Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About The Melting Pot - Houston

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (92)
Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (88)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Fun (56)
Cozy (47)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Groups (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Family Style (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Private Room (10)
Seasonal (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

I met with a business acquaintance/friend that we have not seen each other in 25 years, all contact was by phone. We met and brought each other up to speed on our personal lives, both struck by sadness recently, The atmosphere was quiet, the pace was unhurried, the food was delicious and portions more than sufficient. Our server was attentive and unobtrusive, very professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely EXCELLENT dining experience at The Melting Pot Houston. My friends and I had never tried Fondue before. The experience was great. Lots of good food. Very helpful and knowledge staff to guide our culinary choices. Great for a romantic evening or a special outing with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for my girlfriend's birthday and did the 4-course deal for two people. It was a good deal and we were both full by the time dessert came.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service was unusually poor, the wait staff was not very attentive to water refills. The waiter was very slow to get courses started. The salads were forgotten and the main course had a steaming pot for more than 30 minutes before our meats were brought. Overall I was disappointed with the service and it was not up to par with what I expect from the melting pot. Additionally we had some St. Jude dining cards and could only use one. That was NOT made clear when we made the donation the waiter who sold it to us said we'd get $60 off our next meal not that we'd have to come 3 times in 8 months to get $20 off. These things are really making me less likely to choose The Melting Pot in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Pricey for cooking your own bland food. Pricing is all messed up as well. Menu may say $9.99 for cheese fondue but if you have 4 people at your table, that's $40 you didn't expect, for just cheese! We didn't want salads so we ordered a la carte, paid double what we would have paid if we would have just ordered the dinner package with the salad. Pricing is confusing and food isn't that great, therefore didn't make for an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A every nice time!!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We did not have a great experience there. A drink was spilled on us and we were charged twice. It was not exactly what we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Beauty and the Beast themed lunch was so much fun! Michael, our server, was very attentive, funny, and my 7 year old granddaughter loved the "Princess" treatment! More themed dinners would be great! Thanks, Gavin, for stopping by the table. I appreciate your attention to customer comfort!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It's more of the experience that we enjoyed. The staff is very kind and professional. Maybe the best thing was the Love Martini. My wife LOVED IT!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I have been to the Melting Pot twice for special occasions and both experiences were great. The food is great and the whole evening is a fun and romantic. They have private booths with perfect mood lighting. The staff is very attentive and they go out of their way to create an evening above you expectations. The 4 course meal is more than you can eat, everything is high quality and fresh. The whole meal lasted 2 hours because it really is a hands on experience. Thestaff is always ready with your next course which you take your time to enjoy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took a friend out for her birthday because she never heard or done fondue. She loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Truly a wonderful experience! Loved it the food was delicious, the service was awesome and the atmosphere great!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always a pleasant experience, but will order less next time. We did not realize how much we were getting. We are eating wiser and will definitely choose less selection next time. We enjoyed the whole experience and everything tasted delicious!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I's first time there and it was absolutely amazing, our server was DJ. I would strongly recommend him, he had extensive menu knowledge, was very friendly, and gave honest opinion on his favorites. We will definitely be returning in the future. All of the food was excellent and the atmosphere was just as it should have been. The manager Tony came by to make sure we were doing okay and even offered us a different side to enjoy with our cheese.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My 2nd time visiting... Very fun with my pre teen daughter! Her new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, our meal was excellent and the service phenomenal. I definitely recommend getting the four course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of the most romantic ways to spend a special occasion. The variety of fondues is good and they're served with a beaucoup of bite-sized accompaniments to meet any taste. The bananas foster white chocolate dip for dessert was my favorite part!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

JP was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server JJ was superb. He recommended a number of items for us to try. The romance upgrade with a single rose and rose petals on the table was a hit with my wife. Overall, an expensive date. Will reserve The Melting Pot for special occasions. Not just date night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great customer service and wonderful food. A change from the ordinary. Opportunity for GREAT conversations.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was my dates first time to go he absolutely loved the experience as well as the food! We will definitely be going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was amazing! Always worth every penny ! Left my ID and they saved it for me until the next day! The people are always nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our 4th visit and each time we go away satisfied and look forward to another time down the road. A bit pricey but a great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Quite the experience. My date and I loved it. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

February 25 was my anniversary so my two choices were Ruth Chris and the Melting Pot and I always try to dine in a romantic place so when I checked both places out online melting pot was the most romantic place out of the two I was very happy with the food and overwhelmed by how great the service was and I would like to thank you guys for helping me pull off a wonderful fifth anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Atmosphere was dingy and old, the pot that was used to cook in did not smell good when boiling the meat and veggies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Melting Pot is always top notch. The waiting staff is always on their game and are some of the best around. Never a bad expirence!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had been talking about going here for 6 years and finally went to celebrate my husbands new job! It was far away, bet well worth it. Everyone was very friendly and our table was ready on time. The staff seemed to communicate very well and our waiter , JJ, was outstanding! We went at 545 and it was very quite and romantic. It is pricy but well worth it. We will defiantly be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Service was outstanding. I love that we got to cook our own meat. The cheese was delicious and new. Never had wine in my cheese. and the Chocolate was too die for!! Very Happy on the place I chose for my birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The experience is unique and personable. You will feel pampered even though you do most of the cooking and you've never had such fun doing it. The quisine has such personality that it seems to draw waiters that seem to love just being there to serve you and share in the joy of the adventure. You will not leave stuffed, but even if it is less than you would normally eat, it will find you satisfied none the less. You can share a four course evening for two for $90 something, but you may just find yourself adding a few extras and it would not feel right without leaving a healthy tip. This may limit it to special occasions, but it will not be a one time only occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nice experience. Could be a romantic night. There was a fussy baby there so not too quiet

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We come to this location a couple of times a year for special occasions. We enjoy the food and experience but the prices are pretty steep. You know that coming in of course but just wish the cost could be brought down. Don't expect to get out of there for less than $100 per couple. We had Nick as our waiter and he was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was great. I really enjoyed it and plan to go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Recently my wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day with a wonderful dinner at the Melting Pot and we could not have wished more from the overall experience. The appetizer which was the Artichoke-Spinach cheese fondue was amazing followed by the salad course and then the main with meat, chicken, shrimp and salmon cooked in the coq-au-vin fondue...all totally amazing! We finished off with the Yin and Yang chocolate fondue with all the assortment of sweet things to dip. The service was impeccable and the value was great since we got the 4-course deal for two. I would recommend the Melting Pot to anyone for any truly special event and a unique dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My girlfriend and I wen't for our two year anniversary. They asked what the occasion was and they made it really special. Will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my wife and my second time to dine here and I really do think this experience was way better than the first. Mainly because we knew what we were doing this time. Last time we were a little lost but this time was absolutely great. We had a great time. Our service was great and the food was awesome I'm really glad we decided to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time going to The Melting Pot, it was an amazing new experience for me and my wife, our server was very helpful with the best menu items, and also he lead us through all the steps of the 4 course meal. Definetly going back later in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had a private table set up for the evening with Ballons and a card (one of the packages) the server was great, food was awesome

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a nice one time experience, don't see myself going back unless it's just for dessert. The chocolate was amazing! Only reason I would not recommend this place is because cooking ur own food, remembering what's on each stick and cooking it's to the correct temp is just not relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.