About The Little Village - Airline

A modern take on the original Village restaurant (established in 1947), our reputation is for serving Baton Rouge’s finest Italian, Prime Beef, Maine Lobster, Veal and fresh Gulf seafood. The Airline location features daily specials, a full bar and can accommodate private parties for up to fifty. We also have space for up to 15 guests in our bar area where dinner is also served.

14241 Airline HWY
Suite 101
Baton Rouge, LA 70817
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Barringer Foreman Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 751-4115

Website:
http://www.littlevillagebr.com/

Catering:
We specialize in wedding rehearsals and corporate lunches and dinners. We offer custom six course sit down dinners as well as gorgeous buffets with carving stations and of course you can order right off of our menu with daily specials. We can also cater your every need at your residence, office or off site facility.

Parking Details:
There is parking all around The Little Village and it is FREE. Our parking lot holds over 800 cars. We have handicapped parking steps from our front door.

Executive Chef:
Harrison Decker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lobster Bisque - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Redfish Lunch Special - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Stuffed Tilapia - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Vanilla Ice Cream - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Strawberry Ice Cream - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Ceasar Salad - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
House Salad With Gorgonzola Dressing - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Salad - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Stuffed Redfish With Creamed Corn And Rosemary Potatoes - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Ice Cream - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Bread - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Filet Tips With Hollandaise And Lump Crab - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Grilled Artichoke Bottoms With Lump Crab - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA
Sticky Toffee Pudding With Ice Cream And Caramel Sauce - The Little Village - Airline, Baton Rouge, LA

Private Dining

Perfect for office parties, rehearsal dinners and holiday events. Buffet-style meals, heavy hors d' oeuvres or sit-down meals ordered from the menu are available.

The Little Village - Airline Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Casual (12)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service was fantastic .Gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service was fantastic .Great place to bring clients for business lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was energetic and very friend ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our server was energetic and very friendly. Food was wonderful as always- but the bread with the olives and roasted garlic was the best. We order this every time we are here. I describe it as bad good! We brought friends from out of town and they raved about the bread and their dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great but the food was cold ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was great but the food was cold when it came out for me and my fiancé. Also the couple next to us had cold food. Everything was good but the food. I was highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

My daughter and I had an extremely enjoy ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My daughter and I had an extremely enjoyable lunch at this location. No complaints whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! I had people recomme ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious! I had people recommend this restaurant, but I'm always skeptical about local Italian. I was not disappointed! The bread appetizer is so delicious. I had the stuffed fish on green beans and it was incredible. Had no room for dessert unfortunately. Cocktails were good too. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The bread was petty much the only thing ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The bread was petty much the only thing we had that turned out okay. I think that when you are paying $25-30 for just the main course, it shouldn't be burnt. And also if you ask for lump crab meat to go on your pasta dish then it should be there. Sorry but not impressed with that place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food. Good variety.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Good variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were excellent. There was a problem, however, at the front door. We had reserved a table for two to celebrate my birthday, which happens to fall on New Years Eve. We left the house early because it was stormy, but the reception was icy. We were told where our table was and could see it from the door, but could not sit down because "the kitchen doesn't open until 4." Instead, we had to stand in a corner for 10 minutes. It was the first time I was ever punished for arriving early. It appeared the hostess resented being scheduled to work on New Years Eve, and was determined to take it out on someone. I'm sure she could tell we had a good time despite her efforts. Maybe she will be off next New Years Eve and will have a great time somewhere else.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We wanted to do something special while ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We wanted to do something special while our family was all together for the holidays. Had a great time and excellent meal. Waiter was very attentive, Manager stopped by to chat. Steaks and daily specials were very good. And, of course, the bread!! Overall a great time. One of our favorite places for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was really good. The only thing ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was really good. The only thing I wish had been different was that we sat in the back next to the kitchen, so it was a little noisy and very high traffic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great as usual. We take our tim ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great as usual. We take our time ordering - so can't comment on how quick service is - but it's not meant to be a quick experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the past few years we've been coming ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For the past few years we've been coming to The Little Village for Christmas Dinner. Each year the food has been fantastic. Our server this year was Cheyenne (spelling???). She was extremely pleasant and extremely efficient. She was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed at the quality and ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were disappointed at the quality and taste of the food. And the presentation was lacking.

We have always enjoyed your downtown location, but found this experience lacking.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Must try the bread!

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Must try the bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I didn't know I had to specify "table".. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I didn't know I had to specify "table"...I am handicapped and all they had was a booth which was difficult for me to sit in...I made the reservations quite a bit ago and was told that they had nothing else available...so just sit "the old people" anywhere was how I felt. We usually book for Christmas Eve and/or New Years Eve...not gonna happen anymore. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated a family Christmas Eve at ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We celebrated a family Christmas Eve at Little Village and it was perfect for a wonderful evening out. The food was excellent and the wait staff was very efficient. They had enough staff on hand to handle the large crowd and tend to our every need.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

enjoyed ourselves reservation on time no ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 25, 2016

enjoyed ourselves reservation on time no waiting food very good never had a bad meal

and like the airline loation

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great!! We didn't like sitt ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was great!! We didn't like sitting by the door to the kitchen people were in and out too noisy. Also it was absolutely freezing in there you could hang meet!! We were not the only ones freezing

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service was absolutely amaz ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food and service was absolutely amazing. I couldn't ask for anything to be better! It's so cozy and inviting, I feel so welcomed every time I go! Thank you Hugh, Doc and Clarence for making this a Christmas time memory for my sister and I! We have decided to make it a Christmas Eve tradition!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great solid food and wine list! The bre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great solid food and wine list! The bread is the best!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Each time we have visited The Little Vil ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Each time we have visited The Little Village, it has been absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat ... gr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat ... great food and great atmosphere!! Love the bread.. definitely a must try place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seems to be too many tables for the size ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Seems to be too many tables for the size of the kitchen as we were there for over 2 hours and we got our dessert to go. Not exactly a good place for a romantic ambiance.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was amazing as always. The best ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was amazing as always. The best shrimp and grits I've ever had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding.I will be back with ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was outstanding.I will be back with friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was extremely loud so it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The restaurant was extremely loud so it was impossible to talk to anyone at the table. There was a table next to us of women who were screaming to each other. We management to see if they would ask them to politely lower their voices, but they did nothing. The food took over an hour to make it to the table and when it did it was cold. Not kinda warm but cold. The fettuccine alfredo sauce was thick because it was so cold. One dish of pasta felt like it was fridge to table without the heat. This place was all hype and nothing to back it up. We went for a special occasion, so it was such a let down the even was not what was expected. I'd say find somewhere else to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Food is always amazing. The bread is a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food is always amazing. The bread is a must ! It is so good. Highly recommend reservations as this restaurant is usually pretty full.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The bread is delicious, but service is s ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The bread is delicious, but service is sub-standard. I ordered a dish that I didn't like and was told "well that's what you ordered." Which was accurate, but was hoping I'd be offered the chance to re-order and enjoy my meal/experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Food was excellent. Everyone (all 13 of ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Everyone (all 13 of us) enjoyed their meal to the fullest, from the steaks to the fish dishes. Desserts were great as usual. the atmosphere is charming, décor beautiful and Christmas music delightful.

Waitress could use a lesson in reading customers...would they want to talk among themselves or have a long conversation with her other than the meal at hand. A lot of mistakes were made in giving the right drinks and food orders to the right person.

All in all, we will be back. This is an annual event for us. Thanks for the great food.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The Village bread is always delicious. T ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Village bread is always delicious. The house salad is great. Unfortunately, it took much too long to get our entrees on a Sunday night. The veal picotta was delicious. However, the filet was cold, and the fish was bland. Quality and service did not match the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our Anniversary. Great food and service, ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our Anniversary. Great food and service, but got only 3 stars overall because of the noise level, seating way to cramped, and we were stuck near the door. Bread pudding was nothing to "write home about"; wife's comment was tasteless. That needs to change.

Complementary champaign was a nice touch.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mike the waiter was outstanding and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mike the waiter was outstanding and the food was outstanding. I think the biggest problem was the poor quality of the atmosphere and the place just smelled awful and musty. Downtown is so much better and the only reason we didn't dine downtown is because of the parade. The place should be better presented for a high end restaurant. Other than Mike, the staff didn't seem to happy to be there. Greeters were very unfriendly.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Booth was too small for four adults but ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Booth was too small for four adults but the food was excellent. We would go back but request a table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We love this restaurant and not just bec ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We love this restaurant and not just because of the Bread! I bring many people here for business lunches & dinners.

The only issues I have are the booth arrangements (too far from table) and Tilapia on the menu. There should be nothing less than Flounder in my opinion or replace with Catfish over Tilapia.

Even though I'm not a big Bread Eater...

The Bread is Amazing and Impressive each time I eat it especially with the Roasted Garlic.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfectly and consistently delicious. My ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Perfectly and consistently delicious. My favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was okay, as soon as we got there we ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was okay, as soon as we got there we had to wait several minutes with no server greeting us and take drink order ,asked the hostess if we could please get some beverages,that's a bad start since I was a server for 20+ years, anyway food was average ,lukewarm at best! Server did everything right after the bad start!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The noise was overwhelming. They sat us ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The noise was overwhelming. They sat us at a small table where everyone was exiting. Customer's were passing by so close we had to cover our food and move beverages away from the center of the table. And the food was cold.Not sure if we ever go back!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Some components of each dish weren't hot ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Some components of each dish weren't hot/warm. Red sauce had a distinct smokiness/mesquite flavor to it, very different. Steak was overdone. Server was nice, no issues there. Tray of dirty plates which is used as a constant bus area by the table for almost the entirety of the meal. Bottomline, I can say I've been now, and check it off the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.