About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192345554x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
Spinach And Artichoke Ravioli
Caprese Salad
Dark Chocolate Fondue
Seafood Fondue
Fundue
Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue
Flaming Turtle Fondue
Dessert Caramel Fondue
Melting Pot's S'mores Fondue
Bacon & Brie Cheese Fondue
Yin & Yang Chocolate Fondue
House Salad
Filet, Tiger Shrimp, Spinach Ravioli,Chicken, Sirloin Teriyaki
Sam Adams Boston Lager Cheese Fondue
California Salad
Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue
The Original Chocolate
Romulator - Covering Cocovon Fondue

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (52)
romantic (48)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
good for groups (26)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (13)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent, and the service was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent, and the service was phenomenal!! Will absolutely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were warmly greeted as we entered and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were warmly greeted as we entered and shown to our table. Lonny did a superb job and made some wonderful suggestions. He was patient and explained the flavors and menu. We decided to do the four course meal and it did not disappoint. The portions were large and plentiful. The salad was very crisp and fresh and the timing was perfect. Our main entree was wonderful too. The meat was so flavorful and tender. Dessert was divine! I highly suggest the bananas foster fondue. It was very tasty! The general manager made us feel like family. Deirdre Woodruff went above and beyond to make our evening one we will not forget. My students were in San Diego for a competition for RanDOm acts of KINDNESS - Thank you for making this an evening they will never forget!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Lonny was very attentive and fri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Server Lonny was very attentive and friendly. Good good and good time but somewhat expensive. Will return but only on a special occasion, since expensive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great night out for a couple. The servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great night out for a couple. The service and ambiance are worth the trip, as well as the chance to cook your own food to your liking.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place to eat and hang with frien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing place to eat and hang with friends. The food is top quality and the service is amazing! If you end up at the bar Andrew is an amazing bartender/waiter and is hilarious as well. My wife and I have been there several times and each time is amazing! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was so terrible that it wiped out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Server was so terrible that it wiped out all the goodness the experience could have afforded our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value5

My wife and I both thought that this was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I both thought that this was one of the best dinning experiences that we've had ever!!! Eddy made the first visit the best, and the fact that Chris the manager came buy to see if everything was ok made it that much better.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond wonderful service by Dee and Eddy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beyond wonderful service by Dee and Eddy that night. They even ran out and got us Nutella from a nearby shop for the desert. Wonderful atmosphere, much classier than I expected. The meat quality however is hard to bypass for what the overall cost is. I highly recommend the cheese and chocolate fondues, but leave the protein for another spot... The chicken and fish were great but it's simply too hard to pack that fresh tender awesome steak taste into something your boiling in broth...that's to be expected. Overall I'd definitely go back based on the venue and service alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Happy hour Select drinks and cheese fond ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Happy hour Select drinks and cheese fondue Happy hour prices. Otherwise be prepared to dish out $50 to $65 per person, for a three or four course experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I'm a long time customer for different m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I'm a long time customer for different melting pots, this is by far the worst management I have ever seen, and I've been in the service industry for 13 years!! That's saying a lot, trust me go to the other location in San Diego you'll be sure to be taken care of.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was fantastic, food was excellen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was fantastic, food was excellent and it was a fun experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our second time at this location and we had the same waiter as the first. His name is Cyrus and he is seriously amazing! I will ask for him ever time I go from here on out and he remembered us after a few months later! Super friendly and knows his stuff. 10/10 experience as usual!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and overall experience!!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always the food and service where excelent.

It is a pricy dinner but its worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food - Excellent service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I came there for our 11 year anniversary. 12 years ago, he proposed to me at a MeltingPot on the east coast, years later we have moved here to SD and have this MeltingPot so close to us! This location at Gaslamp is spectacular! The atmosphere, the food, the service,... Was all wonderful. Thomas was our waiter and we could not have asked for better service. It felt like we were dining with an friend! His personality and service were both outstanding! We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef, pineapple and flaming turtle were good

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went for the prom, they had a prom special which was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I loved the experience from the beginnin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I loved the experience from the beginning, the hostess was inviting considering we were 10 minutes late for our reservation. It felt as though our happiness was a priority. The place was not crowded even though it was 'Ladies Night Out'. Our server Mario was warm and engaging, offering honest opinions for our questions regarding the menu and quick service, my glass was never empty. Comprehensive beer selection and knowledgeable bartender. I am partial to this location over La Jolla on many occasions but this experience solidified my preference.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our Server was Mallory. She was Awesome. New the menu by heart and had Great recommendations. Our food and drinks were timed perfectly and the atmosphere was quiet and romantic. Dee was the manager and she was the cherry on top. A great night all together. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time to the melting pot in the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My second time to the melting pot in the same month was just as great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was nice and gave good service. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter was nice and gave good service. Very fun and great wine an food. I forgot my chocolate covered strawberries though on the side of the booth:(

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time , Eddie A was outsta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a great time , Eddie A was outstanding usually our waiters don't speak or they are kind of boring but we still keep going back because we love the food and the experience of fondue , my grandbabies love it we go often . Every waiter should take lessons from Eddie A

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it here!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place but quite pricey

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for Mother's Day. The food is excellent. They make all the fondue dishes right in front of you, and give you plenty of meat, bread, vegetables, etc for dipping. All courses taste very good. The only downside is pricing. Considering you are getting bubbling pots of of cheese, chocolate, etc and some things to dip in them, the price is pretty high. But a fun and different place for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We got the "romance package" and it was awesome!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a great time on our date. They jumped if we asked for anything. Food was great, waiter was great, wine was excellent! We had a nice secluded table and were able to have a nice quiet time to ourselves which is what we wanted. Perfect evening! Thanks Melting Pot!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I think my experience was fabulous, I really enjoyed my time there. It's perfect for diner with friends or a date. The food is delicious

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If romance is what you want this is the place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing fondues! I recommend the cuattro formagio as main dish and the yin and yang as desert, they are fabulous! The place is really romantic, the way the fondue is prepared and presented makes the experience really unique! The best date we had here in San Diego/CA

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melting Pot is a must try if you are in Downtown

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I came for the first time last Friday and it was beyond amazing. Our expectations were more then surpassed. Lanni our waiter was very helpful, professional, and overall just a delight, he made our visit very special, he made a anniversary gift for my girlfriend and I saying "Happy 15th anniversary" that was not expected and he did it out of the kindness of his heart. This restaurant knows how to treat their patrons. I would recommend this place to everyone I know.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey place with a confusing menu

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

If you just want fondue, its difficult to create a dining experience just based on fondue for a decent price.

The menu is confusing, and you have to pay for many add-ons, a per person fee, etc.

For the fondue they should decrease their price a bit.

Bread was quite stale, and for the amount we spent, we expected just a bit more.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Romantic package was worth it !

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This place was amazing and the service was perfect! I will defiantly be coming back again ! Defiantly a private setting with an amazing atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy and seated fast.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Yummy and seated fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent restaurant to have dinner before show!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Right around corner from Balboa And Lycium Theater. We ordered the Cheese Fondu and the Entre course and that was more than enough food without salad and desert. You had better be hungry if you order the four course meal!

Overall great dinner and fun experience for a group.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Melting Pot is my favorite restaurant!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It is a little expensive so its great for a special occasion. The wait staff are all excellent...very attentive and fun. The restaurant manager comes by to check on you at least once if not more. They care about their customers. Love it!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around dining.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The Melting Pot in Albany, NY to The Melting Pot in San Diego, CA, they are pretty consistent on price, ambience and courtesy. I love making reservations and spoiling my guest.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Regardless of the many locations I have enjoyed dinner with they are always amazing and on top of everything. It's an amazing experience even if you've been many times. I highly recommend this location!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as fondue gets!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We've traveled the world and been to places which claim to have originated fondue, so this was on par with any of the worldclass places we've experienced fondue. It's a different dining experience, great way to get a taste of a bunch of different stuff without over-eating. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Easter Bunny was great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our family trip to meet the Easter bunny exceded expectations - our 3 year-old and near 2 year old didn't eat much but the spontaneous appearances from the bunny helped keep them engaged. Above all else, our server Bryan was attentive, funny and even grabbed our girls a couple bags since we failed to bring our own baskets for the egg hunt. I always knew the Melting Pot was great for a date or group occasion, now I know that they are excellent for kids activities too!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not too impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Our group had four people (2 adults & 2 teens). Although we had reservations and were on-time, we were seated into a corner room with a large table (could seat 8) and no ambiance.

Once in this room, we rarely saw anyone.... waitress, servers etc. It seemed as though we were long lost & forgotten.

Our drinks took 45+ minutes to arrive, teenagers complained and we were not happy.

The food took over an hour and everything was messed up requiring the waitress to make adjustments that took another 30 minutes. The restaurant was not busy at all and it was about 8:00PM.

No one apologized and we'll never return.

The bill was over $150 for (2) cocktails, (2) meals that were split between the (4) of us. Rip-off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The fondue could be not for me

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The way they prepare the fondue could be a little tricky, on my experience was very strong on the white wine, and food second course was mmmm so so, and third was not good as I expected. Could be that boil water with seasoning and garlic is not my style, or boil meat, chix and shrimp is not my best way to eat with cold sauces on the side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing date night

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The staff was amazing. Our waiter was timely with everything. He explained the process and had us laughing. We pre-ordered chocolate covered strawberries and they were waiting on our table for us. Best experience we could have asked for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I highly recommend this place.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my 10 year old granddaughter before we went to the Civic Center to see River Dance. This was actually the high light of the evening. She has told everyone about it. I'm coming again this week with both grandchildren. We must love it as we live in Fallbrook so it's a trek for us to get there!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FUN

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We came here to celebrate my daughter 21st birthday!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.