About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
Cheesecake
Fondue Dippers (Meats)
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Original Chocolate Fondue
herb-crusted all-natural chicken breast
seasoned choice angus sirloin
White Shrimp
teriyaki-marinated sirloin
Fresh Vegetable Fondue Dippers
The Melting Pot House Salad
Memphis-Style BBQ Pork
Coq Au Vin Cooking Style
Mojo Cooking Style
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Fondue Dippers
 rustic artisan bread dippers for fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Caesar Salad
Spinach Mushroom Salad
Burgundy Shallot Vinaigrette
Wisconsin Trio Fondue
Chocolate Fondue
Appletini
Fondue Fixings
Melting Pot House Salad
Cheese Fondue
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Fondue
California Salad
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Bananas Foster Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Lobster Indulgence
Cosmo
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream Fondue
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
ying and yang
Chocolate Snickers
S'mores Fondue

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (129)
romantic (112)
good for groups (51)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
late-night find (23)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (18)
kid-friendly (15)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor in the restaurant, table was dirty, cable from warmer was hitting my leg all night

in all it just felt really really dirty inside

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were mostly first-timers, and we were ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were mostly first-timers, and we were both impressed and unimpressed in the same turn. The dining experience was very neat and different, and the food was great. It did, however, last quite a long time. If you are eating with a group it may not be a good fit (we were there for 2.5 hours). For a date night--it would be a great option. Our biggest complaint was the service. The service we received was sub par.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

You would think that cooking your own fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

You would think that cooking your own food would detract from the experience but in this case the opposite is true. You actually gain enjoyment by cooking your own food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! It was very cle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service! It was very clean and all the staff was friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was awesome and the private ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was awesome and the private room was romantic.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had great service! Our waiter recommende ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had great service! Our waiter recommended what to eat and even brought us a dessert concoction of his own that was to die for

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was terrible from start t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was terrible from start to finish. We had reservations but despite there being a ton of open tables, had to wait. Then we sat at the table for 30 minutes before our server showed up. He was never available and rarely checked on us. He seemed quite arrogant as well. Our dining time was 3 hours 45 minutes. Unacceptable. We understood there were courses but if our server had been anywhere nearby we could have moved along more quickly.

Also our pot caught on fire and no one seemed concerned. Not even "wow, sorry".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We had the Alpine cheese and salads whic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the Alpine cheese and salads which was plenty of food. The service was excellent, and food was delicious. I want to come back for chocolate soon

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening of food and fellowship ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful evening of food and fellowship with some old friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Confused in the beginning but turned out ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Confused in the beginning but turned out to be a fun event with my parents, kids and husband . I enjoyed the salmon-delish. 3 generations at the table, some of us got quite as to how would turn out. It all became comical once everyone's mind was at ease about how in the world all of us would be able to cook this raw food at this table. Glad we chose Melting Pot for bday dinner☺. Will be back with just the hubby and I.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was very good, server was very good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very good, server was very good. I would recomend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had so much fun. Took my 16 y/o for her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had so much fun. Took my 16 y/o for her birthday and 17 y/o brother. It was there first time and they had so much fun. Diner ended up taking 2 hours, but it did not feel that long because we were having so much fun.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just okay & you didn't get very ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was just okay & you didn't get very much for the price. You are definitely paying for the experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience. Waiter was the bes ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful experience. Waiter was the best! Nice not to be rushed when dinning out for anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were celebrating an ann ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary, & it was our first time at melting pot. We had fairly high expectations because We knew this was a fancy and expensive place to eat. For the price though...food was average and nothing to write home about. Our service was decent. The only thing we really enjoyed was the dessert and these days would could make that at home. For a $125 bill for the two of us and we only got one drink...won't be going back and we will detour our friends and family as well. Sorry melting pot but we weren't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our waitress Kayla was a lot of fun and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waitress Kayla was a lot of fun and full of jokes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive for casual dining but the wait ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Expensive for casual dining but the waiter was absolutely great. Nice experience but will probably only go back for dessert instead of dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We've eaten at The Melting Pot in KC man ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've eaten at The Melting Pot in KC many many times. The food is always very good and most of the time the service is as well. Lately, though, it seemed like the service was starting to be hit and miss. Our latest, visit, however, was a definite change from that.

John was our server and he was spectacular. From our group of six not knowing exactly what we wanted to order to making changes on the fly, he was spot-on. Drink refills, more dippers.....he handled all of our requests incredibly well!! Very very smooth and never seemed to get rattled.

I commented to the manager on duty about John's abilities to make sure she knew about his talent as well. Too many times restaurants only hear the negatives about a visit. There weren't any issues with this visit at all; it was all done phenomenally well!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was 10 of us in our party celebrat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

There was 10 of us in our party celebrating my birthday at lunch time. Our waiter took great care of us and we had a great time. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very good and this was a g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The staff was very good and this was a great place for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and had a great time! The food was yummy and so much fun making fondue. We really enjoyed it. Our waiter was awesome too. It was a splurge for us, but well worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall experience was below par. Ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The overall experience was below par. Our waitress did not tell us we were going to be charged double for dessert. We had reservations and were sat right next to the bar. I would recommend this place, if you are looking for a hefty bill.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We ordered an appetizer, salad, main cou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ordered an appetizer, salad, main course, and a dessert. My husband and I went here for our anniversary and were not impressed with the food at all. The flavors of the dipping sauces both cheese and broth were both a huge disappointment. We let our waitress know that we didn't care for them, and she just said "sorry." Would have liked to try something different or be comped some of the meal. Both of us agreed that the dessert portion of the meal was delicious. We will definitely not go back here for dinner again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I don't like writing negative reviews. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I don't like writing negative reviews. And I wouldn't say that my wife and I had a bad time, we just were expecting more than what we got for a $100 dinner. As we walked to our table, there was a weird smell. I have no idea where it came from. The carpet was really worn, the tables were clean but old and beat up... it just didn't feel like the upscale experience I was hoping for. It definitely felt like we were in a basement (which we were... I just didn't want it to feel that way lol) The food was ok. The duck was delicious. Our salads were really skimpy. Again, for a $100 meal I expected more than the tiny salad we got. The best part of the meal was definitely dessert. That was very tasty.

Overall, it was an ok experience. My wife and I are Kansas City natives and had never been to the Melting Pot before so I had really high hopes. We aren't mad and we're not going to slam the establishment as a whole... we just won't be back unless a friend gave us a gift card or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Everything was delicious! I even tried f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was delicious! I even tried foods I don't normally eat just for the fun of it all. The wait staff was very friendly and helped our table make suggestions along the way when we got stuck choosing different fondues. I will be back very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience eating at this ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was a great experience eating at this restaurant my wife and I like it a lot I recommend this place to anyone

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great event. Would go to again.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great event. Would go to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the four course meal for two. It ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had the four course meal for two. It was very good but definitely pricey. The service was ok and we had to wait for seating simply because we arrived 10 minutes early, even though the table was ready.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great evening. Great server.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great evening. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Date

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great place for a first date that you know is real. Provides plenty of time for conversation. Romantic and quiet with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing evening

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a great place for a relaxing evening. Plan on spending a couple of hours (or more) eating and visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One time experience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The Melting Pot was good for a new experience but our table was given away to another party and we had to wait to be seated. We had to move tables since the first table only had one pot for the cooking for our table of 4. A table with two pots gave us the opportunity to try a wider variety of food. Our waitress was wonderful and she was able to move us to an different table and she was very good at explaining how the service worked. The food was very good but a bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I went to melting pot for our anniversary. He had never been before and I wanted him to experience it. He liked it but thought it might be overpriced. I enjoyed it 100%.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Very Pleased

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a reservation for 9 PM but had to wait a little whole longer than that to get a table which was okay. They seemed very busy that night so the service wasn't the best, we had to wait a while for menus and we also had to wait quite a while for our water to be refilled. Three friends and I went ther for dessert because the food is very expensive, this is not a place to go if you're trying to feed a whole family for a good price. We actually went to dinner somewhere else and came to The Melting Pot for dessert. After not getting our menus for a while, we just looked up the menus on our phones so we knew what we wanted when the waiter came by. He was actually very helpful because we had a couple questions, and the chocolate was delicious. Overall, it was a good visit. Prepare to dress a little nicer than you would at a normal resuraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was a very unique dining experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was a very unique dining experience. If you have never had fondue, this is the place to try it! The staff was very patient and took the time to explain how things work and tips for the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was great & the food was top ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was great & the food was top notch. They almost had to roll us out after our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique Experience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We took my mother to the Melting Pot for her 73rd birthday. She had never been to a fondue restaurant and was very impressed. It is a wonderfully unique experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun Time

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had gone for happy hour a couple years back but never eaten there for dinner. We were celebrating a birthday and had a wonderful time! Our server was very friendly and the food was great. We will definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place. Love the food and the at ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Awesome place. Love the food and the atmosphere. Romantic setting perfect for that special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We love to go here for special occasions ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We love to go here for special occasions with our kids - they've been going since they were 5 and it is a family favorite.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.