About The Livery Tavern

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fireplace (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Live Music (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant was awesome! It is a neighborhood gem Tucktaway in Lewisburg. The food is wonderful, especially the short ribs!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great overall dining experience. Great atmosphere for quiet date conversation . Lovely wine list and local craft beers . Food was ridiculously delicious and very well portioned. A bit pricey , but for the quality of food well worth it . Will definitely be returning for another meal soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding experience, great ambiance , excellent food and service and all round great place to dine out small or large parties. Our family favorite.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We recently celebrated our son's birthday with a dinner here. The decor was warm and welcoming and the fire was a nice touch on a chilly evening. My mint julips, was spectacular with fresh mulled mint. Our appetizers were fabulous, oysters, mussels and lobster rissoto were fixed to perfection and we would definitely order them again. My special entree of halibut was cooked perfectly but lacked seasoning, but my son's expresso rubbed steak was amazing. Definitely save room for the desserts and be daring. We tried the lavender, honey cheesecake and was amazed at the flavour blend which was not too sweet and not too floral. This place is definitely worth the trip and we are anxious to come back for quail or venison.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The menu was fairly limited and just as we had decided on the braised short ribs, our server came back and told us that they were out of short ribs. My husband chose the meatloaf and I selected the chicken risotto. The meatloaf was dry and just fair. The mashed potatoes and peas and carrots sides were good. And my dish was OK -not great. I didn't care for the breading on the chicken. The risotto was excellent. We had the sampler dessert trio. The ice cream was very good and the lemon curd tartlettes were really yummy. We will visit again when in the area to try other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our group of six had a very mixed experience for dinner recently. There were only a few other tables in use but our server, although very friendly, was not very good. Bread came late, wine hardly ever refilled, plates not cleared once a person was done, not fully informed about the menu items. A guest having short rib dish was happy, as was the guest who had the lobster risotto. However, they had what they call Thomas Keller tomahawk lamb chops for $60. Two of us ordered that and were very disappointed. What came was one medium sized, not very thick chop and one of what I would call a shoulder type cut that was extremely fatty. We complained and they took a token amount off bill and offered dessert (we didn't want any dessert), but that was the offer. This misrepresentation made us unhappy that we chose this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Livery is a jewel. Food is exceptional as well as the service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The only problem came when they started the music. The dining room is too small for the volume of the music. When dining, I want to hear the people I am having dinner with. Maybe they should start the music later in the day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and expected a cozy and classy atmosphere. While the outside dining was nice, it was actually the owner and her "group" that presented the most distraction with loud talking and constant conversation between themselves about the menu and adjustments. Their conversation clearly should have been in a private setting and not where the customers would feel imposed upon. The food was average and overpriced. We did, in fact, have a fantastic waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful time and the food was fabulous! Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was good and portions were adequate. The service was very good. Facility is charming and relaxing. Noise level was a little high, however, it did not take away from a good experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. The food was marvelous. Our server, Annie, was very nice and extremely helpful with the menu. All of her suggestions were spot on. The atmosphere was very nice and pleasant. The dining area was noisy, but not to the point of distraction. Menu was not overly pricey. Considering the quality of the food, it was a real value. Overall, a very nice dining experience. We went there for my wife's 40th birthday and she was very pleased. We can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is absolutely mine and my husbands favorite dining spot. The service has been wonderful every time and the food will not disappoint. Most of it is local and prepared to perfection. This is absolutely where we take all out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service would definitely go back again

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A nice meal before attending a show at Carnegie Hall. The ambience was cozy and the restaurant was about 3/4 full. The hostess was not very personable but our waitress was kind and attentive. The food was good, if not slightly overpriced. I would recommend the Livery Tavern to others and we will surely go back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was good. The seating was odd in that we had a 4 top in between 2 large tables and it was so loud that it was unpleasant. The service was very bad and the food arrived warm as if it had been sitting for awhile. Not good for a steak dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Three omnivores and a vegetarian walked into a steak house, and they all came out full and happy. The chef goes out of her way to create a wonderful, attractive, and tasty meal for each member of the party.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was lackluster. Service was good but food was subpar and well below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The restaurant was absolutely first class. Our meals were excellent and Annie did an awesome job waiting on us. We are only in Town a few days but plan on going back before we leave! Highly highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great menu with variety and well prepared/presented. High end wine list.
Need to develop wait staff to serve customers not just to take orders and carry food.
Live music a little too loud for conversation at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was good, got the special, I felt like the dollars didn't equal the portion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing experience ! Great Valentine's Day date with my partner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

AWESOME! Cannot wait to return. Service was impeccable! Food amazing!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a hiccup of the restaurant not having a note about our reservation, but the hostess was immediately accommodating and ending up treating us to free drinks for the confusion. The food was the best ever!! Very creative and memorable. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very disappointed that they were out of a few of the menu items on a Saturday night??????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful place. Live music was playing so it was a little loud but other than that, very good overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Lewisburg. Excellent food and rustic decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Staff was warm, welcoming and very accommodating. Delicious food, good cocktails and very nice ambiance.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had David as a server and he was phenomenal! The food was excellent, local, fresh and delicious. We have been to this restaurant several times but this was by far the best as far as service, food and seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. We enjoyed a lovely dinner, nice beverage list, and attentive staff. We look forward to nicer weather so we can enjoy the patio again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate at the Livery when staying at the Greenbrier and all of their restaurants were full. This was probably a blessing as the food and service were excellent and probably at a better price point. We will definitely return here if we are in the area of Lewisburg again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ever since we had our rehearsal dinner at The Livery in 2015 we always make sure to come back when we're in town. Good food, great drinks, friendly service and nice ambience, what more could you want!? I can't say enough good things about Nancy and her entire team.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had dinner with my sons before the movie. Our server was great with a careful explanation of the menu and recommendations for each course. Our servings were hot, fresh and as advertised. We had a good time and will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The special: a shrimp penne pasta dish was bland. The chicken dish had a sort of jellied sauce but was not very flavorful and luke-warm. Probably good place for steaks. Drinks and service were good but for the price I expected far better food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Most delicious Caesar Salad ever! The crispy shaved brussel sprouts on the salad were amazing! Everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly and we all can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was great - David was a very entertaining and informative waiter.
The only problem with our food was temperatures - we didn't comment on it but when we left she commented that hers was not warm and neither was mine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My 2 guest and I enjoyed all the dishes very much. The only down side was, I ordered the scallop special. When I received my bill the price shocked me! $50.00 for the scallops! Nowhere was the price shown, chalkboard or menu, I assumed it would be in the range of the other entrees. The owner apologized for the lack of information and gave me a bottle of wine. I highly recommend this restaurant, just be prepared for high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

If someone is in the Lewisburg, West Virginia area, STOP HERE!!! My wife and I have dined here on multiple occasions and have found everything on the menu outstanding. This last visit I had the soy-ginger salmon and it was one of the best salmon dishes I have EVER had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A true bright spot in Lewisburg, already full of lovely places to eat. While a bit on the steak house side of pricing, it is entirely worth it. Good wine list and yummy desserts as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went on a date with my girlfriend. Had the oysters and some bourbon cocktails which were good. The filet we split was tasty as well. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.