Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Ryan Messina, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ryan Messina

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (156)
Historic (134)
Special Occasion (129)
See All
Romantic (90)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Worth the Drive (68)
Good for a Date (63)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Great for Brunch (45)
Live Music (37)
Authentic (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (25)
Fireplace (24)
Kid-friendly (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Seasonal (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
People Watching (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Healthy (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Business Meals (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
5327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 6 hours ago

Great experience, great food, just expensive for lunch buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The dining room at the former Ahwahnee Hotel is truly majestic. Food was good, with a nice lunch selection. Service could use a tweak by better educating staff on menu and wines and speeding up service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 2 days ago

A Truly 'Majestic' dining experience in the Yosemite Valley. Excellent, yet very pricey cuisine. It was definitely worth the money though.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic dinner for our 20th anniversary. The smoked duck pasta was excellent. Great piano player who took requests and all in the spectacular dining room.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 3 days ago

A Truly 'Majestic' dining experience in the Yosemite Valley. Excellent, yet very pricey cuisine. It was definitely worth the money though.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Warm and friendly service in a grand historic environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Dining at the Majestic (formerly Ahwahnee) does not disappoint.
The dining room is beautiful. The service very personal. The food is quite good. It is a classic experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We went there to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary . Dinner was amazing the views were fantastic. The staff made sure that we had a special time.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The Majestic is a magnificent building and we have always enjoyed ourselves there previously but this weeks experience was quite disappointing. The gentleman making the reservation said he was requesting a window table for us. When we arrived we were offered the first table entering the lovely room which I declined and again asked for a window table as this was our anniversary. We did wait and sat at a table looking out a side window. The food was boring and uninspiring. Service was not what we previously experienced; very causal and not attentive. The entire experience was disappointing and I'm no longer enchanted with dining here ever again. This was an expensive mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

The dining room is beautiful. We were seated by a window (we had reservations for lunch. Ou seating was noisy because our table was between two service counters. The luncheon food was ok. Dinner is a better option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

There was a mix up on who was going to be our waiter and we didn't get bread like the rest of the tables. Having a reservation was good because the people that didn't have one had to wait until we were seated. That was nice.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a very nice meal. The food was good, but what makes this restaurant amazing is the location. The Majestic Yosemite hotel is so special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Just outstanding. Views are amazing. Food (prime rib) was delicious. Service was attentive and friendly. Dining room is beautiful. This is a historic venue and the restaurant is not your run of the mill tourist spot. Elegant is a good word. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Truly a majestic setting, inside a majestic park. We enjoyed their wonderful Sunday brunch, as well as ala carte entrees. Definitely will make it back there the next time we're in Yosemite!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Medium... A lot of sandwichs and no food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A beautiful and magical experience not to be missed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Mediocre food,high prices but the staff did go out of their way to identify dairy free options. The Mountain Room at the Lodge had better choices and more interesting bar drinks.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service was terrible on the day we had lunch. It took 20 minutes for our server to greet us, and after waiting 50 minutes for our order, we asked if there was a problem. The server told us something about the kitchen "losing our ticket." The server was sweet but it seemed in the awkward position of having to cover up for the inefficiency of the kitchen. The server offered us a free dessert but then it took 25 minutes to receive it. We've eaten at the Ahwahnee in the past--always very special experiences--but, on this day, service was poor and the food was only adequate. We observed two other tables complain. By contrast, we had a wonderful meal the night before at the Wawona Hotel (Big Trees Lodge.)

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Overpriced, underspiced food in a great atmosphere. You don't dine here for the food. You dine here for the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Highly recommend it to anybody that staying in Yosemite. Wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The dining room is beautiful. The piano player was a nice addition, very enjoyable.
After years of visiting the park, this was my first time at the Majestic and I certainly will return.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Lovely experience. My daughter loved the piano. Delicious food.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Well, of course you eat here so you can sit in one of the most beautiful dining rooms with spectacular views. The food is never that great, but its decent. Had trout, pulled pork sandwich and southwest salad--The wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

You are definitely paying for the ambiance vs. the food or service

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We hadn't a lovely meal but the ambiance is simply amazing. Definitely worth it!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with breakfast at the Majestic. Breakfast is not their most creative meal but the food was good and service was excellent. As we were finishing our meal the server overheard me comment about his birthday. Soon a cinnamon bran muffin with a beautiful buttery rose and Happy Birthday written on the plate in chocolate appeared in in front of us. It made our breakfast memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great ambiance with mediocre food and service. But it's all about the ambiance! Plus, what are your other options??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Lovely, historic hotel. Read the story of the construction of the hotel before you go...you will be amazed. Definitely need reservations. Friendly to my young daughter and other children in the restaurant. Great place to slow down and enjoy a rainy afternoon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Amazing view in a grand hotel style--best in the valley. Good wholesome food that is well cooked but nothing edgy or pushing the envelope. Service is slow so expect to enjoy the scenery a long time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The Majestic was an absolutely stunning place! We had a really hard time getting there, because there were so many road closures. Thankfully, we were finally able to make it in time for our Easter reservation celebrating our anniversary. There is pretty much no cell service once you enter Yosemite so the struggle was real!

The atmosphere and ambience is elegant, stunning, and quite fitting for the location. Our waitress was so sweet. There was a gentleman playing the piano, and it was very calming and romantic. My husband had the North Beach Cioppino, and he thought it was very flavorful and liked it very much. The portion size is very small though, and not the most filling thing for a man. Maybe this would have been better with a pasta included.

I had the Grilled California Angus Striploin, and I wasn't a huge fan of broccolini so I was able to get a side of sliced cucumbers with bleu cheese dressing on the side. The dressing was so delicious that we both couldn't stop talking about it. Find a reason to try it! My steak was very tasty. The pepper pieces were very strong though so if you aren't a huge pepper fan you might want to omit that. I dipped the potatoes that came with the entree in the dressing too, and they were so good!

We were given the cutest carrot cake cupcake with an Easter theme plated saying "Happy Anniversary!" It was very thoughtful and taste delicious! We were extremely satisfied with our service, and the kind gesture!

Besides dinner, we had breakfast there as well and stopped in another time for cappuccinos by the fire. The grounds are very beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Met every expectation and beyond however the last seating at 2:30 had very few choices left. The only deserts left were cheesecake and chocolate eggs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A wonderful experience of old Yosemite. The food was very good and the ambiance was exceptional.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was lukewarm. Why haven't they figured out how to get the food to the table hot when it is coming from the (apparently) far distant kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Awhanee (er, Majestic) has one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the world but our recent visit there was very disappointing. After waiting long past our reservation to be seated, the service was abysmal. Food was quite disappointing, served barely warm and ingredients didn't taste fresh. For these prices we expected much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was friendly and attentive but not annoying.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were married at The Ahwahnee and we come back here every year to celebrate. Great food and location.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The dining room is lovely. We were seated by a window, as we requested. However, the sun was shining in really brightly and made it a little uncomfortable. About 3/4 of the way through our meal, the waitress offered to lower the shade. That fixed the problem completely, but I'm not sure why it took so long for the offer to be made. We didn't know that it was possible to lower the huge shades, or we would have asked right away.

My French onion soup was really good. However, the burger my friend ordered well-done was overdone and black on the outside. For the high price of the lunch items, the quality was not really there to back it up in terms of flavor or presentation. I doubt we would try to eat there again. We were hoping for a special experience, but we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

$18 for a Reuben sandwich that had about 2 slices of pastrami? Not worth it. The free bread was excellent. Service was top notch and attentive. KIDS Grilled cheese on wheat bread, child didn't touch it. How about serving the grilled cheese on the fresh bread you make? Room was beautiful but I will pass next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went to the Majestic (the old Ahwanee) for breakfast with my teenaged daughter during a visit to Yosemite. A truly classic, historic dining room in stunningly beautiful surroundings. We got a window table for two. Service was fantastic. I indecisively ordered the buffet, my daughter had blueberry pancakes. My sense is that the made-to-order dishes were much better that the same dish on the buffet - next time I'll order a la carte. Food was good, atmosphere great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was below average - quite a contrast to breakfast at the same restaurant I might add. Server took 20 min to take our order (apologized) then did not get food for 40 min - a total of one hour at the table. Food was bland, lamb chops were over done ordered medium rare ravioli was bland. Ambiance is great and the room is wonderful. Ordered room service earlier in the week- using the same menu food arrived in 25 min prime rib was delicious. Save your money and eat there for breakfast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.