Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Melting Pot - Boise

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: (208) 343-8800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Fun (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (14)
Private Room (14)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a nice place for great food and one on one time. Most booths feel secluded and great for conversation. Put the cell phone away, focus on what you are cooking and who you are with.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Tucker was our waiter. He explained to us that it was his third night serving. He turned out to be a super friendly guy, quick with a smile, and, actually, quite knowledgeable for being the new guy. Thanks to him, our food all turned out. Our only issue; stomachs not big enough for all that food!😉 Good stuff. Can't wait to see Tucker at The Melting Pot again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An enjoyable experience. Very leisurely, taking 3 plus hours to enjoy a 4 course meal. Environment was very pleasant. Waiter was new and did take longer than usual to bring some items, but he was very nice and trying hard. Pretty pricey but it is the unique experience that you are paying for. The food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Staff was quite knowledgeable about celiac disease and there were very good gluten free options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A fun, interactive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome evening! Cheese fondues were delish, chocolate fondues were yummy too!
Only beer and wine there, fyi.
Our server Micah was fabulous too! A great birthday celebration!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waitress was new, but she did an overall fantastic job. The food was delightful and the setting very intimate. Will come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wholly Cow! Go hungry! We each had the 4 course experience. Amazing quality food. Generous portions and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went for my husbands birthday and it was perfect. Waitress was wonderful and the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is our "go to" anniversary spot. Cheese and chocolate are good anytime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our daughter works at your corporate office in Tampa, Fl. so we decided to give it a try while in Boise for a wedding. The food was great, but the phone app to check our cooking time was not explained until we were done eating. It was difficult to try to read our watches in the darkened room. The Melting Pot is a special occasion place, as it is on the high end spectrum for pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely amazing food, incredible ambiance, and they catered to every need. Upscale dining but it is so worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The waitress was amazing and took great care of us. This was our first visit to The Melting Pot. We will have to come back again for the cheese and chocolate courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. High-end fare with excellent service. We would eat there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Went for a romantic dinner. The melting pot was the right place for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I've only visited twice, never had fondue before so I was very excited. My last visit there was WAY to much wine used to make the cheese fondue, almost unbearable to eat. Dessert is always fabulous, you can't go wrong with melted chocolate. I don't like the meat portion of the fondue, your pretty much 'boiling' steak in flavored broth so not very appetizing in my opinion, but the shrimp was good so I can imagine if you did all seafood platter as your main course it would be a success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was great, waitress was attentive. We did not like 1 of our cheese Fondue selections and she was quick to replace it with something we could enjoy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brought my husband as a special surprise. It was super fun, amazing friendly service, and romantic atmosphere. The entire experience might be longer than at another restaurant but it gave us more time to talk. Just be aware that they don't have their own parking.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been to the melting pot a few times and i always love coming. it is fun to do and always amazing food. took my boyfriend for his first time and he loved it. we will definitely be coming back for happy hour

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This is a unique dining experience, great for special occasions or a quiet dinner. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My friends and I go here every year for my birthday. It is a wonderful fine dining experience. The food was delightful and the atmosphere was calm and classy. Our waiter was a little bit scatter brained, but the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great! We had a great time with our kids. It was a bit pricey for the food, but we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, the food was also perfect. Very much enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food, great fondue experience, so much fun but the service was lacking. The servers all around use seemed excellent but ours focus more on his other tables.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our waitress was awesome! She was very knowledgeable and helped explain the whole process and made great suggestions for our table. She even hunted down gluten free bread and dessert for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There should be group pricing instead of individual pricing. It's just too expensive for what you get. But other than that it's great food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good vittles, friendly people and an unhurried atmosphere = the only downtown Boise establishment we'll repeatedly patronize. Without a doubt, "The Melting Pot" is our favourite "go to" Boise restaurant.
For first time patrons, be advised that the whole Melting Pot experience is an entertainment event as well as a dinner. The average time for dining may vary, however a full course meal for a party of four usually takes us about two hours; so plan "after dining" activities accordingly. The relaxed unhurried atmosphere is another reason we enjoy this restaurant.
As I stated above, a dining party will experience a great dinner as well as a fun experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great wait staff food and atmosphere. Will be going back monthly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We spent Friday night dining at the Melting Pot, and it was fantastic! Our server walked us through the menu with patience and great advice. The food was fantastic, and we loved our corner booth, which had great privacy. We highly recommend this place for a romantic date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The fondue not only tastes amazing but provides a fun activity for a date. Great service and love how the tables for two are private so that you can just enjoy each other without the noise of a restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The melting pot in Boise blew us away. We were an hour early for our reservation and the manager did what he could do get us in earlier. Which we greatly appreciated becauase our original reservation was at 8:30pm. Since it was our first time at the melting pot our waiter walked us through the process and encouraged us to ask questions, if we did not understand the menu/process. All four courses were amazing and the process was so much fun. Definitely a fun place to go on a date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for a date or a nice eating experience. Service and food great. Staff are great to ensure your experience is good. Quiet environment allows you to have good conversations with the the person or people you are with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Your restraunt has always been a very nice place to dine with your loved ones or couples. The cost of the evening warrants a quiet setting for couples. This was the third time i have taken my spouse and we are in for 125 to 150 dollar evening. Our evening was spoiled by an infant that cried the entire evening. We have young and infant grand children that we dine with in a lower value setting not to disturb adults that pay higher prices to get away from this kind of disturbance. Your food and service is wonderful and i do not want to complain about the environment, but people need to get a little common since about where they dine with small children and infants. Sorry for this complaint, but we may consider other restruants in the future for our special occasions and continue to take our young family members to places like Red Robin.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome dinner!!! Haven't been in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Adam is a great service

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 21, 2017

If it's your first time, it can be intimidating and confusing, but we still enjoyed it. We did cheese, meat, and chocolate. In the future I'd opt for just cheese and chocolate.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Melting Pot is one of our favorite restaurants, but this ti e we were a bit disappointed due to the waitress talking too fast, dirty wine glasses, too loud music, too thin chocolate, all that did not match the excessive cost.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were sat in a corner table. We literally heard the waitstaff say "corner" about every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sarah was our Fonduist and, again she made the night memorable. Helpful and friendly and explains everything in detail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.