Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Casual (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Was a perfect choice for a double date. Cozier feel with the high back long booths and wonderful patient pace of both food and time to fill 2 hours easily. We had the three course option and we all felt stuffed when we left. I recommend the old Bay cheese option, coq au Vin cooking style, and dark chocolate with Bailey's for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Was a wonderful, new experience! definitely recommended for anyone who wants a different kind of dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing restaurant. Food is amazing. Service was perfect (thanks Amanda for making our night)

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was subpar. Took almost 3 hours to eat here because the service was so slow. Ran out of alcoholic beverages and water frequently. Took 20+ minutes just to get our bills. Friend got a metal splinter off of a skewer.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

For the most part everything was great. At one point our waitress seemed to forget about us and another server had to actually bring us our entrée. Other than that it was a very good experience. The food is delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fun time cooking the food, but I hope you have all night for your meal. We go here because my daughter loves to cook the food and it is entertaining. But tonight they may have given me a reason not to come back. Service was especially dismal. It actually took 3 hours for dinner and this is not a 4 star restraunt. My wife and I laughed when they blamed it on the kitchen, not sure how much cooking goes into chopping up raw meat and vegetables. The manager did come by and apologize plus discounted the meal, but I will need to be convinced by my daughter if I am ever to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food and service were incredible, as usual. Since it was a Friday evening we experienced significant wait time, but the overall experience made the wait worth it! Make sure to allow for extra time so you don't feel rushed - we were there 2.5 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

I was a little confused about why I had to pay $20 to cook my own food.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Jordan our server was wonderful, informative and kind. Great job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This place is the best, one of my favorites for YEARS! We live in Kalamazoo, and it's so good-we're willing to drive over an hour just for the experience. One of my first choices for ANY special occasion, or 'just because' they're running a great special. Fondue, I love it, and they really have it down to a science

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Thank you! I received a reservation confirmation call within 10 minutes of my on-line reservation. They asked if there was a special occasion for the dinner and quickly gave me options to make the Birthday dinner special. This is the level of customer service that has fallen by the wayside! Bravo!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful food per usual. Absolutely loved the cheese and chocolate fondue! Carl was a friendly waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful food and great service! The menu is extensive and the cocktails were divine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Everything was perfect. Totally unique dining experience. Don't hurry through it! Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The fondue was nothing special, I could have done this all at home for wayyy cheaper and it would have tasted the same.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic! We were celebrating our anniversary and they no longer have the angry cocktail sauce that is my favorite sauce there. The waiter went in back and made some for me because I told him how much I loved it. Now that's service. Atmosphere is romantic and food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

waiter not so attentive. Very slow at times getting food to table. Forgot food items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The bread was stale and vegetables were browned. Was very disappointed. We wanted to take our kids for a fun treat and it wasn't good. The chocolate fondue was good but after the cheese was taken away we waited over 30 minutes for the chocolate and they weren't that busy at all! Disappointing all around.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had an eightieth birthday and two other birthdays celebrating together with a group of seven people. We ordered our selections in advance and had all fondues prepared at the table. It was a fun experience and while it took us two and a half hours from start to finish, it was well worth the time spent. We had attentive waitresses even though two other groups were also being served. It is a great place for a special occasion such as ours.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The only issue I had was I paid for the Date Night Romance Package and I did not receive my wine toast. When I realized it, I had left already.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It had been many years since I visited a Melting Pot. My favorite party is the cheese and dessert courses. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. It's always a fun evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Beautiful place to spend our anniversary. Our server was AMAZING and took care of each guest wonderfully (we could hear him at other tables as well) and made them feel extra special. :) The food was wonderful, and it was a perfect setting to unplug.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The cheese fondue was the only decent part and even that was served with stale chips. I ordered the steak and duck and both contained pieces that were chewy and full of fibers making it unpleasant to eat. Service was okay, took over 10 minutes to receive drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The menu was complicated and pricy. We did not understand that each type of cooking oil, cheese, and chocolate had an add on price.
We waited a full 30 minutes between courses for our waiter to appear making it a 3 hour lunch. That is way too much!
At $50 per plate, too expensive also

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a great time at The Melting Pot. Their service was great, while seemingly very quiet and personable. We would recommend this to any of our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cultural experience worthy of a visit for any occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waited 40 minutes to be seated with a reservation, second course came out while still eating first course then waited 40 min for dessert course. Poor flow for meal. Coctail special OK at best. have been here before and had a better time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Took the 45 min drive for a "dining experience" only to spend $130 and sit in an ICY and EMPTY bar for two and a half hours to be served stale bread bits and Gordon Food service pound cake.

From the location to the quality/flavor of food served it was a "meh" dining experience. Taking into consideration the price paid and lack of attentive service, it was a very NEGATIVE dining experience: After our entree pot was cleared, we waited for 25 mins before finally catching someone's attention to ask "Where's our server? Where's our dessert?" During that 25 mins we watched the manager entranced (mouth hanging open) by a poker tourney broadcast, off-duty servers mixing "Shirley Temples," and the hostess's boyfriend playing a game of "toss the teddy bear to the ceiling." So NOT the "dinner and a show" we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Will never go back after the last experience. Very bad wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Melting Pot was a lovely setting for our mothers birthday celebration. This was a wonderful experience for all seven of us, since we have never been to this restaurant before and never tried fondue before. Great fun for a large group. Food was very good and cocktails were tasty. The cheese fondue was the appetizer, in which we selected two cheeses to dip a variety breads and fruit into. The salads were next, in which were very fresh and delicious. Then the entry was 3rd, in which most of us had the chicken, shrimp and steak trio, which was very good. Lastly, our favorite part was the chocolate fondue. A variety of treats and strawberries to dip into the chocolate fondue.
Our servers name was Will and he made the experience even better. He is a wonderful person and great server with a fantastic personality. I would recommend anyone going there to ask for Will to be your server. This certainly is not a normal dinner situation, so expect your experience to last several hours for a larger group, but the time past so quickly because we were having a great time and even greater laughs. One of our guest at our table had several food allergies and the wait staff was very concerned to this specific situation, in which I felt they went above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate our needs. I would definitely recommend this location to friends and family and going back is a definite YES.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Spacey waiter . Why in the hell musy I write 50 characters????

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

We went to the Melting Pot for our 25th anniversary dinner. The meal, service, ambiance and everything else about our visit was perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The experience was worth the price one time for the novelty. The food was good but not outstanding. The price was very high. At $50.00+ per person I expect to be wowed. I am glad we went but we will probably not hurry back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Chelsie is the Best! She responded to our previous concerns and was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our gathering, there was 6 adults at a table booth, though we enjoyed our dinner there was a lot of crossing over each other to the other pot. Would of been better to be at a round table with 6 adults.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife and I surprised her parents with a special dinner at the Melting Pot because it's something they would never do for themselves. 1) our server was patient, kind, friendly, and non-invasive. So helpful for making our time wonderful. She gave us great tips and really impressed us. We felt like we got special treatment, even though we aren't high end fancy people. 2) watching my mother-in-law throughout the entire dinner process was priceless and she was in awe with how fun and neat it was to watch them make our food at the table. We had a really great time and I've never had a bad experience at the Melting Pot Grand Rapids (I have been several times).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was my second visit to The Melting Pot, and it has gone downhill. Service was terrible. We waited forever to be acknowledged by anyone, and then it was like pulling teeth to get beverage refills, etc.... I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, all we expected. Had reservations arrived early and got seated right away. Greeted very warmly by the staff, checked on by manager. Our waiter had only worked there for two weeks and very knowledgeable and helpful to us and our inexperience. Great place

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is the second year in a row that we have spent our 15th, and 16th Wedding Anniversary. Food was good as always, and service was outstanding and attentive! Our waiter Max, whom we we got both times, is a testament to the excellent service that has been provided. We'll definitely be coming back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.