About The Mash House Brewing Company

In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.

4150 Sycamore Dairy Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Morganton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 867-9223

Website:
http://www.themashhouse.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Robert Hartwell

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio is offered as a private party area has removable sides that can be raised or lowered for inclement weather or colder days. We offer customized menu options and buffet options for parties of 20 or more.

Private Party Contact:
victoria@themashhouse.com: (910) 867-9223

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Mash House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Great Beer (19)
Casual (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (9)
Family Style (8)
Romantic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been here several times and the food is always good. The Brown Porter was very good. Will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food as always! The nachos are a great starter. Had the salmon with crab on top--perfect. The beer...well, always fresh and tasty. Try the "Razamataz".

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This visit we were a little disappointed. The steak was undercooked, then when it was presented again it had some blackened covering on it. My daughter ended up not eating. Thank goodness for the artichoke dip and bread that she had. She didn't want to ruin my Mother's Day. I feel terrible now that I know. Ughh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, dirty bathrooms, food was just okay.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Did tacos were spicy hot but not mentioned on the menu. Couldn't tell if there was fish or what kind. Overpowered by spices.

Cioclen was overspiced as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dinner with friends! Loved the potato skins!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love this place, great food, customer service and beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Mash House is excellent on all fronts. The prime rib and the salmon were both high quality and delicious. The micro brewery produces many fine brews but the IPA was especially good. Our server, Marquis, was delightful. He was knowledgeable, well prepared and charming. All in all, a very successful dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service was outstanding! The atmosphere was quiet, and pleasant. I would definitely recommend to others. Excellent customer service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food is always good just wish they still had Lobster Mac & Cheese still on the menu.

Good selection of quality Beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The server was AWESOME. Although she was a bit overbearing, I would prefer that any day. The menu was rather limited but the mimosa's are good and the root beer is amazing. We had the mussels, which were OK, lacking flavor some. I ordered the balsamic chicken with the broccoli. The chicken was done and covered more in tomatoes than balsamic flavoring, it was mediocre at best. I had to send the broccoli back because it was cold and not done. No flavor at all. My husband had the steak and he said it was very good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Worst dining experience ever. Table was ready, appetizers were good, and it went downhill from there. We told our server that the food was not correct and she said she would speak to the manager but could we eat it anyway... really? She did return one steak that was supposed to be cooked medium well that was sitting in a pool of blood on the plate. When it came back it was still bloody on the inside, charred black on the outside, and tasted as it had been doused with propane. There is a large glass window and we saw her speak to a small group of people that looked as if it could have included the manager and the chef, but no one ever came to our table. After having a lunch meal that was well over $300, I should not have to go home and fix sandwiches because the food was not edible but I did in Sunday. Not only was it Easter, but one of our Army's finest had been gone and arrived home on Friday. His first family meal in a very long time was quite a disappointment. We definitely will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great experience tonight at the Mash House. My steak was fantastic and I enjoyed their brewed beer! Very attentive waitress. Fun atmosphere. Will come again when back in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 13, 2017

very good. great food and atmosphere. not crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great experience! Walked right in & were seated! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding service and food as always. We've been going to the Mash House for 20 months now and it is consistently excellent. Their specials (entree's) are incredible. Oh...the beer is good too. Our only suggestion would be to change the menu every few months.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

First visit in a while. Food was terrific and affordable. Nice selection of their own brews too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were promptly seated and approached by our waitress Amanda to take drink order and recommend appetizers. It was $2 1/2 pint and 1/2 off bottle of wine night. We started with the spinach dip very tasty, had the fish and chips and the steak salad. The steak on the salad was very good so I would not hesitate ordering any of there steaks. With so many less than average restaurants in Fayetteville this was a nice surprise.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The prime rib looked like a sad thin boneless steak. The fried green tomatoes were inedible. The mussels were overcooked. The saving grace was an outstanding server. Jess totally rocked and was very attentive. I want her to be my server everywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great! The noise level was a little ridiculous due to being surrounded by multiple large groups. Overall, great food and good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service was really good. The food was pretty good. My husband loved his beer and will be coming back to refill his growler. My steak was a little under done but everybody else loved their meal. Overall I would come back and try the other entrees.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was excellent. The chocolate stout cake was definitely big enough to share (we still have leftovers). Wish I like beer because it looked like it could be good. However the Thursday night 1/2 price bottle wine was a nice surprise! If I lived in the area, I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We enjoyed it here. Great food and drink, only I wish they had retained more of the vegan options when they changed the menu from what was posted on Open Table. We stopped here while on the road, traveling home from Florida. I searched for a place on the way where we could get a late dinner Sunday night. The Mash House had a 9:00 reservation available so I took it. ( I think there were also later reservations available). We got there at 8:45 . As soon as we sat down we were told the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes. Gee, what if we had gotten there right at 9, would we have been out of luck. After driving for 12 hours and then driving over 13 miles off of I95 to get here I would not be happy. So I hope they consider that when they take a reservation. But since that didn't happen to us, we enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went there to celebrate my birthday with friends and noticed that after we were seated that we didn't receive the best service. Our waitress had a few tables, but maybe checked on our party a few times while not making sure that everyone was good on drinks and left with some of the parties drinks left empty. This wouldn't be an issue if the tables around us weren't receiving much better service. Our dinners were served without mistakes. If the service we received wasn't as poor as it had been, and another of our party hadn't received poor service the last time they went, I would've loved to visit again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This place was horrible. I would not recommend anyone of color to eat here. My table and I were treated so unfairly and disrespected to the max.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Tina was an awesome waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a awesome meal and have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall I was disappointed. Stout and IPA were true to style, but the hefe and Belgian golden (seasonal) were bad. I didn't care for the Wee Heavy (seasonal) although I think it was true to style as well. Razzmatazz (seasonal - apparently a cranberry fruit beer, not raspberry) wasn't for me either (based on waitress' comments it isn't for most).
Service (I was in the bar) was affable, but was slooooow and disjointed, even on a slow night and with 2 servers (plus bartender) working the bar area (and the restaurant largely empty). Beer took nearly 10 min from order to deliver to table, and I was nearly done with my sampler before the food (burger and fries) arrived (food was about 20 min). I was not impressed with the hamburger patty (it was falling apart as I ate my burger).
I did get my check promptly and was rung out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really enjoyed everything about our evening. The staff was very accommodating when our party number increased. The food and cocktails were on point. I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was great, the food was amazing and the option to try a couple beers before selecting was also a great feature. We will definitely be back for another date night or just a dinner in the middle of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband Brian and I love coming here! The staff is always warm and welcoming and the food is always delicious! We LOVE celebrating here❤️

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I recommend the salmon Oscar-it was fantastic! For low carb lovers, they had no problem subbing other veggies for the carbs.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food and quick service during the middle of the week. Will recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Had a very nice time for my first visit. The poutine and burger were delicious and the service was great, too. I tasted several beers and they were all quite good and reasonable priced. I'll be back again next time I'm in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our server, Tina, was very personable, attentive and accommodating. I had real Southern shrimp and grits for the first time. Very good flavor. They had some interesting pairing of flavors on the menu. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Prime Rib was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good food and service. My wife's steak wasn't cooks med rare as requested so we sent it back. They gave her a larger and better cut of steak cooked correctly the second time. Overall the meals were fine and the service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made the Valentines Day Reservation 30 days in advance and specifically asked for a BOOTH, I mentioned this upon arrival and had my Reservation Confirmation in hand. We were put at a table that was 3 feet square, INCREDIBILY SMALL, to eat a full meal with a pitcher of beer, 1 appetizer, 2 salads, 2 main courses, 1 wine glass, 2 water glasses, 1 beer glass and desert plus 4 to-go boxes. After we were seated for about 15 minutes a "manager" came and asked if we were OK, I stated no and mentioned again our Reservation request. Manager said he could put us at a Half-Booth facing the parking lot, we acquiesced ,and after this initial issue the meal was good. The server was excellent, the Valentines Day Prime Rib Special was good, the prime rib was NOT overly fatty. The asparagus was thin, woody and overcooked. It is a shame that a Special Occasion started out so badly due to NO ATTENTION TO DETAIL by the Scheduler/Host.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food! Good service! Wonderful experience, as always.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Mash House is consistently outstanding. Great food and great service. Oh...the beer is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.