About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
Filet Minon, Duck Breast And Salmon
Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Fruit, Rice Krispy And Marshmallow Combo
Chocolate Espresso Fondue
Yin-Yang Dark And White Chocolate Fondu
Fondue Entree
Brie Fondue With Apples Bread And Veggies
Chocolate Fondue
Land And Sea
Disarono Meltdown
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Chocolate Peanut Butter Marshmallow
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Flaming Turtle Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Four Course Feast
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Land & Sea Entree
Cou Qa Vin
White Chocolate Disaronno Fondue
3 Course $25 Menu
Arcadia Ales
Disaronno Meltdown
Cooking Class
Creamy Tomato Cheddar Cheese Fondue!
Mangolicious Skinny Cocktail & Blackberry Sage Lemonade
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Orange Dreamsicle Martini

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
4 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (64)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time, however, our server w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a great time, however, our server was nowhere to be found/ slow. We asked the hostess to find him a couple of times, for refills of several things, or simply sat at our table waiting for him to show up. Mid afternoon crowd was not an issue that day. We found ourselves sitting and waiting to continue our fondue experience because we were waiting for him, to either check on us or bring things ( bread, apples,goddess sauce, teriyaki sauce, pound cake, Krispie treat). Our meat was finished and we were waiting for him to bring more dipping sauce. We often visit, and it's become tradition to celebrate a particular birthday there. Don't know if this particular server was new, or just overwhelmed, but it did,somewhat, ruin the birthday tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing experience! We went for our 3rd ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing experience! We went for our 3rd wedding anniversary, and everything was absolutely PERFECT!! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers and desserts are excellen ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The appetizers and desserts are excellent, well worth the price. Our experience with the servers has been excellent-friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent experience for our anniversary ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent experience for our anniversary. Will do it again for sure.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time dining at the Meltin ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great time dining at the Melting Pot. We started with the Wisconsin Cheddar fondue, which was delicious, and we loved the addition of the pretzel bread. We all enjoyed the the Classic menu, which provided an excellent variety of meat and seafood, and our server brought out plenty of extra sauces so that we could dip our meat and seafood to our content. We ended with the chocolate fondue, and our server even brought out extra bananas as they're our favorite part of the dessert course.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone there many times Great for ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have gone there many times Great for special occasion and groups.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great place to spend my birthda ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a great place to spend my birthday. the chocolate fondue was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took some friends as a "thank you". Mar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Took some friends as a "thank you". Marcus, our server, was Amazing! He engaged us and was quite entertaining. Our meal was fabulous. Do not visit Melting Pot if you're in a hurry. It's an experience as much as a meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time im hooked ill be back grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My first time im hooked ill be back great service great food comfortable seating with a great variety of menu options the duck was my favorite and of course the white chocolate dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The service, food and ambiance were all ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service, food and ambiance were all exceptional! Definitely worth the trip and we're absolutely coming back!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was okay, service was lacking and we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was okay, service was lacking and we a strange experience with a woman who worked there, kind of ruined the evening. It's way over priced. Would not go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

An absolute GO-TO for occasions and grou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

An absolute GO-TO for occasions and group gathers. One of the five restaurants I have always (a strong word!) received 5-star service. Don't hesitate to choose the Melting Pot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was very good. The service was excellent except for 2 thing.

When we ordered a cheese fondue appetizer we didn't know and we're not informed we would be charged for 2 appetizers

There wasn't a pen with the check. I had to go track one down.

There should be some kind of a clock so you can accurately cook your food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Definitely Not impressed. Poor /Slow/ sa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Definitely Not impressed. Poor /Slow/ sarcastic server. Didn't take time to explain anything even though we told him we had never been, and I asked again how it worked .. Glazed over everything. Food was Meh.. For the price we could have had a fabulous dinner at Chophouse or Ruth's Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We got the Romance package and celebrate ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We got the Romance package and celebrated our anniversary. The entire experience was magical from beginning to end. Love, love, love the Melting Pot! Amazing experience as always.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but very yummy ..Not something y ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Pricey but very yummy ..Not something you do often .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The wait staff was incredibly slow. I w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The wait staff was incredibly slow. I will tell anybody who I recommend for dinner ..if they have time and more time, it's a decent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I don't expect to cook my food for this ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I don't expect to cook my food for this price. Portions small and service slow.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was terrible it took forever ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was terrible it took forever just for a water and then the food was another 30 minutes. It was my first time and I was not impressed. Waste of time and money. This place is awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Had another great experience here! Our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had another great experience here! Our waiter was the best(Sawyer). Explained everything to our friends (first visit). Love the whole fondue experience!

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at The Mel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was our first experience at The Melting Pot. We will likely go again, perhaps to the Happy Hour next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress did not tell us there was a ful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Waitress did not tell us there was a full charge for the broth we selected. It wasnt an upcharge but a full charge. The dipping process was fun. Glad we had the groupon. Otherwise it have been over $50 and we only drank water. Fun but wont go back due to the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was very nice. He answered all of our questions and made us feeling comfortable right away. He asked about food allergies and did what we asked. He was very polite. We would go there again for a nice quiet time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The melting pot isn't just dinner is a w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The melting pot isn't just dinner is a whole experience. Its interior combines modernity with romanticism. The service was a little slow after we ordered, but overall this is a great place to go for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We really enjoyed the experience a a fam ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed the experience a a family as it was our first time dining here. It was my wife's birthday. The service was excellent.

I did think it was quite overpriced however. The bill with tip was over $200 for a family of 5 with 2 of the 5 being under 10 and we did not get desert and no alcohol. The entree portions were very small, salads were good, but small. In the end, it was a fun family experience and were glad we did it once, but would not go back again based on the value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We are always very satisfied, this is a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We are always very satisfied, this is a bit on the pricey side but we really enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to several Melting Pot restaur ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to several Melting Pot restaurants, and the Grand Rapids location delivered the quality and service that I've come to expect. The atmosphere was fantastic, and the cozy two person private booth was a perfect setting for a romantic evening. The server was stellar, and he provided many helpful recommendations in terms of menu selections. The quailty of the food was also very good, no surprise there. The Melting Pot is not just a meal, it's an experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I would go more often if it wasn't so ex ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I would go more often if it wasn't so expensive. Iove the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took a friend there to celebrate his bir ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Took a friend there to celebrate his birthday. It is a great place for such an occasion and you can take your time and really visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were looking forward to the experienc ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were looking forward to the experience but left disappointed. The cheese fondue was good, but it ended up costing us $36 for four people. You would think you could get a 5-gallon bucket of cheese for $36. We were a bit mislead by our waiter. The process of cooking meat in a caldron of boiling oil left the steak, duck, tuna & pork looking gray and unappetizing. One & done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was great, our server was wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service was great, our server was was very friendly and made genuine conversation, nothing is more annoying that rehearsed talking points, lol. My wife and I were seated near the back in a small but cozy table, very secluded and relaxing environment, very romantic setting. All four courses were great, only thing I could suggest to do better is more of a variety of vegetables. The Potstickers were amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 10 minutes at our table till u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We waited 10 minutes at our table till until a server came by to drop off water and told us our server would be right over. It was another few minutes until our waitress came by and we were told we couldn't use our groupon since it was not valid on Saturdays. I wasn't too upset by that. So my mom and I decided to just get bread and cheese fondue, and our waitress never even asked us what we wanted to drink because we never even ordered the water we got. We got the garlic herb cheese (cannot remember exactly what it was called), and it was awful. Our waitress put way too much wine in it, and it didn't even taste like cheese. I think our server was mad at us because she rarely checked on us since we just go the appetizer. She kept asking us if we wanted chocolate fondue and we kept telling her no thanks. She simply dropped off the bill without really saying thanks to us; my mom and i realized afterwards she never got our drink orders or stated her name the whole time she was serving us. Overall, the portions of the food, the quality of the food, the service, and the whole dining experience was awful. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The place was nice, but prices are well ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place was nice, but prices are well high. I get that your getting a four course meal, but you have to cook your own protiens.

We sat at the bar and well the first pot sat in front of us had no water in it, so it started to smoke and we were coughing from the smoke for about 5 minutes before the bartender took it away. Sad part other workers noticed it and did nothing. The workers were very laxed and really did not speak to guests unless they were at their stations. I found that odd as I have done customer service for over 20 years and no matter who sat at my station or a co-workers station I always spoke to people. I just was not impressed at all with the experience, even my 14 year old daughter was not impressed. Unfortunately we will not be attending The Melting Pot again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food, service, and ambiance was all exce ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance was all excellent, will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spilled drink on my guest. Brought anoth ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Spilled drink on my guest. Brought another. Wrong drink. Beef was like chewing leather. One protein was pork instead of chicken. Took our dinner off bill because we didn't eat it but still charged for drinks ( 2 teas) and my groupon was used. All in all, felt guilty so left a tip, donated to St Judes , ended up paying for part of the meal and left with wet cold pants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We love The Melting Pot for too many rea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love The Melting Pot for too many reasons to list. From the quiet, private booths to the coupons for 6 free chocolate dipped strawberries for your birthday and anniversary, to the FANTASTIC food! Love everything about it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not impressed at all. We had heard a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Was not impressed at all. We had heard a lot of hype and thought okay let's try it for our anniversary. It was very expensive for what we had and not a fan of cooking my food in broth. It was tasteless. The waitress was very nice . But for us never again. We sat in a very dark corner booth (by the bathroom) and could hardly read the menu. Will not recommend the restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Such a wonderful visit! We love this pla ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Such a wonderful visit! We love this place and this trip did not disappoint! We were early for our reservation so we sat at the bar for a drink. The bartender was lovely. Our server was wonderful too. The owner even came around and made sure we were well taken care of. The food was delicious as always. Well worth the money in our opinion. I would recommend making a reservation though, they tend to get busy. I wonder why?! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. The ambiance is inviting and the food is delectable.

What makes this place special is that it is an experience.

Your dining in layers which allows the focus to be on conversation and the company.

The service is excellent and they put in effort to make your time there delightful.

The perfect place for friends or date night!

What are you waiting for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for once-in-awhile special occasions. If there were a more moderately priced menu for casual dining, we absolutely would go more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.