About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (46)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Fun (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Late-night Find (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Private Room (13)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Spicy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spencer, our server, was amazing! To th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Spencer, our server, was amazing! To the point I will ask for him again. He explained everything perfectly and performed flawlessly. The food could've been horrible and it still would've been a great experience. The food was unlike anything I've ever had. It was my first time there, I didn't know what to expect. After the first course and the salad I was hooked. I couldn't wait for him to come back with the next course, and the next... What an epic dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first trip here; all others have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Not our first trip here; all others have been wonderful but disappointed this time. Server seemed rushed, was not friendly, did not introduce self by name, never smiled, & did not explain choices for our unfamiliar guest. Portions seemed smaller than previous ones. But perhaps worst of all was the fact that the requested special balloon package was not ready & waiting at our table; it did not appear until we were well into the meal even though I had called 2 days prior to verify the request. ? under-staffed?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Was one of, if not the, best meals both ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Was one of, if not the, best meals both myself and my girlfriend ever had. Our server was fantastic and made the experience even more enjoyable. Couldn't recommend it any more highly and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night was absolutely perfect! We ha ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Date night was absolutely perfect! We had the Wisconsin as our first course. After that we had surf and turf (They were out of lobster which was a bummer but all the more reason to return) with Coq Au Vin. And for dessert we had the Turtle. The food was good and our server was amazing! I will certainly be asking for him if he is still with the company when we return in April for a birthday.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The melting pot is awesome and I will be ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

The melting pot is awesome and I will be back again and again. The prices are just right not to expensive and the food is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here a few times and have alw ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We've been here a few times and have always enjoyed it. We have come with parties of 2,4,and 9. It works well for all, even kids. I like that they enable you to customize your order. I wish you could have more than one pot for the meats (at smaller tables) as we like both broths as well as the tempura batter option depending on our meat choice. The gal who waited on us was attentive and didn't leave us wanting. My favorites are the filet mignone and stuffed mushrooms. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it! Favorite restaurant!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love it! Favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always exceptional. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service are always exceptional. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait Staff was very friendly but our foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wait Staff was very friendly but our food took forever to come. We were there for almost 3 hours. 5 people in our party. At one point I ordered another glass of wine and 20

Min later I asked if it was on its way and she said she completely forgot about it so it would be on the house no charge but when we got our bill it was still on there. Not even a discount for waiting so long. Very apologetic for our wait but nothing more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The experience was good but it will not ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience was good but it will not be repeated since it cost us $175. It was just alright food for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Ugh.. What a waste of a $200 dinner. Gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ugh.. What a waste of a $200 dinner. Great concept. That's where the novelty ends. Outdated service and wine list, overly priced for the quality of the food, and just a fairly unsatisfying experience. Plus, I expect my Valentine's dinner to not begin with a Trump endorsement at the top of the meal by my hick server. This place has gone downhill over the last couple of years. Save yourself the 3hours and go to any neighborhood in the city to find a more enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our first time. The friends we were with ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first time. The friends we were with have been there many and suggested because it is a wonderful place to go to talk with friends and dine. They were correct. We had a wonderful time. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The only thing I liked was the server, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The only thing I liked was the server, he was nice and helpful. We had a reservation at 1:30 in the afternoon and when we got there it took them 15 minutes to seat us. After being seated it took another 15 minutes for server to come over and after taking a drink order we got our drinks 20 minutes after that. When we got there there were three other tables in the restaurant for not being busy it was very very slow. With a 1:30 reservation on a Saturday afternoon we did not leave until 5 p.m. and had to ask for a check three times to get out then. It was our first time there and we will not be back very overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Very good place for a very special occas ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very good place for a very special occasion. At $40+ a person it's definitely not a every day kind of place but if you want time to sit and talk it's perfect, expect to be there at least 2 and a half hours

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Me and my wife had a great time for the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Me and my wife had a great time for the first time that we been in there. Waiter was really helpful explaining everything. And the food was great .

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was terrible. Incredibly slow. O ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was terrible. Incredibly slow. Our dinner took over three hours, with multiple 20 minute waits for the next course. Food was good, service wrecked the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We had an excellent time! I always enjoy ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had an excellent time! I always enjoy my time at the Melting Pot!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try and visit Melting Pot about once ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We try and visit Melting Pot about once a month. The food is always excellent. The service is great but Chase was outstanding on this visit. We look forward to next time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lighting made it difficult to be abl ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The lighting made it difficult to be able to see whether the meat was completely cooked or not. It would be nice if there was a list of the cook times and the sauces labeled somehow when the entry comes out. When the server is giving all the information and the name of the sauces, you simply don't retain all that information which makes it more of a stressful part of the evening. Since the meat is obviously the most important part and expensive part, leaving it up to the guest to retain all that information makes the experience less enjoyable.

Despite the above, it was still an enjoyable evening bringing my Grandma out for something new.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our servers were excellent, the dessert ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our servers were excellent, the dessert fondue was perfect for what we were looking for , a good value. We stayed and had a great time together and never felt hurried. Thanks so much, it was just what we were looking for.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat in private area. Great experience, s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Sat in private area. Great experience, service, and food. Only one minor complaint/suggestion...servers constantly saying 'corner' when going around the corner to the kitchen area. Maybe put up a small mirror on the ceiling so they're able to see if someone is coming versus saying corner every time? Not a huge deal but I must've heard corner about 150 times while dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic service and food was delicious ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fantastic service and food was delicious. Better than expected and better than previous experiences. More variety than before too. Oh and my cocktail was perfection!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the cheese and chocolate, feel the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Enjoy the cheese and chocolate, feel the full meal is really over priced for the amount you get.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Great date night as always. The four co ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great date night as always. The four course is always our favorite. Superb coffee during dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for my husband's birthday and go ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We came for my husband's birthday and got a tiny table by a cold exit door, our service was terribly slow as if we had been forgotten about.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was great! Food was very tas ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our server was great! Food was very tasty. Due to a large party we had to wait too long for our 8:30 reservation! Also, very pricey.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They had a shop party of 60 in the main ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They had a shop party of 60 in the main room... they should never allow this as the party of 60 treated it has Bar venue not a nice restaurant... the head lady of the group stood on a step stool and announced raffle tickets... not the place for this type of event

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Placed reservation weeks in advance and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Placed reservation weeks in advance and arrived before the crowds (by reservation plan). We were seated at the first table inside the door making our evening unnecessarily cold and busy. The food was "ok" but not what I had remembered from my visit a few years ago. Our server was distracted (I assume) and answered questions or provided instructions with fragmented thoughts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

It was really good I really recommend th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was really good I really recommend this place..... but be prepared to spend a lot of money........ for a party of 4 with no alcohol our bill came around 160 dollars....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I came here for our two ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for our two year anniversary for dessert only. We had milk chocolate fondue with the normal tasting platter of fruit, cake, marshmallows, etc. and it was delicious! Great quality chocolate and great ambiance, but my word, the price! I will only ever come here for very very special occasions, as the price is definitely not justifiable for the small portions you receive. Just know that if you are planning on dining here, you will be spending a pretty penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Planning this date at this location was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Planning this date at this location was easy and affordable, the food service and atmosphere were outstanding. Highly recommended place for dates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Spicy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good service. Prices seem a l ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food. Good service. Prices seem a little high. The 3 course meal took almost 2.5 hours to complete. The restaurant was empty and we got sat right next to the kitchen and bathrooms. That was kind of a bummer. It was a loud and busy area.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We did some prep work (calling in menu a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We did some prep work (calling in menu ahead of time, etc) to make it a peaceful and simple event where we could focus on each other.... and once we got there, it seemed our pre-planning didn't matter. Our 20 yr old waiter was sloppy, less than professional, and somewhat inappropriate. The menu online did not match what in reality was offered for large parties and became very confusing. We were asked to reorder some things we had already chosen and called in ahead of time. It was especially frustrating b/c we were there to celebrate a milestone anniversary for our parents and wanted a smooth, special time. We will choose a different restaurant for a better experience the next time.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Four courses takes a while and it is wor ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Four courses takes a while and it is worth the time spent to enjoy flavorful fondue and cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Way over priced. Server coughed on our u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Way over priced. Server coughed on our uncooked food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This was our first experience with The M ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first experience with The Melting Pot and other than the cost we loved it. We will be back again but probably won't do more than the cheese of just the chocolate. Might try the $35.00 per plate with a movie ticket deal and see how that goes before we make up our mind on how often we will dine here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place. Very clean. Loved the Top ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place. Very clean. Loved the Top Shelf Fiesta cheese fondue. Takes a couple of hours for 4 course meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always fun and good food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always fun and good food

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're big fans of The Melting Pot, and w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We're big fans of The Melting Pot, and we've been there dozens times. This one's a little farther from us than the one in Bolingbrook, IL, but we find ourselves near GR often. We visited the GR Melting Pot on my birthday. It was a terrible experience. The worst of it was the service. Even though the place wasn't busy, the waiter was slow, didn't bring some items, and didn't check back for long stretches of time. We saw him wandering around the dining room, sometimes cleaning tables, so it's not like he was too busy with other tables. We managed to flag down another server who helped us out, but that managed to really confuse our waiter. The food was delicious, except one thing we ordered never made it to the table, both batters were off (the sesame batter was thick enough to be bread dough and the tempura was an odd color and didn't cook up right). Oh, and when it came time for dessert, they were out of milk chocolate. How does The Melting Pot run out of milk chocolate? What a disappointing outing. When it first opened this location was much nicer. The waitstaff was very professional. They trotted out a sommelier to talk to you about wine pairings. The manager stopped by during the meal to see how you were doing. We always rave about The Melting Pot, and often bring people there with us when we go. I'm glad we didn't bring anyone along this time, and I don't see how I could recommend it to others who live in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been to the Melting Pot in Grand ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to the Melting Pot in Grand Rapids on several occasions. This was one time when we went a few days before Christmas. I would not suggest going during this time of year. Either the staff was having a bad day or they were very busy and distracted. What is normally quite a nice time was just "OK" this time. When I take my family out and drop $150 on a meal, I expect it to be a little better than this experience. We still left a 20% tip, but I don't think it was earned during this visit. But everyone is trying to pay the bills.

Specifically, the waiter left us hanging for drinks; forgot to bring things to us; spilled fondue oil in one of our alcoholic drinks (and nearly said to drink it, it will be ok) and was slow to respond (ie didn't refill my kids water; bring requested items or pick-up used plates); the busboy was overheard dropping the "F-bomb" in front of my pre-teen kids (I don't think he realized he was in earshot). We made the best of it and tried to enjoy ourselves. We will be going back, but not during a Christmas or other holiday time of year.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.