About The Livery Tavern

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Winter Hours

Tues & Wed ; 5:00-8:00
Thurs.-Sat. 5:00-9:00

Thursday 6:00-8:00 Live Music

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
6 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Fit for Foodies
West Virginia
Romantic
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Lewisburg
Best Restaurants in Lewisburg ›

special occasion (22)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (21)
See All
notable wine list (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for outdoor dining (8)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall good not great; had pork belly w ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Overall good not great; had pork belly which was a large appetizer; sauce so so; also had duck which was fantastic. Was a little disappointed that the game dishes on the online menu were not on the menu at all; needs updating. Service and ambiance was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lewisburg's Best

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had a fantastic time! The service was amazing, courteous, very professional! The food was excellent... we shared an appetizer, entree, and a salad and got dessert at the end. Everything was to die for. Thanks so much!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

Dined on May 3, 2016

The only odd note was that some of the tables had tablecloths and flowers and some did not. We were seated at a table without and it felt like we were second class citizens, but that was dispelled by the excellent service and food. All the dishes were first rate and the food was fresh and vibrant with flavor. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Fine Dining Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish - friendly, professional staff and waiter. Outstanding food that will not disappoint! A must visit if in Lewisburg!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience at The Livery Tavern

Dined on April 24, 2016

We visited Lewisburg for an overnight get away to celebrate my husband's birthday. We dined at The Livery on a Saturday night and had a wonderful experience. When we arrived at 8:00 the restaurant was bustling and we were quickly seated and served. All of the food and drinks were wonderful and together with tavern-like ambiance made for a very enjoyable evening. I would recommend the restaurant and we will be visiting again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came back to try new menu

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I loved our experience at the Livery last time, so we decided to have an early dinner here and were pleasantly surprised with a new menu. Once again, service was great and the new menu was excellent. We had a white bean soup, ox tail dumplings, and chicken wings for starters. All of these were delicious in their own way, though there were more chicken wings than I expected (a good thing), so we boxed some for later. For dinner, we had a lamb shank and a prime rib. I am not a prime rib fan usually, but I figured I would give it a shot here. I am glad I did - it was a succulent cut of beef and their demi-glaze really sealed the deal on it. The lamb shank was super tender and a delight. These portions were also quite large, so there was more doggie bag items here too. Finally, for dessert we had a napoleon and a blue berry swirl cheesecake with a scoop of cinnamon goat cheese ice cream. The cheesecake was one of the best I have had. I have to admit, the goat cheese ice cream didn't sound appealing at all, but it tastes nothing like it's namesake. The goat cheese ice cream has the consistency of cheese cake, and is amazing. The Napoleon was very decadent and fruit filled with blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries. Overall, another great dining experience. It is probably good that I don't live near here, because I would have a hard time not coming here daily. :)

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first time in Lewisburg, and we weren't sure what The Livery Tavern would be like. We found it on Trip Advisor. But from the moment we arrived, we could not have been more pleased and impressed with both the service and the food. Our server, David, gave us several recommendations, and we then settled on the Caesar salad, the Duck Comfit (for me) and the espresso rubbed Rib eye slices for my husband. I am not exaggerating when I say that the meals were among the best I've ever had anywhere. While at The Greenbrier, we also had several meals there, but The Livery easily was our very favorite dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place!

Dined on April 22, 2016

My wife and I at at the Livery on two occasions during our trip to Lewisburg - both on a Friday and Saturday night. The food was truly amazing. The wine list - well, there's just not words. It was outstanding. A number of great selections - it was hard to pick just one. The ambiance was beautiful - low lights, light music playing in the background, with a mild crowd. Overall, an A+ experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Pleasant Atmosphere

Dined on April 22, 2016

I expected excellent meal and I was not disappointed! I had soup of the day and duck confit, both of which I'd recommend. I dined alone, but the bartender, Kristy, provided excellent service and fun conversation so I felt comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

LEWISBURG FIND

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

ONE OF LEWISBURG'S BETTER RESTAURANTS. THE FOOD AND SERVICE ARE TOP NOTCH. WORTH A STOP.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey

Dined on April 14, 2016

We thought it was quite expensive. The salad was small, wrapped in a long slice of cucumber, unique but not very tasty. The music was loud.. We wouldn't go back. The server was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful dinner here during the L ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here during the Lewisburg Chocolate fest. It was quite busy, but they still managed to provide excellent service in a timely fashion. The food was fantastic from start to finish. Crispy Pork belly that was an excellent mix of sweet and savory, a Caesar salad with fried Brussels sprouts and pine nuts, smoky chocolate bbq ribs, and steak au poivre. Dessert was equally fabulous, with a chocolate mousse cake and a bread pudding with brandy Alexander ice cream. Will definitely come back for more!

food3
ambience5
service1

Food was overpriced, and under seasoned. ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was overpriced, and under seasoned. My wife's potatoes were burned, my duck was chewy and dry. Service was awful. We never got the salads we ordered. The owner had to take our plates away. Will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of My Top 5 Meals

Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I had a memorable meal here. We have traveled the world and this meal was one of our top 5. A surprise to find in WV!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is excellent and innovative. Local ingredients are utilized. Consistent quality. The cardamom bread pudding was one of the best desserts I have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining in Lewisburg

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have dined twice at the tavern and it has been wonderful experiences both times. The staff is friendly, accommodating and professional. Great cocktails, food and wine all make for a good time! Try it - you'll be glad that you did!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've eaten at The Livery Tavern several times and it has never been anything short of excellent. The food has been consistently wonderful and the service stellar. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Couples Evening

Dined on January 31, 2016

Based on recommendations from a local, we made reservations to visit the Livery Tavern while at the Greenbrier resort. It was a cold winter evening, and the interior was warm and inviting. Even though other diners were seated nearby we had plenty of privacy for our table. Our server was very attentive there for our every need. He made excellent recommendations from the menu and wine list for us. We all enjoyed our dinner, although several of us were served entrees that were not hot coming from the kitchen. As some diners do....we made the decision to overlook, as we sometimes do. I am sure the kitchen would have reheated the dinner, but one would hope it doesn't happen often. Several of us were interested in starters and salads to share and our server brought them to us as we had asked! Great night out and we'd definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just what we needed

Dined on January 22, 2016

My wife and I rolled into Lewisburg on Thursday evening, wanting to beat the Blizzard of 2016 that hit the entire east coast. We wanted a nice meal, a good bottle of wine, and an evening to wind down. The Livery Tavern delivered all of this and more. I guess a lot of people hunkered down for the storm a little earlier than my wife and I did, for there were very few customers for the normally busy restaurant. That meant that we had even better service than normal! Everyone was quite friendly, and truly enjoyed their job, from the hostess, to the waitress, the chefs, the bartender, and everyone else. At about 8:00, we were the last ones in the restaurant, so you would think they would want us to hurry up so they could start cleaning up for the evening. Not at all, they were quite pleased that we wanted to hang out and enjoy our wine. Now to the meal, which was again one of the best in Lewisburg, or anywhere. The mushroom soup was maybe the best I've had, and my wife agreed. On the first spoonful, we looked at each other, like wow, is it really this good? It was. I wanted simple comfort, and ordered the trout. Excellent. My wife had the short ribs, and maybe we've had better in Vegas, but I don't think so. And the bread pudding was a perfect end to the evening. All in all, just a wonderful meal. Lewisburg has some of the finest restaurants on the whole east coast, and The Livery Tavern may be #1.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My evening at The Livery Tavern was one ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

My evening at The Livery Tavern was one of the most pleasant dining experiences I have had to date. The meal was remarkable and the service was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy The Livery and it delivered again.

Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent food, well presented and with an affable waiter, David. It was a nice evening and I would strongly suggest that you dine at The Livery.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years

Dined on January 1, 2016

I continue to return to this restaurant every time I am in the Lewisburg area. My friend and I had dinner there New Year's Eve 2015 and the meal was outstanding. Even though we had a reservation we decided to eat in front of the fireplace between the dining area and the bar. It was in our estimation the best seat in the house. We enjoyed our meal so much we returned Saturday night and the meal and service was again top notch. This one of my favorite places to dine and is quite possibly the best restaurant between Charlottesville and Beckley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

relaxed fine dining

Dined on December 11, 2015

This place has is casual but fine dining. I am from Lewisburg but I travel a good bit. I have always researched good places to eat in cities that I travel to. I have to say that this restaurant is one of my favorite because I love and appreciate good food but don't always want to dress up when I dine out. I feel comfortable wearing a nice pair of jeans or a pair of slacks with a jackets.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and fantastic service! E ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Wonderful food and fantastic service! Easily earns a spot in the top 5 best places I have ever been too .... a must try if you are within a 5 State area.

food3
ambience3
service4

Boisterous guests

Dined on November 28, 2015

Unfortunately when we recently visited this usually fun and upbeat restaurant, their was a boisterous and rowdy table which made our entire experience unpleasant. The food was adequate but not a knockout, due to overly seasoned food. Actually both dishes were too salty. We will return, but not for awhile.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Food, Lovely Atmosphere, Great Service

Dined on November 21, 2015

The caesar salad is yummy and unique with thinly sliced brussel sprouts that are fried and put on top. The special was prime rib and it was HUGE! It was infused with garlic. The mashed potatoes were smooth and creamy and the asparagus was the best I've ever had. We loved the atmosphere and Darnell timed everything well and was attentive without interfering. He made great recommendations and was very polite. We'll definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

A WV find

Dined on November 14, 2015

We had not been to Lewisburg in years and were more than pleasantly surprised to read about the Livery Tavern. We dined in a booth and enjoyed fresh oysters done three ways as well as the soup of the day, warm potato and leek. The prime rib was truly prime and done medium rare as requested. Our waitress talked me into the brussel sprouts which I normally like, but these were too sweet for me, however, my wife loved them. We look forward to going back whenever we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

Prime rib way undercooked.

Dined on November 8, 2015

Went out for our anniversary diner. We went to Lewisburg to this place called the “Livery Tavern”. The service was poor at best, when the waitress finally took our order, she recommended the prime rib. (Special). When it came to our table it actually looked good. That is where it ended. It wasn’t even chewable. Seriously, I didn’t know if I was going to choke or what. The bread wasn’t even chewable. When I looked around, everyone that had the prime rib was getting a to-go box. They couldn’t chew it either. So I choked down the fries and ask for the tab. $135.00 for two non-chewable prime ribs and a beer and a glass of wine. On another note, Two days later we broiled the prime rib with some seasoning to where it was just pink in the middle and it was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on November 5, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our 21st anniversary dinner here. Lovely evening! Food fabulous and outstanding service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Another good Lewisburg spot

Dined on November 1, 2015

I had heard rave reviews of the Livery Tavern from several friends. We had a very nice meal there. The best part was quick service, which is kind of rare in Lewisburg. The food was very good, not excellent. Based on word of mouth, I was expecting excellent. Maybe it's the new menu. Anyway, it's on par with the three other nice restaurants downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening, best in area

Dined on October 23, 2015

On friend's recommendation, we booked and visited Livery for dinner during our stay at The Greenbrier. Especially recommend the tenderloin/shrimp skewers and reduction "Surf & Turf" appetizer, Bacon and Egg salad and the perfectly prepared Mahi. Elegant and delicious cuisine, perfect wine selection/pairing (Thanks for the tasting), superb, personal service (Dave) and very enjoyable discussion with Chef (Marshall). And the desserts - OMG! Best and most memorable dining experience of a long weekend. Quiet, friendly, warm atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it! Great experience every time.

Dined on October 20, 2015

Love it! Great experience every time.

food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I were happy to have "stumbled" on

Dined on October 20, 2015

this restaurant during our travels in West Virgina recently. It was a little pricey but worth it in the end as I had the best rib eye I've ever eaten. Ditto for my wife's filet of beef. Both dishes were perfectly prepared to our specifications and beautifully presented. Initially, we were a bit worried when the wait staff informed us immediately after being seated that the restaurant was out of fried green tomatoes and the lamb chops both of which we were hoping to order. We then ordered the risotto cake and poached lobster appetizer but were told that the chef was unhappy with how the risotto turned out and subsequently removed it from the menu that evening but he sent out a complimentary dish instead. We were very impressed that he did that and the lobster was delicious! We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find. Worth traveling 300 miles for dinner!!

Dined on October 17, 2015

We love this restaurant and return every year traveling and staying overnight. If you like eating at the bar, we highly recommend this one. The bar is exquisite. Handmade!! All of the servers are terrific and the owners are very welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Find

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Delicious cheese board with amazing smoked honey, great pairing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

J fbyefbehfebfuefheucenufrnufcbehicrebuf ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

J fbyefbehfebfuefheucenufrnufcbehicrebufegdjdiwjsidjicecneucenucencuencuenceus Cmeideicjecneufwsbdcnvmgiykhyihjyigjir

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at the Livery Tavern.

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

The food was great both times and our waiter, Chris, was superb. The music was a bit loud on the deck, but they turned it down before we had to ask. We will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Good food but slow service

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our waiter was very friendly and the food was good however they ran out of two dishes and it took forever to get our meal or drinks.

food4
ambience3
service5

Loud but good

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

We asked for an outside table on Open Table and it showed up on the reservation at the restaurant. Unfortunately they gave the last 5 spot outside table away just as we arrived. No real explanation why they didn't save for us considering request. With two people wearing hearing aids we were forced to set inside. It was so loud for the two they could not communicate. Food was great and Dorian was a wonderful server. We will go back but will call in our reservation rather than book with Open Table. If no outside table available when we get there we will go elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Server was awesome. Offered recommendati ...

Dined on September 1, 2015

Server was awesome. Offered recommendations was attentive but didn't smother nice spacing of check backs - overall great dining bug experience

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.