About The Melting Pot - Houston

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Romantic (84)
Special Occasion (83)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Fun (58)
Cozy (52)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Casual (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Seasonal (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (11)
Private Room (10)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The Service was outstanding. I love that we got to cook our own meat. The cheese was delicious and new. Never had wine in my cheese. and the Chocolate was too die for!! Very Happy on the place I chose for my birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience is unique and personable. You will feel pampered even though you do most of the cooking and you've never had such fun doing it. The quisine has such personality that it seems to draw waiters that seem to love just being there to serve you and share in the joy of the adventure. You will not leave stuffed, but even if it is less than you would normally eat, it will find you satisfied none the less. You can share a four course evening for two for $90 something, but you may just find yourself adding a few extras and it would not feel right without leaving a healthy tip. This may limit it to special occasions, but it will not be a one time only occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice experience. Could be a romantic night. There was a fussy baby there so not too quiet

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We come to this location a couple of times a year for special occasions. We enjoy the food and experience but the prices are pretty steep. You know that coming in of course but just wish the cost could be brought down. Don't expect to get out of there for less than $100 per couple. We had Nick as our waiter and he was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was great. I really enjoyed it and plan to go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Recently my wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day with a wonderful dinner at the Melting Pot and we could not have wished more from the overall experience. The appetizer which was the Artichoke-Spinach cheese fondue was amazing followed by the salad course and then the main with meat, chicken, shrimp and salmon cooked in the coq-au-vin fondue...all totally amazing! We finished off with the Yin and Yang chocolate fondue with all the assortment of sweet things to dip. The service was impeccable and the value was great since we got the 4-course deal for two. I would recommend the Melting Pot to anyone for any truly special event and a unique dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I wen't for our two year anniversary. They asked what the occasion was and they made it really special. Will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my wife and my second time to dine here and I really do think this experience was way better than the first. Mainly because we knew what we were doing this time. Last time we were a little lost but this time was absolutely great. We had a great time. Our service was great and the food was awesome I'm really glad we decided to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

First time going to The Melting Pot, it was an amazing new experience for me and my wife, our server was very helpful with the best menu items, and also he lead us through all the steps of the 4 course meal. Definetly going back later in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I had a private table set up for the evening with Ballons and a card (one of the packages) the server was great, food was awesome

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a nice one time experience, don't see myself going back unless it's just for dessert. The chocolate was amazing! Only reason I would not recommend this place is because cooking ur own food, remembering what's on each stick and cooking it's to the correct temp is just not relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love going here for anniversary, Valentine's Day, birthdays, date night. Great food, great selection, vegetarian options, awesome staff, comfortable seating, very well maintained facility. Great place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great time with my valentine :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's event was outstanding. The special menu was terrific, service was excellent and we had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The waitress was the most amazing part of our experience. She takes that job and she makes it her own! Very informed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

V-Day week pricing is insanity. Crazy land. Price gauging when demand is higher (except its not on any day but the 14th). Definitely worth the regular price of $90-100 for 2 people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved all the food! and the employers were all caring and tried there best to satisfy us! Will be coming back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've found that the food and service are better are non-holiday type days. This was for Valentine's Day and the food and service were lacking and the price was much higher. Service was slow. Food choices were nothing special. "Extras" we received were poor. The flute glasses we received were both chipped and in our picture, my daughter's eyes were closed but no one mentioned it. I didn't look at the pic until we got home and was disappointed. Just an average and expensive evening. Food and service are much better on regular days.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Well curated experience for a fun date night. Food was good and so was the experience

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service! We went during their Valentine's Day "event" and the place was packed full, yet they still maintained the ambiance for a romantic experience. It is a 3.5 course meal (cheese fondue, salad, main meat and veggie fondue, chocolate fondue for desert), so plan on staying at least 2.5 hours. Outstanding experience and food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We could not have been happier with the service we received. The wait staff was top notch and out waitress was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tapas, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Melting Pot is always a hit for special occasions. The menu is pricey, but factor in the taste, atmosphere, service and experience as a whole... its's awesome. If you have never been grab that someone special and head out for a date night. In the area with the family, stop by and enjoy desert with a chocolate fondue.

I have made reservations before, they review every note. right down to welcoming you by name and congratulating you on your special occasion (ours was anniversary). Rose petals, roses, balloons, everything set-up with a phone call. Truly have the best staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend ad the staff was so helpful and thoughtful to help me and made the experience even better than I had planned.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun - although rather pricey (and I still dont get Boiling Fillet). Various add-ins add up and waiter was pushy towards the end, felt like we were being rushed which is not cool when you paid over $200 for two people.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place, always worth it. Great staff and more importantly amazing food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great, fun place for special occasions and cozy dates. Always great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The atmosphere, service and food at The Melting Pot is always superb. The atmosphere is cozy, with subdued lighting and good privacy per table. The servers are very attentive, friendly and professional. They help make your meal as enjoyable as possible. The food is so tasty. There is no rush, and in fact you should plan for at least two hours if you order a full course meal.

The prices are higher than other restaurants, but you're paying for high quality food and atmosphere.

My only complaint about my last visit was that there was a child around 8 years old who was being loud and was being allowed to play around his family's table. When paying this much for an enjoyable atmosphere & dining experience, I would have preferred if the staff had asked the family to keep their child from disturbing other patrons. Children at restaurants are great, when they are well behaved.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything thing was great. We came for the father daughter date and it was her first time there. All of the staff was very friendly and even the manager came by to say hello. Our waiter was awesome, he took very good care of us and talked to my daughter about the whole experience. The only thing that was wrong was I didn't see that either I was supposed to receive a custom card for my daughter or didn't know if I was supposed to bring one. I didn't even notice that the special mentioned a card till we were already there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The waiter was knowledgeable about the food combinations, and how to enhance the taste. He made good recommendations about the entree, and everything was prepared well. My wife never eats cheese, and she had more of the cheese fondue than me, and cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful! Waiter should try to let people know more about the wine pairings, but great food and fabulous

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waiter was very knowledgeable, his insight and experience showed us what, who, is melted pot. I loved this place

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our experience was fantastic as usual, melting pot hasn't disappointed so far.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is a nice place for a special occasion. One in my party ordered vegetarian. There were way too many mushrooms served for the price. The vegetarian main course could use a bit of sprucing up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The staff was a direct reflection on the management is their ability to listen to the request of its customers in order to respond concisely. The length of time it took to place our order, get our food and to get our check was disappointing; especially, when the other table came an hour after us and was leaving before us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've heard about The Melting Pot for years. Food is mediocre...you're really only paying for the experience and luxury of cooking your own food. That experience really isn't worth the prices they charge. Perhaps just not my thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall it was a great experience the food the staff pretty much sums up what great experience that we had

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Outstanding experience restaurant, this is the place you go for a special occasion. Though it is pricey, you pay for the experience (table side preparation, secluded seating, dim lighting and generally no too noisy). The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The filet steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service and the food was fantastic. The bar drinks were excellent. Our servers were the best we have in a long time. The entire family is still talking about the great time they had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary. Ask for Tristan, he is a great server.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is a wonderful place.

The service was also amazing, but it did take a long time for course arrival between dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We went for the girl's night out special, which was slightly less expensive than usual. My friend had never been, so she really enjoyed the experience. The waitress was a bit supercilious; she could have been more hospitable--and a little more attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

we have been coming to the melting pot for over 26 years , the last time we had poor service, these time we waited 20min for water over a hour and never got our drinks refill, we use to come here and dress up for a Romanic place , Now you can walk in with any thing own these down grades the restraint history, we come here at lest 4 to 6 times a year and in Florida I propose to my wife here , will don't no if we will come back

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had an enjoyable time. Nick our waiter was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love the slow pace of fondue and melting pot does a great job of making an evening out memorable.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Me and my best friend went here for dinner. It was nice but waiting to move on to the next course did take a while. This would be a great for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Just an overall great experience. The small touches from the hostess to the waiter knowing why you are there and your name.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. You feel like you are in Switzerland, but very expensive! Great gor a specisl occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent server and Hanna was especially wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came out New Years Eve. The food was great as usual but the waiter service was sorry and very slow. He had to wait tables up front & ours too. We saw him every 20 minutes and then we had to ask somebody where he was. I didn't appreciate paying 20 percent gratuity . the service wasn't worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.