Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter

Welcome to The Melting Pot San Diego Gaslamp

Located on 5th Ave & E St in the historic Gaslamp Plaza Suites, the San Diego - Gaslamp Melting Pot Restaurant brings a truly unique, romantic and interactive four-course fondue dining experience to San Diego's vibrant downtown dining scene.!

901 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, Fusion / Eclectic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Thursday 5-10 pm, Friday and Saturday 4-11 pm, Sunday 3-9pm

Cross Street:
E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 234-5554

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/san-diego-gaslamp/specials

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Valet drop off is at the Gaslamp Suites Plaza entrance on E Street. There are several public parking lots available on Fifth and Sixth Avenue. Valet parking is available on Sunday-Thursday for $10. Friday And Saturday for $15
If you bring in your valet ticket, we'll give you $5 off!

Public Transit:
Trolley stops on 5th and C st

Executive Chef:
Gregorio Arredondo

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot has two private dining rooms to serve our guests. The first accommodates 8 people comfortably while the second suits up to a party of 16.
The whole restaurant is also available for larger parties

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 234-5554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Cooking Classes, Lunch with Santa, Lunch with the Easter Bunny, Fondue Fairytale, Ladies Night Out, Military Mondays

Specials

Savor, Sip and Socialize

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Savor, Sip and Socialize

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only. At the bar and Patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only.In the bar and patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Savor, Sip and Socialize Happy Hour

Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 50% off cheese and chocolate fondue and Brie plates. Selected Wines - $6 per glass Selected Domestic Beers - $3 Well Drinks - $5 Featured Cocktails & Martinis - $6 Featured Wine Flight (3 Wines) - $7 Martini Flight (3 Mini Martinis) - $8. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy hour is for 21 and older only. At the bar and patio only. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

The Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fun (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (6)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was amazing. I brought my 4 kids for a Superhero event but my 3 year old was just super cranky and the waitress was so patient with everything. I'm so glad the manager sat us in our own room so we didn't disturb the other guests so horribly. The food was very nice, especially the chocolate at the end. The manager was super kind to us and made sure everything was alright. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been here before and remembered long dining time, over priced, under delivered pricing and it being warm. I was not wrong on any account.

Plan on spending $50 per head here. It's the only way to do it, and if you try to piece meal it, you will spend even more.

For that $50, you will get something like this.
choice of melted cheese appetizer with bread.
minor salad (get the apple one, it looked good)
the combinations offer something like this.
3 shrimp
4 bites of filet mignon
4 bites of chicken
............and you get to cook it.

Neat concept, just way over priced and i get it as it takes you 2 1/2-3 hours to dine and waiter has to mix/melt cheese, chocolate dessert........lot of work for waiters.

an expensive novelty/experience is about all i can give it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone was really nice from the time I arrived u til we walked out the door. The manager even came over and spoke. All the staff was great and the food was amazing. Thank you for making this birthday celebration perfect. They even did the last minute balloons and roses for the birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server Jessica was very attentive and knowledgeable. We couldn't even tell it was only her 3rd day working there! It was a wonderful experience. A perfectly romantic setting for our date night. Loved the food and will be back to try the other options on the menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very interesting selection. It was fun we had to cook all old maids. The cheese mat was accident. Service was awesome

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Overpriced - but fun. We had a Groupon and It feels like they give you less food with this option. Great location.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a great experience , the food was good, defiantly going back! ,

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The boys enjoyed their meal as did we adults. A bit expensive, but its okay for a special occasion. We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The ambiance was very nice. Our server was excellent.

We were on a date and it was very fun to fondue. Since it was our first time, we went with the server's recommendation, which was delish and just the right amount of food and drink.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I've been to the Melting Pot before, several years ago, on a few occasions. I know that it is pricey, but this visit, it seemed as though it was not worth that price and I now regret going there. I'm not cheap, I love a good spoiling and a good night out, but there were a few factors that contributed to my not loving the price. We went for cheese, cocktails, and chocolate because I don't really like their entree (boiled meat) and so I planned on having just that. Our server was nice which is always good, but here are my complaints. One: I did not get a good impression of cleanliness and it appeared run-down. As I've stated, I've been there before, so I was very disappointed at the appearance. The carpet is worn and stained, there is a musky scent in the air that smells like mold, and our table was sticky. That's a pretty big pet-peeve of mine so I was pretty turned off from the start because of that. Second: we ordered the additional meat plate to go with the cheese but there wasn't enough cheese to finish even the items they bought without an extra price tag. The burner was up too high, so our cheese practically evaporated before our eyes, and then we were stuck with a bunch of items we didn't get to eat with cheese (we had a ton left: apples, pickles, meats, breads). It felt like a rip, big time. Especially because on the menu it notes the price to be about $10.99, but that is per person, not for the bowl. You would think I would be able to eat all of the goodies they provided me for a bowl of cheese that costs over $20.00. The chocolate was fine, again our burner seemed to be set too high, and even with a lot of chocolate left in the bowl we were getting burned. My boyfriend was pretty set against coming but I insisted and even paid but now I think he was right. I got caught up in the hype of remembering the last time I went and thought it might be just as memorable but instead of having a great Saturday night out I felt like I threw away money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great service. It was ladies' night by chance which meant great deals on food and drinks. Waitress was awesome. Plenty of food even though the ladies' night meal was said to be smaller in size. Couldn't finish all of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was delicious. Loved our server. She was very friendly. However, when she went on break the server that was covering for her didn't check on us to see if we needed anything. Also, I missed the horse radish dipping sauce for the shrimp. But I didn't ask to see if there was any and maybe they just serve it in Las Vegas. Overall, was a good meal. ☺

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful. Our server, John was amazing. He made the entire experience fun and went the extra mile to make my daughter feel so special on her birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our first experience dining at The Melting Pot. We had heard great reviews from our friends so I reserved a table for our daughters graduation dinner. The servers were amazing and patient with our large family. They were very helpful explaining the options and made our evening one to remember! We sat in a quiet private room and we were made to feel special. Thank you Melting Pot!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Really nice place and friendly staff.... the food was great and the staff are very friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

John our server was AMAZING!!!! My son had a great 16th birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our waiter John was AMAZING and SO HELPFUL!!! The manager even took us on a tour of the building after we finished our meal - it used to be a bank so definitely some rich (no pun intended) history to the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great service from Gary! My daughter and I had a wonderful time and the staff even signed a card and gave a chocolate covered strawberry, on a plate spelling congrats, celebrating her special day - what a nice touch :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

1st time dining at The Melting Pot. Best experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went here to celebrate an anniversary and it was our first time doing a 4 course meal, which was delicious. Our server was awesome, (David?/Oscar? Can't remember, sorry).

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The waiters were wonderful, and the portions were just right.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The valet parking is the best value in the Gaslamp. We were early so only paid $10+5 tip for valet parking. Were seated right away, great server. He was very attentative. Would definitely go to this location again if we had another gift card. The cost vs what you get is a little steep. This is a special occasion restaurant only.

Also, that the Cohn Restaurant Group puts the message of adding 3% to every bill to cover labor costs is ridiculous. Just add a $1-2 to the prices and you've covered your 3%. Because you advertise this, I avoid your restaurants. We only dined here because we had a $100 gift card. This practice is a negative. Also makes you look like you can't afford to pay your staff and at prices at your other restaurants of $30+ for a steak, makes you look cheap. Change your ways Cohn Restaurant Group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The Gaslamp Melting Pot is one of our favorite special occasion restaurant. We love how interactive it is. We will come back again in a couple months

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had the gaslamp big night out it was a lot of food (a bit pricey) overall a fun experience. The cocktails were amazing! I highly recommend the ying yang martini (more like an adult milkshake).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Awesome! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We spent a total of 4.5 hours at the establishment. Between 6 of us our bill totaled over $500. Definitely not worth it! The food was sub par and the service was even WORSE. Not to mention it was a hike to get to the nearest restroom (one restroom) if I should mention. Additionally towards the end of our LONG terrible service, the waiter forgotten to include the balloons we had ordered and as we got up to leave went and charged us anyway. I wouldn't recommend any of my friends to go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Eddy the server was phenomenal. He really made us feel welcome and he was really helpful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was great....Gary was a great server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place was amazing and our server Tommy was spectacular as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great servers and outstanding management. Always enjoy Thomas, Lonnie, Jay and Chris. Missed yiu this time Dee!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Me and my husband came here on a recommendation and we were not disappointed service and good were both excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Pre-mother's day!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Alexe was the best server.
All the food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great time every time.
Our server John, EXCEPTIONAL

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

2 hours of munching on deliciousness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

from a value perspective, it just isn't there. You can't get out of there without spending $50 a person, their menu is designed that way, and its mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great time. They were very happy to accommodate my gluten free needs. The food was high quality and abundant. You definitely got what you paid for. The lovely birthday card left at the table with the staff's signatures was a lovely (and touching) gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good place , romantic place the food is good $$$

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server Lonny was fantastic! Professional, informative and very friendly. He definitely made our first experience at this restaurant memorable!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.