Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Melting Pot - Boise

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: (208) 343-8800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Private Room (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great fondue experience, so much fun but the service was lacking. The servers all around use seemed excellent but ours focus more on his other tables.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our waitress was awesome! She was very knowledgeable and helped explain the whole process and made great suggestions for our table. She even hunted down gluten free bread and dessert for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There should be group pricing instead of individual pricing. It's just too expensive for what you get. But other than that it's great food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good vittles, friendly people and an unhurried atmosphere = the only downtown Boise establishment we'll repeatedly patronize. Without a doubt, "The Melting Pot" is our favourite "go to" Boise restaurant.
For first time patrons, be advised that the whole Melting Pot experience is an entertainment event as well as a dinner. The average time for dining may vary, however a full course meal for a party of four usually takes us about two hours; so plan "after dining" activities accordingly. The relaxed unhurried atmosphere is another reason we enjoy this restaurant.
As I stated above, a dining party will experience a great dinner as well as a fun experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great wait staff food and atmosphere. Will be going back monthly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We spent Friday night dining at the Melting Pot, and it was fantastic! Our server walked us through the menu with patience and great advice. The food was fantastic, and we loved our corner booth, which had great privacy. We highly recommend this place for a romantic date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The fondue not only tastes amazing but provides a fun activity for a date. Great service and love how the tables for two are private so that you can just enjoy each other without the noise of a restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The melting pot in Boise blew us away. We were an hour early for our reservation and the manager did what he could do get us in earlier. Which we greatly appreciated becauase our original reservation was at 8:30pm. Since it was our first time at the melting pot our waiter walked us through the process and encouraged us to ask questions, if we did not understand the menu/process. All four courses were amazing and the process was so much fun. Definitely a fun place to go on a date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for a date or a nice eating experience. Service and food great. Staff are great to ensure your experience is good. Quiet environment allows you to have good conversations with the the person or people you are with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Your restraunt has always been a very nice place to dine with your loved ones or couples. The cost of the evening warrants a quiet setting for couples. This was the third time i have taken my spouse and we are in for 125 to 150 dollar evening. Our evening was spoiled by an infant that cried the entire evening. We have young and infant grand children that we dine with in a lower value setting not to disturb adults that pay higher prices to get away from this kind of disturbance. Your food and service is wonderful and i do not want to complain about the environment, but people need to get a little common since about where they dine with small children and infants. Sorry for this complaint, but we may consider other restruants in the future for our special occasions and continue to take our young family members to places like Red Robin.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome dinner!!! Haven't been in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Adam is a great service

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 21, 2017

If it's your first time, it can be intimidating and confusing, but we still enjoyed it. We did cheese, meat, and chocolate. In the future I'd opt for just cheese and chocolate.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Melting Pot is one of our favorite restaurants, but this ti e we were a bit disappointed due to the waitress talking too fast, dirty wine glasses, too loud music, too thin chocolate, all that did not match the excessive cost.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were sat in a corner table. We literally heard the waitstaff say "corner" about every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sarah was our Fonduist and, again she made the night memorable. Helpful and friendly and explains everything in detail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been here numerous times, this was one of the worst. Started with an unhelpful host when we called to make reservations (it was much easier just using OpenTable). Then our waitress was either new or just not very good. At one point we waited about 20 minutes for more bread for the cheese fondue. I had asked the waitress the most cost-efficient way of serving 2 adults and 4 kids, but she just shrugged. Also, we mentioned in the reservation it was for our anniversary and the waitress mentioned it, but nothing else was said. I was under the impression that special occasions got special treatment. I was wrong. Lastly, and no fault of the restaurant here, the owner of the liquor license they were using, leased the license to a new hotel. Kind of a jerk thing to do to a restaurant. No gin & tonic for me.

Lastly, even though this was our worst time here it was still really good and we'd go back. I'd just use OpenTable to reserve and ask for a different wait staff next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been there several times and normally love the ambiance.
This time we got put in the closet, literally it was a closet! Horrible little room, it was uncomfortable and we felt like we were being put in time out for something. We had to stand up in order to see the food in the pot as the cooking surface was too far away.
We made advance reservations for the mid afternoon and they weren't busy so we could have easily been put in a normal table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our first experience with The Melting Pot! It was pricey, which we knew in advance, but the food and experience was worth it. Not something we do everyday, but special occasions, sure. Darcy, our server, was wonderful, and helped make our experience a good one. Ask for Darcy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I really enjoyed going to the Melting Pot. It was the first time I had ever gone, and it was a really fun experience. Great for going on a date!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was called prior to our valentines date and they informed me about a special they have for V-day I nicely said no thank you but I will at least take a look online. He said yes and then he confirmed my reservation time. When we arrived, we soon found out that the special was the only option. This was not clear over the phone. So, we ended up paying over double what we had budgeted. The most frustrating part was that the "manager" (never stated who he was) was not apologetic at all. Just awkwardly stared at us and waiting for us to say something. I told him that we needed a second to decide if we are going or staying and he said okay, and walked off. The food was good, our waiter was new (which we have lots of grace to give), but not clear about the special and the manager was awkward and unprofessional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful. The waitress was amazing. Can't wait to come back. Maybe a coupon discount would be great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We really enjoyed being seated in the private room. It used to be the bell tower for the old Boise fire station. It's super romantic and there are initials carved into the brick walls (we may have added ours!).

I will say that, compared to other Melting Pot locations we've visited across the country, the amount of cheese was less. Other than that, it was really great and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a wonderful evening with delicious food! We always enjoy our time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to celebrate Valentine's Day. We both had a wonderful time and got choices we both very much enjoyed. It was quiet with jazz in the background and service was splendid. We took our time and never felt rushed or like an annoyance. Overall I think we will be returning here for Valentine's Day again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Each year my daughter asks to go to the Melting Pot for her special birthday treat. I had made a reservation for 7pm this last Friday. Upon our arrival the hostess' were short, very unfriendly and not engaging at all. This made us feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable. As the first point of contact for your guests, I would hope that they would be more willing to appreciate the individuals that would like to dine with you. We did get seated on time, however this experience left a very bad impression on us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bar stopped serving liquor which was disappointing. Table was small and in busy walkway near the bathroom which wasn't ideal. Everything was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It's different, it's fun, it's absolutely delicious, and the service was great. What more could you want? Go, you'll love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the table side service and the quiet corner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great time but we're quite annoyed by other tables using the phone timers with the volume turned all the way up to time their food cooking....and it wasn't just one table. All we heard the entire time were timers going off. It pretty much ruined our date night conversation. Maybe the staff could add a request during their menu presentation to turn down or off the sound on phone timers if they are going to be used.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very good, did not know that they no longer had a liquor license and hope that they get that back soon because it is nice to have the option of a cocktail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Waitress was very good, daily specials would.be a plus...Overall pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My daughter wanted to celebrate her 16th birthday with friends and chose the Melting Pot. We made reservations through Open Table and when we dropped the girls off and explained it was just the 4 girls, no adults, celebrating a birthday they were still very accommodating. The girls had the best time and loved every bit of the food. (we ate their leftovers and they were great) Ashlynn, their waitress went out of her way to take care of them which helped the girls feel very comfortable. All of the staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend the Melting Pot for any occasion but especially for a "special" occasion. Good food makes us want to come back and enjoy it again. Great food plus great service makes you want to share that experience and come back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First our waitress told us something we ordered wasn't gluten free even though the menu said it was (and I've had it probably 20 times before). I asked if they had changed the recipe, she replied no. She told me it had to be made with gluten free beer, so I asked if they had any, she replied yes. I asked why it wasn't gluten-free then, she told me that it just wasn't a good cheese. It is my favorite. Then while she was stirring the cheese she got it everywhere including in our drinks. She never checked back on us to see if we needed more dipprts. Then the chocolate came, it was cold. We have gone to The Melting Pot in Fort Collins Colorado many times and it is always been amazing this is the second time to the one in Boise and it was less than incredible both times.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fun dining experience where cooking is done at your table.
Great dining for all ages. Servers are very helpful with choosing menu items and explaining the technique for cooking.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The place was outstanding very clean the hosts and waitress were awesome couldn't have asked for better service. Plus I just love where the location is downtown Boise. A very enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had such a wonderful time. We always do! This is our 3rd year in a row going for our anniversary and it was the best yet. Our server, Alexis I think, was very friendly and explained everything great. She picked a wine for me and I absolutely loved it. We left full of food and laughs. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Absolutely loved dining at The Melting Pot. The server was amazing and explained everything well and gave great recommendations on the menu. I also loved how the cheese fondue was prepared right at the table. The portions were right on; at the end of the meal I was very full but not so stuffed that I was uncomfortable. The price IS pretty steep, but for the occasion I visited, it was worth every penny. I will definitely be going back for another special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.