About The Little Village - Downtown

A modern take on the original Village restaurant (established in 1947), our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian, Prime Beef, Maine Lobster, Veal and fresh Gulf seafood. The Downtown location features daily specials, a full bar and can accommodate private parties for up to fifty. We also have space for up to 15 guests in our bar area where dinner is also served.

447 Third St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 218-6685

Website:
http://www.littlevillagebr.com/

Catering:
We specialize in wedding rehearsals and corporate lunches and dinners. We offer custom six course sit down dinners as well as gorgeous buffets with carving stations and of course you can order right off of our menu that offer daily specials. We can also cater your every need at your residence, office or off site facility.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking is available on the street (metered during the day) and FREE in the evening at all meters. We also have handicapped parking a few steps from our front door.

Public Transit:
City buses operate nearby for a nominal fee as well as a free downtown trolley system with stops nearby. Ask your hotel concierge for the best available transit option depending on your starting location and time of arrival/departure.

Executive Chef:
Stuart Woodman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

A modern take on the original Village restaurant, our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian food. Offering daily specials and a full bar, The Little Village has both warmth and charm, making it a dining experience unlike any other in the capital city.

The Little Village - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (0)
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The veal special was horrible. The sauce was terrible and the chef forgot to put the crab meat on top so the waiter had to go back and get it. It didn't matter, the dish was not eatable. The spaghetti and meatballs was watery and not very tasty. Overall, bad experience. Will not ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I wish to thank the Manager, I thought my reservation was for four but when I arrived it was for two. The manager overheard my conversation with the hostess and quickly seated us at a larger table even though the restaurant seemed to be full. Thanks again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The reservations were perfect. I asked for bar seating and our table was great! the drinks were fabulous as well as the wine. I server even suggested seasonal watermelon drinks that were a big hit with our group. We always love the food there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Never take the Palermo special off the menu. Everything was great all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We are regulars at the Airline Hwy location & were attending an art show downtown. The bread was very dry, filet over cooked , my wife's red fish was dry and over cooked and bland. My laganea was bland... it was the worst Little village meal I ever had. Plus there were screaming kids in the place... we had a party of 4 and spent $200... what a waste... very disappointed , but the waitress was very nice and her service was excelllent. I won't visits this location anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great as always!!! Never disappointed in the food or service😊😊

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

When we arrived we were brought to a very small table in a corner with a partition separating us from the bar. I asked if we could have another table more in the restaurant main dining area. The girl shot back "where would you like to sit", again I asked for the main dining area. We were seated and served by a pleasant waitress who gave us very good service.
I must comment on the meatballs and spaghetti which was very bland, my wife's eggplant parmigiana was excellent, and our salads were good as well along with the Village Bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely incredible!!!!! The food was great, as usual.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was exceptional. The food was less stellar than what we have come to expect from The Little Village, but it was still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband and I needed to get in and out in an hour and Jack made sure we did. Drew, the manager was very friendly and professional. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

AMAZING (as always) ! ! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Little Village Downtown has great food, service and ambiance. The WaitStaff was awesome especially Clark!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome place to have an amazing dinner at with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was not up to par with typical Little Village expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was wonderful, but the food was most definitely not worth $170.00 for 2 people!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

GM takes time to visit w every table. Friendly service by Jason! Delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The chicken Marsala was extremely sweet. It tasted like wine and sugar. It was also rubbery and cold. The sauce on the chicken parmigiana tasted like watery canned tomato sauce.

The bread and artichoke appetizer were both very good. You do not need to order anything with the bread. It is delicious without any additions.

The server was nice but brought the appetizer and salads at the same time. For the price range, this restaurant should have servers who know that courses should be served separately.

If you go for appetizers only, you should enjoy yourself. The entrees were bad, even though they seemed like safe choices at an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Enjoyed spending our anniversary celebrating here! The only bad thing would be the way we were treated when we walked through the door. The manager was not very polite or welcoming, and that is a huge turnoff considering this a not a cheap place to dine. However, I'm glad we stayed, because we wound having a lovely evening!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

On a Wednesday, my wife and I chose to try Little Village for our third anniversary celebration. We made reservations ahead of time and were seated immediately. Though the restaurant was mostly empty, we were seated at a two-top which shared bench seating with two other tables, both of which were occupied.

It was our waitress's very first night serving, period. As in, this was her first waiting job. She dropped a stack of plates near our table and nearly spilled food on the gentleman next to us. She was pleasant, but clearly new at her job.

I ordered an old fashioned and my wife had a cocktail. They brought back a glass of maker's mark on the rocks with an orange slice in it. This is not what an old fashioned is. My wife enjoyed her cocktail.

We ordered a half loaf of bread with tapenade and garlic as an appetizer. The bread was pretty decent in and of itself, but they put so much parmesan cheese on top that it dried my mouth out when I took a bite. The garlic was literally served as just an entire clove of garlic that had been baked. Tapenade was fine.

For my entre, I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs, because I do this on my first visit to any italian place; If you can't cook spaghetti, you can't cook italian. What I received could have come from a can of chef boyardee. Dried pasta cooked beyond al dente, covered in a watery, underseasoned red sauce accompanied by two undercooked (yet dry) and underseasoned meatballs.

My wife had the lobster bisque. After the first bite, she determined that she may in fact be eating a bowl of melted butter. There was no lobster to be found in flavor or substance.
The waitstaff is not professional and as far as I can tell, the dishwasher wouldv'e probably done a better job cooking the food. For a meal that cost nearly $100, I feel severely dissapointed given all the hype surrounding this place. Will not be back.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was great!! The only thing we were not too impressed was with fried calamari, it had a different consistency and the taste was just ok. We had it before in other occasions and it was great, this time it was just ok and there was very little on the plate.

Other than this it was a great dinner!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great dining experience with a knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff PLUS a Manager who took the trouble to come to our table to welcome us and visit in a meaningful way.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our table had an array of steaks & seafood dishes, all very delicious! The watermelons lemon drops were amazing and the service by Morgan was outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great service was amazing!! We took my parents for their 44th wedding anniversary, it was their first time to little village and they were amazed by how good the food was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Get the small loaf of bread......excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I went to little village for my anniversary and the staff was very accommodating!!! Outstanding food and wine. Highly recommend the seabass

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our seventh anniversary at The Little Village restaurant. The food was great (as always) and the atmosphere comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is both my mother's and my favorite restaurant so it was only fitting to bring her here on Mother's Day. From the service, to the food, to the management staff--everything was absolutely perfect. They made it a memorable experience and helped me show how much I truly appreciate my Mom. We will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I loved my appetizer, salad, and my main course. My server was very pleasant and well-trained. I found it a bit loud for a quiet conversation, a little expensive and parking was a challenge. BUT the bread will probably be why I will return....often!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ok the bread is incredible. Italian bread in olive oil and Parmesan cheese with fresh roasted garlic and olive tapenade. That alone is worth coming for! That's why most people come here. We've ate here for several years now. For the bread. And.., Of all things the steak! Yep steak at an Italian restaurant. I would have never thunk it! Amazing! The filet is my favorite in town. Tender moist and so flavorful. Wow -Give it a try! Cocktails are great also- try a lemon drop. Husband enjoys the fish dishes... I think as bass. Cheese cake topped it off !

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a wonderful dining experience. A high quality, gourmet experience where its obvious the details matter to the chef. The menu items aren't cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for.
The server (Abigail?) was super friendly and helpful and checked on us adequately.
If you like fish, you must try the Sea bass. The overall dinner presentation was outstanding. Would highly recommend for special occasions. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best food, best service any restaurant could offer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cute place but although most of the food was ok, mine was raw. The fish I ordered was served raw by mistake! I had to send it back to be cooked and got my meal after the rest of my party was finished. The manager did comp the platre. They are known for ttheir bread appetizer which has lots of okive oil. Apparently the guests before us had rubbed the oul on the chairs and 3 of the people in our party left with oil stains on their clothing. We were there for a graduation celebration so we ended up going to graduation with oil stains on our dress clothes. Not a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a great time. Jason was professional and attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I gathered some of my closest friends to come and eat dinner for my birthday. I love this place, that's why I chose it. My friends made comments about how much fun they had as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I think the waiter was new. The service is usually better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was very tasty, the service was outstanding. They make you feel very much at home, it was like going to and old Italian restaurant in Murray Hill in Cleveland, Ohio. Really enjoyed this place.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was only fair for the price. Moreover, while the service was good, we felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The best steak in Baton Rouge in my opinion. The bread with garlic and oil dipping sauce is phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I very much enjoyed my few glasses of Pinot Gris. I thought the bottles of wine were overpriced so got several glasses for cheaper. I tried my husbands spaghetti and meatballs and it was delicious! I ordered the leguinie and clams and was very disappointed. There was no flavor, too much red pepper and my noodles were over cooked. I was told I must try the bread as an appetizer. It did not disappoint! I got all the sides to go with it and would do that again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.