Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Romantic (101)
Good for a Date (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Fun (70)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Cozy (57)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Groups (39)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Private Room (26)
Family Style (25)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Casual (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was slow. The time in between the courses took much longer than usual though the restaurant was slow. $200 for 3 people was higher than most restaurants. Value is just not there. Would not frequent although not bad for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the ladies night special. You can't beat the cheese, salad and chocolate. And the apple martini is delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was amazing the first time I had her and better this time. She interacted with my kids and made us feel welcome!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I visited for a new experience during Spring Break. The four-course meal was incredibly good, but we were so full in the end. The real stars of the meal were the appetizer course with the cheese fondue, and the dessert court with the chocolate fondue. We were dressed casually for a day of shopping, but still felt right at home and well cared for by an excellent server. Great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

I had always heard what a fun experience the melting pot was, so we made reservations to try it. I was less than impressed. The place looked dingy, dirty, and out of date compared to other high end places on the plaza. We decided to do the 4 course experience and the only part we enjoyed was the cheese. Our waiter hardly explained how to order the experience and had no suggestions for our meat cooking style. We chose the basic option and ended up boiling our chicken, steak, and shrimp. We had 4 small pieces of each meat. 4 small pieces!! The lack of food completely shocked me for the price you pay! 2 pieces of broccoli to dip in our cheese, a tiny bowl half full with plain dry bread, and one grape tomato! When we got to the chocolate course it wasn't even redeeming. For the money you pay it was completely ridiculous and who wants to boil their own main course meat?! I can't believe people enjoy this! I was so shocked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I loved it! It was probably the most expensive meal we have had so it is definitely for special occasions. I wouldn't recommend bringing kids either. It was fun and we look forward to going again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We came here hoping for some great fondue and were not disappointed! The cheese and entre courses were better than expected, and the chocolate was wonderful. Our server was friendly, and informative without being too pushy, and even when the place started filling up we still felt like we were in our own corner of the world.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our waiter Tim was amazing! He was perfect! All of our food cane out perfectly timed. The music was calming and the private date booth was perfect! I am definitely going back for every special occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Private Room, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We love the Melting Pot and have gone there several times for our anniversary dinner. They do such a nice job of making everyone feel special! The food is awesome (I highly recommend the bacon and brie cheese fondue appetizer). You should know going into it, if you are getting the full four course dinner, which I recommend, you are going to be there for a few hours. The service staff never rush you and cater to you needs! Get a bottle of wine and savor the time with someone special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

DO NOT ORDER AN ENTREE ONLY CHEESE AND CHOCOLATE - All the entrees are to be cooked by yourself, in a pot of boiling water. You order fish, meat, chicken but once boiled it all tastes the same: pretty tasteless. Now i know what a boiled cut of filet mignon tastes like lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waiting in between 30 to 45 minutes in between food portions. We was there for my wife's birthday and had plans after but was unable to make it do yo the timely fashion our waitress was working. 3 hours to get our full meal. Berry has experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We celebrated our son's 12th birthday. It was an amazingly wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server was Great! He was informative and open to give us suggestions. The food was amazing, the drinks were great! The overall experience was unforgettable. We will defiantly go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What fun!!!
Great place for a big group or small. They had Gluten Free Options!
Great food and service!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting pot is the perfect location for a quiet night out with your partner. It is a relaxing experience with a great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went on a date with my husband on Saturday and we had a great time. The service was good and the food was delicious. We were in a small private room which was very romantic. It is expensive and the whole meal took about 2 and a half hours so it's not somewhere we could go often but it is great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, we were there for my husbands birthday. The food was excellent and very tasty. Our server was so nice and professional. I will be back on my birthday. Excellent experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We chose Melting Pot for a double date night...so much fun! Our server was great, the experience was awesome, and we most definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for our anniversary. We got a private booth. The only bad thing was I could hear the conversation next to us the entire time. I didnt expect that. Maybe that person was loud. I like that there were no kids near us and the romance option of rose petals on the table, although $15 waa a bit high for a few petals. My glass of water was dry several times so the waiter could have been a bit better at that. All in all it was great. The food was fantastic and we had a good time. The steak and shrimp was the best and I liked the apples in cheese the best. I will go again when I can validate the expense.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The mushroom pasta was one of the best things I've tasted in years. Yes, I gave one of them away to my guest, but I could have eaten a dozen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server Ashley was incredible and made my wife's birthday dinner the best it could be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We had a date night at the Melting Pot on the Plaza and had a wonderful experience. The cocktails were very nice and the fondue was fun and delicious (and filling - the chocolate dessert fondue is fabulous). Our server was very accommodating to find delicious vegetarian options. Cozy seating, romantic environment. We really enjoyed our evening out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Waiter was outstanding! Pricey if you are just going for the food. However, if you are using this time as your evening out with a friend/friends, the casual dining experience makes for great conversation and an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was a little slow at first, but we ended up having a really great server. We were definitely glad we had made reservations for a Saturday night. The food was very good. Having fondue is just really fun. I recommend this place for a special occasion or happy hour because it is pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We visited the Melting Pot for the first time on our wedding anniversary. Our dining experience was wonderful. The ambiance was excellent and the service was outstanding. We are definitely planning to dine there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service. A bit high priced but great for an occasional treat. Oh and just a tip, Gorgonzola on the salad is a horrible mistake.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

While the food was good and the concept is fun the service was TERRIBLE. They had our poor waiting running from so many different rooms, it lost the flow of the different courses. I had mentioned on my reservation that I had a coupon for the chocolate dipped strawberries and told our waiter at the beginning of our meal and 2.5 hours later we would have had to wait another 10 minutes for the strawberries after paying our ticket. Is was a Sunday night so maybe that explains it, but I will not go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a great time celebrating Valentine's Day! It was a fun experience and the food was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were very excited to get to The Melting Pot! The appetizer was really delicious. The salad was good, not outstanding, but good. The main entree was less than stellar. Boiled steak? Blech! The entree was disappointing in all accounts. We were really excited for the dessert, Flaming Turtle Fondue. It looked delicious! There were many tasty foods to dip in the chocolate: rice crispy treat, marshmallows, strawberries, blonde brownie, pineapple, and pound cake. The chocolate was COLD. To make matters worse, our waiter, Glen, was great for the appetizer and salad, then disappeared the rest of our meal until dessert. We were very excited for our visit there, and were very disappointed. Our bill was $110.00 with a tip, we will never go back. We will be posting a negative review on Yelp and Urban Spoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for a late valentine's day celebration, the atmosphere was amazing, quiet and good for a one-on-one conversation with your significant other. Service was really great, friendly and helpful, and the dinning was certainly an experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our dining experience was ok but not nearly what I expected. The stairway leading down to the restaurant was filthy. That was my first impression. The meals are overpriced for what you receive. The dessert was the best part of the meal. Once was enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to this place for the first time for Valentine's Day. It was fantastic! The service was great and the food was even better! Amazing atmosphere and very fun! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Was less than excepted for a romantic evening next to the the bar. Server did not understand instructions concerning wife's allergies. The food was excellent and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was more of an experiential event them an excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The four course experience is very unique and a lot of fun. This is the perfect place for a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

the service was marginal and the good was alright... but for $130 there are plenty of better dinner date spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic place for special occasions. You leave feeling you had an "experience", not just a meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I didn't know what to expect since it was my first time dining at the Melting Pot but I must say I was blown away. Everything from the food to the service to the ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

John, our waiter was outstanding! My date and I had both been here before, but he was very entertaining and made us laugh. Everyone else was also very friendly and helpful. Thanks for making our night special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful evening. Small tables for two are romantic and quiet, but if you or your arms are a little short, you might want to try a single burner table upstairs. The cozy tables are a bit small and are just high enough that seeing into the pot may be difficult. We found this restaurant in San Diego and drove to KC to experience it again. It won't be our last trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.