About The Melting Pot - Knoxville

111 North Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers a relaxed atmosphere, plush private booths, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four course dinners. It is perfect for a romantic evening, corporate dinner parties or friendly gatherings. Creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, a wide variety of entree selections and mouth-watering chocolate fondue desserts are offered.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 971-5400

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/knoxville/specials

Parking Details:
Metered spots are free after 6:00 p.m., and free on Saturday and Sunday.

---VALET PARKING---
$5 valet parking is available Monday - Saturday at the corner of S Central St & W Jackson Ave in the old city.

---FREE PARKING---

WILLOW AVENUE
24/7 Free Parking along the street.

FREE COVERED PARKING
24/7 Free Parking under the interstate overpass next to Barleys.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

White bread dipped in cheese - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Cheese on bread - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Choice angus - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Strawberry dipped in chocolate - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Smores chocolate fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Fondue pot petals - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Milk chocolate berry - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Dessert plate - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
House salad - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ying yang dessert plate - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Six strawberries box - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Fondue by you lobster - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Three course - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Land And Sea - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Shrimp & Sirloin - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Meats - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Chocolate Covered Cheesecake - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Stew Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Dessert - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Chocolate Covered Strawberry - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Pre-Cooked Fondue Feast - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Melting Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Shrimp Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Yin & Yang Martini - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Sirloin & Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Rasberry Truffle Cheesecake - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Melting Pot Fondue.....the Pure Milk Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Hand Dipped Strawberries In Gourmet Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Wildberry Crunch Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Fiesta Cheese Course - The Melting Pot - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN

Specials

Happy Hour Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

40% Off Bottles Of Wine / $5 Cheese Fondues / $3 Salads / $5 Cocktails / $3 Beers. Excludes Tax and Tip. VALID ON WEDNESDAYS ONLY BETWEEN 5-9.This offer is not valid with any other discount, special event, LNO, strawberry program or voucher. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please ask your server for our Happy Hour menu. Special valid Nov 22, 2016 - Mar 22, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 8:45PM

Thu 5:00PM - 8:45PM

The Melting Pot - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and ambiance Food is alway ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and ambiance

Food is always fresh and interesting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We there quite often it's always nice go ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

We there quite often it's always nice good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Cheese fondue was good. The bread was no ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Cheese fondue was good. The bread was not and the other items (fruit, etc.) provided to dip in the fondue were not compatible with the cheese we choose. The salad was good and seemed fresh. We chose the Mojo broth for the main course. I was not impressed at all. Meat for the main course was fresh and the Cajun dish I got was seasoned well. Desert was very good Bourbon pecan dark chocolate. Managers were young and lacked experience. Had trouble remembering if we were celebrating a birthday or anniversary and couldn't pronounce our name even after we pronounced it for them. Our waiter was nice but somewhat hyper and had the appearance and personality and vocabulary of a drug addict. Overall learning experience: Way overpriced. Mediocur food. Inexperienced staff. I had three beers and my wife had two margaritas during our two hour dinner time. Bill was near $160 with less than 20% tip. For that price I would expect an experience professional staff and more complementary cheese and a main fondue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

This place never disappoints! The food ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place never disappoints! The food and service are always fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! Food was great! It wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was great! Food was great! It was a great date night for me and my husband.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Melting Pot. It's de ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always enjoy the Melting Pot. It's delicious food served with expertise. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed in management "policies". ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Disappointed in management "policies". I wanted to pay a portion of my bill with a gift card. When the waiter returned, he explained that their "management policy" was to accept only a "percentage" of the value of the card. He acknowledged the card was valid and still had a remaining balance, but "policy" prohibited him from using total amount. WHAT????? Never heard of this. Not posted. Never explained to me until too late.

VERY DISAPPOINTED IN "MANAGEMENT POLICY" - Please refuse to eat there and force them out of business. Ruined my dining experience. Thoroughly disgusted. No excuses for this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The experience was very pleasant. The fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The experience was very pleasant. The food was great the staff was excellent. We left full happy and bliss

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience at Melting Pot! Del ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful experience at Melting Pot! Delicious food & great service! Had a great time overall on our anniversary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried something different for Christm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We tried something different for Christmas Eve and went to melting pot just my husband and I . The food was incredible and there were a few changes to the menu since we have been there. The jalapeño bacon cheese was amazing. We even went for dessert. Out waitress was sweet despite she was working on Christmas Eve. Families were heard laughing around tables and there were a few Christmas decorations which made he night even better Love the melting pot and I believe we have a new tradition for chriatmas Eve

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails were watered down. I mentioned ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Cocktails were watered down. I mentioned this to the server but he acted like that wasn't his fault.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went with a family group, the waitress, ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went with a family group, the waitress, hostess and everyone we talked to was welcoming and so friendly. The food arrived quickly, and we were given plenty of time to cook, eat and share conversation.

The portions could have been bigger and I did not like being charged for additional strawberries and rice crispy treats after being asked if we wanted more without telling us there would be additional charges. The meal was expensive I felt for what was served.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

LOVED it. Our waiter was excellent. I th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

LOVED it. Our waiter was excellent. I think his name was Logan?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 5p for a reservation at th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We arrived at 5p for a reservation at that time. The TV was on by the bar, the doors were open...not a soul to be found. Another couple was waiting when we arrived. About 5:10 a woman blew into the reception area and asked us our name. I indicated that the other couple was here before us. She got their name, checked them in and seated them and disappeared. She was clearly aware that we were there and we waited. And waited. And then someone else came in and asked our name and disappeared. The first woman returned, got our name and seated us. No menus. A moment later our waiter appeared and gave us menus that were in serious need of a wipe down. I almost left at that point. The table and our silverware appeared clean and we had a good parking spot so we stayed. Our waiter came back to get our order and was very well versed in the menu.

Food was as expected, we eat at other MP a good bit. This one was a little more 'tired' a little less 'special' and not really anything I'd consider a big night out. The very large couple trying to nearly conceive a child in the adjacent booth did not help the mood, either. I was aghast that not one comment appeared to be said to them for their incredibly inappropriate private behavior in a very public location.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and Service is always great at this ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food and Service is always great at this location. Wonderful waiter.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot is a local favorite for ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Melting Pot is a local favorite for fondue. It is not inexpensive -- figure $200 for a party of 4 -- but is worth the price occasionally for a special meal. That said, there is better dining more reasonably priced in Knoxville, but not if you want fondue. Also, the portions were a bit strange on this visit. Shared items were served in threes -- three potatoes, three pieces of broccoli, etc. -- when there were four people in our party. The chocolate fondue was quite skimpy and really not adequate for four people. Lastly, the facility is showing its age and needs some refurbishment -- carpet repair, a bit of paint, etc. I will go back, but I hope some of these items are addressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love to eat at the Melting Pot in Kno ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We love to eat at the Melting Pot in Knoxville. Food and service are always very good. It is a very romantic place to celebrate your Anniversary!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not nearly as good as a year ago. We wil ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Not nearly as good as a year ago. We will find a new location for our post Thanksgiving meal with our children and grandchildren.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was amazing. I love this plac ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was amazing. I love this place. I will definitely be returning, the idea of cooking your own food is fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend to The Melting Pot fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Took my girlfriend to The Melting Pot for her birthday,and we had an outstanding experience. The food is excellent,and the quality of service is great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue was good. Disappointed in only ge ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fondue was good. Disappointed in only getting one flavor of it. It was interesting but I would not recommend this for younger kids (ages 7 & 11). We did not know we would be cooking our own meat in a pot of broth. Very challenging keeping kids from being burned, touching raw meat, putting cooked food on raw meat plate or eating under cooked meat. The meat had very little flavor but they did provide many sauces.

On the other hand, nice atmosphere and an interesting experience, quite pricey but entertaining. We used a group on, our meal without drinks plus tip was $125 for 4. Once was enough for me.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved the Melting Pot. Our server was ou ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved the Melting Pot. Our server was outstanding. Food was well-done. Only complaint was fatty meat.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great first time here we loved it! Ryan ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great first time here we loved it! Ryan was our server he was awesome! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful experience was even added up ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A wonderful experience was even added upon with exceptional service and food!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot typically does a good jo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Melting Pot typically does a good job in Knoxville. I am chalking out last visit up to being just an off night for the staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The service and food were excellent, but ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service and food were excellent, but this Melting Pot was noisier than the one in Memphis. Great food and great service.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience, and the food ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was a great experience, and the food was great! Our waiter was very good! That being said, it is something we won't do again! It is way overpriced, but it is an experience everyone should do once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was okay. For the price, it isn't rea ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was okay. For the price, it isn't really worth it. The bread for cheese fondue was hard, tasteless, and stale. The spinach artichoke fondue was great with tortilla chips though. The meats weren't fantastic. With only having one top to heat the pot on it limited what we could try and the amount of meat given for the price is not favorable. The seating areas were quite small and cozy. Dessert was good. I would recommend only coming here for dessert and asking for a table with a minimum of two tops for the fondue pots.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Everything was great except the fondue p ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything was great except the fondue pot kept boiling and hit my gf a couple times. She had to move to the corner of her seat so the boiling water wouldn't get on her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

As always everything was great.

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

As always everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! Great Server! Fantastic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Wonderful food! Great Server! Fantastic date night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cheese and bread was good but that w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The cheese and bread was good but that was it. The service was great and our waiter was personable and attentive. Poor selection of veggies. Food was bland, just didn't have a lot of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at the Melting Pot in Knoxville. The service was outstanding. Jamie, our server was a delight, just attentive enough and knew all about the menu.

The food was as usual very good and there was more than the two of us could eat

I read reviews of this Melting Pot on their website and I can not believe some of the negative reviews. We used a Groupon this time and with a bottle of wine our bill was under $30.00. Someone complained that even with a coupon they spent nearly $100.00, if they did it is on them. Yes, it is pricey but this is a dining experience not fast food and you should have done your home work and if it was more than you wanted to spend do not go. Another person complained about how long it took to eat, if you want fast food go to McDonald's, if you want a dining experience go the The Melting Pot. We were there one and a half hours and enjoyed every minute of it.

Nice atmosphere and we will go back again and again!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, the chocolate could h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was good, the chocolate could have been warmer when it was placed at our table. The service was wonderful, our waiter was very prompt and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It was just an amazing night the whole n ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was just an amazing night the whole night while we was there we had the best service there the entire time kept our drinks full and kept checking up on us the entire time and to top it off they helped my boyfriend at the time to help him proprose to me that night and everybody did great and it was so sweet we will be back for sure.

Tags: , Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Might be the swankiest place in the Old ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Might be the swankiest place in the Old City. The staff was very friendly, food was good, the "experience" was alright. However, after dropping 90 bucks on dinner for 2 (that you have to cook) and leaving hungry...I can't say I would recommend it to anyone.

If you went just for the cheese and chocolate fondue, that would be one thing I guess...but the dinner portions were ridiculously small for what you pay. The lady enjoyed herself though, and in the end, that's all that mattered I guess.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's 60th birthday. I ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 60th birthday. It was definitely the place for such an important occasion! The food and service were great; the cheese was awesome; and the chocolate was beyond compare.

Don't take children. It is a slow paced meal best suited for long convetsations. Do take lots of money. It will cost you, but is worth the price!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great place t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, great service, great place to enjoy our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great as always!

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.