Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.87mi
  2. Distance: 4.56mi
  3. Distance: 4.56mi
  4. Distance: 4.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.87mi
  2. Distance: 4.56mi
  3. Distance: 4.56mi
  4. Distance: 4.57mi

About The Marisol

"Marisol" has become a landmark on the map of fine dining in North Carolina. We specialize in using the freshest seasonal foods prepared in creative ways. During our 15 years, we have garnered the respect of a faithful clientele as well as high marks from Triad critics.

5834 High Point Rd
Greensboro, NC 27407
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, French

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:45pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
MacKay Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 852-3303

Website:
http://www.themarisol.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Mike Evans on the piano Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Tim Thompson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Marisol Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
See All
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my 1st time to the restaurant. The food was phenomenal. The lamb just melt in your mouth and all you needed was a butter knife to cut the filet. The cauliflower soup was out of this world and to top the meal off - the Scharffen Berger Liquid Center Chocolate Cake for desert was an absolute winner. Service was excellent. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was our first visit and we were wonderfully pleased. We were celebrating my mothers birthday and it was a great choice. The oysters were to die for and I usually am not a fan of oysters. Everyone was beyond pleased with their food. Our waitress was beyond amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Visited on 09/02/17. This is truly a gem for this area. Service was absolutely old school perfect!! The food delivered wonderfully. Fresh, exciting dishes were outstanding. Cannot say enough good things about our visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The meal was delicious. The service was excellent. Worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love this place. The food is consistently great, and portions are generous. The decor and layout could use a refresh (it really can feel like dining in a storefront with the wicker screen as the only partition) but typically I am more focused on my company and my meal. Great and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The menu, food, service, and overall execution of hospitality principles make The Marisol a big time dining experience worth the drive from anywhere in The Triad. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was okay, not great. Our waiter was extremely rude. I asked for the price of a special and he was nearly apoplectic. He attitude was obvious. The place was lovely. The price would have been okay if the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The Marisol is the standard to which every dining experience is compared...as special as this place is one must ask why dine anywhere else? I couldn't afford to eat here daily, but with the impeccable service, and delightful and flavorful creations this place is an amazing value. My favorite. I wonder, "why has it been so long since we last dined here? "

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was mediocre in taste and drinks were rediculously overpriced. $16 for a house vodka and coke. The staff is Amazing tho. Very knowledgeable of the menu and service is superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great environment and excellent food... great service, awesome wine list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our favorite and our waitress is absolutely fantastic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic service. The menu was creative and expertly executed. Definitely one of the better restaurant experiences in Greensboro.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent meal, exceeding even our high expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food with fantastic service. We were there for two and a half hours and had an amazing time eating wonderful food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious food, great staff. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Greensboro. If you enjoy 1618, Undercurrent, Green Valley Grill or Printworks Bistro then definitely give Marisol a try, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We arrived on time and staff didn't have our reservation. I showed it to them on my phone, along with the reservation number. They stated that several times Open Table had not notified them of reservations. Really? Great. Open Table, you have only one job: Notify the restaurant. Dear reader, do yourself a favor and just call the restaurant. Why include a middleman, and the opportunity to have your special evening marred? Marisol staff did their best to accommodate us, but it was clear they were pretty irritated with Open Table and we felt like intruders because of it. This was my wife's birthday. She does not like fish or seafood, and Marisol does not publish online its menu. We took a chance and went, to find there were four choices for her. Thankfully, she enjoyed the lamb entrée. But the embarrassing start, the limited selection for her, and the over-the-top prices made this restaurant a one-stop sampling experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Outstanding food, both entries enjoyed, although sea bass was little dry. Service above average, knownledgable waiter, meal moved along promptly not rushed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Awesome food, great service.........................................................:..............

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were visiting from Florida, furniture shopping and found this fabulous restaurant. The food was divine, and the service was excellent. Had two appetizers. The crab pasta was yummy, and the homemade truffle sausages were tasty and uniquely flavored with truffle oil. I had the duck which was perfectly cooked and a nice size portion and my wife had fish which was wonderful. For dessert we had bread pudding and cheesecake. Both were excellent! I seriously cannot imagine a better fine dining experience than The Marisol. It is truly a gem!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to Marisol for a Birthday celebration having heard such great things about it. I had the duck and I must admit it was a little dry. Still good considering I never prepare duck at home. Next time I would try the seafood choices, though. The main waiter was wonderful. The hostess was a bit underdressed considering the caliber of restaurant this is supposed to be. Still, though, everything was very good and we will go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our meal was excellent as always. My friend particularly enjoyed the veal. The service was top notch, our server was well informed and friendly but not overbearing. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Marisol is the BEST restaurant in North Carolina!!!!
Love you guys!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have eaten at Marisol for over 15 years. It is probably the best restaurant in our area. On this occasion, they were very busy which caused our service to suffer. My wife's salmon was excellent as usual, but I ordered the special- a strip steak that was only average. The desserts were excellent when they finally arrived. I hope that this experience was an aberration and not the start of deterioration of quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food and fantastic staff. Would highly recommend as one of the best in the Triad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always elegantly served excellent meals! Scott and Heather always make you feel welcome and they give the best service anywhere in NC and beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Best meal I've had in Greensboro in a long time. Came with a Foodie meetup group. There were twelve of us , two tables of six. Everyone tried a different dish. All were very pleased with the food. Marisol is pricey but each dish was expertly prepared. The menu is small but the fresh daily specials were plentiful, creative and very well prepared. Even the bread baked fresh daily in house is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Friendly staff. Excellent food. If you're looking for something more than the cookie-cutter commercial chain restaurants, then this the spot. The dishes are well conceived and well executed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We never miss a chance to eat at The Marisol. It is absolutely one of the best, if not THE best restaurant in NC. Chef Robin is amazing. Everything served to us, you could taste every ingredient. Perfectly balanced cuisine. Scott and Heather are the most professional and well informed servers you could hope for. Whatever they recommend, take it. Not to be missed in your dining travels.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, absolutely the very best in town! Service and food are outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu food and service were all very good. The only issue I had was that they announce a specials menu daily, which is quite large, and makes the customer work hard at trying to remember everything and keeps the waitstaff at the tables for an inordinate amount of time.

Drinks are huge and very good. Food is creative and well executed. The wine list is really good and large for the size restaurant that it is. All in all, I would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All around, a fantastic restaurant! Excellent flavors and quality. In my top 10 of triad restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Another fabulous evening at The Marisol Saturday evening. Our party of four was very pleased with all selections, from cocktails to desserts. Look forward to a return visit soon and the best Negroni in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. We absolutely love it. Come here for all special occasions. Very expensive but worth every penny. Now that the new interstate is open is a quick drive of about 10-15 minutes as before it used to take us almost 30 in Greensboro. Love this place. Just wish it was closer to Irving Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is simply an amazing restaurant. We now live in Charlotte and it is a ways to go for dinner. We came last weekend for our anniversary. It took an hour and 40 minutes to get there based on the road construction but it was well worth the drive. The food is creative with many choices. But as amazing as the food always is, the service is even better. We had Scott, who is a favorite of ours. We had not been for a couple years but he remembered us. He has the uncanny knack of being friendly and professional at the same time. I don't recall getting better service ever than he regularly gives his customers.

It's a long way to go for us, but we say every time -- we need to do this more often. Thanks Marisol and thanks Scott for your amazing service! You are a wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful resaurant with spectacular food. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Professional wait staff and chef. Unique dining experience for those who truly want to enjoy a evening out. Big plus no loud children.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cambridge)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant I've found in North Carolina! I can't imagine why it is not packed every night!!! It was very quiet when I took my aunt there, and we had the most delicious meal, with attentive and pleasant service, in a lovely setting. It is a little bit tucked away, but worth finding for sure! It is truly "fine dining", starting with the "amuse-bouche" and ending with a fantastic chocolate soufflé for dessert. We had eaten there a year or so ago, and I think it was even better this time! Marisol compares very favorably with any restaurant I've been to in California, where I live. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Marisol was great as usual. It is our favorite restaurant in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The absolute best dining experience in NC! Wonderful meal, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.