Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large private room capable of accommodating up to 56 people.

Specials

Ladies Night Out

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

SERVICE INDUSTRY NIGHT (SIN)

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

LATE NIGHT DATE NIGHT

Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM

LIBATION SENSATION

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Family Night

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Specials

Ladies Night Out

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

The “Crave Combo” (Cheese Fondue, Salad and Chocolate Fondue ) $17 Add a petite entrée $8 Drink specials $5. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Aug 28, 2017 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Enjoy an endless feast including cheese, salad, and an entree including filet mignon, teriyaki sirloin, chicken, and shrimp. Finish your meal with your choice of any of our amazing chocolates. Endless fondue is $45 per adult and $25 for children under 12. All dad receive a compliment beer flight.

SERVICE INDUSTRY NIGHT (SIN)

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

A Sinful 4 course dinner including Cheese Fondue, Salad, Entrée (Teriyaki Sirloin, Basil Pesto Chicken, White Shrimp, Lemon Basil Chicken with any cooking style) and Chocolate Fondue $30. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 2, 2017 - Aug 29, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

LATE NIGHT DATE NIGHT

Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Four Course dinner for 2 with wine or specialty drinks $89 "Crave Combo" after 8pm $17. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 3, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Wednesdays from 8:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

LIBATION SENSATION

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Half-price wine bottles, martinis, and specialty drinks with any Four Course Experience purchase. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 4, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

Family Night

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Kids (12 and under) receive a complementary entree with purchase of a four-course experience. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 30, 2017 - Aug 30, 2017 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Romantic (82)
Good for a Date (81)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Fun (52)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Cozy (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Groups (32)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (19)
Private Room (18)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Casual (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great overall experience at the Melting Pot! It was the server's first day and he did exceptionally well. The food was great, as well as the cheese fondue and the rich, incredible Bananas Foster fondue. Very cozy environment for a date. 10/10 would go back, but mainly for the chocolate fondue experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We booked a reservation for the very first time at The Melting Pot but it wasn't busy around 11 on a Sunday. Our waiter, Sam, was patient in explaining how everything worked since it was our first time there. He made the experience fun for my husband and I. The drinks, food, and vibe was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

The food wasn't very good this time. the lettuce in my salad was dripping with water as if not strained nor allowed a minute to dry out before using for a salad. The chicken for our dinner on our "Classic" plating had a very odd texture. Couldnt eat it, some of the seasonings changed on the meats that we were unaware of and unable to enjoy because of the different seasonings, therefore were not able to eat all the meat we paid for. So we paid extra for the one we could eat, even though the "classic" plate still had the other meat on it that we were unable to eat. And lastly we were by the kitchen and I was there with my 8 yr old. And she kept complaining because all we heard from the kitchen was inapproriate behavior and curse words. It just would've been kind of nice to have professional service rather than what seemed to me to be servers that are not serious about their job, or the manager has lost the ability to train correctly. Of all the melting pots I've gone to, this onein KC has consistently been the worst one and unfortunately I go there because there is no other nearby.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Was hoping for the special two person tables, but still it was a great date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The experience was fun, but it is pricey. Food tasted great throughout.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Still toooooooo expensive for the amount and quality of food. Food tastes good (not great or outstanding) but nothing on the menu is worth $40-ish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Seems amount of food has gotten smaller over the years but price has gone up. Also has issues with batters sticking and cooking. We have always gotten this and have never had problems before. Dont know if they changed recipes or something but even after leaving it in for the time called for it was gummy. They tried turning up the heat but by then we were almost done. Not sure we will go there for the next few special occasions. We usually always go for out anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A fun place to try at least once. We enjoyed the experience of fondue.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

very slow service, many, many open tables but they were not being filled. service was nice but too slow. food not good. we had chicken and beef and the chicken was fatty and gross. cheese fondue is excellent and so is chocolate but it was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was excellent, the server was friendly and we left FULL! We got 1 cheese, 2 sampler plates and 1 chocolate pot. All were delicious! My husband LOVED the duck and I LOVED the shrimp. I can honestly say it was the first time in my life I didn't actually want the chocolate at the end because my mouth was satisfied! Don't get me wrong, I still had the chocolate and it was DELICIOUS, but you get my point!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went for dessert. We should have mentioned that only 2 out of 4 of us would be eating since they charge by the person. It was taken care of by the waiter but could have been $50 dessert if I wouldn't have said something. It was yummy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have some very restrictive dietary needs and I was able to thoroughly enjoy my entire meal. Our service was not exceptional though. Our server was either spread too thin or inexperienced as it seem to take forever to get service several times throughout our meal. There were people seated after the two of us that got served more quickly than us. There was a large party at the table next to us that got more attention than we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful food! My first time being there and I couldn't of been happier with the service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and location. Choose the Kansas City Big Night Out and was very impressed. Food was excellent and as advertised. The staff seemed short-handed at times making it hard to get service but they were apologetic when they could help.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I really enjoyed myself. I'm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This place was awesome. The food tasted magnificent and the dining experience was exquisite. Our waiter was really kind and very helpful. It was my dates first time going.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always love the Melting Pot. The food is always delicious and the atmosphere is nice. Took the kids this time and they loved it. It is expensive but totally worth it. Make sure you have time it takes about 2 hours and is really filling.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a place to go for the experience. The waiter is a huge part of this experience, and the two we experienced here (ours and the neighboring table) were top notch! I would recommend the cheeses and the desserts/chocolates. The meats were OK, but for the price, I would probably just enjoy the extras.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We came here for our 20th anniversary dinner. The restaurant had made a nice balloon bouquet with a sweet card. That was a nice surprise! We had a fabulous dinner with a fabulous waiter. Ben did everything he could to make our night extra special. We ended our anniversary with a wonderful meal and good times. Thank you for always providing us exceptional care when we come for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fun and exciting dining experience! The service was Outstanding and my date and I felt comfortable and cozy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I normally really enjoy the Melting Pot and have been to several different locations. The Kansas City location is the worst of the ones I have visited. It is subterranean, and has a vaguely unpleasant, musty smell, especially near the rear of the restaurant.

The service was the poor. This is a fairly expensive restaurant, and I expect the staff to be pleasant and professional, and that was not the case here. Very young staff, speaking loud and boisterously about personal matters. It was distracting and was potentially the cause for the service being slow on a weekday night.

The sloppy preparation of my fondue at the table led to spilled, burnt cheese on the grill top and a watery, unpleasant fondue. The grill top was not the correct temperature and the cheese fondue remained cool in the middle and did not ever completely combine.

Overall, this was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Best food and dining experience I've had in a long time! Can't recommend enough!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love coming to the melting pot after a long week and just chowing down on some god chocolate fondue... but this visit was a little different.. the waiters gave us an odd look as if they were appalled we were just getting chocolate... the chocolate was amazing.. but the vibe from the waiters kind of ruined it.. obviously I'll return but I hope to get a better vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went to the Melting Pot for my senior prom, was the absolute perfect way to spend the night. Food was delightful, waitress was upbeat and lively. The restaurant was quiet and we could easily keep conversation to ourselves. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant did an amazing job! I took my girlfriend here for prom and they fulfilled every request. Also, the food was really good, along with the waiter! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server was phenomenal. He was new to the restaurant, but still knew the answer to almost every one of our questions. He was very friendly, outgoing, and personable. He also gave us a special dessert plate for our anniversary! So awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday and the food was great! Service by Dylan was wonderful, food is quite pricey, but it was a special occasion and that made it great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dessert place! Celebrated granddaughters 14th bday with 6 friends and they loved the ying yang (both white and dark chocolate) for dipping fruit, brownies and all the goodies. my husband and I had the dark chocolate with a hint of grand marnier which was very good. It is a fun different type of experience for everyone! Would go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My friends and I came to this restaurant for a bachelorette and had a great time. I was particularly impressed by the way our server graciously accommodated the bride's gluten allergy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fun time. Food was good. Dessert was the yummy. The sparkle Peeps were fun!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great experience overall for our special occasion and have already spread the word to some couples as an idea for a special date night getaway.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was a neat concept but feel that it was a little overpriced. Especially when you have to make your own food. I can do this all at home at a small fraction of the cost!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a great server and the food is always great. We can't wait to plan our next trip to the Melting pot.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Spicy, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wish we could have received more meat for the price we paid. We were served the same amount of food if only one of us would have ordered the Four Course Meal; We both got the classic four course meal and were not impressed. Also, we were charged an extra 6 dollars for the style of cooking we choose and weren't advised of this charged when we ordered. Wish I had better things to say. Oh yes, the cheese and chocolate were great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A little pricey but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had an amazing time, and my server Ben was very friendly and nice . Me and my friend had an amazing time their, I've always loved the Melting-Pot but this was the icing on the cake!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The waiter was great. The food was okay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This place is amazing every time we go. However this time there was a mildewish smell in the area we were seated. Love the food!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Amazing would recommend for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A great experience with the kids and friendly staff.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.