About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Percy Whatley, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Percy Whatley

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact Miriam Fitchett at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Yosemite ›

Scenic View (396)
Special Occasion (369)
Romantic (213)
See All
Great for Brunch (146)
Great for Lunch (142)
Good for Groups (115)
Fit for Foodies (97)
Kid-friendly (86)
Historic (69)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (31)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Live Music (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Fireplace (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Healthy (10)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Business Meals (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very lovely dinner at this hist ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very lovely dinner at this historic hotel and restaurant. It was my 60th birthday, and we enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and decor. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We especially enjoyed the brussel sprouts appetizer - very tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First re opentable: reservations for bre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

First re opentable: reservations for breakfast were made online and were in place; dinner reservations were pushed out a week by opentable and we didn't find out until we checked at the hotel ???!!! and therefore we had no reservations for 3 days! Will not use opentable again. The Majestic dinning room is very nice and has a nice dinning environment. The piano player was excellent and added a nice ambiance to the experience. Dining room was very good for breakfast - good food and good service. Dinner was not good: after being seated it took over one hour to get food - service was poor (our waiter left for a "break" and food was delivered luke warm); food taste and presentation was adequate but nothing memorable. Menu is very limited and prices are on the high side (wine is very expensive). After one dinner we ate at other venues.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Our dinner was for a special occasion. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our dinner was for a special occasion. We were given one of the best tables in the room. The service and the food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The setting is spectacular and the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The setting is spectacular and the food is okay. N

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was told it was a MUST when at Yosemite. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was told it was a MUST when at Yosemite. Dining room historic, beautiful and great views. Food was not worth 100.00+ for the two of us, plus dinner was at 7:15, so even though we were seated at a window, it was too dark to see anything! Our table for two was next to a serving station so I saw waitresses' backs most of the meal- hardly romantic. If I ever go back, I'll try breakfast or lunch- probably a better value and view.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Superb cuisine in a breathtaking setting ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb cuisine in a breathtaking setting. Beautifully preserved early 1900's hotel and dining room. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Majestic Yosemite restaurant lived u ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

The Majestic Yosemite restaurant lived up to it's impressive reviews.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A visit to Yosemite should include a mea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

A visit to Yosemite should include a meal at the beautiful and historic Majestic Hotel. If you don't want to spring for dinner, lunch is a nice option. We did both lunch and dinner--lunch to be able to see it during the daylight hours. Food was decent, service was friendly and the ambiance was fitting for such a majestic park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The apps and soups were phenomenal! Entr ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 7 days ago

The apps and soups were phenomenal! Entrees were under cooked however edible, not worth sending back. The desserts, unimpressive!!! The last thought you give a guest is just meh. As such an expensive destination area I would have expected a higher level of final execution. I know Aramark is affiliated however for fine dining dessert they should let the Pastry Chef just do what they do best! I am also a Pastry Chef and I hate being told by others how I should be doing desserts.

The service was wonderful! Please pass along to Nancy that she is one of the best servers/backers you have, truly world class! I would go back again just because of her!!

I did request fresh flowers however did not receive. We did however get a complementary Birthday cupcake however the icing was horrific, in both taste and appearance.

Breakfast buffet was good but nothing to write home about.

All in all the food was just ok but service was Amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Dining room is incredible !!! Candle ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Dining room is incredible !!! Candle light made it even better !!!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful experience celebrating our 50t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating our 50th anniversary. The food, ambience and service were all outstanding! Jerry was our server and he couldn't have been better. He was friendly, engaged us in conversation and provided outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reservation was great since they sea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The reservation was great since they seated us right away but I am not sure why there was limited booking times. The dining hall looked empty. The ambiance was wonderful since it sits right below Half Dome but disappointly the food was below average. I had the Southwestern Salad and my companion had the Trout Almondine. The salad had absolutely no flavor. A vinegarette on a Southwestern salad?? It did not work! I am not a picky diner but that salad was one of the worst. The Trout Almondine was "okay". Not good and not bad!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The atmosphere and was complimented with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere and was complimented with great food and serviceme.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had booked reservations 6 weeks prior ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had booked reservations 6 weeks prior to our trip. We dressed up for the occasion and were seated between two service stations. The air conditioner was next to us and very cold. Since we didn't order drinks or an appetizer we were mostly ignored. After we paid our bill, the server then asked if we would like more water.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great ambiance and great view make this ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great ambiance and great view make this a unique dining experiences. The vegetarian entrees were mediocre but everything else was delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ahwahnee Dining room (now called the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Ahwahnee Dining room (now called the Majestic) is a dining experience par excellence. The food is excellent, but the atmosphere is not to be missed. Dinner is pricey, but breakfast and lunch are not. If you're in Yosemite, make the Ahwahnee part of your experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Organic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate dinner at the Majestic 2 nights i ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We ate dinner at the Majestic 2 nights in a row while we were in Yosemite. The food was very good, the atmosphere was wonderful and the service outstanding. Very good wine list, too. Ask to be seated at one of Jerry's tables.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was great. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was great.

Always enjoy our meal there.

Somewhat surprised at the recent change in dress code though.

I always thought it was nice to see people in more proper attire at such a fine dinning establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the rubuen sandwich was not at all wort ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

the rubuen sandwich was not at all worth the money. the soup was fair. the pasta was good but the chicken did not appear grilled. The dessert and the wine were excellent. the locale cannot be beat.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

All staff exceptional and worthy of an h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

All staff exceptional and worthy of an historic fine dining locale. We had breakfast. Those having buffet got plenty of food. Those of us opting for basic breakfast got very small portions. No toast offered with eggs and bacon. Setting is what you go for. Great experience for anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Majest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Majestic Hotel (Ahwahnee) for three nights. Each evening we dined in the grand dining room. With slight variations in quality of food and service, we were quite pleased with our experiences. We'll be back - for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My sister her girlfriend were visiting f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My sister her girlfriend were visiting from Ireland, so my husband and I decided to bring them to a special place for dinner to celebrate my sisters friends birthday. First impressions of the dining room were impressive however everything went down hill from there. Service was slow, food was ok and to top it off the waitress hit my husband in the head with her tray and continued on. I am not sure if management changed from the last time we were there, but over all it has gone from a 5 star to a 1. Rated Sept 14, 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The Prime Rib was the SO tender every bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Prime Rib was the SO tender every bite melts in you mouth, by far the best Prime I have had.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for my husband's 65th birthday wa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Dinner for my husband's 65th birthday was special, sitting at the Queen's table. He had fish and I had the brussels sprouts appetizer with the vegan offering of eggplant/asparagus/lentils/quinoa/sauce which was very tasty and enough for two meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Caesar salad dressing is bland; better a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Caesar salad dressing is bland; better at Big Trees Lodge. Entrees are quite good, but steak is overpriced. Wines are overpriced, even for resort prices. Desserts are very good. Recommended for the view and the ambience; otherwise, you would never pay these prices for what you get.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our 46th Anniversary and with and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was our 46th Anniversary and with and luck we will be back for our 50th. The signs to the restaurant need to be improved, we were a little late 4 R reservation. I did allow 45 minutes to find the location from 120 south gate entrance. Your fight over the name ownership should not effect your guest's. But after all that the evening was very nice.

Bud & Dee Miller

Roseville CA

(916) 740-3126

Bud's cell (916) 741-7878

Dee's cell (503) 936-5385 Lake Oswego Oregon area code

Thank you

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel is filled wi ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel is filled with great views, lots of history, and decor that one would expect to see in a 4 star hotel within a national park. We enjoyed breakfast in the dining room, and were fortunate to get one of the finest tables, next to a window with an outstanding view. The breakfast buffet had a lot of selections from fresh fruit to salmon, eggs benedict, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, danish, muffins, wide selection of juices, etc. It was a great start to a day in which we hiked The Mist Trail to Vernal Falls.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The atmosphere is really fantastic, you ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The atmosphere is really fantastic, you feel back in the last century, food was rather disappointing

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a lovely spot and makes for life ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is a lovely spot and makes for life-time memories. The food was delicious and served in a gracious and timely style. The ambiance is unparalleled! Worth the drive and the crowds in the park!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal we have ever had. Hands do ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The best meal we have ever had. Hands down- period. Wildlife came right up to the ceiling to floor glass windows- epic views of Glacier Point and surrounding mountains. Specialized servers for each table. Local, fresh outstanding food with great presentation. BEST. MEAL. EVER....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffet brunch on Sunday 9/11/16 at T ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The buffet brunch on Sunday 9/11/16 at The Awahanee (it will always be called The Awahanee for me) could not have been better. yes, the price isn't cheap ($50/person) but food is excellent and varied. I ate as many prawns and salmon as I could. Even had seconds of the mac n' cheese. We aren't red meat eaters but there was plenty for those too. If price and amount of food is a concern, you can also order from the menu.

the setting is awesome. can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal at the Majestic our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great meal at the Majestic our first night in Yosemite. I ordered the special, a perfectly cooked and seasoned pork chop. Delicious!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent!!! And the foo ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was excellent!!! And the food was most excellent!! Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining at the Majestic Lodge in Yose ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The dining at the Majestic Lodge in Yosemite was a true delight. It is pricey but worth it. The setting is beyond description, the hotel is very historic and grand. The food was wonderful. Truly a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been wanting to dine at the Ahwahnee (ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Been wanting to dine at the Ahwahnee (nee Majestic) for years. Don't get to Yosemite often, and it can be tough to get a reservation during peak season. Managed to secure one for Friday night. The view is breathtaking, the service was pleasant and attentive. Even though it was very full, it is spacious enough that the noise level was low. Extensive wine list. And the food was amazing. I had the halibut special; father-in-law ordered the salmon. Both were out of this world good - in texture, flavor, accompaniment and sauce. As were the desserts. A little pricey, but worth it. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

9 of us were on vacation and totally enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

9 of us were on vacation and totally enjoyed the event. The historic piece was great and the food was very good.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always bring friends and family to Yo ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We always bring friends and family to Yosemite for a visit to the park and lunch at the "AHWAHNEE HOTEL" It is sad to find the name of this historic place not any longer being used.

We had visitors from out of state and were trying to explain the problem in the park with names all listed differently. Also the roads were all rerouted and not easy to navigate to the hotel.

Our wait was quite long as the hostess forget we had checked in early, confirming our online request for the Queens table and neglected to give us a pager and gave away the "Queens table" in the alcove to someone else. So we wanted to wait for it.

Nice but could have been VERY nice. Sharon

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Classic. Great way to treat ourselves a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Classic. Great way to treat ourselves after a morning hike to Vernal falls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a lovely, tasteful evening. Ever ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

we had a lovely, tasteful evening. Everything was so great that we attempted to go another night, but unfortunately could not get in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, peaceful and lovely envi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great location, peaceful and lovely environment. The food could have been better, but with overall satisfaction, I won't complain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.