Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Lot

4.4
194 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

Committed to making any meal a true experience, The Lot in Charleston, SC focuses on attentive service and dishes that are created from the season's best, local meats and produce. Foods are minimally handled or treated in order to allow them to really shine in the dishes created, and the menu changes seasonally to reflect whatever is available.

The farm to table concept behind The Lot allows the menu to be a surprise with each visit. There will always be salads, but innovative options include choices like the big biscuit with smoked swordfish and gribiche or the beef brisket hash with potatoes and eggs. Other choices include a frittata with yellow curry or the grits bowl with a crispy chicken leg, kale and turnips. Clearly inspired by simple but fresh ingredients, a meal at The Lot is a culinary adventure.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Low Country
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Brunch:

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Closed Mondays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 225-0094
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
RJ Dye
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Woodland Shores.
Additional
Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 194 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on July 31, 2016

The ambience was nice and casual. Server was friendly. We had reservations and our table was ready at the correct time so we did not have to wait.

We ate there for Sunday Brunch. The food was just okay. I had eggs benedict. The eggs were barely warm by the time they were served.. It was served with a pate in place of canadian bacon which was a nice idea but the pate reminded me of spam and the flavor dominated the dish. The side was a cold beet salad that was very vinegary and did not pair well with the eggs benedict in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2016

Best brunch in Charleston. Hands down. Creative menu and great staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

The food Wass really great - highly recommend the fried okra, grouper and the burger.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2016

Although the menu selection is small the food was outstanding.
The wait staff operated like a well oiled machine and service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2016

The Lot has always been solid! Service is great with a knowledgeable yet relaxed, non-obtrusive style. Great farm to table restaurant and quickly becoming my new fav:)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2016

this was one of dozens of dinners at the lot. it has been generally disappointing to see a slow decrease in the quality of the food and a sharp increase in price. the management seems to think that more food is as good as excellent food. the wait staff has also declined in ability. our waitress could not even describe the size of a certain item. my advice is to decrease the amount of food served, increase the quality and taste, and beg alex to come back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem! They have a very abbreviated menu - the Chef gets all his ingredients from local farms, and so the menu is made up of items of very fresh food! Every dish was amazingly tasty -- my wife had the Bibb Lettuce with purple Cherokee tomatoes, pin nuts, preserved lemons, soft-boiled egg with a butter milk poppy seed dressing; for her main course she had Grouper on black quinoa with a blueberry hot sauce! I had the Summer Peppers with chanterelle and a Grayson cheese fonduta, and main course was Roasted Summer Vegetables with tograrashi peppers, cornmeal fried okras, heirloom tomatoes and cucumber salad, topped with a rutaba goat cheese crema! The service was wonderful -- thanks Carly!! It was our anniversary -- and they gave us a dessert -- chocolate pudding with caramel and pistachio nuts! I told you - great menu, fabulous service, amazingly tasty food! Try it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2016

The taste and presentation of the food were the notable positives about The Lot restaurant. We sat around for the longest time before anyone even took our drink orders. We waited an above average time for the food to finally arrive. As we were waiting, we were not even offered bread. The happy conclusion was that the food was extremely good, but unfortunately, we were so hungry by the time the food arrived and the portions were a bit small. As a result, I was not filled when I left the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Great meal and great menu selections. Service a little slow

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2016

Although I am not a vegetarian by any means, I ordered the vegetable pasta because I was in a hurry and the waitress said that might be the fastest dish. (Plus, I felt like I needed some vegetables after having had fried chicken and waffles the night before.)

And I had low expectations when it was presented... it looked to be a really simple mix of pasta, butter beans, kale, etc... with no visible sauce at all. But I was bowled over by the taste... there was indeed some sort of buttery/garlic-y sauce on there, with balsamic vinegar (?) SO GOOD... I wish I'd had time for dessert, and I wish I could have gone back later for another meal!

I ate in the outside area, since it seemed like it was about to get noisy inside because of the adjacent venue. (It was fine outside... very pleasant.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2016

Wow - first time but won't be last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was excellent - fresh, fresh, fresh and locally sourced, delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

This remains my favorite restaurant in CHARLESTON

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was delicious, second to none.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, GREAT service, fun vibe.. Will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything we ordered from appetizers to dessert was great. I in fact ate 2 more appetizers as my main meal. Great service. Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I tried The Lot on the Spur of the Moment one evening. We were able to reserve a table and were pleasantly greeted by the staff. They had placed a "Reserved" card on a nice table for us.
Appetizers, dinner and drinks were wonderful and I would go back again.
Service was efficient and not intrusive. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience. My only complaint is that sometimes there's loud music from the "Pour House" which is right next to The Lot. However, I would not let that stop me from returning to the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was charming and the staff were warm, friendly and attentive. The drink menu offered some wonderful options that were different than the norm. The flavors of each dish were memorable and everything was cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous farm to table food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2016

Limited menu. Meat dish was not cooked to order. Outdoor dining within 75 feet of major highway with lots of traffic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2016

This was one of our favorite local restaurants, but our dinner there last week was sub par. They have a new menu (and chef?), very limited offering. Menu was on a small 2" x 2" piece of paper. BRING BACK THE PREVIOUS MENU AND CHEF!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2016

I loved this place. The menu changes with the sustainable vegetables they use. The chef has a unique way of creating everything. I will go back and definitely recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2016

We were excited to get reservations on such a busy weekend in Charleston. The staff was great - friendly, helpful, courteous. The menu was eclectic and everyone found a entree they were excited to try. Two of us had the flat iron steak and were not impressed. The pork chop was huge and smoked to be more like ham. The socca was delicious but needed more filling. The chicken schnitzel was great, too. The atmosphere was loud but fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is always innovative and it's different every time we go. Great service and
great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Really great place to eat. Everything about it is excellent. We are regulars at the Terrace Theater, but for whatever reason, we'd never gotten around to trying The Lot after the movie. Should have done so long ago.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

We brought another couple. The four of us ordered almost everything on menu just to try. Very affordable. Our guests loved it. My wife and I have been multiple times. Always great. The chef does some amazing things.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was good and fresh. I had the squid ink dyed pasta with crabmeat. The dish was bland and lacked something special. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

Restaurant was a great find while we were vacationing in the area. After nice brunch, we enjoyed cruising the farmer's market behind the LOT. Pleasureable experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellence service! Great local food options and delicious brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2016

Sunday Brunch was good. Good food but the service was a little slow. The outside was open and full as well as inside so that may have been the problem understaffed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2016

My girlfriend and i went after hearing a lot about how great the food was supposed to be. She got something that she loved, a vegetarian socca dish, but my orange chicken was not too good. The ingredients tasted fresh enough, but the final product wasnt very appetizing. We only had 2 of the less expensive dishes, a small (like 2 pieces of bread small) appetizer, and a couple drinks, but the bill was over $75. Not worth it, from my experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Awesome food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Eclectic daily menu with fresh local ingredients. The combinations are different and strange at first glance. The results are extremely yummy. One of our favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2016

Pork chop for 2 was great.

We liked The Lot a lot,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Everyone does farm to table menus these days. However, the Lot is somewhere that dials into the flavors of what all the fresh vegetables bring to the table. Everything we sampled was spot on. Can't wait to return!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 15, 2016

This was a nice treat. A lot of interesting things made with mostly locally sourced ingredients. The fish stew and scrapple were what really stood out to me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2016

We were seated immediately and had a great meal with outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2016

The last three meals we've had at The Lot have been outstanding. They've actually blown away the last few downtown restaurants we've tried. The recent decor upgrades look great and were a definite improvement to the ambience. On our most recent visit we brought a friend from out of town who is in the F&B business and she was really impressed. Love what you guys do. Keep it up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

I like were Chef RJ takes his menu and supports them with such great supporting stars. The wreck fish, and braised short ribs, have both been outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2015

The Lot never disappoints - the food is fantastic and the service is always impeccable! The Gnuddi is one of my favorite dishes but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The Lot is also a great place to drop in for a drink and dessert and the staff is always super accommodating!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5