The Livery Tavern

4.3
346 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: 5:00-9:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(304) 645-9836
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lafayette Street
Additional
Farm to Table
What 346 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

What a beautiful restaurant. Our waitress told us that there wasn't a bad item on the menu. Two of us chose the chicken breast. Honestly, we are still talking about it. It was the moistest, tenderest chicken either of us have ever tasted. It was melt in your mouth delicious. The pasta with shrimp in the vodka sauce was perfect. The sauce was light and creamy. The presentation of the dishes was perfect. The Livery Tavern has a great wine list to accompany all the dishes. The raspberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream was delicious. The goat cheese ice cream was a hit. Our server told us that people drive long distances just for the in house made treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Went to celebrate our anniversary and was not let down. Excellent service and great food choices and tastes. Only thing I’d personally like to see is draft beer. The raspberry cobbler on the desert menu is excellent. This is the 2nd year we have went for our anniversary and I see a 3rd in the future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Dessert menu limited and the flourless chocolate cake was not ready.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

We were staying at the Greenbrier about 10 miles away and wanted to eat in a local place outside the resort for our 30th Anniversary dinner celebration. The Livery was fantastic. Very comfortable, quiet, tastefully decorated interior with warm lighting . The service was excellent. Both the hostess and our server were charming, helpful and attentive. The food was very good. The salads were fresh and very tasty. The salmon was very well cooked. The bread was absolutely divine. We also loved our raspberry cobbler dessert, which was on the house as their gift on our anniversary. We will definitely go back to the Livery Tavern.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We waited an hour and ten minutes to be served. One salad had burned croutons on it. Very noisy and no dining room manager...servers were pleasant but not busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wonderful ambiance. Kept thinking we were in France! Ha! Lovely location, service and delightful food. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My best friend came for a weekend visit. She requested The Livery since we had such a good dinner the last time she was here. Everything was top notch as usual: cocktails, dinner, service, and atmosphere! Everyone I've taken to The Livery has loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our mother’s 70th birthday celebration could not have been any better! The food was beyond our expectations! This will probably be our new “go to” for special occasions and date nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Awesome tasting food. Never had been a disappointment. Well worth the money and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always a good meal. Good service with a smile. And since i have dietary restrictions, they always work with me.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Meal was good. I have 2 comments - the baked oysters on half shell were very tasty, however, they came out luke warm. The beet salad was mediocre due to it being drowned in balsamic dressing to the point it was difficult to finish. I also remember when the beet salad came with pecans and more than 2-3 pcs. of goat cheese. Would recommend serving baked oysters a tad warmer and let up on the amount of dressing used for the beet salad (may want to order dressing on the side). The salmon with rice pilaf and baked tomatoes was great, delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We went to The Livery for our 10th wedding anniversary and it was a delightful dining experience. Our server was personable, efficient and most helpful with menu selections. The fried oysters were perfection, the Ceasar salad unique and tasty. The pan-seared ribeye steak was so tender with an amazing flavor. We did find The peppercorn sauce a bit too spicy for our taste. The raspberry cobbler with ice cream was a perfect ending for our meal. We loved the comfortable ambiance of the place. It was a wonderful evening in every way.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Service was excellent from our waitress. BUT ...Two of four at our table ordered Salmon. Both dishes were not cooked through. Had to be sent back to kitchen. Waitress handled situation well. No Mgr or hostess apologized for the problem and no discount given on our meal. The salmon dishes did not come out until others were finished with their meals. Disappointing

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service was slow and unfortunately not what we had expected. They have changed menu and what is on line is not what is being offered on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. It felt like home. We’ve visited many times when we come to Lewisburg and we’re not disappointed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The menu was much different than what is advertised online. Went for the lobster risotto and duck. Neither were available. We both really enjoyed our meals but the service wasn’t very good.... By the time I finally got my steak knife my steak wasn’t very hot anymore.
All of that being said, we’d still go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The menu was cut short and the food was okay. The food was way better last time we were there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was our second time at this restaurant. First time we had a great experience. This time the wait staff seemed very frazzled but the restaurant was 60 percent full. Slow on service and had to ask several times for water refills, sides, etc. The specialty cocktail watered down and special mediocre and overpriced. Live music was outstanding. Safer to sit at bar and get something in a bottle while enjoying the music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very nice atmosphere and a beautiful space inside and out. The food was excellent and the staff is extremely attentive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We enjoyed an outstanding meal to celebrate my husband's birthday. I had one of the all-time best dishes I've ever had, the appetizer lobster tail served with crispy risotto cake and lobster creme. This dish was spectacular! My husband enjoyed the baked oysters to start. We both had locally caught trout with a lemon creme sauce and toasted almonds. It was served with rice and broccoli. The trout was prepared exceptionally well, right down to the crispy skin. We had a delightful server and as always, we enjoyed talking with Nancy, the manager. She is lovely. Overall, we really enjoyed this repeat visit and will return the next time we are in Lewisburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We had 5 in our group, and each one of us felt that our meal was superior. Service was great -- we will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I had made a reservation for Valentine's Day. When we arrived, the hostess had a small bare table in the very back corner set for us, despite there being multiple open tables that remained open throughout our dinner. This table actually blocked the booth along the wall slightly. We had requested a booth, but the booths were all full. When we asked the hostess about it after the meal she explained that everyone wanted the booths, and that basically we were not important enough customers to get one. Even so she could have given us a much better table than a small table stuck in the back corner. Having said this, the food was fabulous and the service excellent. When you charge the kind of prices they do (We spent $150 for two) one would think that you could at least get a decent table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Love The Livery. The food is always excellent, we've never been disappointed. The service is appropriately attentive, the ambiance is understated elegance. The goat cheese ice cream is an unusual menu item, but is strongly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We were traveling and stopped for a night in Lewisburg, WV. What a surprise when we chose The Livery for dinner. Absolutely 1st class dining.
Everything was perfect. We sat at the bar and our server/bartender Jewell gave us outstanding service. Prompt, professional, and courteous.
And... the food was outstanding. If you’re passing through, you should not pass up this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Visiting from out of town, my two besties and I looked on Open Table for a good place to dine. We were greeted by the owner’s sister. We knew it was going to be a good night when we discovered her quick dry wit. We were seated right away. Cocktails were unique and refreshing. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. Two of us ordered the rainbow trout. Wow!!! Incredibly wonderful yet simply made with crispy skin and a buerre blanc sauce, rice and broccoli. Salmon was the choice of the other guest. Wonderfully prepared with a blue cheese sauce.
We all remarked after dinner what a fantastic meal, beautifully prepared, and each of us made it out of there around $50, which included 2 cocktails each. Oh, and the fireplace was warm and inviting!!
We plan on visiting Lewisburg again and will not miss the Livery!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Excellent food, presentation, service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and drinks. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We love the livery. Was one of our first dates when me and my fiance got together. We always crave their Caesar salads. This time the menu wasn't very appealing to us. It was very cold to. Normally I don't get cold in places she does and I even had a hoodie on. They had a fire going but I feel like we will never visit in the winter months again. We had a good time still and our waitress was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Very nice local restaurant with an interesting cabin like atmosphere. Cocktails and wine were very good. Food was average and high priced for the quality in my opinion. Very small crowd on the evening we went so the noise level was perfect for talking and enjoying the company of my dinner companion. Our waiter was fun and full of personality which is always enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 9, 2018

The resturant is nice. We have eaten there once in the past and had looked forward to our return. We made a reservation and returned for dinner this past Tuesday evening (1-8-2018).

We both ordered the chicken pot pie. It took quite awhile from the time we ordered until we were served. Once served we were very disappointed in the pot pie. It would have been better advertised on the menu as chicken soup. The consistency was such that it needed to be eaten with a spoon. Also the carrots were not done.

In addition the resturant was not crowded during the time we were there. Plenty of empty tables were available. Nevertheless, we were seated adjacent to two other parties. All conversations were loud enough that all could hear. Much to noisy given the fact that seating could have easily been more customer focused.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 6, 2018

This was our second time dining at The Livery and we were looking forward to our meal based on our last delightful meal with them. We were celebrating with close family friends and wanted to dine somewhere special. We had a larger party (8 adults) and the service was terrible. We asked for bread and our server snapped at us stating bread was in the oven and it would be out soon. Once the bread basket was delivered for our large party, we asked if we could get a second basket and our server snapped again saying they only do one basket for a party our size. The chicken pot pie was more of a soup and the chicken was very tough and lacked seasoning. The Cesar salad was fair. The kitchen closed at 9 and by 8:30 all of the servers were clearing all empty tables in the restaurant, we felt very rushed while they rushed around clearing the rest of the dining room. While we were enjoying our entrees, servers cleared our salad forks mid meal. It was obvious our server wanted to be anywhere but work that evening. At one point a glass was broken by our server and glass ended up in one guests drink at our table, never did our server offer to replace drink--and that guest ended up cleaning up the majority of the mess after one server threw a napkin on our table. Entree prices are very high for Lewisburg. We will have to choose another restaurant next time we are in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

There were six of us in our party and all of our appetizers and meals were delicious. We will be back often!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Lovely dining room with a roaring fire ruined by odd music playing. Can the iPod and update your menu on the website. The risotto entree disappeared.

Food was good but pricing was extraordinarily strong for a small town. $10 an oz for filet? Cut your entree prices and make the cash off the booze!

Yeah, it’s cheaper than the Greenbrier but priced well above similar places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

We were visiting Lewisburg and I had searched for a special restaurant for our last night. I was not disappointed in The Livery. When we walked through the door, I could immediately see the ambiance I was searching for. We were greeted immediately at the door and shown to our table. The restaurant is fairly small, but it is delightfully intimate. Our waitperson was a delight and had a wonderful personality. She was kind enough to make recommendations about our food choices, which we took and were pleased with them. We both had small plates -- "He" had the surf and turf, and "I" had the lobster risotto. They were delicious!

After dinner, we sat and enjoyed a port and did not want to leave this cozy dining room. We will definitely return to "The Livery" the next time we travel to this area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Attractive space with surprisingly urbane setting for a small town. Food is pretty good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent dinner with business associate and his wife. Harvest Old Fashioned cocktail rivaled my creations. Shaved Brussel Sprout topping on the Ceasar Salad is creative and great. The only minus was my very rare requested steak was more of a ‘medium-cooked’; not so important to require attention. Overall, excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation and we were the first diners in the restaurant. Approximately an hour later two gentlemen came in and, with the room completely empty except for us, where do you think the bartender seated them? Yes, in the booth next to us. We could hear their entire conversation and it was difficult to avoid hearing them. A few minutes later, two couples came in and were seated at a table on the other side of the room. We could also hear some of their conversation if we wished. I would give the restaurant a 5 rating on food except for the lamb chops. That was one big lamb and rather difficult to cut the meat even with a serrated knife. The trout was delicious. The waitress was very good. We will return the next time we are in the area but I would ask the reason for seating us as they did Tuesday evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Excellent food, my duck was moist and cooked to perfection. The lamb was also excellent, fantastic server!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

We had never been here but chose this restaurant for our anniversary. The restaurant was beautiful, the service was good and the food was ok. There were only 4 booths and one table occupied but I could see this as being a very noisy restaurant if there were more people. There was a little girl there who kept going to the booth behind us to play games, not what we expected in a place like this. Then we had to listen to the musician for half an hour doing restaurant reviews of Chsrleston SC with the couple in the booth in front of us. Not a good place for a quiet dinner but ok for a lively evening I suppose.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9