About The Melting Pot - Houston

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Romantic
Houston
1 More
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (164)
romantic (145)
good for groups (88)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
kid-friendly (37)
late-night find (31)
hot spot (26)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (15)
great for brunch (12)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as always. Our server L ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great experience as always. Our server Leroy was fabulous and the food is great too.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This s a good place for large parties. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This s a good place for large parties. With the various courses, and cooking our own food, it seemed to be rushed and not very relaxing.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Birthday

Dined on May 21, 2016

Came here for a birthday and it was awesome. The servers are attentive and allowed us to visit and did not rush us along. This was my second time coming to The Melting Pot and it was great both times. We had a group of six and this is the perfect place for groups to sit around and talk and enjoy your meal. I will be coming back. It might not be for everyone cooking in your own fondue pot but if you know that going in it will be fun and interesting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey but an overall great exp ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A little pricey but an overall great experience. We came here on our first anniversary and this is our 25th anniversary

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Daniel was excellent. Thanks ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server Daniel was excellent. Thanks for helping us celebrate a special Rice University graduation night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was great and restaurant is nic ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great and restaurant is nice but when me and my date went everything that could go wrong did. The power went out twice, our stove top did not work and had to be changed out during our meal, and because of this we were late to pictures for our prom. Very bad first experience with the melting pot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting pot for me is my favorite. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Melting pot for me is my favorite. I've been here about 7-8 times i believe and every time has always a great and delicious time. The servers are very friendly, presentable and attentive. The food is great but the dessert is my fave haha. I definitely will continue to come, even though i live about 30-45 min from the place. I give it a 2 thumbs up!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top-notch experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I'd been wanting to try The Melting Pot for years. It was worth the wait. Our server, Bailey, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and attentive. All the courses were outstanding (especially the chocolate!). The four-course meal was even more filling than I imagined it would be, so I'll have to rethink my fondue strategy on future visits! I can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommended!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great! Our waiter Ty was awesome and made the experience that much better!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to go!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the waitress, Bailey. She walked us through the menu and was very helpful in educating us about the art of fondue. My daughter and I had fun with it. The food was DELICIOUS!!! We loved the alpine cheese course and the chocolate was so tasty!!! We'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's day diner with the boys

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had reservations, but still waited 15 minutes to be seated. The staff was awesome.. the host, bartenders, waiter(s), and managers were all a pleasure. Our waiter Kevin was fantastic and even though he was clearly busy, he took the time to listen to my youngest son's goofy jokes. The cheese appetizers were fantastic, the boys had the cheddar cheese, my wife and I had the spinach-artichoke and it was the best I've ever had. The entre was... ok, I guess the idea of boiled meat and not really knowing if it was cooked correctly played into us psychologically being a little freaked out about food poisoning.. My son on the other hand really enjoyed his boiled steak. I wouldn't have spent the extra money on the expensive filet, shrimp, chicken, and lobster if I'd had understood what was about to go down. Chicken would have been just fine. The desert was friggin' awesome. The boys had the yin-yang chocolate and my wife and I had the bananas foster.. it was pretty dang good. All in with tip it was right at $180.00 with a tip. Not bad, but could have done without the boiled meat... next time I'm saving my appetite for the cheese and desert.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on May 1, 2016

My anniversary with my wife was romantic and very private. I enjoyed the food and the server was great. This is an experience that all couples desiring a romantic evening together should take advantage of. We loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great first experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great experience, but not budget friendly! I would recommend for a really special occasion only. Good was quality, but some of the fees that were added were ridiculous!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food. Restaurant needs a facelift.

Dined on April 30, 2016

I went to Melting Pot with my wife to celebrate our 29th anniversary. My daughter had already been there and had recommended the restaurant for special occasions, since it is too expensive for everyday dining. We have made reservations, arrived 15 minutes early but we were seated right away. Our kind waiter explained our options very thoroughly and we have decided for the 4-course experience. I have picked a Chianti wine which has arrived at the table a little colder than expected, nothing that could not be solved with a brief warm hand’s rubbing. Everything was very good and the amount of food has surprised us: more than enough for two people. Cheese fondue was done right and house salad was fresh. As individual entrées I have selected the Classic combination and my better half got the Land & Sea. We cannot complaint about anything as far as quality of the selected ingredients goes. Seasoning was very well balanced. So, if everything was almost perfect, why four stars instead of five? Just because for the price we paid we could have gone for one of the several upscale steakhouses in the Houston area which are very well decorated, some of them with gardens, fountains and beautiful paints in the walls. In other words: the food is very good but this old restaurant needs a facelift to keep up with the price we have paid. A celebration as important as ours deserved a fancier place…

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant surprise. Wife and I ordered th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Pleasant surprise. Wife and I ordered the 4 course menu (cheese fondue, salad, meat fondue and chocolate fondue) for 1 person. It was enough for a nice romantic dinner for the 2 of us!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Girl's Night

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had wonderful girls night and Trevor took excellent care of us!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions

Dined on April 24, 2016

We love going to the Melting Pot for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, fondue experience was great!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Service, fondue experience was great!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Satisfication

Dined on April 24, 2016

My partner and I had a date there on Saturday night, it was fantastic. We chose the 4-course experience and individual three-course combination which definitely fulfill for both of us. The steaks were tendered and juicy, sauces served on the table for your choices. we loved the baked potato cheese there, it was delicious. Our first try at The Melting Pot was pretty good. I would recommend foodie lovers to give a try.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Amazing!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I decided to surprise my husband with a secret day out. First we had a couples massage then an early dinner here. Our server was training someone and they were both fabulous!! They explained menu and pots perfectly. It was a very relaxing, romantic meal. We cannot wait to go back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner experience!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I had dinner for our anniversary and it was our first time going to the Melting Pot. We absolutely loved it! The restaurant called me a few days before our reservation to get more information on why we decided to dine with them and so they were aware of how special it was for us. I requested flowers and candles at the table so I could really surprise her. When we got there, we were greeted with so much warmth and were congratulated on our anniversary. The table was set up beautifully and our server made everything a breeze. He was patient and so helpful in. The food delicious and we got to try new things like duck and filet mignon. Our dining experience was better than we could ever ask for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

Dined on April 22, 2016

The waiter was outstanding. The food was portioned small, but surprisingly filling. The ambiance was calm and dark which successfully created a romantic mood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good dining, service was on the slow side

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was excellent. However the service was slow, needed constant asking for refills on drinks and server was not too fast to check on table for any needs. Wasn't the first time there thankfully, maybe he had a lot of tables to attend to? Not sure, but for a modest dinner of 5 to cost over $235, you might expect more attentive servers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday. Everything was great but what made the night our waiter Herron. He was AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Yummy Yummy but a few inconveniences

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great interactive dining experience. Food was great and everyone had a good time. The two downfalls were was the minute our entree came out, our waiter immediately brought the desert menu. The minute our desert came out the check was brought. We felt pushed to hurry up and finish. Also, two diners ordered the same entree and instead of having the food pieces on separate plates, the kitchen combined them onto one plate for sharing. The problem was the two diners were not sitting adjacent to each other. The waiter didn't offer to fix the problem when we pointed it out and he made no suggestions. We ended up having to all move around so that the two diners could sit across from each other and have the ability to reach their items. This was inconvenient since we were in a booth and the left-handed diner at the table had specifically sat in a certain location so he wouldn't bump anyone. The changing of seats was a bit annoying for a lefty and a righty to sit next to each other in this environment where you are cooking your food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Had potential

Dined on April 16, 2016

The meal consists of four servings: cheese fondue to begin, then a salad, then the main dish which is raw meat or fish that you boil in a pot, and then a fondue of chocolate with typical fruits and treats. The cheese was mediocre, the entrée was OK, but the dessert was fantastic

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food as always was amazing and delic ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food as always was amazing and delicious. My wife and I went there for our wedding anniversary and the service we had was beyond what I expected. The server was very nice and friendly and had some great recommendations when we wanted to try something different. Try to get Kelsey if you ever go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place! The ambience and food were awesome! Would recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Our server knew the ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a great time. Our server knew the menu and gave great recommendations based on our preferences. She was kind but not overbearing. I would love to have her as our server again on our next trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect location for a romantic evening out!

Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife and I love to celebrate special occasions at the Melting Pot, as it never disappoints. The food, service, and atmosphere are just perfect! We came here most recently to celebrate our first anniversary and had a fantastic time. I got a special package for my wife, and it was totally worth it! We had such a great time and can't wait to go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Family Time

Dined on March 27, 2016

It is a great place to have delicious food and time to spend with those you care about. It is not rushed and you can really enjoy yourself. The seating is ideal. I can't wait to go back again. As a kid my mother would do fondue with the family so it is really nice to have a place you can go and enjoy the same type of atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good service, food and ambiance. Only suggestion is to move through the 4 courses more quickly. Our lunch for six people took 3 hours.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Ladies Night!!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My friends and I wanted to try something different. Fondue was the choice and it was well worth it. $40.00 for 4 courses you cant beat that!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great meal with lots of options and fantastic service / employees.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Wasn't what we were expecting

Dined on March 25, 2016

The experience was unique and the wait staff was pleasant and helpful. We however do not plan to go back as the food was nothing to brag about.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Yelp Melting Pot Not for romance. "Your ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Yelp Melting Pot Not for romance. "Your shadow is touching me! No guarantee of a romantic atmosphere here, even Friday night at 7 pm. It's a family oriented place. The layout of this place with its low lighting and kind of private tables unfortunately does not guarantee a romantic evening. But it's appreciated and it helps. Unfortunately families too love this place. There's nothing like the squeal of "Your shadow is touching me." from a teenager to kill most any mood. The drinks are good. Had a Sassy Senorita which was a bit sweet but tasted good. The food was remarkably not overwhelming. We expected to be overfed but the portions were reasonable. The Classic Alpine fondue was very good. Prices were reasonable. I'd go back but if you go for romance reserve a later time or maybe a week night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome every time.

Dined on March 17, 2016

The family and friends that we have brought love the melting pot. Always enjoy the atmosphere. Wonderful place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably my favorite restaurant of all time!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We have been to the Melting Pot at least a dozen times (in different locations, but especially the location in Houston) and love it! The food is incredible and it really allows you to slow down and enjoy the finer things in life. Enjoy the different subtle flavors food can bring, as well as the flavors of the drinks. The atmosphere is romantic and relaxing (unless there are kids or raucous teachers who are too drink happy to get away from the classroom). That is the only downside. If you have other quiet diners, the experience is wonderful and the service is excellent. The salads are also delicious and the perfect size! It is usually a little chilly because of the fondue pots on the table, so I would recommend those who tend to be cold to bring a cover. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Miraculous One-Pot Meal!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Cheese fondue! Spear and cook your own dinner! No, it's not a caveman meal -- it's The Melting Pot. Glorious beautifully presented food accompanied by a variety of sauces cooked just the way you like -- 'cause you're cooking it! The alpine cheese fondue is superb (who could say no to white wine and Kirschwasser)? Steak, chicken, shrimp and even lobster (if you're willing to splurge a little). Fantastic. It's a fun way to eat. And be sure to save some room for the chocolate (preferably dark chocolate with a splash of Grand Marnier). There's something decadent about covering a strawberry in chocolate -- and eating it, of course!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

had to sit by the bar... not good

Dined on March 13, 2016

Had to sit by the bar... not good at all. Been there many, many times. This was a very bad choice this time. Not sure if I'll ever go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.