About The Melting Pot - Boise

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: (208) 343-8800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fun (20)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Private Room (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Family Style (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were sat in a corner table. We litera ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We were sat in a corner table. We literally heard the waitstaff say "corner" about every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Sarah was our Fonduist and, again she ma ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Sarah was our Fonduist and, again she made the night memorable. Helpful and friendly and explains everything in detail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! We will definit ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been there several times and normal ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been there several times and normally love the ambiance.

This time we got put in the closet, literally it was a closet! Horrible little room, it was uncomfortable and we felt like we were being put in time out for something. We had to stand up in order to see the food in the pot as the cooking surface was too far away.

We made advance reservations for the mid afternoon and they weren't busy so we could have easily been put in a normal table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

My wife and I enjoyed our first experien ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed our first experience with The Melting Pot! It was pricey, which we knew in advance, but the food and experience was worth it. Not something we do everyday, but special occasions, sure. Darcy, our server, was wonderful, and helped make our experience a good one. Ask for Darcy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I really enjoyed going to the Melting Po ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed going to the Melting Pot. It was the first time I had ever gone, and it was a really fun experience. Great for going on a date!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was called prior to our valentines dat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

I was called prior to our valentines date and they informed me about a special they have for V-day I nicely said no thank you but I will at least take a look online. He said yes and then he confirmed my reservation time. When we arrived, we soon found out that the special was the only option. This was not clear over the phone. So, we ended up paying over double what we had budgeted. The most frustrating part was that the "manager" (never stated who he was) was not apologetic at all. Just awkwardly stared at us and waiting for us to say something. I told him that we needed a second to decide if we are going or staying and he said okay, and walked off. The food was good, our waiter was new (which we have lots of grace to give), but not clear about the special and the manager was awkward and unprofessional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

The atmosphere was wonderful. The waitre ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful. The waitress was amazing. Can't wait to come back. Maybe a coupon discount would be great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We really enjoyed being seated in the pr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We really enjoyed being seated in the private room. It used to be the bell tower for the old Boise fire station. It's super romantic and there are initials carved into the brick walls (we may have added ours!).

I will say that, compared to other Melting Pot locations we've visited across the country, the amount of cheese was less. Other than that, it was really great and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful evening with deliciou ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a wonderful evening with delicious food! We always enjoy our time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate Valentine's Day. We bo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to celebrate Valentine's Day. We both had a wonderful time and got choices we both very much enjoyed. It was quiet with jazz in the background and service was splendid. We took our time and never felt rushed or like an annoyance. Overall I think we will be returning here for Valentine's Day again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Each year my daughter asks to go to the ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Each year my daughter asks to go to the Melting Pot for her special birthday treat. I had made a reservation for 7pm this last Friday. Upon our arrival the hostess' were short, very unfriendly and not engaging at all. This made us feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable. As the first point of contact for your guests, I would hope that they would be more willing to appreciate the individuals that would like to dine with you. We did get seated on time, however this experience left a very bad impression on us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

It's different, it's fun, it's absolutel ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It's different, it's fun, it's absolutely delicious, and the service was great. What more could you want? Go, you'll love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the table side service and th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the table side service and the quiet corner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time but we're quite anno ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great time but we're quite annoyed by other tables using the phone timers with the volume turned all the way up to time their food cooking....and it wasn't just one table. All we heard the entire time were timers going off. It pretty much ruined our date night conversation. Maybe the staff could add a request during their menu presentation to turn down or off the sound on phone timers if they are going to be used.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very good, did not know that they no lon ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very good, did not know that they no longer had a liquor license and hope that they get that back soon because it is nice to have the option of a cocktail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Waitress was very good, daily specials w ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Waitress was very good, daily specials would.be a plus...Overall pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My daughter wanted to celebrate her 16th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My daughter wanted to celebrate her 16th birthday with friends and chose the Melting Pot. We made reservations through Open Table and when we dropped the girls off and explained it was just the 4 girls, no adults, celebrating a birthday they were still very accommodating. The girls had the best time and loved every bit of the food. (we ate their leftovers and they were great) Ashlynn, their waitress went out of her way to take care of them which helped the girls feel very comfortable. All of the staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend the Melting Pot for any occasion but especially for a "special" occasion. Good food makes us want to come back and enjoy it again. Great food plus great service makes you want to share that experience and come back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First our waitress told us something we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First our waitress told us something we ordered wasn't gluten free even though the menu said it was (and I've had it probably 20 times before). I asked if they had changed the recipe, she replied no. She told me it had to be made with gluten free beer, so I asked if they had any, she replied yes. I asked why it wasn't gluten-free then, she told me that it just wasn't a good cheese. It is my favorite. Then while she was stirring the cheese she got it everywhere including in our drinks. She never checked back on us to see if we needed more dipprts. Then the chocolate came, it was cold. We have gone to The Melting Pot in Fort Collins Colorado many times and it is always been amazing this is the second time to the one in Boise and it was less than incredible both times.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Fun dining experience where cooking is d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fun dining experience where cooking is done at your table.

Great dining for all ages. Servers are very helpful with choosing menu items and explaining the technique for cooking.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The place was outstanding very clean th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The place was outstanding very clean the hosts and waitress were awesome couldn't have asked for better service. Plus I just love where the location is downtown Boise. A very enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful time. We always ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had such a wonderful time. We always do! This is our 3rd year in a row going for our anniversary and it was the best yet. Our server, Alexis I think, was very friendly and explained everything great. She picked a wine for me and I absolutely loved it. We left full of food and laughs. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved dining at The Melting P ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Absolutely loved dining at The Melting Pot. The server was amazing and explained everything well and gave great recommendations on the menu. I also loved how the cheese fondue was prepared right at the table. The portions were right on; at the end of the meal I was very full but not so stuffed that I was uncomfortable. The price IS pretty steep, but for the occasion I visited, it was worth every penny. I will definitely be going back for another special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome food, great service, really beau ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Awesome food, great service, really beautiful, would definitely go back again it was a lot of fun

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. Great food, very outstan ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was amazing. Great food, very outstanding service, and overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful yummy food and the waitress wa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful yummy food and the waitress was EXCELLENT

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great staff and even better food! We lik ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great staff and even better food! We like to co.e at least once a year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. It's an i ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time at this restaurant. It's an interesting dining experience. This was New Years so they had a special menu for the evening. Starting with a cheese hor D'oeurves of breads and veggies, then salad, then meats/veggies and then finally a chocolate fondue dessert. It was a mix of good and so-so and since you are cooking just about everything they bring you on average of 1-2 minutes each it makes for a lengthy meal. We were there from 7-9. Also, since you are cooking each course in the same pot the flavor tends to get a bit monotonous. We were sat in a corner booth which gave us very good privacy and the place was dimly lit so it created a pretty romantic atmosphere. The very big problem I had with this establishment is that as part of the special New Years Eve menu you were purchasing a meal package. With these packages you had a choice of drink options so lowest tier you could get a soft drink, the second tier a cocktail , another tier a bottle of wine and so on. Well, the cocktail options were limited to three craft cocktails. Two were Vodka drinks and one a Gin drink. No Rum, Bourbon, or Tequila! So when I was told I couldn't substitute a Pomegranate Margarita which was priced the same as the drinks they were offering and would have to pay the additional $7 to what was already a $140 dollar affair I knew that I wouldn't ever be back at this place. The waitress was very nice otherwise however, having been in both the restaurant business and customer service business for many years I cannot justify returning to a place that says no to a $7 substitution request. Too many dining options in this town that will go the extra mile to exceed their customers expectations.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The family went to the Melting Pot for a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The family went to the Melting Pot for a special New Year's eve dinner. We appreciated the staff dressing in the themed 20's period costumes. We had fun and dressed in period as well. The service was great and the food was delicious. Having two burners at our table of six was nice. It allowed us to have pots for two types of cheese, dinner broth and chocolate desert. The price was a bit high but not unexpected. The coat rack by the front door was nice so we didn't have to crowd our seat with large coats. The only complaint was the tip numbers preprinted on our bill. All the percentages listed were completely wrong and high for the percentage listed. A 15% tip was listed as $54.18 when it should have shown $44.68. We couldn't figure out where the numbers came from. Must be new math. The service warranted a higher tip but it would have been nice if it were our choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our date night. Nice little cor ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved our date night. Nice little corner table, very secluded. Great atmosphere, awesome food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Melting Pot is my wife's favorite pl ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Melting Pot is my wife's favorite place to go on our anniversary. We have been many times over the years and I cant see that changing. The food is good and the service has always been great. we love the fact that we can sit and enjoy our food for as long as it takes and each others company without feeling rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our Christmas dinner which we enj ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was our Christmas dinner which we enjoyed very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was phenomenal. Every course ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service was phenomenal. Every course was delicious, though I especially loved the California salad with raspberry vinaigrette.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, one of our favorites. Great e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As always, one of our favorites. Great experience, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love how educated the servers are. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I love how educated the servers are. The explanation that goes with every course makes the wgole dining experience more intriguing and fun. 😍

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic, , Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised my wife with a birthday dinner ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Surprised my wife with a birthday dinner here and she loved it. Great food, great drinks and even better dessert. The place is generally quiet and relaxing, but during our visit there was a group that didn't know how to use their inside voices. Server was excellent as well. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend going here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Melting Pot. I've been going ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I love the Melting Pot. I've been going for years. But, I absolutely hated my server. She was awful. She was fake. Her trainee was better than her at making sure our table was bussed and we ere happy than she was. That speaks volumes!! She even served me the wrong entree and I called her out on it and she proceeded to argue with me. To which I stated, let me see the menu. I'm not wrong. I was going to show her that she was. I ordered an $85 bottle of champagne. My tab was $260+ I know that menu well and all he could come back with was the correct entree and a couple more pieces. A manager should have been at my table to apologize at the very least!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food but our server was even bet ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food but our server was even better! She was amazing in exceeding expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would definitely come back, food tasted ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Would definitely come back, food tasted great. Would probably just get the cheese and dessert course though, thought the protein/veggie course was decent but not on the same level as the cheese! Service was decent but not amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Never can go wrong at the Melting Pot! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Never can go wrong at the Melting Pot! Yes, you do have to cook your own food, but the premium ingredients and fantastic flavors make it worth every bit of the effort.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.