About The Mash House Brewing Company

4150 Sycamore Dairy Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28303
View Larger Map

In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Morganton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 867-9223

Website:
http://www.themashhouse.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Robert Hartwell

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio is offered as a private party area has removable sides that can be raised or lowered for inclement weather or colder days. We offer customized menu options and buffet options for parties of 20 or more.

Private Party Contact:
victoria@themashhouse.com: 9108679223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
The Mash House Brewing Company
Ale House Mussels
Ghost Burger
Steakhouse Salad
Sautéed Spinach
Mash House Mash Up
Beer And Potato Soup
French Dip
Seared Tuna Salad
Pizza
Dagwood Sandwich
Beer Sampler
Four Meat Pizza- Yum!
Wedge Salad
Reuben Sandwich
fish tacos
Stout
Fish and Chips

The Mash House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Fayetteville
Best Restaurants in Fayetteville ›

good for groups (12)
special occasion (11)
kid-friendly (8)
See All
great for lunch (7)
fit for foodies (5)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
romantic (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

1st time here. Great food and fantastic ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

1st time here. Great food and fantastic service. Will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rude hostess, great waitress, good food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Rude hostess, great waitress, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The beers was fantatic.. My burger and f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The beers was fantatic.. My burger and fries was fabolouse. Pork loin sandwiches wasn't good it cold and sauge and sweet potatoes wasn't good it had no flavor and like empty inside and cold as well ...also I didn't like change menu.. Other that I had good date thank u

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing and I did sample al ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing and I did sample all ten of the beers that are brewed in house and was amazed at the flavors! We will definitely come back again and again!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't get the rice. According to our ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Don't get the rice. According to our server it's not very good. I'd recommend this place in Fayetteville just because it seems like everywhere else is a chain ,'plus you get points for eating here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Meh for $$$

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

A few guys from work recommended this place so, upon my retirement, I decided to try it out with some family and friends. Big mistake. We had a large group but service was pretty quick. This is probably because most of the meals were undercooked (2 were send back for additional heating. The rest of us just dealt with it). The waitress was great and apologetic but it wasn't her fault. The beers that we sampled were very good (best part of the meal). The meals were over-priced and on the bland side. While I did appreciate the online reservation system and thought that it would be needed for our group on a Friday night, it probably was not. Between the prices and the lack of customers, we should have known better and went somewhere else. I definitely DO NOT recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great service, great meal

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went in for a date night with my hubby after his homecoming from deployment. Great beer, great food and we will certainly be back!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kellie was an excellent server. Even wit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Kellie was an excellent server. Even with a group of 7, she was fast, personable, and attentive. Food was delicious and the drinks are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Friendly Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nice place to eat, but I was expecting a richer décor for a micro brewery. Beers were good. We tried the Stout, Pilsner, IPA and the Cider.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I would try something other than the chi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I would try something other than the chicken. Beer is great. Desert is good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Place

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything excellent except tables not steady much tippig on out side room floor.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I wanted to get a nice di ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I wanted to get a nice dinner in Fayetteville and we love the craft brewery scene. This place was very cool with the brewery process behind a glass wall for you to see while you eat. The food was good, not great. The beer was delicious and we enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Overall, a great choice for dinner! Seems like a good option for larger groups as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food! The portion sizes were jus ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazing food! The portion sizes were just right. The appetizers were excellent, and sized just right to not fill you before the main dish. The server was excellent, and was able to make suggestions based on tastes that I liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Ivan eat other steakhouses for less money. Mash potatoes were cold, had to get new ones, filet mignionn had fatty parts, never had that on a filet before. Service was fine.

VIP

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorites!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food; seafood, steak and burgers. Great service too! And the Fried Green Tomato appetizer is delicious!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our go to restaurant for guests

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I are very particular about where we choose to dine out. When we have out of town guests we eat at the Mash House. The casual atmosphere, brew pub, and excellent food never disappoints. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I travel on business weekly and always ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I travel on business weekly and always find myself coming back to The Mash House. I am always seated immediately and service is great! Never had a bad meal here. Food is delicious. Will keep coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Brew House

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

First time there and it was for a group dinner. The waitress was attentive and very accommodating with our billing needs. The house brews were excellent on the pallet, esp the house IPA. Burger was good sized, nicely cooked with a lot of flavor. Seating wasn't bunched up like a lot of similar brew houses, which was refreshing. Even though it was a very busy evening, we never were without attention for very long. Recommended for anyone who loves to try local brews and have a good time!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Gastropub Fare Great Beer

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Always stop in here when in Fayetteville. Never disappoints.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing Experience at Mash House

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Have been to Mash House on multiple occasions. Experiences varied each time; Very Good to Fair. On this occasion we had reservation but still had to wait over 30 mins. Granted, it was Saturday before Valentines Day. Once we were seated wait staff was pleasant. Beer, Bread and Salad were good but the entre we ordered was luke warm to cold (Prime Rib/Balsamic Chicken). No point in returning food, we felt we had been there long enough. Experience does not match the price paid for meal! Will be a while before we return, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Poor Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made reservation for 7pm but were not seated until 7:30. We immediately placed our drink and food order, but did NOT receive are main course until 8:30 pm. Not sure how it took 1 hour to cook 2 Ribeye orders? We then ordered a desert and requested our bill before our desert arrived just so we would not have to wait longer. We finally finished our meal and were able to leave at 9:05pm. 30min waiting to be seated even though we had reservations; 1 hour wait to receive our food and 35 min to eat our meal including desert. Our waitress was Barbara, who was very polite and continuously kept apologizing for how long it was taking to get our food. The food, when it finally arrived was pretty good.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Valentine's Day dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and atmosphere for a romantic occasion. The feel like the value of the food was accurately priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Local Food and Beer Destination

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

The good news: Nice restaurant, interesting selection of beers brewed on premises, and a nice atmosphere. The kitchen actually cooks real food (as opposed to warming up a prepared bag of food as some chains do) and thus some dishes were a bit over spiced. Final line: The Mash House should be part of your Fayetteville dining rotation if you enjoy good food and drinks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Restaurant was very busy but server was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Restaurant was very busy but server was excellent. The only negative was the excessive amount of noise which made it hard to hear others at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

great food and great service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

In from out of town, abd Mash House was recommended by a friend. We had salads, burgers, and onion rings - all exceptionally fresh and flavorful. Their Red Ale was smooth, delicious, great with dinner and would also be drinkable on its own. Service was incredibly efficient and all the staff we met were very friendly. Restaurant atmosphere was welcoming, we sat on the covered patio which was great. A large party came in towards the end of our dinner, making it a bit loud, but we were impressed they had servers dedicated to the group, and our service remained stellar. Highly recommend Mash House!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of a few places in the area with gre ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 24, 2015

One of a few places in the area with great food and great beer. Portions are big and everything is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to meet friends

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

My wife and I met a friend whom we had not seen for a few years - - - for dinner, drinks, and to get caught up with each other. The atmosphere was great. We were able to carry on a good conversation over a great meal and the local brew. We will definitely return anytime we are in the Fort Bragg area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply awesome...again.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

Great service...great food...great experience. This is our 3d visit since we moved here 3 weeks ago and each time has been fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 Star in Fayetteville

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

We just moved to Fort Bragg and this was a restaurant that had been recommended to us. We've been twice! The food is excellent, the beer is outstanding and the service is 5-star plus. This restaurant "gets it"...focused on the customers and ensuring an outstanding dining experience. Ribs, steaks, chicken, salads--all exceptionally well prepared. Try it...you will not be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NY Strip

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

The NY Strip with blue cheese and scallops was amazing. We will we coming back. Our waitress Natey was great too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have visited the Mash House on several ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

I have visited the Mash House on several occasions and have always ordered the Filet. In the beginning the Filet was cooked perfectly but on my last 2 visits it has been over cooked. With that being said I love the beer and the ambiance and will definitely make more trips. My hope though is that they train their cooks a little better.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Tasty, tasteful, and will return

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Overall the food was good. It was well prepared, particular attention was paid in reference to my allergies which I appreciate. Service was great, friendly and knowledgable. My husband loved his dinner. I would say solid though fairly standard brew house food. Hubs loved the beer flight.

This will be a great place for family dinners out when we don't want to overspend, and we aren't craving anything crazy. I would say hard and true foodies (I am a foodie but am very good at managing expectations) would be disappointed. If you just want a good dinner that has some spin and not quite so "chain" feel this is a great place.

If you're looking for more fancy, exotic foods, or really creative twists on classics I would say there are better places. If you are looking for family friendly, good night out with friends, good beer, and overall above standard bar food. This is a great place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Just edible

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

The food at the Mash House is edible. It's hard to find a good restaurant while traveling thru Fayetteville. Service is great, but food is not the best. The prime rib was tasty, but chewy. Go if you can't find another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Friendly server, great beer selection

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

We had a great server for our party on Saturday. The food service, however, was extremely slow. We got appetizers and those came out probably 10-15 minutes later, then after we were done, we probably still had to wait 30+ minutes for food when the restaurant was only half full. The appetizers were undersalted and almost bland and the food was iffy as well. The "garlic mashed potatoes" had the taste of boxed mashed potatoes and not even a hint of garlic. The prime rib I ordered was very tough meat and it was overcooked, but at that point, we were so hungry we just ate, paid, and left. Again, the server was super friendly and informative and kept us happy. If we weren't there for a family celebration, I would have complained while there.The beer selection was nice and cool that a lot of them are made on premises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

What a brewery!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

Great beers followed by a great meal. Service was very good!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Experience

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

The appetizers were a mixed experience. The fried green tomatoes were a delightful surprise and we will try them at other restaurants. The calamari was greasy and the crunch was gone before it hit our table, we should have just sent it back for a fresh batch. The entrees are great; the wife's burger was cooked perfectly (med-rare) and my NY Strip was cooked perfectly. The beef dishes at Mash House are really high quality. The Micro Brews are really well crafted as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waitress very entertaining and attentive ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Waitress very entertaining and attentive. Food better choice than the chain restaurants in the Fayetteveille Area. Enough selection on menu to everyone to include those following Akins Diet

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Met expectations

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Service and drinks were phenomenal. Had the Shrimp and Grits entree, grits were overcooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Dinners for Eight

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

We are a church group eating lunch and dinner in and around Fayetteville, NC. The Mash House was very hospitable and the food enjoyable. We plan to have dinner there next month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Worth the Trip

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

I made reservations based on a recommendation from a family member. We dined for lunch one day. The burgers were great and very tasty. The calamari was awesome as well. The service was attentive. We like it so much we returned the next day for dinner. Dinner was good but not outstanding. My steak was cooked well but it did not have any special taste to it. I was expecting more than that since the lunch the previous day was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.