About The Manship

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Nick Mathes: 769-243-6630x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
2 More
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Romantic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Brunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, I was pleased with the venue an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, I was pleased with the venue and food. What really was displeasing is that I placed a reservation several hours before and when I arrived they didn't have a table ready for my date and I. We had to wait for a quite a bit on a table to be prepared.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We gathered there after my son's gruelin ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

We gathered there after my son's grueling college soccer game. The game started late and we needed to move it back but they were very accommodating. The Table of as great, the food was great (the duck wings appetizer is decadent!) and the waiter was very helpful and attentive. My son's legs started cramping up from having come from the game. Our waiter went back into the kitchen and poured a glass of pickle juice and, although hard to drink, it seemed to work since he was stopped cramping. That's being attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food! Loved the tilefish and the a ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 5 days ago

great food! Loved the tilefish and the avocado and tomato fattoush. All delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time to the Manship and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 1st time to the Manship and we were expecting good things. But it was not so, the service was horrible and very slow. The pimento cheese was ok they burnt our pizza but quickly got us another one the tile fish special was very good and the short rib pasta was good too. The oven roasted cauliflower we were a little disappointed it was just bland and had no seasoning or taste. The desserts were not good as well the chocolate mousse was way over mixed and over whipped it was like eating pockets of sand because of the graham cracker mixed in. The apple cobbler left a bad after taste in your mouth (FYI peel your apples next time) and the pana cotta with peach compote had too much gelatin in it it was so stiff and it was also very grainy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Very good food, service an value! Would ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good food, service an value! Would recommend highly. Great menu an bar waiter was very helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are vegetarians (meatless diners). Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are vegetarians (meatless diners). The options available to us were very limited. No vegetarian entrees except the Farmer's Market Pizza. We ordered that. Rest of the items came from came from the side items menu. The Fattoush Salad and the Garlic Spinach were extremely good. A few side items were disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for a friend's birthday. We ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went there for a friend's birthday. We all enjoyed the food and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing. We have eaten many places but ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing. We have eaten many places but expected to see the talent and care put into this food in Jackson.We ordered aa charcuterie plate,Mac and cheese,pepperoni Pizza and wings.All was locally sourced and put together perfectly.Although the location is little strange I would not miss this restaurant if you are travelling through Jackson or live there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious meal! Love all the local prod ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious meal! Love all the local produce used !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Manship is always delici ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food at The Manship is always delicious. It is very consistent in quality, taste and presentation. The wait staff is always attentive. This is a great place for business lunches.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accommodating, inviting, enjoyable -- an ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Accommodating, inviting, enjoyable -- and Jake is quite the server!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service and location. Manshi ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Exceptional service and location. Manship is great for lunch and dinner. Ability to book reservations via Open Table places it ahead of others in this dining category.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated before our reservation ti ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were seated before our reservation time. The service was excellent. He came by often but didn't hover. They did run out of the special (prime rib) really quick. We enjoyed the food and the suggested wine was really good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all tried the special, prime rib, wh ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We all tried the special, prime rib, which was great. Wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Manship never disappoints. The Thursday ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Manship never disappoints. The Thursday lunch special, braised short rib, is simply amazing. The service is outstanding and makes dining there a pleasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole fish is always my first pick. ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The whole fish is always my first pick. Great place to eat. Always fun and great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This place is just plain fabulous. The c ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is just plain fabulous. The chef/co-owner has just won a HUGE national (I think) award as Best Seafood Chef, and that is an understatement! We had the Murder Point (Alabama)broiled oysters on the half shell with a celestial treatment of ingredients and the special Gulf grouper with this divine treatment--corn, tomato, just a perfect combo of veg & seasoningsq. My son got the tiramisu, the hub got the peach panacotta. I took a bite of each, and was transported to dessert heaven! We ate early (like 6:00-6:15), which is a great time--restaurant about 1/3-1/2 full, bar very active, but not loud. As we sat and ate, the place totally filled up, but the service was great, noise level did not get bad, and I think we were signing the ticket about 1 1/2 hrs after we were seated. The other co-owner stopped & chatted with us (remembered our names), just as he did with every other table in the place. These guys have got the restaurant business nailed! Interior very welcoming, yet sophisticated; servers attentive & friendly.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Manship is consistently excellent in ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Manship is consistently excellent in their service, and their brunch/breakfast is the best in the Jackson area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time with friends. We sa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time with friends. We sat at the last table in the restaurant near the kitchen. I had read some reviews that said it was too noisy...but it wasn't. It was fun to see the different dishes coming by and getting to talk to our waiter about the dishes. Our waiter was absolutely delightful. He was attentive but not obnoxious. The drinks from the bar are heavenly. If you like bloody marys, they make the best one I have ever had. The pork belly appetizer is unbelievably delicious.

We had the redfish which had been touted as fantastic. We were a little disappointed as it was a little dry. The sides, which are a la carte, were good, but a little salty. Overall though it was a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Chef Alex Eaton recently won the Great A ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Chef Alex Eaton recently won the Great American Seafood Cookoff held in New Orleans in early August. The food in his restuarant relfects his cooking prowess in every way. From a huge selection of side vegetable dishes to his Redfish prepared fisherman style you can't go wrong here. Everything is locally sourced and a large blackboard indicates the vendor and location. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful dining experience. Superb f ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Superb food and service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed experience,but getting the shrim ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Enjoyed experience,but getting the shrimp and grits with the head still on shrimp,was a real turnoff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food choice and quality; have ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food choice and quality; have always liked the idea of local, Mississippi items being offered. Service was good, though at lunch the noise level was quite high. Was a business lunch, so important to be able to hear. Overall ambiance excellent. Idea of online booking convenient/time-saving...especially in today's hectic culture.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here a couple times and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been here a couple times and the food is GREAT! The service is above and beyond. My only complaint is that we got sat all the way back towards the kitchen when the restaurant was not busy. Possibly because we had kids with us...possibly not, but either way they need some type of wall up between wait staff and tables there. It was almost like we were dining in the kitchen and pretty disruptive. Far more disruptive than the our kids tend to be in restaurants. Perhaps that was not it but based on the other families in the back section, it was a coincidence if not. Anyway, we will be back and I suppose ask to not be seated in the kitchen area lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Once again I was not disappointed. Great ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Once again I was not disappointed. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great whiskey selection. Fantastic food ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great whiskey selection. Fantastic food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service are great. Unfortunate ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service are great. Unfortunately, the restaurant is to popular, the noise level prevents having a quiet conversation even at your own table. They need something to dampen the noise level!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We read about Manship before our host re ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We read about Manship before our host recommended it, so we felt it was a good choice. It ended up being an excellent choice. We could hardly decide between items on the menu and ate so much we couldn't even consider dessert. We had mac-n-cheese, calamari, spinach, and pizza. Everything was really, really good- even the focaccia served with peppered oil to start was notably flavorful. Additionally, our server was great. Just the right amount of attention and laid back. Our greeting from the host stand when we entered was very underwhelming, but everything else more than made up for that. HIGHLY recommend The Manship and will go there again if visiting Jackson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I came before the ballet s ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My sister and I came before the ballet she's not from Jackson the chef is a former student and and I was anxious to show him off and the food, fresh tomato salad, bread, lady peas and whole fish were outstanding. Wine helped in our choice by our great was perfect .

Just one thing The portions were so large we could have split them and been well satisfied Well done, Alex!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The smashed hash browns are killer! One ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The smashed hash browns are killer! One of the most decadent things I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alex was wonderful as our server. I had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alex was wonderful as our server. I had the grouper special which was awesome. Never a disappointing meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Manship's menu and food never disapp ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Manship's menu and food never disappoint. At dinner recently we sensed our waiter was quite busy with many tables to serve--perhaps someone had not shown up for work at the last minute? The alert manager saw us hesitating and came over to talk with us, and we also saw him bussing tables. This kind of teamwork and kindness to customers reminds us why we want to go back to this great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were hoping for a casual quiet atmosp ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were hoping for a casual quiet atmosphere to conduct an informal business meeting, but we were seated near the kitchen and there was so much clatter that we had to yell to be heard. Our reservations couldn't be found when we arrived, so there was a scramble to seat us. The wine was great. We weren't real impressed with the food, either - especially the cheese tray and hanger steak. It's great for a different taste every now and then, but with everything a la carte, it really adds up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great hummus and spit-fire chicken. Ser ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great hummus and spit-fire chicken.

Service was on the slow side but not bad enough to deter us from returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food, excellent service, and a coo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, excellent service, and a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always nice for friends who want to have ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always nice for friends who want to have a casual lunch and you don't have to hurry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a delicious lunch with a friend. I h ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a delicious lunch with a friend. I had the oyster sandwich which was a feature that day. yum

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places... From the m ...

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of my favorite places... From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you walk out....its a great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My date and i had an amazing dinner at The Manship on Thursday June 2nd. We started out with the duck wings and pork belly appetizer, both of which were outstanding. The pork belly was served with a creamy polenta, and quite honestly, may have been the best bite of food I have ever eaten. FYI, I've been in the restaurant business for close to 20 years. For entrees my date and i split some rabbit ravioli and pork shoulder, both of which were on point. Joshua, our waiter, was great! we never lacked for anything, and his service was attentive but not intrusive. I would request him again when we go back. Oh and don't leave w/o trying the blueberry cobbler. perfect way to close out the meal. For you fans of wines and spirits, The Manship, has an outstanding wine selection, with some very interesting cocktails as well. can't say enough about our experience. Get there asap!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner all around. Service, food ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great dinner all around. Service, food, drinks. Great atmosphere. Love dining at the Manship.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.