About The Melting Pot - Knoxville

111 North Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers a relaxed atmosphere, plush private booths, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous four course dinners. It is perfect for a romantic evening, corporate dinner parties or friendly gatherings. Creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, a wide variety of entree selections and mouth-watering chocolate fondue desserts are offered.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 971-5400

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/knoxville/specials

Parking Details:
Metered spots are free after 6:00 p.m., and free on Saturday and Sunday. Otherwise, the closest parking is right behind our building at Central Parking. There are also several other parking lots around The Old City.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
The Melting Pot - Knoxville
Land And Sea
Shrimp & Sirloin
Meats
Chocolate Covered Cheesecake
Stew Fondue
Dessert
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Pre-Cooked Fondue Feast
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Melting Chocolate
Shrimp Fondue
Chocolate Fondue
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Sirloin & Shrimp
Rasberry Truffle Cheesecake
Melting Pot Fondue.....the Pure Milk Chocolate Fondue
Hand Dipped Strawberries In Gourmet Chocolate
Wildberry Crunch Chocolate Fondue
Fiesta Cheese Course

The Melting Pot - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
6 More
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (64)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love the melting pot. Not only do they ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love the melting pot. Not only do they have outstanding food and service but it's the most fun I've had dining out, ever. You can choose to have their 4 course meal which includes cheese fondue, salad, broth fondue, and chocolate fondue. Or you can choose to just have cheese and chocolate or just dessert. Really anything you want. I recommend the full 4 course option especially for your first visit. They have different types of fondue so you can pick whichever ones you want. They make the cheese fondue at the table and it's amazing. They'll bring you out a bowl of bread, veggies, and green apple. The green apple is amazing in it. You'll get your salad while eating the cheese fondue. After that you get your broth and meats. There are different types of broth and meat plates to choose from. And yes they have a veggie only plate. They tell you the cooking time so wear a watch. You'll get tons of dipping sauces and a bowl of veggies to cook too. You can ask for more skewers and have your veggies cooking and a couple of meats going at the same time. Now when you're done with that here comes the CHOCOLATE fondue. Holy cow be ready because it's the most delicious, decadent, dessert ever. You get all these little yummy treats to slather in the chocolate fondue of your choice and it's bliss. I ordered a cup of coffee with mine and even their coffee is awesome.

A couple of tips, they don't mention blue cheese so if you don't like it say no blue cheese anywhere right at the beginning. Expect to be there around 2 hours. Wear a watch. Your phone isn't as accessible. Ask for extra skewers to cook more meats at once. Wear comfortable pants. Make reservations. You even can online. Bring cash for parking. It cost me 10 dollars to park in a lot. Have fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tapas, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was my first time dinning and I loved it ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was my first time dinning and I loved it. Service was great, food was delicious. As soon as I left I txted my mom and told her I know where I'm taking her for her birthday dinner. I will be back next month

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely LOVE the Melting Pot! You h ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

I absolutely LOVE the Melting Pot! You have become my favorite place to dine and celebrate!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is very good here. You have so man ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is very good here. You have so many options for what you want to try and are only limited by what you are willing to try. It is alittle expensive. It is excellent for a group or a dinner for two. Normally very quiet depending on other dinners. Friendly staff, great food, I highly recommend The Melting Pot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 14 year old had a rough week that wee ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My 14 year old had a rough week that week and nothing says "Stay Strong" like cheese and chocolate! ( and lobster in his case) .

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took my wife there for her birthday and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday and this was the first time she has ever been to the melting pot , when I told them that I was there for her birthday when I called. And once we got there we was placed in the corner in extremely bad lighting , felt like we was being rushed to make a decision to order are food ,, if I'm paying $50 a plate I'm taking my time to figure out what I would like and allow my wife to see what she would like for her first time ,, once we order I had to send the bread back extremely hard and had a smell to it ,, had to wait for ever to have someone come back to the table ,, I had to ask for my drinks to be refilled over n over ,,, I had the wrong plate brought out to me wasn't what I order and asked for lobster and never received it till I asked bout it twice ,,,the bottom line is it wasn't a great experience for my wife first time ,, and to pay $130 plus tip and $10 parking you can say that we won't be back ever ,,, I could of went to McDonald's for that kind of service

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice restaurant for date night or celebr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice restaurant for date night or celebration. Kind of pricey for "everyday" dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was incredible! The service was ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was incredible! The service was fantastic. We had reservations and were seated upon arrival. It is very loud inside including trains roaring by on a regular basis. So loud the light fixtures shake. That didn't really affect our experience. Parking is a problem in that part of old town and we would probably eat there more often if parking was better. Be prepared to spend 2+ hours to eat. Fondue is time consuming but well worth the effort. I suggest stretchy pants if you expect to breathe much. The struggle is real people!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding! Our server sta ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was outstanding! Our server started out well but quickly declined. He would disappear for long periods of time and then would take the food that we were still eating on. With our mouths full we would try to stop him but once someone has had their hands in my food i no longer want it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

We had a great 1st experience there. We ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great 1st experience there. We bought a $100 gift card for a special couple we know.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter did not inform us of our opti ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter did not inform us of our options with food we were told after we had already ate our cheese. My drink stayed empty way to long

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Didn't get the correct order, took forev ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Didn't get the correct order, took forever to for our waiter to come back to our table and we didn't order dessert because of it. It was expensive for not getting the correct order and having to wait 45 minutes for the waiter to come back to our table.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Way over priced. Server really over load ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Way over priced. Server really over loaded our cheese fondue with garlic. Not worth what it cost.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I hadn't been any place spec ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been any place special in a while so the Melting Pot seemed an appropriate venue. Everything went well except for an over carbonated craft beer. That was quickly changed and the meal was exceptional. I also opted for the rose petals and rose for my wife which went over very nicely. She loved it. If you go, expect to pay dearly. We each had a drink and the 4 course meal. Total at the end of our 2.5 hr. meal with tip was over $150 for the two of us. That said, make it a special evening and it'll be worth every delicious penny.

BTW, we probably could have gotten by with splitting one of the 4 course meal options instead of getting one each. We weren't able to finish all the food and were absolutely stuffed at the end of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Melting Pot was worth a try, but we ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Melting Pot was worth a try, but we won't be going back again. We hadn't been to a fondue restaurant, so it was a bit of a novelty. The food was good enough, and the service was pretty good, but we really paid a big premium for the experience. Our bill was about $35 more than what we usually pay at a fine dining restaurant for dinner for 2. It wasn't worth the extra money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

First thing...service top notch! Our ser ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First thing...service top notch! Our server was great from serving to knowledge of your menu. We loved the setting....the cheese and bread/vegetables....and loved desert. We didn't like the main corse....which made the price have a bitter taste. Everything else was a 10+.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Over rated,price to high for what i had. ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Over rated,price to high for what i had.(4 small bit of beef,10-12 shrimp no salt/pepper,sugar.

KIND OF DARK WALKING OUT, JUST HAD RIGHT KNEE REPLACEMENT , I TRIP AND FEEL ON THE SAME KNEE. PARKED IN PARKING LOT BEHIND,GOT ASSULTED, JUST WAS NOT A GOOD NIGHT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Wonderful food and great place for date ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and great place for date night! Romantic and one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening. Not a fondue fan but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic evening. Not a fondue fan but will return to Melting Pot. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy going to Melting Pot. I ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always enjoy going to Melting Pot. It is our favorite restaurant for small groups. It requires you to actually take your time and dine, not just rush through a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This past time was not the best Melting ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This past time was not the best Melting Pot experience we have had. We waited quite a while between courses. I'm not sure if the waitress was just off her A game or if she had too many tables, but we have definitely had better experiences at this restaurant. She was very kind though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent, and our server w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent, and our server was amazing. The gluten free menu was extensive and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner on 7/9/16 was to celebrate ou ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our dinner on 7/9/16 was to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary. Everything was great and our server, Alex, did a great job of taking care of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. Slightly loud last night. ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall good. Slightly loud last night. As always fondue is fun and good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We are frequent patrons of Knoxville's M ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are frequent patrons of Knoxville's Melting Pot. Tonight's visit in celebration of our 31st wedding anniversary was an exception to the usual stellar service to which we've become accustomed. Our table lacked proper place settings and multiple requests were made before we received basic attention re: flatware, salt, pepper, etc. Because the restaurant was busy and seemingly understaffed (our host also became our bartender as well as a server once we were seated), we experienced lengthy delays when making requests for things such as drink refills. Service aside, the food was delicious (but hey, we cooked that ourselves!) Had tonight been my first visit, the lackluster impression might have soured me on the notion of future visits. I will return however because I can't color one experience against a history of enjoyable evenings at Melting Pot - but perhaps I'll book future reservations at a different location. I don't like reviewing one of my favorite restaurants in a mediocre light but I do believe in honest reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

I loved it and enjoyed my dinner. I wil ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I loved it and enjoyed my dinner. I will be back soon! thanks the staff was sweet and helpful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to melting pot for my birthday. ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went to melting pot for my birthday. They we very nice and made my day special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server had only been there for two w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server had only been there for two weeks but was very great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My last trip ever to MP! Food and servic ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My last trip ever to MP! Food and service was terrible. No value after dropping $120 on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food and just an overall fun and di ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good food and just an overall fun and different dinning experience i believe everyone should try at least once.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was amazing. We went for a special oc ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was amazing. We went for a special occasions and they gave us privacy and did a little special something for it. It made our last date night before my boyfriend went to the Navy. Couldn't have picked a bette replace to go

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the server and food were great. the mana ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the server and food were great. the manager stopped by to make sure we were taken care of. we were able to be left alone to have a nice romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and services where great. Noise lev ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and services where great. Noise level became an issue as the tables around us became increasingly intoxicated. Wouldn't have been an issue had we not been seated in a side room with booths close together.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here and it was amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have cook your own food and charge ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

You have cook your own food and charge you $5 for the pot of broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

My favorite restaurant. They always have ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant. They always have amazing food and service. A bit pricey for everyday dining but perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but SO EXPENSIVE!

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This place is nice; but it's SO expensive! How can you justify a $68 meal for ONE person??!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for special date night's

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The melting pot was a wonderful experience for my so and I. We spent 3 hours there and enjoyed every second of it. Wonderful staff. Amazing food. Incredible atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, odd service setup

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were sat by a hostess. Someone came to our table and said that she would "get you all started" and took our drink order. She brought the drinks and then a while later someone else comes and says "the person who started with you is nowhere to be found, so I will be your server, my name is XXX, and I see you had water to drink, can I get you all anything else or are you ready to order?" She was nice, but when we're trying to have a romantic evening to celebrate an anniversary it was an odd distraction. They only give you 2 fondu sticks here--when we asked about a third the server said, "do you all normally go to Pigeon Forge, they give 3 there--not sure why we only give 2 here, but I'll get you another one." Again--odd.

Would return again but hoping their servers are on their game. And why be different with the fondu forks?!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good place to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Good place to celebrate a special occasion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.