About The Melting Pot - Kansas City

At The Melting Pot, fun is cooked up fondue style, creating an out of the ordinary dining experience. You'll discover all the ingredients for a perfect evening, including attentive service, private tables, & an atmosphere of casual elegance. In addition to the cheese & chocolate fondues which have made The Melting Pot famous, they offer a fine selection of beef, chicken, seafood, & vegetarian entrees, as well as an exceptional wine list & a full bar. You may enjoy a romantic evening for two, a special occasion with fifty of your closest friends, a dining experience to impress your boss, or a night out with the family. Whatever the occasion, an evening at The Melting Pot is always a celebration. Call directly to inquire about the Romance Packages in The Melting Pot’s private celebration booths for two.

450 Ward Parkway
Country Club Plaza
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday, 4:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/kansas-city/specials

Parking Details:
The Melting Pot offers complimentary covered parking in the public garage above the restaurant. Enter off Pennsylvania next to California Pizza Kitchen.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Love

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

birthday, rehearsal, wedding, celebrate, grad*, engagement, dinner, lunch, reception, luncheon, shower, bridal, baby, bachelorette, business, ceremonies, awards, graduation, client, employee, appreciation, boss, gift, chocolate, fondue, strawberries, romance

The Melting Pot - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (95)
Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
See All
Romantic (87)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Fun (61)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Cozy (53)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Groups (34)
Private Room (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Happy Hour (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Casual (17)
Family Style (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Authentic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was more of an experiential event the ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

It was more of an experiential event them an excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The four course experience is very uniqu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The four course experience is very unique and a lot of fun. This is the perfect place for a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the service was marginal and the good wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

the service was marginal and the good was alright... but for $130 there are plenty of better dinner date spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Fantastic place for special occasions. Y ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic place for special occasions. You leave feeling you had an "experience", not just a meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I didn't know what to expect since it wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I didn't know what to expect since it was my first time dining at the Melting Pot but I must say I was blown away. Everything from the food to the service to the ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John, our waiter was outstanding! My dat ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

John, our waiter was outstanding! My date and I had both been here before, but he was very entertaining and made us laugh. Everyone else was also very friendly and helpful. Thanks for making our night special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Small tables for two ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful evening. Small tables for two are romantic and quiet, but if you or your arms are a little short, you might want to try a single burner table upstairs. The cozy tables are a bit small and are just high enough that seeing into the pot may be difficult. We found this restaurant in San Diego and drove to KC to experience it again. It won't be our last trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The dining experience at the Melting Pot ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The dining experience at the Melting Pot is exceptional. The variety in the menu is tremendous, but the most important part is the taste of the food which is excellent. The dinner moves along at a nice pace so you do not feel rushed like the staff is trying to turn the table over quickly. Overall, an adventure in dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When my wife said she wanted to go there ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

When my wife said she wanted to go there again, I was so excited. This is a great place for that special date. Plenty of food, great price, loved everything!

Except...

The people next to us were way too load. The server continued to serve them wine and cocktails. They more they drank, the louder they got.

The manager should have cut them off. Of course, that puts them in the awkward position of offending a large party of big spenders.

We will go back again.

Tags: Great Beer, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service, I wish I could rememb ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent service, I wish I could remember our servers name as he was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding not rushed and t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was outstanding not rushed and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The meal was delicious and the service was superb. We felt very pampered.

The Birthday was a success....

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last few times that we have dined at ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The last few times that we have dined at The Melting Pot have not been as good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

While I enjoyed the meal and the time to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

While I enjoyed the meal and the time to relax and spend time with my husband, I did end up feeling a little claustrophobic. The booth we were in was secluded in the very back of the restaurant with very little light and became very stuffy (with all the steam) by the time our dessert was brought out. I wish there had been either more light or something colorful to look at.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu was fun to read and figure out. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The menu was fun to read and figure out. The service was great. The cheeses we picked out were outstanding. The entree was very flavorful. It wasn't just eating out, it was an event! Oh I almost forgot, the chocolate was the bomb:)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Melting Pot! It is romantic ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love The Melting Pot! It is romantic and delicious! A treat, for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful. Our waiter, Josh, was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was wonderful. Our waiter, Josh, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu, right down to how many exact seconds it took to cook everything exactly the way we liked it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been several times and love the ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We've been several times and love the experience. This time wasn't at the level we expected. We were sat next to a table with multiple small children because we had a preteen with us - understand having a more child friendly area but didn't appreciate having to be interrupted by children either just because we had someone under the age of 18 with us.

Also seemed like all the newly hired servers were training on us. Many missed opportunities for the service we expect.

Disappointed overall.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This is our favorite place for special o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is our favorite place for special occasions! Everything is so good, and the dinner for two is a great bargain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is wonderful and the staff amaz ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is wonderful and the staff amazing. Be prepared to pay for the quality, but the quality is worth the price. They have wonderful 2 person tables that have a very intimate feel that is excellent for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place to eat. My favorite restau ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing place to eat. My favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our children's birthday he ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We celebrated our children's birthday here. They loved the novelty of fondue and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was very good except the tabl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was very good except the table space was too cramped to accommodate all our items and the room was too cold. My wife was wearing jeans, put two jackets over her lap and was still cold

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was excellent and experience was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent and experience was a lot of fun. I believe for the price, however, more food (meat and veggies) should be offered/available. We had plenty of cheese fondue and goodies. The chocolate fondue was amazing. The main course should have had a little more quantity. Our men, especially, actually did not get full. And for $100 per couple that should happen. :) Overall, wonderful experience however. Our server did an exceptional job serving us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome experience with awesome service

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome experience with awesome service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mediocre at best. There are a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. There are a lot of great restaurants out there for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This was my second time going there with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second time going there with a friend, and the staff and atmosphere are always so welcoming and inviting. Fantastic, leisurely meal, and our waiter helped me select a wine that was delicious! We didn't even realize how long we had been there because we were enjoying ourselves, and never felt rushed. I look foreward to my next trip!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. I really enjoye ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good. I really enjoyed the chocolate fondue at the end. :-) The staff was very welcoming and knowledgeable. Overall I had a very enjoyable time while at The Melting Pot!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was good, food was good, got sea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was good, food was good, got seated on time...had a great time. Decor could use a facelift, but had a great time and was full full full when we finished!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We went for a late night dessert date an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for a late night dessert date and it was excellent. The service was super quick and the chocolate was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, our waitress was a ri ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic service, our waitress was a riot and kept us laughing. Food was amazing as always. My friends and I had a great dinner for my birthday and we will be going back again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I was very underwhelmed by my ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall I was very underwhelmed by my experience at the melting pot. I felt like the food was overseasoned and not anything special. The restaurant itself felt dingy and it took over 2 hours to get through the courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Wonderful food, awesome service. Loved ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food, awesome service. Loved it! Will go back again and again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine, but there was so much ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was fine, but there was so much waiting. We were 10 minutes early for our reservation, but weren't seated until 10 AFTER the reservation and were never told why there was a delay. We waited about 10 before server came by, then waited for drinks, sat with no pot heating for awhile and empty plates. At the end, the waitress divulged that she was also bartending, so that must have been part of the delay. All total, we were there for nearly two hours for two dipping courses and most of the time there was not eating. Our server was very friendly and it seemed like she was trying, but no one really addressed the long waits so we don't know what was happening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I was a little disappointed in the amoun ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the amount of vegetables we were given to share between 4 people. It's the portion that 2 usually get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful date night out with 2 ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful date night out with 2 other couples. Food was amazing!! Especially the Brie and Bacon appetizer!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was the BEST!!!! I'll come b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was the BEST!!!! I'll come back for the service at a restaurant every Time

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it! Food was great, service was gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved it! Food was great, service was great but I did almost feel like I was sitting in your run of the mill Chinese restaurant booth. Ambience could improve, didn't match the food and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a nice lunch and were seated in a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a nice lunch and were seated in a private two person closed booth. Great for a romantic meal! Seems a bit overpriced, but nice for something different.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a joy to spend almost three hours ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was a joy to spend almost three hours conversing and "playing with our food"! We chose to have the cheese, salad, entree, and dessert and relished every moment of it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.