About The Lot

1977 Maybank Hwy.
Charleston, SC 29412
View Larger Map

The Lot is committed to making each meal an experience through thoughtful service in a casual setting. Each dish is crafted using the season's highest quality, locally sourced meats and produce. Our ingredients receive minimal treatment to allow their natural flavors to be the focus of each dish. The menu is approachable and showcases flavors brought to the plate through the use of traditional techniques.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Woodland Shores.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 225-0094

Website:
http://www.thelotcharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
RJ Dye

Additional:
Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Lot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Outdoor Dining
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for outdoor dining (20)
See All
great for brunch (13)
good for groups (12)
special occasion (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (6)
romantic (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, second to none.

Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious, second to none.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, GREAT service, fun vibe.. Wi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, GREAT service, fun vibe.. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Farm to Table food

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything we ordered from appetizers to dessert was great. I in fact ate 2 more appetizers as my main meal. Great service. Will definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Place for Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I tried The Lot on the Spur of the Moment one evening. We were able to reserve a table and were pleasantly greeted by the staff. They had placed a "Reserved" card on a nice table for us. Appetizers, dinner and drinks were wonderful and I would go back again. Service was efficient and not intrusive. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience. My only complaint is that sometimes there's loud music from the "Pour House" which is right next to The Lot. However, I would not let that stop me from returning to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was charming and the staff were warm, friendly and attentive. The drink menu offered some wonderful options that were different than the norm. The flavors of each dish were memorable and everything was cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Average

Dined on April 30, 2016

Limited menu. Meat dish was not cooked to order. Outdoor dining within 75 feet of major highway with lots of traffic.

food2
ambience3
service2

This was one of our favorite local resta ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This was one of our favorite local restaurants, but our dinner there last week was sub par. They have a new menu (and chef?), very limited offering. Menu was on a small 2" x 2" piece of paper. BRING BACK THE PREVIOUS MENU AND CHEF!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For restaurant goers who like different

Dined on April 17, 2016

I loved this place. The menu changes with the sustainable vegetables they use. The chef has a unique way of creating everything. I will go back and definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lot of noise at The Lot

Dined on April 1, 2016

We were excited to get reservations on such a busy weekend in Charleston. The staff was great - friendly, helpful, courteous. The menu was eclectic and everyone found a entree they were excited to try. Two of us had the flat iron steak and were not impressed. The pork chop was huge and smoked to be more like ham. The socca was delicious but needed more filling. The chicken schnitzel was great, too. The atmosphere was loud but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Lot never disappoints!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is always innovative and it's different every time we go. Great service and great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for after Terrace Theater or anytime

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Really great place to eat. Everything about it is excellent. We are regulars at the Terrace Theater, but for whatever reason, we'd never gotten around to trying The Lot after the movie. Should have done so long ago.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought another couple. The four of u ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We brought another couple. The four of us ordered almost everything on menu just to try. Very affordable. Our guests loved it. My wife and I have been multiple times. Always great. The chef does some amazing things.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good little find on James Island

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was good and fresh. I had the squid ink dyed pasta with crabmeat. The dish was bland and lacked something special. Service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fresh ingredients food! Comfortable atmosphere!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Restaurant was a great find while we were vacationing in the area. After nice brunch, we enjoyed cruising the farmer's market behind the LOT. Pleasureable experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellence service! Great local food opt ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellence service! Great local food options and delicious brunch.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Sunday Brunch was good. Good food but the service was a little slow. The outside was open and full as well as inside so that may have been the problem understaffed.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Heard great things-not sure what the buzz is about

Dined on February 2, 2016

My girlfriend and i went after hearing a lot about how great the food was supposed to be. She got something that she loved, a vegetarian socca dish, but my orange chicken was not too good. The ingredients tasted fresh enough, but the final product wasnt very appetizing. We only had 2 of the less expensive dishes, a small (like 2 pieces of bread small) appetizer, and a couple drinks, but the bill was over $75. Not worth it, from my experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Awesome food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Eclectic daily menu with fresh local ingredients. The combinations are different and strange at first glance. The results are extremely yummy. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pork chop for 2 was great. We liked The ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Pork chop for 2 was great. We liked The Lot a lot,

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect execution

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Everyone does farm to table menus these days. However, the Lot is somewhere that dials into the flavors of what all the fresh vegetables bring to the table. Everything we sampled was spot on. Can't wait to return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

We were seated immediately and had a great meal with outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Local James Island Gem

Dined on January 5, 2016

The last three meals we've had at The Lot have been outstanding. They've actually blown away the last few downtown restaurants we've tried. The recent decor upgrades look great and were a definite improvement to the ambience. On our most recent visit we brought a friend from out of town who is in the F&B business and she was really impressed. Love what you guys do. Keep it up!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I like were Chef RJ takes his menu and s ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

I like were Chef RJ takes his menu and supports them with such great supporting stars. The wreck fish, and braised short ribs, have both been outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

Dined on December 30, 2015

The Lot never disappoints - the food is fantastic and the service is always impeccable! The Gnuddi is one of my favorite dishes but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The Lot is also a great place to drop in for a drink and dessert and the staff is always super accommodating!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding cuisine!

Dined on December 10, 2015

The Lot is a happy surprise on James Island. Imaginative and outstanding food, appropriate serving sizes, prepared with care and expertise, a dynamic menu, and sound level low enough to provide privacy while allowing conversation. On both visits I have been very very impressed. If there is one weakness, it is the minimal dessert menu, but ooh those desserts!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't have a clue where this little gr ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

I don't have a clue where this little grm came from, but I've eaten brunch and now dinner and both meals blew me away. What an awesome place!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent experience

Dined on November 14, 2015

Have been meaning to try this neighborhood restaurant for some time... Now that we have, we are sorry we waited so long! Food and service were wonderful! Very nice that you are not at all rushed through the meal! Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Wy wife and I are foodies. We moved fro ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Wy wife and I are foodies. We moved from NYC 3 years ago to Mt. P and have eaten everywhere worth mention in and around Chs since we've been here. We've yet to try The Lot. This is farm to table executed at a very high level- better than just about everywhere else in the area. Living in Mt. Pleasant it had to be very good to warrant a repeat trip but you can be sure that will definitely happen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

We made reservations for two at 6. I cal ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

We made reservations for two at 6. I called before we went and ordered from their on-line menu and asked if our order could be waiting on us when we arrived. The restuarant staff was very accomodating and our perfectly cooked burgers were swiftly brought to the table. We enjoyed our meal and left in time to walk across the road to the Terrace theater for a 7 o'clock movie. As we left we told our servers that we would return and eat like "normal" people.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner on the deck!

Dined on October 29, 2015

I recently visited The Lot for the 10th time, and decided to dine on the front deck since it was a really comfortable temperature that evening. They've added some really nice flora to compliment the beautiful wooden deck. This was my first visit under the new chef, and they didn't miss a beat. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive, just right. I had the gnudi for an appetizer, and it was perfectly done and very flavorful. I had the tilefish entree, complete with crab and rich grits. It was a wonderful dish, and the fish was prepared perfectly. My guest was vegan, and they catered to her needs perfectly. She was very, very happy. Overall, another great dinner at The Lot. Can't wait to get back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Our party of three all decided to have t ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

Our party of three all decided to have the wreckfish, which was superb! The white fish medallion was wrapped in kale, which was literally "bursting" with fresh, clean flavor! I think I could taste the fresh turmeric and ginger, and the Carolina Rice bed was just right, with nutty flavor but not sticky...We tried three different seasonal desserts, pumpkin ice cream (ok, but not as outstanding as the other two..), pumpkin crème brulee (really nice, with just the right amount of crisp!), but the best of the three was the pear crisp with local pears and local ginger! we shared all three, but all voted the pear crisp no. 1!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The Lot doesn't disappoint

Dined on October 10, 2015

Love this James Island gem - the food def gives downtown restaurants a run for their money. Ask to sit outside if the weather is nice. Stay to see some live music at The Pour House next door!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It's like eating at a friend's house...

Dined on October 10, 2015

...and that friend is a really great chef and you want to freeload there a lot. Maybe that's the Lot we're talking about: you want to be there a Lot. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love It !

Dined on October 9, 2015

LOT is a very special place. They strive for local products and it shows. The menu changes daily so you never know what you will find but my experience has been wonderful. There were a couple of items that I did not really understand what I was getting - except for the main entre item. The descriptions are complicated. Don't let that put you off -trust the chef - everything is yummy !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service1

Not good.

Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was awesome. Unfortunately, the service was awful and the portions were so tiny that everyone was still hungry when we left. I would not recommend.

food4
ambience3
service4

Short menu, but always good

Dined on September 27, 2015

You never have a dozen entrees/apps to choose from, but what's there is fresh, local, and always very very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Not the same

Dined on September 19, 2015

Took my beautiful wife out for dinner @ Lot. We were expecting a lot, no pun intended. It however did not live up to the previous "Hype" that was experienced first hand in two prior visits. I say Hype only because it is no more. The first visit with my father & ate outside & we were in love with the server attention to every detail involving the food, the food itself, & last but not least that fuzzy felling from being wooed & all of your unspoken foodie desires were thought out for you in advance & excuted without your knowledge but gaining all of this perspective through bite after bite of food prepared the way only an artisan can. We found it! We found our new place to eat when we wanted something over the top, special. Not only was the preparation of the dishes poetic & simply, all of the ingredients were sourced locally within a short distance from home, local. The second visit was no less than the first & I will leave it at that. We left that evening in bliss also, knowing where we had been & what would be waiting on our next return. We'll this last visit was nothing short of dining at any other establishment that didn't really care, is that fair? I don't think so. I think the magic left with the previous chef & the two or three females who ran the front of the house. They knew it! & knew it all. The menu is now on paper & not spoken to the table explaining where the food was sourced & grown. The servers did not know wine pairing or what was plated & sat in front of us. It might sound like we are picky but really we just a couple of local country folk who were sold an incredible experience unlike many you can find in restaurant establishments & were expecting just as much as the times before. The apps were just ok. Trotter cake was fine without chopped egg. Cucumber salad was nice with watermelon & basil. Chartruterie plate was a miss totally. Steak was cooked. Staff was nice & accommodating but lost without the direction of the previous staff/chef.

food5
ambience4
service5

What a diamond in the ruff. The meal and ...

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

What a diamond in the ruff. The meal and service were excellent. We all had the snapper - amazing. Some had apps and other deserts - equally amazing. We will be coming back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Delish Farm to Table

Dined on September 6, 2015

Our party of five thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful,fresh cuisine from RJ and company. From the inspired cocktails to the fish and grits and the unbelievable dessert brûlée we were stuffed! Highly recommend this as a stop if you like fresh food and a great vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.