About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
Filet Minon, Duck Breast And Salmon
Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Fruit, Rice Krispy And Marshmallow Combo
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Espresso Fondue
Yin-Yang Dark And White Chocolate Fondu
Fondue Entree
Chocolate Fondue
Land And Sea
Brie Fondue With Apples Bread And Veggies
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Disarono Meltdown
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Chocolate Peanut Butter Marshmallow
Flaming Turtle Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Cou Qa Vin
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
3 Course $25 Menu
Land & Sea Entree
White Chocolate Disaronno Fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Four Course Feast
Cooking Class
Disaronno Meltdown
Arcadia Ales
Creamy Tomato Cheddar Cheese Fondue!
Orange Dreamsicle Martini
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Mangolicious Skinny Cocktail & Blackberry Sage Lemonade

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
8 More
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (83)
romantic (70)
good for groups (34)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
late-night find (17)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. The ambiance is inviting and the food is delectable.

What makes this place special is that it is an experience.

Your dining in layers which allows the focus to be on conversation and the company.

The service is excellent and they put in effort to make your time there delightful.

The perfect place for friends or date night!

What are you waiting for?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 7 days ago

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for once-in-awhile special occasions. If there were a more moderately priced menu for casual dining, we absolutely would go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I brought to female friends from work to ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I brought to female friends from work to show what a great place this is. You can spend as little or as much as you are comfortable spending and enjoy a great experience. The cheese and chocolate fondues were wonderful as was the lobster roll salad. The server was excellent and the other people who helped us were great, too. Very knowledgeable and friendly. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and they are ready to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing experience. The mana ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was an amazing experience. The manager and waitress were amazing. Everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great place when you ar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is always a great place when you are looking for a change of pace "date night" as we were. I had been to the Melting Pot before however it was my Fiance's first time. We decided to have the four course meal and really enjoyed the food. Our server Tina was great! Very attentive, checked in appropriately and I never once had to ask for a refill on my drink since she was on top of it...now that is great service!

Thanks again for helping my fiance and I have a great date night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was trying really hard, but t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server was trying really hard, but the entire meal took three hours because he kept forgetting things and mixing up our orders. He was a nice kid, but at least two tables with different servers were sat, ate, and finished in the time it took us to get out of there. The restaurant was kind enough to give us 20% off, but this is after we complained because they didn't adhere to the happy hour specials they advertised. We were sat in the dining room, I asked the server if there were any specials, he brought me a specials menu, we ordered drinks on special, the bill came and we pointed out drinks were full price, he went to talk to the manager about it, came back sweating bullets and told us that the manager refused to give us the specials price because the happy hour was for the "bar area" only. Nowhere on the specials menu did it indicate that only bar patrons were privy to the specials. Completely false advertising on top of really poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved the unique dining experience! Very ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the unique dining experience! Very friendly service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening! It was our firs ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely evening! It was our first time dining at The Melting Pot and everything was perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my two daughters out for their bi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I took my two daughters out for their birthdays and I cost me more than $200. That's crazy expensive!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Needed Night Out!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I went on a "Romantic" date to The Melting Pot and it was wonderful!! It lived up to the lovers lane seating. The food was great and service was fabulous. It is pricey but for a special night out or a much NEEDED date night it was well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary on 6/8/2016.

The food and service was great! The only advice that I would give is that when you offer potatoes, please let the customer know how long it will take to cook them. The only cook times that were given were were 1:30 an 2:00 minutes for the meats. If offering potatoes with the meal I would ask the customer if they could be put in the broth right away so they would be ready to eat in 10 to 15 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was my boyfriend and I's second time coming to the Melting Pot, and we loved it just as much the second time there! We had our own secluded booth and privacy; it was very nice. Great experience making your own food, and not feeling rushed to get through a meal! Perfect for date night or special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place! Service was wonderful!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, many managers came by to c that we were good. The only complaint I have is the price for entrees. There was no flexibility by way of only getting a chicken or a seafood entree. It was a mix of beef, chx and seafood mostly, which made the price very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best must try place

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Loved it, a wonderful experience and a great time. Food was delicious. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend and have already recommended to our friends. Thank you making amazing anniversary happen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Eats

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We love going to the Melting Pot. Whenever we want a great meal we always come here. This time we dined with friends and it was a great experience. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our sever was terrible, he never congrat ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our sever was terrible, he never congratulated us or introduced himself. He just took our order dropped off our food and never showed up until he dropped off our check (even though we wanted to order more wine AND our chocolate fondue was burning)

Horrible waiter. Never want to come back because of him. He was a bald white tall man, seems like he was in his late 30s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Nice way to spend an anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I love coming here for our anniversary. The food was exceptional as always. We were a little unimpressed by the service this time. We had a team of two severs helping us and even though the receptionist knew it was our Anniversary the wait staff did not and asked if it was a special occasion. Also my husband expressed concern about having another option in place of the cheese course as he doesn't eat diary and the server didn't explain our options enough for us to understand and they brought a double portion of the cheese and didn't acknowledge our concerns about it. I know it was a Sat night, but I felt the experience would have been better if this would have been addressed. We've ate here many times and had great service so I hope this doesn't happen the next time we decide to dine here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Amazing!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server went above and beyond to make sure our visit was perfect. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Treat!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

My fiance and I went all out for our shared birthday dinner ! We got the 4 course meal with cheddar appetizer, lobster and filet mignon entrees, and dulce de leche dessert. The salads were a little smaller than I expected, but ended up being the perfect size for the meal. Definitely a treat since it was a bit expensive, but totally worth it. My fiance and I had so much fun, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the faves

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My friend brought 2 older kids with us, one of whom was experiencing the melting pot for the first time. We weren't sure how they were going to behave but the waitstaff was really nice to them and the whole experience was very pleasant. Thank you for the extra patience. We all had a nice time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every penny

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

My hubby and I had a blast. It was a quiet romantic evening that lasted a good 2.5 hours. Our waiter really knew his stuff and made it so easy to make our meal decisions and make our evening very enjoyable! We reserved a table online and so we got a secluded booth which made our time very special. It felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun experiance

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

over all this is a fun dinner. I would never go if I had a short amount of time or did not have reservations. It is not a bad price for the interaction you get with the servers. I would not recommend if you are not into cheese though. Also I would plan on getting messy. You may not but it is a lot of fluids being moved around at the table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It took 3 hours to eat our meal. The waiter took 30 minutes in between courses and messed up the dessert. When confronted about it he tried giving us a voucher instead of refunding that portion of the check. The concept is great but for a $200.00 bill, I would suggest a place where you don't have to wait forever to cook your own food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Anniversary Celebration

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. Service was excellent. Our waitress and the other staff went out of their way to make sure no pineapple was in the food and sauces. Since I'm allergic to it. She did an excellent job taking care of us. Food and atmosphere was wonderful. We enjoyed our time very much. Thank you Melting Pot team.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great experience. This was our first time at the Melting Pot. It was a fun experience. Our server was great and walked us through the evening. It was a little on the pricey side, would would visit again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great with Couples & Time.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It can be an evening event all by itself.

Lots of fun !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

It is a little pricey but this was a really great place to spend a special occasion. It was the first time eating here for both of us and we will definitely be returning. It was pretty cool what they did for my significant others birthday as well. Thanks for the great service and good times!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too much for not enough

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our waitress did not help us with the menu at all. There were 7 of us eating and we shared meals and she didn't not advise against it. We asked for double portions and it didn't seem to be doubled at all. There just wasn't enough food for all of us, especially given the price of the meals, and we should've been advised to order differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I was very impressed with the service an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I was very impressed with the service and the presentation, The food was very fresh and very good as well. Would go back for sure

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for leisurely meal...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We chose the Melting Pot specifically because we wanted a delicious restaurant that was quiet and private so we could TALK and be heard ... with new friends. It was delightful! We all got what we wanted to eat. They had very good gluten free options, too. Nice atmosphere...we will come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great Easter special, we loved ev ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

What a great Easter special, we loved every bite !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love melting pot for a special occasion! It is a bit so we go there too often. It is also a place you should visit when you have a lot of time and in a hurry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our first time at The Melting Pot, and our server explained the process well. We got the classic cheddar fondue (delicious), we each picked 3 entrees as the sampler platter (very good), and finished off with the Dark & Dulce dessert fondue (sooo incredibly good!) The service was a bit slow, but we had planned time for that. It's kind of pricey, but worth it for a treat every once in a while!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was good. Only recommend desert

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was good. Food was good but over priced. I understand paying extra for the romantic setting, but paying that much and cooking food yourself in hot water. Nah! The desert was awesome though. If you want steak or seafood recommend going to a steak or seafood place. Want good drinks and dessert I recommend the melting pot.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great, with good quality and ni ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was great, with good quality and nice selection. The atmosphere is such that it makes for a nice semi-private and even romantic experience. We each had filet mignon and lobster, both of which were very good. Dessert was awesome which you expect from fondue! Price is a little bit higher but you get a great experience and something different than your average restaurant. Overall experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Awesome!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Good service, great food! We took 2 friends that had never been there before and they were very impressed! We will be back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than just a meal!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My boyfriend and I have visited this place every year for the past 3 years and have never had a bad meal or bad service. Our waiters have been more than helpful in explaining the dining choices and meal options to suit our needs. The price seems a bit high for "a meal" but it takes us over 3 hours to complete the four course dining experience the Melting Pot offers. Where can you go for three hours and leave with a full belly and spend quality time together for $120? Really, this place is more than a meal, it truly is an experience I would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite Restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. The staff is friendly. I would like to see paydays put on the dessert tray to dip in chocolate. This was the first time since my weight loss surgery in 8/2015. I didn't think I'd be able to eat here again....I was glad I was wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant experience; fabulous food; expensive

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

It was a very pleasant experience and the food was fabulous!!! I thought the price was a little outrageous though.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Fantastic!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing time. Reserved a table for a belated valentines day dinner,and I couldn't have been happier. Every course,including the salad,was delicious! House made dressings and sauces are great. While you may pay more for the 4 course package,the amount of food and quality of food was spectacular. The wine selection,service,ambience... EVERYTHING was great,I am usually very fruggle but have absolutely no issue spending my money here and will most definitely be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.