About The Livery Tavern

Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800’s tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away earlier this year. You’ll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.

217 E. Washington Street
Lewisburg, WV 24901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Lafayette Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 645-9836

Website:
http://liverytavern.com/

Additional:
Farm to Table

The Livery Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Live Music (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great. My husband said the best lamb chops he had ever had. We did feel the wine list was overpriced. Markup is natural, but it was somewhat over the top.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our server Annie was awesome. Quite knowledgeable about the menu & wines and she checked in with us often without being annoying. The appetizers (baked oysters & pork belly were very good however they could have been warmer) mentioned this to Annie and she offered to replace or heat up but we declined as the flavor was still there and food temperature was tolerable. The main entrees of crab cakes & lamb were outstanding and came out piping hot. Presentation & flavor were excellent, my pictures do not do it justice. Wine selection was awesome. We were to full to eat desserts in house so we brought the trio special home and ate it later that evening and we were not as impressed with those desserts after having such an excellent meal. We will however come back again as the food was so amazing. On another note, the cleanliness of the restaurant was unbelievable. could not believe I couldn't find a speck of dust, not even on the flagstone façade.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic meal. Everything we had was great. We had a group of seven people and the food was outstanding. The highlight was the steak and shrimp skewers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is mine and my husbands favorite place in lewisburg and it was wonderful as always

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was our second visit to The Livery this summe. It is one of our favorite places to eat when visiting Lewisburg. As usual, the service was friendly and prompt. The food was well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time eating at the Livery Tavern! It came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. The food, service and ambiance were outstanding. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We drove down from Beckley. It was definitely worth the drive! Courteous staff, cozy seating and excellent food. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Whenever we are in Lewisburg, my husband and I usually have dinner at The Livery. The food is always good and I love their Caeser Salad with Shaved Brussel sprouts. Being gluten free they are always good about preparing most options on the menu for me specially for dietary needs. Love their lamb chops and trout.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food as always. We are in Lewisburg at least once a month for business. It is always a place that we visit when we are in town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and the entertainment was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent service, great food. Table seating is a little too close together. Booths are better. Live music was a nice addition. Dessert tri was especially pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoy eating at The Livery whenever visiting Lewisburg. As usual, we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were greeted by the sight of 3 tables of 8-10. We were concerned about how this might effect the service and noise level. Our server approached the table immediately and our drink orders were delivered quickly. Our orders were taken promptly and food delivered promptly and hot. I ordered the chicken dish which had a light, crunchy breading and delightfully moist chicken. My husband ordered the crab cakes which he stated were excellently prepared and very tasty. Our usual excellent experience at The Livery.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dorian was our server. She was kind, helpful and just a wonderful person to be in the presence of. The food came out fast and delicious. Great drinks and a fantastic outdoor dining experience. We were celebrating the commissioning of the West Virginia State Fair. This was a classy yet budget friendly place to celebrate. I wold recommend it greatly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We visited the Livery Tavern for a business meeting, with a total of four people in our party. We chose to sit on the outdoor patio which was very pleasant and quieter than we expected. The service was great, and the food was delicious. I personally had the filet, which was cooked to perfection, while two of our party had the rib eye, which both said it was one of the best they ever had, and also cooked as requested. The side portions were a little on the lean side, but the main portion more than made up for it. I would highly recommend the Livery Tavern.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We visited this place after the Greenbrier Classic, we had a outstanding dinner with our friends . The steak was as good as I have ever had .

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very good food and excellent service but very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Probably one of the best overall meals we have had in a long time. Service (Dorian) was awesome. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Best service in town!! We were able to dine outside underneath a beautiful maple tree and The food was delicious!
The lobster was cooked to perfection and my salad was so fresh!
I would absolutely love to have the recipe for the lemon dressing! Light and delectable!
We would like to thank all of the staff for their attentiveness and going over and beyond with the service they provided!
Definitely stop here
Semper Fi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What a neat place! We would definitely go back. Great menu and food. The lobster risotto appetizer was delicious. The owner was there as we walked in and she was lovely. This is a must if you are staying at the Greenbrier!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Warmly welcomed by Nancy as soon as we opened the door and promptly seated. Fun ambience with live music on the Saturday evening reservation we had at 830. Ask for Chris in advance, by far one of the most knowledgeable servers I've met in 30+ years of dining out. Unfortunately, he's leaving at the end of the summer to complete his Masters degree. The Caesar salad is to die for, and the oysters small to medium and yummy. The ribeye steak is 80% lean without sacrificing flavour and the salmon is very generous in portion size, but cooked to perfection. The roasted brussel sprouts with bacon chunks is a mandatory side for any entree, and the Sivas Pinot Noir from Sonoma recommended by Chris was a perfect compliment to the petite filet ordered by my guests. Too full for dessert, but the enticing bar in front of the music, abutting the quaint outdoor patio overlooking the town makes this a mandatory stop if interested in fine dining in Lewisburg, which promotes local farm to table produce.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

While attending the PGA Greenbrier Classic, we decided to drive to Lewisburg for dinner. We had a lovely dinner on the outdoor front porch. We tried several of the small plates and were delighted with our choices. The service was very good.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Livery is a great addition to Lewisburg's food scene. Service was impeccable and the food was beyond excellent. We were lucky enough to get an outside table and there is no better location to enjoy a relaxing meal and some interesting adult beverages than this location. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A truly delightful meal with friends. Staff was warm, courteous and very professional. The Pineapple/Cilantro Margarita was delicious. The food was terrific. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were passing through town and wanted to enjoy a nice meal and some wine. The atmosphere was very romantic and the live music was great! We will be back when passing through town again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Only drawback of the evening was an over anxious server. Otherwise, outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Visited for brunch and was disappointed in the brunch menu. There were out of fried tomotoe BLT! So did the crab cakes benny which was very good. Just not a lot of options that did not include eggs. Two of table ordered the chicken salad croissant and it was just that no lettuce or tomato even though it said it came with it. Service was just ok. Loved the decor and would like to try dinner next time. The place is nice and hope they improve the brunch options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A very special delight. The food and service were both outstanding. This was our first visit and it won't be our last. John the owner was watching over things, as was Nancy, the manager. Ashley ,our server, was a vivacious and energetic young lady. I guess you would say we were overwhelmed that a small town like Lewisburg has such a restaurant gem like the Livery.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

traveling from Kentucky and ended up at the livery for our Anniversary dinner. Hands down one of the best meals we have had in years. Service was spot on and the place is just charming. We had the halibut which was cooked to perfection but the lobster risotto was amazing. Such a hidden gem. Highly recommend. Just wish we lived closer!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great restaurant for a special occasion. Service was excellent as well as the food. They were not crowded the evening we were there so everything seemed to flow smoothly. Will definitely return here next time we visit the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The best steak (speaking from a cattle raiser from Texas) I have eaten. Perfect setting with great appetizers and wine selection. It's a must visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great food--excellent service--outstanding restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for Sunday Bunch. I can't recall a better Sunday meal. The pancakes are amazing. Bourbon glazed pork belly was yummy! We were a retirement party of 8 and everyone loved their food. Corn beef hash is all homemade. Perfectly cooked sunny side egg up on top added to the creamy texture. Eggs Benedict has southern shaved ham on them. The cured salt flavor went well with the hollandaise. They offer some nice lunch options too. Burgers, egg salad sandwich with smoked salmon, fried green tomato BLT are among the selections.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

3rd time I've been there and it wasn't like prior experiences. I think they changed supplier for beef. It was not worth the price at all.
They also seemed to be "off" in other ways. No welcome at all when arriving. Of course that may sound petty but it is unusual for a pricey restaurant and again not like the other visits. I guess if I'm going to spend $200 for dinner for 2, then I also expect some common courtesy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This restaurant was awesome! It is a neighborhood gem Tucktaway in Lewisburg. The food is wonderful, especially the short ribs!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great overall dining experience. Great atmosphere for quiet date conversation . Lovely wine list and local craft beers . Food was ridiculously delicious and very well portioned. A bit pricey , but for the quality of food well worth it . Will definitely be returning for another meal soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding experience, great ambiance , excellent food and service and all round great place to dine out small or large parties. Our family favorite.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We recently celebrated our son's birthday with a dinner here. The decor was warm and welcoming and the fire was a nice touch on a chilly evening. My mint julips, was spectacular with fresh mulled mint. Our appetizers were fabulous, oysters, mussels and lobster rissoto were fixed to perfection and we would definitely order them again. My special entree of halibut was cooked perfectly but lacked seasoning, but my son's expresso rubbed steak was amazing. Definitely save room for the desserts and be daring. We tried the lavender, honey cheesecake and was amazed at the flavour blend which was not too sweet and not too floral. This place is definitely worth the trip and we are anxious to come back for quail or venison.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The menu was fairly limited and just as we had decided on the braised short ribs, our server came back and told us that they were out of short ribs. My husband chose the meatloaf and I selected the chicken risotto. The meatloaf was dry and just fair. The mashed potatoes and peas and carrots sides were good. And my dish was OK -not great. I didn't care for the breading on the chicken. The risotto was excellent. We had the sampler dessert trio. The ice cream was very good and the lemon curd tartlettes were really yummy. We will visit again when in the area to try other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our group of six had a very mixed experience for dinner recently. There were only a few other tables in use but our server, although very friendly, was not very good. Bread came late, wine hardly ever refilled, plates not cleared once a person was done, not fully informed about the menu items. A guest having short rib dish was happy, as was the guest who had the lobster risotto. However, they had what they call Thomas Keller tomahawk lamb chops for $60. Two of us ordered that and were very disappointed. What came was one medium sized, not very thick chop and one of what I would call a shoulder type cut that was extremely fatty. We complained and they took a token amount off bill and offered dessert (we didn't want any dessert), but that was the offer. This misrepresentation made us unhappy that we chose this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Livery is a jewel. Food is exceptional as well as the service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.