About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch:11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Memorial Day - Sept. 2: Lunch is served 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Kirshner: 5305829643

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Truckee ›

Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Scenic View (29)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A reunion of four women friends at a cab ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

A reunion of four women friends at a cabin near this restaurant was enhanced by having this delightful place to dine. From our first night happy hour to Sunday brunch, the food was inventive and delicious. The halibut fish taco is divine! Our server, twice, was Martha, who was just wonderful. Kudos to this chef!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Lodge and dine here regularl ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love The Lodge and dine here regularly. The dinners are always creative and delicious, with specials that change regularly, and small plates that are fun and interesting. The setting is perfect for a mountain resort - warm, comfortable, casual - and views of the golf course from the deck in summer.

Staff are always friendly and professional, and seem to enjoy working here, which seems to be rarer every day. Service is very good, although there can be longer wait times during the busy seasons of summer and winter.

Most people dining here either live or are renting in the resort, which is a shame. The Lodge is not far from Donner Pass Road, and it deserves more traffic from the people crowding into Truckee restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to The Lodge almost s ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been going to The Lodge almost since its beginning. We love it. My son wanted to go there on his way off to college and we stopped on our way to Boulder. We had an excellent dinner. The only recommendation I have is the outside tables should have candles. Not only for ambiance but for bees too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lodge is much more pleasant than the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Lodge is much more pleasant than the crowded downtown Truckee restaurants. The food is good and I enjoy the views of the pines and the golf course

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unexpectedly delicious. In particular we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unexpectedly delicious. In particular we were in heaven having eaten the Crispy Green Beans with Sambal Pork--a "shared plate"--a designation on the menu for several appetizer-like items--and the Watermelon and Arugula salad to start. These were two wonderfully succulent dishes, the bean dish new to me. Then I had the grilled Wild Salmon-a huge portion, perfectly cooked- and my husband had the Pappardelle Bolognese which he thoroughly enjoyed. We ate outside on the deck with a comfortable view of the golf course. It was quiet enough, though there was loud music annoyingly heard due to a private party going on. That was the only spoiler. BTW, the wine list was nice and reasonably priced, another unexpected surprise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We visit the Lodge often and it never di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We visit the Lodge often and it never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had both lunch and dinner at the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have had both lunch and dinner at the Lodge Restaurant and we are never disappointed with their food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious. Very consistent, neve ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always delicious. Very consistent, never disappoints. Great wait staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christian and Miranda at THE LODGE are t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Christian and Miranda at THE LODGE are top-notch! The food and service made our #27 wedding anniversary so special. With much appreciation, Happy Diners

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at the L ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our first time to dine at the Lodge Restaurant and Pub. We had a very nice time. Our servers were very attentive and pleasant. The food was delicious, I had the scallops, they were excellent and my wife had chicken prepared with panko also excellent. The noise level was a bit excessive however. As this is a part of the golf course and there apparently had been a tournament with a presentation of awards which was about ten feet from where we were seated it got very loud. But as an avid golfer myself I fully understood the crowd's excitement. I would suggest more separation between the tournament participants and the diners.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant, this ti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant, this time we had the pasta special, a wonderful pork chop and the short ribs always a fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a little unsure of trying The Lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were a little unsure of trying The Lodge because it had a fairly small menu, but all the food we tried was excellent. Service was great as well - with the extra benefit of having no corkage fee on Tuesday nights.

The people at the nearby tables were also very nice company to talk with during the meal.

Would definitely recommend for a nice night out in Tahoe Donner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great location and view from the deck, f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

great location and view from the deck, food was good and reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had another great meal at The Lodge with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had another great meal at The Lodge with friends from the City who were up for the weekend. Such a nice, relaxing atmosphere and conducive to both fine dining and casual for couples, families. It's a great spot. Pricey, with great cocktails and good wine selection and awesome specials every day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Very nice setting!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food. Very nice setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Lodge for a birthday dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to The Lodge for a birthday dinner. I called ahead of time to ask if they would bring a special desert with a candle for my sister. They said they always brought brownies with a candle - no problem.

The dinner was delicious but quickly the service went down hill. They rushed the salads after the appetizers and pushed us to order. Their was a long wait before the entrees arrived.

It was clear that the message about the birthday never got to the waitress so we brought it up - again they said no problem. We ordered desert and, to my disappointment, the deserts were brought out without a candle. Plus, one of the deserts never arrived.

In addition to all of this, we asked if we could add a 1/2 order to our appetizers so that everyone could try everything. We were told no because the plates are prepared ahead of time. Very disappointing- but excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Over priced for quality. Short rib was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Over priced for quality. Short rib was good, but lacked that usual juciness. Cobbler crust lacked flackyness and flavor. Not enough fruit ---I was hoping for lots of berries and peaches ----fruit got lost inside. The Lodge needs to lower prices ! Also ---move that ugly tent. Don't like looking at it while dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We are 3-4 month per year residents of T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We are 3-4 month per year residents of Tahoe Donner in Truckee. Simply put, the Lodge is our favorite restaurant, overall. The Lodge building and site are gorgeous. The ambiance on the deck and in the main dining room are especially nice. My wife also enjoys the Bar dining area. The new extension is not to our liking. For lunch they make the best Cobb Salad I've experienced, their specialty sandwich, the Mulligan, is delightful. And they make great burgers. For dinner entrees I would make a couple of suggestions: 1) the turkey meatloaf is tasteless and a real meatloaf would be appreciated, and I think after talking to friends, a better seller. I love short ribs nod I would order it regularly if it were bone-in.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had dinner with friends and their kid ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

WE had dinner with friends and their kids. Service was great, we were not rushed, the kids played with the craft sticks and made some great sculptures! Food was fantastic! Had one last drink at the bar, kids sat off from the bar and watched some golf and baseball... Great spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lodge is consistently good-service e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Lodge is consistently good-service excellent, makes you feel like family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy the burger, outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always enjoy the burger, outstanding taste and quality. We were late so the busy holiday crowd was gone and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent diners at The Lodge, a g ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are frequent diners at The Lodge, a gem hidden away in the Tahoe Donner resort. Every dinner we have had here has been exceptional. The dishes are inventive and delicious, and I almost always get the fish special because it is fresh and well-prepared. My husband loves the small plate mac 'n' cheese, and usually pairs this with a salad or poaches from my plate.

Service is wonderful, with attentive, professional servers who seem to enjoy their jobs and want their customers to be happy. The wine list is quite interesting, and I've found a number of wines on the manager's list that I never had before (that's something, as I drink a lot of wine) that are delicious.

The setting is beautiful. In winters, sitting by the beautiful stone fireplace is a real treat. In summer, the deck is the way to go, with gorgeous golf course views. Don't forget the bar, though! It's a fun, vibrant spot with great bartenders and lots of TVs for watching the amazing northern California sports teams, golf, and tennis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service, good food, wide variet ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Friendly service, good food, wide variety from casual

burgers to fine dining. Convenient for Taho Donner residents.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the best steak dinners I've had. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best steak dinners I've had. Simply delicious along with scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the Lodge since buying ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our first time at the Lodge since buying in Tahoe Donner. Service was attentive, food was varied and interesting. We started with Asian dumplings over a bed of salad, they were delicious. I had homemade vegetarian burger with kale salad( lemon dressing)- portion was huge and tasty. My son had turkey meatloaf and loved it. We ordered two desserts for the table, blueberry coffee cake with ice cream on top and chocolate lava cake with ice cream and fresh fruit. Desserts were excellent suggestions from out waiter. Sitting on the deck in perfect weather was the best! Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular location, amazing food and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Spectacular location, amazing food and wonderful service! It was the perfect location to celebrate Fathers day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun find in Truckee! The outdoor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a fun find in Truckee! The outdoor seating provided a lovely view! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Superb service, killer menu, high quali ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Superb service, killer menu, high quality. Worth the price. I'm a Tahoe Donner local, and the Lodge has been outstnading for the past several years in a highly competitive market. There are lots of eateries in Truckee, but The Lodge stands out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious menu. Goo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great atmosphere and delicious menu. Good variety!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The Lodge has become our go-to restaurant whenever we are in the Tahoe Donner area. We love the rustic lodge decor, and the fireplace is especially welcome during the winter. In summer, the deck is a fun place to see and be seen.

Service is always excellent here, the staff seem to enjoy their jobs and want to provide the best service possible. Servers are knowledgeable about both the food and the wine, and they are willing to assist in your decisions.

The food is the real star here, though. Specials are always interesting and delicious, especially the fish/seafood specials. I like that they offer small plates and appetizers so if I'm not in need of a full meal, I have many options. Every meal I've had, the food has been fresh, perfectly prepared, and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worked well even though we were GF.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Worked well even though we were GF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time and likely last time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Made reservations online. The menu looked nice and reviews were favorable. We were expecting to be in a dining room like setting- we were seated at the exit in the outer edges of what was called the Pub. When booking it should be made clear that there are a few different areas you may be seated. The warriors game was on so all through dinner it was loud shouting and screaming. We didn't bother ordering a starter or dessert to get out as soon as we could. I asked the host when we left about the different seating arrangements. We were planning on a more quiet evening out enjoying conversation with 2 other couples. Impossible in this setting. A dining room menu and prices for a coffee shop or cafeteria like experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Reliably Excellent

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We've dined numerous times at The Lodge, a place that seems to be known only by owners and renters at Tahoe Donner Resort, which is a shame. Our dining experience is always excellent, from service, to wine, to dinners. The menu is a nice mix of standards and specials, including appetizers, small plates, and dinners. I almost always get the fish/seafood special because it is delicious and the chefs do an excellent job of cooking the fish to perfection. The "small" plates are big enough to share or to have for dinner. The wine list is eclectic, interesting, and reasonably priced. Service is always wonderful - one of the reasons we bought property at Tahoe Donner was because staff seem so happy to be working there. The Lodge is no exception - the staff seem to enjoy their jobs and want you to have as good a time as they are. Next time you're in the Truckee area, turn left on Northwoods Blvd. and head to The Lodge. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always ask for a quiet table to enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We always ask for a quiet table to enjoy the best burger in Truckee. And they are always able to please us with both requests. Service was good and burger great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcomed break from home cooking.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We tried the chefs tasting meal, and we were very pleased. It was the right size and high quality, and a good value. We asked for a very quiet table,and they found one for us. As usual, we enjoyed our evening and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Lodge never disappoints. A beautiful ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Lodge never disappoints. A beautiful setting in the Tahoe Donner resort, it seems to be known and popular with residents and visitors but not many others. The food is excellent, especially the chef's specials. The wine list is very good, with most selections reasonably priced. Service is friendly, professional, and timely. We have become regulars at this hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Wonderful

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've dined at The Lodge on several occasions now, and we have never been disappointed. From the moment we are greeted to the end of the meal, everything is always wonderful. We especially enjoy the chef's specials, which are creative and delicious, and take advantage of local fresh ingredients. The menu has a very good selection of appetizers, small plates, and dinners.

Service is wonderful, the staff are so pleasant and friendly, and they certainly know both the menu and the extensive wine list well. They are happy to make recommendations and help you select the perfect wine to accompany your meal. The wine list is not just comprehensive, it is relatively well-priced, and there are often wine specials. On Tuesdays, the corkage fee is waived, so that's a great time to BYOB.

The Lodge is a beautiful building with a real Old-Tahoe feel to it. On cool or cold evenings, sitting by the large stone fireplace is especially pleasant. In summer, the deck is wonderful. The bar is large and often busy, and a good place to meet friends or just hang out with the locals (who usually are very friendly!) The Lodge has become one of our favorite dining spots in Truckee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to dining at the Lod ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Always look forward to dining at the Lodge when we are at Tahoe Donner. Atmosphere and service excellent as well as good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Hamburgers!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The black angus beef burger is great. It has great taste, fresh vegetables and comfort food extras. We order it frequently and never have been disappointed. Our waitress,Tessie was very thoughtful to order for us the various sauces like mayo to come with it as the order is delivered to the table. This allowed us to start eating immediately instead of waiting for them to delivered. We were so pleased with her service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Lodge

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great service, salads and burgers were excellent. Pork tenderloin was good but a small portion.

Martinis were also a little small compared to the norm!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.