Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (18)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The only issue I had was I paid for the Date Night Romance Package and I did not receive my wine toast. When I realized it, I had left already.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It had been many years since I visited a Melting Pot. My favorite party is the cheese and dessert courses. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. It's always a fun evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Beautiful place to spend our anniversary. Our server was AMAZING and took care of each guest wonderfully (we could hear him at other tables as well) and made them feel extra special. :) The food was wonderful, and it was a perfect setting to unplug.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The cheese fondue was the only decent part and even that was served with stale chips. I ordered the steak and duck and both contained pieces that were chewy and full of fibers making it unpleasant to eat. Service was okay, took over 10 minutes to receive drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The menu was complicated and pricy. We did not understand that each type of cooking oil, cheese, and chocolate had an add on price.
We waited a full 30 minutes between courses for our waiter to appear making it a 3 hour lunch. That is way too much!
At $50 per plate, too expensive also

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a great time at The Melting Pot. Their service was great, while seemingly very quiet and personable. We would recommend this to any of our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cultural experience worthy of a visit for any occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waited 40 minutes to be seated with a reservation, second course came out while still eating first course then waited 40 min for dessert course. Poor flow for meal. Coctail special OK at best. have been here before and had a better time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Took the 45 min drive for a "dining experience" only to spend $130 and sit in an ICY and EMPTY bar for two and a half hours to be served stale bread bits and Gordon Food service pound cake.

From the location to the quality/flavor of food served it was a "meh" dining experience. Taking into consideration the price paid and lack of attentive service, it was a very NEGATIVE dining experience: After our entree pot was cleared, we waited for 25 mins before finally catching someone's attention to ask "Where's our server? Where's our dessert?" During that 25 mins we watched the manager entranced (mouth hanging open) by a poker tourney broadcast, off-duty servers mixing "Shirley Temples," and the hostess's boyfriend playing a game of "toss the teddy bear to the ceiling." So NOT the "dinner and a show" we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Will never go back after the last experience. Very bad wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Melting Pot was a lovely setting for our mothers birthday celebration. This was a wonderful experience for all seven of us, since we have never been to this restaurant before and never tried fondue before. Great fun for a large group. Food was very good and cocktails were tasty. The cheese fondue was the appetizer, in which we selected two cheeses to dip a variety breads and fruit into. The salads were next, in which were very fresh and delicious. Then the entry was 3rd, in which most of us had the chicken, shrimp and steak trio, which was very good. Lastly, our favorite part was the chocolate fondue. A variety of treats and strawberries to dip into the chocolate fondue.
Our servers name was Will and he made the experience even better. He is a wonderful person and great server with a fantastic personality. I would recommend anyone going there to ask for Will to be your server. This certainly is not a normal dinner situation, so expect your experience to last several hours for a larger group, but the time past so quickly because we were having a great time and even greater laughs. One of our guest at our table had several food allergies and the wait staff was very concerned to this specific situation, in which I felt they went above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate our needs. I would definitely recommend this location to friends and family and going back is a definite YES.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Spacey waiter . Why in the hell musy I write 50 characters????

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

We went to the Melting Pot for our 25th anniversary dinner. The meal, service, ambiance and everything else about our visit was perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The experience was worth the price one time for the novelty. The food was good but not outstanding. The price was very high. At $50.00+ per person I expect to be wowed. I am glad we went but we will probably not hurry back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Chelsie is the Best! She responded to our previous concerns and was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our gathering, there was 6 adults at a table booth, though we enjoyed our dinner there was a lot of crossing over each other to the other pot. Would of been better to be at a round table with 6 adults.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife and I surprised her parents with a special dinner at the Melting Pot because it's something they would never do for themselves. 1) our server was patient, kind, friendly, and non-invasive. So helpful for making our time wonderful. She gave us great tips and really impressed us. We felt like we got special treatment, even though we aren't high end fancy people. 2) watching my mother-in-law throughout the entire dinner process was priceless and she was in awe with how fun and neat it was to watch them make our food at the table. We had a really great time and I've never had a bad experience at the Melting Pot Grand Rapids (I have been several times).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was my second visit to The Melting Pot, and it has gone downhill. Service was terrible. We waited forever to be acknowledged by anyone, and then it was like pulling teeth to get beverage refills, etc.... I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, all we expected. Had reservations arrived early and got seated right away. Greeted very warmly by the staff, checked on by manager. Our waiter had only worked there for two weeks and very knowledgeable and helpful to us and our inexperience. Great place

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is the second year in a row that we have spent our 15th, and 16th Wedding Anniversary. Food was good as always, and service was outstanding and attentive! Our waiter Max, whom we we got both times, is a testament to the excellent service that has been provided. We'll definitely be coming back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Never disappointed at the Melting Pot. The staff is always so welcoming and friendly and the management seems to be on top of their game.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Everything was wonderful. It was quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable. Out server was very nice and helpful. Food was very good and dessert was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

2 Birthdays and Father's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the 2nd time we have come and have decided to make it our anniversary tradition. We have again had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was excellent and the food couldn't be beat! What a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Overall, food was very good. However the night we were here, the service was extremely slow. We do enjoy it, however not to wait as long as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a great quiet table- great for visiting. Wish there would have been more veggies than bread and chips with the cheese options. Very pricey.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was great. They have a 50 under 50 wine list, which is nice.
A tad pricey but worth it. Definitely left stuffed and happy. Server was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly---when he was there. Unless he was taking the order or bringing drinks or food, we felt like he was no where to be found. There were a couple times we needed him and someone else passing by had to help us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

New waitress in training so very slow. Took us 3hrs to finish our meal with usual time of 2hrs. Also full glass of water spilled on my lap by the waitress. Not our best outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not happy ordered the romance package candle not lit did not look like pictures don't wast your money. Servers slow had to ask multiple times for a refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My sister took the family out for dessert at the Melting Pot on the Beltline for our parents' 37th wedding anniversary. We shared a bottle of wine and ordered one chocolate and one cheese fondue. Both were completely empty by the end, as well as all the options for dipping. Our waitress was very charismatic and asked several times if we needed anything while she refilled our waters, all the while saying that we could stay and chat as long as we wanted too. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed the low lighting and how tall the booths were, improving the privacy and decreasing any noise from other patrons. We will definitely be returning here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food; nice, courteous staff. Quiet and private tables.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 26, 2017

First time there. We had heard it was really good, but expensive - this is true. We went for a special occasion. The experience is neat. The food was good. BUT.... we sat down at 6:00 and didn't leave until 9:15!!!!! We were served 1 course and when through had to wait another 15-25 minutes for our next course. This was really unexceptable. Unfortunately we will not go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Food was great, but plan to spend some time here. It isn't just a place for a quick bite. We had reservations at 730pm and were there until 950pm. Very quiet atmosphere, amazing drinks and knowledgable staff.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was our first time and our waiter was less than helpful. We were very confused by the menu. Food was good but insanely overpriced!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The time it takes to collectively finish a meal took us 2.5 hours. Way to long of time! Service was extremely slow, but very friendly. It felt as if the servers were the sous chef prepping our meal partially in the kitchen, then finished a portion at the table as we then had to cook it ourselves on the stove tops in front of us. The meal was delicious, a great experience and will recommend it to friends as it was a special stop on our travels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Melting Pot was the perfect location for my wife and I's anniversary. The food was great and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was excellent. Marcus and Ben were attentive without being intrusive. You really can't go wrong with melted cheese and chocolate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very good service, though we were there early in the evening. Chelsea the manager very nice to speak with

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved using open table for reservations. Manager was awesome. Food was great. Recommended especially for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.