Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About The Melting Pot - Houston

The Melting Pot Restaurant is where fun is cooked up fondue style. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, long overdue date night or celebrating with a group.

We are the premier fondue restaurant, centrally located on Westheimer, providing a casually elegant dining experience and an intimate atmosphere. The relaxing four-course experience begins with a cheese fondue prepared table side and fresh salads while your entrée pot heats up. You’ll simmer a variety of meats, seafood and vegetables in the cooking style of your choice. Each bite is hot, fresh and delicious and all entrées are accompanied by an array of dipping sauces. Chocolate fondue is the finale, served with decadent dippers. Most make reservations for the four-course dining experience but more than a few have stopped by to satisfy that cheese fondue or chocolate craving. The Melting Pot also features a great wine list, specialty cocktails and martinis.

6100 Westheimer Rd
Suite 146
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Japanese, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday : 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm, Closed July 4th.

Cross Street:
Between Hilcroft & Fountainview at Greenridge

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 532-5011

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/houston

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking available.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Wendel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (77)
Romantic (71)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Fun (52)
Cozy (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Authentic (12)
Family Style (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 hours ago

Amazing. Tyrin was the absolute best waiter I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

It's been a long time since our last visit but the food and service is still top notch. Definitely a great place for a special occasion. We enjoyed our time there and the great food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here four times in the past six years - the first time we were seated in a nice romantic area that was fairly quiet. The other three times have been loud. This visit included a guest about four tables away talking and laughing so loudly that we couldn't hear ourselves from time to time. The first time we went that was quiet was wonderful, every other time has been loud and we forget so we go back.... it will probably be about a year before we forget about the noise and go back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

There are no tables- only booths. So you feel like you are in a private, romantic setting.
It's a lot more enjoyable than expected! It's like you're eating gourmet foods- and, by the way, delicious!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We arrived at the restaurant for Father's Day, had reservations for 3, several groups of 4 or less arrived after us with no reservations and were seated before us. Was not happy about that. Finally sat us and people that were seated after us were immediately greeted by their server.
Our server took 15 minutes before we saw anyone. We were served our 1st course and she disappeared again for a good 30 minutes. By this time I was ready to leave. My husband got the Manager who said he was very sorry, told us the server had too many tables. I'm thinking you're the "Manager", rectify the situation. Needless to say, he did not. Very slow service the rest of the night. For the price your paying, you would expect a little more professionalism. I begrudgingly left a 20% tip. The Manager took 20% off our check, would rather have had decent service. This is the 2nd time I've eaten here. The first time was for Mother's Day, on that occasion , they completely lost my daughter's reservations. She still had the confirmation on her phone, but it took them over an hour to seat us. The kept telling us "we would be seated in just a minute". Needless to say I'm DONE with The Melting Pot!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Highly recommend this place 5 stars across the board

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined for Father's Day. It was a remarkable experience that we all enjoyed! The food was delicious and our waiter, DJ, was knowledgeable about the menu, very friendly, and attentive. We will definitely go back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was outstanding! I only wish I could remember his name, but he told of us he was from Alabama. He was quite the comic and very attentive to our table. Thanks Melting Pot for another wonderful dinner and evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very nice experience. Went for a date night and had roses at the table. It was cozy, romantic and private. Enjoyed the 4 course meal. Spent about 2 hours in here :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Maurice was greatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great environment. Kids always love it. Food was good. Will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

First time at the Melting Pot and we had a great experience. Good food, excellent wait staff and plenty of food. Expect to spend upwards of 3 hours to dine so not great for small children. Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere, friendly staff. Definitely recommend for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We always love Melting Pot. The food is fresh and tastes great. The drinks are awesome and unique. And the service is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our server was very forgetful and there were long delays between each course. Our cheese course wasn't prepared properly (I worked at a melting pot for three years) so all I could taste was the cheap wine that hadn't been cooked off. We were offered chocolate to go since our meal took so long and he asked what dippers we would like and when he brought out the chocolate none of the requested dippers were present. Normally I love melting pot but maybe not this location and definitely not this server.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 29, 2017

If you want a quiet place to talk with reasonable prices for the upscale atmosphere then this is a great location!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Pretty pricey for what you get, but the food is very good. There is a lot of variety in the fondue selection as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We drove all the way from Beaumont and we will definitely be back! Great, food and price!! Loved it!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was excellent. My friends had never been to the Melting Pot before, and were a bit reticent to try it, but came away fans, saying they would be taking their friends there in turn!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I was not impressed with the steak at all and do not recommend eating the steak as it is boiled in seasonings. Not a place for steak lovers. I would recommend the cheese fondue and chocolate fondue but without the additions as they were not worth the price and poor tasting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My husband and I absolutely love The Melting Pot! We wish we could go more frequently but the price makes that difficult for us. It's always worth every penny though!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

was ok..service was bland and process took longer than usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The food, the drinks and especially the service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I LOVED the "experience" that the Melting Pot delivered. The food selections were extraordinary. I just wouldn't do it again, if that makes any sense at all? Our server was very informed, cordial, engaging, and proficient. There was a crying baby on Mother's Day 2017 the entire tyme when we dined, but there was nothing we could do about that. It was a blast for a one time event even for me, but I just didn't get into cooking my food? I can TOTALLY see where this could be exciting for some, just not me. Also, it took us a long minute to really get the hang of things and make the "dining system" run smoothly - with (1) pot to cook in. Maybe if there were multiple pots to cook in? The dessert was to live for! Just won't be going back. Guess I'm too traditional and conservative when it comes to "my" dining choices and a $180 meal (Mother's Day set menu price for 3).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Once more, food was great; from cheese fondue to white wine, all was delicious. My only complain was that I made a reservation one day in advance and still had to wait over 30 minutes for a table. It is important to respect client's time, especially if they took the time to make a reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day lunch. Food was good. Ambiance is good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Service along with a fantastic dinner

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I really enjoyed cooking my food at the table and trying some new things.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was awesome and Michael was a great host. It was the first time at The Melting Pot for many of the members of our group and they had a blast.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was okay. Seems like there were cuts with the quality of food based on my last visit. Not sure if I would call this my favorite place anymore given the changes. However, this has been re- occurrence with all the restaurants I have been to over the past month or so. I am assuming it's due to the downturn market.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have visited The Melting Pot a few times and have always enjoyed the food and the service has always been exceptional. Takes about an hour (sometimes longer) to get there from where I live, but well worth the drive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

From the time we entered the door, we were treated with much respect and hospitality. the four course meal was excellent, as was the knowledge of all the staff that we encountered.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The melting pot always provides wonderful food, and I am very pleased to see a wine flight option which wasn't there last time I went. But the highlight for us, in the Houston location, was Luis (the Chef) who clearly has great international food experience and was able to make excellent recommendations based on my comments. He really added to the evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had great time and really enjoyed the food and service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We really enjoyed this visit to the Melting Pot.

We chose the four course option - and appreciated every offering.

And we ordered extra potato and brocolli - which were yummy after being warmed up in the (coq au vin) brothe we used for our entree fondue. So we were very full by the end of the meal!

Service was great too!

And as one of the visitors is a coeliac, we particularly appreciated the comprehensive GF menu options.

A great visit all round - we will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All was good up till the end of third course, then there was a delay. Table was not cleared for a long time. Fondue pot steaming, messy dishes & leftovers, strong fragrance from spices. Then further delay to get dessert course. Waiter not available.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love Melting Pot for special occasions, I hope they will consider of opening another one at the Woodlands location. There's one a long time ago but closed down.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and wait staff are great in making sure you have a great time while you are dining with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a well-lived experience from the first time that my wife and I visited the Melting Pot. Once we revisited this extravagant dining facility, we have come to the conclusion that this is a location that we will continue to visit in our coming years, especially for special occasions. Thank you Melting Pot for bringing back those wonderful memories that we had the opportunity to experience from the beginning of our fondue journey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Several of the items we ordered including a bottle of wine were out of stock. The waiter was unaware of this and had to return each time to inform us. The excuse it was a Monday and they had a busy weekend. What's his excuse for not knowing ahead of time?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.