About The Little Village - Downtown

A modern take on the original Village restaurant (established in 1947), our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian, Prime Beef, Maine Lobster, Veal and fresh Gulf seafood. The Downtown location features daily specials, a full bar and can accommodate private parties for up to fifty. We also have space for up to 15 guests in our bar area where dinner is also served.

447 Third St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 218-6685

Website:
http://www.littlevillagebr.com/

Catering:
We specialize in wedding rehearsals and corporate lunches and dinners. We offer custom six course sit down dinners as well as gorgeous buffets with carving stations and of course you can order right off of our menu that offer daily specials. We can also cater your every need at your residence, office or off site facility.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking is available on the street (metered during the day) and FREE in the evening at all meters. We also have handicapped parking a few steps from our front door.

Public Transit:
City buses operate nearby for a nominal fee as well as a free downtown trolley system with stops nearby. Ask your hotel concierge for the best available transit option depending on your starting location and time of arrival/departure.

Executive Chef:
Stuart Woodman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

A modern take on the original Village restaurant, our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian food. Offering daily specials and a full bar, The Little Village has both warmth and charm, making it a dining experience unlike any other in the capital city.

The Little Village - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Authentic (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Our table had an array of steaks & seafood dishes, all very delicious! The watermelons lemon drops were amazing and the service by Morgan was outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great service was amazing!! We took my parents for their 44th wedding anniversary, it was their first time to little village and they were amazed by how good the food was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Get the small loaf of bread......excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

I went to little village for my anniversary and the staff was very accommodating!!! Outstanding food and wine. Highly recommend the seabass

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our seventh anniversary at The Little Village restaurant. The food was great (as always) and the atmosphere comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is both my mother's and my favorite restaurant so it was only fitting to bring her here on Mother's Day. From the service, to the food, to the management staff--everything was absolutely perfect. They made it a memorable experience and helped me show how much I truly appreciate my Mom. We will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I loved my appetizer, salad, and my main course. My server was very pleasant and well-trained. I found it a bit loud for a quiet conversation, a little expensive and parking was a challenge. BUT the bread will probably be why I will return....often!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ok the bread is incredible. Italian bread in olive oil and Parmesan cheese with fresh roasted garlic and olive tapenade. That alone is worth coming for! That's why most people come here. We've ate here for several years now. For the bread. And.., Of all things the steak! Yep steak at an Italian restaurant. I would have never thunk it! Amazing! The filet is my favorite in town. Tender moist and so flavorful. Wow -Give it a try! Cocktails are great also- try a lemon drop. Husband enjoys the fish dishes... I think as bass. Cheese cake topped it off !

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a wonderful dining experience. A high quality, gourmet experience where its obvious the details matter to the chef. The menu items aren't cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for.
The server (Abigail?) was super friendly and helpful and checked on us adequately.
If you like fish, you must try the Sea bass. The overall dinner presentation was outstanding. Would highly recommend for special occasions. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best food, best service any restaurant could offer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cute place but although most of the food was ok, mine was raw. The fish I ordered was served raw by mistake! I had to send it back to be cooked and got my meal after the rest of my party was finished. The manager did comp the platre. They are known for ttheir bread appetizer which has lots of okive oil. Apparently the guests before us had rubbed the oul on the chairs and 3 of the people in our party left with oil stains on their clothing. We were there for a graduation celebration so we ended up going to graduation with oil stains on our dress clothes. Not a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a great time. Jason was professional and attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I gathered some of my closest friends to come and eat dinner for my birthday. I love this place, that's why I chose it. My friends made comments about how much fun they had as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Private Room, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I think the waiter was new. The service is usually better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was very tasty, the service was outstanding. They make you feel very much at home, it was like going to and old Italian restaurant in Murray Hill in Cleveland, Ohio. Really enjoyed this place.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was only fair for the price. Moreover, while the service was good, we felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The best steak in Baton Rouge in my opinion. The bread with garlic and oil dipping sauce is phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I very much enjoyed my few glasses of Pinot Gris. I thought the bottles of wine were overpriced so got several glasses for cheaper. I tried my husbands spaghetti and meatballs and it was delicious! I ordered the leguinie and clams and was very disappointed. There was no flavor, too much red pepper and my noodles were over cooked. I was told I must try the bread as an appetizer. It did not disappoint! I got all the sides to go with it and would do that again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Little Village was highly recommended to me for a family dinner. The ambiance was really great! The reason I did not give it a higher score is because the service was a little slow. Our waiter was very nice, however, we re-ordered a drink (just a beer) and after 15-20 minutes, we had to ask again. It took almost 30 minutes to get it. The wine list is good and bottles are half price on Tuesday. You must get the bread, super delicious! Overall, good experience and I would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 18, 2017

50th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food. Shared the stuffed artichoke as an appetizer. It had a bit too much sauce but was delicious. Had the clam linguine, and it was delicious. Shared the bread; it too could use less sauce but was also delicious.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great from beginning to end!!!!!The wait staff is helpful and they know when to leave you alone to talk to your husband or whomever you're with.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I live within walking distance, and so go to The Little Village -Downtown a lot. This time was one of the few visits marred by poor service. The waitress had no clue as to what the food she was touting was. She was totally unfamiliar with the wine list (even the wines available by the glass). The foot was as usual great, but my dinner guest and I rolled our eyes many a time over her inability really to be of any help at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Osso Buccu was wonderful. Service was great you must get the bread appetizer

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Get the bread! The drink specials were great and the food was amazing! We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I hosted my Easter staff luncheon at The Little Village and they were most impressed. We had the private room which aloud us to celebrate with great joy and laughter. The food, service and setting excessed expectations. It was a wonderful way to say thank you to a great team that makes our church and school such a success. Every course; appetizers, entrées and desserts were outstanding in presentation and flavor. The whole dining experience was enhanced by the quality of service provided by Clayton our waiter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Another wonderful meal at this restaurant! I haven't been in years, however it was just as good as I remembered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Outstanding service with excellent menu choices. Quiet atmosphere easy to have discussion at the table. Nice wine selection. Our first visit but certainly we shall return and have already recommended to others when travels take them to Baton Rouge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good food. Good atmosphere. Good value. This was a triple threat.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Divine! What a fabulous restaurant. The bread, raviolis, tuna, stuffed artichoke, fried green tomatoes, sea bass, seafood stuffed filet, lobster mac n cheese.. bread pudding! It's a must.. just go! You won't regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Eggplant Napolean was bland and lacked any deep flavor. No salt or Tabasco on the table. The bread though was fantastic

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I enjoyed my first visit to Little Village. Will dine there again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A must place to eat. The garlic bread is worth the calories.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Other than them trying to seat us in the middle of the restaurant, which is honestly terrible seating, our server and our food were great. I was even given a free dessert for it being my birthday which I normally don't even like bread pudding and this was fantastic. Apparently, you can reserve tables so I suggest doing that so they won't try and seat you somewhere awful like a middle table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were touring parts of the south and spent an evening in Baton Rouge. The hotel staff recommended The Village, said to be excellent and a quick walk. The hostess stated that a table wasn't available without a reservation that evening. We arrived around 5:00 pm and there were very few tables that had patrons. We opted to sit at the bar and have a cocktail. The bar tender was excellent and a very gracious young lady. She asked whether we wanted to eat at the bar and we decided we would find another location for dinner for a better opportunity to find a table. We enjoyed visiting with the bar tender so much that we ordered another cocktail. Out of curiosity, I pulled my phone out and pulled up The Village on OpenTable. Reservation openings were available every 15 minutes. I signed us up for a time about 15 minutes out. We trooped up to the hostess station at the appropriate time. Feeling smug, we were promptly seated in the dining room. We were very happy with our decision! The Village bread (highly recommended by our bar tender) was excellent. Our dinners, chicken Milanese and the night's special, were delicious. Our waiter did a wonderful job and recommended a spectacular wine, Whitehall Lane Cabernet. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will certainly go back when we return to Baton Rouge!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great location and atmosphere for first date or regular date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks were great as usual. The service was not so much. This was the second time in as many visits that we had horrible service. I like to give a place a second chance to redeem themselves, they failed miserably on their second chance. Unfortunately we will probably not go back. Too many other great restaurants with better service to continue to get bad service at Yhe Little Village.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fabulous food. Not up for a full meal but had the crab rice ball and the artichoke bottoms. Delish!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sea Bass was good but price made me choke. Have been to plenty of fine dining restaurants and had sea bass just as good and didn't pay $45. Also don't mind paying for good food but that was not in line with the rest of the menu. Also you pay for the bread there. $10.50 for half loaf. So I guess the meal was ok and the service was decent, stick to the Italian food if you want a reasoable price range.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was going to a Mardi Gras parade and thought we would try this place out and glad we did! Delicious bread and food! It was noisy but if the food is great noise doesn't bother me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.