About The Livery Tavern

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Fireplace (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ate at the Livery when staying at the Gr ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate at the Livery when staying at the Greenbrier and all of their restaurants were full. This was probably a blessing as the food and service were excellent and probably at a better price point. We will definitely return here if we are in the area of Lewisburg again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ever since we had our rehearsal dinner a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ever since we had our rehearsal dinner at The Livery in 2015 we always make sure to come back when we're in town. Good food, great drinks, friendly service and nice ambience, what more could you want!? I can't say enough good things about Nancy and her entire team.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my sons before the mov ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had dinner with my sons before the movie. Our server was great with a careful explanation of the menu and recommendations for each course. Our servings were hot, fresh and as advertised. We had a good time and will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The special: a shrimp penne pasta dish w ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The special: a shrimp penne pasta dish was bland. The chicken dish had a sort of jellied sauce but was not very flavorful and luke-warm. Probably good place for steaks. Drinks and service were good but for the price I expected far better food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Most delicious Caesar Salad ever! The c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Most delicious Caesar Salad ever! The crispy shaved brussel sprouts on the salad were amazing! Everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly and we all can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great - David was a very ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was great - David was a very entertaining and informative waiter.

The only problem with our food was temperatures - we didn't comment on it but when we left she commented that hers was not warm and neither was mine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My 2 guest and I enjoyed all the dishes ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My 2 guest and I enjoyed all the dishes very much. The only down side was, I ordered the scallop special. When I received my bill the price shocked me! $50.00 for the scallops! Nowhere was the price shown, chalkboard or menu, I assumed it would be in the range of the other entrees. The owner apologized for the lack of information and gave me a bottle of wine. I highly recommend this restaurant, just be prepared for high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

If someone is in the Lewisburg, West Vir ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

If someone is in the Lewisburg, West Virginia area, STOP HERE!!! My wife and I have dined here on multiple occasions and have found everything on the menu outstanding. This last visit I had the soy-ginger salmon and it was one of the best salmon dishes I have EVER had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A true bright spot in Lewisburg, already ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A true bright spot in Lewisburg, already full of lovely places to eat. While a bit on the steak house side of pricing, it is entirely worth it. Good wine list and yummy desserts as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-theater dinner, convenient since it' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Pre-theater dinner, convenient since it's only a block from Greenbrier Valley Theater. My wife and I chose to share a few small plates and split the remarkable Caesar salad. The risotto was exceptional, the Thai chicken/broccoli soup (daily special) was an eclectic surprise. This left us room for dessert: a warm apple bread pudding with vanilla ice cream that was delicious because it wasn't cloyingly sweet like bread pudding can sometimes be.

The only disappointment: we love oysters, so we ordered a half dozen raw AND the sampler platter. The mignonette and cocktail sauces were perfect complements; however, many of the oysters themselves were unusually small. The lively and personable waiter gave us a couple of extras, and we certainly appreciated the gesture.

The ambiance was cozy and warm--perfect for a brisk fall evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. The ribeye s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was impeccable. The ribeye steak was perfectly prepared, juicy, and it melted in your mouth. The pork chop was the best I've ever tasted. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wedge salad was the only item we tho ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The wedge salad was the only item we thought was very over priced. Would never recommend this item to anyone. Not much taste, and could have been better with half a romaine such a better tasting lettuce.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. A little mor ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. A little more space between tables for two would be good as conversations were easily overheard. Pay a little more but for our special occasion, it was well worth it and will return next year!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is restaurant is a true gem in Lewi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is restaurant is a true gem in Lewisburg. The pork chops were amazing! I took a chance on the "Wolf Fish" and did not like it as much as the filet or the chops. The décor is a charming elegant/rustic feel. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The new mushroom risotto appetizer was f ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The new mushroom risotto appetizer was fantastic- and the service was a nice balance between attentiveness and giving us private time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fabulous meal in a gorgeous woo ...

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always a fabulous meal in a gorgeous wooden lodge setting. Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and good service. Excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and good service. Excellent wine list as well. Not cheap but was worth it for anniversary dinner!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrate our 10 year wedding anniver ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary & had an amazing dinner!! My husband had the Prime Ribs was fabulous & I had the Red Snapper was also great!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Lewisburg often and wanted to t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We visit Lewisburg often and wanted to try The Livery. My husband and I think it was one of the best meals we have ever had.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at this resturant several ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have dined at this resturant several times, unfortunately during the past year the service continues to decline. There were no more than 10 tables in use that evening and we still had poor service, it is as if there is no supervision, no one checked to see how we were doing or how the meal was. The food is above average, but somewhat overpriced. The resturant is noisy and it is difficult to have even quiet conversation unless you are in one a the booths. It will be while before we try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Our waiter, David, was extraordinary - h ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our waiter, David, was extraordinary - his description of the new menu items made you hungry to try new things! He provided the perfect balance of humor/attention and space.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing...service good, friendl ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was amazing...service good, friendly, a little chatty, a bit over price...can only dine on very specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was terribly slow. Even though we were the only diners @ 6:00 pm. there were long periods between ordering, getting salads and then the entree and.....getting the check.. WE were late for the theater because of the slow service. No apology from our waiter.

Overpriced so we will probably not return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Patty was wonderful Food was very nice ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Patty was wonderful

Food was very nice

The rest of the staff was not very friendly

The interior and outdoor seating is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service were outstanding! T ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! The prices are high, so it is a special occasion stop only for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Prices a little high, but like always, y ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Prices a little high, but like always, you get what you pay for... Overall a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

a wonderful restaurant in a storybook to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

a wonderful restaurant in a storybook town. farm to table, amazing food, service and ambiance. what else do you want?!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were prepared wonderfully! Every ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Steaks were prepared wonderfully! Everything was seasoned to perfection and the chocolate mousse cake was to die for. Patty, our waitress, as well as everyone else was so polite and friendly. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted an over-the-top romantic evenin ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I wanted an over-the-top romantic evening with my lady, and that's exactly what we had. The food, the wine, the ambiance - it was all PERFECT. Our waiter, Chris, provided us with the most enjoyable, pleasant and professional service we could have possibly experienced. I say drop what you are doing, make your reservation, drive to Lewisburg, take your honey to The Livery, and live happily ever after.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner we had was excellent! Unfortu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The dinner we had was excellent! Unfortunately, they were out or short of several entrées. My wife and I had the fresh halibut and it was terrific! It was very moist and fell apart at the touch of the fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful and great friendly se ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was wonderful and great friendly service. I love that many of the entrees and desserts use fresh, local ingredients. Entree choices are creative but even a picky eater can find something they'll enjoy. One of the best finds of my West Virginia travels!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice bar. Sofa and fireplace with ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very nice bar. Sofa and fireplace with chess set for cooler weather enjoyment. Beautiful decor and very nice gluten free dessert. Goat cheese ice cream a delicate jewel. Flowerless chocolate cake rich and enough for 4 esp if with ice cream. Will visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

David was a hoot as our waiter, very kno ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2016

David was a hoot as our waiter, very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had heard how "impeccable" the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had heard how "impeccable" the service was... This was not our experience. Our server was fine but not great. Music from kitchen overpowered music in restaurant. Unfortunately, there were a lot of open tables BUT it took 45 minutes to get our salad and we had to ask for bread...

The food was good although menu was limited. We both wanted the special and not much else. The Cesar salad and cheesecake were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The French Goat is visited often by Lewi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The French Goat is visited often by Lewisburg residents and should be on your list if you are visiting here.

The owner manages of the front of the house and is a welcoming host. The excellent food is served with flair by the competent and friendly wait-staff. We have dined there many times since thy opened and, once again, the French Goat lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great and food was amazing. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great and food was amazing. One of the best in Lewisburg, WV

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FOR THOSE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN OSSO BUCO ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2016

FOR THOSE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN OSSO BUCO, THIS IS THE PLACE. MAYBE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. LEWISBURG IS WORTH THE TRIP JUST FOR THIS DISH.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had great meals in the past but ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have had great meals in the past but this was subprime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just had a burger but it was quite a bur ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Just had a burger but it was quite a burger! Just meat and gooey melted Swiss on a warm brioche bun but it was fabulous. Don't know when or if I ever had a burger this good. Husband had the Asian glazed short ribs which were pretty spicy but very good. Service was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had heard The Livery's prices were hi ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had heard The Livery's prices were high, but did not expect them to be as high as they were. The sweet & sour shrimp appetizer was the best shrimp appetizer I have ever had, and well worth the $12. I would have still been pleased with that at $15.

The appetizer my wife had was worth its price, too, whatever it was -- can't remember.

The entrees were certainly good and well-presented, however, I would have had another one if the price had not been what I considered outlandish for a steak or prime rib.

I had a lamb dish. It tasted very good, but it just did not taste like lamb. With the way it was flavored, it could just as well have been beef pot roast.

That's just my take on it, from someone who maybe has a 1950s view of what prices ought to be, and from someone who had the good fortune of being exposed to one of the best cooks who ever lived, my grandmother. She kind of spoiled me for what I consider exceptionally good food. I'm constantly hearing people talk about how wonderful a restaurant is, when I think it's only average or a bit above.

Finally, I must give the service my highest praise -- it was impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.