Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Ryan Messina, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ryan Messina

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (151)
Historic (133)
Special Occasion (124)
See All
Romantic (86)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Worth the Drive (62)
Good for a Date (58)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Great for Brunch (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Live Music (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Authentic (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Cozy (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Fireplace (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Seasonal (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
People Watching (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
5305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Medium... A lot of sandwichs and no food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced, underspiced food in a great atmosphere. You don't dine here for the food. You dine here for the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Highly recommend it to anybody that staying in Yosemite. Wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The dining room is beautiful. The piano player was a nice addition, very enjoyable.
After years of visiting the park, this was my first time at the Majestic and I certainly will return.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely experience. My daughter loved the piano. Delicious food.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

You are definitely paying for the ambiance vs. the food or service

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We hadn't a lovely meal but the ambiance is simply amazing. Definitely worth it!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance with mediocre food and service. But it's all about the ambiance! Plus, what are your other options??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing view in a grand hotel style--best in the valley. Good wholesome food that is well cooked but nothing edgy or pushing the envelope. Service is slow so expect to enjoy the scenery a long time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The Majestic was an absolutely stunning place! We had a really hard time getting there, because there were so many road closures. Thankfully, we were finally able to make it in time for our Easter reservation celebrating our anniversary. There is pretty much no cell service once you enter Yosemite so the struggle was real!

The atmosphere and ambience is elegant, stunning, and quite fitting for the location. Our waitress was so sweet. There was a gentleman playing the piano, and it was very calming and romantic. My husband had the North Beach Cioppino, and he thought it was very flavorful and liked it very much. The portion size is very small though, and not the most filling thing for a man. Maybe this would have been better with a pasta included.

I had the Grilled California Angus Striploin, and I wasn't a huge fan of broccolini so I was able to get a side of sliced cucumbers with bleu cheese dressing on the side. The dressing was so delicious that we both couldn't stop talking about it. Find a reason to try it! My steak was very tasty. The pepper pieces were very strong though so if you aren't a huge pepper fan you might want to omit that. I dipped the potatoes that came with the entree in the dressing too, and they were so good!

We were given the cutest carrot cake cupcake with an Easter theme plated saying "Happy Anniversary!" It was very thoughtful and taste delicious! We were extremely satisfied with our service, and the kind gesture!

Besides dinner, we had breakfast there as well and stopped in another time for cappuccinos by the fire. The grounds are very beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Met every expectation and beyond however the last seating at 2:30 had very few choices left. The only deserts left were cheesecake and chocolate eggs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A wonderful experience of old Yosemite. The food was very good and the ambiance was exceptional.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was lukewarm. Why haven't they figured out how to get the food to the table hot when it is coming from the (apparently) far distant kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Awhanee (er, Majestic) has one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the world but our recent visit there was very disappointing. After waiting long past our reservation to be seated, the service was abysmal. Food was quite disappointing, served barely warm and ingredients didn't taste fresh. For these prices we expected much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was friendly and attentive but not annoying.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The dining room is lovely. We were seated by a window, as we requested. However, the sun was shining in really brightly and made it a little uncomfortable. About 3/4 of the way through our meal, the waitress offered to lower the shade. That fixed the problem completely, but I'm not sure why it took so long for the offer to be made. We didn't know that it was possible to lower the huge shades, or we would have asked right away.

My French onion soup was really good. However, the burger my friend ordered well-done was overdone and black on the outside. For the high price of the lunch items, the quality was not really there to back it up in terms of flavor or presentation. I doubt we would try to eat there again. We were hoping for a special experience, but we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

$18 for a Reuben sandwich that had about 2 slices of pastrami? Not worth it. The free bread was excellent. Service was top notch and attentive. KIDS Grilled cheese on wheat bread, child didn't touch it. How about serving the grilled cheese on the fresh bread you make? Room was beautiful but I will pass next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went to the Majestic (the old Ahwanee) for breakfast with my teenaged daughter during a visit to Yosemite. A truly classic, historic dining room in stunningly beautiful surroundings. We got a window table for two. Service was fantastic. I indecisively ordered the buffet, my daughter had blueberry pancakes. My sense is that the made-to-order dishes were much better that the same dish on the buffet - next time I'll order a la carte. Food was good, atmosphere great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was below average - quite a contrast to breakfast at the same restaurant I might add. Server took 20 min to take our order (apologized) then did not get food for 40 min - a total of one hour at the table. Food was bland, lamb chops were over done ordered medium rare ravioli was bland. Ambiance is great and the room is wonderful. Ordered room service earlier in the week- using the same menu food arrived in 25 min prime rib was delicious. Save your money and eat there for breakfast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful food and great service. We celebrated our Anniversary and it was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We planned a lunch outing to the Majestic during our multi-day visit to Yosemite, where we could also celebrate our son's sixth birthday in a special way. We were given a wonderful table in the alcove and our service was excellent. Sandra McCoy (Our server) went out of her way to make our son's birthday special (lit candle in his hot dog, etc.) The food was excellent and the experience was lovely from start to finish. Thank you Majestic staff - especially Sandra!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excelente desayuno con un ambiente inmejorable en Yosemite

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Visiting Yosemite for the first time
Problems with our credit card which definitely the blame lies with the majestic hardware since we used it previously for 10 days in the USA and without problem the following morning having breakfast at the half dome village and paying our hotel bill at the Yosemite view lodge. It was embarrassing and costly since we had to pay with another card that incurs additional cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Make sure you make note of the dress code....although it's quite ok for kids to wear hats (weird!) Had some poor beginning service and was told by the manager, we would receive top notch service. Took 7 minutes to get water, and an additional 10+ minutes to get our drinks ordered. We decided to leave.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful food in a romantic setting. The hotel is famous and historic, nestled in Yosemite valley. We had a window table at dusk with a parade of birds, squirrels and deer. My husband declared his prime rib perfect, and my stuffed acorn squash was delicious, followed by heavenly desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

An excellent experience in ambiance and dining. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the wait staff was extremely courteous, efficient, and helpful. The live piano music was very pleasant. The food was very good and well presented. Surely a Yosemite "not to be missed" experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Live Music, Scenic View, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our waiter, Jerry, was fantastic in every way. 3 meals at this restaurant and all were great including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Pretty normal but only nice place in yosemite. You dont need dress code as they mention

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were excited to try the famous Majestic Hotel Restaurant and made our family reservation months in advance. Of course, the ambiance and views cannot be beat (it is Yosemite!) but the food was terrible and grossly overpriced. I would recommend getting pizza in Curry Village - so much better! We were a party of four and nobody thought their food was any good. We aren't picky eaters - we just expected that at a restaurant with a historic reputation and with such high prices, that the food quality would match. Disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Reservations highly recommended. Glad that dinner hours still have a dress code. Not a stuffy type, but the dress code adds a touch of class to the experience. Staff, food, and ambiance are exquisite. Of course the views out the huge glass windows are fantastic, and one-of-a-kind, after all, it's Yosemite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As a kid we always are our last breakfast at the Awanee aka Majestic. It's one of the more memorable parts of the trip. This time my wife and I did it with our kids, to continue the tradition. Great ambiance and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Dining Room at the Majestic Hotel is a must do in Yosemite if you are looking for a relaxing, formal dinner in a historic setting. The beautiful large dining room can feel a bit cavernous, but the volume level is surprisingly low and the serenading grand piano sets a nice tone. The menu offers a decent selection of mostly traditional American fare to satisfy most diners. The service is good, perhaps very good at times. There were a few miscues. After receiving my first glass of wine and enjoying my first course, I was never asked again if I wanted another one as my server checked back on me until I was just about done with my entree (the dining room attendant was much more attentive!). At the end of the meal, I was asked about coffee, to which I ordered an espresso. The espresso arrived well before the dessert course; I prefer a more typical process of finishing dessert and then enjoying the espresso. Small points, but I do expect top notch service when at a "fine dining" establishment. All in all, a very nice and memorable evening - one I would definitely do again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I would highly recommend having a meal at the Majestic Yosemite Hotel dining if you are visiting Yosemite! The food was phenomenal and the ambiance unmatched. Reserve early as times fill up fast!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came for the first time to the Majestic Yosemite Lodge for dinner for both our daughter's birthday and our anniversary. The food and the service were excellent. Well worth the price. Beautiful dining room, nice atmosphere and live piano music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been going here since the 1970's and it is always special. Even with the name change, etc it is still worth it!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was ridiculously slow, waited over 40 minutes for soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We enjoyed a day trip to Yosemite with lunch at the restaurant with our friends(4). We made reservations ahead and we showed up early. We were glad they could seat us early and close to the windows for great viewing. The menu is marked for gluten free items and very easy to read.

Our bus gal was great but our waiter could use an attitude adjustment! When lunch was served, horseradish was requested. While he was gone, I noticed the hoagie sandwich had little or no dressing, so I requested mayonaise. His reply was"Is there anything else? The kitchen is far and on the other side." Not what we expected early in the day or anytime else.

Food was ok but on the high end but you are paying for the location. We did have the soup of the day a beef vegetable which was great. Yes we would go again but certainly not with that waiter.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service, from seating to meal to coffee refreshing, was awesome. The lodge building architecture is beautiful with a wonderful historic ambiance, unfortunately some of the food was not even average. The hamburger and Reuben sandwich were tasty, but the fries were disappointing, hard, dry and not very hot. Sorry guys, McDonald's does it better and of course less expensive, but we mainly went for the beautiful lodge. Do not plan to eat there again (unless someone else is paying). Not sure I would recommend the restaurant, but did not have a choice for "maybe". Depends on why the other party was going. Ambiance - excellent, food - mixed reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food & attentive service. Exceptional pianist. My son who plays the piano himself was impressed so much so he gave the piano player a hefty tip.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Waiter didn't really show any enthusiasm for his job

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.