About The Manship

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Nick Mathes: 769-243-6630x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Good for a Date (38)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (29)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Wood Oven (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Romantic (14)
Fun (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I initially ordered the Prime Rib and wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

I initially ordered the Prime Rib and was very disappointed, it was very dry and the portion did not justify the pricing. They were great about swapping it out, I had the Pork Shoulder with Sweet Grits and Greens! It was amazing as usual. Appetizers were fantastic as always. If you haven't tried the Duck Wings they are great.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat.

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding the dishes were ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was outstanding the dishes were excellent. This was out first visit and were a little apprehensive about some of the dishes. The waitperson relieved out fears and we were presented with a delicious meal and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did an excellent job in every ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our waiter did an excellent job in every-way. He is a Bourbon fan, as am I, and was able to suggest a new Bourbon which I ended-up loving! Now if only I could find it locally. The Manship offers an excellent bar menu. The oven-roasted veggies were outstanding as usual. This was an early Christmas gift for a friend visiting from out of State and he loved the restaurant. The fall menu is great and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is good, but a tad bit overpric ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is good, but a tad bit overpriced. The bar was awesome.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was great. I loved the atmos ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was great. I loved the atmosphere and overall ambiance of the restaurant. The food was also great! A little over-seasoned for my taste, but still good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend and will likely return next time I'm in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Manship is one of my favorite restau ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The Manship is one of my favorite restaurants in Jackson. I eat here as often as I possibly can. Nov. 22, was my birthday, so my friends decided to offer me a treat. We were all pleased with our food, including my vegetarian friend. He had a vegetable plate (with a choice of four).

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Atmosphere and aroma was great! Nice lun ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Atmosphere and aroma was great! Nice lunch specials.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is located in the unlikely ne ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This place is located in the unlikely neighborhood place in Jackson, Mississippi on the 1st floor of the Baptist Health Systems Medical building. Great food, great service, and good ambiance!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place, especially the veggies. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love this place, especially the veggies. Go for lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great; however, our waiter ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was great; however, our waiter was not. He was too casual for the restaurant. At one point, he brought spoons to the table and actually slid the spoons across the bare table to my husband and me and walked away. I was in disbelief. Once we got our desert, we asked the server (not our waiter) for more spoons. We never got them. My husband had to go up to the kitchen and ask for spoons. Our waiter was mopping. Wow! When we go back, I hope that we receive much better service. If not, we won't be back. The experience is just as important as the food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was disappointed with many open tables w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was disappointed with many open tables we were sat by the doors going into the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great as always! Never disappoints, food ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great as always! Never disappoints, food has flair and beverage list is off the chain.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, great food and great service ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great menu, great food and great service, they use local food providers for fresh meals, really great options to fit any taste!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter didnt seem personable or enthusia ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waiter didnt seem personable or enthusiastic about serving us or being there. There was something in my wine and the waiter just said ok and brought me another one. A good waiter or waitress would've said "i apologize about that i will get you another one". The little things count.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The Manship was amazing but it always is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Manship was amazing but it always is! Can't wait to have another date night there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our reservation ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was excellent. Our reservation was on time. We waited for service and waited for food. Worth the wait. My chocolate dessert was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What a great spot! The food and service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What a great spot! The food and service were fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift card we wanted to use. Gr ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a gift card we wanted to use.

Great service, food and location!

LOVE the bread and dipping oil too!!

We will be back!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot in Jackson with many fa ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A wonderful spot in Jackson with many farm to table ingredients. The food is wonderful and the drink list is extensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server Ms. Dot was great. I was disap ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My server Ms. Dot was great. I was disappointed that the shrimp scampi was not on the menu any longer. Can it be made to special order??? Thanks!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was excellent. Service was very g ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was very good. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always been a huge fan & supporte ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have always been a huge fan & supporter of this restaurant. Unfortunately we went for our anniversary & they had just changed to the fall menu. I was very excited to see what they had new. I had the lamb shank which had very little flavor & was not tender at all. My husband had the short rib & had to ask for salt & pepper. The brussell sprouts were so tough I couldn't cut them with a knife, we sent them back. On a positive side the duck wings were fabulous! I will go back again because 1 bad experience can happen anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the veggie options that are seasona ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Love the veggie options that are seasonal and always a la carte. I really appreciate the extra effort of sourcing local, organic and fresh ingredients.

The art on the walls could be a lot better.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Fresh Grouper filet as origina ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fantastic Fresh Grouper filet as original unique evening entree: perfectly flame seared w/ butternut squash, roasted red pepper, etc. fusion

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overlooked, well burnt redfish to the po ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overlooked, well burnt redfish to the point that it was uneatable by my date. Pizza and duck wings were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great veggies! Okra super tender and fri ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great veggies! Okra super tender and fried perfectly. Flavorful roasted cauliflower. Delicious squash.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, unique menu and extremel ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food, unique menu and extremely friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, I was pleased with the venue an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall, I was pleased with the venue and food. What really was displeasing is that I placed a reservation several hours before and when I arrived they didn't have a table ready for my date and I. We had to wait for a quite a bit on a table to be prepared.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We gathered there after my son's gruelin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We gathered there after my son's grueling college soccer game. The game started late and we needed to move it back but they were very accommodating. The Table of as great, the food was great (the duck wings appetizer is decadent!) and the waiter was very helpful and attentive. My son's legs started cramping up from having come from the game. Our waiter went back into the kitchen and poured a glass of pickle juice and, although hard to drink, it seemed to work since he was stopped cramping. That's being attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Only suggestion ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and service. Only suggestion - get better "doggie bag". The paper bag absorbs and sticks to surfaces.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food! Loved the tilefish and the a ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 23, 2016

great food! Loved the tilefish and the avocado and tomato fattoush. All delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time to the Manship and ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our 1st time to the Manship and we were expecting good things. But it was not so, the service was horrible and very slow. The pimento cheese was ok they burnt our pizza but quickly got us another one the tile fish special was very good and the short rib pasta was good too. The oven roasted cauliflower we were a little disappointed it was just bland and had no seasoning or taste. The desserts were not good as well the chocolate mousse was way over mixed and over whipped it was like eating pockets of sand because of the graham cracker mixed in. The apple cobbler left a bad after taste in your mouth (FYI peel your apples next time) and the pana cotta with peach compote had too much gelatin in it it was so stiff and it was also very grainy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Very good food, service an value! Would ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good food, service an value! Would recommend highly. Great menu an bar waiter was very helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are vegetarians (meatless diners). Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are vegetarians (meatless diners). The options available to us were very limited. No vegetarian entrees except the Farmer's Market Pizza. We ordered that. Rest of the items came from came from the side items menu. The Fattoush Salad and the Garlic Spinach were extremely good. A few side items were disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for a friend's birthday. We ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went there for a friend's birthday. We all enjoyed the food and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant in Jackson

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Jackson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. We have eaten many places but ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing. We have eaten many places but expected to see the talent and care put into this food in Jackson.We ordered aa charcuterie plate,Mac and cheese,pepperoni Pizza and wings.All was locally sourced and put together perfectly.Although the location is little strange I would not miss this restaurant if you are travelling through Jackson or live there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious meal! Love all the local prod ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious meal! Love all the local produce used !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Manship is always delici ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food at The Manship is always delicious. It is very consistent in quality, taste and presentation. The wait staff is always attentive. This is a great place for business lunches.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.