About The Manship

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Steven O'Neill: 769-243-6630x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
1 More
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

fit for foodies (35)
neighborhood gem (35)
special occasion (32)
See All
great for lunch (28)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (21)
notable wine list (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (12)
romantic (8)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My sister and I came before the ballet s ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My sister and I came before the ballet she's not from Jackson the chef is a former student and and I was anxious to show him off and the food, fresh tomato salad, bread, lady peas and whole fish were outstanding. Wine helped in our choice by our great was perfect .

Just one thing The portions were so large we could have split them and been well satisfied Well done, Alex!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The smashed hash browns are killer! One ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The smashed hash browns are killer! One of the most decadent things I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alex was wonderful as our server. I had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alex was wonderful as our server. I had the grouper special which was awesome. Never a disappointing meal here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Manship's menu and food never disapp ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Manship's menu and food never disappoint. At dinner recently we sensed our waiter was quite busy with many tables to serve--perhaps someone had not shown up for work at the last minute? The alert manager saw us hesitating and came over to talk with us, and we also saw him bussing tables. This kind of teamwork and kindness to customers reminds us why we want to go back to this great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were hoping for a casual quiet atmosp ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were hoping for a casual quiet atmosphere to conduct an informal business meeting, but we were seated near the kitchen and there was so much clatter that we had to yell to be heard. Our reservations couldn't be found when we arrived, so there was a scramble to seat us. The wine was great. We weren't real impressed with the food, either - especially the cheese tray and hanger steak. It's great for a different taste every now and then, but with everything a la carte, it really adds up.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great hummus and spit-fire chicken. Ser ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great hummus and spit-fire chicken.

Service was on the slow side but not bad enough to deter us from returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food, excellent service, and a coo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, excellent service, and a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always nice for friends who want to have ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always nice for friends who want to have a casual lunch and you don't have to hurry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a delicious lunch with a friend. I h ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a delicious lunch with a friend. I had the oyster sandwich which was a feature that day. yum

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places... From the m ...

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of my favorite places... From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you walk out....its a great experience.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My date and i had an amazing dinner at The Manship on Thursday June 2nd. We started out with the duck wings and pork belly appetizer, both of which were outstanding. The pork belly was served with a creamy polenta, and quite honestly, may have been the best bite of food I have ever eaten. FYI, I've been in the restaurant business for close to 20 years. For entrees my date and i split some rabbit ravioli and pork shoulder, both of which were on point. Joshua, our waiter, was great! we never lacked for anything, and his service was attentive but not intrusive. I would request him again when we go back. Oh and don't leave w/o trying the blueberry cobbler. perfect way to close out the meal. For you fans of wines and spirits, The Manship, has an outstanding wine selection, with some very interesting cocktails as well. can't say enough about our experience. Get there asap!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner all around. Service, food ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great dinner all around. Service, food, drinks. Great atmosphere. Love dining at the Manship.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place in Jackson hands down! You r ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Best place in Jackson hands down! You really can't beat the food. It gets better and better every time we go. The spring onions are delicious! We love how the menu changes relative to what is in season and look forward to the specials. You can go wrong when choosing to dine here for lunch or dinner. Need to try out the breakfast, just heard about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mushroom side dish was not good in my op ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Mushroom side dish was not good in my opinion. I like a lot of water with meals and I got thirsty three times, to the point that I had to stop eating my meal. I even asked if I could have two glasses, but was told they were NOT ALLOWED TO! Nearly $100 for two people. I don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good dining experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined here for our 2 year anniversary. The food was excellent and the drinks were very good. I was pleasantly surprised. I'd definitely recommend the atmosphere for a good date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service on a Thursday ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food and service on a Thursday night. Quieter than usual because Fondren First Thursday was going on in Fondren.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I are regulars at Manship ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I are regulars at Manship, and it's one of our favorite Jackson restaurants. I went with a couple of friends recently on a week night, and we all got the pizzas. The ingredients and selection are good, but this is the second time I've gotten a pizza with a burnt crust. The others were fine. I don't think I'll order another for a while, but that's okay, because the Duroc pork shoulder is always a great option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't beat it! Best place in Jackson fo ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Can't beat it! Best place in Jackson for quick lunch, healthy options, cocktails with friends, or date night! It's our go to spot no matter what the occasion. Loving the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Manship

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Manship - both times were excellent. The Grouper was spectacular!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time and will definitely go ba ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Our first time and will definitely go back! Highly recommend the tuna dip appetizer, Duroc Pork Shoulder, Ribeye Dickie, Mac n Cheese and the Jerusalem Artichokes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always. Have yet to leave dis ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great as always. Have yet to leave disappointed. Can't go wrong with the red fish. It's simple but full of flavor. The strawberry panacotta CANNOT be skipped! I don't care how full you are, do not pass on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

For a place that has wood fired pizza oven, no excuse for soggy crust in the middle! Food too salty.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Dinner Experience

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We met old friends for dinner and had a wonderful experience. The food was good and served in a timely manner. The cocktails were delicious. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't get much better. Not overpriced an ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Can't get much better. Not overpriced and world class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was superb. Service was excellent as always. LOVE IT

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The Manship menu is replete with excellent entrees that every foodie will enjoy. The seafood selections were thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. Our server was both attentive and well versed in the menu selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience for our 30th Ann ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

What a great experience for our 30th Anniversary!!!! From our host greeting is at the door with "Happy Anniversary", our own keepsake menus, the knowledgeable waiter who greeted us by name and also congratulated us. We were visited by the owner during our meals and our desert was also personalized with " Happy 30th Anniversary". By far the best entree on the menu was the Spitfire Pork Shoulder. So thankful that the 1st recommendation was booked so we didn't miss this great evening!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant around. Food is world cl ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Best restaurant around. Food is world class, service is fantastic, great bar selection...... All around simply hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rachel was excellent. We will certainly ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Rachel was excellent. We will certainly ask for her the next time we are there which will be soon. We were going to a play at New Stage and she timed us perfectly without rushing or delaying. What a personality she has. The food was great but Rachel was the best.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and superior Bar

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Manship's food was superior, especially the pork belly appetizer. The bar is excellent and their vast inventory of bourbons is exceptional. Our server's knowledge of their bourbons was extensive and very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for date night

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my wife to The Manship for a romantic date night. We were very impressed with the food and the drinks. Our server, Jason, was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered suggestions. We will be repeat customers and we will ask for Jason.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Went here on a special date with my girlfriend prior to the Mississippi symphony orchestra that evening. Made a reservation for 6 pm and was seated promptly right after we walked in. Staff was very attentive and welcoming. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive. We started off with the crab beignets which were absolutely delicious. I had the rabbit ravioli which was also great. The gamey-ness of the rabbit was rounded very nicely with the rich sauce. My date had the lasagna which she said was excellent. Overall, great experience. Already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was what stood out. My favorite ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was what stood out. My favorite dish of the night was the pork belly. It was a dream. My wife loves the place. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Valentine's Treat

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Manship is definitely the place to go for Valentine's or any occasion if you

want fantastic food and service. The drink selection is the best by far of any where I've

been. The food is top quality and seasoned and prepared flawlessly. The service was

refreshing and always there when wanted.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! I dine often at t ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious as always! I dine often at the Manship and for whatever reason have never ordered the shrimp poboy, I finally decided to bend a little from the more healthier options and it was worth it! The shrimp were a decent size and fried to perfection. It's something I'll crave and go back for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Jackson

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Definitely the best in Jackson today; probably the best ever. Very intelligent composition of dishes, breath of offerings, execution in the kitchen, knowledgeable service, functional layout, and great bargain wine list. Playing with a full deck and able to meet special requests. Would earn a Michelin star if Michelin ever came to Mississippi.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice menu

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Lunch was very nice with excellent service. Luckily I made a reservation as the lunch crowd was active. The daily lunch is a good option. Ample with a nice side. I had the Red Fish sandwich with Polenta and tho the sandwich was small the polenta was best I've ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Manship! We celebrated my birt ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Love the Manship! We celebrated my birthday there and had a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food! We tried several thing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Outstanding food! We tried several things - a cheese board, smoked BBQ wings, Greek chicken, and roasted cauliflower and it was all so good! Great service and anywhere that allows a reservation is a plus for me :) we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.