About The Mash House Brewing Company

4150 Sycamore Dairy Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28303
View Larger Map

In a location with real character, right in the heart of Fayetteville, The Mash House Brewing Company defines what it’s like to have a unique dining experience, whether you choose a refined, gourmet fusion dish, the best in beef, or more casual fare, like a freshly ground burger or hand-crafted sandwich. We pride ourselves on supporting North Carolina farmers and growers by using local products as much as possible. We consistently rank as one of the area’s best restaurants favorite destinations for steaks, chops and award-winning beer — hand-crafted on the premises utilizing the traditional methods of Old World brewers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Bar & Cocktail Area
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 12pm - 12am
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Dining Room & Patio
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 12pm - 11pm
Sunday: 12pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Morganton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 867-9223

Website:
http://www.themashhouse.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Robert Hartwell

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio is offered as a private party area has removable sides that can be raised or lowered for inclement weather or colder days. We offer customized menu options and buffet options for parties of 20 or more.

Private Party Contact:
victoria@themashhouse.com: (910) 867-9223

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Mash House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and service. My wife's steak w ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and service. My wife's steak wasn't cooks med rare as requested so we sent it back. They gave her a larger and better cut of steak cooked correctly the second time. Overall the meals were fine and the service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I made the Valentines Day Reservation 30 ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made the Valentines Day Reservation 30 days in advance and specifically asked for a BOOTH, I mentioned this upon arrival and had my Reservation Confirmation in hand. We were put at a table that was 3 feet square, INCREDIBILY SMALL, to eat a full meal with a pitcher of beer, 1 appetizer, 2 salads, 2 main courses, 1 wine glass, 2 water glasses, 1 beer glass and desert plus 4 to-go boxes. After we were seated for about 15 minutes a "manager" came and asked if we were OK, I stated no and mentioned again our Reservation request. Manager said he could put us at a Half-Booth facing the parking lot, we acquiesced ,and after this initial issue the meal was good. The server was excellent, the Valentines Day Prime Rib Special was good, the prime rib was NOT overly fatty. The asparagus was thin, woody and overcooked. It is a shame that a Special Occasion started out so badly due to NO ATTENTION TO DETAIL by the Scheduler/Host.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Great food! Good service! Wonderful expe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food! Good service! Wonderful experience, as always.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Mash House is consistently outstandi ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Mash House is consistently outstanding. Great food and great service. Oh...the beer is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday! Had a blast!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday! Had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was great! By far one of the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was great! By far one of the best we've dined with ever. The food was decent- nothing too exciting, but also nothing bad.

I was disappointed in how gross the restroom was - it was definitely a turn off.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and i ate here after reading som ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and i ate here after reading some online reviews and must say this place was very nice and would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu contained a great variety of option ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Menu contained a great variety of options. Substitutions on sides allowed. Beer is the "star" attraction but food was excellent. Open dining area creates lots of noise. Intimate conversation was difficult. Salad was not delivered before the meal but the server was very helpful in recommending both beer and menu choices. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceeded my expectations as a great plac ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exceeded my expectations as a great place to have a working dinner. Food was superb as was the service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music a tad bit to loud, overall an grea ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Music a tad bit to loud, overall an great experiance

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is increasingly bad

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

food is increasingly bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

They did not have our reservation, but m ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They did not have our reservation, but made some accommodations for us with little wait time.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, and our server Nikki was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great, and our server Nikki was super sweet and fun to talk to. Drinks were good, both the beer and the wine list were pretty decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Would go again!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

There was a hair on my daughters burger, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

There was a hair on my daughters burger, my creme Brule was cold and the service of the waitress just seemed odd. I did not feel welcomed , my sitting get was horrible, I was placed in a room filled with loud children. Also I really feel the waitress thought I never had eaten a creme Brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was quite good, but my gin toni ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was quite good, but my gin tonic was almost all gin. When I sent it back an requested that it be placed in a tall glass with extra tonic added, it came back in the same glass with a tiny bit of tonic added. The menu needs to be marked with Gluten Free items. Our waitress tried to find answers for me, but said that "the guy who knows what is guten free has left for the evening.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall a good menu with a nice offering ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall a good menu with a nice offering of craft brewed beers.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Service was great. The food was lousy. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was great. The food was lousy. It was missing flavor. Hope it was a bad night, I was visiting family for the holidays and read the reviews. To say the least we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Another great meal along with some very ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Another great meal along with some very good micro brews. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our daughter's 23rd birthday ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went for our daughter's 23rd birthday and had a wonderful experience! Our waitress was amazing and the food excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my 8 employees to dinner for our ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I took my 8 employees to dinner for our holiday celebration. We sat on the patio which I was nervous at first because it was pretty cool outside. They had overhead heaters so that wasn't a problem. Actually in the beginning it was too hot but leveled out. The food was really fast which was actually a little nerve-wracking for what we were paying. They were playing Christmas music a tad too loud since we were all trying to talk and I had to really talk loud for everyone to hear me. I had the shrimp and grits which I have had there a few times before and liked it. They changed it up and I did not care for it at all. I just ate the grits and picked out the shrimp-way too spicy. I didn't send it back because I was leading the meeting and I didn't have time to deal with it since our dinner was limited on time. Not to mention the server never asked us how everything was-I may have said something if prompted by her. I've been here many times and was excited about taking my employees there. None of them complained-but I doubt they would since the company was paying. They all liked the atmosphere though. The only other thing that was disturbing was that the door leading back into the restaurant from the patio was locked. We saw an employee trying to work on it and still couldn't get it unlocked. Each time we had to get up to go back in the restaurant we had to knock on the door and another customer seated inside the restaurant had to get up and open the door. What is ironic is there is a big sign on the door that the door had to be unlocked at all times during business hours. Frankly it was a fire hazard and we all even talked about how we would get out if there was a fire with the door being locked. It didn't dampen our evening but was an annoyance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu options here are always generou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu options here are always generous and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is Ok but waitress didn't refill dr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is Ok but waitress didn't refill drinks.

Female hostess checked me as failed after my sister in law told her that I was in car accident so I'll be 30 min late that was few minutes prior to my reservation time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Even though our server Crystal was extre ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Even though our server Crystal was extremely busy, she still kept checking on us and our drinks never ran low and always there asking us how we were doing. You guys are amazing. Keep up the great menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family and I ate here because we had ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My family and I ate here because we had been celebrating a get together. I ordered the shrimp and grits and a few others ordered the pasta. It was all delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitress was awesome! Food and beer was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Waitress was awesome! Food and beer was great! Loved the blond brownie dessert!

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The customer service was great. The food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The customer service was great. The food quality was outstanding.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Family Style, , Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Stopped here while traveling and we were ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Stopped here while traveling and we were very pleased with our choice. We just needed a quick bite but wish we were hungrier because there were quite a few menu options we would have loved to try. We both ordered the fried green tomato BLT. While they were a bit messy to eat, the taste was wonderful; just enough of a difference from a common BLT to make it unique. Our sides were the loaded mashed potatoes and the mac and cheese. Both were rich and tasty with the mac and cheese being very creamy and perfectly cheesy. We didn't try any of the beers but the root beer was awesome. The prices were reasonable and there were options in many price ranges. Service was exceptional and our waitress was very friendly. We would definitely return if in the area.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service with really fresh and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service with really fresh and bold ingredients. Definitely a huge taste difference over a chain - all of our meals were very tasty with generous portions. I would definitely dine here again whenever I'm in the area. We did not sample the beers, but they had an excellent selection and the locals report that they are excellent. Service was accommodating of special requests, attentive, and friendly.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The NY strip special was spicier than I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The NY strip special was spicier than I expected but was very good. As usual the craft beer was excellent and our server James did an outstanding job.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Best item was fr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and service. Best item was fried green tomatoes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service was absolutely impecc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food & service was absolutely impeccable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation last Saturday nigh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a reservation last Saturday night showing availability through Open Table. When we arrived, walk-in diners had been seated, so there was no availability. Without an issue, after a minor wait, the hostess crew found a table for our group of 5 and we enjoyed a lovely evening of good food and drink together. We had our 3yo grandson with us and thought we would struggle with the wait for the meal after the wait for the table, but there was no problem as his food came quickly. The service was excellent as was the food. We had members of our party with severe peanut and tree-nut allergies, and they took these very seriously and were able to provide a safe meal. We really enjoyed the paper table cover (over the cloth one) which, with the restaurant provided crayons, added another dimension (for all of us) to our dining experience. Cheers! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've never had a bad meal or service he ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We've never had a bad meal or service here. Everything has been great. The bartenders/brewmasters are really knowledgeable about the beers & will help you find a beer for your taste. In addition they fill growlers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I went to the Mash House to ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I went to the Mash House to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. We had a wonderful time. Great restaurant! The food was amazing, great beer, and wonderful service. Nikki was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fayetteville staple. Visit everytime I'm ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fayetteville staple. Visit everytime I'm there. Great beer selection with daily specials and a solid menu. Steak was cooked well, but not the best cut. Wife loved her ribs. Slower service, but it was peak dinner hour. Marked kid-friendly because the server, Jaime, really catered to them.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

1st time here. Great food and fantastic ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 15, 2016

1st time here. Great food and fantastic service. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rude hostess, great waitress, good food.

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Rude hostess, great waitress, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The beers was fantatic.. My burger and f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The beers was fantatic.. My burger and fries was fabolouse. Pork loin sandwiches wasn't good it cold and sauge and sweet potatoes wasn't good it had no flavor and like empty inside and cold as well ...also I didn't like change menu.. Other that I had good date thank u

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.