About The Mash House Brewing Company

In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.

4150 Sycamore Dairy Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Morganton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 867-9223

Website:
http://www.themashhouse.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Robert Hartwell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Mash House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (9)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We really enjoyed our jambalaya with cheese grits on top. Great service. Fun place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Been here several times but the last 2 times the service had been off. Forgetting the beer ordered, forgetting the appetizer, and the meal was OK. Things have been much better in the past. Not sure what the issues are.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was so awesome, will definitely be a new spot for us. Loved the pulled pork, brisket, and mac and cheese; all amazing!

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved the place. We didnt have to wait using the OpenTable app. My wife and I both got the strip steak which was cooked to perfection. Service was on point, and the beer was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. To my surprise they had pierogi on the menu. Being Polish this is a real treat for me to have pierogi away from home, or at any restaurant that does not usually serve Polish cuisine. They were homemade and fantastic. The chef was kind enough to fry them to a great crispness for me. They were out of this world Great!!!!

If on the menu absolutely have them... especially if you are Slavic and miss some of babci's cooking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Started off a little rough since the waiting staff mixed up who was covering our table. Marquise came to the rescue with fantastic service and whit. The food was prepared correctly and tasted great. The manager came by to apologize for the mix up and offered free deserts. Very satisfied how things turned out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife had the prime rib and I had the salmon. The food was amazing and Marquice was our server and he was awesome and full of energy. We will definitely be going back again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great service from Angela
The manager was not friendly but the other staff was fantastic
Great beer options from their micro-brewery
Huge salads and fresh local ingredients

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2017

the food was just OK, Not spectacular, not a place that I would rave about to friends. Most likely not returning. Service was good, waitress was attentive and nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was tasty, you get large portions for the $$$.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Don, our server, was awesome. Once he found out I liked breweries, he gave a personal tour of the small brewery. Food and beer were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Fathers Day, it was good food, drinks & atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very nice experience overall. A little pricey, but portions are HUGE! Would recommend. Food was excellent, properly seasoned and there was plenty of it! Tables were spaced nicely. We did not feel cramped into a small space like some restaurants, and we were a party of 7.

Tags: Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Name says it all Mash and Steak house -- they are very good at both !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 2, 2017

AWESOME. My server Barbara aka Barbie was an awesome waiter very pleased with her service in keeping my fiance in I drinks filled proper. It was delicious hot hot food just the way we like it hot in fresh.Thanks Masahiro house in Barbara

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Healthy, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband ribs were great but was served 2times a cold sweet potato(butter never melted). My meal jambalaya was awful. Haven't eaten anything that bad since college dorm days .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Have been here several times and the food is always good. The Brown Porter was very good. Will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food as always! The nachos are a great starter. Had the salmon with crab on top--perfect. The beer...well, always fresh and tasty. Try the "Razamataz".

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This visit we were a little disappointed. The steak was undercooked, then when it was presented again it had some blackened covering on it. My daughter ended up not eating. Thank goodness for the artichoke dip and bread that she had. She didn't want to ruin my Mother's Day. I feel terrible now that I know. Ughh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Fayetteville. The quality of the food is excellent. The waitress was friendly and pleasant. I like that they have a full service kitchen, allowing you to alter dishes on request. Unfortunately, it did take longer than necessary to receive our appetizers and my entrée did not arrive with the rest of our orders. When my entrée did arrive, I didn't receive the spoon I needed with the Jambalaya. I informed the waitress but by the time I actually got one, we were ready to leave for the day. Luckily, the food is so good here that I was willing to overlook these service disappointments and I still recommend this place as a great place to eat in Fayetteville.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, dirty bathrooms, food was just okay.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Did tacos were spicy hot but not mentioned on the menu. Couldn't tell if there was fish or what kind. Overpowered by spices.

Cioclen was overspiced as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dinner with friends! Loved the potato skins!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love this place, great food, customer service and beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Mash House is excellent on all fronts. The prime rib and the salmon were both high quality and delicious. The micro brewery produces many fine brews but the IPA was especially good. Our server, Marquis, was delightful. He was knowledgeable, well prepared and charming. All in all, a very successful dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service was outstanding! The atmosphere was quiet, and pleasant. I would definitely recommend to others. Excellent customer service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food is always good just wish they still had Lobster Mac & Cheese still on the menu.

Good selection of quality Beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The server was AWESOME. Although she was a bit overbearing, I would prefer that any day. The menu was rather limited but the mimosa's are good and the root beer is amazing. We had the mussels, which were OK, lacking flavor some. I ordered the balsamic chicken with the broccoli. The chicken was done and covered more in tomatoes than balsamic flavoring, it was mediocre at best. I had to send the broccoli back because it was cold and not done. No flavor at all. My husband had the steak and he said it was very good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Worst dining experience ever. Table was ready, appetizers were good, and it went downhill from there. We told our server that the food was not correct and she said she would speak to the manager but could we eat it anyway... really? She did return one steak that was supposed to be cooked medium well that was sitting in a pool of blood on the plate. When it came back it was still bloody on the inside, charred black on the outside, and tasted as it had been doused with propane. There is a large glass window and we saw her speak to a small group of people that looked as if it could have included the manager and the chef, but no one ever came to our table. After having a lunch meal that was well over $300, I should not have to go home and fix sandwiches because the food was not edible but I did in Sunday. Not only was it Easter, but one of our Army's finest had been gone and arrived home on Friday. His first family meal in a very long time was quite a disappointment. We definitely will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great experience tonight at the Mash House. My steak was fantastic and I enjoyed their brewed beer! Very attentive waitress. Fun atmosphere. Will come again when back in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 13, 2017

very good. great food and atmosphere. not crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great experience! Walked right in & were seated! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding service and food as always. We've been going to the Mash House for 20 months now and it is consistently excellent. Their specials (entree's) are incredible. Oh...the beer is good too. Our only suggestion would be to change the menu every few months.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

First visit in a while. Food was terrific and affordable. Nice selection of their own brews too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were promptly seated and approached by our waitress Amanda to take drink order and recommend appetizers. It was $2 1/2 pint and 1/2 off bottle of wine night. We started with the spinach dip very tasty, had the fish and chips and the steak salad. The steak on the salad was very good so I would not hesitate ordering any of there steaks. With so many less than average restaurants in Fayetteville this was a nice surprise.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The prime rib looked like a sad thin boneless steak. The fried green tomatoes were inedible. The mussels were overcooked. The saving grace was an outstanding server. Jess totally rocked and was very attentive. I want her to be my server everywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great! The noise level was a little ridiculous due to being surrounded by multiple large groups. Overall, great food and good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service was really good. The food was pretty good. My husband loved his beer and will be coming back to refill his growler. My steak was a little under done but everybody else loved their meal. Overall I would come back and try the other entrees.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was excellent. The chocolate stout cake was definitely big enough to share (we still have leftovers). Wish I like beer because it looked like it could be good. However the Thursday night 1/2 price bottle wine was a nice surprise! If I lived in the area, I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We enjoyed it here. Great food and drink, only I wish they had retained more of the vegan options when they changed the menu from what was posted on Open Table. We stopped here while on the road, traveling home from Florida. I searched for a place on the way where we could get a late dinner Sunday night. The Mash House had a 9:00 reservation available so I took it. ( I think there were also later reservations available). We got there at 8:45 . As soon as we sat down we were told the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes. Gee, what if we had gotten there right at 9, would we have been out of luck. After driving for 12 hours and then driving over 13 miles off of I95 to get here I would not be happy. So I hope they consider that when they take a reservation. But since that didn't happen to us, we enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.