About The Livery Tavern

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
5 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Best Value
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Lewisburg
Best Restaurants in Lewisburg ›

Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Romantic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter, David, was extraordinary - h ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter, David, was extraordinary - his description of the new menu items made you hungry to try new things! He provided the perfect balance of humor/attention and space.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing...service good, friendl ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was amazing...service good, friendly, a little chatty, a bit over price...can only dine on very specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was terribly slow. Even though we were the only diners @ 6:00 pm. there were long periods between ordering, getting salads and then the entree and.....getting the check.. WE were late for the theater because of the slow service. No apology from our waiter.

Overpriced so we will probably not return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Patty was wonderful Food was very nice ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Patty was wonderful

Food was very nice

The rest of the staff was not very friendly

The interior and outdoor seating is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service were outstanding! T ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! The prices are high, so it is a special occasion stop only for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Prices a little high, but like always, y ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Prices a little high, but like always, you get what you pay for... Overall a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

a wonderful restaurant in a storybook to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

a wonderful restaurant in a storybook town. farm to table, amazing food, service and ambiance. what else do you want?!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were prepared wonderfully! Every ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Steaks were prepared wonderfully! Everything was seasoned to perfection and the chocolate mousse cake was to die for. Patty, our waitress, as well as everyone else was so polite and friendly. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted an over-the-top romantic evenin ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I wanted an over-the-top romantic evening with my lady, and that's exactly what we had. The food, the wine, the ambiance - it was all PERFECT. Our waiter, Chris, provided us with the most enjoyable, pleasant and professional service we could have possibly experienced. I say drop what you are doing, make your reservation, drive to Lewisburg, take your honey to The Livery, and live happily ever after.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner we had was excellent! Unfortu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The dinner we had was excellent! Unfortunately, they were out or short of several entrées. My wife and I had the fresh halibut and it was terrific! It was very moist and fell apart at the touch of the fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful and great friendly se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was wonderful and great friendly service. I love that many of the entrees and desserts use fresh, local ingredients. Entree choices are creative but even a picky eater can find something they'll enjoy. One of the best finds of my West Virginia travels!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice bar. Sofa and fireplace with ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very nice bar. Sofa and fireplace with chess set for cooler weather enjoyment. Beautiful decor and very nice gluten free dessert. Goat cheese ice cream a delicate jewel. Flowerless chocolate cake rich and enough for 4 esp if with ice cream. Will visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

David was a hoot as our waiter, very kno ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

David was a hoot as our waiter, very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had heard how "impeccable" the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had heard how "impeccable" the service was... This was not our experience. Our server was fine but not great. Music from kitchen overpowered music in restaurant. Unfortunately, there were a lot of open tables BUT it took 45 minutes to get our salad and we had to ask for bread...

The food was good although menu was limited. We both wanted the special and not much else. The Cesar salad and cheesecake were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The French Goat is visited often by Lewi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The French Goat is visited often by Lewisburg residents and should be on your list if you are visiting here.

The owner manages of the front of the house and is a welcoming host. The excellent food is served with flair by the competent and friendly wait-staff. We have dined there many times since thy opened and, once again, the French Goat lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great and food was amazing. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great and food was amazing. One of the best in Lewisburg, WV

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FOR THOSE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN OSSO BUCO ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

FOR THOSE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN OSSO BUCO, THIS IS THE PLACE. MAYBE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. LEWISBURG IS WORTH THE TRIP JUST FOR THIS DISH.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had great meals in the past but ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have had great meals in the past but this was subprime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just had a burger but it was quite a bur ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Just had a burger but it was quite a burger! Just meat and gooey melted Swiss on a warm brioche bun but it was fabulous. Don't know when or if I ever had a burger this good. Husband had the Asian glazed short ribs which were pretty spicy but very good. Service was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had heard The Livery's prices were hi ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had heard The Livery's prices were high, but did not expect them to be as high as they were. The sweet & sour shrimp appetizer was the best shrimp appetizer I have ever had, and well worth the $12. I would have still been pleased with that at $15.

The appetizer my wife had was worth its price, too, whatever it was -- can't remember.

The entrees were certainly good and well-presented, however, I would have had another one if the price had not been what I considered outlandish for a steak or prime rib.

I had a lamb dish. It tasted very good, but it just did not taste like lamb. With the way it was flavored, it could just as well have been beef pot roast.

That's just my take on it, from someone who maybe has a 1950s view of what prices ought to be, and from someone who had the good fortune of being exposed to one of the best cooks who ever lived, my grandmother. She kind of spoiled me for what I consider exceptionally good food. I'm constantly hearing people talk about how wonderful a restaurant is, when I think it's only average or a bit above.

Finally, I must give the service my highest praise -- it was impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This was our first visit to The Livery - ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first visit to The Livery - I don't believe it will be our last! We were there to celebrate Father's Day. The atmosphere and menu is unique because as a gal I loved it (as did my mom), but it had great male-appeal through the food items offered and the ambiance. Our waiter was superb and everything we had to eat was divine! I personally totally loved flavorful and hearty Thai soup, the presentation and refreshing flavors of my salad, the robust flavor of my mushroom tart and the delightful ending (every bite) of my Chocolate Mousse Cake! A grand and relaxing evening that was a joy to the palate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful. Went to celebrate my b ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was wonderful. Went to celebrate my beautiful fiancé's birthday and she was overwhelmed with the 5 star class. Our waiter David was so educated and everything he suggested was absolutely delicious. By far the best risotto I have ever had. Definitely give the Livery an A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Really enjoyed our experience here! It was the perfect place for us to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good not great; had pork belly w ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall good not great; had pork belly which was a large appetizer; sauce so so; also had duck which was fantastic. Was a little disappointed that the game dishes on the online menu were not on the menu at all; needs updating. Service and ambiance was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lewisburg's Best

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We had a fantastic time! The service was amazing, courteous, very professional! The food was excellent... we shared an appetizer, entree, and a salad and got dessert at the end. Everything was to die for. Thanks so much!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The only odd note was that some of the tables had tablecloths and flowers and some did not. We were seated at a table without and it felt like we were second class citizens, but that was dispelled by the excellent service and food.

All the dishes were first rate and the food was fresh and vibrant with flavor. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Fine Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish - friendly, professional staff and waiter. Outstanding food that will not disappoint! A must visit if in Lewisburg!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience at The Livery Tavern

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We visited Lewisburg for an overnight get away to celebrate my husband's birthday. We dined at The Livery on a Saturday night and had a wonderful experience. When we arrived at 8:00 the restaurant was bustling and we were quickly seated and served. All of the food and drinks were wonderful and together with tavern-like ambiance made for a very enjoyable evening. I would recommend the restaurant and we will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came back to try new menu

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I loved our experience at the Livery last time, so we decided to have an early dinner here and were pleasantly surprised with a new menu.

Once again, service was great and the new menu was excellent. We had a white bean soup, ox tail dumplings, and chicken wings for starters. All of these were delicious in their own way, though there were more chicken wings than I expected (a good thing), so we boxed some for later.

For dinner, we had a lamb shank and a prime rib. I am not a prime rib fan usually, but I figured I would give it a shot here. I am glad I did - it was a succulent cut of beef and their demi-glaze really sealed the deal on it. The lamb shank was super tender and a delight. These portions were also quite large, so there was more doggie bag items here too.

Finally, for dessert we had a napoleon and a blue berry swirl cheesecake with a scoop of cinnamon goat cheese ice cream. The cheesecake was one of the best I have had. I have to admit, the goat cheese ice cream didn't sound appealing at all, but it tastes nothing like it's namesake. The goat cheese ice cream has the consistency of cheese cake, and is amazing. The Napoleon was very decadent and fruit filled with blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries.

Overall, another great dining experience. It is probably good that I don't live near here, because I would have a hard time not coming here daily. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first time in Lewisburg, and we weren't sure what The Livery Tavern would be like. We found it on Trip Advisor. But from the moment we arrived, we could not have been more pleased and impressed with both the service and the food. Our server, David, gave us several recommendations, and we then settled on the Caesar salad, the Duck Comfit (for me) and the espresso rubbed Rib eye slices for my husband. I am not exaggerating when I say that the meals were among the best I've ever had anywhere. While at The Greenbrier, we also had several meals there, but The Livery easily was our very favorite dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My wife and I at at the Livery on two occasions during our trip to Lewisburg - both on a Friday and Saturday night. The food was truly amazing. The wine list - well, there's just not words. It was outstanding. A number of great selections - it was hard to pick just one. The ambiance was beautiful - low lights, light music playing in the background, with a mild crowd. Overall, an A+ experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, Pleasant Atmosphere

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I expected excellent meal and I was not disappointed! I had soup of the day and duck confit, both of which I'd recommend. I dined alone, but the bartender, Kristy, provided excellent service and fun conversation so I felt comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LEWISBURG FIND

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

ONE OF LEWISBURG'S BETTER RESTAURANTS. THE FOOD AND SERVICE ARE TOP NOTCH.

WORTH A STOP.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Pricey

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We thought it was quite expensive. The salad was small, wrapped in a long slice of cucumber, unique but not very tasty. The music was loud..

We wouldn't go back.

The server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a wonderful dinner here during the L ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here during the Lewisburg Chocolate fest. It was quite busy, but they still managed to provide excellent service in a timely fashion.

The food was fantastic from start to finish. Crispy Pork belly that was an excellent mix of sweet and savory, a Caesar salad with fried Brussels sprouts and pine nuts, smoky chocolate bbq ribs, and steak au poivre. Dessert was equally fabulous, with a chocolate mousse cake and a bread pudding with brandy Alexander ice cream.

Will definitely come back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was overpriced, and under seasoned. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was overpriced, and under seasoned. My wife's potatoes were burned, my duck was chewy and dry. Service was awful. We never got the salads we ordered. The owner had to take our plates away. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

One of My Top 5 Meals

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I had a memorable meal here. We have traveled the world and this meal was one of our top 5. A surprise to find in WV!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is excellent and innovative. Local ingredients are utilized. Consistent quality. The cardamom bread pudding was one of the best desserts I have ever eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine Dining in Lewisburg

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We have dined twice at the tavern and it has been wonderful experiences both times. The staff is friendly, accommodating and professional. Great cocktails, food and wine all make for a good time! Try it - you'll be glad that you did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We've eaten at The Livery Tavern several times and it has never been anything short of excellent. The food has been consistently wonderful and the service stellar. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.