About The Mash House Brewing Company

In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.

4150 Sycamore Dairy Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Morganton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 867-9223

Website:
http://www.themashhouse.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Robert Hartwell

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio is offered as a private party area has removable sides that can be raised or lowered for inclement weather or colder days. We offer customized menu options and buffet options for parties of 20 or more.

Private Party Contact:
victoria@themashhouse.com: (910) 867-9223

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Mash House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Great Beer (16)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed it here. Great food and drink, only I wish they had retained more of the vegan options when they changed the menu from what was posted on Open Table. We stopped here while on the road, traveling home from Florida. I searched for a place on the way where we could get a late dinner Sunday night. The Mash House had a 9:00 reservation available so I took it. ( I think there were also later reservations available). We got there at 8:45 . As soon as we sat down we were told the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes. Gee, what if we had gotten there right at 9, would we have been out of luck. After driving for 12 hours and then driving over 13 miles off of I95 to get here I would not be happy. So I hope they consider that when they take a reservation. But since that didn't happen to us, we enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I went there to celebrate my birthday with friends and noticed that after we were seated that we didn't receive the best service. Our waitress had a few tables, but maybe checked on our party a few times while not making sure that everyone was good on drinks and left with some of the parties drinks left empty. This wouldn't be an issue if the tables around us weren't receiving much better service. Our dinners were served without mistakes. If the service we received wasn't as poor as it had been, and another of our party hadn't received poor service the last time they went, I would've loved to visit again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was horrible. I would not recommend anyone of color to eat here. My table and I were treated so unfairly and disrespected to the max.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Tina was an awesome waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a awesome meal and have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall I was disappointed. Stout and IPA were true to style, but the hefe and Belgian golden (seasonal) were bad. I didn't care for the Wee Heavy (seasonal) although I think it was true to style as well. Razzmatazz (seasonal - apparently a cranberry fruit beer, not raspberry) wasn't for me either (based on waitress' comments it isn't for most).
Service (I was in the bar) was affable, but was slooooow and disjointed, even on a slow night and with 2 servers (plus bartender) working the bar area (and the restaurant largely empty). Beer took nearly 10 min from order to deliver to table, and I was nearly done with my sampler before the food (burger and fries) arrived (food was about 20 min). I was not impressed with the hamburger patty (it was falling apart as I ate my burger).
I did get my check promptly and was rung out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really enjoyed everything about our evening. The staff was very accommodating when our party number increased. The food and cocktails were on point. I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was great, the food was amazing and the option to try a couple beers before selecting was also a great feature. We will definitely be back for another date night or just a dinner in the middle of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband Brian and I love coming here! The staff is always warm and welcoming and the food is always delicious! We LOVE celebrating here❤️

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I recommend the salmon Oscar-it was fantastic! For low carb lovers, they had no problem subbing other veggies for the carbs.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food and quick service during the middle of the week. Will recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Had a very nice time for my first visit. The poutine and burger were delicious and the service was great, too. I tasted several beers and they were all quite good and reasonable priced. I'll be back again next time I'm in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our server, Tina, was very personable, attentive and accommodating. I had real Southern shrimp and grits for the first time. Very good flavor. They had some interesting pairing of flavors on the menu. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Prime Rib was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good food and service. My wife's steak wasn't cooks med rare as requested so we sent it back. They gave her a larger and better cut of steak cooked correctly the second time. Overall the meals were fine and the service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made the Valentines Day Reservation 30 days in advance and specifically asked for a BOOTH, I mentioned this upon arrival and had my Reservation Confirmation in hand. We were put at a table that was 3 feet square, INCREDIBILY SMALL, to eat a full meal with a pitcher of beer, 1 appetizer, 2 salads, 2 main courses, 1 wine glass, 2 water glasses, 1 beer glass and desert plus 4 to-go boxes. After we were seated for about 15 minutes a "manager" came and asked if we were OK, I stated no and mentioned again our Reservation request. Manager said he could put us at a Half-Booth facing the parking lot, we acquiesced ,and after this initial issue the meal was good. The server was excellent, the Valentines Day Prime Rib Special was good, the prime rib was NOT overly fatty. The asparagus was thin, woody and overcooked. It is a shame that a Special Occasion started out so badly due to NO ATTENTION TO DETAIL by the Scheduler/Host.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food! Good service! Wonderful experience, as always.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Mash House is consistently outstanding. Great food and great service. Oh...the beer is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday! Had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was great! By far one of the best we've dined with ever. The food was decent- nothing too exciting, but also nothing bad.

I was disappointed in how gross the restroom was - it was definitely a turn off.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and i ate here after reading some online reviews and must say this place was very nice and would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Menu contained a great variety of options. Substitutions on sides allowed. Beer is the "star" attraction but food was excellent. Open dining area creates lots of noise. Intimate conversation was difficult. Salad was not delivered before the meal but the server was very helpful in recommending both beer and menu choices. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exceeded my expectations as a great place to have a working dinner. Food was superb as was the service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Music a tad bit to loud, overall an great experiance

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

food is increasingly bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They did not have our reservation, but made some accommodations for us with little wait time.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great, and our server Nikki was super sweet and fun to talk to. Drinks were good, both the beer and the wine list were pretty decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

There was a hair on my daughters burger, my creme Brule was cold and the service of the waitress just seemed odd. I did not feel welcomed , my sitting get was horrible, I was placed in a room filled with loud children. Also I really feel the waitress thought I never had eaten a creme Brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was quite good, but my gin tonic was almost all gin. When I sent it back an requested that it be placed in a tall glass with extra tonic added, it came back in the same glass with a tiny bit of tonic added. The menu needs to be marked with Gluten Free items. Our waitress tried to find answers for me, but said that "the guy who knows what is guten free has left for the evening.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall a good menu with a nice offering of craft brewed beers.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was great. The food was lousy. It was missing flavor. Hope it was a bad night, I was visiting family for the holidays and read the reviews. To say the least we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Another great meal along with some very good micro brews. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went for our daughter's 23rd birthday and had a wonderful experience! Our waitress was amazing and the food excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I took my 8 employees to dinner for our holiday celebration. We sat on the patio which I was nervous at first because it was pretty cool outside. They had overhead heaters so that wasn't a problem. Actually in the beginning it was too hot but leveled out. The food was really fast which was actually a little nerve-wracking for what we were paying. They were playing Christmas music a tad too loud since we were all trying to talk and I had to really talk loud for everyone to hear me. I had the shrimp and grits which I have had there a few times before and liked it. They changed it up and I did not care for it at all. I just ate the grits and picked out the shrimp-way too spicy. I didn't send it back because I was leading the meeting and I didn't have time to deal with it since our dinner was limited on time. Not to mention the server never asked us how everything was-I may have said something if prompted by her. I've been here many times and was excited about taking my employees there. None of them complained-but I doubt they would since the company was paying. They all liked the atmosphere though. The only other thing that was disturbing was that the door leading back into the restaurant from the patio was locked. We saw an employee trying to work on it and still couldn't get it unlocked. Each time we had to get up to go back in the restaurant we had to knock on the door and another customer seated inside the restaurant had to get up and open the door. What is ironic is there is a big sign on the door that the door had to be unlocked at all times during business hours. Frankly it was a fire hazard and we all even talked about how we would get out if there was a fire with the door being locked. It didn't dampen our evening but was an annoyance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu options here are always generous and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great, my favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is Ok but waitress didn't refill drinks.
Female hostess checked me as failed after my sister in law told her that I was in car accident so I'll be 30 min late that was few minutes prior to my reservation time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Even though our server Crystal was extremely busy, she still kept checking on us and our drinks never ran low and always there asking us how we were doing. You guys are amazing. Keep up the great menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My family and I ate here because we had been celebrating a get together. I ordered the shrimp and grits and a few others ordered the pasta. It was all delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.