About The Majestic Restaurant

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: 8162211888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Happy Father's Day!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (149)
romantic (104)
neighborhood gem (84)
See All
fit for foodies (81)
notable wine list (60)
good for groups (46)
vibrant bar scene (37)
late-night find (37)
great for lunch (32)
great for brunch (31)
hot spot (25)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Jazz was incredible. Waiter was outstand ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Jazz was incredible. Waiter was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in a historic setting

Dined 5 days ago

The Majestic is a historical Kansas City restaraunt that harkens back to the traditional downtown steakhouse. The food is excellent, ambiance excellent and history great. My fiancé and I enjoyed a special occasion out and had a wonderful time at the Majestic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite KC restaurant. A little pri ...

Dined 7 days ago

My favorite KC restaurant. A little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife, a jazz fan, to the Majesti ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my wife, a jazz fan, to the Majestic for her birthday. Was our first visit, but won't be our last. The food was fantastic, along with the service. Do reserve a table in the jazz club downstairs. The trio played great AND kep the decibles low enough for conversation. Prices are at the upper end for fine dining in KC, but well worth it for our special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic steak house

Dined on May 21, 2016

The long tradition of fine dry aged beef has been maintained. High quality steaks, perfectly done as requested. The ambiance is still that of a traditional steak house / old time saloon. Not pretentious, but first class all the way. Still our go-to spot for a steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good. Enjoyed evening

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good. Enjoyed evening

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Mediocre food. Steak was grisly , potato ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Mediocre food. Steak was grisly , potato over-baked. Bar selections great. Music great. Forgot to note downstairs in memo and had to wait for our dinner table but they found a great spot by the band for us to wait. Still will go back, maybe for apps and drinks. Music!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good meal.

Dined on May 20, 2016

We chose the 30 ounce rib-on ribeye, and made it for two. My fiancee had a baked potato, I had asparagus. Chef, at my request, grilled the asparagus rather than steaming it. Overall, a good meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 19, 2016

I really enjoyed the visit, the food was excellent, next time I will request a seat downstairs, the noise level in the bar was a little high for quiet conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have been to the happy hour here and ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been to the happy hour here and love the food and drinks for that. We decided that we would have our anniversary celebration with one of their better steaks. I had the $40 ribeye and she had the smaller KC strip steak. Both steaks were very stringy and very difficult to cut let alone eat and my baked potato had the appearance of being warmed up in the microwave. Very disappointed in an expensive steakhouse meal. We still love the happy hour and will continue to do that from time to time though.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed sitting downstairs ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We very much enjoyed sitting downstairs and listening to the great jazz band. I felt like it wasn't too loud and we could still talk. It was my daughters birthday and they gave her a wonderful dessert to take home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. The only thing I did not like was the kale, I felt too much garlic was used.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the majestic, the service staff ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We loved the majestic, the service staff was amazing. Especially Cap and his side kick. The ambience of the whole place was amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Majestic was amazing!

Dined on May 14, 2016

First, it is a little pricey but you get your money's worth. The food is fabulous, with a varied menu. The steak soup is amazing. One thing I like is that a lot of upscale places like this nickel and dime you with everything ala carte but not here. Kathryn, our server, was incredible - attentive but not smothering and we didn't have to ask her for a thing. You should definitely eat in the Jazz room. The live music is great but not where you can't hear your company. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

Service great, my Wagu didn't come out m ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service great, my Wagu didn't come out medium rare, the re-fire still wasn't correct. The server was excellent!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Greatness Returns

Dined on May 8, 2016

I used to frequent the Majestic Steakhouse back in my early adulthood and it was one of the finest restaurants in the city. I stopped going about 10 years ago because it changed management and the quality dramatically dropped. I'm happy to report that it is back to it's earlier excellence. I've had dinner there in the past month, which was very good, and took my mother and sister for Sunday brunch on Mother's Day, which was awesome. The service was great both times and the brunch was absolutely fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Majestic several times and the food is amazing. Our server was awesome, he took very good care of us. We had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service by a tall young man w ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Incredible service by a tall young man who anticipated our every need. Will become a regular place for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Jazz and Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The history of the speak-easy, the incredible steak, great jazz and fine cocktails make this a must stop spot in downtown KC. Try the 32 day aged ribeye with a Majestic custom Manhattan. You wont be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Majestic - classic dining

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server was excellent as was the steak and sides. Last minute reservations were granted without an issue and our table was ready upon arrival. Will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1

Went here for a special get together wit ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Went here for a special get together with long time friends (we live in Denver) wanted a jazz club atmosphere but the music was unreal loud ensemble and the meal took nearly 2 hours to get to our table before we ate . The steak was very sub par , meat quality was EXCELENT . The cooking style is similar to that on a home skillet. We noticed no one else was eating , just drinks for the loud music and upstairs was vacant tables.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was great time! The steaks were cook ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

It was great time! The steaks were cooked just right. We enjoyed learning about the history of the restaurant over the decades. Drinks and wine were great as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch and was blown away. Abso ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went for brunch and was blown away. Absolutely amazing French toast. Solid biscuits and gravy (I'm from the south and know good biscuits and gravy)

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Birthday

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was off that night but that can happen. Food was great, and waiter might have been new.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel regularly and this is one of my ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I travel regularly and this is one of my favorite spots in the mid-west.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience exceeded our expectations!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the waiter Brent was excellent, we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the ambiance and historical s ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and historical significance of this building. The waiter was very friendly and informative of the history of the building along with adding hints of the specialties on the menu. The food was prepared perfectly and was delicious. While a bit pricey, it was a joy on this occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always. We have been there for ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great as always. We have been there for brunch several times now and they never disappoint us. Try the Crabcake Benedict. It is great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jamie A - MN

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and service levels are simply exceptional. We have dined there a few times now and its a new "must" when we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and delicious!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Outstanding service, delicious food, smooth jazz and a wonderful atmosphere made this a great way to start off our anniversary weekend! Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Date Atmosphere

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I took a trip to Kansas City to see the Baltimore Orioles play for my birthday and we wanted authentic Kansas City steaks. My husband is a consummate carnivore and he declared his steak to be one of the top three of his life! The service was perfect, the cocktail list was a combination of old and new, the jazz music was a wonderful addition to the ambiance, and everything we ordered was delicious. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice find

Dined on April 17, 2016

Found the Majestic on Yelp when on a quick weekend getaway in KC. Was able to book through Open Table and was pleasantly surprised to find a Jazz Club/ steakhouse. Especially loved the dry aged bone in Wagyu strip special. Delish although probably slightly overcooked (ordered med rare and came out med).. didn't care, at $66 it was quite the deal and it was extremely delicious. The jazz and ambiance were fantastic and we loved that the moscow mule came in a Tito's copper mug. Also enjoyed the cigar lounge in the top floor after dinner. Overall great experience and we will go back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service upstairs for dinner was exce ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service upstairs for dinner was exceptional! Our waiter was so knowledgeable and had a great personality. Our entrees were delicious! We went downstairs to enjoy the fabulous live music and to get dessert and one more cocktail but couldn't get service before they closed. They told us to blow out the candle when ready to order, so we did and we waited 20 minutes then it was closing time. Kinda bummer but the dinner was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night for out of town tourists

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Majestic was everything every positive reviewer has said and more. We were seated downstairs in the jazz lounge. A great night with great food. The service (Brett) was outstanding and really made the night special for us. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Susan

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal celebrating a reunion with a long time friend. We promised her a K C steak & the Majestic was our choice. Believe me, we were thrilled with our meal! Steak for our friend & prime rib for me, both cooked to perfection. Hilary was our server & she was fun, informed and helpful!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner in the Jazz Club...

Dined on April 15, 2016

As always, The Majestic was a wonderful experience. The jazz club and band were entertaining, but not overpowering. It's apparent that they are enjoying themselves and their audience. This is clearly more than just a job to this band.The food was delicious and the service impeccable. A terrfic place to entertain your guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great American Classic

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was exceptional!! Historic venue, intelligent staff, great selections. Pricey, but certainly not as much as the competition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An Old Favorite Redone

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife and I had our rehearsal dinner here 20 years ago and I've hosted a number of events at this location in the past. I had heard that the food quality had declined, so we haven't been here in quite a while but, based on some feedback from friends and the recent online reviews, we decided to try it again. So glad we did. The food was very good and the atmosphere is fantastic. I love the main room decor and the private upstairs bar is still a wonderful area. The jazz room downstairs was hoppin'. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Lived up to the ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Great food and service. Lived up to the reputation.

food4
ambience5
service5

Steak had very good flavor, but was not ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Steak had very good flavor, but was not as tender as a "32 day dry aged" steak should be. The service was excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.