About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
The Melting Pot - Kansas City
Cheesecake
Fondue Dippers (Meats)
Original Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Coq Au Vin Cooking Style
seasoned choice angus sirloin
teriyaki-marinated sirloin
White Shrimp
herb-crusted all-natural chicken breast
Mojo Cooking Style
Memphis-Style BBQ Pork
The Melting Pot House Salad
Fresh Vegetable Fondue Dippers
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Fondue Dippers
 rustic artisan bread dippers for fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Caesar Salad
Spinach Mushroom Salad
Burgundy Shallot Vinaigrette
Wisconsin Trio Fondue
Appletini
Fondue Fixings
Chocolate Fondue
Melting Pot House Salad
Cheese Fondue
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Fondue
California Salad
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Bananas Foster Fondue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream Fondue
ying and yang
Chocolate Turtle Fondue
Lobster Indulgence
S'mores Fondue
Cosmo
Chocolate Snickers

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (108)
Romantic (91)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Fun (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Private Room (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great as always, however th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as always, however the first section of the restaurant they tried to seat us in smelled awful, and we had to be moved. Then our waitress was pretty bad, she didn't talk to us hardly at all and made several messes on our table. I generally love the melting pot, but this location is really going downhill

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

We have gone to this Melting Pot many ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have gone to this Melting Pot many times in the past and for our anniversary, we decided to revisit it. Upon our arrival, we were seated at a table that had, along with multiple other tables, gnats flying around and a dirty menu. We requested a change of table and they promptly sat us down 4 tables down and there were still gnats. We got up and left; this is one of the few times I have ever, EVER walked away from a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our experience at The Melting Pot was gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our experience at The Melting Pot was great, as usual. The service was great and the food was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, we had a reservation and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, we had a reservation and were seated immediately. I proposed here and this was our forth anniversary. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go and will return! We e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place to go and will return! We enjoyed the food selection and the attentive service!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here for our first wedding annivers ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went here for our first wedding anniversary, service was great and as always the food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service! Memorable experience.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service! Memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

This was our first experience at The Mel ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first experience at The Melting Pot. We chose The Melting Pot based on recommendations of friends and family that it is a unique dining experience and something fun to do to celebrate our first anniversary. Luckily, we made a reservation online ahead of time. While we were waiting, there were a number of people who were turned away because they couldn't accommodate their groups until later.

It definitely was an experience and while we did enjoy ourselves and the food we had, this wouldn't be an "OMG!! We HAVE to go back there" place. Especially for the price. We weren't WOW'd but we weren't totally let down either.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

good experience, tables on either side ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

good experience, tables on either side were high school kids and very loud. :(

price quite high which limits it to only very special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had Ben for a server and he made the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had Ben for a server and he made the evening. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Service was great - thanks B ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic. Service was great - thanks Brian. The food was wonderful, as always.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and brilliant service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious food and brilliant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the most amazing date night ever. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had the most amazing date night ever. The service was great, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Cozy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Melting Pot for my wife's bi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to the Melting Pot for my wife's birthday. Given its name and location, had high expectations for the food ambiance and drink. Ambiance was as expected but booths are starting to see wear. The cheese fondue was excellent even though bread and vegetables did not seem as fresh as they could. Desserts, however, were excellent and the chocolate was over the top. In all, had a good experience and my wife enjoyed the time with family celebrating her birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went here for my birthday with our th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went here for my birthday with our three-year-old daughter and we all loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We spent 4 1/2 hour there with dear frie ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We spent 4 1/2 hour there with dear friends to celebrate my birthday. It was a wonderful evening!!!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fun, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate dinner at the melting pot Friday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We ate dinner at the melting pot Friday night and got caught in a storm and didnt want to start the 2 hour drive home with the weather being so bad so we decided to wait it out at the bar. The bartenders were so understanding and brewed us a fresh pot of coffee and let us order a slice of cheesecake even though I don't think that's something you do without ordering the chocolate fondue. Excellent staff but above and beyond bartenders!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were hoping for a romantic date night ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were hoping for a romantic date night and reviews said it was a romantic restaurant but the atmosphere was loud and crowded like a family buffet restaurant. The seats are too low to comfortably reach and tend to the fondue pot in the middle of the table. The cheese and chocolate courses made the evening lovely but we won't be back for the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Okay I always go to the melting pot and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Okay I always go to the melting pot and I love it usually. First off they got rid of my fiesta cheese and that makes me sad, the meat portions looked unbelievably smaller than before and we were there from 9pm-midnight. 3 hours! It's never taken that long. Our waitress was nice but I think she was more concerned with getting other stuff done then our meal. My boyfriend and I are very quick eaters and it's never taken us more than 2hrs at the melting pot. The entire visit was a little disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had the best experience my waiter Andy w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had the best experience my waiter Andy was amazing. Our food Was Unique. I will Eat Here Again

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in many of the locations f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have eaten in many of the locations for the Melting Pot. They always provide a great experience. We were very happy to see all the gluten free options, almost everything can be prepared in a GF manner. This was great news for a couple of family members that recently have had to eliminate gluten from their diets.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitor and the food (especially the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waitor and the food (especially the chocolate) was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience is very nice for a group ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The experience is very nice for a group special occasion, and the food is always enjoyable. However, our six-person table took 3.5 hours to complete from being seated to serving dessert (where I had to ask for the check)--and a little longer before our meal was complete and we could leave. Our service bordered on neglect. We literally hardly ever saw our waitress, and went long chunks of time before we saw her. While I did expect the dinner to feel slow and relaxed, this was really too much. I don't think I'd go for the four course again, it simply takes too long. Maybe just a dessert or an appetizer.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had great service and the food was de ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had great service and the food was delicious as usual. We're long-time Melting Pot customers and this visit was great, as we expected. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time! Our server, Gly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time! Our server, Glynn was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the food at The Melting Pot, but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We LOVE the food at The Melting Pot, but the service was SOOO slow this last time we dined in. It took an hour just for the first course. It seems to be hit or miss...we either get an amazing waiter/waitress with great timing for our meal or a horrible one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We decided to try The Melting Pot with o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We decided to try The Melting Pot with our children ages 7 and 12. We thought it would be a fun concept since we were on vacation. It ended up being an "okay" experience. We were there over 3 hours, way too long even for the adults. We did not expect a swift meal, but our server abandoned us several times. Just behind us was a large group who came in a good 45 minutes after us and completed their meal at least 30 minutes before us. I can't say we would never go back to a Melting Pot, but it would take some convincing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food and service was great!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I think I was most put off by the qualit ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I think I was most put off by the quality of the dippers (it wasn't freshly prepared -- reminded me of a Costco platter). The veggies were dry. The bread was mediocre. The dessert dippers were cafeteria quality. The presentation could've been better. The cheese fondues were ok, but the process seemed a bit different than traditional fondues.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Brooke our waitress was awesome. She ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Brooke our waitress was awesome. She had a great attitude and was energetic and engaging, very informative. And the chocolate was amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over three hours to eat, service was rea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Over three hours to eat, service was really slow, lots of noise from what looked like bachelorette parties, and a messed up pot for our fondue. The food was good but the experience was one of the worst. This used to be our "go to" restaurant for special occasions but after several experiences like this in the past year, we will probably find a different place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We enjoyed the dinner for my wife's birt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We enjoyed the dinner for my wife's birthday celebration. Great food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

For the price here was very little in th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

For the price here was very little in the way of upscale protiens. For example one ounce each of filet mignon, shrimp and chicken . Cheese fondue was very tasty but using cheap inexpensive dippers. Same with dessert . $285 for 4 people . 3.5 hours to eat. We expected more meat and seafood for a $50 meal. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was wonderful, the setting was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was wonderful, the setting was great, but our service was not on par for what we have had in the past at the melting pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Melting Pot KC is fantastic. I have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The Melting Pot KC is fantastic. I have been for my birthday in enjoyed the seclusion of a private booth as well as two very different Ladie's Night Monday's, one with a very large group and one with a group of 4. TMP is always fantastically organized and friendly. Most recently my group had Gabe for a server and he was absolutely wonderful and I would definitely request him - super personable, punctual, easy to talk to and ask questions with an answer always. Wonderful experience and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waiter was great, there was a bad odor in the restaurant, table was dirty, cable from warmer was hitting my leg all night

in all it just felt really really dirty inside

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were mostly first-timers, and we were ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were mostly first-timers, and we were both impressed and unimpressed in the same turn. The dining experience was very neat and different, and the food was great. It did, however, last quite a long time. If you are eating with a group it may not be a good fit (we were there for 2.5 hours). For a date night--it would be a great option. Our biggest complaint was the service. The service we received was sub par.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Good for the money, desertthebestpart, h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good for the money, desertthebestpart, hadamixupwithsaucestocookourssohadsomewhatofawaittostraightenthatoutbutweenjoyedourfirst trip to the Melting Pot..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

You would think that cooking your own fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

You would think that cooking your own food would detract from the experience but in this case the opposite is true. You actually gain enjoyment by cooking your own food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! It was very cle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service! It was very clean and all the staff was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.