Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (63)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Romantic (56)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Cozy (41)
Fun (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Private Room (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

Spencer was an amazing server. This was our second time having him serve us. Great fast service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter and it took more than 2 hours and wait staff wasn't very attentive especially considering Happy the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My girl friends and I were out for my birthday, we were there for almost 3 hours just waiting on food. We got the 4 course meals, but did a lot of waiting.

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Took my sweetheart there for her birthday dinner at her request; I had never been there myself. It was a slow night and we were taken to an intimate table for two. It was a fabulous night to say the least. The drinks were great and the Sangria some of the best I have had; it primed us for the summer nights on the town ahead of us. Everything was fun and delicious. Plan on a long slow dinner (took salads to go) and spending a fair amount of cash! For the two of us, with tip, we dropped $150+.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Love coming to Melting Pot for a fun night out, especially for an occasion! We were out for my birthday, and there was a birthday scroll that was pre-printed with historic events that happened that day...so cool! The staff was very friendly, and our waitress did a wonderful job. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I went to the Melting Pot for the award winning fondue and it was delicious!It was heavier than a Swiss fondue and had a great, nutty flavor. I also am considered a regular there and Chelsie, the Manager, is so sweet. This is a place where you go to enjoy your meal because it is an experience. You turn off your cell phones and enjoy each course.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent Grand Cru fondue. Absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A few friends & I went for a fun night out & The Melting Pot was awesome! The food & atmosphere as well as service were above standard. The only draw back was the prices but for a special occasion I would definitely recommend this place. Right before the last course the power went almost completely out due to a big storm but we were able to finish our meal & received coupons for out next visit for the inconvenience. Over all great time & place!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Expensive dinner, but so worth it! Also, a long dinner. Great for conversation. A perfect special occasion and/or date night.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was delicious and the experience was a lot of fun. It was perfect for an afternoon lunch with a group of friends. I plan to go back for a date night too!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was my first and only experience at The Melting Pot and unfortunately I was a little disappointed. The food was good and it was filling... eventually. I went into the evening hungry and planning on ordering a four course meal, knowing it would take some time. However, the service was a bit too slow for my taste. There was a lot of waiting between courses after our food was finished, especially after the salad waiting for the entree. This seemed a little confusing since it's not cooked when it's brought out, just plated (nicely) but should not have taken as long as it did. By the time dessert arrived, we had been there almost two hours- the entree took some time to cook but we had all skewers full and in the broth until everything was gone so the majority of time was waiting. The environment is nice and the booths are comfortable but the slow service and price will not have me returning any time soon. In retrospect it was a fun experience but once was enough.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my boyfriend for his birthday. We were seated in one of the cozy booths for 2. Everything was perfect!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Between the great food, amazing service, helpful staff, and fun experience, I would highly recommend The Melting Pot to all my friends. I will certainly be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our waitress was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, attentive, and helpful. Food was delivered in a timely manner. Food is a little pricey. We enjoyed our meal overall.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We got the four courses and it was great! The waitress was a little slow but very helpful. There was not one thing we didnt enjoy! I would highly recommend the melting pot

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We loved it the food was amazing and our server was so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another great experience at the Melting Pot. Come prepared to take your time. This restaurant is all about enjoying the food and experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great but not for the price and cooking it yourself. I get that is the idea but the prices could come down. Our server was super informational and helpful however service all around was slow. We assumed this was on the kitchens end as she was busting her butt when bringing it from the kitchen. We expected a longer time frame for the experience of what the Melting Pot process is however we waited for lengthy times between each course in which we were feeling impatient and done with the experience by the time our entree meat came. Like the way the process works, just wish it would have gone quicker and prices weren't so high for what you get. All in all, good food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love going to the Melting Pot! Always fun to celebrate any special occasion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went there with three friends, and we all had a fabulous time. The presentation by the server was excellent. All the food was delicious, salad with fresh, cheese fondu was very tasty. The main course had a very nice portions. The staff is very friendly was nice to see them helping each other out. I would definitely go there again with the coupon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Quite pricy but good for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A fun experience, the food was good, but very expensive for what you get. The whole thing took 3 hours. Worth trying once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our waiter, Spencer, was fabulous! Knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful. We had a great time catching up & tried some new foods as well. All of the food was great and the duck was new to both of us. My friend didn't care for it as much as I did, however. We tried one of the specialty cocktails, Love Martini, and it was a huge hit for both of us. The nice, quiet atmosphere was a great place for 2 old friends to catch up. Can't wait until we can do it again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The overall experience was fantastic. The server was very helpful as this was our first trip to the restaurant. We chose the 4 course dinner, which was more than enough food for us. I would definitely make the drive back.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Sorry to say the overall experience was not great. The whole affair took just a bit over two hours. We each had cocktail but that took close to 20 minutes to get. Another 15-20 minutes before any food arrived. The cheese fondue was very good. The salad and main dinner of lobster, shrimp, chicken and fillet mignon arrived in the first part of the second hour and except for the beef if was as good as expected. The fillet was really just awful. Difficult to chew, no real flavor, just bad meat period. Desert was the standard chocolate fondue that took 25 minutes after ordering and it was as good as expected, just very late. The waitress was very nice and who knows why the long waits maybe to encourage more drinking? On our way out the waitress who was very nice was at the reception desk talking on her phone. I would recommend this place only for the unique cooking arrangement otherwise only to people that I did not like. It was a very poor value for the money charged even if the beef was good and service was at a normal pace.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Sawyer was our server and it was our first time there for our anniversary! He was amazing and very informative! Amazing service and food! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was amazing, service was amazing just very expensive but if your doing a special occasion and don't mind cooking your own food then its your place. Its a must do at least once.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a great experience. The food was quality and the service was quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was not very impressive. Wait staff only came to the table when bringing food never to just check on us to see if we were enjoying our food or to refill our drinks. There was hardly anyone else there so not sure why they didn't take the time to do so. It took so long to get food between the courses we didn't have time to finish the desert there we had to take it to go. I made reservations mentinging that it was for a birthday and was asked details about the birthday person yet nothing was mentioned to make the dinner special for the occasion. The waiter never even mentioned anything about it. Don't know why I was asked about it if it didn't really matter in the end? So, for that price, I will never return nor will I recommend The Melting Pot to anyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday. They were busier than expected and the manager, Brian, was our server. It's a very nice relaxed atmosphere and the entire staff was very kind and helpful. Definitely a great place to wind down.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love this place! We drive about an hour at least once a year to eat here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything is great. Enjoyed the food and staff. Plan on spending some time here. The courses are spread out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, great food, in all awesome experience!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very nice experience. Food was excellent. A bit pricey, make sure you have enough, but well worth it. Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We wanted a one of a kind dining experience for our niece. We all thoroughly enjoyed our time. The meal was delicious, paced perfectly, and memorable! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The atmosphere and food were great. We had an overall nice experience but it is very pricey. Definitely one for special occasions only. Four people ran $200. But it was nice for a birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice for a special occasion. Good variety of food and excellent service. Will probably not return due to expense, as I believe it is way overpriced. But it was fun for a one time visit.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting Pot in Grand Rapids, MI. was a nice experience. We enjoyed the food and it was interesting to experience something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was extremely lacking. We were stuck in a back corner with electrical wires on our legs. Very cold and saw our server maybe 3 times. Was extremely disappointed after getting such great service from the Melting Pot in Seattle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This is a great spot. Super on the expensive side BUT if you want time to talk, time to connect time to bond on a special night then there really is no price on that. From seating to leaving was a total of 2 hours - Two well spent hours without kids, without interruptions, without distractions. Put your phone away, put your to do list away and just talk to those that you brought with you like we did 25 years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.