Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.87mi
  2. Distance: 4.56mi
  3. Distance: 4.56mi
  4. Distance: 4.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.87mi
  2. Distance: 4.56mi
  3. Distance: 4.56mi
  4. Distance: 4.57mi

About The Marisol

"Marisol" has become a landmark on the map of fine dining in North Carolina. We specialize in using the freshest seasonal foods prepared in creative ways. During our 15 years, we have garnered the respect of a faithful clientele as well as high marks from Triad critics.

5834 High Point Rd
Greensboro, NC 27407
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, French

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:45pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
MacKay Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 852-3303

Website:
http://www.themarisol.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Mike Evans on the piano Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Tim Thompson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Marisol Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious food, great staff. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Greensboro. If you enjoy 1618, Undercurrent, Green Valley Grill or Printworks Bistro then definitely give Marisol a try, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We arrived on time and staff didn't have our reservation. I showed it to them on my phone, along with the reservation number. They stated that several times Open Table had not notified them of reservations. Really? Great. Open Table, you have only one job: Notify the restaurant. Dear reader, do yourself a favor and just call the restaurant. Why include a middleman, and the opportunity to have your special evening marred? Marisol staff did their best to accommodate us, but it was clear they were pretty irritated with Open Table and we felt like intruders because of it. This was my wife's birthday. She does not like fish or seafood, and Marisol does not publish online its menu. We took a chance and went, to find there were four choices for her. Thankfully, she enjoyed the lamb entrée. But the embarrassing start, the limited selection for her, and the over-the-top prices made this restaurant a one-stop sampling experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding food, both entries enjoyed, although sea bass was little dry. Service above average, knownledgable waiter, meal moved along promptly not rushed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Awesome food, great service.........................................................:..............

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were visiting from Florida, furniture shopping and found this fabulous restaurant. The food was divine, and the service was excellent. Had two appetizers. The crab pasta was yummy, and the homemade truffle sausages were tasty and uniquely flavored with truffle oil. I had the duck which was perfectly cooked and a nice size portion and my wife had fish which was wonderful. For dessert we had bread pudding and cheesecake. Both were excellent! I seriously cannot imagine a better fine dining experience than The Marisol. It is truly a gem!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went to Marisol for a Birthday celebration having heard such great things about it. I had the duck and I must admit it was a little dry. Still good considering I never prepare duck at home. Next time I would try the seafood choices, though. The main waiter was wonderful. The hostess was a bit underdressed considering the caliber of restaurant this is supposed to be. Still, though, everything was very good and we will go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our meal was excellent as always. My friend particularly enjoyed the veal. The service was top notch, our server was well informed and friendly but not overbearing. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Marisol is the BEST restaurant in North Carolina!!!!
Love you guys!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have eaten at Marisol for over 15 years. It is probably the best restaurant in our area. On this occasion, they were very busy which caused our service to suffer. My wife's salmon was excellent as usual, but I ordered the special- a strip steak that was only average. The desserts were excellent when they finally arrived. I hope that this experience was an aberration and not the start of deterioration of quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food and fantastic staff. Would highly recommend as one of the best in the Triad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always elegantly served excellent meals! Scott and Heather always make you feel welcome and they give the best service anywhere in NC and beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best meal I've had in Greensboro in a long time. Came with a Foodie meetup group. There were twelve of us , two tables of six. Everyone tried a different dish. All were very pleased with the food. Marisol is pricey but each dish was expertly prepared. The menu is small but the fresh daily specials were plentiful, creative and very well prepared. Even the bread baked fresh daily in house is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Friendly staff. Excellent food. If you're looking for something more than the cookie-cutter commercial chain restaurants, then this the spot. The dishes are well conceived and well executed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We never miss a chance to eat at The Marisol. It is absolutely one of the best, if not THE best restaurant in NC. Chef Robin is amazing. Everything served to us, you could taste every ingredient. Perfectly balanced cuisine. Scott and Heather are the most professional and well informed servers you could hope for. Whatever they recommend, take it. Not to be missed in your dining travels.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, absolutely the very best in town! Service and food are outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu food and service were all very good. The only issue I had was that they announce a specials menu daily, which is quite large, and makes the customer work hard at trying to remember everything and keeps the waitstaff at the tables for an inordinate amount of time.

Drinks are huge and very good. Food is creative and well executed. The wine list is really good and large for the size restaurant that it is. All in all, I would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All around, a fantastic restaurant! Excellent flavors and quality. In my top 10 of triad restaurants.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Another fabulous evening at The Marisol Saturday evening. Our party of four was very pleased with all selections, from cocktails to desserts. Look forward to a return visit soon and the best Negroni in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. We absolutely love it. Come here for all special occasions. Very expensive but worth every penny. Now that the new interstate is open is a quick drive of about 10-15 minutes as before it used to take us almost 30 in Greensboro. Love this place. Just wish it was closer to Irving Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is simply an amazing restaurant. We now live in Charlotte and it is a ways to go for dinner. We came last weekend for our anniversary. It took an hour and 40 minutes to get there based on the road construction but it was well worth the drive. The food is creative with many choices. But as amazing as the food always is, the service is even better. We had Scott, who is a favorite of ours. We had not been for a couple years but he remembered us. He has the uncanny knack of being friendly and professional at the same time. I don't recall getting better service ever than he regularly gives his customers.

It's a long way to go for us, but we say every time -- we need to do this more often. Thanks Marisol and thanks Scott for your amazing service! You are a wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful resaurant with spectacular food. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Professional wait staff and chef. Unique dining experience for those who truly want to enjoy a evening out. Big plus no loud children.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant I've found in North Carolina! I can't imagine why it is not packed every night!!! It was very quiet when I took my aunt there, and we had the most delicious meal, with attentive and pleasant service, in a lovely setting. It is a little bit tucked away, but worth finding for sure! It is truly "fine dining", starting with the "amuse-bouche" and ending with a fantastic chocolate soufflé for dessert. We had eaten there a year or so ago, and I think it was even better this time! Marisol compares very favorably with any restaurant I've been to in California, where I live. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Marisol was great as usual. It is our favorite restaurant in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The absolute best dining experience in NC! Wonderful meal, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Every single bite was delicious, from the tomato pie appetizer,spinach and watermelon salad, crab bisque and finishing with the snapper special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 23, 2016

There is NO better restaurant in this area. Period. End of discussion.
FOOD = amazing and delicious.
SERVICE = better than all the rest.
Everyone here makes you feel listened to, cared for and fed like never before.
WE LOVE MARISOL....got it?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dining at Marisol's is always a treat. The service and food are always outstanding! The wait staff always make you feel special, and interact just enough to be personal, but without being overbearing. They take the extra step to memorize all of the specials, and describe them in such detail that you can almost taste them! The food is always prepared beautifully, using fresh ingredients to both compliment and bring out all of the flavors of the main ingredient of the dish. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 16, 2016

exceptional as always. By far the most attentive experience both by the wait staff and kitchen without being stuffy. By far the best dinning experience and food in greensboro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Scott our waiter did an exceptional job, we were all amazed at his thoroughness and knowledge of the menu choice. The soft crabs, reck fish, crab cake, angus steak were all great meals. The presentation of the menu items to all of the diners was super. The honorees were very pleased with the evening and stated they would dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is our second time at this restaurant. Next time I think I'll be trying something from the "verbal menu" as they all sounded very tempting. As it is I had the foie gras followed by a Goat Cheese salad, with Rack of Lamb as the main course. The wine was a 2015 Willamette Pinot Noir. Everything was delicious, and our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. One of our favourite restaurants in the area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were astounded by the flavors and quality of the food. The gnocchi in a sage brown butter with lobster chunks was just perfect as a appetizer - I could've eaten it as a main course. We also ordered the oysters - they were spicy - but not too much. I had the lamb - and it was so tender and perfectly cooked - I had some as leftovers two days later and it was still tender. My dining partner had the duck - wow! Neither of us really wanted to share - especially me - mine was better ;) We ordered one of the least expensive wines on the list and it was delicious.
It is a bit pricey but if you want true gourmet in Greensboro - go there. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We've been coming here since it's opening 17 years ago. Unfortunately the founding chef died a few years ago and there was a lot of concern about the future of this restaurant. I am pleased to say it has both survived and thrived and is at its full glory still. Original waitstaff are still the faces that greet you. There's great attention to detail. The menu is expansive and ever-changing. There were six set appetizers and eight special appetizers on the night we were there. I believe they were half a dozen dinner specials as well.
We had a three course dinner over about two hours without being rushed. Highlights of this night included baked oysters, a veal Milanese as well as many other excellent courses. Still probably the best food in the Triad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always inventive menu with fresh ingredients and amazing sauces...great cocktails and a super wine list, impeccably presented by the best servers in the area. Our favorite joint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding at Marisol's. We never go away disappointed. It's a small restaurant, so you really feel like family when you dine there. Our server, Heather, is incredibly knowledgable about the menu items, both food and wine, and she will never steer you in the wrong direction!
My only complaint is that I wish there were more French varietals of wine on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2016

I stayed at Grand Resort and hosted a client dinner recently at Marisol and was pleasantly surprised at the menu diversity. For small place they offered a wide range of options all with great taste variations and solid presentation. Our group mixed it up and there was plenty of sharing around the table all to rave revues, might I add we are all in the Produce Business and not easily impressed. Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely go back if ever in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Whenever we want a creative, delicious meal in an inviting atmosphere with excellent service we head for the Marisol. The staff is always welcoming, Scott and Heather are attentive and helpful without hovering, and the food is fresh, local and inventive. We have immensely enjoyed every one of our visits and never hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2016

The Marisol is hands down the best restaurant in the Triad! The food, service, wine and atmosphere are all spectacular. I have traveled to most major cities in the US and several abroad, and I would put this culinary gem up against any 5 Star Restaurant that I have experienced. An evening at the Marisol is truly a dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding service and Excellent Food! Best in NC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.