About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 234-5554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fun (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (11)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Historic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated our anniversary and had a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary and had a wonderful meal. Our server,Sasha, was kind and helpful. The 4 course meal was absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The touch of romance package left my dat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The touch of romance package left my date in awe. She felt it was amazing and i enjoyed every minute of it. The food was great and so was the staff.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my first experience here. We wil ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I loved my first experience here. We will most definitely​ be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner started off great, then when ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The dinner started off great, then when we were done with our entree we wait 30 minutes for table to be cleared. By that time we wanted to go without having desert. Because I spent extra money on a valentines dinner package I expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Took my wife for Valentines dinner. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Took my wife for Valentines dinner. We both loved it. Lots of great food in our own private yet spacious booth. It was an adventure in dining that lasts two hours but never felt slow or dragged out. A little pricey but what do you expect for one of the busiest nights of the year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Server went out of his way to accommodat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Server went out of his way to accommodate food allergies. He was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here for a date/birthday/Valentine' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here for a date/birthday/Valentine's day occasion. They have a great package that is The Ultimate Romantic Date Night package where they scatter rose petals on the table, place a dozen roses in a vase at the table center, and include a very nice champagne as well as a four course meal including cheese fondue, salad, entree, and chocolate fondue. They also take your picture and ensure you're in a partially secluded area to ensure full romantic atmosphere.

I have to say the food was amazing. There was nothing that disappointed me and as a major foodie, I'm extremely critical of food. The flavors were well balanced, everything tasted fresh, the portion sizes were spot on, and i felt fully satisfied after eating everything. The waiter mixes in the fondue right in front of you so you can select what you want and don't want in the fondue so it can be customized to your liking.

My waiter Eddie as well as those who helped him out with giving us drinks and extra food were all hilarious and very personable. We never felt pressured to hurry along (even though when it was all set and done, we took about 2 1/2 hours to eat everything). He allowed us plenty of time to be alone and talk, but he was also very attentive to make sure we had our champagne glasses full and the transitions between meals were as smooth as possible.

Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, , Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was outstanding. The food was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff was outstanding. The food was amazing. I had be best time and highly recommend this place. It is managed by an amazing gentlemen and if you dine there, ask for Mitchell... he is fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the melting pot. Fondue is good fu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the melting pot. Fondue is good fun for a date or a group of people. It was busy but service was still really good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our waitress was awesome. Great dinner!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

our waitress was awesome. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was terrible. Checked on us o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was terrible. Checked on us once to scream at us ebcause we turned off our stove (our chocolate got too hot). He went to the other table various times and was very amicable with them.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Service was a little slow, food very goo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was a little slow, food very good but a little pricey. Overall a great experience and a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was there with my 7 yr old niece for a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was there with my 7 yr old niece for a special "Frozen-themed Valentines" day event. Well done and she was very impressed!! We had a great time. I just wish we could have substituted a cheese fondue instead of the meat!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love the Melting Pot. They never disa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I love the Melting Pot. They never disappoint. Food was excellent, service was top notch. Great place for dinner with friends or a cozy evening with the one you love. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cierra took care of us and we had a blas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Cierra took care of us and we had a blast. It was our first experience that we will never forget. Everything was so succulent and savory. The dessert was perfectly rich. We will definitely be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate 6 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate 6 months of dating. I paid an extra $19.95 for them to spread rose petals on the table and light a floating candle in a glass heart shaped holder. The table was covered in a lot of petals and looked great.

Our waiter was named Thomas. He was super friendly and made the whole experience very personal. At first it took awhile to get our waters and then even longer to fill them up. However, that was the only issue. The food was brought out quick and he did a great job explaining the process and how to navigate the unique menu.

Our first course was the bacon and jalapeño cheese. We liked it, it wasn't to spicy, but definitely had a strong flavor. I personally didn't like it with the apples, but the bread and vegetables were good with it.

The salads were as expected, good but fairly normal.

We both ordered the surf and turf. It was all amazing, the lobster was great and neither of us could finish all of the filet mignon. The wild sachetti was also good.

The desert was by far the highlight. We ordered dark chocolate with peanut butter. The graham cracker marsh mellows, bananas and pound cake were my favorite. We ate everything except the pineapples. Thomas brought us a large chocolate covered strawberry for free.

Thomas was very personal and told us brief stories and anecdotes as he was preparing each pot. We saw him engaging with other customers the same way. He really seems to love job and said he had worked there for three years.

We paid $25 to park for fours hour one block away. Our entire dinner took just over three hours. The total bill, including tip and $20 rose petals was $165.

I have already recommended it to family and friends. I wouldn't go there often because of the price, but I think everyone should go there once as it is amazing food and a very unique dining experience. It is perfect for a special date as it's a memorable and interactive experience.

We will definitely go back occasionally just for desert.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server Sierra was absolutely fantast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Sierra was absolutely fantastic, it was our first time dining at the melting pot but she walked us through the menu and explained everything perfectly

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, but the food and servic ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A little pricey, but the food and service was good overall

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's was so nice and romantic. Set a gre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's was so nice and romantic. Set a great mood for our date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loni our server was awesome! Made our di ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Loni our server was awesome! Made our dining experience very enjoyable. Even entertained my crying toddler. Thank you Loni!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Love the fondue! C ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent experience. Love the fondue! Cheese and chocolate fondues are a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was more than accommodating a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The server was more than accommodating and helpful being as it was our first visit here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire meal was delicious and quite ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The entire meal was delicious and quite entertaining. My party and I had an excellent evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cocktails were very disappointing. My hu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Cocktails were very disappointing. My husband and I bartend on the side and there was no fixing the blueberry lemon drop. The Moscow Mule was bland. The marg was ok, but not great. I was grateful to share my husband's Tennessee Tea.

That being said, The Melting Pot is a fun experience and our friend from Montana loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I orders the ultimate romance package. T ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I orders the ultimate romance package. Though it seems pricy it is WELL worth it. The staff did a great job setting up and our server was fantastic. Would definitely return again very soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, , Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good server and some good ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had a very good server and some good suggestions in what to order. It is a bit expensive if you figure 50 a person on AVERAGE and then adding tip and wine. Fun experience to do a few times a year. Think they have a good happy hour option in the bar also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The dessert and the fondue was good/OK. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The dessert and the fondue was good/OK. The quality of the products was mediocre. Dinner was, well, OK but the fact that we had to pay extra for the necessary items to cook our food was ridiculous and especially if we were doing the cooking ourselves. Not a fan.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Had a great experience! Our waiter Eddie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a great experience! Our waiter Eddie was the life of the party. He was very good at keeping up with what ordered and came around the table multiple times to ask if everything was good and if we needed anything. The manager also came up to ask if everything was good and if we had any concerns. Overall it was a great experience. Me and the girls plan on going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cierra was very polite and informative w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Cierra was very polite and informative with the instructions as to how to enjoy the dining experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant week!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at the Gaslamp locat ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at the Gaslamp location of "Melting Pot" but must say we prefer the ambiance and the overall meal at the La Jolla location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our daughters 15th birthday was an Incre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our daughters 15th birthday was an Incredible experience and our server Eddie was exceptional! Went out of his way to make sure we understood the menu, cooking the different foods and our options. His attentive service will keep us coming back.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, , Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, very nice staff, and ou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing service, very nice staff, and outstanding food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Always love coming her ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience! Always love coming here!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience - will definitel ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great dining experience - will definitely return 😊

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very slow service. Think they were under ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very slow service. Think they were understaffed that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

New Year's Eve dinner was celebrated at ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner was celebrated at the Melting Pot. Our service and food was fabulous. Before the night ended I was ENGAGED. Melting Pot you will always be a fabulous venue for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve dinner. In general we had ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner. In general we had a very enjoyable time and meal but I just found it so bizarre having to use the bathroom in the hotel that shares the facilities with a nightclub. The bathroom line was long and filled with lots of scantily clad women. I was slightly uncomfortable so I can't imagine how my mother or grandmother would react to that type of situation. Also during dinner the floor vibrated a bit from the bass in the music at the club. It being NYE and we were in festive spirits I didn't let it bother me, but I definitely would not feel comfortable bringing my parents there or having a business dinner due to the noise from the nightclub and the sharing of the restrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We dined here New Year's Eve, the restau ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined here New Year's Eve, the restaurant is inside the old historic Gaslamp district of San Diego , the restaurant is cozy, good selection of cocktails and wines. Our server Mario is very attentive and the service is very good. The food is creative , the cheese fondue is great , we enjoyed the experience for a first timers . It was a lovely evening to ring the new year

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.