About The Melting Pot - Boise

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: 2083438800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese On Bread - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Choice Angus - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Fondue Pot Petals - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Milk Chocolate Berry - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Sauces - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Shrimp - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Strawberry Dipped In Chocolate - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Smores Chocolate Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
White Bread Dipped In Cheese - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Six Strawberries Box - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Yin Yang Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Fondue By You Three Course - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Fondue By You Lobster - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Dessert Plate - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Caesar Salad - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
French Quarter Combo - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Artichoke Spinach Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Birthdaycake - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
House Salad - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Berry Mojito - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Ginger Pomo Martini - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Flaming Turtle - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
S'mores Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Coq au Vin Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
California Salad - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
meat meddley - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Brie And Bacon Fondue - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID
Ying & Yang Cocktail  - The Melting Pot - Boise, Boise, ID

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Saturday December 31, 2016 starting at 4pm
Ring in the New Year with a special Prix Fixe 4-course dinner. Packages start at $60 per person. Dinner includes specialty cheese, salad, prix fixe entree and chocolate fondue.
Lounge only cheese and chocolate available after 10pm. $25 per person.

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
8 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Casual (7)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love how educated the servers are. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

I love how educated the servers are. The explanation that goes with every course makes the wgole dining experience more intriguing and fun. 😍

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised my wife with a birthday dinner ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Surprised my wife with a birthday dinner here and she loved it. Great food, great drinks and even better dessert. The place is generally quiet and relaxing, but during our visit there was a group that didn't know how to use their inside voices. Server was excellent as well. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend going here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Melting Pot. I've been going ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I love the Melting Pot. I've been going for years. But, I absolutely hated my server. She was awful. She was fake. Her trainee was better than her at making sure our table was bussed and we ere happy than she was. That speaks volumes!! She even served me the wrong entree and I called her out on it and she proceeded to argue with me. To which I stated, let me see the menu. I'm not wrong. I was going to show her that she was. I ordered an $85 bottle of champagne. My tab was $260+ I know that menu well and all he could come back with was the correct entree and a couple more pieces. A manager should have been at my table to apologize at the very least!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food but our server was even bet ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food but our server was even better! She was amazing in exceeding expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would definitely come back, food tasted ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Would definitely come back, food tasted great. Would probably just get the cheese and dessert course though, thought the protein/veggie course was decent but not on the same level as the cheese! Service was decent but not amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Never can go wrong at the Melting Pot! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Never can go wrong at the Melting Pot! Yes, you do have to cook your own food, but the premium ingredients and fantastic flavors make it worth every bit of the effort.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal at the melti ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We always have a great meal at the melting pot and our server was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a great night at the melting pot w ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I had a great night at the melting pot with the great deal on restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time at a fondue restau ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 20, 2016

It was our first time at a fondue restaurant. It was a wonderful experience. We loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The meat was ver ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was delicious. The meat was very tender and the spices were so good. Our waitress was so friendly and her suggestions were spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible experience! We felt a little ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Incredible experience! We felt a little underdressed, but we are from Twin and didn't know what to expect. Our server was phenomenal and I will absolutely be coming back. She made my boyfriends birthday great! Thankyou.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter & I met for Sports Special f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My daughter & I met for Sports Special for dinner & watch Boise State game. Service was phenomenal...very friendly & helpful waitress. We enjoyed the food & had a great time

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sarah was our Fonduist again and she wen ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sarah was our Fonduist again and she went above and beyond the call of duty!!!! Even though it was a Saturday night and it was busy Sarah made us feel extremely comfortable and appreciated. Love Sarah to pieces!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table was lovely, the server was gre ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The table was lovely, the server was great and the food was amazing. It was a great way to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but the service was beyon ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was great but the service was beyond slow. I think we waited over 30 minutes just to get our bill. Not to mention the other 15, 20, and 30 minute wait we had.we were there for over 3 1/2 hours. That to me was not impressive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our second time going to The Me ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This was our second time going to The Melting Pot. It was a great experience. The food was once again outstanding and we had tons of fun while dipping and cooking our food. Definitely a great place for a date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Melting Pot was a great experience. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Melting Pot was a great experience. Delicious!

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time. It was apparent th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a great time. It was apparent the waitress had been working there for a long time because she rattled through the instructions and was not too great abot our drinks topped off.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hosted a small Bridal Shower dinner for ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Hosted a small Bridal Shower dinner for a friend. We were able to have a large table with 3 pots going at a time which allowed for great conversation as well as incredible food. Ryan was our server and did an incredible job - we had people that were seasoned fondue consumers as well as some people that were fondue virgins! He did a great job of taking care of our entire group as well as being available for menu information, details, and recommendations. Fondue is such a wonderful group experience and the ability to share food and flavors is a great way to spend the evening with friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I fell in love with this place after my ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I fell in love with this place after my first visit. Here's why:

The fondue/chocolate/cooking stew is made table-side, making for great, personal service opportunities which they definitely take advantage of.

The four-course option is expensive but offers an exceedingly and surprisingly large amount of food. Even the most macho hungry-man will be rolling out of the restaurant.

It's quiet, dim, and very personal. Particularly at two-person tables, everything was closed in or had barriers between other guests. It made the experience very one-on-one.

Variety found here is amazing - I was even impressed with my salad. It had eggs, mushrooms, spicy candied nuts, and a fantastic vinaigrette. The main course came with some combination of three or four meats - mine had shrimp, steak, and duck.

I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Managergreetedusatthedoorandwasveryconne ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Managergreetedusatthedoorandwasveryconnectedthestaffwashelpfulandknowlegable therewasatablewaitingforuswith anAnniversarycard,whichwasanicetouch Overall,theexperiencewasniceandthefoodwasdelish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our daughter's 16th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's 16th birthday. It was a fun time and everyone enjoyed the meal. However, nothing was done by the staff to recognize my daughter on her birthday even after mentioning it at the time of reservation and as we were seated. The service was good. The main disappointment was that it was overpriced for what was provided. The food was good, but it was not $40 per person good. I would really like to see the food quality improve for that price point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is one of my favorite spots to eat. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots to eat. It's a little spendy for the amount of food you get but it is amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fun and different food experience! We ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 15, 2016

A fun and different food experience! We had such a great time and would recommend trying this inventive way of dining out

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Could use a bit better light. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Could use a bit better light. We enjoyed the quietness of this space. We are very tired of loud and roudy. We find are selves rating many places as "too noisy" for us. Server was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, ambiance, and service. high ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great meal, ambiance, and service. highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent setting and romantic ambiance ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent setting and romantic ambiance - full points for that. Many/most of the tables are in private/intimate settings and let you enjoy your company without interruptions from others in the restaurant. The portion sizes were good, not too small, not too big. Filet mignon doesn't work that great in a fondue (I'd rather just grill it) - but the shrimp and the lobster were absolutely fantastic. My recommendation to anyone who goes would be to go for seafood in the fondue. Our server was very attentive to our needs, very friendly and yet not overbearing or intrusive. All in all, my wife loved it for our anniversary celebration, and that's what counts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The cheese fondue was our favorite! The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cheese fondue was our favorite! The pear brie is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at the restaurant was ama ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our experience at the restaurant was amazing. We were on a road trip with family and as always Melting Pot food was amazing, but the real win here was our server wish I could remember her name. Very fun night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I was looking for a special place for ou ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I was looking for a special place for our anniversary and had read a review about the melting pot. It was a great experience and fit right into our vegetarian diet. From the anniversary card on the table to the attention shown by the manager it was great. Our waitress paige was very friendly and attentive and the best fondue instructor ever. With so many restaurants to try we hardly ever go back a second time but we will be returning to the melting pot and probably take the whole family this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was fantastic, food was delic ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server was fantastic, food was delicious, drinks were incredible. Well worth the money. I do wish we got more food for our money with the entrée, but overall we had a time and would do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my date and I had a wonderful time! our ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 28, 2016

my date and I had a wonderful time! our waiters were awesome and super friendly! the food was spectacular. I wish I would've known that we could've split the meal because it was a lot of food and it would've made it way less expensive. Everything was great, I definitely want to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I choose Melting Pot t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I choose Melting Pot to have dinner and celebrate her birthday. We wanted something 'new' and a 'different' and we were pleasantly surprised. We were both new to the Fondue and luckily our waitress Kristina was an absolute gem. She was cordial, professional, informative and funny. The whole evening was excellent but it was her friendly service that made it perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been a huge fan is Melting Pot for ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've been a huge fan is Melting Pot for eons and now that I live in Reno, I don't have access to one. I always go to this one when I'm in Boise, and it's always a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Kristina took great care o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress, Kristina took great care of us on my special day - my birthday! Hats off to her and the rest of the staff at The Melting Pot - Boise!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner including complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries. Our server was pleasant, friendly, and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there and we loved it

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service, the food was fantastic... all around very happy with the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasion!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2016

They went out of their way to make our special birthday celebration even better! Even a candle to blow out for the birthday girl. Also, we very much appreciated the plate of gluten free dessert goodies for our family member with celiac. Looking forward to our next visit to The Melting Pot!

I also recommend making reservations with Open Table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cats

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I don't remember our servers name but she was great! A very relaxing time with our family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Colossal waster of time and money

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our family celebrated a birthday at The Melting Pot. The food was average at best, and the time required was excessive. We were there for nearly two hours, spent 180$ on around 40$ worth of food, endured an obnoxious, loud group next to us, and left very disappointed. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.