Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 234-5554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

Specials

Savor, Sip and Socialize

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Savor, Sip and Socialize

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only. At the bar and Patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only.In the bar and patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only. At the bar and patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Romantic (44)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Fun (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Private Room (9)
Casual (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The Gaslamp Melting Pot is one of our favorite special occasion restaurant. We love how interactive it is. We will come back again in a couple months

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the gaslamp big night out it was a lot of food (a bit pricey) overall a fun experience. The cocktails were amazing! I highly recommend the ying yang martini (more like an adult milkshake).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We spent a total of 4.5 hours at the establishment. Between 6 of us our bill totaled over $500. Definitely not worth it! The food was sub par and the service was even WORSE. Not to mention it was a hike to get to the nearest restroom (one restroom) if I should mention. Additionally towards the end of our LONG terrible service, the waiter forgotten to include the balloons we had ordered and as we got up to leave went and charged us anyway. I wouldn't recommend any of my friends to go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Eddy the server was phenomenal. He really made us feel welcome and he was really helpful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This place was amazing and our server Tommy was spectacular as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great servers and outstanding management. Always enjoy Thomas, Lonnie, Jay and Chris. Missed yiu this time Dee!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Me and my husband came here on a recommendation and we were not disappointed service and good were both excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Pre-mother's day!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Alexe was the best server.
All the food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great time every time.
Our server John, EXCEPTIONAL

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

2 hours of munching on deliciousness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

from a value perspective, it just isn't there. You can't get out of there without spending $50 a person, their menu is designed that way, and its mediocre.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a great time. They were very happy to accommodate my gluten free needs. The food was high quality and abundant. You definitely got what you paid for. The lovely birthday card left at the table with the staff's signatures was a lovely (and touching) gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very good place , romantic place the food is good $$$

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our server Lonny was fantastic! Professional, informative and very friendly. He definitely made our first experience at this restaurant memorable!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Amazing service, good was dee-lish! It was a little dark for my taste, and other than an overly intoxicated and "giggly" table behind us it was a fantastic meal. Recommend the four course dinner, but bring your appetite!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I'm not impress at all. The ambiance is great, server is good, the food is just ok. The broth that they use for the main course tasted like instant tap ramen with lot of pepper. For the money that we pain for the only thing ok about it is the dessert milk chocolate fondue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My girlfriend and I had such a great time at The Melting Pot! We chose the 4-course meal and went with our waiter's recommendations since it was our first time trying fondue. I am looking forward to exploring their menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love the melting pot but once the bar/club below the gas lamp location got started it completely killed the atmosphere. Loud music invaded the space killing the ambiance. The La Jolla location is way better

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best place in Gaslamo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved this restaurant! The food and the ambiance made it a great place for my boyfriend's birthday! Will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great for birthdays ! Happy hour is a great value... ask for Alexa as a waitress she has the best attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This restaurant is great for a social dinner. We had a leisurely dinner, nice drinks, and overall enjoyed our experience. Our server was very nice. A few things to note though: he spoke very quickly. I had to ask him to repeat several times. And when he reviewed the menu with us, that was extremely quick. We were first time visitors and he seemed a bit hurried on all accounts, talking, serving, and reviewing the menu. We also asked him for meat sauce selection as we had never been before. I asked for nothing spicy and he brought us the Mojo, which was spicy. The cheese and dessert were the very best part!!!!! This was a birthday dinner for my daughter and I. I'll come back to try again. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good food, great service, but.....SERIOUSLY overpriced for what it is and what you get !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service from everyone.. My daughter felt so special that day. Thank you so much..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a mother daughter date with my mom! We always enjoy coming here. Great food, great happy hour, great service!!! Ask for Janice! She was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fondue was terrible and expensive. We came for the special and I would have been disgusted even more if I had paid regular price. Our waitress was awesome....that's the only thing that gets this place two stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoyed chocolate fondue and some specialty coffees and drinks for a birthday celebration and we had a wonderful experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was weird that we were asked to wait for each person to be there before being seated, and it was pretty expensive if we had wanted a meal. The cheese and chocolate way was the best way to go. Some of the pairings were weird. Really enjoyed the dessert, was the only thing I would consider coming back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went for my son's birthday. They went above and beyond in the service department and my son thoroughly enjoyed celebrating here.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food took a really long time to come out at first. The cheese Fondue took about 20 minutes. We gave ourselves 2 hours before the play to have dinner and we were late to our Broadway play. So it's a long dinner...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was a last minute decision for our last night in San Diego. Reservation times were readily available at 8:30 on Sunday. We were seated immediately upon arrival and our server Thomas was friendly, efficient and offered personal recommendations. We did the 4 course surf and turn option that included cheese fondue (swiss for us), salad, shrimp/chicken/filet, and the original chocolate/crunchy peanut butter for desert. Given prices throughout the Gaslamp Quarter, The Melting Pot is a very good value for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great new additions to the menu. Hadn't been to a Melting Pot in a long time and missed it terribly! How can you go wrong with cheese and chocolate? Great recommendations by our server, Eddie, who also kept us laughing all night. He went out of his way to make my son feel special, which was appreciated. Flavorful meats and good selection of items to dip. Just wish there were bigger portions of the veggies!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our server, Lonny, was excellent and the manager was great! She kept checking in on us and recommended a desert option that was not on the menu, Snickerdoodle! YUM! FUN FUN Place and very good food. Allowed us to enjoy our company, the kids enjoyed it as well!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Ladies night is the perfect night out! My mom and I go every month-4 courses and a great drink selection. Worth every penny. Can't wait for April's menu!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were seated promptly with a nice smile. Our service was wonderful. Janice was our server and she was helpful and very nice. She was always smiling which set a nice mood for us too. I recommend this place to any one reading this.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great place to celebrate a wedding anniversary! Very good service and great staff. Ask for a table upstairs. And enjoy the four course delicious meal!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I loved everything about this place except for the insanity of the bathroom situation. They need to invest a couple hundred thousand into the place to update the location and size of the bathrooms. Not disabled friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lonnie our waiter was outstanding , great meal and fabulous service. worth every penny

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.