Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today

The Majestic Restaurant

4.5
2168 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Live Music
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
The Majestic Restaurant carries on the Kansas City traditions of great food and great jazz. We serve brunch Saturday and Sunday, lunch Monday-Friday, and dinner seven nights a week. Featuring Kansas City's best dry-aged beef, chops, and seafood and located in the historic Fitzpatrick Saloon building at 10th and Broadway in downtown Kansas City, The Majestic Restaurant offers a true Kansas City dining experience like no other. Enjoy a great steak and fine wine in our main dining room alongside a grand bar dating back to 1910, or have dinner in our lower level jazz club, the site of an actual speakeasy during prohibition, all while listening to some of Kansas City's best jazz musicians seven nights a week. An extensive wine list, creative cocktails by nationally renowned bartender Shawn Moriarty, a list of over 100 whiskeys, and a sinful selection of delectable homemade desserts provide the perfect accompaniment to the meal and the music.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Tuesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Wednesday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00pm)
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00pm)
Saturday 9:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen until 10:00)
Sunday 9:30am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm (Kitchen until 9:00)

Live Jazz nightly. $5 Happy Hour menu includes $5 1/2-pound steakburger and fries, $5 duo of sliders, $5 house wines and martinis, and more...
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 221-1888
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Liz Huffman
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
In-house or off-site catering available for large or small events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
10th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free private surface lot for The Majestic Restaurant located two doors North at 919 Broadway.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have Live Jazz seven nights a week, and there's never a cover! Trios or quartets play in the lower level Jazz Club Tuesday through Saturday evenings and a solo pianist plays in the Main Dining Room on Sunday and Monday nights. Check out our upcoming performers at http://www.majestickc.com/jazz/upcoming-shows/
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Majestic Restaurant is proud to have been host to countless rehearsal dinners, board meetings, business dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, and birthday celebrations over the years. Please call us for information and to let us know how we can make your event an unforgettable experience.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2168 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The steak was really good but had to scrape a lot of the pepper off. I was warned that it was really peppery but it took away from the flavor of the meat. The sides were just meh.. for the cost of the meal I expected better. Our waiter started off being a bit of a jerk but turned around when the crowd thinned out a little. Disappointing because the first time I went there it was a truly memorable experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The building is historic in downtown KC. Steaks are most notable and come with soup/salad and two sides. Our server was excellent. The wine list is diverse.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We love The Majestic but were there for Fathers Day and was disappointed. My prime rib was wonderful but Hubby had the $61 wagyu dry aged strip and it was a real disappointment. Lacked flavor and was undercooked, almost raw. They took it back and corrected it but it was definitely not a $60 steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Three thumbs up for our Father’s Day late lunch. The place was quiet, the waiter excellent, and menu perfect for Dad, wife, and daughter. The mussels were a delicious appetizer. A very healthful vegan salad was perfect for me. Perfectly prepared asparagus accompanied a melt in his mouth steak. We all had a marvelous time and hope to return for music and food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We have enjoyed every dining experience here. It really is perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a great experience here. First time visiting and everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Was very excited to take our out of town family to this historic steak house, but was embarrassed by the appallingly bad service that was so slow it managed to erase all the charm of eating downstairs in the old speakeasy. Especially since the jazz trio played only ONE EXACT same quasi jazz tune (complete with the same “spoon solo”) over and over and OVER throughout our entire THREE hours to have a meal evening! Seriously, the band playing only one tune the entire l-o-n-g night was extremely annoying! Hopefully they were understaffed because of some last minute hiccup & possibly the same excuse for the “band” not being able to perform correctly are the only reasons this otherwise gem was a sad waste of an expensive eating experience for us?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We took my husband for Fathers Day. He loved his steak and my sons lamb was a hit. Our server, Joseph was amazing. Such great care! We will be back. A true KC gem!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

My first visit to the Majestic since the ownership change wasn't what I was expecting.
First off, I did not have steak. I would have loved one, as aged beef is always one of my favorite things. But steaks were only available in larger portions. A six or eight ounce steak is usually more than enough for me.
I ordered the salmon and my wife had the chicken. My meal was very well prepared and served perfectly. I highly recommend it.
However, the chicken was sliced VERY thin and over cooked amidst an assortment of additional ingredients that made it a challenge to find the chicken.
Great server and the staff was up to the job for a busy Saturday early evening.
Finally, it was a bit overpriced. With a single call drink, no app and no desert, with tip my check was $97.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner. The service was exemplary and the only part of the experience that was even a little off the mark was the HVAC. It was pretty warm in the restaurant while we were there. We will go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Of our 3 steaks, they were very tender and cooked correctly. Unfortunately they were not very flavorful. Quite a disappointment for the money. The side salads, spinach and desserts were very good. The rice pilaf, asparagus and twice baked potato were all average. Won't likely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

For our anniversary and we absolutely love The Majestic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

My meal and cocktails here were only surpassed by the attentive waiter and the truly delightful live Jazz music. Ask to eat in the Jazz Club. It’s expensive and worth it for a business trip splurge!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

What a great evening! Our experience in the Jazz Room could not have been better! Our waiter, Nicholas, was wonderful as were the music and the food. Our steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and even the spinach and artichoke dip appetizer was the best we have eaten anywhere. From start to finish everything was perfect. We are planning another evening at the Majestic soon! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My grandson wanted to go for his 15th birthday. It was a great experience and we loved the entire time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service was amazing, food was terrible. The steak had absolutely no flavor. I do not mind spending money on a great steak. Unfortunately this was not the place for the great steaks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

You can never go wrong at the Majestic. Great atmosphere, great service, and the aged steak is always fantastic. I'm never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

There are a lot of better choices for steak in KC

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner while in KC for a getaway weekend with my wife. Service was awesome and the history and ambience of the venue add to the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great steakhouse on Broadway in Kansas City. We had a table directly in front of the jazz trio and it was awesome. Ambience is definately 1920's and 1930's downtown KC (if you know your history it was interesting times). Lower level dining with live jazz was the best. Service was great, attentive, but not overbearing. We did not feel pressure to leave after dinner. Servers suggestions were spot on. With the jazz trio it was not great for conversation, but you should be listening and enjoying the trio anyway. Beef selections were just right with a nice variety of sides and salads. We are non-drinkers so can't comment on the wine or drink selections.

Overall it was a super evening after a Royals game and celebrating my wifes birthday. Thanks for making this a fun and memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

My husband and I are lifelong residents of KC but had never tried this gem! We had a wonderful time on our date night including superb service, great ambiance, delicious food, extensive menu, and eclectic drink menu. We will definitely be back 💕

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Terribly disappointing. From the mediocre cocktails to the poorly prepared and bland steaks, there was very little to enjoy. When I pointed out that my steak was not done correctly, all the waiter did was bring me some salt. The only thing I had that I could recommend was their potatoes — both the mashed and baked ones were good.

Oh, the waiter did redeem himself a bit when he gave us a good recommendation on someplace else we could go to get a decent cocktail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Wonderful dining experience in a historic setting. Made the night extra special. My wife loved your Flapper contail. The live music was beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Delicious and lived up to they hype I had heard about it. Wait staff, especially Nick, were spectacular.

You do have to request on your reservation to be seated in the live jazz dining room, if that is what you are interested in.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I really wanted to enjoy my 29th Anniversary, but the food was subpar for the extreme price. We opted for the prime cuts, paid the extra price and was not impressed with our steaks. They were not cooked to order and were not prime cuts of meat.

Next time, we will stay home and grill. For a $170 evening, I was incredibly disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We went for our anniversary and it was amazing! We had Steven (Stephen?) for our server and he was so great! The food was unbelievably good, their steak melts in your mouth and all the sides are yummy! Music was great, the ambiance over all makes you feel like your in an old speakeasy. Go check this place out!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We had a wonderful time and the food was fantastic (as it always is). No better steaks anywhere in the country! Plus the side dishes are perfect and the wine list is also very good. The service is especially nice; not hovering but just the right attention. Love the Majestic!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I just love the Majestic
The steaks are excellent and the service is wonderful. You feel like you have stepped back in time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had a great meal at the Majestic. The steaks were outstanding. It's known for its steaks so that's what we ordered. The other couple split a steak and the waiter was very accommodating, even letting then know a complete order of sides is available so, each of the two splitting the entree would get there own. This was not explicit on the menu. So thanks to the waiter for thinking of us. It's pricey but worth it if you want to try it. BTW make early reservations to sit in the jazz club. We enjoyed the upstairs restaurants period decor, but there is no music upstairs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were seated downstairs and were entertained with live jazz right around the time we ended our meal at 7 pm. Our waiter was very attentive and patient as it was our first time there and it took us a while to decide on our selections. The ambiance was nice and even when the band started up it wasn’t too loud. All of our menu selections were delicious. Good sized portions, a nice variety of choices and no one left hungry or disappointed. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The entire experience was remarkable! The food was great the wine was great the Ambiance was awesome and a good choice on the wine menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Wonderful. Great steak. Loved the Elder Hombre drink. LOVED the jazz band.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Very loud music for such a small space in the basement. Food was not terrible but there are much better steaks can be found around Kansas City.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Outstanding service. We visited for lunch. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great experience and brunch menu day for Mother's Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had brunch here on Mother's day and the food wsa excellent along with the service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great music and food , but a bit loud for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Everything was great about the majestic! It was a surprise for my wife and she loved it. We ate in the Jazz Hall, it was perfect! However, it’s not a very big room and the music is a bit loud. Other than that it was perfect. The steak soup is delicious! It’s a must have

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We've been eating here for years and really enjoy the quality steaks and Jazz music. This time I made it an extra special occasion by conspiring with my daughter's boyfriend to surprise her with a marriage proposal. She was thrilled and the staff was great in helping pull it off. Oh, she accepted.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
55