About The Melting Pot - Houston

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each morsel is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 766-4453

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Houston, Houston, TX

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Christmas Eve - Set Menu Event.
Choose any Four Course Menu Experience or our Fondue Favorite Feature - 82.90 per couple (with Lobster $89.90). Children under 12 $19.95 three course. 20% Suggested Gratuity add to all tables. Open 2 until last seating at 9:30pm

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

DIP INTO A NEW YEAR - Set Menu 4 Course Event
$89.95 per adult + tax and suggested 20% gratuity
Special 4 Course Menu + Champagne Toast, Framed photo, Gift bag and more. The restaurant is decorated to set a festive mood. All reservations secured with a CC- there is a $35/person cancellation fee.

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Romantic (82)
Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fun (45)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Groups (42)
Cozy (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Family Style (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Private Room (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and food. Great place for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and food. Great place for quiet meals and family friendly for most ages. I would prefer if there were a little bit more options on kids menu choices. What other foods can be used that kids like that can be dipped in the fondue?

There is a timer online on the website, however, i would recommend a small table timer for kids to use to time their foods as hands on makes their experience better. Maybe have it light up instead buzzing to keep the quiet scenery pleasant for you and others? This will help reduce the "is it done yet?" It is fun for them to look at the meat and learn how the meat changes during cooking. This place offers a learning experience for children too. The service is always great. The food is well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were only there for dessert, and it w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We were only there for dessert, and it was our first time there. We didn't realize that the pricing was per plate. Like I said, it was just dessert, so it wasn't the end of the world, but it would have been nice for the staff to let us know that as it may be on the main menu, but we didn't see that information on the dessert menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious and awesome service!!! Great e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious and awesome service!!! Great experience, definitely going back!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tristen was great! Very attentive to us ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Tristen was great! Very attentive to us without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a nice dinner with my wife and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for a nice dinner with my wife and friends. We have wanted to try it for a long time and I would say it was worth finally going. Service was awesome, food was great, and the experience was unique and fun. I do a lot of cooking and entertaining so this was a great way to enjoy cooking, great company, and a cool outing. Prices are a little lofty, but you are really paying for the experience. The only very small inconvenience was the noise level when talking to friends, but we were out to enjoy and so that just fed our evening of fun and excitement.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our anniversary here. My s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here. My sweet husband had arranged for rose petals and a rose to be on the table when we arrived. What a nice surprise! We had the Wisconsin cheese trio fondue, and turtle fondue for dessert. The service was great and we had a lovely time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The host and hostess were very accommoda ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The host and hostess were very accommodating. The bartender waited on us. We had a 13 month old with us and the bartender understood children. We did not have to worry about items being inappropriately placed in front of our baby. He provided exceptional service which was much appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a date with the woman I love an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a date with the woman I love and the Melting Pot made the evening perfect. We had the Lovers Lane package and the setting, table, service, and meal were all truly superlative. For a special night out, this is one place I will always consider

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Teacher's Night! Full house but always a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Teacher's Night! Full house but always a great experience. Our server really made it a great dinner date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my dining experience. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I really enjoyed my dining experience. Our host was very accommodating and knowledgeable about menu options. I also liked how private the sections are. It was my birthday, and the staff wished me happy birthday upon my arrival. I even got a birthday plate with my dessert. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place. We have been going for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fantastic place. We have been going for a few years and it is always a splendid experience. The staff go out of their way to make a satisfying and unforgettable evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ours was an 18th Anniversary dinner, wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ours was an 18th Anniversary dinner, with 3 pre-teen boys. The dinner was Excellent and our waitress was Very good with our children. Also, her knowledge on the different dishes was impressive as we decided on our different courses of our four-course meals. I would give 'The Melting Pot' my Highest recommendation for a restaurant to impress your date with. Very quiet and the layout of the restaurant gives the impression that you are all alone together. Excellent Job. !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. Was our first time a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was great. Was our first time and everything was explained well. We tried a variety of the four course meals cooked Mojo style. Enjoyed all of it. The desert course was fantastic.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time visiting the Melt ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my first time visiting the Melting Pot. It was such a great experience and I can't wait to go back. The waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. It is just such a different dining experience. It is so interactive and delicious. I definitely recommend the 4 course experience, especially your first time. It takes like two hours to eat and you really get to savor the food and flavors.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very intimate place soothing music great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very intimate place soothing music great host and servers the food is amazing drinks are a delight and you must finish the night with desert

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quick Bite, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is definitely a place fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is definitely a place for family and friends to have a great dining experience! Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot has supremely well train ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Melting Pot has supremely well trained staff who are quick to meet the needs of its different diners. The family tables around us were accommodated as well as the quiet dinners for two. Wait staff are well educated on the menu options, and quick to modify any meals when requests. A great meal every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time eating here, for my 29th birt ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time eating here, for my 29th birthday after hearing rave reviews from all of my friends. The food is amazing!!! Everything is seasoned perfectly, excellent portions, romantic, private. Service was top notch, very knowledgeable and friendly servers. I am definitely coming here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are not sure what kind of place the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

They are not sure what kind of place they are. You enter a strip center with the appearance of fine dining- white cloth across forearm, and from there your party is seated in booths or tables where casual food servers walk you through a complex fondue menu. The food is just ok, and upon ordering coffee with dessert they're out of cream or milk. Does that mean the full service bar can't serve a White Russian or whatever other cocktails which call for cream? They don't bother to run next door to the Valero and buy a carton of milk? Good Lord! I think a small carton is less than $3.00.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was one of the best eating experience ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was one of the best eating experiences I've ever had awesome place delicious food me and my hubby loved it and we will definitely be coming back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall this place was great! We went fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall this place was great! We went for a date night that was long overdue, so I scheduled ahead and had them put rose peddles on the table ( The romance package) and it was lovely. The only thing I had a problem with was the fact that I made the reservation days ahead of time, got there 10 minutes early and I still had to wait 25 minutes for my table. Aside from that, the food and experience were definitely worth the price. That was the first of many for me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I had one of the greatest re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I had one of the greatest restraunt experiences thus far! Love the food and also love the customer service from the waiter as well as the manager on duty. Over all i give this experience 100 stars!!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was awesome. Exceeded expect ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was awesome. Exceeded expectations on every level. Portions look small but if you go with the 4 course you'll be fine

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food--I'm always satis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Service and food--I'm always satisfied after leaving the Melting Pot. It's pricey so we usually only go for special occasions or for their special events.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised my girlfriend for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Surprised my girlfriend for her birthday. We really didn't know what to expect. It was our first time there. It was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok but not great. I honestl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was ok but not great. I honestly didn't think it was worth the price. But it was a different experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

JJ was an excellent waiter who went abo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

JJ was an excellent waiter who went above and beyond to make the dinner great. He helped us out with understanding the menu.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from Miami and am a #1 customer at ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I am from Miami and am a #1 customer at Melting Pot back home. I wasn't surprised when the one from Houston was just as good! :-) great service and food... AS USUAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating here for our Anniversary ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We love eating here for our Anniversary or Birthday or just a meal with friends. The waitstaff is very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maurice the server was excellent. The m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Maurice the server was excellent. The manager gave us a issue with having 9 people for a birthday dinner. We had used the Melting Pot's planners to book this event, but she had issues, but we resolved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience. Tristan was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Tristan was dead on with his recommendations and provided outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome. Very knowledgeab ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server was awesome. Very knowledgeable with a lot of attention to detail. The anniversary congratulations from the manager was a pleasant surprise. 10 of 10. Will come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was ok but getting our cocktails ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Service was ok but getting our cocktails & a bottle of wine was extremely slow, we ordered everything at our table but especially the bartender to bring our cocktails ahead of time before the wine. He made 1 out of 3 drinks right, brought out drinks we didn't even order!

The food was excellent as always.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Can't go wrong with the 4 Course Experie ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Can't go wrong with the 4 Course Experience; the Land & Sea was delicious! If you're stuck for which chocolate to choose, I recommend the S'mores. It was amazing and worked well with all of the selections offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starting with Dawn the hostesses started ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Starting with Dawn the hostesses started things out very pleasant, then passed us off to Tristian which was phenomenal he was entertaining and enthusiastic about what he was doing and the way he communicated with us! Everything was fantastic and I thank you all for making my experience great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fondue was amazing! But ONLY the fon ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The fondue was amazing! But ONLY the fondue, I am dissatisfied to find out that I paid $150 to cook my own meal of which was small portion and not cleaned seafood. We were new and did not know we were going to have to cook the food ourselves but after trying it we were very disappointed.Our server was slow to greet us, get our order, And to bring our food... But was able to promptly serve the table across from us. We were FORCED to order only one type of fondue and dessert because we were put at a table that has only one burner. My seafood was not cleaned/deveined and my steak was not seasoned. PLUS the fact that I had to FRY my top sirloin, the batter didn't stay on the food and the server splattered the hot oil all over the table and myself after we were done! Had we known about the poor service and the horrible main course options, we would have only ordered fondue and left to get dinner elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Overall the food was good, but not great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall the food was good, but not great. However, the dessert fondue was very good. (We had the Smores version but with dark chocolate) The restaurant was clean, but the appearance is dated and tired. The booth seat padding was worn out and hurt both of our backs after a 2.5-hour dinner. Yes, 2.5 hours - be prepared for a long experience. That is not a complaint, just letting people know what to expect. What dropped this to an overall 2-star rating was our waiter. He was very impersonal and talked at us instead of to us. It was like we were on a ride at 6 flags and he was tired of saying the same thing over and over again. He wasn't rude, but he certainly did not make us feel welcomed either. Overall for the price ($130 for 2 people before tip) we expected more, and with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our meal was good. We go here for a cou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our meal was good. We go here for a couple special occasions per yer. Always get what we expect.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leroy was an excellent server and made t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Leroy was an excellent server and made the experience even better by his knowledge of the menu, jokes and recommendations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun to go with a group of friends. We ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fun to go with a group of friends. We had a great time, definitely something we will remember! The restaurant was kinda hidden and we passed it up on our way there. Service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.