Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Local Table

3.5
17 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Kid-friendly

Similar Restaurants

About

The Local Table is a popular restaurant and bar in beautiful Newbury Park. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, The Local Table offers guests a wide selection of entrées, including braised boneless short rib brisket, pan seared Idaho filet of trout, grilled Scottish salmon, beef lasagna and penne with chicken sausage. The menu continues to list additional options including paninis, pizzas and a notable kid's menu.

The dining room of The Local Table is spacious and charming. The walls are lined with large wine racks, trendy artwork, large windows and a fireplace. And the room is filled with a combination of booth and table seating, an impressive bar and a combination of lighting features. The ceilings are vaulted, making the dining room feel spacious. The space has a laid-back and inviting feel to it.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
2:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Sunday - Thursday
2:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday & Saturday

Bakery open 2:00 to close of restaurant 7 days a week.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 498-4013
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Rob Bracaliello
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 17 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.5based on all time ratings
3.6
food
3.6
service
3.6
ambience
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on August 1, 2014

Owner and staff looked frazzled and stressed. Service was poor. Requested 3 drinks, but received 2. Took over 10 minutes before I went to the order station and requested the third drink from our waitress. Received it 5 minutes later. Mashed potatoes didn't have gravy so we had to settle on butter (not our first choice). Dinner was good. They didn't have a dessert menu so we had to leave the table and look at the display case. Since they had a large party on the patio (as if they didn't know that well in advance - approximately 50 people) the dessert selection was minimal. The two we got felt and tasted like it was in the case for days. Prices were good, but given the other disappointments I probably won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2014

Food was okay, a little heavy on the sauce and gravies but nice selection for a brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2014

Went there in the evening, 4 of us. We each ordered something different and none of us was particularly impressed with our meal. The wait staff was on the spot, almost to the point of feeling rushed. All were friendly and courteous, very obliging to our needs and wants. My friends who live close to the restaurant said they might come back one more time. It was lovely sitting on the patio.
I read about the restaurant in "805" and was anxious to give it a try. Dusappointed; found it to be expensive for ordinary food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2014

The food was quite good and the service was great -- mostly becasue no one was there on a Saturday night! It's a shame that locals don't support a restaurant in this location. It's the third place in the space...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2014

The garlic fries were subpar to what they serve at Red Robin. The smashed potato was half raw. The burger was really great. The linguini and meatballs came with 3 little tough balls and a smallish plate of overdone noodles - not as bad as Presto Pasta, but not anything to Yelp about. The Mahi Mahi came with the Chardonnay sauce was also not amazing. we loved the sweet potato mash, but we didn't love that it was $6. The appetizer ribs were tender and came right off the bone were ok.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2014

Sat. eve 6:30 pm: several very large parties, full family affairs, kids. This impaired the ambience for those who prefer a calm dining experience. Every seat filled. What about safety / mass exits in an emergency? Wait staff and bussers stressed. Clearly a locals restaurant (we live in TO but not in that part of the 'hood). I commend our female wait person, she was very friendly and gracious in spite of the chaos. Food? Their special bread came way late, tasted like pizza dough. The garden salads w/nice crunchy veggies, too much dressing, soupy. The mezzacorona chicken was just ok, soupy. The short rib itself was pretty good, again a soupy dish. We may come back on a weeknight, it was a cute room over all, just way to crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2014

Nice variety great service. Family brunch for a nice light lunch. New resturant with a very willing staff. Even got to meet the young chef. Wonderful gem in NP!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2014

I live in Dos Vientos and really want this resto to succeed. The first two didn't make it for various reasons, but I think this one has the potential to endure its "opening pains". The food and wine list by the glass are quite good. Prices are reasonable.The manager and the staff are quite accommodating and friendly. They need to add several baffles (soundproofing devices) throughout the resto as the noise level is quite high. Even the girl at reception said they can't hear people on the phone and need to go under the counter to try to hear. I find people seem to have a need to shout when "talking" and laugh very loud, which is annoying, hurts the ears and can ruin a nice dining experience. Soundproofing could help dampen the loud crowd.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2014

Wonderful restaurant! Food is delicious and comporably priced. Kitchen accidentally mixed up my order but server and manager were very apologetic and made up for the inconvenience. We will definitely be going back. I really hope they make it in this shopping center, Dos vientos really needs it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2014

Wife and I go out every Friday night. Decided to try The Local Table with friends. Good quality food with very good desserts. Really a place more for the whole family than for date night. Casual and moderately priced. Will definitely come back, but next time with the little ones.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2014

Food was good, nice presentation & tasty. Everything we ordered we would order again. We felt the prices were reasonable.
Service was inexperienced, slow & she couldn't pronounce the names of a few dishes. She was nice enough but couldn't recommend anything or answer questions like the size of the appetizers, etc.
The restaurant has a cool, local vibe & friendly hostess. Lots of yummy desserts greet you when you walk in.
We would go back & hopefully the service will improve!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2014

Food was just OK.

Ribs and mac-n-cheese - Sauce was too sweet on the ribs, and not enough meat. The meat was very tender. Mac-n-cheese should be made with macaroni, hence the name. Not sure what kind of noodles they were, but the consistency was not very good for a mac-n-cheese dish.

Salmon - The salmon was cooked well. Nice firmness on the outside and moist and flaky on the inside. The quinoa was terrible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 21, 2014

No liquor license yet. Tried to order a sandwich only to be told they weren't "available" yet. Our waitress seemed very confused about ordering options and just overall very new. The place has been open over a month. Probably the worst was the lengthy conversation by the owner/manager with the table beside us where I feel he shared way too much information.

Positives? Husband had the Mac and cheese and ribs. He loved both (still wondering why no vegetable on the plate though.). Red velvet cake was delicious! Small for $8 but still great. The young water boy was attentive; best service of the night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2014

As a nearby resident, I was hoping that The Local Table would be a success. After dining, I can't see how it wouldn't. Started sharing the scallops appetizer and they were awesome. I ordered the BBQ ribs which comes with mac & cheese. The ribs were as good as I've ever had. You could not eat them with your hands because if you tried to pick up a rib, the meat would just fall completely off. The meat was plentiful, not a lot of fat, but still very moist and sauce perfect. The mac and cheese was also excellent. My wife had the short ribs which comes with risotto. She loved them and the generous portions allowed me to try them the next day reheated for lunch, again as good as I've ever tasted even at the high end LA restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2014

We were excited to try it a new place so we ordered several appetizers and a variety of entrees. All of it was delicious. The food is fresh, original and tasty. We will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2014

Went there for Valentine's day dinner. They had only been open for 1 week. The only disappointment was that on their web/facebook site they say full bar & wine. When we got there, we were informed they could serve no alcohol whatsoever. The still did not have their liquor license. Wish they would have noted that online. For the reaction of most of the patrons, I saw their discouragement as well. Food was excellent though. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2014

I food was good but the service was slow and very chaotic. Having said that, I took my family there on day 5 of being open. I will go back in a week or two to see how they have adjusted.

Report
Helpful