About The Majestic Restaurant

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: 8162211888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime Rib
  • Black And Blue Burger
  • Croque Madame
  • Cobb Salad
  • Seafood Bisque
  • Kansas City Strip Steak
  • Apple Crisp Ala Mode
Prime Rib
Black And Blue Burger
Croque Madame
Cobb Salad
Seafood Bisque
Kansas City Strip Steak
Apple Crisp Ala Mode

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Steakhouse
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (132)
romantic (96)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
neighborhood gem (65)
notable wine list (52)
good for groups (43)
late-night find (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (26)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (16)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is always the same, Fabulous!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 10 hours ago

It is always the same, Fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great. The 32oz D ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were great. The 32oz Dry aged wagyu porterhouse was one of the next steaks i ever had. TJ provided great service and the jazz club was a nice way too cap off the evening. A great place in the heart of Kansas City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This very conveniently located within wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

This very conveniently located within walking distance of the Quality Hill Playhouse so I occasionally eat there before the theater. Downstairs is much too noisy when there is live music - can't converse at all. Upstairs has a moderate noise level. The food is good but the waiter was totally unfriendly.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We ate here for our anniversary. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We ate here for our anniversary. It was not our first time. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. It is where we go for special occasions because of the jazz and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a lovely place for brunch! Had an u ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a lovely place for brunch! Had an upscale feel with great servers. The food tasted wonderfuld and was served promptly. Soft live piano music begins at 11am.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with my husband. We elected t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Date night with my husband. We elected to sit downstairs in the Jazz club . The service was prompt, the cocktail list - fabulous and great wine by a glass selection. My husband ordered a martini and was impressed by the quality of the drink- we haven't been at this place for awhile and forgot how enjoyable the whole experience can be- AFTER you get over the stress of finding a parking spot. The parking lot directions on the website need to be updated- the ease of the parking would make things a little more pleasurable as a " whole night experience "

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I rented an Airbnb in the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I rented an Airbnb in the old Garment District of KC, and The Majestic was just across the street. We arrived just in time for happy hour, and what a great happy hour it was. Go downstairs to the bar in the jazz area. It has a great vibe, and Tom the bartender is outstanding.

The drink and appetizer specials cannot be beaten -- $5 glasses of wine, half-price apps. There are well drink specials, too. And Tom has great stories about his daughter's Peace Corps experience in Malawi! We reluctantly tore ourselves away from the downstairs area to eat dinner in the main dining room. Even if you don't like jazz music, I highly recommend you eat downstairs. It's dimly lit, cool (temperature wise), and is just plain intimate.

The main dining room is very warm during the summertime. The food is good but possibly a little overpriced. But we went there expecting to pay a bit more for our steaks. I ordered 12 oz. dry-aged rib eye and the husband order the Kansas City strip. Both medium rare. The Majestic's medium rare is more toward rare, which is perfect for us. Everything was cooked to perfection, and we loved our side dishes. I think I inhaled the macaroni and cheese. The French onion soup is glorious, too.

I can't rave about this neighborhood restaurant enough. It has everything going for it -- great happy hour specials, an enjoyable bartender (I'm serious, go downstairs and see Tom), jazz music, perfectly cooked steaks and delicious sides. This building is one of the most intriguing and historical buildings I've been in. I'd love to go upstairs to the private cigar club just to have the whole experience.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated and it took about 10 minu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were seated and it took about 10 minutes before anyone took our drink order. Then after we got our drinks it was another 20 minutes before we got to order. We had to ask for a waitress to take our order. Then she was not very nice to us either. The food was just mediocre. I have been here 2 times before and the food was much better. It appears to be falling off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The service was amazing. The waitress wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was amazing. The waitress was polite and funny. Our glasses were always kept full and she waited patiently while we tried to decide what we wanted.

There was a live jazz band in the down stairs section. They were excellent too. It was a nice place to visit in Kansa City with good food, perfectly cooked steak and great entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service this is def ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding food and service this is definitely and eclectic restaurant where you step back in time so that must be appreciated. It's pricey but it's a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and drink as always! Spe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic food and drink as always! Special appreciation to our server, Amy, who made our young friend from France especially welcome. A great place to introduce guests to the best of Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. We sat in the jazz club for dinner and to a jazz trio. The steaks were very tasty but the larger one was unevenly cooked. Overall we enjoyed ourselves. A little pricey so be prepared.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wow what can I say ; my wife and I have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow what can I say ; my wife and I have been coming to the majestic jazz club for the past 7 years for our wedding anniversaries ! The food is great the wait staff is top notch !! The food is reasonably priced !! Great live jazz music and a very romantic place to take that special someone!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is great. Service was incredi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Atmosphere is great. Service was incredibly slow and I expected better food for the prices. The shrimp appetizer was overcooked and we both ordered steaks medium rare but mine was rare and my husbands was medium rare.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Brunch was wonderful. Waiter was attenti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch was wonderful. Waiter was attentive without being overbearing. Noise level was quiet compared to other restaurants. Jazz pianist was great! Look forward to having another meal there!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Had to move beacuse b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great experience. Had to move beacuse band was to loud . My green beans were under cook. Overall experience was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was worth every penny. Dry aged ste ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was worth every penny. Dry aged steaks wer e delicious. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been looking for a great KC steak. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I've been looking for a great KC steak. Looking on Yelp, The Majestic was high on the list. I ordered the KC Strip and unfortunately it was really fatty and tough throughout most of it. The parts that were solid were pretty good, but lacked the full flavor one would expect for a $36 steak. The sides were good, and the waiter was nice, but overall I left disappointed.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Best ribeye ever Worst Cesar salad ever ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best ribeye ever

Worst Cesar salad ever

Excellent service

Great venue

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

There's nothing fancy or frilly about th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There's nothing fancy or frilly about this old time steak house. But the steaks are thick and delicious; the service attentive; and the room evokes the jazz age in Kansas City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very enjoyable evening. We sat in the b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. We sat in the basement to enjoy the live jazz while dining. Excellent service , excellent jazz, and the food was very good. Living in the suburbs, it's always a treat to go into the city and experience a bit of the KC vibe/history.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great jazz music. Excellent service. Foo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great jazz music. Excellent service. Food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic night with Jazz Piano in the b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic night with Jazz Piano in the background. Menu is fantastic and server (Jason) was friendly and attentive. Steak was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank goodness we were able to discover ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Thank goodness we were able to discover this little gem of a restaurant! Such interesting and tasty food choices and the piano playing was such a nice touch during our brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think it is the coolest venue in town ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I think it is the coolest venue in town for a great steak, and entertainment!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you! This was our first time at Th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Thank you! This was our first time at The Majestic - we were celebrating a birthday. Our server, experience & food here was nothing but amazing. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious food and great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three of us went for lunch to celebrate ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Three of us went for lunch to celebrate our summer birthdays. Rich, our waiter, took great care of us. All of the food was great, especially the bacon-wrapped shrimp w horseradish, the steaks, the creamed spinach, the carrots, the asparagus, and the bread pudding. The ambiance and history of this restaurant is hard to find in KC. So glad we went.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The piano jazz musician, Joe Difeo, was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The piano jazz musician, Joe Difeo, was fabulous and really added to the ambiance. We happened to catch him at the end of his set and he turned out to have a wealth of info and insught into Kansas City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and history. We sat d ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and history. We sat downstairs to watch the band. Nice jazz so it's a little noisy but still easy to carry on a conversation. Service was impeccable. The dry aged ribeye was the best steak I've had in years. We had been looking forward to this night and The Majestic exceeded our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic jazz downstairs and yummy food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Fantastic jazz downstairs and yummy food! Will be back next time I visit K.C.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Challah French toast was amazing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Challah French toast was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was salty and you have to pay extra ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was salty and you have to pay extra for sides that's supposed to already be included with the meal. Salmon salty & Steaks under cooked

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Wish we could have stayed for the music. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wish we could have stayed for the music. Very historic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! We love The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and service! We love The Majestic! We scheduled an early dinner and were seated downstairs. The live jazz didn't start until 7pm so it was very quiet and relaxed. Enjoyed our martinis and steaks followed by some terrific ice cream & coffee. Great dinner, as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely fabulous food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

absolutely fabulous food and atmosphere. an amazing find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from Louisiana, this KC restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Being from Louisiana, this KC restaurant reminded us of the great New Orleans places we love, like Arnaud's and Galatoire's. I ordered the filet and lobster, both melt-in-your mouth delicious. Love the old historic building and the live jazz music played nightly. Great food, service and atmosphere!💖

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever. History of this place a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Best steak ever. History of this place and how they've embraced it is awesome. Must get here if in KC!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Captured a little bit of some of the thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Captured a little bit of some of the things we wanted to experience one night while visiting our son in Kansas City. Such a young vibrant city. A very nice jazz club coupled with an outstanding steak dinner. Service was very attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and fun entertainment.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food and fun entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.