The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

4.3
865 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 365-0055
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Beltline & Knapp
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Melting Pot of Grand Rapids is the perfect venue for any occasion! Our private dining room offers adjustable lighting and music with a spacious layout which creates the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.

View Private Dining Details
What 865 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The length of time was crazy 3 hours for 4 course meal. Suggest have pots pre warmed as well as grills took to long to heat up. Food was how you made it, overall experience ok; for a first date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It was something different and for it to be a 4 course meal was perfect just expect 2hours when going to be done with your visit but it was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress, Lindsey, was friendly and personable! Can't wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We had heard about the Melting Pot for many years, but had never gone. This year my wife's birthday and Father's Day were on the same weekend, so we though it was time to try this place with the great reputation. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the server was attentive and knowledgeable, and the pacing of the dinner allowed us to have leisurely conversation. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The Melting Pot is a true experience dining. The menu is great, the atmosphere is wonderful. Yes, the price is a little more than some would like, but you get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Excellent and unique experience. The service staff was remarkable. Although it's definitely on the more expensive side I can see it primarily for special events not necessarily a weekly, monthly or even quarterly activity. Portions were good and we certainly didn't leave feeling hungry.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Ambiance was great and food was great the only thing I would change is the hostess

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This place was amazing!!! We celebrated my husband's birthday and this was a perfect fit to celebrate him!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We definitely will be back. Are waitress did a out standing job we couldn't be any more happier with her performance and her personality was amazing. The food was absolutely delicious thanks again for a great night out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We went to celebrate a birthday. It has a quiet atmosphere and the food is amazing !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We were very satisfy with the food quality and overall experience .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Marcus was our waiter. Made the experience great for my niece's birthday:)
Loved the cheese course. My mom didn't really know if this would be something she'd enjoy, now she can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Food was good, not spectacular especially for the price. Service was slow, it ended up being a 3 hour meal. It took 30 minutes just to get our check. It was a fun place to try out once, but I doubt we'll go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fabulous. It was home away from home. We enjoyed it and would always come.back there for anniversaries

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The service was amazing and the setting was nice and cozy. It was our first time going and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Absolutely loved it this evening! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

They have really kicked up their menu a notch. Very impressed with the new options. Our server was great. Very friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

love the menu and the uniqueness...never a disappointment!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Made reservations at 4, door still locked at 4:15 finally was let in. Other than that, wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Nothing outstanding really. The waitstaff was the best attribute.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Good food, good service. A little expensive for a college student, but great for an extra special occasion with your significant other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The lighting was a bit dark so we had to use our phones lights to look at the menu. Everything else about our experience was great. The waiter did a great job explaining everything and coming out with the next course at the right moment. The food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our server, Marcus, was exceptional. He made sure we knew how everything worked and we had a lot of fun with him.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Service was very slow - we did 4 course and it just took too long between courses. It was a busy night there on Mother’s Day. Some food selections were out of supply as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Been awesome in the past. Have had our anniversary here for the last couple of years. Love the quite, personal booths in the back that was always the standard experience for this special occasion. To bad we didn’t get one this time, despite specifying the occasion when setting up the reservation two weeks in advance.

We spent our anniversary in the back corner of the bar room, at a tiny table with stools next to where they pile the extra stools, overlooking the parking lot, next to many screaming kids (we had gotten a baby sitter and came HERE to escape that). This place is way too expensive to feel like we’re just sitting at Applebee’s, which is exactly what it felt like. We normally get wine, but the mood was ruined... this was not the romantic candle lit dinner we have always had here in the past.

Our server disappeared frequently for long periods of time. We were there for 3 hours it was so slow. We had to stop two different servers from taking our fondu pot before we had even gotten our main course to dip in it. As the clock ran out on for when we absolutely needed to leave, with no chocolate in site yet, a manager finally stepped in to get us our chocolate course 5 minutes before we had to run to pick up the kids. We had to rush through it and run... not really getting to take our time to really enjoy our favorite tasting element of the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our server at The Melting Pot was both knowledgeable and upbeat. She explained the menu options well and asked the bartender help us with selecting wine. While we only visit once or twice a year, the staff are always in a good mood, knowledgeable, and eager to help.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My sister and I too my mother there for Mother's Day. We had a 6:00 pm reservation and were not seated until after 6:15 (restaurant was only about half full). Terribly overpriced, especially considering we actually cook the food ourselves. Not enough food for the price - we left hungry. Hostess was friendly but we were quite neglected by our server. After expressing this to a manager, one of our coffees was taken off the bill. The four-course experience ended up taking 2 hours! Was fun to partake in the fondue experience though (1st time). The restaurant and staff looked very elegant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The food was great but the wait was way too long. We went on a Monday night and there were only a few tables at the restaurant. We saw our waiter very few times. It took around 20 minutes to get our drinks... we ordered the 4 courses and did not receive our salads until 1 hour and 20 minutes into our meal. After we received our cheese we did not see our waiter for easily 25/30 minutes. We understood it would be a long dinner but the wait in between courses was far too long. By the 1 hour and 45 minutes we waited to get our main course we were ready to leave and had arrived hungry. We finally left around 9:15 after having a 6:30 reservation. It was a cool experience but I hope to have better service next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food and experience were wonderful, but our server, Wade?, was a little inattentive and we had to ask someone else to get our bill sent to the table. Also, the Monterey cheese dip was a bit harsh tasting with the blue cheese and uncooked white wine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Went there because we had a gift certificate about to expire. Thought their prices were a bit too high for a meal I had to cook myself. Took about 2 hours from start to finish. Was surprised to see how little the vegetable portion was. Even after the gift card it still came to $30 before tip for the 2 of us to eat there. I will stick with a nice steak house in the future

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had never been here before. Our waiter was Wayne and he explained the menu pretty well. The four course meal was satisfying portions and paced pretty good. I believe we were there for two hours, which I think is perfect for a dining “experience” such as this. Wait staff was appropriately attentive and we enjoyed our birthday celebration!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great atmosphere, food was good but service was slow at times and then rushed when it was closing time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Took wife there for her birthday dinner. Absolutely loved it. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Our third or fourth time at Melting Pot. Seemed a bit disorganized with reservations and table seating, but it was very busy. The staff was calm and we felt well cared for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Extraordinarily good food, and a lot of fun for a special occasion or group get together! Pricey, but very worth it. Friendly waitstaff, and great options for vegetarians, vegans, and others with dietary restrictions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I thought it was a little expensive but was prepared for that... It was overall a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The Melting Pot in Grand Rapids was very accommodating. A group of 4 of us went there before Prom and we were running short on time and the staff was very helpful and understanding. Everything was explained wonderfully and I would go back again!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The server bandy was awesome. Food was very good!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22

Tweets by The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids