Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Cozy (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Fun (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tapas (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

2 Birthdays and Father's Day!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the 2nd time we have come and have decided to make it our anniversary tradition. We have again had a wonderful time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was excellent and the food couldn't be beat! What a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 14, 2017

Overall, food was very good. However the night we were here, the service was extremely slow. We do enjoy it, however not to wait as long as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a great quiet table- great for visiting. Wish there would have been more veggies than bread and chips with the cheese options. Very pricey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was great. They have a 50 under 50 wine list, which is nice.
A tad pricey but worth it. Definitely left stuffed and happy. Server was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly---when he was there. Unless he was taking the order or bringing drinks or food, we felt like he was no where to be found. There were a couple times we needed him and someone else passing by had to help us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

New waitress in training so very slow. Took us 3hrs to finish our meal with usual time of 2hrs. Also full glass of water spilled on my lap by the waitress. Not our best outing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not happy ordered the romance package candle not lit did not look like pictures don't wast your money. Servers slow had to ask multiple times for a refills.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on June 7, 2017

My sister took the family out for dessert at the Melting Pot on the Beltline for our parents' 37th wedding anniversary. We shared a bottle of wine and ordered one chocolate and one cheese fondue. Both were completely empty by the end, as well as all the options for dipping. Our waitress was very charismatic and asked several times if we needed anything while she refilled our waters, all the while saying that we could stay and chat as long as we wanted too. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed the low lighting and how tall the booths were, improving the privacy and decreasing any noise from other patrons. We will definitely be returning here!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food; nice, courteous staff. Quiet and private tables.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

First time there. We had heard it was really good, but expensive - this is true. We went for a special occasion. The experience is neat. The food was good. BUT.... we sat down at 6:00 and didn't leave until 9:15!!!!! We were served 1 course and when through had to wait another 15-25 minutes for our next course. This was really unexceptable. Unfortunately we will not go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on May 23, 2017

Food was great, but plan to spend some time here. It isn't just a place for a quick bite. We had reservations at 730pm and were there until 950pm. Very quiet atmosphere, amazing drinks and knowledgable staff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was our first time and our waiter was less than helpful. We were very confused by the menu. Food was good but insanely overpriced!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

The time it takes to collectively finish a meal took us 2.5 hours. Way to long of time! Service was extremely slow, but very friendly. It felt as if the servers were the sous chef prepping our meal partially in the kitchen, then finished a portion at the table as we then had to cook it ourselves on the stove tops in front of us. The meal was delicious, a great experience and will recommend it to friends as it was a special stop on our travels.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Melting Pot was the perfect location for my wife and I's anniversary. The food was great and the service was spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was excellent. Marcus and Ben were attentive without being intrusive. You really can't go wrong with melted cheese and chocolate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very good service, though we were there early in the evening. Chelsea the manager very nice to speak with

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved using open table for reservations. Manager was awesome. Food was great. Recommended especially for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Chase, was very helpful and explained the ordering process and made suggestions that were very helpful being our first time there. We were checked on often by Chase and other staff to make sure our experience was awesome. Great chance to interact with our yummy food and with each other! I have already recommended The Melting Pot to others! Thank you all for a great Mother's Day meal! We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to the Melting Pot for Mother's Day. It was a great meal and a great time. Table flowers were offered as an option- I purchased them so we could take them home. It was a great, special meal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pricey, but fun for a group or family special occasion. 4 courses took 3 hours.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

We asked to change tables and the hostess said she would be right back and change tables and never came back. The first table they sent us to the heater didn't work, had to move tables. Then we had problems with the 2nd table heater. Mngr came over and said he would come back and make sure everything was fine and never came back. This was our 2nd and last time going to the melting pot.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was our first time at the Melting Pot and we were not prepared for a 3 hour meal or the quantity of food served. However, it was all very delicious and we really enjoyed the experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was good. The dessert fondue was my favorite part of the whole meal. I loved that we had a private table for just the two of us. There was no additional noise and was excellent. The service, however, was not what I had read in previous reviews. We only saw our main waitress three times throughout the 100 minute meal. We had other servers coming to our table taking things away when we were finished. The waitress did not explain the menu very well and didn't even offer us something to drink besides water. Our first waitress wasn't the waitress who took our order. The manager was the only person who made us feel valued as customers. I would not go back to this particular location, but I would be willing to try the Melting Pot at another location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wife's birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our first visit to The Melting Pot. We were there to celebrate a college graduation. Totally enjoyed the dining experience and plan to visit again. Our waiter (Chase?) was superb and deserves a raise.

Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

Can't beat it for a tasty dinner and fun time. $$$

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 27, 2017

We went for Ladies Night Out and our waitress was very friendly and attentative. Great food, as always! The portions were a bit smaller than I remember but, overall, a nice night out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 22, 2017

Spencer was an amazing server. This was our second time having him serve us. Great fast service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter and it took more than 2 hours and wait staff wasn't very attentive especially considering Happy the cost.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

My girl friends and I were out for my birthday, we were there for almost 3 hours just waiting on food. We got the 4 course meals, but did a lot of waiting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on April 12, 2017

Took my sweetheart there for her birthday dinner at her request; I had never been there myself. It was a slow night and we were taken to an intimate table for two. It was a fabulous night to say the least. The drinks were great and the Sangria some of the best I have had; it primed us for the summer nights on the town ahead of us. Everything was fun and delicious. Plan on a long slow dinner (took salads to go) and spending a fair amount of cash! For the two of us, with tip, we dropped $150+.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on April 11, 2017

Love coming to Melting Pot for a fun night out, especially for an occasion! We were out for my birthday, and there was a birthday scroll that was pre-printed with historic events that happened that day...so cool! The staff was very friendly, and our waitress did a wonderful job. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 11, 2017

I went to the Melting Pot for the award winning fondue and it was delicious!It was heavier than a Swiss fondue and had a great, nutty flavor. I also am considered a regular there and Chelsie, the Manager, is so sweet. This is a place where you go to enjoy your meal because it is an experience. You turn off your cell phones and enjoy each course.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent Grand Cru fondue. Absolutely delicious!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on April 10, 2017

A few friends & I went for a fun night out & The Melting Pot was awesome! The food & atmosphere as well as service were above standard. The only draw back was the prices but for a special occasion I would definitely recommend this place. Right before the last course the power went almost completely out due to a big storm but we were able to finish our meal & received coupons for out next visit for the inconvenience. Over all great time & place!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on April 9, 2017

Expensive dinner, but so worth it! Also, a long dinner. Great for conversation. A perfect special occasion and/or date night.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was delicious and the experience was a lot of fun. It was perfect for an afternoon lunch with a group of friends. I plan to go back for a date night too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was my first and only experience at The Melting Pot and unfortunately I was a little disappointed. The food was good and it was filling... eventually. I went into the evening hungry and planning on ordering a four course meal, knowing it would take some time. However, the service was a bit too slow for my taste. There was a lot of waiting between courses after our food was finished, especially after the salad waiting for the entree. This seemed a little confusing since it's not cooked when it's brought out, just plated (nicely) but should not have taken as long as it did. By the time dessert arrived, we had been there almost two hours- the entree took some time to cook but we had all skewers full and in the broth until everything was gone so the majority of time was waiting. The environment is nice and the booths are comfortable but the slow service and price will not have me returning any time soon. In retrospect it was a fun experience but once was enough.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my boyfriend for his birthday. We were seated in one of the cozy booths for 2. Everything was perfect!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.