Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

4.6
1518 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 234-5554
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Gregorio Arredondo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Trolley stops on 5th and C st
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us from 12:00 to 8:30 pm and make unforgettable memories with an incredible pre-fixed menu 4 course for the whole family. Our reqular me will not be available on Mothers Day.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1518 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This is a great spot for dinner. Interactive ns entertaining for a couple or a group, and the food is delicious! We did the four course meal and it is such a great bang for your buck! I was looking at doing a notable steakhouse but for $50/per person... I could either get one filet mignon at a steakhouse with no sides.... or a delicious 4 course meal. Plus the corkage fee if you bring your own bottle of wine was only $15! Great place to celebrate my man's birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The service was absolutely amazing and I will be coming back again. The manager and our server were just the best

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We love melting pot but it took 3 hours for just three of us...we waited a LONG time between courses .... drink refills etc...our server was two people and we didn't see them much. Disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food and excellent service. Thank you to our server Cierra for her suggestions on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We were there to celebrate my daughter and son in law's purchase of their first home. Our waiter, Kettric, was incredibly personable and friendly. He even made a special plate with a house drawn on it out of frosting (?) with 'congratulations' written over it. This was a sweet surprise and made the experience that much better and memorable. Thank you for waiters like Kettric and a fun way to celebrate this memorable occasion. Oh, and of course, the food was delicious too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Loved my birthday celebration!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Service was awesome! Food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I went here for our 10 yr anniversary. I opted to purchase the "Ultimate Romantic" upgrade and the restaurant did not disappoint. We had a quiet area in the corner, and the entire area was covered in rose petals, as promised. The entire evening was wonderful and the meal was spectacular. Our waitress was superb and the manager came by at least 3 times. We love this place and will be back again. Going here made our Anniversary extremely special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent dinner experience - everything was just great and thoughtful and delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Bday gucci

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful food. Service was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent food

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

I am a long time fan and customer of Melting pot, but recent visits have been an absolute nightmare that are making me question if there has been a change in management.

Most recently, I went with my boyfriend on a Wednesday.

There were just a handful of folks dining, so it wasn't very busy. We were seated in reasonable time. Our waitress introduces herself and takes our drink order..

We order drinks. Boyfriend ordered a jack and coke, I order the salted caramel hot chocolate. 10 minutes later, my boyfriend receives his drink but I still have not gotten my hot chocolate. The waitress tells me my drink will be right out.

I check the time. Another 10 minutes passes and still no sign of our waitress, or my drink. I scan the floor for her. No waitress.

I tell my boyfriend, "let's give it another 5 minutes, then leave." After waiting another 5 minutes with no service, we decided to leave.

I had to find another waiter and let him know what happened. At that point, we were hungry and baffled at the poor level of service. We never saw our waitress again after she dropped off his drink.

I have NEVER had to leave a review like this for Melting Pot. I'm just really disappointed because I am a frequent customer but will not be returning if this continues. I have received poor service at both locations in the past month.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

It was our first time eating at a fondue themed restaurant. The server was extremely helpful in suggesting menu options that fit our taste. Wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Absolutely wonderful birthday meal! Food was very nice and staff was amazing. Our server Lonny was great. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great family experience. Jay was awesome and made a really fun time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

It was amazing! Our server, Thomas was awesome!!! He was very nice and knew exactly what he was doing!! It was quiet and elegant. A great first dinner for our honeymoon!!! Thinking this will be an annual celebration!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Juan the server was great. Always a great time at the Melting Pot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It was a good environment but it took awhile for service to come and address us. Then it was overpriced for everything just in my opinion you are paying for the experience. But it was a good vibe just not what I expected .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I absolutely love this Melting Pot! We always receive nothing but the absolute best service as well as the food is always amazing. From the management all the way to the hostess it's fantastic experience! I also appreciate Thursday's being ladies night. You get to enjoy the same wonderful experience at a cheaper price! What's not to love!!!!!! Thank Gaslamp Team!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Very pleased with the food and service, would definitely come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Perfect place for a romantic dinner or a nice friendly celebration. The servers are very polite and friendly, the food is amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We loved Kristin! Best service in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We come here often but we did come for are anniversary. The wife and I love this place . It’s about 70 a person with drink. Tip as usual . Customer service is top quality. Food is awesome. Althou we ran out of cheese and they moved us to broth. And keep veggies and bread for that boo. There the best at what it is . Highly suggest going

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

First time at the Melting Pot and it did not disappoint. Service was excellent, food was wonderful, and the special touches by the staff made it an overall wonderful experience. Worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We went here to celebrate our daughter's 19th birthday. The waiters and managers were very attentive. They even offered extra dippers for our chocolate fondue. They offered us balloons when we booked, and these were tied to a box which had 3 chocolate covered strawberries! Very nice surprise!
The taste of the food is very good, I just think the quantities are a little bit too small . !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The cheese fondue was the only tasty food item on the 4 course menu. We thought we were ordering ala carte but it turned out to be all inclusive. We did not want the dessert choc fondue so they gave us 3 cards to come back for that....but we didn't really want the dessert.
We were confused about the sauces and how long to cook each item.
No special thing was done for our birthday celebration.
The waitress gave us some quick instructions on how and what we were eating and then only checked back after we had nearly finished.
Definitely not a restaurant we would go back to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Janice had a lot of patience with us as first time guests. She was very real and seemed genuinely enthusiastic about giving us the ultimate experience to make sure we come back and I’m definitely convinced. The manager (can’t remember his name) was absolutely fantastic and definitely wowed us with his oven mitt hands (but not really, because he was so good at hiding the fact he turned off the burner while conversing with us). Definitely would look to sit at Janice’s section again. Food was great and savory. The fondue set was everything I expected plus more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

The food was so good. They allow you to share entrees. Service is excellent! This was our first time to have a fondue everything. It was exquisite from starters to dessert! We loved our server Mario!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

We've been to Melting Pot several times, we really enjoyed our server this time. He was personable, knowledgable, confident in telling us about our experience there and the food and ingredients. He mentioned Melting Pot offers cooking classes and that he even teaches some! We didn't know that, pretty awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I have been here once before and enjoyed it even more the second time. It’s pricey, but not ridiculous. With drinks and the big night out for four people your looking at almost $400 (that’s with a 20% tip included). Service is great, they explain everything to you so if you don’t know how it all works, don’t worry they will patiently and thoroughly explain it all to you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The service was excellent. The ambiance is perfect for romantic evening. Everything was delicious except for the bread. It was dried out and not the best for the cheese. Everything else was great, the drinks and dessert were my favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We drove 1 hour 45 minutes to go here for our anniversary and had a fabulous experience and our server John was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food was AMAZING!! I love the service we get everytime we come. It was a perfect Saturdate 😉

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Amazing service! Waitress was very upbeat and was able to describe everything on the menu in depth. She made the experience even more enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great service and nothing beats the chocolate fondue for dessert

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Service was excellent, very accomodating. Definitely recommended for everyone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

40th wedding anniversary- forgot how fun yet intimate dining at the Melting Pot is. Great food and service. Only negative was the cost to park nearby. Highly recommend for anniversary or special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The ambience was great! Late Valentines dinner and the food was delicious! Very filling. The service was even better than the food, the manager came up to all the tables and asked us how we were doing, little things like that added to our overall experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We had a great waiter who gave us fabulous recommendations, which we followed and they were fantastic. All of the food tasted delicious!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38