About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch: 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Kirshner: (530) 582-9643

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Scenic View (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fireplace (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoyable. The food is delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoyable. The food is delicious. The service is great whether you eat at a table or in the bar.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food, ambiance and service were all phen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

food, ambiance and service were all phenomenal...highly recommend for anything from dinner with friends, to date night, to dinner with family!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for V-day. Fantastic food, so ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for V-day. Fantastic food, sometimes you don't get that in a resort town. Service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food, wonderful ambience, grea ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, wonderful ambience, great servers!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always good, but it seemed e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always good, but it seemed exceptional when we were there this week. Nice comfort food on a cold winter night. Portions are large so if you have extras like a starter or dessert, share it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times. Love the menu ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here many times. Love the menu and the food. Always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Kitchen was backed up so they were out o ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

Kitchen was backed up so they were out of many things and service was super slow. Recommend going mid week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Sea bass special was perfectly done, ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sea bass special was perfectly done, very tasty as was the rest of the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT VENUE, FOOD, SERVICE AND VALUE. N ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

GREAT VENUE, FOOD, SERVICE AND VALUE. NOISE LEVEL CONTINUES TO BE TOO HIGH FOR THE CLIENTELE. ACOUSTICAL TREATMENT OF THE DINING ROOM, THE PUB, AND PROBABLY THE ENCLOSED DECK ARE DEFINITELY NEEDED.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed. We are regulars at this b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Disappointed. We are regulars at this beautiful restaurant, and usually get perfect food and service. We did arrive early for our reservation, so they were kind enough to seat us anyway, though the dining room had no space for our early arrival. Therefore, we accepted a table in the covered patio. Tables have been pushed really close together, (shoulder to shoulder with your neighbor). I could have tolerated that due to our early arrival accommodation, but the service was terrible, slow, and rude. Calamari was undercooked, and salmon portions unusually small. I hope this was just an off night. We'll give it another try soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Fantastic food! Incredible staff! Great ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic food! Incredible staff! Great gem in Tahoe Donner. Make a reservation, our waiter was Mike he's the best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Lodge is our neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Lodge is our neighborhood restaurant and most of the time our choice for dining. We will eat in the restaurant or the pub depending on what we plan to eat. The pub is a bit noisy so the dining room is a good choice for quiet. This time we had a table in front of the fireplace and it was cozy and comfortably warm. We both had the short ribs which is to die for. Michael was very attentive and friendly. I highly recommend the Lodge.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We think this is the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We think this is the best restaurant in the Truckee area. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. The ambiance is lovely and in the summer the outdoor seating looks over the golf course.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We regularly dine at The Lodge, and this ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We regularly dine at The Lodge, and this visit, we brought guests with us. We all ordered shared plates, and everything was delicious. New on the menu were pork belly "pigs in a blanket", that were slices of pork belly wrapped in puff pastry. They were so good, especially with the dipping sauces that accompanied them.

As always, service on this very busy evening was perfect. The staff work hard here to ensure you have a good experience, and they seem to enjoy their jobs. The wait staff are knowledgeable about food, wine, and drinks, and are happy to share information with you.

On cold, snowy evenings, The Lodge is particularly inviting, and the pub is a great place to hang out with friends to warm up after a day on the slopes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great local spot, service is always grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

great local spot, service is always great, good value and food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot with good food, service iwas ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great spot with good food, service iwas excellent and friendly. Love this spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, , Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lodge is our go-to restaurant in Tru ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The Lodge is our go-to restaurant in Truckee. Their menu is diverse with appetizers, small plates, and main courses, plus delicious desserts if you have sufficient room. Their specials change regularly and are always excellent.

Service is friendly and professional, and the staff seem to enjoy their jobs. They want everyone to have a good time and work hard to provide the right atmosphere for that to happen.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress and the bus people did a fi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waitress and the bus people did a fine job of serving New Year's Eve dinner. However, the front of the house was another story. I had called the day before and asked about the restaurant's corkage policy. I specifically said that we had a reservation for New Year's Eve. When we walked in to the restaurant with a bottle of wine, the woman at reception immediately told me a higher corkage fee. When I informed her that I had called to specifically ask what the fee would be, her answer was that they raised it for NYE. There was no apology of any kind. Granted, the difference in fees was small, however, this immediately started off our dinner on a sour note. We had an early dinner reservation, so when we were shown to our table, there was only one other party seated in that dining room. I asked if we could be seated at another table and was told that all the other tables were reserved. Yet later on, we saw another party being accommodated when they made the same request. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about. We will not be returning for another visit unless all other restaurants in Truckee are totally booked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our server was excellent. The food was a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food was a bit spicy for some of us. The sea bass was prepared just right. The pasta special was too spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

As Tahoe Donner members we always enjoy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As Tahoe Donner members we always enjoy at least one dinner at the Lodge during each visit to our home here. On this occasion we enjoyed the Kale and Applewood Smoked Bacon Salad, the Braised Short Ribs and the Sea Bass Special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The lodge is a great restaurant. It is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The lodge is a great restaurant. It is a good place to go to when staying in Truckee or especially if living in Tahoe Donner. Very convenient when in TD. The food is always very good. I only wish the menu changed more often. Used to think it was very expensive but it seems that all quality places have caught up or are more expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and impressive menu. Our d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great service and impressive menu. Our daughter loved selecting the three course offering from the children's menu. The desserts were also wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We are regulars at The Lodge, for severa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We are regulars at The Lodge, for several very good reasons. In Truckee, there are a number of "fine dining" restaurants, all of which charge more for dinner than The Lodge, and very few surpass The Lodge. It's worth a drive "up the hill" from downtown Truckee to this restaurant tucked away in the Tahoe Donner Resort.

The service is always excellent, and you have a choice of eating in the formal dining rooms or in the friendly and upbeat bar. The menu has both small plates and dinners, and the specials are changed regularly enough to keep the menu fresh. Our regular favorites are the red curry mussels, mac 'n' cheese, the salad special, and the fish special. Desserts are worth the calories, so save some room!

The wine list has some good choices at reasonable prices, and there are often excellent wine and drink specials, so don't forget to check for those.

In the summer, the outdoor deck has beautiful views of the golf course and woods; in winter, the fireplaces provide a cozy and casual atmosphere for relaxing after a day on the slopes or in the back country.

While The Lodge is well-known to resort owners and guests, the rest of Truckee hasn't found out how great it is yet, so you can usually get reservations at a moment's notice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great I love sitting by the fire ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It was great I love sitting by the fire places we had a great time

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Dancing, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liz Shepard was wonderful as our wait st ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Liz Shepard was wonderful as our wait staff. thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A beautiful setting, great fresh food an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A beautiful setting, great fresh food and waitstaff is friendly & professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I ordered FISH TACOS which I have had se ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I ordered FISH TACOS which I have had several times before and the seasonings were alittle too spicy I felt. Not my favorite choice this time around. ALL IN ALL THE LODGE HAS AMAZING GREAT FOOD! We love going there. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After reading many reviews on how Lake T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

After reading many reviews on how Lake Tahoe does not have many great dining options, we were pleasantly surprised. We shared the ahi poke dish and we each had the fish of the day, which was salmon. The ahi was excellent and there was a generous portion. The salmon was cooked to perfection and again, the dish was large. We would definitely go back if we were in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good but they were sold out of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good but they were sold out of both specials, one appetizer and one dessert by 8:30. Not a huge menu so limited our choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We went here for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went here for my wife's birthday and brought our own wine. The food was great. We had some food restrictions and they were not a problem for the server or the chef. The food was really good and our server was terrific. When the check came, he waived the corkage fee for our wine and my wife's dessert. We will be going back often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We are frequent guests at The Lodge beca ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are frequent guests at The Lodge because it represents everything we love about dining out. Service is always friendly and professional, the staff seem happy to be there, and they want you to have a good experience.

The menu is updated regularly and always includes small plates, appetizers, dinners, and desserts. The daily specials also change regularly and I usually go for the fish specials. The fish is always fresh and delicious. My husband loves the mac 'n' cheese and steaks. The sweet potato fries are highly addictive, crunchy and sweet, and the portion size is huge...be careful or you'll eat them all. Best to share!

In summer, the outdoor deck is the place to be for the views of the golf course. In winter, the roaring stone fireplace is the perfect antidote to stormy weather. The bar is always hopping and the drinks are all well-made. Can't think of a thing I'd change about The Lodge.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter and staff always make this a great ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Peter and staff always make this a great dinning experience! Don't overlook the lodge for a wonderful night and the bar before dinner is a great place to meet neighbors and local folks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am tired of ordering a garden salad in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I am tired of ordering a garden salad in a nice restaurant and being served a plate full of lettuce, a few shreds of carrots, and being charged $10. When I mentioned this to my waitress, she was genuinely concerned. She handled the situation professionally. Come on folks, serve a creative garden salad or call it a plate of greens--calling it organic doesn't count.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was lovely and the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was lovely and the food was delicious and even special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous dinner. We had the ribeye and t ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabulous dinner. We had the ribeye and the pork. Both were excellent as was the service. Lucky to have this great neighbor restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am not a meat loaf person, but wow, tr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I am not a meat loaf person, but wow, try the meat loaf! I also love sitting at the bar as their bar menu is creative and delicious.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant is consistently good.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have become regulars at The Lodge, bo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have become regulars at The Lodge, both in the bar and in the restaurant, thanks to its delicious food and excellent service. Both the bar and restaurant have a casual mountain feel that welcomes diners and drinkers alike to sit, relax, and enjoy.

The menu changes regularly and has offerings to fit every budget and taste. The small plates are wonderful for sharing in the bar, or for a light dinner. A recent addition to the menu, red curry black mussels, has become my favorite dish. My husband favors the mac-and-cheese, and we both love the crispy sweet potato fries.

Service is always friendly and professional, and the bartenders seem to genuinely want to be there and want the customers to have a good time. All this makes for a wonderful place to spend an evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads and desserts were excellent but t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Salads and desserts were excellent but the main entree was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed the ambiance, the very good f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, the very good food and great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.