Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large private room capable of accommodating up to 56 people.

Specials

Ladies Night Out

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

SERVICE INDUSTRY NIGHT (SIN)

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

LATE NIGHT DATE NIGHT

Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM

LIBATION SENSATION

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Family Night

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Specials

Ladies Night Out

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

The “Crave Combo” (Cheese Fondue, Salad and Chocolate Fondue ) $17 Add a petite entrée $8 Drink specials $5. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Aug 28, 2017 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

SERVICE INDUSTRY NIGHT (SIN)

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

A Sinful 4 course dinner including Cheese Fondue, Salad, Entrée (Teriyaki Sirloin, Basil Pesto Chicken, White Shrimp, Lemon Basil Chicken with any cooking style) and Chocolate Fondue $30. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 2, 2017 - Aug 29, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

LATE NIGHT DATE NIGHT

Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Four Course dinner for 2 with wine or specialty drinks $89 "Crave Combo" after 8pm $17. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 3, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

LIBATION SENSATION

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Half-price wine bottles, martinis, and specialty drinks with any Four Course Experience purchase. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 4, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

Family Night

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Kids (12 and under) receive a complementary entree with purchase of a four-course experience. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 30, 2017 - Aug 30, 2017 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Romantic (49)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fun (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Cozy (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Authentic (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Melting Pot was selected by our son for my husband's birthday dinner. We enjoyed the experience, and they had lots of good laughs while preparing their food. It's a fun environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Positives: Usual amazing food and good service. Come hungry! It's worth every penny if you come hungry!

Negative: This time around we went to celebrate our anniversary and wanted a romantic atmosphere. We were seated next to families with kids and it was noisy the entire time, which took away from the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a table directly across from the kitchen and all we could hear was the kitchen staff. They were very loud and it kind of ruined our romantic dinner. Our burner quit working half way through our meal so our food stopped cooking. Our waitress was sweet but we didn't see her very often. I am fully aware that the dinner should take some time but I think that we had an extra long dinner because of waitress delays and the burner going out. The manager didn't even take anything off our tab after our burner went out. I was so so excited to eat at the melting pot but I don't think I will ever eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Luckily the last three states I've lived in have had a melting pot in the area! Our favorite place to dine for those special occasions. Nice and quiet and the food is great along with the service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Old, stale decor. Table area not particularly clean. Don't recommend for dessert. Probably other better options for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Had a very nice and relaxing evening! Food was great, servers were friendly and knowledgeable, and atmosphere was relaxing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The cheese fondue was amazing. The two of us shared the four-course meal and we couldn't finish dessert. It was definitely pricey but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went here because it was my wife's birthday the food was great. The service was great we loved this restaurant and will keep going back time and time again it just doesn't get old.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and had a very enjoyable time at the Melting Pot. It is refreshing to have a quiet meal that takes a little extra time to allow more one on one conversation. Great day.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing time with the family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Love the melting pot! We always try and make a stop when we visit KC

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time visiting for both of us, and they were very patient, offering their opinions of the varied menu choices, and cooking options. We ordered one portion to share, and it was enough.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very romantic cozy dining in a private booth for two, great for that special evening when everything needs to be perfect

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Took a while. It was a fun experience, but not something I'd do again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent experience! The service and food was above expectation. It is worth the price once in a while.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Although I typically love dining here, this time just wasn't as special.

The food selection is getting larger while the amount of food continues to lessen. The amount of bread and fresh fruit we received for the cheese fondue plate was minuscule.

Service is usually fairly decent but this time just lacked a little attention. I don't ask much as a guest and typically am very understanding and empathetic towards servers but ours just wasn't too interested in us. (Mind you, he only had 2 tables..)

Over all, I still enjoy The Melting Pot, however, the cost, lack of food and service is slowly turning me away.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was not good at all, but the wine and staff were good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was our anniversary and we enjoyed trying different menu items. Our waiter was great and knew a lot about the menu and the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

A nice treat and fun for a date night. Pretty pricey for what you get. Don't go hungry, and expect dinner to last awhile.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is an excellent location for celebrating a special occasion. Private booths for two available with one burner. Service exceeded expectations. Allow approximately 2 hours to fully enjoy the 4 course dining experience. I've uploaded a photo of our dessert items for the chocolate fondue.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 21, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary with great service and leisurely dining, allowing for conversation. The service was particularly fine and of course the chocolate fondue for dessert was amazing. For our special occasion we received chocolate covered strawberries as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great service..small booth for two. It was a birthday meal. The turtle fondue was so yummy. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and service were great. The wait was not long at all, and although some patrons can get a little noisy, it's nothing that will take away from your dining experience. Overall, 5/5!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I absolutely loved this restaurant! My boyfriend and I ate dinner there a few nights ago. We drove back to his car & as soon as he realized he'd left his keys, they were already calling us to tell us that they'd found them. When we returned to pick them up the following night, we decided to eat there again. The service was the best I'd ever had & the food was excellent and well worth the cost. We split one meal & it ended up being plenty for two people.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my family of 4 there for Father's Day. With having made a reservation on OpenTable I would have thought we'd have better seating. We were seated at a table in the bar. When I inquired about possibly getting a booth in the dining area they said they save those for parties of more than 4. Mind you they weren't busy at all and we saw booths with as little as 3 people in it. Our server did not explain the process of the meal to us (it was our first time and we told him that) He told us they didn't have pink lemonade when we asked for it. The table next to us asked for it and their server brought it to them 1 minute after our server brought us our regular lemonade. When he FINALLY came back to the table I asked about it and he said "oh yeah we have it but you don't get free refills" I didn't ask for a list of drinks with free refills. When he brought our appetizer cheese fondue pot to us and I asked him why he didn't ask which fondue type we wanted for our entree and he said oh yeah I was gonna ask you that. He never came around to check on us. Our ice water never got freshened up and our ice melted. We were beginning to think he went on break. He didn't clear our plates until he was standing there with our next course. The salad was very small and soggy. My kids were joking about who had the most pieces of lettuce. The entree was not explained as far as cooking time. The dessert was good however. Overall the service was close to the worst we had ever experienced and the food was mediocre. If it had been a good experience we would consider giving them another try, however the service alone ruined those chances. We did leave him a standard 20% tip with the thought everyone has a bad day...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service were great. Prices were too high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Graduation Gift

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a very nice lunch. The food was very good EXCEPT the filet mignon that was part of my meal. All 4 pieces were tough and stringy. I mentioned it to the waiter and although he said he would tell the kitchen, we received no other response. This place is expensive. The food should be great...especially filet!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday and we both really enjoyed it. We split one meal and had more than enough to eat. I honestly don't know how anyone could eat all of that by themselves. We both ate too much off of one meal. Which comes in handy when you look at their prices. :) We walked away paying a total of $91.52...this includes 18% tip, 2 drinks, and one meal. Great experience, but definitely something we won't do all of the time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a really good time! It was our first time going and we were very impressed with the cheese fondu! We thought it was a bit over priced for the amount of food for the entree portion though- overall very yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service was impeccable, but it was more so our waiter than the standard of the restaurant. I wouldn't know since I've only been once. What I can say is that I will not be coming again, not due to the quality of food or anything of that nature, but the quantity of food for the price. I left still hungry and had to pick up some food on the way home. The few bites we had were fantastic, but were not worth $50 for the experience. Were I rich, I'd have sang praises, but when I'm spending that much money, I want to feel full.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was my first dining experience at The Melting Pot. Even though there were quite a few other people dining while we there, our table still felt very private and cozy. I was with a group of friends, but I feel like it would be a great place to have a very intimate, private, romantic, etc dinner date and/or drinks. The cocktails were great, I liked the flexibility of the menu, and they have some great specials during their Happy Hour as well. The food was quite tasty, we all opted for the trio with a cheese fondue selection,
a salad, and chocolate fondue. The staff was very friendly, and I loved our server, he was super fun and attentive w/o being overbearing. The restrooms were clean, and the parking garage where I parked was only about a block away, and didn't charge for parking. I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very kid friendly. It was a nice experience for my 8 year old. Great service. Only negative was a faint sewer smell. It was a little musty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The girlfriend loved it and would give it 5 stars. Price vs quality and quantity was staggering but seems to be for the location. 50 dollars a plate for a few pieces of meat you cool is high even with the cheese and chocolate. Salad was good, spinach artichoke cheese very good, same with the chocolate. The meat was a let down. The duck was screaming with star of anise and clove and overpowered the taste. Fun experience and good waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. I enjoyed the cheese and chocolate experience. I wasn't fond of the meal. The whole experience takes a couple of hours so make sure you don't have any plans afterwards. It's not a bad place, it just didn't mesh well for me. Not to sure if I will return again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Melting Pot is a great experience. The service was good. Friendly, helpful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent service and food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our service was slow. The waiter had some body Oder that made the meal unpleasant. We had told the front desk and waiter that we were celebrating our sons 13th birthday and nothing was ever done to celebrate. It was a very expensive dinner for such an unpleasant experience .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were very early for our reservation and they did an excellent job of seating us for our special occasion. Everything was done extremely well and the special occasion drinks were excellent.
Our server Sam was extremely good for the entire event. The manager also checked with us and all the staff were concerned that we enjoyed our evening.
However, I found the three choices of steak to be tough. We check our cooking time to ensure we weren't overcooking the different steaks and found the same results from the thinner cuts left in the mixture for a very short time.
(Melting Pot) Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food was ok, service was excellent, but their seating arrangements leave a lot be desired. Their menu and website recommend that it's best in pairs but for 6 people they want you to share 2 pots. When is the last time you got 6 people to agree on an appetizer? Or cooking style? I had to pay full price but didn't get to pick what I wanted.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.