Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (78)
Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (50)
Cozy (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (27)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a regular spot for us when in KC (twice a year or so). We made anlater reservation this time around and the customers at our table "stayed later than expected", so we were seated 30 minutes later than expected. The food and music (jazz club in the basement) weee perfect as usual, and our waiter was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great. Place to go. Food was very good.
Music was great

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We went to this restaurant on our 2nd anniversary and was not disappointed in our decision! The food was exceptional , and the jazz was wonderful. From the steaks (medallions and KC strip) to the cheesecake and chocolate mouse, we were not left wanting anything else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is always good! Was there with husband, mother in law n brother in law. Jazz night is always a great night. Service was great. This is my 6 or 7 th time here and will be back again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Make sure you sit in the basement and hear the live jazz music.
Food, ambience, music wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was excellent and price reasonable for what we received. Bar service was very slow

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent venue in downtown Kansas City. Great food and excellent server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We arrived exactly on time for our reservation and were seated at the first table in the bar area when there was plenty of room toward the back. Found the waiter to be arrogant. Did a terrible job of timing the courses and never did pour a drop of wine. After a very detailed discussion about "medium" my filet mignon arrived very rare. The lobster tail was cold, as was the bernaise sauce (its supposed to be cold he said) and the mac n cheese was just warm. In a food city like KCMO, this place rates very low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic ambience. Ask to be seated downstairs in the jazz lounge if you don't mind some beautiful background noise. The steak is always great to excellent. The wine list has many varieties for anyone's taste and preference. Last, but not least, the service has always been impeccable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fantastic meal. My first trip to KC and this was close to hotel. I love dry aged steak and this place offers many selections. Quaint little restaurant with live jazz. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the music and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

I was very pleased with the meal, service, and settings. The house jazz band was on point. The building interior was classically themed and the bar looked like it was straight from the 40's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went out on a date with my love. I have been wanting to try this place out for quite some time. We had wonderful meal and great service. We certainly enjoyed the atmosphere as well. The food was all "comfort food". A delicious treat, but not a place we would frequent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We came for the first time for our first wedding anniversary and it didn't disappoint! It's such a great small place, service was fantastic. All the good was delicious and cooked to perfection and the jazz pianist set a beautiful mood. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fabulous---as always! This is an historic, old-school steakhouse. Treat your self to a real steak, perfect service, some great KC history and jazz---all at the same time. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The staff were amazing. Best steak I have ever had. By all means get the 32oz. Wagyu porterhouse. Can't go wrong. They were cool enough to let us split the massive steak. The waiter was able to get my group up into the private cigar club upstairs after dinner to enjoy more drinks and a cigar since I'm a huge cigar guy. Overall this place is amazing and I will make it a norm when I'm in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was great and food was good. We were disappointed that we could not be seated in the jazz club area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Boufriend's 50th bday dinner was perfect thanks to live music, great food and great service. Seated immediately and the wine glass was never empty. He said his prime rib was the best he'd had in years. Thanks for a special night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We love to come to the Majestic when we want a good steak and listen to live jazz. We reserve for downstairs dinner with band views. Don't let them put you behind the band unless you just want to see the piano play. Our service was impeccable ask for Joe. The Majestic steak was done to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great Ambience, Great service and Great Food
Took associates out for special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A friend and I went here last year and were very impressed unfortunately this time around was very disappointing. The mussels were poor and the potatoes that came with them were cold. the service was lackluster and they were more interested in closing and cleaning than making sure we were taken care of. If you close at 9pm you can wait till then to start cleaning up. Sweeping and cleaning tables next to me while I am eating seems unsanitary and is very distracting. The steak soup was very salty, but the steak was fine not exceptional. I would have ordered a dessert but we were being rushed out so we opted to skip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Joe the server was friendly, attentive and great!
We enjoyed the ambiance and jazz pianist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great steak, service and jazz in an historic building.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food--I had the blackened snapper and my husband had a steak. Excellent steaks

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our server was wonderful. Food was good. Love the old bar and the jazz.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I never really leave reviews but felt like I should for this restaurant. Being from Texas, I am very picky about steak and this restaurant did not disappoint. I would recommend for anyone going to Kansas City. The concierge was also very patient and made sure we had the accommodations we needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing atmosphere, and would definitely go there again. Early 1920's feel with great food and service. If you are looking for a quiet night, this is not the place.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times in the past since we attend a convention in the area once a year. If you want a great Kansas City style steak that tastes absolutely perfect, this is the place to go. They serve 30 and 32 day dry aged prime steaks that are very hard to beat. I have eaten the KC strip before and this time the ribeye. My wife had a bacon wrapped filet. I have never been disappointed in a steak that I have gotten at this restaurant. Our server was accurate and courteous and delivered the food in good timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was very slow. Server was especially kind and nice to work with but most likely had too many tables to wait and therefore couldn't keep a good eye on our table. Ribeye Steak was very dry for medium rare and appeared to have been cooked and left standing for a long time. Mashed potatoe was excellent.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City. Friendly professional service, great food and cool historic atmosphere. Also a great place to visit after work at their beautiful bar. If you come in the evening, try their downstairs restaruant which use to be a speakeasy and has music. They also provide a historical perspective of how tunnels connected places like this in KC at one time. Enjoy!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Visiting from out of town. A bit disappointed. Food and service were ok, but not great, and overpriced. Seems like they are resting on their laurels. It's in a cool building, though--probably a fun place to watch some jazz. For tasty beef, I would recommend Q39; that place was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great food, great service. great place to eat while in KC

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I made reservations months in advance for what I expected to be a very special meal. Instead, a very expensive filet mignon ordered medium rare came out of the kitchen medium well. Server did not check back after the meal was served. We had to ask the hostess to get him so we could have the order corrected. The second filet was fine, but my husband's meal got cold while waiting for the correction. Very high price for not so great food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beautiful old building with a ton of character and great ambience. The food is phenomenal and moderately priced, almost inexpensive when considering the quality. Service always top notch. I've never left here disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great experience but steaks underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Reserved on Open Table months in advance. Wanted a table in the Jazz Room, but the host said they were all reserved and quite frankly he was very curt and started my anniversary dinner experience off in a bad way. We were seated and then Amy came and turned everything around. She was the best. I had the NZ Lamb and it was great. My wife had the fillet steak and it was remarkably excellent. One of the best I have ever tasted. Melt in your mouth.

After dinner we went to the Jazz Room and sat right by the band. They were great, all top notch players. Bram, the piano player, was great, very funny and chatted with us during the performance. All in all the best anniversary dinner I have had, and this was the 24th. If you are in KC, The Majestic is a must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had wonderful service and the music was a great addition to the evening!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Thought the 32 day aged steaks are over priced and didn't notice that much in the taste or tenderness to pay that much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great steaks and wine /liquor menu - parking is a bit of a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have eaten at this place multiple times but the two times the food has been sub par; my wife could not eat her dinner because it was so greasy and the twice baked potato was ice cold on the inside; I made it through mine but only because I could not stand for $60 to go to waste; I hope they recover because we love the place but two times in a row is not a good time
Not sure if we will try again, at those prices but if we do and it's as bad, then we will be done, three strikes and they are out
B

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.