About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Romantic (33)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Fun (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun time for our family!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food was excellent. The four course meal seems pricey, but was well worth it. The wine courses matched the food perfectly. This is an excellent place to take a date. It's quiet, and makes for an excellent social occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hadn't been to MP in a while, so was looking forward to the experience. The food, as usual, was great, but I couldn't help but notice that the portion sizes had gotten noticeably smaller -
but the prices had gone up!

Dippers are "unlimited" but it felt like they were skimping on those as well. I'm not sure if this is specific to this location (my first time at Fredericksburg location).

Our server was very nice, but took almost 10 minutes from when we sat down, to be visited by her.

Overall, we had a great time. But definitely some areas for improvement.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. A bit pricey. We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful evening celebrating Saint Patrick's Day! The food was wonderful and satisfying. The ambience was quiet, yet active. And Tori was the best wait staff we have experienced in a long time. We will certainly be back for our next special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, seated immediately, and the manager and our waitress were so nice! She read my mind on what drinks I wanted, the manager brought me my own sauces and I didn't even ask...it was just a lot of fun and a pleasant experience. The best customer service I have had in a long time, too. Good job, Melting Pot!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is our go to place when we want to have fun with our food and feel pampered at the same time. Never disappoints us!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Servers and staff were AWESOME!! This isn't a place I would come to very often as it was an expensive dinner but we had a great celebrating my daughter's birthday!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was excellent and everything came in a timely manner. Our waiter, Michael, was very personable and made sure everything was perfect. I took my boyfriend here for the first time ans he absolutely loved it. He's normally a more comfort food eater, but he loved everything we got.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was fantastic! The servers were very kind and they explained the process well since we were eating there for the first time. While the food is expensive, it was very worth it, and the overall atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I enjoy going to the Melting Pot for special occasions. Since she is gluten free and has to be as an allergy this is one of the few restaurants in the area that she can actually eat at and not get sick. it is nice to come back and see the same management. They take pride in the service they provide and it shows.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great waiter! We can't wait to return! Always an enjoyable time there.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a Fave! Our server was awesome, the food great, and we just love coming here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for Valentine's dinner. It's a great place to go to sit and talk, ideal to take several hours if you do the full 4 course meal.
Wife and I have been many times, the atmosphere is great. The food is always good, and service has always been top notch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We took my mother and our eldest son, both visiting for the first time, and they absolutely loved it. The endless cheese and chocolate special was amazing (if a bit much, we realized later) and the service was spectacular. Our waiter was very friendly and even the manager came to apologize for a 'slow' night due to low wait staff. We did not notice in the least and were extremely pleased with everything.
We will definitely be going back in the future.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Staff and food were great! Had a surprise birthday dinner, the staff kept the surprise going all the way to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was wonderful. Our server Rachuel was amazing took her time to explain everything to us. The restaurant was packed but you would never know it. We were there to celebrate our anniversary so it was a wonderful night. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server, Tori, was outstanding!!!! Excellent service, very welcoming, and personable! Food was excellent and it was a great way to celebrate our daughter's 18th birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our Book Club group selected the Melting Pot for their Monday night Cheese & Chocolate Fondue! It was fabulous and we will be talking about this evening for a long time!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We always enjoy Melting Pot. The endless cheese and chocolate is divine! They had special cheeses and the Quattro Fornaggio, and the Brie and Pear were out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was ok. I made reservations but still had to wait 15 minutes for a table. Once we were seated and served I didn't feel comfortable. I felt like I wasn't being treated the same as other customers. The host seemed to have an attitude. At the end he came and snatched the payment, not saying one word. Waiter was ok, not very happy. We were celebrating my husband's birthday but I wish I had picked a restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our dinner was great as always! One of our favorite places to go, relax, and enjoy the food and companions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My husband and I go every year for our anniversary and every time has been fantastic! We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries there!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Melting Pot. We have always loved the service there and have never had an occasion when the manager comes by to check in that was less than excellent. On this occasion I felt bad because the moderate noise level was do to our party with a bunch of 12 year old girls. The restaurant sat us in a fairly private area and on bathroom runs you could not hear the noise from our party more than a table or 2 away. As always, the food is excellent and the special they were running on endless cheese and chocolate was perfect for a party. We got to try many of their flavors without feeling like we had missed out. They have wonderful small secluded tables that are great for a date or anniversary that I love and have used before. Wonderful experience and great service. I would highly recommend them. Just remember that it is an experience, not just a quick in and out between stops.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Melting Pot was amazing! Our server was very courteous and the food was outstanding! Definitely recommend for a date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We enjoyed a quiet romantic evening and dinner. Staff was courteous and our server was very attentive! The romance package was amazing. We're definitely going back very soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server Michael did a wonderful job and was so patient and considerate of our requests. I'm sorry he had to work on Christmas but what a trooper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love this Melting Pot location and try to make it in every couple of months. The owner is always in attendance and greets all the guests at the table. The staff is always friendly and professional. The seating allows for privacy and a date-night atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and atmosphere, Good service, but pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took kids for the first time for Christmas Eve celebration...great evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely great, the staff was amazing and very nice. The experience was the best. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always a great experience. We use this for most all special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We only go to Melting Pot for special occasions due to the price of the menu, but it's always a treat to go. The food is unique and ample if you get the 4 course dinner. Be prepared to pay dearly for a meal of 2 people.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our server Michael was EXCELLENT; attentive but not overbearing. Great recommendations, good food, superior service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was good although not a lot for what it cost. Our waitress was great! I would recommend having some sort of timers at the table for timing the meat when cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our 3rd visit. This year was special, I hit the scary 62 and it was the celebration of the adoption of my daughter, as we joked she is only a year old. She calls it our A and B days. The food is always good and the service is great. It a good value for the money. I know we will be going back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Highly recommend this location. Have been coming here for years to celebrate different occasions and never was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful date night with the wife to celebrate the first time we met. Very friendly staff helped make it a memorable experience. Definitely come here again and recommend to friends!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was perfect for my wife and I! Great personal service from the manager and servers!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.