About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: (816) 221-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (90)
Live Music (88)
Good for a Date (86)
See All
Special Occasion (81)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (60)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fun (41)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Business Meals (38)
Authentic (38)
Notable Wine List (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Happy Hour (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Dancing (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Majestic had very good steak. Service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Majestic had very good steak. Service was great, as well. Can't say enough about the steak soup and the baked potato......yum. The garlic butter fresh broccoli was delicious! I finished it off before eating anything else on my plate!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Jazz and the food

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the Jazz and the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Using the Open Table App made making a r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Using the Open Table App made making a reservation handy, I just wish the option to request the downstairs area was available. We had wanted to enjoy a nice dinner while listening to the live music but didn't know we needed to request downstairs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Long our go-to for steak in Kansas City. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Long our go-to for steak in Kansas City. Dry aged beef, always excellent. Filet may be a little thinner than their usual, but remains high quality. Straight-forward prep and presentation, not over the top fancy. Fried potatoes unlike anywhere else, spicy, crispy, delicious. (Spicy).

Everything seemed to have a little more salt than usual, but not a deal-breaker. We will be back before the theater again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Great place fot jazz. Very u ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great place fot jazz. Very unique KC stmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and ambience was fantastic. I' ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and ambience was fantastic. I've lived in KC for nearly 30 years and the first time I've been to Majestic ... best steak I've had in KC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Really great food. Expensive but absolut ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Really great food. Expensive but absolutely worth it. Great staff. Energetic and engaging.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here on a Friday night for a be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We dined here on a Friday night for a belated Valentine's Day. Absolutely loved it. We were able to eat downstairs in the jazz lounge and listened to a great trio playing music we enjoyed. The atmosphere was great, even with the trio playing we could talk if we wanted. I had steak which was cooked to perfection and my companion had shrimp and scallops which he said were delicious. I started with one of the best Manhattans i've had in a while. Our service was flawless and i'm not exaggerating. We were able to find on street parking, but there are lots close by. This might be considered kind of pricey, but i've paid more and enjoyed it a whole lot less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Majestic is a great restaurant with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The Majestic is a great restaurant with an incredible atmosphere. The food was delicious and the drinks were made very well. The Jazz band downstairs was a very good addition to the great date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Parking was not clearly indicated, since ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Parking was not clearly indicated, since parking lot was under construction. Food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A very good ambiance. Set up as an olde ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A very good ambiance. Set up as an older restaurant from the 30s or 40s. We had a great time. The food was delicious. The cocktails were also great. Our only regret was we got there too early for the live music downstairs in the Jazz Club which starts at 6pm (7pm Fri & Sat).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Live Jazz was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service. Live Jazz was a plus. One of the best steaks I have had. Will definitely be making a return trip.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, awesome drinks and the bes ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food, awesome drinks and the best service!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really good experience for our first v ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A really good experience for our first visit to the Majestic. Great Jazz entertainment, excellent service, and good food. Recommend the Jazz Club downstairs if available.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service! We will de ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this place was exquisit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about this place was exquisite. Food,environment,service. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was led to believe we would earn 1,000 ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was led to believe we would earn 1,000 pts upon dining by Open Table when in fact we only earned 100. That was depressing. I wish they would not false advertise like that.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service! Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! The food may seem pricey, but because you receive a soup/salad with each entree plus two sides, the value seems better than other high priced steak houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was Superb and Waiting Staff above ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was Superb and Waiting Staff above average. Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Mjestic doesnt look like much from t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Mjestic doesnt look like much from the outside, but if you like fine steak, a menu that compliments the main courses exquisitely, and an ambiance that is both fun and romantic, then there is no place like The Majestic. This was the best steak we have had in years, and the most romantic and fun evening we have had at a restaurant in KC in our 8 years here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and music. We ate at the Jazz ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and music. We ate at the Jazz Club where two of our favorite musicians Bhram and Rod

were playing the piano and guitar. The third musician was on the clarinet. The volume of the music was comfortable. Only problem was the couple at the next table spook over the music. If you aren't there for the music then eat upstairs.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. Great menu. The bo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our first time there. Great menu. The bone-in prime filet was fantastic. Their Manhattan is one of the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to the Majestic sin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have been coming to the Majestic since 1995 when I first moved to Kansas City. My wife and I cherish this awesome restaurant with its live jazz and 1st class steaks, prime rib and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think I have found my new favorite spo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I think I have found my new favorite spot. I am new to the area and had a family member come to town. I was unsure where to take them to give them the KCMO experience. Very glad I chose this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food and not loud ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great service, great food and not loud

KC strip cooked perfect

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best barrel aged manhatten in town, plus ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best barrel aged manhatten in town, plus they are made in house. Delicious! Very romantic setting as there are no tv's in sight, not even at the bar. Fantastic steaks. Very unusual meat, the waiter explained carefully - and it was out of this world; both tender and flavorful. We ate every bite. - I always bring home a doggy bag... and it wasn't because the portions were small, it was just that good!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great once again. Kathryn , our waitres ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great once again. Kathryn , our waitress, was fun, efficient and knowledgeable. Our steaks were cooked to perfection as were the sides. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

Always reliable and great quality. Jazz ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always reliable and great quality. Jazz Club is a little louder but that is why you pick it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best filet mignon I've ever had. Ext ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The best filet mignon I've ever had. Extremely friendly and helpful waiter. A perfect get-together night with a dear friend.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sat in the main dining hall, great drink ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Sat in the main dining hall, great drinks/food/service. Downstairs was nice to listen to live music after.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing.... one of the best s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Absolutely amazing.... one of the best steaks I've ever had in my life.... Our service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and wonderful staff. O ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmosphere and wonderful staff. Our waiter recommended the best steaks and boy are we glad we listened, did was amazing! Live jazz band in the basement was superb!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the band was even be ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great, the band was even better, and the crowd was fun to watch. The noise level was perfect. You could hear the band but still have a conversation. Overall it was a great night.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the opportunity to sit in the Jaz ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the opportunity to sit in the Jazz club for dinner. It was an awesome time and the fillets were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great jazz and great food! Seating in t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great jazz and great food! Seating in the lower level gives the diner access to both the music and the best steak dinner in downtown Kansas City.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent meal! Had Wagyu strip and it ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent meal! Had Wagyu strip and it was unbelievable. Worth every penny. Good wine selection/prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our service was excellent and filet was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our service was excellent and filet was great. Wish I had not ordered the fish special. It was a disappointment but the sides were delicious! Definitely returning!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we walked in, not a warm greeting, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

When we walked in, not a warm greeting, we felt like we we were 'bothering' them. We waited long enough, and plenty of staff hanging out at the front desk, but never offered a drink.

It was our anniversary . We asked not to be rushed but were. The food was...OK. The cocktails were really bad. Mine was similar to Robitussin cough syrup. It's the little things that can sway one way or the other. Seemed like they took customers for granted. That is a formula for eventual disaster for a business. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

As long as the piano player is there on ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As long as the piano player is there on Friday nights, I will never get tired of spending the evening at THE MAJESTIC STEAKHOUSE.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.