About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (24)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server and the owner.. amazing! Food delicious! They go above and beyond at this location.. been to many.. this is our favorite one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The waiter was wonderful and very helpful. Would love to come again and have him serve us. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

I took my mom to celebrate our birthdays. We had not been to Melting Pot. So our first dinner we were not sure what to expect. We were pleased that our waiter guided us through the menu & we chose the four course land & sea. The food was excellent and we were enjoying our time and the tasting experiences!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Very good service and the meal was great and enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

It was a unique place and an experience like no other. Food was good but nothing to make it stand out from the rest. Overall I did enjoy.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was great, the service was great. I feel $240.00 for 4 people is a little over the top. I will only return on special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was good as always. Previously we had only dined there as a couple. This visit we came with 2 other couples to celebrate a birthday. We had 2 Fondue pots on the table. While that was nice to be able to have 2 different options of each course I felt the amount of cheese/chocolate offered in the 2 pots was the amount for 4 not 6 diners. The dipping items were plentiful, but the Fondue ran out before the dippers did. We never had this issue dining as a couple.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

It was wonderful and the server Tori was amazing! Very pleasant and accommodating to bringing an infant.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Melissa was wonderful. She came by when she was needed and didn't spend the entire time at the table. The woman must be telepathic, 'cause when we needed her she was there. She told us of the summer special and explain the different cooking methods and chocolate choices. Great time, great service. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went to The Melting Pot for a date night, our server was awesome and the food was amazing. The owner checked in with us on the food and our service. It was an all around great experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

It didn't start well the server forgot about us took management to realize we weren't being taken care once that was acknowledge everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

LOVED our dinner! We requested the "Date Night Romance" package for our 24th anniversary. We had a very quiet table in the corner, rose petals on the table, beautiful roses to take home, a picture of the two of us, and a GREAT dinner to go along with the romantic setting!

This was our first experience ever with The Melting Pot, but it will not be our last! Definitely worth the 40 minute drive for us.

Our server was outstanding, and all of the staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Fun, romantic atmosphere. Good fresh food with a unique, at the table, preparation. Partially prepared by friendly, knowledgeable server. 4 course dinner well worth the time and price. Will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We do fondue sometimes at home but had never tried it at a restaurant. The experience was very favorable. We were happy with all of our choices of food, from the cheese to the main course to the chocolate. But the standout was the service. We wanted for nothing. Our primary server was never gone for too long nor was he excessively present. And the assisting servers were very observant, ensured our drinks were topped up, empty plates never sat for long and we were always offered extras of dipping foods and the like. The manager even stopped by several times just to ensure that everything was to our liking. This was not done in an obnoxious or overbearing way, but really just enough to ensure our happiness.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was simply Amazing, the food and the servers just couldnt get any better. A quiet romantic place for any occassion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I came here after we eloped for a romantic dinner, just the two of us. It was his first time and we both had to almost be ROLLED out of there! Food was so good and we were stuffed! We will definitely be back again soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy coming here for their endless cheese and chocolate. Come hungry, leave painfully full but happy. It had been a couple of years since our last visit but everything was still as delicious as ever. Our server was great and made some good food suggestions. We were sad to find out they no longer offered cheesecake bites as chocolate dippers. Overall we had a great date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We came here for our anniversary and it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Courses were well placed and delicious. Victoria was efficient and engaging. A fun evening with good friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very romantic yet fun place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our waiter was amazing! We were next to a larger group who didn't know their inside voices but we learned to ignore them. Our table was very much near the entrance which could have been pushed a bit farther back, but overall we were pleased!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

My wife and I always enjoy the atmosphere, music, service and awesome food. We enjoy the ability to celebrate our special occasions together and have participated in the princess theme party with our daughter and granddaughter. We look forward to other dinners with you.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was very good. Great ambiance . Bathrooms clean. Management constantly checked on us to make sure we were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Simply awesome...they made everything perfect to celebrate our daughters birthday!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a wonderful evening spent with my wife celebrating 10 years of marriage. Overall a great choice, the food is great, and the nature of fondu causes you to slow down and simply enjoy one another's company. Perfect for dates or business meetings that require a quiet environment and a long time for conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service. Rachel was a pleasure to have as our waitress. Attentive and nice. Food again was outstanding. Second visit different entree and cheese but the chocolate with sea salt is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food and great services......which is important since without great service all you do is look at great food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My husband and I go there everytime we get away from our kids :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

First timer and will DEFINITELY return with a regular date night with the Mrs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food was great as always. The service was outstanding I will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great service and always a great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was delicious and our waitress, Victoria was very nice, attentive and efficient.
The bad part of the evening was we had a 7:00 reservation and weren't seated until almost 7:40 and there was no acknowledgement or apology for the delay from the restaurant. Basically there was no point in making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We are frequent customers because the food and experience is so good. If you can get a corner couples table even better. If you have a great waiter it makes the night. Adversely if you get a so-so waiter your night will drag on forever.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

First experience at a Fondue restaurant and it didn't disappoint. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Attended for spouse's birthday, and the service, food and atmosphere were superb. Rachel was a standout server, and the serving team worked well together. Made for a memorable and excellent dining experience. Will definitely be back. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Fun evening with my husband! Definitely recommend! The service was great too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food. Awesome server. A. It nerve racking cooking own food in broth based on the times given to us. Cooked food for a lot longer to make sure all the way cooked

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and chose The Melting Pot because they always have had great food, great selections, wonderful atmosphere and terrific service. This time it was no different and we will definitely be back. Hats off to Scott, our server, for outstanding service/

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.