Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (44)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Fun (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The staff and management was excellent and attentive without being intrusive. I would recommend contacting the venue before a special occasion to take advantage of their special romantic packages.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful Experience! It was my first time dining at the Melting Pot and our server Juan made sure our experience was unforgettable. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very new to the restaurant and came with a small birthday party on 9/9/17. Ambiance was dimly lit and romantic. Had to get the server to explain how the menu worked, which was not extremely clear. I

At first, it was fun to joke around saying that fondue was a European experience and that European dinners usually take hours, but as we saw other tables finish before us, the long wait became unbearable. We had at least 4 different people wait on us, and they did not seem to communicate - original male waiter, second male waiter who made the cheese fondue and brought sauces, third female waitress who brought salads, and female Manager. Even the Manager came by twice, and thankfully was the one who refilled the bread for the cheese fondue, despite asking for a refill previously. We asked for sauces twice before they showed up. When we told the Manager the dessert option we wanted and asked her to place the order for us, we waited another 15 minutes, and our original server returned to once again ask us what our dessert option choice was. I will say the male waiter who made our cheese fondue was definitely great, but he was just covering our original server while he was on break, which felt like he went on 2 breaks while we were seated.

I think this restaurant is very romantic in ambiance, the food is quite decadent and delicious, but the service really ruined it for our party. I would never want to take a date here, it would be self-sabotaging the date,given that the experience is just ruined with the poor service we had and the bass dropping underneath our feet. Food was expensive, and just not worth the experience here. Could not even complain to the Manager, because even she unfortunately contributed to the negative experience. The Melting Pot is great food, good ambiance, but I would probably go to a different location for the cheese and chocolate dessert fondue portions, and maybe just once every 30 years which is my current rate...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was our first time eating here, and it was a truly enjoyable experience! The food was very good, the ambiance was perfect, and our server, Melissa, was extremely pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We took our 3 and 7 year old girls there for the first time....and was pleasantly surprised to hear that kids eat FREE all the time at this location! Our kids had a ball learning about what fun Fondue is and we loved having the family time while enjoying great food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I took my sister here to celebrate "sisterhood". Neither of us had been before. We had a really good time and enjoyed the meal. The restaurant is lovely. Dark wood, marble and tasteful decor. The service was very good. No one rushed you out of the restaurant either. It is pricey but we enjoyed the experience and so found it worthwhile.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Restaurant was great as always - our server was off the charts wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I like the coziness of the Downtown Melting Pot but does not compare to the service at the La Jolla one.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great meal with a touch of class in service. Loved date night with my wife. We will be back again...and again...and again...

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The staff was awesome. Jay was very helpful and informative. Wasn't happy with the portions, small for the amount we paid. Left feeling hungry. We had salads, appetizers, entrees and even ordered desserts. Would expect to be leaving stuffed or at least taking home doggie bags. Which we did neither. No we are not big people. After spending, including tip $300+ just thought we should feel satisfied. Once again really nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome experience. Everything we asked for was taken care of. We will defiantly be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The cheese fondue wasn't hot, but the server stopped by and turned the heat up, but it didn't get hot until we were almost finished. The server was attentive without being intrusive. We used the broth for the meat, which there was plenty of. My husband had 3 kinds of seafood and he enjoyed that.

Salads were tasty but drenched in dressing. i I forgot to order dressing on the side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Janine our waitress was awesome !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was great, food was good nothing to brag about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Jay provided a wonderful experience for us. We will totally be visiting again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have visited other Melting Pot locations and have never been disappointed. This one needs a few improvements.

First of all, the service was great. The waitress did an excellent job and she had a smile the whole evening and knew what she was talking about. Her knowledge of the menu was exceptional.

Secondly, the food was delicious as always. I had three meats and my girlfriend had various veggies. We had cheese before the entree and chocolate afterward. All of it was yummy. The drinks were nice too. We even ordered a chocolate espresso martini and it was awesome.

Now for the things that need improvement.

The heat inside was unacceptable. The booth that they sat us in was so hot that we had to ask to be reseated. After they changed us to a different table, it was still too hot. The entire upstairs area was at least 75 degrees that day. We were sweaty after we ate and we are both in good shape and don't get hot easily.

The bathroom is not in the restaurant. You have to exit into a hotel lobby, then go down two staircases and then when you find the restroom, there is an attendant inside waiting to beg for your tip. I prefer restaurants with bathrooms included and without shamers to operate the sink.

Overall this is an okay place. Would I return for another $200 date night vacation dinner? No.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was my first time there and it was amazing ! Our server was the best and I can't wait to go again. The food was delicious and my favorite was dessert. There's so many things to try , I'll be back soon!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was an amazing restaurant. The server was great and the food tasted good. A bit on the expensive side but very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had informed the restaurant
that it was a 25th wedding anniversary ahead of time, they did nothing for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We loved our little corner table tucked away in a book. The restaurant was quiet and low lit. This Melting Pot had menu items that were not available at my east coast location. Loved it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The restaurant was excellent. The service was great and so was the food. My only complaint is that the valet parking was inadequate.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great place for a long romantic dinner. Very wonderful service

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was extremely overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food and service wonderful as usual. The staff always go above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our dinner and over all experience was amazing! Our waiter Jay was phenomenal and so kind to us!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Tasty tasty tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

While I have visited more than a couple Melting Pot locations across the US, this one was very inviting yet still had the quiet date like ambience. Two managers came to make sure we had everything we needed and one even personally showed us the way to the restrooms. The food was amazing as always and the alcohol selection was nice. Definitely recommend visiting this location in Gaslamp.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Had a great time on Ladies Night!
John also helped us celebrate my sister's birthday. He did an amazing job describing each course and its options ;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My husband and I have been to Melting Pot a few times before. It's a fun experience customizing your food and tasting all the delicious dips! For some reason the food just wasn't as delicious as I remembered. The experience Is fine, however pricey. Worth going for a fun date night or special occasion every once in a while. If you don't finish your wine you can cork it ;) The service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at the Melting Pot. It was quiet and the lighting was romantic. The ingredients were top notch. However, dinner was suprisingly expensive . My wife had two moderately-priced glasses of wine, and we split a four course meal (not becaise we're cheap... we wern'too hungry). The bill was $100. That's a pretty spendy snack. It was good, but not $100-a-head good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We loved celebrating our anniversary at The Melting Pot. Our waiter, Joel, was great and helped us figure out the menu and process for ordering. The manager came around a few times to check in and all the staff were helpful and considerate.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went during ComicCon in July. The boiling pots they put in front of you make it extremely humid and they don't have the AC up so it was really hot. The service was wonderful but the food was mediocre at best, and for the price it isn't worth it. Chocolate was the best part so I would suggest it as a dessert place. Try the Moscow mule drink that was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service and the food was outstanding. There was quite a bit of noise coming from downstairs and the A/C was not working. It was very hot eating and waiting for the food. Overall is was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had a great time . Service was great. Food was great.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Do you Fondue? You should! The Melting Pot is the way to go.....get a complete 4 course meal, or go just for the cheese pot appetizer and the decadent chocolate pot dessert! This is a great meal to share with family or friends, but it can get pricey, so save it for a special occasion. Our server could have been more attentive, at one point he was absent for 20 minutes when we were waiting for our entrees. Other than that, it's a great place to go at least once in a while!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The staff was amazing. I brought my 4 kids for a Superhero event but my 3 year old was just super cranky and the waitress was so patient with everything. I'm so glad the manager sat us in our own room so we didn't disturb the other guests so horribly. The food was very nice, especially the chocolate at the end. The manager was super kind to us and made sure everything was alright. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I have been here before and remembered long dining time, over priced, under delivered pricing and it being warm. I was not wrong on any account.

Plan on spending $50 per head here. It's the only way to do it, and if you try to piece meal it, you will spend even more.

For that $50, you will get something like this.
choice of melted cheese appetizer with bread.
minor salad (get the apple one, it looked good)
the combinations offer something like this.
3 shrimp
4 bites of filet mignon
4 bites of chicken
............and you get to cook it.

Neat concept, just way over priced and i get it as it takes you 2 1/2-3 hours to dine and waiter has to mix/melt cheese, chocolate dessert........lot of work for waiters.

an expensive novelty/experience is about all i can give it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone was really nice from the time I arrived u til we walked out the door. The manager even came over and spoke. All the staff was great and the food was amazing. Thank you for making this birthday celebration perfect. They even did the last minute balloons and roses for the birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server Jessica was very attentive and knowledgeable. We couldn't even tell it was only her 3rd day working there! It was a wonderful experience. A perfectly romantic setting for our date night. Loved the food and will be back to try the other options on the menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very interesting selection. It was fun we had to cook all old maids. The cheese mat was accident. Service was awesome

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.