Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: (816) 221-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (79)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Historic (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Authentic (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Brunch (15)
Late-night Find (14)
People Watching (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

This was referred to us as a great place to eat. I was not impressed at all. The sides for my entree were not correct, and the extra melted blue cheese was not brought to the table, I had to ask for it. The filet was so-so, nothing special. We arrived at 5:00 and were seated immediately and the actually interior was very appealing.

I would not refer this restaurant, it overrated and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

The best waiter and staff, thank you also the food was superb!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner in the downstairs jazz club when recently visiting KC with 10 year old grandson. This was a highlight of our weekend. Grandson and I had perfectly prepared 6 oz filets, served with soup/salad and 2 sides. My salad was over-dressed with non-housemade vinaigrette, but other than that small issue, food was very good. People were generally dressed up, leading me to assume most parties were there for special occasions. The jazz trio was very good, and contributed to the atmosphere. The room, as I understand, was a speakeasy during Prohibition. I highly recommend for great steak and a great time!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

A great place for a special occasion. The building is special, the service was outstanding and the food delicious. Creamed spinach side is a must have and the prime rib is one of the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I know good steak is expensive. I definitely don't mind paying for a great steak but apples to apples it isn't worth what they are charging, especially because they nickle and dime customers on nearly everything. The caesar salad that was a $3.50 upcharge was not worth ordering; it was bland, soggy, and warm. The sides we got also mediocre. That said, the live jazz downstairs and good service made for a nice evening. I'd come back for dinner but if I wanted to go somewhere for steak, I'd go somewhere else. I have been here other times for brunch. Their brunch is a great value and stellar food. The espresso and the biscuits and gravy are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Was my first time dining at the Majestic. The combination of history / historical decor, jazz music, elegant setting, and magnificent steaks made this the ultimate dining experience

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

How hard can it be for a server to stop by the table at least once after dropping off (not serving ... dropping off) the food to ask if all is OK? Would it have been all THAT much of a challenge to ask if we might enjoy some coffee? How easy will it be for us to find other places to dine? No problem at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It wasn't as good as the last time we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The Majestic continues to hold the top spot for our favorite steak house in KC. The wonderful service, excellent drink menu, amazing live Jazz music, and the fantastic menu combine for one of the best meal experiences in the city. It's a wonderful place, and we always come away extremely pleased with the all around experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and drink. The jazz trio was pleasant to listen to while having dinner. Our server was able to answer all of our menu questions and provided excellant service all meeting. We were never rushed and allowed to enjoy each course. Well done!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Let me make this simple: Order the Wagyu Porterhouse. It easily feeds two. It's absolutely delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Ordered a $50 Kansas City strip steak and was told it was "prime" meat and the "Ferrari" of all meats. The steak was tough and 1/3 was fat and gristle. The flavor was just mediocre. In addition the lettuce for both my wife's salad and my salad appeared to be about two days old. We eat out every Night of the week and have a pretty good idea of how to grade meals. This is probably the worst dinner I have had in the last 10 years. I would never eat at that restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Lovely place, good service, would be nice for special event except for the steak. All the side dishes were excellent but the steaks were of poor quality. The cooking was OK but the steak had gristle that could hardly be cut with the knife provided. My husband had parts that could not be cut. I just pulled the parts out and ate the rest but for a steak house I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food, staff and service. Would highly recommend for a quiet night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

One of the best brunch spots in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of our favorite places Great food, service and love the atmosphere. Old School history!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

we were very impressed with the entire restaurant. The service was excellent was the food.
the management was very kind to us as this was our 40th wedding anniversary. We will be going back for more special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

If you don't have reservations for the jazz area you might have a long wait. Otherwise food excellent, service excellent, overall value great. Be prepared to spend $$$$ but worth it.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We come to KC every summer. First time there and won't be our last. We enjoyed being in the jazz room. Great atmosphere, food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing. Best restaurant experience I've ever had. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent restaurant - on our very short "best of Kansas City" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food, great music, great service, great wine. The best place for any special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food nice wine list. Ted was our waiter very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was our 25 year wedding anniversary and they made the evening very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My favorite no matter what night of the week! The Majestic never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The majestic had high expectations for me. They met them very well. Will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is great. The service, steaks, seafood, drinks and music made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice bar and restaurant. The jazz bar is in the basement. Wish I hade known that when I made my reservations in The main dining root
Excellent food but wanted to eat in jazz club

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was my first dry aged steak. I had the rib eye medium rare. It was perfect. Perfect cut. Cooked perfectly. Wonderful waiter. Helpful. Do the order ahead flowers for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice place. Great Music and food. Ambiance is the best.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

What a memorable night! We enjoyed a delicious meal in the main dining room and then after dinner headed down to the jazz club in the basement and were thrilled to listen to 2 hours of incredible jazz! Thank you for a truly great evening!!!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Took my bride here for her birthday. This was our first visit, and it did not disappoint. The upstairs area is loud due to the proximity to the bar, but the food and service allow you to overlook the noise. Our waiter was very attentive, he explained the menu, answered any questions we had and checked on us throughout the meal (not in an overbearing way). The waiter did not try to push anything on us. The food was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing. I highly recommend the steak soup. We definitely will return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Went with a group before going to Quality Hill Theatre. It was delicious and we enjoyed it. Got there 1 1/2 hours before the show but had to rush at last minute to make it. Would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Noteable Kansas City steak house with live jazz downstairs

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great time as always. The service is fabulous and the steaks were outstanding!

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Absolutely delicious prime rib and steak. We loved the wonderful history of the place and the live jazz downstairs. Only recommendation is the wall paint and decor could stand a little update ( repaint walls to enhance moldings, and lose all the mirrors, especially those hanging crooked! ......some old black and white Kansas City historical photos would be fitting, or some art).......will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good and the atmosphere was terrific. Our waiter was great. The bread pudding was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best steaks in Kansas City, bar none. It's not cheap, but it's fantastic. The Jazz Club downstairs is perfect for a unique experience. Loud enough to be a good show, but quiet enough to maintain conversation.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came for our 38th wedding anniversary then to enjoy the trio playing downstairs. We had a wonderful time and will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.