Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 38 times today

The Melting Pot - Kansas City

4.2
3208 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue, American, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 931-6358
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Miller
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pennsylvania
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We are open for mothers day. Please call the restaurant for reservations and further information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

View Private Dining Details
What 3208 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

I have always loved the Melting pot but seemed that the quality of the items that you actually dip into your cheese and chocolate have significantly went downhill. Our waiter was very slow and I received a coupon via email for chocolate covered strawberries for my birthday. The coupon required you to call ahead to order so I order those when making my reservation, a week in advance, and when I asked the waiter about it he said well they may have them. He only came back to our table after that to bring us our check so no strawberries and no explanation. There are very good waiters there we just got stuck with two not so good ones the last few times. Thecheese and chocolate are still awesome but again I think that for the price the dippers should be a little better quality. Fresher broccoli not browning, non-molding bread, ripe pineapples and bananas. I don't think that is asking too much from a place like the Melting Pot.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at the Melting Pot many times and the quality is not what it use to be. We were given two menus for three people and were not given the special menu for Father’s Day until we had already ordered. The drinks did not have much ice. I had to ask twice after my drink order was taken to get my drink. Later I had to ask to have it refilled when it was obviously empty. Things like plates and forks were forgotten during the meal until we asked. We asked for an extra serving of cheese and usually the pot is filled up all the way and it looked only half full. We like to get the Green Goddess and it was mixed up with another sauce. When we asked for extra Green Goddess the little containers that were brought out were third full. We were seated close to the kitchen and the kitchen staff had loud music and just loud in general. My child told me she could hear the kitchen staff cussing. The floor looked like it had not been vaccummed. While we have enjoyed eating at the Melting Pot in the past, it will not be at the top of our list when deciding where to eat for a special occasion. When I am paying $50 a person for a meal not including drinks I expect a certain level of quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

This was our 1st time. Our server was outstanding and the booths private. The place needs to be updated. Food was good and plentiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My fiance and I celebrated our one year anniversary here. The food and service were great! We were nervous going for the first time but our server explained everything very well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

I went my family for father’s day during lunch time.
The food was fantastic. Service was slow but we stayed for 3 1/2 hours and had a fantastic time together. They need to make menu easter to understand.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and requestwd one of the small booths down in the back with a curtain to close it off and our server was amazing we always love the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our waiter was great. Very thorough and attentive. Made the experience worthwhile for a birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food, as always, was delicious. We sat in a different area from before and enjoyed getting to see another area of the restaurant. Service was great with a very personable waiter. Nice, pleasant dining experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Was sat at a corner table with the pot pretty far from us. I’m not short, but I had to stand to see into the pot to grab out our food. Did have a couple gnats that wouldn’t go away, not appetizing. Was sad to see the cheese leave, we had a lot left and it was much better Than the broth served with the meat. Food was fair, cheese was great, but overall overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was good, but the service was a little spotty. We ordered a couple of things we never got. What we did get was good though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Always a great time! My wife and Itook our kids there, and we had a blast.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We got there a bit earlier and the seated us right away. Food was great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We waited at the front for quite a while and everything was super slow. Our server Jordan was fine but for $200 you’d expect super high quality everything and it just wasn’t there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The service was very poor. It took at least 50 minutes to get our first course after we were served our drinks. The drink refills we're also slow. I went a whole course with an empty glass. We also made it very clear that my wife needed to be on a gluten free diet, but it became obvious that some of her food was contaminated with gluten ingredients. The kitchen staff was not careful to prepare her food separately. She had a reaction during dinner, which got worse, making her miserable all night. We usually enjoy eating at Melting Pot, but this is the second time we received poor service. Two years ago, our waiter was drunk. This time, our waiter seemed incompetent. We'll be hesitant to try Melting Pot in Kansas City again. It was just not any where near the $135 we spent on a meal which was supposed to be a celebration of our 37th anniversary.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I have always had awesome experiences at the melting pot, both this location and others, and I highly recommend it to everyone. However, this particular visit was definitely subpar. Our waiter, poor kid, was probably brand new. At first it was kind of annoying, but by the end of the meal it was rather comical. He was so super apologetic and it seemed like he was really trying, but it was just one mistake after another. I hope he gets the hang of it soon because he's got some big shoes to fill from my experience prior!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Took 5 min to be greeted. 10 to get drinks. Waiter walked away from my daughter while she was taking to him more than once. Rude. He also took our food away to serve the next course...without asking if we were done...we weren't done! Way to expensive to be treated like that. Were there 2 hrs and very displeased w wait staff. Did survey...someone supposed to call me from there... Wont be returning..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Food was great. Waiter didn't seem to care for his job much which .these the evening a bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 5, 2018

the light fixture had dust and cobwebs and was very dirty even had bugs flying around

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

It was interesting with the menu of fondue. I wasn’t impressed with portions and personally not a fan of the meat, sort of chewy. The cheese and the bananas foster were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Went for a birthday desert celebration. As usual, the service was slow, but the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We drove from out of town to celebrate my daughters 15th birthday. Her and her friends were so excited for this night. Then it happened...total disappointment. The server seemed annoyed by our even being there. We had a 8 pm reservation, arrived early at 7:40 pm and were promptly seated. However it went down hill from there. We waited 40 minutes between the salad and main entree. The dessert was another approximate 20 minute wait (was not even brought by our server). Once I received the bill we waited 15 minutes for it to be picked up (again by another person), and we never saw our waiter again. However I am sure he enjoyed the tip. We did not leave the establishment until almost 1030. Now I understand that it is to be a experience and should take time, but this was ridiculous. I have eaten here several times as well as other locations and this was by far the worst.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great food, service and very quaint place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Amazing food and great service. A little over priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We had a wonderful first experience with friends here! Waiter was wonderful explaining everything to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great service, great food. We went for appetizers and the chocolate fondue. Excellent food. If you haven’t been, it’s a must experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We have ate at the melting pot several times. This experience was not so great. The waiter was sloppy. While mixing the cheese he made a mess all over our table and didn’t clean it up. He spilt water all over the floor and himself while refilling our drinks. There were long periods of time where he didn’t check on us and the courses were pretty spread out. We were done with the main course for a good 10 minutes before he came back to take our dessert order. The restuarant was not even busy. Part of what makes the melting pot worth the price is the service and this particular visit wasn’t worth the cost.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Using Open Table for our reservation worked out fine. The Melting Pot looked as though some booths had been removed to make room for more people by using tables instead. The atmosphere has lost its privacy. We were seated at a small table in the corner by a door. No appealing. I had to ask the hostess if a server had been given our table because we'd been discussing the menu for quite a while and no one had even taken a drink order. A manager came out at that point and took our drink order and then our server started bringing items, etc. The waiter didn't have much of a personality and we had to keep asking for water and asking him to remove dishes ... again it was a little table, no room for those to pile up. Overall it wasn't as good of an experience as it's been in the past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Waiter was fantastic! Food was amazing! Took awhile for meat entree to come out, but overall loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We go here once or twice a year and have never had a bad experience. Always excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Amazing variety of options on the four course for those with dietary restrictions. Knowledgeable servers instruct you how to cook your meats. This is still a dinner that takes 2-3 hours, so plan accordingly. Fairly quiet if you’re in the right seats.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The Melting Pot is hands down my favorite place to eat. The food is fantastic, the experience is one of a kind! If you're going on a date, anniversary, etc. make a reservation and kindly ask for a seat in the back away from everything else and you will be lead to a quiet booth where you and your significant other can spend quality time with each other with out the commotion of normal restaurants. The Melting Pot is a little pricey for most, however, if you want fantastic food and a great experience. It is absolutely worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Everything was wonderful the service was great it was nice and quiet which you can really appreciate nowadays

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Ventilation is terrible (the server was sweating). The restaurant hasn't been updated in YEARS. Food is very basic and servers are in a hurry. Every other restaurant on the Plaza is a better choice and probably cheaper.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We went for my daughter’s birthday. Great meal and service. Very enjoyable time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Had a great pre theater meal. Had the Alpine Cheese and Wisconsin trio. Was great presentation by our waitress Kelsey and was great that we had two pots on the table to allow us 2 choices of cheese. The same for the chocolate fondue too.

Great experience and would highly recommend for a small group 4-6.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We live in Nebraska where we don't have a Melting Pot so every time we go to Kansas City, we try to stop there for a meal. We have never had a bad experience there before but our most recent was less than spectacular. Our server was very slow, did not clear the table in a timely matter and did not check back regularly. The food was delicious as always but there were a couple disappointments. First, my wife had ordered a glass of wine. After she had taken a couple sips, she noticed a short, dark hair floating in it. Once the server came back with our salads, we were able to mention it to him and he did get her a new one at no additional cost. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and had a coupon for free chocolate covered strawberries. These are always a nice treat and usually delicious. Again, it took forever for our server to remember to bring them to us. No big deal though because we were finishing our drinks. We finally received them and were getting ready to leave. My wife noticed a long, blonde hair sticking out of the box. She assumed it was just attached to the box and pulled on it...an entire strawberry came out with it and was dangling by the hair!!! We wanted to mention it to someone but our server never came back and there was no one at the host desk so we left the chocolate with the hair on the table. I understand that things like this can happen on occasion but twice in one meal! Like I said, we usually love Melting Pot and have always had a good experience but this one really disappointed us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Surprised my daughter for her 16th birthday since she'd always wanted to go to The Melting Pot. She was in awe the entire time and can't wait for the chance to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I have been to the Melting Pot on a few different occasions and I feel that the reviews about how slow the waiting is are due to people not understanding this style of restaurant. It takes time to boil the broth for your entree's and it'd be far more annoying to have a waiter popping in and out on you while there's nothing for him to do. Refilling drinks, sure that should be done quickly, but overall this type of place allows for a much more relaxed dinner (1.5 to 2 hours if you do the 4 course meal). That being said I have seen the quality go down-hill. It used to be a pretty nice place to go for a special date, possibly nice enough for an anniversary, but not anymore in my opinion. I took my wife here for a birthday dinner, but the ambiance was really terrible this time. We were seated in one of the booths with the curtains, and even with them drawn we could hear the cook and waiters shouting at each other in the kitchen. We could also hear their kitchen music blaring together with the house music, which was really just bad. If ambiance is important to you, then I would definitely set-up the reservation for their most secluded location on the lowest floor or go else where. The only other thing negative was that about half the people dining when we went were wearing really casual attire such as shorts and t-shirts. Even people dining in their lowest floor, which used to be more formal. Maybe it was just an unlucky night to go. Regardless we had a great time, laughed a lot, and the food was delicious, but I would have been disappointed if I had expectations of this being a good special occasion restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantistic restaurant. Great place for a family occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
81