About The Lodge Restaurant & Pub

12850 Northwoods Blvd
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub is an intimate venue with two cozy dining rooms and a festive pub. In our main dining room, you'll find a roaring fire during the winter with wooden rafters and beautiful pine accents, floor to ceiling windows, overlooking endless pines with a spectacular ridgeline back drop. During the summer, you can dine and relax on our deck with stunning views of the golf course and the lush Sierra environment. Year round there is always excitement and camaraderie in our lively pub. We have a spectacular wine list as well as a manager's wine list with incredible deals. There are both weekly and monthy promotions and unique events taking place in the restaurant so check out our events page at www.tahoedonner.com. Our award-winning chef will create a meal you won't soon forget (specials change daily). Last but not least, our friendly and welcoming staff will make you feel like an old friend and show you the true spirit of the people and the area that is Tahoe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5 p.m. - 9 p.m. (year round)
Lunch:11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily featuring a lighter, fall seasonal lunch menu.

Check website for seasonal lunch hours.

Memorial Day - Sept. 2: Lunch is served 11:30 a.m. - 4 p.m., daily

Cross Street:
Donner Pass Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 587-9455

Website:
http://www.tahoedonner.com/the-lodge/

Entertainment:
Monthly promotions and great deals. Please call for information or see the events page on our website. tahoedonner.com

Parking Details:
The Lodge parking lot is located off the street in the front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Lewis Orlady

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Kirshner: 5305829643

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jeanne at 530-582-9643 for details.

The Lodge Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Outdoor Dining
Tahoe / Reno Area
Contemporary American
Tahoe / Reno Area
7 More
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Scenic View
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Truckee ›

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Scenic View (31)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always love the Lodge but haven't been f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always love the Lodge but haven't been for a while. Took friends who have never been and we all loved our meals. 2 of us got the meatloaf which was amazing! 2 got the salmon and loved it as well. Waiter was great. Look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined in the Lodge on a number o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have dined in the Lodge on a number of occasions over the last few years; the quality of food, service and atmosphere has always remained high. When we have first-time guests in our second home, we always like to start their visit with dinner at the Lodge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is very very good! We had the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is very very good! We had the short ribs which were among the best I have ever had. Really excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Potato leek soup, wedge salad, Mac and c ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Potato leek soup, wedge salad, Mac and cheese good. Halibut special overcooked and very dry. Short ribs just OK. This was a birthday dinner for our grown daughter and her family. I ordered a very nice birthday cake in town and delivered it before we arrived. When the wait staff served it, they brought it out in the same cardboard box it came in from the bakery, not on a cake platter.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was a bit bland.. Seated near the k ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was a bit bland.. Seated near the kitchen which was extremely loud during our dinner... Service was rusty... Not the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We needed a place to meet friends in the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We needed a place to meet friends in the Truckee/Tahoe City area and found The Lodge online. I'm a bit skeptical of reviews and was hesitant about choosing an unfamiliar restaurant for dinner with friends but The Lodge was GREAT! We arrived early and enjoyed a beer and college football in the pub before our friends arrived. I had looked at the menu online and found a variety of appetizers, salads, and entrees and then was pleasantly surprised at all of the specials described table side . All four of us ordered a special; two fresh pastas, one pork chop, and one scallops. We all loved our meal! The entire staff was very friendly and professional and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining in The Lodge for som ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have been dining in The Lodge for some time and, as usual, this last time was typical of the good food, good service and overall pleasant atmosphere we have come to expect. It's a great place for us to go when we have guests in our Tahoe Donner home during the summer or during ski season..

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal...great service! Initially se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great meal...great service! Initially seated outside...fabulous view! Too many bees out there so reseated inside. They had "bee bait" (bacon) but all it did was attract MORE bees and I am allergic.

The bee situation is horrible. Aside from that....all good!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A very comfortable setting, serving a co ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A very comfortable setting, serving a contemporary take on American food---Famous for a rich style of Meatloaf--Poke / Avocado was very flavorful---Our server was efficient and knowledgeable on the food an wine offerings---Wine BTG selections were interesting and fairly priced. Unfortunately, the red wines, were served quite warm! -- A s usual, the wonderful view of the golf course and trees, was blocked by the ugly large special event tent==too bad !!!.J

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We all enjoyed our meal and the atmosphe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We all enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere. The food portions, however, are HUGE, so plan on a take home bag/carton. The service was attentive but not overly so. We would definitely return when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually when we dine at The Lodge, it's ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Usually when we dine at The Lodge, it's just my husband and me. This time, we had a group of six rather rowdy and loud friends. The staff treated us so well, though, just as when it's two of us. Service was prompt, efficient, and professional. We shared a number of small plates and dinners, and everything was delicious. We finished the meal with the fantastic blueberry buckle, a wonderful rendition of this classic that you should try if it's on the menu. Served hot with vanilla bean ice cream, it is a comforting, delicious end to any meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bolognese is fabulous! Great view at th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Bolognese is fabulous! Great view at the golf course, good drinks and friendly staff.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

A reunion of four women friends at a cab ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A reunion of four women friends at a cabin near this restaurant was enhanced by having this delightful place to dine. From our first night happy hour to Sunday brunch, the food was inventive and delicious. The halibut fish taco is divine! Our server, twice, was Martha, who was just wonderful. Kudos to this chef!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Lodge and dine here regularl ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love The Lodge and dine here regularly. The dinners are always creative and delicious, with specials that change regularly, and small plates that are fun and interesting. The setting is perfect for a mountain resort - warm, comfortable, casual - and views of the golf course from the deck in summer.

Staff are always friendly and professional, and seem to enjoy working here, which seems to be rarer every day. Service is very good, although there can be longer wait times during the busy seasons of summer and winter.

Most people dining here either live or are renting in the resort, which is a shame. The Lodge is not far from Donner Pass Road, and it deserves more traffic from the people crowding into Truckee restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to The Lodge almost s ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been going to The Lodge almost since its beginning. We love it. My son wanted to go there on his way off to college and we stopped on our way to Boulder. We had an excellent dinner. The only recommendation I have is the outside tables should have candles. Not only for ambiance but for bees too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lodge is much more pleasant than the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Lodge is much more pleasant than the crowded downtown Truckee restaurants. The food is good and I enjoy the views of the pines and the golf course

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unexpectedly delicious. In particular we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unexpectedly delicious. In particular we were in heaven having eaten the Crispy Green Beans with Sambal Pork--a "shared plate"--a designation on the menu for several appetizer-like items--and the Watermelon and Arugula salad to start. These were two wonderfully succulent dishes, the bean dish new to me. Then I had the grilled Wild Salmon-a huge portion, perfectly cooked- and my husband had the Pappardelle Bolognese which he thoroughly enjoyed. We ate outside on the deck with a comfortable view of the golf course. It was quiet enough, though there was loud music annoyingly heard due to a private party going on. That was the only spoiler. BTW, the wine list was nice and reasonably priced, another unexpected surprise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We visit the Lodge often and it never di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We visit the Lodge often and it never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had both lunch and dinner at the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have had both lunch and dinner at the Lodge Restaurant and we are never disappointed with their food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious. Very consistent, neve ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always delicious. Very consistent, never disappoints. Great wait staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christian and Miranda at THE LODGE are t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Christian and Miranda at THE LODGE are top-notch! The food and service made our #27 wedding anniversary so special. With much appreciation, Happy Diners

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at the L ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our first time to dine at the Lodge Restaurant and Pub. We had a very nice time. Our servers were very attentive and pleasant. The food was delicious, I had the scallops, they were excellent and my wife had chicken prepared with panko also excellent. The noise level was a bit excessive however. As this is a part of the golf course and there apparently had been a tournament with a presentation of awards which was about ten feet from where we were seated it got very loud. But as an avid golfer myself I fully understood the crowd's excitement. I would suggest more separation between the tournament participants and the diners.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant, this ti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant, this time we had the pasta special, a wonderful pork chop and the short ribs always a fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a little unsure of trying The Lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were a little unsure of trying The Lodge because it had a fairly small menu, but all the food we tried was excellent. Service was great as well - with the extra benefit of having no corkage fee on Tuesday nights.

The people at the nearby tables were also very nice company to talk with during the meal.

Would definitely recommend for a nice night out in Tahoe Donner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great location and view from the deck, f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

great location and view from the deck, food was good and reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had another great meal at The Lodge with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had another great meal at The Lodge with friends from the City who were up for the weekend. Such a nice, relaxing atmosphere and conducive to both fine dining and casual for couples, families. It's a great spot. Pricey, with great cocktails and good wine selection and awesome specials every day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Very nice setting!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food. Very nice setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Lodge for a birthday dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to The Lodge for a birthday dinner. I called ahead of time to ask if they would bring a special desert with a candle for my sister. They said they always brought brownies with a candle - no problem.

The dinner was delicious but quickly the service went down hill. They rushed the salads after the appetizers and pushed us to order. Their was a long wait before the entrees arrived.

It was clear that the message about the birthday never got to the waitress so we brought it up - again they said no problem. We ordered desert and, to my disappointment, the deserts were brought out without a candle. Plus, one of the deserts never arrived.

In addition to all of this, we asked if we could add a 1/2 order to our appetizers so that everyone could try everything. We were told no because the plates are prepared ahead of time. Very disappointing- but excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Over priced for quality. Short rib was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Over priced for quality. Short rib was good, but lacked that usual juciness. Cobbler crust lacked flackyness and flavor. Not enough fruit ---I was hoping for lots of berries and peaches ----fruit got lost inside. The Lodge needs to lower prices ! Also ---move that ugly tent. Don't like looking at it while dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We are 3-4 month per year residents of T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We are 3-4 month per year residents of Tahoe Donner in Truckee. Simply put, the Lodge is our favorite restaurant, overall. The Lodge building and site are gorgeous. The ambiance on the deck and in the main dining room are especially nice. My wife also enjoys the Bar dining area. The new extension is not to our liking. For lunch they make the best Cobb Salad I've experienced, their specialty sandwich, the Mulligan, is delightful. And they make great burgers. For dinner entrees I would make a couple of suggestions: 1) the turkey meatloaf is tasteless and a real meatloaf would be appreciated, and I think after talking to friends, a better seller. I love short ribs nod I would order it regularly if it were bone-in.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had dinner with friends and their kid ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

WE had dinner with friends and their kids. Service was great, we were not rushed, the kids played with the craft sticks and made some great sculptures! Food was fantastic! Had one last drink at the bar, kids sat off from the bar and watched some golf and baseball... Great spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lodge is consistently good-service e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Lodge is consistently good-service excellent, makes you feel like family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy the burger, outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always enjoy the burger, outstanding taste and quality. We were late so the busy holiday crowd was gone and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent diners at The Lodge, a g ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are frequent diners at The Lodge, a gem hidden away in the Tahoe Donner resort. Every dinner we have had here has been exceptional. The dishes are inventive and delicious, and I almost always get the fish special because it is fresh and well-prepared. My husband loves the small plate mac 'n' cheese, and usually pairs this with a salad or poaches from my plate.

Service is wonderful, with attentive, professional servers who seem to enjoy their jobs and want their customers to be happy. The wine list is quite interesting, and I've found a number of wines on the manager's list that I never had before (that's something, as I drink a lot of wine) that are delicious.

The setting is beautiful. In winters, sitting by the beautiful stone fireplace is a real treat. In summer, the deck is the way to go, with gorgeous golf course views. Don't forget the bar, though! It's a fun, vibrant spot with great bartenders and lots of TVs for watching the amazing northern California sports teams, golf, and tennis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service, good food, wide variet ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Friendly service, good food, wide variety from casual

burgers to fine dining. Convenient for Taho Donner residents.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the best steak dinners I've had. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best steak dinners I've had. Simply delicious along with scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the Lodge since buying ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our first time at the Lodge since buying in Tahoe Donner. Service was attentive, food was varied and interesting. We started with Asian dumplings over a bed of salad, they were delicious. I had homemade vegetarian burger with kale salad( lemon dressing)- portion was huge and tasty. My son had turkey meatloaf and loved it. We ordered two desserts for the table, blueberry coffee cake with ice cream on top and chocolate lava cake with ice cream and fresh fruit. Desserts were excellent suggestions from out waiter. Sitting on the deck in perfect weather was the best! Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular location, amazing food and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Spectacular location, amazing food and wonderful service! It was the perfect location to celebrate Fathers day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun find in Truckee! The outdoor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a fun find in Truckee! The outdoor seating provided a lovely view! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Superb service, killer menu, high quali ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Superb service, killer menu, high quality. Worth the price. I'm a Tahoe Donner local, and the Lodge has been outstnading for the past several years in a highly competitive market. There are lots of eateries in Truckee, but The Lodge stands out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.