Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: (816) 221-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (78)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Historic (67)
Romantic (61)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Worth the Drive (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Fun (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
Authentic (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Cozy (29)
Business Meals (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Scenic View (5)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Growing up in Kansas City, my father took me to the original Majestic several times. This "Majestic" is worthy to carry on the name. Great dining!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I think the Majestic does so well because of the ambiance and live jazz music. Other than that it's not worth the money. My husband and I went there to celebrate my graduation. The service was ok. The food was horrible. I ordered the filet mingnon with the house salad, mashed potatoes, and broccoli. The broccoli was ok, the mashed potatoes were really good, and the salad was ok, very over dressed. The steak, I ordered medium and it came medium well, which is fine but it was so under seasoned. I never add salt to my food in a restaurant. I'm not a huge fan of salt, but this steak was so bland I had to to even enjoy it. My husband had the prime rib which was better than mine, but not by much. He also got the mashed potatoes and the creamed spinach. The creamed spinach was ok. When we were finished with the meal, we waited a very long time to recieve our check and an even longer time to get cashed out. Such a shame since the live jazz music was nice. Will probably not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointed in recent experience at Majestic. We had a party of three and all three of us had to have our steaks sent back because they were under-cooked. None of us are the type that routinely send food back; in fact we seldom complain at all...give us a good meal and we're happy! However, each of our steaks, all of which were ordered medium or medium well, were blood raw in the center. When we sent them back for further cooking, the steaks returned but unfortunately, the quality of meat just wasn't very good. All three of us said our steaks were tough and grisly.

When you pay $40 for s strip steak, it better be a quality cut of meat. Sadly, that was not the case. The Majestic still maintains a very nice ambiance but the food is over priced for the poor quality we experienced. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I was seating at the basement bar with Tom as my server. I would alone go back for his service! He was humorous and delightful. Brilliant and clever man. I have never had as much fun there. Music was wonderful and the food was great. The portions are always too much for me, but that is the style of the place. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The dining experience was very nice and the food was excellent. We loved the live jazz band and would definitely recommend to others. It was the perfect place for us for a birthday celebration. Thanks so much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Nice for High School Graduation. Group of nine loved it. Food was great,

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Easily some of the best food and best service I've had in quite a while. Everything was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was amazing; our server knew the menu and ingredients well. Food was outstanding and a great selection. The ambiance is fun and historic, felt like a step back in time and the upright piano really added to the experience.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service as usual. Prefer upstairs seating though when with my mother who struggles with steps and no banister.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

great place to come and great food and drink, would come back and recommend to anyone

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Be prepared for large portions very well prepared. Steaks are the specialty but seafood is also offered. Go for the music in the basement--some of the best jazz musicians in town frequent the stage.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a reliable evening out. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The service (Brett) and the restaurant itself are fantastic. The food was average. Great wine and whiskey list. We were seated in the Jazz lounge (lower level) right next to the piano player and we could still have a conversation and also were able to listen to fantastic jazz music during our meal. Our server was fantastic. He walked the rare, perfect line between allowing us to enjoy our meal and prompt service. He never hovered but always seemed to be there at the right moment. As to the food, again...average. The mussels were good but lacked flavor (more wine and garlic would have helped). When you order mussels, part of the fun is to enjoy the broth with bread (great broth means you need to ask for more bread), in this case, the broth didn't give us a reason to do so or even use the bread we had. The fries (thick cut potato slices), were fantastic. The house salad was fine, the Ceaser salad was weak, too much oil and not enough flavor in the dressing. The salmon was good and cooked well. As to the steak, I was surprised, that I was not able to get a steak medium rare and charred Pittsburgh style(this is a steakhouse). Brett said they didn't have the ability to do so, but he did give a great explanation of why it's called "Pittsburgh". He said they could char it, but it would be more like medium +, I said that would be fine, but please, not more than medium as I was more interested in tasting the aged ribeye, over the char (I actually said that). The steak came out medium well (with some medium in the center). It looked ok at first, but clearly overdone as it sat and continue to cook. I didn't complain and didn't want to wait for another steak so I ate it. I ended up leaving about 1/4 of the steak as that part was well done. I really don't understand how a steakhouse doesn't know how to char a steak medium rare as I do it at home in a cast iron pan on a regular basis. For dessert, the apple pie with homemade vanilla ice cream was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great steak place. 1920's feel. Would highly recommend. We were so impressed- we are going back for lunch today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I can not find the words to describe this place. While a little pricy the service, food, ambiance simply everything was fantastic. Thank you majestic

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We come to Kansas City ( from Iowa) 2-3 times a year- for a friends weekend of vintage shopping, great dining and live jazz. We make sure a visit to The Majestic is part of our weekend each time. Step back in time to the Speakeasy days. Downstairs dining and live jazz stage are just perfect. Waiters are just excellent and the food is 5 star. Great cocktails, wonderful historic atmosphere and always very good jazz groups right in front of you. Everyone has a great time, lots of laughter and I always want to come back. Oh how I wish we had a " Majestic " in Des Moines!!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In town with my wife and we needed a nice place to have a date night supper before a concert. We stumbled upon this place by accident but oh my was it ever an awesome find! Step back in time at the Majestic to when it was a speakeasy! Our waiter was fabulous! The meal was awesome from the salad to the Majestic potatoes! The 32 day old aged ribeye melted in my mouth and I really enjoyed the rich buttery flavor! The drinks are strong also!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had dinner at 8 PM on a Thursday. We opened with the pimento cheese, but it was extremely salty. I had the chicken. The outer skin was baked crispy, but also salty. The meat was very dry and not desirable. Overall not sure if just A bad night, however I doubt if we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food and jazz were awesome. Waiter seemed grumpy and service was slow, but that worked ok because the jazz was great and the atmosphere was good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I did not enjoy food and didn't get a chance to dine in jazz club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The total package!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were originally told to go to Michael Smith's and then also to another well-known restaurant in Kansas City. When we looked at both of their menus it was not the steakhouse venue that we were looking for. The seating hostess at Michael Smith's suggested the Majestic. We were so glad that she did it was an excellent evening or server was Amy she was fabulous we had a wonderful time the food was excellent . And we enjoyed the restaurant especially because it was not noisy .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What a great history to accompany a delicious meal. This landmark building was carefully restored so as to remain in keeping with the era in which it was built.
Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've been going to the Majestic for years and this was the first time I've been disappointed.
It took the server 20-25 minutes to just take our order, plus we had to ask for him to come take our order.
The rib eye that I ordered was cooked incorrectly, plus for $40 it should have been perfect, like I'd had before.
Just a horrible experience which is very sad. I don't know if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always a special experience. Delicious food, attentive staff and fab jazz.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place for a date or for out of town visitors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food, main course selection comes with salad or soup and two sides. Our waiter, Ted, was terrific. The chocolate mouse cake was a 10. Only downfall was slightly tight seating, but due to the quality of the cuisine, it was worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good steaks...mixed drinks seemed a bit pricey. Great ambiance and jazz setting is nice too.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

very nice! atmosphere, food and service. would highly recommend to my friends.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Majestic is one of my favorites in KC. It was a treat to bring my husband and introduce him to a great steak house with history. Service is outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything about this place was perfect! We sat downstairs in the Jazz lounge. Food was great, atmosphere was just right, and our server very knowledgeable of menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very good steaks top-of-the-line aged beef great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very best in KC. I recommend everyone of my guests to this spot, they never disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our waiter ted was incredible. He accommodated me, a vegetarian, and gave us great info on KC's history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome!!! Great Brunch!! Great champagne at an amazing price!! Had dinner before. Fantastic jazz band... Bone in Filet was unbelievable! Cool place! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Incredible food and live music!!! Highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We love Sean, he is a great bartender and company! Thanks for the great company

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Even though for some reason this time the food wasn't as great as before we still enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.