About The Livery Tavern

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Cozy (13)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was lackluster. Service was good but food was subpar and well below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The restaurant was absolutely first class. Our meals were excellent and Annie did an awesome job waiting on us. We are only in Town a few days but plan on going back before we leave! Highly highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great menu with variety and well prepared/presented. High end wine list.
Need to develop wait staff to serve customers not just to take orders and carry food.
Live music a little too loud for conversation at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was good, got the special, I felt like the dollars didn't equal the portion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing experience ! Great Valentine's Day date with my partner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

AWESOME! Cannot wait to return. Service was impeccable! Food amazing!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a hiccup of the restaurant not having a note about our reservation, but the hostess was immediately accommodating and ending up treating us to free drinks for the confusion. The food was the best ever!! Very creative and memorable. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very disappointed that they were out of a few of the menu items on a Saturday night??????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful place. Live music was playing so it was a little loud but other than that, very good overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Lewisburg. Excellent food and rustic decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Staff was warm, welcoming and very accommodating. Delicious food, good cocktails and very nice ambiance.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had David as a server and he was phenomenal! The food was excellent, local, fresh and delicious. We have been to this restaurant several times but this was by far the best as far as service, food and seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. We enjoyed a lovely dinner, nice beverage list, and attentive staff. We look forward to nicer weather so we can enjoy the patio again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate at the Livery when staying at the Greenbrier and all of their restaurants were full. This was probably a blessing as the food and service were excellent and probably at a better price point. We will definitely return here if we are in the area of Lewisburg again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ever since we had our rehearsal dinner at The Livery in 2015 we always make sure to come back when we're in town. Good food, great drinks, friendly service and nice ambience, what more could you want!? I can't say enough good things about Nancy and her entire team.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had dinner with my sons before the movie. Our server was great with a careful explanation of the menu and recommendations for each course. Our servings were hot, fresh and as advertised. We had a good time and will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The special: a shrimp penne pasta dish was bland. The chicken dish had a sort of jellied sauce but was not very flavorful and luke-warm. Probably good place for steaks. Drinks and service were good but for the price I expected far better food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Most delicious Caesar Salad ever! The crispy shaved brussel sprouts on the salad were amazing! Everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly and we all can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was great - David was a very entertaining and informative waiter.
The only problem with our food was temperatures - we didn't comment on it but when we left she commented that hers was not warm and neither was mine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My 2 guest and I enjoyed all the dishes very much. The only down side was, I ordered the scallop special. When I received my bill the price shocked me! $50.00 for the scallops! Nowhere was the price shown, chalkboard or menu, I assumed it would be in the range of the other entrees. The owner apologized for the lack of information and gave me a bottle of wine. I highly recommend this restaurant, just be prepared for high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

If someone is in the Lewisburg, West Virginia area, STOP HERE!!! My wife and I have dined here on multiple occasions and have found everything on the menu outstanding. This last visit I had the soy-ginger salmon and it was one of the best salmon dishes I have EVER had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A true bright spot in Lewisburg, already full of lovely places to eat. While a bit on the steak house side of pricing, it is entirely worth it. Good wine list and yummy desserts as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went on a date with my girlfriend. Had the oysters and some bourbon cocktails which were good. The filet we split was tasty as well. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Pre-theater dinner, convenient since it's only a block from Greenbrier Valley Theater. My wife and I chose to share a few small plates and split the remarkable Caesar salad. The risotto was exceptional, the Thai chicken/broccoli soup (daily special) was an eclectic surprise. This left us room for dessert: a warm apple bread pudding with vanilla ice cream that was delicious because it wasn't cloyingly sweet like bread pudding can sometimes be.

The only disappointment: we love oysters, so we ordered a half dozen raw AND the sampler platter. The mignonette and cocktail sauces were perfect complements; however, many of the oysters themselves were unusually small. The lively and personable waiter gave us a couple of extras, and we certainly appreciated the gesture.

The ambiance was cozy and warm--perfect for a brisk fall evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was impeccable. The ribeye steak was perfectly prepared, juicy, and it melted in your mouth. The pork chop was the best I've ever tasted. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The wedge salad was the only item we thought was very over priced. Would never recommend this item to anyone. Not much taste, and could have been better with half a romaine such a better tasting lettuce.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. A little more space between tables for two would be good as conversations were easily overheard. Pay a little more but for our special occasion, it was well worth it and will return next year!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is restaurant is a true gem in Lewisburg. The pork chops were amazing! I took a chance on the "Wolf Fish" and did not like it as much as the filet or the chops. The décor is a charming elegant/rustic feel. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The new mushroom risotto appetizer was fantastic- and the service was a nice balance between attentiveness and giving us private time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always a fabulous meal in a gorgeous wooden lodge setting. Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and good service. Excellent wine list as well. Not cheap but was worth it for anniversary dinner!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary & had an amazing dinner!! My husband had the Prime Ribs was fabulous & I had the Red Snapper was also great!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We visit Lewisburg often and wanted to try The Livery. My husband and I think it was one of the best meals we have ever had.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have dined at this resturant several times, unfortunately during the past year the service continues to decline. There were no more than 10 tables in use that evening and we still had poor service, it is as if there is no supervision, no one checked to see how we were doing or how the meal was. The food is above average, but somewhat overpriced. The resturant is noisy and it is difficult to have even quiet conversation unless you are in one a the booths. It will be while before we try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our waiter, David, was extraordinary - his description of the new menu items made you hungry to try new things! He provided the perfect balance of humor/attention and space.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was amazing...service good, friendly, a little chatty, a bit over price...can only dine on very specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was terribly slow. Even though we were the only diners @ 6:00 pm. there were long periods between ordering, getting salads and then the entree and.....getting the check.. WE were late for the theater because of the slow service. No apology from our waiter.

Overpriced so we will probably not return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Patty was wonderful
Food was very nice
The rest of the staff was not very friendly
The interior and outdoor seating is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! The prices are high, so it is a special occasion stop only for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Prices a little high, but like always, you get what you pay for... Overall a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.