About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Percy Whatley, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Percy Whatley

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Yosemite ›

Scenic View (464)
Special Occasion (393)
Romantic (229)
See All
Great for Lunch (178)
Great for Brunch (162)
Good for Groups (133)
Fit for Foodies (112)
Kid-friendly (90)
Notable Wine List (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was nice, service was exc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant was nice, service was excellent, but food was very disappointing. My wife had swordfish which was overcooked and dry. I had lamb, which was cooked well but seemed to be an inferior quality. It was really not very tender.

I think it s probably impossible for a restaurant with more than 100 tables to serve meals with a consistent quality. This is the only game in town at the park, but I can not recommend it. Expensive price and only fair food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Dined their for my 60th birthday; excell ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dined their for my 60th birthday; excellent service from George. The assistance waiter (can't remember his name) was very attentive; took a great picture to remember the occassion. I had prime rib my husband had scallops; everything was very traditional and tasty. Cocktails outstanding my mashed potatoes were excellent as was the salad and prime rib. The setting is breath taking all I can say is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our stay the menu never changed. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

During our stay the menu never changed. There are only two options on the dinner menu for vegetarian/vegans. We would have preferred to eat in the hotel on more evenings, but the menu was not flexible. Even an option of the many vegetables offered in the various non-veg courses plus a bake potato would have been acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I went there for a speci ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 7 days ago

My daughter and I went there for a special meal. We knew it would be expensive, but were surprised at how expensive! Plus, her rack of lamb was overdone and barely warm. The cauliflower was cold. We ended up sending it back and she got a pasta dish instead (which was extremely salty and thereby not particularly edible). The wait staff were very kind, helpful and apologetic, but for the cost of the meal (with drinks--over $120!), we were both very disappointed. We won't be coming back even though we are at Yosemite yearly. Nor will we recommend any of our family or friends eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Brunch was bountiful and had special sel ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch was bountiful and had special selections like raw oysters. Everything was fresh and tasty. We arrived earlier than our reservation and were seated right away at a window table. A special desert treat for wife's birthday was comped. Price was well worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always good at the Ahwahnee for Bre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It's always good at the Ahwahnee for Breakfast, Sunday brunch or diner since 1947 ...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 50th wedding anniversary. We ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our 50th wedding anniversary. We asked for a quiet nice table. We arrived on time and they set us in between 2 serving stations. We ask for a better table which they got an half hour later. Worth the wait. Our server was Malcom, he was great. There were mice and rats running by our window all evening. Most people probably would not like to see that. Over all we had a good anniversary evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish was over cooked. Short staffed, lon ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fish was over cooked. Short staffed, long time to order, to get served, to be offered dessert menu, coffee. No choice in table offered

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

After a morning of hiking and wildlife w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

After a morning of hiking and wildlife watching, my daughter and I enjoyed a lovely, leisurely lunch at the Majestic Yosemite Hotel dining room. No matter how many times I have eaten there, the sheer size of the dining area and its design elicits a sense of awe. The wait staff is always attentive and exhibits a level of training befitting such an elegant dining area. The menu offered a nice variety of items including gluten free choices. The food was served attractively and piping hot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had both lunch and dinner there and b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had both lunch and dinner there and both were excellent. The strip steak and lamb were delicious and the ambience of the room is spectacular! Also loved the boysenberry pie! For lunch shrimp Cobb salad was excellent and our only negative comment was that the Reuben while good lacked the customary sauerkraut. Servers were very personable and helpful! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good. The dining room is b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good. The dining room is beautiful. This may be the "only" dining in Yosemite park. For that reason it's worth the money. Especially if you're celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The setting is gorgeous, but the food co ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The setting is gorgeous, but the food could be better. Entrees were good, not great. Salad options were terrible: traditional spinach salad or an uninteresting green salad (with rock hard tomato) that you'd find at a diner. We had a surprisingly superior meal the previous night in the Mountain Room at the Yosemite Valley Lodge.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Came here at the end of our trip to Yose ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Came here at the end of our trip to Yosemite. Food was great, although there was only one vegetarian option, it was very tasty (and everything on the menu is well labeled). Great place for a fancy dinner after living in a tent for a week!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining room at the Majestic Yosemite ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The dining room at the Majestic Yosemite is the perfect embodiment of elegance, history, and majesty that are so lacking in today's world. Dining there is a truly special experience that is best reserved for very special occasions that you want to remember for years to come. We celebrated our marriage at this hotel 38 year ago, and returned last week to again experience its beauty and romance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive wait staff. Beautiful. Good fo ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Attentive wait staff. Beautiful. Good food. Seated immediately. Excellent coffee!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely ambiance. Our waiter was terrifi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely ambiance. Our waiter was terrific and had been there for more than 40 years. I had lamb chops that were outstanding. Companion had charcoal cooked prime rib that was butter knife tender. Would recommend to anyone for a classic experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and food, which was refle ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great location and food, which was reflected in the price. However the menu is limited, I would have liked to see a couple more options on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

On 8/17/2016 we enjoyed a wonderful lunc ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On 8/17/2016 we enjoyed a wonderful lunch with family visiting from Oklahoma. Food and beverages were excellent. The exception was the horrible service from our server who couldn't remember what table ordered what and would disappear for 15 to 20 minutes at a time. First initial "P" tall man. Never asked if everything was acceptable. The best part of the service was his assistant Erika who handled the problem we had with one meal - a Caesar salad that had NO FLAVOR at all. Just lettuce.

Erika asked how lunch was and if we needed anything and noticed one Caesar salad had hardly been touched. When told it had no flavor she offered to address the issue with the manager and, despite our saying no, not to bother, she did! They took the salad off the bill!

Erika was attentive and checked in often. Erika took our drink order as soon as we sat down and gave it to "P" (she was under 21). After waiting 20 minutes for "P" to bring our drink order we asked Erika where he was. She said she didn't know but would find him. She did and he came to our table to say the drinks would be ready shortly, at which point we said we wanted to order because of the time lag between when he would wander by. He said he'd take the order when he brought the drinks - we then watched him walk to the bar and hand the order to the bartender. 10 minutes later our drinks arrived and he took our order.

Food, drinks, ambiance, Erika and location were awesome!!! "P" not so much. Hopefully, management saw our note on the bill stating "slow, very poor service" and no one else will have to suffer through "P" as their server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

My group was so saddened by the changes ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My group was so saddened by the changes in the (old Ahwahnee) Majestic Hotel dining experience. It's no more than a deli sandwich experience that cost much more. Our server, Michelle, was great, but was working alone that day. We went for a special lunch experience and was sadly disappointed. I hoped to plan an event next year for a much larger group - sorry to say, I will be looking for a different experience. The food just wasn't worth it. The dining room is as always - spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

What a wonderful dining experience! The ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience! The service, food, ambiance and background piano music were just what we needed after a day of hiking. David, our server, was exceptional and attentive to our needs. Truthfully, we didn't know what to expect after reading some not so positive reviews from Trip Advisor...however, I can only give a five out of five for this lovely evening. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a celebratory dinner at the Majes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a celebratory dinner at the Majestic after our momentous day of hiking Half Dome. Our table was ready right on time for our 8PM reservation for our party of 6. It was our first time at the Majestic and the room and table settings were beautiful and the piano player added just the right ambience. The food was delicious and the cocktails and beer selection was good. Our waitress and wait staff were attentive, helpful and funny. It's pricey, so this was a special occasion place for us. So we were happy that our experience was so positive. We would definitely go again when in Yosemite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was somewhere I had wanted to eat f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was somewhere I had wanted to eat for years! The setting is beautiful and we had a very nice server! However, despite checking by phone & in person as to the dress code, and being told it was "resort casual", my husband & son were not allowed in due to them wearing shorts (August, National Park, thought we were ok). They have "loaner" pants, but one size does not fit all! I eventually

asked for a manager & we were seated (after a short

wait - they probably were hoping we'd give up) near

the door...two tables away from a group where an

adult male was wearing a baseball cap throughout

dinner...classy! I'm glad we experienced the

Ahwahnee/Majestic, but the food is just average &

the waitstaff did not recommend three of the five

dessert options. Also worth noting is that there is no other dining option at this lodge at this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful setting and view Our server wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful setting and view

Our server was friendly yet

Seemed rushed Took longer then

Average to order and be served our drinks and food Server became preoccupied with one particular

Table Her assistant seemed to be doing most the work

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Slow service and Mediocre food at best E ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Slow service and Mediocre food at best

Every dish served was barely warm

The only reason to eat here would be for the ambiance/scenery

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent server in Dianne and the overa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent server in Dianne and the overall meal was very good. As a national park concession the presentation and the quality of food was better the expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The dining room in this historic lodge i ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The dining room in this historic lodge is a beautiful example of National Park lodge architecture...a must see. The food and service were all excellent, and I would recommend

this restaurant highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner! We made reservations for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing dinner! We made reservations for our first night at the Majestic hotel, it was so incredible we made dinner reservations for the next 2 nights of our stay. It is pricy but worth it! Great selection of meals, even for our children! My son had prime rib all 3 nights! You must try their signature Boysenberry pie. Our servers were Dave and Marc, they were great and very personable, they told us stories of Yosemite and answered any questions we had about the park. We didn't get a chance to eat breakfast there as we were too busy in the morning getting out and enjoying this amazing National Park. If you plan on dining here, make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We would eat sawdust in this beautiful r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We would eat sawdust in this beautiful restaurant but luckily their food was outstanding. We had a brussel sprouts appetizer that was so fabulous and huge that it served as one entree and my husband had the special pasta and it was fantastic.

We knew it was expensive but it was a very special place and the food was great. Coffee stank but then they made me a new pot and it was great.

It is special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is unbeatable, but the eggs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The location is unbeatable, but the eggs Benedict was soggy. The fruit was good and the banana pudding was tasty, but nothing really stood out as great. Typical hotel buffet faire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

the food was excellent and the views wer ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

the food was excellent and the views were even better. dress nice because this place is over the top in terms of ambiance and class!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iconic dining room but the food was just ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Iconic dining room but the food was just so so and the service average at best.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Grand Brunch buffet not worth the price. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Grand Brunch buffet not worth the price. Food was not turned over or replenished timely and selection was slim the further time passed into late afternoon. Ask for fresh serving spoons at the stations as they are the same from the morning and some were caked with food and dirty. A bit of a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The former Awahnee Hotel is a lovely rus ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The former Awahnee Hotel is a lovely rustic old hotel with a delicious brunch. It's quite expensive but for a special once-a-year meal with friends while in Yosemite, it's really nice. We pig-out on all the unlimited breakfast, lunch and dessert items!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

The dining room is a great experience in ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The dining room is a great experience in and of itself. It is a historic location with the views outside incredible. They have a great menu and the food is excellent. The wait staff are very professional yet mos friendly. My wife and I very much enjoyed our dinner at the Majestic Yosemite.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had lunch and dinner here. Lunch was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had lunch and dinner here. Lunch was very good. Casual food well prepared with nice little twists.Excellent service. We had the same waitress we had last year,so they must treat their people well! Dinner was outstanding! Great wine list as well. Not an inexpensive restaurant but the quality is extremely high and the setting gorgeous. Make reservations! Lots of people didn't and had a long wait. Very popular place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we booked on Open Table, there was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we booked on Open Table, there was no mention of a dress code. Therefore, my son was embarrassed when asked to put on a dirty server's shirt in order to be seated. It would be good for open table to put important information like dress codes on their site for booking.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Located in Yosemite with gorgeous views, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Located in Yosemite with gorgeous views, we were pleased at the freshness and preparation excellence. So much more than a hotel dining room. Really special. Staff was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The place was gorgeous and interesting. ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The place was gorgeous and interesting. The service was excellent. The food was a bit of a disappointment - it was way average, nothing special and 3 of us ordered the trout.

We had a problem because part of our party was late due to a wrong turn - the personal there were very helpful and accommodating.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Dave and his assistant were amazing.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dave and his assistant were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.