Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

This Mother's Day bring Mom to the one place the whole family can agree on, The Melting Pot! Enjoy our four course Mom's Favorite feast for 40.95 a person, Surprise Mom with a spring flower bouquet for $15, or surprise her with a box of our signature chocolate covered strawberries for $16.

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Romantic (96)
Good for a Date (91)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Fun (62)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Cozy (50)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Family Style (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Private Room (25)
Comfort Food (22)
Happy Hour (19)
Casual (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Authentic (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fun time. Food was good. Dessert was the yummy. The sparkle Peeps were fun!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great experience overall for our special occasion and have already spread the word to some couples as an idea for a special date night getaway.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was a neat concept but feel that it was a little overpriced. Especially when you have to make your own food. I can do this all at home at a small fraction of the cost!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a great server and the food is always great. We can't wait to plan our next trip to the Melting pot.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Spicy, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wish we could have received more meat for the price we paid. We were served the same amount of food if only one of us would have ordered the Four Course Meal; We both got the classic four course meal and were not impressed. Also, we were charged an extra 6 dollars for the style of cooking we choose and weren't advised of this charged when we ordered. Wish I had better things to say. Oh yes, the cheese and chocolate were great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A little pricey but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had an amazing time, and my server Ben was very friendly and nice . Me and my friend had an amazing time their, I've always loved the Melting-Pot but this was the icing on the cake!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The waiter was great. The food was okay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This place is amazing every time we go. However this time there was a mildewish smell in the area we were seated. Love the food!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Amazing would recommend for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A great experience with the kids and friendly staff.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Birthday for my daughter. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Must visit for an experience. Not many choices for Vegetarians though.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place to enjoy fondue! Lunch prices are best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was great, it was our frist time there and it was fantastic, our server was great and friendly and the food was good .

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Boyfriend and I came here for our one year anniversary - wonderful food, great atmosphere, service provided was super kind. Highly recommend!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I was very disappointed the service was very very slow. Very disappointing would not plan to go back in KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was our second time at the Melting Pot and the service was subpar. I will not go back even though I think the experience is fun with a good server because I don't have confidence that they will train their servers well. Chewing gum is always a no-no for a server. I refuse to go to any more restaurants that allow their servers to use "we" as a pronoun for what should be the collective "you". I will never invite a server to my dinner so to act as if I am including them in my dinner plans is presumptive or ignorant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Having only been here this trip, I am not sure if this is indicative of all the tables. My wife and I found it difficult to access the pot from our seat. No big deal we adjusted and moved on. The food want that impressive either. Specifically, the entrees. The dessert was great and we would probably only return for dessert and maybe an appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was amazing. Pretty pricey though. Would only go for special occasions

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We traveled from omaha to visit. My daughter has been dying to go to the melting Pot.
We went during happy hour and chose the cheese fondue and dessert. Which was a great value and delicious.
At first our waiter was AWESOME explained everything and took his time with us.
Then went waaay downhill. After at least 20 minutes we asked to see our waiter. Then took another 20-30 minutes to get our dessert. And I'm not exaggerating on the time!
If you have entire day and night to spend your fine.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good for cheese and chocolate but terrible service and poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our table was close to the door. I constantly got a cold breeze. ❄️

Ben was great. Great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was slow. The time in between the courses took much longer than usual though the restaurant was slow. $200 for 3 people was higher than most restaurants. Value is just not there. Would not frequent although not bad for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Love the ladies night special. You can't beat the cheese, salad and chocolate. And the apple martini is delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It is definitely an interesting restaurant style for anyone that has never been to a melting pot. It took about 2 and 1/2 hours from start to finish for dinner for 2 so I would say it is more of an experience than a meal. It was nice to just relax and enjoy all 4 courses over time. It was a lot of food, but it was definitely manageable with how spread out all the food is.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our waitress was amazing the first time I had her and better this time. She interacted with my kids and made us feel welcome!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My daughter and I visited for a new experience during Spring Break. The four-course meal was incredibly good, but we were so full in the end. The real stars of the meal were the appetizer course with the cheese fondue, and the dessert court with the chocolate fondue. We were dressed casually for a day of shopping, but still felt right at home and well cared for by an excellent server. Great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had always heard what a fun experience the melting pot was, so we made reservations to try it. I was less than impressed. The place looked dingy, dirty, and out of date compared to other high end places on the plaza. We decided to do the 4 course experience and the only part we enjoyed was the cheese. Our waiter hardly explained how to order the experience and had no suggestions for our meat cooking style. We chose the basic option and ended up boiling our chicken, steak, and shrimp. We had 4 small pieces of each meat. 4 small pieces!! The lack of food completely shocked me for the price you pay! 2 pieces of broccoli to dip in our cheese, a tiny bowl half full with plain dry bread, and one grape tomato! When we got to the chocolate course it wasn't even redeeming. For the money you pay it was completely ridiculous and who wants to boil their own main course meat?! I can't believe people enjoy this! I was so shocked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I loved it! It was probably the most expensive meal we have had so it is definitely for special occasions. I wouldn't recommend bringing kids either. It was fun and we look forward to going again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We came here hoping for some great fondue and were not disappointed! The cheese and entre courses were better than expected, and the chocolate was wonderful. Our server was friendly, and informative without being too pushy, and even when the place started filling up we still felt like we were in our own corner of the world.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our waiter Tim was amazing! He was perfect! All of our food cane out perfectly timed. The music was calming and the private date booth was perfect! I am definitely going back for every special occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Private Room, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We love the Melting Pot and have gone there several times for our anniversary dinner. They do such a nice job of making everyone feel special! The food is awesome (I highly recommend the bacon and brie cheese fondue appetizer). You should know going into it, if you are getting the full four course dinner, which I recommend, you are going to be there for a few hours. The service staff never rush you and cater to you needs! Get a bottle of wine and savor the time with someone special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

DO NOT ORDER AN ENTREE ONLY CHEESE AND CHOCOLATE - All the entrees are to be cooked by yourself, in a pot of boiling water. You order fish, meat, chicken but once boiled it all tastes the same: pretty tasteless. Now i know what a boiled cut of filet mignon tastes like lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waiting in between 30 to 45 minutes in between food portions. We was there for my wife's birthday and had plans after but was unable to make it do yo the timely fashion our waitress was working. 3 hours to get our full meal. Berry has experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We celebrated our son's 12th birthday. It was an amazingly wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server was Great! He was informative and open to give us suggestions. The food was amazing, the drinks were great! The overall experience was unforgettable. We will defiantly go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What fun!!!
Great place for a big group or small. They had Gluten Free Options!
Great food and service!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting pot is the perfect location for a quiet night out with your partner. It is a relaxing experience with a great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went on a date with my husband on Saturday and we had a great time. The service was good and the food was delicious. We were in a small private room which was very romantic. It is expensive and the whole meal took about 2 and a half hours so it's not somewhere we could go often but it is great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.