Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch: 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Kirshner: (530) 582-9643

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fireplace (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We are locals from Truckee and have seen The Lodge go through many phases. Some say it is priced too high, however we believe it delivers some consistently good choices with value on par with any resort town. The fish specials are always delicious, the fish tacos are great. Vegetarian options and options for meat lovers. The service is good and the setting on the golf course is wonderful. A great place to relax, you can hang out in the bar and have bites at the bar for a more casual experience, or near the patio if the bar is too loud, or go to the 'formal dining' room for a special date or birthday. Something for everyone. Just wish they would bring back the Dynamite Shrimp!! Maybe this summer???

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had dinner at The Lodge twice during a week of skiing at Northstar. Both times the food and service was fantastic. We especially liked the tuna poke, the pear salad, salmon. and bread pudding for desert. Great kids menu as well. Definitely worth the drive!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My wife and I wanted a special night out after days of grandkids. Normally, this has been a very special place. While the service was excellent, the quality of food was below standard. Don't waste your palate on the calamari; I would not recommend it!! The entre was a special that night and very good, but the value was not there. They had run out of the salad we wanted to share and the substitute was not what we desired; although the dressing was delicious. An $80 price tag for sharing a meal and substandard appetizer & salad does not equal a great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We come here often and the food is consistently good. On our last visit my husband and I both had the salmon which was outstanding. There were six of us and everyone enjoyed their meal. Service as always was excellent. This is definitely one of the best, if not the best restaurant in the Tahoe area

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was excellent. The food, the service, and the ambience. I would recommend it for everyone

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Lodge Restaurant is our favorite Truckee restaurant. Located in the Tahoe Donner Resort, it's very popular with locals but somewhat unknown by others, which is a shame. There are some excellent restaurants in the downtown area of Truckee that are quite popular, and The Lodge compares very favorably to those restaurants, except that The Lodge is generally less expensive, is less crowded and easier to get a table, has much more friendly staff, and has beautiful views of the Tahoe Donner Golf Course. In summer, the deck is a fun and casual place to dine. In the winter, a table by the large stone fireplace is a romantic place to relax.

The menu is quite varied and has everything from appetizers to small plates to entrees to desserts. The seafood special is always excellent and changes regularly. The soups also change regularly and are a wonderful way to warm up on a cold winter's night.

Staff are always friendly, professional, and helpful. They seem like they enjoy their jobs and they want their customers to have a good experience. The bar is a cool place to hang out to watch sports or just enjoy the happy hour specials.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very extensive wine list and cocktail options, however our server wasn't knowledgeable about the wine and couldn't really answer any questions. My boyfriend got the pasta special, which was very good, however I got the salad special and I was very disappointed. It was an arugula salad with blood orange, goat cheese, beets and nuts. I hardly had any toppings- probably 4 walnut halves, a 1/2 tablespoon of goat cheese and very little of the other ingredients. I had ordered this as my entree so I was disappointed in the quantities especially as an advertised special but the other dishes we got, including dessert and the bottle of wine, were very good. To note- I did see another one of these salads delivered to the table next to us and it looked more substantial, so I'm not sure if I just got dealt an unfortunate plate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always great food, service and wine selection at reasonable prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Disappointing ....we've been frequenting this place for 15 years. Something isn't right these days. Service has slipped dramatically...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always enjoyable. The food is delicious. The service is great whether you eat at a table or in the bar.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is very consistent, service is always prompt and attentive. On this occasion they had run out of Martini glasses so our Martinis came in a small tumbler. They were small and not prepared very well.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

food, ambiance and service were all phenomenal...highly recommend for anything from dinner with friends, to date night, to dinner with family!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great spot for V-day. Fantastic food, sometimes you don't get that in a resort town. Service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Lodge is consistently well-prepared food at a reasonable price for an up-scale menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful ambience, great servers!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is always good, but it seemed exceptional when we were there this week. Nice comfort food on a cold winter night. Portions are large so if you have extras like a starter or dessert, share it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Have been here many times. Love the menu and the food. Always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Kitchen was backed up so they were out of many things and service was super slow. Recommend going mid week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sea bass special was perfectly done, very tasty as was the rest of the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

GREAT VENUE, FOOD, SERVICE AND VALUE. NOISE LEVEL CONTINUES TO BE TOO HIGH FOR THE CLIENTELE. ACOUSTICAL TREATMENT OF THE DINING ROOM, THE PUB, AND PROBABLY THE ENCLOSED DECK ARE DEFINITELY NEEDED.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Disappointed. We are regulars at this beautiful restaurant, and usually get perfect food and service. We did arrive early for our reservation, so they were kind enough to seat us anyway, though the dining room had no space for our early arrival. Therefore, we accepted a table in the covered patio. Tables have been pushed really close together, (shoulder to shoulder with your neighbor). I could have tolerated that due to our early arrival accommodation, but the service was terrible, slow, and rude. Calamari was undercooked, and salmon portions unusually small. I hope this was just an off night. We'll give it another try soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic food! Incredible staff! Great gem in Tahoe Donner. Make a reservation, our waiter was Mike he's the best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Lodge is our neighborhood restaurant and most of the time our choice for dining. We will eat in the restaurant or the pub depending on what we plan to eat. The pub is a bit noisy so the dining room is a good choice for quiet. This time we had a table in front of the fireplace and it was cozy and comfortably warm. We both had the short ribs which is to die for. Michael was very attentive and friendly. I highly recommend the Lodge.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We think this is the best restaurant in the Truckee area. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. The ambiance is lovely and in the summer the outdoor seating looks over the golf course.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We regularly dine at The Lodge, and this visit, we brought guests with us. We all ordered shared plates, and everything was delicious. New on the menu were pork belly "pigs in a blanket", that were slices of pork belly wrapped in puff pastry. They were so good, especially with the dipping sauces that accompanied them.

As always, service on this very busy evening was perfect. The staff work hard here to ensure you have a good experience, and they seem to enjoy their jobs. The wait staff are knowledgeable about food, wine, and drinks, and are happy to share information with you.

On cold, snowy evenings, The Lodge is particularly inviting, and the pub is a great place to hang out with friends to warm up after a day on the slopes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

great local spot, service is always great, good value and food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great spot with good food, service iwas excellent and friendly. Love this spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The Lodge is our go-to restaurant in Truckee. Their menu is diverse with appetizers, small plates, and main courses, plus delicious desserts if you have sufficient room. Their specials change regularly and are always excellent.

Service is friendly and professional, and the staff seem to enjoy their jobs. They want everyone to have a good time and work hard to provide the right atmosphere for that to happen.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waitress and the bus people did a fine job of serving New Year's Eve dinner. However, the front of the house was another story. I had called the day before and asked about the restaurant's corkage policy. I specifically said that we had a reservation for New Year's Eve. When we walked in to the restaurant with a bottle of wine, the woman at reception immediately told me a higher corkage fee. When I informed her that I had called to specifically ask what the fee would be, her answer was that they raised it for NYE. There was no apology of any kind. Granted, the difference in fees was small, however, this immediately started off our dinner on a sour note. We had an early dinner reservation, so when we were shown to our table, there was only one other party seated in that dining room. I asked if we could be seated at another table and was told that all the other tables were reserved. Yet later on, we saw another party being accommodated when they made the same request. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about. We will not be returning for another visit unless all other restaurants in Truckee are totally booked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food was a bit spicy for some of us. The sea bass was prepared just right. The pasta special was too spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As Tahoe Donner members we always enjoy at least one dinner at the Lodge during each visit to our home here. On this occasion we enjoyed the Kale and Applewood Smoked Bacon Salad, the Braised Short Ribs and the Sea Bass Special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The lodge is a great restaurant. It is a good place to go to when staying in Truckee or especially if living in Tahoe Donner. Very convenient when in TD. The food is always very good. I only wish the menu changed more often. Used to think it was very expensive but it seems that all quality places have caught up or are more expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great service and impressive menu. Our daughter loved selecting the three course offering from the children's menu. The desserts were also wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We are regulars at The Lodge, for several very good reasons. In Truckee, there are a number of "fine dining" restaurants, all of which charge more for dinner than The Lodge, and very few surpass The Lodge. It's worth a drive "up the hill" from downtown Truckee to this restaurant tucked away in the Tahoe Donner Resort.

The service is always excellent, and you have a choice of eating in the formal dining rooms or in the friendly and upbeat bar. The menu has both small plates and dinners, and the specials are changed regularly enough to keep the menu fresh. Our regular favorites are the red curry mussels, mac 'n' cheese, the salad special, and the fish special. Desserts are worth the calories, so save some room!

The wine list has some good choices at reasonable prices, and there are often excellent wine and drink specials, so don't forget to check for those.

In the summer, the outdoor deck has beautiful views of the golf course and woods; in winter, the fireplaces provide a cozy and casual atmosphere for relaxing after a day on the slopes or in the back country.

While The Lodge is well-known to resort owners and guests, the rest of Truckee hasn't found out how great it is yet, so you can usually get reservations at a moment's notice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It was great I love sitting by the fire places we had a great time

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Dancing, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Liz Shepard was wonderful as our wait staff. thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A beautiful setting, great fresh food and waitstaff is friendly & professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I ordered FISH TACOS which I have had several times before and the seasonings were alittle too spicy I felt. Not my favorite choice this time around. ALL IN ALL THE LODGE HAS AMAZING GREAT FOOD! We love going there. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

After reading many reviews on how Lake Tahoe does not have many great dining options, we were pleasantly surprised. We shared the ahi poke dish and we each had the fish of the day, which was salmon. The ahi was excellent and there was a generous portion. The salmon was cooked to perfection and again, the dish was large. We would definitely go back if we were in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good but they were sold out of both specials, one appetizer and one dessert by 8:30. Not a huge menu so limited our choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.