About The Melting Pot - Knoxville

111 North Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers a relaxed atmosphere, plush private booths, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four course dinners. It is perfect for a romantic evening, corporate dinner parties or friendly gatherings. Creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, a wide variety of entree selections and mouth-watering chocolate fondue desserts are offered.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 971-5400

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/knoxville/specials

Parking Details:
Metered spots are free after 6:00 p.m., and free on Saturday and Sunday. Otherwise, the closest parking is right behind our building at Central Parking. There are also several other parking lots around The Old City.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
Land And Sea
Shrimp & Sirloin
Chocolate Covered Cheesecake
Meats
Stew Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Dessert
Pre-Cooked Fondue Feast
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Melting Chocolate
Shrimp Fondue
Chocolate Fondue
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Sirloin & Shrimp
Fiesta Cheese Course
Wildberry Crunch Chocolate Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue.....the Pure Milk Chocolate Fondue
Rasberry Truffle Cheesecake
Hand Dipped Strawberries In Gourmet Chocolate

The Melting Pot - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
10 More
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Romantic
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

special occasion (72)
romantic (69)
good for groups (31)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (12)
notable wine list (9)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter did not inform us of our opti ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter did not inform us of our options with food we were told after we had already ate our cheese. My drink stayed empty way to long

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Didn't get the correct order, took forev ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Didn't get the correct order, took forever to for our waiter to come back to our table and we didn't order dessert because of it. It was expensive for not getting the correct order and having to wait 45 minutes for the waiter to come back to our table.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Way over priced. Server really over load ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Way over priced. Server really over loaded our cheese fondue with garlic. Not worth what it cost.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I hadn't been any place spec ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been any place special in a while so the Melting Pot seemed an appropriate venue. Everything went well except for an over carbonated craft beer. That was quickly changed and the meal was exceptional. I also opted for the rose petals and rose for my wife which went over very nicely. She loved it. If you go, expect to pay dearly. We each had a drink and the 4 course meal. Total at the end of our 2.5 hr. meal with tip was over $150 for the two of us. That said, make it a special evening and it'll be worth every delicious penny.

BTW, we probably could have gotten by with splitting one of the 4 course meal options instead of getting one each. We weren't able to finish all the food and were absolutely stuffed at the end of the evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Melting Pot was worth a try, but we ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Melting Pot was worth a try, but we won't be going back again. We hadn't been to a fondue restaurant, so it was a bit of a novelty. The food was good enough, and the service was pretty good, but we really paid a big premium for the experience. Our bill was about $35 more than what we usually pay at a fine dining restaurant for dinner for 2. It wasn't worth the extra money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

First thing...service top notch! Our ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First thing...service top notch! Our server was great from serving to knowledge of your menu. We loved the setting....the cheese and bread/vegetables....and loved desert. We didn't like the main corse....which made the price have a bitter taste. Everything else was a 10+.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Over rated,price to high for what i had. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Over rated,price to high for what i had.(4 small bit of beef,10-12 shrimp no salt/pepper,sugar.

KIND OF DARK WALKING OUT, JUST HAD RIGHT KNEE REPLACEMENT , I TRIP AND FEEL ON THE SAME KNEE. PARKED IN PARKING LOT BEHIND,GOT ASSULTED, JUST WAS NOT A GOOD NIGHT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Wonderful food and great place for date ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and great place for date night! Romantic and one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening. Not a fondue fan but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic evening. Not a fondue fan but will return to Melting Pot. Great food and great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy going to Melting Pot. I ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always enjoy going to Melting Pot. It is our favorite restaurant for small groups. It requires you to actually take your time and dine, not just rush through a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This past time was not the best Melting ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This past time was not the best Melting Pot experience we have had. We waited quite a while between courses. I'm not sure if the waitress was just off her A game or if she had too many tables, but we have definitely had better experiences at this restaurant. She was very kind though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent, and our server w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent, and our server was amazing. The gluten free menu was extensive and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner on 7/9/16 was to celebrate ou ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our dinner on 7/9/16 was to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary. Everything was great and our server, Alex, did a great job of taking care of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. Slightly loud last night. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall good. Slightly loud last night. As always fondue is fun and good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We are frequent patrons of Knoxville's M ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are frequent patrons of Knoxville's Melting Pot. Tonight's visit in celebration of our 31st wedding anniversary was an exception to the usual stellar service to which we've become accustomed. Our table lacked proper place settings and multiple requests were made before we received basic attention re: flatware, salt, pepper, etc. Because the restaurant was busy and seemingly understaffed (our host also became our bartender as well as a server once we were seated), we experienced lengthy delays when making requests for things such as drink refills. Service aside, the food was delicious (but hey, we cooked that ourselves!) Had tonight been my first visit, the lackluster impression might have soured me on the notion of future visits. I will return however because I can't color one experience against a history of enjoyable evenings at Melting Pot - but perhaps I'll book future reservations at a different location. I don't like reviewing one of my favorite restaurants in a mediocre light but I do believe in honest reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

I loved it and enjoyed my dinner. I wil ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I loved it and enjoyed my dinner. I will be back soon! thanks the staff was sweet and helpful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to melting pot for my birthday. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went to melting pot for my birthday. They we very nice and made my day special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server had only been there for two w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server had only been there for two weeks but was very great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My last trip ever to MP! Food and servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My last trip ever to MP! Food and service was terrible. No value after dropping $120 on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food and just an overall fun and di ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good food and just an overall fun and different dinning experience i believe everyone should try at least once.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was amazing. We went for a special oc ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was amazing. We went for a special occasions and they gave us privacy and did a little special something for it. It made our last date night before my boyfriend went to the Navy. Couldn't have picked a bette replace to go

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the server and food were great. the mana ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the server and food were great. the manager stopped by to make sure we were taken care of. we were able to be left alone to have a nice romantic dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and services where great. Noise lev ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and services where great. Noise level became an issue as the tables around us became increasingly intoxicated. Wouldn't have been an issue had we not been seated in a side room with booths close together.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here and it was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have cook your own food and charge ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

You have cook your own food and charge you $5 for the pot of broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

My favorite restaurant. They always have ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant. They always have amazing food and service. A bit pricey for everyday dining but perfect for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but SO EXPENSIVE!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This place is nice; but it's SO expensive! How can you justify a $68 meal for ONE person??!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for special date night's

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The melting pot was a wonderful experience for my so and I. We spent 3 hours there and enjoyed every second of it. Wonderful staff. Amazing food. Incredible atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, odd service setup

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were sat by a hostess. Someone came to our table and said that she would "get you all started" and took our drink order. She brought the drinks and then a while later someone else comes and says "the person who started with you is nowhere to be found, so I will be your server, my name is XXX, and I see you had water to drink, can I get you all anything else or are you ready to order?" She was nice, but when we're trying to have a romantic evening to celebrate an anniversary it was an odd distraction. They only give you 2 fondu sticks here--when we asked about a third the server said, "do you all normally go to Pigeon Forge, they give 3 there--not sure why we only give 2 here, but I'll get you another one." Again--odd.

Would return again but hoping their servers are on their game. And why be different with the fondu forks?!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good place to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Good place to celebrate a special occasion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The best romantic restaurant in Knoxvill ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The best romantic restaurant in Knoxville. My wife and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner there

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was excellent. The restaurant was dark, hot and humid. Food was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great but it was so humid ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great but it was so humid in there that night. It was stifling heat but thankfully our waiter kept us hydrated!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The dessert is my favorite part of The M ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The dessert is my favorite part of The Melting Pot! Chocolate covered fruit, pound cake and Rice Krispie treats, oh my! ❤️

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

ThiThis was our first time going and it was a great experience. Definitely not on the cheap side but you get great food and an even better experience. We'll definitely be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The meal was good but what made the best impression was our server. She was warm and friendly and stopped to chat with us like we were old friends. Some people might not like that but we did. She was attentive to our needs and the pace of our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous!!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was some of the best food I've had in years. I definitely plan on going back. Our server was amazing, and we loved the rustic scene of the entire restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pat

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Our first time at Melton Pot my husbands 75 th birthday we were greeted with a a Happy Birthday welcome waitress Le Ann was excellent food great a fantastic xperience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great server who was very attentive. We shared the cheddar cheese appetizer, and we all got 3 different meats. We tried the steak, pork, and chicken and all 3 were really good. Then the Cookies and Cream dessert was amazing too. We will definitely come back sometime soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not our favorite melting pot location

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

we were attending a three part opera and wanted something special for dinner, I understand we made a 4pm reservation and they open at four. but were not seated till 420. We were seated with a family with small children behind us that had manners more suitable for applebees, kicking the seat, and leaning over to check out our table. servers were dropping items, our server kept us on time to get out but wanted the pots to be boiling instead of usual temp to eat. Not our favorite location of this restaurant, and def not our most fav experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.