Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

The Little Village - Downtown

4.5
1016 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
A modern take on the original Village restaurant (established in 1947), our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian, Prime Beef, Maine Lobster, Veal and fresh Gulf seafood. The Downtown location features daily specials, a full bar and can accommodate private parties for up to fifty. We also have space for up to 15 guests in our bar area where dinner is also served.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(225) 218-6685
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Stuart Woodman
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We specialize in wedding rehearsals and corporate lunches and dinners. We offer custom six course sit down dinners as well as gorgeous buffets with carving stations and of course you can order right off of our menu that offer daily specials. We can also cater your every need at your residence, office or off site facility.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Downtown parking is available on the street (metered during the day) and FREE in the evening at all meters. We also have handicapped parking a few steps from our front door.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
City buses operate nearby for a nominal fee as well as a free downtown trolley system with stops nearby. Ask your hotel concierge for the best available transit option depending on your starting location and time of arrival/departure.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

A modern take on the original Village restaurant, our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian food. Offering daily specials and a full bar, The Little Village has both warmth and charm, making it a dining experience unlike any other in the capital city.

View Private Dining Details
What 1016 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Me and my girlfriend went their 2 months ago and loved it. We decided to go again for our anniversary. It was decent, but not nearly as great as our first dinner there. We had to wait a while despite the reservation, but that really wasn’t a big deal to us. Our waitress seemed a bit inexperienced when compared to the waitress helping the table next to us. However, she didn’t mess up anything and she did a fair job. The food was good, though mine portions were significantly less than hers to say my was more exspensive. I will say their signiture bread was good as usual, but wasn’t made as well as our initial visit. I wasn’t a fan of the dish, but it wasn’t due to the quality. Overall we had a good night, but our first dinner there was 5 star and I’d rather last one as a 3.5 in comparison. I’m sure we’ll eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

My first time here and I loved it! Food and drinks were great! Our event prior ended much earlier than anticipated and upon calling, they were very reasonable and able to flex my reservation. My only complaint is that the restaurant seemed overly crowded, like they put a few too many tables in the room to just get more people in there. There were times where we couldn't really stand up to go to the restroom at our table. Other than that, we loved it and will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The whole experience was great! Two thumbs up for the garlic bread!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Very good service and food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Was Mother’s Day and staff was a little worn. The food quality was not quite up to what we expect from Little Village. We usually go to the one located on airline and have a good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to The Little Village for Mother’s Day. Christian our waiter was very knowledgeable and prompt. House bread was good but very rich. Everything was delicious especially the desserts. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service. We went for my wife’s birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our 1st time dining here...bread was the best and sensation dressing was the bomb but entrees were very bland! Service was a little slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fantastic place to eat for any occasion. The food is delicious and the bread is awesome!!! I like eating there. It is a wonderful place. I highly recommend The Little Village. 5 Stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Graduation dinner. It was noisy but that might have been us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Attentive waiter, Jeremy, good food and selection for visiting out of town business partners.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We have eaten at the Little Village many times over the years. The food was very good as usual. But the service was one of the worst we have had anywhere. The waiter didn't know how to pour the wine, for my husband or myself to taste for approval. He never came back to see if we needed more wine. We were just on our own on that one. There were 2 parties one had 6 people and the other about 10 (I'm not sure of the number), but when they left the staff started cleaning up for the night. They were vacuuming the carpet moving chairs and tables around making it hard to carryon a conversation. We decided to order an after dinner drink and my husband had ordered coffee with Frangelico on the side. Our waiter brought his coffee and said the liqueur was in the coffee. He and I both tasted the coffee and nothing had been added. So, we insisted he bring another, which he did, but the Frangelico was in a metal condiment cup. We will have to think twice about eating there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My husband and I were visiting Baton Rouge for the weekend. Went on line to search for highly rated restaurants and walked around the downtown area looking for a restaurant earlier in the day.
Found The Little Village Italian Restaurant. Went to Open Table to make a reservation and to read the reviews. We were kind of worried about a few of the reviews which were really negative, but there were over 1000 reviews, most of which were really good. Glad we decided to go ahead and make the reservation. We thought it was one of the best restaurants we had ever eaten at...and we eat out a lot. The food was amazing (My husband actually had the exact same veal meal that was panned by one reviewer). the service terrific and the atmosphere truly made us think we were in a restaurant in Italy, great ambience. My husband and I would highly recommend this restaurant. As most reviewers mentioned, the bread was to die for and we also had the Roasted Artichoke Bottoms. They were so good! Their house dressing was really good too. So yes, we really did enjoy this meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great Italian! Must have the village bread with olive tapenade! Chicken Parmigiana was delightful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Waitress was very good! The bread was outstanding. Nice atmosphere for a special occasion .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Waiter was awesome! He did a great job. Would love to have him again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This time our visit to Little village, was extra special as we were celebrating my husbands birthday. The service was exceptional!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Bread wasn’t as good as it used to be. Sticky toffee pudding was terrible. Three of us ordered it and we all hated it. It tasted old.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The best Italian ever! The bread salad, lasagna and crime brûlée among some the best I have ever had. Portions so generous two can share! Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

No complaints! Food and service were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The ambiance in the restaurant was wonderful and our server was great and very informative. The food was absolutely delicious. I cannot find words to describe the bread. It was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Tables way too close and I felt like couple next to us were listening to our every word

Food was served cold and sea bass under cooked, when returned was a mess like it had been microwaved and I couldn’t eat it.

My wife like her meal and server did a great job

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The service from the moment me and my prom date walked through the door to when we left was phenomenal. The food was nothing short of excellent and iconic (i highly recommend "the loaf/bread) just like the atmosphere. we had a great time and would definitely go back for a second time

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We have enjoyed The Little Village Downtown several times before, but were a little disappointed with our recent visit. Service was very good, as well as cocktails, wine and appetizers. Three of the four entrees that we ordered, however, were not up to the standards that we have come to expect from this restaurant. Maybe an off night in the kitchen. We will visit again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Both Specials we ordered were wonderful. For as much as we LOVE the bread, don’t think I’d order it again with a meal. When you have a salad at lunch, it’s perfect. Just too much heavy starch, lol when you have drinks, salad. Bread and an entree feature. Overall excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

My husband had the veal Marsala. While the meat was quite good, the sauce tasted like a “canned” brown sauce and totally lacked the nutty taste Marsala usually has.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Très bon restaurant italien. Les salades étaient excellentes ainsi que les plats, escalope milanaise et picota de veau. Le tiramisu manquait un peu de légèreté. Au global une bonne adresse

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Ordered the trout almondine.
Expected grilled fish with a savory sauce and of course almonds.
What I got instead was 2 pieces of overfried, dry fish with a few almonds sprinkled on top. Guess I should have ordered Italian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food and service is excellent at the Little Village. Top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Birthday celebration for a girlfriend. Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Make SURE to have their signature bread!! NOT to be missed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great! Food & wine were fantastic & our server was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I remember the old Little Village location being better. We have only been here twice since they have been in this location and have really been disappointed in the food. The entree prices are very high in my opinion and I cook a better spaghetti and veal marsala. The Parmesan bread is always good. The service this time was better. Last time the waiter ignored us and get snarky because one of the people in our party needed to know whether there was alcohol or wine in the sauces. He didn't know and said he couldn't bother the chef with the question.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Never been disappointed with the food or the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Food is beyond excellent, so is the service and atmosphere. The bar is a great meeting place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Fantastic food, great fresh grilled fish, pasta, meatballs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Very nice, service was great and we got our food very quickly. Now an anniversary tradition!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The restaurant was great. Our server was probably a beginner. He didn’t check on us enough. Our second drink didn’t get to the table until after we were finished our meal. I knew he was a rookie when he served me first and then my wife. Other than the service the restaurant was great. Would go back but ask for a different waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Fabulous service and food!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

My husband and I love little village, so he made reservations to take me there for our 11th anniversary. Upon arrival we are seated in a huge booth, closely neighbored up to strangers, sharing dining space (like a fast food restaurant). We had RESERVATIONS. I was embarrassed to even ask to move at that point, but I was so embarrassed. The hostess proceeds to ask if we were there for a birthday or anniversary, and we replied anniversary (I still don't know why, nothing special was brought to our attention). I don't expect special service for our anniversary, but I DO expect being placed at our own table where we can enjoy our conversation and not worry about whether our left OR right neighbors could hear us, b/c we could surely hear every word from their conversation. It just wasn't a "LITTLE VILLAGE" experience for sure, and I regret the $200+ we spent there.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26