About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (34)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (15)
Casual (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fun evening with my husband! Definitely recommend! The service was great too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Awesome server. A. It nerve racking cooking own food in broth based on the times given to us. Cooked food for a lot longer to make sure all the way cooked

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and chose The Melting Pot because they always have had great food, great selections, wonderful atmosphere and terrific service. This time it was no different and we will definitely be back. Hats off to Scott, our server, for outstanding service/

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Loved it all came for my husband's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I really enjoyed the fun of eating fondue. The restaurant is really nice to have a private dinner since each booth is seperate from others. It had a nice selection of local wine, since I love Virginia wine. Overall I had a great evening and enjoyed the meal. We also had a very nice and reponsive waitress by the name of Victoria.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Melting Pot Restaurants are my granddaughter's favorites. On her recent visit to Virginia she asked about their location and we found one in Fredericksburg . Although the weather did not cooperate (intense downpours and a tornado alert), the gracious restaurant staff and seasonal fare created a lovely dining experience for us. We are already looking forward to a return on her next visit. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We always enjoy our experience at the melting pot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service and experience were outstanding. Melissa our server was incredible. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was a fun experience. The food tasted great and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our experience at this melting pot was pleasant for the most part. The server was high energy and nice for the most part. The only problem that I have with dining at melting pot is that I feel like my server has forgotten about us at certain points in the meal. I understand that they want to give us time to enjoy the different courses but the time in between visits are overkill at times. Maybe they could have a timer to let them know that it is time to check on the guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Good place to gather with friends!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Delicious food, great service, hit all the notches!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was fantastic, beyond what I expected. Absolutely loved the energy of the restaurant. Morgan was our server and she was so patient with us. She explained the menu in detail and didn't rush us to make decisions. She was kind, entertaining and kept us hydrated throughout the meal. Will be looking for her next time we go.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, kinda pricey, but awesome service and great explanation of it's your first time going. They explain in detail each course and dish.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We have dined here in several times in the past. It is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Melting Pot is a favorite of ours for every special event. The service is always outstanding, the food is excellent, and the restaurant is impeccable. We have never been disappointed and we highly recommend it!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Tory was fantastic. Great service and food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Overall I am usually very pleased with all aspects of the melting pot but this time I was not ,took my parents to dinner and made reservations, for 6pm didn't get seated till 6:30 ,they were having a special so I guess that why they were so busy wait time for service was 30minutes or better, So parent's were agitated we didn't leave until almost 9pm ,Wasn't the best experience for first timers

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The salad was wilty, the wait was about 30 minutes after our reservation time, the waiter was not very attentive nor did he offer suggestions or information related to choices or specials. I am a frequent visitor to the Charlottesville location, but we are geographically closer to Fredericksburg so my husband and I thought we would try it out. I will continue to go to Charlottesville (even though parking is usually an issue.) Disappointed in light of the cost of what could be a lovely experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

An excellent, leisurely meal. Always assured of great ambiance and food. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our waitress Morgan was excellent. She was knowledgeable, and friendly. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat! This time we were lucky enough to be there for the Endless Cheese and Chocolate special, which was an awesome deal. We had the quattro formaggio and spinach artichoke cheeses and s'mores and flaming turtle chocolates, all of which were delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Came here with my wife and two children for my wife's birthday. This was our first time. It was a great experience. Service was awesome. Food was good quality and fun. It is a bit pricey; final bill was $280 and that was without any alcoholic bev. Certainly worth it for a special occasion with a small group. The meal was about two and a half hours. All-in-all, we had a fantastic time and will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Wonderful meal & ambiance. Great for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, as we always do when we go to The Melting Pot. The service was wonderful. Victoria was our server and she was attentive at the right times, she knew how to help us select our choices, she was pleasant in every way which made our evening all we could have hoped for. The other people on the service team were also very good. We were not rushed but attended to in a very timely manner. The quality of the food was excellent and the portions were great. The selection of wine included with our meal was great. We cant wait to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I expected it to be crowded because it was mother's day, and it was. The prefix menu was good and luckily they still had a kids menu. Overall happy. Also, I love the mug they give the moms. Nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal food selections! The vegetarian pasta, asparagus, and broccolli, yes! The Famiglia cheese, ahhh my new favorite...and the chocolate... my my my the chocolate...still basking in the delictable bliss! Until next time... sweet Melting Pot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, food is very nicely presented, because this is served fondue style and cooking each piece of food this can take s while, which is great for s leisurely paced meal. Everything was fresh and clean, made for a very nice Mother's Day meal

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day special, great for special occasions when you want to spend time together and not bar-hop

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time (Mother's Day) and it was AMAZING! Lived up to and exceeded my expectations. Great atmosphere. Delicious food, A+ for creativity in dining. We were thoroughly schooled on how it all worked by our very knowledgeable and friendly server. It was a lengthy process so don't expect to eat here in a hurry but it is well worth the time. My family was able to take a break from the outside world in this cozy restaurant and just enjoy each other's company. HIGHLY recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was fantastic about this place except the way the menu was explained to us and the reaction of the manager when questioned. The waiter was very nice, but apparently misunderstood what we were asking about in regard to pricing. Upon receiving the check, we questioned the manager who was extremely rude, ill tempered, and quick to cut the conversation short. The food and the ambiance was fantastic, but his foul and less than helpful attitude ruined the experience. I would go back to another Melting Pot, but not that one just because of the manager. Not only was he rude to us, but he was hypercritical of the employees who were doing an exemplary job. Great food, so-so leadership.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took our Mom to the Melting Pot to celebrate Mothers Day this past weekend and it was perfect! A couple of us had never been but it was a great experience! The food, wine, service, everything was amazing! We ended up spending 3 hours there! Will definitely be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, pricey check but you know that going in. You pay for what you get

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Got a chance to dine with all of my adult children and it was fun and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This place never disappoints! I've been here over a dozen times and I've always had an incredible experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We took our daughter for Fairytale Fondue. The staff and Princess were so friendly and attentive. Our daughter is only 3 and had the BEST time. We are beyond impressed with the food and service! Cant wait for our next visit!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lovely, great food-- accommodated Gluten Free needs, wonderful service and overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place for a special occasion, no matter what it is. Fun interactive cooking experience is always enjoyable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another terrific dining experience! We have made the Fredericksburg restaurant our preferred Melting Pot for several years. They have never - not once - failed to make it a terrific dining experience. Quick service, attentive waiters and waitresses, regular visits from the manager, and of course amazing food. We will continue to return to them again and again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My mom and I went last minute on a Tuesday night in order to celebrate some accomplishments and try a special they were offering on a new cheese fondue. We were very pleased with the food and quick service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.