About The Marisol

5834 High Point Rd
Greensboro, NC 27407
View Larger Map

"Marisol" has become a landmark on the map of fine dining in North Carolina. We specialize in using the freshest seasonal foods prepared in creative ways. During our 15 years, we have garnered the respect of a faithful clientele as well as high marks from Triad critics.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, French

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:45pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
MacKay Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 852-3303

Website:
http://www.themarisol.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Mike Evans on the piano Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Tim Thompson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Marisol Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (21)
fit for foodies (19)
notable wine list (17)
See All
romantic (15)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

exceptional as always. By far the most ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

exceptional as always. By far the most attentive experience both by the wait staff and kitchen without being stuffy. By far the best dinning experience and food in greensboro.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scott our waiter did an exceptional job, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Scott our waiter did an exceptional job, we were all amazed at his thoroughness and knowledge of the menu choice. The soft crabs, reck fish, crab cake, angus steak were all great meals. The presentation of the menu items to all of the diners was super. The honorees were very pleased with the evening and stated they would dine there again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time at this restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is our second time at this restaurant. Next time I think I'll be trying something from the "verbal menu" as they all sounded very tempting. As it is I had the foie gras followed by a Goat Cheese salad, with Rack of Lamb as the main course. The wine was a 2015 Willamette Pinot Noir. Everything was delicious, and our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. One of our favourite restaurants in the area. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and place to celebrate a spec ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were astounded by the flavors and qua ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were astounded by the flavors and quality of the food. The gnocchi in a sage brown butter with lobster chunks was just perfect as a appetizer - I could've eaten it as a main course. We also ordered the oysters - they were spicy - but not too much. I had the lamb - and it was so tender and perfectly cooked - I had some as leftovers two days later and it was still tender. My dining partner had the duck - wow! Neither of us really wanted to share - especially me - mine was better ;) We ordered one of the least expensive wines on the list and it was delicious.

It is a bit pricey but if you want true gourmet in Greensboro - go there. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marisol

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We've been coming here since it's opening 17 years ago. Unfortunately the founding chef died a few years ago and there was a lot of concern about the future of this restaurant. I am pleased to say it has both survived and thrived and is at its full glory still. Original waitstaff are still the faces that greet you. There's great attention to detail. The menu is expansive and ever-changing. There were six set appetizers and eight special appetizers on the night we were there. I believe they were half a dozen dinner specials as well.

We had a three course dinner over about two hours without being rushed. Highlights of this night included baked oysters, a veal Milanese as well as many other excellent courses. Still probably the best food in the Triad

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always inventive menu with fresh ingredi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always inventive menu with fresh ingredients and amazing sauces...great cocktails and a super wine list, impeccably presented by the best servers in the area. Our favorite joint!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service is always outstandi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding at Marisol's. We never go away disappointed. It's a small restaurant, so you really feel like family when you dine there. Our server, Heather, is incredibly knowledgable about the menu items, both food and wine, and she will never steer you in the wrong direction!

My only complaint is that I wish there were more French varietals of wine on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I stayed at Grand Resort and hosted a cl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I stayed at Grand Resort and hosted a client dinner recently at Marisol and was pleasantly surprised at the menu diversity. For small place they offered a wide range of options all with great taste variations and solid presentation. Our group mixed it up and there was plenty of sharing around the table all to rave revues, might I add we are all in the Produce Business and not easily impressed. Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely go back if ever in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Restaurant in the Triad

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Whenever we want a creative, delicious meal in an inviting atmosphere with excellent service we head for the Marisol. The staff is always welcoming, Scott and Heather are attentive and helpful without hovering, and the food is fresh, local and inventive. We have immensely enjoyed every one of our visits and never hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

The Marisol is hands down the best restaurant in the Triad! The food, service, wine and atmosphere are all spectacular. I have traveled to most major cities in the US and several abroad, and I would put this culinary gem up against any 5 Star Restaurant that I have experienced. An evening at the Marisol is truly a dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding service and Excellent Food! Best in NC

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still excellent, but not as good

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to Marisol for the last 12 years. It's our special occasion place - in part because it's quite expensive, but mostly because on a special occasion you want to do something special and Marisol's food, service and ambiance have always been special. We dined for my birthday on March 19, 2016. While we were greeted like old friends and had wonderful service from Heather, our food was very good but not outstanding. I had the bass, which tasted less than fresh and really had nothing distinctive about its preparation. My husband had the trigger fish, which tasted fresher and had a light breading, but was still not spectacular. My duck confit appetizer was excellent, but rather a large portion for an appetizer, or first course. We shared the goat cheese salad and it was, as always, excellent. Finally, I had the clafouti for dessert. It was too hot, but that's the way those things are served at Marisol, so I wasn't surprised. I read another review that complained strongly about it, but I don't object to it as much. My hsband had chocolate mousse and it was very good.

I guess I'll finish by saying we'll probably keep it as our special occasion restaurant at least for one mor time to see if we have a different experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We always dine here twice when in town , great food and service !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always fabulous

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Scott is truly great waiter. He always makes our dining experience special. I had the duck confitt starter, the fried goat cheese salad and the rack of lamb. All was unbelievably good. Scott's recommended wine was perfectly paired to all of the above. Couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! If only it were closer to Lake Jeanett

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved it! Food delicious! A drive from North Greensboro but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not cheap, but well worth it

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We went to the Marisol to celebrate my 54th birthday. My wife had a shrimp bruschetta for appetizer, Filet Mignon entrée, and Clafoutis for dessert. I began with a Lemon drop Martini, followed by Foie gras on French toast appetizer, fried goat cheese salad, and roast duck with strawberry coulis entrée. The wine was a bottle of Willamette Valley Vineyards Pinot Noir (2014). I followed the waiter's recommendation and had the key lime mousse for dessert, accompanied by a glass of Dolce dessert wine and a couple of double espressos (my wife had a cappuccino). Everything was delicious, the waiter was very friendly and attentive.

We will definitely be back, although the price (about $260 for this meal) means that it will remain a "special occasions" restaurant for us. The portion sizes were not huge, but I was quite happy with this. I ended the meal feeling satisfied but not over-full. I had come to experience a variety of great-tasting food, and I certainly got what I came for.

The next time we come, I intend to try one of the entrees from the "verbal" menu (which changes every night, apparently). It pays to book early. We booked our table for 6:00P on a Friday night, and were the only ones there when we arrived. About an hour later, the restaurant was full, and by the sounds of things there were quite a few regulars.

In summary, great food, great (and friendly) service. They've been around for 19 years: here's to another 19!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Our food was excellent. We both had the salmon which was prepared perfectly with a very delicate sauce. The wine list was ample. We felt a little rushed through our meal, would have liked a little more time to enjoy our wine between courses, but otherwise our evening was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Unimpressed by Triad's most upscale restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have now been three times and have not had Marisol hit it out of the park yet. With entrees in the high $30 range, I was certainly hoping to be wowed by the cuisine. Not terrible but not OMG worthy either. In my three trips, ive had fishy tasting fish, greasy duck and unspectacular pork dishes. I will say the appetizers are delicious, especially their homemade sausages. Deserts are nice too. But the core entree leaves much to be desired for the price. Our server was outstanding and remembered us from prior visits on this most recent experience. Very knowledgeable about the dishes. He and been there for years and and it show. Really nice. If I went back again I would eat apps and have drinks in the bar. Nice atmosphere in there.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Marisol Dining Experience

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It is a 5 Star restaurant. One of the best in Greensboro,NC.

We dined on Feb. 13,2016. Everything from cocktails,appetizers, entrees to desserts was fantastic. The oysters are amazing!

The wait staff was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant find

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Exceptional attention to culinary detail from appetizer through desert . Excellent wine list as well. My new favorite when in Greensboro

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top notch

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Creative chef, personal wait staff, my go-to for Special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent Excellence

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Marisol ever since it opened about 18 years ago. In our opinion the food is the best in Greensboro/High Point and nothing else comes close. Both the food and the service are always outstanding, and frequent updates to the menu present an exciting variety of choices. There's always something new. Also, the wine list is excellent and very well thought out. For a couple, expect to spend $200 and up, depending upon your choice of wine and cocktails. If that's a little steep for everyday dining, try it for special occasions. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Unmet Expectations

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

I had heard that this was top restaurant in NC. The menu was compelling, but ultimately the dishes were bland and failed to meet expectations. The market seafood catch was overcooked and dry; sad. While the wait staff service was exceptional, the host did not want to the be there that night which accordingly affected the dining experience - creating a rushed experience. Good wine selection, but ultimately the restaurant was akin to one located at a nice hotel seeking to offend none - the restaurant did not meet or exceed expectations. The restaurant is resting on its laurels by playing down to its broader local competition and not its peer group across the state and country, disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Marisol again rises to the occasion!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

On a Friday the restaurant started quietly but got busy by the time our meal was over. We had appetizers and entrees that can't easily be found locally. Service as always was wonderful and we felt unique. They had our wine of choice. Portions were just right. Not inexpensive, but quality that stands alone in our area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at The Marisol is a ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food and service at The Marisol is always excellent. This is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent menu. Wait staff was very attentive. Food was wonderful. Loved the scene and being able to see the kitchen at its best.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Been coming to Marisol for many years. The food is always phenomenal. Not a drinker so I cannot attest to the wine list, but I'm sure it's just as impressive. It's upscale, yet casual. I'm from Virginia, but mom lives in Greensboro. We always make a point to visit while I'm in town. The service is great. Home baked focaccia bread is really, really good. They always seem to have my favorites on the menu in some form....this visit had the fois gras appetizer with mini waffles and apple jelly type sauce and lamb chops in a cherry sauce. Mom had a heirloom tomato tart for appetizer which was great and a roulade of flounder with crab. Restaurant in a small strip mall type building and the road has been under construction quite a bit for at least a year, but it is worth getting there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, food recommendations for us were spot on. Had 4 starter plates and then split an entree, which worked out well. Located in a storefront, but interior decor helps you forget about that. Nice spacing between tables allowed my wife and I be part of the room, but still have private conversations. Food was unique and flavorful, nicely presented and served at a good pace. Would highly recommend Marisol for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Food AND Service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

My husband and I were in town for a conference and decided on this restaurant for our first night. It was so exceptional that we returned again two nights later. Scott was our server and without a doubt is the most knowledgeable, professional, and hospitable server we have ever had. The menu choices were so appealing that we ended up trying several small plates and then split one entree. The homemade sausage was absolutely delectable and I'm not a huge sausage fan, but the way it was described, I just had to try it and it did not disappoint! It is one of the best things I have ever tasted. So many choices here between the menu and their daily specials and every dish is expertly crafted and prepared. It is pricey but the overall experience with the food and expert service from Scott made it so worth it. We eat all over the country and this restaurant is at the top of our list of restaurants to return to. Who knew one would exist in in Greensboro?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Not a good value this visit.......

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

I came expecting an awesome experience, but left disappointed. We were seated at probably the worst table in the restaurant. A very small two person table at the kitchen door. The hostess, assistant server or whatever her responsibilities were, was not very professional at her duties, almost rude sometimes when serving bread, filling water glasses or removing plates and silverware. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful with the menu, but tended to be a little scarce at times. The food was good, but not an excellent value for the price. Again, I have received rave reviews from friends who have dine here in the past, but I found Marisol to be mediocre at best for the money I spent this evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

The food was excellent. Service great. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

The food was excellent. Service great. We will come back again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Restaurant

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We had the best double pork chop ever. Tomato pie was a good appetizer. One of the best restaurants I have eaten at in North Carolina.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attention to detail missing

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

Marisol is slipping. Still charging premium prices, but not delivering a premium price dining experience. We were served an overcooked , almost dry salmon entree. We also tried the flounder. Nothing special there. We ordered an apple crumb dessert. Tasted good but served scalding hot with a small scoop of ice creme on top. By the time it cooled enough to eat, the ice creme melted and the whole thing was soupy.

The waiter was excellent, the bus-lady seemed like she wished she were somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Not worth your money

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Followed recommendations but found out that the place is unremarkable and the food just above average. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Fabulous meal!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

After being told by several people we trust that Marisol is the best restaurant in Greensboro, my wife and I went for our 17th anniversary. We both agreed that it was the best meal we've had in the three years we've lived here. We decided it should become an anniversary tradition. It's definitely a special occasion place as the prices are on the high side, but we got what we paid for. The food was out of sight. It has a very comfortable atmosphere and could be a frequent option if you're willing. The service was excellent - kind, smart, knowledgeable and fun. Looking forward to next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderfully unexpected!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

When we first walked into the restaurant, I was a little unsure. The dining area is small and intimate, the furnishings are more casual/rustic than I had anticipated for a "fine dining experience," however the food and service definitely allayed any concerns I had about whether Marisol deserved all the praise it has received so far. I would have to say that among the finer restaurants we have been to around the area, this one was definitely a notch above. Our server was friendly but professional, we felt right at ease. The food was delicious - fresh and imaginative. There were combinations of flavor a I hadn't experienced before, but after our first course, I knew it was all going to be very good. I would definitely recommend Marisol to anyone for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but not extradinary.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

Not bad, but over priced for an average meal. They were nice enough, but the service was slow. All in all, a good meal, but over priced for what you get.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awesome food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

This was my first time there and the food was great. The chef even prepared a special vegan dinner for my daughter. I had the filet and it was tasty and perfectly prepared. We wife had salmon and loved it as well. The service staff was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Spectacular

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

My wife and I visited Marisol on our anniversary. This is the 10th year in a row that we have chosen to have dinner here on our special night. We have never been disappointed. In addition to the usual wonderful offerings on the menu, there were 5 appetizer specials and 5 entree specials. They all sounded wonderful, so the choice was difficult. We chose two of the specials for apps: soft shell crab, cooked beautifully, crunchy, soft and sweet. The roasted oysters with blue cheese, bacon and jalapeno was a symphony of salt, smoke and heat. I had six, should have gotten the 12! My wife had the crispy duck, which she always gets, with good reason: IT IS AMAZING! I had a perfectly cooked and seasoned veal chop, one of the best I've ever eaten. We shared a cream cheese pie for dessert, which was a very interesting and delicious alternative to traditional cheesecake. As always, the service was perfect. Not good, perfect. Scott greeted us warmly as old friends, was extremely attentive but never intrusive. Outstanding service can add so much to a meal, and Scott absolutely nailed it (he always does, I think we have had him as a waiter 9/10 times). He also is a first class somm, has a great palate and does a wonderful job recommending pairings for the food.

If you are in the Piedmont Triad, do not miss this place. It is by far the finest dining experience in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.