About The Melting Pot - Knoxville

111 North Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers a relaxed atmosphere, plush private booths, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four course dinners. It is perfect for a romantic evening, corporate dinner parties or friendly gatherings. Creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, a wide variety of entree selections and mouth-watering chocolate fondue desserts are offered.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 971-5400

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/knoxville/specials

Parking Details:
Metered spots are free after 6:00 p.m., and free on Saturday and Sunday. Otherwise, the closest parking is right behind our building at Central Parking. There are also several other parking lots around The Old City.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
8 More
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Romantic
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

special occasion (96)
romantic (90)
fit for foodies (39)
See All
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (24)
hot spot (19)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was excellent. The restaurant wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent. The restaurant was dark, hot and humid. Food was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great but it was so humid ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great but it was so humid in there that night. It was stifling heat but thankfully our waiter kept us hydrated!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dessert is my favorite part of The M ...

Dined 6 days ago

The dessert is my favorite part of The Melting Pot! Chocolate covered fruit, pound cake and Rice Krispie treats, oh my! ❤️

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food

Dined on May 9, 2016

ThiThis was our first time going and it was a great experience. Definitely not on the cheap side but you get great food and an even better experience. We'll definitely be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The meal was good but what made the best impression was our server. She was warm and friendly and stopped to chat with us like we were old friends. Some people might not like that but we did. She was attentive to our needs and the pace of our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was some of the best food I've had in years. I definitely plan on going back. Our server was amazing, and we loved the rustic scene of the entire restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pat

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our first time at Melton Pot my husbands 75 th birthday we were greeted with a a Happy Birthday welcome waitress Le Ann was excellent food great a fantastic xperience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great server who was very attentive. We shared the cheddar cheese appetizer, and we all got 3 different meats. We tried the steak, pork, and chicken and all 3 were really good. Then the Cookies and Cream dessert was amazing too. We will definitely come back sometime soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

not our favorite melting pot location

Dined on April 30, 2016

we were attending a three part opera and wanted something special for dinner, I understand we made a 4pm reservation and they open at four. but were not seated till 420. We were seated with a family with small children behind us that had manners more suitable for applebees, kicking the seat, and leaning over to check out our table. servers were dropping items, our server kept us on time to get out but wanted the pots to be boiling instead of usual temp to eat. Not our favorite location of this restaurant, and def not our most fav experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Melting Pot Never Ceases to Amaze

Dined on April 23, 2016

Every visit to Melting Pot in Knoxville, I have left not only very satisfied but very impressed with the service, food and restaurant itself. This is my absolute favorite place to dine. I would highly recommend it mostly for special occasions as it is decently pricey (But well worth it in my opinion).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

No kids for the evening

Dined on April 15, 2016

Grandma had the kids wanted to make the rate night out special. We had a great time. Great steak

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful date night. Service a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a wonderful date night. Service and food were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great when dipped in chocolate

Dined on March 20, 2016

TheMeltingPot has to be one of the best food experiences in Knoxville. Always my go to spot on special occasions. Great for couples as well as groups. Cheers!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a memorable experience there!

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have been celebrating most important events at melting pot for years already and it never gets old! I love it! My dates love it! You don't go wrong if you chose it for a romantic experience especially!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Sat. night date night..

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have been to multiple melting pots in several states.. This is the loudest "non-date friendly" MP I have been to. There were several rowdy tables and the interior was pretty bright for a MP. Service was slower than expected. Overall, I'll still go to and recommend MP.. But maybe not the Knoxville location. Disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous

Dined on March 12, 2016

Was told about the melting pot when asking friends for something different and nice for our anniversary dinner. Went their not knowing much more than it was a fondue place. Well to make a long story short it was a tremendous experience. The ingredients are top notch, the service was through the roof, and just the overall experience of the whole evening was priceless. We will defienently be making multiple return trips.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Stuck in the 90's

Dined on March 8, 2016

The appeal to eating here has lost it's luster for me and my wife, from the very basic decor to the entrees. The place needs a major upgrade and menu adjustment to keep up with better options for a fraction of the cost in the area.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Yes I would refer friends but the past t ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Yes I would refer friends but the past two times we have been there the service was much to be desired. Getting ignored and no one showing at the table for 20 minutes and leaving plates in front of us when you're done.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Not the norm

Dined on February 28, 2016

Never had less than amazing experience at the Knox Melting Pot until we had Brandon. His personality was less than attractive but his lack of knowledge about the food offered and process was disappointing. He didn't get the salad dressing correct, put the wrong cheeses in the pot, wrong chocolate and brought us two regular dessert plates instead of the premium plate ordered. He wasn't rude just very flaky and unprofessional. However this is not the norm experience here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Bad service

Dined on February 22, 2016

First we received the wrong order and they did nothing to fix it. After that we were ignored the rest of the ti me with empty glasses and had to find him to just get dessert. For $50 a plate, this is ridiculous.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So amazing!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I love getting to spend a night out with my hubby while enjoying an extra special meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Much has changed

Dined on February 20, 2016

I took my girlfriend here on 2/19/16 we had both been before, the chicken tasted off (which I found out why a few hours later) and the other food was meh at best. This will be my last visit to this establishment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a great time at The Melting Pot! Service and food were both excellent. We really enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service, Food, dropped ball on requests :(

Dined on February 18, 2016

Overall, our service was outstanding and the food is always good, but I had called after booking with Open Table to confirm we were bringing in wine and gifts that I wanted to be on the table when we arrived, that I wanted the romantic getaway package and they SAID all of this was noted on our reservation, I reconfirmed when they called me to confirm our times and my friend who dropped everything OFF at Melting Pot confirmed again... when we arrived, we where sat at the wrong table, our stuff wasn't on the table, however candles, rose and special menu where, it was a great table, very romantic, but when I mentioned I had other items that were supposed to be on the table, they walked away, returned, blew out candles, said wrong table and took us to a very brightly lit corner booth that was so large we couldn't even sit near each other and reach the booking pot :( my stuff was on this table but no candles, special menu or rose, the manager came by and told me nothing was noted on my reservation and that I would have to pay another $20 for all of that, which the moment was ruined now, why bother, all of my prep work and surprise presentation was gone, she brought us the menu and some strawberries, she was not very apologetic, but our server was awesome and dimmed the lights and was very personable, just a shame that I put so much work into making it a special night out and they couldn't hold up their end of the bargain and then blamed me, very frustrated

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great place great foods! I love it! My husband whom is picky eater loves it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great trip to Melting Pot!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We don't get to Melting Pot often, but when we can we go, take friends, and recommend it highly to all! The experience of fantastic fondue dining is something everyone should try. The cost is a bit steep for some, but a great ocassional night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

On the website it said you get 10% off i ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

On the website it said you get 10% off if you get there between 4 and 445 we did and did not get the10% off.Was upset that we where under false advertisement.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible Experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

I came here for a first date and was very please with the restaurant. Incredible taste, great service, wonderful atmosphere. Can't wait for the next time I go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions

Dined on February 6, 2016

I enjoy going for special occasions such as birthdays, though if you are going for just the chocolate menu, this could be a fun night out activity.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Very fun experience

Dined on February 5, 2016

We had a ton of fun. The experience was the best part, by far. It made it worth it. It is a little bit expensive, especially if you go with the 4-course option. The atmosphere was..... ehh. It wasn't bad, I just felt that the booths and tables were a little cheap and too close together for the prices on the menu. Our server was nice and helpful, but not overly professional. Again, I just expected a little more because of the prices. I mean I mentioned that it was my boyfriend's birthday and never heard anything about it after that, but later I saw a dessert brought to a table near us with a candle in it. I think/hope we just got a bad waitress. Anyway, the food was great, we walked out full, despite only getting salads and entrees, and I would go back again on a night when I don't mind spending a little extra money to have a fun dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on February 4, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We Love the Melting Pot

Dined on January 17, 2016

We've been dining at this great Old City (Knoxville) restaurant for close to 25 years now. We loved it while dating, for anniversaries after getting married (and other special occasions), and now it is a tradition to take our kids for birthdays, accomplishments, or holidays. It is just a very special little spot! And if you don't like crowded spaces and loud music, the Melting Spot fits that bill as well. We love the privacy the booths provide and the low-level music.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

good and bad

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was excellent! Great food selections. Specialty drinks and wine selection was nice. Our service was terrible. Unfortunately, I had to complain to the manager about our server. This experience was supposed to be special since our 2 guests had never been to Melting Pot before so...the night was memorable but for the wrong reason!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very good. Didn't remember his name.

Dined on January 15, 2016

Great food and even better service. Food was a good conversation topic. We brought friends along who had never been before, so they loved it also.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for late night desserts

Dined on January 15, 2016

We went to the Melting pot this past Thursday and ordered a dessert item (the Oreo chocolate dip). The dip and the assortment of foods to dip in it were both fantastic. While the price was a little high it was absolutely worth every penny and we will definitely be back for another round in the future!

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on January 11, 2016

We had a great experience! We took our kids and they loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

GREAT !!! The evening was fantastic, foo ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

GREAT !!! The evening was fantastic, food the wine the chocolate it was all great which help make me the hero !!! KIM COKER !!! HERO !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Melting Pot Indulgence

Dined on January 10, 2016

Ours was a birthday celebration and the Melting Pot experience did not disappoint! Excellent service, excellent food, excellent drinks from the bar. No one at any time rushes you; it's a great place to gather w/friends and leisurely enjoy your meal and the company you are with. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent! Very romantic experi ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was excellent! Very romantic experience. Our server wasn't very attentive for the price point of the restaurant. We had to ask about different things we ordered when he forgot to bring them out & he forgot to turn our burner on for the dessert fondue.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but unique and romantic

Dined on December 30, 2015

My wife and I went for our anniversary. I made our reservations through the OpenTable app which is great if you've never tried it. The experience at the Knoxville location of Melting Pot was very traditional fondue with a few notable differences. First was the location. It's located in a part of Knoxville named the Old City (many old buildings, unique architecture, etc). The thing is, we didn't exactly feel very safe there at night. It's close to the bus terminal and the homeless shelters, so there were several people around who were down on their luck, panhandling, intoxicated, etc. Not exactly where I wanted to park my car and then escort my wife, especially when we came out after eating and it was 10pm. The restaurant itself had a really neat feel to it, located in the basement level of a very old building, lots of exposed brick. Fondue is (in my opinion) very similar from one place to the next. There's not a lot to differentiate the actual food, although everything was very good. What made it stand out was the service, which was wonderful. In summary it was a wonderful romantic dining experience, spending over two hours alone with my wife with no cell phones or iPad's, just talking and laughing. The best decision we made was to get a "credit" to get our chocolate fondue on another visit. We were both stuffed and wouldn't have enjoyed it much anyway; now we can go back for cheese and chocolate and have a second great experience at a lower cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.