Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large private room capable of accommodating up to 56 people.

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Romantic (57)
Fun (50)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Cozy (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I did not expect to sit in bar area when we had reservations. The waiter didn't come back between courses for some time. Overall I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always great. The bacon and Brie cheese is phenomenal. Our waiter was fantastic. He was very personable, polite, friendly, amd prompt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

AC wasn't working in our area so it was extremely hot without having the burner on. Not much done to correct this. Enjoyed our Fondue, but took cooking style reco from the server and it actually made us dislike our entree. It was our anniversary, and we wanted to try something new. It was just an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated in a crowded back room at a tiny, awkward booth. However, the service and food made up for the awful table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went here to celebrate her birthday because we've had good experiences in the past. This time we were seated right across from the kitchen. The kitchen staff were very noisy and were cussing a lot. The light from the kitchen also showed how dirty the floor is and I could see tons of dust on the paintings. Definitely, didn't have the intimate feel that we've experienced in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fun overall. Slow service, part just nature of type of dining but slower getting drinks, courses, server not around a lot other than bringing courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Really great time. Server was training a new guy and he was outstanding too! Great fun wonderful for a special date night. Spoil yourselves it's so worth it . The flambé just made the night

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The prices were a little ridiculous for how much food we got and how much prep went into the food before we received it. It also took us a total of 2.5 hours to eat our 4 course meal and that was with skipping desert. There were very long 35-40 minute waits in between courses that were unbearably long. The restaurant was not even busy at the time. The concept is fun but I would never go back for a full meal. I don't have 3 hours for a meal. Lastly, the music selection was awful. The speaker was right above our heads and it was distracting and obnoxious. Overall I think this place is slow, overpriced, but unique. Maybe a once every few year thing if you have 3 hours to spare.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Host stand employees are rude. Servers are decent, food is on par with what you'd expect from a fondue place. The host/hostess set the tone for our meal and it was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Glad we got there early so as to have area to ourselves for awhile before two very large loud groups were seated. We had added it was for two birthdays to reservation but they didn't have that nor our seating choice on file from our Opentable reservation. I should have called to reconfirm that day.

Our server was fantastic. Very friendly, knowledgeable, patient while our group of grandparents and birthday girl decided menus choices. Food was very good and plentiful. The only thing that pushed us to finish faster and leave was the loudness of another group's server. Because the group were high school students, he seemed to get louder with them, joking and answering questions from even across the room. He seemed to get louder as the evening wore on. I went to the restroom and could hear him even back by those doors. If this had been a romantic evening, it would have been ruined.

We will go back but will book early again for the quieter time so we can have a conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great as always!! Dylan was new to us but right on top of everything we needed or asked for. Seeing Valerie is always a treat as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Melting Pot is a wonderful place to go for a special occasion. The food and ambience lend themselves to quiet, relaxing, slow eating and encourage visiting with family/friends. The service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Everything was good except the main course. Essentially had chicken boiled in broth, which sucked. The cheese and everything else was really good though. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Catch 22. Food was good. Slightly overpriced though for the atmosphere. Disappointed that my server had never had the food although the manager did let her try some of the cheese. Personally for such a place where you can easily spend over $100 I would think the managers would let the staff try a little bit of the food so that they are able to recommend what they liked best. Overall I would say it was worth it and will be back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening. The service staff was knowledgeable and very nice which was especially since it was our first time eating there. The only thing on the down side was we always had to ask for water refills. I would prefer our server to notice and stop by often enough to notice that.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was great. Only thing that we didn't love was the cheese fondue - the ingredient ratio tasted off, perhaps too much sherry or not enough cheese.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We ate at The Melting Pot for my boyfriend's birthday and we had a wonderful time! My sister and her husband recommend it to us, and it was absolutely perfect. We had great service and the food was beyond amazing! We will certainly be going back again some time soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Unhurried, relaxing experience. Meal was excellent, dessert, exceptional. Our waiter(Chad I believe) was knowledgeable and easy to talk to. I have nothing but high praise for The Melting Pot. Please please reserve your next date night here!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Spent 130$ for 2 people to eat a very small amount of food scraps dipped in bland cheese. Spent 3 hours here partly because the server kept disappearing even after telling her we were on a time crunch. Nasty greasy liquid coming out from under hot plate/stove top. Could be cleaner! To top it off the strawberries we discovered were moldy after eating some. They knocked off our drinks from the bill but those were too pricey to begin with. Don't mind spending $130 for a meal but typically you would get a decent amount of food for that. Won't be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I've been once before years ago and had a great time. I thought it would make a nice stop on our vacation tonight. We were not in a hurry, but did have plans after dinner that we had to cancel. The service seemed VERY slow. I understand it is designed to be slower but it was just the 2 of us and 2.5 hours for dinner got to be a little rediculous. We saw the other servers flipping their tables and hardly ever saw ours. Though friendly and helpful, she was just not present! By the time the entrees came we were getting a little impatient, and honestly by the time the dessert course came we were just ready to leave, didn't even finish. We never once saw a manager on the floor either, which seemed odd. The food was good as expected, but your really just paying a premium for the experience. This will probably be my last time here just because I'd rather spend the same money at one of my other kansas city favorites and be blown away by amazing cuisine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Melting Pot is always delicious, and always insanely expensive. We go at least once a year for a birthday or anniversary. This was the first time I've tried taking the kids along - the 8 year old had a blast, the 4 year old was pretty dubious about the whole situation. They do have a kids menu, but the experience might be a bit much for the preschool crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very Very disappointed with our visit to the melting pot. For the price, I would highly suggest just coming here for the happy hour fondue and drinks. Save yourself the $, time, and effort as to not be dissapointed. I will give credit to our server for trying to salvage what turned out to be a terribly disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

was wonderful experience and really like the new gluten free options (bread) for the fondue
other guest had to wait until I pulled my gluten free items before he could cook his non-gf items but it worked out ok

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We've been several times for special occasions. Always a great time, but this time it was obvious they were short handed. We were sat near the kitchen which was very loud due to the staff. The ambience has gone down hill. They need to do a major cleaning & maintenance, carpet was filthy, our booth seats were torn/worn out & dirty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Made our reservation over a month in advance. Because we were a party of 2 they refused to give us a booth. So we ended up an a very uncomfortable table. 3 hours we were there the large booths NEVER got sat once! Will never go back to that location. To many other places to spend my money!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

A known restaurant in Kansas City, The Melting Pot offers a non-traditional setting with a 4-course fondue meal. While expectations were high, the food was just "pretty good" and the ambiance was interesting... However the service was spectacular and our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great except the $25 upcharge for "Mojo" broth for two adults and two kids was outrageous. This pricing wasn't clear on the menu and seems crazy for what is vegetable broth with garlic and a lemon and an orange squeezed in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We frequent the Melting Pot in various cities. We dine in a Melting Pot 3-4 times per year. The whole dining experience takes about two hours by design. We typically enjoy the experience and the flow of the meal. Our visit to the Melting Pot in Kansas City tonight was exceptionally slow. The server barely visited the table and after about 90 minutes we finally had our main course brought to our table. Several managers stopped by our table, one of them even offering to provide some kind of concession to make our experience better, however they never followed through. Also an advertisement showing all libations were half off on Thursday's with the purchase of a 4-course dining experience was not honored. I was told the martini that I ordered was not included. Again a manager visited our table but no solution was made. We enjoy the Melting Pot and will likely visit again, but it is hard to get excited about our experience tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I'd still recommend The Melting Pot overall because I know how much better it usually is. This was an off night for us. Our service was poor across the board and we had problems with both one of our cheeses and chocolate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The welcome was lukewarm. The front reception is awful. We were seated right next to a busy loud table while half of the restaurant was empty. The waiter was late but pleasant. Overall for the money we spent here.. bleh!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Definitely has gone down hill! Sad because if the restaurant was managed and servers were on their A game this place would always be our go to. Unfortunately, the quality & quantity are lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My fiancé took us here for dinner on a Saturday night for my birthday. We had a reservation for 7pm, we got seated 10 minutes early- but did not like our table (we were seated in a corner booth across from the kitchen and the table was simply too small). Our excellent waiter gladly moved us to a larger booth. From the cheese fondue all the way through to dessert, our waiter, Gabrielle, provided the most wonderful service we've had yet at The Melting Pot. Excellent food as always, but the service was even more worth the money. Definitely recommend this place to anyone willing to spend the money for the experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Gabriel was a great waiter. The meal flowed at a good pace and he was really conversational and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very unique dinning experience. A bit pricy but worth the experience. My husband and I were there on a date night before a concert and our table was very private. We even had curtains to close if we chose to. Would reccomend this dinning experience. The food was delicious as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We love this place! It makes for a great date night. Our server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was my best friend's birthday and she had never heard of The Melting Pot. The state we live in doesn't have any and we happened to be out of town, so I insisted we go. She loved it and plans to bring her husband back for their anniversary. We had the most wonderful server too. Francesca made our evening one we'll always have great memories of when we look back on our trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The service was horrible but the food was amazing. Expect to spend more than $100 for two people. If the service was because the food it would be worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always a great place for a special occasion. Great food and service in a beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Yum but a lot of food and quite pricey. Good for a special occasion, but come with an appetite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Private rooms are great for romantic one on one setting experience. The rose petals was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.