About The Manship

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Steven O'Neill: 769-243-6630x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
4 More
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

neighborhood gem (40)
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
great for lunch (32)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (26)
good for groups (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
hot spot (18)
romantic (15)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3

Mushroom side dish was not good in my op ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Mushroom side dish was not good in my opinion. I like a lot of water with meals and I got thirsty three times, to the point that I had to stop eating my meal. I even asked if I could have two glasses, but was told they were NOT ALLOWED TO! Nearly $100 for two people. I don't plan to return.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good dining experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined here for our 2 year anniversary. The food was excellent and the drinks were very good. I was pleasantly surprised. I'd definitely recommend the atmosphere for a good date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service on a Thursday ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food and service on a Thursday night. Quieter than usual because Fondren First Thursday was going on in Fondren.

food3
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I are regulars at Manship ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I are regulars at Manship, and it's one of our favorite Jackson restaurants. I went with a couple of friends recently on a week night, and we all got the pizzas. The ingredients and selection are good, but this is the second time I've gotten a pizza with a burnt crust. The others were fine. I don't think I'll order another for a while, but that's okay, because the Duroc pork shoulder is always a great option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't beat it! Best place in Jackson fo ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Can't beat it! Best place in Jackson for quick lunch, healthy options, cocktails with friends, or date night! It's our go to spot no matter what the occasion. Loving the patio!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Manship

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Manship - both times were excellent. The Grouper was spectacular!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time and will definitely go ba ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our first time and will definitely go back! Highly recommend the tuna dip appetizer, Duroc Pork Shoulder, Ribeye Dickie, Mac n Cheese and the Jerusalem Artichokes!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always. Have yet to leave dis ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great as always. Have yet to leave disappointed. Can't go wrong with the red fish. It's simple but full of flavor. The strawberry panacotta CANNOT be skipped! I don't care how full you are, do not pass on it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for lunch

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Pizza

Dined on March 24, 2016

For a place that has wood fired pizza oven, no excuse for soggy crust in the middle! Food too salty.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

We met old friends for dinner and had a wonderful experience. The food was good and served in a timely manner. The cocktails were delicious. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't get much better. Not overpriced an ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Can't get much better. Not overpriced and world class.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was superb. Service was excellent as always. LOVE IT

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on March 12, 2016

The Manship menu is replete with excellent entrees that every foodie will enjoy. The seafood selections were thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. Our server was both attentive and well versed in the menu selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great experience for our 30th Ann ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

What a great experience for our 30th Anniversary!!!! From our host greeting is at the door with "Happy Anniversary", our own keepsake menus, the knowledgeable waiter who greeted us by name and also congratulated us. We were visited by the owner during our meals and our desert was also personalized with " Happy 30th Anniversary". By far the best entree on the menu was the Spitfire Pork Shoulder. So thankful that the 1st recommendation was booked so we didn't miss this great evening!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant around. Food is world cl ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Best restaurant around. Food is world class, service is fantastic, great bar selection...... All around simply hard to beat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rachel was excellent. We will certainly ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Rachel was excellent. We will certainly ask for her the next time we are there which will be soon. We were going to a play at New Stage and she timed us perfectly without rushing or delaying. What a personality she has. The food was great but Rachel was the best.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food and superior Bar

Dined on March 2, 2016

Manship's food was superior, especially the pork belly appetizer. The bar is excellent and their vast inventory of bourbons is exceptional. Our server's knowledge of their bourbons was extensive and very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for date night

Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my wife to The Manship for a romantic date night. We were very impressed with the food and the drinks. Our server, Jason, was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered suggestions. We will be repeat customers and we will ask for Jason.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place

Dined on February 28, 2016

Went here on a special date with my girlfriend prior to the Mississippi symphony orchestra that evening. Made a reservation for 6 pm and was seated promptly right after we walked in. Staff was very attentive and welcoming. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive. We started off with the crab beignets which were absolutely delicious. I had the rabbit ravioli which was also great. The gamey-ness of the rabbit was rounded very nicely with the rich sauce. My date had the lasagna which she said was excellent. Overall, great experience. Already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was what stood out. My favorite ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was what stood out. My favorite dish of the night was the pork belly. It was a dream. My wife loves the place. We will be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Treat

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Manship is definitely the place to go for Valentine's or any occasion if you want fantastic food and service. The drink selection is the best by far of any where I've been. The food is top quality and seasoned and prepared flawlessly. The service was refreshing and always there when wanted.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always! I dine often at t ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious as always! I dine often at the Manship and for whatever reason have never ordered the shrimp poboy, I finally decided to bend a little from the more healthier options and it was worth it! The shrimp were a decent size and fried to perfection. It's something I'll crave and go back for!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best in Jackson

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Definitely the best in Jackson today; probably the best ever. Very intelligent composition of dishes, breath of offerings, execution in the kitchen, knowledgeable service, functional layout, and great bargain wine list. Playing with a full deck and able to meet special requests. Would earn a Michelin star if Michelin ever came to Mississippi.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice menu

Dined on February 9, 2016

Lunch was very nice with excellent service. Luckily I made a reservation as the lunch crowd was active. The daily lunch is a good option. Ample with a nice side. I had the Red Fish sandwich with Polenta and tho the sandwich was small the polenta was best I've ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Manship! We celebrated my birt ...

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Love the Manship! We celebrated my birthday there and had a wonderful meal.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food! We tried several thing ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Outstanding food! We tried several things - a cheese board, smoked BBQ wings, Greek chicken, and roasted cauliflower and it was all so good! Great service and anywhere that allows a reservation is a plus for me :) we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of the Best!

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was superb as always!! (Red Grouper)! Couldn't have asked for better service than we received from Jeff. He was prompt and helpful. Thanks for a wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another flawless experience at the Mansh ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Another flawless experience at the Manship! Made a very last minute decision to have lunch here. Booked a reservation on open table an hour before which was a good call because they were packed. We were seated as soon as we walked in. Service was prompt and food was delicious as always. I went with a pizza and a wedge salad. Best pizza in town no doubt!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food and Vibrant Ambience

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The food is excellent, the service was wonderful and the location is awesome. Also pricing was really good. I cannot wait to go again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fabulous restaurant in every r ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant in every respect! Great looking - loved the series if 3 dimensional pieces with white glaze - great artist! Every level of service was exceptional! And most importantly, the food was over the top. Alexis Eaton is amazing. Thank you all for a great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and atmosphere

Dined on January 24, 2016

My wife and I dined here on January 15 while traveling and staying overnight in Jackson. We loved it so much we returned via Jackson and made reservations for January 23rd. Both meals were exceptional in food quality, dining experience, and service. Memorable entrees were the chicken tetrazini (tremendous), roasted beet salad (yumm), salmon (perfect) and the Greek Chicken (full flavor). We did not order wine due to per glass price a little higher than normal. Wait service each night was friendly, knowledgeable about the entrees, and were available when needed during the meal. Super great restaurant near the state Capitol and hospital district. Very upscale looking neighborhood. If traveling through Jackson again, we would not hesitate to return for another excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I was 45 min late flying in from DC. The ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

I was 45 min late flying in from DC. They graciously held my reservation. Excellent meal. The pork belly appetizer is amazing. Everything exuded quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Service

Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a delicious appetizer and entrees with sides and were headed home in less than an hour!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on January 7, 2016

I've eaten hear half a dozen times and have never been disappointed in the quality or flavor of the food. It is always perfectly prepared and plated well. Portion size is excellent compared to similar priced restaurants. A great experience, reservations are recommended as it is a popular spot every night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bar stock and bartenders. The foo ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Great bar stock and bartenders. The food selection and preparation - outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Jackson visiting family for t ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

We were in Jackson visiting family for the holidays! I found this gem on Yelp and decided to visit for brunch! I brought a party of 4 and everyone LOVED their entrees I got the duck & eggs, and I also ordered the French toast to share with the table! SO TASTY! Charles (who favors Blake Shelton) gave great service! We will visit again when we're in town!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time!

Dined on December 23, 2015

Great food, great service, and great value! Manship is always top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

As always it was a great experience. Goo ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

As always it was a great experience. Good drinks and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints! I am normally not a ...

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

Never disappoints! I am normally not a fan of a Cuban sandwich but our sever insisted I try it. It was so good! Like a supped up hot pressed ham and cheese but with really good meat and really good cheese. I guess I'm a Cuban fan now.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.