Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (43)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fun (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (15)
Private Room (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Casual (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Family Style (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday. They were busier than expected and the manager, Brian, was our server. It's a very nice relaxed atmosphere and the entire staff was very kind and helpful. Definitely a great place to wind down.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place! We drive about an hour at least once a year to eat here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything is great. Enjoyed the food and staff. Plan on spending some time here. The courses are spread out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, great food, in all awesome experience!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice experience. Food was excellent. A bit pricey, make sure you have enough, but well worth it. Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

We wanted a one of a kind dining experience for our niece. We all thoroughly enjoyed our time. The meal was delicious, paced perfectly, and memorable! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice for a special occasion. Good variety of food and excellent service. Will probably not return due to expense, as I believe it is way overpriced. But it was fun for a one time visit.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Melting Pot in Grand Rapids, MI. was a nice experience. We enjoyed the food and it was interesting to experience something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was extremely lacking. We were stuck in a back corner with electrical wires on our legs. Very cold and saw our server maybe 3 times. Was extremely disappointed after getting such great service from the Melting Pot in Seattle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This is a great spot. Super on the expensive side BUT if you want time to talk, time to connect time to bond on a special night then there really is no price on that. From seating to leaving was a total of 2 hours - Two well spent hours without kids, without interruptions, without distractions. Put your phone away, put your to do list away and just talk to those that you brought with you like we did 25 years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server Tina is the greatest person. Not only is she professional, she takes time to remember intricate details about us as her customers beyond just chit chat at our meals, even if it's been almost a year since we were last in. While the fondue atmosphere is unique, it is because of Tina that we continue to go and recommend to others the Melting Pot. She is a true gem!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed! The food was excellent, the waiter extremely helpful and the experience very fun. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and Service was great. We had a reservation but had to wait a little bit. The manager said he would take care of us for the wait, but we needed to remind him of that when the check came. Seating was bit odd for a party of 6, but we all had fun and enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It took 3 hours to get our food. We didn't see our waiter for 30 minutes at a time. The little room had to be at least 90 degrees we were miserable. We made reservations early 530 because we had little kids and we had an hour drive both ways. Several had to leave when it hit 830 and we still hadn't been served dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I really enjoyed the Cheese and Chocolate fondue. I could have done without the entree, as we we ended up being there for over three hours and I was too full for dessert, which we already paid for. Server Christina was amazing and fulfilled all of the needs and more of my needy party.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I've always heard good things about the food... but it was really the dining expierence that set it apart. From the 1st course to the last course... each was different and fun. Most of all the food was great. It's a great place to try if you like good food and a good time

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything about our experience was lovely. We had excellent service coupled with delicious food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great environment and something different to try. Only complaint was the dessert trays didn't have enough goodies on them to dip.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I chose The Melting Pot for my Valentine, who had never been. It's truly a unique dining experience. However, I was a little disappointed, when we waited quite a long time just to receive water. When my adult beverage arrived, it was garnished with a half white strawberry with a shriveled green and brown top. This may sound trite, but keep in mind that you never get a second chance to make a first impression. We began our 4 course meal with a cheese fondue. Great flavor and fun, yet the white broccoli took the spotlight. Thank goodness the main course was superb! Many choices prepared beautifully. Our dessert fondue was a hit as well! My last concern was that our dining experience took 3 hours. It seemed like our wait time in the first half of our dinner was a bit much. Thank goodness I was thrifty and purchased a certificate on Fox 17 Smart Shopper, to receive $100 worth of food for $50 (total bill $117). Although, I was embarrassed when it became a total spectacle, because the waiter and his supervisor were completely unaware of the deal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Spencer, our server, was amazing! To the point I will ask for him again. He explained everything perfectly and performed flawlessly. The food could've been horrible and it still would've been a great experience. The food was unlike anything I've ever had. It was my first time there, I didn't know what to expect. After the first course and the salad I was hooked. I couldn't wait for him to come back with the next course, and the next... What an epic dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not our first trip here; all others have been wonderful but disappointed this time. Server seemed rushed, was not friendly, did not introduce self by name, never smiled, & did not explain choices for our unfamiliar guest. Portions seemed smaller than previous ones. But perhaps worst of all was the fact that the requested special balloon package was not ready & waiting at our table; it did not appear until we were well into the meal even though I had called 2 days prior to verify the request. ? under-staffed?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was one of, if not the, best meals both myself and my girlfriend ever had. Our server was fantastic and made the experience even more enjoyable. Couldn't recommend it any more highly and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Date night was absolutely perfect! We had the Wisconsin as our first course. After that we had surf and turf (They were out of lobster which was a bummer but all the more reason to return) with Coq Au Vin. And for dessert we had the Turtle. The food was good and our server was amazing! I will certainly be asking for him if he is still with the company when we return in April for a birthday.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The melting pot is awesome and I will be back again and again. The prices are just right not to expensive and the food is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We've been here a few times and have always enjoyed it. We have come with parties of 2,4,and 9. It works well for all, even kids. I like that they enable you to customize your order. I wish you could have more than one pot for the meats (at smaller tables) as we like both broths as well as the tempura batter option depending on our meat choice. The gal who waited on us was attentive and didn't leave us wanting. My favorites are the filet mignone and stuffed mushrooms. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love it! Favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service are always exceptional. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wait Staff was very friendly but our food took forever to come. We were there for almost 3 hours. 5 people in our party. At one point I ordered another glass of wine and 20
Min later I asked if it was on its way and she said she completely forgot about it so it would be on the house no charge but when we got our bill it was still on there. Not even a discount for waiting so long. Very apologetic for our wait but nothing more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience was good but it will not be repeated since it cost us $175. It was just alright food for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ugh.. What a waste of a $200 dinner. Great concept. That's where the novelty ends. Outdated service and wine list, overly priced for the quality of the food, and just a fairly unsatisfying experience. Plus, I expect my Valentine's dinner to not begin with a Trump endorsement at the top of the meal by my hick server. This place has gone downhill over the last couple of years. Save yourself the 3hours and go to any neighborhood in the city to find a more enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first time. The friends we were with have been there many and suggested because it is a wonderful place to go to talk with friends and dine. They were correct. We had a wonderful time. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The only thing I liked was the server, he was nice and helpful. We had a reservation at 1:30 in the afternoon and when we got there it took them 15 minutes to seat us. After being seated it took another 15 minutes for server to come over and after taking a drink order we got our drinks 20 minutes after that. When we got there there were three other tables in the restaurant for not being busy it was very very slow. With a 1:30 reservation on a Saturday afternoon we did not leave until 5 p.m. and had to ask for a check three times to get out then. It was our first time there and we will not be back very overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very good place for a very special occasion. At $40+ a person it's definitely not a every day kind of place but if you want time to sit and talk it's perfect, expect to be there at least 2 and a half hours

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Me and my wife had a great time for the first time that we been in there. Waiter was really helpful explaining everything. And the food was great .

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was terrible. Incredibly slow. Our dinner took over three hours, with multiple 20 minute waits for the next course. Food was good, service wrecked the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had an excellent time! I always enjoy my time at the Melting Pot!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We try and visit Melting Pot about once a month. The food is always excellent. The service is great but Chase was outstanding on this visit. We look forward to next time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The lighting made it difficult to be able to see whether the meat was completely cooked or not. It would be nice if there was a list of the cook times and the sauces labeled somehow when the entry comes out. When the server is giving all the information and the name of the sauces, you simply don't retain all that information which makes it more of a stressful part of the evening. Since the meat is obviously the most important part and expensive part, leaving it up to the guest to retain all that information makes the experience less enjoyable.

Despite the above, it was still an enjoyable evening bringing my Grandma out for something new.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our servers were excellent, the dessert fondue was perfect for what we were looking for , a good value. We stayed and had a great time together and never felt hurried. Thanks so much, it was just what we were looking for.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Sat in private area. Great experience, service, and food. Only one minor complaint/suggestion...servers constantly saying 'corner' when going around the corner to the kitchen area. Maybe put up a small mirror on the ceiling so they're able to see if someone is coming versus saying corner every time? Not a huge deal but I must've heard corner about 150 times while dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.