The Mash House Brewing Company

4.3
612 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Great Beer
  • Good for Birthdays
In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(910) 867-9223
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Hartwell
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morganton Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have our own parking lot.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 612 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Paige was wonderful as a server. She allowed us to sample brews before ordering.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The beer is good, but the food is so-so. Not what we would expect from an Open Table restaurant. Run of the mill burger joint....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

My son wanted to go here for his Birthday. The meal was very good, service was great, and a free desert! Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

There was no wait to be seated on Mothers Day which was surprising. The house brewed beer selection is good. The Ahi Tuna salad was quite good. The fish and chips was not classic style, I think it was tilapia. I got the 10 oz. prime rib, it was cooked properly and larger than 10 oz. It was not the best cut of meat though, a little tough and chewy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was amazing! Definitely now one of my favorite places to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service and menu for Mother’s Day!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our Waitress Melissa ( I believe) was very attentive and thoughtful. She gave suggesgions and made sure we were happy. The food was great and the dessert was amazing! Melissa even introduced us to the chef who made our desserts. I was blown away with the freshness of the food and the quality of our service. That combination is what makes me a return customer. Great job Mash House!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent fine dining. Having reservations, we were seated immediately which was a plus from the beginning. Steak cooked perfectly as ordered and chicken portion size was excellent. Server staff was very courteous and contributed to making the evening special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The waitress was slow - but food was great !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

In town for soccer games. Could not get a large reservation but made 1 for 4 and 1 for 3. Very accommodating, sat us next to each other. Let teens sit at one table and adults at the other. 2 other team members showed up unannounced and they squeezed them in at our tables with no question. Food and beer excellent, service fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Our waitress wasn't the most attentive, but the hostesses were fantastic. Go; you won't regret it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

7 of 8 in our party had a great meal. My wife ordered prime rib rare and it was cold as well as the mash potatoes and asparagus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food and the atmosphere is always great. Everything is fresh and the beers are good also.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Nicely sized food portions. Excellent service. Major step up from the "chains". Excellent value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Having had a spinach salad, I was expecting more spinach...and I found the ambiance just mediocre, at best.
However, our server, Payton, was very good and friendly...
Otherwise, the experience would have been very disappointing.....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Overall good experience. Great service. Only downside is my wife ordered chocolate cake on 3/21/18. She got green cake left over from St Patrick's Day. Very disappointed. I think if your going to try and sell left over holiday cake it should be discounted and should tell customer before you bring order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The service was great and the food was tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This was my first time here. The food and wine was amazing. The ribeye and NY strip were cooked to perfection. Our waiter, Chad, made everything perfect. He is friendly, fun and down to earth. We will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

The food was good and I server was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

My food was delicious

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We went to eat here for the first time in a long time and I hate to say that I was very very disappointed. We ordered the Calamari which was very good but a smaller portion than what we usually get in a order. I ordered the porterhouse steak medium, grits and the house salad. I have to say that the best dish was the house salad. My steak was raw inside, the purple color raw. The grits had not been cooked long enough it was hard. Sent the steak back asked the waitress to tell them to put back on the grill for just a few minutes longer. Well after almost 15 mins she finally brought it back and now it has a burnt smell because they put it on the flattop stove and I guess left it there for the 15 mins I waited and it burnt. No supervisor came and apologized nor did the come to see if It was done correctly. I was just so frustrated I just left! Needless to say we will not be going back! We could have saved the almost 100.00 we spent and went across the street to Texas Roadhouse for less money.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was lackluster, service was mediocre and the biggest issue was timing.
Our server was friendly, but we did not see much if her. Our appetizer of queso dip came to the table cold, we sent it back and the same dish returned 5 minutes later lukewarm. Our server offered to take it off the bill and switch it for a new one. 25 minutes later it arrived, and was adequately heated. 3 of us ordered the special which was prime rib. The manager came over and informed us that they were out for the evening(at 730) and offered to switch it for ribeyes at no extra charge. Our food took another 30 minutes to reach our table. 2 of us got our meals and the other 2 had to wait another 10 minutes before theirs came and it was lukewarm.
At the end of the meal our server told us not to judge the place on the evenings performance as it was Valentine's weekend. The restaurant was only 60-70% full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We found Mash House on our drive through NC to FL. I will say that it was a great overall experience. I have 2 kids who are picky eaters and they said “the food isn’t just good, dad. It’s awesome!”

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were here for Valentines dinner and actually ended up getting engaged. The food was very good but our waitress was horrible. Not friendly at all. Didn’t bring water refills. Brought appetizer, salads, and main dish all within 5 minutes of each other. We even mentioned how fast it was and she just sighed and said “well that’s how it came out” and walked away. By the time we got to the prime rib it was quite cold. The food itself tasted wonderful. I feel like for a semi upscale restaurant (and the prices), we should’ve had better service. I also requested a booth away from doors and they put us directly by the back door. I like the food at the Mash House but our service was so disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The Mash House is not the place for quiet intimate dining. But it's a fun place with good food, great atmosphere and best of all great locally brewed beer. Service is great, made our reservation for 7:15, our table was ready for us when we walked in the door. I would definitely recommend The Mash House.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The food is great. Always prepared fresh and the beers are tasty. The service is spot on all the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The outdoor patio was heated and the host seated us next to the firepkace and lit it for us to make it as comfortable as possible. The food was awesome and the waiter was very nice and attentive. A little pricey but overall a great place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Good food coupled with good, polite service. Made a reservation and our table was ready when we showed up.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our service was very poor. After being seated we've been waiting 20 minutes while our waiter took her time cleaning and organizing tables around us, ignoring us. After 20 minutes I got up and told the lady who seated us. We finally got served and she assumed without asking that our son gets a kid's drink and then also a kid's sized Pizza. We didn't even HAVE a kids meal card at our table. We wanted drinks without ice. We got drinks WITH ice. The food was more disappointing this time. My husband's steak was more fat then meat and my son's Pizza was very greasy. While we still had a dessert, she served us the bill like she wanted to get rid of us. People got seated next to us and she served them so fast that one of the men not even could sit down. Seriously??? She told them in a long story what specials they had that night. Hang on??? Specials?? We didn't get told a thing. It's been not the first time at the Mash House. Never been disappointed. But this time was horribly bad!!! Maybe never again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

This has been a favorite restaurant for us for years, and they never disappoint. Exceptional craft beers, and carefully prepared meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food is always excellent and the atmosphere is awesome. The wait staff is always friendly and not "afraid " to talk to you for periods of time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Great. Host, server and manager granted our request

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

My daughter was in town and asked to go to the Mash House. The service and food was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Booth seating is awful; no support, just sink 4 inches into the plastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Great food and service on Xmas eve. Very friendly and accomodating

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Good selection of craft beers. My favorite beer was their Porter. They did have many to choose from. I would suggest getting a flight first. You can also fill a growler if you have one. But they do have several for sale. The food was pretty good also. I had the Fish Tacos and my date had the Bison Burger. Both were very good.
Nice place for a date or a family meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 4, 2017

It was a great introduction to this establishment. Sarah did very well and made a good impression on our party. The dirty martini and salad were good!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 28, 2017

Lively atmosphere, but a bit hard to hear dining partners due to noise. Menu is good and has some decent options. Wine list can be a bit improved with more offerings. Service was good and friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The restaurant is a brewery-based establishment. That may be there main selling point, I don't know. My wife and I didn't drink, just ate dinner. The food was fine but way overpriced. I ordered the scallops as a side dish and that was awful. They were pitifully small and drenched in butter. The food also came out way too soon and way too fast. We hadn't even finished the appetizer when the main course arrived??

Bottom line, its probably ok if you want to go out drinking with your buddies and don't mind shelling out cash for high end expensive food. But the next time I want a steak, I will just go to Outback steakhouse. Slightly cheaper and just as good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by The Mash House Brewing Company