About The Marisol

5834 High Point Rd
Greensboro, NC 27407
View Larger Map

"Marisol" has become a landmark on the map of fine dining in North Carolina. We specialize in using the freshest seasonal foods prepared in creative ways. During our 15 years, we have garnered the respect of a faithful clientele as well as high marks from Triad critics.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, French

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:45pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
MacKay Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 852-3303

Website:
http://www.themarisol.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Mike Evans on the piano Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Tim Thompson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Marisol Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
7 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and fantastic staff. Would hi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food and fantastic staff. Would highly recommend as one of the best in the Triad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always elegantly served excellent meals! ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always elegantly served excellent meals! Scott and Heather always make you feel welcome and they give the best service anywhere in NC and beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've had in Greensboro in a lo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best meal I've had in Greensboro in a long time. Came with a Foodie meetup group. There were twelve of us , two tables of six. Everyone tried a different dish. All were very pleased with the food. Marisol is pricey but each dish was expertly prepared. The menu is small but the fresh daily specials were plentiful, creative and very well prepared. Even the bread baked fresh daily in house is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff. Excellent food. If you ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Friendly staff. Excellent food. If you're looking for something more than the cookie-cutter commercial chain restaurants, then this the spot. The dishes are well conceived and well executed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never miss a chance to eat at The Mar ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We never miss a chance to eat at The Marisol. It is absolutely one of the best, if not THE best restaurant in NC. Chef Robin is amazing. Everything served to us, you could taste every ingredient. Perfectly balanced cuisine. Scott and Heather are the most professional and well informed servers you could hope for. Whatever they recommend, take it. Not to be missed in your dining travels.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, absolutely the very best in t ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, absolutely the very best in town! Service and food are outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu food and service were all very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu food and service were all very good. The only issue I had was that they announce a specials menu daily, which is quite large, and makes the customer work hard at trying to remember everything and keeps the waitstaff at the tables for an inordinate amount of time.

Drinks are huge and very good. Food is creative and well executed. The wine list is really good and large for the size restaurant that it is. All in all, I would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All around, a fantastic restaurant! Exc ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All around, a fantastic restaurant! Excellent flavors and quality. In my top 10 of triad restaurants.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another fabulous evening at The Marisol ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Another fabulous evening at The Marisol Saturday evening. Our party of four was very pleased with all selections, from cocktails to desserts. Look forward to a return visit soon and the best Negroni in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is our favorite restaurant. We abso ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. We absolutely love it. Come here for all special occasions. Very expensive but worth every penny. Now that the new interstate is open is a quick drive of about 10-15 minutes as before it used to take us almost 30 in Greensboro. Love this place. Just wish it was closer to Irving Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is simply an amazing restaurant. We ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is simply an amazing restaurant. We now live in Charlotte and it is a ways to go for dinner. We came last weekend for our anniversary. It took an hour and 40 minutes to get there based on the road construction but it was well worth the drive. The food is creative with many choices. But as amazing as the food always is, the service is even better. We had Scott, who is a favorite of ours. We had not been for a couple years but he remembered us. He has the uncanny knack of being friendly and professional at the same time. I don't recall getting better service ever than he regularly gives his customers.

It's a long way to go for us, but we say every time -- we need to do this more often. Thanks Marisol and thanks Scott for your amazing service! You are a wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful resaurant with spectacular foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful resaurant with spectacular food. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Professional wait staff and chef. Unique dining experience for those who truly want to enjoy a evening out. Big plus no loud children.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Without a doubt, the best restaurant I'v ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant I've found in North Carolina! I can't imagine why it is not packed every night!!! It was very quiet when I took my aunt there, and we had the most delicious meal, with attentive and pleasant service, in a lovely setting. It is a little bit tucked away, but worth finding for sure! It is truly "fine dining", starting with the "amuse-bouche" and ending with a fantastic chocolate soufflé for dessert. We had eaten there a year or so ago, and I think it was even better this time! Marisol compares very favorably with any restaurant I've been to in California, where I live. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Marisol was great as usual. It is ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Marisol was great as usual. It is our favorite restaurant in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best dining experience in N ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The absolute best dining experience in NC! Wonderful meal, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every single bite was delicious, from th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Every single bite was delicious, from the tomato pie appetizer,spinach and watermelon salad, crab bisque and finishing with the snapper special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There is NO better restaurant in this ar ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2016

There is NO better restaurant in this area. Period. End of discussion.

FOOD = amazing and delicious.

SERVICE = better than all the rest.

Everyone here makes you feel listened to, cared for and fed like never before.

WE LOVE MARISOL....got it?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Marisol's is always a treat. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dining at Marisol's is always a treat. The service and food are always outstanding! The wait staff always make you feel special, and interact just enough to be personal, but without being overbearing. They take the extra step to memorize all of the specials, and describe them in such detail that you can almost taste them! The food is always prepared beautifully, using fresh ingredients to both compliment and bring out all of the flavors of the main ingredient of the dish. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

exceptional as always. By far the most ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 16, 2016

exceptional as always. By far the most attentive experience both by the wait staff and kitchen without being stuffy. By far the best dinning experience and food in greensboro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scott our waiter did an exceptional job, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Scott our waiter did an exceptional job, we were all amazed at his thoroughness and knowledge of the menu choice. The soft crabs, reck fish, crab cake, angus steak were all great meals. The presentation of the menu items to all of the diners was super. The honorees were very pleased with the evening and stated they would dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time at this restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is our second time at this restaurant. Next time I think I'll be trying something from the "verbal menu" as they all sounded very tempting. As it is I had the foie gras followed by a Goat Cheese salad, with Rack of Lamb as the main course. The wine was a 2015 Willamette Pinot Noir. Everything was delicious, and our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. One of our favourite restaurants in the area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and place to celebrate a spec ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were astounded by the flavors and qua ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were astounded by the flavors and quality of the food. The gnocchi in a sage brown butter with lobster chunks was just perfect as a appetizer - I could've eaten it as a main course. We also ordered the oysters - they were spicy - but not too much. I had the lamb - and it was so tender and perfectly cooked - I had some as leftovers two days later and it was still tender. My dining partner had the duck - wow! Neither of us really wanted to share - especially me - mine was better ;) We ordered one of the least expensive wines on the list and it was delicious.

It is a bit pricey but if you want true gourmet in Greensboro - go there. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marisol

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We've been coming here since it's opening 17 years ago. Unfortunately the founding chef died a few years ago and there was a lot of concern about the future of this restaurant. I am pleased to say it has both survived and thrived and is at its full glory still. Original waitstaff are still the faces that greet you. There's great attention to detail. The menu is expansive and ever-changing. There were six set appetizers and eight special appetizers on the night we were there. I believe they were half a dozen dinner specials as well.

We had a three course dinner over about two hours without being rushed. Highlights of this night included baked oysters, a veal Milanese as well as many other excellent courses. Still probably the best food in the Triad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always inventive menu with fresh ingredi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always inventive menu with fresh ingredients and amazing sauces...great cocktails and a super wine list, impeccably presented by the best servers in the area. Our favorite joint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service is always outstandi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding at Marisol's. We never go away disappointed. It's a small restaurant, so you really feel like family when you dine there. Our server, Heather, is incredibly knowledgable about the menu items, both food and wine, and she will never steer you in the wrong direction!

My only complaint is that I wish there were more French varietals of wine on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I stayed at Grand Resort and hosted a cl ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2016

I stayed at Grand Resort and hosted a client dinner recently at Marisol and was pleasantly surprised at the menu diversity. For small place they offered a wide range of options all with great taste variations and solid presentation. Our group mixed it up and there was plenty of sharing around the table all to rave revues, might I add we are all in the Produce Business and not easily impressed. Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely go back if ever in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Restaurant in the Triad

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Whenever we want a creative, delicious meal in an inviting atmosphere with excellent service we head for the Marisol. The staff is always welcoming, Scott and Heather are attentive and helpful without hovering, and the food is fresh, local and inventive. We have immensely enjoyed every one of our visits and never hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2016

The Marisol is hands down the best restaurant in the Triad! The food, service, wine and atmosphere are all spectacular. I have traveled to most major cities in the US and several abroad, and I would put this culinary gem up against any 5 Star Restaurant that I have experienced. An evening at the Marisol is truly a dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding service and Excellent Food! Best in NC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still excellent, but not as good

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to Marisol for the last 12 years. It's our special occasion place - in part because it's quite expensive, but mostly because on a special occasion you want to do something special and Marisol's food, service and ambiance have always been special. We dined for my birthday on March 19, 2016. While we were greeted like old friends and had wonderful service from Heather, our food was very good but not outstanding. I had the bass, which tasted less than fresh and really had nothing distinctive about its preparation. My husband had the trigger fish, which tasted fresher and had a light breading, but was still not spectacular. My duck confit appetizer was excellent, but rather a large portion for an appetizer, or first course. We shared the goat cheese salad and it was, as always, excellent. Finally, I had the clafouti for dessert. It was too hot, but that's the way those things are served at Marisol, so I wasn't surprised. I read another review that complained strongly about it, but I don't object to it as much. My hsband had chocolate mousse and it was very good.

I guess I'll finish by saying we'll probably keep it as our special occasion restaurant at least for one mor time to see if we have a different experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We always dine here twice when in town , great food and service !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always fabulous

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Scott is truly great waiter. He always makes our dining experience special. I had the duck confitt starter, the fried goat cheese salad and the rack of lamb. All was unbelievably good. Scott's recommended wine was perfectly paired to all of the above. Couldn't have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! If only it were closer to Lake Jeanett

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved it! Food delicious! A drive from North Greensboro but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not cheap, but well worth it

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We went to the Marisol to celebrate my 54th birthday. My wife had a shrimp bruschetta for appetizer, Filet Mignon entrée, and Clafoutis for dessert. I began with a Lemon drop Martini, followed by Foie gras on French toast appetizer, fried goat cheese salad, and roast duck with strawberry coulis entrée. The wine was a bottle of Willamette Valley Vineyards Pinot Noir (2014). I followed the waiter's recommendation and had the key lime mousse for dessert, accompanied by a glass of Dolce dessert wine and a couple of double espressos (my wife had a cappuccino). Everything was delicious, the waiter was very friendly and attentive.

We will definitely be back, although the price (about $260 for this meal) means that it will remain a "special occasions" restaurant for us. The portion sizes were not huge, but I was quite happy with this. I ended the meal feeling satisfied but not over-full. I had come to experience a variety of great-tasting food, and I certainly got what I came for.

The next time we come, I intend to try one of the entrees from the "verbal" menu (which changes every night, apparently). It pays to book early. We booked our table for 6:00P on a Friday night, and were the only ones there when we arrived. About an hour later, the restaurant was full, and by the sounds of things there were quite a few regulars.

In summary, great food, great (and friendly) service. They've been around for 19 years: here's to another 19!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Our food was excellent. We both had the salmon which was prepared perfectly with a very delicate sauce. The wine list was ample. We felt a little rushed through our meal, would have liked a little more time to enjoy our wine between courses, but otherwise our evening was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Unimpressed by Triad's most upscale restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have now been three times and have not had Marisol hit it out of the park yet. With entrees in the high $30 range, I was certainly hoping to be wowed by the cuisine. Not terrible but not OMG worthy either. In my three trips, ive had fishy tasting fish, greasy duck and unspectacular pork dishes. I will say the appetizers are delicious, especially their homemade sausages. Deserts are nice too. But the core entree leaves much to be desired for the price. Our server was outstanding and remembered us from prior visits on this most recent experience. Very knowledgeable about the dishes. He and been there for years and and it show. Really nice. If I went back again I would eat apps and have drinks in the bar. Nice atmosphere in there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Marisol Dining Experience

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2016

It is a 5 Star restaurant. One of the best in Greensboro,NC.

We dined on Feb. 13,2016. Everything from cocktails,appetizers, entrees to desserts was fantastic. The oysters are amazing!

The wait staff was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant find

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Exceptional attention to culinary detail from appetizer through desert . Excellent wine list as well. My new favorite when in Greensboro

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top notch

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Creative chef, personal wait staff, my go-to for Special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.