About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch:11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Memorial Day - Sept. 2: Lunch is served 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Kirshner: 5305829643

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Contemporary American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
6 More
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Truckee ›

neighborhood gem (29)
scenic view (26)
good for groups (17)
See All
special occasion (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
fit for foodies (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
romantic (10)
kid-friendly (10)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Welcomed break from home cooking.

Dined on May 16, 2016

We tried the chefs tasting meal, and we were very pleased. It was the right size and high quality, and a good value. We asked for a very quiet table,and they found one for us. As usual, we enjoyed our evening and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lodge never disappoints. A beautiful ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Lodge never disappoints. A beautiful setting in the Tahoe Donner resort, it seems to be known and popular with residents and visitors but not many others. The food is excellent, especially the chef's specials. The wine list is very good, with most selections reasonably priced. Service is friendly, professional, and timely. We have become regulars at this hidden gem.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We've dined at The Lodge on several occasions now, and we have never been disappointed. From the moment we are greeted to the end of the meal, everything is always wonderful. We especially enjoy the chef's specials, which are creative and delicious, and take advantage of local fresh ingredients. The menu has a very good selection of appetizers, small plates, and dinners. Service is wonderful, the staff are so pleasant and friendly, and they certainly know both the menu and the extensive wine list well. They are happy to make recommendations and help you select the perfect wine to accompany your meal. The wine list is not just comprehensive, it is relatively well-priced, and there are often wine specials. On Tuesdays, the corkage fee is waived, so that's a great time to BYOB. The Lodge is a beautiful building with a real Old-Tahoe feel to it. On cool or cold evenings, sitting by the large stone fireplace is especially pleasant. In summer, the deck is wonderful. The bar is large and often busy, and a good place to meet friends or just hang out with the locals (who usually are very friendly!) The Lodge has become one of our favorite dining spots in Truckee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always look forward to dining at the Lod ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always look forward to dining at the Lodge when we are at Tahoe Donner. Atmosphere and service excellent as well as good food.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Hamburgers!

Dined on April 22, 2016

The black angus beef burger is great. It has great taste, fresh vegetables and comfort food extras. We order it frequently and never have been disappointed. Our waitress,Tessie was very thoughtful to order for us the various sauces like mayo to come with it as the order is delivered to the table. This allowed us to start eating immediately instead of waiting for them to delivered. We were so pleased with her service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Lodge

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great service, salads and burgers were excellent. Pork tenderloin was good but a small portion. Martinis were also a little small compared to the norm!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Easter brunch was good but not great ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Easter brunch was good but not great, the cracked crab was great, however they ran out of shrimp.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Gathered with some family members for brunch. Nice buffet. I enjoyed the selection of sea food. Not too rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service & fantastic dinner ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always great service & fantastic dinner specials

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious

Dined on March 21, 2016

The lodge is beautiful. The service is great. The fireplace tables especially nice on cold Tahoe snowy nights . The bar menu and the dining room menu offer a wide variety to choose from. The burgers are among my favorites as is the meatloaf. Usually have the fish special unless it is salmon.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Short Ribs are excellent along with all ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Short Ribs are excellent along with all other dishes ordered.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

High Class - Only Location in Tahoe Donner

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is only high-quality (and high price) location close to Tahoe Donner. Hence, it is always full. Food quality is very high although the chef tends to dispense salt rather freely. Selection is somewhat limited and includes mainstream dishes with interesting twists. Pork tenderloin on grits was very good. Service is exquisite - very attentive without overbearing.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place if you are tired of cooking

Dined on February 24, 2016

This is our first choice for the weekday night when you are tired or board with cooking dinners. We enjoy this menu because you can have small plates, salads, and/ or a great hamburger for evenings you just want to get out of cooking and not spend a lot for a weeknight dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

EXCELLENT service

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

I think the hostess who seats needs to be more gracious and welcoming. She tried to put us in the patio....no tablecloths and very loud when we had requested in our reservations: a quiet spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food and service (Chris is wonderf ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great food and service (Chris is wonderful). But, why can't you do something about the noise level? Suggest felt hangings or acoustical ceiling tiles like in the Trout Creek Rec Center to help with high noise level.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was excellent. One of the best steaks we've ever had. The service was very good (although we did see one of the male waitstaff serve a man first when he should have served his female companion first). However, as a couple celebrating their wedding anniversary with dinner on Valentine's night, we were very disappointed that Valentine's Day was not recognized in The Lodge. No special dinner menu, drink or dessert. No flowers or hearts anywhere--no one even said Happy Valentine's Day to us. We would recommend The Lodge for dinner, but not for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, they ran out of our favor ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Unfortunately, they ran out of our favorite entree ( turkey /mushroom meatloaf ) choice before 7:00. We were quite surprised they ran out so fast. Our second go too, short ribs, were very good. The apple/pear bread pudding was wonderful. Good thing we split it 4 ways- it was large.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lodge

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at the lodge in Feb. to celebrate my daughters birthday. All the food was very good, the service excellent. We love that our vacation home is less than a mile away so we can easily come for a great dinner without having to drive to downtown Truckee.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good as always

Dined on January 22, 2016

Our waiter, Chris, was very attentive and professional. This is our neighborhood restaurant and we know most of the employees who make us feel welcome. The pasta special was not that good according to my husband, but the salmon and meatloaf were delicious. My recommendation for someone who is not familiar with the menu is the Skirt Steak. Even though I did not order it this time, I have had it before and it is delicious. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mimi2dogs

Dined on January 20, 2016

We love The Lodge. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. The servers are very attentive and knowledgeable to the menu and wine pairings. The potato leek soup was divine and so was the ceasar salad. We both ordered the New York steaks and they were scrumptiously grilled to perfection. Dining here is a wonderful event when visiting Tahoe Donner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had another great meal... Good wine choices too

Dined on January 17, 2016

I would love it if they would bring back the kale salad with the lemon vinaigrette dressing! I love this restaurant when we come to visit in Tahoe Donner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner in Tahoe area!

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had dinner at the Donner Lodge and it was really terrific. The Tuna appetizer was fantastic and the two dinners we had (Scallop special and Pork tenderloin) were delicious. Finished with the chocolate souffle with vanilla ice cream which was fantastic. Our servers Mike and David were really attentive and very professional. It was a bit of a drive to get there from Squaw Valley but worth the drive. Fun and romantic dinner on top of the mountain! We will definitely be back when in the area again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Our first visit to The Lodge. It is a b ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Our first visit to The Lodge. It is a beautifully appointed restaurant and lounge. We liked the fact that the menu is relatively small -just the right number of choices in each category. The food was very carefully prepared and well seasoned. Our server was efficient and polite but seemed to be on "rote" mode, as if he was bored or preoccupied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Standby

Dined on January 9, 2016

You can always count on their hamburgers, fresh and delicious. We were able to have a very quiet table this time. Eating in the bar area is very noisy.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

High Expectations

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

We went to the Lodge Restaurant & Pub based on a very high recommendation of trusted friends although it had been several years since they last dined at the Lodge. Several dishes, including the appetizers, were luke warm. In general, the food was only fair and did not live up to the reviews we received. The prices were too high given the quality of the food served. The service was fairly good and the location is very convenient if you are staying in Tahoe Donner. I would go back but only if there weren't other options available.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite local spot

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

The Lodge has a great menu, options for seating and is always good. The servers are very friendly. Great view, casual, a local gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service & food

Dined on December 25, 2015

Seated very quickly, bread & water brought quickly when requested, excellent clam chowder and main courses. Servers were very attentive throughout the meal and our drinks were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great holiday experience

Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a very nice meal with friends during the Christmas season. The food was good, bread very nice, delicious salads. We had the special, a fish dish which was not super flavorful and rather pricey. I have had other meals there that were better, and less expensive. I especially like the turkey meatloaf wrapped with bacon.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2

Service was VERY Slow

Dined on December 8, 2015

It took way too long for the wait staff to take our order, and deliver the order. The salad order was wrong because we asked to split 2 salads between 4 persons. They only brought 2 salads and then we had to ask where the plates were for sharing. The waiter said they would spilt the salads in the kitchen. The entree delivery was also slow. The Lodge needs to hire more wait staff. However, the food is always excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great every time

Dined on November 30, 2015

Eat in the bar, or room off the bar with view of the golf course and forest, or eat in the white table cloth dinning room. Something for everyone. Great food and great bar drinks. Very friendly staff

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving

Dined on November 27, 2015

This was the first time I booked a table in the Lodge Dining room, as I usually go to the Pub. We were seated promptly and our server was right there to take our drink orders. Unfortunately I don't remember her name but she was very helpful, friendly and professional. In fact all the staff were excellent as usual. The buffet was attractively presented and the food was delicious. I liked the real whipped cream for the pumpkin pie. It was a little noisy with all the diners conversations going on but didn't detract from enjoying the meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Buffet

Dined on November 26, 2015

Fantastic Thanksgiving buffet. Not the flamboyant buffet at the casinos. Simple and delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Bar seating may be the way to go. We wai ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Bar seating may be the way to go. We waited over 35 min for our food.

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service in a relaxed ...

Dined on November 18, 2015

Excellent food and service in a relaxed resort atmosphere .

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, a enjoyable evening. Good fo ...

Dined on November 3, 2015

As always, a enjoyable evening. Good food and service. No complaints!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Drive and Dine

Dined on October 7, 2015

The Drive and Dine Special was fantastic. We had a great day on the course in early October and then had dinner at The Lodge. With the $20 each food credit, the bill was fantastic too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A consistent favorite

Dined on September 30, 2015

The Lodge never disappoints! The service was wonderful and the food was excellent. We love their free corkage night and always appreciate the accommodation s they make with ice buckets, flutes, stemmed glasses, etc. The menu of small plates is just perfect for lighter eaters. But bring your appetite, the short ribs are awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Good food , poor service

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

I would have given this restaurant 4 stars but the service left a lot to be desired. We have been to this restaurant several times and the food is consistantly good but the service needs some help. The last time we were there we felt they were understaffed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner, just the two of us

Dined on September 15, 2015

Since it was our 35th, we wanted someplace very personal. We have a house at Tahoe Donner and was looking for something up a notch from the Clubhouse and found it. It was our first experience with the restaurant, in fact we waited for a Monday to avoid any crowds. The ambiance was beautiful and scenic, each table has a view of the golf course, and there is deck seating for the good weather. The place is spotless. The menu was limited, but no surprise because of the Internet information. The food was good overall. My pasta was like it had been sitting awhile, kinda stuck together, but flavorful. My wife's chicken breast was very good. Can't say anything regarding the wine list since we don't drink wine. We skipped dessert, and ended up with coffee which was excellent. Service was also excellent and attentive after explaining the fact my wife has a disability. I would come again and recommend it highly. Happy to have it here close to where we live.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service1

Very disappointed Been there MANY times and BAD

Dined on September 10, 2015

Worst service ever. Bar tender could not make a Cosmo. Our plates came out more than 10 minutes apart.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.