About The Melting Pot - Boise

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: 2083438800

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
Dessert Plate
Caesar Salad
Birthdaycake
French Quarter Combo
Artichoke Spinach Cheese Fondue
House Salad
Flaming Turtle
Berry Mojito
Ginger Pomo Martini
S'mores Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps
Coq au Vin Fondue
California Salad
meat meddley
Brie And Bacon Fondue
Ying & Yang Cocktail

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
9 More
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress, Kristina took great care o ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress, Kristina took great care of us on my special day - my birthday! Hats off to her and the rest of the staff at The Melting Pot - Boise!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner including complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries. Our server was pleasant, friendly, and efficient.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there and we loved it

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service, the food was fantastic... all around very happy with the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasion!

Dined on June 3, 2016

They went out of their way to make our special birthday celebration even better! Even a candle to blow out for the birthday girl. Also, we very much appreciated the plate of gluten free dessert goodies for our family member with celiac. Looking forward to our next visit to The Melting Pot! I also recommend making reservations with Open Table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cats

Dined on May 29, 2016

I don't remember our servers name but she was great! A very relaxing time with our family.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Colossal waster of time and money

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our family celebrated a birthday at The Melting Pot. The food was average at best, and the time required was excessive. We were there for nearly two hours, spent 180$ on around 40$ worth of food, endured an obnoxious, loud group next to us, and left very disappointed. We will not return.

food5
ambience5
service4

Recommendations were wonderful and servi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Recommendations were wonderful and service and food were great!! I feel awful for not remembering my waitresses name, but i know it started with a J. I think Janet was her name

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We came here for our 26th anniversary. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We came here for our 26th anniversary. We were advised to get two full meals. This was WAY too much food for us and I would have rated everything higher had we been given an honest recommendation to start with 1 person's worth of food, as that would have made the end of the meal MUCH more enjoyable. As it was, we ate too much and couldn't finish over half of the desert. Conversely, offer a 1/2 size portion for less money. Either way, we'll know better next time. Also, it would have been nice if you had a section with ambiance more in mind. It wasn't too bad until the 10 year old child was seated at the table next to us and was restless so decided to play the drums with the silverware on the table. Quite obnoxious. Server was fantastic, food tasted great.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved the cheese part of the dinner and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the cheese part of the dinner and the chocolate, but didn't care for the boiled meat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table was quiet and perfect for a ro ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our table was quiet and perfect for a romantic anniversary dinner. The staff had even left us an anniversary card at our table! The was outstanding and the server was thoughtful to make recommendations. We had a wonderful unhurried quiet dinner. It was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than a meal it was an event. Top notch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I asked for a special request when I reserved online. I asked them to remind my wife just how special I think she is. I was half kidding. Hailey stepped in to our dining area and introduced herself as our server and told my wife what I had requested. When a restaurant takes the initiative to see that through one is guaranteed they won't miss a thing in your dining experience. The food was top notch, Hailey was great in explaining what pairs well with the sauces and an overall joy to talk with during this experience. I will recommend The Melting Pot to all who ask about a place to dine. Can't wait to go back

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. His recommendation for the blackberry sage lemonade was spot on! Delicious food and great atmosphere, my mom loved her first visit to the Melting Pot! We will DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful service!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Had an awesome time with my admin team!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great place for a ladies' night!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The Melting Pot in Boise had a 1920s themed ladies night with a special menu. We were a group of six ladies and we had a fantastic time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and fun

Dined on March 25, 2016

First time here, seating was very private which my wife loves. Food was fantastic, staff was very friendly, everything was great. I couldnt have asked for a more perfect dinner for my wifes birthday. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time

Dined on March 12, 2016

We love the Melting Pot. Very few can match the combination of food, atmosphere and overall dining experience. Our service has always been top notch. Be sure to plan ahead since this is a dining event so plan on at least 90 minutes to run through all of the courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary Lunch

Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere. We came here for dinner a few months ago, and now for lunch for our 3 year wedding anniversary. Food was good, it was really quiet and almost no one was there. We had a great time, and the food was great. Best value was the Fondue for You. Includes Cheese Fondue, Salad, Meat Fondue and then of course Dessert/Chocolate Fondue. We'll be going back for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Every aspect of dining here is wonderful! It's a great place to set apart any occasion. The flexibility of how to create a single shared experience while still meeting the particular tastes of each guest is a real plus. This is our go-to place when we feel like indulging or celebrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on February 22, 2016

Came here for our first anniversary. The ambience was great and such a fun experience. It was very easy to book the reservation as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My grandson and i had a great time for his b-day

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great time. Since it was his B-day he got to pick what was for dinner. I would like to come back and have more that cheese and chocolate

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a romantic dinner night. (Private booth)

Dined on February 21, 2016

Took my wife to the Melting Pot for evening dinner. Very nice ambiance and the private little booth was a plus. Service was excellent and the food was delicious (since I was the cook). Many choices on the menu and it can seem overwhelming, but the waitress was a huge help in making recommendations and showing us how the process works. Wine and cocktails are great. We enjoyed our night and will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were met with smiles, when we walked ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

We were met with smiles, when we walked into The Melting Pot after finding a parking space right out front. We arrived on a Monday night for my birthday. Our server was wonderful! She was friendly, attentive, and knew what she was doing. When she found out it was my birthday, she brought out a small dish adorned with a fondue treat that had a lit candle on it. She had written, "Happy Birthday," on the dish beautifully! The food was delicious and well-presented. We had plenty of privacy as the booths had tall sides - which I loved, with relaxing ambiance. We are definitely going again and again!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Dark Corners - if that's what you want.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Was seated at a 2-top (table for two people) when we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. With our view of a wall and the bar underneath the table bumping our knees, the ambiance wasn't that great... But if you're interested in a romantic night out and staring into each other's eyes, then this was the perfect table. Our server was very friendly and helped us pick out our courses, which was great. She was very knowledgeable about all of the options. I loved the food but my boyfriend stated that he would have preferred additional sauce options (he didn't like the ones we were offered). Admittedly, we did not ask if other options were available. There was another 2-top right next to our table, separated by only a narrow divider; when the other couple showed up (about when we were finishing our main course), our little corner of the restaurant got a little loud. The waitress for that adjacent table was very loud, and we could hear everything (breathing, chewing, etc) going on at the table next door. It was kind of unfortunate, but we managed to finish our dessert course quickly and leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved our visit!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Had the four course option, and loved every course. I do wish that the vegetable options were a little more interesting (but I don't care much for veggies anyway, so I enjoyed the meal just the same) . Enjoyed the variety of meats available during the entree. Got the extra plate with our dessert course--it was well worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good choice for first time

Dined on February 2, 2016

After dining in Colorado Springs Melting Pot I brought my wife to Boise's. What a great relaxing evening we had enjoying the food and atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night!

Dined on January 23, 2016

Hailey was our server and she was fantastic. She even brought my wife a celebratory birthday "rice crispy treat."

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Dont bother

Dined on January 9, 2016

This place is sham. Set up to get everyone to order an overpriced platter of meat that when it arrives is less than enough food to feed one person. Quality of the food across the board is poor. One small of bowl of fondue cheese for four people? Really? And salads too small to even satiate our kids. Server disappeared for 15-minutes after serving main course. Ran out of dipping sauces, water and wine. Honestly, I'm not sure how a place like this survives. We felt fleeced. Will never go back to this "chain" restaurant again.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Quality of food specifically the meat wa ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Quality of food specifically the meat was not even close to being worth what you pay, the onky thing that was good was the dessert.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mystery Chocolate Fondue?

Dined on December 30, 2015

Overall we had a great meal, we did the cheddar cheese course and a chocolate course. We went for the local "Bananas Foster" to try something different, but when it came out our waiter stirred in a spoonful of caramel? Definitely wasn't expecting that since it want listed as an ingredient. Okay, but go with the classic chocolate next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on December 27, 2015

Loved the private atmosphere. The food was excellent, great sauces for the meat. We had the 4 course meal...a great value. It is very relaxing, time between courses and fun cooking your own meat. The server was very helpful with explaining the many choices and made great recommendations. Fairly extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dining Experience!

Dined on December 24, 2015

I can't say enough about the high quality of food, service, and ambiance for this restaurant! All personnel with whom we interacted were friendly, courteous, knowledgeable an definitely interested in providing a quality experience for us. The quantity of the food was a great value for the price. The expertise of our server and her experience with the serving and the food choices made our meal perfect for our group in every way. This is a great place to linger over the meal with friends and loved ones where everyone's individual tastes can be met. This restaurant exceeded our expectations. We plan to dine here again and recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for a special dinner

Dined on December 18, 2015

We go to the Melting Pot every year for our anniversary. The service is always great and the food is delicious! The interactive dining experience is fun and each course is delightful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Pricey but pay for the experience

Dined on December 13, 2015

This restaurant has very good food. The 4-course is highly recommended for 1st time visitors as you get the best bang-for-your-buck. I would recommend this as a special occasion place only as it is extremely pricey (the 4-course is about $50 a person with drinks). However, the food is very good and the experience is amazingly awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night or celebration spot!

Dined on December 13, 2015

I have came here on two different occasions, a date night and a mini family reunion. Both times the service was spectacular and the overall vibe was great. They have private booths for those who wish to use one, or tables that are more open. It is a quiet place allowing you to actually converse with your party. On both occasions we spent 2-3 hours here indulging and enjoying one another's company.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3

Sorely disappointed

Dined on December 8, 2015

Way too expensive for the experience. The bread and chips were stale. The veggies and cheese were minimal. Went for my birthday, and I'll never go there again. The servers were nice, but for the price they should have better informed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool and different

Dined on November 28, 2015

Went with a group of friends that had never been before and it turns out we had been missing out for a long time. We did the 4-course Experience and it is well worth the price! Cheese fondue, salad, cooking your own meat, and ending with chocolate fondue. It was awesome! It was all tied together with a great server that was friendly and fun! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fancy, Fun, or family it works with all three.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Always a special place. We go there for birthdays and other special events, it seems like there is always at least one birthday going on. New Years dinner is great! One year they did themes with everyone dressed in 1920's era clothing. That was a lot of fun. We almost always splurge and add a lobster tail to the meal. Sometimes it is great to just go for a fun night out and have the desert fondue and skip the dinner. Turtle fondue with fresh fruit and cheesecake. Add two glasses of wine (or two cups coffee if you prefer) in a romantic setting. Hard to beat a night like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5

Service

Dined on November 15, 2015

We looooooooved Hailey! She was extremely friendly and funny too! The food was so delicious and I liked the theme of the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service5

The food and service was great but they ...

Dined on November 2, 2015

The food and service was great but they sat us next to a big table with 2 families. There kids were running around, jumping right behind our backs and they were so loud. We almost left. We also had 2 separate checks but just noticed today that the waitress never charged me... Instead she charged my friends' card for both checks when we had asked for separate checks.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.