Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About The Melting Pot - Knoxville

The Melting Pot offers a relaxed atmosphere, plush private booths, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four course dinners. It is perfect for a romantic evening, corporate dinner parties or friendly gatherings. Creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, a wide variety of entree selections and mouth-watering chocolate fondue desserts are offered.

111 North Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 971-5400

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/knoxville/specials

Parking Details:
Metered spots are free after 6:00 p.m., and free on Saturday and Sunday.

---VALET PARKING---
$5 valet parking is available Monday - Saturday at the corner of S Central St & W Jackson Ave in the old city.

---FREE PARKING---

WILLOW AVENUE
24/7 Free Parking along the street.

FREE COVERED PARKING
24/7 Free Parking under the interstate overpass next to Barleys.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 8:45PM

Thu 5:00PM - 8:45PM

The Melting Pot - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fun (18)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, good service. Great time on our date night.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Interesting experience, although a little pricey - be aware the cooking method adds to the cost of the entree. The Melting Pot offers an intimate atmosphere, competent servers and a good variety of quality meats/fish to choose from. You'll have to do some work to cook your own meal, but that's part of the fun :) My advice: wait for your pot to get hot, or you meat won't cook properly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our time at the Melting Pot was amazing as always! We love the Knoxville location the best! The best staff and awesome food! Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Melting Pot is amazing. Fun and romantic atmosphere. We love doing date night for birthdays and anniversaries!😃

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always come back here for special events! My hubby and I came here for our forever date and try to come back on our anniversaries. We just celebrated our 4th. We went on a Sunday and they had the endless entree offer. Always a great meal and great service here.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our most recent experience Melting Pot was probably one of our best yet. We had Dustin as a server and it could not have been better. We usually come for cheese and chocolate and some wine and we usually just get the same thing. However, this time we wanted to try something different and Dustin recommended the classic Alpine and it will quickly become our new favorite. Not only was Dustin very knowledgeable of menu items his overall personality and attitude made it seem like we have known him for years. The whole experience was more than just a dining experience because of Dustin it felt like a actual meal at home. We will be asking for Dustin every time we come to The Melting Pot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This specific Melting Pot needs an interior update. There are rips in the carpeting and booth seats, the ceiling and walls have staining. The restaurant, in general, is very outdated. The food was good, our server was great. If the ambiance and venue were nicer, it may have been worth the value.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great experience Food An service was excellent . Will definitely go again

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My wife and I frequently dine at the Melting Pot in Knoxville. We decided to have just dessert this time with some friends for my birthday. It took about 15 or 20 minutes before anyone ever came to our table for drinks. It took over 20 minutes just to get the dessert on the warmer after we ordered a sinple White Chocolate. Our drinks were never refilled. At the end we asked for a box and i ended up having to go to the bar and ask for one again cause no one came back with one after waiting 15 plus minutes. Our experience is usually amazing but we were extremely dissatisfied this trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was amazing this time. Our waiter went above and beyond. He needs to train all the new people. I have been here multiple times but it was so nice to take people who have never been and have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Overall the experience was very good, we had cheese and chocolate and both were outstanding. It would be nice to see a couple more cheese options .

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food is very good as usual. Milk chocolat fondue is FANTASTIC like everytime I go there. Server Ryan is very good at his job, knew exactly what he was doing, and took a great care of us.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My husband and I love the Melting Pot!
Our server, Dustin, was SO sweet and was so willing to answer questions and meet our every request.
We love the people there. The food is fantastic.
I've never been a fan of fondue just because it seemed to be inconvenient and troublesome, but you guys have definitely made me a fan!
Thanks for the great memories. We will be back/

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Healthy, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great, food was too. A little pricey for the amount of food you get but otherwise A+

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were seated quickly. Staff was very friendly. Our server explained everything wonderfully. Congratulated us on our anniversary. I did have to remind our server 3 or more times that I needed lemon for my water..and our glasses went empty a couple of times. I would definitely visit this location again.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

For the price, it was not a great experience. The servers were great. But the food was just ok. If I pay that much for a meal, I want to be excited to go back. Fondue is always fun but the flavors were not great and the menu options haven't changed in years...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Disappointed in overall. Very outdated ambiance. High noise level. Server rushed through each course. Will not be returning to this particular location. I've had better experiences elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great date place, birthdays , analversaries, you get it .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food and service was good. Just didn't appreciate the automatic gratuity added on the check. I tipped more, but didn't like that it was added on a table of two.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We want to celebrate Valentine's Day. The atmosphere could have been a little more private as the tables are very close together. That is the only "complaint" I would have. The service and the food were great!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The experience was perfect! It was a Valentine's Day date and everything from the food to the atmosphere were amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was not what I expected. Noise level was too high for romantic occasion. Service was mostly good. Not worth the price for food you are cooking yourself. My first experience with fondue. Cheese course was great. Main course was average. Was supposed to be a romantic evening. Venue was too loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Go--Please GO!!! If you want your 63rd Birthday dinner to be impossible to enjoy because of the horrendous noise from adjoining tables.

Go...PLEASE...GO!!! If you want a server who is TOO bothered to host your experience because he's TOO BUSY serving a table of 12 right behind you...

& Oh... for goodness sakes...don't hesitate to GO for the Manager to crash land a glass of wine on your table OR...your server just plain IGNORING your patient requests for replacement silverware OR...tell you he checked Google to find out what a drink order called Jack Black and Coke meant?

Abysmal evening overall. Oh...one more thing.. the "cozy booth" ?? Take your own seat cushions next visit.. the booth seats we sat on were cracked end to end.

So... by all means.. if you want to blow $100 on a Birthday Surprise.... GO to the Melting Pot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great date night! Loved the tucked away table we were seated at. Really romantic.

Wasn't blown away be our server... last time we visited we had an exceptional waiter. Luck of the draw.

Overall, the night was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service, fair price for outstanding food. Food quality far surpasses competition.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

They have great food & a wonderful staff. I would recommend that the full menu be available the day before Valentines Day. I wasn't able to get the one cheese that I came there for.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I dined with my husband for a early Valentine's day dinner. Luckily we were able to get a reservation for Friday, Feb 10. Neither one of us had dined there before so we were excited to try the menu and the cooking experience that is unique to this restaurant.

The restaurant itself is located in an older building in Old City which I thought was pretty cool. It is located in the basement though so it was a little hidden from the main store front. There is a sign but the light was not on so I thought maybe it had closed down and we were at the old location lol. I must admit that the ambiance was not quite what I had expected given the menu prices. It is a little outdated and the tables are separated by cheap wood panels. I thought maybe it would be more modern and romantic in appearance. We were seated in the back room, near the corner. Our table shared with another but it was divided. There were other tables full around us so it was a bit loud at first but luckily they left soon after so it was more quiet.

The service was great. Very knowledgeable and attentive, although he forgot to give me a take-out box for my veggies and never came back so I had to leave them there. The manager came by to check on us which was appreciated.

So for the food: we did the 4-course experience. I got the classic and the husband got the French quarter, I think it is called. We did the jalapeno and bacon fondue which was amazing! Lots of breads, veggies, and some apples. Ate all of it. We both had the Wisconsin wedge and it was good. The meat came next and we cooked it ourselves which was fun. There are many different sauces to pair it with. Afterward we had the pure chocolate fondue and enjoyed the different treats it came with. We also had one bottle of red wine.

Overall the food was good, the ambiance was so-so, and the service was great. I think the prices are a bit high and the restaurant could use a renovation but it was fun to try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our experience was good. It seems like you get less food than before while paying more. We had a new server, he will be great but he made some minor mistakes. My family loves the melting pot and we will continue to go. Just not as frequently as before.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lover this place!! Going back next week with friends who haven't tried it yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy going to The Melting Pot for our anniversary. Always a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been going to The Melting Pot a couple times a year for a few years now. We are never disappointed with the food or the service. Certainly not the cheapest place to eat, but for the unique experience and great service it's worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The quality of the food was superb! The wait staff was very hospitable and professional. It was nice the manager came to our table and inquired about our meal. As senior citizens we don't go there very often (because of cost) but we enjoy it when we do go. It was great to have valet service....but the location of the valet stand should be more clear to customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was a great experience and good atmosphere overall. Was fun exploring the different options, sauces, combinations etc. was a little disappointed in the set up and decor of the eating area itself.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Marco is an amazing manager. We go 3 times a month

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great atmosphere. The food was good, but not as fine as the girl I was with. I would definitely suggest the marinated filet! This place is on the list for intimate date ideas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Overpriced, false advertising. Advertises Wednesday as $5 cocktails, etc, so I ordered a cocktail, only to find out when I get my check that it's only 3 'select' cocktails, which is specified nowhere in the menu or website. Also, I went for my birthday, and most restaurants offer a free dessert, etc, SOMETHING for your birthday or any special occasion. They don't. They are way overpriced and try to suck you dry with everything they can.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was awesome loved it , can't wait to come back. This is my favorite place

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went to the Melting Pot around 7:00 p.m. on a Saturday to celebrate a 3 year anniversary with my significant other. We opted to try the 4 course experience and I am so glad that we did. The meal started with cheese fondue - we choose the Wisconsin Cheddar - and it was absolutely delicious. We then moved onto salads. My SO got the Caesar salad and I the Wisconsin Wedge. Both were scrumptious and refreshing after tucking into so much cheese. Then we got to the entree. I enjoyed The Classic which is made up of beef, shrimp, and chicken while my SO choose the French Quarter that has a selection of meats with Cajun flair. Our waiter was extremely helpful with suggestions on cooking our meats and which sauces (6 of them) complimented what meats especially well. Finally, we rounded out our meal with chocolate fondue which came with a variety of sweet treats such as strawberries, brownies, and rice krispy treats to dip into the chocolate. The ambiance was pleasant, albeit a bit loud, though part of that may be due to a particularly rowdy table we were seated near. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. All in all, it was wonderful first time experience and I certainly will look forward to making a return trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is the fourth time I have been to The Melting Pot in Knoxville. As always, it didn't disappoint! The service and food were perfect and it was very easy to make a reservation. The only little complaint I had was that the noise level was a little louder than I remember on previous visits.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service and ambiance
Food is always fresh and interesting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.