About The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids

2090 Celebration Dr NE, Ste 130
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Independence Day
Closed Thanksgiving Day
Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
East Beltline & Knapp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 365-0055

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/grand-rapids

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday Nights in our Lounge

Public Transit:
There is a Rapid bus stop located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for all of your large party needs. Whether it’s a feast with friends or a corporate gathering our private dining room offers the atmosphere and functionality you need to enjoy a Perfect Night Out.



Party Room Features Include: Seating for up to 32 guests, frosted glass doors for privacy, projection screen for presentations, structured seating layout perfect for guest speakers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids
Filet Minon, Duck Breast And Salmon
Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Martini
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Fruit, Rice Krispy And Marshmallow Combo
Chocolate Espresso Fondue
Yin-Yang Dark And White Chocolate Fondu
Fondue Entree
Brie Fondue With Apples Bread And Veggies
Chocolate Fondue
Land And Sea
Disarono Meltdown
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Melting Pot Fondue
Chocolate Peanut Butter Marshmallow
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Flaming Turtle Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Four Course Feast
Fiesta Cheese Fondue
Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Land & Sea Entree
Cou Qa Vin
White Chocolate Disaronno Fondue
3 Course $25 Menu
Arcadia Ales
Disaronno Meltdown
Cooking Class
Creamy Tomato Cheddar Cheese Fondue!
Mangolicious Skinny Cocktail & Blackberry Sage Lemonade
Cookies & Cream Marshmallow Dream
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Teriyaki Steak Bites
Orange Dreamsicle Martini

The Melting Pot - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
6 More
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (64)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Scenic View (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first experience at The Mel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was our first experience at The Melting Pot. We will likely go again, perhaps to the Happy Hour next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress did not tell us there was a ful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Waitress did not tell us there was a full charge for the broth we selected. It wasnt an upcharge but a full charge. The dipping process was fun. Glad we had the groupon. Otherwise it have been over $50 and we only drank water. Fun but wont go back due to the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was very nice. He answered all of our questions and made us feeling comfortable right away. He asked about food allergies and did what we asked. He was very polite. We would go there again for a nice quiet time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The melting pot isn't just dinner is a w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The melting pot isn't just dinner is a whole experience. Its interior combines modernity with romanticism. The service was a little slow after we ordered, but overall this is a great place to go for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We really enjoyed the experience a a fam ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed the experience a a family as it was our first time dining here. It was my wife's birthday. The service was excellent.

I did think it was quite overpriced however. The bill with tip was over $200 for a family of 5 with 2 of the 5 being under 10 and we did not get desert and no alcohol. The entree portions were very small, salads were good, but small. In the end, it was a fun family experience and were glad we did it once, but would not go back again based on the value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We are always very satisfied, this is a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We are always very satisfied, this is a bit on the pricey side but we really enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to several Melting Pot restaur ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to several Melting Pot restaurants, and the Grand Rapids location delivered the quality and service that I've come to expect. The atmosphere was fantastic, and the cozy two person private booth was a perfect setting for a romantic evening. The server was stellar, and he provided many helpful recommendations in terms of menu selections. The quailty of the food was also very good, no surprise there. The Melting Pot is not just a meal, it's an experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I would go more often if it wasn't so ex ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I would go more often if it wasn't so expensive. Iove the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took a friend there to celebrate his bir ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Took a friend there to celebrate his birthday. It is a great place for such an occasion and you can take your time and really visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were looking forward to the experienc ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were looking forward to the experience but left disappointed. The cheese fondue was good, but it ended up costing us $36 for four people. You would think you could get a 5-gallon bucket of cheese for $36. We were a bit mislead by our waiter. The process of cooking meat in a caldron of boiling oil left the steak, duck, tuna & pork looking gray and unappetizing. One & done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was great, our server was wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service was great, our server was was very friendly and made genuine conversation, nothing is more annoying that rehearsed talking points, lol. My wife and I were seated near the back in a small but cozy table, very secluded and relaxing environment, very romantic setting. All four courses were great, only thing I could suggest to do better is more of a variety of vegetables. The Potstickers were amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 10 minutes at our table till u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We waited 10 minutes at our table till until a server came by to drop off water and told us our server would be right over. It was another few minutes until our waitress came by and we were told we couldn't use our groupon since it was not valid on Saturdays. I wasn't too upset by that. So my mom and I decided to just get bread and cheese fondue, and our waitress never even asked us what we wanted to drink because we never even ordered the water we got. We got the garlic herb cheese (cannot remember exactly what it was called), and it was awful. Our waitress put way too much wine in it, and it didn't even taste like cheese. I think our server was mad at us because she rarely checked on us since we just go the appetizer. She kept asking us if we wanted chocolate fondue and we kept telling her no thanks. She simply dropped off the bill without really saying thanks to us; my mom and i realized afterwards she never got our drink orders or stated her name the whole time she was serving us. Overall, the portions of the food, the quality of the food, the service, and the whole dining experience was awful. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The place was nice, but prices are well ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place was nice, but prices are well high. I get that your getting a four course meal, but you have to cook your own protiens.

We sat at the bar and well the first pot sat in front of us had no water in it, so it started to smoke and we were coughing from the smoke for about 5 minutes before the bartender took it away. Sad part other workers noticed it and did nothing. The workers were very laxed and really did not speak to guests unless they were at their stations. I found that odd as I have done customer service for over 20 years and no matter who sat at my station or a co-workers station I always spoke to people. I just was not impressed at all with the experience, even my 14 year old daughter was not impressed. Unfortunately we will not be attending The Melting Pot again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food, service, and ambiance was all exce ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance was all excellent, will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spilled drink on my guest. Brought anoth ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Spilled drink on my guest. Brought another. Wrong drink. Beef was like chewing leather. One protein was pork instead of chicken. Took our dinner off bill because we didn't eat it but still charged for drinks ( 2 teas) and my groupon was used. All in all, felt guilty so left a tip, donated to St Judes , ended up paying for part of the meal and left with wet cold pants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We love The Melting Pot for too many rea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love The Melting Pot for too many reasons to list. From the quiet, private booths to the coupons for 6 free chocolate dipped strawberries for your birthday and anniversary, to the FANTASTIC food! Love everything about it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not impressed at all. We had heard a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Was not impressed at all. We had heard a lot of hype and thought okay let's try it for our anniversary. It was very expensive for what we had and not a fan of cooking my food in broth. It was tasteless. The waitress was very nice . But for us never again. We sat in a very dark corner booth (by the bathroom) and could hardly read the menu. Will not recommend the restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Such a wonderful visit! We love this pla ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Such a wonderful visit! We love this place and this trip did not disappoint! We were early for our reservation so we sat at the bar for a drink. The bartender was lovely. Our server was wonderful too. The owner even came around and made sure we were well taken care of. The food was delicious as always. Well worth the money in our opinion. I would recommend making a reservation though, they tend to get busy. I wonder why?! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Upon entering, you are greeted warmly. The ambiance is inviting and the food is delectable.

What makes this place special is that it is an experience.

Your dining in layers which allows the focus to be on conversation and the company.

The service is excellent and they put in effort to make your time there delightful.

The perfect place for friends or date night!

What are you waiting for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Quite overpriced but a perfect idea for once-in-awhile special occasions. If there were a more moderately priced menu for casual dining, we absolutely would go more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I brought to female friends from work to ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I brought to female friends from work to show what a great place this is. You can spend as little or as much as you are comfortable spending and enjoy a great experience. The cheese and chocolate fondues were wonderful as was the lobster roll salad. The server was excellent and the other people who helped us were great, too. Very knowledgeable and friendly. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and they are ready to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing experience. The mana ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was an amazing experience. The manager and waitress were amazing. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great place when you ar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is always a great place when you are looking for a change of pace "date night" as we were. I had been to the Melting Pot before however it was my Fiance's first time. We decided to have the four course meal and really enjoyed the food. Our server Tina was great! Very attentive, checked in appropriately and I never once had to ask for a refill on my drink since she was on top of it...now that is great service!

Thanks again for helping my fiance and I have a great date night!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was trying really hard, but t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server was trying really hard, but the entire meal took three hours because he kept forgetting things and mixing up our orders. He was a nice kid, but at least two tables with different servers were sat, ate, and finished in the time it took us to get out of there. The restaurant was kind enough to give us 20% off, but this is after we complained because they didn't adhere to the happy hour specials they advertised. We were sat in the dining room, I asked the server if there were any specials, he brought me a specials menu, we ordered drinks on special, the bill came and we pointed out drinks were full price, he went to talk to the manager about it, came back sweating bullets and told us that the manager refused to give us the specials price because the happy hour was for the "bar area" only. Nowhere on the specials menu did it indicate that only bar patrons were privy to the specials. Completely false advertising on top of really poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved the unique dining experience! Very ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the unique dining experience! Very friendly service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening! It was our firs ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely evening! It was our first time dining at The Melting Pot and everything was perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my two daughters out for their bi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I took my two daughters out for their birthdays and I cost me more than $200. That's crazy expensive!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Needed Night Out!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I went on a "Romantic" date to The Melting Pot and it was wonderful!! It lived up to the lovers lane seating. The food was great and service was fabulous. It is pricey but for a special night out or a much NEEDED date night it was well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary on 6/8/2016.

The food and service was great! The only advice that I would give is that when you offer potatoes, please let the customer know how long it will take to cook them. The only cook times that were given were were 1:30 an 2:00 minutes for the meats. If offering potatoes with the meal I would ask the customer if they could be put in the broth right away so they would be ready to eat in 10 to 15 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was my boyfriend and I's second time coming to the Melting Pot, and we loved it just as much the second time there! We had our own secluded booth and privacy; it was very nice. Great experience making your own food, and not feeling rushed to get through a meal! Perfect for date night or special occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place! Service was wonderful!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, many managers came by to c that we were good. The only complaint I have is the price for entrees. There was no flexibility by way of only getting a chicken or a seafood entree. It was a mix of beef, chx and seafood mostly, which made the price very expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best must try place

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Loved it, a wonderful experience and a great time. Food was delicious. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend and have already recommended to our friends. Thank you making amazing anniversary happen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Eats

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We love going to the Melting Pot. Whenever we want a great meal we always come here. This time we dined with friends and it was a great experience. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our sever was terrible, he never congrat ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our sever was terrible, he never congratulated us or introduced himself. He just took our order dropped off our food and never showed up until he dropped off our check (even though we wanted to order more wine AND our chocolate fondue was burning)

Horrible waiter. Never want to come back because of him. He was a bald white tall man, seems like he was in his late 30s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Nice way to spend an anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I love coming here for our anniversary. The food was exceptional as always. We were a little unimpressed by the service this time. We had a team of two severs helping us and even though the receptionist knew it was our Anniversary the wait staff did not and asked if it was a special occasion. Also my husband expressed concern about having another option in place of the cheese course as he doesn't eat diary and the server didn't explain our options enough for us to understand and they brought a double portion of the cheese and didn't acknowledge our concerns about it. I know it was a Sat night, but I felt the experience would have been better if this would have been addressed. We've ate here many times and had great service so I hope this doesn't happen the next time we decide to dine here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Amazing!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server went above and beyond to make sure our visit was perfect. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Treat!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

My fiance and I went all out for our shared birthday dinner ! We got the 4 course meal with cheddar appetizer, lobster and filet mignon entrees, and dulce de leche dessert. The salads were a little smaller than I expected, but ended up being the perfect size for the meal. Definitely a treat since it was a bit expensive, but totally worth it. My fiance and I had so much fun, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the faves

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My friend brought 2 older kids with us, one of whom was experiencing the melting pot for the first time. We weren't sure how they were going to behave but the waitstaff was really nice to them and the whole experience was very pleasant. Thank you for the extra patience. We all had a nice time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every penny

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

My hubby and I had a blast. It was a quiet romantic evening that lasted a good 2.5 hours. Our waiter really knew his stuff and made it so easy to make our meal decisions and make our evening very enjoyable! We reserved a table online and so we got a secluded booth which made our time very special. It felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun experiance

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

over all this is a fun dinner. I would never go if I had a short amount of time or did not have reservations. It is not a bad price for the interaction you get with the servers. I would not recommend if you are not into cheese though. Also I would plan on getting messy. You may not but it is a lot of fluids being moved around at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.