About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Percy Whatley, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Percy Whatley

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Yosemite ›

scenic view (474)
special occasion (401)
romantic (235)
See All
great for lunch (174)
great for brunch (165)
good for groups (125)
fit for foodies (112)
kid-friendly (82)
notable wine list (47)
neighborhood gem (46)
hot spot (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The room is lovely and the view is even ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The room is lovely and the view is even better. The food is perfectly fine, just nothing special. We were very tired from a day of hiking so our meal was short and sweet. Went back for brunch in the morning which was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had always wanted to eat here. It wa ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had always wanted to eat here. It was nice but nothing memorable. Glad we at lunch there but the food (basic lunch fare) and the price I felt that it was expensive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our waitress Judy was the epitome of pro ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress Judy was the epitome of professional and provided outstanding customer service.

For a National Park food was great.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very beautiful hotel with fantastic room ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very beautiful hotel with fantastic rooms and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful dining room with grand Window ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful dining room with grand Windows to view the majestic granite walls. Lovely chandlers with pretty table settings. Nice round tables with pretty candle sticks lit to bring the ambiance. This grand dining too was stunning food was excellent and service was awesome. It was a great experience for us celebrating a special occasion. We chose where we wanted to sit because we knew it was probably the first and last time we would dine here. We had the first time slot for dinner and it was quiet enough for us to enjoy this was a Saturday evening 5:45 dinner time. We had a beautiful time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is huge and very impress ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The dining room is huge and very impressive. Very tall ceilings with wooden beams and large windows. We had the best seat in the house in an alcove at the end of the room with windows on 3 sides. The view of the falls was blocked by trees but still a pretty view. Our food was excellent and the service was prompt. We had the trout almandine, pulled pork sandwich and linguine with mussels. All were very good. The desserts were also very good - peach/blueberry pie with ice cream...yum! We enjoyed our lunch there and would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is Terry & Lori Coffee, don't know ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is Terry & Lori Coffee, don't know why Patrick's is on my trip!!!! I just wrote a review to the Hotel also - terrible since the gov't took it over. Food was lousy, expensive, service was poor, Hotel was very expensive and the room was ugly. No coffee in room either. What a beautiful location, however. Too bad they do not know how to run a Hotel and Restaurant. You also booked the Quail Lodge for us, they were wonderful, everything was a 10. Thank You

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The dining room was spectacular. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The dining room was spectacular. The food and drink was very good but I was surprised that the service was not great. Our server seemed rushed and wanting to move onto her next task/table.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Although service was good, food was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Although service was good, food was very slow coming out of the kitchen. My fish was cold, dry and tough. Sent it back. Redo wasn't a whole lot better. Food mediocre. Disappointing. I had a great meal there 3 years ago and was expecting another memorable experience. It was...just for the wrong reasons..

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Teh menu for lunch could have mire varie ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Teh menu for lunch could have mire variety of entrees. Most of them are sandwhiches. The ambience is fntastic

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful experience! Yosemite isn't jus ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience! Yosemite isn't just camping, you can have luxury too! Dinner menu is pricey- I suggest the Wawona Hotel if you want a more affordable dinner. But lunch was amazing and I can't wait to visit again in the spring! We even had a doe and her young fawn trot by our window!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a marvelous time. Our waiters were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a marvelous time. Our waiters were a team of 2, and when our main waitress was busy elsewhere the assistant was right on top of everything, aware that she was busy elsewhere, thus providing excellent service.

Compliments to the Chef. Although my wife and our friend enjoyed their meals themselves, I am reviewing what I had. I had the Tuna which was the special dish that night, sorry I don't recall the name of the dish. It was Asian based in flavors and was absolutely delicious sporting an array of 100's of flavors!!! Would love it again!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. We drive up for the day , ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always great. We drive up for the day , with friends, and always have a good time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dave, our server, is the consumate profe ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dave, our server, is the consumate professional.

Very knowledgeable, witty, and laid back.

A talented pianist played lovely tunes to accompany dinner.

The food was very good and we saw a mother deer and baby doe right outside the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was very good- great meal. Excel ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dinner was very good- great meal. Excellent service and memorable atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Brunch is definitely worth it. Good qual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Brunch is definitely worth it. Good quality food in a beautiful location!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 80 minutes for our food to arr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We waited 80 minutes for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We dined at the Majestic on both nights ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dined at the Majestic on both nights we stayed in Yosemite.

We were seated promptly. Our boys (8yo and 11yo) were given etch-a-sketches to play with in lieu of crayons and paper (kudos to the zero impact!). The server's assistant was very knowledgeable about the wine list and even provided my husband samples of wines that were off list. He was so knowledgeable that my husband mistook him for the hotel's sommelier and the second night my husband asked for him and was told there wasn't one.

We ordered the Brussels Sprouts as an appetizer - delicious. I had the chicken that came with perfectly smooth mashed potatoes, multicolored roasted carrots, barely wilted baby spinach, a tomato mixture, breast and thigh/leg portions of chicken, and the most amazingly flavorful sauce that filled bottom of the plate. My husband enjoyed his braised pork osso bucco. We ordered the chocolate chip cookie with ice cream and salted caramel sauce. It was very good - especially the cookie, although the sauce was only on the ice cream and very little of it - that could be more generous.

Although this review is for the first night, but I will note that on the second night I had cancelled our Open Table reservation because we thought we'd be elsewhere in Yosemite. When we were back in time for dinner, we asked if there were reservations available. There were no reservations, but we did get a pager and were able to be seated within 15 minutes. I ordered the same entree the second night due to food allergies and because I enjoyed it so much the first night. Unfortunately the kitchen staff must not have been the same because it was not nearly as visually appealing, had fewer components on the plate that were not as well prepared - actually very poorly for the vegetables and almost no sauce, and wasn't as tasteful as the first night. The inconsistency was a disappointment - really the only one of the meals at the Majestic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

With a place of such attire requirements ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

With a place of such attire requirements you'd think they'd know how to make a Caesar salad. The ravioli was also of poor quality, with barely any filling and a tasteless sauce. The service folks were friendly; however it was overall disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

breakfast buffet was terrible. very po ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

breakfast buffet was terrible. very poor selection. hash browns were completely cold. the waffle tray was completely empty & only a few pancakes left. the fruit was like it came from a can of mixed fruit, not fresh sliced

Next time I will order off the menu for breakfast. Dinner was good, but skip breakfast buffet, especially for the high price they charge for the buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We had window seats with an excellent vi ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had window seats with an excellent view. We enjoyed the rustic charm of this old hotel. I especially appreciated having reservations as Yosemite was very crowded on this day.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is definitely the best to offer in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food is definitely the best to offer in Yosemite, but is priced to reflect that. However, the food and drink is still quite good, just more expensive than they could justify charging if competition was around. The dining room is beautiful, the staff friendly and attentive and the overall experience wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Super, beautiful, delicious, great servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Super, beautiful, delicious, great service, perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited the Majestic for Sunday brunc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited the Majestic for Sunday brunch. The dining room is beautiful with incredible views. On Sunday's they offer both a very extensive brunch or regular menu. My husband elected to try the brunch, and enjoyed an omelette, cheeses and pastries with juice/coffee for $50. As a smaller eater, I selected a breakfast entree from the menu (2 eggs, vegetable hash ,fruit and muffin) for @$15. This is a treat that should not be missed!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A must each time I visit the park. Terri ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A must each time I visit the park. Terrific spot to wrap up several days on the trail.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly. Wait staff ask ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were seated promptly. Wait staff asked for our drink order promptly. We gave food order and waited 60 mins. Waiter brought out bread to tie us over without us asking. Nice! He let us know our order was coming. He handled situation well. Food was just ok. I'm probably just spoiled by the fabulous brunch served on Sunday's. We we're there for lunch on Saturday. I will go back but not for a Saturday lunch. I'll aim for Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful old hotel with magnificant vie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful old hotel with magnificant views. Highest ceilings ever and wonderful decor. Service was old school, very knowledgeable and helpful making selections. We had three children under six with us and they were treated very nicely. Food was good, shrimp salad had tiny baby shrimp which was a disappointment but other dishes most satisfactory. Would certainly recommend for special occasions. Quite pricey but worth it for a special fsmily get together.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is lovely and as "majesti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The atmosphere is lovely and as "majestic" as always with the high, beamed ceilings and beautiful views of Yosemite through the wall of windows. However, the food and service were nothing special for what you pay. Our waiter never brought the second drink our guest ordered and my trout, recommended by our server, was indeed tasty, though a bit oily. Our pasta lovers were not impressed by their dish. We will continue to come, mainly for the atmosphere, but not with expectations of a great meal.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We loved the dining experience. The re ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We loved the dining experience. The restaurant has an elegant yet casual atmosphere- perfect for a lodge. This lunch was the perfect accent to our Yosemite experience. Our group had four adults and five children and everyone had a great meal. The pasta, sandwiches and salads were all fresh and perfectly seasoned. The ten year olds needed larger pasta portions and one child never received their fruit cup. However all in all, the experience was excellent and we plan to return on our next trip to the park.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A truly wonderful room with high ceiling ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A truly wonderful room with high ceilings and tall, tall windows looking out onto parts of Yosemite. A great place for any meal. The food is very good and better than expected, but one comes to be in Yosemite and to see the room and its view.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was awful! She was complaini ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our server was awful! She was complaining how she got double sat and took a while to greet us. We ordered drinks, appetizers along with a starter salad and soups. When we got the soups we asked where the salad was the server told us it wasn't ready yet. When a couple minutes went by we asked if the salad was ready. She then asked us if we ever took a kitchen tour and if we knew how it worked. That was unacceptable! I have worked at a restaurant and usually the server double checks the trays the expo puts together to make sure all the food is on their tray. If they don't have someone to put their trays together it's their job to make sure all their food is in one tray for that table. She even complained to other tables when she went 5-10 minutes of not greeting them. After 25 minutes into lunch we asked if the drinks were ready and she said she had put the order in and they were probably ready but she did not grab them yet. Thankfully, we ordered wine because if they were mixed drinks they would have been watered down. I understand she was busy but you do not complain to the guests. It was by far the worst dinning experience I have ever had and it's a shame because we love dinning at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

We only managed to get a reservation for ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We only managed to get a reservation for breakfast as dinner booked up in advance. All 5 of our family went for the buffet option. Disappointed given the magnificent surroundings of the grand dining room. Slow to replenish empty dishes. Very dry bakery items, Definitely not freshly baked. Hot items ok. Not the grand experience we were expecting

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Okay food, very expensive for what you g ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Okay food, very expensive for what you get. Amazing dining room but I wish the food lived up to the ambience

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Excellent meal with excellent service in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent meal with excellent service in historic hotel -- nice change from other dining venues in the park. Loved the piano, too. Only complaint: our table for 2 was too small and situated on the main aisle -- not very romantic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went because I thought it would have ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went because I thought it would have a spectacular view of Half Dome and a peak of the falls. Neither. Ceasar salad dressing was terrible. Prime rib was good and cooked correctly to order. NY steak also good. Menu had limited selections. Expensive food, expensive drinks. Many of light bulbs in light fixtures were burnt out. Cob webs visible on the windows and trim.

Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

They forgot to alert us when a table was ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

They forgot to alert us when a table was ready even though we had a buzzer. I had to go to the hostess to remind her we had a reservation and had been waiting for a table for 30 m minutes. Service was slow and the quality of the food was mediocre for the price and hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I was very disappointed. We went there ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was very disappointed. We went there for a lunch. Ordered calamari. What a joke. Really? Not that good at all. Calamari is kind of a standard item for appetizers. Simply mediocre and with a boring ketchup sauce. The Reuben sandwich was pretty good. Not worth the price to just soak up the atmosphere. Would not go back. Great waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Main building was very nice but cabins w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Main building was very nice but cabins were below standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

There is no more picturesque dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There is no more picturesque dining room than the Majestic (aka Awahanee) dining room. If you have never dined there it is a not to miss opportunity. The food is good, but not great and the service is friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had set very high expectations for di ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had set very high expectations for dining at the Majestic ( formerly Ahawanee) hotel . This is a very top of the line hotel and restaurant. Service was slow, waiter appeared to be annoyed when we asked for cup of coffee while he had another task in mind. Food was fair in that french fries were soggy. The fish was good. We used the online reservation system and found that the dining room for both breakfast and lunch were no where near full with about 40% empty tables. We could not get a dinner time reservation so settled for a 1:45 pm late lunch. We left about 4 pm at which time seating was still well under capacitiy and we could have had dinner at a much more reasonable time.

This is a very expensive restaurant and with a well known reputation for excellence.

We have stayed in other locations in Yosemite in the past but this was our first experience at the Majestic and assumed that their 5 Star rating would be seen in the entire experience.

John malthaner

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.