great.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Review Melting Pot

Dined on April 9, 2016

My daughter 11th bday she chose the Melting Pot I guess through word of mouth. We agreed since I have heard good reviews so we decided to check it out. On my reservation I noted that it's a special occasion, I received a phone call to confirm the reservation and I also told the person that it's my daughter's bday and she chose the restaurant and she said thanks for choosing the Melting Pot and also when we checked in the host asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and again I said yes, and again our waitress asked me and again I said yes my daughters bday. Why ask if you are celebrating a special occasion if the staff is not going to acknowledge the special occasion...None of the staff said happy birthday, no one sang happy bday...nothing...nada so don't ask! Waitress was pushy about how much to order she states she wanted us to have enough food ok I can give her the benefit of the doubt since it's our first visit. I ordered from the children's menu (2) and she questioned me re: their age...really??? That's why I question her motives for encouraging us to order more. Food was ok not really worth a recommendation but for the experience why not check it. Staff friendly enough...My daughter's review... food not very good, chocolate fondue delicious and she had a fun evening.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Not happy at all !

Dined on April 6, 2016

I have been to The Melting Pot for a number meals over the years. I go out to eat 4 to 5 times a week. This may have been the worst service that I have ever experienced. The Manager Wendy was very nice. The waiter was absolutely horrible. It took him a very long time to take our order, then 3 times came back and forgot that we had even placed an order. We were there for well over 3 hours. At the end of the meal he asked us if he could remove our plates. He wanted to ask because he said "otherwise you will keep picking at it like a SCAB" He felt this was important so he reported it two more times. We were dumbfounded! He left the bill and we paid the bill. We didn't see him again until he was smoking in front of our car in the parking lot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic setting!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Amazing expierence for being our first time there. Food was great and fun to have the expierence to make our own food!! Recommend it for sure!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I expected so much more

Dined on April 2, 2016

I had some family come from out of state and we were celebrating two birthdays. No one asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. It was all of our first time. We didnt know how to order. The waiter was not helpful at all. We were lost around the menu. I dont think we got our 2nd desert or our 2nd 1st course at dinner. It was pricey but served a decent amout of food. We over ordered and server didnt tell us we could of shared meals. She said we should each order a meal. cheese and desserts were really good. Atmosphere was really nice. I would like to come back on better circumstances.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Engaged at the melting pot

Dined on March 28, 2016

I am in love with the melting pot . My boyfriend and I come here for all our special occasions. this particular visit was for my birthday and during dessert he proposed to me. the melting pot staff was so gracious The waitress used my boyfriend's phone to Record the proposal and the waiter brought a plate that had will you marry me written in chocolate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Way over priced

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was friendly and knew the menu well, but it was extremely overpriced at $140 for a couple in a casual setting, with fondue

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was great. Very informative My c ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Server was great. Very informative My card was over charged though Wrote tip they charged that and additional

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melting Rave

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Melting Pot is a wonderful spot for a special romantic dinner. The unique setting with its "underground" feel is a definite plus and the layout of the restaurant creates some lovely semi-private booths. The quality of service we received was 5-star and the food was beautifully and thoughtfully prepared. Our dark chocolate fondue dessert was beyond description - just the right note to end a delicious meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

Spend time with your Lover and Melt your Heart with Delicious Dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Slow service

Dined on March 25, 2016

The service was very slow. I dont want to be at dinner for 3 hours. The server was nice and the food was good.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat

Dined on March 23, 2016

My boyfriend & I went out on a Tuesday night for no particular reason & were still treated like it was a special occasion. Not only is this restaurant super fun & delicious, but the service is always so warm & genuine. You guys are my favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lived up to Expectations

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The Melting Pot is a special treat. The one on one service you get from the staff there is amazing. Everything we ate was delicious and mixed with the atmosphere and staff it created an unforgettable evening. If you can, add the wine flight to your meal. The wines paired great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Different and Fun

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

This its a really different and fun experience. The options are broad and the food its really quite good. This is the second visit and we enjoyed it both times. We were overlooked by the maitre'd for almost 1/2 hour. I finally grew impatient and asked how much longer we would have to wait since we had a reservation. He apologized and said that he thought we had already been. seated. A small token of a glass of wine would have been appropriate, however nothing was offered.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Birthday

Dined on March 14, 2016

The fondue is always great and since it's made table-side they can adjust it to the table's taste such as the amount of jalapenos in the fiesta cheddar or making the turtle dessert fondue with dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food in a unique building. Won ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Fantastic food in a unique building. Wonderful for celebrations and special nights out. Service is fantastic. Best Melting Pot in the Bay Area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great waiter

Dined on March 13, 2016

we got very lucky and had a super charismatic waiter. He knew the menu and made great rcomendations. They had a few large parties while we were eating so we had two different waiters. which caused some confusion on ordering. we eneded up with more food then we wanted which wasn't necisarilly a bad thing but since it is a bit pricey it made the bill higher then we had intended. this wasn't the waiters fault, we didn't communicate very clearly, but i think it could have been avoided if we had only had one server instead of two. Overall the food was fantastic, the service was great. we left happy and full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Fondue Galore

Dined on March 11, 2016

You got there for the fondues and they have a great selection. The menu is very confusing even to our bossy British waitress. The setting of an old brick factory is very unique and charming. A memorable evening for sure

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything good but the lighting was kin ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Everything good but the lighting was kind of dark I'll go back soon

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was horrible. They never br ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was horrible. They never brought us enough plates. They put us at a booth for 6 and there was 8 of us. I couldn't reach the pots at all.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful,charming and warm !great food experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Chom our server, was fabulous,friendly and warm(: he is part of why my first experience was delightful(:..I will be back...Thank You Melting Pot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time

Dined on February 21, 2016

It's my second time there and they again exceeded my every expectation from food to service and everything else. My server was awesome and even the buser doing the table next to ours was helpful. Grade A all the way down, highly recommend this place. Love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.