About The Majestic Restaurant

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: 8162211888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime Rib
  • Black And Blue Burger
  • Croque Madame
  • Cobb Salad
  • Seafood Bisque
  • Kansas City Strip Steak
  • Apple Crisp Ala Mode
Prime Rib
Black And Blue Burger
Croque Madame
Cobb Salad
Seafood Bisque
Kansas City Strip Steak
Apple Crisp Ala Mode

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (135)
romantic (92)
fit for foodies (70)
See All
neighborhood gem (68)
notable wine list (47)
good for groups (44)
late-night find (32)
vibrant bar scene (31)
great for lunch (28)
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (25)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic jazz downstairs and yummy food ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic jazz downstairs and yummy food! Will be back next time I visit K.C.!

food4
ambience5
service4

The Challah French toast was amazing

Dined 6 days ago

The Challah French toast was amazing

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was salty and you have to pay extra ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was salty and you have to pay extra for sides that's supposed to already be included with the meal. Salmon salty & Steaks under cooked

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish we could have stayed for the music. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Wish we could have stayed for the music. Very historic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! We love The ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and service! We love The Majestic! We scheduled an early dinner and were seated downstairs. The live jazz didn't start until 7pm so it was very quiet and relaxed. Enjoyed our martinis and steaks followed by some terrific ice cream & coffee. Great dinner, as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely fabulous food and atmosphere. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

absolutely fabulous food and atmosphere. an amazing find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from Louisiana, this KC restaurant ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Being from Louisiana, this KC restaurant reminded us of the great New Orleans places we love, like Arnaud's and Galatoire's. I ordered the filet and lobster, both melt-in-your mouth delicious. Love the old historic building and the live jazz music played nightly. Great food, service and atmosphere!💖

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best steak ever. History of this place a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Best steak ever. History of this place and how they've embraced it is awesome. Must get here if in KC!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Captured a little bit of some of the thi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Captured a little bit of some of the things we wanted to experience one night while visiting our son in Kansas City. Such a young vibrant city. A very nice jazz club coupled with an outstanding steak dinner. Service was very attentive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and fun entertainment.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food and fun entertainment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely a wonderful experience.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely a wonderful experience.

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Have eaten there several times and has a ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Have eaten there several times and has always been excellent before. Tonight the rib eye was all gristle, tough with no taste. The green beans and onions were blanched at best, really almost uncooked. The potato was old, hard and dark. The salad was delicious as was the focaccia bread. The high point of the evening was our delightful and excellent server, Hilary. She was outstanding; very knowledgeable and helpful. Sadly though, we won't be back as there are too many other good restaurants.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wedding Celebration: Success

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was our 15th wedding anniversary, visiting from out of town, and we wanted a nice dinner and jazz. The music was great. Hermon Mahari and group were terrific. Our waitress was enthusiastic and the atmosphere was pleasant. My flower order for the occasion was waiting and lovely. One small complaint. Steak was a little tough. For the price, it did not melt in your mouth ala Ruth Chris Steak House. Vegetables had great flavor. But a pleasant night other wise. All cows are not equal...as one chef once told me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice jazz piano, great steak, excellent ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Nice jazz piano, great steak, excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great steakhouse with a lot of ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a great steakhouse with a lot of atmosphere. I go to KC once a year and make a point to get to the Majestic. The service is great and the staff is very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Lunch at the Majestic

Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I went to the Majestic because we wanted to re-visit the steak soup, we started off with a cup of it and it was good,I had ordered the spinach salad and it was presented nicely however it was swimming in the dressing and it was very tart, my husband who loves chicken fried steak ordered it and I am pretty sure that it had been dropped in a deep frier it was almost black and it tasted old and dried I mentioned this to the waiter and he did not respond.We have been going to the Majestic for not only our wedding anniversary but for an occasional sunday brunch and the food has always been outstanding.WE most likely will not be back.We were the first table in so I found it odd that the steak was overdone.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fun place!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food is pricey, but it was good. Music was great. Make reservations, it's a busy place!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be sure you know the set up before reserving table

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went specifically to listen to the group but didn't realize they played downstairs when we made the reservations, so we ate upstairs but were told we could go down to listen. Sat at a table but were told we had to leave because it was a dinner table, but we could wait for an opening at the bar or a cocktail table. A cocktail table became available so we sat down but were told it was being held for a man who went out to smoke. So, even after spending all that money on dinner, we never even got to hear the jazz. Very disappointing . . .

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four had a very pleasant ti ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our party of four had a very pleasant time. Our server was so much more than a person bringing food and drinks. As I recall, his name was Jason and he was superb host and representative for The Majestic! I most certainly will be back with out of town guests, local friends and family. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We sat in the basement with the band per ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We sat in the basement with the band per reviews to do so. The service was impeccable and by far some of the best service we have received in a very long time! I had the prime rib and my husband had the sirloin steak. The prime rib was delicious but the sirloin was full of gristle and mostly inedible. Which was unfortuate for a pricier steakhouse. Both of our mixed drinks were top notch. The music was great but a little loud to have a conversation over. If you are going for the ambience, music, and service then this is the place for you! The food is not the best in town, but the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Jazz was incredible. Waiter was outstand ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Jazz was incredible. Waiter was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in a historic setting

Dined on May 25, 2016

The Majestic is a historical Kansas City restaraunt that harkens back to the traditional downtown steakhouse. The food is excellent, ambiance excellent and history great. My fiancé and I enjoyed a special occasion out and had a wonderful time at the Majestic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 25, 2016

Our server, Catherine was great. Very attentive and pleasant. There were three of us, and we all had the same taste in food, so I only know that the Lamb Chops were absolutely delectable. The description tempted all of us, and we were all more than satisfied with the choice we made. The Steak Soup was a hit with my dining partners, and I totally enjoyed the crab cakes. The servings were quite adequate. Desserts for us to share included cheese cake and creme brulee; both delicious. I will certainly go back...so many more dishes to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite KC restaurant. A little pri ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

My favorite KC restaurant. A little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Want to Impress?

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have never taken the time to write a review, but this is an exception. There is no shortage of amazing places to dine and enjoy world class jazz in the downtown KC area, but The Majestic is definitely in the top 5. If you want to truly impress your date for a night she will not forget, book a reservation downstairs in the jazz club and order the dry-aged steak and the salad with berries. The service is also top-notch. You will know the waiter truly cares about you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife, a jazz fan, to the Majesti ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my wife, a jazz fan, to the Majestic for her birthday. Was our first visit, but won't be our last. The food was fantastic, along with the service. Do reserve a table in the jazz club downstairs. The trio played great AND kep the decibles low enough for conversation. Prices are at the upper end for fine dining in KC, but well worth it for our special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic steak house

Dined on May 21, 2016

The long tradition of fine dry aged beef has been maintained. High quality steaks, perfectly done as requested. The ambiance is still that of a traditional steak house / old time saloon. Not pretentious, but first class all the way. Still our go-to spot for a steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good. Enjoyed evening

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good. Enjoyed evening

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Mediocre food. Steak was grisly , potato ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Mediocre food. Steak was grisly , potato over-baked. Bar selections great. Music great. Forgot to note downstairs in memo and had to wait for our dinner table but they found a great spot by the band for us to wait. Still will go back, maybe for apps and drinks. Music!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good meal.

Dined on May 20, 2016

We chose the 30 ounce rib-on ribeye, and made it for two. My fiancee had a baked potato, I had asparagus. Chef, at my request, grilled the asparagus rather than steaming it. Overall, a good meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 19, 2016

I really enjoyed the visit, the food was excellent, next time I will request a seat downstairs, the noise level in the bar was a little high for quiet conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have been to the happy hour here and ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been to the happy hour here and love the food and drinks for that. We decided that we would have our anniversary celebration with one of their better steaks. I had the $40 ribeye and she had the smaller KC strip steak. Both steaks were very stringy and very difficult to cut let alone eat and my baked potato had the appearance of being warmed up in the microwave. Very disappointed in an expensive steakhouse meal. We still love the happy hour and will continue to do that from time to time though.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed sitting downstairs ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We very much enjoyed sitting downstairs and listening to the great jazz band. I felt like it wasn't too loud and we could still talk. It was my daughters birthday and they gave her a wonderful dessert to take home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. The only thing I did not like was the kale, I felt too much garlic was used.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the majestic, the service staff ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We loved the majestic, the service staff was amazing. Especially Cap and his side kick. The ambience of the whole place was amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Majestic was amazing!

Dined on May 14, 2016

First, it is a little pricey but you get your money's worth. The food is fabulous, with a varied menu. The steak soup is amazing. One thing I like is that a lot of upscale places like this nickel and dime you with everything ala carte but not here. Kathryn, our server, was incredible - attentive but not smothering and we didn't have to ask her for a thing. You should definitely eat in the Jazz room. The live music is great but not where you can't hear your company. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

Service great, my Wagu didn't come out m ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service great, my Wagu didn't come out medium rare, the re-fire still wasn't correct. The server was excellent!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Greatness Returns

Dined on May 8, 2016

I used to frequent the Majestic Steakhouse back in my early adulthood and it was one of the finest restaurants in the city. I stopped going about 10 years ago because it changed management and the quality dramatically dropped. I'm happy to report that it is back to it's earlier excellence. I've had dinner there in the past month, which was very good, and took my mother and sister for Sunday brunch on Mother's Day, which was awesome. The service was great both times and the brunch was absolutely fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Majestic several times and the food is amazing. Our server was awesome, he took very good care of us. We had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service by a tall young man w ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Incredible service by a tall young man who anticipated our every need. Will become a regular place for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.