Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Ryan Messina, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ryan Messina

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (234)
Special Occasion (182)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
See All
Worth the Drive (121)
Romantic (120)
Good for a Date (86)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Authentic (69)
Great for Lunch (68)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Great for Brunch (63)
Historic (62)
Good for Groups (45)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Live Music (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Fun (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Seasonal (27)
Casual (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
People Watching (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Afternoon Tea (23)
Disabled Access (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Business Meals (10)
Fireplace (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vegan (7)
Organic (5)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
5662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

ヨセミテ国立公園内で優雅に食事ができる唯一のレストラン。
今回は朝食をいただきました。パンケーキは大判3枚にベリー3種のフルーツ添えにメイプルシロップ。コーヒーは何杯でもついでくれます。ビュッフェを食べている人もいましたが、単品の方がボリュームがあります。
予約は必須。こちらのアプリから簡単に予約できました。

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

An experience. We shared the steak and thank god we did it was huge. Well worth the price. My kids felt fancy

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Brunch is pretty sad, they try to sell the buffet and reduce the menu to some simple dishes. The quality is extremely underwhelming. You are paying for the view and history.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

All meals here are magnificent. Breakfast is sublime with a wonderful eggs Benedict on the buffet- it was light, delicious, just perfect. Lunch, dinner, Sunday Brunch were all spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The location can't be matched anywhere!

I've eaten at this location (formerly the Awhannee Hotel Dining Room) many times over the last 35 years, and have always been impressed with the food, service, and ambiance... But, this time, the food was truly average or below, as agreed by all 5 in our party (A sad experience for me, since this was built up as a stellar place to eat to our friends from Japan - Personally, I've had better Prime Rib at cheap roadside franchises). The server did well to make the best of a less than stellar showing by the kitchen. But, from the time we were seated to the time the food arrived - about 1 hour and 15 minutes for very standard menu entrees (people who arrived 20 or 30 minutes after our party, were done eating before our food was even at the table). The dining room eas only about 1/2 full, so I dont get it. We were very polite, so it's not like we offended anyone and were black listed... That we know of...

Sorry, but, based on this visit, I can't recommend the Majestic Yosemitie Hotel Dining Room until the Service Company for the Yosemitie National Park Concession has been replaced, or has made a stellar overhaul of their dining sector.

Sadly Disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful ambiance to enjoy a special evening. This is truly a wonderful place to eat. We ate dinner at 830 p.m and the entire dinning room was full. Reservations are a must

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The dining room had a beautiful interior and the food was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely fantastic food and environment. Highly highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful food. The staff were friendly and accommodating. And it goes without saying that the location is spectacular. Beautiful views and architecture that complements the natural beauty surrounding it. Only downside, really really miss the original name. Bring back the Ahwahnee please.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Beautiful inside and out. Service and staff were very pleasant. Food was over priced and small portions.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

No way to beat the grand dinning room at the Majestic. Deer and coyote strolled by. A fantastic experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We very much liked dining here the 3 nights we spent at the Majesty Hotel beginning of August 2017.
The servers were very helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and we especially enjoyed the pianist.

We did find it a little cool in the cove area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

While the setting could not have been better and the staff other than our waiter was exceedingly friendly, this was a somewhat disappointing dining experience. The inflated prices were expected and for the unique location not too far from reasonable. Our waiter was not openly hostile, but was disinterested/snobbish and cold especially to our children (11 and 14) who joined us. He made no effort to do anything more than take our orders and then was not seen for extended periods of time. The strip steak I ordered was simply one of the worst cuts of beef I have ever been served. The meat was tough and multiple tendons were present running through the middle of the steak, something I have never seen in a strip cut which this was represented to be on the menu. My wife enjoyed her meal and the dessert was wonderful. Overall it was an enjoyable experience, but it could have been much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The Majestic Hotel is a beautiful hotel/restaurant right in Yosemite National Park.
It is a beautiful place surrounded by very impressive views.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

If you are visiting Yosemite, this is the finest dining establishment within the park. The dining room is very large & beautiful. It has lots of charm & fits the setting of the historic lodge with vaulted ceilings, log beams, stone walls, chandeliers , candelabras, & large picture windows with views of the Yosemite valley rock walls. Built in 1927, it has retained its original look & feel. There is a dress code, so guys should bring a shirt with a collar, & blue-jeans that are not torn. Girls are asked to wear a dress, skirt, or long pants with a blouse. No t-shirts, shorts, flip-flops, ball caps, etc. The menu was sufficient, & very straight forward, nothing overly creative or outside the ordinary for a good restaurant with a trained chef. There were meat, fish, chicken & pasta dishes offered as main courses, as well as a vegetarian dish. Main course prices range from $26 - $50. The portions were very large - I had the Roasted Rack of Lamb Provencal & it was 8 lamb chops - enough for 2 people! The Oysters Rockefeller was also a large portion (8 large). So if you are hungry, the amount of food is more than plenty. Restaurants in major cities offering these dishes do not serve this much food. The lamb was very well seasoned & came with a Cauliflower mash & some glazed carrots. The oysters could have been seasoned better. They were very cheesy, but I could not taste any Pernod (which is what is typically used in this dish & was listed as an ingredient on the menu), & the spinach was bland. Onion & butter were missing from the Oysters Rockefeller & I don't believe they used a very good Romano cheese as most recipes for this dish call for. The oysters were very fresh however. My dining partner had a special of the day - a crusted pink trout, that was delicious. A minor distraction during the meal was the presence of a mouse running across the window sill next to our table. But after-all, you are dining within nature & the presence of such creatures is not surprising.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We have been here before and the experience has been excellent. We love the food, the service is very good, and the ambience is very nice also. The views outside the windows of the valley are gorgeous. It is a classy place to go. The food is slightly pricey, however the quality is excellent. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent, personal service, very high quality food, scenic beautiful historic setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The Majestic dining room is impressive and the service outstanding. The variety of food for breakfast was very good. The variety of food for dinner was average. The menu was a standard variety of food for an old time restaurant, Prime Rib, steak, rack of lamb. I would not call it a fine dining menu, although the ambiance and service was. The quality of the food was average at best and the prices high. I still rated it as 3 stars because of the quantity of food served. Portions were very large. Too large for my husband and I. We should have shared our entrees. If you eat that much food then the prices were fair for the quantity, but not the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is an historic dining room in a lovely 1927 hotel. The hotel was 'The Ahwahnee', named after a local tribe, but had to change to 'The Majestic' due to a recent trade mark dispute between the National Parks Service and a former concessionaire. Let's hope sense prevails and the hotel gets in rightful name back!

The meal was good; we ordered steaks, medium rare. One came out perfect; the other was too 'blue' but no delay in getting it right. Service (Malcolm was our waiter) was very good. We had to have several goes at the choice of wine (the California Viognier was most peculiar-- tasted like peach syrup!; usually viognier is a safe bet) but Malcolm was very accommodating and we landed on a very good Californian Chardonnay and an excellent bottle of Syrah (Tous les Jours 2015) from Andrew Murray (no, not the tennis player) from the Santa Rita Hills near Santa Barbara.

We were staying in the hotel, so went down for Sunday brunch -- very expensive at $54pp but with wide choice of seafood, roasts, pastries, etc. We had the standard eggs, bacon and hash browns at a more affordable charge. It's the dining room (splendid views over the Yosemite Valley meadows; walls of granite stone and local pine columns; all in Art Deco meets native Indian design) that makes this a dining destination, rather than the food (safe, not exceptional), and the service is very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been there for 3 times. Everytimes, I and my wife enjoyed the meal.
At this time, I went with our dauters.
The staffs were very kind and friendly.
Especially, Chris!!
Our daughters had a nice dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our 50th anniversary, special dinner, special place!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lunch did not meet our expectations in terms of food flavor or quality. Otherwise, the restaurant ambiance and service was excellent. Would we go back? Not for lunch... might try dinner if in Yosemite again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was subpar and expensive. I would not recommend eating here. It is a shame that the only supposedly decent place to eat in the valley is such a let down!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

I would have to add, a great place to eat on the holidays! I've been coming to Yosemite for 55 years! Too bad about the fires in the forests and the loss of the traditional names!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

If you get to Yosemite and can't stay here, check it out for dinner or lunch. Dinner was booked during our stay so we opted for a late lunch. Very good, staff very helpful. Wish it wasn't such a long drive for those not staying in the Valley. The Concierge was extremely helpful afterward giving us tips on how to drive to Tahoe over Tioga Pass and stops along the wAy.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had lunch with our two children. Great location, lovely views and the food was good! Would recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel dining room is a must for anyone visiting the park. The room is beautiful. Arrive while there is still daylight and try to get a seat next to one of the large windows facing the mountains. The view is stunning! The food and service are adequate but it really isn't the main reason to eat here. The history and the architecture are the stars of the show and anyone who appreciates the classic American lodge aesthetic will not be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The best Yosemite has to offer!
Can't wait to return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Happy to be back to the Ahwahnee, Majestic, after 30 years. The history of this hotel is so incredibly interesting. Loved the ambience and the views. Food was good and service attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

A beautiful view. Go for drinks and a fun chat with the servers.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Top notch service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We booked for the Sunday brunch. It is a sensational building in an unforgettable setting. The Brunch didn't disappoint. Something for everyone. One of our daughters is a vegan and that was slightly more tricky but not impossible. Our waiters Frank and another chap whose name escapes me (sorry) were excellent. Really friendly and warm without getting in the way. It's expensive but as a one off special occasion we felt it was worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful setting in an old historic lodge that has been beautifully restored! Food and service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was wonderful to dine in such a beautiful, historic building. I loved the whole experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel restaurant was excellent with high quality food in a spectacular atmosphere with impeccable service. Our family had the Ahi tuna, the Salmon, and the rack of Lamb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

So beautiful and historic..great service. Delicious but pricey.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent! Great ambiance in a great setting. Majestic indeed. Good food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Very friendly and attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was lovely - especially after camping the night before. Spent some time at the hotel after and made a morning of it. Good to do something different in Yosemite. Loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The Majestic is like stepping back in time while enjoying thoroughly modern cuisine. The baked cauliflower appetizer was out of this world! A great place for making memories.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is our second visit to The Awahnee, now Majestic. The music provided by the pianist was like being in a concert hall. the ambiance is surreal. If you are in Yosemite, and would like a really memorable and special meal, visit this hotel and restaurant. Just do it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.