Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: (816) 221-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother's Day with us!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (85)
Historic (83)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Romantic (58)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fun (40)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Authentic (36)
Cozy (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (30)
Happy Hour (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (11)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Dancing (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 20 hours ago

What a great history to accompany a delicious meal. This landmark building was carefully restored so as to remain in keeping with the era in which it was built.
Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been going to the Majestic for years and this was the first time I've been disappointed.
It took the server 20-25 minutes to just take our order, plus we had to ask for him to come take our order.
The rib eye that I ordered was cooked incorrectly, plus for $40 it should have been perfect, like I'd had before.
Just a horrible experience which is very sad. I don't know if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, main course selection comes with salad or soup and two sides. Our waiter, Ted, was terrific. The chocolate mouse cake was a 10. Only downfall was slightly tight seating, but due to the quality of the cuisine, it was worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Good steaks...mixed drinks seemed a bit pricey. Great ambiance and jazz setting is nice too.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

very nice! atmosphere, food and service. would highly recommend to my friends.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The Majestic is one of my favorites in KC. It was a treat to bring my husband and introduce him to a great steak house with history. Service is outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this place was perfect! We sat downstairs in the Jazz lounge. Food was great, atmosphere was just right, and our server very knowledgeable of menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good steaks top-of-the-line aged beef great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Very best in KC. I recommend everyone of my guests to this spot, they never disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our waiter ted was incredible. He accommodated me, a vegetarian, and gave us great info on KC's history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome!!! Great Brunch!! Great champagne at an amazing price!! Had dinner before. Fantastic jazz band... Bone in Filet was unbelievable! Cool place! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Incredible food and live music!!! Highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We love Sean, he is a great bartender and company! Thanks for the great company

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Even though for some reason this time the food wasn't as great as before we still enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Majestic is a historic venue. The building layout is unique with the additional dining area downstairs. Biscuits & gravy were awesome, hanger steak & eggs were great, & the Bloody Mary hit the spot.

Parking is limited but there is a garage within 40 yards from building. Will go again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went for wife's birthday and had an intimate table in front of Jazz trio and it was so fun and romantic. The beef medallions melted in our mouths. The ancho chili carrots were amazing and the server was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations... such as the shrimp wrapped in bacon with horseradish for an appetizer. Music was loud, but it worked to create a private conversation for us. Great classic atmosphere and charm with great people watching! Cannot wait to go again...

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, People Watching, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding musical treat. The steaks are just the way you order them - first time every time! Very attentive service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

After discovering this gem in January, I've taken two sets of friends to The Majestic so far and everyone has absolutely loved it! From the friendly service to the lively jazz/speak easy ambiance to the delicious food, everything about the restaurant keeps me coming back :) I'm a vegetarian and am actually able to find plenty to enjoy, which is rare for a steakhouse!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The Majestic is always a reliable experience. Food is excellent, great cocktails and the Jaszz lounge is very entertaining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch with friends. Service was okay, the food was okay. I had the chicken with the dried cherries and pecans. The sauce was tasty, but the chicken was dry. The rest of our meals were okay, but not outstanding. That said, I would give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always reliably good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food, great service, and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a great anniversary dinner to some live music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The Majestic is one of my favorite local restaurants. The steaks, salad and sides are excellent. I'm sure the other items on the menu are as well based on looking at what others ordered, but the steaks are so good I can never talk myself into trying something different.

The decor is comfortable and not pretentious. This is a place that is comfortable for a business dinner, date night with my wife, or practically any other occasion. They have live music most nights downstairs most nights. The last time I visited, they had jazz piano upstairs.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food is always horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. First time there, and will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We ad look forward to going to the Majestic Jazz Club for quite awhile. It was well worth the trip. The food, the music and historical bdg were all amazing. Can't wait to get back there. My taste buds are still savoring the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Amazing experience. Both dishes were fantastic. The only thing that would've made it better is if we had eaten downstairs where the jazz band was playing. We didn't know that was an option until our meal was over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and the food. We both had the small filet - excellent!

Tags: Fun, Fireplace, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This visit was a birthday gift from my wife. It was outstanding, as usual!
The 8 oz filet mignon just on the edge of medium-rare/medium is outstanding, as are most of the dry-aged steaks available there. The first bottle of wine was just a little 'off', and there was no problem getting it replaced. The staff is polite, courteous, attendant but not 'hovering'. The bartender is a gem! Try the barrel-aged Manhattan.
The other best thing about the Majestic is the Happy Hour! Great food for an unbelievable price!
We will be dining there many more times, I'm sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service and the only reason I'd ever return. Food was nothing special.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Mark Lawery Trio was superb and completed the dining experience with thrills and chills. This has to be one of the best jazz/dining venues in the city.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My steak was tough. They didn't give me my open table point as I changed my reservation time
The bill was too high. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Majestic is one of my favorite dining spot in Kansas City. I go there several times a year when I need to feel pampered and well served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice evening and the food was great. I'll be going back :) The music was excellent!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

In town for a convention. Four of us went to the Majestic for dinner. It was perfect for cocktails, steak, soup, salad, with sides. Some very tasteful live jazz started as we were finishing. It was a great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Had a business dinner at the restaurant with 5 colleagues. There are two floors...the upper floor is a bar and restaurant tables. The lower floor is a live jazz club with food and a bar; harder to get reservations downstairs. The meat items are pretty expensive. I love steak of all kinds and eat it whenever and wherever I can. The meat was fresh and tasty but, not as tender as I expected for dry aged beef and certainly not for the cost per cut of meat. I would explore other dining options the next time I'm in KC that may provide similar meat quality for a more moderate cost. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history and fare.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Mussels appetizer was weird but great. Giant (delicious) Texas fries instead of classic frites. But cooked perfectly and the mariniere sauce was superb. Great steak. Please try the lamb chops! Service a little surly but prompt. Missed the music because we got there a bit late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely love this place. It's my favorite restaurant in KC. They were understaffed because someone called in so they were scrambling, but it didn't affect the wait time at all. Food is delicious and the ambiance of the piano player is first class!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.