About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
Filet Minon, Duck Breast And Salmon
Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Fruit, Rice Krispy And Marshmallow Combo
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Espresso Fondue
Yin-Yang Dark And White Chocolate Fondu
Fondue Entree
Chocolate Fondue
Land And Sea
Brie Fondue With Apples Bread And Veggies
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Disarono Meltdown
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Chocolate Peanut Butter Marshmallow
Flaming Turtle Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Cou Qa Vin
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
3 Course $25 Menu
Land & Sea Entree
White Chocolate Disaronno Fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Four Course Feast
Cooking Class
Disaronno Meltdown
Arcadia Ales
Creamy Tomato Cheddar Cheese Fondue!
Orange Dreamsicle Martini
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Mangolicious Skinny Cocktail & Blackberry Sage Lemonade

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
3 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (72)
good for groups (32)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (8)
great for lunch (8)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening! It was our firs ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely evening! It was our first time dining at The Melting Pot and everything was perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my two daughters out for their bi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I took my two daughters out for their birthdays and I cost me more than $200. That's crazy expensive!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Needed Night Out!

Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I went on a "Romantic" date to The Melting Pot and it was wonderful!! It lived up to the lovers lane seating. The food was great and service was fabulous. It is pricey but for a special night out or a much NEEDED date night it was well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary

Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary on 6/8/2016. The food and service was great! The only advice that I would give is that when you offer potatoes, please let the customer know how long it will take to cook them. The only cook times that were given were were 1:30 an 2:00 minutes for the meats. If offering potatoes with the meal I would ask the customer if they could be put in the broth right away so they would be ready to eat in 10 to 15 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was my boyfriend and I's second time coming to the Melting Pot, and we loved it just as much the second time there! We had our own secluded booth and privacy; it was very nice. Great experience making your own food, and not feeling rushed to get through a meal! Perfect for date night or special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place! Service was wonderful!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, many managers came by to c that we were good. The only complaint I have is the price for entrees. There was no flexibility by way of only getting a chicken or a seafood entree. It was a mix of beef, chx and seafood mostly, which made the price very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best must try place

Dined on June 3, 2016

Loved it, a wonderful experience and a great time. Food was delicious. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend and have already recommended to our friends. Thank you making amazing anniversary happen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good Eats

Dined on May 28, 2016

We love going to the Melting Pot. Whenever we want a great meal we always come here. This time we dined with friends and it was a great experience. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Our sever was terrible, he never congrat ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our sever was terrible, he never congratulated us or introduced himself. He just took our order dropped off our food and never showed up until he dropped off our check (even though we wanted to order more wine AND our chocolate fondue was burning) Horrible waiter. Never want to come back because of him. He was a bald white tall man, seems like he was in his late 30s.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Nice way to spend an anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I love coming here for our anniversary. The food was exceptional as always. We were a little unimpressed by the service this time. We had a team of two severs helping us and even though the receptionist knew it was our Anniversary the wait staff did not and asked if it was a special occasion. Also my husband expressed concern about having another option in place of the cheese course as he doesn't eat diary and the server didn't explain our options enough for us to understand and they brought a double portion of the cheese and didn't acknowledge our concerns about it. I know it was a Sat night, but I felt the experience would have been better if this would have been addressed. We've ate here many times and had great service so I hope this doesn't happen the next time we decide to dine here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server went above and beyond to make sure our visit was perfect. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Treat!

Dined on May 2, 2016

My fiance and I went all out for our shared birthday dinner ! We got the 4 course meal with cheddar appetizer, lobster and filet mignon entrees, and dulce de leche dessert. The salads were a little smaller than I expected, but ended up being the perfect size for the meal. Definitely a treat since it was a bit expensive, but totally worth it. My fiance and I had so much fun, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the faves

Dined on April 30, 2016

My friend brought 2 older kids with us, one of whom was experiencing the melting pot for the first time. We weren't sure how they were going to behave but the waitstaff was really nice to them and the whole experience was very pleasant. Thank you for the extra patience. We all had a nice time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every penny

Dined on April 29, 2016

My hubby and I had a blast. It was a quiet romantic evening that lasted a good 2.5 hours. Our waiter really knew his stuff and made it so easy to make our meal decisions and make our evening very enjoyable! We reserved a table online and so we got a secluded booth which made our time very special. It felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A fun experiance

Dined on April 29, 2016

over all this is a fun dinner. I would never go if I had a short amount of time or did not have reservations. It is not a bad price for the interaction you get with the servers. I would not recommend if you are not into cheese though. Also I would plan on getting messy. You may not but it is a lot of fluids being moved around at the table.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service

Dined on April 24, 2016

It took 3 hours to eat our meal. The waiter took 30 minutes in between courses and messed up the dessert. When confronted about it he tried giving us a voucher instead of refunding that portion of the check. The concept is great but for a $200.00 bill, I would suggest a place where you don't have to wait forever to cook your own food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. Service was excellent. Our waitress and the other staff went out of their way to make sure no pineapple was in the food and sauces. Since I'm allergic to it. She did an excellent job taking care of us. Food and atmosphere was wonderful. We enjoyed our time very much. Thank you Melting Pot team.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great experience. This was our first time at the Melting Pot. It was a fun experience. Our server was great and walked us through the evening. It was a little on the pricey side, would would visit again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great with Couples & Time.

Dined on April 16, 2016

It can be an evening event all by itself. Lots of fun !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

It is a little pricey but this was a really great place to spend a special occasion. It was the first time eating here for both of us and we will definitely be returning. It was pretty cool what they did for my significant others birthday as well. Thanks for the great service and good times!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Too much for not enough

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our waitress did not help us with the menu at all. There were 7 of us eating and we shared meals and she didn't not advise against it. We asked for double portions and it didn't seem to be doubled at all. There just wasn't enough food for all of us, especially given the price of the meals, and we should've been advised to order differently.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very impressed with the service an ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I was very impressed with the service and the presentation, The food was very fresh and very good as well. Would go back for sure

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for leisurely meal...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We chose the Melting Pot specifically because we wanted a delicious restaurant that was quiet and private so we could TALK and be heard ... with new friends. It was delightful! We all got what we wanted to eat. They had very good gluten free options, too. Nice atmosphere...we will come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great Easter special, we loved ev ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

What a great Easter special, we loved every bite !!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love it!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We love melting pot for a special occasion! It is a bit so we go there too often. It is also a place you should visit when you have a lot of time and in a hurry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our first time at The Melting Pot, and our server explained the process well. We got the classic cheddar fondue (delicious), we each picked 3 entrees as the sampler platter (very good), and finished off with the Dark & Dulce dessert fondue (sooo incredibly good!) The service was a bit slow, but we had planned time for that. It's kind of pricey, but worth it for a treat every once in a while!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was good. Only recommend desert

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was good. Food was good but over priced. I understand paying extra for the romantic setting, but paying that much and cooking food yourself in hot water. Nah! The desert was awesome though. If you want steak or seafood recommend going to a steak or seafood place. Want good drinks and dessert I recommend the melting pot.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was great, with good quality and ni ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was great, with good quality and nice selection. The atmosphere is such that it makes for a nice semi-private and even romantic experience. We each had filet mignon and lobster, both of which were very good. Dessert was awesome which you expect from fondue! Price is a little bit higher but you get a great experience and something different than your average restaurant. Overall experience was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good service, great food! We took 2 friends that had never been there before and they were very impressed! We will be back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

More than just a meal!

Dined on February 27, 2016

My boyfriend and I have visited this place every year for the past 3 years and have never had a bad meal or bad service. Our waiters have been more than helpful in explaining the dining choices and meal options to suit our needs. The price seems a bit high for "a meal" but it takes us over 3 hours to complete the four course dining experience the Melting Pot offers. Where can you go for three hours and leave with a full belly and spend quality time together for $120? Really, this place is more than a meal, it truly is an experience I would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. The staff is friendly. I would like to see paydays put on the dessert tray to dip in chocolate. This was the first time since my weight loss surgery in 8/2015. I didn't think I'd be able to eat here again....I was glad I was wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very pleasant experience; fabulous food; expensive

Dined on February 26, 2016

It was a very pleasant experience and the food was fabulous!!! I thought the price was a little outrageous though.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing time. Reserved a table for a belated valentines day dinner,and I couldn't have been happier. Every course,including the salad,was delicious! House made dressings and sauces are great. While you may pay more for the 4 course package,the amount of food and quality of food was spectacular. The wine selection,service,ambience... EVERYTHING was great,I am usually very fruggle but have absolutely no issue spending my money here and will most definitely be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was great, nice romantic dinner!

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great but service was super slow since they had a party of 20 come in right at the same time. The cheese and chocolate fondue were out of this world and I'd recommend the Teriyaki Sirloin to anyone! Hopefully we won't get pushed aside for a large group next time. We were sitting waiting for the next course for at least 20 minutes (not one person stopped by our table, just walked right past it) and in the process filled up on bread. Spent a lot of money that we didn't even have room for and it's not like you take it with... it's raw meat after all!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Review

Dined on February 17, 2016

The restaurant, food, atmosphere, etc. was fantastic and I would go again. I am not so happy with this review. I wanted to rate the Melting Pot because we truly enjoyed ourselves, but I am not happy that I am not able to submit this review without leaving a 50 characther written review, a title, and a review nickname....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing all around.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was pleasant and respectable throughout. I even had a waitress, who wasn't our assigned waitress, come by refill our drinks, as well as gave us some great advice and tips on the wine. I had another waitress do the same. Our waiter was great by the way. We dined for about an hour and a half, and learned so much about fondue while enjoying the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was not told about pre-set menu, didn't plan for the occassion due to no notification, very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience

Dined on February 10, 2016

We went to the melting pot for the first time for an early Valentine's Day dinner. It was pricey but it was totally worth it. The food was fantastic, and our waitress was patient and knowledgable. I would definitely recommend it for a fancy night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Girls night out

Dined on February 8, 2016

My two girlfriends and I love this restaurant. It is a great place for a "girls night out". The staff was great and the food was good and fun to eat. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

We decided to try the melting pot as a c ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We decided to try the melting pot as a change for our date night, definitely switched it up.... We were seated at our table in a secluded spot in the back of the restaurant, nice and intimate. My husbands first words were the tables were large and it felt like we were miles apart. Servers were awesome, very welcoming and informative for us first timers. The cheese dipping sauce was great just different tasting with what is provided for dipping, the food was great, for something new. Not a place we would go to often but great if your looking to switch things up. It was just under a hundred for 2 of us the food was filling. Will definitely go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.