About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Romantic (35)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (21)
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Family Style (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal & ambiance. Great for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful evening, as we always do when we go to The Melting Pot. The service was wonderful. Victoria was our server and she was attentive at the right times, she knew how to help us select our choices, she was pleasant in every way which made our evening all we could have hoped for. The other people on the service team were also very good. We were not rushed but attended to in a very timely manner. The quality of the food was excellent and the portions were great. The selection of wine included with our meal was great. We cant wait to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I expected it to be crowded because it was mother's day, and it was. The prefix menu was good and luckily they still had a kids menu. Overall happy. Also, I love the mug they give the moms. Nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal food selections! The vegetarian pasta, asparagus, and broccolli, yes! The Famiglia cheese, ahhh my new favorite...and the chocolate... my my my the chocolate...still basking in the delictable bliss! Until next time... sweet Melting Pot!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, food is very nicely presented, because this is served fondue style and cooking each piece of food this can take s while, which is great for s leisurely paced meal. Everything was fresh and clean, made for a very nice Mother's Day meal

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day special, great for special occasions when you want to spend time together and not bar-hop

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time (Mother's Day) and it was AMAZING! Lived up to and exceeded my expectations. Great atmosphere. Delicious food, A+ for creativity in dining. We were thoroughly schooled on how it all worked by our very knowledgeable and friendly server. It was a lengthy process so don't expect to eat here in a hurry but it is well worth the time. My family was able to take a break from the outside world in this cozy restaurant and just enjoy each other's company. HIGHLY recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was fantastic about this place except the way the menu was explained to us and the reaction of the manager when questioned. The waiter was very nice, but apparently misunderstood what we were asking about in regard to pricing. Upon receiving the check, we questioned the manager who was extremely rude, ill tempered, and quick to cut the conversation short. The food and the ambiance was fantastic, but his foul and less than helpful attitude ruined the experience. I would go back to another Melting Pot, but not that one just because of the manager. Not only was he rude to us, but he was hypercritical of the employees who were doing an exemplary job. Great food, so-so leadership.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took our Mom to the Melting Pot to celebrate Mothers Day this past weekend and it was perfect! A couple of us had never been but it was a great experience! The food, wine, service, everything was amazing! We ended up spending 3 hours there! Will definitely be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, pricey check but you know that going in. You pay for what you get

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Got a chance to dine with all of my adult children and it was fun and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This place never disappoints! I've been here over a dozen times and I've always had an incredible experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We took our daughter for Fairytale Fondue. The staff and Princess were so friendly and attentive. Our daughter is only 3 and had the BEST time. We are beyond impressed with the food and service! Cant wait for our next visit!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Lovely, great food-- accommodated Gluten Free needs, wonderful service and overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place for a special occasion, no matter what it is. Fun interactive cooking experience is always enjoyable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another terrific dining experience! We have made the Fredericksburg restaurant our preferred Melting Pot for several years. They have never - not once - failed to make it a terrific dining experience. Quick service, attentive waiters and waitresses, regular visits from the manager, and of course amazing food. We will continue to return to them again and again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My mom and I went last minute on a Tuesday night in order to celebrate some accomplishments and try a special they were offering on a new cheese fondue. We were very pleased with the food and quick service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Everyone and everything was wonderful!! I'll be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always gave a great meal here! Service is great and the food is always fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I have been here multiple times for special occasions and date nights. The food and service are always great and the manager knows us since we go there so often. He checks to make sure everyone is satisfied with their melting pot experience. Bring an appetite for the four course meal (cheese fondue, salad, entree, dessert). I love the dessert chocolate with peanut butter!! Definitely will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fun time for our family!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food was excellent. The four course meal seems pricey, but was well worth it. The wine courses matched the food perfectly. This is an excellent place to take a date. It's quiet, and makes for an excellent social occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hadn't been to MP in a while, so was looking forward to the experience. The food, as usual, was great, but I couldn't help but notice that the portion sizes had gotten noticeably smaller -
but the prices had gone up!

Dippers are "unlimited" but it felt like they were skimping on those as well. I'm not sure if this is specific to this location (my first time at Fredericksburg location).

Our server was very nice, but took almost 10 minutes from when we sat down, to be visited by her.

Overall, we had a great time. But definitely some areas for improvement.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. A bit pricey. We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful evening celebrating Saint Patrick's Day! The food was wonderful and satisfying. The ambience was quiet, yet active. And Tori was the best wait staff we have experienced in a long time. We will certainly be back for our next special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, seated immediately, and the manager and our waitress were so nice! She read my mind on what drinks I wanted, the manager brought me my own sauces and I didn't even ask...it was just a lot of fun and a pleasant experience. The best customer service I have had in a long time, too. Good job, Melting Pot!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is our go to place when we want to have fun with our food and feel pampered at the same time. Never disappoints us!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Servers and staff were AWESOME!! This isn't a place I would come to very often as it was an expensive dinner but we had a great celebrating my daughter's birthday!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was excellent and everything came in a timely manner. Our waiter, Michael, was very personable and made sure everything was perfect. I took my boyfriend here for the first time ans he absolutely loved it. He's normally a more comfort food eater, but he loved everything we got.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was fantastic! The servers were very kind and they explained the process well since we were eating there for the first time. While the food is expensive, it was very worth it, and the overall atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I enjoy going to the Melting Pot for special occasions. Since she is gluten free and has to be as an allergy this is one of the few restaurants in the area that she can actually eat at and not get sick. it is nice to come back and see the same management. They take pride in the service they provide and it shows.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great waiter! We can't wait to return! Always an enjoyable time there.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a Fave! Our server was awesome, the food great, and we just love coming here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for Valentine's dinner. It's a great place to go to sit and talk, ideal to take several hours if you do the full 4 course meal.
Wife and I have been many times, the atmosphere is great. The food is always good, and service has always been top notch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We took my mother and our eldest son, both visiting for the first time, and they absolutely loved it. The endless cheese and chocolate special was amazing (if a bit much, we realized later) and the service was spectacular. Our waiter was very friendly and even the manager came to apologize for a 'slow' night due to low wait staff. We did not notice in the least and were extremely pleased with everything.
We will definitely be going back in the future.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Staff and food were great! Had a surprise birthday dinner, the staff kept the surprise going all the way to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was wonderful. Our server Rachuel was amazing took her time to explain everything to us. The restaurant was packed but you would never know it. We were there to celebrate our anniversary so it was a wonderful night. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server, Tori, was outstanding!!!! Excellent service, very welcoming, and personable! Food was excellent and it was a great way to celebrate our daughter's 18th birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our Book Club group selected the Melting Pot for their Monday night Cheese & Chocolate Fondue! It was fabulous and we will be talking about this evening for a long time!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.