About The Manship

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Nick Mathes: (769) 243-6630 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Great for Lunch (27)
Wood Oven (27)
See All
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (18)
Open Kitchen (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Private Room (8)
Great Beer (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had made a reservation because I had a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I had made a reservation because I had a relative in town on business. When we arrived the server was taking us to our table and someone told her to stop by the booth to seat us. She tried to explain we had a reservation I told her the booth would be fine. We ordered and asked for separate desserts and we were asked 4 times were we sharing one dessert. Also the waitress slid our desserts spoons on the naked wood table that she got from somewhere. I felt that was unsanitary. I had went here before is why I wanted to show my relative who is a Comptroller. I am a RN nurse supervisor and the server treated me like I couldn't pay. I was thinking this in my mind and then my relative said it to me which was very embarrassing. I tried to show her Jackson had nice places to eat and then I get this. We both loved the food is why we came because the Chef who cooks there is great. The food is worth the money.We left a tip even though we were treated poorly by some not all. I would recommend this restaurant and would go again hoping this was a one time incident.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Delicious food and drinks! The drinks w ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food and drinks! The drinks were extremely small portions unfortunatel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the pizzas and salads for lun ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the pizzas and salads for lunch ! If you have the EatJxn. And it's 2 for 1 pizzas! Delicious !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good waiter. Food was not up to par ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good waiter. Food was not up to par this visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a delicious meal. Loved the dinn ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a delicious meal. Loved the dinnerware. Very easy to eat the salad and main course with a slight bowl shape to plates. That way we got all the yummy sauce.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can count on Manship for a great sel ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 27, 2016

You can count on Manship for a great selection of appetizers and entrees with a special flair. Sides are sufficient for two to share. Mains are perfectly prepared. One of the best bars in town.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Organic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Jackson, ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Jackson, great ambiance and great food at a reasonable price, what more could you ask for!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great steak, great service! Definitely w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great steak, great service! Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent at a moderate ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service excellent at a moderate price point. I enjoy The Manship for business lunches.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. Nice atmosphere. Good variety ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good. Nice atmosphere. Good variety of food to choose from. Wonderful, full-service bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Family Style, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time at this restaurant. Wait staf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Wait staff was awesome! Food was delicious. Clean. Modern. I will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, reservations allowed for imm ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great meal, reservations allowed for immediate seating, server knowledgeable about menu, wonderful dining experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait staff was confused. Steaks from a w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wait staff was confused. Steaks from a wood fired oven were cold and tough. They were "sold out" of a signature side dish due to a large dinner party.

Requested a table when they called to confirm reservation and they attempted to seat us in a booth as all other table were "reserved".

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The hostess was not professional. The f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The hostess was not professional. The food was fair. The roasted artichokes were not edible. They were not prepped properly. Sharp and very tough. The short rib was like warm. Overall, not the experience we hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I initially ordered the Prime Rib and wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I initially ordered the Prime Rib and was very disappointed, it was very dry and the portion did not justify the pricing. They were great about swapping it out, I had the Pork Shoulder with Sweet Grits and Greens! It was amazing as usual. Appetizers were fantastic as always. If you haven't tried the Duck Wings they are great.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat.

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding the dishes were ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Service was outstanding the dishes were excellent. This was out first visit and were a little apprehensive about some of the dishes. The waitperson relieved out fears and we were presented with a delicious meal and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did an excellent job in every ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our waiter did an excellent job in every-way. He is a Bourbon fan, as am I, and was able to suggest a new Bourbon which I ended-up loving! Now if only I could find it locally. The Manship offers an excellent bar menu. The oven-roasted veggies were outstanding as usual. This was an early Christmas gift for a friend visiting from out of State and he loved the restaurant. The fall menu is great and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is good, but a tad bit overpric ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is good, but a tad bit overpriced. The bar was awesome.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was great. I loved the atmos ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was great. I loved the atmosphere and overall ambiance of the restaurant. The food was also great! A little over-seasoned for my taste, but still good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend and will likely return next time I'm in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Manship is one of my favorite restau ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The Manship is one of my favorite restaurants in Jackson. I eat here as often as I possibly can. Nov. 22, was my birthday, so my friends decided to offer me a treat. We were all pleased with our food, including my vegetarian friend. He had a vegetable plate (with a choice of four).

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Atmosphere and aroma was great! Nice lun ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Atmosphere and aroma was great! Nice lunch specials.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is located in the unlikely ne ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This place is located in the unlikely neighborhood place in Jackson, Mississippi on the 1st floor of the Baptist Health Systems Medical building. Great food, great service, and good ambiance!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place, especially the veggies. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love this place, especially the veggies. Go for lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great; however, our waiter ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was great; however, our waiter was not. He was too casual for the restaurant. At one point, he brought spoons to the table and actually slid the spoons across the bare table to my husband and me and walked away. I was in disbelief. Once we got our desert, we asked the server (not our waiter) for more spoons. We never got them. My husband had to go up to the kitchen and ask for spoons. Our waiter was mopping. Wow! When we go back, I hope that we receive much better service. If not, we won't be back. The experience is just as important as the food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was disappointed with many open tables w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was disappointed with many open tables we were sat by the doors going into the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great as always! Never disappoints, food ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great as always! Never disappoints, food has flair and beverage list is off the chain.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, , Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, great food and great service ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great menu, great food and great service, they use local food providers for fresh meals, really great options to fit any taste!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter didnt seem personable or enthusia ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waiter didnt seem personable or enthusiastic about serving us or being there. There was something in my wine and the waiter just said ok and brought me another one. A good waiter or waitress would've said "i apologize about that i will get you another one". The little things count.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The Manship was amazing but it always is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Manship was amazing but it always is! Can't wait to have another date night there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, , Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our reservation ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was excellent. Our reservation was on time. We waited for service and waited for food. Worth the wait. My chocolate dessert was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What a great spot! The food and service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What a great spot! The food and service were fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift card we wanted to use. Gr ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a gift card we wanted to use.

Great service, food and location!

LOVE the bread and dipping oil too!!

We will be back!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot in Jackson with many fa ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A wonderful spot in Jackson with many farm to table ingredients. The food is wonderful and the drink list is extensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server Ms. Dot was great. I was disap ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My server Ms. Dot was great. I was disappointed that the shrimp scampi was not on the menu any longer. Can it be made to special order??? Thanks!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was excellent. Service was very g ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was very good. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always been a huge fan & supporte ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have always been a huge fan & supporter of this restaurant. Unfortunately we went for our anniversary & they had just changed to the fall menu. I was very excited to see what they had new. I had the lamb shank which had very little flavor & was not tender at all. My husband had the short rib & had to ask for salt & pepper. The brussell sprouts were so tough I couldn't cut them with a knife, we sent them back. On a positive side the duck wings were fabulous! I will go back again because 1 bad experience can happen anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the veggie options that are seasona ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Love the veggie options that are seasonal and always a la carte. I really appreciate the extra effort of sourcing local, organic and fresh ingredients.

The art on the walls could be a lot better.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Fresh Grouper filet as origina ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fantastic Fresh Grouper filet as original unique evening entree: perfectly flame seared w/ butternut squash, roasted red pepper, etc. fusion

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overlooked, well burnt redfish to the po ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overlooked, well burnt redfish to the point that it was uneatable by my date. Pizza and duck wings were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.