About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
4 More
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Fredericksburg ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (53)
good for groups (39)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our favorite spot for celebratin ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is our favorite spot for celebrating or anniversary. Great for a date night for just the two of us or with a few friends. Variety of choices to appease all tastes. This is one place you will never leave hungry. Staff is friendly and courteous and service is outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,great service. Our waitres ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food ,great service. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive , and the owner came by the table to make sure we were happy. Will definitely come here again next time we are in Fredericksburg

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a franchise; if I had that would have been a red flag for me that the quality of the meal wasn't going to be what I was looking for. This restaurant was very highly rated on Open Table and so I thought since we were passing through the area that it would be fun to try given we love fondue. The service from the staff was great, even the owner stopped by our table to ask us how it was going, but I have to say that they charge a lot of money for just ok food. Firstly and importantly, I really don't like the way the menu is broken down in terms of only being able to order cheese fondue as an appetizer and then a broth or oil based fondue as the entrée which has to be shared by the entire table. We ordered a cheese fondue starter that came with bread, granny smith apples and some veggies. The bread was good but the veggies were not of great quality. This is very important for fondue that the veggies be fresh and crisp. The cheese fondue was too garlicky and was a bit fake cheese tasting to me. We ordered a traditional oil fondue for our entrée that came with sirloin, marinated chicken and shrimp. I would say the quality of the meats was very good, but the sauces were just ok in my opinion. In any event, I just was expecting so much better given the rave reviews this place gets and I felt the food overall was just ok and on the very expensive side for food that really shouldn't be expensive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fond ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fondues more if the food like the bread or brownies were warmed before or the pot was hot enough to warm up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Another wonderful evening at the Frederi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Another wonderful evening at the Fredericksburg favorite. A quiet Thursday evening with my wife and an always enjoyable meal. Top notch service and attention to detail. Everything from beginning to end was perfect. Highly recommend for a quiet date night, romantic evening or just a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. We go to the melti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything was great. We go to the melting pot once or twice a year. The food is always great. This time though The New York cheese chocolate was not great and the Chicago deep dish cheese could not go the distance ( we ran out of cheese before dippers). The Louisiana gumbo was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Tori (our server/waitress) was excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Tori (our server/waitress) was excellent. She was VERY knowledgeable about all options. (We went for the Cheese and Chocolate Special.) She also had wonderful attitude along with a displaying a "quirky" disposition (which fitted was to a tee) as we were talking to her.

We have never had a bad experience at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely friendly staff.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Extremely friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A bit expensive but a great place to go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A bit expensive but a great place to go for a change or special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic dinner, excellent service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a tremendous meal. The fondue experience was incredible, the service from Melissa and the whole team was fantastic, and it was overall a wonderful time. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for that special meal.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a group of 9 and the service was great. Thank you Michael. This particular group has been to this restaurant before and we love coming here. The food is always good, and the chocolate fondue is to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melting Pot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server Andrew was amazing! He made sure we made the right pairing choices and made sure we were comfortable while dining! Everything was perfect couldn't ask for better service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit slow paced and moderat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a bit slow paced and moderately inattentive compared to prior experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

food was great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I believe our servers name was Andrew. He was phenomenal! Great service and food was amazing. Only concern is that there was a manager there that visited our table way to much to ask how we were doing. We were almost bothered by it.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Seated us in the bes ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful evening. Seated us in the best seats...private and romantic. Wine was delicious, and a great accompaniment to the meal. Service was awesome. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I loved mother's day at melting pot! It was fun, the music was pleasant. Food is always tasty! 5 stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & Great service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fantastic as always but our service was the best I've ever had!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service. Nice clean and friendly restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service, wonderful food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were a party of 10 including 2 small children. I made reservations for a Sat. lunch following a graduation. Reservations were a snap, and later when I added 4 more people they had no problem accomodating us. We had a private dining area set off from the rest of t he restaurant which was perfect. Our server, Tori, could not have been better in her suggestions, interactions with us, and checking back to see if we needed anything else. The manager also stopped by several times to see how things were going. We ordered 3 cheese fondues, and one in the party ordered steak. We ended with 2 chocolate fondues that were wonderful. No one went away hungery and sitting around a big table made for fun conversation. I would definitely come here again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Pricey but taisty all in all great experiance would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server josh was great! Knowledgable, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our server josh was great! Knowledgable, personable, funny and attentive. The food was fresh, delicious and a fun overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The overall experience is amazing, and they always have a team of people to help in all aspects of your meal. A 10/10 every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but this meal was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was great, but this meal was a great opportunity to get the kids to put down their electronics and talk. The melting pot keeps their hands busy while keeping meal time calm enough for great conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Unlimited Cheese and Chocolate.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great way to sample each of their cheese offerings. Always an excellent dining experience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The family and I went for the their endl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The family and I went for the their endless cheese and chocolate. We had a wonderful server and everything was delicious as usual. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We had a wonderful time- the service was great as was the food. Our 3 and 6 year old loved it and enjoyed FUNdue as they fondly renamed the experience. Morgan was our server and she was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic experience!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We've been coming to the Fredericksburg Melting Pot for years and not once has it been a bad experience. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive. The manager is engaged and has always taken care of our special needs without a single complaint. We plan to return again and again without hesitation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was spot on. Manager was on the ball making sure everything was perfect. He didn't ask anyone to do something he wasn't going to do himself. He was changing lightbulbs!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was wonderful and our server was fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Good was wonderful and our server was fantastic. Great St. Patrick's day special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone told us happy anniversary and m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Everyone told us happy anniversary and made the experience seem more intimate. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mack, our server tonight was by for the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Mack, our server tonight was by for the best server we have had to date at the melting pot, and we come there quite often. He was attentive, friendly, and a pleasure to have as a server tonight. Thanks for making our night enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Anniversary

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Made my four year anniversary absolutely amazing and unforgettable. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fun fondue

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were celebrating two adult birthdays of a party of 8 in which 3 were young kids. The staff was on their toes - by the end of the meal our waitress (without us telling her) had picked up on the kids names which I find remarkable. The management stopped by to make sure our dining experience was going well. I just love the Fredericksburg Melting Pot and its entire staff. Thank you for the wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch as always

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

They have the best food and service . We have been coming to The Melting Pot for years at multiple locations and this time was no different. Excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot is our go to celebration spot.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We love the staff, the ambiance, and the style of dining. Never had a complaint for the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place for special occassions.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

My family has been a regular guest at this establishment and we have never been disappointed. The food and service has always been first class and we will continue to go there.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

No words could do this establishment justice. We had an absolutely wonderful time, the food was amazing, our table was super cozy and romantic, and our service was phenomenal! The manager came by the table several times throughout the evening to check on us and was such a sweet man. Our waitress was on of the friendliest people id ever had the honor of being served by! Overall I'd give this a 100/10 😉 wonderful place and I can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time with kids

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Sunday kids eat free is a great deal. We went for lunch so it was a perfect time for families. My husband and I have been many times. The kids loved it and we will be back with the whole family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Does not honor reservations!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Melting Pot does not in any way honor reservation times. We showed up a few minutes before our reservation to a very busy waiting area, and proceeded to watch everyone in the waiting area including a person with a reservation 15 minutes later than mine get seated before us. There is absolutely no point to a reservation at the Melting Pot because you are just going to get seated in line with the people that just walk in the door. Save yourself the hassle and just show up 40 minutes before you want to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The waiter was the best, giving out reco ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The waiter was the best, giving out recommendations of the best meals and making us feel comfortable, enjoyed every min of it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.