About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg, VA

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our Book Club group selected the Melting ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Our Book Club group selected the Melting Pot for their Monday night Cheese & Chocolate Fondue! It was fabulous and we will be talking about this evening for a long time!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, , Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Melting Pot. The endless ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy Melting Pot. The endless cheese and chocolate is divine! They had special cheeses and the Quattro Fornaggio, and the Brie and Pear were out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. I made reservations but sti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was ok. I made reservations but still had to wait 15 minutes for a table. Once we were seated and served I didn't feel comfortable. I felt like I wasn't being treated the same as other customers. The host seemed to have an attitude. At the end he came and snatched the payment, not saying one word. Waiter was ok, not very happy. We were celebrating my husband's birthday but I wish I had picked a restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our dinner was great as always! One of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our dinner was great as always! One of our favorite places to go, relax, and enjoy the food and companions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I go every year for our a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My husband and I go every year for our anniversary and every time has been fantastic! We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries there!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at the Melting P ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Melting Pot. We have always loved the service there and have never had an occasion when the manager comes by to check in that was less than excellent. On this occasion I felt bad because the moderate noise level was do to our party with a bunch of 12 year old girls. The restaurant sat us in a fairly private area and on bathroom runs you could not hear the noise from our party more than a table or 2 away. As always, the food is excellent and the special they were running on endless cheese and chocolate was perfect for a party. We got to try many of their flavors without feeling like we had missed out. They have wonderful small secluded tables that are great for a date or anniversary that I love and have used before. Wonderful experience and great service. I would highly recommend them. Just remember that it is an experience, not just a quick in and out between stops.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melting Pot was amazing! Our server was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Melting Pot was amazing! Our server was very courteous and the food was outstanding! Definitely recommend for a date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a quiet romantic evening and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We enjoyed a quiet romantic evening and dinner. Staff was courteous and our server was very attentive! The romance package was amazing. We're definitely going back very soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Michael did a wonderful job a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server Michael did a wonderful job and was so patient and considerate of our requests. I'm sorry he had to work on Christmas but what a trooper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this Melting Pot location and tr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love this Melting Pot location and try to make it in every couple of months. The owner is always in attendance and greets all the guests at the table. The staff is always friendly and professional. The seating allows for privacy and a date-night atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and atmosphere, Good service, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and atmosphere, Good service, but pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Took kids for the first time for Christm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took kids for the first time for Christmas Eve celebration...great evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolutely great, the staff was amazing ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely great, the staff was amazing and very nice. The experience was the best. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. We use this f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always a great experience. We use this for most all special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We only go to Melting Pot for special oc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We only go to Melting Pot for special occasions due to the price of the menu, but it's always a treat to go. The food is unique and ample if you get the 4 course dinner. Be prepared to pay dearly for a meal of 2 people.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Michael was EXCELLENT; attent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our server Michael was EXCELLENT; attentive but not overbearing. Great recommendations, good food, superior service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good although not a lot for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was good although not a lot for what it cost. Our waitress was great! I would recommend having some sort of timers at the table for timing the meat when cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our 3rd visit. This year was sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our 3rd visit. This year was special, I hit the scary 62 and it was the celebration of the adoption of my daughter, as we joked she is only a year old. She calls it our A and B days. The food is always good and the service is great. It a good value for the money. I know we will be going back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this location. Have bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Highly recommend this location. Have been coming here for years to celebrate different occasions and never was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful date night with the wife to ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful date night with the wife to celebrate the first time we met. Very friendly staff helped make it a memorable experience. Definitely come here again and recommend to friends!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect for my wife and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was perfect for my wife and I! Great personal service from the manager and servers!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. Michael was our s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Outstanding as always. Michael was our server and he provided us with exceptional and very enjoyable service. Will definitely be returning. It must also be said that the food was excellent as well. Thank you so much for a great 30th birthday dinner with my sisters!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very good dinning exp, If your ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is a very good dinning exp, If your looking for a nice quit place to enjoy your meal. We do this once every year or so. It's not the same old hum-drum type of eating out.

Staff was great, friendly yet professional, almost at your bec-an-call if you will.

Highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an awesome server. This is my 12 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an awesome server. This is my 12 year old son's favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, and the fondue c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good, and the fondue concept was nice. It was slow and relaxing. The noise level was fair. We were able to speak to one-another without raising our voices. We liked that.

Our waitress, Jessica, was very nice, and very knowledgeable, but not very attentive. Getting her attention, and getting her to refill my wife's wine was pretty difficult. She may have been pretty busy with other tables.

It is very nice, but at $175.00 for two people, before tip, it is not the sort of thing that we'll be able to do very often. It is definitely a 'special occasion' sort of place.

But we'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I did not check Kid-friendly even though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I did not check Kid-friendly even though they made us at home with a toddler on this trip. Great staff worked with us, put us in a side room with minimal other diners. I had made reservations and warned them we would need a highchair, so they were prepared. Great server too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and staff.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While fondue is a leisurely endeavor and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While fondue is a leisurely endeavor and you want your server hovering, our server seemed preoccupied and we seemed to wait a long time between already long courses. Dishes stacked up drinks not refilled. That said we had a great time. Menu should distinguish both gluten free and low carb

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An excellent restaurant with great servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent restaurant with great service. Admittedly it's a bit pricey, but you definitely don't leave hungry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our visit. It's been awhile s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We enjoyed our visit. It's been awhile since we'd been out without the kids. The food was excellent as usual. Service was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We go here for every special occasion we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We go here for every special occasion we can come up with. We have never had bad service here and the food quality is always amazing. The owner, I forget his name is outstanding. He checks on you several times per visit but he is not intrusive or annoying. This is by far my favorite Melting Pot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food. Very romantic atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Delicious food. Very romantic atmosphere. Staff is friendly and helpful. Manager takes the time to make sure the guests are enjoying their dining experience. I will most definitely be returning.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I loved the quiet atmos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I loved the quiet atmosphere. Thanks Melting Pot for great food, fantabulous service and courteous staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. Forgot my cc an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, good service. Forgot my cc and they held for me until the next day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating Wife Appreciation Da ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were celebrating Wife Appreciation Day, which we didn't even know existed until we saw the special. The special included a four course meal, roses, chocolate covered strawberries, and a picture. The evening along with the service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great way to end our vacation a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a great way to end our vacation as we travelled from the OBX back to Pennsylvania! We overnighted in Fredericksburg with family and gave us a great, quality dining option. You forget about the fact that it's in a strip mall once you enter, so the ambiance is nice and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my family for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Took my family for a birthday celebration and received great food and outstanding service. Our server was awesome preparing the food and meeting our needs throughout the dinner. The manager stopped by two times to check on us. Food was fabulous with each course presenting a variety of options for the entire family. Set aside some time to enjoy the four course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally everything at the melting pot i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Normally everything at the melting pot is great! But this time something was missing, our server just seemed lost, and disconnected. After we ordered our drinks, it took 12 minuets to bring a coke and a water, plus a juice for our son. And then the server seemed to try to rush us through the meal, with bringing the entree a whole 4 minutes after our salads. We will be back but if we get that server again, I will ask for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The Melting Pot is always a great experi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Melting Pot is always a great experience. The entire menu is available Gluten Free which is much better than a few "token" Gluten Free options. This is a perfect place for celebrating something special . This is not a quick meal but something to be enjoyed while connecting with your table mates through conversation and fun. The manager of the restaurant gives the place that personal touch by coming to each table and checking on everything. If you haven't tried out the Fredericskburg, VA Melting Pot, you are truly missing something spectacular!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The food was good but the service we received from Victoria Spaulding was amazing. She was very attentive as well as to our 5 year old grandson. She went above and beyond to ensure that we were pleased. We did not have to wait for anything. You have to try this place. Ask for the best server ever Victoria Spaulding. Enjoy,Kem

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.