The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

4.2
6533 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Troy Thompson, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 2:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 372-1489
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Troy Thompson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 15 guests or less, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For regular dining reservations of 15 guests or less, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Village Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 6533 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.2
service
4.7
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Quiet
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Waiter (Paul) was outstanding, food was fantastic, and we had a great family time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 3 days ago

What a disappointment! I went there 24 years ago, and the food was excellent. This time the food was poor and way overpriced. The restaurant has become a tourist trap --relying upon the ambience to attract diners. And the dining room was freezing. The cafeteria and the Loft at Yosemite were much better in terms of quality and price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Once a fabulous restaurant, now lives off of its reputation with very mediocre, expensive food. So sad to see in this beautiful setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Having a meal there after a full day of hiking Yosemite was wonderful. Great atmosphere, food and location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance and history - five star
Friendly and competent wait staff and servers - five star
Food options - varied and interesting -four star
Food quality and prep - depends on entree somewhat inconsistent
Value - reasonable considering location and accessibility. Better value at Wawona Big Trees restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This is the best alternative to have a nice finning in Yosemite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I will always call this the Ahwahnee Hotel and in my heart I hope the former concessionaire will return the name back to them. Such an iconic location, the views are breathtaking no matter what season.
We had a delightful and very professional wait staff. I'm on a restricted diet and was very happy to find their grilled chicken sandwich with mango chutney on fresh baked bun. Absolutely delicious. Our table enjoyed calamari, baked trout - was moist with deliciously crunchy crust, and the soup of the day was chock full of chunky vegetables. The berry pie was expensive but our home baker gave it high praise and we thought it was totally worth it. Plan to linger and enjoy your meal since it's not super fast, but in this place you will want to sit back and enjoy the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Really good lunch. Fries were a little cold though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I have not only eaten here before but I also worked here 40 years ago. :)
Many happy memories.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Yosemite is always a special occasion, but this was just our first breakfast in the park and we wanted it to be memorable. We were late for our reservation (got a bit lost on the way over), but we’re still seated quickly in what had to be the best table in the house. Right in the center of three soaring windows with gorgeous views all around. Staff was friendly and attentive, boys had the breakfast buffet - beautifully presented. I had Eggs Benedict, which was delicious - with perfectly poached eggs, and a side of hash. Hash was so good we ordered another for my son. Waitstaff kept our coffee and juices filled and sent us back out to the park with coffee to go! Well done - next time maybe we’ll bring proper dress and go for dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Meets expectations for food and service. Setting is incomparable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The lodge is beautiful. Leave extra time to look around. Restaurant and servers are stuffy and pretentious. Would appreciate it if they would follow their own rules. We worked very hard to make sure our entire party adhered to the very clearly stated dress code and we saw kids in shorts and flip flops, which were expressly prohibited.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely awful. We made reservations here during our trip to Yosemite. They were rude from the moment we stepped in the restaurant. Our waitress, who was actually kind and worked hard, struggled with another big party. The food - a few burgers, chicken fingers, a salad - took over an hour. And, wow, was it awful. And overpriced. Stay away from this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful hotel and a great experience just to see the well preserved decor and the magnificent building. The dining room is spectacular. Food and service somewhat uninspired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

With reservations for our 35th anniversary lunch, dish sautéed trout on menu are always both of us's most favorite; stay the night before at Marriott Merced, we got up very early headed to enjoy the natural beauty of Yosemite Morning.
for this lunch, I only sent over" few " msgs indicated the reason of our visit, looking to have a very very special day there. :)

during the check in, lady at desk must already read my msgs, she gave us a big big smile, sent us to the "special table", lady Usher said to us, that she's leading us to " Queen Elizabeth's Table",
I laugh respond "I'm honored ", Didn't realized it was for real, as we walk over to the small section of " dorm dining room" sit right by the window, I was "WOW".

Dalen- who done a great job help us picked nice wine to pair our order the "yummy sautéed trout" , dining with the beautiful views from windows our relaxing lunch ended with Chef's special designed cake that just perfect to sweet our hearts.

gave 5 stars to food, services, dining atmosphere and to such a beauty building facilities, dining with top views of the amazing beautiful Yosemite National parks, sure we'll be back again & again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

Food took a very long time to get to us, out of 4 entrees only the $18.00 hamburger was edible. The $28.00 fettuccini alfrefo with chicken came with no alfredo sauce, just olive oil and pesto with fatty thigh meat. The $10.00 chicken tenders were gummy and cold. The $17.00 chicken ceasar was ok.The iced tea and water was good. The bread basket was tasteless.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

PLEASE, Open Table, stop sending me emails. I only dealt with you once to get a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 7 days ago

This place is a rip-off. Went there for Father’s Day brunch. Seafood (shrimp cocktail, oyster, crab) was frozen and food was terrible. Polenta was hard as brick and they were out of a lot of things. We had to wait for really mediocre food. They had one person working both the carvery and omelets station. The omelette we had was tasteless, so was the pork loin, trout, and chicken risotto. The only passable item was their panna cotta. If you want to pay $56 plus gratuity for poor food and service, this is the place for you. Otherwise, SKIP.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Father's Day brunch was disappointing this year, not as good as Sunday brunch in previous years. Brunch food stations were not replenished timely enough, good quality food was either over cooked ( prime rib) or came out still frozen ( shrimp). Still, good friendly service, nice live piano music, great views and ambiance. Overpriced for what we got ($56 each)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

disappointed in quality of food, service. Very expensive and really not worth it. Dining room is beauiful and unique but the rest was just OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had brunch at the Majestic for Father’s Day. It was a wonderful experience...beautiful historic property and dining room. The service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We love the Awhanee (I know it's the Majestic, but to us it will always be the Awhanee), we've been going for years and Sunday brunch is always a huge treat. The food is magnificent and the ambiance can't be beat. It's a splurge for sure, but well worth it as part of our annual tradition when we visit Yosemite. Do it -- you won't regret it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

As part of a tour group, we lodged at The Majestic, and enjoyed two dinners at the main dining hall. The Dining Room is beautiful and immense, rustic. At one meal or the other, we had the caesar, crab cake, duck gnocchi, roasted cauliflower, quinoa, sturgeon, and prime rib. The sturgeon was not just menu filler....it was very, very good. Prime rib ordered medium was well done, while prime rib ordered medium rare was spot on. The horseradish was fresh and would take your head off, just like I like it. Elderberry pie was a good choice. Waitress Megan was friendly and smiling, waiter Marc presented as if he would rather be somewhere else.

This is where you go for fine dining at Yosemite....there aren’t many choices, but they don’t abuse the fact your choices are limited. It’s good. We’d go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We love the dining room. The server needs to touch up on her skills. We had to ask her for fresh appetizer plates, she ruined the birthday surprise and we needed to remind her about drinks. She was not very familiar with the menu either. Her buss boy and helper was fabulous. I think his name was Troy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Great as always

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

After a nice hike in Yosemite, this was a great way to come together and reflect on the beauty of the park together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

It is always wonderful at the Awahnee. I know Majestic.
Everything is perfect. Ask Paul. Waiter. To sing for you at the Sunday Brunch. Then tell him Norma jean said hi. I have been going to Yosemite 54 years. Gods special place he created

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The food and service were excellent. Online it says men are required to wear suit coats, but there was all kind of dress and mostly casual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

First time to Yosemite Park. This hotel is beautiful & dining room was majestic. Great service & delicious food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The food was very good. The service was VERY SLOW. There were at least 3 ladies that were in charge but as to workers and wait staff was only 3 for the dinning room.
We had part of our family there to help us celebrate our 56th anniversary. We got a cupcake after we had ordered a dessert.
The “flan” we purchased for $13.00 was the WORST “flan” I have ever had. It was not flan, which is custard. This “flan” was hard like a small piece of cake. No one asked us if we were happy with food or anything. We were not acknowledged at all.
I’ve eaten in the Awahnee many times, and I’ve not been disappointed but this time was close to a disappointment.
Andrea Violett

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The prime rib and the New York strip were very tasty however the sides were absolutely disgusting. It's hard to think about paying $150 for two pieces of meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Fantastic dining room! Definitely a must do when in Yosemite.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food was not very good and way, way overpriced! My $36 "meal" consisted of bread, water and a single solitary piece of fish! No sides, no salad, nothing else for $36. Wow!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 15, 2018

In terms of food quality, you're dealing with something that's going to severely disappoint. I'm not a good cook, but I guarantee that every dish I make tastes better than what they serve. The steak was initially well done (I ordered medium rare), and when I sent it back, it came back raw. Either way, extremely stringy and chewy. We also ordered the Quinoa, which was extremely salty and a small portion. How could they screw up Quinoa?

The waitress was LOVELY and the view was SPECTACULAR. We were seated next to the window. Prices were very expensive, but it was the middle of Yosemite so it was expected.

The food QUALITY was NEGATIVE STARS. How could a lodge literally get everything right except for the cooking?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Our family celebrated my daughter's anniversary. She was married there at the Ahwahnee Hotel (Sorry it will ALWAYS be the Ahwahnee to us.) in 2000. We had steak, rack of lamb and they even had a children's menu for my 11 year old granddaughter. Our server, Jerry, was simply outstanding. Besides being a fantastic server, he knew a lot of 'history' of the park and hotel and we enjoyed our conversations with him very much.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 14, 2018

We asked for a window seat for lunch and were seated on the far west suth window. Immediately we noticed large flies at the junction of the window and the wooden sill. They crawled out and flew around and there was significant dead fly debris on the window. We asked the waiter and he told us we could not avoid this at a window seat. I eventually smashed a large fly on the window with my menu. The waiter was nice enough to remove the smashed fly with a napkin. There were 4-5 flies emerging from underneath the window. It was evident that the window had never been caulked where the stationery pane met the window sill. Disgusting.

We ordered calamari as an appetizer. It was overdone, dry and unappetizing in substance and presentation. We returned it to the kitchen. My friend (visiting from Portland) ordered trout. The fish was "okay" but it rested on a bed of rice and carrot that looked to be days old. There were two pieces of vegetable on her plate. The small piece of broccoli was withered and looked old. A single piece of squash was similarly afflicted. We can get vegetables of 1000X this quality at the Barbecue Pit in Merced for a dinner plate that costs $7.95. My Philadelphia melt/beef sandwich was okay minus and it had little flavor.

I live in Merced, the gateway to Yosemite. I have been to the Awahnee many times over the years. I accept the name change. This is not the basis for my gripe. The food is expensive for luch and of very poor quality. I am sad that I cannot foresee when I will return for a meal at my beloved hotel. DO SOMETHING!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Very beautiful setting but hyperactive price. $120 plus tip for two salads and an order of salmon with no sides--$140.00 overall-- better just to stop in and take some pictures and eat at Half Dome Village. Steve N.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The only positive about this restaurant is the infrastructure. The decoration and ambience are quite nice.
However, for the price, reviews, location, and quite honestly the same infrastructure I mention above, the overall experience was disappointing at best. The waiter seemed annoyed that my girlfriend and I were taking a few minutes to decide on a wine, and he eventually just walked away. When he came back, I asked him about the house cabernet, and he basically knew nothing about it. That is, the waiter was annoyed that we took two minutes to think about wine, but didn't or couldn't do anything to help us choose it. Also, when my dish came (almost too quickly for a fine restaurant), the broccoli was burned. Seriously, it was quite burned and it tasted like smoke. When I complained about it, the waiter said, "Why don't you eat what you can, and I won't charge you for the dish?" I was so baffled I didn't know what to say.
And what's the deal with the answer, "I'll let your waiter know" when I asked for something. I really don't care what a restaurant's internal process is. "Our" waiter seemed to be serving two tables, but not once did he come by to see if we needed anything, which we did.
Lastly, the restaurant's dress code just seemed ridiculous. If you are going to make me dress in a particular way, and charge me what you charged me, the absolutely minimum you should do is to provide service that is somewhere on par with what you charge and pretend to be. And if you are going to make me wear whatever you have, please make sure it's clean. I really didn't care for the stained and smelly jacked you had me wear. And the wine list needs to be far more sophisticated than it is. Was the oldest vintage 2015?!
To be fair, kudos to the bus boy. The gentleman was quite nice and did far more to provide us with good service than our waiter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The restaurant is trying hard but it is still not there yet. The ambience is of course unparalleled but the food doesn't quite measure up. I will still not hesitate to return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
164