Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Ryan Messina, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ryan Messina

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (188)
Historic (154)
Special Occasion (140)
See All
Romantic (107)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Worth the Drive (87)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Great for Brunch (56)
Great for Lunch (45)
Authentic (44)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Live Music (35)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Cozy (27)
Fireplace (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Afternoon Tea (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Seasonal (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fun (17)
People Watching (16)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Healthy (14)
Disabled Access (12)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
5409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined a day ago

As always, we had a perfect experience! The staff and food are exceptional! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Food mediocre. They should update their dress code to eliminate " blouse." Beautiful dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food selection and service. The setting is fantastic and offers lots of opportunities to work off all the calories just ingested.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A spectacular old hotel in Yosemite. The brunch was delicious with an enormous selection. The ambiance is classic but for brunch they allow you to be casual. The valet parking is free with brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but the service was terrible and that really colored our experience. We waited and waited for our food, and finally asked the bread server gal to get our food, because it seemed like our waitress was too busy chatting up others. Our lovely dinner was almost cold when we finally got it. Our dinner took 2.5 hours and they weren't that busy. We had to skip dessert because everyone was getting sleepy. I have had much better experiences here, but not this time... really poor!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambience here is magical. On this visit, the food was OK and the service was OK. Food: Not always as described, e.g., we ordered Cesar salad, billed as having white anchovies, but in fact there were no anchovies. When we asked for them, we were brought first the standard brown anchovies, then finally white ones. Surprisingly, cioppino does not come with a bib, a bowl for shells, or even a spoon unless you ask. Cioppino (at $28) is a very small portion, which waiter had warned us about---6 mussels and 3 shrimps, maybe some crab bits---but has 2 huge floating chunks of bread, as though in an attempt to make it look bigger. Strange. NY steak was excellent, however. Homemade gelato was absolutely primo. On balance worth it for the ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We spent two days at the Majestic and ate in the dining room several times. The setting is beautiful and the service was very good. However, the quality of the food was disappointing. For example, the turkey club for lunch tasted like it came from the refrigerator section of a 7/11 store. Prime rib at dinner was delicious but the accompanying vegetables and Yorkshire pudding were cold and burnt.

Again, the setting is outstanding but the kitchen needs an immediate overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Had lunch in the Majestic after a big hike in Yosemite. It's absolutely beautiful and the service and food were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, mediocre service for the place. Overall a nice experience..

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Gorgeous view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was nice, service was excellent, but the food was mediocre and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit to the restaurant. I must admit that I was a little disappointed. For instance, I ordered my meat medium-well, and it was very clearly medium-rare. The fries were luke warm and reminded some of our party of the frozen variety you buy at the local grocery store.

There were five in our party, and we all came away with the same ho-hum perspective on the food. The scenic beauty is certainly the draw here, and the staff was attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall experience was good. Denise, our waitress was very friendly and nice which we appreciated. Service was a bit slow especially when the bus boy forgot to bring a cup. He brought the hot water but totally forgot the cup. The North Beach Cioppino was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good food, excellent service, nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The dining room is the most spectacular room in this historic hotel and if you're caught in the rain in yosemite, I can't think of a nicer place.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Had a seat by window.... friendly staff.. had a cheesesteak sandwhich and my mom had rainbow trout followed by creme brulee..

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I visited for my birthday and they sat us at the Queens table. They said the Queen of England sat here when she visited. The food was good the view was amazing. The service was good. The prices were a little high but I expected it. I would definitely recommend this for any occasion.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful celebration for my daughters 21st birthday!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Although unnecessarily pricey, we enjoyed the experience. Do it again? Not sure. Maybe just the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

When in Yosemite where do you eat? The Majestic Hotel has 2 options: light meals at the Bar and the Main dining room. The main dining room is always fully booked yet the staff and chefs do a good job of making you feel welcome and we were treated well. Good food at a reasonable price in a tremendous atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 16, 2017

What an amazing gem inside the Yosemite National Park! The food, ambiance, wait staff, etc...everything was top of the line!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The 5 of us had the daily breakfast buffet on a Monday morning . The food and the service were excellent and the prices of the various breakfast items were very reasonable. Hopefully the govt will rule against the concession company that is holding the name Awahnee hostage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow. We had a reservation at 9 a.m. But didn't get in until 9:20. Unusual when you have a reservation. Some don't want the brunch sooo the wait staff needs to remember to take the other people who aren't doing the brunch. Waffle was cold. We will be back. We are regulars to the majestic. Every week.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The foods were very tasty. The environment beautiful. However, several of our entrees were not hot which is a big deal to me. Service was slow to greet our table and get things started such as water and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The hamburger buns were stale, the Shrimp Cobb Salads had very little shrimp and were drowning in dressing. Overall an underwhelming experience. The patio and bar are great areas to sit and refresh after a long hike or walk through the valley - if you can get a server.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortunately our experience didn't match the grandeur of the Majestic Yosemite Hotel. We have dined at the hotel when it was the Ahwahnee and have noticed a decline in customer service as well as the quality of food. Our waiter gave us a disinterested impression as though it was at the end of his shift: no smile and lacked energy. The staff busing our table had more energy and was more attentive. The food (lunch menu) was on on par with a "diner" experience and our dessert (bread pudding) did not get an even warming in the microwave. It was dry, had warm and cold spots and the chocolate chunks were not melted.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very pleasant experience although the check in lady looked a bit frazzled with dealing with the guests

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Terribly disappointed in our recent meal at this normally above excellent restaurant. We were not seated until 25 minutes after our reservation time, trout was over cooked, not enough staff to check on any problems. When a server came to bus the table, I told her the trout was terrible and she thought I was kidding. I had only eaten two bites.

The meal was removed from our bill and the manager did come by to apologize, but the other six members of our party had finished their meal and I was still hungry.

I hope they hire more staff for the "busy season."

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have had many great meals and memories in this grand old hotel, when it was the Ahwahnee, and under new management this restaurant and hotel epitomizes what happens when corners are cut. The quality has declined while the price has increased . Overall disappointed and unlikely to return.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

You sent an email to me saying we didn't make the reservation but we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic - got a window seat for both breakfast buffet and lunch the next day. Terrific food and ambiance! Just can't be beat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A one of a kind classic. Everybody needs to dine here at least once in their life!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful.
We went for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
We were disappointed with the service and the food was mediocre. French onion soup had to be sent back because it was lukewarm and there were just a couple pieces of onion in the broth. Reuben sandwich was good but the fries were cold. Salad was as expected.
Waiter also forgot the beverages.
You are paying for the location and the view.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful historic dining room in one of the most beautiful settings in the world, Yosemite Valley. Service was wonderful, and we were able to secure a window table. Food was high priced, but to be expected on such a rarefied atmosphere in the high Sierra Nevada, but it lacked the little touches like a garnish in the soup, a mint on the check, etc, but I sure would eat there again if I am able to ever return to Yosemite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch after a morning hiking. It was delicious and filling.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I was overall unimpressed - I had lunch here while visiting Yosemite and ordered a chicken salad which came with cold nasty chicken. Service was pretty good and the dining room itself is lovely - the Majestic has a location that absolutely can't be beat - but it's overpriced and the food was subpar. The soup of the day was a chicken and rice soup which was very good - but my Santa Fe-style salad with black beans, corn, tomato and avocado left something to be desired. The cilantro-lime vinaigrette was delicious.

Perhaps dinner is better? But I seriously doubt it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

What a beautiful room! We were seated in the back along side the huge windows. The views are gorgeous. Attentive service. But the highlight was our meal. We both had the fried trout for lunch and it was delicious. I highly recommend trying to have at least one meal here while you are visiting Yosemite.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Waiter less then interested in us or job.
Food appearance lacking. No condiments on table or on sandwiches or burger. Was 68th wedding anniversary celebration...asked for simple recognition by open table and while there. Nothing done.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Superb atmospheric building in an idyllic setting- very grand. Another alternative to enjoying the splendour of Yosemite National Park.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Lunch there was wonderful as usual. Great service, delicious food and of course the view is out of this world. Take a walk around the grounds when you are there.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.