About The Melting Pot - Boise

200 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

At the Melting Pot we specialize in fun and interactive four-course fondue dinners, great for every occasion. The fondue experience begins with a savory cheese fondue prepared tableside, followed by your choice of fresh salad. For the main event, choose from a wide variety of tantalizing meats, seafood, and fresh vegetables, certain to please even the most particular of palates. Then cook them tableside in one of our savory broths or even in traditional oil. All of our entrée selections are paired with our famous house dipping sauces, including the garden fresh green goddess, our sweet teriyaki glaze, and the tangy ginger plum sauce. And just when you think it couldn't get better, the grand finale: a choice of decadent chocolate fondues presented with a platter of sweet bits for dipping.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th and Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 343-8800

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/boise/specials

Parking Details:
Street parking is available outside the restaurant. There are also two pay-to-park surface lots, one to the north and another to the south. The closest parking garage is 1.5 blocks away on Idaho.

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Our event coordinators can help create customized menus, menu print-outs, wine pairings, and bar packages. We offer romantic private tables for two, and can accommodate private parties for up to 30. We also offer an A/V ready room for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Chaddock: 2083438800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
The Melting Pot - Boise
Dessert Plate
Caesar Salad
French Quarter Combo
Artichoke Spinach Cheese Fondue
Birthdaycake
House Salad
Berry Mojito
Ginger Pomo Martini
Flaming Turtle
S'mores Fondue
Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue
Coq au Vin Fondue
California Salad
Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps
meat meddley
Brie And Bacon Fondue
Ying & Yang Cocktail

The Melting Pot - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
10 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (42)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Managergreetedusatthedoorandwasveryconne ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Managergreetedusatthedoorandwasveryconnectedthestaffwashelpfulandknowlegable therewasatablewaitingforuswith anAnniversarycard,whichwasanicetouch Overall,theexperiencewasniceandthefoodwasdelish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our daughter's 16th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's 16th birthday. It was a fun time and everyone enjoyed the meal. However, nothing was done by the staff to recognize my daughter on her birthday even after mentioning it at the time of reservation and as we were seated. The service was good. The main disappointment was that it was overpriced for what was provided. The food was good, but it was not $40 per person good. I would really like to see the food quality improve for that price point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is one of my favorite spots to eat. ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots to eat. It's a little spendy for the amount of food you get but it is amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fun and different food experience! We ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A fun and different food experience! We had such a great time and would recommend trying this inventive way of dining out

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Could use a bit better light. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Could use a bit better light. We enjoyed the quietness of this space. We are very tired of loud and roudy. We find are selves rating many places as "too noisy" for us. Server was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, ambiance, and service. high ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great meal, ambiance, and service. highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent setting and romantic ambiance ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent setting and romantic ambiance - full points for that. Many/most of the tables are in private/intimate settings and let you enjoy your company without interruptions from others in the restaurant. The portion sizes were good, not too small, not too big. Filet mignon doesn't work that great in a fondue (I'd rather just grill it) - but the shrimp and the lobster were absolutely fantastic. My recommendation to anyone who goes would be to go for seafood in the fondue. Our server was very attentive to our needs, very friendly and yet not overbearing or intrusive. All in all, my wife loved it for our anniversary celebration, and that's what counts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The cheese fondue was our favorite! The ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cheese fondue was our favorite! The pear brie is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was looking for a special place for ou ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I was looking for a special place for our anniversary and had read a review about the melting pot. It was a great experience and fit right into our vegetarian diet. From the anniversary card on the table to the attention shown by the manager it was great. Our waitress paige was very friendly and attentive and the best fondue instructor ever. With so many restaurants to try we hardly ever go back a second time but we will be returning to the melting pot and probably take the whole family this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was fantastic, food was delic ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server was fantastic, food was delicious, drinks were incredible. Well worth the money. I do wish we got more food for our money with the entrée, but overall we had a time and would do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my date and I had a wonderful time! our ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

my date and I had a wonderful time! our waiters were awesome and super friendly! the food was spectacular. I wish I would've known that we could've split the meal because it was a lot of food and it would've made it way less expensive. Everything was great, I definitely want to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I choose Melting Pot t ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I choose Melting Pot to have dinner and celebrate her birthday. We wanted something 'new' and a 'different' and we were pleasantly surprised. We were both new to the Fondue and luckily our waitress Kristina was an absolute gem. She was cordial, professional, informative and funny. The whole evening was excellent but it was her friendly service that made it perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been a huge fan is Melting Pot for ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've been a huge fan is Melting Pot for eons and now that I live in Reno, I don't have access to one. I always go to this one when I'm in Boise, and it's always a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Kristina took great care o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress, Kristina took great care of us on my special day - my birthday! Hats off to her and the rest of the staff at The Melting Pot - Boise!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner including complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries. Our server was pleasant, friendly, and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there and we loved it

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service, the food was fantastic... all around very happy with the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasion!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

They went out of their way to make our special birthday celebration even better! Even a candle to blow out for the birthday girl. Also, we very much appreciated the plate of gluten free dessert goodies for our family member with celiac. Looking forward to our next visit to The Melting Pot!

I also recommend making reservations with Open Table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cats

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I don't remember our servers name but she was great! A very relaxing time with our family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Colossal waster of time and money

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our family celebrated a birthday at The Melting Pot. The food was average at best, and the time required was excessive. We were there for nearly two hours, spent 180$ on around 40$ worth of food, endured an obnoxious, loud group next to us, and left very disappointed. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Recommendations were wonderful and servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Recommendations were wonderful and service and food were great!! I feel awful for not remembering my waitresses name, but i know it started with a J. I think Janet was her name

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We came here for our 26th anniversary. ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We came here for our 26th anniversary. We were advised to get two full meals. This was WAY too much food for us and I would have rated everything higher had we been given an honest recommendation to start with 1 person's worth of food, as that would have made the end of the meal MUCH more enjoyable. As it was, we ate too much and couldn't finish over half of the desert. Conversely, offer a 1/2 size portion for less money. Either way, we'll know better next time. Also, it would have been nice if you had a section with ambiance more in mind. It wasn't too bad until the 10 year old child was seated at the table next to us and was restless so decided to play the drums with the silverware on the table. Quite obnoxious. Server was fantastic, food tasted great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved the cheese part of the dinner and ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the cheese part of the dinner and the chocolate, but didn't care for the boiled meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Our table was quiet and perfect for a ro ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our table was quiet and perfect for a romantic anniversary dinner. The staff had even left us an anniversary card at our table! The was outstanding and the server was thoughtful to make recommendations. We had a wonderful unhurried quiet dinner. It was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

More than a meal it was an event. Top notch

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I asked for a special request when I reserved online. I asked them to remind my wife just how special I think she is. I was half kidding. Hailey stepped in to our dining area and introduced herself as our server and told my wife what I had requested. When a restaurant takes the initiative to see that through one is guaranteed they won't miss a thing in your dining experience.

The food was top notch, Hailey was great in explaining what pairs well with the sauces and an overall joy to talk with during this experience. I will recommend The Melting Pot to all who ask about a place to dine. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. His recommendation for the blackberry sage lemonade was spot on! Delicious food and great atmosphere, my mom loved her first visit to the Melting Pot! We will DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Had an awesome time with my admin team!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a great place for a ladies' night!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The Melting Pot in Boise had a 1920s themed ladies night with a special menu. We were a group of six ladies and we had a fantastic time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cozy and fun

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

First time here, seating was very private which my wife loves. Food was fantastic, staff was very friendly, everything was great. I couldnt have asked for a more perfect dinner for my wifes birthday. We will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We love the Melting Pot. Very few can match the combination of food, atmosphere and overall dining experience. Our service has always been top notch. Be sure to plan ahead since this is a dining event so plan on at least 90 minutes to run through all of the courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Lunch

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere. We came here for dinner a few months ago, and now for lunch for our 3 year wedding anniversary. Food was good, it was really quiet and almost no one was there. We had a great time, and the food was great. Best value was the Fondue for You. Includes Cheese Fondue, Salad, Meat Fondue and then of course Dessert/Chocolate Fondue. We'll be going back for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this restaurant!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Every aspect of dining here is wonderful! It's a great place to set apart any occasion. The flexibility of how to create a single shared experience while still meeting the particular tastes of each guest is a real plus. This is our go-to place when we feel like indulging or celebrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Came here for our first anniversary. The ambience was great and such a fun experience. It was very easy to book the reservation as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My grandson and i had a great time for his b-day

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great time. Since it was his B-day he got to pick what was for dinner. I would like to come back and have more that cheese and chocolate

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a romantic dinner night. (Private booth)

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Took my wife to the Melting Pot for evening dinner. Very nice ambiance and the private little booth was a plus. Service was excellent and the food was delicious (since I was the cook). Many choices on the menu and it can seem overwhelming, but the waitress was a huge help in making recommendations and showing us how the process works. Wine and cocktails are great. We enjoyed our night and will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food!!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were met with smiles, when we walked ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We were met with smiles, when we walked into The Melting Pot after finding a parking space right out front. We arrived on a Monday night for my birthday. Our server was wonderful! She was friendly, attentive, and knew what she was doing. When she found out it was my birthday, she brought out a small dish adorned with a fondue treat that had a lit candle on it. She had written, "Happy Birthday," on the dish beautifully! The food was delicious and well-presented. We had plenty of privacy as the booths had tall sides - which I loved, with relaxing ambiance. We are definitely going again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dark Corners - if that's what you want.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Was seated at a 2-top (table for two people) when we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. With our view of a wall and the bar underneath the table bumping our knees, the ambiance wasn't that great... But if you're interested in a romantic night out and staring into each other's eyes, then this was the perfect table. Our server was very friendly and helped us pick out our courses, which was great. She was very knowledgeable about all of the options. I loved the food but my boyfriend stated that he would have preferred additional sauce options (he didn't like the ones we were offered). Admittedly, we did not ask if other options were available. There was another 2-top right next to our table, separated by only a narrow divider; when the other couple showed up (about when we were finishing our main course), our little corner of the restaurant got a little loud. The waitress for that adjacent table was very loud, and we could hear everything (breathing, chewing, etc) going on at the table next door. It was kind of unfortunate, but we managed to finish our dessert course quickly and leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved our visit!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Had the four course option, and loved every course. I do wish that the vegetable options were a little more interesting (but I don't care much for veggies anyway, so I enjoyed the meal just the same) . Enjoyed the variety of meats available during the entree. Got the extra plate with our dessert course--it was well worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good choice for first time

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

After dining in Colorado Springs Melting Pot I brought my wife to Boise's. What a great relaxing evening we had enjoying the food and atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great date night!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Hailey was our server and she was fantastic. She even brought my wife a celebratory birthday "rice crispy treat."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.