About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Fun (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Family Style (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic service and food was delicious ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service and food was delicious. Better than expected and better than previous experiences. More variety than before too. Oh and my cocktail was perfection!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the cheese and chocolate, feel the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoy the cheese and chocolate, feel the full meal is really over priced for the amount you get.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Great date night as always. The four co ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Great date night as always. The four course is always our favorite. Superb coffee during dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for my husband's birthday and go ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We came for my husband's birthday and got a tiny table by a cold exit door, our service was terribly slow as if we had been forgotten about.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was great! Food was very tas ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our server was great! Food was very tasty. Due to a large party we had to wait too long for our 8:30 reservation! Also, very pricey.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They had a shop party of 60 in the main ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They had a shop party of 60 in the main room... they should never allow this as the party of 60 treated it has Bar venue not a nice restaurant... the head lady of the group stood on a step stool and announced raffle tickets... not the place for this type of event

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Placed reservation weeks in advance and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Placed reservation weeks in advance and arrived before the crowds (by reservation plan). We were seated at the first table inside the door making our evening unnecessarily cold and busy. The food was "ok" but not what I had remembered from my visit a few years ago. Our server was distracted (I assume) and answered questions or provided instructions with fragmented thoughts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

It was really good I really recommend th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was really good I really recommend this place..... but be prepared to spend a lot of money........ for a party of 4 with no alcohol our bill came around 160 dollars....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I came here for our two ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for our two year anniversary for dessert only. We had milk chocolate fondue with the normal tasting platter of fruit, cake, marshmallows, etc. and it was delicious! Great quality chocolate and great ambiance, but my word, the price! I will only ever come here for very very special occasions, as the price is definitely not justifiable for the small portions you receive. Just know that if you are planning on dining here, you will be spending a pretty penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Planning this date at this location was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Planning this date at this location was easy and affordable, the food service and atmosphere were outstanding. Highly recommended place for dates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Spicy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good service. Prices seem a l ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food. Good service. Prices seem a little high. The 3 course meal took almost 2.5 hours to complete. The restaurant was empty and we got sat right next to the kitchen and bathrooms. That was kind of a bummer. It was a loud and busy area.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We did some prep work (calling in menu a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We did some prep work (calling in menu ahead of time, etc) to make it a peaceful and simple event where we could focus on each other.... and once we got there, it seemed our pre-planning didn't matter. Our 20 yr old waiter was sloppy, less than professional, and somewhat inappropriate. The menu online did not match what in reality was offered for large parties and became very confusing. We were asked to reorder some things we had already chosen and called in ahead of time. It was especially frustrating b/c we were there to celebrate a milestone anniversary for our parents and wanted a smooth, special time. We will choose a different restaurant for a better experience the next time.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Four courses takes a while and it is wor ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Four courses takes a while and it is worth the time spent to enjoy flavorful fondue and cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Way over priced. Server coughed on our u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Way over priced. Server coughed on our uncooked food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This was our first experience with The M ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first experience with The Melting Pot and other than the cost we loved it. We will be back again but probably won't do more than the cheese of just the chocolate. Might try the $35.00 per plate with a movie ticket deal and see how that goes before we make up our mind on how often we will dine here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place. Very clean. Loved the Top ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place. Very clean. Loved the Top Shelf Fiesta cheese fondue. Takes a couple of hours for 4 course meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We're big fans of The Melting Pot, and w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We're big fans of The Melting Pot, and we've been there dozens times. This one's a little farther from us than the one in Bolingbrook, IL, but we find ourselves near GR often. We visited the GR Melting Pot on my birthday. It was a terrible experience. The worst of it was the service. Even though the place wasn't busy, the waiter was slow, didn't bring some items, and didn't check back for long stretches of time. We saw him wandering around the dining room, sometimes cleaning tables, so it's not like he was too busy with other tables. We managed to flag down another server who helped us out, but that managed to really confuse our waiter. The food was delicious, except one thing we ordered never made it to the table, both batters were off (the sesame batter was thick enough to be bread dough and the tempura was an odd color and didn't cook up right). Oh, and when it came time for dessert, they were out of milk chocolate. How does The Melting Pot run out of milk chocolate? What a disappointing outing. When it first opened this location was much nicer. The waitstaff was very professional. They trotted out a sommelier to talk to you about wine pairings. The manager stopped by during the meal to see how you were doing. We always rave about The Melting Pot, and often bring people there with us when we go. I'm glad we didn't bring anyone along this time, and I don't see how I could recommend it to others who live in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been to the Melting Pot in Grand ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to the Melting Pot in Grand Rapids on several occasions. This was one time when we went a few days before Christmas. I would not suggest going during this time of year. Either the staff was having a bad day or they were very busy and distracted. What is normally quite a nice time was just "OK" this time. When I take my family out and drop $150 on a meal, I expect it to be a little better than this experience. We still left a 20% tip, but I don't think it was earned during this visit. But everyone is trying to pay the bills.

Specifically, the waiter left us hanging for drinks; forgot to bring things to us; spilled fondue oil in one of our alcoholic drinks (and nearly said to drink it, it will be ok) and was slow to respond (ie didn't refill my kids water; bring requested items or pick-up used plates); the busboy was overheard dropping the "F-bomb" in front of my pre-teen kids (I don't think he realized he was in earshot). We made the best of it and tried to enjoy ourselves. We will be going back, but not during a Christmas or other holiday time of year.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great date place, but ask for a table in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great date place, but ask for a table in the back and plan at least 2-3 hours if you are going to do a full 4 courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server was wonderful. She came back ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our server was wonderful. She came back consistently at the perfect time. The food was amazing as well, overall such a fun experience with the fondue and cooking our entrees at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing time. Great food and g ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was an amazing time. Great food and great server. I do feel it is over priced a little but loved it all the same.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service. Made my daughters birt ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing service. Made my daughters birthday a special one! 5 stars!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, , Good for Groups, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager was inconsiderate, rude, and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The manager was inconsiderate, rude, and dismissive. The food as always was outstanding. The water while pleasant was forgetful, overworked, and sweating profusely. This place would be fantastic if they could find a decent manager and allow the servers the opportunity to do a decent job.

This is the last time I pay $200 for dinner to have a manager tell me "noted" and turn his back on me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

The fondues (cheese and chocolate) were ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The fondues (cheese and chocolate) were delicious but as a group of 6 people we had to share 2 pots for the table so we couldn't order the main fondue because of fish and shrimps allergies..so we only ate cheese and chocolate fondue but the portions were so small we were hungry at the end of the dinner. It was expensive already despite the half of the price because of the happy hour. So too expensive for what we get. And the server did not clean the induction table so we could not breath as soon as the pots started to warm...that smelled burning with smoke all in our faces!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Our first time at the restaurant was ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant was very enjoyable. The service was outstanding as was the food. We will definitely recommend this restaurant and will return in the near future.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first ever time coming to th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my first ever time coming to the Melting Pot and it was to die for. The service from our waitress was incredible. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our two year anniversary and this had to be the best way to spend it. The presentation and explanation we got was spot on. I would recommend this placed to several people that I know. Everything was handled in a very timely fashion and the food was absolutely incredible. I can't thank them enough for making my two year anniversary a memorable one!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely amazing and I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing and I can't wait to come back!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was SO pleasant and full of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our waitress was SO pleasant and full of information which she generously shared with us. We weren't sure about the taste of the cheese fondue...perhaps less garlic? The variety and taste of the dips cannot be surpassed! This collection allows a person to experiment and develop their own favorites. Also, the variety of meats offered is great. It makes for a special, truly individual meal. The cuts and portions were perfect. We love coming here for special occasions! Its tasty AND fun! Oh, yeah, the drinks were good, too...water, Sprite and Coke.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time there. Service sta ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was our first time there. Service started out great, and then it started getting busy and I felt we were slightly forgotten about. Everyone was very polite. I would say let the customers put their desired amount of chopped garlic rather than the server, it was a bit overpowering for my husband and I. Overall very different and fun. I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waitress was amazing! Helped out with th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Waitress was amazing! Helped out with the menu a ton! Fun anniversary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were their for our four year annivers ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We were their for our four year anniversary dinner and it was exceptional. There was a loud child nearby but we understand that cannot be controlled by the restaurant. They left halfway through our meal and it was very quiet afterwards. The waitress was excellent and made the experience all the better.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great Beer, , Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Girls Night Out for 6. We had a fantasti ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Girls Night Out for 6. We had a fantastic time, loved the food and had a great server. We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time here. It was a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time here. It was a great experience. Our waiter was extremely polite, helpful and informative on the menu. The food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. 2 adults, 8yo and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our first time there. 2 adults, 8yo and 11yo, 2hrs 45min experience costing $250.00 including the tip. We had alot of food left over . Very disappointed there wasnt some effort by our waitstaff to help us understand the menu and save a few dollars . Wife and i left saying "never again". Kids were glad it was over.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We were lucky to get outstanding service ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were lucky to get outstanding service with a very professional waiter - this can be hit or miss

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our visit. My friends talked ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We enjoyed our visit. My friends talked about taking their children there. I loved the salad and I'm usually not a salad person. Everthing was very good but the chocolate at the end is to die for! We were allowed to substitute dark for milk chocolate in the one with peanut butter and I smiled with every bite. My personal fav. was the rice crispy which added crunch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend out for our anniver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for our anniversary and it was our first time there. The food was amazing and so was the service. Our server took the time to explain the whole menu and answer any questions we had. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Family Style, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing place for a special occasion, it ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Amazing place for a special occasion, it's pricey so I wouldn't be going all the time but perfect for an occasion, great food and atmosphere. And the service was fantastic

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing!! I went for my fir ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Service was amazing!! I went for my first year anniversary with my boyfriend and we had an amazing experience! I would recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took 15 minutes to get a drink from the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took 15 minutes to get a drink from the bar. Service was sparse, but when present was very rushed. Couldn't figure out why the guy was talking so fast. Food was fine, service was poor. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.