Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Majestic Restaurant

The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.

931 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-1888

Website:
http://www.majestickc.com/

Entertainment:
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/

Catering:
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.

Parking Details:
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Liz Huffman

Private Party Facilities:
The Pendergast Club is our private cigar club on the third floor of the building. With leather couches and exposed brick walls, The Pendergast Club exudes the old time elegance and sophistication of a bygone era. The club is comprised of three areas: the Board Room on the west end of the building which can seat up to 16 for dinner, the main bar lounge area which can accommodate up to 35, and the Game Room on the east end of the building which can seat up to 30 for dinner. The entire floor can also be booked for groups of up to 60 guests. Groups of up to 80 for dinner or 115 for drinks and appetizers can be accommodated in either the Main Dining Room or the Jazz Club, please call for room charges and minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Carver: (816) 221-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for Easter Brunch!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother's Day with us!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

The Majestic Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (88)
Good for a Date (83)
Live Music (80)
See All
Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Romantic (59)
Pre/post Theatre (44)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Cozy (39)
Fun (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Authentic (33)
Business Meals (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Dancing (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and the only reason I'd ever return. Food was nothing special.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

My steak was tough. They didn't give me my open table point as I changed my reservation time
The bill was too high. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Majestic is one of my favorite dining spot in Kansas City. I go there several times a year when I need to feel pampered and well served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice evening and the food was great. I'll be going back :) The music was excellent!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

In town for a convention. Four of us went to the Majestic for dinner. It was perfect for cocktails, steak, soup, salad, with sides. Some very tasteful live jazz started as we were finishing. It was a great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Had a business dinner at the restaurant with 5 colleagues. There are two floors...the upper floor is a bar and restaurant tables. The lower floor is a live jazz club with food and a bar; harder to get reservations downstairs. The meat items are pretty expensive. I love steak of all kinds and eat it whenever and wherever I can. The meat was fresh and tasty but, not as tender as I expected for dry aged beef and certainly not for the cost per cut of meat. I would explore other dining options the next time I'm in KC that may provide similar meat quality for a more moderate cost. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history and fare.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Mussels appetizer was weird but great. Giant (delicious) Texas fries instead of classic frites. But cooked perfectly and the mariniere sauce was superb. Great steak. Please try the lamb chops! Service a little surly but prompt. Missed the music because we got there a bit late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely love this place. It's my favorite restaurant in KC. They were understaffed because someone called in so they were scrambling, but it didn't affect the wait time at all. Food is delicious and the ambiance of the piano player is first class!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Bread before dinner was wonderful. My steak was just okay. Fries were awesome. Jazz music was good and not too loud. Don't feel like the food was worth the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was fabulous. Our waiter was great. Food was out of this world. Just a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was cooked perfectly and extremely flavorful. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place for a night out. Good, drinks and entertainment is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Love this place! One of best filets I've ever eaten! Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a great experience: food, service and some live music. I have never been disappointed. Pricey but a sure bet if you want to impress guests. The locale has a nice historical ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Few restaurants in KC offer great food and entertainment... The Bison Steak and Jazz Music made for an unforgettable 2 hours to celebrate our 35 year anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent advise, knew the history of resturant including the Fitzgerald 's. Food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was awesome as usual. Service was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The cocktails were unsatisfactory.

The Shrimp Lejon was way over cooked - the bacon tasted burnt and the shrimp were so small they reminded me of frozen grocery store shrimp. For $14 you want to start clear. When I brought this to the attention of the server, he did nothing.

The dry-aged bone in filet was poorly prepared. Both our steaks were cooked one level below our orders. The coffee I ordered was COLD! they had to brew a "new pot."

I'm from Dallas where I learned what a good steak truly is and I can assure you this steak was no better than what you can get at a chain restaurant. For the price, the quality, and the service, I will never return.

In fact, the only redeeming qualities were the jazz trio and the mac and cheese. I'm definitely going to the Capital Grill from now on - the food will be light years better and it will be cheaper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I hadn't been there for years, we felt cozy and romantic and our waiter was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great old Kansas City steak restaurant. Authentic all the way. Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply fabulous food, ambience, and service is a mainstay at The Majestic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Book your reservation downstairs and listen to great jazz music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place. Food was outstanding. Service was even better. Cap was our waiter and did a great job!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Awesome dinner with family. Super food and fantastic service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My guy and I celebrated his Birthday. We absolutely loved The Majestic. It was our first time and we have told so many people about it in just 2 days. The drinks were really good, the bacon wrapped tenderloin absolutely fantastic. Crème Brule, my favorite dessert and it was excellent. we were seated on the wall directly across from the Clarinet player - perfect table!
I absolutely love my guy and he had a wonderful Birthday celebration because of the Majestic - thank you so very much!
Clint was our server and we did not want for anything! Give him a raise!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great experience, great server, food was excellent. Wish the restaurant could offer valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place, food is amazing. Live jazz Lounge downstairs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Their star has faded but it's still a good, nostalgic place to eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My bride and I shared the Wagyu beef Porterhouse. It's a MONSTER piece of beef... I gave her the filet, it was easily a 10-12 oz portion. My sirloin side was 16-20oz.

She had the steak soup, I had the Casear salad. We both had baked potatoes, she had a broccoli based vegetable medley, I had early asparagus. Delicious, delicious, delicious.

Because I had had a medical procedure, I was not drinking at all, so cannot comment about wines this trip.

Kathryn was our server; she's been our server of choice for several years. She's a wonderful lady, and the epitomy of perfect service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Atmosphere, service, food and live jazz was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Majestic had very good steak. Service was great, as well. Can't say enough about the steak soup and the baked potato......yum. The garlic butter fresh broccoli was delicious! I finished it off before eating anything else on my plate!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved the Jazz and the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Using the Open Table App made making a reservation handy, I just wish the option to request the downstairs area was available. We had wanted to enjoy a nice dinner while listening to the live music but didn't know we needed to request downstairs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Long our go-to for steak in Kansas City. Dry aged beef, always excellent. Filet may be a little thinner than their usual, but remains high quality. Straight-forward prep and presentation, not over the top fancy. Fried potatoes unlike anywhere else, spicy, crispy, delicious. (Spicy).
Everything seemed to have a little more salt than usual, but not a deal-breaker. We will be back before the theater again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Great place fot jazz. Very unique KC stmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and ambience was fantastic. I've lived in KC for nearly 30 years and the first time I've been to Majestic ... best steak I've had in KC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Really great food. Expensive but absolutely worth it. Great staff. Energetic and engaging.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We dined here on a Friday night for a belated Valentine's Day. Absolutely loved it. We were able to eat downstairs in the jazz lounge and listened to a great trio playing music we enjoyed. The atmosphere was great, even with the trio playing we could talk if we wanted. I had steak which was cooked to perfection and my companion had shrimp and scallops which he said were delicious. I started with one of the best Manhattans i've had in a while. Our service was flawless and i'm not exaggerating. We were able to find on street parking, but there are lots close by. This might be considered kind of pricey, but i've paid more and enjoyed it a whole lot less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The Majestic is a great restaurant with an incredible atmosphere. The food was delicious and the drinks were made very well. The Jazz band downstairs was a very good addition to the great date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.