Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch: 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was a busy holiday weekend and the restaurant was very crowded and noisier than usual. It didn't help that a wedding was going on right outside the window, which added to the noise. This is our favorite restaurant, but will avoid it on these busy weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was good. Server was trying hard but inexperienced. They were out of a lot of wine which was annoying but it was Labor Day weekend. They were not as prepared for the amount of people eating there as they should've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We are regulars at The Lodge Restaurant, but this was our first visit for brunch. We love The Lodge for lunch and dinner, and were pleased to find it just as wonderful for brunch. The brunch menu is limited, but seems to have something to satisfy most diners, and if the menu doesn't work, they offer their standard lunch menu as well.

My Eggs Benedict was perfect, with poached eggs, applewood smoked bacon, and a light and fluffy lemon Hollandaise on English muffins. My husband got the extravagantly large, fluffy, and delicious blueberry pancakes with bacon. Free mimosas were lovely!

Service is always wonderful at The Lodge, and despite this being a holiday weekend, we were served quickly and professionally.

We ate out on the deck, which is a wonderful spot in the summer and autumn, as it overlooks the beautiful golf course. This might have been our first brunch at The Lodge, but it definitely won't be our last.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was great but service was off tonight. The always struggle on holiday weekends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server Mike was outstanding. Disappointed, however that the bar didn't have proper wine glasses for the outstanding Pinot Noir we brought to,share. We ended up French rinsing the glasses we were given for the white wine we purchased. Also, staff seemed short handed so water glass refills had to be requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great bolognese pasta dish, good wedge salad and cheeseburgers!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great cocktail menu, love the variety. Starters are amazing, tuna poke, tempura green beans, spring rolls are all delicious. The halibut I had was perfectly cooked. My husband had the short ribs and want's to go back for more...... Service was a little bit slow but once they got to us it went smoothly. It was a busy night with multiple large parties!

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

One of Truckee's Best! A terrific spot, regardless of season, company, or occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We dine regularly at The Lodge and always have a wonderful experience. Delicious food, great service, and a beautiful setting all combine to make this one of our favorite spots. The menu changes seasonally and the last few meals, the specials have included these amazing heirloom tomatoes. I asked about the source, and the tomatoes are local. They are spectacular - if you love tomatoes, try the heirloom tomato/mozzarella/basil salad. Dressed with a tart and tangy balsamic vinaigrette, this appetizer is perfection on a plate. I had it with the Manila clam chowder as my dinner, and was quite pleased. The chowder, unlike many of its type, was not heavy or gloppy, but light, fresh, and full of clams, potatoes, leeks, and bacon. YUM.

My husband has several favorites: the pork-and-shrimp dumplings, the mac-n-cheese, and the beef burger, although when Alaskan or Canadian salmon is the special, we both jump at that, as the chef has perfected cooking it to medium-rare, just as it should be. I had it recently with grilled heirloom tomatoes...one of the best meals I've had.

Service is always wonderful here. The staff all want you to have a good time, and will go out of their way to assist you whenever they can.

The downside of The Lodge's evolution to a fine dining establishment is that you'll need a reservation on the weekend. You can dine in the cozy and fun bar, but on weekends, get there early.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The wedge salad was first rate. The short ribs were supetb. The halibut was cooked perfectly but the corn underneath was undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good service on a busy night. Burgers, salads and sliders were excellent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 2, 2017

As always, the food was excellent, including the outstanding fresh halibut---Service was slow, as is often the case during peak season…best to book early---The ugly white Event tent remains, and blocks a gorgeous view of the golf course/mountain forest….J

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

very good value , nice ambience & service & good food

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Normally we love The Lodge. This time the food was ok, mistakes were made on two orders, no one bussed our first course before our main course came. Overall the higher prices were not commensurate with what we got.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We are regulars at The Lodge, which we love for its diverse cuisine and excellent service. The restaurant is a beautiful space; in the winter, the fireplaces are a lovely contrast to the snowy outdoors; in the summer, the outdoor deck is a wonderful place to view the golf course while dining.

The new menu changes bring some interesting choices to the menu, including a delicious entree salad filled with roasted seasonal vegetables, fresh greens, and a lovely complementary vinaigrette. This can be served with fish or chicken, although it's filling enough on its own. The pasta and fish specials change regularly and are always creative and interesting.

The bar is a fun place to hang out, have drinks, and even have lunch or dinner. The bartenders are skilled at creating interesting new drinks, which they showcase via a blackboard. Lots of TVs for watching sports, and a good place to meet friends.

Seems like revamping the menu seasonally has brought in many new customers. Be sure to get a reservation for the weekends, and if you're heading to the bar, get there early.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had an excellent meal, food was spot on.
Had a table on the deck and was a very pleasant evening to enjoy our 15th Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was off tonight.....will consider it a blip, as this is a favorite spot for us. Told that we'd have to wait for the appetizer & have salads first. No problem. Then the appetizer came first. Then salads came right after. Mains came before salads were finished. Not a usual experience at all, but so noted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice place with pretty views. Food was good and expensive. Staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were a family of 7 with 2 children. Everyone enjoyed their meal choice and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our waitress was very tentative and helpful in regards to our dinner. We appreciated her knowledge of the meals and also of the surrounding area near the restaurant. Our dinner was very tasty and cooked to each of our desired tastes. The short ribs are always enjoyable, as are all items on the menu. Meals are always consistently tasty and never fail to please all those eating!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The new Shared Plates dishes are innovative, tasty, and a good value. Ambiance, especially on the deck, is quite pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I go tobtheblifge regulatly before heading back down to the Bay Area.
Good food overall. Fish special is always excellent as well as short ribs. Good wine list decently priced. Cocktails are good.
Quiet: not so much inside but good and beautiful on patio. Good desserts too. Service can be very spotty but was great last time (Michael)

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have never been disappointed in the Lodge since they have opened. I would recommend that you make reservations and request that you sit outdoors.....such lovely views and they have heat lamps if the temp drops.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One of dinner entrees was very small-and it was one of most expensive on menu. Sad ending to pleasant meal

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing food and excellent atmosphere. It doesn't get any better than The Lodge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 6, 2017

-The Lodge continues to provide a great experience---We both REALLY enjoyed the fresh Halibut, served with a cauliflower puree, and topped with a splash of tomato salsa….Good news, the big ugly white event tent is down, so the Mtn/Golf Course view is great….

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Always an excellent experience

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We selected the Lodge based upon location and ratings. We were disappointed by the short rib (dry and lacking flavor), the fish taco (looked interesting but tasteless) and the kids pasta (where's the sauce?). One of my kids enjoyed her breast of chicken over a mashed potatoes and asparagus so we weren't totally skunked. The kids also enjoyed their brownie and scoop of ice cream. The kids meals were a good value, but just stay away from the elbow macaroni.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2017

It was delicious and the service was excellent ! Highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner with friends on a quiet Monday night. The menu had been updated recently and we tried the Salmon added to a "new"Sierra Seasonal salad. Great combination that was perfect for the hot weather we have been having lately. We have never been disappointed with this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

You can sit on the back deck overlooking the forest and golf course, sit in the separate bar area, plus two other inside dining area's one with white table cloths. Great drinks. Excellent food but a limited menu. The service is usually excellent but last night we must have had a new waiter. When my wife asked him if he could add croutons to the salad, he said that they were out of season. ..........? Probably one of the 3 best restaurants in the Truckee area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Healthy, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day, and it was quite a disappointment. The choices were basic and limited (we had a sandwich, burgers, and burrito) and served with a bag of chips, everything in a basket (plastic if I recall correctly). The food was very mediocre. We have been here for dinner many times, and it was very good, so we thought lunch would also be good, especially on Father's Day. No wonder there were plenty of open tables...maybe people already knew what we did not. Our server was friendly and fantastic, but there were a couple others who were filling water and went right by our empty-water-glass table, so we had to call them over. They were friendly, however. We won't be coming here for lunch again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I didn't realize there was a limited menu for Father's day. The burritos were very bland. We only go there for the view and ambiance. Just wish the food was better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As regulars at The Lodge, we've had a chance to try many different menu items and specials, and we've never had a disappointing meal. The chef creates delicious and satisfying dishes with interesting ingredients that are local whenever possible. The specials change regularly to reflect seasonal ingredients, and they are always quite good.

The wine list was recently updated and has some wonderful selections. In addition, the Manager's Specials offer discounts on a variety of bottles.

Save room for dessert! There are seasonal selections that are delicious, but the recent addition of house-made donuts with dipping sauces has me craving these every time. The donuts are light, fluffy, and flavorful, fried to perfection and served with three dipping sauces. Oh, my! Heaven on a plate.

Service can't be beat here. The staff are local, they like to have fun, and they are always professional. They want you to have a good experience and go beyond the standard service to ensure you do.

As for value, I say, try to find a comparable meal at any other fine dining establishment in Truckee, and they will all be more expensive. For less expensive options, there are always small plates and appetizers available that will more than fill you up. Try the tempura-battered French green beans - delicious, and you get a huge amount. You won't go away hungry.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

burgers are very good, steamed dumpling apps excellent, giod service nice atmosphere

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Casual, Live Music, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It is always a good choice,even for late evening snacks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The wait staff were very friendly, and there were plenty of specials, and the wine list also had some good deals on specials. If they still have them, you have to try the shrimp and pork steamed dumplings for an appetizer!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Once again, dining at The Lodge was a wonderful experience. Because The Lodge is in the Tahoe Donner resort, it doesn't get the foot traffic of restaurants in downtown Truckee, so you often can get a table here even when Truckee restaurants are filled. That's a good thing, because during the week, for example, you can have a quiet, relaxing dinner with your friends or family.

I love the seasonal menu changes that give the chef a chance to mix up the specials and menu items. The pasta special features house-made pasta that is tender and delicious, and the seafood/fish special is always excellent. We love that there are a variety of dishes from small plates to entrees.

Staff are always so friendly and helpful. They want you to have a good experience, and they seem to enjoy their jobs. We always feel welcome at The Lodge, and we always have an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.