About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192345554x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
Spinach And Artichoke Ravioli
Caprese Salad
Dark Chocolate Fondue
Seafood Fondue
Fundue
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Dessert Caramel Fondue
Melting Pot's S'mores Fondue
Bacon & Brie Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Sam Adams Boston Lager Cheese Fondue
California Salad
Filet, Tiger Shrimp, Spinach Ravioli,Chicken, Sirloin Teriyaki
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
Romulator - Covering Cocovon Fondue
The Original Chocolate

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (45)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my wife to the melting pot for our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my wife to the melting pot for our 3 year anniversary prior to this last visit we never had issues with anything. We had the romantic package, everything was good up until the end when we went to receive our picture it wasnt at the front because the picture didnt save on the camera. Also we werent told that the romantic package included one 4 course meal not 2. How are you going to have a romantic package for 2 people but have only one meal in the package. So our bill came out way more than we had budgeted for.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

We enjoyed a wonderful experience. We di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful experience. We did the 4 course meal and everything was really good. It was also great that they had gluten free bread options for the cheese dip, and an amazing gluten free sponge cake as part of my dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My about the pot was way different, i li ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My about the pot was way different, i like the idea about the cheese and the dippings, but cook your own food for that price and just in one pot? When we were three people with three different taste for the food... It was not the best experience.. Glady the sweet ending was good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I would back again for the dinning exper ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I would back again for the dinning experience. It was a lovely dinner for my I, it was our first time dining there & we enjoyed it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

probably the best restaurant for a roman ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

probably the best restaurant for a romantic dinner. dimly lit ambiance, generally close seating, quiet environment, and food that is rich and eaten in such a way that forces engagement. My favorite restaurant for date night and anniversaries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was celebrating boyfriends birthday, it ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Was celebrating boyfriends birthday, it was our first time there and our waiter was more than courteous in helping us find what we wanted and explaining our options to us. Will be definitely going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was nice but the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our dining experience was nice but the server's suggestions regarding the menu were very confusing. Our couple questions turned into way too much information.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The melting pot was so amazing, the serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The melting pot was so amazing, the service was flawless and the food was spectacular! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time going and I/ we loved it! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My first time going and I/ we loved it! Our server Eddy was great as well!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good - food, service, & a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was good - food, service, & ambiance. However, I think that there should be more specials available.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Eddie was our waiter and he was amazing! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Eddie was our waiter and he was amazing! So friendly and helpful!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

" Unique, Romantic, Fun, & Tasty " My w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

" Unique, Romantic, Fun, & Tasty "

My wife and I started our Anniversary celebration by going to the Melting Pot restaurant in the Gas Lamp area of downtown San Diego. Alexa our server was AWESOME ! Her Bubbly, Informative, Honest, and Pleasant Personality, was one of the best I have ever seen, and made our dining experience so nice. When we come to the Melting Pot again, we will definitely ask for Alexa, she is the Best ! Even though the Melting Pot features multiple cheese Fondue dishes we chose the 3 course meal for our dinner. We had 2 salads consisting of a Strawberry Almond with mixed greens, strawberries, honey roasted almonds, feta and raspberry walnut vinaigrette.

And a California salad with mixed greens, tomatoes, candied pecans and Gorgonzola cheese with raspberry walnut vinaigrette. For the second course we enjoyed a combo plate of Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna, Roasted Garlic Shrimp, Certified Angus Beef, Teriyaki-Marinated Sirloin, Basil Pesto Chicken, and a Feature Pasta plate. The second course meals are brought out cut into

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining experience, ever! Be prepare ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best dining experience, ever! Be prepared for a long dining experience if you are going for the 4 courses. We were there for about 2.5 hours. Worth every minute!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

For the life of me cannot see the appeal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

For the life of me cannot see the appeal . Food was mediocre at best and way overpriced. Last time for me and anyone we know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The taste of the food was not as expecte ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The taste of the food was not as expected. All items lacked seasoning and fell flat. We ordered the four-course meal and, other than the chocolate fondue, most items were not savory. Also, not kid-friendly if your children are not into eating hot cheese (which they aren't of course). No other options on the menu available for them. The price point is too high and not worth it. Our server, however, was fantastic. Great service, very kind and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Thank you Melting Pot for an excellent e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Thank you Melting Pot for an excellent experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service!!! I love that the man ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good service!!! I love that the manager comes to the table and checks on us! Also how nice our waiter was. Makes it easy to tip 30$!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!! Abby was our ve ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service!! Abby was our very kind server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, and the service was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent, and the service was phenomenal!! Will absolutely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were warmly greeted as we entered and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were warmly greeted as we entered and shown to our table. Lonny did a superb job and made some wonderful suggestions. He was patient and explained the flavors and menu. We decided to do the four course meal and it did not disappoint. The portions were large and plentiful. The salad was very crisp and fresh and the timing was perfect. Our main entree was wonderful too. The meat was so flavorful and tender. Dessert was divine! I highly suggest the bananas foster fondue. It was very tasty! The general manager made us feel like family. Deirdre Woodruff went above and beyond to make our evening one we will not forget. My students were in San Diego for a competition for RanDOm acts of KINDNESS - Thank you for making this an evening they will never forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Lonny was very attentive and fri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Server Lonny was very attentive and friendly. Good good and good time but somewhat expensive. Will return but only on a special occasion, since expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great night out for a couple. The servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great night out for a couple. The service and ambiance are worth the trip, as well as the chance to cook your own food to your liking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place to eat and hang with frien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing place to eat and hang with friends. The food is top quality and the service is amazing! If you end up at the bar Andrew is an amazing bartender/waiter and is hilarious as well. My wife and I have been there several times and each time is amazing! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was so terrible that it wiped out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Server was so terrible that it wiped out all the goodness the experience could have afforded our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value5

My wife and I both thought that this was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I both thought that this was one of the best dinning experiences that we've had ever!!! Eddy made the first visit the best, and the fact that Chris the manager came buy to see if everything was ok made it that much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond wonderful service by Dee and Eddy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beyond wonderful service by Dee and Eddy that night. They even ran out and got us Nutella from a nearby shop for the desert. Wonderful atmosphere, much classier than I expected. The meat quality however is hard to bypass for what the overall cost is. I highly recommend the cheese and chocolate fondues, but leave the protein for another spot... The chicken and fish were great but it's simply too hard to pack that fresh tender awesome steak taste into something your boiling in broth...that's to be expected. Overall I'd definitely go back based on the venue and service alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Happy hour Select drinks and cheese fond ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Happy hour Select drinks and cheese fondue Happy hour prices. Otherwise be prepared to dish out $50 to $65 per person, for a three or four course experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I'm a long time customer for different m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I'm a long time customer for different melting pots, this is by far the worst management I have ever seen, and I've been in the service industry for 13 years!! That's saying a lot, trust me go to the other location in San Diego you'll be sure to be taken care of.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was fantastic, food was excellen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was fantastic, food was excellent and it was a fun experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our second time at this location and we had the same waiter as the first. His name is Cyrus and he is seriously amazing! I will ask for him ever time I go from here on out and he remembered us after a few months later! Super friendly and knows his stuff. 10/10 experience as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and overall experience!!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always the food and service where excelent.

It is a pricy dinner but its worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food - Excellent service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I came there for our 11 year anniversary. 12 years ago, he proposed to me at a MeltingPot on the east coast, years later we have moved here to SD and have this MeltingPot so close to us! This location at Gaslamp is spectacular! The atmosphere, the food, the service,... Was all wonderful. Thomas was our waiter and we could not have asked for better service. It felt like we were dining with an friend! His personality and service were both outstanding! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef, pineapple and flaming turtle were good

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went for the prom, they had a prom special which was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I loved the experience from the beginnin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I loved the experience from the beginning, the hostess was inviting considering we were 10 minutes late for our reservation. It felt as though our happiness was a priority. The place was not crowded even though it was 'Ladies Night Out'. Our server Mario was warm and engaging, offering honest opinions for our questions regarding the menu and quick service, my glass was never empty. Comprehensive beer selection and knowledgeable bartender. I am partial to this location over La Jolla on many occasions but this experience solidified my preference.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our Server was Mallory. She was Awesome. New the menu by heart and had Great recommendations. Our food and drinks were timed perfectly and the atmosphere was quiet and romantic. Dee was the manager and she was the cherry on top. A great night all together. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time to the melting pot in the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My second time to the melting pot in the same month was just as great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was nice and gave good service. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter was nice and gave good service. Very fun and great wine an food. I forgot my chocolate covered strawberries though on the side of the booth:(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time , Eddie A was outsta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a great time , Eddie A was outstanding usually our waiters don't speak or they are kind of boring but we still keep going back because we love the food and the experience of fondue , my grandbabies love it we go often . Every waiter should take lessons from Eddie A

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it here!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place but quite pricey

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for Mother's Day. The food is excellent. They make all the fondue dishes right in front of you, and give you plenty of meat, bread, vegetables, etc for dipping. All courses taste very good. The only downside is pricing. Considering you are getting bubbling pots of of cheese, chocolate, etc and some things to dip in them, the price is pretty high. But a fun and different place for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.