About The Melting Pot - Houston

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston
The Melting Pot - Houston

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
3 More
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (164)
Romantic (148)
Good for Groups (80)
See All
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for a Date (27)
Kid-friendly (27)
Late-night Find (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fun (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Family Style (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have been here twice over the years. Enj ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Have been here twice over the years. Enjoyable place to take the kids for special occasions. However, the overall concept I really do not understand. It is a nice novelty place, but the food is just not really that outstanding for what it costs. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My husband and I made a reservation for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I made a reservation for our first anniversary and it was amazing! We had two servers - Josh and Tristian - and they were both very kind, informative, and helpful. Our booth was a cozy corner fit specifically for two people, which made it perfect for the occasion. The only problem we had was that the four-course special (similar to a special we finished without a problem at Simply Fondue in Fort Worth) was SO MUCH FOOD. We were full by the time we got the third course! Luckily, they gave us to-go containers so we didn't feel our time or money was wasted.

All in all, a great place to go every once and a while - either with big groups, family, or for special occasions. A little pricey, but totally worth it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Family Style, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time at The Melting Pot ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was our first time at The Melting Pot and we loved it from the moment we walked in. The food and service was great. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! It is fun and the food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place! It is fun and the food is always good quality and tastes great. The cocktails are amazing and the service is outstanding. Visit when you have plenty of time to sit and enjoy all of the courses. It is an experience that shouldn't be rushed. Ask for Les!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love visiting The Melting Pot for spe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love visiting The Melting Pot for special occasions. The chocolate fondue is our favorite part of the meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved the Melting Pot. 1st time to go t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loved the Melting Pot. 1st time to go there. Food was excellent quality and the drinks were superb. Waiter was very knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. Atmosphere was quiet but enjoyable...you could hear some laughter during the evening but nothing disturbing. Manager stopped by to ensure everything was going well for us. That was nice. Great place for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really cool place and concept. Do not re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really cool place and concept. Do not regret going although a little pricey for the amount you get. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our anniversary at the Mel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Melting Pot! Our waiter was phenomenal!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First: waiter"jj" gave my husband a very ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

First: waiter"jj" gave my husband a very dirty beer glass, which he replaced it with a hot glass and a cold beer.

2: he forgot to turn on the pot, which we waited for about 15-20min for us to let him know because he would hardly come back to the table. From there.... it went down hill. It took for ever, therefore, we had to ask for our salad. Wegotignored, Ihad made reservations for 4 with my family tocelebrate my birthday! !

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Tristan our server was great. This was o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Tristan our server was great. This was our first time at the Melting Pot. The food was great. Tristan helped us pick out some of the flavors and cooking styles being it was our first time. It is the perfect place for a nice quiet date. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was surprisingly slow even t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was surprisingly slow even though we were there at opening time, and with a reservation. We have been to this location several times over the years, and had not previously had this poor experience. The food was very good, as usual, and the server was very friendly. I hope the slow service we experienced this time was just an aberration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent place. Highly recommended! Foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent place. Highly recommended! Food and service were great.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too loud, seems to be more like a sports ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Too loud, seems to be more like a sports bar than a romantic restaurant. We told the manager about the other table being so obnoxiously loud and he did not said anything to us or them and just left. Bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I enjoyed my overall experience at The M ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I enjoyed my overall experience at The Melting Pot. It was worth the visit and worth the price. I would definitely recommend this place to all of my family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife loves coming to The Melting Pot ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My wife loves coming to The Melting Pot for whatever occasion!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and terrible, instructi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was slow and terrible, instructions unclear, food was ok and nothing special. Not worth the money even one bit

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Had a reservation for 4 at 4pm, arrived ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a reservation for 4 at 4pm, arrived 5 minutes early, had to wait approx 25 minutes. It would have been nice to be told how long the wait would be. We didn't see a lot of other patrons waiting, but some came in after us and were seated ahead of us.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We had a great time. Coming here is a gr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a great time. Coming here is a great way to catch up without feeling rushed.... because you know you will be there for at least 2 hours. Food choices are always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a horrible dining experience. M ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was a horrible dining experience. My husband and I arrive 15 minutes prior to our reservation & sit at the bar to order a drink. Hostess very rudely demands that we must close our tab at the bar before we can be seated. Our first time here & our waiter was not helpful at all. He spoke so fast you could barely understand what he was saying. Didnt offer any helpful tips on food selection or preparation. We learned more by eaves dropping on the table next to us as their waiter went over the menu giving them great advice about the foods. We were stuck in a back corner booth that was so dark we couldnt see the bugs crawling on us that left us covered in little flea like bites all over our arms & backs. I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy on a bad day. Would have filed a complaint but wouldn't know who to complain about because I don't think our waiter even told us his name!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have gone to this Melting Pot for yea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have gone to this Melting Pot for years and love being able to take time eating and chatting. Very great place to catch up with the wife.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to a late lunch/early d ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I took my family to a late lunch/early dinner, we had a fantastic time for two hours. Well worth every cent.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

15 minutes before waitress attended my t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

15 minutes before waitress attended my table for the first time. After each course was finished it took about 25 minutes for my table to receive the next course. For a restaurant where food is cooked in front of the customer. It took way to long for my table to be attended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Very unique dining experience! I continu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very unique dining experience! I continue to go back because it's simply amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We frequently dine at the Melting Pot an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We frequently dine at the Melting Pot and we seem to enjoy the experience more and more each time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food just isn't that great and the w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food just isn't that great and the whole thing feels old and dated. Very dark inside also making even the decor out of touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for Houston Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We came here for Houston Restaurant Weeks. My girlfriend had been before but I had not; the staff were fantastic and explained all aspects of how the fondue process worked. It was easy to understand, and the food tasted great! The only dislike I had was the location: the restaurant was tucked out of the way in a strip mall, and was not easy to find. Despite that, I'd definitely consider coming back here again in the future because the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Melting Pot was an excellent experie ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Melting Pot was an excellent experience. Five of my dearest friends where there to celebrate a Birthday. The appertizer and dessert were fabulous. The atmosphere was ideal. We had a great time and look forward to coming back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing minus our waiter. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was amazing minus our waiter. He had no personality. He was literally just walking through the steps... We love the melting pot. First time with a waiter who didn't know how to smile.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We had a really good experience, the foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a really good experience, the food was really good and the service was great...we are stuffed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Our server was so aw ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was great. Our server was so awesome and took great care of us. Manager also checked on us several times. We had a great anniversary. Be back soon

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was different and fun. We wil ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Experience was different and fun. We will do it again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Extremely loud. Waited 20 minutes after ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extremely loud. Waited 20 minutes after reservation to be seated. Took one hour from reservation time to recieve first course. Waiter was polite but busy. He was not able to check on us after he dropped off our food. Too expensive for what you get. Many people dining in cut off jeans, flip flopsflops and Tshirts onaSaturdaynight

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Melting Pot offers a unique if pricey ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Melting Pot offers a unique if pricey experience. We go there when we deserve a treat, and it's a great place to catch up with friends and family over a long meal. If you expect to enjoy all the courses, then be prepared to give at least a couple hours to the meal. Definitely make a reservation if you can

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good and kids and adults a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good and kids and adults all had a great time. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it!! One of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love it!! One of my favorite places to eat!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience! It was my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a wonderful experience! It was my first time to go and our group had the HRW menu. Wish I remembered our server's name because he was fantastic. I'm definitely going back and will save more room for dessert next time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved my server, Indigo, and the hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved my server, Indigo, and the hostess I didnt get her name. Food was excellent. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of those places that is grea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is one of those places that is great to try at least once and maybe even twice, but it's not something I would regularly go to just because of all the work involved with the entrees. While I really liked the cheese fondue appetizers and the chocolate fondue desserts, I was not a fan of having to cook/boil your own entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Melting Pot never disappoints! The f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Melting Pot never disappoints! The food was excellent and our server, Maurice, was off the charts. Made our anniversary celebration special and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was rushing us out. Bad service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Server was rushing us out. Bad service we love this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.