About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192345554x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Spinach And Artichoke Ravioli - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Seafood Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Caprese Salad - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Fundue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Flaming Turtle Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Dessert Caramel Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Dark Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Melting Pot's S'mores Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Bacon & Brie Cheese Fondue  - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Sam Adams Boston Lager Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
California Salad - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Filet, Tiger Shrimp, Spinach Ravioli,Chicken, Sirloin Teriyaki  - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
Romulator - Covering Cocovon Fondue - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA
The Original Chocolate  - The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

HAPPY FONDUE YEAR! Ring in the new, with fun and fondue! Indulge in an exclusive five-course menu only for this special evening. Our regular menu will not be available on New Years Eve

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
1 More
Special Occasion
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (42)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Family Style (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Historic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yummy! Fun, fondue experience! We appr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Yummy! Fun, fondue experience! We appreciated that they had a theater menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my four time at the melting pot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was my four time at the melting pot and every time has been amazing. This time me and a few of my friends went for Ladies Night. We had the set menu and it was delicious. It was the perfect sample of what the menu us to offer. Martini specials they offered that were very good. We each had a different one and would 10/10 recommend trying all of them again. After enjoying our four courses we definitely left full even though the portions are seem smaller than at an average restaurant. While some people would consider the melting pot to be somewhat pricey I think it's completely worth it for any special occasion and the experience and ambiance and they offer great deals and events.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As French people, we're used to the trad ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As French people, we're used to the traditional Alpine fondue dish, so our expectations were probably high. We had the single fondue course. The cheese was okay but the quantity was low. You probably need to have the 4-course meal if you're hungry (which can end up being expensive). The service and the selection of wines were great though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food and drinks were outstanding as ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food and drinks were outstanding as well as the service. We had the pleasure of being served by Andrea and she was awesome! Definitely will come again soon.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service (but expect it to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food and service (but expect it to take over an hour to order, eat, etc). It is fairly expensive but great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, atmosphere. Menu is cool ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service, atmosphere. Menu is cool can choose from course entrée or individual. We choose the 4 course entrée. Each one came out at the perfect time, giving food time to settle and us time for conversation between eating. Our server was amazing very attentive. Surprised us at the end with a plate saying happy 2yr anniversary with a chocolate covered strawberry on it which was amazing. We will be back ad it was our first time there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time. Service was grea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an amazing time. Service was great....the food was great....but the experience was everything!!!!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese, salad, and dessert course wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The cheese, salad, and dessert course was good, I did not like the steaks I had ordered. Boiled meat is not for me. Service was good, but I would have rather gone to Fogo for a better steak meal for about the same price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent as always. Server was knowledg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent as always. Server was knowledgable and professional. Always a great place to come for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our an ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. This place was perfect. The service was excellent, and the dessert was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal for Ladies night. T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a great meal for Ladies night. Table service was good and staff was friendly. We had gone to the bar first and it did take a while to order a drink. We also had one misunderstanding, at the table. We wanted an extra cheese fondue, and didn't realize until we got the bill that it was a cheese fondue for 4 people. We only wanted one extra single serving. We had to pay $40, instead of $10. All in all, it was a fun experience.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server Janice was amazing. Great din ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our server Janice was amazing. Great dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This reservation was actually during the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This reservation was actually during their closed for business time for a kids cooking class.

OH MY... this was one of the most incredible experiences my son has ever had with a restaurant cooking class. In the words fo my son "overall it was amazing. They gave me a tour and the class was not too full. I love when we made the tuxedo strawberries. All the fruit was fresh and we melted all kinds of chocolate. I LOVE THIS PLACE!"

Side note to parents, the kids get an apron... come back to the restaurant on a future visit with your child in the apron and he/she gets to go back to the kitchen to hang with the chefs to help prepare the meal you ordered. What a wonderful idea. We'll be going back in a couple of weeks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service that was priovided was great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service that was priovided was great. Our waiter was awesome and always came to check if we needed anything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jay, was very attentive, kno ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Our server, Jay, was very attentive, knowledgeable about the menu, and friendly. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance is amazing. It's v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and ambiance is amazing. It's very cozy dining. Our waitress was perfect and very friendly. The food is a bit pricey and you are left hungry. The portions are tiny. I don't eat a lot either. You just have to go and be patient and know that the portions are small for the price.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the waiter was really nice, and the food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2016

the waiter was really nice, and the food was just really really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The melting pot offers a unique dining o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The melting pot offers a unique dining opportunity with fondu style meals which are nice for socialization and sharing meals. The food is relatively simple to prepare, but the price for the food is relatively high. The expense is largely for the experience and service, not the meal quality. If you want to go for a social meal and enjoy the experience, I recommend it. If you're looking for an exquisite meal, don't expect it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I was disappointed with how long it took ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was disappointed with how long it took to get the food each time. It wasn't even crowded at the time we arrived. All the people around us got in after us and got out before us. They all even got the 4-course meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The Melting Pot always makes it a night ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Melting Pot always makes it a night to remember! Our server Thomas was amazing and had such great attitude. Everyone was super nice and it was fun but at the same time peaceful. The spacing between tables was perfect and no one felt crowded. I recommend this place to anyone for anything, special family night to romantic dinner. The noise was not overwhelming at all and you could enjoy your food comfortably. The best parts of our meal is always the desserts!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue flash back to the 70s! Fun and v ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fondue flash back to the 70s! Fun and very different eating experience. Classic older building still in great shape. Good for a family or big group of people. A little expensive for what you get. But worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I came with my boyfriend, who happens to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I came with my boyfriend, who happens to share the same birthday as me. We were treated very well and personally greeted by the manager. We felt very taken care of and appreciated the service. Great experience on top of decadent food; we'll be back again soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waitress had a positive attitude but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our waitress had a positive attitude but the wait time to get our food was too long. We liked our food.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the concepof fondue is fun, it is ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

While the concepof fondue is fun, it is truly the staff that makes this the ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE.

Thank you team GasLamp for making our evening!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cyrus was the best server we've had in s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Cyrus was the best server we've had in several years.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 2 young boys to Melting Pot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We took our 2 young boys to Melting Pot after seeing The Lion King. We all had a fantastic time, the food was great and our server, Lonny, was outstanding. I highly recommend the Gaslamp Melting Pot for any occasion and if you have the chance, take your kids because they will love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions are extremely small. And if ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The portions are extremely small. And if you go with 2 people you have to decide on the same cheese even if you're paying separateseparate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter Cyrus was amazing, he helped ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waiter Cyrus was amazing, he helped us with our choices of the menu. He was VERY informative

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lonna was great! He was very helpful wit ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lonna was great! He was very helpful with suggestions and checked on us enough to ensure we didnt need anything

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cheese and spinach artichoke fondue!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Cheese and spinach artichoke fondue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food & wonderful dining style! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious food & wonderful dining style! My 14-yr-old daughter and I had just flown into San Diego, and we went straight to The Melting Pot to eat. My daughter has never been to The Melting Pot before, and she was so impressed & wowed with the entire experience!!! Such a memorable time! Our server also helped to make it an extra special experience for her. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location is superb in the middle st ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The location is superb in the middle street of Gaslamp. The authentic fondue experience can be innteresting to couples and small group that can be locatied in private booth. The only reservation was that although I reserved through special dinner 30$ during SD restaurant week- they elected to add 8$ for the special sauce of the main course??

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was amazing, the surroundings m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was amazing, the surroundings made the atmosphere much more enjoyable and it was the perfect place for a date.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Family Style, Historic, Dancing, Waterfront, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Usually don't leave feedback but this ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I Usually don't leave feedback but this was exceptional. My GF and I used Opentable to book a reservation after coming back from a couples massage. The reservation was last minute, Opentable booked it. We showed up and we're immediately greeted and whisked away to an private upstairs table for two. The lights were low and the ambiance was one of calm, romantic - privacy . The manager (Chris) personally came and greeted us and beings that it was our first time, personally showed us how the menu worked. He made amazing recommendations. Every member of the staff was courteous, patient and seemed to love working there. The food was four course and amazing. My Girlfriend loved it. Guys, if you want to be a rockstar grab an Uber and take your woman to The Melting Pot in San Diego!! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting fun date. Felt the menu was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Interesting fun date. Felt the menu was a bit confusing and sneaky where the server recommends more expensive items that you would have thought is included in your already 50$ meal.. Spent 150 with tip for my boyfriend and I and didn't plan to spend more than 100. Good for a date but EXTREMELY expensive..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service, great food, fun way to ha ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great service, great food, fun way to have dinner! The best waiter Eddie!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday and this was her choice. Made for a very nice evening. When I made the reservation they asked if it was a special occasion and then asked if I wanted to have balloons, chocolate strawberries, and/or roses as a surprise. Very nice touch! Dinner was tasty, waitress was animated - overall a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything we had at the Melting Pot was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything we had at the Melting Pot was delicious! Loved the cheese (the garlic one) and chocolate (the peanut butter one) fondue! If you order the wine flight, they basically give you three full glasses of wine for $7 (during happy hour). AND the cheese and chocolate is 50% during happy hour too. We had a fantastic meal and drinks for 2 for $40, when we were expecting it to be at least double that. It's super fun to watch the fondue being prepared, and the wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! We went there for my birthday, but they didn't give any complimentary drinks or desserts as other comparably nice places often do - good to know for future reference!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was a perfect evening. However me wh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a perfect evening. However me when I reviewed my receipt the next day, I realized there had been a couple of misunderstandings about pricing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Jay was our waiter and he was fabulous. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jay was our waiter and he was fabulous. We were there for my daughter's 18th birthday and he truly made the evening special for her. Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.