About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
10 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Fredericksburg ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (21)
Fun (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Casual (7)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good although not a lot for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good although not a lot for what it cost. Our waitress was great! I would recommend having some sort of timers at the table for timing the meat when cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our 3rd visit. This year was sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our 3rd visit. This year was special, I hit the scary 62 and it was the celebration of the adoption of my daughter, as we joked she is only a year old. She calls it our A and B days. The food is always good and the service is great. It a good value for the money. I know we will be going back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this location. Have bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Highly recommend this location. Have been coming here for years to celebrate different occasions and never was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful date night with the wife to ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful date night with the wife to celebrate the first time we met. Very friendly staff helped make it a memorable experience. Definitely come here again and recommend to friends!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect for my wife and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was perfect for my wife and I! Great personal service from the manager and servers!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. Michael was our s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Outstanding as always. Michael was our server and he provided us with exceptional and very enjoyable service. Will definitely be returning. It must also be said that the food was excellent as well. Thank you so much for a great 30th birthday dinner with my sisters!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very good dinning exp, If your ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is a very good dinning exp, If your looking for a nice quit place to enjoy your meal. We do this once every year or so. It's not the same old hum-drum type of eating out.

Staff was great, friendly yet professional, almost at your bec-an-call if you will.

Highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an awesome server. This is my 12 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an awesome server. This is my 12 year old son's favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, and the fondue c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good, and the fondue concept was nice. It was slow and relaxing. The noise level was fair. We were able to speak to one-another without raising our voices. We liked that.

Our waitress, Jessica, was very nice, and very knowledgeable, but not very attentive. Getting her attention, and getting her to refill my wife's wine was pretty difficult. She may have been pretty busy with other tables.

It is very nice, but at $175.00 for two people, before tip, it is not the sort of thing that we'll be able to do very often. It is definitely a 'special occasion' sort of place.

But we'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I did not check Kid-friendly even though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I did not check Kid-friendly even though they made us at home with a toddler on this trip. Great staff worked with us, put us in a side room with minimal other diners. I had made reservations and warned them we would need a highchair, so they were prepared. Great server too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and staff.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While fondue is a leisurely endeavor and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While fondue is a leisurely endeavor and you want your server hovering, our server seemed preoccupied and we seemed to wait a long time between already long courses. Dishes stacked up drinks not refilled. That said we had a great time. Menu should distinguish both gluten free and low carb

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An excellent restaurant with great servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent restaurant with great service. Admittedly it's a bit pricey, but you definitely don't leave hungry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our visit. It's been awhile s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We enjoyed our visit. It's been awhile since we'd been out without the kids. The food was excellent as usual. Service was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We go here for every special occasion we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We go here for every special occasion we can come up with. We have never had bad service here and the food quality is always amazing. The owner, I forget his name is outstanding. He checks on you several times per visit but he is not intrusive or annoying. This is by far my favorite Melting Pot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food. Very romantic atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Delicious food. Very romantic atmosphere. Staff is friendly and helpful. Manager takes the time to make sure the guests are enjoying their dining experience. I will most definitely be returning.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I loved the quiet atmos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I loved the quiet atmosphere. Thanks Melting Pot for great food, fantabulous service and courteous staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. Forgot my cc an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, good service. Forgot my cc and they held for me until the next day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating Wife Appreciation Da ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were celebrating Wife Appreciation Day, which we didn't even know existed until we saw the special. The special included a four course meal, roses, chocolate covered strawberries, and a picture. The evening along with the service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great way to end our vacation a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a great way to end our vacation as we travelled from the OBX back to Pennsylvania! We overnighted in Fredericksburg with family and gave us a great, quality dining option. You forget about the fact that it's in a strip mall once you enter, so the ambiance is nice and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my family for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Took my family for a birthday celebration and received great food and outstanding service. Our server was awesome preparing the food and meeting our needs throughout the dinner. The manager stopped by two times to check on us. Food was fabulous with each course presenting a variety of options for the entire family. Set aside some time to enjoy the four course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally everything at the melting pot i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Normally everything at the melting pot is great! But this time something was missing, our server just seemed lost, and disconnected. After we ordered our drinks, it took 12 minuets to bring a coke and a water, plus a juice for our son. And then the server seemed to try to rush us through the meal, with bringing the entree a whole 4 minutes after our salads. We will be back but if we get that server again, I will ask for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The Melting Pot is always a great experi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Melting Pot is always a great experience. The entire menu is available Gluten Free which is much better than a few "token" Gluten Free options. This is a perfect place for celebrating something special . This is not a quick meal but something to be enjoyed while connecting with your table mates through conversation and fun. The manager of the restaurant gives the place that personal touch by coming to each table and checking on everything. If you haven't tried out the Fredericskburg, VA Melting Pot, you are truly missing something spectacular!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The food was good but the service we received from Victoria Spaulding was amazing. She was very attentive as well as to our 5 year old grandson. She went above and beyond to ensure that we were pleased. We did not have to wait for anything. You have to try this place. Ask for the best server ever Victoria Spaulding. Enjoy,Kem

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday lunch. Service was a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for a birthday lunch. Service was awesome, food was good and it was just a fun to do something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were very pleased with our recent din ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were very pleased with our recent dining experience. Service was outstanding, food was great and people were friendly. We will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service. Come ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Come hungry and leave completely full! The four course meal is enough to fill you to the brim, so be sure you're hungry when you arrive. Bring a friend or two and make a fun time of it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at a restaurant specializing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

First time at a restaurant specializing in fondue. Ot was an interesting experience which I would try again. As for the first course, the cheese fondue, I would like to see more vegetable than bread. I thought the main course was done very well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sean was one of the best servers I've ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Sean was one of the best servers I've ever had! Very knowledgeable about the menu and his recommendations on certain items were so wonderful! He definitely made our date night wonderful, looking forward to more dinners at The Melting Pot 🙂

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent - as usual. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was excellent - as usual. There were three in our party and we each enjoyed our different entree selections. My daughter especially like the ravioli.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy this place very m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I enjoy this place very much! A bit pricy but very worth it. It's a place where you can actually sit down and talk with your companions and enjoy a meal. My husband and I usually go here for special occasions (anniversary, birthdays, etc.) I would definitely recommend. Plus the food is amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every staff member was extremely knowled ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every staff member was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and tremendously pleasant. The food is the best food I've ever had the pleasure of eating from absolutely anywhere. My all time favorite restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation booked through Open Table an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Reservation booked through Open Table and we were taken to our table as soon as we walked in. Service was great with the exception of a more comprehensive wine list needed. Items and menu were explained very well and our server was prompt and at the same time allowed us to have enough conversation time without being interrupted. Desert Menu was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They took great care of us. The four-cou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

They took great care of us. The four-course was a great fit for our special occasion. The only reason I marked the noise level is because, while it was a nice secluded corner, there was some sort of droning buzz coming from nearby which was slightly annoying. Everything else was top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Melting Pot staff went out of their ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Melting Pot staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. They were extremely polite and very responsive to our needs. It being my wife's surprise Birthday Party, she was extremely pleased with the outcome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tori was an excellent and helpful waitre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Tori was an excellent and helpful waitress. This was our first time at The Melting Pot, and she was energetic and made it a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite spot for celebratin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is our favorite spot for celebrating or anniversary. Great for a date night for just the two of us or with a few friends. Variety of choices to appease all tastes. This is one place you will never leave hungry. Staff is friendly and courteous and service is outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,great service. Our waitres ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food ,great service. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive , and the owner came by the table to make sure we were happy. Will definitely come here again next time we are in Fredericksburg

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a franchise; if I had that would have been a red flag for me that the quality of the meal wasn't going to be what I was looking for. This restaurant was very highly rated on Open Table and so I thought since we were passing through the area that it would be fun to try given we love fondue. The service from the staff was great, even the owner stopped by our table to ask us how it was going, but I have to say that they charge a lot of money for just ok food. Firstly and importantly, I really don't like the way the menu is broken down in terms of only being able to order cheese fondue as an appetizer and then a broth or oil based fondue as the entrée which has to be shared by the entire table. We ordered a cheese fondue starter that came with bread, granny smith apples and some veggies. The bread was good but the veggies were not of great quality. This is very important for fondue that the veggies be fresh and crisp. The cheese fondue was too garlicky and was a bit fake cheese tasting to me. We ordered a traditional oil fondue for our entrée that came with sirloin, marinated chicken and shrimp. I would say the quality of the meats was very good, but the sauces were just ok in my opinion. In any event, I just was expecting so much better given the rave reviews this place gets and I felt the food overall was just ok and on the very expensive side for food that really shouldn't be expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fondues more if the food like the bread or brownies were warmed before or the pot was hot enough to warm up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.