About The Melting Pot - Houston

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

VALENTINE'S EVENT MENU
$89.90 per person + tax and suggested 20% gratuity
Special 4 Course Menu + Champagne Toast, Framed photo, Gift bag & more. We decorate to set a romantic mood. All reservations secured with a CC- there is a $35/person cancellation fee. VIP & RED ROSE packages available.

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Romantic (67)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fun (44)
Cozy (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Casual (21)
Family Style (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Private Room (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding experience restaurant, this ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding experience restaurant, this is the place you go for a special occasion. Though it is pricey, you pay for the experience (table side preparation, secluded seating, dim lighting and generally no too noisy). The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet steak was awesome.

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The filet steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the food was fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and the food was fantastic. The bar drinks were excellent. Our servers were the best we have in a long time. The entire family is still talking about the great time they had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time celebrating our anni ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary. Ask for Tristan, he is a great server.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful place. The service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is a wonderful place.

The service was also amazing, but it did take a long time for course arrival between dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

we have been coming to the melting pot f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

we have been coming to the melting pot for over 26 years , the last time we had poor service, these time we waited 20min for water over a hour and never got our drinks refill, we use to come here and dress up for a Romanic place , Now you can walk in with any thing own these down grades the restraint history, we come here at lest 4 to 6 times a year and in Florida I propose to my wife here , will don't no if we will come back

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We went for our anniversary and had an e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had an enjoyable time. Nick our waiter was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the slow pace of fondue and melting ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love the slow pace of fondue and melting pot does a great job of making an evening out memorable.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Me and my best friend went here for dinn ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Me and my best friend went here for dinner. It was nice but waiting to move on to the next course did take a while. This would be a great for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just an overall great experience. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Just an overall great experience. The small touches from the hostess to the waiter knowing why you are there and your name.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere. You feel like you ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. You feel like you are in Switzerland, but very expensive! Great gor a specisl occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent server and Hanna was especiall ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent server and Hanna was especially wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came out New Years Eve. The food was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came out New Years Eve. The food was great as usual but the waiter service was sorry and very slow. He had to wait tables up front & ours too. We saw him every 20 minutes and then we had to ask somebody where he was. I didn't appreciate paying 20 percent gratuity . the service wasn't worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The Melting Pot is one of our favorite p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Melting Pot is one of our favorite places to dine. The food and service was outstanding as always.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting. The m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first time visiting. The meal, the food, the service was excellent. The explanation on the different types of fondues as done well. Did not feel rushed. Will do this again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Jessica was phenomenal

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server Jessica was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend brought me here for a surp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My girlfriend brought me here for a surprise dinner and I fell in love with this restaurant!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Private Room, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, good service, food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was great, good service, food and experience.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Melting Pot customer since it opened, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As Melting Pot customer since it opened, I've enjoyed many special occasions here. The service has always been impeccable as have the flavors/freshness of the food! However, I feel that some recent changes may prevent new customers from becoming long standing customers like me. 1. There is now a charge for some of the cooking options (the other options are not nearly as tasty), & given the prices already being charged, it's not a good way to keep customers coming back IMO. 2. The batters for frying the entree items have both changed & they desperately need to return to the original recipes. 3. The plates for the entree's are now terribly small and they make the dining experience a bit more challenging.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for Christmas Eve the kids love it. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve the kids love it. It is plenty of food!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I did not care for the mandatory set men ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I did not care for the mandatory set menu that had to be shared with one other person - what if one person is vegetarian, or does not eat red meat, etc?? We were given standard menus only to be informed afterwards when we had made our choices that none of that was available and the set menu was being forced on us. Service was indifferent - drinks were not provided frequently and there was not enough dessert chocolate so half of the items provided with our dessert were not used since the chocolate was finished. It was not worth the money charged due to set menu and indifferent service. The 20% gratuity added to the bill by Melting Pot was also "cheeky" since the expectation was an additional gratuity would be added to that - due to the reasons outlined above we provided none. We also felt rushed - dessert menu provided when we were only half way complete with entrée, bill provided (without being asked for) when we started dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waiter was great! The food was good. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our waiter was great! The food was good. It was very romantic they had rose pedals on the table and a corner booth!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although service was a little lacking ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Although service was a little lacking our server was very social personable and awesome!! Jessica gave great recommendations for our first time!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, as usual. On time seating ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service, as usual. On time seating. Fondueing is fun. Worth the drive and the cost.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love this place. The food is great an ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love this place. The food is great and the level of service is amazing. Ask for Les or Michael and you will not be disappointed. Those two men are incredible servers. Don't come here if you are in a hurry. Don't come here if you are going to complain that you had to cook your own food in the fondue pot. A leisurely meal and cooking your own food in the pot is part of the experience! Besides the cheese, entrees, and chocolate fondues, the cocktails are incredible as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much better than our last experience. F ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Much better than our last experience. Food was great and service was attentive. Had a great leisurely 2 hour meal. Food overpriced for what you get- you're paying for the experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing dinner. Went for my girlfriends ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Amazing dinner. Went for my girlfriends birthday. The waiter made it a great time. She is gluten intolerant and he made sure that there was no gluten brought to the table. Will be visiting again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to a Fondue Restaurant. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our first time to a Fondue Restaurant. Not sure what I was expecting, but the reality was "OK".

We had beer and melted cheese fondue for our appetizer. Had we known that it would be half and half beer and cheese, we would have gone for 100% cheese. It was very beery. OK for some, not so much for others.

Our Entree was good. There were different kinds of meet that we dipped into a combination of Chicken Broth and Wine. The meat was tender. Although, there were few vegetables to dip as part of the entrees.

The Entree were various fruits and brownies dipped in chocolate. Also, good.

Bottom line was that the food was good but not great. The service was good, but not exceptional. The atmosphere was more appropriate for larger parties with kids, where the novelty would have been more appreciated.

For a couple of old Foodies, I'd say that this was probably the last time that we will visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fun dinner experience!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fun dinner experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun experience, marginal food quality.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fun experience, marginal food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Another family and us went to celebrate ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Another family and us went to celebrate Christmas and my daughters birthday. My friend had gotten an email that kids eat free on sundays so we made the 45 minute trip to have a special night. Well since each Melting Pot is independently owned - that was a Florida location only. So our 6 and 7 year olds who hated the cheese and barely ate the rest of the meal cost almost $40 themselves (server offered them 3.00 beverages ...). Honestly- since the server was auto grating is- he didn't seems so enthusiastic to be helping us. And took forever.

Not worth the $325 between two families and the 45 minute drive. Could have gone to Flemings or Perry's and had our food cooked for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. Nice romantic setting. Nice ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Nice romantic setting. Nice staff. Great service. Great experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I usually love to come to Melting Pot fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I usually love to come to Melting Pot for special occasions like my birthday and anniversary. I brought my daughter and her friends here for her birthday. Our waiter was awesome, the food was great. My issue was with the manager, Michael. I booked a reservation for 10, so obviously it was a party and likely to have elevated noise level. My autistic middle school daughter was able to have 7 friends come and celebrate her and they were excited to be there. Yes, they were a little noisy, which is why I also booked the table in the afternoon, when I knew the crowd would be smaller. My daughter and her friends were enjoying themselves when the manager came over and was very condescending to me and was asking me to keep the noise down for another table. He ruined the rest of the meal for me as I became concerned about the noise level and I lost focus on my daughter being able to have fun with friends. I now understand that this restaurant is not kid friendly, nor do they want real celebrations to take place. After the amount of money I spent, I would have hoped that our group would have been treated with the same amount of respect. I will not be returning to the Melting Pot again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The table was sticky when we set down. O ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The table was sticky when we set down. Other than that, the meal was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, great food. Large por ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent service, great food. Large portions. Be sure to try the chocolate fondue dessert. It's excellent. Also, the cheese fondue is very good too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was extremely nice and very a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The waiter was extremely nice and very attentive. It was a great dining experience. The fondue, salads, and desserts were fantastic as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went here with my brand new fiancee to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I went here with my brand new fiancee to present the ring for engagement. We went on Ugly Sweater Night where they had a unique meal prepared for the event. I have Celiac Disease so I cannot eat wheat products and they were incredibly accommodating. I have gone here before but I always wanted to try the oil frying option for the meats. They did not have in-house gluten-free batter but they let me bring in my own gluten-free flour which they used to make a batter specifically for my table.

The waiter was incredibly welcoming and the entire experience was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fun environment! The wait ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food and fun environment! The wait staff was extremely helpful with the menu and cooking choices.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy dining at the Met ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I enjoy dining at the Meting Pot several times throughout the year. We love the relaxed, slower paced experience as opposed to most restaurants that are eager to turn over a table. The food and the service are exceptional and have never disappointed. The Melting Pot is definitely one of our favorites!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.