About The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

1618 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot is Fredericksburg’s premiere fondue restaurant. We offer both a romantic and family friendly atmosphere for your fine dining fondue experience. Our staff operates with one goal in mind - to provide you with the perfect night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 785-9690

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/fredericksburg/specials

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg

The Melting Pot - Fredericksburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
7 More
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Fredericksburg ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a great way to end our vacation a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a great way to end our vacation as we travelled from the OBX back to Pennsylvania! We overnighted in Fredericksburg with family and gave us a great, quality dining option. You forget about the fact that it's in a strip mall once you enter, so the ambiance is nice and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my family for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Took my family for a birthday celebration and received great food and outstanding service. Our server was awesome preparing the food and meeting our needs throughout the dinner. The manager stopped by two times to check on us. Food was fabulous with each course presenting a variety of options for the entire family. Set aside some time to enjoy the four course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally everything at the melting pot i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Normally everything at the melting pot is great! But this time something was missing, our server just seemed lost, and disconnected. After we ordered our drinks, it took 12 minuets to bring a coke and a water, plus a juice for our son. And then the server seemed to try to rush us through the meal, with bringing the entree a whole 4 minutes after our salads. We will be back but if we get that server again, I will ask for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The Melting Pot is always a great experi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Melting Pot is always a great experience. The entire menu is available Gluten Free which is much better than a few "token" Gluten Free options. This is a perfect place for celebrating something special . This is not a quick meal but something to be enjoyed while connecting with your table mates through conversation and fun. The manager of the restaurant gives the place that personal touch by coming to each table and checking on everything. If you haven't tried out the Fredericskburg, VA Melting Pot, you are truly missing something spectacular!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our birthday party of 5 was a hit. The food was good but the service we received from Victoria Spaulding was amazing. She was very attentive as well as to our 5 year old grandson. She went above and beyond to ensure that we were pleased. We did not have to wait for anything. You have to try this place. Ask for the best server ever Victoria Spaulding. Enjoy,Kem

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our recent din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were very pleased with our recent dining experience. Service was outstanding, food was great and people were friendly. We will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service. Come ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Come hungry and leave completely full! The four course meal is enough to fill you to the brim, so be sure you're hungry when you arrive. Bring a friend or two and make a fun time of it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at a restaurant specializing ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

First time at a restaurant specializing in fondue. Ot was an interesting experience which I would try again. As for the first course, the cheese fondue, I would like to see more vegetable than bread. I thought the main course was done very well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sean was one of the best servers I've ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Sean was one of the best servers I've ever had! Very knowledgeable about the menu and his recommendations on certain items were so wonderful! He definitely made our date night wonderful, looking forward to more dinners at The Melting Pot 🙂

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent - as usual. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was excellent - as usual. There were three in our party and we each enjoyed our different entree selections. My daughter especially like the ravioli.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy this place very m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I enjoy this place very much! A bit pricy but very worth it. It's a place where you can actually sit down and talk with your companions and enjoy a meal. My husband and I usually go here for special occasions (anniversary, birthdays, etc.) I would definitely recommend. Plus the food is amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every staff member was extremely knowled ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every staff member was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and tremendously pleasant. The food is the best food I've ever had the pleasure of eating from absolutely anywhere. My all time favorite restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation booked through Open Table an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Reservation booked through Open Table and we were taken to our table as soon as we walked in. Service was great with the exception of a more comprehensive wine list needed. Items and menu were explained very well and our server was prompt and at the same time allowed us to have enough conversation time without being interrupted. Desert Menu was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They took great care of us. The four-cou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

They took great care of us. The four-course was a great fit for our special occasion. The only reason I marked the noise level is because, while it was a nice secluded corner, there was some sort of droning buzz coming from nearby which was slightly annoying. Everything else was top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Melting Pot staff went out of their ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Melting Pot staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. They were extremely polite and very responsive to our needs. It being my wife's surprise Birthday Party, she was extremely pleased with the outcome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tori was an excellent and helpful waitre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Tori was an excellent and helpful waitress. This was our first time at The Melting Pot, and she was energetic and made it a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite spot for celebratin ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is our favorite spot for celebrating or anniversary. Great for a date night for just the two of us or with a few friends. Variety of choices to appease all tastes. This is one place you will never leave hungry. Staff is friendly and courteous and service is outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,great service. Our waitres ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food ,great service. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive , and the owner came by the table to make sure we were happy. Will definitely come here again next time we are in Fredericksburg

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I did not realize The Melting Pot was a franchise; if I had that would have been a red flag for me that the quality of the meal wasn't going to be what I was looking for. This restaurant was very highly rated on Open Table and so I thought since we were passing through the area that it would be fun to try given we love fondue. The service from the staff was great, even the owner stopped by our table to ask us how it was going, but I have to say that they charge a lot of money for just ok food. Firstly and importantly, I really don't like the way the menu is broken down in terms of only being able to order cheese fondue as an appetizer and then a broth or oil based fondue as the entrée which has to be shared by the entire table. We ordered a cheese fondue starter that came with bread, granny smith apples and some veggies. The bread was good but the veggies were not of great quality. This is very important for fondue that the veggies be fresh and crisp. The cheese fondue was too garlicky and was a bit fake cheese tasting to me. We ordered a traditional oil fondue for our entrée that came with sirloin, marinated chicken and shrimp. I would say the quality of the meats was very good, but the sauces were just ok in my opinion. In any event, I just was expecting so much better given the rave reviews this place gets and I felt the food overall was just ok and on the very expensive side for food that really shouldn't be expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fond ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I would have enjoyed the cheese and fondues more if the food like the bread or brownies were warmed before or the pot was hot enough to warm up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Another wonderful evening at the Frederi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Another wonderful evening at the Fredericksburg favorite. A quiet Thursday evening with my wife and an always enjoyable meal. Top notch service and attention to detail. Everything from beginning to end was perfect. Highly recommend for a quiet date night, romantic evening or just a great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. We go to the melti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything was great. We go to the melting pot once or twice a year. The food is always great. This time though The New York cheese chocolate was not great and the Chicago deep dish cheese could not go the distance ( we ran out of cheese before dippers). The Louisiana gumbo was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Tori (our server/waitress) was excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Tori (our server/waitress) was excellent. She was VERY knowledgeable about all options. (We went for the Cheese and Chocolate Special.) She also had wonderful attitude along with a displaying a "quirky" disposition (which fitted was to a tee) as we were talking to her.

We have never had a bad experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely friendly staff.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Extremely friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A bit expensive but a great place to go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A bit expensive but a great place to go for a change or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic dinner, excellent service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a tremendous meal. The fondue experience was incredible, the service from Melissa and the whole team was fantastic, and it was overall a wonderful time. Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for that special meal.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a group of 9 and the service was great. Thank you Michael. This particular group has been to this restaurant before and we love coming here. The food is always good, and the chocolate fondue is to die for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melting Pot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server Andrew was amazing! He made sure we made the right pairing choices and made sure we were comfortable while dining! Everything was perfect couldn't ask for better service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit slow paced and moderat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a bit slow paced and moderately inattentive compared to prior experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

food was great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I believe our servers name was Andrew. He was phenomenal! Great service and food was amazing. Only concern is that there was a manager there that visited our table way to much to ask how we were doing. We were almost bothered by it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Seated us in the bes ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful evening. Seated us in the best seats...private and romantic. Wine was delicious, and a great accompaniment to the meal. Service was awesome. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I loved mother's day at melting pot! It was fun, the music was pleasant. Food is always tasty! 5 stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & Great service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fantastic as always but our service was the best I've ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service. Nice clean and friendly restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service, wonderful food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were a party of 10 including 2 small children. I made reservations for a Sat. lunch following a graduation. Reservations were a snap, and later when I added 4 more people they had no problem accomodating us. We had a private dining area set off from the rest of t he restaurant which was perfect. Our server, Tori, could not have been better in her suggestions, interactions with us, and checking back to see if we needed anything else. The manager also stopped by several times to see how things were going. We ordered 3 cheese fondues, and one in the party ordered steak. We ended with 2 chocolate fondues that were wonderful. No one went away hungery and sitting around a big table made for fun conversation. I would definitely come here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Pricey but taisty all in all great experiance would recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server josh was great! Knowledgable, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our server josh was great! Knowledgable, personable, funny and attentive. The food was fresh, delicious and a fun overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The overall experience is amazing, and they always have a team of people to help in all aspects of your meal. A 10/10 every time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but this meal was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was great, but this meal was a great opportunity to get the kids to put down their electronics and talk. The melting pot keeps their hands busy while keeping meal time calm enough for great conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Unlimited Cheese and Chocolate.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great way to sample each of their cheese offerings. Always an excellent dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.