Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel conveys a feeling of elegance and refinement while maintaining a comfortable, natural atmosphere. The logs of stripped and polished sugar pine, which support the 34-foot-high beamed ceilings, reinforce the rustic ambiance that is reflective of The Majestic’s mountain surroundings.


Under the culinary leadership of Executive Ryan Messina, The Majestic Dining Room offers traditional California cuisine for breakfast and dinner daily. An array of excellent California wines are also featured on the menu.

1 Ahwahnee Road
Yosemite Village, CA 95389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Buffet Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch Buffet: Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm


For Dinner, we require Gentlemen to wear long pants and a collared shirt. We require Ladies to wear a Dress, Skirt, or Long Pants with a Blouse. For One and All: Please NO Shorts, T-Shirts, or Tank Tops or Hats.


Casual Dress for Breakfast, Lunch and Brunch.



Reservations are strongly recommended for all meal periods. Walk-ins will be accepted based on table availability.

Cross Street:
Village Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 372-1489

Website:
http://www.travelyosemite.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player during dinner service nightly and Sundays during brunch service.

Catering:
For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact The Dining Room at (209) 372-1276.

Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lots and complimentary Valet service available. Parking at The Majestic is limited. Day use parking in Yosemite Village is encouraged. Free shuttles run regularly for transportation to and from all lodgings within Yosemite Valley.

Public Transit:
Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ryan Messina

Private Party Facilities:
Onsite hotel catering available for up to 200 guests. Please contact our experienced special function managers, Kevin Anderson & Deanna Anderson, for more information.

For regular dining reservations of 25 guests or more, please contact the Dining Room directly at (209) 372-1276.
If your party’s plans change, we ask that AT LEAST 48 hours notice be provided to the dining room if you are altering the reservation.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now for our upcoming Grand Grape, Thanksgiving, BraceBridge and Taste of Yosemite events.

The Majestic Yosemite Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (126)
Historic (118)
Special Occasion (108)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Romantic (77)
Worth the Drive (53)
Good for a Date (49)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Great for Brunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Live Music (28)
Authentic (26)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fireplace (19)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Casual (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (9)
Family Style (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
5227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

I was disappointed after all I read and heard about this place. I expected more. The service was great. The food, not so much. My wife and I each got the prime rib. Her Queen's cut was the thinnest prime rib I've seen. My King's cut was overly thick - almost like a square. And both were twice the price as anyplace I have been. Honestly, it was comparable to Longhorn Steakhouse. The skillet cookie dessert was also disappointing. It came in a bowl and not a skillet. It is the best restaurant in Yosemite. It was just disappointing for a $200 dinner.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I stayed at the Majestic Hotel during a business trip. I made reservations for both dinner and breakfast. Dinner was average and the service was satisfactory. We were seated in the middle of the dining room. Apparently, seating by a window was unavailable and the dining was almost filled to capacity. HOWEVER, the next morning for our breakfast reservation, we again were denied window seating DESPITE the clear availability of such seating. The dining room was nearly empty but for a few patrons. According to the server, the Captain denied our request for window seating. Apparently, we were not good enough for such seating even though the tables by all of the windows were NOT in use.

The next time I have business in Yosemite, I will opt to eat in the Bar Lounge as that staff was more accommodating.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Old world charm. We had Salmon for one meal which was perfectly cooked. The vegetables and polenta that accompanied the salmon were also well prepared, and not over seasoned. We finished with a Mocha Pot-de-Creme which was light and a nice finish to the meal. For a second meal we had 2 pasta dishes, one vegetarian which was very flavorful, and the other pasta dish was a Venison Bolognese which was well balanced and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely ambience and decor. Service was friendly. We ordered four main meals, which we all very nice. Steaks were fatty but cooked perfectly. The lamb rack was a small amount of meat for the price but still very yummy. The venison bolognese rich and tasty. The food is good but the price is a little steep.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

You must have your ID to have alcohol and that means every person in your party who will drink--even if you look 150!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 5 days ago

An iconic room in an iconic place. If you go to Yosemite, you've got to dine here at least once.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there for Sunday Brunch and it was great! Food, staff and the room was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Great for a special family Sunday Brunch.
Service and food were good ( ate too much)
but the valley view is stunning.

Hot tip - ask for a window -table
If you score - you'll never forget Sunday brunch at the Queen's table.

We all ranked the "Queen's Table" one of our top dining experiences.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 7 days ago

We have often dined at the Majestic. Our dinner on Sunday was terrible, but our server Jerry was exceptional. Being a 8pm reservation means you are certainly going to get the left overs. Honestly, I would not have served this meal to anyone. The steak was $49, and was un-eatable, Char'd on the outside, and rare inside. So tough the knife wouldn't cut it. I chewed fifty times, and still couldn't get to a point where I was going to swallow this leather-like substance.
Of course, at 9pm, there are no other options. Worst meal ever, sadly, I will return and await the day a new chef arrives.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

A wonderful place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They have an excellent kitchen and the service is always friendly and efficient.
Of course the dining room itself is a rustic, one-of-a-kind treasure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What an experience. This place drips of history and culture. Staff was very attentive and engaging. Very wide menu. And the setting is incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a wonderful 50th Anniversary dinner for 6 with our daughters and their partners. We have been camping in Yosemite for 45 years, and dinner at the Ahwanee was such a treat. Great food, exceptional service and ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Average food. Small serves for American appetites.
Great service staff. Boiled eggs undercooked. Big pile of dirty dishes and napkins behind my husband. Should have been cleared more frequently. Nice pianist.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 17, 2017

More than thirty years ago we were fortunate to be guests at the (Awahnee) hotel and for the Bracebridge Christmas dinner. We were in Fresno for a short trip and made lunch reservations for the hotel restaurant. So glad we did, the food was delicious and it was a pleasure to experience the ambiance of this great hotel once again.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have dined at the Yosemite Majestic Hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner several times. I have always loved those experiences. This last visit was absolutely terrible. The woman serving us was not interested in us or pleasing us. We waited a long time for anyone to ask if we needed anything, such as refills for tea. Our waitress seemed annoyed at any request outside of our giving her our order. The food was the worsts I have had at any restaurant. Honestly, I would not think of serving the food we received to anyone at any time. I had a caesar salad with grilled chicken on top. The lettuce was not fresh, there was almost no salad dressing, and the chicken was a very small portion and just plain chicken, rather dry. It had no grilled flavor at all. My two friends with me were also acutely disappointed, especially one friend who order the trout lunch. It came to the table barely luke warm. I am not sure I have the courage to try this restaurant again even though this was the first time I have had this sort of experience there. I am so sorry to have to relay this report for a restaurant which has the setting to be stellar.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The dining room at the Awahnee is one of the most beautiful in the United States. The service was lovely, the food, just ok (soup was rather greasy but tasty). Bring back the Curry Company!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A wonderful spot for a romantic dinner. The setting is spectacular. If you can, reserve a table before the sun sets so you can see the views from the dining room windows. We enjoyed our meals. We had prime rib with nice yorkshire pudding and mashed potatoes. We also had perfectly cooked (and sustainable) salmon. The salmon was a tad salty for my taste so be sure to ask them not to add salt if you are sensitive. We had shared a delicious apple pie ala mode for dessert. The restaurant is pricey ($160 for our meals - two entrees, one dessert, two beers, one after-dinner drink, one hot tea), but perfect for a special occasion. Note: reservations are required, there is a dress code, and they require ID for anyone/any age ordering alcohol.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is a true "Bucket List" experience. We had a 6:30 reservation. We were seated directly with a spectacular table for two having a view of both Yosemite Falls and Glacier Point. All of the service was excellent, except for our server. He was not horrible, but just a non event person taking up oxygen. This was in contrast to the vibrant, personable, interesting people that sat, supported and rounded out our service. The meal was wonderful and we returned the next morning to be delighted by both food and service during breakfast.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The setting of the Majestic, previously and still by some known as the Ahwahnee, is in beautiful Yosemite Valley. You don't drive here for dinner! The hotel itself is probably over 100 years old. The food is excellent, if pricey. When we are in Yosemite, we do not leave without having a meal here.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had the duck special, loved the presentation and loved the rutabaga garnish. I would definitely have it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

beautiful place, great service, but sadly horrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the Ahwahnee ( as we will always call it!!) or Majestic Hotel is a beautiful hotel with wonderful ambience for special occasions. We love being there, HOWEVER, we found the food not worthy of the hotel. The grilled chicken sandwich had very hard bread, and my southwest chicken salad have VERY little chicken. A disappointment for us all but the beauty of the dining room is wonderful and the service was GREAT! Hope you can get a new chef!! Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had an amazing lunch. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. Very special.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful building in a gorgeous setting. Our meals were mediocre given the price.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server was exceptional, Jesabel also. The original plan was to take my 85 year mom, but she was not feeling well. i invited a high school friend and neither had been to Yosemite.

Thank you so much

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

After over 30 years of dining at the Ahwahnee, I'm disappointed to say that the quality has seriously declined. This seems to coincide with the new vendor that runs the Park, Aramark. There's clearly an effort in place to cut costs. But saving money in the spectacular Ahwahnee dining room by serving less than first class food is hardly the best approach. Our previous visit to the Ahwahnee Dining Room, also after Aramark took over, was on a Sunday morning last year. The cost of the Sunday Morning brunch had increased to $50/person, and the option to eat a la carte was apparently still in existence but strongly discouraged by the wait staff. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best dinner in California !

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visited with friends and family. Our servers were courteous and responsive. The ambience was outstanding. Food was great tasting with lots of options too. There was live piano and one of the servers sang for us as well.
Will definitely recommend visiting this place if you are visiting Yosemite Valley.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

prime rib was prepared well. carrots were way oversalted and inedible.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The historic Majestic Hotel's dining hall is itself a grand affair, with high ceiling and beautiful decor. We are there several times, for both breakfast and dinner, and the restaurant was outstanding in all aspects. The experience starts with personal, friendly, and very attentive service. The food was excellent each time. The breakfast buffet selection is extensive, or one can order from the a-la-carte menu. The dinner meals were all prepared just right. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had the best weekend. There were 10 of us celebrating my husbands 70th birthday. With 4 children the age of 10 for dinner on Friday and Sunday brunch it was a great experience for all. On both occasions the staff was patient and very thoughtful in our requests from sampling the soup to picture taking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, very good service, very good food.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As usual the dining room was really great and we will be happy to go back many times again in the future

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a wonderful venue. One of the most beautiful places to dine in the world. However, our food this evening left much to be desired. My pasta dish was very good. However, my wife's steak was awful. It was loaded with fat and was not very tasty. Since the kitchen does their own butchering, we do not know how they could have served such a poor piece of meat. This was our second bad experience with a meat dish here. Our suggestion is to not order a meat dish in this restaurant, especially when it is was one of the most expensive items on the menu. The restaurant made good on it after we complained and they took the charge for the steak dish off of our bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very disappointed in the Majestic dining experience. Salads had little or no dressing. Wait staff was inattentive and slow. Beautiful room but poor service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

There is only one place like this! Really great. Good service and the view is fantastic!!!!!!!'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Overall very good, staff very friendly! Lovely setting. Prime rib cooked to perfection. Good sized portions. Can't wait to come back! A little pricey is my only comment for improvement.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We are visiting Yosemite National Park and wanted to have dinner here after reading so much about it.
The dining room is very historic and so beautiful!
We split our meal and had plenty; everything was delicious! Very special evening in such a special place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

One the most beautiful and romantic places to dine in the world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This is one of the world's great places to dine. The dining room is spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.