Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large private room capable of accommodating up to 56 people.

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Fun (57)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Cozy (44)
Worth the Drive (44)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for Groups (37)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (18)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

It was an amazing time. The host was really nice and so was the server. There were no issues at all and it’s definitely a place I’d recommend to friends and family. Will surely look forward to visiting again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing as always. We were doing KC Restaurant Week so I’m not sure if the discounted menu is what dictated the service, although we ordered plenty on top of that as well. We ordered a bottle of wine which we poured for ourselves all night, and we liked it but we weren’t given a sample to test - server brought it, opened it, poured in both glasses, and left. Never refilled them, but that was probably only because he came around just to drop off food or take away food, never in between to check on us. Other servers filled our water glasses when they walked by their tables. My husband got the wrong salad but they were dropped so quickly we didn’t get the chance to say anything. The salad was delicious though so he turned out to be happy. Also when he dropped off the check he came by 5 seconds later and said he’d take it, i still hadn’t had a chance to get my wallet out. Not sure what the reason was but he definitely wanted us out! Regardless we left a 20% tip because it was a busy night and there were likely other factors at play.

Treat your KCRW patrons the same as others please! The food was fantastic but i noticed a huge difference in service from coming on a normal menu and coming on a KCRW menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The cheese fondue, salad and entry choices were good but not outstanding. As a party of 6 we were seated in a booth which is very restrictive when trying to reach the hot pots. I would suggest labeling the 6 dipping sauce containers! Our waitress was very good and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service great food. Wonderful date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Expensive but well worth the money. Exceptional server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, delicious tasty food. Loved the Alpine classic fondue and the white chocolate fondue. The experience of cooking thevshrimpd, veggies and beef is amazing. The booths are cozy.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My and my girlfriend come here on our anniversaries and this year was a disappointment. We got seated at a decent time from our reservation but it took an hour for the server to take our order. The food is great but the service that day was not good. Our entire visit was three hours from waiting on the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the meal and we were able to treat the whole family to the experience because it was KC restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I thoroughly love The Melting Pot because it is such a unique dining experience.
We have intentionally chosen to enjoy TMP during KC Restaurant Week. It has a menu that delights from first course to last, with every bite!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my birthday. I did not like how the waiter touched food and wiped them on his clothes. Also the restaurant was quite cold. Otherwise the food was good, waiter nice, bathrooms clean, and atmosphere was nice. I didn’t appreciate the broths being an up-charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2018

This is our fourth year going for restaurant week. We had grrat service from our waiter, Jacob, with our waiter, and have only had one less than exemplary experience in all the times we've gone, which was last year. He was very attentive and we never had t wait long for something before seeing him again. He even gave us some champagne snd brought us more sweets to finish the chocolate off with. The disappointing part avout this was that every year, it seems they find a different way to up the charge. The chocolate fondue is not included in the restaurant week option and they charge an extra 5.40 a person if you choose a different type of broth other than original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Dining here is a unique experience. It's lots of fun, but allow yourself a minimum of 2 hours for the multiple courses.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We went for my step sons birthday. We usually struggle to find a place that serves food we can all agree on. This meal engaged the whole family in the dining experience. Service was excellent but I wouldn’t do everyday dining here. We will be going back for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Great food and great service! Looking forward to dining here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Went to dinner for our 9 year old birthday get together. The food and service were outstanding! It was our first experience at The Melting Pot and we will be going back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We always have a great time there. It was my parents 33rd wedding anniversary and their first time. Waiter was super friendly. It was restaurant week so we got a good deal. We will keep coming back for that delicious cheese dip!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We had an enjoyable meal we booked during restaurantweek and we had the 33.00 meal with absolutely no substitions . It seemed strange that we couldn’t get our favorite salad or cheese. But we stuck with strict menu orders the person who sat us said we could change for up charge but our waiter said no . The meal was good the price wasn’t much less than the big night out in fact if we would have had chocolate it would have saved about 10.00 off big night out so if we had thought more we would have just ordered big night out and got what we wanted. I finally got my strawberries for my birthday, in which I had requested with my
reservation but they never say yes we have them ready always have to check would be nice to have ready and wish customer happy birthday. Overall we still had fun and the dining experience was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We had the four course experience and had an excellent waiter. The cheese and chocolate fondue is fantastic. We especially liked the Cajun seasoning on our meat entree. Definitely a great place to celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

The hostess was rude. But the server, food, and atmosphere were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Not impressed. Took forever for our server to come around then when he turned our hot plate on it wasn’t even plugged in. They forgot about our salads and the drunk people at the bar were so loud you could hear them through the whole restaurant. The manager was having to wait tables the food was subpar. The best dish was the salads.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

I have never written a good or bad review before now...this one is worthy of my time.
We took our family for a special occasion that happened to fall during restaurant week - where the restaurant was offering a special menu option. This was our first time at The Melting Pot, Kansas City, for our group. As much as we tried to embrace our server, he should not be waiting tables for numerous reasons: he was visibly disappointed to be assisting and serving first time customers, he threw plates down on the table and the vegetables feel out of the bowl, he tossed service ware, didn't explain cook times or sauces, he appeared rushed, just to name a few instances (we were all actually laughing at what we were witnessing, we thought we were possibly being punk'd). In particular...at the end of the evening, the waiter had misrepresented the special menu option, over-inflated the bill, and when we walked away from our table of guests to resolve the issue privately, he stated he would speak with his manager. He shortly approached us with the bill in it's sleeve and told us there was nothing that could be done, the charges were correct, and to have a nice evening...we opened the sleeve and he had indeed billed the exaggerated charges to our credit card before discussing our concern with management. We politely expressed our disappointment and he stated he would get a manager to discuss further to which we declined - we just wanted to return to our table and guests and prepare to leave. Shortly thereafter, management approached our table to discuss the matter in front of our entire party. To save any embarrassment, my husband and I simply replied that everything was fine, nothing to discuss, and the matter was closed, but he continued to press the issue. We then had to ask the manager to please excuse himself from our table. What started out to be an experience we were laughingly accepting and having fun, turned out to be an overall terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great time with friends! Celebrated a birthday and an engagement!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

I loved the atmosphere of the dining experience, but you don't get much food for the money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We love the Melting Pot:) the staff is always so friendly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Our server was Jacob, he was fantastic and guided us through our first dining experience well! We ordered the 4 course meal and everything was exceptional! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

The service was great and the food was even better! It was a bit chilly by the door but they were so generous to move us to another table. The experience was totally worthwhile and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2018

My girlfriend and I decided to try something new at a place filled with fondue! Anyway, the food was delicious; we did avoid the entrees because it was cheaper. While our server took a bit more time to start the cheese fondue than I would’ve liked, he didn’t take long enough to make the experience unenjoyable, and provided quality service. This is a great place to dine if you’re willing to spend the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

My 11 year old daughter and I enjoyed ourselves here on a cold Friday night. The 4 course meals were portioned perfectly and every single item served to us was fresh!! Nothing we tasted was overly salty or overly sweet. It was a very fun experience. The staff really took care of us as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vegan, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

It was amazing! Our waiter, Jeff, was very kind, considerate, and helpful when deciding what to eat! He suggested great ideas! I loved my entire experience there! It was great! 10/10 WILL go again!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Disabled Access, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Absolutely awful experience. 40 m after we were seated before we even got water. It was $140 for two people and the food was awful, I didn’t even get everything that my entree was supposed to come with, they give you like a half a cup of cheese for 2 people and say it’s made with some craft beer and our waiter said it was bud light. The oil isn’t even hot enough to fry anything which leaves you with soggy oil drenched mush, the tempura batter does not stick to anything and has the texture of gel. Our waiter was very nice and we both felt bad for him because he was clearly overwhelmed with having too much put on him. We were there for 3 hours with about 30 m of waiting for our waiter every time he would come because he was so busy. Really really bad way to spend our anniversary. Would not recommend this to anyone, such a waste of money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We celebrated our 45th anniversary at The Melting Pot. We got the Touch of Romance package which included a private room and a table covered with red rose petals. Each of the fondue courses was delicious. My wife got a classic wine flight to complement her meal and I enjoyed a whiskey thistle cocktail with wonderful flavors. Our server Jesse was friendly and attentive. It was a delicious top notch experience for us and we recommend it highly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Took almost 2h for just cheese fondue and chocolate. Salad was not tasty I would skip it. Cheese fondue was good. Service very slow but ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Was a great experience. Service was good. Will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We've been taking our daughter to the MP every year during Dec/Jan plaza lights for more than 20 years. She's grown up bringing childhood friends, boyfriends, and now her new husband along on the tradition. Over the years, however, the "shine" has come off the experience and we aren't sure that we will continue. For the price, the quality of food and experience just isn't the same.

But our server this year was great, we enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The hostess rolled her eyes and slapped the menus on her thigh angrily when we asked to not be seated in the bar with our children. We had reservations plenty of time ahead. It was so rude and out of line

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Another good Melting Pot experience! It’s hard to go wrong. Everything is tasty and leisurely enough to actually eat 4 courses. Special occasion-worthy dinner out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We had a terrible experience here. We had eaten there before and everything was fine. We were told initially it would be a wait even though we had reservations. When we were finally seated, we waited about fifteen minutes before anyone even came over. He took our drink orders, but we never got them. I’m totally we sat for thirty minutes with no drinks and nor orders taken. We finally went to ask the hostess what was going on and she didn’t even remember seating us. We finally decided to leave after having been there about a total of an hour. We did ask for a manager and let him know why we were leaving, but he didn’t really seem to care and barely apologiZed. I know it looked like they weren’t regularly open for lunch, but if you aren’t ready to be open, don’t be open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

The food and overall ambience was pleasant and as expected, but the server was irritably slow. Between each course, it took her an average of 15-20 minutes (sometimes even more). It’s understandable but I expected her to be a bit quicker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The wait between courses was over an hour and we were left without drinks even if we asked. And the manager was our server at first and did not even apologize until I brought it up. Very frustrating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Although the server himself seemed like a kind young man, the service was horrrible!!!! From the time we walked in the door until we left we waited and waited. We were there over 2.5 hours most with unexplained or apologized waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.