About The Livery Tavern

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Live Music (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fireplace (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful meal and the entertainment was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, great food. Table seating is a little too close together. Booths are better. Live music was a nice addition. Dessert tri was especially pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoy eating at The Livery whenever visiting Lewisburg. As usual, we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were greeted by the sight of 3 tables of 8-10. We were concerned about how this might effect the service and noise level. Our server approached the table immediately and our drink orders were delivered quickly. Our orders were taken promptly and food delivered promptly and hot. I ordered the chicken dish which had a light, crunchy breading and delightfully moist chicken. My husband ordered the crab cakes which he stated were excellently prepared and very tasty. Our usual excellent experience at The Livery.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dorian was our server. She was kind, helpful and just a wonderful person to be in the presence of. The food came out fast and delicious. Great drinks and a fantastic outdoor dining experience. We were celebrating the commissioning of the West Virginia State Fair. This was a classy yet budget friendly place to celebrate. I wold recommend it greatly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We visited the Livery Tavern for a business meeting, with a total of four people in our party. We chose to sit on the outdoor patio which was very pleasant and quieter than we expected. The service was great, and the food was delicious. I personally had the filet, which was cooked to perfection, while two of our party had the rib eye, which both said it was one of the best they ever had, and also cooked as requested. The side portions were a little on the lean side, but the main portion more than made up for it. I would highly recommend the Livery Tavern.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very good food and excellent service but very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Probably one of the best overall meals we have had in a long time. Service (Dorian) was awesome. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Best service in town!! We were able to dine outside underneath a beautiful maple tree and The food was delicious!
The lobster was cooked to perfection and my salad was so fresh!
I would absolutely love to have the recipe for the lemon dressing! Light and delectable!
We would like to thank all of the staff for their attentiveness and going over and beyond with the service they provided!
Definitely stop here
Semper Fi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What a neat place! We would definitely go back. Great menu and food. The lobster risotto appetizer was delicious. The owner was there as we walked in and she was lovely. This is a must if you are staying at the Greenbrier!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Warmly welcomed by Nancy as soon as we opened the door and promptly seated. Fun ambience with live music on the Saturday evening reservation we had at 830. Ask for Chris in advance, by far one of the most knowledgeable servers I've met in 30+ years of dining out. Unfortunately, he's leaving at the end of the summer to complete his Masters degree. The Caesar salad is to die for, and the oysters small to medium and yummy. The ribeye steak is 80% lean without sacrificing flavour and the salmon is very generous in portion size, but cooked to perfection. The roasted brussel sprouts with bacon chunks is a mandatory side for any entree, and the Sivas Pinot Noir from Sonoma recommended by Chris was a perfect compliment to the petite filet ordered by my guests. Too full for dessert, but the enticing bar in front of the music, abutting the quaint outdoor patio overlooking the town makes this a mandatory stop if interested in fine dining in Lewisburg, which promotes local farm to table produce.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

While attending the PGA Greenbrier Classic, we decided to drive to Lewisburg for dinner. We had a lovely dinner on the outdoor front porch. We tried several of the small plates and were delighted with our choices. The service was very good.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Livery is a great addition to Lewisburg's food scene. Service was impeccable and the food was beyond excellent. We were lucky enough to get an outside table and there is no better location to enjoy a relaxing meal and some interesting adult beverages than this location. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A truly delightful meal with friends. Staff was warm, courteous and very professional. The Pineapple/Cilantro Margarita was delicious. The food was terrific. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were passing through town and wanted to enjoy a nice meal and some wine. The atmosphere was very romantic and the live music was great! We will be back when passing through town again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Only drawback of the evening was an over anxious server. Otherwise, outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Visited for brunch and was disappointed in the brunch menu. There were out of fried tomotoe BLT! So did the crab cakes benny which was very good. Just not a lot of options that did not include eggs. Two of table ordered the chicken salad croissant and it was just that no lettuce or tomato even though it said it came with it. Service was just ok. Loved the decor and would like to try dinner next time. The place is nice and hope they improve the brunch options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A very special delight. The food and service were both outstanding. This was our first visit and it won't be our last. John the owner was watching over things, as was Nancy, the manager. Ashley ,our server, was a vivacious and energetic young lady. I guess you would say we were overwhelmed that a small town like Lewisburg has such a restaurant gem like the Livery.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

traveling from Kentucky and ended up at the livery for our Anniversary dinner. Hands down one of the best meals we have had in years. Service was spot on and the place is just charming. We had the halibut which was cooked to perfection but the lobster risotto was amazing. Such a hidden gem. Highly recommend. Just wish we lived closer!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great restaurant for a special occasion. Service was excellent as well as the food. They were not crowded the evening we were there so everything seemed to flow smoothly. Will definitely return here next time we visit the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The best steak (speaking from a cattle raiser from Texas) I have eaten. Perfect setting with great appetizers and wine selection. It's a must visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great food--excellent service--outstanding restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for Sunday Bunch. I can't recall a better Sunday meal. The pancakes are amazing. Bourbon glazed pork belly was yummy! We were a retirement party of 8 and everyone loved their food. Corn beef hash is all homemade. Perfectly cooked sunny side egg up on top added to the creamy texture. Eggs Benedict has southern shaved ham on them. The cured salt flavor went well with the hollandaise. They offer some nice lunch options too. Burgers, egg salad sandwich with smoked salmon, fried green tomato BLT are among the selections.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

3rd time I've been there and it wasn't like prior experiences. I think they changed supplier for beef. It was not worth the price at all.
They also seemed to be "off" in other ways. No welcome at all when arriving. Of course that may sound petty but it is unusual for a pricey restaurant and again not like the other visits. I guess if I'm going to spend $200 for dinner for 2, then I also expect some common courtesy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This restaurant was awesome! It is a neighborhood gem Tucktaway in Lewisburg. The food is wonderful, especially the short ribs!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great overall dining experience. Great atmosphere for quiet date conversation . Lovely wine list and local craft beers . Food was ridiculously delicious and very well portioned. A bit pricey , but for the quality of food well worth it . Will definitely be returning for another meal soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding experience, great ambiance , excellent food and service and all round great place to dine out small or large parties. Our family favorite.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We recently celebrated our son's birthday with a dinner here. The decor was warm and welcoming and the fire was a nice touch on a chilly evening. My mint julips, was spectacular with fresh mulled mint. Our appetizers were fabulous, oysters, mussels and lobster rissoto were fixed to perfection and we would definitely order them again. My special entree of halibut was cooked perfectly but lacked seasoning, but my son's expresso rubbed steak was amazing. Definitely save room for the desserts and be daring. We tried the lavender, honey cheesecake and was amazed at the flavour blend which was not too sweet and not too floral. This place is definitely worth the trip and we are anxious to come back for quail or venison.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The menu was fairly limited and just as we had decided on the braised short ribs, our server came back and told us that they were out of short ribs. My husband chose the meatloaf and I selected the chicken risotto. The meatloaf was dry and just fair. The mashed potatoes and peas and carrots sides were good. And my dish was OK -not great. I didn't care for the breading on the chicken. The risotto was excellent. We had the sampler dessert trio. The ice cream was very good and the lemon curd tartlettes were really yummy. We will visit again when in the area to try other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our group of six had a very mixed experience for dinner recently. There were only a few other tables in use but our server, although very friendly, was not very good. Bread came late, wine hardly ever refilled, plates not cleared once a person was done, not fully informed about the menu items. A guest having short rib dish was happy, as was the guest who had the lobster risotto. However, they had what they call Thomas Keller tomahawk lamb chops for $60. Two of us ordered that and were very disappointed. What came was one medium sized, not very thick chop and one of what I would call a shoulder type cut that was extremely fatty. We complained and they took a token amount off bill and offered dessert (we didn't want any dessert), but that was the offer. This misrepresentation made us unhappy that we chose this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Livery is a jewel. Food is exceptional as well as the service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The only problem came when they started the music. The dining room is too small for the volume of the music. When dining, I want to hear the people I am having dinner with. Maybe they should start the music later in the day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and expected a cozy and classy atmosphere. While the outside dining was nice, it was actually the owner and her "group" that presented the most distraction with loud talking and constant conversation between themselves about the menu and adjustments. Their conversation clearly should have been in a private setting and not where the customers would feel imposed upon. The food was average and overpriced. We did, in fact, have a fantastic waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful time and the food was fabulous! Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was good and portions were adequate. The service was very good. Facility is charming and relaxing. Noise level was a little high, however, it did not take away from a good experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. The food was marvelous. Our server, Annie, was very nice and extremely helpful with the menu. All of her suggestions were spot on. The atmosphere was very nice and pleasant. The dining area was noisy, but not to the point of distraction. Menu was not overly pricey. Considering the quality of the food, it was a real value. Overall, a very nice dining experience. We went there for my wife's 40th birthday and she was very pleased. We can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is absolutely mine and my husbands favorite dining spot. The service has been wonderful every time and the food will not disappoint. Most of it is local and prepared to perfection. This is absolutely where we take all out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service would definitely go back again

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A nice meal before attending a show at Carnegie Hall. The ambience was cozy and the restaurant was about 3/4 full. The hostess was not very personable but our waitress was kind and attentive. The food was good, if not slightly overpriced. I would recommend the Livery Tavern to others and we will surely go back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was good. The seating was odd in that we had a 4 top in between 2 large tables and it was so loud that it was unpleasant. The service was very bad and the food arrived warm as if it had been sitting for awhile. Not good for a steak dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Three omnivores and a vegetarian walked into a steak house, and they all came out full and happy. The chef goes out of her way to create a wonderful, attractive, and tasty meal for each member of the party.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.