About The Little Village - Downtown

A modern take on the original Village restaurant (established in 1947), our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian, Prime Beef, Maine Lobster, Veal and fresh Gulf seafood. The Downtown location features daily specials, a full bar and can accommodate private parties for up to fifty. We also have space for up to 15 guests in our bar area where dinner is also served.

447 Third St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 218-6685

Website:
http://www.littlevillagebr.com/

Catering:
We specialize in wedding rehearsals and corporate lunches and dinners. We offer custom six course sit down dinners as well as gorgeous buffets with carving stations and of course you can order right off of our menu that offer daily specials. We can also cater your every need at your residence, office or off site facility.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking is available on the street (metered during the day) and FREE in the evening at all meters. We also have handicapped parking a few steps from our front door.

Public Transit:
City buses operate nearby for a nominal fee as well as a free downtown trolley system with stops nearby. Ask your hotel concierge for the best available transit option depending on your starting location and time of arrival/departure.

Executive Chef:
Stuart Woodman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

A modern take on the original Village restaurant, our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian food. Offering daily specials and a full bar, The Little Village has both warmth and charm, making it a dining experience unlike any other in the capital city.

The Little Village - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals we have had in a long time! Perfect evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Magnificent. Great food, authentic Italian cuisine. Except the fish is mostly tilapia.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything was better than I could have imagined! Excellent food, excellent service! All around an enjoyable evening! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

A great place to take that special someone in your life.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful service and excellent wine. The bread is the best ever!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was amazing as well as the service and environment. The bread is anazing! Didn't break the bank, but wasn't cheap for a broke college kid.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2017

excellent food!!!! steak, seafood, appetizers so good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our table was ready as soon as we arrived, we sat down, & the server immediately came and took our drink order. After receiving our drinks & having a chance to visit, the waiter returned to ask if we wanted appetizers, which we ordered. They were brought out in a timely manner, & he offered the specials of the evening, & asked if we had any questions. We had a few minutes to look over the menu, & then placed our orders. Drinks were refilled without having to ask, & orders were brought out and served to the four of us at the same time. The food was well cooked, and we all enjoyed a great dinner. We were never rushed to leave our table. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went to the downtown location for a date night. We had a reservation at 8:45. Seating is very tight even with our party of two. After 30 mins waiting for our waiter to take our drink order, we decided to order an app with our drinks. Total time for two to eat was 2+ hours. I enjoy a slow dinner, but it was a little overkill. The food was bland, and could use seasoning. We both had pasta dishes. The bread pudding was the best I've ever had! Overall, the dinner was not worth $130 for two with a glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant was packed, but the service was good and the food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Honestly if you haven't been to The Little Village - Downtown and tasted the bread you're seriously missing out on life! This bread is AMAZING! Worth every penny and every bite. The cocktails are fun and tasty. The servers really take the time to clear your spots and make sure they are attending to you. It's a pricey meal but you're looking at quality food and service which is very hard to find in Baton Rouge and probably Louisiana in general.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, great staff, great food! We love this place and definitely recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Delicious! Of course the bread is a favorite to start with but the artichoke bottoms were a favorite too. Veal, chilian se bass and meatballs and spaghetti were the favorites. Very loud in main dining room so ask for the private room if available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

They were extremely accommodating and helpful. I had an apt for 12 folks, but they all showed up at different times. The wait staff was great, they brought out our drinks and apps with no delay. I'm not sure about everyone else but my food was bland and the chicken was over cooked. The shrimp seemed to be rather large and smelly, as I noted my lunch neighbor ordered, she stated it was bland and had No taste what so ever. The bread and olive seasoning seemed to help. Guess Fridays not the best day for food, although, I never find a white sauce better than mine..

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went with friends and was not disappointed with the food or service. The bread is to die for and worth every calorie. Spent about three hours and the staff was friendly and helpful the whole time. Would go again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Jeff was a wonderful waiter! The food was delicious! Loved everything about it! Gregg Wright was in town to play music, it was his birthday so we went to celebrate him! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was a great place for my family after a long Convention day at the Raising Cane's River Center.
The seafood was the freshest I've had in a long time. Your restaurant is great. It was the first time I'd been there but it won't be the last!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very nice place in the heart of Baton Rouge, surprisingly good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Phenomenal food but the tables are so close together that you constantly have to scoot to make room when someone at the next table gets up, or duck when they receive their orders. Also, if they're loud (like the table beside ours was) it ruins the atmosphere. But the food is worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

For the second time in as many business lunches, the fish special was overlooked, dry and tasteless. I thought it was a fluke the first time, but twice in a row? I didn't complain at the time because I had set up this lunch meeting there for the ambiance and good service and reputation - of course the bread is great - and I didn't want to spoil the discussion by complaining about the food. I will not set up a business lunch there again.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had a reunion of family at noon on a Wednesday. I made a reservation for 6 and was gratefully surprised that they had given me a room with a view with a door so that our family could enjoy being together without disturbing other diners. The servers were exceptional, quietly attentive, gracious and congenial. All of us agreed that the dishes we ordered met all our expectations and more along with the restaurant decor, staff and ambiance. The red fish almondine was one of the favorites and the seafood salad. My thanks to our servers for making it a memorable occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Looking for great food and great service, then The Little Village is an excellent choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great ambiance, service and food. A little pricy, but great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The veal special was horrible. The sauce was terrible and the chef forgot to put the crab meat on top so the waiter had to go back and get it. It didn't matter, the dish was not eatable. The spaghetti and meatballs was watery and not very tasty. Overall, bad experience. Will not ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I wish to thank the Manager, I thought my reservation was for four but when I arrived it was for two. The manager overheard my conversation with the hostess and quickly seated us at a larger table even though the restaurant seemed to be full. Thanks again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The reservations were perfect. I asked for bar seating and our table was great! the drinks were fabulous as well as the wine. I server even suggested seasonal watermelon drinks that were a big hit with our group. We always love the food there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Never take the Palermo special off the menu. Everything was great all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We are regulars at the Airline Hwy location & were attending an art show downtown. The bread was very dry, filet over cooked , my wife's red fish was dry and over cooked and bland. My laganea was bland... it was the worst Little village meal I ever had. Plus there were screaming kids in the place... we had a party of 4 and spent $200... what a waste... very disappointed , but the waitress was very nice and her service was excelllent. I won't visits this location anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great as always!!! Never disappointed in the food or service😊😊

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

When we arrived we were brought to a very small table in a corner with a partition separating us from the bar. I asked if we could have another table more in the restaurant main dining area. The girl shot back "where would you like to sit", again I asked for the main dining area. We were seated and served by a pleasant waitress who gave us very good service.
I must comment on the meatballs and spaghetti which was very bland, my wife's eggplant parmigiana was excellent, and our salads were good as well along with the Village Bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely incredible!!!!! The food was great, as usual.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was exceptional. The food was less stellar than what we have come to expect from The Little Village, but it was still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband and I needed to get in and out in an hour and Jack made sure we did. Drew, the manager was very friendly and professional. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

AMAZING (as always) ! ! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Little Village Downtown has great food, service and ambiance. The WaitStaff was awesome especially Clark!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome place to have an amazing dinner at with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was not up to par with typical Little Village expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was wonderful, but the food was most definitely not worth $170.00 for 2 people!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

GM takes time to visit w every table. Friendly service by Jason! Delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The chicken Marsala was extremely sweet. It tasted like wine and sugar. It was also rubbery and cold. The sauce on the chicken parmigiana tasted like watery canned tomato sauce.

The bread and artichoke appetizer were both very good. You do not need to order anything with the bread. It is delicious without any additions.

The server was nice but brought the appetizer and salads at the same time. For the price range, this restaurant should have servers who know that courses should be served separately.

If you go for appetizers only, you should enjoy yourself. The entrees were bad, even though they seemed like safe choices at an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.