About The Majestic Restaurant

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: 8162211888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime Rib
  • Black And Blue Burger
  • Croque Madame
  • Cobb Salad
  • Seafood Bisque
  • Kansas City Strip Steak
  • Apple Crisp Ala Mode
Prime Rib
Black And Blue Burger
Croque Madame
Cobb Salad
Seafood Bisque
Kansas City Strip Steak
Apple Crisp Ala Mode

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Steakhouse
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (127)
Romantic (92)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Groups (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Late-night Find (24)
Hot Spot (16)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not my first time here nor will it be my ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not my first time here nor will it be my last. Had a Groupon and the Mark Lowery Trio was playing. Perfect atmosphere and small table for a date. Drinks are always awesome at the upstairs and downstairs bars. Food always great. Servers are always super nice.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I first went to the Majestic in the late ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

I first went to the Majestic in the late 1950's. It was a different location, but I think it eventually became what it is today. I was only about 12 years old on my first visit. I remember thinking that it will be fun to be an adult if they eat this kind of food. It is!

The food and service are second to none. I love the steaks, the scotch, and the wines. It was the occasion of our 48th wedding anniversary, and it couldn't have been better. Brandon was great.

Thanks for the wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

While the food was expensive, it was gre ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the food was expensive, it was great, had the Majestic Steak, which has peppercorn sauce and it was very good, the house wine (merlot) was very good, and the atmosphere was excellent. Ate in the jazz club downstairs and the band was very good. The jazz club downstairs was a speak easy in prohibition which made a good story. I highly recommend it, but be prepared to spend $150.00 to $200.00 on the meal, drinks and of course a tip for the band.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lucky folks in kcmo! Great food and liv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Lucky folks in kcmo! Great food and live music. Generous wine pours and by the glass good quality pairing nicely with menu options. We sat near the piano and it was not too loud to converse. When you make reservation specify upstairs- away from music or down. Dress code is reasonable. Who wants to be dressed up and seated next to shorts and tee shirt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife did not know that I was taking h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife did not know that I was taking her to "The Majestic". She was absolutely the happiest gal I have seen for a long time. It was both our first time and surely will not be our last!! We actually drove a distance to eat at "The Majestic". As my wife later told me she was thinking, "Oh NO" when she first saw the outside entrance. She was worried until we arrived inside to take back time with soft romantic music and an atmosphere of an era that no longer exists. Like I later told her, "Don't judge a book by its cover". We truly had a memorable time in our lives. As parents, this was a beautiful break from it ALL. We felt like kids again on our first date. As you can tell we will RECOMMEND you and we hope to come back for the same GREAT EXPERIENCE. (of course we have to save a little $$ first - ha ha)

Thank You all for making our evening fantastic and giving us memories that will last forever!!

P.S. Whoever posts this please make sure "The Majestic" / Staff get a copy. They deserve it!!!

"THANKS A MILLION"

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best. Great bourbon selection ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of the best. Great bourbon selection. The service was outstanding. Our waiter was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our regular location for celebra ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is our regular location for celebrations. Good Food, Excellent Service, and historic atmosphere. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Majestic is one of the best restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Majestic is one of the best restaurants in the downtown area. The food is great, the service wonderful, the live jazz extremely entertaining (I especially enjoy the piano player), and the historic architecture fascinating and lovely. It's a go to spot for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding, but the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was outstanding, but the food. You can't really mess up a fillet, but the peppercorn sauce tasted like brown gravy mix with pepper and it was the waiters suggestion over melted blue cheese. The béarnaise was bland and the salads were nothing special. Creamed spinach acceptable and side veggies nice. The 20oz wagyu strip was supposed to be over the top and instead it was nothing special at all, very disappointing for the price and reminded me that I should have stuck to my first thought, the ribeye, but waiter suggested the $64 strip was the bomb over the 14 oz ribeye. Overall, the other 4 in the party agreed that despite the awesome classic KC steakhouse décor, the food was medicore and for the price, a huge disappointment. It had been awhile since I had been there and sadly it might be a long time to return. Better steaks, sides and salads in plenty of places,. Fix the food and its one of the best atmospheres in the city and the service was top notch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

i was going to get the ribeye. My serve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

i was going to get the ribeye. My server recommended the top-end Ribeye in the menu.

I went with that. It was our anniversary so I didn't make it an issue, but it was not a good steak.

I could have gotten the same thing at Price Chopper. Otherwise my wife enjoyed her meal the service was good and we enjoyed the evening. There are to many excellent steak houses in KC to recommend you or for that matter to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter Cap was the best. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter Cap was the best. We enjoyed our time there very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I can now understand why the Majestic is ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I can now understand why the Majestic is a must do in KC. It has charm and ambiance through and through and you do feel like you are in "the city". However, we were with friends who we don't see often and had a lot to chat about, unfortunately I made the wrong choice by choosing the Jazz Room downstairs. It was a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere but the jazz quartet was so loud we had to shout across the table throughout the dinner. It made for a very exhausting evening. So wish I had been upstairs because it was truly intimate and quiet up there. The food was just average and it was not as hot temperature wise as I would have hoped. This did not deter me from returning because I will certainly give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime rib was to tough to cut. Other vis ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Prime rib was to tough to cut. Other visits to the majestic had steaks that were tough, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great jazz, delicious steak - perfect an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great jazz, delicious steak - perfect anniversary date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in Kansas City. Service is ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best steak in Kansas City. Service is excellent - attentive and personable without being intrusive, knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cobb Salad was absolutely wonderful. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Cobb Salad was absolutely wonderful. Salmon patties were good also

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came for a midweek brunch for our ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We came for a midweek brunch for our anniversary and (Clint )our waiter was the best. He made perfect recommendations and was very helpful. It truly is one of KC finest restaurants and great value. Thank you all for the great service and making our day special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service / food and jazz

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service / food and jazz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always the same, Fabulous!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is always the same, Fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A classic KC steakhouse with live Jazz i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A classic KC steakhouse with live Jazz in the basement. Food was great, and service was top-notch. A little pricey for me, but it was a special occasion for dining out somewhere different. Option between eating in a quiet area upstairs, or downstairs with live music. They have a great happy hour as well before 6:00pm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're looking for a special night ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

If you're looking for a special night out try the Majestic. It has excellent steaks and an old world ambience that Harkens back to the Gatsby era. Sit upstairs if you want a quieter experience and have great conversations. Sit down stairs and listen to the Jazz Band.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group is from Pennsylvania. We come ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our group is from Pennsylvania. We come to the Majestic twice a year (when we are at conferences in KC). We would not miss it! We always request to go downstairs so we can enjoy the music! Thank you very much for always showing us an enjoyable time!

We will be back at the end of March!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food, excellent service! We sat i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food, excellent service! We sat in the lower level to hear local jazz artists playing. It was a little loud but a very good atmosphere and ambiance. The staff were over the top in making sure we were all able to sit together - there were nearly 10 of us. And they made sure our drinks and food were delivered in a very timely manner. I'd recommend the steak medallions - they were EXCELLENT! A great dining experience over all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. The 32oz D ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service were great. The 32oz Dry aged wagyu porterhouse was one of the next steaks i ever had. TJ provided great service and the jazz club was a nice way too cap off the evening. A great place in the heart of Kansas City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This very conveniently located within wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This very conveniently located within walking distance of the Quality Hill Playhouse so I occasionally eat there before the theater. Downstairs is much too noisy when there is live music - can't converse at all. Upstairs has a moderate noise level. The food is good but the waiter was totally unfriendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We ate here for our anniversary. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We ate here for our anniversary. It was not our first time. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. It is where we go for special occasions because of the jazz and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a lovely place for brunch! Had an u ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a lovely place for brunch! Had an upscale feel with great servers. The food tasted wonderfuld and was served promptly. Soft live piano music begins at 11am.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with my husband. We elected t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Date night with my husband. We elected to sit downstairs in the Jazz club . The service was prompt, the cocktail list - fabulous and great wine by a glass selection. My husband ordered a martini and was impressed by the quality of the drink- we haven't been at this place for awhile and forgot how enjoyable the whole experience can be- AFTER you get over the stress of finding a parking spot. The parking lot directions on the website need to be updated- the ease of the parking would make things a little more pleasurable as a " whole night experience "

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I rented an Airbnb in the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I rented an Airbnb in the old Garment District of KC, and The Majestic was just across the street. We arrived just in time for happy hour, and what a great happy hour it was. Go downstairs to the bar in the jazz area. It has a great vibe, and Tom the bartender is outstanding.

The drink and appetizer specials cannot be beaten -- $5 glasses of wine, half-price apps. There are well drink specials, too. And Tom has great stories about his daughter's Peace Corps experience in Malawi! We reluctantly tore ourselves away from the downstairs area to eat dinner in the main dining room. Even if you don't like jazz music, I highly recommend you eat downstairs. It's dimly lit, cool (temperature wise), and is just plain intimate.

The main dining room is very warm during the summertime. The food is good but possibly a little overpriced. But we went there expecting to pay a bit more for our steaks. I ordered 12 oz. dry-aged rib eye and the husband order the Kansas City strip. Both medium rare. The Majestic's medium rare is more toward rare, which is perfect for us. Everything was cooked to perfection, and we loved our side dishes. I think I inhaled the macaroni and cheese. The French onion soup is glorious, too.

I can't rave about this neighborhood restaurant enough. It has everything going for it -- great happy hour specials, an enjoyable bartender (I'm serious, go downstairs and see Tom), jazz music, perfectly cooked steaks and delicious sides. This building is one of the most intriguing and historical buildings I've been in. I'd love to go upstairs to the private cigar club just to have the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you . Great steak. Fun place.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Thank you . Great steak. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were seated and it took about 10 minu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were seated and it took about 10 minutes before anyone took our drink order. Then after we got our drinks it was another 20 minutes before we got to order. We had to ask for a waitress to take our order. Then she was not very nice to us either. The food was just mediocre. I have been here 2 times before and the food was much better. It appears to be falling off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The service was amazing. The waitress wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was amazing. The waitress was polite and funny. Our glasses were always kept full and she waited patiently while we tried to decide what we wanted.

There was a live jazz band in the down stairs section. They were excellent too. It was a nice place to visit in Kansa City with good food, perfectly cooked steak and great entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service this is def ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding food and service this is definitely and eclectic restaurant where you step back in time so that must be appreciated. It's pricey but it's a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and drink as always! Spe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic food and drink as always! Special appreciation to our server, Amy, who made our young friend from France especially welcome. A great place to introduce guests to the best of Kansas City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. We sat in the jazz club for dinner and to a jazz trio. The steaks were very tasty but the larger one was unevenly cooked. Overall we enjoyed ourselves. A little pricey so be prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wow what can I say ; my wife and I have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow what can I say ; my wife and I have been coming to the majestic jazz club for the past 7 years for our wedding anniversaries ! The food is great the wait staff is top notch !! The food is reasonably priced !! Great live jazz music and a very romantic place to take that special someone!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is great. Service was incredi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Atmosphere is great. Service was incredibly slow and I expected better food for the prices. The shrimp appetizer was overcooked and we both ordered steaks medium rare but mine was rare and my husbands was medium rare.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Brunch was wonderful. Waiter was attenti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch was wonderful. Waiter was attentive without being overbearing. Noise level was quiet compared to other restaurants. Jazz pianist was great! Look forward to having another meal there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Had to move beacuse b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great experience. Had to move beacuse band was to loud . My green beans were under cook. Overall experience was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.