About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
Cheesecake
Fondue Dippers (Meats)
Original Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Coq Au Vin Cooking Style
seasoned choice angus sirloin
teriyaki-marinated sirloin
White Shrimp
herb-crusted all-natural chicken breast
Mojo Cooking Style
Memphis-Style BBQ Pork
The Melting Pot House Salad
Fresh Vegetable Fondue Dippers
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Fondue Dippers
 rustic artisan bread dippers for fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Caesar Salad
Spinach Mushroom Salad
Burgundy Shallot Vinaigrette
Wisconsin Trio Fondue
Appletini
Fondue Fixings
Chocolate Fondue
Melting Pot House Salad
Cheese Fondue
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Fondue
California Salad
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Bananas Foster Fondue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream Fondue
ying and yang
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Lobster Indulgence
S'mores Fondue
Cosmo
Chocolate Snickers

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (104)
Fit for Foodies (48)
See All
Good for Groups (47)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were hoping for a romantic date night ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were hoping for a romantic date night and reviews said it was a romantic restaurant but the atmosphere was loud and crowded like a family buffet restaurant. The seats are too low to comfortably reach and tend to the fondue pot in the middle of the table. The cheese and chocolate courses made the evening lovely but we won't be back for the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Okay I always go to the melting pot and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Okay I always go to the melting pot and I love it usually. First off they got rid of my fiesta cheese and that makes me sad, the meat portions looked unbelievably smaller than before and we were there from 9pm-midnight. 3 hours! It's never taken that long. Our waitress was nice but I think she was more concerned with getting other stuff done then our meal. My boyfriend and I are very quick eaters and it's never taken us more than 2hrs at the melting pot. The entire visit was a little disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have eaten in many of the locations f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have eaten in many of the locations for the Melting Pot. They always provide a great experience. We were very happy to see all the gluten free options, almost everything can be prepared in a GF manner. This was great news for a couple of family members that recently have had to eliminate gluten from their diets.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitor and the food (especially the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waitor and the food (especially the chocolate) was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience is very nice for a group ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The experience is very nice for a group special occasion, and the food is always enjoyable. However, our six-person table took 3.5 hours to complete from being seated to serving dessert (where I had to ask for the check)--and a little longer before our meal was complete and we could leave. Our service bordered on neglect. We literally hardly ever saw our waitress, and went long chunks of time before we saw her. While I did expect the dinner to feel slow and relaxed, this was really too much. I don't think I'd go for the four course again, it simply takes too long. Maybe just a dessert or an appetizer.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had great service and the food was de ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had great service and the food was delicious as usual. We're long-time Melting Pot customers and this visit was great, as we expected. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time! Our server, Gly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time! Our server, Glynn was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the food at The Melting Pot, but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We LOVE the food at The Melting Pot, but the service was SOOO slow this last time we dined in. It took an hour just for the first course. It seems to be hit or miss...we either get an amazing waiter/waitress with great timing for our meal or a horrible one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We decided to try The Melting Pot with o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We decided to try The Melting Pot with our children ages 7 and 12. We thought it would be a fun concept since we were on vacation. It ended up being an "okay" experience. We were there over 3 hours, way too long even for the adults. We did not expect a swift meal, but our server abandoned us several times. Just behind us was a large group who came in a good 45 minutes after us and completed their meal at least 30 minutes before us. I can't say we would never go back to a Melting Pot, but it would take some convincing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food and service was great!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I think I was most put off by the qualit ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I think I was most put off by the quality of the dippers (it wasn't freshly prepared -- reminded me of a Costco platter). The veggies were dry. The bread was mediocre. The dessert dippers were cafeteria quality. The presentation could've been better. The cheese fondues were ok, but the process seemed a bit different than traditional fondues.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Brooke our waitress was awesome. She ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Brooke our waitress was awesome. She had a great attitude and was energetic and engaging, very informative. And the chocolate was amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over three hours to eat, service was rea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Over three hours to eat, service was really slow, lots of noise from what looked like bachelorette parties, and a messed up pot for our fondue. The food was good but the experience was one of the worst. This used to be our "go to" restaurant for special occasions but after several experiences like this in the past year, we will probably find a different place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We enjoyed the dinner for my wife's birt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We enjoyed the dinner for my wife's birthday celebration. Great food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

For the price here was very little in th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

For the price here was very little in the way of upscale protiens. For example one ounce each of filet mignon, shrimp and chicken . Cheese fondue was very tasty but using cheap inexpensive dippers. Same with dessert . $285 for 4 people . 3.5 hours to eat. We expected more meat and seafood for a $50 meal. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was wonderful, the setting was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was wonderful, the setting was great, but our service was not on par for what we have had in the past at the melting pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Melting Pot KC is fantastic. I have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The Melting Pot KC is fantastic. I have been for my birthday in enjoyed the seclusion of a private booth as well as two very different Ladie's Night Monday's, one with a very large group and one with a group of 4. TMP is always fantastically organized and friendly. Most recently my group had Gabe for a server and he was absolutely wonderful and I would definitely request him - super personable, punctual, easy to talk to and ask questions with an answer always. Wonderful experience and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor in the restaurant, table was dirty, cable from warmer was hitting my leg all night

in all it just felt really really dirty inside

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were mostly first-timers, and we were ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were mostly first-timers, and we were both impressed and unimpressed in the same turn. The dining experience was very neat and different, and the food was great. It did, however, last quite a long time. If you are eating with a group it may not be a good fit (we were there for 2.5 hours). For a date night--it would be a great option. Our biggest complaint was the service. The service we received was sub par.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Good for the money, desertthebestpart, h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good for the money, desertthebestpart, hadamixupwithsaucestocookourssohadsomewhatofawaittostraightenthatoutbutweenjoyedourfirst trip to the Melting Pot..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

You would think that cooking your own fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

You would think that cooking your own food would detract from the experience but in this case the opposite is true. You actually gain enjoyment by cooking your own food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! It was very cle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service! It was very clean and all the staff was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was awesome and the private ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our waitress was awesome and the private room was romantic.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had great service! Our waiter recommende ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had great service! Our waiter recommended what to eat and even brought us a dessert concoction of his own that was to die for

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was terrible from start t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was terrible from start to finish. We had reservations but despite there being a ton of open tables, had to wait. Then we sat at the table for 30 minutes before our server showed up. He was never available and rarely checked on us. He seemed quite arrogant as well. Our dining time was 3 hours 45 minutes. Unacceptable. We understood there were courses but if our server had been anywhere nearby we could have moved along more quickly.

Also our pot caught on fire and no one seemed concerned. Not even "wow, sorry".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We had the Alpine cheese and salads whic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the Alpine cheese and salads which was plenty of food. The service was excellent, and food was delicious. I want to come back for chocolate soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening of food and fellowship ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful evening of food and fellowship with some old friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Confused in the beginning but turned out ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Confused in the beginning but turned out to be a fun event with my parents, kids and husband . I enjoyed the salmon-delish. 3 generations at the table, some of us got quite as to how would turn out. It all became comical once everyone's mind was at ease about how in the world all of us would be able to cook this raw food at this table. Glad we chose Melting Pot for bday dinner☺. Will be back with just the hubby and I.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was very good, server was very good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very good, server was very good. I would recomend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had so much fun. Took my 16 y/o for her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had so much fun. Took my 16 y/o for her birthday and 17 y/o brother. It was there first time and they had so much fun. Diner ended up taking 2 hours, but it did not feel that long because we were having so much fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just okay & you didn't get very ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was just okay & you didn't get very much for the price. You are definitely paying for the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience. Waiter was the bes ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful experience. Waiter was the best! Nice not to be rushed when dinning out for anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were celebrating an ann ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary, & it was our first time at melting pot. We had fairly high expectations because We knew this was a fancy and expensive place to eat. For the price though...food was average and nothing to write home about. Our service was decent. The only thing we really enjoyed was the dessert and these days would could make that at home. For a $125 bill for the two of us and we only got one drink...won't be going back and we will detour our friends and family as well. Sorry melting pot but we weren't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our waitress Kayla was a lot of fun and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waitress Kayla was a lot of fun and full of jokes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive for casual dining but the wait ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Expensive for casual dining but the waiter was absolutely great. Nice experience but will probably only go back for dessert instead of dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We've eaten at The Melting Pot in KC man ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've eaten at The Melting Pot in KC many many times. The food is always very good and most of the time the service is as well. Lately, though, it seemed like the service was starting to be hit and miss. Our latest, visit, however, was a definite change from that.

John was our server and he was spectacular. From our group of six not knowing exactly what we wanted to order to making changes on the fly, he was spot-on. Drink refills, more dippers.....he handled all of our requests incredibly well!! Very very smooth and never seemed to get rattled.

I commented to the manager on duty about John's abilities to make sure she knew about his talent as well. Too many times restaurants only hear the negatives about a visit. There weren't any issues with this visit at all; it was all done phenomenally well!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was 10 of us in our party celebrat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

There was 10 of us in our party celebrating my birthday at lunch time. Our waiter took great care of us and we had a great time. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very good and this was a g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The staff was very good and this was a great place for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and had a great time! The food was yummy and so much fun making fondue. We really enjoyed it. Our waiter was awesome too. It was a splurge for us, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall experience was below par. Ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The overall experience was below par. Our waitress did not tell us we were going to be charged double for dessert. We had reservations and were sat right next to the bar. I would recommend this place, if you are looking for a hefty bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.