About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
Cheesecake
Fondue Dippers (Meats)
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Original Chocolate Fondue
herb-crusted all-natural chicken breast
seasoned choice angus sirloin
White Shrimp
teriyaki-marinated sirloin
Fresh Vegetable Fondue Dippers
The Melting Pot House Salad
Memphis-Style BBQ Pork
Coq Au Vin Cooking Style
Mojo Cooking Style
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Fondue Dippers
 rustic artisan bread dippers for fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Caesar Salad
Spinach Mushroom Salad
Burgundy Shallot Vinaigrette
Wisconsin Trio Fondue
Chocolate Fondue
Appletini
Fondue Fixings
Melting Pot House Salad
Cheese Fondue
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Fondue
California Salad
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Bananas Foster Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Lobster Indulgence
Cosmo
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream Fondue
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
ying and yang
Chocolate Snickers
S'mores Fondue

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (140)
romantic (123)
good for groups (59)
See All
fit for foodies (54)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (26)
hot spot (21)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (12)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Expensive for casual dining but the wait ...

Dined 5 days ago

Expensive for casual dining but the waiter was absolutely great. Nice experience but will probably only go back for dessert instead of dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was 10 of us in our party celebrat ...

Dined 6 days ago

There was 10 of us in our party celebrating my birthday at lunch time. Our waiter took great care of us and we had a great time. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff was very good and this was a g ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The staff was very good and this was a great place for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 12th anniversary and had a great time! The food was yummy and so much fun making fondue. We really enjoyed it. Our waiter was awesome too. It was a splurge for us, but well worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The overall experience was below par. Ou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The overall experience was below par. Our waitress did not tell us we were going to be charged double for dessert. We had reservations and were sat right next to the bar. I would recommend this place, if you are looking for a hefty bill.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We ordered an appetizer, salad, main cou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We ordered an appetizer, salad, main course, and a dessert. My husband and I went here for our anniversary and were not impressed with the food at all. The flavors of the dipping sauces both cheese and broth were both a huge disappointment. We let our waitress know that we didn't care for them, and she just said "sorry." Would have liked to try something different or be comped some of the meal. Both of us agreed that the dessert portion of the meal was delicious. We will definitely not go back here for dinner again though.

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I don't like writing negative reviews. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I don't like writing negative reviews. And I wouldn't say that my wife and I had a bad time, we just were expecting more than what we got for a $100 dinner. As we walked to our table, there was a weird smell. I have no idea where it came from. The carpet was really worn, the tables were clean but old and beat up... it just didn't feel like the upscale experience I was hoping for. It definitely felt like we were in a basement (which we were... I just didn't want it to feel that way lol) The food was ok. The duck was delicious. Our salads were really skimpy. Again, for a $100 meal I expected more than the tiny salad we got. The best part of the meal was definitely dessert. That was very tasty. Overall, it was an ok experience. My wife and I are Kansas City natives and had never been to the Melting Pot before so I had really high hopes. We aren't mad and we're not going to slam the establishment as a whole... we just won't be back unless a friend gave us a gift card or something.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was delicious! I even tried f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was delicious! I even tried foods I don't normally eat just for the fun of it all. The wait staff was very friendly and helped our table make suggestions along the way when we got stuck choosing different fondues. I will be back very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great experience eating at this ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It was a great experience eating at this restaurant my wife and I like it a lot I recommend this place to anyone

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great event. Would go to again.

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great event. Would go to again.

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We had the four course meal for two. It ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had the four course meal for two. It was very good but definitely pricey. The service was ok and we had to wait for seating simply because we arrived 10 minutes early, even though the table was ready.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening. Great server.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great evening. Great server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Date

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great place for a first date that you know is real. Provides plenty of time for conversation. Romantic and quiet with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Relaxing evening

Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a great place for a relaxing evening. Plan on spending a couple of hours (or more) eating and visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One time experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

The Melting Pot was good for a new experience but our table was given away to another party and we had to wait to be seated. We had to move tables since the first table only had one pot for the cooking for our table of 4. A table with two pots gave us the opportunity to try a wider variety of food. Our waitress was wonderful and she was able to move us to an different table and she was very good at explaining how the service worked. The food was very good but a bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I went to melting pot for our anniversary. He had never been before and I wanted him to experience it. He liked it but thought it might be overpriced. I enjoyed it 100%.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Overall Very Pleased

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a reservation for 9 PM but had to wait a little whole longer than that to get a table which was okay. They seemed very busy that night so the service wasn't the best, we had to wait a while for menus and we also had to wait quite a while for our water to be refilled. Three friends and I went ther for dessert because the food is very expensive, this is not a place to go if you're trying to feed a whole family for a good price. We actually went to dinner somewhere else and came to The Melting Pot for dessert. After not getting our menus for a while, we just looked up the menus on our phones so we knew what we wanted when the waiter came by. He was actually very helpful because we had a couple questions, and the chocolate was delicious. Overall, it was a good visit. Prepare to dress a little nicer than you would at a normal resuraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a very unique dining experience ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was a very unique dining experience. If you have never had fondue, this is the place to try it! The staff was very patient and took the time to explain how things work and tips for the best experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great & the food was top ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was great & the food was top notch. They almost had to roll us out after our meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique Experience

Dined on May 27, 2016

We took my mother to the Melting Pot for her 73rd birthday. She had never been to a fondue restaurant and was very impressed. It is a wonderfully unique experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Time

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had gone for happy hour a couple years back but never eaten there for dinner. We were celebrating a birthday and had a wonderful time! Our server was very friendly and the food was great. We will definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Awesome place. Love the food and the at ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Awesome place. Love the food and the atmosphere. Romantic setting perfect for that special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to go here for special occasions ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love to go here for special occasions with our kids - they've been going since they were 5 and it is a family favorite.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Too Expensive for the second time

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good first time date experience, WAY too expensive to go back there for the food vs cost.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on May 19, 2016

I've heard so many of my friends and family talk about the melting pot and how good it is that whewhen my sister asked me where i wanted to gofor my birthday dinner the meltinmelting potwas thefirst place ithoght of the food was delicious and the service was excellent i will definitely be comicoming back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter. Food tasty! Pricey but gre ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great waiter. Food tasty! Pricey but great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything on the menu. I loved t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Loved everything on the menu. I loved the peanut butter chocolate dessert. Great job!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I took my wife on a date and it was one of the best times that we've had in a long time. Wonderful atmosphere, great food and the best service ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was great, other than it was freezing ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was great, other than it was freezing in there. We were sat under a vent, and it wasn't turned down even after we asked.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

When my husband arrived they couldn't fi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

When my husband arrived they couldn't find our reservation and tried to tell him I had made it for the wrong day and they didnt know if they could get us in despite many, many empty tables. I had the confirmation so showed it to them and they sat us shortly after.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great night

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night approval!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved! We went for our anniversary and were very pleased. Loved the private seating and how accommodating the staff was.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My Review

Dined on April 23, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food served. It also took too long to get the check. I do not like being held hostage.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great daddy daughter special occasion

Dined on April 22, 2016

The cost vs the quantity is a little more than casual dining would normally be. However, great daddy/daughter date night event. Would HIGHLY recommend just doing cheese and chocolate. Main course not great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 18, 2016

Excellent food and service

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

What happened to the Melting Pot I knew & loved?

Dined on April 17, 2016

Sadly we will not be returning to the Melting Pot. We went on a themed day and it came across as unorganized and a waste of time/money. Our service was terrible. We rarely saw our waiter and the kitchen was somehow always running behind. How hard is it to cut up more broccoli or plate raw meats? I also have a hard time making it through the meal without anything to drink. To top it off, we had to pay for a children's plate for a 2 year old. 20+ dollars and she ate a couple tomatoes and one piece of chicken. Others looked like they were having a better experience so maybe we were just unlucky...

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Kc melting pot 4-17-16

Dined on April 17, 2016

We booked our reservation online for my little brother's birthday and it was so easy! Once we arrived we realized there was a special "beauty and the beast" dining experience going on. Less than ideal for a 12 year old boy and there were a lot of rowdy little girls. Our server was very professional, personable and social but I cannot remember his name. He is going to school currently for engineering. We did have a couple of very long wait times for our food but the food was delicious and they were very busy so that is to be expected. Overall it was very nice, we just wished that for a $200+ dinner (with the tip) that we would have known there were a bunch of screaming little girls so we could have planned to come another time. Very clean dining area and restrooms and we will definitely be back. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Unique food and experience, TERRIBLE service

Dined on April 17, 2016

While the concept is unique and the food is delicious, the prices are high and the service is awful. We ended up skipping dessert for fear it would be another hour! Definitely a one time thing we won't be repeating.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great deal!

Dined on April 10, 2016

went there for birthday/anniversary. service was excellent. they also had a special goin which turned out to be a great deal. the meat selection was tasty. I liked the teriyaki steak and the two types of chicken were also good. highly recommend for special occasions as this isn't casual dining. It is however a lot of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fondue is always fun.

Dined on April 8, 2016

We have eaten here several times and have always had a fine time. However, this time we were disappointed with the tuna-which actually smelled and tasted "fishy". There was no response from our server when we told him the tuna was not edible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.